T

Taillebois, Ivo de (fl.1060s-1094), landowner, first Baron of Kendal, from Norman family in Calvados, joined William’s invasion of England in 1066, lands in Lincolnshire and Kendal, helped to put down rebellion of Hereward the Wake in 1071, wife Lucy, associated with founding of Spalding Priory; CW3 xv 45

Tait, (Agnes Mary) Nan, local politician, lived Barrow, mayor of the town 1959-60, a founder member of Cumbria CC, the old technical building in Barrow (1903) now refurbished is the Nan Tait Centre, a venue for the community and the arts and also the office of the registrar of births and deaths

Tait, Archibald Campbell (1811-1882; ODNB), DD, clergyman and prelate, born at Park Place, Edinburgh, 21 December 1811, 9th and last child of Crauford Tait (d.1832), landowner, and his wife, Susan (d.1814), dau of Sir Ilay Campbell, lord president of Court of Session, had five brothers and three sisters, born with club feet, educ Edinburgh Academy and Balliol, succ Arnold as headmaster of Rugby School in 1842, dean of Carlisle 1849-1856, leaving Rugby in summer of 1850, bishop of London 1856-1869, archbishop of Canterbury 1869-1882, marr Catherine Spooner, dau of archdeacon Spooner, five daus who all died of scarlet fever in the Abbey precinct between 5 March and 9 April 1856 and buried in Stanwix churchyard (memorial north transept window in Carlisle cathedral erected with Hardman stained glass in 1861); RT Davidson and William Benham, The Life of Archbishop Tait (1891) 

Talbot, John (c.1833-1886), solicitor and land agent, clerk to magistrates, secretary to Gas Company, and to Agricultural Society, agent to Guardian Insurance Co, Main Street, Milnthorpe, of Laburnam House, Milnthorpe (1885), buried at Preston Patrick, 4 September 1886, aged 53 [Enoch Knowles at Laburnam House in 1894]; firm is Talbot & Rheam by 1894; Thomas Talbot (c.1745-1842), of Lane House, Preston Patrick, buried at Preston Patrick, 25 January 1842, aged 97; Ellen Talbot, of Lane House, buried at Preston Patrick, 6 July 1854, aged 59; William Talbot, of Lane House, buried at Preston Patrick, 8 May 1868, aged 75; William Talbot, the younger, of Lane House, buried at Preston Patrick, 18 December 1866, aged 36

Alice Talbot, of Liverpool, buried at Preston Patrick, 26 September 1900, aged 90; Alice Jane Talbot, of Oakroyd, Arnside, buried at Preston Patrick, 27 January 1903, aged 72

Talbot, Thomas (c.1823-18??), solicitor, born at Preston Patrick, educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1831, aged 8, and left December 1833), died at Lane House, Preston Patrick (by 1895) (SSR, 189)

Talbot, Luke (1861-19xx), police officer, born in Bradford in 1861, educ Bradford Grammar School, English College in Lisbon, and a seminary in USA, enlisted as a constable with Bradford Borough Police, inspector with Lancaster Borough Police 1888, chief constable of Kendal Borough Police 1890-1895, chief constable of Warrington Borough Police 1895-1907

Tallentire, John, of Renwick, the legend of the cockatrice being killed by him, he was thenceforward exempt from tithes; Renwick VCH

Talling, Jack (1929-2017) PhD FRS, freshwater biologist, b. Grangetown, Yorks, Leeds University, inspired in his speciality by a student visit to Wray Castle, m. Ida Bjornsson of Iceland (qv), both worked on phytoplankton as limnologists of the Nile, at university of Khartoum, Schipps Institution California, university of Jinja Uganda, also worked in African rift valley lakes, assessing water colour in Africa using a standard of diluted whisky, wrote 100 research papers in 64 years, awarded the Naumann-Thienemann Medal in 1989 by the International Society of Linology; obit. Times 23 October 2017; Royal Society Journal obit 30 Jan 2019

Tatham family; CW2 xxxiii 98

Tatham, Edmund (1637-1718), MA, clergyman, bapt at Tunstall, 30 April 1637, yr brother of Richard Tatham (qv), also vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale,………..(CW2, xxix, 186-87)

Tatham, Edmund (1769-1848), surgeon, first appears in Kendal in 1790 (UBD, 473), marr (16 June 1795, at Kendal, with James Tatham as a witness) Hannah Sleddall (1768-1848) (buried at Kendal, 6 January 1848, aged 79), dau of Mrs Sleddall (who had a fashionable milliner’s business in premises on east side of Highgate, No.37) and a descendent of Thomas Sleddal (qv), first Mayor of Kendal, had his first surgery in warehouse behind No.37 Highgate, where his son was born, 1 son (Edmund, junr, qv) and 1 dau (Elizabeth Sleddal (1805-1869), wife of Revd R W Fisher (qv), of Hill Top) (KK, 96, 398), surgeon to Kendal Dispensary in 1804, poster rel to breaking of his windows during election of 1818 (CRO, WD/Cu), died at his house in Stramongate, aged 78, and buried in Kendal, 12 January 1848 (MI in New Hutton church)

Tatham, Edmund, junr (1797-1876), surgeon, born at No.37 Highgate, Kendal, 1797, only son of Edmund Tatham (qv), of No.40 Stramongate, followed his father as surgeon to Kendal Dispensary 1832-1837, made depositions at coroner’s inquests (coroner’s book 1835-1841 in CRO, WD/K/52), appeared in person at Lancaster Consistory Court to give confirmation of the signing of will of Mary Agnes Ellison (dau of William Ellison, qv) at Sizergh on 26 December 1847

Tatham, Edward (1787-1862), DL, JP, attorney, bapt at Tunstall, 18 February 1787, only son of Edward Tatham (1763-1842), of Hipping Hall, and his wife Susannah (d.1819, aged 71), dau of John Gibson, of Lancaster, and great-great-grandson of Robert Tatham (1623-1692), who purchased Hipping Hall and lands between 1661 and 1692, and descended from Edward Tatham (d.1597), of Over Leck, resided at Summerfield, Tunstall, Lancs (altered for him in 1841 by George Webster), and died there, unmarried, 1 April 1863, and buried at Tunstall; will dated 30 June 1862 and proved 11 July 1863, leaving his Hipping Hall estate to his nephew, John Swainson, son of his sister, Elizabeth Susannah (1789-1882) and John Swainson (d.1867), manufacturer, of Halton Hall, who later had to sell both the Hipping and Halton Hall properties after financial difficulties (HPT, 89-91) = attorney in Stramongate, Kendal (1829), apptd deputy recorder of Kendal in October 1822 (on death of John Barrow), read proclamation of King William IV in different parts of Kendal on horseback on 9 July 1830 (AK, 297), chaired annual meeting of Kendal Church Missionary Society on 6 July 1831 (LC, 83), member of committee for new church in Kendal (St Thomas) in 1834 (CRO, WPR 94/17/3), defeated in first election for new Kendal Corporation in 1835 (polling 19 votes against 113 for Richard Wilson, attorney), signed letter of opposition to Kendal Mercury to projected railway through Lune Valley after meeting of landowners on 3 February 1842

Tatham, Richard (1628-1xxx), MA, clergyman, born at Tunstall in November 1628, er brother of Edmund Tatham (qv), also vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale, educ…….(CW2, xxix, 185-86)

Tatham, Sandford (1721-1777), MA, clergyman, yst son of William Tatham (qv sub William, jnr), educ Cambridge University (MA), marr (1751) his first cousin, Elizabeth, 2nd dau of Henry Marsden (qv), of Gisburn Hall and Wennington Hall, 4 sons (inc eldest?, Henry, Sandford (qv), and Charles), vicar of St Lawrence, Appleby 1758-1777, died in 1777

Tatham, Sandford (c.1755-1840), naval officer, prob born at Appleby, 3rd son of Revd Sandford Tatham (qv), entd RN, Rear-Admiral, inherited Hornby Castle after death of John Marsden (qv) in 1826, after dispute over his will, lawsuit of Tatham v. Wright becoming a local cause celebre (verbatim report printed in two volumes, Lancaster, 1834), obtained grant of arms in 1838, died s.p. in 1840, aged 85 (CW2, xliii, 136-146)

Tatham, William (1712-1775), barrister and recorder, er son of William Tatham (1687-1724), High Sheriff of Lancashire 1724, of Over Hall, Ireby, and his wife, Mildred (d.1763, aged 75), dau and coheir of William Sandford (d.1730, qv), of Askham Hall, and er brother of John and Revd Sandford (qv), barrister at Middle Temple, recorder of Carlisle, inherited Askham Hall and Setterah Park estates in 1730, sold Over Hall in 1737, died aged about 62 and buried at Askham, 9 February 1775, when his estates passed to his nieces, daus and coheirs of his brother John, and were sold by them

Tatters, Frederick (19xx-19xx), local councillor, last chairman of North Westmorland District Council to 1974, of Bolton

Taylor, Alec (1824-18xx), racehorse trainer, born at Kirkby Lonsdale in 1824, son of Tom Taylor one of assistants in stables of Alexander Nowell (qv) at Underley Hall, became known as the ‘Wizard of Manton’, his horses won twelve classic races in fifty years, notably ‘Reve D’Or’ which won the Oaks and the 1000 guineas; son, also Alec Taylor, succ as noted trainer (AKL, 58)

Taylor, Angus (1928-2000), architectural historian and lecturer, born at Sedbergh in 1928, educ local primary school, Queen Elizabeth School, Kirkby Lonsdale, and Sedbergh School (as day boy from age of 13), his artistic talents being nurtured by Sandy and Alice Inglis, student at Leeds College of Art from 1945, specialising in painting (NDD, ATD), completed two years’ National Service with RE, lecturer in Fine Arts, High Melton College of Education, Doncaster 1964-1984, with strong interest in architectural history, esp over 30 years’ research on the work of Francis and George Webster of Kendal, re-establishing them as major architects in north-west England, his work being completed and brought to publication by Janet Martin with The Websters of Kendal: A North-Western Architectural Dynasty (CWAAS, Record Series Vol XVII, 2004), marr Mary, of Doncaster and of Burton-in-Kendal, died in August 2000 (papers in CRO, WDX 1415)

Taylor, Anthony Barnes (18xx-19xx), registrar, secretary of English Lake District Association (1882/83), registrar of births, deaths and marriages for Ambleside District of Kendal Poor Law Union, also relieving and school attendance officer (from combination of offices in 1878), of Westbourne Terrace, Windermere (1885) (papers in CRO, WDX 269)

Taylor, B H T, MSc, headmaster of Kendal Grammar School (1953)

Taylor, Clement (1668-1742), farmer and account book writer, bapt at Colton, 7 February 1688, eldest son of Edward Taylor (1654-1710) and Elizabeth, dau of John Scales, of Thwaite Moss, built Finsthwaite House from 1725, under-sheriff to Myles Sandys, of Graythwaite (qv), (RSLC, CXXXV, 1997); Janet D. Martin, The Account Book of Clement Taylor of Finsthwaite, 1712-1753, 1997

Taylor, Edward (1691-1770s), yr brother of Clement Taylor (qv), marr Emma Walker (1719-1781), 2 daus, of Waterside, Finsthwaite, which he leased from 1752 (incl to James Douglas and his dau Clementina (qv), the ‘Finsthwaite Princess’)

Taylor, Elizabeth, author, published ‘Oor Lizzie’; Keswick Museum display

Taylor, Fanny Margaret (c.1895-c.1975) FRCO, sister of Stephen Taylor the chemist of Barrow (qv), for many years was the organist of St Paul’s church Barrow, choir mistress and piano teacher, lived Ainslie St, conducted choirs and choral  societies, had a huge collection of 78 rpm records and miniature scores, with a record playing her pupils would be asked to beat time on the first violin stave, then she would say ‘cellos’ or bassoons, and they would then follow those parts, thus giving them a familiarity with orchestration, she would lend books (often biographies) to favourite pupils and was a great fan of Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965), the Alsatian polymath and Nobel laureate who was a fine organist, paid herself for an electric pump to improve the organ at St Paul’s, slender and always elegantly dressed in tweed skirts and silk blouses, with gold rimmed speactacles, loved going on the train to Grange-over-Sands, one of her pupils Graham Taylor (b.1951) later conducted an orchestra in Bangkok

Taylor, G W H (18xx-18xx), clergyman, incumbent of Grayrigg 1867

Taylor, George, master mariner; Rob David, In Search of Arctic Wonders

Taylor, Henry (1699-1737), bankrupt, bapt at Colton, 7 May 1699, son of John Taylor, of Lending and Plum Green, marr (20 January 1722, at Kendal) Sarah (died 6 July 1738, aged 44, and buried at Kendal, 7 July), dau of Joseph Symson, of Kendal, children (incl John (qv) bapt at Kendal and Cartmel 1722-1731), donor of site of Finsthwaite church in 1724 (articles of agreement, 26 February 1723/4 and copy consecration deed of 24 July 1725 in CRO, WT/Ch/acc.11085), churchwarden in 1726 and also at Colton in 1726-27, inherited the Landing estate at Newby Bridge, but he was an unreliable character (possible drinking problem), went bankrupt and his land in Finsthwaite had to be sold, his debts exceeded £1370, while trustees (Walter Chambre (qv), of Kendal, John Fletcher, of Holker and William Lambert, of Kirkland, Kendal) took over the estate on 26 February 1734 and tried to sort out his affairs, raising nearly £2500 in total, moved to Kendal, where he died, aged 38, and buried 28 October 1737 (CRO, BPR 17/M2/1-2; CTF, 115, 119, 240)

Taylor, Joe, game keeper and fisherman, worked at Armathwaite, landed a salmon weighing 43 lb in 1954

Taylor, John (1722-1784), surgeon, born in 1722, only son of Henry Taylor (qv) (whose trustees sold the Landing estate at Newby Bridge to Lawrence Harrison, ancestor of Thomas Newby Wilson (qv), and who then moved to Kendal), surgeon in East India Co and bought Abbot Hall, Kirkland in 1772 on his return from India, took out insurance of £1,000 ‘on his now Dwelling House only’, £1,000 on ‘Household Goods therein’, £300 on ‘Stables and Hay Chambers adjoining each other in the Yard’, £100 on ‘House only in Highgate in Kendal in the tenure of Rignald Remington, gent’, £100 on ‘House adjoining in the tenure of – Packson, gent’, £400 on ‘Eight Houses in the Square in Kendall No.1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 in the tenure of Christopher Couperthwaite, gent, Mrs Burn, Mrs Nelson, Mr Heartley, Christopher Shaw, hosier, Samuel Trilmand, John Fell, Mr Cartmell not exceeding £50 on each, £50 on Kitchen near, £50 on Stable and Chamber over’, £3,000 in total all stone and slated, 24 June 1772 (Sun Insurance policy, Vol.212, no.312246 in Guildhall MS.11936, copy in CRO, WDY 120), marr (24 June 1762) Dorothy (died 28 June 1801, aged 63), widow of Captain Northall, RA, and dau of William Rumbold (d.1745), East India Co naval service, and sister of Sir Thomas Rumbold, 1st Bt (1736-1791), 2 sons (Harry and John Bladen, infra), died 28 September 1784, aged 61 years, 11 months and 29 days, and buried in churchyard, 5 October (MI in North of church), after which Abbot Hall was sold (his estate advertised in CP of 25 July 1788 in lots, with lot 4 the Abbot Hall ‘Square between the street and Wilson’s Field, consisting of ten Dwelling Houses, a Cow House and Hay Loft at the yearly rental of £55’), but his Townhead estate at Staveley-in-Cartmel descended to his er son Harry (1763-1806), of Madras civil service, who sold it to William Townley (qv) in 1804, while his yr son, John Bladen (1764-1820), MP, Colonel, and director of East India Co, died at Ambleside [but not buried there] (WCN, ii, 65)

Taylor, John (17xx-1827), schoolmaster, master of Blue Coat School, Sandes Hospital, Highgate, Kendal, marr (180x) Ann (died 2 April 1810, aged 37), 1 son (John, of Town View, Kendal, died 15 February 1837, aged 31, and buried 20 February), died 7 March 1827, aged 53/54, and buried in Kendal churchyard, 10 March (MI in WCN, ii, 65)

Taylor, John (1808-1887; ODNB), Mormon leader (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints), born at Milnthorpe, 1 November 1808, and bapt at Heversham, 4 December, 2nd son of ten children of James Taylor (1773-1870), excise officer and farmer, and his wife Agnes (1787-1868), dau of John Taylor, of Pooley, Barton, and his wife, Agnes Whittington, educ at Liverpool, then at Beetham, where his family moved on to a small farm in 1819, became a skilled wood-turner and cabinet-maker, after apprenticeship at Penrith, he established his trade in Hale, joined Methodist church at age of 16 and soon became an exhorter, then a local preacher, followed his parents to Toronto in Upper Canada in 1832, set up his trade and continued preaching for Methodism, marr (28 January 1833) Leonora (born 6 October 1796, emigrated to Canada in 1832, died 1868), dau of Captain George Cannon (1766-1811), of Peel, Isle of Man, and his wife Leonora (1775-1822), four children, ^^^ Mormon conversion ^^^ died at Kaysville, Utah, USA, 25 July 1887, and buried in Salt Lake City cemetery, 29 July; 3rd president of the Church of Latter Day Saints 1880-87

Taylor, John, took over the Coniston copper mines in 1820

Taylor, John (d.1638), of Garrigill, said to have died at the age of 135; Camden

Taylor, Malcolm (1937-2012), actor and director, born Kendal, trained at RADA in p with Albert Finney and Diana Rigg, small parts RSC, dialogue coach at Royal Court via Lindsay Anderson, directed Dr Who (1963), Under Milk Wood (1971), Thriller (1973), Coronation Street (1975-1987), Me and My Girl (1984), The Rivals, East Enders (1985), married Anne Rutter; wrote Actor and the Camera (1994)

Taylor, Michael Waistell (1824-1892; ODNB), MD, FSA, FSA (Scot), physician and antiquary, born at Portobello, 29 January 1824, son of Michael Taylor, merchant, of Edinburgh, educ Portsmouth and Edinburgh university, assistant to Prof John Hutton Balfour, time in Paris, 1845 arrived in Penrith and succeeded to the practice of Dr John Taylor, marr (1858) Mary W, dau of J H Rayner, of Liverpool, 3 sons and 3 daus, the same year discovered scarlet fever could be caused by contaminated milk, later wrote on diphtheria, involved in est the BMA in the borders 1868, member Epidemiological Society, retired from medical practice in 1884, discovered Celtic occupation on Ullswater, starfish cairns on Moor Divock and moulds for spear heads at Croglin, author of The Old Manorial Halls of Westmorland and Cumberland (CWAAS, Extra Series, VIII, 1892), died London 24 November 1892 and buried in Christ Church burial ground, Penrith (CJ, 29.11.1892); obit CWAAS Transactions; Boase iii 898

Taylor, Rev Thomas (1811-1896), Non-conformist minister, born Chapel Fold near Batley, West Yorks, son of James Taylor woollen manufacturer, educ Horton Academy, Bradford, worked in his father’s mill, studied for the ministry, appointed minster at Tottlebank Baptist chapel near Ulverston in 1840, a secluded setting in the Crake valley, the isolation relating to the regulations of the Five Mile Act of 1665, the building dates from 1697 [now grade 2 listed], he had a private income which enabled him to employ a cook, two maids and a groom, in addition his salary was £80 p.a., his wife was Susannah Blackburn dau of John Blackburn a partner in the cotton business of John Benson Sidgwick of Stone Gappe, Lothersdale, Yorks, who had briefly employed Charlotte Bronte [the Bensons were cousins of Edward White Benson (1829-1896; ODNB), later archbishop of Canterbury), Thomas held this position for fifty six years, also supporting the communities of Barrow, Dalton and Ulverston, secretary of the British and Foreign Bible Society, wrote A History of Tottlebank Church (1864), his wife Susannah died in 1885 followed by his daughter Susie, his co-pastor was the Rev John Wilson who married his other daughter Alice, his son Thomas Ebenezer (1842-1863) worked as a clerk in the railway and contributed to the Ulverston Advertiser, the Manchester Guardian, the Manchester Examiner and Times and the Leeds Mercury, he also wrote poetry and his father published his literary remains in 1869, local subscribers came mostly from Furness but others from Liverpool, Edinburgh, Manchester, Wales and Jersey, one familiar subscriber was Thomas Postlethwaite of Broughton (qv), employer briefly of Branwell Bronte (qv), John Ruskin is knwn to have visited Tottlebank and knew Thomas Taylor, after fifty six years at Tottlebank Thomas died in June 1896 aged 85; Bob Duckett and Audrey Hall, J of the Bronte Society 2021

Taylor, Robert (1703-1772), clergyman, bapt at Colton, 12 March 1703, son of Robert Taylor, of High Stott Park, Colton, marr (22 March 1728, at Ulverston) Margaret Woodburne (who marr 2nd (1773) Revd George Simpson (qv), curate of Finsthwaite, and buried 18 April 1786), of Ulverston, children bapt 1729-1743, prime mover in establishing Finsthwaite church and school, churchwarden 1729-30 and 1757, also churchwarden at Colton 1733, overseer 1725 and constable 1751, buried 6 April 1772 (CTF, 242)

Taylor, Robert (1807-c.1870), artist, Mary Burkett, Cockermouth School

Taylor, Samuel, JP, landowner, of Ibbotsholme, Troutbeck Bridge, started in Manchester district, also lived in Belgium and in Prescot, Lancs, kept extravagant household (JDM, OL, 113)

Taylor,  Samuel (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Christ’s College, Cambridge, succ J P Haslam (qv) as vicar of Crosby Ravensworth in 1919

Taylor,  Samuel (1884-1956), MA, clergyman and antiquary, born in Cartmel parish, 6 October 1884, of long line of Sam Taylors, originally from Moston, near Manchester, but also Lamplugh and Irton ancestors from West Cumberland, educ Charterhouse and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1906, MA 1915), d 1908, p 1910 Win, curate of St James, Milton 1908-1912 and Holy Innocents, Fallowfield 1913-1915, TCF 1916-1919, vicar of Flookburgh 1915-1926, Holy Trinity with St Barnabas, Carlisle 1926-1930, Holy Innocents, Fallowfield 1930-1935, Millom with Kirksanton and Hill Chapel 1935-1944, and Burneside 1944-1949, hon canon of Carlisle 1947, retired in 1949 to live at Field Beck, Cartmel, where he died unmarried, 21 October 1956, just after publication of his Cartmel, People and Priory (1955) (reprinted in his memory and of his nephew (Samuel Geoffrey Taylor (1919-1982) and niece (Alexina Taylor (1921-1994) in 1995), joined CWAAS in 1936, elected vice-president in 1952, and author of several papers in Transactions, inc A Flookburgh Glossary in 1927 and The Ancient Library in Cartmel Priory Church in 1955 (with 2nd edition published by Durham University Library in 1959) (CPP; CW2, lvi, 179)

Taylor, Saul (fl.early 19thc.), mariner, master of ship called Eliza of Milnthorpe (built at Lancaster in 1816, etc) (bill of sale in CRO, WDB 12/ acc.2067)

Taylor, Stephen [c.1895-c.1960], chemist, ran a shop in Cavendish St Barrow, lived East Mount, Abbey Rd, (brother of FannyTaylor (qv) and Bernard), his son John and his wife Doreen continued the business, very keen on photography, developed and printed customers’ films, grandsons Philip and Roger trained in other fields

Taylor, Thomas Fearon (c.1827-18xx), surveyor, born at Cockermouth, educ Sedbergh School (entered February 1842, aged 15, and left June 1843), became Cockermouth borough surveyor (SSR, 208)

Taylor,  William (1700-1738), BA, clergyman, bapt at Colton, 22 May 1700, yr son of Edward Taylor and brother of Clement Taylor (qv), educ Browedge School and Queen’s College, Oxford (BA, 1724), ordained deacon 1726 and priest 1728, curate of Farthingstone, Northants from 1726, vicar of Long Buckby, Northants, marr (15 October 1726, at Fawsley, Northants) Elizabeth Butler (who marr 2nd Revd David Pratt, of Blakesley, Northants),died 23 May 1738, aged 38 (CTF, 242)

Taylor, William (17xx-1786), schoolmaster, headmaster of Hawkshead Grammar School, Wordsworth’s ‘honour’d Teacher’ (The Prelude, X, 487-515), died 12 June 1786, aged 32 [not buried at Hawkshead]

Taylor, Revd William (18xx-18xx), Congregational Minister, of Glasgow, apptd Minister of Zion Chapel, Kendal in March 1849, so successful that new galleries erected and later enlarged in 1862-63 to accommodate congregation of about 800, of Townsend House, Kirkland (1858) (KK, 139-140)

Taylor, Revd William (c.1841-1901), Congregational Minister, of Danes Road, Staveley, died 6 November 1901, aged 60, and buried at Staveley; widow Margaret died 2 May 1928, aged 70, also buried at Staveley

Taylour, Thomas, 3rd Marquess of Headfort (1822-1894), KP, PC, landowner and politician, born 1 November 1822, eldest son of 2nd Marquess of Headfort, KP, PC (1787-1870), marr 1st (20 July 1842) Amelia (died 4 December 1864), only dau and heir of William Thompson, MP (qv), of Underley Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale, 1 son (Lord Bective, qv) and 3 daus (of whom eldest was Lady Madeline Olivia Susan Crichton (qv)), marr 2nd (29 November 1875) Emily Constantia (died 16 July 1926), widow of Captain Eustace John Wilson Patten, eldest son of Lord Winmarleigh, and eldest dau of Revd Lord John Thynne, 1 son (4th Marquess) and 1 dau, known as Lord Bective until he succ father 1870, MP for Westmorland 1854-1870, restored Kirkby Lonsdale church in 1866 at cost of over £10,000, Lord Lieutenant of co Meath, one of Privy Council in Ireland, Hon Col 4th Bn Princess Victoria’s Royal Irish Fusiliers, died 22 July 1894

Taylour, Thomas, earl of Bective, formerly Lord Kenlis (1844-1893), DL, JP, MP, landowner and politician, born 11 February 1844, son of 3rd Marquess of Headfort (qv), marr (9 October 1867) Lady Alice Maria (died 25 February 1928), only dau of 4th Marquess of Downshire, KP, 2 daus (Olivia Caroline Amelia, wife of Lord Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (qv) and Evelyn Alice Estelle (1873-1875)), known as Lord Kenlis until 1870, then Lord Bective, elected unopposed as MP for Westmorland in 1871, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1868-69, purchased Hill Top house and estate in New Hutton in 1864 (deeds in CRO, WD/U/box 46) and remodelled whole mansion with addition of north wing, gave site for new parsonage house at Barbon (built in 1872), presided at first general meeting of Lake District Association at Prince of Wales Hotel, Grasmere on 12 April 1878 and was chairman (to 1883 at least) (CRO, WDX 269), laid out large sum for repairing ruins of Kendal castle in 188x, d.v.p. 15 December 1893, aged 49, and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 20 December 1893

Teasdale, Isaac (1844-1914), confectioner, ran Teasdales’s in Westmorland St., Denton Holme, Carlisle (founded by Thomas Holstead in 1839) from 1872, (later Harradine’s and Penguin) closed 2003

Teasdale, Margaret, said to be the original of Walter Scott’s Tib Mumps in Guy Mannering, the Teasdales were of Mumps Hall, Gilsland but Margaret is not now thought to be his inspiration

Telfer, Colin (1939-2016), miner and sculptor, b. Flimby, lung damage led to his work on the surface as a winder, supervising the safe descent of the cage, attended art college, made small  odesl of miners sold all over the world, later commissioned to make numerous life sized sculptures of miners in resin in West Cumbria; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, xix, 177-8 and 205; (WN, 03.03.2016)

Temple, Christopher (1810-1886), judge in Ceylon, son of Leofric qv

Temple, Sir Ernest Sanderson (19xx-199x), MBE, QC, judge, son of Ernest Temple, solicitor, of 41 Stramongate, Kendal, and Oxenholme House, Natland, educ Kendal Grammar School, last Chairman of Westmorland Quarter Sessions 1968-1971, Hon Recorder of Kendal 1967-1992, admitted honorary citizen of Kendal in 1992, a vice-president of Cartmel Agricultural Society, died (CRO, WDY 470)

Temple, Leofric (1819-1891), legal writer, father of Christopher qv, author of A Practical Treatise on the Law of Carriers of Goods and Reports of Cases .....in the Court of Criminal Appeal 1848-51

Templeton, James, fisherman, landed a salmon weighing 42.5 lb in 1954 at Knockupworth Gill

Templeton, Jim (1920-2011), of Carlisle, died in November 2011 (CN, 02.12.2011)

Tennent, Alfred J (fl.1880s), schoolmaster, of Whittingham, Northumberland, trained at Durham Training College, apptd master of Crosby Ravensworth Grammar School at meeting of governors on 21 February 1883, starting on 5 March, at salary of £80, but resignation accepted at meeting on 1 December 1887 (shortly following on death of Canon G F Weston, qv), but asked to continue as master till after examination, finishing on 29 March 1888 (minute book in CRO, WPR 7/11/1/2/1)

Tennyson, Alfred Lord (1809-1892; ODNB), poet, stayed at Tent Lodge, Conston after the Smiths sold the house, stayed at Mirehouse beside Bassethwaite as a friend of James Spedding (qv) and wrote part of Morte D’Arthur; memorial lectern beside Bassenthwaite lake; Perriam, CN 11 September 2009

Terry, William, curate of Mardale from 1894, LTh Durham University

Thackeray, Joseph (c.1743-1825), cotton spinner, first appears as a fustian manufacturer in Manchester (1772) and cotton spinner (1788), partner with John Whitehead in cotton spinning mill at Garratt on river Medlock, Manchester, one of earliest to be established in Manchester (by 1785), partner with James Stockdale (qv) in cotton mills at Cark by 1785, listed in Manchester directories of 1808-09, but not in 1811, died at Cartmel, aged 82, and buried there, 13 February 1825 (CW2, lxiv, 360, 369-72)

Thackray, William (fl.1670-82), builder; CW2 xcvii 255; CW2 xcvi 161

Thanet, earl of, see Tufton

Thankerton, Baron, see Watson

Thexton, John Yeats (1819-1859), DL, JP, landowner, born at Beetham, 14 June 1819, only son of Revd Joseph Thexton (qv), educ Sedbergh School (entd June 1831, aged 11, and left April 1836) and Trinity College, Cambridge (entd 31 October 1835, matric at Lent 1838, but no degree), marr (18 May 1841) Isabella (died at Temple Bank and buried at Beetham, 8 November 1889, aged 70), dau of Revd John Hudson (qv), 1 son (Edward Yeats, born 7 September 1847, educ Harrow School and Trinity College, Cambridge (entd 1866, BA 1871), died 27 March 1874, aged 26, and buried 2 April) and 1 dau (Jennet Frances (1853-1926), wife of Charles Frith, later Frith-Hudson (qv)), JP for Westmorland 1845 and DL, died at his residence, Ashton House, 12 July 1859, aged 40 and buried at Beetham, 20 July (pedigree in CRO, WDX 1596; VAC, II, vi, 148b; SSR, 189)

Thexton, Joseph (c.1763-1844), clergyman, marr (31 March 1818, at Beetham) Jennet (died 19 January and buried 23 February 1823, aged 40), dau of John Yeats (qv), 1 son (John Yeats Thexton, qv) and 1 dau (Agnes, born 31 March 1822), Curate of Torpenhow 1841, Vicar of Beetham for 33 yrs, built new vicarage at Beetham shortly before 1829, died 27 June 1844, aged 81 (pedigree in CRO, WDX 1596)

Thirlwall, Percival (d.1485), of Thirlwall, standard bearer to Richard III, fought at Bosworth Field, where he held up the colours until his legs were hacked so badly he fell and died, this is described in The Ballad of Bosworth Field

Thirlwell, Eleanor (early 18thc.), of Warwick Hall, R.C.; CW2 lix 116

Thomas of Kendal, family; CW2 xxxv 146

Thomas, Prior of Conishead, occ.1205-1208 (MoN, 319)

Thomas, Prior of Conishead, occ.1278, but post 1264, succ John as prior (CW2, xviii, 240)

Thomas, Caleb, native of Great Salkeld parish, 18th cent

Thomas, Edward (1878-1917), poet, loved walking in the Lakes; grevel.co.uk

Thomas, John (1712-1793; ODNB), DCL, bishop, born in Carlisle, son of Revd John Thomas vicar of Brampton and his wife Ann, dau of Whitehaven merchant captain, educ Queen’s College, Oxford, DCL 1742, rector of Bletchingley 1738, chaplain to Kings George II and III, dean of Westminster, and of Order of the Bath 1768-1774, bishop of Rochester 1774-1793, author of sermons (CN, 21.10.2011)

Thomas, John John (1860-1940), JP, mining engineer and local councillor, born at Rhostryfan, Caernarvonshire, left Wales in early life, going to evening schools in Furness district to gain mastery of English, lived in Kendal from 1886, specialised in quarrying, managing director of Tilberthwaite Green Slate Co Ltd, alderman, mayor of Kendal for three successive years 1916-17, 1917-18 and 1918-19, and member of borough council for 33 years, member of Westmorland County Council for 47 years, chairman of Kendal war memorial committee, admitted honorary freeman of Borough of Kendal on 6 April 1937 and conferred at special meeting of Council on 25 May, attended by his niece, Miss C Thomas, of 11 Sedbergh Road, Kendal, died unmarried in November 1940; by will left £34,831, with many bequests to poor and charities in his native village of Rhostryfan, also £2,650 to Kendal charities, and residue of estate to University College of Bangor or to University College, Aberystwyth to found a scholarship in geology or mineralogy (scrapbook 1902-1918 in CRO, WSMB/K/2539b, and copy press items, WDY 576); G.Stebbens, Duddon Valley, 219-220

Thomas, Samuel, black servant, buried Kendal 1730s

Thomlinson, Ada Ashbridge- (1878-1973), hospital matron, born Dalston, dau of William Ashridge-Thomlinson (1839-1922) and his wife Elizabeth Steel (1837-1904), worked as a nurse at Sheffield Infirmary from 1900-1914, appointed to the Colonial Nursing Service in Shanghai, nursing sister, hospital matron, retired 1934 after 20 years' service, returned to Gill House, Dalston where she lived with her sister Amy, examples of their dresses are in the collection at Tullie House

Thomlinson, John Ashbridge (1834-1908), cotton manufacturer, built the Atlas Works, Nelson St, Carlisle

Thomlinson, Rev John, born Blencogo, wrote diary described as scandalmongering, publ ished by the Surtees Society vol cvvii

Thomlinson, Thomas (1732-1802), b. Thursby, went to Virginia; CW2 lxiii 287

Thompson, Benjamin (1769-1839), solicitor and agent, born in 1769, marr (1793) Sarah Udale, 19 children (inc William, qv), solicitor in Workington and agent to John Christian Curwen (qv), lived at Park End, which was built as residence for steward and agent of Curwen family, until his death in 1839 (portrait, with view of Schoose Farm, now in Victorian Room of Helena Thompson Museum at Park End) (Museum Guide by Amanda Nutter, n.d.)

Thompson, Bruce Logan (19xx-1977), MA, FSA, agent and author, National Trust agent for north of England properties from 1936, NT district representative on Lake District Advisory Committee, dealt with Beatrix Potter over Monk Coniston estate, Armitt member since early 1920s, Trustee 1946- 19xx , and hon librarian 1946-1966, acting chairman, Armitt Trust 1970- and acting librarian from 1971, member CWAAS from 1922,vice-president from 1952, particular interest in church bells, author of Mardale and Haweswater (1942), The Lake District and the National Trust (1946), Prose of Lakeland: an anthology (1954) with illustrations by W Heaton Cooper , which was intended to be a companion volume to Mrs A P Abraham’s Poems of Lakeland (1934), The Howe, Applethwaite, Windermere and its owners (1964), The Troutbeck Hundreds (1968), many CWAAS articles (inc Westmorland church bells in lxx (1970), 51-68), formerly of Westbourne, Windermere (1922), of High Cross Lodge, Troutbeck (1939), later of Yew Tree Cottage, Troutbeck, died in 1977

Thompson, Cecil Henry Farrer (1882-1975), DSO, OBE, TD, DL, JP, CC, BA, Lieut-Colonel, landowner, born 16 December 1882, er son (with 4 sisters) of George Rodie Thompson (1846-1915), DL, JP, of Lynwood, Ascot, Berkshire, by his 1st wife, Alice Howard (d.1885), dau of Capt H H Barber, educ Harrow and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1904), Barrister-at-law, Inner Temple 1910, served in WW1 with London Rifle Brigade (DSO, OBE, Croix de Guerre, despatches four times), marr (10 June 1915) Rachel Ellen (member of CWAAS from 1936), dau of John Holmes, JP, of Brooke Hall, Norwich, 3 sons (Walter Yates (born 21 January 1921), Oliver Howard (born 13 March 1924, died August 2005) and Christopher Martin (born 30 August 1925), succ to Nunwick Hall estate on death of his uncle Richard Heywood Thompson (qv) in 1935, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1940, died in 1975

Thompson, Charles (b.1819), b. Morland, ed Ackworth, apprent grocer, then comm. traveller, joined Nathaniel Card in cotton spinning, active in UK Alliance to suppress liquor for 37 years, contested Bath in 1873 and another seat in 1875

Thompson, Charles Lacy (1857-1920), DL, JP, BA, High Sheriff, son of Lieut-Col Thomas Charles Thompson (1832-1888), JP, of Milton Hall, Brampton, and (marr 1856) Gertrude (1834-1904), dau of Richard Lacy (qv), of Eden Lacy, marr (189x), son (Captain Thomas Alexander Lacy (1895-19xx), DSO, MC, who marr (1917) Vera Mabel Florence, yr dau of Thomas Dixon, of Rheda), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1900, died in 1920

Thompson, Edmund (c.1856-1928), JP, local councillor, Westmorland county councillor for Long Marton, chairman of Westmorland county council from October 1926 to April 1928, rural district councillor, chairman of Long Marton Parish Council, hon secretary of Long Marton Parish Institute, of Manor House, Long Marton (1894, 1905), buried at Long Marton, 28 April 1928, aged 72; succ at Manor House by Arthur Burra Thompson (1929)

Thompson, Edward H (1879-1949), artist

Thompson, Edwin (d.c.1972), estate agent, during convalescence at Lingholme, Keswick, during the 1st WW met Lord Rochdale (qv) who offered him work after the war, ended with the rank of major, on return joined estate management company, Keswick, founded by Pape and |Martin in the 1880s, did work on the Lingholme estate, changed the firm’s name to Edwin Thompson, succeeded by his son John (qv)

Thompson, Francis (1665-1735), clergyman, marr (14 October 1707, at Brough) Isabell (buried at Brough, 29 October 1737), widow of Joseph Fisher (qv), his predecessor, archdeacon of Carlisle, 3 sons (John (bapt 8 June 1709), Francis (bapt 1 February 1710/11 and bur 27 July 1713) and William (qv)), instituted as vicar of Brough on presentation of Queen’s College, Oxford, 11 April 1705, until his death, buried at Brough, 2 September 1735 (CRO, WPR 23; ECW, ii, 1122)

Thompson, George Elyetson (1864-1940), JP, MA, landowner, 2nd son of Matthew Thompson (qv), Westmorland county alderman, serving 48 years on the council, and vice-chairman, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1924, of Stobars Hall, Kirkby Stephen, died aged 76, and buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery, 8 May 1940, succ by his cousin, Captain R P Hewetson (qv); Agnes Elyetson Thompson died 7 December 1908, aged 91, and buried in KS cemetery, 10 December

Thompson, Giles Derwent (1946-2011), clergyman, born in 1946, CBDTI, asst priest (NSM), parish of Kirkby Stephen with Mallerstang and Crosby Garrett with Soulby from 2006, formerly of Hanging Lund, Mallerstang, retired land agent, last Master of Wensleydale Harriers, former Squadron Leader, duke of Lancaster’s Own Yeomanry, of Cairn Cottage, 13 High Street, Kirkby Stephen, died at Stobars Hall, Kirkby Stephen, 12 July 2011, and funeral at St Mary’s, Mallerstang, 21 July (CWH, /7.11)

Thompson, Gustavus (16xx-1749), MA, clergyman, of Whitehaven, his grandfather lost a fortune in the South Sea Bubble, chaplain to bishop of Carlisle, instituted to vicarage of Penrith on 4 June 1748, succ Revd Morland (qv), died 9 April 1749 and buried at Canonby; CW1 iii 368

Thompson, Harrison (d.1895), memorial fountain, Kirkby Stephen erected post obit by his sister E.E. Thompson

Thompson, Helena (18xx-1940), MBE, JP, philanthropist, eldest dau of William Thompson (qv), of Park End, Workington, the Georgian house, where she lived all her life after 1865 and which she purchased from Curwen estate in 1934 in order to leave it to the town as a museum and meeting place for women (groups of women still meet to work at embroidery, lacemaking and patchwork), gift on her death was conditional on it being becoming a museum dedicated to social and industrial heritage of Workington and district, particularly interested in history of costume and needlework (her own sketches and notes on history of costume being included in the displays), member of CWAAS from 1899, outlived all her younger unmarried siblings, gave away much of her wealth to charitable causes, improving town’s amenities and founding a maternity ward in Workington Infirmary, bequeathed contents of the house to form basis of the museum collection, died 7 January 1940; house was requisitioned after her death and outbreak of war for use as a hostel for evacuated children, converted into museum after 1945, opening to public in 1949 and a listed building in 1957 (copy will in CRO, Whitehaven, YDX 574)

Thompson, Henry Yates (1838-1928; ODNB), newspaper proprietor and manuscript collector, son of Samuel Henry Thompson DL JP, a banker of Liverpool and his wife Elizabeth Yates, the daughter of Joseph Brook Yates a West Indian merchant and antiquary, the family lived at Thingwall Hall (L), brother of Richard Heywood Thompson (qv) of Nunwick Hall, Cumberland, educ Harrow and Trinity Cambridge, in USA witnessed the Civil War, secretary to Lord Spencer when Lord Lt of Ireland 1868-73, stood unsuccessfully for S Lancs at three elections, marr Elizabeth dau of George Murray Smith (1824-1901; ODNB), publisher of the DNB and the owner of the Pall Mall Gazette who presented him with the paper, following a turbulent period with William Thomas Stead (1849-1912; ODNB) as editor he sold the paper to William Waldorf Astor (1848-1919; ODNB) in 1892, his collection of mostly illuminated mss began with a gift from his maternal grandfather when he was 18, began buying from 1879 and more actively from 1890s, though showing mostly conventional taste he occasionally displays ‘connoisseurial precocity’, determined to ‘pitilessly to discard’ lesser things in his aim to collect 100 superb items, became the greatest ms collector of his generation, notable items included a 12thc ms of Bede’s Life of St Cuthbert, The Dunois Hours and an edition of Dante’s Divina Commedia made for Alphonso King of Aragon, collection dispersed before his death, his widow sold others after his death and gave some to the BM which now holds 52 mss, among the finest in the world; Hudleston ( C ); C Chancellor, Diaries of HY Thompson in the Civil War, 1863, 1971; MR James, A Descriptive Catalogue of 50 Ms from the Collection of HY Thompson, 1894; R Myers and M Hanin eds, Christopher de Hamel, Was Henry Yates Thompson a Gentleman ?, 1991

Thompson, Henry (18xx-18xx), schoolmaster, master of Friends’ (Boys) School, Stramongate, Kendal 1860-1878, of Castle Park Terrace (1858) and of 58 Stramongate and Summerhow, Kendal (1873), illuminated testimonial made to Mr Prewett, one of his teachers of the day scholars at Friends’ School, on his leaving town in October 1866 (in CRO, WDX 1538)

Thompson, Henry (18xx-19xx), veterinary surgeon, apptd first secretary of Aspatria Agricultural Co-operative Society at first general meeting (with 20 members) on 13 January 1870, also expected to provide an office and warehouse (to be open for three days a week), at annual salary of £65, members numbered 327 by 1900 and sales of £13,467, rejected takeover proposal from Co-operative Wholesale Society Ltd in 1919, retired on its 50th anniversary in 1920 (when turnover reached £40,000 a year)

Thompson, H A (1xxx-19xx), MA, clergyman, resigned as vicar of Grange-over-Sands as from 15 November 1962

Thompson, Dr J.R.K,. O.B.E., physician Penrith; CW2 lx 211

Thompson, Jacob (1806-1879; ODNB), landscape painter, born in Lanton Street, Penrith, 28 August 1806, of Quaker parents, introduced by Lord Lonsdale to London art circles, exhibited paintings of scenes in Mardale and Haweswater at Royal Academy (most famous ‘Drawing the Net at Haweswater’ (1867), which he painted while staying with Mr Bland at Measand Beck Hall (A Backwater in Lakeland, 46-48), painted two murals framing east window of St Andrew’s church, Penrith (‘Agony in the Garden’ and ‘Angel appearing to the Shepherds’), died at the Hermitage, Hackthorpe, aged 73, and buried in Lowther churchyard, 31 December 1879 (portrait engraving by …); work at Penrith Museum, Marshall Hall, Artists of Cumbria; Art Journal, January 1861; J. Walker, History of Penrith, [1858] appendix

Thompson, James (1794-1851), mineral agent and mine lessee, born in 1794, 3rd child of Thomas and Isabella Thompson, of Farlam Hall, entd service of earls of Carlisle in 1808 by joining colliery office at Kirkhouse as assistant to Thomas Lawson (qv), mineral agent for Cumberland estates, whom he succ on his retirement in 1819, became lessee of Lord Carlisle’s collieries in 1838, died 14 July 1851 and buried at Farlam (CW2, lxxv, 378-380, with portrait); firm continued by his widow Maria and his sons (inc Thomas Charles, qv sub C L Thompson)

Thompson, James, of Kirkhouse, brick and tile maker, drove Stephenson’s Rocket when it was being used in Cumberland

Thompson, James (c.1818-1895), JP, card manufacturer, born at Hawes, North Riding, Yorks, James Thompson & Co, card manufacturers, Bridge Mills, Kendal, county and borough Magistrate, of Singleton Park, near Kendal [did he buy or lease from Thomas Harrison?] (1881, 1885, 1891, 1894), died 1895

Thompson, James (1841-1902), brewer and spirit wholesaler, Barrow, b. and bap Overton, son of William and Ann, William also a publican, came to the Welcome Hotel in Church St, Barrow in the early 1870s, built and purchased other hotels, m. Fanny [1844-1911], became a partner in the firm of Gardner, Thompson and Cardwell, business in Dalton Rd., elected councillor 1877 almost until his death, member of the board of Guardians, a founder of Barrow Licensed Victuallers, a freemason of Hartington Lodge, gave new organ to St Pauls church, adverts for James Thompson Wholesale Wine and Spirit Merchants, importer of wines and brandies, min water and cordial mfr, ale and porter bottler, 237 Dalton Rd, supplier of five kinds of whiskey, Scotch and Irish, St Raphael Quinquina Tonic Wine, Thompsons celebrated Coca Wine and Sloe Gin, telegraphic address ‘Whiskey Barrow-in-Furness’, he was a co-owner of the Whittle Springs Brewery Ltd near Chorley, which had been purchased from Henry Heys (qv), thus he provided an outlet for Whittle Springs Ales and Stouts, freemason of Towneley Lodge at Whittle Springs, established a dynasty including Col. R Thompson (qv), who followed him as MD, another son James lived in Spring Terrace, Whittle le Woods, a large procession for his funeral attended by many business contacts and friends including HE Thwaites, director of Whittle Springs Brewery, bur Barrow cemetery; Obit Barrow News 23 August 1902; Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones online

Thompson, John (16xx-17xx), schoolmaster, had  children baptised at Barton from 1706 to 1719

Thompson, John (c.1720-1787), surveyor, employed on the Morpeth estate of Lord Carlisle, came to Cumberland to lay out farms, lived Farlam Hall, marr, son (Thomas (1765-1838), father of James (qv))

Thompson, John (1777-1861), clergyman, born 28 January 1777, yr son of Revd Thomas Thompson (qv), ordained deacon 29 June 1800 and priest 14 June 1801, assisted father in parochial duties for four years, then succ him as curate, minister or incumbent of Patterdale for 57 years, rebuilt parsonage and new church, marr (3 September 1818) Dorothy, dau of John Mounsey, last ‘king’ of Patterdale (qv), 2 sons (John and Thomas) and 2 daus (Elizabeth Mary Ann, wife of Dr Hobson (qv), and Dorothy), died 6 June 1861, aged 84, and buried at Patterdale, 11 June; memorial west window erected by his daus, and two others erected by Mrs Hobson SG (RP, 31-32)

Thompson, John (Matthew John Milburn), (1925-2015), b Eskin St, Keswick, son of Edwin Thompson (qv) and his wife Mary, educ. St John’s school, Keswick school, St Bees (head of school and captain of rugby), offered a place at Cambridge but the 2nd WW intervened so he joined Border Regt and then 16th Punjab Regt where he learned Urdu, farm experience followed at West Learmouth in Northumberland, played rugby for Kelso with whom he won the Scottish Championship, belatedly to Cambridge to study estate management graduated 1st class and gained a blue for rugby in 1950, the university offered him an academic post but he returned to Keswick in 1952, joined the family firm and marr Alison Nicholson, dau of William Nicholson, director of Teasdale’s Confectionery (later president of Keswick Rotarians, who on visiting Chicago c.1928 found hiself staying in the same hotel as Al Capone (1899-1947)), at St Cuthbert’s Carlisle, 1 son 1 dau, with great drive developed the family business in the north west to the extent that Edwin Thompson commercial signs were regularly on view all over the county and beyond, appointed as an agricultural arbitrator aged only 27, lived at Ash Tree House, Keswick, and later at Brackenrigg, Bassenthwaite, expanded into Scotland with an office in Berwick and later in the USA, when in Scotland he took the tenancy of Press Mains, near Coldingham in Berwickshire where he farmed for twenty years, as a keen member of Keswick rugby club played rugby for the town and for Cumberland, a trustee of the Rank Foundation, a governor of St Bees school, a member of the MCC, an excellent shot, enjoyed riding, fishing and playing bridge; obit C News; family information and funeral eulogy

Thompson, Johnathan Christmas (1824-1906), artist, born in Carlisle 1824, son of Johnathan Christmas Thompson, publican of The Rose and Crown on Finkle Street, Carlisle, organ blower, bell ringer and key holder at Carlisle Cathedral, and his wife Jane, appointed to Sir William Allen’s class at the Royal Institution in Edinburgh against 18 competitors in December 1843, exhibited at the Carlisle Exhibition in 1846 and 1850, living with his widowed mother in St Cuthbert’s Lane in 1851, his ‘drawing classes for chalk and pencil’ resumed at 26 Castle Street in January 1852, had joined Carlisle Mechanics’ Institute in 1844 but resigned in October 1853 as he had ‘left town’, being entered as a candidate for a mastership in elementary drawing at Marlborough House in December 1853, took up mastership of Warrington School of Art in October 1855, his pupils incl Sir Luke Fildes, Henry Wood, RA, and Wilmot Lunt, marr (April 1863) Ellen, eldest dau of Josiah Whittle, of Warrington, 1 dau (Hylda, who marr Charles Edward Pierpoint (qv) and died at 21 Warwick Square, Carlisle in 1949, aged 84), retired in 1884, died in Warrington in May 1906 (CN, 18.11.2016)

Thompson, Marcellus (18xx-18xx), marble and monumental mason, yr son of John Thompson, of Burneside, marble mason, of Lound works, Kendal (1873), also described as landowner employing seven men and two boys in 1871, of 19 Bank Terrace, Kendal (1886), left an estate at Grange by his brother Miles (qv), Eden Mount House, which was owned by his John in 1882 (Mannex, 339); John S Thompson was stone mason and quarry owner, but quarries were sold by his other son Miles Strickland Thompson (of 2 Lound, who owned share in foundry with  Marcellus, jnr, of 5 Lound) to Albert/Alfred Nelson, of Kendal in 1905 (WoK, 57, 107; WG, 26.12.1863)

Thompson, Mark (1903-1989/90) (WN ?)

Thompson, Matthew (1815-1871), DL, JP, landowner, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1864, of Stobars Hall, Kirkby Stephen, descended from William Thompson (d.1574), of Town Head, Kirkby Stephen, marr (1861) Ann (b.1834), sister of Dr Richard Hewetson and aunt of Captain R P Hewetson (qv), 2 sons (inc G E qv), died 9 May 1871, aged 55, and buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery, 13 May [Richard Bovill Thompson of Stobars Hall in 1885 – is he other son?]

Thompson, Miles (1808-1868), architect, born in Burneside, near Kendal 1808, son of John Thompson (born at Burneside in 1780, prob slate merchant or stonemason), and his wife Betty, showed talent for drawing at early age, started as a draughtsman clerk and assistant to George Webster (qv) for 20 years, taken into partnership on 1 February 1845 (firm became ‘Webster & Thompson’), but dissolved by mutual consent on 20 March 1846 and firm became ‘Thompson & Webster’, but seamless continuation of practice, purchased houses, workshops, yards, sheds and foundry at the Lound from John Wakefield (qv), built Bank House on top side of Garth Heads for himself in 1842, owned land near Grange, Burneside, Grasmere, Birthwaite in Windermere, Langdale (inc hotel), property in Highgate, Kendal (formerly Richard Greenhow’s), house near Church Gates in Kirkland, very attentive to his younger brother Robert for whom he designed buildings between Collin Croft and Beast Banks, Kendal and sold them to him in 1864, Robert having 21 Beast Banks built in 1870 and erecting small terracotta effigy of Miles on its gable (broken but replaced by Kendal Civic Society in 2000), the figure holds a rolled up architect’s plan and looks across to former National School designed by Francis Webster, unmarried, died of bronchitis at his house in The Lound, Kendal, 26 August 1868, will made 14 November 1866 and proved at Carlisle, 3 October 1868 (executors were brothers, Marcellus and Robert Thompson, and friend Hugh Langhorne); commemorated by the ‘Miles Thompson’ public house in Allhallows Lane (WoK, 39-43, 57)

Thompson, Ronald (1932-2020), footballer, known as ‘Ginger’, played with Raffles Rovers then Carlisle United, held the record for the most appearances as an outfield player, 406 in all, initially a semi-professional and engineer, he later turned professional and played at Gretna and Penrith, following an Achilles injury he established Carlisle City in 1976; News and Star 21 Jan 2021

Thompson, Peter (1942-2018), footballer, born at Harraby, Carlisle, 27 November 1942, son of Eric Thompson, joiner, and his wife Margaret, educ Harraby Secondary School, trained as apprentice toolmaker, but hailed as exceptional schoolboy footballer of late 1950s, youth team, started professional career as outside left at Preston North End in 1959 (121 appearances, 21 goals), transferred to Liverpool for £37,000 and missed only ten out of 294 league fixtures 1963-1973 (416 apps, 54 goals) and Bolton Wanderers 1973-1978 (117 apps, 2 goals), highly regarded by Bill Shankly (1913-1981), sixteen caps for England 1964-1970, retired with knee injury in 1978 after 560 apps and 63 goals, ran caravan park near Morecambe for some years, later hotelier as owner of Hare and Hounds Inn at Bowland Bridge, then the Delaine Hotel in Harrogate, marr 1st (div) Barbara, 2 daus (Deborah and Karen), marr 2nd (1993) Debbie Crosbie, 1 son (Connor) and 1 dau (Chantell), died 31 December 2018, aged 76 (Guardian, 22.01.2019)

Thompson, Col. R., TD DL JP [c.1880-1943], son of James Thompson qv, 4th Bn. Kings Own Royal Regt 1908-1926, the Col was the MD of the firm in later years; his son Lt Col JRS Thompson served in India

Thompson, Richard Heywood (1850-1935), JP, landowner, born in 1850, yst of 5 sons of Samuel Henry Thompson, (1809-1892), DL, JP, of Thingwall Hall, near Birkenhead, banker (BLG, 1952), and brother of Henry Yates Thompson (1838-1928) (ODNB), proprietor of Pall Mall Gazette and collector of illuminated manuscripts, and George Rodie Thompson (1846-1915), bought Nunwick estate in Great Salkeld, c.1890 and built Nunwick Hall, a ‘Tudorbethan’ mansion in red freestone with gables and mullioned windows in 1892 (to design of C J Ferguson, qv) to south of the old hall, with park and grounds of about 200 acres, also had reading room and library (about 300 volumes) built in 1895, chairman of Penrith Board of Guardians (1901), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1904, marr (1885) Anne Lucy (d.1927), dau of Ven William Hornby, Archdeacon of Lancaster, of St Michael-on-Wyre, Lancs, died s.p. in June 1935, leaving estate to his nephew, Colonel C H F Thompson (qv)

Thompson, Robert (fl.early 16thc.; ODNB), clergyman, vicar of Brough by Stainmore, called for the defence of the faith and the preservation of the monasteries, joined the Pilgrimage of Grace 1536-7 as chaplain and taken to the Tower of London

Thompson, Robert Fisher (18xx-19xx), solicitor, registrar of County Court, commissioner for taking acknowledgements of deeds by married women, solicitor to Licensed Victuallers’ Association and to Kent Anglers Association, County Court office at 104 Highgate, Kendal, and at Inglemire, Arnside (1885), also district registrar of high court and of bankruptcy court at Highgate, Kendal (1894); son ? Michael Thompson, also solicitor, of 45 Highgate, and of Inglemire, Arnside (1885)

Thompson, Thomas (1731-1804), clergyman, born in 1731, son of Thomas Thompson (d.1732), of Patterdale, and Margaret (nee Harrison), early educ with Revd John Mattinson (qv) in parish, to college (?), held curacy in Cumberland before preferred to Patterdale in 1765, marr Anne, native of Patterdale, 2 sons (Thomas (qv) and John (qv)) and 1 dau (Mary, 1766-1816), assisted by his yr son John after his ordination in 1800, died in 1804

Thompson, Thomas (1770-18xx), clergyman, er son of Revd Thomas Thompson (qv), born 1770, successively curate of Mungrisdale, Allhallows, etc, performed marriage ceremony of his yr brother John in 1818

Thompson, Thomas William (1888-1968), teacher, writer and collector of folklore, chemistry teacher, Repton School, compiled and edited (with Marley Denwood) A Lafter o’ Farleys in t’ Dialects o’ Lakeland 1760-1945 (printed for The Lakeland Dialect Society, Carlisle, 1950), author of Wordsworth’s Hawkshead (1970), left bequest of £1,000 to Armitt Library 1968,

Thompson, William (1712-c.1766; ODNB), MA, clergyman and poet, bapt at Brough, 1 January 1712/13, 3rd and yst son of Revd Francis Thompson (qv), vicar of Brough, educ Appleby Grammar School and Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 1731, BA 1735, MA 1739, Fellow), presented to rectory of Hampton Poyle with South Weston, Oxon, where he probably died about 1766, unsuccessful candidate for Oxford professorship of poetry in 1751 against William Hawkins (1722-1801), published Gondibert and Bertha, a tragedy in 1751, wrote Gratitude poem on presentation of Pomfret statues to Oxford University in 1756, published Poems on Several Occasions in 1758, noted imitator of Spenser as a poet, Hymn to May and Nativity, and wrote his principal work Sickness, five books in blank verse, paying tribute to memory of Pope and Swift, after recovery from smallpox in 1745, also superintended edition of Joseph Hall’s Virgidemiarum (1753) and left MS notes and observations on William Browne’s Works (revised and published by Thomas Davies in 1772); library sold by Thomas Davies in 1768; not to be confused with Anthony Thompson, dean of Raphoe in Ireland, who died in 1756 (cf Bulmer (1905), 128-129) (WW, ii, 295-306) 

Thompson, William (1792-1854; ODNB), MP, ironmaster, financier and politician, born in 1792, son of James Thompson, of Grayrigg Head, educ Charterhouse, visited his father for two weeks in October 1823, Lord Mayor of London 1828, former Sheriff of City of London, MP for Sunderland 1835-1841 and for Westmorland 1841-1854, bought Underley Estate 1840, bought Sillfield estate, Preston Patrick from John Postlethwaite in 1844 (letter to Moser enclosing £3,300 for conveyance on 15 March, in CRO, WD/MM/183/2), bought Crosthwaite glebe lands in Dent for £1,272 in 1853 (CRO, WPR 3/1/3/6), marr (18xx) Amelia (buried at KL, 13 September 1861, aged 62), 1 dau (Amelia marr Earl of Bective, (qv)), president of Christ’s Hospital 1829-1854, died at Bedwellty House, Monmouth, (portrait by Henry W Pickersgill, RA, in Great Hall of Christ’s Hospital, copy in CRO, WDX 956) (HoP)

Thompson, William (1843-1895), JP, MA, clergyman and schoolmaster, born at Mallerstang, 14 February 1843, educ Sedbergh School (entd October 1857, left May 1862) and Queen’s College, Oxford (Hastings Exhibitioner and Scholar, BA 1866, MA 1869), d 1869 and p 1870 (Cant), curate of St John, Tunbridge Wells 1869-1872, of Cautley 1874-1875, and of Sedbergh 1876-1885, surrogate in dio Ripon 1875, interim headmaster of Sedbergh School in 1875 (following resignation of Revd H G Day with new School scheme and before arrival of Revd F Heppenstall, when he ‘kept the rickety machine in motion, until the Governors were in a position to start the new coach under the direction of an experienced driver’), and a Governor (1895), JP West Riding Yorkshire 1885, author of Sedbergh, Garsdale and Dent: Peeps at the Past History and Present Condition of some Picturesque Yorkshire Dales (Leeds, 1892) and Guide to Sedbergh (18xx), written in a fresh and racy style, died at Guldrey Lodge, Sedbergh, 6 June 1895, aged 52, and buried at Sedbergh, 8 June (SSR, 249)

Thompson, William (1805-1873), JP, banker and agent, son of Benjamin Thompson (qv), of Park End, Workington, where he spent his childhood and to which he returned in 1865 when he obtained the lease (following lease to Charles Lamport, shipbuilder, from c.1850), it having been residence of Edward Stanley Curwen after his father’s death in 1839, described as banker in 1837, succ father as agent to Curwen estate, marr 1st (1837) Jane Agnes (d.1839, aged 19), only dau of William Lomas (qv), marr 2nd (1854) Mary Thompson (1822-1900), five children (all unmarried, inc Helena, qv), JP Cumberland, died in 1873; Reginion Spencer Thompson was of Park End (1885); Ernest Augustus Thompson, of Park End Road, Workington, was JP (1894)

Thompson, William (18xx-18xx), of Morsedale Hall, trustee of Miss Rowlandson’s Charity for Grayrigg almshouses in 1867

Thomson, Andrew (fl.1850-1880s), iron founder, opened foundry in Peppercorn Lane, Kendal in 1850, moved to Capper Lane, then to Gillinggrove in 1856 and operated until early 1880s

Thomson, Sir Basil Home (1861-1939; ODNB) KCB, intelligence officer and writer, b Oxford, son of William Thomson, provost of Queen’s and later archbishop of Canterbury (born in Whitehaven (qv)), head Metropolitan police during 1st WW, involved with the prosecution of the Irish nationalist Sir Roger Casement (1864-1916) and the spy Mata Hari (1876-1917), colonial administrator, author of South Sea Yarns (1894), The Diversions of a Prime Minister (1894) and The Indiscretions of Lady Asenath (1898) 

Thomson, Christopher Gardner (18xx-18xx), solicitor, coroner and registrar, coroner for Kendal and Lonsdale wards of Westmorland and borough of Kendal (elected 11 February 1861, succ Richard Wilson (qv) resigned), clerk to Kendal Board of Guardians, superintendent registrar for Kendal Union (succ John Mann (qv) in 1868x71), apptd registrar of births, marriages and deaths in December 1869, solicitors (Thomson & Graham), Finkle Street, Kendal (1873), C G Thomson & Wilson, Finkle Street (1885)

Thomson, James Smith (18xx-19xx), Congregational minister, Water Street chapel [founded in 1666 and rebuilt in 1834], Wigton (1910)

Thomson, Jessie, lived 5 Moorhouse Rd, when her husband joined the RAF in 2nd WW she drove his fire engine in Carlisle; though many women joined the fire service in the war, most of them were drivers of private vehicles to transport male volunteers to fire sites or were involved as telephonists or with clerical work

Thomson, John (c.1791-1878), draper, of Scottish extraction, marr Isabella (maternally descended from Patrick Home of Polwarth and related to earls of Marchmont), migrated to Whitehaven in 1813 to join business of his uncle, Walter Thomson, draper of King Street, later became director of local bank and chairman of Cleator Moor Haematite Iron Company (first such company to be formed in north of England), died at Bishopthorpe Palace, near York, seat of his eldest son, William (qv), archbishop of York, 18 April 1878, aged 87 (WCWH, 25.04 and 02.05 1878)

Thomson, Lewis Gardner (18xx-19xx), solicitor, Bank Chambers, 14 Finkle Street, Kendal, deputy coroner for Kendal and Lonsdale Wards (1894) and Kendal Borough, clerk to school board, secretary of Underbarrow Institute, hon secretary to Mary Wakefield Competition and Festival (1896-99), of Scar Foot, Underbarrow (1905)

Thomson, Margaret Eleanor Daisy (fl.1914-1919) MBE, nurse and hospital administrator, ran Skiddaw Groive as a hospital in Keswick during 1st WW, awarded MBE and silver salver; CW3 xx 205

Thomson, Philip Gardner (c.1901-1977), solicitor and local councillor, solicitor, C G Thomson & Wilson, Kendal, last Chairman of Westmorland County Council (April 1970 to March 1974), appointed secretary to trustees of Heversham and Milnthorpe Apprentices’ Charity, succ John Handley (who retired after 25 years), 26 October 1950 (CRO, WPR 8/acc.11083), of Highlands, Arnside, aged 27, when he marr (21 July 1928, at Wesleyan Chapel, Marlborough Road, Banbury) Enid Aspden Fairfax (aged 26), of Dashwood Lodge, Banbury, Oxon

Thomson, Thomas (16xx-1709), clergyman, curate of Walney for 47 and a half years, apptd at old stipend in 1661, but landowners pledged to pay 4s. 5d. per tenement yearly as a chapel or priest wage, bringing in about £10 p.a., died in April 1709 (CW2, xx, 98)

Thomson, William (1819-1890; ODNB), MA, DD, FRS, archbishop and college head, born at Whitehaven, 11 February 1819, eldest son of John Thomson (qv), of Kelswick House, educ Shrewsbury School (entd aged 11, preferred science to classics) and Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 2 June 1836, elected scholar 1837 and fellow 1840, BA 1840, MA 1844), marr (1855) Zoe, dau of James Henry Skene (b.1812), British consul at Aleppo, and his wife Rhalon Rizo-Rangabe, 4 sons (inc Sir Basil Home Thomson (ODNB (qv)) and Jocelyn Home Thomson) and 5 daus, elected provost of Queen’s College on 11 August 1855, following death of Revd John Fox (qv),  bishop of Gloucester and Bristol 1861-1863, archbishop of York from 1863 (nominated 19 December 1862, conf 23 January 1863 and enthroned 25 February), taken ill while boating at Keswick in September, died in Bishopthorpe Palace on Christmas day 1890, aged 71, and buried in Bishopthorpe churchyard, near York (DH, 139-140)

Thomson, Zoe (1819-1890), see Skene

Thored, Gunnar’s son, said to have harried Westmoringa land in 966 (AS Chron; F M Stenton, Pre-Conquest Westmorland in RCHM, li), see sub Edgar in ODNB)

Thorndike, Sybil (1882-1976; ODNB) DBE, actress, played Constance in King John at The Roxy, Ulverston on 5th June 1941

Thornely, Gervase Michael Cobham (1918-2009), headmaster, born at Hampstead, London, 21 October 1918, son of pioneering airman in RFC, brought up in Hampstead, educ Rugby and Trinity Hall, Cambridge (organ scholar, read Classics and French, friend of singer, Ian Wallace, who died on day before him), denied postgraduate position at Grenoble University by outbreak of WW2, apptd assistant master (teaching French) and house tutor to School House at Sedbergh School in 1940, marr (1954) Jennifer Scott, 2 sons and 2 daus, apptd Headmaster on retirement of J H Bruce-Lockhart (qv), taking up post in September 1954, having overcome initial doubts at his young appt (35) and won over critics, oversaw period of great growth and success in all fields (academic, sport, music and arts; new library, science, maths, design and recreational facilities built) while preserving ethos of school in time of change in 1960s and early 1970s, retiring in 1975 on 450th anniversary of school’s foundation (attended by Donald Coggan, archbishop of Canterbury), astute judge of character, natural gravitas, enthusiastic motivator and inspirational head to generations of Sedberghians, secretary of Old Sedberghians, member of Common Entrance Board, central committee of Headmaster’s Conference, and National Youth Orchestra council, governor of Arnold School, Blackpool (advising on its acquiring a Lakeland outdoor pursuits centre at Glenridding), Secretary of F C Scott Charitable Trust, organist of Sedbergh parish church for many years, died at Killington, 13 October 2009, aged 90 (Times, 23.11.09)

Thornley, John James (1842-1905), MA, clergyman, educ St John’s College, Cambridge (BA 1866, MA 1869), d 1866 and p 1867 (Carl), Curate of St Michael, Workington 1866-1871, vicar of St John, Workington 1871-1892, member of Board of Guardians, Workington Poor Law Union, chairman of school board, Guard Street, Workington (1883), vicar of Kirkoswald 1892-1905, hon canon of Carlisle from 1889 (apptd by Bishop Goodwin), Surrogate, member of CWAAS from 1897, made pioneering survey of field names of his parish, learned Old Norse for himself, made unpublished saga-translations, and lectured on Kormaks Saga in Barrow and Workington, transcribed and edited The Ancient Church Registers of the Parish of Kirkoswald, Cumberland, 1577-1812 (Workington, 1901), contributed papers to Transactions on ‘The Field Names of the Parish of Kirkoswald’ (CW1, xv, 48-91), ‘Children’s Games as played at Kirkoswald (CW2, i, 268-279), ‘Ring-marked Stones at Glassonby and Maughanby’ (CW2, ii, 380-383), a report on finds at Old Parks, Kirkoswald (CW2, iv, 351), and read notes on Long Meg at meeting on 28 August 1902, which he did not live to complete as a full account, died at Kirkoswald vicarage, 1 December 1905, aged 63, and buried at Kirkoswald (under ‘Saxon’ cross) (CW2, vi, 342-43; xiii, 296; VVL, 189)

Thornton, William Blamyre (1837-1926), DL, JP, auctioneer, surveyor and arbitrator, b Staveley, son of Thomas and Mary Thornton, lived Salford where father was a tailor,  marr Mercy Barker (1846-1906), 2 children, DL Westmorland (apptd in November 1895), JP, of Staveley Park, Kendal, and of 39 Buckingham Palace Mansions, London SW, died 18 February 1926

Thrang family, Duddon valley; CW2 lxii 238

Threlfall, R B (18xx-19xx), MA, schoolmaster, educ Queen’s College, Oxford, appointed headmaster of Heversham Grammar School from 1 January 1921 to 31 August 1938

Threlkeld family of Threlkeld and Melmerby; CW1 ix 298; CW2 xxiii 154; CW2 x 300

Threlkeld, Lancelot (c.1435-1492), landowner, estates at Yanwath and Crosby Ravensworth, dau Ann was wife of Sir Hugh Lowther (qv)

Threlkeld, Sir Lancelot (d.1506x1510), son of Sir Lancelot Threlkeld (qv), of Yanwath, marr Margaret, 3 daus (Grace, wife of Thomas Dudley, Elizabeth, wife of James Pickering, and Winifride, wife of William Pickering), died without male heir. ‘I have three noble houses, one for pleasure – Crosby – where I have a park of deer, one for profit and warmth where I reside in the winter – Yanwath, and the third – Threlkeld, well stocked with tenants to go with me to the wars’  Hudleston ©

Threlkeld, Rowland, of Melmerby, founder of the College at Kirkoswald with Thomas Lord Dacre, c.1523

Thring, Rev. Edward (1821-1887; ODNB), priest and teacher, headmaster of Uppingham, son of Rev John Gale Dalton Thring and Sarah Jenkyns, educ Eton and Kings Coll Cambridge, head Uppingham 1853-1887, est the Headmasters’ Conference, many boys were much influenced by him including Hardwicke Drummond Rawnsley (qv), leased a holiday home at Grasmere called Ben Place from 1867-1876 where Rawnsley stayed when still at school, this was HDR’s introduction to the Lake District; HDR, Edward Thring, Teacher and Poet, 1888

Thurnam, Charles (1796-1852), printer and bookseller, yr son of Timothy Thurnam, MD, and Dorothy (1768-1799), dau of William Graham (d.1782), surgeon, of Carlisle, (his elder brother, William Graham Thurnam (1792-1823), was Major in Bombay Army), founded printing, bookselling and bookbinding firm at 5 English Street, Carlisle in 1816; business carried on by sons, William Graham Thurnam (died at Rome in 1859, aged 23) and James Graham Thurnam (died in 1872, aged 34) [firm closed at end of 2006]; John Barrie and Peter Leslie, Thurnhams, c.2010; commissioned portraits of local worthies for calendars, Jackson collection, Carlisle library

Thurnham, Giles (d.1975), tea planter, father of Peter Giles Thurnam (qv)

Thurnam, Peter Giles (1938-200x), MA, MBA, FIMechE, politician and businessman, born 21 August 1938, son of Giles Rymer Thurnam (tea planter) (d.1975) and Marjorie May (nee Preston) (d.1994), marr (1963) Sarah Janet, dau of Harold Keenlyside Stroude, 1 son, 3 daus and 1 adopted son, educ Oundle School, Peterhouse, Cambridge (MA 1967), Harvard Business School (MBA 1969) and Cranfield Institute of Technology, turbine designer, C A Parsons & Co Ltd 1957-1967, divisional director, British Steam Specialities Ltd, Leicester 1968-1971, ran own engineering business, chairman, Wathes Group from 1972, SLDC councillor 1982-1984 (then of Sidegarth, Staveley), MP for Bolton North East 1983-1997 (Conservative until October 1996, thereafter Lib Dem), PPS to Sec of State for Environment 1992-1993, to Jnt Parly Under Secs of State for Employment 1991-1992, and to Sec of State for Employment 1987-1990, member: Social Security Select Cttee 1993-1995, Public Accounts Cttee 1995-1997, secretary, Conservative Employment Cttee 1986-1987, vice-chairman, All Party Parly Group for Children 1987-1997 and for Disability 1992-1997, etc., moved from Hollin Hall, Crook, Kendal, to Crane Farm, South Cerney, Glos.

Thwaites family; CW2 xcii 92

Thwaites, Joseph of Thwaites (b.c.1572) described as ‘one of the wittiest, brave monsirs for all gentile gallantry, hounds, haukes, horse courses, boules, bowes and arrows and all games whatsoever: play his £100 at cards, dice and shovelboard…….and had not above £200 p.an. yet left his children pretty porcions and died beloved of all parties’.    Roy Hudleston Armorial (C)

Thwaites, Peter (1926-1991), soldier and playwright, b. Ambleside, Westmorland, brigadier Grenadier Guards, service in Muscat and Singapore, author of Love or Money, Roger’s Last Stand (1976) and Muscat Command (1995), est a genealogical centre at Holesfoot, Maulds Meaburn, d Ayot St Lawrence; obit Times

Thwaites, Thomas (18xx-19xx), local councillor, Westmorland county councillor for Kendal Borough Kendal Green division, of 1 Woodlea, Kendal (1894)

Thwaites, T W (18xx-19xx), of Holesfoot Lodge, elected by ratepayers of Maulds Meaburn as a governor of Crosby Ravensworth United Schools Foundation from 1900

Thwaites, William (18xx-19xx), rector of Egremont 1887-19xx, vicar of Loweswater 1883-1887, curate of Cleator Moor 1878-1883

Thwaytes, Lancelot Henry (1925-2012), solicitor, town councillor and local historian, born in Quetta, Pakistan, 21 August 1925, only son of R C G Thwaytes, Major, Royal Veterinary Corps, and his wife Audrey Eleanor (nee Mannering), educ St Augustine’s, Ramsgate, Kent, and Downside School, Somerset, joined Army in 1943 and posted to India with King’s (Liverpool) Regiment, continuing to serve with TA after War with Artists’ Rifles (21st SAS), trained to be solicitor after demobilisation, set up own practice in 1959 with two offices in London (Strand and Islington), commuting to his family home at Holesfoot, Maulds Meaburn, until he retired from his London practice in 1980 and took up post with Allerdale District Council’s legal department, running it for ten years, founding member of Catholic Housing Aid Society and Family Housing Association in London, also member of advisory committee that set up housing charity Shelter, active in Catholic community, esp for homeless, being made a Knight of St Gregory by Pope John Paul II in 1980, elected member of Appleby Town Council in 1996 and first elected mayor in 2000 (on death in office of Frank Graves), served two further terms, resigned from council in 2005 (after death of wife), but re-elected in 2007 and served again as mayor in 2009, marr (1958) Mary Fiona (died 14 September 2004), 2 sons (William and John Paul) and 3 daus (Annabel, Georgina and Margaret), established Ancestral Research Centre at his ancestral home at Holesfoot with his wife, who was herself a keen member of CFHS and FOCAS, to pursue family and local history, member of CWAAS from 1968, also of CFHS and of Appleby-in-Westmorland Society, worked esp on burgage and property history of borough of Appleby, author of article on ‘Catholics of Parish and Town’ (??), Freeman of City of London, member of Clothworker’s Company, supporter in his retirement of Appleby Bowling Club, Cricket Club, Royal British Legion branch, and Appleby-in-Westmorland Society, deep Catholic faith was central to his life and work, dry sense of humour with twinkle in his eye, pipe in hand, formerly of Holesfoot, Maulds Meaburn, latterly of 19a Boroughgate, Appleby, died while visiting his yr son John Paul in Monaco, 26 February 2012, aged 87, funeral at Our Lady of Appleby Roman Catholic Church, 16 March (CWH, 10.03.2012)

Tickell, Joseph, of Penrith and Virginia; CW2 lxii 295

Tickell, Richard (16xx-1692), MA, clergyman, educ Trinity College, Dublin, ordained deacon by Bishop of Chester on 24 September 1671 and priest by Bishop of St Asaph on 23 February 1672, instituted to rectory of Egremont on death of Isaac Antrobus (qv), 3 March 1673, and inducted on 12 June 1673, appeared and exhibited before bishop on occasion of his visitation, 30 June 1674, also presented to Bridekirk by Richard Lamplugh and instituted on 28 May 1680, had John Collinson as a curate in 1683, later presented to rectory of Distington by Sir John Lowther and instituted on 3 September 1685, while still holding Egremont, with a second institution at Egremont on 20 November 1685 (though Act Book gives 23 January 1685/6), being presented by Charles, duke of Somerset (qv) and his wife, character testimonial in Distington Presentments for 1689 (‘Minister a man of good life, uses canonical Apparel, resorts not to Ale-house without Occasions, gives not himself to servile labour, nor drinking nor misspending his Time’), similarly at Egremont in 1692, (‘Our Curate………. marr (by 1674)’ Margaret (buried at Distington, 30 September 1729), several children, buried at Distington, 28 June 1692 (ECW, i, 721, ii, 802-803, 829-830)

Tickell, Thomas (1685-1740; ODNB), poet and government official, born at Distington, 17 December 1685 and bapt at Bridekirk, 19 January 1686, 4th son and 6th of eight children of Revd Richard Tickell (qv), family moved from Distington to Whitehaven after his father’s death in 1692, sent to St Bees School in 1695 under his uncle Revd Richard Jackson (qv), matric Queen’s College, Oxford, 16 May 1701, aged 15, as a taberer, BA 7 July 1705, MA 22 February 1709, and elected Fellow on 9 November 1710, had not taken orders and later obtained dispensation from crown, 25 October 1717, holding his fellowship until his marriage in 1726, under secretary to Addison, translator of the Iliad, died at Bath, 21 April 1740

Tilbrook, Samuel (1783-1835), clergyman and schoolmaster, of Ivybridge, Rydal, son of John Tilbrook, of Bury St Edmunds, educ at Bury St Edmunds, and Peterhouse, Cambridge, who presented him to living of Freckenham in Fordham deanery, Suffolk in 1829, died in 1835 and buried at Freckenham, 27 May 1835 (MI in church)

Tiffin, Edward (1766-1829) physician, b Carlisle and US senator

Tilley, Sir John Anthony Cecil (1813-1898; ODNB), KCB, Post Office administrator, son of John Tilley, London merchant, close friend and brother-in-law of Anthony Trollope (1815-1882; ODNB qv), marr. (11 February 1839, in London) Cecilia Frances Trollope and set up home on Fellside, below the Beacon in Penrith, (first child, Frances Trollope Tilley, born at Penrith, 12 December 1839 and bapt at St Andrew’s Church, 18 July 1840, followed by Cecilia Isabel, bapt. 11 February 1841, and Ann Jane, bapt. 1 June 1842), Postal Surveyor of Northern District of England (based at Penrith) 1838-1848, until promoted to Assistant Secretary of Post Office 1848-1864, then succ Sir Rowland Hill as Secretary 1864-1880, his widowed mother Elizabeth and sister Susannah were living at Barco Cottage, Sandgate, Penrith, in 1841, his mother-in-law Frances (Fanny) Trollope [ODNB qv] and brother-in-law, Thomas Adolphus, built new house, Carleton Hill 1841-42, but left by spring 1843 [moving on to Florence], leaving Tilley and family to move in, where son, Arthur William, born in December 1844 (bapt at Penrith, 5 March 1845), AT’s first novel (TMoB) presented to Fanny at Carleton Hill in July 1845, 5th child (Edith Diana Mary) born at Lytham, Lancs in November 1846 (bapt there, 6 January 1847), moved to Allen Terrace, Kensington, London in October 1848, wife Cecilia died on 4 April 1849, followed by 4 of children 1850-51, leaving Edith, marr. 2nd etc… [AT staying with Tilley and Edith at Hanover Square, London, when he had fatal stroke on 3 November 1882], died at home, 18 March 1898 and buried in Brompton cemetery (CW3, vii, 179-182)

Tilliol family, given land by Henry I, Robert de Tilliol (d.1320) and his wife Maud de Lascelles who built Scaleby Castle were the forbears of Sir Peter de Tilliol (b.Scaleby) who fought with Sir Andrew de Harcla (qv) in 1322

Tilliol, Maud de (d.1343), the wife of Robert de Tilliol above, probably commissioned the Madresfield Book of Hours [Getty Collection]

Tilliol, Peter (or Roger) de (1299-1348), landowner, politician and judge

Tilred (d.c.925), abbot and bishop, occ as abbot of Heversham c.901 buying lands in co Durham, half dedicated to St Cuthbert for Lindisfarne and half for Norham, prompted by threat of Viking incursions to move to Lindisfarne c. 915, bishop of Lindisfarne till his death in c.925 (Historia Sancti Cuthberti)

Tinbergen, Nikolaas (Niko) (1907-1988; ODNB), ornithologist and ethologist and a founder of modern ethology, born at the Hague, son of Dirk Cornelius Tinbergen and Jeanette van Eek, educated Leiden university, research on the herring gull population (Larus argentatus) on Walney Island in the 1950s and 60s, he discovered that chicks peck at the red spot on their parents’ beaks to elicit food, academic at Oxford, taught Richard Dawkins (b.1941) and Desmond Morris (b.1928), Nobel laureate with Konrad Lorenz and Karl von Frisch, his brother Jan also a Nobel economics laureate, they are the only pair of siblings to be so honoured; Herring Gulls World (1953), H.Kruk, Niko’s Nature: A Life of Niko Tinbergen; New York Times, 7April 1974; archival material Royal Society

Tingewick, Nicholas (c.1262-1339), physician to Edward I in his latter days, see Tyngewyck

Tinian, John (alive in 1823), champion wrestler and all round athlete, Penrith,  he was six feet high and weighed 14 stone, powerful and muscular he was ‘regarded as a desperado’ and looked upon as ‘the cock of the walk’ wherever he went, ‘as a wrestler, boxer, runner, leaper, cudgel and football plyer he never met an equal’ he was the ‘greatest hero in athletic exercises England ever produced’; W.Litt, Wrestliana, 1823, 118; Francis Galton, Hereditary Genius (1892, 312)

Tinklar, John (fl.1725-1759), priest of Addlethorpe, Lincs who bequeathed £50 in 1751 to invest in land, the interest to be directed to the upkeep of the Tinclar Library, Bampton; M.E. Noble, History of the Parish of Brampton

Tinnenay, Philip (d.1827), murderer, announced his crime to Ann Irving the landlady of the Jovial Butcher in Botchergate, Carlisle, his victim was his girlfriend Mary Brown and he had hit her with a hammer, her body was found in Far Field, he was convicted and hanged in Carlisle on 11 Mar 1827; Martin Baggoley, Murder and Crime: The Lake District

Tinniswood, Millican (1803-1879), industrial administrator, district agent for London Lead Co., b. Alston, son of John Vipond Tinniswood (b.1777), m. Lucy Little, lived Alston House, his dau Frances m. William Dalton, the father of Millican Dalton, the ‘professor of adventure’ (qv)

Tipper, Charles Joseph Richard (18xx-1953), BSc, educational administrator, secretary of Westmorland County Education Committee, offices at 28 Lowther Street, Kendal, director of Education for Westmorland, said to ‘not altogether [to] like [family] relations to work together in the School’ (Warcop School, managers’ minute book, 22 July 1931), retd 1936, of 21 Greenside (1905), Highfield, Kendal (1912), prominent in Kendal Monthly Meeting of Society of Friends (with wife Gertrude), trustee of Gillinggate Mission Hall, Kendal, member of Kendal Art Society and thanked by its committee in November 1946 ‘for all he has done in the past for the Society’ and hoping that he would ‘enjoy much painting in his new surroundings’ on occasion of his moving from Low Park, Endmoor to Cheshire (Craigmuir, Chester Road, Hartford), died 28 June 1953 (KAS papers in CRO, WDSo 363)

Tipper, Constance (1894-1995; ODNB), metallurgist and crystallographer, lectured at Cambridge, involved with discovering why Liberty ships’ hulls were brittle and later advised re nuclear submarines at Barrow, retired to Langwathby; obit. Independent 10 December 1995

Tirer, Rev Raulph (1592-1627), vicar of Kendal whose long epitaph puzzles visitors, it begins: London bredd me, Westminster fedd me; kendalparishchurch.co.uk/history/tour/memorials

Tite, William (1798-1873; ODNB), Kt. architect and politician, designed Carlisle railway station, president RIBA

Todd, Anthony (1718-1798; ODNB), Post Office administrator, apptd foreign secretary to Post Office in 1752, and secretary additionally in 1762, giving him ‘unprecedented control over the Post Office and the secret and private offices’, filled office with his own men (inc Daniel Braithwaite, (qv)), lost his position in 1765, but regained it in 1768 and brought back his own people, marr [not in Appleby] (1758) Ann (died 1765), dau and heir of Christopher Robinson (d.1762), of Appleby, resident surveyor in Post Office, and a cousin of John Robinson (qv), bringing him £5,000, with which he bought estate of some 150 acres at Walthamstow, Essex, and later inherited further property and £9,000 in trust for his family after his father-in-law’s death in 1762, had 3 daus (wife Ann dying shortly after birth of third), painted by Romney in 1779 (prob commissioned with via Daniel Braithwaite) (BPMA collection)

Todd, Fred (fl.1930s-1950s), golfer, of Silloth, working stock, small stocky man of about 5ft 7in, sacrificed length for accuracy, great wind specialist, dominated county golf in 1930s, 1940s and 1950s with Alf Grieve (qv)

Todd, Henry Marshall (18xx-1917), MA, TD, clergyman, Christ’s College, Cambridge (BA 1873, MA 1876), d 1874 and p 1875 (Chest), curate of St George’s, Altrincham 1874-1877, West Newton, Cumb 1877-1878, chaplain and headmaster of HMS Conway Training Ship, Birkenhead 1878-1879, diocesan inspector of schools, dio Carlisle 1879-1885, rector of Silloth, St Paul 1885-1898, vicar of West Newton, Aspatria 1898-1917, TD 1912, died 1917?

Todd, Revd Hugh (c.1657-1728), DD, MA, clergyman, author and antiquary, born at Blencow, eldest son of Revd Thomas Todd (qv), prebend Carlisle; CW2 xcvii 153, The History of the Diocese of Carlisle, CWAAS 1890

Todd, John (17xx-18xx), land surveyor, map of Kendal 1787, listed as gentleman in Stricklandgate, Kendal in 1787 (Vital Statistics, 287), owned plot of land on south east side adjoining House of Correction in Kendal, this was deemed necessary for additions to House, and he was ordered by Justices to treat and sell, 20 October 1826 (CRO, Kendal, QS/ Order Book); ? Sarah, widow of the John Todd, of Highgate, buried at Kendal, aged 74, 21 August 1836

Todd, John Macnair (1934-2009), MA, PhD, FRHistS, scholar, historian, solicitor and churchman, born at Wilmslow, Cheshire, 2 May 1934, son of William Millan Todd, industrialist chemist, and Elizabeth Cowan (nee Macnair), educ Manchester Grammar School and Balliol College, Oxford (scholarship to read history, tutored by R W Southern), and Lancaster University (PhD 1991), civil servant with Ministry of Labour in London from 1955, marr (1960) Mary Elisa (born 18 March 1936, first female solicitor in west Cumberland), dau of John G Tyson, 1 son (Andrew), set up home in Redbourn, Hertfordshire, before moving to St Bees in 1966, studied law and qualified as solicitor in 1970, then joined wife in her father’s practice, Brockbank and Tyson, in Whitehaven, later a partner, retiring in 1996, President, CWAAS 1996-1999, vice-president 1994, chairman of research committee 1994-1997 and of editorial committee 1999-2004, member of council 1982-1985 and 1988-1991, and member from 1975, Lecturer and tutor (periodically) in Dept of History, Lancaster University between 1998 and 2004, secretary of Conference of Scottish Medievalists, founder Chairman, Friends of Cumbria Archives 1992-1994, chairman of steering committee 1991-1992, and vice-president 2008, licensed as a Reader in 1974, serving in St Bees then Cockermouth Area Team, first Lay Warden of Readers for Diocese of Carlisle 1992-1997, and apptd Moderator for Reader Training in 1997, tutor for Carlisle and Blackburn Diocesan Training Institute, and greatly involved in training of clergy and readers, author of many articles and notes in Transactions, and edited The Lanercost Cartulary (Record Series XI, 1997) and A Window onto Late Medieval Cumbria (Tract Series XX, 2000), his most dramatic work was The St Bees Man and the Medieval Way of Death (lecture text 1985) following a collaborative project with the archaeologist Dierdre O’Sullivan and a physician, who concluded that an embalmed body found in the priory was that of Anthony de Lucy (14thc) or possibly Robert de Harrington, lived at Redbourn House, Main Street, St Bees until moving to The Barn, Parsonby in 2000, died at Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle, 20 January, aged 74, and buried in St Bees Priory churchyard, 29 January 2009 (CW3, ix, vii-ix) www.stbees.org.uk; Keith J Stringer (ed) Essays in Memory of John McNair Todd, 2014

Todd, Mary Elisa (nee Tyson) (b.1936), solicitor, the first woman working as a solicitor on West Cumbria, daughter of John G Tyson solicitor of Whitehaven, married John Macnair Todd (qv) with whom she worked in her father’s practice Brockbank and Tyson

Todd, Percy Sydney (1869-1957), fishmonger, born in Carlisle in 1869, fifth and yst son of Joe Todd (born in Huddersfield in 1832, son of William Todd, and died in Keswick in 1908, aged 75), chemist and druggist and manufacturer of Todd’s Quinine Wine, and (marr 1857) Isabella (nee Hodgson), of Carlisle, his elder brothers, Joseph, Alfred, Charles and Edwin all joining chemist business (Joe Todd Limited) in Carlisle, working as fishmonger in Hawick in 1891, but moved to 22 Main Street, Keswick by 1894 and 13 Main Street by 1906 with his yr sister Maud Isabel (1871-1962), who was assisting in his fishmonger business (1911), active member of Keswick community as founder member of Keswick Music Society and Keswick Football Club (sometimes known as The Kippers, a witty reference to Todd’s business), awarded medal as president of Keswick Red Rose Football Club in 1907, died in 1957, aged 88 (CL, May 2011, 145)

Todd, Thomas (d.1728; ODNB), clergyman and historian, prebendary of Carlisle cathedral, rector of Arthuret, vicar of Penrith, first ecclesiastical historian of Carlisle diocese, buried at St Mary’s Abbey, Carlisle, 13 September 1728 (D J W Mawson, CW2, xcvii, 153-171)

Todd, William (d.1900), soldier in Boer War; his likeness in bronze appears on an unusual monument at Eamont Bridge, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017. p.162

Todhunter, William (c.1754-1832), museum proprietor and bookseller, bookseller in Hawkshead in 1780s, when Mrs Sarah Todhunter was a hatter (books and hats occur in accounts for 1787-91), with the room behind his shop a small museum, not open to public, but visited by some schoolboys in evenings, purchased maps and glasses from Peter Crosthwaite’s museum at Keswick, [succ by Alexander Sutherland as bookseller and stationer in Hawkshead], moved to Kendal about 1793 and opened his museum in a room near Abbot Hall gates (177 Highgate) in 1796 to exhibit his vast and ‘remarkable collection’ (JFC) of minerals, fossils, preserved birds and antiquities, but when visited by William Gell (qv), described as ‘a miserable museum a most wretched Imitation of Crosthwaite’s’ in 1797, moved into premises on corner of Finkle Street (Fish Market) in 1800, listed as ‘proprietor of the Museum, and preserver of birds & beasts’, Fish Market, Kendal (1829), ‘having existed upwards of 30 years, during which time the proprietor has gathered together, at great labour and expense, a very large and interesting collection’, no catalogue of collection survives (but known to include Roman urns found at Watercrook, Kendal tokens, iron cannon ball found at Kendal Castle, early lantern clock held by each mayor of Kendal from 1654, runic cross of late 9th century found in Lancaster churchyard in 1807 [now in BM], and six coins of Cnut from Halton hoard found in 1811), also combined with taxidermy and sale of tuned sets of musical stones (see Joseph Richardson (qv)), died aged 78, and buried (as ‘museum keeper’) at Kendal, 3 July 1832, after which contents of museum were sold by auction by Mr [Joseph] Goulden at the Black Horse and Rainbow, Kendal on 15 July 1835 (‘Sale of Minerals, Marine Productions, Preserved Zoology, Antiquities, Old Armour, and China and other Curiosities’, Lanc Gaz, 11 July 1835), later some of his collection was donated to the Kendal Natural History and Scientific Society and housed in Stricklandgate House Museum from 1854 to 1914 when some exhibits were sold and rest offered to Town Council, which had just taken over current museum building (CW2, lxxxix, 271-272; KK, 121, 371; AK, 122-123; TWT, 91, 292-93); some of his collection is preserved in Kendal Museum

Toft, John (c.1851-1911), Methodist minister, died aged 60 of apoplectic seizure (coroner’s verdict), while cycling home to Wigton after preaching at Hesket Newmarket in afternoon and Caldbeck in evening of 19 November 1911, his body being found beside his bicycle by two men on Brocklebank road; held in such high esteem that memorial stone was ‘erected by his friends in the Wigton Circuit’ at the spot (CWHS, Journal Nos 36 (Autumn 1995) and 68 (Autumn 2011))

Toft, Ashton Reginald Marson (Rex) (c.1934-2010), solicitor and council leader, Conservative county councillor for St Bees and Gosforth 1985-2001 and for Gosforth and Ennerdale 2001-2005, leader of Cumbria county council until resigning bec of family illness in September 2004, instrumental in helping county to recover from foot-and-mouth crisis of 2001, creating Rural Action Zones to focus on regeneration and recovery and securing funds from central Government and NWRDA, formed county’s first formal coalition cabinet-style administration, formed International Centre for Uplands, also established stronger partnership approach on nuclear issues, of The Lodge, Irton Hall, Irton-with-Santon, Holmrook, died aged 76, memorial service at St Mary’s church, Gosforth, 12 August 2010

Tolson, Thomas (fl.1630s), tobacco merchant, built Tolson Hall, Burneside, 1638 (tobacco pipes depicted in leaded windows) (RCHM, 220-21)

Tolson, John (d.1644) born in Cumberland, provost Oriel College (1621-44), rebuilt the fromt quad, later vice chancellor Oxford, his dau  Miss Tolson was sued by her dressmaker

Tomlinson, Anthony Battersby (b.c.1797), enclosure commissioner and surveyor, of Biggins, near Kirkby Lonsdale, apptd commissioner for Hugill, Applethwaite and Troutbeck enclosure by Act of 1831 (Award published in July 1842) and Mansergh [1837]

Tomlinson, Edward (17xx-18xx), of Biggins, near Kirkby Lonsdale, apptd high constable of Lonsdale Ward by order of court of WQS, 26 April 1816, in room of John Hunter Cooke (qv)

Tomlinson, Revd Robert (17xx-17xx), clergyman, curate of Howgill, marr (20 July 1749, at Beetham) Agnes Pooley, of Sedbergh

Tomlinson, T W Alexander (18xx-19xx), DSO, TD, DL, Lieut-Col, Westmorland county councillor for Kendal Castle Western Div 1948-, DL Westmorland 1946, of Linthwaite, Gillinggate, Kendal (1938) and of Ravenscroft, Windermere (1948) (CRO, WDX 1401)

Tomlinson, William Smith Paget- (1848-1937), MD, FRCP, MRCS, DL, JP, landowner, benefactor and medical practitioner, born at Forton, Lancs, in 1848, assumed addnl surname of Tomlinson 1890 on inheriting The Biggins and estates on death of distant relation, Elizabeth Tomlinson in 1889, marr (18xx) Margaret Elizabeth (1852-1933)(buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 25 January 1933, aged 80), 1 son (Colonel W Paget-Tomlinson, (d.1962), DSO, late 7th Queen’s Own Hussars), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1897, DL Westmorland (apptd in October 1900), Westmorland county alderman, instigator, with Dr W R Parker (qv), of meeting held in Kendal on 24 May 1899 to discuss question of provision of sanatorium treatment for poor of Westmorland, resulting in Meathop Friendly Society Home being procured, which was opened as Westmorland Sanatorium by Lord Derby on 8 March 1900, with later Home Section (25 beds) opened by Lady Crossley in August 1910 and new pavilion opened by WSP-T himself (as president) on 22 June 1933, benefactor of Casterton and Kirkby Lonsdale Schools, also helped provide for Kirkby Lonsdale parish institute, hon choir-master at Kirkby Lonsdale church for over 40 years, and responsible for rebuilding and enlarging of organ, died in February 1937, aged 88, and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 12 February (CW2, xxxvii, 233; xcvii, 241-249); E W Paget-Tomlinson moved from Windy Ash, Ulverston to Duntish Old Farm, Buckland Newton, Dorchester, Dorset, from 8 August 1983

Tompion, Thomas (bap.1639-1713), clockmaker, partner of George Graham (qv) in London

Tootell, Francis (d.1974), Roman Catholic priest, canon of Lancaster Cathedral, served Arnside and Milnthorpe Catholic parish on occasions before 1953, died in July 1974

Toplis, Percy (1896-1920), soldier and murderer, shot by Norman de Courcy Parry qv at Penrith, buried Penrith, his monocle is at Penrith Museum, subject of the film ‘The Monocled Mutineer’ (1986)

Toppin, John Castlehow (b.c.1833), landowner, farmer and active in local government, educ St John’s, Cambridge, marr Isabella Fallowfield Seed, lived Musgrave Hall, Skelton, son John Henry Toppin b.1883; Venn Alumni; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Torbock, Joseph (1852-1925), JP, industrialist, born 8 January 1852 in Hawes, yr son of Robson Torbock, MD (1824-1894), of Sunderland, and Ann (1821-1888), only dau of Joseph Hugginson, of Kirkby Stephen, marr (12 November 1902) Florence Hoste (JP Westmorland, b.1868, died 25 June 1944), only dau of Col Henry Cornish Henley, of Leigh House, Chard, Somerset, and his wife, 2 sons (qv), (in 1752 an earlier Henry Henley m. Susannah Hoste who brought the estate of Sandringham to the family, they demolished the Tudor house and built a Georgian mansion, via two other owners it was sold to Edward Prince of Wales in 1862) chair Finsett Limestone Co, North African Mining Co, director of Linthorp Dinsdale Smelting Co and Indian Manganese Co, member the Iron and Steel Institute 1891, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1903, when of Crackenthorpe Hall (leased from P W Machell, qv), gave permission (on behalf of Machell) for a refuse tip on piece of land in Crackenthorpe parish and wrote urging ‘the exercise of a little more tact by all the parties concerned’ in disagreement over access (letter to Appleby Town Clerk, 25 August 1910, in CRO, WSMB/A/4/4), later of Crossrigg Hall, which he acquired by auction sale from trustees of will of H C Rigg of the East India Co (decd in 1913) and had it remodelled and enlarged to design of J H Martindale (qv), with a huge port cochere and full domestic arrangements soon to be anachronistic, renting Morland Hall for five years during construction, died 29 March 1925, aged 73, and buried at Morland, 3 April (family letters and plans of Crossrigg Hall in CRO, WDX 1105); Grace’s Guide; one of his executors was a Markham of Morland

Torbock, Henry Cornish (1905-1993), BA, art collector and plantsman, born 23 March 1905, yr son of Joseph Torbock (1852-1925)(qv), educ Aysgarth School, Newton-le-Willows, Yorks (left July 1918), Eton and New College, Oxford (BA 1927), served WW2 as Capt, RA, chartered accountant, Edinburgh, chairman of Carlisle Diocesan Dilapidations Board (North) to 1973, of Crossrigg Hall, Cliburn, living with his brother Dick (qv), their family collection included fine Dutch paintings, a major collector of watercolours and drawings himself and had constant private exhibitions in the house, friend of Judy Egerton (1928-2017; ODNB) (qv), the Stubbs scholar, keen on flower arranging using materials grown in the gardens, may have known Constance Spry (qv), died unmarried 17 June 1993; articles in  Cumbria, August – September 1994; sale Sotheby’s 14.4.1994; obit by Judy Egerton, Independent 1 July 1993; Sotheby’s catalogue of his sale c.1994; Gervase Markham, Memoirs, 82-3

Torbock, Cdr Richard Henley RN (1904-1994), older brother of Cornish Torbock (qv), lived together at Crossrigg, Cliburn, high sheriff 1953, DL until 1984, proud of his family and of being able to provide whole oak trees to make replacement beams for the cathedral roof c.1930s, insisted on standing up to carve the roast at lunch at Crossrigg in 1992

Tosh, George (1813-1900), engineer, born Scotland, lived Maryport, locomotive supervisor for the Maryport and Carlile railway from 1851

Tovey, John (1933-2018) MBE, restaurateur and writer, born Barrow where he had an unhappy childhood, went to Southern Rhodesia and worked as a civil servant, returning to Barrow he rented in 1957 with friends Her Majesty’s Theatre, a fine traditional 19thc playhouse which had become badly neglected, there followed several seasons of repertory theatre led by Donald Sartain (qv) and performances by touring Shakespeare companies, notably in 1964 for the 400th anniversary, Tovey did the books, following several months working with Francis Coulson and Brian Sack (qqv) at Sharrow Bay hotel, he bought Miller Howe, Windermere  in 1971 with London backers and built up a considerable reputation for excellent food and an eccentric and dramatic ambience generated by his lively personality and his team of nineteen staff, ‘restraint was not part of his culinary character’, TV appearances and books followed, he retired in the early 1990s to Lancashire and sold Miller Howe to Charles Garside in 1998; obit. Guardian 28th September 2018; Eating Out with Tovey, 1988; Entertaining on a Plate, 1999

Towers, John (16xx-1741), MA, schoolmaster, son of alderman John Towers, shearman-dyer, of Kendal, master of Kendal Free School 1714-1741, about 100 boys in school in 1714, had masters to teach writing and arithmetic, repairs at school in 1736, lost an eye during the customary ‘barring out’, which was discontinued thereafter, marr Jane (buried at Kendal, 20 August 1739), sons (Johnson, bapt 9 December 1723, John, bapt 11 January 1725/6) buried at Kendal, 2 February 1741, his library of books in divinity, history, law, physics, philosophy and classics, (497 vols) sold at auction at the White Hart in Finkle Street on 8 September 1741 (KGS 1525-1975, 17-19)

Towers, Richard (c.18thc.), won Society of Arts medal for reclaiming 600 acres from the sea; Stockdale (qv)

Towerson, William (c.1563-1630), Elizabethan merchant adventurer, Cumbrian origins, MP on and off from 1621-29, member of Skinners’ Company, on the committee of the East India Co, burned Portuguese ships, pioneer voyages to West Africa; the online history of parliament has a long article on him

Towler, John (c.1920-2013), actor, producer, teacher, writer, artist and tea shop proprietor, lived Barrow, taught Walney school, member of The Elizabethans drama group, sang the king in The King and I with Barrow Operatic Society c.1962, involved with the first Mystery Plays cycle at Furness Abbey, pageant master for the Barrow centenary pageant [celebrating the first century of the borough], from 12-16 June 1967, the three sections separately produced by Kay Humphries, Cyril Dent and Gillian Dymock, married Dorothy, primary school headteacher of Cambridge St school who had supervised the many costumes for the pageant, lived Thorncliffe Rd where they hosted garden parties, retired early in 1974 and ran a tea shop beside the bridge at Pooley Bridge, friendly with Brian Sack and Francis Coulson (qqv) at Sharrow Bay, moved to Tirril, active member of Penrith art society, wrote history of Barton  church, lived latterly at the Methodist care home Woodlands at Penrith

Towne, Francis (1739-1816), artist, visitor to the Lakes; work at Dove Cottage, Richard Stephens, catalogue raisonne, 2016 online

Townley, Charles Gale (1848-1942), MA, clergyman, son of Revd Edmund Townley (qv), MA Oxon, succ to the Townhead estate at Staveley, which had been bought by his great-uncle, William Townley (d.1854, aged 84), perpetual curate of Troutbeck 1882-1893, vicar of Egton with Newland 1893-1900, officiating minister at Staveley-in-Cartmel from 1900, hon canon of Carlisle from 1920, buried at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 12 August 1942, aged 94; Mary Isabella Townley (c.1846-1933), of The Cottage, Staveley-in-Cartmel, buried at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 22 May 1933, aged 87 = wife of C G ?

Towneley, Edmund James (c.1887-1961), farmer, 2nd Lieut, 4th Lancashire Fusiliers (1916), when of Ivy Cottage, Cartmel, marr (May 1911) Charlotte Idonea Sneyd (buried at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 24 April 1951, aged 63), of Finsthwaite, 2 sons, of Townhead, Newby Bridge, buried at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 7 January 1961, aged 74; nephew of Canon C G Townley (qv), their two sons were the canon’s great nephews: Edmund Peregrine (born 10 April 1912 and bapt 16 May at Staveley-in-Cartmel by the canon) and Charles Humphrey (1916-2000), born 10 July 1916 and bapt at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 26 August, marr (June/July 1945) Esther Mary Young (buried at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 3 January 2004, aged 84), of Stirling, succ to Townhead estate, was of the White House, Cartmel, when he died 9 September 2000, aged 84, and buried at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 15 September; Charles Peregrine, prob son of C H, fine art dealer, of Town Head, marr (April 1980) Roslyn Roe Jones, of Cartmel Fell

Townley, Edmund (1804-1872), clergyman, son of Revd Jonathan Townley (qv), curate of Staveley-in-Cartmel 1828-1864, marr, sons (C G (qv) and xxx), died in 1872 (not buried at Staveley)

Townley, Jonathan (c.1774-1848), MA, clergyman, son of Colonel Richard Townley (b.1726), of Belfield Hall, Rochdale, and his wife Mary (1733-1818), dau and coheir of William Penny (qv), of Pennybridge Hall, perpetual curate of Colton 1824-1834, marr, son (Edmund, qv), died in 1848, aged 74

Townsend-Warner, Sylvia (1893-1978; ODNB), musicologist and novelist, daughter of George Townsend Warner (1865-1916) and Eleanor Hudleston (qv) of the family of Hutton John

Townson family of Lythe valley; crosthwaiteandlyth.co.uk

Townson, John (18xx-1xxx), MA, clergyman, son of Robert Townson, gent, educ University College, Durham (BA 1845, MA 1848), fellow of University of Durham 1847, d 1846 and p 1847, curate of All Saints, Dorchester (1858), rector of Strensham, nr Tewkesbury from 1862, marr (9 December 1862, at Holy Trinity, Kendal) Agnes, dau of Jonathan Hodgson, of Kendal, gent (1890)

Townson, Robert (18xx-1xxx), MA, clergyman, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (late taberdar, BA 1854, MA 1857), d 1855 (Peterborough) and p 1858 (Carl), asst classics master, Rossall School 1857-1860, priest in charge of Grayrigg 1860-1866, and Allithwaite 1861-1882, rector of Gedding, Suffolk 1882-1884 (also Patron of living) (1890)

Toynbee, Grace Coleridge (ODNB), dau of Joseph Toynbee, ear surgeon (ODNB), mother of Edward Percy Frankland, chemist and novelist (qv), brother of Arnold Toynbee (ODNB), political scientist

Trant, John, curate of Flookburgh, marr at York 1730 (BT)

Tranter, Maud, ballet teacher, Barrow, 1950s to 1970s, lived at Oxford Street, her home was full of photographs of Frederick Ashton and Antoinette Sibley; she was included in Ladies Day, an exhibition at the Dock Museum from February 2000

Treacey, Eric, MBE LLD (1907-1978), b. London, bishop of Pontefract and then Wakefield 1968-1976, a lover of railways, died of a heart attack on Appleby station on 13 May 1976 (plaque on station), buried St Kentigern, Crosthwaite; his collection of 12,000 railway photographs are at the Railway Museum in York; Crockfords and Who’s Who

Treleaven, William Woodburn (c.1856-1918), Wesleyan minister, died at Holly Bank, Kendal, aged 62, and buried at Parkside cemetery, 16 August 1918

Trench, William Robert (1839-1913), LLM, clergyman, born in 1839, of Trench family of Cangort Park, co Offaly, possessed private means, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (LLB, 2nd cl Law, 1861), practised at bar, LLM 1870, d 1870 and p 1871 (Chester), curate of Christchurch, Liverpool 1870-1872, perpetual curate of St Matthias, Liverpool 1873-1877, hon canon of Chester 1876-1880 when apptd hon canon of Liverpool (as separate diocese) 1880-1882, vicar of St George’s, Everton 1877-1882, curate of All Saints, Notting Hill, London 1883-1885 and vicar 1885-1896, with five curates and population of 16,000, acquired reputation as one of ablest Liberal clergy in London, belonged neither to Low Church or Evangelical party, but no extremist, vicar of Holy Trinity, Kendal 1896-1909, as first Trinity graduate who was an experienced parish priest, instituted at Rose Castle and inducted at Kendal on 30 April 1896, had plans to abolish pew rents, revise interior ordering of church, put finances on firm footing and make services more attractive, but faced opposition early on, used parish magazine and local press skilfully to convey his new ideas, proved a good communicator, proctor in convocation 1900-1910, chaplain to bishop of Carlisle 1905, persuaded those parishioners with rented pews in chancel to vacate them in 1899 in order to enlarge space in choir, widower by 1901, twin sons (William and Robert, aged 20) and 1 dau (Louise, aged 21), with vicarage staffed by three servants (cook, housemaid and kitchen maid) in 1901, retired in 1909 to 2 Buckingham Palace Mansions in London, where he died, 14 July 1913 (GPK, 4, 35-39, 62, 137-138)

Trevelyan, George Macaulay (1876-1962; ODNB), OM, CBE, FRS, FBA, FRHistS, CLit, historian and conservationist, master of Trinity College, Cambridge 1940-1951, born 16 February 1876, marr (1904) Janet Penrose, CH (born 6 November 1879, died 7 September 1956, ashes buried at Chapel Stile, 3 October), 2nd dau of Mrs Humphrey Ward (qv), 2 sons (Theodore Macaulay (born 5 July 1906, died 19 April 1911, of appendicitis) and Charles Humphrey (1909-1964), fellow of King’s College, Cambridge) and 1 dau (Mary Moorman, qv), passionately strong walker, esp in Northumberland and Lake District, stayed at Seatoller in 1895 and founded with Cambridge friends a man-hunt of ‘hares and hounds’, chasing each other over central fells for three days every Whitsuntide from 1898 until 1926, formed particular links with Langdale through his sister-in-law, Dorothy Ward, who had taken a lease on Robin Ghyll (cottage next to Harry Place Farm), had family holidays there from 1905, being ideal for reading and correcting proofs in between walking, and purchased Robin Ghyll from Mrs Cragg in 1911, involved with National Trust from 1925, member of its council, passion for unspoiled countryside, also supporter of Youth Hostels Association, gave Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel and Stool End Farm and Wall End Farm, totalling 400 acres, to National Trust in 1929 to prevent unsuitable development at head of valley, followed by Mill Beck Farm in 1932, and Harry Place Farm in 1944, also Gatesgarth Farm in Buttermere, Side House Farm, Langdale bought in his memory in 1963, and Robin Ghyll finally sold to NT by his grandchildren in 1979, died in Cambridge, 20/21 July 1962, and ashes buried in churchyard at Chapel Stile, 31 July (PPLH, 37-41)

Trevelyan (nee Scott), Joan Frieda (1912-2008), physician and philanthropist, dau of Francis Clayton Scott (qv) of the Provincial Insurance Company, she married John Trevelyan, director of education (qv)

Trevelyan, John (1903-1986; ODNB), CBE, film censor and educational administrator, director of education for Westmorland 1938-1946, apptd in October 1938, also clerk to governors of Kendal High School, gave address as guest speaker at speech day of Heversham Grammar School on 10 November 1939 (HS, 143-144), announced his resignation in July 1946, but thanked his staff (esp right-hand man, Herford Heap), to go to Germany in new post to organise educational service for soldiers’ children, first two marriages local; later secretary to the British Board of Film Censors; first wife Kathleen M. (b.1902), daughter of Charles Halle Pass (1860-1925) a businessman of Barrow; second wife Joan Frieda Scott (qv) also see above

Trevelyan, Mary (1897-1983), sister of John Trevelyan (qv), for many years (from 1938-1958) the companion of TS Eliot, as her brother’s first two wives had links with Cumbria, she probably visited the county; Erica Wagner, Mary and Mr Eliot (2022)

Trewnneck, Alan (1932-198x), journalist, editor of Westmorland Gazette 1982- xx, born 9 June 1932, son of E Trewenneck, of Levens, marr (1958) Margaret E Stables, educ Heversham Grammar School

Trimble, Edward (1826-1880), brewer, son of Robert Trimble (qv), marr Margaret, dau of Charles Tennant (founder of St Rollox Chemical Works, Glasgow), 4 children (inc William Tennant, qv), expanded brewery business after his father’s death, died in 1880

Trimble, Robert (1792-1859), brewer, son of Edward Trimble (1763-1841), 4th son of George Trimble (1728-1785), of Moor End, Thursby, and Cardew Hall, who bought Green Lane House and Farm at Dalston in 1790, and whose sister Isabella (born 1759) marr Revd John Mayson (qv), founded Dalston Brewery company of R Trimble & Co in 1820, established successful business with up to 30 draught horses stabled on site to supply local public houses, also had first bathroom to be installed in county in 1830, marr, son Edward (qv), died in 1859

Trimble, William Steuart (18xx-1993), landowner and industrialist, yst son of William Tennant Trimble (qv), of Green Lane, previously of Deepdale, Dalston, took down the brewery buildings, joined management of gypsum mining company at Cocklakes in February 1922, designed cutting machine for extraction of anhydrite in 1938, chairman of British Plaster Board (later BPB Industries plc, now British Gypsum) following his father, chairman of Jacob Cowen & Sons, cotton spinners (original mill at Ellers in Dalston), senior officer in Home Guard and given role of blowing up bridges in north of England in event of German invasion in WW2, his gypsum mines providing dynamite for war effort, awarded medal by LMS Railway Company for driving locomotive train daily between Carlisle and south of Leeds during Great Strike in 1926 with just one day’s experience as a fireman, steam locomotive named ‘W.S.T.’ after him and delivered to Long Meg works of Long Meg Plaster and Mineral Co Ltd at Lazonby on 10 June 1954 (transferred to nearby Cocklake Works in 1969 and later loaned to Bowes Railway by British Gypsum after 1980), early advocate of solar and wind power, installed two giant rotating magnets to pump water supply from natural spring to swimmig pool, keen country sportsman, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1971, marr Mary (died 2003), 1 son (David William, merchant banker, current chairman of Cowens and High Sheriff of Cumbria in 2002, marr Maggie (of Deepdale) with son Robbie who inherited Green Lane and put it up for sale in 2009, and dau Emma, wife of James Clarkson Webb), died at Green Lane in 1993 (portrait (1969) at Green Lane)

Trimble, William Tennant (1866-19xx), JP, landowner and industrialist, son of Edward Trimble (qv), of Green Lane, Dalston, an early pioneer in Florida, returned to Green Lane on death of his brother, Trimble Brewery sold to Maryport Brewery Ltd in 1916 after govt introduced Central Control Board to manage licences and laws for sale of liquor, director of Maryport Brewery, also involved in local industry, esp gypsum mining at Cocklakes as chairman of British Plaster Board (steam locomotive named ‘W.T.T.’ after him in 1943, alderman of Cumberland county council and member for Dalston (1906), author of The Trimbles and Cowens of Dalston, Cumberland (1935), marr, 3 sons (Robert, Edward (both died young) and William Steuart, (qv)

Trimble, grandmother of Mrs Beeton, married Maynard vicar of Great Orton

Trollope, Anthony (1815-1882; ODNB), novelist and Post Office Surveyor for the Western District, introduced the post office box in the U.K., the first being sited in Botchergate, Carlisle, close friend of Sir John A Tilley (qv) his brother-in-law, his novel Sir Harry Hotspur of Humblethwaite (1871) is set in Cumberland

Trollope, Frances (1779-1863), novelist and mother of Anthony Trollope (qv) who lived briefly at Carleton House, near Penrith but found that ‘the sun yoked his horses too far from Penrith town’, her most famous work is The Domestic Manners of the Americans (1833); CW3 vii 179

Trood, Stella Margaret Edith (18xx-19xx), DLitt, MA, schoolmistress, headmistress of Kendal High School for Girls, asked to resign as from 30 December 1940, succ by Florence May Gill (qv)

Trott, Revd, curate of Flookburgh, 1730s, marr at York (BT)

Trotter, Frederick Murray (1897-1968), geologist, b. Gateshead, educ Newcastle, joinedGeological Survey, published paper on The glaciation of eastern Edenside, the Alston Block and the Carlisle Plain (1929),  later work on economic geology, also the relationship between mine gases and pneumoconiosis, Murchison Medal 1956; Cumberland Geological Society Proceedings vol 6 1998-9 pt 3

Trotter, Robert, Chief of the Name in Scotland, son of  Dr RT Trotter of New Galloway, marr Maria Maxwell of the Maxwells of Nithsdale, author of Traditional Tales of Galloway (1815) Derwentwater: or the Adherents of King James. A Tale of the First Rebellion (Edinburgh, 1820)

Troubetzkoy, Paul (Princess), (aka Mrs Rhoda Muriel Marie Troubetzkoy) nee Boddam, journalist and novelist, (said to have been born in Westmorland but records indicate this was Suffolk), born Jan 1898 bap Feb 4 1898, dau of Charles William Boddam (1852-1926) a retired Indian army officer (her grandfather was Edmond Tudor Boddam who had business links with India) and Ellen Willis, married James Somervell (was this her link with Westmorland ?) MP formerly of Sorn Castle, Ayrshire in 1917, divorced, then calling herself Gay Desmond, performed as an actress at the Alhambra with Anna Neagle (1904-1986) in the revues of Andre Charlot (1882-1956), then married on 24 Oct 1931 as his second wife Prince Paul (Paolo) Petrovitch Troubetzkoy (1866-1938), sculptor, she was described as Scottish in the newspapers (perhaps the Sorn Castle resonance) but at other times ‘a charming blonde Dubliner’, (Troubetzkoy was the son of a Russian aristocrat and diplomat, a passionate vegetarian and friend of GB Shaw, of whom he modelled a bust (Tate), his brother Pierre married Amalie Rives (1863-1945) also a novelist, notably with World’s End (1914)), Rhoda’s journalism was ‘frivolous’ yet ‘sophisticated’, perhaps motivated to follow her sister in law, she published Storm Tarn: A Story of the Fells (1933), Jonlys the Witch: A Story of Elizabethan Superstition (1933), Gallows’ Seed (1934), Exodus AD: A Warning to Civilians (1934), a collaboration with the Futurist CRW Nevinson (which John Clute described as ‘a Future War tale suffused with interbellum rancour, paranoia and despair about the survival of a civilised Europe’), Spider Spinning (1936), Basque Moon (1937), Half O’Clock in Mayfair (1938) (described as ‘a highly competent dissection of London’s atrophied high society of the late 1930s’) and The Clock Strikes (1943), lived at 53, St James Square until her husband died in 1938, died in 1948 following a fall in her garden at Pine Cottage, Park Springs, Iver Heath, Bucks, left £16,000; portrait NPG, elvirabarney.wordpress.com/2011/11/05halfo’clock, John S. Grioni, ‘A Lifetime Friendship’, The Independent Shavian, vol 44 pp.4-12, 2006; Guardian crit 22 May 1933

Troughton, Edward (c.1753-1835; ODNB), FRS, FRSE, scientific instrument maker, born at Wellcome Nook, near Corney, prob in October 1753, yst of six children of Francis Troughton, farmer, and Mary (nee Stable), worked with his father until death of an elder brother in London resulted in his being sent to replace him as apprentice to his eldest brother John (c.1739-1807), who was trained by their uncle, John Troughton (c.1716-1788), in scientific instrument trade, apprenticed for seven years from December 1773, took particular interest in sextants and dividing engines, became freeman in Grocers’ Company in 1784 and able to enrol his own apprentices (incl his nephew, Thomas Suddard), entd into partnership with brother John in 1788, noted for design, construction and accuracy of their astronomical instruments, supplied Royal Greenwich Observatory with major new instruments, besides compasses and theodolites for many surveying expeditions, awarded Copley Medal of Royal Society in 1809 and elected FRS in 1810,  also vice-president of Astronomical Society 1830-31 and one of its first members in 1820, took William Simms (1793-1860) into partnership in 1826, who looked after him in his declining years, their firm Troughton and Simms undertook construction of instruments for George Everest’s trignometrical  survey of India, and equatorial telescope for James South (1785-1867), but latter ended in disagreement and court case, during which he died, unmarried, 12 June 1835, and buried in Kensal Green cemetery

Troughton, John, instrument maker, uncle of Edward (qv)

Troughton, Robert (Bobby) (1835-1912), builder, innkeeper and huntsman, born at 26 Middle Lane, Kendal, yr son of Robert Troughton (died c.1840), and Hannah (died c.1849), marr Sarah (born c.1833, died 1891/1901), of Kendal, 1 son and 5 daus (one of whom, Hannah, married Job Pennington, qv), known throughout North of England as huntsman of Kendal Otter Hounds, which he started about 1880, with kennels at back of the Hyena, on Fellside, and sold on to Sir Maurice Bromley-Wilson about 1900, great friend of James (‘Brushy’) Dixon (who died at 26 Middle Lane, Fellside, 4 November 1911, aged 73), of Cliff Lane, Kendal (1881), of Hyena Inn, Fellside, Kendal (1885, 1891), died at 8 Fountain Brow, Kendal, 10 February 1912, aged 76 (George Stewart papers; WG, 31.01.2013)

Troughton, Thomas, MA, clergyman, incumbent of Haverthwaite, ‘lately erected a new handsome parsonage house, contiguous to the chapel’ (1851), this attractive building in the Geogian style was demolished to make way for the road building improvements to the A590 in the early 1960s

Troughton, William (1584/5?-16xx), BA, clergyman, instituted as rector of Waberthwaite on 5 September 1608, on resignation of Christopher Troughton (who had himself been instituted on 15 August 1580) (ECW, ii, 850)

Troughton, William (c.1614- c.1689; ODNB), clergyman, author and ejected minister, born 1613/14, son of Revd William Troughton (qv), of Waberthwaite, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 24 October 1634, aged 20), but nothing known of him for next thirteen years, chaplain to Robert Hammond, governor of Isle of Wight, in 1647 during time of Charles I’s imprisonment at Carisbrooke, issued his Saints in England under a Cloud in June 1648, admitted curate of Deerham in Gloucestershire on 8 February 1649, marr (c.1649/50) Sarah (d.1698/99), 2 sons (William (bapt 1650) and John (bapt 1652), both at Wanslip) and 3 daus (Sarah (Sherwill), Mary (Sterne) and Elizabeth (Lee) all still living in mother’s will of 1695/98), rector of St Nicholas, Wanlip, Leics, by 18 May 1650 and became embroiled with ‘general’ Baptists, attacking their doctrine of general redemption in his Scripture Redemption Restrayned and Limitted (1652) and The Declining State under Gospel Administrations (1652), presented to rectory of St Martin’s, Salisbury on 27 May 1653, issued his The Mystery of the Marriage Song (1656) from Salisbury, dated 22 April 1656, but ejected in 1660, reported to have continued preaching as a congregationalist, moved to Bristol later in 1661, but had small congregation by 1674 when he removed to London, where he signed his will on 13 May 1686, leaving property in Bristol to wife, who was granted probate on 8 January 1690, died prob in 1689

Troutbeck family

Troutbeck family of Ennim Bank, perhaps named after Troutbeck (W), previously lived at Blencowe for several generations

Troutbeck, John (d.1787), of Blencowe, left £200 to provide interest to be given to the poor

Troutbeck, William (1743-1819) marr Charlotte Busby and their son George (b.1795), marr Eliza Stephens (1841 census resident with five domestic servants, a farm manager and one labourer), George an ensign in the militia in 1811 and a JP in 1844, his son (?) Revd John (1832-1899) was a minor canon of Westminster; other details Hudleston (C)

Tubman, William, steward of Egremont manor court from 1641 (CW2, xvii, 50)

Tucker family, artists, Marshall Hall, Artists of Cumbria

Tucker, Right Revd Alfred Robert (1849-1914; ODNB), cleric, bishop of Uganda and missionary, and artist (as Alfred Maile), 2nd son of Edward Tucker (c.1816-1898) and his wife Julia (c.1829-1912), family settled in Langdale in 1865, 5 sons (Edward, jnr 1847-1909, Alfred 1849-1914, Hubert 1851-1921, Frederic 1860-1935, and Arthur 1864-1919), all Lake District water colour artists and founder members of Lake Artists Society (except Alfred who was in Uganda) at inaugural meeting in 1904, all climbed four peaks of Bow Fell, Scafell, Skiddaw and Helvellyn in 1877 in 19 hours and 38 minutes (CRO, WDX 652/1,3,4,20); bishop of Uganda for twenty years, canon of Durham, monumental cross at Durham near that of dean Kitchen qv, autobiography A.R. Tucker, Eighteen Years in Uganda and East Africa, Arnold, 1908; Arthur P. Shepherd, Tucker of Uganda, 1929; Renouf; Marshall Hall

Tucker, Arthur (1849-1914), RBS, vice-president of Lake Artists Society, commissioned to do 47 illustrations for Eric Robertson’s book Wordsworthshire (1911), captain of Windermere cricket team; Marshall Hall, Artists of Cumbria; Jane Renouf, Lake Artists Society

Tucker, Edward (1847-1909), artist as Edward Arden, first exhibited at Royal Society of British Artists in 1871, of Woodlands, Rydal, also lived Langdale; Marshall Hall, Artists of Cumbria

Tucker, Frederic (1860-1935), artist, itinerant around Britain, see Hall and Renouf, as above

Tucker, Hubert (1851-1921), RI, JP, artist, changed his name to Coutts, first president of Lake Artists Society in 1904 until death in 1921, submitted 80 paintings to Royal Academy between 1876 and 1920, member of Royal Institute of Painters in Watercolour from 1912, Liberal Party agent in Westmorland, president of North Westmorland Liberal Association, vice-chairman of Windermere UDC 1897, councillor for Applethwaite ward, chairman of Windermere Football Club, marr Mary Anne Grundy, 1 son (Allan) and 2 daus (yr Marjorie Winifred), of Hammarbank, died 10 December 1921, aged 70, and buried in St Mary’s cemetery (FOLAS Newsletter No 47, November 1918); Marshall Hall, Renouf

Tudor, Lady Mary (1673-1726), illegitimate daughter of Charles II, married in 1687, aged 14, the 2nd earl of Derwentwater (qv), mother of the 3rd and 5th earls;

Tufnell MP, secretary of the treasury

Tufton, Henry, 11th and last earl of Thanet (17xx-1849), continued work of restoration at Brougham Castle, but cut short by his death on 12 June 1849 (BC, 71)

Tufton, Henry James, 1st baron Hothfield (1844-1926), DL, JP, landowner, only son of Sir Richard Tufton (1813-1871) (qv), cr baron Hothfield, of Hothfield in co Kent 1881, Lord Lieutenant of Westmorland 1881-1926, vice-admiral of coast of Cumberland and Westmorland 1883, mayor of Appleby 1895-1896, JP Westmorland (qual 15 November 1865), patron of Westmorland & Kendal Agricultural Society <1881-86>, died 29 October 1926

Tufton, John Sackville Richard, 2nd baron Hothfield (1873-1952), DSO, DL, JP, landowner, of Appleby Castle, mayor of Appleby 1937-1939, major, Royal Sussex Regt, DL (apptd in December 1894), offered Brougham Castle to Office of Works in April 1927, with handover completed in January 1928 (now English Heritage)

Tufton, Thomas, 6th earl of Thanet (1644-1729), landowner, born at Thanet House, Aldersgate Street, London, 30 August 1644, 4th son of John Tufton, 2nd earl of Thanet (qv), MP for Appleby 1668-1679 (as nominee of his grandmother, Lady Anne Clifford, who had declared ‘that if they [her grandsons] all refuse, she will stand for it herself’, CSPD, 1667-68, 223), groom of the bedchamber to Duke of York, September 1675, Lord Lieutenant of Westmorland and Cumberland 1685-1687, dismissed by James II, but reapptd 1712-1714, hereditary High Sheriff of Westmorland, succ his brother Richard as 6th earl in 1684, ordered dismantling of Brougham Castle to its stonework in years after 1714 (BC, 66-67) and similarly with Brough Castle (most of its roofs and fittings sold for £155 in 1715, but reserving stables for conversion to courtroom for manor of Brough), (CP, XII, part 1, 694-96)

Tulk, John Augustus (fl.1840s-50), early locomotive builder, partner of Ley who funded the venture Tulk and Ley, they took over a firm established as Heslop, Milward Johnston and Co. operating at Lowca, Tulk was the driving force, produced two engines for the Maryport Railway in 1843 and twenty engines prior to 1857, built the Lowca the first iron vessel in Cumberland, their employee Matthewson invented an improved method for loading coal on to ships at Whitehaven, the firm was taken over by Fletcher Jennings; Grace’s Guide

Tullie, George, marr Thomasine Hechstetter (qv), son Revd Timothy Tullie (qv); see Jefferson, 416-7

Tullie, Isaac (16xx-16xx), mayor of Carlisle, author of the History of the Siege of Carlisle 1644-45, son of George Tullie, of Carlisle, and brother of Thomas Tullie (qv); The Siege of Carlisle; ed. Michael Moon, 1988

Tullie, Jerome (1694-1756), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1744, eldest son of Thomas Tullie (qv), succ father at Tullie House in 1727, died in 1756 s.p. and succ by brother, William (1697-1766/7), of Gray’s Inn, London (will made 1765, proved 1767)

Tullie (Tully), Thomas (1620-1676; ODNB), DD, college head and clergyman, b. Carlisle, son of George Tullie, of Carlisle, graduate of Queen’s College, dean of Ripon 1675-1676, principal of St Edmund Hall, Oxford, gave silver tankard to Carlisle Corporation (now in Carlisle Museum) in 1675-6 (FiO, I, 285); Jefferson, 416-7

Tullie, Thomas (1656-1727), MA, LLD, clergyman, son of Revd Timothy Tullie (qv), educ Oxford, marr, 3 sons (qv)  and 2 daus (Anne and Isabella), builder of Tullie House, Carlisle, chaplain to bishop Rainbow (qv) at whose funeral he preached the sermon on 1 April 1684, chancellor of Carlisle 1683-1727, prebendary of Carlisle 1684-1716, rector of Aldingham 1694-1727, vicar of Crosthwaite 1710-1727, dean of Carlisle 1716-1727, died 16 January 1727

Tullie, Thomas (1701-1742), LLB, clergyman, yst son of Thomas Tullie (qv), rector of Aldingham 1727-1742, prebendary of Carlisle 1728-1742, died in 1742

Tullie, Timothy (1615-1700), MA, clergyman, eldest son of George Tullie, of Carlisle, and Thomasine Hechstetter (qqv), educ Oxford, rector of Cliburn 1639-1656, rector of Middleton-in-Teesdale 1660-1700

Tulloch or Tilloch (fl.1848-52), itinerant photographer CWAAS, 2017, 183-5

Tunstall of Thirland Castle; CW2 xxxviii 292

Tunstall, Cuthbert (1474-1559; ODNB), bishop of London and then Durham (great uncle of the Revd Bernard Gilpin (qv), and also related to Sir Thomas Parr of Kendal (qv)), b. Hackforth in Bedale, illegitimate son of Thomas Tunstal of Thirland castle and the dau of Sir John Conyers of Hornby castle (whom he later married), his brother killed at Flodden in 1513, studied at Balliol, Oxford but did not graduate, then at Padua where he was awarded two degrees, studied under leading humanists Niccolo Leonico Tomeo (1456-1531) and Pietro Pomponazzi (1462-1525), rector of Stanhope, canon of Lincoln, spotted by Cardinal Wolsey, 1515 with Thomas More to Netherlands, also to court of Charles V regarding a dynastic marriage with Princess Mary, knew Erasmus, 1522 bishop London, involved with the king’s divorce, bishop of Durham, executor of Henry VIII, in challenging conditions survived into the reign of Queen Mary

Tuohy, Thomas (1917-2007; ODNB), CBE, BSc, nuclear physicist and plant manager, born 7 November 1917, son of Michael Tuohy, of Cobh, Ireland, and his wife Isabella, educ St Cuthbert’s Grammar School, Newcastle upon Tyne, and Reading University (BSc), spent WW2 as chemist in various Royal Ordnance Factories 1939-1946, manager Health Physics, Springfields Nuclear Fuel Plant, Dept of Atomic Energy 1946, Windscale Plutonium Plant 1949, Plutonium Piles and Metal Plant, Windscale 1950, works manager, Springfields 1952, and Windscale, UKAEA 1954, Deputy General Manager, Windscale at the time of the fire who played a key role in minimising Britain’s worst nuclear disaster and Calder Hall 1957 and general manager 1958, managing director, Production Group, UKAEA 1964-1971 (CBE 1969), managing director of Urenco and of Vorsitzender der Geschaftsfuhrung Centec GmbH 1973-1974, deputy chairman of Centec 1973-1974, member of council, International Institute for Management of Technology 1971-1973, marr (1949) Lilian May Barnes (d.1971), 1 son (Thomas) and 1 dau (Kate), of Ingleberg, Beckermet

Turnbull, Hugh Stephenson (18xx-19xx), Lieut-Col, police officer, chief constable of Cumberland and Westmorland County Constabulary 1920-1925

Turnbull, Oliver (19xx-2002), printer and publisher, yr son of Revd Peveril Hayes Turnbull, rector of Melton, Woodbridge, Suffolk, and later of The Cottage, Brandeston (son of William Peveril Turnbull, of Burway House, Church Stretton, Shropshire), and of Lady Jane Grey, only dau of 9th earl of Stamford, of Dunham Massey Hall, Altrincham, Cheshire, marr (31 August 1963) Vivian Helen (born 18 February 1937), yr twin dau of Sir Herbert Ingram, 3rd Bt, 1 son and 3 daus, with Titus Wilson & Son, printers, Kendal, of High Wells, Oxenholme (1970s), later of Cleabarrow, Windermere, before moving to The Old Vicarage, Wickham Market, Suffolk, where he died in May 2002

Turner, Anthony (d.1707), clergyman, from Broughton-in-Furness, vicar of Dalton for 26 years, buried at Dalton, 20 April 1707

Turner, David (d.2014), ed Barrow GS, expert on misuse of drugs, secretary to government Advisory Council on Misuse of Drugs,  consultant to the WHO, latterly lived in Rome establishing therapeutic communities; oldbarrovians.org/alumni/; Druglink vol 29, issue 4, Sept-Oct 2014, 18-20

Turner, Henry Ernest William (190x-1995), MA, DD, theologian, brought in as a lecturer to Carlisle clergy schools, canon of Durham, professor of Divinity, Durham University, marr (1936) Constance Parker (died 27 December 1999, buried at Boot, January 2000), er dau of Dr E P Haythornthwaite (qv), 2 sons (Christopher Hugh and Mark Richard Haythornthwaite), of Realands, Eskdale, died 14 December 1995 and buried at St Catherine’s church, Boot, Eskdale

Turner, Herbert Victor (1888-1968), MA, suffragan bishop, born in 1888, son of Alfred Cook Turner, silk traveller, marr (19xx) Mildred Aline, dau of A H Bonser, 2 daus, educ Merton College, Oxford (Exhibitioner, BA 1911, MA 1914) and Cuddesdon College, Oxford, ordained d 1913 and p 1914, Archdeacon of Nottingham 1936-1944, canon of Southwell Minster and examining chaplain to bishop of Southwell 1937-1944, vicar of Radcliffe-on-Trent 1940-1944, vicar of Hawkshead 1944-1955, bishop suffragan of Penrith 1944-1958, archdeacon of Furness 1944-1958, retired to Copt Hill, Windermere, died 10 March 1968; Watson, Mitred Men of Cumbria

Turner, Joseph Mallord William (1775-1851; ODNB), RA, painter, an indefatigable traveller, visited the Lakes several times, produced many Lakeland watercolours and sketches, following an early tour of the north exhibited at Royal Academy 1798, Morning on the Coniston Fells (Tate), another tour of the Lakes in 1809 his watercolour Kirkby Lonsdale Churchyard sold at Bonhams for £217,250 in January 2012, not having previously been at auction since 1884; David Hill, Turner in the North,1998

Turner, Roy (c.1926-2017), engineer, director Vickers Barrow, Deputy MD, major contributor to Les Shore’s biography of Leonard Redshaw (qv)

Turner, William (fl.1790-1823), born Duddon valley, lived Low Mosshouse, Seathwaite, leased the Walna Scar slate quarry, married a granddaughter of ‘Wonderful’ Walker (qv), went to Wales in 1799 as skilled quarryman, became partner of quarry at Llanberis, High Sheriff of Caernarvon in 1823, his son was Sir Llewellyn Turner (1823-1903) MP; G. Stebbens, Duddon Valley, 217-9 and 227

Turner, William (1789-1862), painter, taught by John Varley, specialised in watercolour landscapes, elected an associate of Society of Painters in Watercolour on 29 January 1808 and to full membership in November 1808, made initial visit to Lake District in 1814, returned in July 1840 and did group of pencil drawings of Brotherswater, Thirlmere and Windermere, which were gifted to Wordsworth Trust in 1988 and watercolour of evening view of Wastwater, completed after his 1840 tour, presented to Trust by W W Spooner Charitable Trust in 2009, with drawing of morning view of Ullswater taken from Dobbin Wood acquired through same Trust in 2010, enjoyed great popularity as teacher in Oxford, dull and uninspiring method but impressed a definite technical procedure on his students, simple palette of gamboges, Indian yellow, Prussian blue, rose madder, with cobalt and brown madder for sky and Smith’s warm grey for rocky foregrounds of his Scottish landscapes, lived at 16 John Street, near Worcester College, Oxford from 1833 until his death on 7 August 1862 (WT)

Turner, Sir William (1832-1916; ODNB) KCB FRS FRSE, anatomist and university administrator, b. Lancaster son of William Turner a cabinet maker and Margaret Aldren, taught by Rev. William Shepherd (qv) at Long Marton, apprenticed to Dr Christopher Johnson at Lancaster and spent some time at Bart’s, marr Agnes Logan, principal of Edinburgh university 1903-1916, d.Edinburgh buried Dean cemetery

Turner, William Lakin (1867-1936), artist; Levens History Society website

Turner, Winifred Doris (nee West) (1899/1900-1970), Girl Guide leader, dau of Sir Frederick Joseph West (1872-1959), GBE, JP, lord mayor of Manchester and chairman of Manchester Ship Canal Co, and Caroline Hannay Eyre, of Springfield, Wilmslow, formed 1st  Wilmslow Girl Guide unit in 1921, which expanded to include Rangers and Brownies units, and leader of Girl Guides in Wilmslow until she marr at age of 60 (in spring 1959, at Wilmslow) Arthur James Turner (born in Kendal, 8 January 1901, died spring 1981) and moved to Kendal in 1960 to live at ‘Springfield’, 12 Lumley Road, until her death on 19 June 1970 (WG letter, 21.04.2011)

Turvey, Norman (1897-1975), company secretary (KG, 103)

Tuson, Derek Ronald (1925-2003), engineer, involved with the Dreadnought programme at Vickers, Barrow, model railway enthusiast involved with steam trains, son of Cyril Barnett Tuson (b Port Blair, Andaman Islands) and Nora Gwendoline St John Butler (b Jerusalem), grandson of Thomas Harrison Butler (1871-1945) an opthalmic surgeon and yacht designer, marr Monica (Mick) Dark Francis, 1 son Mark and dau Anne, lived East View, Rampside

Tutin, Winifred Anne (nee Pennington) (1915-2007), botanist, senior scientific officer Freshwater Biological Association, Ferry House, reader in Botany, Leicester University, b. Barrow, married 1942 Prof. Thomas Gaskell Tutin (b.1908), Leicester University; Who’s Who 1986

Tuvar, Lorenzo (pseudonym), writer, see Armitstead, Wilson

Tweedie, Capt. (b.1795), of the ship Polly, Maryport, aged 81, shipwrecked off Tory Island, Co Donegal, off the north-west coast of Ireland (the island’s name comes from the word toraidhe or bandit), he was carrying coal to Sligo but survived and carried on sailing for several years

Twelves, Marian (b Mary Ann) (1844-1906), needlewoman and spinner, dau of William Twelves, a tailor and Mary Ann Wilberforce, housekeeper to Albert Fleming (qv) and moved with him in 1883 to Neaum Crag, Ambleside, where he arranged for her to learn to spin by hand (LAR, 19), she also made Ruskin lace

Twentyman, Elizabeth Ann (nee Whybrow) (1826-1892), poet, b Hammersmith dau of a silk warehouseman, married at Kensington in 1860 Wilson Twentyman (1816-1883), who was born at Abbeyholme in Cumberland (son of John Twentyman (1764-1840)), Poems (1868) published by Routledge, dedicated to Longfellow, rertunred to Cumberland, lived Cockermouth

Twentyman, John (18xx-19xx), farmer and pioneer of agricultural education, of Hawkrigg, Aspatria, pioneered establishment of Aspatria Agricultural Co-operative Society with William Norman (qv) in 1870, also instrumental in setting up Aspatria Agricultural College in Sir Wilfred Lawson’s Temperance Hall in 1874, a far sighted venture bringing agricultural education to north, closed during WW1, a progressive man with energy and vision

Twigge, Revd John Sergeant (18xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of Waverton, of Churchrigg, Wigton (1910)

Tyngewyke, Nicholas (c.1267-1339; ODNB), clergyman and physician, educated Oxford, physician to Edward I in his final illness in 1307 at Lanercost and on Burgh marshes; chantry to him at Reculver, Michael Prestwich, Life of Edward I, 1988

Tyson, Ann(e) (c.1713-1796), shopkeeper and landlady, wife of Hugh Tyson (died 1 March 1784, aged 70), joiner, of Colthouse, whose range of work is indicated by accounts surviving from 1747 to 1763 (inc for Hawkshead church in 1751), kept shop dealing in tea, sugar and other groceries, dress materials and haberdashery from 1759 to 1775, later after husband’s death took in schoolboy lodgers attending Hawkshead Grammar School, inc Wordsworth brothers (William, John and Christopher), R Greenwood, T H Gawthorp, T H Maude and Losh, in her cottage at Colthouse between 1784 and 1789, also accommodated the Rev Rowland Bowstead master at the grammar school prior to his marriage, retired from business in 1789, aged 76, died at Colthouse, 25 May 1796, aged 83, and buried in churchyard, 28 May (account book in CRO, WDS 39 [on display at Hawkshead School]; CW2, l (or 1i), 152-163); TW Thompson, Wordsworth’s Hawkshead, 1970

Tyson, Blake PhD (d.2021), historian of vernacular architecture, lectured in quantity surveying at Oxford Brooks university, lived Longsleddale, regular contributor to the CWAAS Transactions proving more than 60 articles, developed his own method of relating the archival evidence to the facts on the ground at Rydal Hall, Skirwith Hall, Sockbridge Hall and Newlaithes Hall, published The Estate and Household Accounts of Sir Daniel Fleming (2001) and prepared a vast corpus of data relating to Kendal corporation’s apprenticeship records (as yet unpublished), marr Margaret , three daus; Richard Hall, CWAAS newsletter Spring 2022, 99, 18-19

Tyson, C W (19xx-19xx), local councillor, last chairman of Windermere Urban District Council to 1974

Tyson, Sir Edward Thomas (1847-1923), JP, solicitor, eldest son of Edward Tyson (d.1892), solicitor, of Maryport, bought Wood Hall, Bridekirk, Cockermouth (built 1821, extended by C Ferguson in c.1910, now demolished), had T H Mawson lay out gardens in 1910 (photos in CRO, WDB 86), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1914

Tyson, Henry (c.1798-1852), astronomer and mathematician, manager of bank of Westmorland for many years, and author of the Kendal Diary, pres born at Grasmere?, died at Keswick, 27 March 1852, aged 53/4, and buried at Grasmere, 2 April (altar tomb in north of Grasmere church); his widow Jane died at Fairelms, Lancaster, 26 August 1879, aged 83, and buried at Grasmere, 30 August (WCN, i, 234)

Tyson, Joshua, vicar of Ennerdale, took photographs of Whitehaven Industrial Exhibition of 1866 (WN, 08.08.2018)

Tyson, Thomas, left £30, the interest of which to be spent on ‘pious books’ for Seathwaite chapel or books for the poor of the chapelry; JC Cooper, Duddon Valley

Tyson, Thomas (18xx-19xx), farmer, of Row Farm, Wasdale Head, with his wife Mary Ann, also ran as a guest house for visitors to western lakes, inc many of the pioneer rock climbers as detailed in two visitors’ books between 1876 and 1886 (recent acc at CROW and used by Herbert and Mary Jackson in their book)

Tyson, Timothy (1884-1967), cobbler, lived in Grasmere for fifty years, climbed all the significant fells and all the great peaks elsewhere in the UK, also swam in almost 500 bodies of water, lakes and tarns; C News 24 February 1967