Lives (Index)

This alphabetical list of brief biographies, many with bibliographical notes, was compiled by Richard Hall and David Cross with the invaluable assistance of Stephen White between 2008 and 2021. As is stated elsewhere, this is work in progress. Consequently, if you have new names or further details to add please contact the editor. This, the second edition of the list, now contains numerous biographical references from the CWAAS Transactions, from C. Roy Hudleston’s two volumes of Armorial research and a large number of the Cumbrian lives included in the online ODNB.

Research Abbreviations


Abbatt, Edward James (c.1855-1930), draper and local councillor, mayor of Kendal 1907-08, Kendal borough councillor for West Ward, National School manager (1905), governor (apptd by Westmorland Insurance Committee) of Westmorland Sanatorium, Meathop until his death in 1930, of Albion House, 17 Stricklandgate, Kendal (1885, 1894), Abbatt & Son, drapers, dressmakers and milliners, Albion House, 19 Stricklandgate, and also of Milnthorpe (1905), living at 1 East View, Kendal (1894), later of Cliffside, off Queen’s Road, Kendal (1905, 1912, 1914, but gone by 1921), then of Fairmead, Heversham (1925, 1929, 1930, with Herbert Abbatt having been there in 1921 only), marr Dinah (buried 20 February 1928, aged 70), 1 son, died 28 September 1930, aged 75, and buried with wife in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 1 October; son, Neville Alexander Abbatt was lodger at Cliffside (1912), later of Fairmead in 1934, 1938, and died 15 March 1968, aged 78, and buried at Heversham with his wife, Elizabeth Thompson Abbatt, who died 1 January 1951, aged 63)

Abbatt, William (d.1806), upholsterer, of Kendal, marr Deborah, dau of George Stewardson, draper and clogger (will proved, 7 January 1807), 2 sons (George, of Preston, confectioner, and Robert, of Liverpool, tea dealer), purchased property lately known by sign of the Three Tuns on west side of Stricklandgate, Kendal, from his father-in-law’s trustees, 4 February 1807, died 14 March 1837 (deeds in CRO, WDX 304) – any rel to E J Abbatt? (Abbatt MIs in WCN, ii, 1); Edward Abbatt, innkeeper, marr (183x) Ann, son (Edward, buried at Kendal, 26 June 1840, infant) and dau (Ann, buried 30 June 1840, aged 6), innkeeper of the Black Swan, Allhallows Lane, Kendal (post 1829; 1849)

Abbot, John (1884-1956), civil servant in India, artist, lived Grasmere; Marshall Hall

Abbott, John White (1763-1851), surgeon and apothecary of Exeter, visited the Lakes in 1791 as an artist; Dove Cottage has some work

Abdy, Sir Anthony Thomas, 5th Bt (1720-1775), KC, MP, politician, born 1720, er son of Sir William Abdy, 4th Bt, whom he succ in 1750, marr (13 August 1747) Catherine (d.1792), dau and co-heir of William Hamilton, no issue, accounted with Earl of Thanet for rents and profits of estates in London, Southwark, Hertfordshire, Yorkshire and Middlesex, and lead mines in Derbyshire 1743-1755 (CRO, WD/Hoth/A988/23), MP for Knaresborough 1763-1775, died 7 April 1775

Abel-Smith, John (1802-1871), London banker, m. Anne Jervoise dau of Sir Samuel Clarke Jervoise on 26th December 1827, bought Roa Island, Barrow and built the causeway to the island from the Conkle Inn in 1840 and a 180 foot long deep water pier at Roa, the railway brought slate from Kirkby-in-Furness from the Cavendish quarries to be shipped, steamers to Fleetwood,

Abercrombie, John (1851-1914), MD (Cantab), FRCP, JP, physician, at Charing Cross Hospital and Foundling Hospital, retired from practice in London to settle at Augill Castle, Stainmore by 1906 [castellated mansion (Gradwell Pearson there in 1873 and Brogden family there in 1879) sold by auction on 18 August 1885, restored in 1896, put up for sale by auction on 9 August 1897 (CRO, WD/HH/SPs) and later purchased by Paul Kester (c.1870-1933) (qv), an American playwright, by cable in 1904/5)], known locally as Queen Victoria’s private surgeon, did a lot of voluntary work in Brough despite working in London and poor health, friend of Alexander Pearson (qv), member of CWAAS from 1907 and of Council 1909, transcribed the Parish Registers of Warcop up to 1812, but only first part (1597-1744) published in Parish Register Section (Vol III), issued a few days before his death on 30 April 1914, buried at Brough, 2 May, aged 62; widow was member of CWAAS from 1914, but moved from Augill Castle (selling to Major H O Ingham (qv) in 1921?) to St Anne’s, Abbot’s Bromley, Rugeley by 1921, then to Cleughbrae, Ruthwell, Dumfries by 1924, back to London (19 West Cromwell Road, Kensington by 1927 to 1930/31 and 187 Queen’s Gate 1930/1-1934/5), then to The Hive, Exeter Road, Bournemouth by 1935 and finally to 5 Staunton House, Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth by 1936, and died in 1936/37

Abraham, Ashley Perry (1876-1951), photographer and rock-climber, yr son of G P Abraham (qv) and brother of George Dixon (qv), pioneers of Lakeland rock exploration, first President, Fell and Rock-Climbing Club of the English Lake District 1906-, Director, G P Abraham Ltd (carried on by his sons), of The Screes, Chestnut Hill, Keswick (1910); his wife compiled an anthology Poems of Lakeland (1934); Keswick Characters, vol. 2

Abraham, Bernard W (18xx-19xx), MA, schoolmaster, Headmaster of Windermere Grammar School then with about 90 boys, succ Peter P Platt (qv) in 1928 until 1935, when succ by R E Knowles

Abraham, Daniel (1662-1732), Lord of Manor of Ulverston, Quaker, imprisoned in Lancaster Castle (in common with Roger Haydock, Leonard Fell, Henry Coward and others) for non-attendance at parish church or non-payment of tithes, though not in close confinement as he wrote to his wife from the Castle in March 1684/5 that “ I perceive they never lay at night in the Castle since their first confinement” (Miller MSS, printed in The Fells of Swarthmoor Hall and their Friends compiled by Maria Webb, 1865), gave account in 1707 that Mary Fell (d.1708), of Baycliff had paid £10 to Swarthmoor Meeting “for a foundation towards a schoolmasters wages” (as intended by her late husband), marr (168x) Rachel (1653-1732), dau of Judge Thomas Fell (qv), of Swarthmoor Hall, thereby inheriting Swarthmoor estate, 1 son (John), (HABSF, 521) 

Abraham, Emma Clark (1850-1934), daughter of Alfred Clay Abraham, a Liverpool pharmacist, bought in 1902 and restored Swarthmoor Hall, nephew sold the building to the Society of Friends; Hyde and Pevsner, 630

Abraham, George Dixon (1871-1965; ODNB), photographer and rock-climber, eldest son of G P Abraham (qv), marr, Enid J Wilson contributed a Keswick Country Diary to The Guardian for 36 years (with A Lakeland Diary collection published in a limited edition), of Idwal, Chestnut Hill, Keswick (1910), much influenced the rise of rock climbing;  Keswick Characters, vol.2

Abraham, George Perry (1846-1923) FRPS, photographer, b. Devizes, worked for Elliot and Fry photographer of Baker St, London, then apprenticed 1862 to Alfred Pettitt qv of Keswick, est own business 1866, built house (later inherited by his great grand daughter, Sue Steinberg, from her aunt Mary, dau of A P, in 1997), established photographic business in Lake Road, local councillor for 15 years, marr Mary, nee Dixon, 4 sons (G D and A P, qv), Sidney Keswick bank manager, John acting governor of Tanganikya; (CuL, July 2011)

Abraham, Thomas (1723-17xx), merchant and grocer, born at Swarthmoor, 19 January 1723, son of John Abraham (1687-1771), who was son of Daniel Abraham (qv), of Swarthmoor Hall, and his wife (marr October/November 1722) Sarah Fo(r)ster (1701-1777), of Hawthorne, co Durham, his father John undertook building works at Swarthmoor in 1720s (lintel date stone ‘J A S 1726’), but Thomas had moved to Whitehaven by the time of his marriage in October 1749 at Penketh Quaker Meeting House to Ellen (born 21 January 1729), dau of Henry Clare (died ante 1740), of Martin’s Croft, Poulton, Warrington, and his wife Kathleen (who remarried in November 1740 at St Peter’s church, Chester), being “an agreeable young lady with a Fortune of 5000 l.”, but he was advertising sale of Swarthmoor Hall in December 1749 (London Evening Post, 23-26 December 1749, Issue 3456) and again from March to May 1750, also proposed sale by auction at Lancaster in January 1751, and again at Ulverston on 24 January 1752 (LEP, 7-9 January 1752, Issue 3779, with particulars of estate), but notice of his bankruptcy appeared in March 1753 (LEP, 27-29 March 1753, Issue 3966), his creditors were to meet assignees of his estate on 28 May 1753 at the Indian King, Whitehaven to discuss payment of his debts and recovery of his assets (also for two other bankrupt Whitehaven merchants, John Atkinson and Daniel Stephenson), with reversion of Swarthmoor Hall offered for sale on 18 September 1755 and his eighth share of £700 left by will of Robert Forster, late of Hawthorne, on death of his mother Sarah (supra), aged then about 52, and his share of Robert’s estate vested in trustees (about £80) due to be paid him in March 1758 on 26 September (LG, 9-12 August 1755, Issue 9501), with a third sale on 28 September of his land at Halton, co Chester, and Poulton, near Warrington, and his estate at Rixton in Lancashire (LEP, 14-17 September 1754, Issue 4188), [but why did he go bankrupt at age of 26 – as tobacco dealer in Whitehaven trading with his yr brother Robert (b.1729) in Virginia?], held freehold of Swarthmoor Hall even though his father John was still alive and probably resident there up to time of sale in 1755, but he and wife Sarah were described as paupers in depositions taken at Ulverston on 2 April 1764 in case against son Thomas and others (TNA, Depositions taken by Commission, E 134/ 4GeoIII/ East9), [what became of them afterwards?] (Ian Lewis, The Swarthmoor Hall Historian, Vol.1, No.1, Summer 2012)

Acland, Alice (1849-1935) (nee Cunningham), dau of the Rev Francis Macaulay Cunningham, marr the Rev Sir Arthur Herbert Dyke Acland 9th/13th bt, she was one of the seven founders of the Women’s Cooperative Guild in Westmorland, soon after the 1883 foundation, mother of Sir Francis Acland 10th/13th bt (1874-1839) who married Eleanor Cropper (1878-1933; ODNB), she was thus the grandmother of ‘Cubby’ Acland (qv)

Acland, Arthur Geoffrey Dyke (1908-1964), paper manufacturer, born 17 May 1908, 2nd son of Sir Francis Dyke Acland, 10th Bt, PC, DL, JP (1874-1939), and Eleanor (1878-1934), eldest dau of Charles Cropper (qv), educ Rugby and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1930), Captain, Border Regt and served in Royal Tank Corps, director of James Cropper & Co Ltd 1933-1964, chairman of Liberal Party exec, prospective Parliamentary candidate for Westmorland 1951, marr (1 April 1932) Winifred Julian Dorothy (Cumbria County Councillor, President of Kendal YWCA, Chairman of Age Concern, Chairman of Westmorland Voluntary Service for the Blind, member of Disablement Advisory Committee and of Lake District Planning Board), yr dau of Lt-Col Sydney Roden Fothergill (qv), 4 sons (eldest, Oliver (b.1933), Company Secretary of James Cropper & Co Ltd 1978-1996 and Director 1964-1997, of Sprint Cottages, Strickland Roger; Edward (Cumbria County Councillor); Robin; Martin Hillary (b.1953) marr (23 November 1974, at Staveley) Anne, dau of James Leslie Dixon, and 1 son decd) and 1 dau (Rose, decd), of Hundhow, Burneside, died 14 September 1964

Acland, Cuthbert Henry Dyke (Cubby) (1910-1979), OBE, conservationist, born 18 November 1910, 3rd and yst son of Sir Francis Dyke Acland, 10th Bt, PC, DL, JP (1874-1939), educ [Rugby] and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1932), Major, RE, Agent for North West Region of The National Trust (OBE in 1971 for service to National Trust), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1968, contested Westmorland as Liberal Parliamentary candidate in general elections of 1945, 1950 and 1951 (polling 7,313 votes (third), 9,054 (second) and 7,493 (third) respectively), member of Lake District Planning Board for 20 years, member of CWAAS from 1949, member of Royal Windermere Yacht Club from 1952, as NT agent opened the new clubhouse at the South Windermere Sailing Club at Fell Foot in 1963, contributor to Country Life, formerly of Box Trees, Crook (1950), later of 1 Compston Road, Ambleside, then of Stagshaw, Ambleside (1952), where he created a notable garden from 1957, unmarried, died in 1979

Acland, Eleanor Mary (nee Cropper) (1878-1933; ODNB), politician and suffragist, born Tolson Hall, Strickland Kettle, dau of Charles Cropper and the Hon Edith Emily Holland, m. Francis Dyke Acland, president Womens Liberal Foundation; CW3 x 247

Acland, Sir Henry Wentworth Duke Bt FRS (1815-1900; ODNB), son of Sir Thomas Acland and Lydia Elizabeth Hoare, Oxford friend of Ruskin, Regius Professor of Medicine, marr Sarah Cotton, daughter of William Cotton (1786-1866; ODNB) (inventor, philanthropist and the director of the bank of England), much interested in the development of training in the medical and natural sciences, with Ruskin he established the Oxford Natural History Museum (Acland was the main driver), visited Ruskin at Brantwood, at least once in their old age (a fine photograph exists), Sarah Acland had a hospital named after her in Oxford;

Acton, Abraham (1893-1915), VC, soldier, born at Whitehaven, killed in action at Festubert, 15 May 1915 (WG, 05.02.2015)

Adam, James (d.1823), associate of John Wilkinson (qv), of Runcorn, Cheshire, purchased Burblethwaite Hall, Cartmel Fell by auction at Kendal in September 1811 for £10,670 (£9,570 for land and £1,100 for wood and timber) with conveyance dated 16 July 1812 (under will of John Robinson of Watermillock), but released property to Thomas Townend and others on 12 November 1816 on account of £5,000 mortgage, borrowed £35,000 in Exchequer Bills from Commissioners apptd by Public Works Loans Acts of 1817 (for repayment of which he gave bond of £70,000, but still over £26,000 in debt at time of his death), Lord of Manor of Burblethwaite and of Lower Meathop, also had property in Cartmel, Beetham and Witherslack, also of Brymbo Hall, Denbighshire, and of Shifnall, Shropshire, when he made will dated 15 July 1823, trustee of estate of John Wilkinson, but his own property to be sold and proceeds divided into 7 equal shares (for wife Mary, 5 children Samuel Smith, Frances, John James, Adam Fitz and Mary, and 2 sisters) (CW2, lxii, 172-174, 184-189)

Adam, Robert (1728-1792), architect, drawings for the Lowthers; CW2 lxii 305

Adams, Herbert Hugo St Ledger Stanley (1884-19xx), aviator, born at Forest Lodge, Hong Kong, 5 January 1884, yst of 7 children of Dr William Stanley Adams, MD, MS, from Ayrshire, who became Government Health Inspector in Hong Kong, etc, but died soon after returning to England in 1887, educ Dulwich College, (SEW, 34)

Adams, John Jackson (Jack), 1st baron Adams, of Ennerdale (1890-1960), OBE, JP, politician and civil servant, born at Arlecdon, 12 October 1890, educ Arlecdon County School, colliery winding man, marr (1914) Agnes, only dau of T Birney, 1 son (decd), first elected to Cumberland County Council in 1919, Alderman from 1931 and retiring in November 1959, became great friend of Lady Mabel Howard (qv), chairman of CCC Health Committee 1942-1948, chairman of Arlecdon and Frizington UDC  1919-1923, chairman Workington Borough Health and Education Committees 1923-1931, Secretary, Cumberland Development Council Ltd from 1935, Director and General Manager, West Cumberland Industrial Development Co Ltd, Whitehaven from 1937 (and vice-chairman 1950), chairman of governors, Whitehaven Grammar School from 1942, Deputy Regional Controller, Board of Trade (C&W Sub-Region) 1944-1948, member, BBC Advisory Panel, North West Area 1944-1949, member, Northern Regional Gas Board from 1949 and   N & C Division, National Coal Board 1950-1954, made Hon Freeman of Borough of Whitehaven on 9 April 1953 (with Lord Nuffield), great drive and energy in developing new industries in West Cumberland, notably the nuclear industry, had seen employment quadruple from 15,000 to 60,000 in his time, OBE 1944, Hon MA Durham 1948, cr Baron Adams, of Ennerdale 1949 (ext), of Greystoke, Loop Road North, Whitehaven (1938), later of Wybrow Terrace, Workington, died 23 August 1960

Adams, W. J. T. P. Phythian-, see Phythian-Adams

Adamson, Adam (1827-1891), foreman at Carlisle railway sheds, marr Isabella (d.1897), son Adam (d.1906), Adam’s son John Benrens Adamson MIMechE (d.1936) was the locomotive supervisor, Carlisle

Adamson, Lawrence (d.1877), HM seneschal of the Isle of Man, born Whitehaven, son of Anthony Adamson solicitor and banker of Millgrove, Moresby, his grandson Lawrence Anthony Adamson was a prominent headmaster at Wesley College, Australia; Hudleston (C); Dictionary of Australian Biography

Adamson, Robert (fl.1672), of Blacket Bottom, Grayrigg, gent, founded school at Tebay 1672; son (?), Robert (fl.1723), also of Blacket Bottom, gave £30 for school in Grayrigg

Adamthwaite, Revd John (17xx-1839), DD, boarding academy, Manor House, Winton, left large sum in will

Addison, James, artist; CW3 xviii 191

Addison, John (fl.1680-92), builder, Westmorland; CW2 xcvi 161

Addison, John Aspinall (1813-1883), clergyman, ‘founder of Windermere village’, born in Liverpool in 1813, from Aspinall and Brancker merchant trading families, educ St John’s College, Cambridge, marr (1840) Mary, yst dau of Leonard Wilkinson, Esq, of Slaidburn, near Clitheroe, 1 son (John Aspinall) and 1 dau (Mary Elizabeth), Vicar of Mytton, near Clitheroe, came to Windermere in 1847, first Incumbent of St Mary’s, Applethwaite 1848-1855, built The Abbey as his residence, founded the College [later a prep school and then the Phoenix Centre, now demolished] in 1848, built St Mary’s church as the chapel, aspired to establish a new public school, failed to attract sufficient interest, enforced sale of church, school, college, home and all his personal effects after his financial resources dried up and were placed in hands of his solicitor, J H Taylor, and assignees, Abraham Pattinson (qv) and John Garnett, for benefit of his creditors, 27 March 1855, left Windermere, having lost everything, around March 1855, moved to Devon as curate at Plympton and Brixton for four years, then Vicar of Hound, Southampton, and Rector of Cowlam, near Beverley, Yorks, never returned to Windermere but kept informed of major reconstruction of St Mary’s in 1882, died at Bridlington Quay, 10 September 1883, aged 69, and buried in the Alcove section of Scarborough cemetery; memorial window in south aisle of St Mary’s (Ian Jones, 12-39)

Addison, John Vernon (1930-2016), OBE, journalist, born 2 May 1930, educ Barnard Castle School, co Durham, started newspaper career in his native north east in 1956, moved to Manchester as a sub-editor on Manchester Evening News, then sport sub-editor in the Manchester office of the Daily Express, but moving back a year later to the Manchester Evening News for next sixteen years, becoming assistant editor, appointed editor of the Cumberland News and the Evening News & Star Carlisle in 1976, retired as editorial director of Cumbrian Newspapers in Carlisle in 1990, receiving several high-level awards, President, National Guild of British Newspaper Editors 1984-1985, member of national council, and chairman of NW Region 1981-82, did public relations consultancy work after retiring, inc for Pioneer Foodservice and the Christopher Harrison Group, founder chairman of Carlisle Jazz Club, dedicated fundraiser for Cumbria Cerebral Palsy, wrote his family history in Black Sheep and Diamonds, marr 1st (19xx) Audrey (d.1988), 3 sons (Denzil, Kevin and Nigel), marr 2nd (diss 2013) Pam Coke, of Farthings, Hawksdale, Dalston, died at Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle, 24 December 2016, aged 86, with funeral at St Michael’s Church, Dalston, 6 January 2017 (CN)

Addison, Lancelot (1632-1703; ODNB), MA, DD, Dean of Lichfield, born at Meaburn Townhead, Maulds Meaburn and bapt at Crosby Ravensworth, 4 March 1632, son of Lancelot Addison of the Hill, educ Appleby Grammar School and Queen’s College, Oxford, friend of Joseph Williamson (qv), dean of Lichfield 1683-1703, archdeacon of Coventry 1684, father of Joseph Addison (1672-1719; ODNB), statesman, essayist and poet ; (WW, ii, 23-36);  David Risk, Lancelot Addison, (2002)

Addison, Margaret (1932-2012), cattle breeder, artist and community worker, born at Hexham, December 1932, dau of Arthur Iveson, auctioneer, of Hexham, and his wife Isabel, a native of Soulby, brought up at Hexham and educ at Southport, Newton Rigg Agricultural College, and Newcastle University, clerked for her father at Hexham auction mart for five years and got to know most farmers in Northumberland, not being able to become auctioneer herself, first met Steele Addison at Newcastle and eventually married at Hexham in 1958, farming at Greystone House, King’s Meaburn, but was director of Hexham auction mart for many years, moved to Keld Farm, King’s Meaburn in 1988, remaining a familiar sight at auction marts until about 2008, her best moment as a cattle breeder coming in October 1991 when her pedigree Simmental, Lyvennet Adam, won supreme championship at Perth bull sales

Addison, Richard (1658-1738) of Torpenhow, ancestor of Dr Thomas Addison qv    

Addison, Robert (1754-1829), priest, b. Heversham

Addison, Robert (1775-1862), kinsman of above, of Crossrigg Hall (left to his great-nephew, Lt-Col Hugh Rigg), part-owner of Jasinga estate in Java

Addison, Robert (1790-1880), of the Friary, Appleby, Barwise Hall, Colby Hall, Appleby, and Littlebeck, Morland, DL, JP, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1858; acquired fortune in Java

Addison, Robert John Steele (1931-2006), farmer and local councillor, educ Appleby Grammar School (1943-49), Cumbria County Councillor, marr (1958, at Hexham) Margaret (qv), dau of Arthur Iveson, of Hexham, living first at Appleby before settling to farm at Greystone House, King’s Meaburn, 3 sons (Chris, Rob and John, born 1962, 1963 and 1965 respectively) and 1 dau (Karen, born 1959), moved to Keld Farm, King’s Meaburn in 1988, died in 2006

Addison, Dr. Thomas (1793-1860; ODNB), physician, descended from Richard Addison (1658-1738) of Torpenhow, b. Longbenton, son of Joseph Addison and Sarah Thew, father born Lanercost, ed Royal Free GS, spoke fluent latin, Edinburgh medical school, to Guy’s in London in 1817, became lecturer, one of ‘the Great Men of Guy’s hospital’, discovered Addison’s disease, the degeneration of the adrenal glands, also Addison’s or pernicious anaemia, married at Lanercost Elizabeth Catherine Barber [1801-1872] the day the roof began to fall, d and bur Lanercost graveyard; bust at Guy’s; Dic of Sci Biog

Adelaide (1792-1849; ODNB), queen of King William IV (1765-1837), stayed at Conishead Priory, dau of George, Duke of Saxe-Meiningen, three years after the death of her husband made a celebrated visit to Lake District on 24-26 July 1840, stayed at Rose and Crown Hotel in Kirkby Lonsdale on 24 July (subsequently renamed Royal Hotel), triumphal arches in Bowness, from where she was conveyed down lake to Storrs Hall for lunch with Mrs Bolton, later dined at Low Wood, while street party for over 400 ‘poor inhabitants’ was held opposite White Lion, attended church on Sunday morning and afternoon, visited Rayrigg Bank (renamed Queen Adelaide’s Hill), invited Revd R P Graves (qv) to dine with her and gave £20 for use of poor; had visited Patterdale on 17 July 1840 with her sister, Ida, Duchess of Weimar, and two princes from Ashantee were presented to her on following morning (The Queen Dowager’s Visit to Kirkby Lonsdale, printed by Arthur Foster, 1840)

Adlington, Thomas (1804-1837), solicitor, of Stramongate, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 1 October 1837, aged 33

A-dong Zhang (1855-19.1.1912), stoker aboard the Chinese ship Hai Chi, recently launched at Barrow, his tombstone in Barrow cemetery in Chinese script is a rare encounter; Barrow News 27th January 1912; Rod White, Furness Stories behind the Stones: a walk around Barrow Cemetery, no. 17, c.2015

Aelric (d.1107), hermit or anchorite, lived in forest near Carlisle, with Saint Godric for 2 years, who was present at his death in 1107 and testified “that he saw the soul of Alricke ascend to heaven, as it were in a spherical form of a burning wind”

Agar, Alan Shelton- (19xx-1985), BA, MB, ChB, doctor and landowner, son of Walter Richmond Shelton-Agar (1879-1952), a descendant of John Shelton and Susan Agar (marr 1835), purchased Melmerby Hall in 1958, Lord of manors of Melmerby and Gale, marr Marion, 2 sons (Charles (qv) and Richard) and 1 dau (Anne Rowley), died in 1985

Agar, Charles Wedderburn Shelton Shelton- (1939-2010), landowner and barrister, er son, born at Closeburn, nr Dumfries, educ Shrewsbury School and Trinity College, Cambridge (classics) after intervening period of national service as officer in Scots Guards in Germany, called to bar and practised as criminal defence barrister in London, then on Northern Circuit based in Manchester, retiring about 1995 to live at Todhills, Melmerby, keen on shooting and fishing, with deep knowledge of Cumbrian countryside, supported rural enterprises, expertise in antiques, won prizes at Dalemain marmalade festival, marr 1st, 2 sons (James and Edward), marr 2nd, and companion (Deanna Selby, of Stockport), died at Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle, aged 71, and funeral at St John’s church, Melmerby, 23 June 2010

Agricola, Gnaeus Julius (40-93 AD), Roman governor, campaign in the north in 79 AD, subjugated the Brigantes and built the fort at Watercrook (Kendal)

Aglionby family; CW2 xxxiii 24; Summerson, An Ancient Squire’s Family, 2007

Aglionby, Anne E., monument in convent grounds, Wigton

Aglionby, Arthur Hugh, Major, MC, killed in Great War (memorial tablet in Ainstable church, 1920)

Aglionby, Christopher (17xx-1785), last male rep of Aglionby family, died unmarried in 1785, when estates were partitioned between his four sisters

Aglionby, Edward (1540-c.1591; ODNB), politician, b. Carlisle

Aglionby, Francis (formerly Yates) (1780-1840; ODNB), of Nunnery, army officer and J.P., marr (1814) Mary (d.1854), dau of John Matthews, of Wigton Hall, dau (3rd, Jane (d.1874) was first wife of Charles Fetherstonhaugh (qv), of Staffield Hall; statue outside courts Carlisle, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, p.147-8

Aglionby, Francis John (1932-2002), judge, Circuit Judge 1980- , Chancellor of Carlisle Diocese 1991-, marr (19xx) Susan Victoria Mary (OBE 2017 for services to Young People and the community in Cumbria)

Aglionby, George, son of John Aglionby (1603-1643), clergyman, ed Westminster and Christ church, MA 1626, DD 1635, tutor to William Cavendish later 3rd duke, member of Great Tew intellectual circle, friend of Thomas Hobbes, m. Sibilla Smith, his son perhaps William Aglionby (1641-1705), physician and art historian; master of Westminster school, prebend of Westminster and Chichester and briefly dean of Canterbury

Aglionby, Henry (1684-1759), Mayor of Carlisle 1744-45, MP for Carlisle 1721-1727, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1732

Aglionby, Henry (1715-1770), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1763, marr Anne (d.1780), 4th dau of Sir Christopher Musgrave, 5th Bt (qv), 3 sons and 4 daus, died in 1770

Aglionby, Henry Aglionby (formerly Bateman) (1790-1854; DCB), BA, barrister and politician, born 28 December 1790, son of Revd Samuel Bateman, of Newbiggin Hall, near Carlisle, and his wife Anne, dau and coheir of Henry Aglionby (d.1770) (qv), educ Sedbergh School and St John’s College, Cambridge (entd 1807, BA 1813), assumed surname of Aglionby in 1813 in compliance with will of one of his aunts, called to Bar, Lincoln’s Inn 1816, practised on Northern Circuit, MP for Cockermouth 1832-1854, succ to Nunnery estates on death of his cousin Major Aglionby in 1840, marr (1852) Mrs Sadd, died s.p. 31 July 1854 (SSR, 160; CWMP, 332-333)

Aglionby, Revd John (1566/7-1610; ODNB), MA, divine, one of translators of Authorized Version of the Bible, b. Carlisle, son of Edward and Elizabeth Aglionby, entd Queen’s College, Oxford in December 1583, aged 16, BA 1586, Fellow of Queen’s College and MA 1590, BTh 1597 and DTh 1600, apptd divinity reader at Lincoln’s Inn in 1595, travelled abroad in 1599-1600, chaplain to Elizabeth I and James I, member of Oxford group responsible for revised translation of bulk of the New Testament of the King James bible from 1604, principal of St Edmund Hall, Oxford, Rector of Islip 1607, died 16 February 1610 and buried in chancel of church, leaving widow, 3 sons and 1 daughter, son George qv dean of Canterbury

Aglionby, John Orfeur (1884-1963) MC, bishop of Accra, Ghana, ed Westminster and Queen’s College Oxford, vicar of Monkwearmouth 1917-1924, bishop of Accra 1924; obit Times 17 May 1963; Summerson, An Ancient Squire’s Family, 2007

Aglionby, Richard, of Carlisle, dau Ursula was wife of William Nugent and their dau Mary (born 28 March 1733, d.1802) marr (1761) Barry Yelverton (later Viscount Avonmore) (d.1805)

Aglionby, William (c.1642-1705), physician, natural philosopher and art historian), son of George Aglionby (tutor to 3rd earl of Devonshire), MD Bordeaux and FRS, in his turn tutor to Sir Andrew Henley and later the 1st earl of Yarmouth, published a translation of Pierre Thibault’s The Art of Chymistry: As it is Now Practiced (1668), a translation of Francois Hedelin’s Whole Art of the Stage (1684) and the first original English book of its kind, Painting Illustrated in Three Diallogues (1685), incl eleven biographies of Italian painters, also refers to four Northern European artists, attacked and run through with a spear by men of two families against whom  he had collected information against

Agrippa, Marcus Maenius (fl.122-128), Roman army commander, born at Camerinum, Italy, served first as prefect of a quingenary cohort, the first post on rung of equestrian military appointments, then chosen by Emperor Hadrian and sent on the British expedition (electo a divo Hadriano et misso in expeditionem Britannicam) in 122, before or at same time as his next post as tribune in command of 1,000-strong First Cohort of Spaniards (Cohors 1 Hispanorum) based at Maryport Roman Fort, later was host (hospes) of Hadrian, if he came to Britain in 122, he could have served four years at Maryport and dedicated altars there in 125, 126, 127 and 128 (if they each relate to a separate year) before returning to Italy in time to act as host for Hadrian at Camerinum in 127, but chronology is arguable for Agrippa coming to Britain a later date in 130 or 131 (David Breeze, Brian Dobson and Valerie Maxfield, ‘Maenius Agrippa, A Chronological Conundrum’ in Acta Classica, LV (2012), 17-30; S S Frere, ‘M Maenius Agrippa, the expeditio Britannica and Maryport’ in Britannia, 31 (2000), 23-28)

Ainger, Revd George Henry (1819-1886), clergyman and principal, son of Dr William Ainger (qv), tutor at St Bees Theological College 1849-1857 and Principal 1858-1870, Perpetual Curate of St Bees 1858-1870, Hon Canon of Carlisle 1870-1882, Rector of Rothbury 1871-1886, and Hon Canon of Newcastle 1882-1886

Ainger, Revd William (c.1785-1840), MA, DD, clergyman and principal, ?son of Dent curate, paid for monuments to Sill?, Perpetual Curate of St Bees and first Principal of St Bees Theological College 1816-1840, Hon Canon of Chester 1827, died 20 October 1840, aged 55 (memorial in St Bees Priory)

Ainley, Alfred (1871-1955), MA, clergyman, born in 1871, educ Exeter College, Oxford (BA 1897, MA 1900), ordained dio Carlisle and spent entire ministry in dio, various curacies inc Maryport in 1902 when he took part with J B Bailey in survey of Roman road from Maryport to Cross Canonby vicarage (CW2, iv, 253), Vicar of St Bees 1911-1941, member of CWAAS from 1911, but never contributed to Transactions though regular attender at meetings, retired to Lane Head, Cockermouth, died (CW2, liv, 312)

Ainscough, Margaret, enamellist, Keswick

Ainscow, Albert Edward (c.1888-1976), MD, MB, ChB, physician and surgeon, of The Grange, Temple Sowerby from c.1938 [previous resident was Col Edmund Burton, CB, in 1934], buried at Temple Sowerby, 13 September 1976, aged 88

Ainsley, Gertrude (1888-1975), secretary, with Titus Wilson, printers, Kendal, Hon General and Financial Secretary of CWAAS 1927-1959, succ Edward W Wilson (qv), having joined in 1927, elected an Honorary Member on her retirement after 32 years’ service in 1959, of Creevyargon, 101 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal, died at Royal Lancaster Infirmary, 20 January 1975, aged 86, and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal (CW2, lxxv, 384)

Ainslie, Gilbert (1793-1870), DD, master of Pembroke College, Cambridge, and vice-chancellor of Cambridge university, er dau Emily Valence marr H W Cookson (qv); Hall Garth sold 1870, New Hall sold 1903 by Montague Ernest Henry Ainslie (1856-1920)

Ainslie, Henry (1760-1834; ODNB), MD, Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, son of Dr James Ainslie qv, later physician of Kendal, friend of the Rev John Romney (qv), acquired Ford Lodge, Grizedale by marriage to Agnes (1761-1796), dau and coheir of William Ford (qv), of Coniston Waterhead, involved in Newlands iron works [later Harrison Ainslie], Harrison (qv); CW3 x 17; CW3 v 244; David A Cross, A Striking Likeness, 186, 239 n64

Ainslie, Henry (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1846, MA 1849), d 1847 and p 1848, Curate of Bury, Vicar of Easingwold 1856-1873, Vicar of Applethwaite 1873- , decd by 1914

Ainslie, James Dr (1732-1790), physician of Carlisle and Kendal, father of Dr Henry Ainslie qv,  sat to George Romney, see Hud [W]; David A Cross, A Striking Likeness, 30

Ainslie, Montague (1792-1884), DL, JP, HEICS, civil servant, born in Highgate, Kendal, 28 April 1792, son of Dr Henry Ainslie (qv), in India and on his return purchased the Grizedale estate and built the new hall in 1836, patron of Hawkshead Agricultural Society (1876x1881), also of Ford Lodge, died at Grizedale 1 February 1884, aged 92 (SSR, 161)

Ainslie, Montague Farrer (1759-1830), Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, acquired Hall Garth, Over Kellet, from his stepmother, Mary (1746-1820), dau and coheir of Henry Johnes Wilson (d. 1772)

Ainslie, Montague Mordaunt (c.1824-1896), gentleman, of Crescent Villa, Windermere, buried in St Mary’s cemetery, Applethwaite, 26 March 1896, aged 72

Ainslie, Richard Montague (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Pembroke College, Cambridge (BA 1880, MA 1885), d 1884 and p 1886 (Ches), Curate of Witton, Cheshire 1884-1887, Vicar of St Saviour, City and Dio Liverpool 1887-1903, Vicar of Childwall, Liverpool 1903- , Hon Canon of Liverpool 1908- , marr 1st (18xx) Mabel (buried in Windermere St Mary’s cemetery, 16 May 1893, aged 27), when of 160 Upper Parliament Street, Liverpool, marr 2nd (189x) ??? , dau (Helen Forrester, buried in Windermere St Mary’s cemetery, 28 November 1901, aged three years), when of 1 Falkner Square, Liverpool

Ainslie, William George (1832-1893), iron and steel company chairman and politician, born near Calcutta, 9 January 1832, yr brother of Revd Henry Ainslie (qv), of St Mary’s Mount and Brogden House, Ulverston, MP (Conservative) for North Lonsdale, died 10 February 1893 (SSR, 206)

Ainsworth, David (1823-1907), DL, JP, BCL (Cantab), Lieut-Col, of Backbarrow, died at Corolanty Spa Road, Boscombe, Bournemouth, aged 83 and buried at Cartmel, 12 April 1907 (Ainsworth family papers in CRO, Whitehaven)

Ainsworth, David (1842-1906), DL, JP, of The Flosh, Cleator and Wray Castle, Hawkshead, eldest son of Thomas Ainsworth (qv), bought Wray Castle 1898, MP for West Cumberland 1880-1885 and 1892-1895, member of CWAAS from 1879, marr Margaret, no issue, died 21 February 1906; will of 1903 (CROW, Y/Ain 3/1), Wray Castle remained property and seat of widow Margaret, also patron of living of Low Wray, until her death on xx xxx, then sold by her executors in 1920 (sale catalogue of entire contents over 11 days between 19 July and 3 August 1920, by Capes, Dunn & Co, auctioneers, of Manchester, in CRO, WDB 32/13)

Ainsworth, Sir John Stirling, 1st Bt (1844-1923), MA, LLB, VD, DL, JP, ironmaster and politician, born 30 January 1844, 2nd son of Thomas Ainsworth (qv), of the Flosh, marr Margaret Catherine Macreadie, 5 children (all born in London, but one died in infancy), bought the Ardanaiseig estate at Kilchrenan on the shore of Loch Awe, Argyllshire, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1891, DL and JP Cumberland and Argyllshire, MP for Argyllshire 1903-1918, cr. Baronet, of Ardanaiseig, co Argyll, 12 January 1917, member, Royal Commission on Mines 1910, Director, Whitehaven (later Parr’s) Bank, Chairman of Cleator & Whitehaven Junction Railway (until it was absorbed by LMS Railway in 1923), comd 3rd Volunteer Battalion, Border Regt 1898-1902, member of CWAAS from 1878, made his Cumbrian home at Harecroft Hall, Gosforth (built in 1881), died 24 May 1923

Ainsworth, Thomas (1804-1881), flax spinner and iron mining proprietor, born 1804, son of David Ainsworth, of Preston, educ by Revd William Lamport of Lancaster and by Mr Currie of Birmingham, flax spinner, cotton mills at Backbarrow 1860s, put the derelict flax mill at Cleator into working order again in 1837-38, obtaining flax supplies from Ireland and recruiting Irish workers (some 400 Irish population in Whitehaven by 1836), but became an ironworks and iron mining proprietor, following a prospector J H Attwood (qv) at Aldby and Birks in 1840 and became most productive mines operator in Cleator district by 1846, other commercial and manufacturing enterprises in West Cumberland, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1861, JP (not qualif), President of Manchester New College, London 1860-1863, trustee of Unitarian Chapel, Market Place, Kendal 1833-1868, riding or driving over from Summer Hill, his residence in Ulverston, on alternate Sundays for public worship, keen musician and frequently played organ in chapels at Kendal and Preston, marr Mary Laurie, dau of Revd John Stirling, DD, of Craigie, Ayrshire, 3 sons (David (qv), John Stirling (qv) and W McQuhae (Unitarian Minister)) and 1 dau (Mary Alice), died 1881 (CW2, lxxviii, 163-164; CCM, 369; ONK, 528)

Ainsworth, Sir Thomas, 2nd Bt (18xx-19xx), JP, of Ardanaiseig, Kilchrenan, Argyll, JP Cumberland 1930s, divorced in 1925, marr 2nd, son David (b.1926)

Airey family of Storth, near Arnside, swill basket makers for 300 years

Airay, Henry (1559-1616; ODNB), theologian of Oxford, Provost of Queen’s College 1598- and Vice-Chancellor of Oxford University 1606- , born at Kentmere, nephew of Bernard Gilpin, ‘The Apostle of the North’ (qv), made fiery denunciations of Catholicism; (WW, i, 279-292)

Airey, Henry (18xx-19xx), JP, Mayor of Kendal 1936, Borough Councillor for Highgate Ward, Borough magistrate by 1934x36, of 7 Gillinggate, Kendal

Airey, Henry Holme (1797-1867), clergyman and schoolmaster, born 2 February 1797 and bapt 16 March at Selside, Kendal, son of Revd Thomas Airey (qv) and Alice his wife, nominated asst curate at Selside by his father in 1821, apptd an asst master at Sedbergh School by Henry Wilkinson in c.1820, but resigned in 1831 when nominated to curacy of Selside on death of father, 5 January 1831, where he died, 20 July 1867 (SSR, 47; DRC 10/ Selside)

Airy, Hilda (1838-1903), daughter of GB Airy (qv) married Edward John Routh FRS (1831-1907; ODNB), mathematician, son of Sir Randolph Isham Routh who fought at Waterloo, (EJR systematised the mathematical theory of mechanics and created ideas critical to the development of modern control systems theory), their children included George Richard Randolph (1873-1947) was an HM Inspector of Schools, Arthur Lionel (1877-1945) officer Royal Artillery, Harold Victor was a lecturer at Cambridge, Rupert John Airy (1880-1907) was an Indian civil servant and died in Bihar, India, Mary Elizabeth Hilda (1871-1958) marr Sydney William Cole (1877-1951) also a lecturer at Cambridge

Airy, Hubert (1838-1903), physician, son of GB Airy (qv) pioneer in the investigation of migraine, one of the first to describe and draw the common visual aura, the second stage of an attack, which he named Scintillating scotoma

Airey, Thomas MD (d.1790), educ as physician at Rheims, practiced in Whitehaven, died Jamaica, his son Lancelot Airey graduated MD Leiden in 1772

Airey, Thomas (1762-1830?), clergyman, son of Thomas and Ann Airey of Mardale, bapt at Shap, 8 March 1762, nominated to curacy of Selside, April 1794, nom asst curate of Kentmere, June 1790 when master and chaplain to Sandys’s Hospital, Kendal (DRC 10/ Kentmere & Selside)

Airey, Thomas (c.1865-1915), dancing teacher, established Victorian Academy of Dancing in Entry Lane, Kendal by 1905, with Madame Airey, 1 dau (Mrs Betty Shepherd), of Springfield House, 3 Lake Road Terrace, Windermere Road, Kendal (1905, 1914), died at 12 Lake Road, aged 50, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 4 May 1915, Mrs Airey on her own at 12 Lake Road Terrace (1921, 1925, gone by 1929)

Airy, Sir George Biddell (1801-1892) FRS, astronomer, b. Alnwick, descended from the Aireys of Kentmere, cousins of Bernard Gilpin qv, as a young man met Thomas Clarkson (qv) who secured his place at Trinity college, 1st wrangler and Smith prizeman, fellow Trinity, Lucasian and then Plumian professor of mathematics, director of the observatory, FRS, astromomer royal 1835, m. Richarda Smith (1804-1875), dau Rev Richard Smith, kt 1872, son Hubert pioneer of migraine studies, dau Hilda m. Edward Routh, mathematician; autobiography ed Wilfred Airy 1896

Airy Wilfred (1836-1925), civil engineer, son of GB Airy (qv) designed and engineered ‘Col’ George Tomline’s observatory at Orwell Park; his notebooks and journals are at Cambridge University Library

Aitchison, George (c.1883-1943), MBE, land agent, native of Hawick, grandson of Professor John Wilson (qv), Agent for Rydal Estate, Westmorland County Councillor and Alderman for 18 years, first chairman of Lakes Urban District Council, trustee and hon treasurer of both general committee and executive committee of Ethel Hedley Hospital for Crippled Children, Calgarth (1930), prominent Freemason, member of CWAAS from 1929 and Hon Auditor from 1933, marr (19xx) Marjorie, dau of C H Hough (qv), of Oliver Close, Ambleside and of White Craggs, Clappersgate, where he died, aged 60, and buried at Brathay, 19 August 1943

Aiton, Mr, of Bardsea, his gardener was John Fleming (ODNB) (qv)

Albert, Prince (1819-1861; ODNB), consort of queen Victoria, contributed to the Wordsworth window in Cockermouth church

Alcock, Samuel (1789-1858), manufacturer and enthusiast for unsectarian education, son of Thomas and Catherine Astley, father ran a oil, tallow and groceries business in Manchester, he began in a fustian warehouse, with his brother John built up a calico and muslin business, m. Susannah Roberts, dau of Rev JG Roberts of Cross St Chapel,  both he and his friend John Owens (1790-1846; ODNB), had worked hard and saved so they were wealthy, he suggested the foundation of a college on entirely unsectarian basis to Owens, later as executor with George Faulkner of Owens’s will, Owens College opened in 1851 (now University of Manchester), general subscriber to Kendal Market Place Chapel restoration appeal in 1845, lived for a while at Stancliffe Hall, Darley Dale [later a prep school], died at Burrow Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale, 28 September 1858, aged 68 and buried at Tunstall (ONK, 417); refs in JAV Chapple, Elizabeth Gaskell, 2007

Aldersley, Jillian Mary (Jill) (1943-2005), artist, born in London in 1943 and grew up at Longridge, near Preston, studied at Harris College School of Art in Preston 1960-1964 (National Diploma of Design in Painting and Lithography), studied in Manchester for Art Teacher’s certificate, taught art at Aspatria before moving first to Kentmere then to Ambleside in 1967, where she worked part-time in Ambleside Pottery, member of Kendal Art Society, keen fell-walker and rock-climber, Lakeland landscape providing her inspiration, studies of changing moods of surrounding hills and lakes, crags, streams and pools, esp interested in all forms of wildlife, majority of work in watercolour, carbon pencil, pen wash or oil studies of landscapes, drawings for Fell and Rock Climbing Club, exhibited at Anvil Gallery, Cartmel, which acted as her agent from mid-1970s (watercolours of Ravenglass, Styhead and Napes Needle in 1975), also painted under name of Marie D’Estelle, formerly of Southridge, Green Lane, Allithwaite, Grange-over-Sands, later of 2 Rothay Holme Cottages, Rothay Road, Ambleside, died in April 2005

Alderson, Revd Christopher (1737-1814), BD (Cantab), clergyman, son of Jonathan Alderson, of High Ewbank, Brough under Stainmore, Rector of Aston, Yorks 1797-1811, of Eckington 1769-1799, of Oddington, Glos 1779-1785 and Langton upon Swale 1768-1777

Aldrich (Aldridge), Right Revd Robert (d.1556; ODNB), MA, DD, Bishop of Carlisle, Prebendary of Lincoln 1528, Archdeacon of Colchester 1531, Canon of Windsor 1534, Provost of Eton 1536, Bishop of Carlisle 1537-1556

Alexander II of Scots (1198-1249), came to the throne in 1214, took Carlisle in 1216 in revenge for King John’s invasion of Berwick, his troops plundered Holme Cultrum despite Alexander’s previous assurances that religious houses would not suffer. In 1237 Henry III of England concluded a treaty with Alexander II of Scotland at York which consolidated the peace until 1296, in 1242 Henry granted Alexander seven royal manors in Cumberland, centred upon Penrith; Keith J Stringer, The King of Scots, The Liberty of Penrith and the Making of Britain (CWAAS Tract Series no 28)

Alexander, Ben, physician in Grasmere went to Pakistan in 1965

Alexander, Bruce (1886-1950), MBE, JP, mineral water manufacturer, yr son of William (qv), Chairman, Jonas Alexander & Sons Ltd 1940-1941, managed mineral water side of business, Army Welfare Officer 1939-, Mayor of Kendal 1936-1937, elected to Borough Council, 1 November 1928, elected Alderman, 7 May 1940, Kendal Borough magistrate (qualif 9 January 1939), founder member of Kendal Town RUFC 1905 (Captain 1913), President, Kendal Amateur Swimming Club for 20 yrs, died at The Beeches, Sedbergh Road, Kendal, 28 May 1950 and buried in Parkside cemetery

Alexander, Revd James (18xx-19xx), clergyman, Vicar of St Bees 1896-1900

Alexander, John (1863-1940), brewer, yst son of Jonas Alexander (qv), of The Mount, Burneside Road, Kendal (built 1900), marr 1888 Kate Redhead, 1 son (John, b.1904, d.1957) and 5 daus, played rugby football for Kendal Town and Hornets, Chairman, Jonas Alexander & Sons Ltd till death in 1940 (NBR, op cit)

Alexander, Jonas (1823-1900), brewer, born in Kendal, 1 April 1823, son (4th of 13 children) of James Alexander (b.1789) and Sarah (nee Clarke) (b.1795), (father variously a miller/fuller/ labourer 1817-41, fishmonger and game dealer from 1851), started work at his uncle William Phillipson’s bobbin mill at Fell Foot, Staveley, apprentice bobbin turner at Hugill 1841, marr. 25 May 1851 Elizabeth, dau of Martin Brown, carpet weaver, of Kendal, 3 sons (William (qv); George Birkett, b.1862; John, qv) and 4 daus (Mary, b.1854; Sarah Ann, b.1856; Dinah, b.1858; and Elizabeth, b.1860, d. 29 October 1934), bobbin turner, Fell Foot Cottages, Over Staveley 1861, brewer in Kendal by 1871 (prob estab Beezon Lane brewery 1863/64), living at Victoria Lodge, later Beezon Lodge, set up Partnership of ‘Jonas Alexander & Sons’ with sons William and John 1896, wife died 22 July 1890, died at Victoria Lodge, 3 January 1900 and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal (N B Redman history)

Alexander, Stanley (1885-1959), er son of William (qv), Chairman, Jonas Alexander & Sons Ltd 1941-1947 (business acquired by Duttons Blackburn Brewery in 1947, but wound up in 1954), managed Beezon Brewery side of business, founder member of Kendal RUFC 1905 (cttee mem and played in first game, Capt for 3 seasons to 1914, Chm 1931-1951, Pres 1946-47), President, Cumberland & Westmorland RUFC 1946-47, comd Home Guard in Old and New Hutton area in WWII, retired to Newby Brow, but left Kendal in 1959 for new home in Rustington, Sussex, but died before moving in (NBR, op cit)

Alexander, William (1851-1914), brewer and businessman, eldest son of Jonas Alexander (qv), of the Homestead, Sedbergh Road, Kendal, expanded Beezon Brewery, built new mineral water factory on Sandes Avenue (Avenue Works 1906; demolished 2007) to replace Lowther Street premises; took over mineral water bottling business of George Cumberland of Wildman Street, Kendal; director, Westmorland Bonded Warehouses, marr Agnes Ann (d. 1906), 2 sons (Stanley and Bruce, qv) and 3 daus (Jeannie, b.1889; Marjorie; Nan), died at his Beezon Road office, February 1914, aged 62 and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 14 February (NBR, op cit)

Alexander, William L. (fl.19thc.), philanthropist, born Liverpool, lived Lorton, supported local schools including Lorton and Wythop, established a crèche in Lorton to help women to get to work, paid all debts of villagers in the year of Victoria’s jubilee, laid roads, built bridges, restored churches; Mick and Jean Jane, One Man’s Life in the Vale of Lorton, c.2000

Alexander, William, Gillhead, Coniston, fisherman, ‘the only man that ever taught me anything’ according to WG Collingwood’s obit CWAAS vol 33, 308

Allan, Adrian (c.1943-2022), archivist, educ Durham university, BA Modern History, Diploma Archive Administration, Liverpool university, early work at Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, then at Suffolk Record Office, returned to Liverpool to work at the university, archivist there until his retirement in 2008, unmarried, lived at The Golden Fleece, Carleton, Carlisle, joined the CWAAS where he was much appreciated for his considerable contribution to their activities, member of the council, honorary membership secretary 2013-2017, honorary archivist 2017-2022, wrote on Newbiggin Hall CW3 xx 151-56, member of the committee of both the Friends of Carlisle Archive Service and the Cumbria Local History Foundation, wrote biographies of William Nanson (1792-1869), solicitor and town clerk and Henry Lamont Simpson (1897-1918), scholar and poet for Cumbrian Lives during the Covid pandemic; biog Cumbrian Lives

Allan, Thomas (1777-1833), geologist, brother of Jessie Harden of Brathay (John Harden (qv)), discovered Allanite; ODNB; Sarah Holmes Griffiths, Life of Elizabeth Smith (qv) p.309-10

Allen, Colin (19xx-1987), artist and art lecturer, head of fine art at Carlisle College of Art, Stanwix (now part of University of Cumbria), later head of extra mural department, marr Sadie (artist and former senior lecturer in art in north-east), dau (Ceri, artist), of Hethersgill (CuL, 164, June 2012)

Allen, Elizabeth (1803-1850), Methodist preacher, born in Kirkoswald, travelling preacher for Primitive Methodists (CWHS, 34, Autumn 1994, 2-6)

Allen, James (1814-1896), draper and philanthropist, born 1814, son of John Allen (qv), ^^^^ of Bank Top, Kendal, died aged 81 and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 2 March 1896, left bequest of £10,000 for Technical College in Kendal (opened in old Albert buildings in September 1914)

Allen, John (1790-1872), banker, born at Kirkby Lonsdale, 29 December 1790, manager of Lancashire Banking Company in Kirkby Lonsdale, marr 1st (18xx) Jane (born 25 December 1790, died 14 February 1837), dau of James Carr, of Green Close and his wife Elizabeth (1766-1841), 2 sons (James (qv) and Oswald) and 3 daus (Phebe, Elizabeth and Jane), marr 2nd (183x) Margaret (born in Scotland in 1804), 1 son (John, b.1838/9) and 1 dau (Margaret, b.1840), died 8 January 1872 (email of Suzanne Zeedyk, 06.07.2012)

Allen, Sir John Sandeman (1865-1935), JP, politician and businessman, born 1865, son of John Sandeman Allen (1839-1914), of Rock Ferry, Cheshire, formerly of Kirkby Lonsdale, educ Queen Elizabeth School, Kirkby Lonsdale, General Manager of Union Marine Insurance Co, Chairman, Liverpool Salvage Association, Liverpool Undewriters’ Association, Liverpool Chamber of Commerce, and Marine Insurance Advisory Committee, member of numerous committees, MP for Liverpool West Derby 1924-1935

Allen, Kenneth G (1922-2009), DL, CStJ, army officer, born in August 1922, son of Colonel Basil Allen, educ St Bees School (Foundation South 1936-41, escaped fire in 1940, prefect, capt shooting eight, won senior steeplechase 1939, rugby 1st XV), joined LDV aged 17, enlisted in February 1941, 70th Young Soldiers Bn The Sherwood Foresters, commissioned 1942, instructor at OCTU, volunteered for Commandos 1943, instructor at CTC, served with Royal Marines in Italy, rejoined Foresters after WW2 in BAOR, staff college, Camberley 1951, apptd Brigade Major of Parachute Regt, retnd to Bn as company comdr in BAOR after two years, posted to Cyprus on JIS, served with 1 Bn Foresters in Malaya 1959, OC Depot 1960, Chief of Staff at Army HQ Singapore, Rep on staff of CinC Far East, on Land Air Warfare staff in WO, Lieut-Col, served in office of Military Secretary, MoD from 1972 till early retirement in January 1977, moved to Worcester as Asst Regt Secretary, apptd DL for Worcestershire & Herefordshire 1987 serving for 10 years, marr (April 1956) Wendy, 2 daus (Patricia and Diana), died at home in Somerset, 14 February 2009

Allen, Patricia (Pat) (c.1939-2011), MBE, charity worker, founder member of The Oaklea Trust formed in 1990, member of Westmorland Mencap for over 40 years, raising funds to build and support Sandgate Hydrotherapy Pool in Kendal, awarded Paul Harris Award from Kendal Rotary Club in 1997 for her ‘lifetime of services to the community’, member of board for Fairoak Housing Association, awarded MBE in 2009 for voluntary service to disabled, marr, 1 son (Duncan) and 1 dau (Debbie), who had a learning disability, died at Royal Lancaster Infirmary, 18 May 2011, aged 72, and cremated at Morecambe after service at St George’s church, Kendal, on 2 June (WG, 26.03.2011)

Allen, William Elmund Lawrence MB CM (1865-1950), b. Corsham (N) d. Hawkshead, son of Rev John Allen and Mary Ann Bray, lived Ivy House, Hawkshead, marr Annie Beatrice Henshaw of Liverpool, his son Henry described at his probate  as ‘bee instructor’; Ancestry

Alliluyeva, Svetlana Iosifova (1926-2011), writer, daughter of Joseph Stalin (1878-1953) and his second wife Nadezhda Alliluyeva (1901-1932) (shot herself when her daughter was only six), defected to the USA via the American embassy at Delhi in 1967, denounced her father’s legacy and the then regime, published 20 Letters to a Friend the same year, US citizen in 1978, lived Cambridge with her daughter in 1982-3, returned to Russia disillusioned with the USA saying she had encountered the ‘same idiots and incompetent fools’, she stayed at Isel Hall at some point in the 1990s and offered to be Mary Burkett’s cook (qv)

Allington, Edward (1951-2017), sculptor and writer about sculpture, b. Troutbeck Bridge, Cumbria, son of Ralph Allington and his wife Evelyn, ed Lancaster College of Art, Central School of Art, ex Hayward Gallery 1983,  professor at the Slade; work at Tate and V and A;  Sculpture Journal vol.27.1 [2018], 143; Terry Wyke, Public Sculpture of Manchester, 2004

Allison, Dr (d.1878), 1st medical officer of Barrow-in-Furness, appointed 1871, succ byJohn T. Settle (qv)

Allison, Henry Clifford (Cliff) (1932-2005), Formula 1 driver, born at Brough, son of a garage proprietor, his father and uncle were keen motor cycle racers, Colin Chapman gave him a test drive which led to a period with Lotus from 1958, subsequently he drove for the Scuderia Centro Sud, Ferrari and UDT Leystall teams until 1961 when his legs were injured in an accident, later ran the family garage at Brough and sometimes drove the school bus, a rare example of a school bus being driven by a veteran of Formula 1

Allison, Revd Herbert (1876-1934), BA, clergyman, born in 1876, yr son of Sir Robert Andrew Allison (qv), of Scaleby Hall, Carlisle, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1898), Sarum College 1898, d 1899 and p 1900 (Sarum), Curate of St Peter, Marlborough 1899-1901, and Whittingham 1901-1905, ^^^ licensed preacher at Caldbeck 1924-1928 and at Crosthwaite 1928-1934, of Scaleby Hall, Carlisle

Allison, Sir Robert Andrew (1838-1926), DL, JP, politician, born 3 March 1838, son of Joseph Allison (d.1842), of Eden Mount, Stanwix, Carlisle, who was son of Robert Allison (d.1844), [wholesale and retail grocer and tea dealer, and tobacco and snuff manufacturer, of English Street (1829)], Carlisle, and his wife (marr 1836) Jane Andrew (d.1890), educ Rugby School and Trinity College, Cambridge, director of Midland Railway, Liberal MP for Eskdale Division of North Cumberland 1885-1900, elected on 24 November 1885 until 1 October 1900, speaking on 37 occasions in the House (inc Irish land question in 1887, County Councils and power  to maintain roads in LG bill in 1888, Royal Commission on laws re fisheries in Solway Firth and discontent with Tweed Fishery Acts in 1895, and accommodation issues in Brook Street and Hurst Street Local Board Schools in Carlisle in 1899), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1908, DL and JP Cumberland, knighted in 1910, marr 1st (1867) Laura Alicia (d.1892), dau of J Milner Atkinson, of Thorp Arch, Yorks, 2 sons (Wilfrid Henry Andrew (1874-1921), d.s.p.m. and v.p., and Herbert (qv)) and 2 daus (Ethel Mary Jane and Laura, wife of H G Slater (killed in action 1918)), marr 2nd (1897) Sarah Eudora, dau of Revd Canon Slater, of Goathland, Bournemouth, member of CWAAS from 1874, author of Essays and Addresses (1913), Belgium in History (1914), Cicero in Old Age (1916), and Translations into English Verse: Greek Anthology (1922), subscriber to Test Karl (CWAAS, 1893), of Scaleby Hall, Carlisle, where he died 15 January 1926, aged 87

Allom, Thomas (1804-1872; ODNB), FRIBA, architect, artist and lithographer, trained as an architect, exhibited for many years at Royal Academy, prepared drawings ‘of great vigour and beauty’ of House of Parliament for Sir Charles Barry, first visited Lake District in 1832 and furnished drawings for series of illustrated works on ‘Cumberland and Westmorland’, ‘Scotland’, ‘Constantinople’, etc, his Westmorland, Cumberland, Durham and Northumberland Illustrated published in several parts in 1832-35, inc drawings of Brougham Castle, Brougham Hall, Brough Castle, Burnshead Hall, Lowther Castle and Park, Skelwith Bridge, and Underley Hall, with descriptions by T Rose, later versions of his engravings incorporated additional features (eg view of Kendal from the Castle shows St George’s church built in 1839-40), and Kendal from Green Bank shows workmen fixing cloth onto wooden tenter-frames, 1834, producing about 1,500 drawings in all, many taken from new vantage points considered inaccessible by other artists, for Fisher’s Picturesque Illustrations of Great Britain and Ireland, watercolour drawing of Honister Crag, 1833 gifted to Wordsworth Trust by WW Spooner Charitable Trust in 2017 (engravings in CRO, WDX 522)

Allonby family, lords of Allonby in 12thc

Allsebrook, George Clarence (1877-19xx), JP, MA, judge, born 12 August 1877, 5th son of William Pole Jones Allsebrook, JP, of Wollaton, Notts, chairman of Cumberland Quarter Sessions 1944-1953, county magistrate for Kendal Division (1938), marr, dau (Julia Anne Pole, b.1929, marr (24 October 1952 at Cartmel) Surgeon Lieut Peter John Horsey, RN (b.1924), son of Captain (S) Frank Lankaster Horsey, RN, of Liphook, Hampshire), of The Green, Cark-in-Cartmel

Almond, Henry N (19xx-19xx), artist, President of The Lake Artists’ Society 1971-1977, 1983-1988 and 1989-1990, teacher at Charlotte Mason College?

Alnwick, Revd F O (18xx-19xx), clergyman, Vicar of Longsleddale, son S/Sergt R O Alnwick accidentally killed in Wales (WG, 10.01.1942)

Alston, J W (17xx-18xx), artist, Scottish watercolour painter, who ‘produced genre watercolours of figures in rustic settings’, friend and follower of David Allan, artist and engraver, left Scotland for London in 1805, author of drawing manual Hints to Young Practitioners in the Study of Landscape Paintings (first published in Edinburgh on 16 May 1804), three pen and ink drawings of Views in the Lake District (‘Skelwith Fold’, ‘Brathay Bridge’ and ‘Langdale Pikes’), which were prepared as teaching aids and depict figure studies from daily life, illustrating the Ideal and the Picturesque as expounded by Revd William Gilpin (qv), sold by auction in February 2012 and acquired by Wordsworth Trust by donation of W W Spooner Charitable Trust (The Messenger, Spring 2013; Julian Halsby, Scottish Watercolours 1740-1940)

Altounyan, Barbara, see Stephens

Altounyan, Dorothy Susie (Dora) (nee Collingwood) (1886-1964), artist, born in 1886, eldest dau of W G Collingwood (qv), known as ‘Beatle’ to family, educ at home, Cope’s School of Art, Dept of Fine Art, University of Reading 1902-1904, Art Master’s Certificate 1910, studied painting in Paris 1910-1912, proposed to by Arthur Ransome before she marr (1916) Dr Ernest H L Altounyan (qv), 1 son and 4 daus, living with family in Aleppo, Syria and painting in Syria, Lebanon, etc 1919-1939, visited in Aleppo by Arthur Ransome in 1932 where he wrote much of Peter Duck, worked in censorship in Jerusalem during WW2 1940-1945, and returning to Aleppo after War 1946-1956, member of CWAAS from 1928 to 1945, back at Lanehead, Coniston from 1958 until her death, aged 78, and buried at Coniston, 25 November 1964 (paintings at Abbot Hall Art Gallery, Kendal, and letters in CRO, WD/WGC), Marshall Hall, 17

Altounyan, Ernest Haig Liddle (1889-1962), surgeon, born in 1889, son of Arram Assadour Altouyan and Harriet Riddell (Irish), his father established innovative hospital in Aleppo in 1890s, educ Rugby School and Emmanuel College, Cambridge, became friend of Robin Collingwood at school and spent holidays at Coniston, where he learnt to sail, medical school in London, served WW1 with RAMC (wounded in France 1917), marr (1916) Dorothy Susie (Dora) (qv), eldest dau of W G Collingwood (qv), 1 son (Roger, qv) and 4 daus (Barbara Taqui, (qv) sub Stephens, Susie, Mavis (Titty)  (qv) sub Guzelian and Brigit, (qv) sub Sanders), children being modelled by Arthur Ransome (qv) for Walker family in ‘Swallows and Amazons’ books, qualified as surgeon 1919 and joined his father at Altounyan Hospital in Aleppo Syria until WW2 in 1939, served in Army based in Jerusalem 1940-1945, political adviser to C-in-C Middle East and later with Glub Pasha in Jordan, Head of Altounyan Hospital 1950-1956 (joined by his son, Roger, with German wife), returned to Lanehead, Coniston (which he had bought after death of WGC), where he died aged 72, and buried at Coniston, 17 March 1962 (letters in CRO, WD/WGC); said to have known TE Lawrence

Altounyan, Norah Mavis Araxi, see Guzelian

Altounyan, Roger Ernest Collingwood (1922-1987), MRCP, MB, BCh, medical pioneer and ‘Swallows and Amazons’ model, born in Aleppo, Syria, 1922, only son and 4th child of Ernest and Dora Altounyan (qv), spent summer holidays sailing on Coniston with his sisters, meeting Arthur Ransome (qv) in 1928, asthma sufferer, joined RAF in 1940, trained as fighter pilot in Rhodesia, then instructor back in England, after demob took up place to do medical training at Emmanuel College, Cambridge (MB 1957, BChir 1956), MRCP London (1974), at Middlesex Hospital before marr a German and going out to join father at family hospital in Aleppo, returned to England in 1956 and joined pharmaceutical company, determined to find a cure for asthma, working for next ten years in his own time, testing compounds on himself and inducing asthma attacks two or three times a week with a brew of guinea pig hair, to which he was allergic, with result that compound 670, sodium cromoglycate, is now used widely to prevent attacks of allergic asthma and rhinitis, also invented Spinhaler device to inhale the drug (based on aircraft propellers), of 2 Stanneylands Road, Wilmslow, Cheshire (1976), died in 1987

Alverston [Ulverston? also Ullerston (qv)], Stephen de (fl. early 13th cent), abbot of Furness, Worthies of Westminster ed G. Atkinson 1849 [2 vols]

Ambrose, Revd John (d.1684), BD, rector of Grasmere, senior fellow of St John’s College, Cambridge, of Lowick (in family since marriage of John Ambrose to Isabel, dau of William Towers of Lowick, temp Henry VI)

Anderson, Anne Mary Angus, Mrs Swailes (1926-1999), artist, born in Finchley, north London, in 1926, 2nd of four children, brother Stewart and sister Jean, family with strong Scottish roots, brought up in St Albans, educ Edinburgh College of Art, inspired by tutors there inc John Maxwell and William Gillies, diploma in painting and drawing (1947) and certificate as art teacher (1948), returned to Scotland many times over rest of her life to draw and paint, moved to Kirkby Stephen in 1949 to teach art and needlework at Kirkby Stephen Grammar School for Girls, marr (1955) Alec Swailes (d.1992), history teacher at school, 3 sons (Robert (d.1982), Thomas and James) and 2 daus (Katharine and Janet) all born between 1957 and 1966, shared love for landscape and villages of Upper Eden valley, had passion for wild flowers and developed wonderful garden at their home at 1 North Road, Kirkby Stephen, never without her sketchbook, recording dozens of local scenes with her distinctive line drawings, complementing Alec’s history of the Grammar School, prepared for the celebration of the 400th anniversary of its foundation in 1966, and did many drawings of town in their later book on Kirkby Stephen (1985), exhibited in open, group and solo shows over more than fifty years, inc Abbot Hall, Oddfellows Gallery and Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal, Castlegate Gallery, Cockermouth, Pendragon Gallery, Kirkby Stephen, The Scar Gallery, Ravenstonedale, Theatre in Forest, Grizedale, and Wetheriggs Pottery, Penrith, also exhibited with Cumbrian Artists, Lake Artists, Scottish Society of Artists and Scottish Society of Women Artists, with retrospective of her paintings at Oddfellows Contemporary Art, Kendal (14 May-30 June 1999), died early in 1999

Anderson, Joshua (1791-1846), surgeon of Carlisle and sculptor, probably b. Wigton, involved with the Carlisle Academy; Marshall Hall,1

Anderson, Lionel JP, Westmorland; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

Anderson, Robert (1770-1833; ODNB), poet, weaver in Carlisle, author of Ballads in the Cumberland Dialect (1805); his work edited by Thomas Ellwood (qv) as Anderson’s Ballads and Songs (1904); Keith Gregson, ‘The Cumbrian Bard: An Anniversary Reflection’, Folk Music Journal, vol 4 no 4 [1983], 333-65; Sue Allan, The Cumberland Bard, 2020

Anderson, William (1757-1837), painter, watercolours of Patterdale and other lake scenes inserted in 4 volumes of History of Cumberland and Westmorland Illustrated (for Lord Lonsdale?) (copies in CRO, WDY 466)

Anderton, Sir Charles, 2nd Bt (16xx-1xxx), landowner, eldest son of Sir Francis Anderton, 1st Bt, marr dau of - Ireland, of Lidiate, Lancs, 4 sons (Charles, James, Lawrence (d. s.p. 1724) and Francis (d. s.p. 1760), successively 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th Baronets), Kendal Castle estate passing eventually to his 3rd son, Sir Lawrence Anderton, 5th Bt, a monk who sold them to John Huggins in 1723 (RK, iii, 47-48) and died in London, 30 September 1724 compounded with Lord Molyneux and Sir William Gerrard (letter to Sir Daniel Fleming, 24 July 1681, in CRO, WD/Ry/ HMC 2434), one of twelve put into commission of the peace for Lancashire before Lent Assizes in 1686-87 (loc cit, HMC 3080)  

Anderton, Sir Francis, 1st Bt (c.1628-1678), landowner, son of Christopher Anderton (d. c.1650), of Lostock, Lancs, by his 2nd wife, Alathea, dau of Sir Francis Smith, of Wolston Waven, Warwicks, aged 36 at Dugdale’s visitation in 1664, marr (16xx) Elizabeth, dau of Sir Charles Somerset (2nd son of Edward, Earl of Worcester), sons (eldest, Charles, qv), qualified (with annual income of £1,000 in Lancashire) to be made a Knight of the Royal Oak in 1660, created a baronet on 8 October 1677, acquired Kendal Castle and some parklands temp Charles II [passing eventually to his grandson, Sir Lawrence Anderton, 5th Bt, a monk who sold them to John Huggins in 1723 (RK, iii, 47-48) and died in London, 30 September 1724], died at Paris, 9 February 1678, and buried in the English Benedictine church there (MI), and succ by his eldest son, Charles (qv)

Anderton, James of Clayton, Lancs, royalist, lands sequestrated, marr. Dorothy (d. 1627), dau and coheir of Nicholas Bardsey (qv), acquiring manor of Bardsea, but family had sold it by 1705 to Lord Molyneux (qv)

Andover, Lord, see Howard

Andrew, Revd Thomas (18xx-18xx), MA, clergyman, MA Cantab, incumbent of Firbank 1847-1849

Andrews, James, MD, built Brathay Fell at end of 19th century

Angell, Revd Charles (18xx-1913), clergyman, d 1853 (Jam) and p 1856 (Kingston), Missionary at Portland 1853-1856, Curate of Lime, Savannah 1856-1863, and Porus 1863-1868 (all in Jamaica), All Saints and St Martin, Chichester 1869-1871, Addingham (C) 1871-1873, and Silverstone, Northants 1873, PC of Firbank 1873-1913 (succ Richard Hathornthwaite, qv), son (Edgar Bromford died aged 4 months and buried 17 September 1879), died at the Parsonage, aged 82, and buried at Firbank, 10 January 1913

Anstruther, Sir John, 4th and 1st Bt (1753-1811; ODNB), PC, KC, DCL, MP, judge and politician, born at Elie House, Elie, Fife, 27 March 1753, 2nd son of Sir John Anstruther, 2nd Bt, of Anstruther (1718-1799) and his wife Janet (1727-1802), dau of James Fall, MP, merchant, of Dunbar, educ Glasgow University (matric 1772, studied law under Prof John Millar), admitted to Lincoln’s Inn in 1774 and called to bar in 1779, practised in Scottish appeals before House of Lords, marr (14 August 1784, at St Marylebone church, Marylebone, London) Jane Maria Isabella (died 14 June 1833), dau of Edward Brice, of Berners Street, London, 3 sons (John (later Carmichael-Anstruther, 5th and 2nd Bt, d.1818), Windham (later Carmichael-Anstruther, 7th and 4th Bt, d.1869), and Alexander (d.young)) and 1 dau (Marianne (d.1859), who marr (1828) her cousin, James Anstruther, WS), succ his father as MP for Anstruther Easter burghs in 1783 to 1790, 1796-1797, and again 1806-1811, MP for Cockermouth 1790-1796, chief justice of north Wales great sessions 1793-1797, solicitor-general to Prince of Wales 1793-1795, supporter of Fox and leading opposition spokesman on East India affairs from 1784, taking prominent part in impeachment of Warren Hastings, but parted with Fox over policy on French Revolution, apptd Chief Justice of Supreme Court of Judicature in Bengal and knighted in 1797, created baronet in own right, 18 May 1798 (GB), commended by Wellesley, governor-general, for his judicial wisdom, retired from bench and returned to England in 1806, sworn of Privy Council but refused subsequent offers of ministerial office, succ his elder brother, Sir Philip Anstruther-Paterson, 3rd Bt, in Scottish baronetcy in 1808, made doctor of civil law by Oxford University in 1810, died at his house in Albemarle Street, London, 26 January?/June 1811, and buried in undercroft beneath chapel at Lincoln’s Inn

Anthony, Egeon (1575-1637; ODNB), cleric,

Anthony, James, servant to Giules family temp. American revolution, tombstone cathedral yard, was he of African origin ?

Appleby, Edmund (d.1698), of Askerton, bought Kirklinton Hall from Sir Edward Musgrave  (qv) in 1661, marr, son (Joseph, qv), died in 1698

Appleby, Maria (nee Gilpin) (1689-1769), see Captain John Bernard Gilpin in DCB

Appleby, Roger de (d.1404), bishop in Ireland, native of Appleby?, Prior of Nuneaton before being provided to bishopric of Ossory, province of Dublin, 26 September 1400, temp 3 January 1401 and lib 6 April 1401, but resigned in October 1402

Appleby, Thomas (fl.14thc), bishop of Carlisle 1363-1395

Appleby, Joseph Dacre-, (1690-1729), son of Joseph Appleby (d.1705, aged 46) and his wife (marr 1686) Dorothy (d.1698), dau of Henry Dacre (qv), of Lanercost, and half-sister and coheir of James Dacre, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1724, adopted use of additional name of Appleby, marr, son (Joseph (qv) sub Dacre)

Archer, Dr (d.1735) MB, of Aykriggs near Kendal who bequeathed a moiety of the Aykriggs property to charity.

Archer, Francis William (18xx-1950), solicitor, of Oxton, Birkenhead, and Eller Close, Grasmere, marr (1901) Annie, dau of David MacIver (qv), of Wanlass How, Ambleside, 2 daus (er dau June marr Brig Gordon Hutchinson Osmaston, MC, RE, of Lakeings, Grasmere)

Archer, George (16xx-16xx), nonconformist, cordwainer of Kirkland in Kendal, hosted gathering of Independents at his house on 23 January 1669/70, “one very active in the late rebellion and still a stif nonconformist” (DF to Sir JW, letter of 9 February 1670), brought before QS on 15 April 1670 and fined 20s. for “riotose, routose et illicite conciones” (RK III, 85-86)= ?George Archer, poss =George son of late William Archer, apprenticed to Francis Hunter, cordwainer, in 1635?, cordwainer (sworn free 20 April 1648), took on apprentice (Stephen, son of Robert Mitchell, of Kirkland) in 1645, ordered to “provide a gown like the rest of the Aldermen’s gowns against Saturday come sennight if there be materials for the same within the towne” on 23 September 1655, Alderman (sworn 17 September 1655) and Mayor of Kendal in 1658-59 (sworn October 1658), died ? (BoR, 19, 20, 25, 66, 173, 270, 273)

Archer, John (fl 17th c), of Oxenholme, MD, in 1686 his daughter m Bishop William Nicolson of Carlisle (1655-1727) (qv)

Archer, John (d.1682), JP, mercer and mayor, mercer freeman (sworn 7 October 1635), took on apprentices in 1640 (Robert, son of late Samuel Jackson, of Ambleside) and in 1642 (Thomas, son of Edwar Jackson), Alderman (sworn 23 September 1644) and Mayor of Kendal 1648-49 (sworn 2 October 1648), senior Alderman in 1654 and Justice, wrote (with his fellow alderman, Gervase Benson (qv), to the House of Commons in 1650 pointing out that a large section of Kendal corporation had not subscribed to Oath of Engagement, which resulted in directive removing royalist members from office, bought lands for sums totalling £928 10s. between 1644 and 1664 (using his captain’s pay?), disclaimed at 1665 visitation, but still raised family’s prestige socially (see son’s marriage), of Kendal and Oxenholme, buried at Kendal, 22 May 1682 (BoR, 18, 19, 24, 60, 271-72; ECW, ii, 896~961; CBP, ‘Colonel Gervase Benson, Captain John Archer and the corporation of Kendal, c.1644-c.1655’ in Soldiers, Writers and Statesmen of the English Revolution, ed Ian Gentles and others, CUP (1998), 183-201)

Archer, John (16xx-1735), MD, JP, son of John Archer (qv), Mayor of Kendal 1706-07, marr 2nd (28 January 1723 at Muncaster) Elizabeth, eldest dau of Sir William Pennington (qv), of Muncaster (she marr 2nd Thomas Strickland (qv), of Sizergh), died at Oxenholme, 4 December 1735 (memorial marble slab in Parr chapel of Kendal Holy Trinity church) (BoR, 26)

Archibald, Charles Dickson (1802-1868), DL, JP, FRS, FSA, born at Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada, 31 October 1802, eldest son of the Hon Samuel George William Archibald (1777-1846), LLD, of Truro [Archibald family from co Londonderry was one of earliest settlers in Colchester County, Nova Scotia, from 1750, moving to Truro in 1762], and Elizabeth (d. May 1830), dau of Charles Dickson, of Onslow, NS, marr (16 September 1832) Bridget (d.1880), only child and heiress of Myles Walker, of Rusland Hall, thereby acquiring Rusland Hall estate, 4 sons and 4 daus, employed James Nelson as his bailiff and land steward who occupied Rusland Hall itself (1851), died 12 September 1868

Archibald, Charles William (1838-1893), JP, MICE, born at Truro, NS, Canada, 20 July 1838, eldest son of C D Archibald (qv), succ father in 1868 at Rusland Hall, marr (7 April 1864) Isabel, 2nd dau of Robert Falcon, MD, of Whitehaven, 1 son and 1 dau, died 3 March 1893

Arden, Edward, (1847-1910), artist; see Tucker

Argles, Frank Atkinson (1816-1885; DCB), DL, JP, landowner, of Eversley, Milnthorpe, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1872, financed rebuilding of Crosthwaite church in 1877-78 (architect J Bintley), with assistance of his brother, Revd Marsham Argles, Canon of Peterborough, and of parishioners, and also rebuilding of tower and recasting of bells in 1885, and reredos erected in memory of his widow, President of Westmorland and Kendal District Agricultural Society in 1870, marr Susannah (died 11 July 1895, aged 70), died 6 February 1885, aged 68, and buried at Heversham, 9 February (papers in CRO, WDX 1163)

Argles, George (c.1774-1868), Captain, RN, widow Jane (nee Atkinson) died 31 December 1868, aged 95, and buried at Heversham

Argles, George Marsham (1841-1920), MA, clergyman, born 12 July 1841, son of the Revd Marsham Argles, rector of St Clement’s and canon of York, of Howbarrow, Heversham (1914), died 22 February 1920, his widow Mary Ann (born 28 June 1850), continued living at Howbarrow (1921, 1938), died 18 January 1958

Argles, Marsham, (1814-1891), dean of Peterborough, his son lived Heversham

Argles, Martin Somervell (19xx-2011), CVO, marr Sylvia, died 6 March 2011, aged 85 (WG, 16.03.2011)

Argles, Thomas Atkinson (1859-1923; DCB), DL, JP, MA, landowner, born in Kendal, son of F A Argles (qv), of Eversley, Milnthorpe, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1891, DL (apptd in August 1890) and JP Westmorland 1884, County Councillor, Westmorland 1889- and County Alderman from 1917, Diocesan Lay Reader, manager and benefactor of schools and hospitals and many local institutions, President, South Westmorland Conservative Association, Captain of ‘G’ company, Border Regt of Volunteers, retd as Major 1911, Secretary of Milnthorpe and District Art and Industrial Exhibition (1891-92), Treasurer, CWAAS from 1908 and member 1879, educ Christ Church, Oxford, called to Bar, Lincoln’s Inn 1883, succ father at Eversley 1885, marr Agnes (died 9 May 1923, aged 57), sister of Mary Wakefield (who formed a Choral Union comprised of existing societies in Levens, Leasgill, Milnthorpe and Beetham (later Eversley) in 1900, with herself as secretary), died 21 July 1923 (memorial west window in St Peter’s church, Heversham; Crosthwaite MI); (Hubert Davys Argles (1879-1968) and wife Sibell (1892-1968) – Crosthwaite church lych gate dedication stone in their memory)

Arkwright, Sophia (1841-1929), benefactress, born Bodenham 1841, dau of Henry Arkwright (1811-1889) and great great granddaughter of the industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright (1732-1792; ODNB) ‘father of the factory system and developer of the spinning frame’, unmarried, lived at Eggerslack House in 1901, funded the parish hall at Grange-over-Sands and laid the foundation stone during the incumbency of the Rev Ivor Farrar (qv), her sister married XXXX and lived at Merlewood, near Grange, another sister Henrietta was unmarried

Armes, Revd George Benjamin [fl.late 19thc.], Vicar of Cleator 1870-1905 (Vicarage, Church Room and caretaker’s house all built and church restored during his incumbency), Rural Dean of Whitehaven

Armistead, Wilson (also known as Lorenzo Tuvar), [1819-1868] merchant and author,  quaker abolitionist, lived Leeds and est the Leeds Anti Slavery Association, author of  Tales and Legends of the English Lakes (1852), The Flora of Liverpool and Calumny Refuted by Facts from Liberia, also ms vol “Sketches amongst the English Lakes & Mountains; with their Legends & Associations, including the District from Lancaster to the Borders”, with prints of local scenes [1840s-1852] (CRO, WDX 1077)

Armitage, Elijah (1826-1910), JP, landowner, born Salford, son of Sir Alkanah Armitage [1794-1876], mayor of Manchester, and his wife Mary Lomax Bowers, lived High House, Stainton, Kendal from before 1871, he married Hannah Llewellyn Johnson, seven children

Armitage, William (fl.1744-1761), steward of manor of Preston Richard (for Henry, Viscount Lowther, then Sir James Lowther), 1744, 1753, 1767, and of manor of Casterton 1747

Armitstead, Richard (17xx-18xx), clergyman, Whitehaven, marr (1796) Agnes, dau of William Lewthwaite, of Broadgate, Millom, 12 children (Richard (qv), William (bapt 29 May 1799), Mary (bapt 15 November 1800), John (born 29 December 1801 and bapt 22 March 1802), Margaret (born 15 January 1807 and bapt 18 March), Agnes (born 4 April 1809) and Joseph (born  22 August 1810, both bapt 19 October 1810), Margaret (born 12 November 1811 and bapt 19 May), Isabella (bapt 18 December 1814), and Frances (bapt 19 February 1815)), Vicar of St James, Whitehaven 1790-1821, of Queen Street, Whitehaven (CW2, lxv, 374-380; lxxii, 338-339)

Armitstead, Richard (1797-1859), solicitor, bapt at Whitehaven St James, 22 December 1797 (and privately on 11 November), son and eldest of 12 children of Revd Richard Armitstead (qv), educ St Bees School (entd 1811), admitted solicitor 1820, practised in Whitehaven until his death,  also clerk to Whitehaven magistrates, clerk to Governors of St Bees School, secretary of Whitehaven Infirmary, a director and secretary of Whitehaven Joint Stock Bank, lived at Lythmore, near his practice at 42 Queen Street, Whitehaven, later moved to Moresby, kept journal of his visit to Dominica in West Indies in 1826 to complete sale of his mother’s  Lewthwaite client’s plantation called Check Hall, arriving at Roseau on 21 April 1826, concluded sale, set sail to return on 14 July and arrived at Gravesend on 7 August, marr (1829) Caroline, dau of John Morland (qv), of Capplethwaite, no children, died in London, 19 May 1859 and buried in Brompton cemetery (CW2, lxxvii, 157-159)

Armitt, Mary Louisa (Louie) (1851-1911; ODNB), polymath, author and founder of Armitt Library, Ambleside, born at Salford, Aug-Dec 1851, yst dau of William Armitt (1815-1867) an impecunious assistant overseer and his wife Mary (nee Whalley), teacher with her sisters Sophia (qv) and Annie Maria (qv sub Harris) in school at Eccles, became authority on natural history and antiquities of Ambleside district, writing many articles on local history and nature study in Lake District for newspapers and magazines, despite weak state of health, member of CWAAS from 1901, joined with H S Cowper (qv) in recovery of old Bible of John Bell and other curates of Ambleside in 17th century (CW2, vii, 143-148), contributed two important articles to Transactions on ‘Ambleside Town and Chapel’ (CW2, vi, 1-96) and ‘The Fullers and Freeholders of the Parish of Grasmere’ (CW2, viii, 136-205), and shorter paper on ‘The Luking Tongs, their meaning and use’ (CW2, xi, 190-201), painstaking and accurate researcher, keen ornithologist and contributed report on birds of Lake District in opening chapter of W G Collingwood’s The Lake Counties (1902), which was later revised by Arthur Astley (qv) in new edition of 1932, and ‘The Birds of Rydal’ in the The Naturalist, 1 August 1902 (her observations made between 1887 and 1901, which later appeared as an appendix in Rydal, pp.706-722), but her major works published separately after her death, The Church of Grasmere (1912) and Rydal (1916), edited for publication by W F Rawnsley (qv), died at Rydal Cottage, 31 July 1911, aged 59, and buried at Ambleside, 2 August, probate of will, 10 November 1911 (£5821-10-5), by which she left her own and sister Sophia’s books to form students’ library in Ambleside (opened as Armitt Library in November 1912, and joined by existing Ruskin Library in Ambleside for 30 years, with balance of funds from old Ambleside Book Society) (portrait by Fred Yates and all three sisters in Armitt Collection) (CW2, xii, 437-38); unpublished biography by Mrs AM Harris ms at Armitt Museum

Armitt, Sophia (1847-1908), botanist and painter, born at Salford, 30 November 1847, eldest dau of William Armitt, teacher with her sisters Mary Louisa (qv) and Annie Maria (qv sub Harris) in school at Eccles, leased Borwick Lodge above Hawkshead with sister Louie 1886, before moving to Rydal, keen student of natural history and antiquities, painted local scenes, contributed papers to a botanical society, her notes on flowers reprinted in Parents Review (ed. Charlotte Mason) between December 1911 and December 1912, promoter of educational enterprises in neighbourhood, member of CWAAS from 1901, unmarried, died at Rydal Cottage, 12 June 1908, aged 60, and buried at Ambleside, 16 June (CW2, ix, 336)

Armstrong, A M (c.1905-2000), co-author (with A Mawer, F M Stenton, & Bruce Dickins) of The Place-Names of Cumberland (EPNS, 1971), died in London, 11 April 2000, aged 95

Armstrong, Archie (d.1672), court jester to James I and Charles I, probably b. Arthuret, encountered the king prior to his hanging, made him laugh and was reprieved, lived in London, returned and bought land at Arthuret where he died and is buried; A.Armstrong, A Banquet of Jests and Merry Tales, 1630

Armstrong, Frederick (c.1866-1940), hotelier, proprietor of the George Hotel, Penrith, chair UDC when the castle bought and park established, owner of racehorses

Armstrong, George Frederick (1842-1900), MA, FRSE, MInstCE, civil engineer, b. Doncaster, Regius Professor at University of Edinburgh, also of New University Club, St James’s Street, London, and of St Oswalds, Grasmere (county and parochial elector from 1878), died aged 58 and buried in Grasmere cemetery, 16 November 1900

Armstrong, James (1814-1893), artist and photographer, born in Scotland in 1814, marr (September 1847 at Dornock Brow, near Annan) Agnes (born 1827), only dau of Ballantyne Ferguson, of Gretna Green (CJ), 2 sons (John, b.1859, and David, b. c.1863) and 1 dau (Elizabth, b.1852), listed as a portrait painter at Eden Terrace, Stanwix, in 1850 and then at Ruleholme in 1858, also animal painter (presented painting of the Brampton Harriers to John Ramshaw, their master, in 1858), described “as a painter of human subjects his work is characterised by lack of life and stiffness and is altogether amateurish”, though his paintings of animals show “some skill and talent”, and “the only man in England who can paint a greyhound” (1891), moved to Aglionby by 1863 where he lived for the rest of his life, turned to photography in 1864 by advertising in the CJ as a “portrait painter of Aglionby he will attend in person daily at the Mechanics’ Hall, Fisher Street, to take cartes de visite portraits and practise photography in all its branches”, moved his photographic gallery to Brampton in 1866, away as a lodger in Bolton at time of 1871 census (with his family at Aglionby), his picture of the otter hound ‘Corby’ and a dead otter described as “well sketched” (CJ, September 1875), involved in case against Charles Wannop of Langley Hall in 1881 for payment of his painting of a grey mare, turned to lithography by 1882 and so able to produce multiple prints of winning racehorses and coursing greyhounds, died in 1893, leaving only £21 11s., which paid for his burial at Gretna (CN, 09.06.2017)

Armstrong, John (16xx-1698), BD, clergyman, probably from Armstrong family of Lanercost, curate of Cartmel 1665-1698, a King’s Preacher from 1693, neither an iconoclastic puritan nor a secret papist, but best type of Caroline priest, author of Secret and Family Prayers… for the use of…the Inhabitants of Cartmel (1677) and The Soul’s Worth and Danger, or a Discourse…upon St Mat.16, 26 (1677), new vestry built in 1677 in place of old sacristy, where Thomas Preston’s books were housed, buried in Cartmel Priory, 5 September 1698, “A pious Reverend Minister of this parish, above 33 years” (slab on floor of sanctuary) (E Axon, TLCAS (1941/2), lvi, 99-103)

Armstrong, Joseph (1816-1877), engineer, b. Bewcastle, locomotive engineer, brother George also engineer

Armstrong, Rt Rev Mervyn (1906-1984), of Glen Brathay, ed Balliol, chaplain archbishop of Canterbury, provost of Leicester, bishop of Jarrow, marr Barbara Glencairn Newborne (nee Stokes) dau of the Rev Cosby Hudleston Stokes (1881-1932) and widow of Robert Newborne

Armstrong, R S (18xx-19xx), local councillor and politician, railway clerk, member of Cumberland County Council, leader of Labour group on Whitehaven Borough Council (member from 1926), treasurer of Whitehaven Divisional Labour Party and Borough Labour Party, contested Lonsdale Division in 1935 general election (second with 6,946 votes)

Armstrong, Robert Ward, (1862-1956), racehorse trainer, born Penrith, worked for the 5th earl of Lonsdale (qv) for fifty years, his granddaughter Susan married Lester Piggott (qv)

Armstrong, Thomas (Tucker) (1930-2017), farmer, born in 1930, one of five sons and four daus of William Armstrong (d.1966), of Sceugh Dyke, Calthwaite, near Penrith, and his wife Annie, educ Calthwaite village school and Grosvenor College, Carlisle, started work on family farm, a mixed livestock operation with beef cattle and sheep, and then in partnership with his father until his death in 1966, marr (1957) Miriam Sisson, of Catterlen, 4 sons (Stuart, Thomas (decd), Bryan and Ian) and 2 daus (Elizabeth and Lyn), became a regular client at Longtown mart from mid 1960s to 1990s, selling both high quality prime cattle and sheep, inc Scottish blackface and Cheviot, helped to design two sheep shedders and assisted many farmers in sorting their sheep prior to sale, appointed to board of directors of Cumberland & Dumfriesshire Farmers’ Mart in April 1961 and became chairman in June 1990, retiring in 2011 after overseeing the continued expansion of its premises, always an enthusiastic supporter of the mart and the farming community, served on organising committee of Skelton Show for 40 years and former president, president of Cumberland County Show in 1995, awarded Blamire Medal for his services to agriculture in 2004, served on Calthwaite parish council and as governor of village school, sports day committee and children’s treat committee for about 60 years, died at Longtown Mart, 4 October 2017, aged 87, funeral at All Saints Church, Calthwaite, and cremated at Carlisle, 22 November (CN, 24.11.2017)

Armstrong, William (aka Kinmont Willie) (c.1550-c.1610), border reiver and outlaw, lived at the tower of Sark, built by his father near the English-Scots border and named after the adjacent river Sark, following various exploits attended by his 300 men who were known as ‘Kinmont’s bairns’ he was considered one of the three most infamous (or celebrated) border reivers, by the 1590s he was the most wanted man in the region, captured in 1596 at a day of truce by Thomas Salkeld and 200 men (some versions give Sir Thomas Scrope), taken in chains to be imprisoned in Carlisle castle, soon broken out by Walter Scott of Buccleuch (the ‘bold Buccleuch’ who was annoyed by this violation of the customary day of truce), this event nearly kindled war between England and Scotland and threatened the succession of James VI of Scotland (James I), in 1600 he attacked the village of Scotby with 140 raiders and his last foray was said to have been south of Carlisle in 1602, he probably died between 1608-11, his tomb may have been identified at Morton Kirk near his tower of Sark, his sword is said to be the one at Annan Museum; post obit he appeared in Walter Scott’s Minstrelsy of the Scottish Borders, vol 1, 1802, the ballad Kinmont Willie in FJ Child, Ballads, 1882-1898, no 186, and George McDonald Fraser’s Steel Bonnets, 1989

Armstrong, William (1778-1857), b.Wreay, clerk in office of Losh, Lubbrin and Co, became partner in firm which became Armstrong and Co merchants, founder of Newcastle Natural History Society; Boase 1 167

Armstrong, William Barton (18xx-1908), organist and music teacher, organist and choirmaster at Kendal parish church for nearly 30 years, Kendal Choral Society, retired in 1900 with vicar’s appreciation: “His influence in the town was always for good and his numerous acts of sympathy and generosity in gifts given wisely and well will not be forgotten…His advice was always careful and honest and exercised a moderating effect at a critical time of change in some ways from the ‘old order’ to which he may well be supposed to have been warmly attached” (Canon Trench), with one of curates, Revd Arthur Moss, occupying seat at console until appointment of William Granger, of 93 Highgate, Kendal (1885), died 16 December 1908 (probate of will, Carlisle, 19 February 1909) (CRO, WDSo 54/ acc 9297; GPK, 118)

Arnison family of Penrith, Nathan Arnison established (in 1831) and ran a draper’s shop (later Nathan Arnison and Sons) which business flourished for several generations, the family also included several generations of solicitors

Arnison, Thomas (1836-1xxx), hotel proprietor and cattle dealer, born in Bongate, Appleby in 1836 [no bapt in Appleby St M], marr Mary Anne, 2 daus (Caroline and Margaret), first had an inn in Kendal before opening Croglin Castle Hotel in Kirkby Stephen (built c.1875 of brick, prob first such building in town), ran hotel for over ten years with wife and daughters, providing luxury suite accommodation on first floor for new railway tourists visiting Stenkrith waterfalls, Rockery and Pleasure Grounds at Jubilee Park, also specialised in Market Day home cooked meals for Auction Mart customers (opened in 1875), also cattle dealer and farmer (1885, 1894) of Station Road (1897), ‘Madame Arnison’ was celebrated by Poet Close qv

Arnold, Harry (18xx-1907), solicitor, son of Nicholas Arnold, gent, marr (20 April 1864, at Holy Trinity, Kendal) Mary Susan (b.1840), dau and only child of Dr Thomas Gough (qv), surgeon, solicitor with Arnold Greenwood, Kendal, steward of manor of Beetham 1875, 1880, 1887, a director of Hodbarrow Mining Company from 1870 (and a large shareholder), one of Conservators for Westmorland apptd by CC for Kent, Bela, Winster Leven & Duddon Fishery District (1894), of Aikrigg End, Kendal, later of Arnbarrow, Milnthorpe, died 24 August 1907 (papers in CRO, WD/AG/ boxes 94-95)

Arnold, Matthew (1822-88; ODNB), poet, son of Thomas Arnold (qv), educ Rugby and Balliol, many holidays in the Lakes at Fox How, Rydal, built  1832 by his father

Arnold, Patience (1901-1992), artist and illustrator, , established a Dolls Museum at Prospect House, Ambleside; Renouf, born in West Riding, Yorks, lived in St Annes until 1968, when she moved to Ambleside, trained at Harris Art School in Preston on county scholarship, did craft work and worked on children’s page of old Daily Dispatch, engaged by a London art agency and worked mainly on greetings cards, also added textile design to her range, working for a Manchester design studio, elected member of Manchester Academy of Fine Arts in 1930s, won open competition for mural in children’s waiting room at St Mary’s Hospital, Manchester in 1937 (Heywood silver medal), exhibited at RBA prior to 1939, gave up most of her commercial work on coming to Ambleside to paint and collect dolls and dolls’ houses, exhibited at Anvil Gallery, Cartmel (watercolours of Wild Flowers in 1975).

Arnold, Thomas (1795-1842; ODNB), headmaster and historian, Headmaster of Rugby School, built Fox How, Ambleside in 1833, friend of Wordsworth; dau Frances tutored in German and yr dau Susanna (marr John Cropper in 1853) befriended by Ferdinand Eber (qv)

Arthur, James (1791-1877), bookseller and Chartist, sold books in Carlisle, though enfranchised in 1832 he voted once then refused to vote again as the vote was not for all men, agent of the Northern Star and Northern Liberator, printed Chartist handbills, friend of Joseph Broom Hanson (qv), chaired Chartist meetings, arrested in 1842, ‘a pure and honest patriot’; Gildart and Howell eds, Dictionary of Labour Biography, vol xv, see biographies

Arthur, King (supp. fl. in or before 6th cent; ODNB), legendary warrior and supposed king of Britain, obscure origins, said to be the son of Uther Pendragon qv, but well known from 12th century onwards with success of Geoffrey of Monmouth’s History of the Kings of Britain; part of Cumbrian folklore as well as in Cornwall and Wales, with suggestion that his last battle of ‘Camlen’ took place near Camboglana, now Birdoswald, on Hadrian’s Wall and that Pendragon Castle in Mallerstang was legendary seat of his father, Uther; Tennyson’s Morte d’Arthur (1842) thought to have been inspired by visit to Bassenthwaite in 1835 when he stayed with James Spedding (qv) at Mirehouse; King Arthur’s Round Table, a late Neolithic-early Bronze Age earthwork near Eamont Bridge, has no connection with Arthur, though mentioned by Sir Walter Scott in his The Bridal of Triermain (1813)

Asby (de Askeby), Sir Robert (fl.mid 13thc), sheriff of Westmorland c.1243-1246, MP for Westmorland 1258

Asby (de Askeby), Sir Robert (fl.late 13th-early 14thc), son of above, knighted 1297, MP for Westmorland 1302 and 1313, dau Margaret marr Sir Hugh de Moresby (qv)

Ascroft, Sir William (1832-1916), JP, of The Wyke, Grasmere, also of Overleigh House, Preston, supported formation of Lake District Association (letter of 10 April 1878 to F M T Jones, being unable to attend first meeting, but it ‘may be the means of doing great good to the District’, in CRO, WDX 269)

Ascroft, Sir William Fawell (1876-1954), DL, JP, MA, son of Sir William Ascroft (qv), high sheriff of Lancashire 1943, of The Wyke, Grasmere, marr Eve Mary, 2 daus Eve and Isabel; vestry extension in Grasmere Church in their memory, 1985,  mon in church 

Ashburner, William (1809-1881), and Richard (1811-1873), boat builders, Greenodd, probably the sons of  XXX Ashburner who built the Ulverstone ‘the largest vessel built’ in Ulverston in 1811, apprenticed at Petty and Postlethwaite’s yard in Ulverston canal basin, William went to the Isle of Man and returned to establish a yard at Barrow, Richard established a yard at Greenodd making fishing boats and coasters and later the Lady of the Lake (1845) and the Lord of the Isles (1846), the first steamers on Windermere, Richard joined William at Barrow where they launched the Alice Latham (1855) and then sold the yard to the Furness Railway;; Thomas Latham, The Ashburner Schooners, Tim Latham, The Ashburner Schooners, 1991

Ashburner, James (17xx-1794), papermaker, purchased moiety of building in north east corner of Market Place in Kendal, formerly called New Theatre or the Playhouse, from William Gurnal (qv), 8 May 1794, and died soon after making his will on 21 April 1794, leaving his said share to his friends, John Burn, of Orton and James Wilson, of Kendal, who agreed to sell same (now called the Old Theatre or Playhouse) to Elizabeth Prickett, of Castlemills, Kendal for £89 by conveyance of 13 February 1795, with consent of Anthony Ashburner, his only brother and heir at law, of Warwick Street, St James, London (deeds in CRO, WSMB/K/ box 39, bdle 105); Thomas Ashburner (qv), his brother ?

Ashburner, John (18xx-19xx), clergyman, trained at St Bees College 1872, d 1874 and p 1875 (Worcs), curate of Oldbury, Worcs 1874-1878, incumbent/perpetual curate of Blawith from 1878, of Meadow Lodge (manse erected in 1849 by previous incumbent but purchased in 1879 by patron of living, Duke of Buccleuch, who presented it to living for a parsonage house) (1882, 1912)

Ashburner, Margaret (fl. early 19thc), diary 1814-1819; CW2 xliii 55

Ashburner, Thomas (fl.1731- before 1794), bookseller, stationer and papermaker, founded Kendal Weekly Mercury in 1735, bought fulling mill at Cowan Head, converted this to paper manufacture (later owned by Cornelius Nicholson (qv)), thus the origin of [part of] the Cropper paper business, Ashburner signed Romney’s apprenticeship deed to Christopher Steele qqv in 1755, later founded and promoted The New Playhouse in Kendal 1760, first purpose-built theatre in the town, in premises he had lately erected in north east corner of Market Place (later Working Men’s Institute), which he purchased from Mayor, aldermen and burgesses of Kendal Borough for £39 12s. on 20 May 1758, then conveying moiety of premises to William Gurnal (qv), who paid half of expenses for erecting room or apartment, 5 June 1758 (deeds in CRO, WSMB/K/ box 39/bdle 105); the corporation under John Shaw, mayor, sold premises at NW corner of market place to Thomas Ashburner (deed of 20 May 1758), James Ashburner (qv) his brother ?;  Mark Cropper, The Leaves We Write On, 2004; David A. Cross, A Striking Likeness: The Life of George Romney, 2000, 9, 16

Ashby, Eric (1918-2003), naturalist and wildlife cameraman, b Cumberland moved to Southsea, Hants, 1st film for the BBC The Unknown Forest (1961) and many films for the BBC Natural History Unit followed

Ashcroft, Peggy (1907-1991; ODNB), actress, performed at Rosehill theatre

Ashe, Henry (c.1845-1893), clergyman, Curate of Staveley-in-Cartmel from (Nov) 1879 and Vicar from (April/August) 1882, had locum in from November 1888 to May 1889, marr (187x) Elizabeth Jane, 2 sons (George Hamilton, bapt 6 January 1880, and Henry Park, bapt 12 June 1884) and 1 dau (Florence Elizabeth, bapt 14 April 1886, by Revd George H Ashe, Vicar of St Mark’s, Witton, Blackburn), last entry in registers on 11 June 1893, died aged 48 and buried at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 28 June 1893 (with R P Ashe, Officiating Minister)

Ashley, Joseph, of Brigham, on inheriting an estate in Northants he caused the bells at Brigham to be rung all day and gave drinks to all the villagers; Hudleston (C)

Ashman, Alan (1923-2002), footballer, born Rotherham, played for Sheffield, Nottingham and Carlisle United 1951-1958, then ran a poultry farm for a Carlisle director, returned to Carlisle as manager, then was manager at West Bromwich until 1968 when they won the FA cup, returned to Carlisle and took them to the 1st division

Ashmore, Brian Gerald (1924-2004), MBE, RD, JP, MA, FSA, Lieut-Comdr, RNR retd, lived Maryport, Liberal parliamentary candidate for Carlisle in 1966, much involved with the Senhouse Museum, patron, CWAAS (CW3, v, 303-304); mss Carlisle CRO)

Ashton, Hugh (1702-1749), of Croston, and Bispham, Lancs, from a branch of Ashton of Ashton, marr 1st (3 July 1726, at Kirkby Lonsdale) Susannah (bapt 16 March 1706/7, died at Kirfitt Hall and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 7 September 1731), dau and coheir of Thomas Godsalve, of Rigmaden, Mansergh, 1 son (James, of Underley Hall, died 16 November 1765, aged 30, and buried 20 November), marr 2nd (1733) Eleanor (died 21 November 1782, aged 79), dau of Joseph Benn, of Whitehaven, bought Near Underley (Underley Hall) in 1730 from Thomas Wilson, of Underley, and conveyed Underley Hall estate and lands at Hestick and Guy Fields (lately purchased from Thomas Wilson) to Joseph Benn, apothecary, Richard Senhouse, doctor, and Joseph Barrow, gent, all of Whitehaven on 11 & 12 April 1733 for his uses as part of marriage settlement with Eleanor Benn, for his life, then with use to her, then to their son(s), then dau(s) (deeds in CRO, WD/U/box 28/1), died 12 January 1749, aged 46, and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 15 January (MI in KL church, WCN, ii, 77) (AKL, 47)

Ashworth, John (18xx-1xxx), clergyman, vicar of Staveley-in-Cartmel (to January 1878)- rel? to Charles Gerald Ashworth, clerk in holy orders, of Roose, Barrow-in-Furness, wife Juliet Denezia, and son, John Frederic Charles (bapt at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 3 July 1877)

Ashworth, Mary Howard (1863-1928; ODNB), parliamentary typist, b Holme Cultrum, daughter of Arthur Ashworth (1834-1874) the vicar and his wife Sarah Bewley, she went to London after her father’s death and established a typing agency known for many years as Ashworth’s, her typists were known as Ashworth’s Girls, she became the official typist to the House of Commons, her staff were involved in a wide  range of correspondence and documentation, eventually, via translators, in ten or more languages, after her first 18 months she reported: ‘we are popular with all classes in the house, as you see we are a non-political body and are patronised alike by Whig and Tory’, her business was bought by Gladys Gowdey c.1928 and retained the Ashworth name until well after the 2nd WW, twenty years after her death

In 1900 she married William Paull Jewill-Rogers who worked in her firm, the name did not change, they divorced in 1920,

Ashworth, Thomas Baker (1844-1878), solicitor, b. Rochdale, son of John Ashworth (1808-1878) flannel manufacturer (his uncle Thomas Ashworth (1815-1869) was a key figure in the founding of the borough of Rochdale, fourth mayor of the town 1859-60 and a friend of John Bright), ed Bramham College, Tadcaster, served his articles with Edwin Waugh of Cockermouth (qv)  his aunt and uncle Beswick lived in the town, m. Elizabeth Heys, daughter of Henry Heys (qv), five children: Gertrude (1870-1950), headmistress of the Warren School, Worthing, Beatrice (1871-1951) married Ernest Gunson (qv), John (b.1872) set up John Ashworth and Sons (Timber) at Trafford Park, Henry (b.1874) went to the USA and Richard (b.1877) first set up a business after the 1st WW in Carlisle and later a lace business in Nottingham (he became lord mayor of Nottingham in 1936), Thomas was also a friend and legal colleague of Henry Brierley (qv), (longtime member of the CWAAS), who was closely involved in the aftermath of his sad and sudden death in the Derby Arms, Bury, after a session in Bury magistrates court, masonic funeral led by the Rev McClure (qv), Brierley recalled that Ashworth, who was much involved supporting the licensed trade in Rochdale, was adept at ‘ordering a good dinner’; The Men Who Made Rochdale; Rochdale Times obit

Askew family, Millom; CW2 xcii 91

Askew family of Seaton, CW2 xi 167

Askew, Anthony (16xx-1738), physician, of Market Place, Kendal, and with town house in Old Police Yard off Finkle Street, buried at Kendal, 22 September 1738

Anthony, son of Anthony Askew, Dr of Phisick, of Highgate, bapt at Kendal, 4 July 1699 = Anthony Askew, Esq of Market Place, buried at Kendal, 13 April 1739 [prob son of above]

Elizabeth, dau of Anthony Askew and Margaret, of Stricklandgate, Kendal, bapt 23 September 1711

Askew, Anthony (1722-1774; ODNB), FRS, FRCP, MD, BA, physician and book collector, born in Kendal and bapt 7 May 1722, son of Adam Askew, physician, and Anne Crackanthorp, educ Sedbergh School and Newcastle Free School, died 27 February 1774, aged 52, and buried in Hampstead church (WW, ii, 189-196)

Askew, Edward (1836-19xx), coach driver and gardener, born at Ickenthwaite, Colton, 1836, worked for William Dickenson Heelis and family for 43 years, presented with silver tea service after 21 years’ service (now in Beatrix Potter Gallery in Hawkshead), served with Lancashire Rifle Volunteers; his brother Timmy Askew was baker and confectioner, who delivered bread, cakes and pies around the Sawrey area in his horse-drawn carriage (photo), including to Beatrix Potter and William Heelis at Castle Cottage, Near Sawrey, and appeared in The Tale of Ginger and Pickles as Timmy Baker (Cumbria, December 2016, 61-64, as remembered by Betty Ingham (born August 1926), granddaughter of Edward Askew, and volunteer at Armitt Museum, Ambleside)

Askew, Egeon (1575/6-1637; ODNB), clergyman, b Lancashire of  family from Mulcaster who were later in Kirkby Ireleth where his putative younger brother Thomas was vicar from 1606, ed Queen’s college Oxford, chaplain of the college from 1598

Askew (Ascue), Sir Hugh (d.1562/3; DCB), as Ascue granted manor of Seaton and site of Seaton Priory with some lands after Dissolution in 1542, Knight of the Cellar to Edward VI, knighted on Musselburgh field in 1547, died 2 March 1562/63; memorial brass in south wall of chancel of Bootle church (mss in Wakefield family possession; CW2, x, 338-341; xliv, 134-137)

Askew, Hugh (1648-1673), BA, bapt at Muncaster, 5 January 1647/48, yr son of Hugh Askew, of Standingstones, educ St Bees School and St John’s College, Cambridge (sizar 1667, BA 1671), tutored by his uncle, John Ambrose (qv), and elected Fellow in 1673, but died at Lowick Hall and buried at Ulverston, 5 September 1673 (CW2, lxxix, 62)

Askew, James (19xx-2008), OBE, industrial relations officer, career in coal industry from 1950s, latterly industrial relations officer, with Condura Fabrics, Labour councillor on Workington Borough Council and Allerdale District Council, formerly Mayor, died in 2008 (papers in CROW, YD/JA)

Askew, T or J, artist, trained with Joseph Sutton in Cockermouth  (qv), and later superintendant of Liverpool Docks

Askew, Thomas Gibson (17xx-1834), manufacturer, hosiery manufacturer, of Stricklandgate, Kendal (1829), buried in Kendal churchyard, 2 July 1834, aged 46

Askew, William (1637-1717), last male of Askew line, bapt at Millom, 20 April 1637, er son of Hugh Askew (1613-1698), of Standingstones, marr Dorothy (d.1705), dau and coheir of William Musgrave, of Crookdake, 1 surv dau (wife of John Archer (qv), of Oxenholme), residing with his dau when he died 13 April 1717, aged in 80th year, and buried in Parr chapel of Kendal parish church, 17 April (as “Mr Wm Askew of Oxenholme”) (WCN, ii, 2; CW2, lxxix, 63-65)

Askwith, Edward Harrison (1864-1946), MA, DD, clergyman and author, 7th son of Thomas Askwith, of Ripon, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (scholar, BA (wrangler) 1886, MA 1890, Norrisian Prize 1898, BD 1900, DD 1902), d 1888 (Lond), p 1889 (Cant), asst master, Westminster School 1888-1889, headmaster, S E College, Ramsgate 1889-1891, chaplain of Trinity College 1894-1909, vicar of St Michael and All Angels, Cambridge 1893-1896, select preacher, Cambridge 1893, 1895 and 1906, vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale 1909-1917, rural dean of Kirkby Lonsdale 1913-1917, hon canon of Carlisle 1917, rector of Dickleburgh, Dio Norwich 1917-1924, retired to Cambridge (29 Storey’s Way), author of theological works and mathematical text books, died in 1946 (AKL, 115; CW2, xxix, 191-92)

Aslett, Alfred (c.1847-19xx), JP, railway manager and tourism promoter, company secretary and general manager of Cambrian Railway, appointed Secretary of Furness Railway Company in August 1895 (on retirement of Henry Cook after nearly 30 years) and first General Manager in 1897 (on death of Sir James Ramsden), quickly realised potential of tourism in Furness and soon organised 20 combined rail and coach tours in summer season (previously four), esp the “six lakes tour” taking in Windermere, Ullswater, Derwentwater, Thirlmere, Grasmere and Rydal, all for 13s., which included steamer fares on Windermere and Ullswater, and coach as well as rail travel, also short tour to Cartmel Priory and Holker Hall for 4s. 3d., introduced Sunday service of steamers on Windermere in 1896, also operated system of cheap weekly tickets, number of passenger fares increased by 12% between 1895 and 1898, helping to off-set decline in other revenue (Barrow steel works were closed for six months during 1896, but trade increasing again by 1898), new main line rails laid, cheap day tickets, weekend and tourist tickets introduced from 1898, additional steamer Swift put in service on Windermere in 1900, passenger traffic reached 682,765 and 780,222 tons of goods and minerals carried during first half of 1901, developed steamer route between Barrow and Fleetwood to encourage Blackpool holidaymakers to visit Lake District (photo at launch of paddle steamer Lady Evelyn at Kinghorn, NB, on 10 August 1900, with Lady Margaret put in service in 1903), organised a through service with North Eastern Railway from Newcastle to Barrow in summer from 1905 to connect with steamer to Douglas, Isle of Man, new paddle steamer Gwalia, later renamed Lady Moyra, introduced in 1905, new combined rail, sea, lake and coach tour starting from Blackpool for 7s.6d., advertised by coloured posters, introduced in 1906, special guide book issued annually, but local trade contracting and reducing dividend, new gondola introduced on Coniston and new paddle steamer Philomel with accommodation for 1,000 passengers started on Fleetwood-Barrow service in 1908, displayed attractions of Lake District at Franco-British Exhibition in 1908, passenger numbers reached 3,068,982 and goods totalled 4,288,963 tons in 1910, introduced novel idea for fostering tourism with a Romney museum and tea pavilion at High Cocken, home of George Romney (qv) from 1742 to 1755, further increases in revenue by 1913, also extensive improvements to shipping facilities at Barrow by widening and deepening of Walney Channel, passenger traffic increased by 102% and gross receipts by 65% in first 18 years of his time at Barrow, mineral traffic reached all-time record of 5,410,039 tons during 1917, took over management of Furness Abbey Hotel in 1917, member of Barrow Chamber of Commerce, JP for Barrow Borough 1904, retired in April 1918, at age of 71, being succeeded by his assistant, George Linton, and presented with his portrait in oils by company, of Stanyan Lodge, Ulverston (FR, 56-68)

Asmunderlaw of Furness, family, this name Asmondoelac in Domesday is the present Osmotherley, Northallerton; CW2 xxxix, 59-64

Aspell, Sir John (18xx-19xx), JP, of Kentsford House, Grange-over-Sands, Chairman of Roads and Bridges Committee, Lancashire County Council (photographs in CRO, WDX 1485/1)

Aspland, Theophilus Lindsey (1807-1890), artist, b. London; retired to near Esthwaite Water; Marshall Hall, 2

Astley, Arthur (18xx-19xx), ornithologist, of Freshfield, Ambleside (resident 1916-1925), author of articles on absence of certain common species from Lake District valleys in Country Life (April 1919 and May 1920), corresponded with Canon Rawnsley (qv) about birds from 1916 until just before his death in May 1920, was asked to write new book on Birds of Westmorland, but declined in favour of Revd Savage of Levens and H W Robinson [latter’s collection of birds now in Kendal Museum], revised Mary L Armitt’s chapter on The Birds in W G Collingwood’s revised edition of The Lake Counties (1932) (letters in CRO, Kendal, WD/CAT/acc.2460)

Astley, Francis Dukinfield Palmer (1825-1868), DL, JP, landowner, son of Francis Dukinfield Astley, of Dukinfield Lodge, Cheshire, was living in Fell Foot, Staveley in Cartmel, by 1847, High Sheriff of Cheshire 1854, but sold Fell Foot to Colonel G J M Ridehalgh (qv) in 1859, died in 1868

Astley Cooper, James W. LRCS etc, W and C Leaders 1910, member of the family of the earl of Shaftesbury

Astor, Arthur C., (14 July 1890- 1966), b. Thomas Ferguson, , theatrical impresario, theatre owner, b. Silloth, son of William and Jane Ferguson, nee Farmer, childhood at Norfolk St, Denton Holme, ed Carlisle GS, began training in a pharmacy but fled to become a travelling ventriloquist, changed his performing name to Astor, m. Ivy Edridge a singer, to New York, then Canada, South Africa and Australia, known at the Globetrotting Ventriloquist, command performance at Windsor, owned Her Majesty’s Theatre, Carlisle from 1936-1956, d. Carlisle, 17 March 1966; Laurie Kemp, Tales from Carlisle; also The Globetrotting Ventriloquist [2016]

Athelstan (893/4-939; ODNB),1st king of all England, son of Edward the elder king of the West Saxons and Mercians and his first wife Ecgwynn, crowned in 925 at Kingston-upon-Thames, then, having conquered York, Northumbria also came under his banner, the subsequent meeting of the princes at Eamont Bridge near Penrith on 12 July 927 over Wessex, Mercia and Northumbria in addition, with the submission to him of Celti‘established peace with pledge and oaths’, an event which established Athelstan’s control c rulers: Constantine II of Alba, king Hywell Dda of Dehenbarth, Ealdred of Bamburgh and king Owain of Strathclyde, though there is uncertainty about the precise venue of the meeting, it is probably significant that Eamont Bridge was not only a political boundary but also a major sacred landscape, (could king Arthur’s Table here be a corruption of Athelstan’s Table?; the Dacre church Peace Stone is said to commemorate this event –not in Pevsner), the date 927 is increasingly being accepted as the key moment of the foundation of the English kingdom, in part as there has been ‘a continuous institutional history since 927’, for too long Athelstan has been marginalised by the cult of his grandfather King Alfred (Naismith and Woodman ch 5 note 1), (could the meeting at Eamont Bridge in 927 have been deliberately ignored by the dominant southern historians ? (David Cross, 2022)), further support of the significance of this moment emerges from three other facts: the contemporary Latin poem Carta dirige gressus records that this moment in 927 was ‘perfecta Saxonia’ (or England made whole), earlier charters refer to the king as Anglo Saxon but he is from 927 described as Rex Anglorum and also that the coins minted for Athelstan in 927 bear the text Rex Tot Brit (Rex Totius Britanniae), some of the chiefs reneged upon their oaths and rose up but Athelstan finally defeated them at the battle of Brunanburh in 937, he was buried at Malmesbury in 939; Rory Naismith and David Woodman eds, Writing, Kingship and Power in Anglo Saxon England, 2020, ch 5 notes 1 and 7, locate Ian Bradley, God Save the Queen: the Spiritual Dimension of Monarchy, 2002, several related articles in CWAAS perhaps the most interesting include 1891, 187-219 and 226-9; 1902, 231-41; 1912, 146-56; 1962, 77-94; 1966, 57-92; 1985, 87-94; a monument to this event is being considered for Eamont Bridge

Athelwold, (d.1156; ODNB), Augustinian monk and 1st bishop of Carlisle, probably of English birth and not a Norman, served Henry I as confessor, prior Nostell Priory, nominated to the new see of Carlisle in 1133 in order to extend the rule of the English into the areas of dispute between England and Scotland which had been under the control of the bishop of Glasgow, he installed his Augustinian canons at Carlisle and established the diocese on a firm footing; CW2 xcv 85

Atherton, James (1869-1938), artist and headmaster of the Carlisle School of Art (1868-1926); Marshall Hall, 2; Renouf, 80

Atherton, John (17xx-1837), solicitor, of Stricklandgate, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 7 September 1837, aged 46

Atkins, Robert (1939-1994), arts director and promoter, born in Leeds, 25 November 1939, marr (1966) Sandy Swan, 1 son (Tom, decd 1992) and 1 dau, came from the Roundhouse in London to be first director of Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal 1971-1976 funded by Peter Scott (qv), involved in all the plans to open the building and set out the programme for the organisation, regarded the place first and foremost as a community centre, using a lot of volunteers, lived in house at front (now YHA), proposed in November 1971 that first production should be Oh What a Lovely War in May 1972, involving Westmorland Youth Theatre, Kendal Concert Band and local choral groups, also agreed to appt of a full-time teacher to coordinate schools programme at Brewery, elected artistic director of Brewery Players in December 1972, but left in 1976 to be Arts Director of the Commonwealth Institute, where he pioneered Music Villages with Prakash Daswani, later going on to found the organisation Cultural Co-operation in 1987, which was an attempt to give a structure for artists (dancers, musicians and crafts people) from other cultures in the developing world to present their work in Britain without being viewed as exotic, involving workshops, demonstrations, and exchanges as much as performance, always free events based in the open air, which created problems for funding bodies more used to conventional promotion, never gave up on his mission to foster direct and natural creativity in the arts, in which cause he died when killed by a speeding car ploughing into crowd of Moroccan folk performers on street outside a Bradford restaurant, together with musician, Ahmed El Azouan, on 19 June 1994, aged 54 (Ind, 19.07.1994)

Atkinson, Alfred William (1864-1945), keen amateur photographer, little known until negatives of his photographs were bought from a market junk stall in 1975, president of Photographic Convention of UK in 1923 (LD view of Grasmere 1897 in CRO, WD/MD collection)

Atkinson, Bryan Waller, lord of manor of Burton, of Bowness, Windermere, discharged plot of land in Boon Wall Close being used as site for a school from all copyhold or customary tenure as parcel of manor of Burton, 24 September 1867 (deed in CRO, WPC 27/6)

Atkinson, Conrad (1940-2022), teacher and artist. born in Cleater Moor, educ Carlisle College of Art and Liverpool College of Art, in Cumbria his work includes the cut steel monuments to local miners at Cleater Moor, as an activist his work was banned in Northern Ireland for thirty years, later he was involved in making work for the reconciliation process, marr Margaret Harrison also an artist, two daus, his work is in collections in the UK and USA; Cumbria Crack 17 October 2022

Atkinson, Francis Baring (1805-1864), DL, JP, landowner, born 30 December 1805, 3rd of five sons of George Atkinson (qv), of Morland, marr 1st (26 December 1831) Mary Anne (died in November 1832), dau of Sir John Stoddart, Chief Justice of Malta, no issue, marr 2nd (3 August 1837) Ellen Frances (died at St Leonards-on-Sea/Hastings, 11 May 1870, and buried there), dau of John Home, RN (Home of Wedderburne family), 8 sons and 3 daus, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1853, DL and JP Cumberland and Westmorland, then of Morland Hall Farm, built new Morland Hall with construction starting in 1855 and completed in 1861, also of Rampsbeck, Watermillock, died at Morland, 25 November 1864, aged 58, and buried in church, 30 November (altar tomb moved, memorial brass, WCN, ii, 192-193)

Atkinson, Francis Home (1840-1901), MA, clergyman and landowner, born 2 March 1840, 2nd of eight sons of F B Atkinson (qv), of Morland Hall, educ Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge (BA 1861, MA 1864), d 1864 and p 1865 (Nor), Curate of East Dereham, Norfolk 1864-1865, Freshwater, IoW 1867-1868, and Withycombe Raleigh, Devon 1869-1872, Vicar of Frocester, Gloucs 1872-1873, PC of Minley, Hants 1874-1880, and St Paul’s, Jersey 1880-1882/3, marr (17 April 1869) Edith Mary (of Morland Hall in 1920), dau of Henry Vatcher, of Rosemount, St Helier, Jersey, 3 sons and 2 daus, succ to Morland Hall estate on death of brother George in 1874, but let house (residence of William Busfeild (qv) in 1885), of 2 Douro Terrace, St Helier, Jersey, where he died 23 March 1901; his eldest son, Henry Ernest Atkinson (1871-1926), of St Helier, rented Morland Hall to Col Frederick Cooper Turner, JP, late King’s Own Royal Lancaster Regt (1905), to Joseph Holt (1913) and to Torbock family in 1913 for five years during construction of Crossrigg Hall, was in residence himself with his mother in 1921, then sold it at auction to G M Beck (qv) in 1923

Atkinson, George (1730-1781), landowner, born 16 August 1731, eldest son of Matthew Atkinson (1703-1756), of Temple Sowerby, and Margaret, dau of Richard Sutton, of Firbank, Kirkby Lonsdale, marr (7 January 1758) Bridget, dau and heir of Michael Maughan, of Wolsingham, 3 sons and 3 daus, Receiver-General for Cumberland and Westmorland, died 12 October 1781

Atkinson, George (1764-1814), landowner, of Temple Sowerby and Morland, born 17 September 1764, 2nd son of George Atkinson (qv), (er bro Michael (1763-1821) in HEICS), Island Secretary of Jamaica for some years and ADC to Lord Balcarres, Governor of Island (1795-1801), later Agent-General for colony in England, marr (13 July 1794) Susan Mackenzie, dau of A Dunkley, of Clarendon, Jamaica, 5 sons (inc Francis Baring and William, qv) and 4 daus, died 11 May 1814

Atkinson, George (1838-1874), DL, JP, landowner, born 24 November 1838, eldest son of F B Atkinson (qv), of Morland Hall, Captain, Royal Westmorland Militia, DL and JP Westmorland, died unmarried at San Remo, Italy, 3 March 1874, and buried there

Atkinson, George (1808-18xx), barrister, born at Long Marton and bapt there, 29 December 1808, son of John Atkinson (buried 3 August 1814, aged 53), of Longmarton, and Isabel, his wife (nee Harris), who were married by licence at Longmarton (2 March 1794), had six brothers and one sister (Richard (bapt <15> June 1794, buried 10 July 1798), John (bapt 18 May 1796, buried 21 January 1814, aged 17), William (bapt 16 December 1797, buried 5 September 1824, when of Appleby, aged 26), Richard (bapt 10 February 1800), James (bapt 30 August 1802, buried 5 June 1836, aged 33), Jane (bapt 16 September 1804), Matthew (bapt 8 October 1806), and Joseph (bapt 21 July 1811, buried 22 December 1834, when of Appleby, aged 23)), barrister, author of The Worthies of Westmorland (I, 1849; II, 1850) (dedicated to Lady Musgrave, of Hartley Castle and Eden Hall)

Atkinson, Isaac (1747-1826), schoolmaster and mathematician, of Beathwaite Green, calculated the tides in Morecambe Bay and the phases of the moon, which he published in his almanacs (one surviving copy used by Wordsworth for drafts of poems held at Cornell University, New York State), later fell into alcoholism and poverty, found drowned in river Kent in 1826 (Ian Hodkinson, LLHG report in WG, 08.02.2018), CW3 xviii 223

Atkinson, James (d.1641), MA, clergyman, native of Bampton, but precise details of birth and parentage not known, his family intermarried with Wilkinsons of Moorah Hill, educ?, ordained?, succ Barnabas Scott (qv) as Vicar of Bampton at least by 1637 from when surviving parish register dates, received payment of £5 in composition for arrears of tithes of Thornthwaite from Sir Francis Howard, also master of Bampton Grammar School, dated 20 September 1640 (Howard Household Books, 358), died in 1641 (NB, i, 462; ECW, ii, 1212)

Atkinson, James (c.1754-1833), coroner, marr Mary (died 31 August 1827, aged 72), 1 son (William, died 14 June 1798, aged 15), Coroner and Chamberlain for Borough of Appleby for 25 years (paid £1 expenses as coroner (WQS), 14 April 1817), died 6 April 1833, aged 79 (MI in St Lawrence, Appleby)

Atkinson, James (1809-1892), DL, JP, of Winderwath, son of Richard Atkinson, of Whinfell, Brougham, of family long resident in Milburn, rented Winderwath from Miss Salmond and eventually bought the estate, which was sold after his death to William Longrigg in 1893, also had estate at Blencarn, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1870, JP Westmorland (qualif 7 March 1863), marr, 1 son (Richard (1844-1866) died at Cambridge), died 20 September 1892 (will made 4 November 1885, copy in CRO, WDX 1251/4/7)

Atkinson, John (c.1712-1788), MD, physician, of Highgate, Kendal, account for apprentice’s smallpox 1760 (CRO, WQSR 279/22), recognizance in 1763 (WQSR 299/9), house in Highgate “late Dr Atkinson’s” in 1769 (lamp book), deed of land in Ing and cattlegates in Troutbeck to George Browne in 1778 (WD/TE/ 137), letters to George Browne 1770-1778, with sale of estate 1778 (WD/TE/V, 38-39), acted as a sponsor (with James Wilson) at christening of Tobias Atkinson (now of London, merchant’s clerk), one of sons of Thomas Atkinson, of Kendal, woollen draper, and Jane his wife, at his house in October 1782 (entry omitted from parish as by affidavit of 21 March 1818 later inserted in WPR 38/8), buried at Kendal, 19 March 1788, aged 76  

Atkinson, John (1759-1813), son of James Atkinson, brewer of Carlisle, became Rouge Croix Poursuivant in 1785 and Somerset Herald in 1794

Atkinson, John (17xx-18xx), master of House of Correction at Appleby, and treasurer of prisoners’ money, appt renewed for year at Easter QS 1812

Atkinson, John (1773-1857), yeoman schoolmaster, son of Solomon Atkinson of Lazonby (CW2, lxxxiii, 157-161)

Atkinson, John (d.1943), Australian politician, b. Cumberland, arrived Australia 1878, wrestling champion, teacher and businessman, mayor Toowoomba, Queensland, 1913

Atkinson, Revd John Christopher (18xx-18xx), BA, DCL, clergyman, antiquary and naturalist, educ St John’s College, Cambridge (BA 1838), d 1841 and p 1842 (Heref), Curate of Brockhampton 1841-1842, Vicar of Danby, Grosmont, York 1847-1898, Hon DCL, Durham 1887, pursued antiquarian researches in quiet seclusion of his moorland parish, author of Walks, Talks, Travels and Exploits of Two Schoolboys (1859), British Birds’ Eggs and Nests (1861), Sketches in Natural History (1861), A Glossary of the Cleveland Dialect: Explanatory, Derivative and Critical (1868), History of Cleveland Ancient and Modern, vol i (1874), A Handbook for Ancient Whitby and its Abbey (1882), The Cartulary of Whitby Abbey (editor), Surtees Society, 2 vols (1879, 1881), Quarter Sessions Records (editor), North Riding Record Society, 9 vols (1884-1892), A Glossary of the Dialect of the Hundred of Lonsdale, North and South of the Sands (editor, published for the Philological Society, by Asher & Co, London and Berlin) (1869), The Coucher Book of Furness Abbey (editor), Chetham Society, vol i, 3 parts (1886-1887), The Cartulary of Rievaulx Abbey (editor), Surtees Society (1889), The Last of the Giant Killers (1891), Forty Years in a Moorland Parish: Reminiscences and Researches in Danby in Cleveland (1891) (reprinted 1988), Memorials of Old Whitby (1894), died by ?1898 (photograph of old white-bearded figure at his desk in 1894 on Skelton website)

Atkinson, Jonathan Otley (18xx-18xx), LDS Eng, dentist, of 56 Stramongate, Kendal, kept diary 1856-1884, mainly meteorological, also notes on Atkinson, Otley and Rigg families, with misc loose items…(CRO, WDX 605), still in 1894, but gone by 1897

Atkinson, Miles (18xx-18xx), clergyman and schoolmaster, educ Queen’s College, Oxford, Headmaster of St Bees School 1841-1854

Atkinson, Richard (1738-1785; ODNB), merchant, East India Company director and MP, born 10 March 1738/9 [not 6 March 1738 as in ODNB] and bapt at Temple Sowerby, 5 April 1739, 3rd of four sons of Matthew Atkinson, of Temple Sowerby, and Margaret, dau of Richard Sutton, of Firbank, had brothers (George (born 16 August and bapt 10 September 1730), Matthew (born 22 August, priv bapt 29 August and pub bapt 16 September 1736, and William (bapt 14 November 1741) all at TS) and two elder sisters (Jane (born 8 February and bapt 29 February 1727) and Margaret (born 13 May and bapt 7 June 1733)), educ?, moved to London ‘unsustained by any inheritance, by few family friends of any power, and by no acquisitions which education imparts but common penmanship and arithmetic’ (GM, 570), had become a partner in firm of Mure, Son and Atkinson, West India merchants, of Nicholas Lane, later of Fenchurch Street, London by early 1770s, alderman of city of London, MP for New Romney and the Cinque Ports, having stood unsuccessfully for London with Pitt’s support in general election of 1784, unmarried, ill with consumption, died at Brighton, 6 May 1785, aged 47, buried ?, estimated wealth of £300,000 (HoP, Commons, 1754-1790, 2.32; GM, 1st ser, 55 (1785), 407, 570);  Richard Atkinson, Mr Atkinson’s Rum Contract, 2020

Atkinson, Richard (c.1768-1838), late Sergeant in Westmorland Militia, of French Lane, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 31 October 1838, aged 70

Atkinson, Robert (exec.1664), soldier and plotter, Captain in Parliamentary Army, raised his own troop in 1651, commandeered Appleby Castle for Parliament in 16xx, member of Westmorland committee by February 1656 and an associate of Charles Howard (qv) by 1655, but turned (false) informer to Sir Philip Musgrave (qv) by 1661, who was then intent on revenge for his part as leader of Kaber Rigg Plot of 1663, hatched in Westmorland in February 1663, condemned to be hanged, drawn and quartered by Judges of Assize for Northern Circuit on 20 August 1664 and executed at Appleby, 1 September 1664, professing to die “a moderate Presbiterian” (D/Mus/Corr/6), of Bluegrass, Mallerstang (Atkinson family papers in CRO, WDX 3; CW2, xi, 212-232; CW2, lxxxviii, 161-175; NH, 2010)

Atkinson, Robert (b.1883; ODNB), architect, born Wigton

Atkinson, Thomas (fl.1550s), chapman of Kendal; CW2 lix 72

Atkinson, Thomas (17xx-18xx), High Constable of Kendal Ward (accounts 1801-2, 1805-06, WQS)

Atkinson, Thomas (1810-1852), MRCS, LSA (1830), surgeon, of Highgate, Kendal, son of Thomas Atkinson, Officer of Excise, marr (8 November 1837 at Kendal) Mary, second dau of John Gough (qv) of Middleshaw, Old Hutton, later of Fowl Ing, Kendal, buried 12 March 1852, aged 42; one son, Thomas Gough Atkinson (died at Fowl Ing, 3 April 1858, aged 19) (CW2, xciii, 205-06, 212 n.41)

Atkinson, Thomas (18xx-18xx), of Kendal, Proprietor of the Westmorland Gazette 1844-1880 retired, also of the Kendal Herald 1864-1866

Atkinson, Thomas Leonard (d.1900), soldier in Boer War, Border Regt., d. 18 June 1900, Potchefstrom, S.A., his monument, which bears the names of others, is in Appleby

Atkinson, Tobias (17xx-18xx), benefactor of Crosthwaite parish, of Pool Bank, and of Spout Farm, Crosthwaite, bequests incl 10 gns to six old people, and £300 to Crosthwaite School in 1815; Caen stone dado in Holy Trinity Church, Kendal presented by T A Argles in memory of late Tobias Atkinson and Elizabeth his wife completed in 1867 (KK, 235)

Atkinson, William (1692-1766), pewterer, Wigton CW2 lxxxv 163ff

Atkinson, William (1724-1763), clergyman, bapt at Ulverston, 15 August 1724 [but not in Ulverston PR, while Blawith PR starts in 1728], son of Thomas Atkinson, of Ivy Tree in Blawith, par Ulverston, siblings bapt at Blawith after 1728, deacon (Chester), licensed to Ulpha on 22 December 1746, to Blawith on 10 June 1747 and to Kentmere on 27 February 1748, resigned as curate of Blawith, 27 February 1748, nominated and elected to curacy by landowners in Kentmere (on resignation of James Cookson) on 20 February 1748, ordained priest at Chester on 21 August 1748, nominated and apptd to curacy of Selside (on resignation of John Hodgson), 21 December 1752, started first register of baptisms, marriages and burials to be kept in chapelry of Selside in February 1753, marr (25 May 1751, at Kentmere, with banns read at Kendal) Mary Dixon, 2 sons (John (born 12 May, bapt 3 June, buried 26 August 1753), John (born 16 October 1755 and bapt 9 November) and 7 daus (first child Agnes born at Kentmere, 5 April and bapt 15 April 1752, Mary (born 1 March and bapt 3 April 1757), Jane (born 23 August and bapt 2 September 1758), Anne (born 16 February and bapt 3 March 1760), twins Mary and Jane (bapt and buried 26/27 September 1761), and Elizabeth (born 3 September and bapt 3 October 1762) all at Selside), died at Low Biggersbank, Selside, aged 39 and buried at Selside, 20 November 1763 (clergy papers for Kentmere and Selside in CRO, DRC/10), will dated 12 November 1763 and proved 4 February 1764 (LRO, R497/19); portrait c.1760 by Romney (sent to Christies on 5 February 1879 by Mrs Maund of Boulogne-sur-Mer as portrait by Reynolds, but not offered for sale, later misidentified when sold by Bonhams on 27 October 2010 as ‘Circle of Nathaniel Hone, Portrait of a Gentleman, said to be Sir Richard Atkins’ when bought at auction by Philip Mould Ltd and confirmed as a Romney by Alex Kidson in January 2011)

Atkinson,  William (1809-1880), MA, clergyman, born 13 June 1809, 4th of five sons of George Atkinson (qv), of Morland Hall, marr (2 July 1833) Jane Margaret (died 1878), dau of William Clark (1766-1837), of Belford Hall, Northumberland (BLG), 3 sons and 1 dau, assumed addnl name of Clark, Rector of Gateshead Fell, dio Durham from 1838 until 1870 (prob), Hon Canon of Durham, died 30 December 1880

Atterbury, Francis (1663-1732; ODNB), MA, DD, bishop and Jacobite, yr son of Revd Lewis Atterbury (d.1693; ODNB) and yr brother of Revd Lewis Atterbury (1656-1731) (ODNB), educ Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford, took holy orders in 1687, lecturer at St Bride’s, London 1691, chaplain to William III and Mary and preacher at Bridewell Hospital, prominently opposed to Erastianism in church and state, Archdeacon of Totnes and prebendary of Exeter Cathedral 1701-1704, DD 1701, chaplain in ordinary to Queen Anne, Dean of Carlisle 1704-1711, Dean of Christ Church, Oxford 1711-1713, Dean of Westminster and Bishop of Rochester 1713-1723, took part in coronation of George I, but was in direct communication with Jacobites in 1717, imprisoned in Tower for alleged involvement in attempt to restore Stuarts in 1720 and deprived of all his ecclesiastical preferments and banished in 1723, going to Brussels then to France, entering service of Old Pretender, and died there in 1732, buried privately in Westminster Abbey

Attock, Frederick [1902], engineer and founder of Manchester United, engineer with Newton Heath branch of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway, established with Arthur Balfour qv and Charles Scott (founder of The Manchester Guardian) the Newton Heath LYR FC and became the first president, this club evolved into Manchester United, died Windermere in 1902, buried there

Attwood, James Henry (1785-1865), zinc and iron ore producer, born in 1785, 4th of seven sons and ten surviving children of Matthias Attwood (1746-1836), of Hawne House, near Halesowen, and his wife Ann (1752-1835), dau of Thomas Adams, of Cakemore, near Halesowen, and brother of Charles Attwood (1791-1875; ODNB), ironmaster, and all his other brothers were prominent in banking and industry, esp iron, steel and glass, in Birmingham and Midlands, prospecting for iron at Aldby and Birks at Cleator before Thomas Ainsworth (qv) in 1830s, had lease of land on Naworth estate for purpose of setting up a zinc-smelting works in 1845, also had zinc works at Ripley, Derbyshire, had residence of Moss Hill near Hallbankgate, parish of Farlam, died in 1865; will proved at Carlisle, 21 August 1865 (The Attwood Family with historic notes and pedigrees (1903); CW2, lxviii, 164, 177-179)

Attwood, James (fl.mid 19thc.), zinc producer, ran a spelter works at Tindale, near Brampton, from 1845 producing ingots of about 97% zinc and 3% lead, a small community surrounded the works with a chapel, school and houses, the works later on extracted cadmium; CWAAS outing leaflet 25 June 2022

Auden, Walter Douglas (18xx-19xx), clergyman, formerly curate-in-charge of Rubery, near Birmingham, member of Bush Brotherhood, Australia 1902-1908, instituted as vicar of Howgill on 10 October 1912, serving for 12 years, before union of benefices with Firbank

Auden, Wystan Hugh (1907-1973; ODNB), poet, essayist and teacher, often stayed in a family cottage at Threlkeld in childhood, immensely fond of Alston moor, wrote first poem Blea Tarn [now lost] and subsequently Alston Moor, WHA encouraged visitors to see Appleby, Dufton and Alston; Tribute by Stephen Spender; Grevel Lindop, Literary Guide to the Lakes

Audland, Edward Gordon (1896-1976), CB, CBE, MC, DL, JP, army officer, Brigadier, of Ackenthwaite, Milnthorpe, author of ms history of Audland family (copy in CROK), sorted and listed Dallam Tower archives 1968-69 (now in CRO, WD/D), died 22 October 1976; yr son, Sir Christopher Audland, KCMG, published Jenny

Audland, John (1664-1752?), Quaker activist, son of John Audland (1630-1663/4), of Crosslands, [Old Hutton],  and Anne (1627-1705), later Camm, marr (1689) Agnes (d.1733), dau of James Clark, of Crook, Kendal, issue, was of Camsgill and later of Hegholme Hall, Mansergh, possibly the John Audland who died at Baycliff and buried at Sunbrick in 1752 (ECW, i, 120, 123; SF, 579)

Audland, John, born near Camsgill, Kendal, eminent quaker preacher according to William Penn

Audland, John, writer of doggerel, see Collingwood, Lake Counties, ed Rollinson 6

Audland, Revd William Fisher (c.1804-1861), DD, BA, clergyman, son of John Audland, of Ackenthwaite, educ Sedbergh School and Queen’s College, Oxford (entd 1819, aged 15, BA 1823, BD, 1846, DD 1852, and Fellow), buried at Heversham, 9 May 1861, aged 57 (SSR, 161)

Aufrere, George Anthony (1794/5-1881), JP, landowner and yachtsman, born in Chester, son of Anthony Aufrere, of old Huguenot family, of Foulsham Old Hall, Norfolk, and of Matilda Lockhart, of Edinburgh, served as young officer in Austrian army at Waterloo before retiring to private life, inherited family estate of Foulsham Hall, Norfolk (600 acres), JP for Norfolk, marr (1828) Caroline Wehrtmann, dau of Hamburg merchant, no issue, settled in Bowness-on-Windermere and built Burn Side in c.1840, where he spent most of next 40 years, passion for sailing, acted as Steward of Windermere Regatta in 1849, joint founder of Windermere Sailing Club with his close friend, J R Bridson (qv), chaired inaugural meeting at Burnside on 16 January 1860, served as first Commodore and Treasurer in 1860, Commodore again in 1869, keen racer of his boats the Ripple and Mosquito (crewed by Tom Brown, Morecambe Bay fisherman), cruised in Ripple almost daily on lake in later life with his wife, of aristocratic bearing but noted for his blunt language, died at Burnside in 1881 [not buried in Bowness cemetery], probate estate value (approx £6m today) (RWYC, 173-174)

Austen-Leigh, Margaret (1899-1986), dau of Lt Col Edmund Heathcote Thruston (1863-1948) and his wife Lucy, daughter of Sir Wilfred Lawson 2nd Bt. of Brayton and Isel, bought back the Isel estate in 1959-60 after the death of her cousin Sir Hilton Lawson Bt (1896-1959) (qv) and lived there with her husband Richard Austen-Leigh qv, a relative of Jane Austen and literary scholar, having no immediate family she sold the ten farms of the estate to the sitting tenants, gave generous sums to various relatives and later, as her will makes clear, bequeathed Isel Hall to her friend Mary Burkett (qv) in 1986, she donated the sword of Sir John Moore of Corunna to the BM

Austen-Leigh, Richard (1872-1961; ODNB), printer and historian, son of Cholmeley Austen-Leigh (1829-1899) and Melesina Chevenix-Trench, dau of archbishop Richard  Chevenix- Trench of Dublin (Richard Austen Leigh’s grandmother, also Melesina Trench (1768-1827), was an Irish author and poet whose work was published by her son, the bishop), ed. Eton, married Margaret Thruston (see Margaret Austen-Leigh above), a relative of Jane Austen and literary scholar (his ?grandfather the Rev James Austen-Leigh (1798-1874) the son of Jane Austen’s brother James, wrote memoir of his aunt), with his brother William wrote The Life and Letters of Jane Austen [1913], Jane Austen’s Family History (1940), The Story of a Printing House: Strachans and Spottiswode, edited The Eton College Lists 1678-1790 and The Eton College Register 1753-90, moved to Isel Hall soon after the death of Sir Hilton Lawson (1896-1959) qv and lived there until his death; photograph NPG

Austin, theatre manager, with his partner Heatton (and from 1771 Whitlock) ran theatres in Whitehaven (Assembly Rooms and Roper St), Newcastle and Chester in the late 18thc, they were granted a patent in 1769 for Whitehaven, produced after 8 Nov 1769 The Busy Body and Wit’s Last Stand ‘to a very numerous and genteel audience’, later on 4 Dec 1769 The Tragedy of King Richard, The Corsican Fairy in late Oct 1770, gave the proceeds of a benefit performance to the Whitehaven Dispensary, later Mr Austin of Drury Lane married a wealthy woman of near Whitehaven worth £14,000, she was 90 years old and her family attempted to apply a statute of lunacy, presented Henry IV Pt I  18 Dec 1782 at Theatre Royal, Whitehaven; Newcastle Courant 8 Apr 1769; Westminster Journal 28 Sept 1771; J Roderick Webb, Northern Review vol 2 no 2 Oct 1947;

Austin, Hubert J. (1841-1915), architect, partner in the major local firm of Paley and Austin, see Paley

Avison, Charles (1709-1770), organist, composer and music teacher, born and died Newcastle, (son of Richard Avison, also a musician), organist of St Nicholas Newcastle (now the cathedral), taught harpsichord, flute and violin, wrote inter alia 12 Concerti Grossi, organised subscription concerts in Newcastle with subscribers from the Literary Society in Carlisle, wrote his Essay on Musical Expression (1752), the first musical criticism in English, marr Catherine Reynolds, nine children of which three survived, a man of great musical understanding with a sense of humour, he travelled to Carlisle quite often to meet his friend Captain JB Gilpin (qv); PM Horsley, Charles Avison, The Man and his Milieu, Music and Letters, vol 55 no 1 (1974), pp.5-23; Pierre Dubois (ed), Charles Avison’s Essay on Musical Expression (with related writings), 2004

Axon, Ernest (18xx-19xx), FSA, member of council of Lancashire Parish Register Society, author (with Francis Nicholson) of The Older Nonconformity in Kendal (1915)

[William Edward Armytage Axon (1846-1913), MA, LLD, FRSL, born in Manchester, 13 January 1846, Deputy Chief Librarian, Manchester Public Libraries, resigned in 1874 to join literary staff of the Manchester Guardian, author and contributor to periodicals, died at Victoria Park, Manchester, 27 December 1913]

Ayre, Revd Leigh Richmond (c.1827-1905), MA, clergyman and author, educ Emmanuel College, Cambridge (BA 1850, MA 1853), d 1850 Worc and p 1851 Heref, Curate of St Mary, Bridgnorth 1850-1853 and of St Michael, Islington 1853-1860, Vicar of Rusland 1860-1873, Vicar of Holy Trinity, Ulverston 1873-1905, Chaplain, Ulverston Union 1874, and Rural Dean 1878, joint editor (with Canon Bardsley) of The Registers of Ulverston Parish Church (printed by James Atkinson, Ulverston, in 19 parts, 1881-86, incl ‘Chronicles of the Church and Town’ as Part 18 in 1885), and author of Holy Trinity Church, Ulverston: a sketch historical and descriptive (1887; 2nd edn rev 1901), Guide to Ulverston, and Places of Interest in the Neighbourhood (1894; …in the Lake District, 2nd edn 1904), The North Lonsdale Magazine & Furness Miscellany, 4 vols, W Holmes, Ulverston (1894-1902), and Notes on Furness Abbey (n.d.), marr Cristilla Martha Victorine (buried 25 March 1917, aged 85, when of Church Walk), died at Holy Trinity vicarage, aged 78, and buried in churchyard, 17 June 1905

Ayrey, Benjamin (d.1750), agent, or company secretary, Backbarrow Company from c.1714, partner in Glengarry venture in 1727, died 28 August 1750 and buried at Height MH (will, 26 August 1750) (EIIF, 303-304)

Ayrey, John (16xx-1713), Quaker, of Shap, his goods repeatedly distrained in 1680s and 1690s for refusing to pay tithes to Sir John Lowther, gave piece of ground (5 May 1703) on which Shap Meeting House was built in 1704 and also piece for burying place, involved in disputes with John Bowstead in 1699 and with Joshua Collinson in 1703-04, marr (7 June 1694) Ruth Yates, eldest dau of Thomas Lawson (qv) and widow of Revd Christopher Yates (qv), 1 son (d.1703) and 3 daus, died 20 January 1713 (CRO, WDFC/F2/1; F1/51D)

Ayton, Richard (bap.1786-1823; ODNB), playwright and actor, b. London, son of William Ayton


Baber, Edward John, amateur actor, son of Henry Baber of Hudson Scott’s, lived Devonshire Terrace, Stanwix, Carlisle, considered to be outstanding actor; Hudleston (C)

Babington, William (17xx-1818), DD, clergyman, rector of Kirkandrews-upon-Esk 1787-1790, died 1818

Backhouse, James (d.1578), shopkeeper, active in Kirkby Lonsdale early in the reign of Elizabeth I, left stock at his demise including Spanish silks, French garters, Norwich lace, Oxford gloves and Turkey work purses; John Matuysiak, History of the Tudors in 100 Objects, 2019, 128

Backhouse, James (1695-1762), iron master, (RSLC, xxxv, 1997, 224-225)

Backhouse, John Barnes (17xx-18xx), MA, clergyman, native of Caldbeck, rector of Edburton, Sussex, as subscriber to Hutchinson’s History of Cumberland

Backhouse, Joseph (fl.1745), mayor of Carlisle during Jacobite Rebellion of 1745, surrendered city to Charles Stuart on 15 November 1745

Bacon, Anthony (fl.18thc.), brother of Thomas Bacon (qv), bap. St Bees, rose from a master mariner to rank of one of first merchants in London, after turning 30, and elected MP for three successive Parliaments; went to Maryland; identical with the following ?

Bacon, Anthony (1816-1886; ODNB), industrialist, b. St Bees, developed Merthy Tydfil, est Cyfarthfa Forge, in partnership with Dr William Brownrigg of Whitehaven (qv), cast cannon, owned five ships, also slaves

Bacon, Gertrude (1874-1949), aeronaut, writer, lecturer, b. Cambridge, dau of the Rev John Mackenzie Bacon [1846-1894] and his wife Gertrude Myers [1849-1894], who had married at Bootle [C] in 1871, her father’s first balloon flight occurred when she was 14, in 1888, was a balloonist with her father in 1899 to observe a shower of meteors, flew at Shrewsbury in 1904, in Stanley Spencer’s airship, in Rheims in Roger Sommers’ Farman, then on 15 July 1912 with the Lakes Flying Co flew in Waterhen, [as first lady passenger ?? of Oscar Gnosspelius q.v.], 16 July 1912, first woman to fly as a passenger in a hydro-monoplane, took aerial photos which she later used in her lecure presentations, published Balloons, Airships and Flying Machines [1905] and The Record of an Aeronaut [1907], m. Thomas Jacson Foggitt in 1929, he died 1934, she d. 22 Dec 1949;;

Bacon, Thomas (1717-1786; ODNB), master mariner, tobacco merchant, customs officer, author, bookseller, auctioneer, newspaper publisher, minister, educationalist, musician, composer, poet and abolitionist, b. Isle of Man (or Whitehaven), went to Dubin and published the Dublin Gazette, also worked in Dublin as an auctioneer, ran a coffee house, was not priested until he was in his 30s [d an p 1744-45] and decided to travel to the plantations, his brother Anthony was in Maryland from 1733 and he followed in the later 1740s, est a school for African Americans, his son John killed and scalped at Fort Cumberland, (2nd wife Elizabeth Broznan, daughter of Col Broznan), compiled laws of Maryland published as A Digest of the Laws of Maryland, a volume of Sermons, and the The Complete System of the Revenue of Ireland, a contemporary of Samuel Richardson; ? same family as the following ?

Baddeley, Mountford John Byrde (1843-1906; ODNB), BA, compiler of guidebooks, retired from teaching in 1884 to Windermere, first at The Hollies, later moved to 2 Lake View Villas, Bowness-on-Windermere, married Millicent Satterthwaite Michaelson-Yeates, dau of Robert Henry Machell Michaelson-Yeates (qv), of Olive Mount, Windermere, no issue,in 1891 at Barrow Island, Chairman, Bowness Local Board to 1894, compiled guide book to English Lake District (1880; 21st ed 1956), esp for needs of walkers, died at home, 19 November 1906, aged 63, and buried in Bowness old cemetery, 23 November; slate clock tower erected in his memory at junction of Lake Road, 1907; two carved oak prayer desks presented to St Martin’s church, Bowness by his widow in memory of him and of her brother, Captain Michaelson-Yeates, in 1908

Badley, John Haden (1865-1962; ODNB), headmaster, son of JP Badley a surgeon, est Bedales as the first co-ed boarding school, his two sisters lived at Winterseeds, Grasmere, where he stayed frequently (Winterseeds was also the home of William Heaton Cooper (qv))

Bagenal, Timothy Bracegirdle (Tim) (1925-2011), DSc, PhD, MA, fish biologist, silversmith and local historian, born 24 August 1925, son of Nicholas Bagenal, mother Bloomsbury artist Hiles?, marr Mary J Goldsborough, 1 son and 2 daus (Caroline and xxx), Asst Director of FBA, Ferry House, Windermere, Hon Treasurer of FBSI 1972-86, 57 scientific papers, Observer Books, of 5 Bankfield, Kendal (1974), later of Lupton, and finally of Gilcruce, Gillinggate, Kendal, died 2 March 2011 (celebration of life at Hutton Roof Village Hall, 2 April 2011)

Baggerly, Humphrey (fl.1648-1654; ODNB) surrendered at Appleby in Civil War

Baggett, John ‘Gentleman Jack’ (1902-1978) footballer, NW Evening Mail 24 July 1978; Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones

Bagley, Arthur (fl.early 20thc), writer, published Holiday Rambles in the English Lake District (1920), also similar volumes for Wales and Scotland

Bagley, Desmond (1923-1983), journalist and thriller writer, born in Kendal, son of John and Hannah Bagley, lived South Africa, m. Joan M. Brown 1960, wrote many works of fiction including The Golden Keel [1963], Running Blind [1970], several became films

Bagot, Sir Charles (1781-1843; ODNB), GCB, diplomat, m Lady Mary Wellesley dau of the ‘Iron Duke’, she was the source of the Wellington memorabilia at Levens Hall

Bagot, Sir Josceline Fitzroy, 1st Bt (1854-1913), MP, DL, JP, politician and landowner, of Levens Hall, born 1854, son of Colonel Charles Bagot, and grandson of Sir Charles Bagot (qv), educ Eton, entd Grenadier Guards in 1875, retiring as Captain in 1886, marr (1885) Theodosia (1866-1940), dau of Sir John Leslie, Bt, of Glaslough, 1 son and 3 daus (incl Mary, bapt at Levens, 16 November 1889), Major then Lieut-Colonel of Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry, Westmorland County Councillor, DL and JP, MP for South Westmorland 1892-1906 and from 1910, ADC to two Governors-General of Canada, served in South African War as Press Censor 1899-1901, member of CWAAS from 1884, author of Colonel James Grahme of Levens and George Canning and his friends, nominated for baronetcy in New Year Honours of 1913, but died 1 March before grant could be sealed; his widow Theodosia married the Rev Sydney Swann (qv);  (MI) (papers re admin of will in CRO, WD/MM/ boxes 158-159; CW2, xiii, 424)

Bagot, Oliver Robin, formerly Gaskell (1914-2000), TD, DL, JP, MA, FRICS, land agent, landowner and artist, born 10 December 1914, son of H M Gaskell, educ Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge, assumed name of Bagot in lieu of Gaskell on succ to Levens Hall 1936, marr (1938) Annette Dorothy, FSA (died 21 March 2003), dau of Comdr F R Stephens, RN, 1 son (Charles Henry (Hal), high sheriff of Cumbria 1980-81, born 16 February 1946) and 3 daus (Priscilla, Lisa and Lucinda), land agent with A Hoggarth & Son, Kirkland, Kendal, trustee and governor, Abbot Hall Art Gallery, Kendal, high sheriff of Westmorland 1952, president of Kendal Art Society 1951-1960, vice-president 1948, and elected member in March 1946, painted in watercolours, built harpsichords, regular lecturer on art history and painting in 1950s, saved Levens Park from M6 link road 196x, apptd trustee of Levens Institute by deed of 8 May 1942, latterly of Levens Brow, died 29 January 2000

Bagot, Lady Theodosia (nee Leslie) (1865-1940), dau of Sir John Leslie (1822-1916) 1st bart of Glendalough, Ireland, marr Jocelyn Bagot (qv), five children, managed Church Army field hospitals in the Boer War at Bloemfontein and Rondsbosch and later in the First WW at Caen and Adinkerke, Belgium,she had little nursing experience but soon built her skills and enjoyed assisting in operating theatres, often working far into the night, awarded medals and mentioned in despatches, after the war founded Charney’s a Church Army club for ex-servicemen, published Shadows of War (1901), her second husband the Rev Sydney Swann (1862-1942; DCB) attempted to murder her; Roger Smalley, Political Dissent in Westmorland, 1880-1930, 2013

Bailey, George Henry (1805-1883), postmaster, registrar and bailiff, bapt at Brough, 31 March 1805, son of William Bailey, schoolmaster, of Market Brough, and his wife Margaret (nee Cowpland), of Brough family of substantial farmers, bailiff to Lord Thanet for Manor of Brough, Registrar of births, deaths and marriages for Kirkby Stephen district 1849, 1858 and 1873, Brough postmaster, clerk of school board, agent to North Stainmore Mining Co and to Liverpool and London Fire and Life Insurance Co 1858, ensured that station was put in at Musgrave when railway was being built, his dau Mary Ann marr Thomas Walton (qv) in 1865, buried at Brough, 11 April 1883, aged 78

Baily, Revd T E H (19xx-19xx), clergyman, member of Westmorland Local Valuation Panel (1966)

Bain, Sir James (1817-1898), DL, JP, FRGS, colliery and ironworks owner, of Crofthead, Harrington, son of Robert Bain, of Glasgow, controlled Harrington Coal and Ironworks, working undersea coal from 1877, took over a Lonsdale royalty in Moresby in 1881 and worked in conjunction with Harrington colliery until 1891, also had Whitehaven Colliery Company, which took on lease of Whitehaven Colliery from Lowthers (Henry, William, Wellington, Croft, James, Duke, Saltom and Kells pits, with equipment, 72 coke-ovens at Bransty, and 578 cottages) for 31 yrs from 11 November 1888 as Messrs Bain & Co (Sir J Bain, J D Bain, J R Bain and J S Simpson), MP for Whitehaven 1891-1893, Lord Provost of Glasgow 1874-1877, marr, 2 sons (John Dove, JP (b.1848), of Crofthead, and James Robert, qv), died in 1898 (WCC, 159- )

Bain, James Robert (1851-19xx), JP, Colonel, yr son of Sir James above, of Moresby Hall and Bolton, Hall, Gosforth, MP for West Cumberland 1900-1906

Bain, John Dove (1848-19xx), JP, er son of Sir James above, of Crofthead, Harrington, director, Messrs Bain & Co

Bainbridge, Christopher (c.1462/63-1514; ODNB), archbishop, ambassador and cardinal, b. Hilton, cr, archbishop of York 1508-1514, cardinal of St Praxedes 1511, bishop of Durham 1507-1508, dean of St George’s Chapel, Windsor 1505-1507 and of York 1503-1505, master of the rolls 1504- , provost of Queen’s College, Oxford 1496- (WW, i, 67-80); ‘The Bainbridge Snuffers’ [BM],  Gothic Ex Cat 2003, no 105

Bainbridge, Henry (17xx-1816), MD, of Sedbergh, marr Mary (b at Kendal?, 1 January 1761, bur at Maryport), er dau of John Wilson Robinson (qv), 1 son (d inf) and 1 dau (Margaret, d. 1817), died 25 December 1816, aged 53, and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale

Bainbridge, Isaac (18xx-19xx), MB, BS, physician and surgeon, medical officer and public vaccinator, Brough district, East Ward Union, and post office medical officer, Sedbro’ House, Brough (1929)

Bainbridge, Margaret Nora (1924-2016), teacher and local historian, born at Barrow-in-Furness, left £22,500 to Friends of Cumbria Archives (FOCAS 99, April 2017)

Bainbrigg of Hawkin and Middleton, family; CW2 xxiv 123

Bainbrigg, Reginald (c.1489-1554; ODNB), MA, college head and clergyman, born at Middleton, Kirkby Lonsdale, son of John Bainbrigg (c.1464-1542) and Margaret (d.1551), and prob uncle or cousin of Reginald Bainbrigg (b.1544; qv), educ Cambridge (BA 1506, MA 1509, and BTh 1526), Fellow and Master of St Catherine’s College 1529-1547, held succession of livings in Essex, prob died in November 1554

Bainbrigg, Reginald (d.1606; ODNB), clergyman, prob member of same family, educ Peterhouse, Cambridge (matric 1573, BA 1576/7), Vicar of Steeple Bumpstead, Essex 1582-1606, where he died

Bainbrigg, Reginald (1544/45-1612/13; ODNB), MA, schoolmaster and antiquary, born at Hilton, near Appleby, prob yr son of Christopher Bainbrigg (c.1505-1569), educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 1572, BA 1576, MA 1579),  Master of Appleby Grammar School 1580-?1612, licence dated 19 December 1580, still in office on 3 April 1612, major benefactor to school, incl personal library (deposited with Special Collections of Newcastle University Library in 1966), died prob early in 1613, but no burial recorded in Appleby, will proved in September 1613; Edgar Hinchcliffe, The Bainbrigg Library, Appleby, 1996; CW2 xxvi 169; CW3 iii 119

Bainbridge [Bainbrigg], Thomas (1574-1646; ODNB), MA, DD, college head, bapt at Kirkby Lonsdale, 18 February 1574, yr son of Edward Bainbrigg (c.1508-1584), clothier, of Hawkin Hall, Middleton, by his 2nd wife, Elizabeth Hodgson (d.1590), educ Christ’s College, Cambridge, Master of Christ’s College, Cambridge 1622-1646 , Vice-Chancellor 1627/28, died in office and buried in church of St Andrew the Great, Cambridge, 9 September 1646 

Baines, Edward (1774-1848; ODNB), news proprietor, b. Walton-in-the-Dale, Lancs, educated Hawkshead GS, living with Thomas Rigg his maternal uncle, a slate merchant, father of Sir Edward Baines qv

Baines, Sir Edward (1800-1890; ODNB), DL, JP, journalist, politician and educationist, born in Leeds, 28 May 1800, 2nd son of Edward Baines (1774-1848; ODNB) (qv) [who went to live with maternal uncle, Thomas Rigg, slate merchant, at Hawkshead and attended Grammar School there for two years, with WW, before returning to Preston at age of 8] and Charlotte, dau of Matthew Talbot, of Leeds, and brother of Matthew Talbot Baines (1799-1860; ODNB) and Thomas Baines (1806-1881; ODNB), marr (1829) Martha  (d.1881), only dau of Thomas Blackburn, of Liverpool, 3 sons and 4 daus, author (as Edward Baines, junior) of A Companion to the Lakes of Cumberland, Westmoreland and Lancashire; in a descriptive account of a family tour, and an excursion on horseback; comprising a visit to Lancaster Assizes, with a new, copious, and correct Itinerary (made from an actual survey in June 1828), published in 1829, Liberal MP for Leeds 1859-1874, etc, died at his house, St Ann’s Hill, Burley, Yorkshire, 2 March 1890, and buried in Leeds cemetery near Woodhouse Moor

Baines, H T, MA, clergyman of Sawrey House, Claife (1882); William Hodgson Baines (1912)

Baines, Harry, (fl.16thc) mayor of Carlisle, associated with Lady Dacre’s bells q.v.

Baines, Jenny (1948-2015) cycling campaigner, Carlisle

Baker, Sir Rowland (1908-1983), naval architect, son of Isaac Baker a sailing bargee, trained Chatham docks, RN college Greenwich, had previously designed HMS Seagull the first all welded vessel for the RN in 1938, in WW2 designed a tank landing craft in three days, technical chief executive on Dreadnought programme, Barrow, 1960; Les Shore, Life of Leonard Redshaw (qv)

Baker, W R (18xx-19xx), clergyman and schoolmaster, master at Appleby Grammar School 1908-1935, Hon Secretary of Old Applebians’ Society (to 1952 at least), retired to 3 Whitehall Road, Rugby, Warwickshire

Balderstone, John Christopher (Chris) (1940-2000), professional cricketer and footballer (once playing both on the same day), born at Longwood, Huddersfield, 16 November 1940, played for Shrewsbury Town youth team 1955-1957, joined Huddersfield Town in May 1958 (playing mostly in midfield, 117 appearances, 24 goals), moved to Carlisle United for £6,000 in June 1965 (376 apps, 68 goals, club captain, briefly top of Div I at start of 1974/75 season, then relegated), joined Doncaster Rovers for 1975-76 season (39 apps) and Queen of the South in 1976-1978 (34 apps), first played first-class cricket for Yorkshire on 10 June 1961, lower-order right-hand batsman and slow left-arm spin bowler, but delayed his cricket career until he went to Leicestershire with Ray Illingworth in 1971, first full season in 1973, only player to have played County Cricket match and League Football game on same day (Leics-Derbyshire at Chesterfield and for Doncaster Rovers, 15 September 1975), key player in Leicestershire’s winning team in County Championship (1975, runners up 1982), Sunday League winners (1974, 1977, runners up 1972), and Benson & Hedges Cup winners (1972, 1975, 1985, runners up 1974), played 2 Tests against West Indies in 1976 (39 runs), athletic fielder, testimonial benefit season in 1984, retired in 1986, moving directly into umpiring (first-class umpire in 1988, stood in two one-day internationals in 1994 and 1998), [career stats], died suddenly, suffering from prostate cancer, aged 59, at his home at Aglionby, Carlisle, 6 March 2000 (CN, 10.03.2000)

Baldwin, Hawise de Quincy (nee de Quincy) (c.1250-1285), dau of Sir Robert de Quincy, marr Baldwin Wake son of Hugh Wake, mother of John Wake, 1st baron Wake of Liddell (1268-1300) (qv),  died at Liddell ( C ); Complete Peerage

Baldwin, Hugh Charles (fl.late 19thc.), BA St Catherine’s College, Cambridge, Curate of Mardale from 1891

Baldwin, John (c.1731-1788), master of Kendal poor house/ workhouse (1787), wife Elizabeth, mistress of poor house, and dau Mally (CRO, WQ/1787 census), died aged 57 and buried at Kendal, 6 February 1788, with his widow Elizabeth dying aged 55 and buried 21 February 1788

Baldwin, Martha [c.1722-1813], niece of Dr Thomas Shaw qv, noted as a bread-baker in Kendal for nearly 50 years, died in September 1813, aged 91, and buried in Kendal churchyard, 24 September

Balfour, Arthur James (1848-1930; ODNB), prime minister, friend of Sir Wilfred Lawson q.v., probably visited Brayton

Ballantyne, Thomas [d.1864] of Little and Ballantyne [est 1812], nurserymen and seedsmen originally of Botcherby, Carlisle, bought in 1840 the 150 acres estate at Knowefield wood from Hutton Bros [est 1790], seedsmen, he prospered and was famous for roses and shrubs, in 1871 the business was sold to Sir James Watt who retained the original name, supplied trees for Osborne house, and the duke of Wellington, the Cartmel and Shepherd solicitors’ building on the viaduct at Carlisle was built as his HQ in 1881 and has his initial W over the entrance and the royal arms high up upon it in token of the firm being royal warrant holders, in this period they advertised 60,000 roses being in flower at one time, forest trees, fruit trees, rhododendrons, alpines, they employed 200 staff seasonally, in 1878 they provided thousands of trees for a major planting scheme on the Isle of Man, their telegraphic address was Littletyne, Carlisle in 1902, in 1933 the land was sold for re-development; Bemrose Directory c.1881; mss National Archive and Museum of Rural Life (Wellington/627);  Little qv

Balme, David Mowbray (1912-1989) DFC DSO MA b. Carlisle, academic classicist, son of Harold Balme (qv) and Hilda Carr, daughter of Thomas William Carr, m Margaret in 1937, 5 children, first ten years in China, ed Marlborough, Clare college, Cambridge and Halle, Germany, developed love of Aristotle, tutor Jesus college, Cambridge, 2nd WW RAF as Lancaster bomber pilot, wing cdr DFC DSO, sr tutor Jesus, in 1948 to Gold Coast (now university of Ghana), returned to Queen Mary’s college, professor 1965, 1982 festschrift, Aristotle on Nature (1985); Guardian obit end Feb 1989, online 207 squadron history

Balme, Frank Maude Taylor Jones- (1834-1911), DL, JP, of Lesketh How, Ambleside, son of Edward Henry Jones (d.1865), of London, marr (1865) Hannah, dau of William Wraith (son of James Wraith, who marr Sarah, yr dau of Abraham Balme (b.1740)), assumed addnl surname and arms of Balme in 1897 on succ to High Close and Cote Wall (see below), Agent for Rydal Hall estate, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1899, marr, son (Frank Edward Thorpe Jones-Balme (1869-1951), JP, MA, on whose death, High Close was sold)

Balme, Edward Balme Wheatley- (1819-1896), DL, JP, MA, born in 1819, son of Thomas Wheatley (d.1849), of Cote Wall, Hopton, Yorks and Mary (d.1855), dau and coheir of Abraham Balme (b.1740), assumed by Royal Licence addnl surname and arms of Balme 1857, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1876, president of Langdale Institute when it agreed to take over the Langdale Library from the Parish Room in March 1891, of High Close, Loughrigg, died unm (?)

Balme, Harold (1878-1953) OBE MD FRCS, surgeon, son of Paul Balme, surveyor, and his wife nee Kirkness, ed Cooper’s GS and Kings London, prizes, St Bart’s, Boer war with Imperial Yeomanry, MRCS 1903, returned to London, became medical missionary in China, dean and president 9f Cheeloo university, published China and Modern Medicine (1921), worked Carlisle, consultant to the United Nations, d Beckenham; obit Times 16 Feb 1953, Lancet 1953, 1, 448, BMJ 1953, 1, 511,  Plarrs Lives

Balmer, Fred T (18xx-19xx), surveyor, borough surveyor and sanitary inspector, also caretaker of Town Hall, Appleby, apptd Honorary Freeman of Appleby in 1948 for 45 years’ service as Borough Surveyor of Appleby

Bamber, Joseph Edward (1909-1983), Roman Catholic priest and historian, parish priest of SS Robert and Alice, Dodding Green, Skelsmergh, near Kendal, for 36 years, elevated to canon, author of many articles, essays and booklets on his researches into 16th and 17th century Catholic history, photographed chapels, houses and priests’ holes all over country, lectured on such subjects as ‘The Secret Hiding Places of Harvington Hall’ and ‘The Skull of Wardley Hall’, member of CWAAS from 1948, founder member of Kendal Regional Group in 1952, his extensive library and collection of artefacts left to Ushaw College, Durham (Bamber Bequest), died 24 November 1983, aged 74 (WG, 16.12.83)

Bampfylde, Coplestone Warre (1720-1791), amateur artist, son of John Bampfylde, MP for Hestercombe, educ Winchester and St John’s College, Oxford, learnt to draw at an early age, inherited Hestercombe estate near Taunton, Somerset in 1750, where he also made use of his amateur interest in landscape design, made a number of painting tours of England, but only one tour of Lake District, in August 1780 (two drawings owned by Wordsworth Trust: ‘Cascade at Sr Michael Flemmings’ (Rydal Falls) and ‘View of West Side of Windermere from Ambleside’ (latter acquired in 2011))

Bancroft, Ian Powell (1922-1996; ODNB), later Lord Bancroft, civil servant b. Barrow at Risedale Maternity hospital, son of Alfred Ernest Bancroft (1886-1954) a teacher and his wife Lilian Stokes, ed Barrow GS, Sir William Turner GS at Coatham, Cleveland and Balliol college, Oxford, Rifle Brigade in 2nd WW, m. Jean Swaine, civil service, private secretary at the Treasury, to ‘Rab’ Butler, Reg Maudling and James Callaghan, then Dept Environment, HM Customs, when Margaret Thatcher abolished the civil service department in 1981 his career ended, baron 1982

Bankes, Sir John (1589-1644; ODNB), judge, born in Keswick, son of John Bankes, merchant, and his wife, Jane Malton, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric in February 1605, but left without a degree), began legal studies at Gray’s Inn in 1607, called to Bar in 1614, pres practised in north as his professional opinion was frequently sought by Lord William Howard (qv), of Naworth, in 1620s, advising him in his dispute with town (Morpeth?) over exercise of his seigneurial rights there, marr (1618) Mary (d.1661; ODNB) (qv), only dau of Ralph Hawtry, of Ruislip, Middlesex, 4 sons 6 daus, steward of manor of Renwick (on behalf of Queen’s College, Oxford) until 1632, MP for Wootton Basset 1624 and for Morpeth 1626 and 1628, bencher of Gray’s Inn in 1631 and acted as treasurer 1631-1635, knighted in June 1631, apptd attorney-general to Prince of Wales in July 1631, apptd Attorney-General on death of William Noy in August 1634, brought case of Francis Lennard’s claim to Kirkoswald manors to Court of Exchequer on 6 June 1635 (pre-emptive action), but no writ awarded and similarly when case was raised again in 1637, purchased Corfe Castle estate from Lady Elizabeth Hatton in 1635, acted as instrument rather than initiator of royal policy in late 1630s, apptd Chief Justice of Court of Common Pleas on 29 January 1641, succ Edward Littleton, sworn of Privy Council after joining Charles I at York in spring 1642, but acted as a moderating force, awarded hon DCL at Oxford on 20 December 1642, Corfe Castle besieged by parliamentary forces in May 1643, Lady Bankes held out for three years, his London house sequestered and sold by parliament in February 1644, accused of high treason by a resolution of Commons on 22 July 1644, died at Oxford, 28 December 1644, and buried in Christ Church Cathedral (monument); will of 20 September 1642 provided £200 with addnitional £30 p.a. for establishment of workhouse for poor of Keswick (CW3, x, 165); bust by Adolphus Rost upon monument in Fitz Park, Keswick. There are bronze busts (or statues) of Sir John (by Algardi) and of Lady Bankes at Kingston Lacy, she holds a large key

Bankes, Mary (nee Hawtry) (d.1661; ODNB), royalist defender of Corfe castle 1643-5, dau of Ralph Hawtry of Ruislip, Middx, wife of Keswick born Sir John Bankes (qv), besieged by Parliamentary troops when her husband was with the king, she had only five men and a few maidservants as the garrison, initially she retaliated with ordnance but later heaved hot coals and stones over the walls killing 100 assailants, after three years of holding out she was betrayed by her officer Col. Pitman who opened a sally port, in token of her courage she was presented with the keys to the castle (Kingston Lacy, NT), but the castle was ‘slighted’ with explosives in the same year, her tomb in Ruislip records that she bore ‘with a constancy and courage above her sex, a noble proportion of the late calamities’

Banks, Edwin Hodge (184x-1917), DL, JP, MA, barrister, textile merchant and landowner, yr son of William Banks (qv), of Highmoor House, Wigton, educ Cambridge University (MA), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1889, Captain in Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry, member of Cumberland County Council, chairman of Wigton Local Board/Urban District Council for many years, member of Wigton Board of Guardians, funded restoration of interior of St Mary’s church, Wigton, built Conservative Club (later Kildare Hotel) in 1887, chairman of governors of Nelson School for boys and also of Tomlinson Grammar School for girls (1910), built baths in field behind school in 1902/3 at cost of £2,500 and leased to town, dedicatee of the volume of monumental inscriptions of Wigton parish edited by Revd James Wilson (qv) and published by T McMechan in 1892, presented with his portrait in recognition of his public services in 1902 when Speaker Gully (qv) described him as “a man of few words, but of many deeds”, member of CWAAS from 1885 and frequent attender at meetings before he left Cumberland after Highmoor estates were broken up and sold in 1909 and died in Brighton, 20 August 1917 (CW2, xvii, 262); granite mausoleum with a figure of Justice in Wigton cemetery; David Cross, Public Sculpture xviii

Banks, Henry Pearson (1844-1891), DL, JP, MA, barrister, textile merchant and landowner, er son of William Banks (qv), of Highmoor House, educ Cambridge University, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1886, heightened tower at Highmoor to 136 ft and installed a full Belgian carillon in 1887, with gilded eagle on top on a green copper dome of ogee outline, then an octagonal drum for carillon, with four gablets and four corner turrets at its base, with a great bell called Big Joe below that (weighing 8 tons 16 cwt), which could be heard nearly 12 miles away, and carillon of ten bells cast by Severin Van Aerscholt of Louvain (Pevsner); granite mausoleum with a figure of Justice in Wigton cemetery

Banks, Jacob (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, LTh Durham University, Vicar of Eskdale from 1911

Banks, John (18xx-19xx), architect, land surveyor and estate agent, purchased barn, shippons and yard opposite Walnut Tree House in Levens from John Gibson for conversion to Institute or Reading Room (conveyance of 20 November 1902), original trustee of Levens Institute, when of Lawrence House, Levens (1902-03) (CRO, WDSo 88)

Banks, John (1637-1710) quaker and teacher, son of a leaseholding yeoman farmer of Cumberland, little Puritan background, educated at grammar school, a representative of the Friends rank and file in the northwest from 1654, married first to Anne Littledale and secondly to Anna Farmer, led the equivalent of parish worship by reading the liturgy, prayers and homilies sent from London, he took a good while to be wholly convinced but afterwards showed no self-doubt, manifesting openness, simplicity and ‘a sense of wonder as to how he has been led’, travelled in England and Ireland, wrote six titles listed in Wing’s bibliography. Hugh Barbour and Arthur Roberts, Early Quaker Writings, 1973 2nd ed 2002 p.180

Banks, Jonathan (16xx-1721), BA, schoolmaster, Pembroke College, Cambridge, St Bees School 1681-1686 and Appleby Grammar School from 1686

Banks, Capt Robert (b.1734), lived at South Scale on Walney Island, sat to Romney for one of his early small scale portraits (Abbot hall art gallery), as they were exact contemporaries, it seems possible that they knew each other in childhood, there is a tale told that the canvas was left behind when the family left Walney as the portrait was by ‘Romney the joiner’, a reference to his early apprenticeship to his father John Romney (qv)

Banks, Timothy (16xx-17xx), agent to Col James Grahme at Levens Hall, steward of manor of Staveley 1684>90 [Thomas Simpson in 1680] (Levens Hall MSS, manor of Staveley verdicts)

Banks, Thomas Lewis (1842-1920), architect, built Whitehaven market hall, baths and Methodist church; Pevsner and Hyde

Banks, William (1811-1878), DL, JP, linen and woollen draper, born 1811, son of William Banks (d.1860), of Keswick (son of Joseph Banks), settled in Wigton in 1835, founded firm of Banks, Henderson & Banks, linen and woollen drapers, and made a large fortune, exporting factory-made clothing to Australia, succ Hodge family at Highmoor House, Wigton in 1846, enlarging it in 1870 and adding an Osborne tower and enclosing park with two miles of iron fencing, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1871, contested Carlisle as Conservative candidate in 1874, invited to contest Berwick-upon-Tweed in 1878 but failing health forced him to withdraw and went abroad, marr, 2 sons (Henry and Edwin, qv), died at Bolton House, London, 1 May 1878, aged 67, and buried in Wigton cemetery (memorial windows in north aisle of St Mary’s church, Wigton (Ward & Hughes) and at west end of Christ Church, Silloth (Heaton, Butler & Bayne)) (HW, 187-190

Banks, Wilson (1774or5-1851), astronomer, son of John Banks of Dalston (but which one?), author of astronomical papers, died Derby; Boase supplement, i, 258

Banks, Zephaniah (17xx-1837), brewer and alderman, ‘father’ of Kendal Corporation, brewers Zephaniah and John J Banks, of Wildman Street, Kendal (1849), died 9 February 1837, aged 86, and buried at Kendal, 15 February

Banner, Delmar Harmood (1896-1963), artist, b Germany at Freiburg im Breisgau, ed Cheltenham, Oxford and Regent St Polytechnic, lived Langdale, lay reader Langdale church,  marr Josefina de Vasconcellos (qv), adopted two boys; Marshall Hall, 3

Bannerman, Edward (c.1827-1911), MA, clergyman, educ TCD (BA 1853, MA 1865), d 1855 (Derry) and p 1856 (Lim), curate of Listowel 1855-1858, All Saints, Southampton 1858, Alvanley, Cheshire 1858-1859, and Heversham 1859-1866, pc of Natland 1866-1872, vicar of Crosscrake 1871-1910, marr Catherine Mary (buried at Crosscrake, 18 November 1898, aged 59), 1 son (William Edward (qv)) and 1 dau (Catherine Jessie, buried at Crosscrake, 18 April 1900, aged 23), died at Heversham, aged 84, and buried at Crosscrake, 5 December 1911; [brother?, Revd James Macleod Bannerman, Vicar of St Stephen, Congleton, from 1873; Alfred Toosey Bannerman, of The Mortons, Castle Morton, Worcester, buried at Crosscrake, 16 June 1920, aged 41

Bannerman, (Margaret) Edith (c.1869-1936), who kept a notebook with patients’ comments and sketches, from VAD Hospital, Stramongate, Kendal, in 191x-1918 (CRO, WD/MD/H 8157), of Heversham, buried at Crosscrake, 27 August 1936, aged 67]

Bannerman, Revd William Edward (1867-19xx), MA, clergyman, born 22 April 1867 and bapt at Beetham, 30 May, son of Revd Edward Bannerman (qv), educ St John’s College, Cambridge (BA, 3rd cl Theol, 1887, MA 1891), d 1893 and p 1894 (Lich), Curate of Horninglow, Staffs 1893-1897, Vicar of Haddon 1897-1921, served WW1 as TCF 1915-1917, Hon CF 1918, Vicar of Levens 1921-1947, apptd a trustee of Levens Institute by deed of 8 May 1942 (CRO, WDSo 88), retired to Melvin Grove, Kinbough, Co Leitrim, Ireland in 1947, died by 1949/50

Barber, Frederic Clarence (1844-1870), BA, clergyman and schoolmaster, born in London, 24 May 1843, educ Magdalen College, Cambridge, apptd an assistant aaster at Sedbergh School by H G Day in 1868, curate of Howgill for one month before he died at Sedbergh on eve of his marriage, 30 April 1870, aged 26, and buried in Howgill churchyard, 4 May 1870

Barber, Henry (1838-1909), MD, FSA, doctor, antiquary and clergyman, founder of Ulverston Cottage Hospital (opened in 1873), born in Nottingham, arrived in Ulverston in 1860 (advertising as a surgeon), at Fountain Street (1866), author (as Roger Piketah) of  Forness Folk, The’r Sayin’s an Dewin’s (1870) and Furness and Cartmel Notes (1894), died in February 1909, aged 71 (CW3, v, 205-207, 213 nn 45, 53)

Barber, Jonas (1688-1764), clockmaker of Winster (BWC-B-C); Brian Loomes, Westmorland Clocks, 1974

Barbirolli, Sir John (1899-1970; ODNB), conductor and cellist, b. London the son of Lorenzo Barbirolli (1864-1928) émigré Italian violinist and his French wife, revived the fortunes of the Halle orchestra in 1943, conducted the Halle orchestra at the Coronation Hall, Ulverston on 9th September 1948

Barbour, Hugh (18xx-19xx), JP, landowner, of Tallantire Hall, Bridekirk (modern mansion on site of old manor house, of which tower still remains), lord of manor of Tallantire (1921)

Barclay, Sir Robert Noton (1872-1957), export shipping merchant, banker and MP, Lord Mayor of Manchester, educ Uppingham and Victoria University of Manchester, deputy chairman District Bank, director of the Manchester Ship Canal, lived Alderley Edge, Cheshire, bought land on Derwentwater at Ings and also Wray Castle and 64 acres, all this he gave to the National Trust

Bardgarth, J., of Melmerby, clergyman, grandfather of dean Kitchen of  Durham qv; David A. Cross, A Catalogue of the Paintings in Durham Castle, unpubl. 2001, 93, copy in Palace Green Library

Bardsey de, of Bardsea; CW2 vi 175

Bardsley, Revd Canon Charles Wareing (18xx-19xx), clergyman and author, one of founders of study of nomenclature, Vicar of Ulverston with Osmotherly 1878-19xx, Hon Canon of Carlisle 1886, Curate of St Anne, Manchester 1875-1878 and of Kersal Moor 1870-1873, d 1870, p 1871 (Manch), educ Worcester College, Oxford (BA 1868, MA 1870), and author of English Surnames, their sources and significations (3rd edn 1875), John Lexley’s Troubles (1876), Memorials of St Anne’s, Manchester (1876), Romance of the London Directory (2nd edn 1879), Curiosities of Puritan Nomenclature (1880), and Joint Editor (with Revd L R Ayre, qv) of The Registers of Ulverston Parish Church (1881-86) and Chronicles of the Town and Parish of Ulverston (1884), brother of Bishop Bardsley (qv)

Bardsley, John Wareing (1835-1904; ODNB), DD, MA, bishop of Carlisle, born at Keighley, 29 March 1835, eldest son of Revd James Bardsley (1805-1886), 6 brothers all ordained, domestic chaplain to bishop Ryle of Liverpool 1880-1887, archdeacon of Warrington 1880-1886 and of Liverpool 1886-1887, bishop of Sodor and Man 1887-1892, 59th bishop of Carlisle 1892-1904, died 14 September 1904 (memorial window in north aisle of St John’s church, Windermere)

Barham, Charles Henry (1808-1878), JP, MA, clergyman, last MP for Appleby 1832, rector of Kirkby Thore from 1848, continued his uncle Thanet’s work of  ‘repairing the old castle at Brougham’, restoring at considerable expense many decayed parts in 1848, died in August 1878 (BC, 71)

Barham, John Foster (1800-1838), MP for Kendal 1833-1837

Barker, Arthur John Willoughby (1910-2012), clergyman, born in West Ham, London, 14 October 1910, son of an East London bank manager, left school to join Barclays Bank in September 1927, marr (1939) Peggy Baker, served WW2 in pay corps and posted to Clifton, near York, transferred to Canada in 1942, where airmen were being trained, at Monkton, Medicine Hat and Ottawa, becoming a lay reader, returned home to be ordained, LCD 1946, d 1948 (Dover for Cant) and p 1949 (Cant), Curate, St Mary’s, Addiscombe, Croydon 1948-1953, Vicar of St James, Westgate-on-Sea 1953-1958, moved to Scargill House, a Christian retreat near Kettlewell, in 1958 as Warden till 1961, but remained on its council for many years, Vicar of Dent and Vicar of Cowgill 1961-1974, then of Dent with Cowgill 1974-1976, Perm to Offic from 1976, retired in 1976, remaining in Dent at West Banks until 2000, died aged 101, July 2012 (WG, 02.08.2012)

Barker, Daye (1748-1835), gunpowder manufacturer and industrialist, owned cotton mills at Backbarrow, senior partner in gunpowder company at Lowwood formed in 1798 as Daye Barker & Co (Lancs QS licence to manufacture gunpowder granted on 2 October 1798), had pretensions to gentility, had his sons educated in Kendal by Sampson (qv) in 1805 and his daughters also in Kendal school run by a Miss Richards in 1808, died in 1835 and succ by his son Daye Barker II, who expanded the Lowwood works with his brother John, developing manufacture of a finer grained sporting powder in 1850s and obtaining government contracts for military supplies, limited company formed in 1863, but hit by series of accidents and  never prospered, sold in 1882 to W H Wakefield & Co (A Palmer, Chorley Coll diss 1970; R Vickers, PhD Lancaster, 2003)

Barker, Sir Herbert Atkinson (1869-1950; ODNB), manipulative surgeon, born at Southport, 21 April 1869, only son of Thomas Wildman Barker (1833-1883), solicitor and coroner, of Southport and of Lupton Tower, and his wife, Agnes Atkinson, both of whom died by time he was 14 years old, educ Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Kirkby Lonsdale (like his father), apprenticed as pupil of his cousin, John Atkinson, bone-setter, of Park Lane, London, set up in practice on own in 1889, first in Manchester, then in London, later in Glasgow, tried again to establish himself in London in 1905, pioneered orthopaedic shoes, knighted in 1922, retired to spend much time on continent and in Channel Islands, but also of Trinity House, Holme, and often visited his sisters Annie and Edith Barker, who lived in Burton House, Burton-in-Kendal, with Thomas and Ada Barrow (1905), marr (1907) Jane Ethel (1879-1959), dau of William Wilson Walker, JP, of Liverpool, no issue, died in Lancaster Royal Infirmary, 21 July 1950, and buried ?(memorial brass tablet and window in Preston Patrick church)

Barker, John (d.c.1990), swill maker, served his time in the 1930s, lived and worked in Broughton in Furness, trained Owen Jones (a former helicopter engineer) in 1988 to continue the craft of cleaving oak and making traditional Lakeland swill baskets;, Bill Rollinson, Making Swill Baskets, 1999

Barker, Mabel Mary (1886-1961), Litt D, BSc, teacher and climber, born in Silloth in 1886, teacher with radical ideas about education, taught at school in Hertfordshire, later assisted Sir Patrick Geddes (1854-1932), the social evolutionist and city planner  at Montpellier University in France and awarded doctorate for ‘The Use of Environmental Geography for Education’, visited Lakes with her students, the ‘Walden Gypsies’, from Saffron Walden for outdoor holidays in the 1910s and 1920s, hiring tents from Millican Dalton (qv), who introduced her to rock climbing and became her friend, one of earliest members of FRCC, first woman to climb the Central Buttress on Scafell in 1925, the Girdle Traverse on Gable, and the Cullin Ridge traverse on Skye, wrote appreciation of Dalton and his theory of life (Journal of Fell and Rock Climbing Club of the Lake District, 1947), came to settle in Caldbeck in 1926, established a school at Friar Row, Caldbeck, with her junior partner, Gertrude Walmsley, founded Caldbeck Drama Group in 1928, president of Caldbeck WI 1934-36 and 1937, member of CWAAS from 1924, excavated stone cist at Lynewath Farm at foot of Carrock Fell in 1933, Friar Row school closed in 1939 on outbreak of WW2, later chemistry teacher at Peterborough High School until retiring in 1945, in demand as a lecturer, worked on history of Caldbeck and the mills of Caldbeck, but her drafts were accidentally destroyed, died 31 August 1961 and her ashes laid at the foot of Carrock crag; portrait drawing in climbing gear by G E Gascoigne, 1938 (Caldbeck Characters: Tales of Ten Local People 1777-1974, (Caldbeck and District Local History Society, 1995, 37-45); Jan Levi, And Nobody Woke up Dead c.1980s; KFF, 27-30; CW2, lxii (1962), 359; Cumbria, December 2016, 67-68; papers in possession of her nephew Arnold Barker in Caldbeck); obit. CW2 lxii 359; display Keswick Museum; articles in the Fell and Rock Club publications. Fiona Cox, One on her Own, Cumbria Life, Aug 2003 p.110-11 (this article illustrates the GE Gascoigne portrait)

Barker, Mary, lived next to Greta Hall, taught Southey children music, also artist and writer; info Dove Cottage

Barker, Tom (1887-1970), trade unionist; b. Crosthwaite [W]; Dictionary of New Zealand Biography

Barker, William (1838-1917), MA, DD, clergyman, 3rd son of Joseph Charles Barker, of Ellicombe, Somerset, chaplain to Queen Victoria 1876-1880, canon of St Paul’s 1885-1888, dean of Carlisle 1908-1917

Barker, William Arthur Alastair (Bill) (1964-2009), police officer, born 21 November 1964, educ St Bees School (1975-1983), marr Hazel, 2 sons (Daniel and Simon) and 2 daus (Emma-Louise and Melissa), lost his life in Workington flood of 20 November 2009 when Northside bridge collapsed, on eve of his 45th birthday (Bill Barker Memorial Trophy awarded for charity football tournament in aid of Great North Air Ambulance); plaque on new bridge

Barlow, John Barrow (1854-1947), schoolmaster, born at Colton, 4 August 1854, son of William Barlow and Ann (nee Barrow), marr (26 November 1878, at Preston Patrick) Sarah Parker (born 11 August 1850 and died 10 April 1914), 3 sons (John William (1880-1950), Henry Parker (1882-1961) and Alfred Dudley (1884-1958), all pupil teachers), commenced duties as monitor at Preston Patrick School on 1 November 1869, examined at Endmoor as candidate for pupil teacher on 3 March 1870 and examined at Milnthorpe on 7 March 1873, prepared for scholarship exam in December 1874, attended St John’s College, York 1875-1877/8, apptd Master of Crosthwaite School on 31 October 1878, until apptd Master of Westmorland Society School in Norwood Road, Herne Hill, London, with wife as Mistress of Household, in November 1902, but retired in 1911 after wife’s severe stroke (school closed in 1920), died 6 January 1947, aged 92 (photographs and papers in CRO, WDX 1655)

Barlow, Thomas (1608/9-1691; ODNB), Bishop of Lincoln, born in Orton, cousin of Bishop Smith, Bodley’s Librarian, monument in Buckden Church, Huntingdon (photo in CRO, WDX 652/A2128) (WW, i, 113-124); David Weston, Life of Bishop Smith, 2020, 13

Barlow-Massicks, Thomas Sr (1832-1908), industrialist, and his son Thomas Jr (1862-1899), see Massicks

Barnaby, ‘Drunken’ see Harrington

Barnard, Thomas (18xx-19xx), schoolmaster, applied for mastership of Crosby Ravensworth Grammar School (Mr Rogers having submitted his resignation in February 1880, but induced to continue for another year on condition of receiving salary of £120), a young man trained as a pupil teacher at National School, Beverley and later a student at Battersea Training College, highly recommended by Principal and others, and apptd at meeting of governors on 21 January 1881, starting on 1 March, but indicated in December 1882 his intention to resign at end of February 1883 (minute book in CRO, WPR 7/11/1/2/1)

Barneby (or Barnaby), Thomas (occ.1423-1433), Prior of Carlisle Cathedral, earliest occurrence as prior in appeal case to Court of York in December 1423 when also Bishop’s Vicar-General (Borthwick, CP.F.51), prob also ref in September 1423 (BL Addnl Charter 15770) (CW2, xcv, 284); CW2 xcv 199

Barnes, Fred [1911-1993], BA, FSA, FLA, librarian and antiquary, Borough Librarian of Barrow-in-Furness, expert in flint sites in Furness, wrote papers for CWAAS in the 1950s, member of CWAAS from 1960, appointed as librarian at Barrow in 1933 and head librarian in 1940, established the local collection including some archival material, lived Hector House, Newbarns, Barrow, retired in 1978 to 2 Collingwood Terrace, Tynemouth; published a history of the town as Barrow and District [2nd ed.1968]

Barnes, George, mathematician, born at Wigton

Barnes, Henry (1842-1921), OBE, MD, FRSEd, MRCS, JP, physician, president of the BMA, nephew of Thomas Barnes (qv), of Bunker’s Hill, consulting physician to Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle 1873-1903, hon consulting physician to Border Counties Home for Incurables on Wigton Road, Carlisle (opened in 1885) and to Cumberland & Westmorland Convalescent Institution at Silloth (erected in 1829), vice-president of British Medical Association, author of The Medical Worthies of Cumberland (1905) int. al., subscriber to Test Karl (CWAAS, 1893), of 6 Portland Square, Carlisle (CW2, xxi, 284-285); President of the British Medical Association 1896; See presidential speech, BMJ, 1st August 1896, 250 re history of Carlisle medicine

Barnes, James Martindale [1814-1890], botanist, b. Selside, Westmorland, son of Anthony Barnes, a farmer, later of Burneside Hall, taught by Rev Thomas Airey and then at Kendal, clerk in Liverpool, then London, m. Elizabeth Read in 1845, returned to Levens with independent means, cultivated his own land at Greengate, discovered new species now Gemmabryum barnesii, made extensive collections of mosses, recognised as prominent expert, 1st wife died, m. Mary Ann Crosby 1863, published Ferns of the English Lake District [1878], illustrated by WJ Linton q.v., buried at Heversham, 13 May 1890, aged 76, his son JMB Jr [b.1869] qv established Ernseat school; Ian D. Hodkinson, Three Legged Society, 2012

Barnes, James Martindale (b.1869-after 1941), of Beathwaite Green, son of James Martindale Barnes [b.1814] (qv), schoolmaster, founder of Earnseat House Preparatory School, Arnside in 1900, assisted by his brother John Anthony and sister, Annie, headmaster until 1941

Barnes, John (17xx-18xx), MA, clergyman, ed Queen’s College, Oxford, headmaster of St Bees School 1791-1811

Barnes, John [c.1930-c.2010] MBE, owner of the Abbey Horn company from 1955 to 1990 having bought it from Mr Leresche qv, making items in horn for the international market m. Jeanette, one son Christian, chairman of the original Friends of Abbot Hall;

Barnes, John Anthony Godsmark (c.1900-after 1968), schoolmaster and ornithologist, son of James Martindale Barnes (qv), whom he succ as headmaster of Earnseat School, Arnside in 1941, until his retirement in December 1968 [school closed as a boarding school in 1979], educ Cambridge University, returned about 1935 to be an asst master on school staff, completely revised Birds of the British Isles for Warnes (due in May 1969), proposed a new book on ‘Bird Life in the Lake District’ (in collaboration with J B Bottomley, leading bird photographers in Britain) in May 1969, having spent most of his life in Westmorland watching birds whenever time allowed, also published volume of poetry in 1938(?), marr (1937) Dorothy (nee Twist) (1911-2013), dau of Alexander Twist, drapery merchant Naples, who ran domestic side of school, and was involved in Arnside WI, Methodist church and RNLI branch, 2 sons (Peter Geoffrey David, aged 23, marr at Windermere RC church, 25 July 1970) and 1 dau (Helen Caldwell), died in 19xx; his Italian-born widow, Mrs Dorothy Barnes, was of Holly Wood, Ashmeadow Road, Arnside (1994), later of Holly Bank when she celebrated her 100th birthday in October 2011

Barnes, Joseph, artist, Carlisle; member Lake Artists, Renouf, 36-7

Barnes, Joseph Anthony (c.1864-19xx), lecturer, of Greengate, Levens, (42), gave notice of his marriage to Sarah Jane Greenall (39), of 3 Thorny Hills, Kendal, in FMH, Kendal, 25 August 1906

Barnes, Robert [b. 31.3.1782], threadmaker, Cockermouth, educated Kendal by Jonah Dalton, brother of John (qv), bankrupted, published verse, town crier Cockermouth; H.Winter Great Cockermouth Scholars

Barnes, Thomas (1785-1841; ODNB), journalist, born London, son of a solicitor, educ Christ’s Hospital and Pembroke, editor of The Times 1817-1841, described by Chancellor Lord Lyttketon as the ‘most powerful man in the country’, the Wigton Advertiser of 28 July 1900 indicates that his much eroded tombstone is at Wigton (why?); locate biographies by Walter Lewis (1935) and Derek Hudson (new edn 2013)

Barnes, Thomas (1793-1872), JP, MD, physician, native of Aikton, studied medicine on continent and was present at Waterloo, MD (Edin), became well known Carlisle physician, living at Bunker’s Hill, Physician to Carlisle Dispensary, founded Carlisle Fever Hospital in 1820 and Cumberland Infirmary in 1842, of which he was first Physician, also an author, wrote account of the Helm Wind (LRNW, 160), marr, dau (Mary, wife of Sir John Dunne, qv)

Barnett, Thomas (17xx-1792), MA, clergyman, Fellow of Queen’s College, Oxford, inducted as vicar of Brough by Jo.Wilson, clerk, 18 August 1768, held chapter courts at Appleby as Surrogate (‘Dr Burn unable to attend’), 9 June 1784 and 1 June 1785, died aged 72 and buried at Brough, 25 February 1792 (CRO, WPR 23)

Baron, T V (d.1990), Roman Catholic priest, parish priest of Arnside and Milnthorpe 1961-1967, died in December 1990

Barr, Amelia Edith (nee Huddleston) (1831-1919; ODNB), novelist, born at Chapel House, Ulverston, 29 March 1831, dau of Revd William Huddleston (qv), moved to Shipley, started schooling at Penrith, then at Ripon, and to Castletown, Isle of Man, went to teach at boarding school at Downham Market, Norfolk, aged 16, after family became somewhat impoverished in 1847, then moved to Glasgow, met and marr (11 July 1850) Robert Barr (d.1866), woollen mill owner, business failed and emigrated to America, arriving at New York city in September 1853, opened school for girls in Chicago, moved briefly to Memphis, Tennessee, then to Texas, first at Austin then to Galveston in 1866, large family but many of children died young, lost husband, two sons and new born baby to yellow fever in 1866, moved back to New York in 1868 with 3 daus, first teaching, but tried writing religious articles, short stories and essays, first novel (Jan Vedder’s Wife) in 1885, followed by over 60 more, mostly historical romances (as Amelia Barr), esp Remember the Alamo (1888), which is considered to have inspired film The Alamo in 1960s, autobiography All the Days of my Life (1913), success led to comfortable life with country house, Cherry Croft, at Cornwall-on-Hudson, final illness of heat stroke in July 1918 before she died at Richmond Hill, Long Island, New York, 10 March 1919, and buried in Sleepy Hollow cemetery, near Tarrytown, New York, USA, 13 March (CRO, WDSo 221/65); D. Perriam, Cumberland News, 24 April 2009

Barr, George, director Vickers, Barrow, time in Japan in shipbuilding, experienced an earthquake; Cumbria FH Soc Sept. 2020, 11ff

Barr, Capt James [d.1912], master of vessels for the PSNC shipping co., married Carlisle to Filomena Kindley q.v., shipwrecked and drowned in 1912, dramatic description in Cumbria FH Soc Sept. 2020

Barrack, William (18xx-1xxx), nurseryman, seedsman and florist, Castle Gardens, and 29 Finkle Street, Kendal, bought business from David Hartley, of 16 Market Place, who had taken over from the Meldrums (his son George was a commercial traveller, of 3 Parr Street, Kendal, 1885)

Barraclough, Neville Gilbert [b.1882 Ashby de la Zouche], director West Cumbrian iron works, lived Tallentire Hall

Barrand, Revd Charles Norris (19xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, instituted and inducted to St Peter’s church, Martindale, 9 November 1963 (CRO, WPR 92/1/3/12)

Barratt, Denis Mervyn ‘Bob’, (1938-2004), record producer, founder of Grasmere Records in 1984

Barratt, Emily [1881-1947], daughter of  James and Mary Barratt of Holywath, m. Major Charles Hext [1880-1919] who d. At Ras el Tin in Egypt, she continued to live at Holywath, Coniston, her name had been given to the Emily Barratt, the last trading schooner built in Millom [launched c.1914], the old vessel survived until the 1990s and was sold by George Pattinson ? of St Bees to the Furness Maritime Trust c.1989, following neglect and anxieties about security and accidents to the public, this precious old vessel was sawn up and lost forever following a rapid unilateral decision by Barrow council c.1995, the figurehead and a drawing of this in situ survive at the Dock Museum, brass plates to the Hexts in Coniston church; another vessel built in Ulverston was called the Maggie Barratt, perhaps of this family too; J Snell, Ulversotn Canal, 78 and 82

Barratt, John (c.1794/5-1866), proprietor of mines, born at Gwennap, Cornwall, son of resident manager of Wheal Friendship copper mine, near Tavistock, educ, worked at Marytavy as young man, agent to Duke of Devonshire at Grassington Moor lead mines, managing copper mines at Coniston, went to Hodbarrow, Millom in 1855 to explore limestones in vicinity of Towsey Hole, close to Hodbarrow Point, with help of other members of family, purchased steam winding or pumping engine from Whitehaven, first ore raised in 1856, helped by newly opened railways to Whitehaven and to Barrow, and also small coasting vessels, mine owned by a partnership of Barratt family and commercial and financial interests, principal shareholder in Hodbarrow iron mining company (owning 52 of the 100 shares), marr Ann, 3 sons (infra), of Holy Wath, Coniston, died during visit to Torquay, 14 April 1866, aged 72, and buried at Marytavy (will dated 9 February 1866, proved 6 July), leaving 3 sons: Joseph, JP, died at Holy Wath, 1869, aged 42 (will dated 2 August 1869, proved 9 November); John, died there, 11 October 1866, aged 32 (will dated 4 October 1866, proved 2 April 1867); and James (bapt at Coniston, 26 March 1837) died there, 1866, aged 28 (will dated 21 July 1866, proved 27 November) (Mining Journal, April 1866; A Harris, Cumberland Iron, 1970, 19-31; CRO, WD/AG/64/8; CW2, lxviii, 152-165; BPP, XXIV, 1864); [Coniston church organ built by Messrs Harrison, of Durham, given by Mrs Barratt, of Holywath in 1908 in memory of her mother, Mrs Petherick. Clock in church tower presented on restoration in 1891 by Emily Petherick, of Porthplan House, St Austell, Cornwall in memory of her cousin Catherine Bousfield, of Holywath, who died 24 August 1884]

Barratt, John (1817-1888) and Stanley (1804-1875), itinerant photographers; CWAAS 2017, 177

Barratt, William (18xx-1881), JP, mining proprietor, nephew of John Barratt (qv), of Holly How, Coniston (will 1875, 1881), widow Sarah (will 1886) (CRO, WD/AG/112), memorial stained glass east window of four evangelists and Good Shepherd in Coniston church to William and Sarah presented by their children in 1891

Barratt, William Isaac (18xx-1924), JP, of Kepplewray, Broughton-in-Furness, chairman of Millom UDC (member for Newtown South ward), JP for Bootle PS division, letters to R H Greenwood in 1922 (CRO, WD/AG/ box 40/ 1915-25 folder)

W D Barratt appointed Joint Manager (with C G Vaughan, qv) of Hodbarrow Mining Company Ltd in April 1924

Barret, George (c.1732-1784), RA, landscape artist, born in Dublin, son of a clothier, studied at Dublin Society Drawing School under Robert West, then becoming a teacher of drawing himself, came to notice of Edmund Burke, who introduced him to Lord Powerscourt, who became his patron, with dramatic scenery of the Dargle and Powerscourt estate in Wicklow, with its impressive waterfall, becoming a lifelong inspiration, moved to London in 1763, exhibited his first Lake District painting, a View of Ullswater, in 1770, watercolour sketch of Ullswater (sun rising over a misty landscape, c.1765-1770, “Done by old Barret”) acquired by Wordsworth Trust in 2011, known as a fashionable artist, successful but financially improvident, leaving his family destitute when he died in London in May 1784, but proved great inspiration to later Romantic watercolour artists; son, George Barret the younger (1767-1842), artist (SGNT, 141-142)

Barrett, John Sr. (c.1730-1784), artist; visited the Lakes and the Lowthers bought his work;

Barrett, Kathleen (1912-1979), headmistress Alfred Barrow School, Barrow; Our Barrovians, ed Alice Leach, 22-31

Barrett, Robert Bell (18xx-19xx), JP, land agent, Agent for Appleby Castle and Skipton Castle Estates 1882- (WL), 1885

Barrow, Revd Anthony (17xx-18xx), clergyman, Curate of Kentmere, dau Elizabeth (buried at Kendal, 3 November 1809, aged 20)

Barrow, Dennis (1942-2018), huntsman, born in Little Langdale, er son of Herbert Barrow and his wife Lucy, and brother of Colin, educ Little Langdale School and Ambleside, worked in slate quarries at Hodge Close and Broughton Moor, appointed whipper-in to Coniston Foxhounds (with Anthony Chapman (qv) as huntsman) in 1960, leaving in 1969 to do shepherding work for Matson Ground Farms, Windermere, being based at Braesteads, Patterdale, for two years, appointed huntsman of Ullswater Foxhounds in 1971, succeeding Joe Weir (qv), and dedicated to job until 1996, when he moved to Longsleddale to do building and property maintenance jobs with his friend Peter Martin, but had heart attack in 1998 and moved back to Glenridding in 2002, keen hound trail breeder and trainer, winning the Hound Trailing Association’s senior championship for two successive seasons and other titles, marr (1967) Carol, 1 son (Neil) and 1 dau (Denise, Mrs Bland), died at his home in Glenridding, 26 February 2018, aged 77, with funeral at St Patrick’s Church, Patterdale, and cremated at Beetham Hall, 12 March (CWH, 10.03.2018)

Barrow, George (fl.1830/40s), schoolmaster, Master of National School, Beast Banks, Kendal (1840) [Henry Austin in 1829 and Richard Roberts by 1849], marr (183x) Eliza Jane, son (George Frederick, buried at Kendal, 9 June 1840, aged 4)

Barrow, Capt. James, cousin of Sir John; Rob David CWAAS 2008, 198

Barrow, Sir John (1764-1848), 1st Bt, FRS, promoter of exploration and author, second secretary, Admiralty 1804-1806 and 1807-1845, longest serving second secretary, co-founder 1830 Royal Geographical Society and president 1835-1837, Sir John Barrow Cottage his birthplace is open in Ulverston; monument erected on Hoad hill 1850 by subscription, the queen contributed, (Andrew Trimen, architect); biography Barrow’s Boys; Rob David, Building ‘that best monument’, CW3 viii 189ff

Barrow, John (1808-1898), FRS, archivist, born 28 June 1808, elected FRS on 12 December 1884, author of Mountain Ascents in Westmoreland and Cumberland (London, 1886), one of the last people to document Thirlmere valley before it was flooded, died 9 December 1898

Barrow, John and William, farmers, Coniston, their Day Book survives; CW3 xiv 231

Barrow, William (d.1429; ODNB), bishop of Carlisle

Barrow, William (1754-1832; ODNB), BA, DCL, FSA, clergyman and writer on theology, bapt at St Andrew’s church, Dent, 16 December 1754, son of John Barrow, of Sedbergh, educ Sedbergh School and Queen’s College, Oxford (entd 1774 as Hastings Exhibitioner, BA 1778), won Chancellor’s Prize for essay on academic education, DCL and Bampton Lecturer 1799, FSA, kept an academy in Soho Square for a time, to which Boswell sent his second son, prebendary of Southwell 1815, Archdeacon of Nottingham 1830, author of treatise on education, and sermons, died 19 April 1836 (MI in nave of Southwell Minster) (SSR, 153)

Barrow, William, lived Abbot Hall, Kents Bank, may have built Kirkhead Tower

Barter, C C (19xx-19xx), local councillor, last chairman of Lakes Urban District Council to 1974

Bartholomew, Jack (19xx-xxxx), soldier, major, of Arkleby Hall, Plumbland, marr Elizabeth (died 8 February 2019, aged 91, and buried at St Cuthbert’s, Plumbland, 22 February), 3 sons and 1 dau

Bartle, Fred [1884-1944], gamekeeper and founder of Caldbeck Sports, Caldbeck Characters, Caldbeck Hist Soc, 1995

Barton, Bernard (1784-1849; ODNB), bank clerk and poet, born in Carlisle, 31 January 1784, son of Quaker parents, John Barton (1755-1789) (qv), manufacturer, and his wife Mary (nee Done) (1752-1784), who died a few days after his birth, and his 2nd wife Elizabeth Horne (1760-1833), of Tottenham. moved to London, father in malting business at Hertford till his death, then settled at Tottenham, brother of educational writer Maria Hack  (1777-1844; ODNB) and half-brother of economist John Barton (1789-1852; ODNB), educ Quaker school at Ipswich, marr at Woodbridge (6 August 1807) Lucy Jesup (1781-1808), 1 dau (Lucy, later wife of his friend Edward Fitzgerald (1809-1883; ODNB)), joined her brother Benjamin in coal and corn merchant business, but moved after his wife’s death to be tutor to William Waterhouse, Liverpool merchant, for a year, returned to Woodbridge as clerk in Messrs Alexander’s Bank until his death, friend at Woodbridge of Edward Fitzgerald, Allan Cunningham and Thomas Churchyard qqv but devoted his time to literary work, published first volume of poetry Metrical Effusions in 1812 and began correspondence with Southey, first met Charles Lamb in 1822 and became friends, further volumes of poems until final Household Verses in 1845, received a pension of £100 a year from Peel, died at Thorsfare, Woodbridge, 19 February 1849

Barton, James Greaves (c.1788-1852), solicitor, of Ulverston, son of Revd Roger Barton, Rector of Hoole, near Preston, marr 3rd Ann (died 25 June 1856, aged 49), died 9 September 1852, aged 64 (MI Holy Trinity churchyard, Ulverston)

Barton, John (1755-1789), quaker and abolitionist, lived Carlisle, father of the poet Bernard Barton and the economist John Barton qqv

Barton, John (1789-1852; ODNB), quaker and economist, son of John Barton, half brother of the poet Bernard Barton qv

Barton, John (17xx-18xx), hosier, purchased “new built” burgage house on west side of Highgate [now 144], Kendal, from Lieut William Haygarth, RN, of Preston Patrick, in 1796 (CRO, WD/GKG/1/T18), bequeathing it to his wife, then to his nieces Jane and Anne Barton, daus of his brother, Revd William Barton (qv), by will of 1828 (proved 27 August 1833), (also legacies to brother Richard Barton and sister Magdalen Elleray, and niece Alice Butcher) (T23)

Barton, William (17xx-18xx), clergyman, Rector of Windermere, devisee in trust under will of Isaac Knipe, clerk, of Ambleside (deed of 18 February 1803, CRO, WD/HW/acc8764), marr Ann, 4 daus Mary (bapt 15 April 1785, bur 15 April 1804), Jane (bapt 11 August 1786), Ann (bapt 21 November 1787, bur 6 May 1847) and Alice (bapt 20 April 1789, marr Butcher), who as widow agreed under Jane’s will, 5 February 1855, to convey Highgate property to Miss Dorothy Greenhow, of Kendal (WD/GKG/1/T24, T27)

Bartrum, Marian MBE (b.1857), commandant Eggerslack war hospital, dau of Rev Edward Bartrum vicar of Newhall, Derbys, lived Lynwood, Grange over Sands, here tyrained the detachment of nurses, led the weekly making of bandages in local homes, sent 3000 to Serbia and France

Barwick, John (1612-1664; ODNB), DD, BD, MA, dean of St Paul’s, born at Witherslack, 20 April 1612, 3rd of five sons of George Barwick, of Witherslack, and wife Jane (or Jennett) Barrow, of Cartmel (marr 1 August 1606), educ Sedbergh School, fellow of St John’s College, Cambridge, leading intelligence agent for Royalist cause, one of principals who helped secure money and plate from Cambridge University for king at outbreak of war in 1642, betrayed and sent to Tower for two years and four months in 1650, but released without trial in August 1652, attended Dr John Hewitt on scaffold in 1658 (receiving his ring which he wore until his own death), later sent over £1,728 to king between April and June 1659, played central role (with John Otway, qv) in paving way for Restoration, refused a bishopric but accepted deanery as Dean of Durham 1660-1661, then as Dean of St Paul’s 1661, unmarried, died of pleurisy in London, 22 October 1664, aged 52; will of 21 October made many bequests, inc £40 to Sedbergh School,  Witherslack, etc, to his ‘special friends’ Barnabus Oley, James Cookson and John Kirkby (copy in LRO, DDPd/41/1) (WW, ii, 1-22; CW2, lxv, 240-283); Hyde and Pevsner 696

Barwick, Peter (1619-1705; ODNB), FCP, MD, MA, physician, born at Witherslack, 4th son of George Barwick and yr brother of John Barwick (qv), marr Ann Sayon, widow, 1 surv dau (Mary, wife of Sir Ralph Dutton, Bt, of Sherborne, Dorset), physician to Charles II, author of The Life of John Barwick, died in Westminster, 4 September 1705, aged 85, and later buried with his wife at St Faith’s, London (WW, ii, 179-184);

Barwis family, CW2 li 117 and 135; CW2 xxxvii 106

Barwis, Richard, son of Anthony Barwis and his wife Grace Fleming of Rydal, MP for Carlisle 1628-48, a Parliamentarian, known as ‘Great Richard’ was very strong, could lift a vast stone, lived Ilekirk Hall; Hudleston (C)

Barwise family of Lowsay; CW2 xlvi 157

Barwise, Rev John, his journals; CW1 or CW2 xlv 67

Barwise, John (fl.1654/57), JP, from branch of Islekirk family?, as a Justice of the Peace approved and pronounced marriages in Wigton church in 1654-1657 (Wigton PRs, I, 79-80)

Bateman, James (c.1749-1824), ironmonger and manufacturer of steam engines, son of John Bateman of Tolson Hall, Burneside, business at Deansgate, Manchester from 1773, foundry at Salford and a second one at Dukinfield, Cheshire, his business partner was William Sherratt by 1788, became one of the largest mfrs of stationary steam engines used for powering the Lancashire cotton mills, m Margaret (d.1819), erected Islington House, Salford, owned Tolson Hall but retired to Knypersley Hall, Staffordshire, erected obelisk at Plumsteads, Kendal to commemorate William Pitt (Waterloo acc to Mannex, 1849), many sources say to celebrate the capture of Napoleon and his imprisonment on Elba, d. Salford and buried St Stephen’s church; for the complex story of ‘the Elba monument’ see file Kendal reference library; Grace’s Guide

Bateman, James (1893-1959), RA, artist, born Kendal, President of Kendal Art Society to 1950 (then hon life member), of 101 East Sheen Avenue, Twickenham, then of 25A Glebe Place, Chelsea, London; exhibitions in Kendal in 1960 and 1993 (file in CRO, WDSO 363);  work at Tate, Laing and Cheltenham, correspondence at RA RAA/SEC/4/8; Melvyn Bragg, Land of the Lakes, 187; Marshall Hall, 4; Frances Spalding, 20thc Painters and Sculptors, 1990

Bateman, John, engineer (d.1816 in 67th year), of Corkickle, member of Newcastle Lit and Phil; Hudleston (C)

Bateman, John (17xx-18xx), colliery manager, in charge of Howgill colliery division when he succ James Spedding (qv) as Lonsdale’s manager at Whitehaven on his retirement in 1781, spent ten years improving efficiency of collieries until dismissed following an accident on 31 January 1791, but returning to his post in 1802 until his enforced departure with his nephew, John B Longmire, in 1811 when succ by John Peile (qv) (WCC, 70-72, 83-100, 108-111)

Bateman, Miles (fl.1550s), chapman of Kendal; CW2 lix 72

Bateman, Robert (c.1678/9-1743), merchant, born in Hugill, c.1678/9 [no bapt reg], made fortune in London and Leghorn, probably began to build Leghorn Hall c.1741 (now Reston Hall, datestone 1743), Ings, died at Leghorn, Italy, in 1743, aged 64/5, and buried in English cemetery there, leaving legacies in will made on 21 November, with codicil on 15 December (The Will of Robert Bateman, 1965), for rebuilding of St Anne’s church, Ings, £1,000 for purchase of land and building of cottages for needy in Hugill township in 1743, three bells hung in Hugill church inscribed ‘Robert Bateman Merchant in Leghorn’ dated 1743, and coat of arms with inscription over church door (poem by Wordsworth inscribed on his memorial in chancel; portrait in oils at Reston Hall, with copy presented to Ings church by W H Challiner, qv) (CW2, lxx, 60); Pevsner and Hyde, 419-20

Bateman, Robert (18xx-1934), librarian, (CN, 14.04.2017)

Bateman, Wynne (fl.mid 18thc.) DD, clergyman and schoolmaster, later head of Sedbergh school, refused to pay Romney (qv) for his portrait until the artist sent a solicitor’s letter; David A Cross, A Striking Likeness, 2000, 30

Bates, Sir (Charles) Loftus (1863-1951), KCMG, CB, DSO, DL, JP, army officer and racecourse owner, born 2 August 1863, son of Thomas Bates, of Aydon, Northumberland, educ Eton, 2nd Lieut, Northumberland Militia (Royal Artillery) 1881, Lieut, 1st King’s Dragoon Guards 1884, resigning as Captain 1896, volunteered to serve in South African War as Captain with 5th Bn Imperial Yeomanry 1900 and Major, Northumberland Hussars 1901-1902 (severely wounded, despatches, DSO 1900), Hon Lieut-Col 1903, Hon Col 1905 and Colonel of Regiment 1913, served WWI in France as deputy Director of Remounts with BEF 1914-1915 (CMG 1916) and in Egypt as Director of Remounts in Sinai-Palestine campaign 1916-1919 (Order of White Eagle of Serbia 1917, CB 1918, KCMG 1919, despatches four times), Hon Brigadier-General 1919, active Conservative in period between wars contesting Hexham in March 1907 by-election and January 1910 general election, Deputy Chairman of Northumberland Quarter Sessions, DL (1911) and JP, chairman of Bedlington Coal Company Ltd 1923-1947, Director of Wallsend and Hepburn Coal Company Ltd 1940-1947 and of Hartley Main Collieries 1947, chairman of Racecourse Owners Association, manager of Carlisle Racecourse to 1946, marr at St Mary’s, Hexham (27 April 1892) Katharine (d.1937), dau of Edward Leadbitter, of The Spital, Hexham, 1 son (Edward Giles), died 9 March 1951 (WWW, V, 75) (prob related to the Northumbirna landowner and antiquary Cadwallader John Bates (1853-1902; ODNB)

Batey, Derek (1928-2013), TV presenter, born at Brampton, near Carlisle, trained in ventriloquism, 1st BBC programme 1958, then Border TV, made 450 editions of the popular series ‘Mr and Mrs’, later presented by Julian Clary, m. Edith, one dau Diane, d. Lytham

Batey, Herbert Taylor (1922-2012), MA, clergyman, born in Carlisle, 2 August 1922, yr son of Stan and Elsie Batey and yr brother of Keith (qv), educ Carlisle Grammar School and Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 1941, scholarship, read physics, completing degree in four terms), then assigned to Royal Aircraft Establishment at Farnborough, working on calculating flight paths of rockets and bombs, engaged to Celia Dunstan on 3 December 1941, changed his atheist views to being confirmed in CoE in February 1942 and became increasingly concerned at morality of Bomber Command campaign, decided to offer himself for ordination in 1944, marr (28 July 1945) Celia, dau of Victor Dunstan (qv), 1 son (Jonathan) and 1 dau (Ruth), returned to Oxford to read theology (BA 1946, 2nd cl Theol 1947, MA 1948) and trained at Lincoln Theological College, d 1948 and p 25 September 1949 (Carl), curate of Dalton-in-Furness 1948-1950 and Egremont 1950-1952, vicar of Cleator Moor 1952-1959 (left at end of April), elected member of Cumberland County Council, invited to apply for post of chaplain to St Bees School in 1959, also as master teaching divinity and mathematics, also Lic to Pr, Dio Carlisle 1959-1964, chaplain to Culham College, Abingdon 1964-1968, also lecturer 1964-1968 and principal lecturer 1968-1975, Lic to Pr, Dio Oxford 1964-1968, priest-in-charge of St Paul’s, Culham 1968-1975, select preacher, Oxford University 1975, vice-principal of Combined College of Ripon and York St John 1975-1987, steering college through difficult times, hon canon of Ripon Cathedral 1985-1992, retiring in August 1987, of 29 College, Ripon, but then asked by dean of Ripon to take on St Michael’s, Littlethorpe, which he did until 2007, walking couple of miles from Ripon to Littlethorpe whenever possible, then became ill after his last service in 2007, moved with Celia (who had contracted polio in 1956) to Clova House Care Home, becoming frailer, where he died, 9 July 2012 (OSB, No.183, January 2013. 33-35)

Batey, John Keith (1919-2010), code-breaker, born at Longmoor, Cumberland, 4 July 1919, son of Stan Batey (severely wounded on Somme), fish and game merchant, Carlisle, and Elsie, a part-time primary school teacher, family business closed in 1930s, educ Carlisle Grammar School and Trinity College, Cambridge (state scholarship to read mathematics), marr (November 1942) Mavis Lever, also a code-breaker at Bletchley Park, 1 son and 2 daus, died in Oxfordshire, 28 August 2010, aged 91 (DT, 02.09.10)

Batey, William Abbott (1920-xxxx), clergyman, born 1920, Cranmer Hall, Durham 1962, d 1963 and p 1964, curate of Appleby and Murton cum Hilton 1963-1966, rector of Moresby 1966-1977, priest-in-charge of Arnside 1977-1985 and vicar 1985-1990, retired in 1990, perm to offic, dio Carlisle from 1990, of 33 Greengate, Levens

Batten, Henry Howard (1847-1912), JP, civil servant, born at Penzance, Cornwall in 1847, educ Tonbridge School, Kent, called to Bar, but spent most of his career in Civil Service, becoming clerk to London City Parochial Foundation, retired to Westmorland in c.1908, settling at Acorn Bank, Temple Sowerby, apptd magistrate, member of Eden Fishery Board, and president of local agricultural society, member of CWAAS from 1908, reading paper on history of Acorn Bank on occasion of society’s visit (CW2, ix, 161-165), taken ill shortly after excursion to Holme Cultram in June 1912, and died 23 July 1912 (CW2, xiii, 421)

Battersby, Thomas Dundas Harford- (1822-1883), MA, clergyman and co-founder of the Keswick Convention, born at Mortimer House, Clifton, Bristol, 3 October 1822, yr son of Abraham Gray Harford Battersby and his wife Elizabeth (nee Dundas), curate of Holy Trinity, Grange in Borrowdale 1861-1862, vicar of St John’s, Keswick for 32 years, inspired by American preacher, Robert Pearsall Smith, to set up (with Robert Wilson (qv), of Broughton Grange) an evangelical convention, first being held in a tent at St John’s Vicarage, Keswick in 1875, marr (19 September 1854) Mary (died in London, 21 July 1885, aged 62), dau of George Forbes (see Forbes of Monymusk, Bt) and his wife Mary Hay, 5 sons (John, b. 1857; Dundas, b. 1858; George, b. 1860; Alfred, b. 1863; and Charles Forbes, b.1864, d.1925) and 1 dau (Mary Elizabeth, b. 1862), died at St John’s parsonage, 23 July 1883, aged 60 (memorials in external west end of church); (Revd Dundas Harford, MA, 2nd son, born 23 October 1858, marr (1893) Enid (born 15 September 1861, died 4 October 1938), dau of W G Howell, 2 sons and 2 daus, died 7 February 1953; his son, Sir James Dundas Harford, KBE, CMG, colonial administrator, born 7 January 1899, died 26 November 1993, whose 2nd wife died 9 December 2006, aged 99, with funeral at Westcott, near Dorking, 5 January 2007, also memorialised on stone near that of Harford-Battersby); (Revd John Harford Battersby, eldest son, born June 1857, marr (1887) Edith, 1 son and 1 dau, chairman of Keswick Convention 1918-1920, died xxxx)

Baty, Elizabeth (Lizzie), the ‘Brampton Witch’, Parsons, Brampton, 1996, 72; C.News 10.12.2010; (qv) Mary Baynes

Baty, Richard [d.1758], priest and oculist, born Arthuret, vicar Kirkandrews on Esk, provided a ferry across the river Esk, he published three books including Seasonal Advice to a Careless World (1756); Hutchinson vol 2 681

Bauck, William, philanthropist Kendal; CW3 xiv 139

Baxter, George (‘Twinkletoes’), portly Carlisle United supporter who dressed in a blue suit and a top hat and brought Olga the team’s fox mascot onto the pitch before each match in the 1970s, when Carlisle was top of the league, his day job was in refuse disposal, Olga had been chosen as a reference to the huntsman John Peel qv; Guardian 29 January 2010

Bayliff, Dover (1743-1793), inventor, of Stramongate, Kendal, b. Parkamoor, son of William Bayliff and Margaret Benson, m. Hannah (1756-1823) the dau of Isaac Rigg and Alice Ecroyd, 3 s and 2d, inventor of improved design of machine for wire carding in 1775, following William Pennington (qv), in 1776 he paid apprentice duty for Phineas Mark

Baynes of Cockermouth, family; CW2 xxxv 30

Baynes family of Sellett Hall; CW2 xxviii 63

Baynes, James (1766-1837), artist, b. Kirkby Lonsdale; Marshall Hall, 5

Baynes, Mary (1721-1811), the ‘Tebay Witch’, unmarried, bad tempered when teased by children, her reputation grew and she was said to have magic powers, any unpleasant event came to be attributed to her, a ploughman she had cursed was blinded by the handle of his plough, she forecast horseless fiery carriages coming at great speed up Lune Valley, many years before the railway arrived at Tebay; (qv) Elizabeth Baty

Baynes, Richard (16xx-1744), county clerk, born at ?, 16xx, apptd Clerk of the Peace for Westmorland at date unknown, but dismissed for misdemeanours in execution of office by Quarter Sessions, Easter 1702, brought case against justices, whose petition for a writ of error was allowed, 28 November 1704, reinstated as order for his dismissal was quashed in Queen’s Bench, Trinity 1706, despite petition of Thomas Carleton (qv), who had been apptd Clerk in his place (allowed 12 April 1706), retired 1729, died 1744 (TNA, CSPDom, Anne, iii, 858; iv, 668)

Baynes, Richard (d.1771), Cockermouth, left £100 for the poor in 1771, the interest used to provide bread; YPR 26/10/; Report of Commissioners re Charities 1827, vol. 5, 51

Baynes, Robert (fl.mid 18thc), solicitor, agent and steward, steward of manor of Egremont (1756-1768), lived Cockermouth, originally from Kendal (CW2, xvii, 50); his descendant was Susanna Yerburgh (d.1860), dau of John Higgin, of Wenning Cottage and Greenfield, Lancaster, sister and coheir of William Housman Higgin, QC, DL, JP, of Springfield Hall, Lancaster, and first wife (marr 1846) of Richard Yerburgh (1817-1886), vicar of Sleaford, Lincs, and owner of 376 acres in Cumberland (see Alvingham, Baron) (CW2, lxxxiv, 123)

Beale, Dorothea (1831-1906; ODNB), headmistress, suffragist and pioneer in education, dau of Dr Miles Beale, surgeon, and Dorothy Complin [of Huguenot extraction], influenced by her cousin Frances Cornwallis [1786-1858] a feminist writer, met Frances Mary Buss [1827-1894; ODNB] at Queen’s College, Harley St., apptd Headteacher of Clergy Daughters’ School, Casterton on 15 December 1856, found it “in an unhealthy state” (for detailed criticisms, see HCS, 55-59), offered to resign and accepted at Christmas 1857, questioned by committee of management in January 1858, apptd Principal of Cheltenham Ladies College in June 1858, the main mover behind the founding of St Hild’s College, Oxford in 1892-3, followed Miss Frances Mary Buss by then head of London collegiate school as president of the headmistresses association, they inspired the satirical lines: ‘Miss Buss and Miss Beale, Cupid’s darts do  not feel’……., Beale was acknowledged by Edinburgh University who gave her the second ever hon LLD in 1902

Beamish, Elizabeth Sarah (Sally) (1964-2018), gardener, b. Freedom Fields hospital, Plymouth, dau of William Beamish (1920-1996) RN of co. Cork and civil servant at Mount Wise, Plymouth and his wife (m.1964) Andree Joy Patricia (1932-2016) who was a keen gardener and had worked as a groom on the Scottish borders, ed Coombe Dean School, Plymouth College of FE and Askham Bryan College, Yorkshire, became keen on trees in part because she was told that working in that field was not an option for girls, this doubled her determination, vacation work at Nancy university at their high altitude alpine botanic garden in the Vosges, experience with a tree surgeon, a landscape contractor, Nottingham city council, RHS Wisley (in the wild garden and at Seven Acres), SW Nursery Stock Group, managed three Manpower Services teams in West Cumbria with  the Groundwork Trust and CCC, appointed in 1988 at Brantwood to restore the steep fifteen acre woodland garden and improve 240 acres of woodland neglected for eighty years, lived in a former forestry cottage along Coniston lake shore to the south of Brantwood, engaged in major research projects to restore Ruskin’s garden designs, organising a team reading mss and discovering elements of the garden, keen on sailing, windsurfing, photography, bell ringing, member of the Woodland Trust, the Men of the Trees, RHS, Professional Gardeners Guild, Lakes Horticultural Society, also enjoyed competition driving, her pony Sam was trained to pull out logs from the woodland, in 2000 was central to the recreated funeral service for Ruskin’s centenary at Coniston church by driving Ruskin’s coach (containing a symbolic lantern) with Sam to the lake en route to Brantwood, awarded a Loyal Service Award by the Professional Gardeners Guild, died prematurely in St Mary’s Hospice, Ulverston 21 June 2018; obit West Gazette

Beatham, Robert Matthew (Bob) (1894-1918), VC, soldier, born at Glassonby, 16 June 1894, educ Maughanby School, did farm work at Nether Haresceugh, Kirkoswald, until joining his elder brother Walter in emigrating to Australia in 1914, enlisted as private with 8th Bn, Australian Imperial Forces and served at Gallipoli and on Western Front, wounded at the Somme 1916 and at Passchendaele 1917, but mortally injured as he rushed a machine gun post at Rosieres east of Amiens on 9 August 1918, dying on 11 August; his mother Elizabeth accepting award at Buckingham Palace in March 1919 (his VC sold for £700 in 1967 and again for Aus$178,500 in 1999; memorial stone unveiled by Lord Lieutenant at Castle Park, Penrith, followed by service in St Andrew’s Church, 9 August 2018) (CWH, 25.11.2017; 11.08.2018); Australian Dictionary of Biography

Beattie, Kevin (1953-2018), footballer, b. Carlisle, son of Thomas Beattie, played for Ipswich

Beaty, William (1872-after 1911), b. Dean, cobbler and writer; author of Scraps from a Village Cobbler, 1911

Beauchamp, Thomas de, or Bello Campo (occ.1351), acted as Sheriff of Westmorland in 1351

Beaufort, John, duke of Somerset (1404-1444; ODNB), magnate and soldier, created earl of Kendal and Duke of Somerset, 28 August 1443, father of Margaret Beaufort (qv), died 27 May 1444 (GEC, XII, part I, 46-48; IPM, 22 Hen VI, n.19)

Beaufort, Margaret (Lady Margaret Beaufort; ODNB), Countess of Richmond and Derby (1443-1509), the King’s Mother, Kendal barony being at heart of her revenues

Beaumont, Sir George (1753-1827; ODNB), patron, artist and collector, visited Wordsworth, painted Piel Castle in a Storm (Leicester AG) which echoes the poet’s lines: ‘I was thy neighbour once thou rugged pile’, founder of National Gallery (SGNT, 142)

Beaumont, William (Guillaume) (16xx-1727), garden designer, employed by Colonel James Grahme at Bagshot, then laid out Levens Hall gardens from 1689 to 1692 when the family returned to Bagshot, based there until the house at Levens was ready, (details in A. Bagot, Journal of Garden History, III, 4, 66-78, Autumn 1975 - copy in CRO, WDY 578)

Beck, George Morland (18xx-19xx), JP, son of George Morland Beck (1865-1924), (who purchased the Beckside Hall block of Ingmire Hall estate at sale on 4 August 1922 for £8,000, also Low Stangerthwaite for £2,300, and other smaller lots, incl manorial rights (sporting) of Holme Fell for £115, and Morland Hall from H E Atkinson (qv) at auction in 1923), maintained stud of Clydesdale horses and non-pedigree Shorthorn cattle at The Lane Estate, Newbiggin-on-Lune, Ravenstonedale, of which he was tenant (estate later sold by auction, 27 September 1937) and of Fremington, Brougham, first President of the Rough Fell Sheep Breeders Association 1927 and awarded first cup to competitors at shows, died aged 58

Beck, Thomas (18xx-19xx), farmer, of Fairbank, Staveley, world traveller and Westmorland County Councillor 1891-1905 (LVTT, 14)

Beck, Thomas Alcock (1795-1846; ODNB), antiquary, born at Newcastle upon Tyne, 1795, son of James Beck (d.1812), of The Grove, Hawkshead, and grandson of James Beck (d.1798), of Burton-in-Kendal, and of Sawrey House, attended Hawkshead GS, marr (25 April 1838 in own house by special licence) Elizabeth (1799-1880), dau of William Fell, of Ulverston, no issue, disabled, had £2,000 per annum (Wordsworth Letters, iii, pt.2, 550), built Esthwaite Lodge, Hawkshead (attrib to Websters, 1819-1821), where he wrote Annales Furnesienses (1844), letters re its publication 1840-1845 in Armitt Library (AL MS 385 I /C/1-), died 24 April 1846 and buried at Hawkshead, 30 April; succ by kinsman, William Towers (qv); Thomas Beck Towers, of Hawkshead, marr by licence (18 June 1816, at Kendal Holy Trinity) Margaret Willison, of Kendal

Beck, William Alcock (c.1835-1911), BA, JP, of Tower Bank, Sawrey, formerly of Esthwaite Lodge, chairman of Hawkshead Petty Sessional Division, JP Lancashire (qual April 1859), buried at Hawkshead, 26 October 1911, aged 76; Thomas Alcock Beck, of Tower Bank, Sawrey, buried at Hawkshead, 20 April 1921, aged 84; auction sale of effects (incl portrait) at Tower Bank, Near Sawrey, belonging to Trust of late Thomas Alcock Beck, 7-8 April 1932 (CRO, WDB 32/34); Cartington Castle, near Rothbury, sold to Lord Armstrong in 1873; Ellen Alice Alcock-Beck, of Tower Bank, Hawkshead, buried at Hawkshead, 23 December 1931, aged 94; Agnes Ellen Alcock-Beck, also of Tower Bank, buried at Hawkshead, 23 May 1938, aged 79

Becker, Ferdinand (fl.1780-1825), artist (SGNT, 143)

Beckett, Sir John (1775-1847), 2nd Bt, FRS, banker and politician, born 1775, son of 1st Bt, succ father in 1776, educ Cambridge (fifth wrangler 1795), marr (1817) Lady Anne Lowther (1788-1871) (died at Stratford Place, London, aged 83, and buried at Lowther, 14 November 1871), 4th dau of 1st Earl of Lonsdale (qv), no issue, MP for Lowther pocket boroughs of Cockermouth 1818-1821 and Haslemere 1826-1832, then elected for Leeds  (LF, 389; CWMP, 335)

Bective, earl of, see Taylour; see J.D. Battle, Underley Hall, c.1965

Bedford, earl of, see Coucy

Bedford, duke of, see John (John of Lancaster)

Beeby family, Allonby, ran fish yards for salted herring

Beeby, Martha, wife of Thomas Richardson, b. Allonby (m.1799) (q.v.)

Beecham, John (1815-1894), chairmaker and cave archaeologist, of 17 Shaw’s Brow, House of Correction Hill, Windermere Road, Kendal (1858, 1873, 1885), investigated Helsfell Fissure and sieved material for animal bones (Hannah O’Regan paper)

Beet, Peter Leslie (1937-2005), physician, b. Kendal, GP Kendal and preserver of steam locomotives

Beeton, Isabella Mary (1836-1865; ODNB), cookery writer, daughter of Benjamin Mayson (1801-1840) (qv), of a Cumberland family

Bega (St Bega) (supp fl. late 7th cent; ODNB), legendary Irish saint, who landed on west coast of Cumberland, Abbess of Hartlepool, feast day on 7 November, local church dedication at Bassenthwaite, associated holy well at St Bees (St Bega’s), and modern RC dedication of St Bega’s Chapel at Cleator Moor and St Begh’s Priory, Whitehaven (1706, 1868, cons 1907); subject of Credo: An Epic Tale of Dark Age Britain by Melvyn Bragg (1996) (CW2, lxxx, 23-35);  sculpture by Colin Telfer (qv) at St Bees beside railway station

Begley, Father Patrick (d.1987), RC priest, incumbent of the RC church in Upperby St Margaret Mary for 40 years, the first catholic to preach in Carlisle cathedral since the 16thc, in 1937-8 invited five nuns of the Sacred Heart of Mary to set up St Gabriel’s school, later this school was an element of the new Newman’s School, remembered in 2022 by a 90 year old parishioner as ‘a tartar’; photographs of the S Margaret Mary church in Carlisle archives

Belfield, Rasselas (1790-1822), freed slave, native of Abyssinia, died 16 January 1822, aged 32, and buried in St Martin’s churchyard, Bowness-on-Windermere, under east window 19 January (MI)

Bell, Adam, 14thc archer in Inglewood Forest, a Cumbrian Robin Hood; Francis James Child, English and Scottish Popular Ballads, no 116, 1904

Bell, Ann, chapbook printer Penrith

Bell, Barrow, land surveyor, of Hale, Beetham, marr Elizabeth, (son James b.1869)

Bell, Edgar (19xx-19xx), BA, clergyman, educ Leeds University, vicar of Ainstable and also Armathwaite from 1934

Bell, Edward Allen (1884-1959), MA, schoolmaster, born 8 May 1884, son of canon J Allen Bell, of Norwich Cathedral, educ Westminster School and Christ Church, Oxford, assistant master, Giggleswick School 1910-1918, Lieut, the Norfolk Regt 1918, major and chief instructor, Army General College, Cologne, BEF 1919, assistant master, Eton College 1921-1926, headmaster of St Bees School 1926-1935, Oxford Group from 1935, governor of College of the Good Road 1949-1950, member of CWAAS 1929, author of History of Giggleswick School 1499-1912 (1912), Poems (1926) and Poems (1949), of 2 St Barnabas Houses, Newland, Malvern, Worcs, died 9 July 1959, aged 75

Bell, George (fl.1835), poet of Penrith; J. Walker, History of Penrith, [1858] appendix

Bell, George (fl.1930-1950), huntsman, Blencathra Foxhounds, succ Jim Dalton c.1930 to c.1950, succ by John Richardson?

Bell, Herbert (1856-1946), photographer, son of Thomas Bell, chemist, of Clappersgate, Chairman of Armitt Trust, Ambleside, photographic studio in Market Place (1897), photo albums of Early Domestic and Military Architecture in Westmorland 1907, of Strawberry Bank, above Waterhead (1897), marr, dau Gertrude, Armitt Trustee 1946, collection at The Armitt; (AL; CRO, WD/CAT/A1824; WD/K/329); Stephen F. Kelly, Victorian Lakeland Photographers, 1991; obit. by E.F.R. on Armitt website

Bell, Isaac Lowthian (1816-1904) MP, baronet, metallurgical chemist and iron master, family originated near Carlisle, moved to north east to establish an industrial base on the Tyne and at Washington,  marr Margaret Pattinson dau of his business partner Hugh Lee Pattinson FRS.  A collector of contemporary art including The Romans Leaving Britain by Millais and commissioned Philip Webb to build Washington Hall and Rounton Grange for him, elected Liberal MPO for Hatlepool in 1875 and given a baronetcy in 1885

Bell, Jacob (1810-1859; ODNB), pharmacist, Haymarket and later Oxford St London, with his father John a co-founder of the Pharmacists Society at a meeting in the Crown and Anchor, Strand, on 15 April 1841, friend of Landseer and Frith, presented Derby Day by Frith to the National Gallery

Bell, James (later Spencer-Bell) (1818-1872), architect and Liberal MP, a Quaker, the son of John Bell (1774-1849) chemist of the Haymarket and his wife Elisabeth Smith, daughter of Frederick Smith, married in 1858 Mary Ann Spencer at Cockermouth Meeting House, she was the daughter of Jeremiah Spencer (1789-1865; DCB) of South Lodge, Cockermouth, at this date her father described himself as ‘yeoman’, in1866 James Bell and his wife changed their name by royal warrant to Spencer-Bell, also commissioned the architect Waterhouse to design Fawe Park on Derwentwater as their residence, his brother was MP for St Albans; History of Parliament

Bell, James Spencer-, of Fawe Park, Keswick (part designed by Alfred Waterhouse), marr (186x) Mary Anne, dau of Jeremiah Spencer, of South Lodge, Cockermouth, assumed surname and arms of Spencer in 1866, 1 son (James Frederick Spencer Spencer-Bell (1863-1886), of Magdalen College, Oxford and student of Lincoln’s Inn, drowned in Derwentwater) and 1 dau (Adelaide Eliza (1859-1922), marr. Samuel Middleton Fox (qv))

Bell, James Oliphant (d.1831), surgeon, of Whitehaven, studied medicine at University of Edinburgh, then began practising in Cockermouth in 1797, marr, 2 sons (Richard (qv) and Henry)

Bell, John (c.1569-1634), first curate of Ambleside and school master, prob purchased Bible (copy of first edition of KJB, printed by Robert Barker in 1611), which remained in use by curates of Ambleside from 1612 until early in 18th century and to which he added 17 marginalia in his own neat hand between 1612 and 1629 when he had served 44 years and was about 60 years of age, built causeway between Rydal and Ambleside to enable pupils from Rydal to attend school, witnessed Rydal deed in 1617 (The Ambleside Curates’ Bible, CW2, vii, 143-148)

Bell, John (1764-1836; ODNB), MA, KC, FRS, barrister, one of HM Counsel, born in house in Finkle Street, Kendal, 23 October 1764, only son of Matthew Bell (1733-1766), grocer, and of Agnes, dau of William Yeats, of Beetham, and grandson of John Bell (1687-1740), of Kirkland, Kendal, brought up by aunt, educ Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Kirkby Lonsdale, Beetham school and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA, senior wrangler and first Smith’s prizeman 1786, MA and elected fellow 1789), called to bar 1792, acquired great reputation as a chancery barrister, known as ‘Jocky Bell’ and in legal circles as ‘The great Bell of Lincoln’s Inn’, KC 1816, bencher of Gray’s Inn 1813 and treasurer 1818-1819 and 1834-1835, marr Jane (died 4 October 1855), dau of Henry Grove, 1 son (Matthew, (1817-1903), MA, DL, JP, of Bourne Park, Kent, BLG), died at his house in Bedford Square, London, 6 February 1836, aged 71 and buried at Milton, near Canterbury, published on Chancery, one of his pupils was Lord Langdale (qv)

Bell, John (1774-1849), pharmacist, London, marr Eliza Smith dau of Frederick Smith a Haymarket pharmacist, with his son Jacob (qv) co-founder of the Pharmacists Society in 1841, his son James married a Miss Spencer and became James Spencer-Bell (qv) and lived at Fawe Park, Keswick

Bell, John (1801-1888), MA, barrister and local government official, born in 1801 in Brampton, , son of James Bell (Captain in Westmorland Militia), gazetted ensign in Westmorland Militia and served in France 1814, lieut 1820, drew army pension of £100 p.a. for 70 years, educ Caius College, Cambridge (MA), called to bar, Lincoln’s Inn 1835, marr (1847 at Gretna Green, though this was later claimed to be a sham, though real), clerk of peace for Westmorland 1839-1888, commissioner of bankrupts for Westmorland, deputy judge of Appleby County Court, mayor of Appleby on seven occasions between 1863 and 1876, died in Appleby 1888; son, John Bell, junr, was deputy  clerk of peace for Westmorland and died in 1893; Boase supplement i, 347

Bell, John George (b.1887), lived Skelton; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Bell, Joseph [1861-1912], engineer, born at Farlam, near Carlisle, chief engineer of Titanic whose heroism after the collision with the iceberg saved lives; (CN, 13 and 20.04.2012)

Bell, J Barton (18xx-1911), Congregational minister, pastor of Congregational chapel, Soutergate, Ulverston 1877-1911 (memorial font in chapel), wrote his Memoirs (copy Ulverston library)

Bell, Ophelia Gordon (1915-1975; DCB), sculptor, wife of William Heaton Cooper, examples of her work are displayed at the Heaton Cooper Studio, Grasmere, her statue of St Bede is at Carlisle, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 155, 195;

Bell, Richard (c.1410-1495; ODNB), bishop of Carlisle

Bell, Richard (1805-1887), see Senhouse

Bell, Robert (17xx-17xx), Methodist leader and exciseman, of Longtown, leader of Bracken Hill Society in Arthuret parish, instrumental in establishing Methodism in Carlisle in 1767, described by Wesley as “a very useful man”, unmarried in list of members in Cumbria in 1763 (John Huggon in CWHS Journal 73)

Bell, Thomas Perfect (18xx-1xxx), clergyman, trained at St Bees 1866, d 1868 and p 1870 (Ches), curate of St Michael, Macclesfield 1868-1870, Rainow, Cheshire 1870-1872, and Witton, Lancs 1872-1876, vicar of Wasdale Head from 1887 (1894), gone by 1903, decd by 1914

Bellas, Lancelot (17xx-18xx), MA, clergyman, Fellow of Queen’s College, Oxford, inducted into vicarage of Brough under Stainmore, 21 June 1792

Bellas, Stephen (c.1757-1816), schoolmaster, ‘exercised the arduous and useful profession of a schoolmaster’ in parishes of Longmarton, Bolton and Kirkby Thore for 40 years, marr Barbara (died 29 January 1817, aged 62), died 11 March 1816, aged 59 (stone erected at Long Marton ‘by his loving and sorrowing students’, WCN, ii, 157)

Bellas, Thomas (17xx-1xxx), clergyman, of Rochdale, when his son Richard was buried at LM on 24 July 1779

Bellasis family (formerly also Bellas), traditionally descended from Bellasis in Co Durham, lived at long Marton from George Bellas (d.1704); Hudleston (W); ancient variations of Bellasis:  Bellasye, Bellesses, Bellasies and Bellases having been in use until about 1730 (College of Arms)

Bellasis, Edward (1783-1843), army officer, born in India in 1783, 3rd son of General John Bellasis (qv) and yr brother of George Hutchins (qv) and Daniel, Major-General in East India Co service, died in August 1843 (WW, ii, 251)

Bellasis, Edward (1800-1873; ODNB), JP, serjeant-at-law and Roman Catholic convert, only son of Revd George Bellasis (qv) by his second wife (who later married Revd Joseph Maude), born at Basilden, 14 October 1800, barrister at law, Inner Temple 1824, (Sir Alan Chambre a family friend), serjeant-at-law 1844, became Roman Catholic 1850, legal and financial adviser to RC community, JP for Middlesex and Westminster, one of founders of Oratory School, Birmingham 1859, Steward to Duke of Norfolk’s manors in Norfolk and Suffolk 1863-, retired from bar 1866, Lancaster Herald, commissioner of earl marshal to report on working of College of Arms 1869, moved to France 1872, died at Hyeres, 24 January 1873

Bellasis, Edward (1852-1922; ODNB), FSA, genealogist, herald and barrister, son of Edward Bellasis (qv), educ Oratory school, Birmingham, under J H Newman, Lincoln’s Inn 1873 (but never practised), Bluemantle pursuivant of arms 1873-1882, Lancaster Herald from 1882, Registrar of College of Arms from 1894 (previously deputy registrar), member of CWAAS from 1875, and author of Westmorland Church Notes (I, 1888; II, 1889) (begun on first visit to Westmorland in 1874), ill from depression from 1899, died in London, 17 March 1922

Bellasis, George (1730-1803), DD, clergyman, born at Longmarton, 28 November 1730 and bapt there, 4 December, eldest son of Joseph Bellas (1691-1766) (who laid memorial stone in east wall of chancel in Longmarton church to his father George (d.1736, aged 80) and his mother Elisabeth (d. 1743, aged 85) and died 2 July 1766, aged 76), of Longmarton, and his wife, Margaret Hill (died 21 June 1787, aged 87), brother of Hugh (bapt 18 January 1740) and John (qv), also had 5 sisters (Elizabeth (born 30 October and bapt 27 November 1728, died aged 89), wife of Revd William Kilner (qv); Emma (born 26 December 1732 [but Anne is bapt 7 January 1732/3], died aged 61), wife of Revd Nathaniel Springett, of Brasenose College, Oxford; Hannah (born 11 June and bapt 13 July 1735, died aged 81), wife of Thomas Crosby, of Kirkby Thore; and Margaret (born 4 June and bapt 29 June 1738, died aged 79), wife of John Hill, of Crackenthorpe), educ Queen’s College, Oxford, changed his name from Bellas to Bellasis (pedigree registered at College of Arms on 1 June 1792, ancient variations of Bellasis, Bellasye, Bellesses, Bellasies and Bellases having been in use until about 1730), rector of Yattendon and vicar of Basilden and Ashampstead, Berks, marr 1st, marr 2nd (she later marr Revd Joseph Maude), 1 son (Edward, qv), died at Basilden, 24 January 1803 (WCN, ii, 157-58; scrapbook in CRO, WDX 1641)

Bellasis, George Hutchins (1778/9-1822), artist, eldest son of General John Bellasis (qv), visited St Helena and produced series of drawings of the island, which he published on his return to England, with dedication to his friend, Duke of Wellington, marr, son (John Brownrigg, qv), of Holly Hill, Bowness, died 4 January 1822, aged 43, and buried in St Martin’s churchyard, 10 January (LM, III, 39-40)

Bellasis, John (1744-1808), army officer, born at Longmarton, 16 July 1744 and bapt there, 15 August, 3rd son of Joseph and Margaret Bellas, and yr brother of Revd George (qv), educ Appleby Grammar School, entered East India Company service, marr (3 November 1776, at Bombay) Anna Martha (died 14 May 1797), dau of Revd John Hutchins, of Wareham, Kent, 3 sons (George Hutchins (qv), Daniel (Lieut-Col, HEIC Army, died 23 February 1836) and Edward (qv)) and 3 daus, letters from Bombay to his brother Hugh in Longmarton from 1781 to 1808, changed his name from Bellas to Bellasis (by registration of pedigree at College of Arms in 1792), Major-General and Colonel of Artillery, Commander of HEIC Forces at Bombay where he died suddenly, 11 February 1808 (Bombay Courier, 13 February 1808; WW, ii, 251; WCN, ii, 158; letters in scrapbook in CRO, WDX 1641)

Bellasis, John Brownrigg (1806-1890), army officer, born in 1806, son of George Hutchins Bellasis (qv), of Holly Hill, Bowness, marr Louisa, 1 son (Herbert Inglefield, bapt 5 July 1853) and 2 daus (Amy Helen, bapt 25 July 1854, and Blanche Maude, bapt 10 February 1856, all at St Martin’s, Bowness-on-Windermere), of Oakbank, Bowness (1853) and of Biskey How (1854-56), Major-General, formerly Lieut-Colonel in Bombay Army, died in March 1890 (memorial window to him and his wife by Ward & Hughes in south aisle of St Martin’s church given by his son Herbert; also to Charlotte Agnes Bellasis, who died in December 1894)

Bellasis, Joseph Maude (1811-1888), born at Bowness, 19 February 1811, educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1823, aged 12, and left December 1828), lived for many years at Bowness before removing to Southport, where he died, 7 November 1888 (SSR, 177)

Bellasis, William (1777-1800), officer of ship “Scaleby Castle”, born at Longmarton, 29 October 1777, son of Hugh Bellasis and nephew of Dr George and General John Bellasis (qv), letters to his father and other family members from 1797 to 1800 (scrapbook in CRO, WDX 1641), died at sea on voyage to East Indies, 7 April 1800 (WCN, ii, 158)

Bellers, William (fl.1733-1773; ODNB), landscape painter and engraver, produced six large prints of several lakes (SGNT, 143-144), each print dedicated to eminent local figures; Bicknell, 21-2

Bellhouse, Richard Lafone (1916-2012), BSc, FSA, archaeologist and land-drainage officer, born in Darlington, 21 September 1916, educ at University of London (BSc in agriculture), specialised in land drainage for Ministry of Agriculture, lived for much of his working life in Cumberland at Cottage, Meads, Thursby, knew the local farming community of the Solway area and had thorough working knowledge of soils, also informed by his scientific training, his body of work on the Cumberland coast being an evolving project, with theories presented, tested and confirmed or rejected, steady stream of papers culminating in his monograph, Roman Sites on the Cumberland Coast: A New Schedule of Coastal Sites (CWAAS, Research Series, Vol.III, 1989), member of CWAAS from 1953, elected member of Council 1954-1964 and 1983-1987, serving on the Fieldwork and Excavation committee 1954-1964 and committee for Prehistoric Studies 1962-1964, moved to Lincoln in 1964, then retired to Worcestershire and settled at Kempsey in 1973, but still continued to organise excavations on coast and publish in Transactions, unsuccessful candidate for presidency in 1987, vice-president 1987-2002, Fellow of CWAAS from 2002, deposited his archaeological papers in Senhouse Roman Museum at Maryport and discovered photographic archive of Joseph Robinson (qv), winner of Silver Trowel award in annual British Archaeological Awards in 1980, elected FSA in 1982, marr (1942) Betty (founding member and conductor of Kempsey Handbell Ringers from 1975, died 2010), 3 daus (inc Susan Ashby), a keen musician, playing piano, violin and French horn, also made two pipe organs and furniture, died 3 September 2012, aged 95, and buried at Greenfields Woodland Burial Ground, Staunton, near Tewkesbury, 17 September, four days before his 96th birthday (Romans on the Solway: Essays in Honour of Richard Bellhouse, edited by R J A Wilson and I D Caruana, Trustees of the Senhouse Roman Museum, Maryport, and CWAAS Extra Series, Vol.XXXI, 2004; Worcester News, 19.09.2012)

Bellinger, Edmund, born Westmorland, went to North Carolina in 1674, became a landgrave and as receiver of public monies, marr Elizabeth Cartwright of Westmorland

Bellingham, Alan (d.1577), landowner, cadet branch of the Bellingham family of Burneside, grant from Henry VIII of fourth part of Barony of Kendal (Lumley Fee), apptd Treasurer of Berwick at £20 pa, by writ of privy seal, 2 August 1557, made extensive purchases of land, incl Levens from Matthew Redman in 1562, also Helsington, Fawcett Forest and Gaythorn, and other lordships in Lancashire, marr 1st, marr 2nd Dorothy Sandford, 7 sons (5 surviving him all under age: Thomas (d.unm.1580), James (qv), Robert (of Middle Temple, 1595)) and 8 daus (7 surviving him), died 7 May 1577, aged 61, will dated 15 June 1568 (brass in Kendal parish church)

Bellingham, Alan (159x-1673), landowner, yr son of Sir James Bellingham (qv), of Levens, marr Susan, dau of Marmaduke Constable, of Wassand in Holderness, co York, 3 sons (James (qv), Henry (left manor of Whitwell in co York) and Thomas (left property at Houghton, co Durham, d.unm)) and 1 dau (Frances, wife of Sir Reginald Graham, Bt, of Norton Conyers), succ to Levens on death of his nephew, Sir James (qv) in 1650, Knight of the Royal Oak 1660 (with estates valued at £1500 pa), said by N&B (incorrectly) to be MP for Westmorland in 1661, died 29 January 1672/3, aged 77, and buried at Heversham, 1 February (FiO, i, 465)

Bellingham, Alan (1656-1690), bapt at Heversham, 12 February 1655/6, eldest son of James Bellingham (qv) by his 2nd wife, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (entd as Upper Commoner on 27 May 1674 and matric 4 June, aged 18), succ father at Levens in 1680, MP for Westmorland in three parliaments 1678-1687 (either after expulsion of Sir Thomas Strickland in 1676 or on death of Sir Philip Musgrave in 1677), went into exile with James II, “an ingenious but unhappy young man” (Machell), consumed his estate and sold Levens and rest of his lands in Westmorland to Col James Grahme (qv)

Bellingham, Sir Henry, 1st Bt (d.1650), Royalist, eldest son of Sir James Bellingham (qv), created baronet in 1620, marr Katharine, succ father at Levens in 1642, MP for Westmorland, fined as delinquent by Parliament, went to Commissioners in Kendal at beginning of June 1650 in order to compound, but later fell sick and died shortly after making his will, dated 15 October 1650, proved 24 May 1651 (see Diary of Thomas Bellingham (1908), intro vii-ix); Bellingham, Sir Henry, of Helsington – marr Dorothy, dau of Sir Francis Boynton, of Barneston, Yorks, she died 23 January 1626/27, aged 39 (‘a monument… of alabaster with painting and gilding in the Italian style with verse inscription and a recumbent figure of a lady with an infant’ in Heversham church, WCN, i, 242 and CNSG, 73)

Bellingham, Sir James (d.1642), 2nd son of Alan Bellingham (d.1577) (qv), of Levens, marr, 2 sons, knighted in 1603, but declined baronetcy, which was conferred on his eldest son Henry (qv), largely rebuilt Levens Hall (inc fitting up rooms with wainscotting), died in 1642

Bellingham, Sir James, 2nd Bt (1623-1650), MP for Westmorland, died s.p., surviving his father by a few days, in October 1650

Bellingham, James (16xx-1680), landowner, son of Alan Bellingham (qv), marr 1st Barbara, dau of Sir Christopher Dalston, of Acornbank, 1 dau (Elizabeth, wife of Timothy Mauleverer, of Arncliffe, co York), marr 2nd Elizabeth, dau of Sir Francis Leke, of Newark on Trent, 4 sons (Alan (qv), Henry (ancestor of Castle Bellingham line in Ireland) and William) and 5 daus (Mary (wife of Alexander Johnson, of Preston), Agnes (wife of William Patten, of Preston), Bridget (wife of Timothy Fetherstonhaugh (qv), of Kirkoswald), Elizabeth (wife of John Senhouse, of Seascale), and Dorothy (d.unm)), succ father at Levens in 1673, died in 1680

Belton, Andrew (1882-1970), ‘Kaid Belton’, army officer and local benefactor, born at Cleator Moor, 17 April 1882, enlisted while under age after two of his brothers were killed in Boer War, served in South Africa, but resigned his commission on returning to England, helped train troops of Abdelhafid in defeating his brother Abdlaziz as Sultan of Morocco in First Morocco Crisis of 1908 and became known as Kaid Belton, the Kingmaker, instrumental in establishment of the Legion of Frontiersmen, a patriotic organisation formed in 1905 to foster vigilance and increase defensive capacity of British Empire, enrolled at Chicago School of Aviation in 1911, an early exponent of use of aircraft for military purposes, major financial benefactor of St Mary’s Parish, Cleator Moor from 1920s to 1950s, helping to relieve poverty of area after iron ore mines and factories closed, with unemployed miners working in church grounds and creating the replica Lourdes Grotto, favoured a dictatorship in Britain and called for Government to provide employment in August 1933, seeing how the unemployed had abandoned hope for themselves and their children,  calling for cheap iron ore imported from Spain to be stopped, became first Englishman since the Reformation to be made a Papal Knight of the Sepulchre, died in South Africa in 1970, aged 88 (WN, 23.02.2017)

Benn, Daniel (d.1777), builder Whitehaven; CW2 xcvi 161

Benn, John (17xx-18xx), land agent, to Lord Lonsdale, of Monkwreay, Whitehaven (1829)

Benn, Joseph (1748-1814), master mariner, Whitehaven; Rob David, In Search of Arctic Wonders

Benn, Tony (Anthony Wedgwood Benn) (renounced title of Lord Stansgate), visited Cumbria, spoke at St Cuthbert’s, Carlisle c.2004, to a packed audience; refs Les Shore, Redshaw biography,

Benn Walsh, Sir John (1759-1825), see Walsh

Bennett, David (1823-1902), soldier and musician, b. Carlisle, son of Thomas Bennett and Elizabeth Ryan, to Newfoundland in youth, joined Royal Newfoundland Co. as a drummer in 1838, trained in music and retired as a corporal, he had been observed by bishop John T. Mullock (1807-1869) prelate of St John’s Newfoundland, who in 1868 appointed him head of music at the new St Bartholomew College where he worked until the 1880s and became an important figure in the community, dubbed ‘professor’ Bennett, performed for Prince Henrik of the Netherlands in 1845 and the Prince of Wales in 1860, played at the laying of the foundation stone of the RC cathedral in 1855, ran several musical groups as bandmaster and conductor, involved Total Abstinence and Benefit Society, bandmaster to no 2 [queens] company of St John’s Volunteers

Bennett, E O (c.1900-after 1957), clergyman, educ St Bees School (Foundation 1914-1918), spent many years in Sudan as senior chaplain to the forces, vicar of Calderbridge, then of Dean, near Cockermouth (preached at St Bees School Chapel on Old Boys’ Day, 13 July 1957)

Bennett, Geoffrey Samuel (1902-19xx), clergyman and bank manager, manager of National Westminster Bank at Cleator Moor and at Maryport before ordination, d 1961 (Penrith for Carl) and p 1962 (Carl), curate of Penrith 1961-1962, vicar of Rockcliffe with Cargo 1962-1966, curate-in-charge of St Mary with St Paul, Carlisle 1966-1972, retired in 1972 with Lic to Offic, Dio Carlisle from 1972, friend of L S Lowry (who featured Maryport in a number of his works), conducted funeral service for Lowry at Manchester Southern cemetery in 1976, of 21 Chatsworth Square, Carlisle (1972), later of 414 London Road, Carlisle (1987), decd by 1998; LS Lowry gave him several paintings which he bequeathed to the dean and chapter

Bennison, George, clergyman, vicar of Beetham, resigned in 1665

Benson family, yeoman farmers from 13thc, some at Stangend and others at Grasmere, gradually bought freehold property, bought more after the dissolution, substancial wool merchants and clothiers, armigerous from 1546, married into Holme, Braithwaite and Rathbone families, used water power to run woollen mills near Loughrigg, later founders of Kleinwort Benson, see Robert Benson I – IV below; Jehanne Wake, Kleinwort Benson: The History of Two Families in Banking, 1997

Benson, Barbara (‘Ma Benno’), headmistress, primary school, Barrow; Peter Lucas in Cumbrian Miscellany, Bill Rollinson obit. volume, ed. Leach, 89-114

Benson, Bernard (16xx-1694), Quaker, son of Francis Benson, of Fould in Loughrigg, marr (1667) Elizabeth (d.1671), dau of William Braithwaite, of High Wray, issue (2nd dau Agnes marr George Braithwaite, of High Wray), imprisoned for non-payment of tithes in Appleby gaol where he died in 1694 (SF, 576)

Benson, Christopher (1xxx-18xx), clergyman, Vicar of Brampton 1841-1874, proposal for re-pewing church aroused opposition at vestry meeting in 1867/8, just before abolition of church rates in 1868, by which time he was too old and infirm to find new way of raising money, William Miller (qv) being appointed as curate in charge by bishop in 1871 and stirring up opposition by his insensitive reforming attitude, which caused disturbances of church services (esp by vicar’s son Christopher Benson, junior qv), retired in 1874

Benson, Christopher jr (18xx-1896), JP, bank manager, son of above, organist of Brampton church in time of his father’s incumbency and forced to resign for his opposition to curate William Miller’s reforms, though later a churchwarden and justice of the peace

Benson, Claude Ernest (18xx-19xx), climber and author, friend of George and Ashley Abraham (qv), member of the Climbers’ Club, author of Crag and Hound in Lakeland (1902)

Benson, George, son of George Sr and his wife Abigail Braithwaite qv, Kendal grocer, m. Deborah Wakefield, sister of John Wakefield qv, brewer, manufacturer and gunpowder maker qv

Benson, Revd George (1699-1762), dissenting minister, born at Great Salkeld in 1699, died in 1762

Benson, Gervase (d.1679; ODNB), JP, lawyer and Quaker leader, notary public and, later, Commissary of archdeaconry of Richmond (dealing with probate matters), elected to Kendal Corporation in December 1640, Alderman in 1641 (sworn 20 April), Mayor of Kendal 1644-45 (sworn 30 September), when described as ‘Proctr ad legem civil’ and as ‘an honest & godly man’, and Justice of Peace for borough, supported parliamentary interest in Kendal, leading to swings in his fortune, briefly imprisoned in Skipton Castle by Royalists in 1644, commanded Kendal’s small garrison in 1645, restored to registrarship of wills for deaneries in diocese of Chester through favour of Lord Wharton in 1646 (Many letters in ECW, ii, 896), member of Committee for Sequestrations for Westmorland (September 1648), rose to prominence as regional administrator and became known in London, wrote (with fellow alderman, John Archer, (qv) to House of Commons in 1650 pointing out that large section of Kendal corporation had not subscribed to Oath of Engagement (‘to be true and faithful to the Commonwealth of England as it is now established’), with result that royalist members were removed from office, became convinced Quaker on 6 June 1652 (when George Fox visited Separatist group at Sedbergh) and active proselytiser and organiser, started ‘meetings in fresh places’ such as Dent, tried (with Anthony Pearson) to befriend George Fox on his imprisonment after tumult in Carlisle in 1652/3 by writing letter to Carlisle magistrates (CW1, viii, 152-153) [not in ODNB], went to London in Quaker cause in 1653, gave legal advice in various disputes involving Quakers, sat on bench at trial of James Naylor at Appleby sessions on 11 January 1653 and tried to intervene on his behalf, excluded in his turn from Kendal corporation for his Quaker activities in September 1653, had prolonged dispute over neglect of his aldermanic duties and voted to be expelled (CRO, WSMB/K/ HMC bdle A/12), but continued to offer some protection and remained leading spokesman for Quaker movement in legal matters, esp active in arguments against tithes, lobbying Parliament against gathering of tithes in December 1653 and writing pamphlet Cry of the Oppressed (1656), and also against taking of oaths, which affected probate matters, publishing A true testimony concerning oaths & swearing &c (1669) and A second testimony concerning oaths and swearing (1675), off the bench by May 1659 (PRO, SP18/203/33), marr 1st (1634) Dorothy [Dawson?] (buried at Haygarth, 28 February 1656), 3 sons (yst, Emmanuel, born in prison at York in December 1653) and later marr Mary Fawcett at Dent, 21 December 1682, with son and dau bapt there in 1683-85) and 5 daus, marr 2nd (1660) Mabell, widow of John Camm, of Camsgill, variously of Haygarth, Cautley [now Cross Keys Inn], and Borrett in Sedbergh, before moving back to Kendal c.1678, where he died and buried in Quaker Sepulchre burial ground, 5 May 1679; made his will as a yeoman (PRO, PC2/57, p.33; pr 1679) (CBP; David Boulton; BoR, 18, 24; KK, 312-313; ECW, ii, 880~933)

Benson, Joseph (1749-1821), Wesleyan Methodist minister, born at Huddlesceugh Hall, near Renwick (Jane Platt, NH, XLIX:2, 343) or at Melmerby (ODNB), 25 January 1749, son of John Benson (d.1769), landowner, and his wife Isabella Robinson (d.1779), father intended him to enter church and placed him in care of local Presbyterian minister, who gave him a classical education, became a teacher at Gamblesby at age of sixteen, underwent an evangelical conversion in 1765 after conversation with his cousin, Joshua Watson, journeyed to Newcastle in hope of meeting John Wesley in December 1765, missed him and went on to London, missed him again and finally met at Bristol, president of Methodist Conference in 1798 and 1810, also served as secretary of conference in 1805 and 1809, editor of Methodist Magazine from 1803 until his death and introduced natural philosophy, died in London, 16 February 1821 and buried in City Road Chapel burial ground (C&W Advertiser, 1 July 1884, p.6) (see Huddlesceugh Hall poem by Thomas Watson (qv) in The Patriarch’s Aeolian Harp)

Benson, Robert I (1749-1802), quaker and merchant born Hawkshead, lived Kendal and Liverpool, m. Sally Rathbone [1751-1827], dau of William Rathbone III, joined William Rathbone IV to establish Rathbone and Benson in 1786, of 20 Cornhill, Liverpool, anti-slavery, in 1790s the war with France involved the protection of their ships and their business grew, shipbuilding, railway financiers, James Cropper (qv) was a junior partner but set up on his own in 1799, the Bensons eventually joined the Kleinworts of Holstein to establish Kleinwort and Benson; Jehanne Wake, Kleinwort Benson: The History of Two Families in Banking, 1997

Benson, Revd Robert (c.1769-1799), schoolmaster, Master of Heversham Grammar School, buried at Heversham, 9 February 1799, aged 30

Benson, Robert (Rathbone) II (1785-1846), merchant banker, m. Mary Dochray [d.1824] of the Lancaster Dockray family West Indies merchants, RRB was good at exploiting new markets, shipped sugar to Archangel in northern Russia; Jehanne Wake, Kleinwort Benson: The History of Two Families in Banking, 1997

Benson, Robert III (1814-1875), merchant banker, m. Eleanor Moorson [1824-1883]; Jehanne Wake, Kleinwort Benson: The History of Two Families in Banking, 1997

Benson, Robert (Robin) IV (1850-1929), merchant banker and art collector, ed Oxford, member of the Oxford team which won the FA cup in 1874, m. Evelyn (1856-1943) dau of Robert Stanyon Holford of Westonbirt, Glos, five children, notably Lt Col Sir Reginald Lindsey Benson DSO MVO MC (1889-1968) also a merchant banker, his art collection included work by Duccio, Titian, Giorgione, Gainsborough and Burne-Jones; Jehanne Wake, Kleinwort Benson: The History of Two Families in Banking, 1997

Benson, Robert (b.1881) RA, artist, son of Constantine William Benson (1852-1905) and grandson of Robert Benson III (1814-1875) (qv)

Benson, Thomas, partner with Robert Baynes as deputy steward of Egremont manor court, then steward from 1768, bailiff of Borough and Lordship of Egremont for long period, son of John Benson, owner of the King’s Arms, Egremont, marr sister of Robert Baynes (qv), resided at Cockermouth (CW2, xvii, 50); Benson, Robert, son of above………………..

Bentinck, George Augustus Frederick Cavendish- (1821-1891), PC, JP, MA, MP, politician, barrister and cricketer, born at Westminster, 9 July 1821, only son of Major-General Lord Frederick Cavendish-Bentinck, CB (4th and yst son of 3rd Duke of Portland, KG), and Mary (d.1862), dau of 1st Earl of Lonsdale (qv), known as ‘Little Ben’ to distinguish him from his cousin, Sir George Bentinck, known as ‘Big Ben’, educ Westminster School and Trinity College, Cambridge, played for school 1st XI v. MCC in 1837 and 1839, made first class debut for MCC v. Oxford University on 1 June 1840 (scoring 11), then for Cambridge University v. MCC on 1 July 1841, played eight other first class games for MCC, scoring 53 runs in total, making a total of 11 games and 66 runs (av 5.50), commissioned into Grenadier Guards in 1840 but retired in following year, called to bar, Lincoln’s Inn in 1846 and became an equity draftsman and conveyancer, in politics he stood unsuccessfully for borough of Taunton in April 1859 but was elected for the seat at a by-election in August 1859 until 1865, when he was returned unopposed for Whitehaven, which he held until his death in 1891, Parliamentary Secretary to Board of Trade 1874-1875 in second Disraeli government, Privy Councillor 1875, Judge Advocate-General 1875-1880, Trustee of British Museum from 1875 until his death, JP for cos Cumberland and Dorset, purchased Branksea Castle on Branksea (later Brownsea) Island in 1873, introduced Jersey cows and developed agriculture on the island, marr (14 August 1850) Prudence Penelope (d. 22 June 1896), dau of Colonel Charles Powell Leslie, of Glaslough, Monaghan, 2 sons and 2 daus, died at Branksea Castle, 9 April 1891, aged 69

Bentinck, Lord Henry Cavendish (1863-1931), TD, DL, JP, CC, landowner and politician, born 28 May 1863, 2nd son of Lieut-General Arthur Cavendish Bentinck (1817-1877) by his 2nd wife, Augusta Mary Elizabeth (later cr Baroness Bolsover 1880 and died 1893), yr dau of Hon and Very Revd H M Browne, dean of Lismore (see Kilmaine, Baron), and brother of Lady Ottoline Morrell, granted precedence as younger son of a duke on 23 February 1880, MP for North West Norfolk 1886-1892 and for South Nottingham 1895-1906, served in South African War 1899-1900, Lord Lieutenant of Westmorland 1926-1931, DL (apptd in February 1894), hon col 2nd Vol Battn, Border Regt, Lieut-Col, Derbyshire Imperial Yeomanry, unveiled War Memorial Cross in Kirkby Lonsdale churchyard on 6 June 1921, president of Conservative Club, Bank House, Highgate, Kendal (1905), marr (27 January 1892) Lady Olivia Taylour (qv), dau of Earl of Bective, no issue, also of 53 Grosvenor Street, London, died at Underley Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale, 6 October 1931, aged 68 (CW2, xxxii, 194)

Bentinck, Lady Henry Cavendish, Olivia Caroline Amelia (nee Taylour) (1869-1939), born 22 January 1869, er dau and only surviving child of Thomas Earl of Bective (qv) (son of 3rd Marquess of Headfort), marr (27 January 1892) Lord Henry Cavendish Bentinck (qv), Lady of Grace of Order of St John of Jerusalem, died at Underley Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale, 29 November 1939, aged 70 (CW2, xl, 230-231)

Berkowitz, Maggie (nee Angus) (1928-2019), ceramic artist, born Skerton, Lancaster, dau of James Angus, educ Lancaster GGS, Lancaster College of Art, apprenticed to George Cook of Ambleside, went to New York, married Marvin Berkowitz, four children, divorced, returned to Cumbria, specialised in hand made tiles, exhibition via Mary Burkett (qv) at Abbot Hall, public work includes Appleby Swimming Pool and Kendal Town Mural; Tile UK, 1998; Guardian obit 28 Jan 2019

Bernard (d.1214; ODNB), bishop of Carlisle

Bernard, Charles (fl.1870s and 1880s), performer and theatre manager, as a performer was joint owner of the Bernard and Vestris Minstrels, as a manager after successful runs at theatres in Glasgow, Newcastle he failed to ran Her Majesty’s Theatre, Carlisle with profit in 1880s, electric lighting installed 1882 (a year after the first theatre in the UK The Savoy, London), Her Majesty’s was destroyed by fire in 1904, rebuilt and remained under other management until demolished 1980);;

Bernard, Joseph Alexis (1807-1880), newspaper editor, native of London, secretary to Whitwell, MP for Kendal, when promoting Kendal and Settle Railway [abandoned], joined Midland Railway Company, later office manager for Messrs Fell & Co, of Greenodd, first secretary of Ulverston Water Works, Editor of Ulverston Advertiser (succ J Stanyan Bigg, qv), founding editor and manager of the Ulverston Mirror and Furness Reflector in 1860 till forced out by investors registered as proprietors in place of editor, 14 February 1863, thereafter moved to Dalton and acted as cashier to Joseph Rawlinson, ironmaster, then returned to Ulverston, where he died and buried in cemetery, followed shortly by wife (CW3, vii, 193-213; FFW, 83-87)

Berresford, Horsley-, see Horsley

Berry, Francis Keith (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ St Catherine’s college, Oxford  (BA 1905, MA 1909), trained at Wycliffe Hall, Oxford 1906, d 1907 (Colch for St Alb) and p 1908 (St Alb), curate of Burnham-on-Crouch 1907-1910, St Michael, Harrogate 1910-1911, Wickwar, Glos 1911-1912, lic to pr, dio Carlisle 1913-1914, curate of Newbarns with Hawcoat, Barrow-in-Furness 1914-1920, vicar of Seathwaite 1920-1928, vicar of Eskdale 1928-1935, vicar of Haile from 1935, decd by 1947

Berry, Geoffrey V (1914-1988), OBE, FCA, conservationist and accountant, born in Salisbury, 13 May 1914, educ Bishop Wordsworth’s School, Salisbury, held accountancy posts with local authorities in Salisbury, Bognor Regis, and Whitley Bay, Clerk and CFO, Rishton UDC, Lancs 1939-1946 and Stevenage UDC, Herts 1946-1950, moved to Westmorland in 1950 as Senior Acc Asst, North West Electricity Board 1950-1965, Secretary of Friends of the Lake District 1965-1977, Consultant Secretary from 1977, dedicated to protection of Lake District, campaigned for conservation and amenity groups, also involved with promotion of National Trust, Council for National Parks, Youth Hostels Association and County Naturalists’ Trust, author of books on landscape conservation and walking, inc Across Northern Hills (1975), The Lake District: A Century of Conservation (with Geoffrey Beard) (1980), A Tale of Two Lakes: The Fight to Save Ennerdale Water and Wastwater (FLD, 1982), The Story of Haweswater: Mardale Revisited (1984), keen photographer (collection in Kendal Library), contributed photographs to many Lake District publications (inc Harry Griffin’s books and J D Marshall’s Old Lakeland), diaries (in CRO WDX 671), marr Molly, 1 dau, of 27 Greenside, Kendal, died 29 January 1988, aged 75

Berry, James (1852-1913), hangman, born Heckmondwike, assistant at 500 executions, personally hanging 131 felons between 1884 and 1891, refined the ‘long drop’ method, executed Anthony Benjamin Rudge, James Baker and John Martin on 8 Feb 1886 in Carlisle who had burgled Netherby Hall (stealing jewels belonging to Lady Graham) and killed a policeman, PC Joseph Byrnes on 29 Oct 1885; Stewart P Evans, Chronicles of James Berry, 2004; James Berry, My Experiences as an Executioner (ed. H Snowden Ward, 2020

Berry, John (‘Buff’) (1866-1930), rugby international, born on Fellside, Kendal, 25 September 1866, played both rugby league and rugby union as fly half from the age of 28, marr, 2 sons and 3 daus, of 3 Elm Street, Tyldesley, capped for England playing against Wales, Ireland and Scotland, died at Manchester Royal Infirmary, 11 May 1930, aged 63

Berry, John (late 19thc-after 1939), police officer, Chief Constable of Barrow-in-Furness Borough Police, also Inspector of Weights and Measures, Marine Stores, Explosive Acts, Diseases of Animals Acts, Food and Drugs Acts, Employment of Children and Prevention of Cruelty to Children Acts, Shop Hours Regulations Acts, and Common Lodging Houses, and also Official Sampler, offices at Cornwallis Street, resigning at meeting of Watch Committee on 16 September 1939, after 32 years’ service

Berry, John (c.1864-1944), MA, clergyman, educ Magdalene College, Cambridge (scholar, BA 1886, MA 1890), d 1887 Ripon and p 1889 Wakf, curate of Lockwood 1887-1890, Brighouse 1890-1891 and Lightcliffe 1891-1892, vicar of Silsden, Yorkshire 1892-1915, rector of Kirkby Thore 1915-1937 (instituted 3 June 1915), submitted paper on history of church for visit of CWAAS to Kirkby Thore on 17 September 1926, marr Emmeline (buried at Kirkby Thore, 7 May 1936, aged 77), retired to 83 Otley Road, Harrogate, where he died, aged 81, buried at Kirkby Thore, 4 February 1944

Berry, Michael R W (1930-2004), OBE, FCA, businessman, born 8 May 1930, nephew of Norman H Buckley (qv), educ Mill Hill School, qualified chartered accountant, Blackpool 1954, Captain, Royal Army Pay Corps 1955, joined Sulzer Bros (London) Ltd, Swiss engineering company 1959 and became Finance Director, Chairman and Managing Director (to 1998), English Lakes Hotels Ltd from 1974 (joined uncle, Norman Buckley, in management of his hotels in 1972), developed the Low Wood Hotel and active in the campaign to allow water-skiing on Windermere, involved with Cumbria Tourist Board, Cumbria Training and Enterprise Council, Cumbria Rural Development Agency, President, Ambleside Sports Association, etc, author (with Reid Youen [died 25 August 1999 and buried in Crook churchyard]) of A Sunlit, Intimate Gift…Low Wood on Windermere: Three Hundred Years of Lakeland History 1702-2002 (2002), marr, 2 sons (Simon and Ben), of Cartmel Fell, died 14 June 2004; CW3 xiv 250

Berry, Walter II, carrier, (Walter Berry d.1840; buried at Milnthorpe, 21 October 1840, aged 75), tenant of Birkett’s Farm at Bridge End, Milnthorpe in 1826, taking over various shipping concerns from Foxcrofts, kept stable of 30 horses for carrying, hiring to local inns and drawing wood to Wilsons of Dallam Tower, with his son, Walter III Berry (d.1856; buried at Milnthorpe, 13 July 1856, aged 58), he developed carrying trade between vessels at Glasson Dock and all parts of south Westmorland, but this trade diminished and virtually died out after opening of Lancaster-Kendal Canal in 1819, leaving trade between Liverpool and Sandside, with coasting vessels bringing flour and salt and returning with ropes, twine, hempen cloth and agricultural produce, then engaged with moving girders and ironwork for building Furness Railway viaduct from 1857, but this then prevented any vessels coming up bay, then carried on trade at Blackstone Point for a time, but way across Arnside marshes too treacherous for carts; Walter IV Berry (1837-1906) born in July 1837 on day of Milnthorpe church’s consecration and died at Birkett’s Farm (in house erected in 1877), aged 69, buried at Milnthorpe, 29 September 1906 (day books 1838-1863 in CRO, WDB 1; HwM, 77)

Berry, William sr (17xx-1833), JP, comb maker, mayor of Kendal 1795-96 and 1812-13, senior alderman and magistrate of Kendal (resigned April 1832), member of Committee for Kendal Workhouse from 1800, headed subscription list (as mayor with 5 guineas) at meeting for relief of sufferers by Bonaparte’s expedition to Russia held in Kendal on 13 January 1813, Wm Berry & George & Co, ivory comb and tablet makers, Finkle Street, Kendal (1829), set up first steam-engine (of two and a half horse power) in Kendal for cutting ivory combs in August 1801 (in what is now Berry’s Yard off Finkle Street, in building later occupied as snuff manufactory by Messrs Bushers), under mechanical management of Thomas Eastham (of Chorley, who subsequently became a partner in business and died 28 January 1822, aged 48), marr, 2 sons (William, jr (qv) and George, who died at Ashmeadow in August 1831, aged 39), died at Ashmeadow House, Beetham, aged 65, and buried at Kendal, 21 March 1833 (LC,3, 56, 84, 87, 117)

Berry, William jr (c.1791-1834), town clerk, son of William Berry, sr (qv), Town Clerk of Kendal Borough - by 1818, but resigned 1832, succ by Thomas Harrison (qv), of Burton-in-Kendal, but died at the Commercial Inn, Kendal, aged 43, and buried at Kendal, 4 April 1834 (KK, 70)

Bertioli, Francesco A[ntonio] (Frank) (1832-1912), artist, born at Marylebone, London in 1832 [no bapt recorded], son of Alexander and his wife, Finetta Caroline (nee Goff), (who were married at St James, Westminster, 1 May 1824), had brother and sisters, educ Blackheath Proprietary School, listed as an artist working in London between 1871 and 1889, painting genre and figure subjects, exhibiting at RA, Royal Institute of Art, Royal Hibernian Academy, and Royal Society of British Artists, listed in Morning Post in October 1877 as a professor of art at Alexandra Palace School of Art for Ladies and acting as Hon Director in 1882, living at Downshire Hill, St John’s, Hampstead in 1881-82, final London exhibit in 1889, living at Thornleigh, Wetheral by 1894, presumably having retired from teaching, exhibited at Tullie House, Carlisle in March 1896 (A Study of a Violin Player and A Stitch in Time), moved to Great Corby by 1897, sketch of Mary Pigg of Great Corby (1899) is only known local work [2013], listed as oil and water portrait artist at Great Corby in 1901, expressed concern for poor eyesight of children in 1908, suggesting ‘books should be in coloured type to harmonise with a tertiary coloured paper in just proportions as to intensity of hue and extent of space between the ink written lines, bearing in mind that this space should represent the third and most distant portions of visibility’, therby preventing ‘artificial’ short-sight, said to be a Conservative, Tariff Reformer and Imperialist, marr (18xx) (Jane) Catherine (nee Morgan) (born in Jersey in 1844, died at Great Corby, 8 February 1908, aged 63), no issue, died in July 1912, aged 80; no burial located and no will (WCL; CN, 01.02.2013)

Berwick, Geoffrey (19xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of St Bees 1958-1960

Bessemer, Sir Henry (1813-1898), steel maker and inventor of the iron ‘converter’, of Huguenot extraction, registered 129 patents between 1838-1883, his new steel making production technique achieved a crucial reduction in carbon content, he set up a Bessemer converter for Barrow Haematite and Steel Co in May 1865, visited Workington prior to the installation there of another of his ‘converters’, he was much involved in the establishingof Sheffield as a major steel centre; the original Barrow ‘converter’ was, via W. Killingbeck (qv), given to the Science Museum; his son Anthony Bessemer was also an industrial inventor

Bessey, Gordon (1910-2001), CBE, education officer, b. Great Yarmouth, son of Edward Emerson Bessey [1875-1957], headmaster of the elementary school and his wife Mabel Scott [1887-1879], his grandfather was Edward J. Bessey, shipwright (his sister Enid [b.1912] was educated at Royal Holloway college, a schoolmistress in Poole, Dorset), m. 1937 Cynthia Bird dau of William and Mary Bird of Oxford, published on curriculum development in Kenya, appointed chief education officer Cumberland, est Bassenthwaite sailing club for education staff, CBE 1968, retired aged 65 in 1975, coincidentally upon the creation of Cumbria, large retirement party given in Carlisle attended by his successor, chairman of Voluntary Action Cumbria (1977), died in Alton, Hants;

Best, John (b.c.1527-1670), bishop of Carlisle, probably of Halifax, may have been a monk; CW3 i 69

Best, William Thomas (1826-1897; ODNB), organist, born at Carlisle, 13 August 1826, son of William Best, solicitor, of Castle Street, Carlisle (1829), showed talent for music as a child and studied with Abraham Young, assistant organist at Carlisle Cathedral, but father wanted him to be an engineer, sent to study in Liverpool in 1840, organist at Pembroke Road chapel, Liverpool 1840, had civil list pension of £100 p.a. from 1880, author of The Art of Organ Playing (1869), The Church Organist (1869), Modern School for the Organ (1872) Organ Music by Italian Composers (1886) and numerous transcriptions for the organ, his editions of works of Bach, Handel and Mendelssohn were well received as was his work on the Anglican ordinary, considered one of great English organists of 19th century, at great ease with improvisation, good pedal technique, well known to public for his inaugurations and dedications of many organs in public buildings (Royal Albert Hall, Sheffield, etc) and in great demand, died in Liverpool, 10 May 1897 (Frank Musgrove, NH, 1999; T Heywood, The Best Centenary 1897-1997, 2001  

Beswick, John (fl.mid 19thc), uncle of Thomas Baker Ashworth (qv), lived Cockermouth and the Isle of Man, his daughter Alice married Thomas Cook Windross (qv)

Bethell, John Henry (1859-1945), 1st baron Bethell, b. Grange over Sands, son of George Bethell of South Woodford and his wife Frances Tipper, ed Heversham GS and Kings London, director Barclays and the Royal Exchange Insurance Group, twice mayor of East Ham, Liberal MP Romford and later East Ham baronet 1911, baron 1922, m Florence Wyles 1895, 3sons 3 daus; (Levens Newsletter 5, CRO, WDSo 327); 4th baron a grandson of 1st baron Russian interpreter, worked TLS and BBC, libelled by Private Eye; 5th baron MEP 1979-1994, currently 2021 junior Health Minister

Bethell, Sir Thomas (1867-1957), barrister and MP, b. Grange over Sands, son of George Bethell of south Woodford and his wife Frances Tipper, ed Heversham GS and Kings College London, MP Maldon, Essex 1906-1910, knighted 1914, m. Edith Lillie Tabor (d.1957)

Betjeman, Sir John [1906-1945; ODNB], poet, performed at Rosehill theatre, spoke warmly of St John’s Waberthwaite and observed that the popularity of the Lakes is not Wordsworth himself but ‘as Wordsworth knew, it’s because everything here is on the right scale’ (Betjeman’s England)

Bettison, Francis H (1881-19xx), clergyman, curate of Crosthwaite

Bevan, Richard Justin William (1922-2018), PhD, DTh, BA, clergyman, born 21 April 1922 in St Harmon, near Rhayader, 2nd son of Revd Richard Bevan and his wife Margaret, educ St Edmund’s School, Canterbury (Foundationer, Junior School 1931 and Baker House to July 1939),  St Augustine’s College, Canterbury 1939, and St Chad’s College, Durham (LTh 1942, BA 1945, DTh 1972, PhD 1980), d 1945 and p 1946 dio Lichfield, curate, Stoke-on-Trent 1945-1949, chaplain, Abelour Orphanage 1949-1951, lic to offic, dio Moray 1949-1951 and dio Blackburn 1951-1952, curate, Church Kirk 1952-1956 and Whalley 1956-1961, chaplain of Durham University 1961-1974, fondly dubbed ‘Rev Bev’, rector of St Mary le Bow with St Mary the Less 1961-1964, priest-in-Charge 1964-1967 and rector 1967-1974, vicar of St Oswald, Durham 1964-1974, rector of Grasmere 1974-1982, canon resident, librarian and treasurer of Carlisle Cathedral 1982-1989, with creative input into building and enhancement of underground Treasury, vice-dean 1986-1989, chaplain to Queen 1986-1993, examining chaplain to bishop of Carlisle, retired 1989, perm to offic, dio Carlisle 1989-2010, man of immense energy, enthusiasm and erudition with engaging personality and charm, catalogued bishop of Carlisle’s library at Rose Castle in retirement, edited life of Bishop John Cosin of Durham, author of Does God Exist? and Steps to Christian Understanding, also author of many poems, marr (1948) Sheila at Emmanuel Church, Fazakerley in Liverpool, 4 sons (one died inf) and 1 dau, of 15 Solway Park, Carlisle, then retired to Burgh-by-Sands for 24 years, and died at Dulverton House Clergy Retirement Home, Scarborough, 13 March 2018, aged 95, with Thanksgiving Service at Carlisle Cathedral, 8 July followed by interment of ashes in Burgh-by-Sands churchyard (CN, 11.05.2018)

Bewes, Henry (Harry) (18xx-19xx), parish clerk, last parish clerk of Wigton for 35 years from 29 July 1859 to 20 July 1894 (HW, 278-279)

Bewley family; CW3 xv 57

Bibby, Joseph J (19xx-1978), Cumbria County Councillor, member for Dalton South, of 45 Newton Road, Dalton-in-Furness, died 21 March 1978

[Bickersteth family, locate pedigree, some confusion between Henrys and Edwards]

Bickersteth, Edward jr (1786-1850; ODNB), clergyman and evangelical leader, born at Kirkby Lonsdale, 19 March 1786, yst of five sons of Henry Bickersteth (qv), grandson of Edward, bishop of Exeter, his son Henry a surgeon qv, co-founder of the Parker Society, bishop of South Tokyo

Bickersteth, Rt Rev Edward Henry (1825-1906), bishop, poet and editor of hymnals, son of Rev Edward Bickersteth and nephew of Henry Bickersteth Lord Langdale (qv), bishop of Exeter, portrait Arthur Stockdale Cope

Bickersteth, Henry (d.1821), surgeon, of 4 Beck Head, Kirkby Lonsdale (formerly Pack Horse Inn), son of Edward sr qv, purchased practice of a doctor Newby in 1755, purchased Deansbiggin from trustees of will of John Batty, on 21 February 1801, marr Elizabeth, dau of John Batty, of Kirkby Lonsdale, 5 sons (James Batty (born 10 April 1779), John (born 19 June 1781), Henry (qv) and Edward (qv)) and 2 daus, made will on 2 October 1820, died 18 May 1821 (CW2, xxix, 247)

Bickersteth, Henry, 1st Baron Langdale (1783-1851; ODNB), PC, KC, MA, Master of the Rolls and law reformer, born at Kirkby Lonsdale, 18 June 1783, 3rd son of Dr Henry Bickersteth (qv), educ Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Kirkby Lonsdale, and Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge (scholar, BA 1808, MA 1811), pupil of John Bell (qv), KC in May 1827, apptd privy councillor on 16 January 1836 and Master of the Rolls on 19 January, created Baron Langdale, of Langdale on 23 January 1836, a reluctant peer, but became ‘father of record reform’ which led to setting up of Public Record Office in Chancery Lane

Bickersteth, Jane Elizabeth (nee Lady Jane Harley, later Lady Langdale) (1796-1872), daughter of the 5th earl of Oxford, married Henry Bickersteth (1783-1851) (qv), later Master of the Rolls, they had one daughter Jane Frances (qv)

Bickersteth, Jane Frances (1836-1870), daughter of Henry Bickersteth, Lord Langdale (qv), who married Count Alexander Teleki de Szek (1821-1892) who had fought with Garibaldi, he wrote Under Garibaldi (1883), his relative Pal Teleki was Prime Minister of Hungary, Jane Teleki edited The Works of Geronimo Volta-Casacca and translated Byron’s Childe Harold into Hungarian (details BL catalogue)

Bicknell, Peter (1907-1995), architect, lecturer, topographical historian and rock climber, b. Durham, son of Raymond Percy Bicknell (1875-1927), the manager of a brewery and his wife Phillis Ellen Lovibond, taught architecture at Cambridge for fifty years, keen climber who was invited to join an Everest expedition in the 1930s, president of the Climbers Club, author of several books including Beauty, Horror and Immensity (with the Fitzwilliam museum; 1981), The Discovery of the Lake District: A Context for Wordsworth (with Robert Woof; 1982), Gilpin to Ruskin: Drawing Masters and their Manuals 1800-1860 (with Jane Munro; 1988) and the remarkable bibliography, The Picturesque Scenery of the Lake District (1990), lived in Cambridge at Essex House (1939) and Newton Rd (1995), presented his large collection of topographical books to Kings College, died at Avignon; obit Independent 6 June 1995

Biddall, George (d.1909), travelling showman, toured in the north of England and in Scotland, married Selina Smith a tightrope performer in 1870, dau of the ‘Sans Pareil’ circus family, 5 sons daughters, performed at Workington, Whitehaven, Maryport, Cockermouth and Penrith, gave their name to the Fair Field, known for his Ghostodrama, his son Joey was a clown, involved in the early silent movie shows, performed free for the residents of the workhouse, died Cockermouth, crowds gathered to watch his cortege, funeral at Christ Church, large monument in Cockermouth cemetery; Times and Star, 2 August 2013; Frances Brown, Fairground Strollers and Fair Folk, 2001

Bigg, Rose Anne Hart (nee Pridham), (b.c.1825), newspaper proprietor and feminist, m. John Stanyan Bigg in 1852, whose early death in 1865 led to her work in Barrow; CW3 ii 277; see Jefferson

Bigg, John [1861-1931], cricketer; b. Barrow

Bigg, John Stanyan (1828-1865; ODNB), poet and journalist, born at Ulverston, 14/15 July 1828 and bapt at St Mary’s church, 2 November, son of John Gorrell Bigg (died 4 November 1868, aged 73), draper, of King Street, Ulverston, later gent, of Sunderland Terrace (1849), and his wife Ann (died 11 March 1855, aged 53), had a sister Eliza Ann (bapt 27 January 1830 and died 31 May 1849, aged 19), educ Town Bank Grammar School and boarding school in Warwickshire (1841-1846), published first poem The Sea King after his return to Ulverston, kept a private school in Ulverston for a time, apptd editor of Ulverston Advertiser by Soulby in 1847, published poem Night of the Soul (1854) before moving to Ireland in 1856 and apptd editor of the Downshire Protestant, published novel Alfred Staunton (1858) with use of dialect, marr (at Downpatrick, co Down) [?or at Carlisle in 1852] Rose Anne Hart Pridham (qv sub Jefferson), 3 sons, returned to resume editorship of Ulverston Advertiser in 1860 in opposition to new Ulverston Mirror, also becoming proprietor in 1863, published last volume of poems Shifting Scenes, and other poems (1862), died of a stroke at 7 Hoad Terrace, Ulverston, 19 May 1865, aged 35, and buried in Holy Trinity churchyard, Ulverston, 21 May (CW3, ii, 277-300; v, 199-203; NLM (1894), i, 12; Ulverston MIs); obit Gent Mag after May 1865, Ulverston Advertiser 25 May 1865

Bigland family of Bigland Hall, seated there from 15thc, failed in the male line on death of George Braddyll Bigland (qv) in 1915 (Hudleston Armorial W)

Bigland, Charles Augustus Bigland, of Ravensworth, Burgess Hill, buried at Cartmel, 26 February 1904, aged 32

Bigland, Henry (d.1689) left £400 in his will to Cartmel Grammar School, the school was established by 1598

Bigland, George (d.1902), of Bigland Hall, buried at Cartmel, 11 February 1902, aged 71

Bigland, George Braddyll (1891-1915), army officer, 2nd Lieut, 4 King’s Own RL Regiment, last of male line of Bigland family, killed in action at Festubert in 1915, succ by his posthumous dau, Audrey Braddyll (bapt at Haverthwaite, 17 October 1915), who died unmarried (for his life see the end of this entry), and succ by her kinsman, John Bigland Tulk-Hart, solicitor, son of Thomas John Augustus Tulk-Hart, doctor, of Chapel Royal, Brighton (son of Eugene John Tulk-Hart, MD), and his wife Blanche Madeline (born 1873), dau of Thomas Bigland (qv), (who marr at Staveley-in-Cartmel on 29 April 1901), assumed name of Bigland, marr (193x) Miza Pauline xxx, 1 son (R J B, infra) and 1 dau (Sarah-Anne Guinevere (born 15 May 1936 and bapt at Haverthwaite, 28 June), marr (April 1960) William Victor Gubbins, of Eden Lacy, Great Salkeld), and was killed in action in 1944, and succ by his son, Richard John Braddyll Bigland (born 18 December 1938 and bapt at Haverthwaite, 1 July 1939), marr (19xx) Kate, artist, issue, sold Bigland Hall in 1992 and killed in light aircraft accident, 20 January 1994; Anthony John Bigland, of Cockenskell, Blawith, died 20 Decmber 2000, aged 58, and buried at Haverthwaite, 28 December; for George Braddyll Bigland see Editha B.H. Bigland, The Soldier Squire, Ulverston,1923; GBB’s monument Cartmel Priory

Bigland, Percy (1856-1926) portraitist Birkenhead, son of Edward Bigland (1822-1882)

Bigland Ralph (1711-1784), Garter King of Arms (Hudleston)

Bigland, Sir Ralph (born Owen) (1757-1834), son of Joseph Owen of Salford and Elizabeth-Maria Bigland, changed his name to Bigland and adopted the family arms by royal license in 1774, in this year he became Rouge Dragon poursuivant at the College of Arms, in 1780 Richmond herald, in 1803 Norroy herald, Clarenceux in 1822 and Garter king of arms from 1831 to his death in 1838, he was the last herald to hold all three senior posts in succession; Bigland family notes by him are at Gloucester CRO

Bigland, Thomas Braddyll (d.1904), of 5 Shenley Road, Camberwell, buried at Cartmel, 13 May 1904, aged 72

Bigod, Francis JP MP (1507-1537; ODNB), prisoner Carlisle, born Yorkshire son of Sir John Bigod and Joan Strangways, father killed 1514 by the Scots when he was only 7, as an orphan lived in the household of Cardinal Wolsey, involved in the Pilgrimage of Grace and captured 10 Feb 1537, a committed Protestant, a commissioner for assessing monastic wealth who contributed to the Valor Ecclesiastes, he was out of step with the times as he sought monastic reform rather than dissolution, initially opposed to the Pilgrimage of Grace he eventually joined them, consequently he was hanged at Tyburn for treason, marr Katherine Conyers (d.1566)

Bilk, Acker (1929-2014), clarinet player and vocalist, had a goatee beard and wore a bowler hat, famous for his ‘Stranger on the Shore’ (1962), played at the Rink, Barrow in the 1970s; Ray Hewson, The Rink Files

Billinge, Rev Robert Burland [1847-1915], vicar of Urswick, m. Beatrice Blakeney Dixon [b.1853], grandfather of Ophelia Gordon Bell q.v., diarist, travelled to India, Burland Family database online

Bindloss, Alice Maud, m. Lt Col Hugh West Boddington of the Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry, their daughter Zaida Bindloss Boddington [1908-2001] m. T.T. Macan qv

Bindloss, Christopher (d.1581/89), chapman, Alderman of Kendal, one of 12 capital burgesses named in Kendal Charter of Incorporation in 1575, Alderman in 1579 (BoR, 22, 49), family originally of Helsington, marr Annes (buried at Kendal, 31 July 1591, as “wife of Mr Xpofer Byndelosse of Hyegait”), 4 sons (George (buried April 1559), Edward (buried 17 September 1561), Christopher (bapt 1570), of Heversham  and Robert (d.1596, of Borwick) and 1 dau (Elizabeth, bapt 1574, buried 18 February 1576/77, at Kendal), died c.1581/89

Bindloss, Elizabeth (nee Kitching), marr Thomson Bindloss, erected reading room at Milnthorpe in memory of her brother in 1881

Bindloss, Sir Francis (1603-1629), bapt 9 April 1603, only son of Sir Robert Bindloss (qv), marr 1st Dorothy, dau of Thomas Charnoke, of Charnoke [Charnock], 1 dau (Mary, Mrs Dene, of Mansfield), marr 2nd Cecilia, dau of Thomas West, Lord Delaware [De La Warr] (and later wife of Sir John Byron), 4 sons (Dillsward (buried at Warton, April 1627), Robert (qv), Delaware (d. unm before 1664) and Francis (b.1630), of Brock Hall, Lancs, who marr (3 February 1648, at St Mary’s, Lancaster) Elizabeth West, dau of Henry Lord Delaware, and d.s.p.) and 1 dau (Dorothy, wife of Sir William or Charles Whe(e)ler, Bt, lieut-colonel of Guards to Charles II), died v.p. in 1629

Bindloss, James (1764-18xx), MA, clergyman, bapt at Heversham, 10 June 1764, 4th and yst son of Robert Bindloss (1722-1796), of Rowell and formerly of Heversham, and his wife, Jane Parke (d.1777), and uncle of Thompson Bindloss (qv), educ [?Heversham Grammar School] and Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 17 June 1784, BA 1790, MA 1793), marr (28 September 1795) Frances (born 15 August 1754, died 10 March 1814), dau of Revd Thomas Mosley, vicar of Wigginton, nr York, no issue

Bindloss, Robert (d.1595/6), clothier, prob son of Christopher Bindloss (qv), of Kendal, admitted Foreigner Freeman of Kendal borough in c.1575, later of Borwick Hall, acquired moiety of manor (inc Hall) in 1567 from Thomas and Marmaduke Redmayne and other moiety in 1590, marr Agnes Harrison, 5 sons and 3 daus (inc Agnes, wife of William Fleming, of Rydal,  and Dorothy, wife of Sir Thomas Braithwaite (qv), of Burneside), owned land (10 messuages, etc and nearly 1,200 acres) in [and manor of] Mansergh, which they sold to William Burrow in 1576 (RK, ii, 386), made settlement of Borwick and much other property in 1587, with Borwick to devolve on his 2nd son Christopher and wife Millicent (dau of Roger Dalton), and failing their male issue, on his eldest son, Robert (qv), died in 1595 (CW2, xxv, 275-286)

Bindloss, Sir Robert (c.1558-1630), eldest son of Robert Bindloss (qv), aged 37 at his father’s death in 1595, succ to Borwick Hall on death of his yr brother Christopher in 1600 (who left only a daughter), MP for Lancaster 1613, marr 1st Alice, dau and coheir of Lancelot Dockwray, of Dockwray Hall, Kendal, 2 daus (Anne, wife of Henry Denton, and Alice, wife of Henry Bank, of Bank Newton, Yorks), marr 2nd (by 1603) Mary (buried at Warton, 25 December 1625), dau of Edmund Eltoft, of Thornhill in Craven, 1 son Francis (qv) and 3 daus (Dorothy, wife of Charles Middleton, of Belsay, Northumberland, Mary, wife of Robert Holt, of Castleton, Lancashire, and Jane, wife of Sir William Carnaby, of Bothall, Northumberland), died 1630 and succ by his grandson, Robert (qv)

Bindloss, Sir Robert (1624-1688), 1st Bt, of Borwick, bapt 8 May 1624, son of Sir Francis Bindloss, of Borwick Hall, by his 2nd wife Cecilia, succ his grandfather in 1630, cr baronet, 16 June 1641, marr Rebecca (buried 17 June 1708), dau and co-heir of Sir Hugh Perry, alderman of London, 1 dau (Cecilia (buried at Warton, 23 January 1728), who marr (August 1697) of William Standish, of Standish), granted market charter for Burton-in-Kendal, died aged 64 and buried at Warton, 15 November 1688, when baronetcy became extinct

Bindloss, Thompson (1797-1850), ironmonger and mayor of Kendal, bapt 16 July 1797, 4th and yst son of Philip Bindloss (1766-1802), of Rowell (died 29 January 1802, aged 35), by his wife, Jane (died 8 August 1831, aged 69), dau of Thomas Watson, of Park House, had sister Jane (died 17 March 1831, aged 31), had firm of Bindloss & Cooper, iron and steel merchants and nail manufacturers, wholesale and furnishing ironmongers, Kirkland, elected to reformed Kendal Corporation in 1835, Mayor of Kendal 1838-39 and 1844-45, chairman of committee for securing Return of Mr Warburton to Borough of Kendal in 1843, marr Elizabeth (died after fall on 21/23 October 1881, aged 78, and buried at Heversham, 27 October), dau of Edward Kitching, surgeon, and sister of Dr John Kitching (qv) (she had Institute and Reading Rooms in Milnthorpe built as memorial to her brother in 1880-81, but died after accident in Flowerden, the new house built on site of older one in which she had been born), no issue, of Castle Green, Sedbergh Road, Kendal (built for him by George Webster in 1848), where he died, x April 1850, aged 52, and buried at Heversham, 9 April; extract from will, dated 24 January 1856, bequeathing £700 to G E Wilson (qv) and John Kitching (qv, infra) on trust to purchase organ for Heversham church for £300 and invest £400 to employ an organist and also to repair his family tombstone in Heversham churchyard (MI) (CRO, WPR 8/12/3/3/1; WoK, 71)

Bindloss, William (1825-1895), DL, JP, municipal leader, philanthropist and ironmonger, born 2 May 1825, yr son of Robert Bindloss (1792-1840) and his wife Elizabeth Mitchell (marr 1818, at St Margaret’s, Westminster), and nephew of Thompson Bindloss (qv), apprenticed as boy to his uncle Thompson in his ironmonger’s business Bindloss & Cooper, formerly Bindloss & Nicholson, in Kirkland, working his way up being traveller for the firm to become a partner with his elder brother Robert (1823-1868), as Messrs Robert and William Bindloss (after Cooper left), but who was found dead in bed in Kirkland, 18 December 1868, aged 45, then retired from business on his marriage, marr (11 October 1869) Agnes Sarah (d.1894, aged 75), dau of Dr John Kitching (qv), thereby inheriting land and property in south Westmorland, also got portion of £100,000 estate of Miss Hannah Braithwaite after contesting her will, transformed from ironmonger to municipal benefactor, first elected to Kendal Corporation in 1877, apptd Alderman in 1880, Mayor of Kendal six times 1880-81, 1881-82, 1886-87, 1892-93, 1893-94, and 1894-95, carriage procession from Kendal Town Hall to Milnthorpe to open new Cottage Hospital (built as memorial to Dr Kitching) on 20 October 1881, inaugurated ‘Mayor’s complementary balls’ in 1882, benefactor of Town Hall extension in 1890s, contributing £7,000 towards alterations and £3,000 for purchase of carillon for clocktower, wife Agnes laid foundation stone, but died on 11 December 1894 before completion of work, also gave £30,000 towards cost of purchasing Kendal Union Gas and Water Company (Bindloss Room in Town Hall), also elected to Westmorland County Council on its formation in 1889 for one of Kendal divisions and elected an Alderman on death of W Wakefield in 1893, and re-elected for six years just three weeks before his death, DL for Westmorland, JP for both county and borough of Kendal, of Castle Green, Kendal, where he died, 2 April 1895, aged 69, and buried at Heversham, 5 April; portraits of Bindloss and wife by C Fischer in Kendal Town Hall (KCN, 06 and 13.04.1895; CM, 270-271; pedigree and papers in CRO, WD/MM/boxes 131-134); the family is acknowledged with the inclusion of a large B on the facade of the town hall

Bintley, Job [fl.1839-1886], land surveyor, Bampton tithe survey 1839 (CRO, WPR 15), of The Oaks, Brighouse, Yorkshire and at Colchester, but also owner of burgage dwelling house at 106 Kirkland, Kendal (1886)

Bintley, Joseph (c.1838-1921), architect, engineer and county surveyor, worked as pupil for five years in office of J S Crowther, architect, of 22 Princess Street, Manchester, and one year with Paley of Lancaster from c.1854, then in business on his own account, built number of houses in Kendal (inc Underfell for J J Wilson, Ellor Bank near railway for W Thomson, 20 Greenside for T Greenwood, etc), Ross Cottage, Barrows Green (for William Slee, 1864), Fallbarrow, Windermere (for John Rawson) [but new Pevsner attrib to Crowther, c.1869], vicarage at Over Kellet (for Revd George Quirk), at Barrow and Dalton (for Joseph Rawlinson), and extension to Tallentire Hall, Bridekirk in 1863 (for William Browne), had burgage offices in Old Town Hall Buildings (1864), then of 7 Lowther Street, Kendal, applied for situation of Westmorland County Bridge Master, Kendal (application of 13 August 1866, with testimonials, in CRO, WD/Cu/198), having at that time carried out or had work in hand to a cost of over £60,000, County Surveyor and Architect, worked with Cornelius Nicholson (qv) on construction of Kentmere reservoirs, plans incl Kendal Gaol 1875 (CRO, WDX 1614), other county work inc police stations at Kirkby Stephen 1887-, Tebay 1905, and Windermere 1913-14, author of report on inspection of roads in South Westmorland District Council area 1895, designed new villa ‘Applegarth’ for John Rigg in 1891 (plan in CRO, WSUD/W1/51A & B), other work inc plan of Railway Hotel, Kendal (1903) (CRO, WDX 1538), marr Anne Lena, 1 son (George Rawson, born 19 March 1870 and bapt 25 June, at Staveley) and 4 daus (Lena, born 23 June 1866 and bapt 24 November; Annie Elizabeth, born 10 August 1867 and bapt 19 October; Mary Elizabeth Maud, born 1 March 1869 and bapt 7 March; and Alice Lena, bapt 6 April 1872, all at Staveley), of Kirkland, Kendal until 1864/5, then of Common Head, Staveley (1866, 1921), died aged 83 and buried at Ings, 16 April 1921 [Mary Elizabeth Bintley, of 8 Longcroft Road, Ben Rhydding, Ilkley, buried at Ings, 5 November 1914, aged 78]

Binyon, Alfred (1800-1856), member of the family of bankers in Kendal, financed Richard Arkwright, his dau Frances m. Rev Reginald Remington (1827-1909) (qv), Merlewood, Grange-over-Sands built by him 1853, died 1856,  buried at Lindale, 26 August 1856, aged 56; Manchester City News May 1907; his daughter Alice m Thomas Machell Remington (1836-1900) (qv)

Binyon, Robert Laurence (1869-1943; ODNB), poet, the house Merlewood, Grange-over-Sands built by his grandfather Alfred Binyon q.v. in 1853; John Becket and Andrew Gardiner, Merlewood Grange over Sands 1850-1950

Birch, Samuel John ‘Lamorna’ R.A. [1869-1955], artist, exhibited Lake Artists, Renouf, 57-8

Bird family of Crosby Garrett, three squarsons in turn (rectors and lords of the manor from 1746; from 1717-1831), the manor was devised to the Rev William Bird by Thomas Gale of Whitehaven in 1746, Bird’s grandson, also rector, sold the manor in 1822

Bird, Derrick (1957-2010), multiple murderer and taxi driver, born at Whitehaven, 27 November 1957, died at Boot, 2 June 2010, aged 52, and cremated 18 June

Bird, William (17xx-18xx), JP, clergyman, made declaration that he had an estate, being manor rectory of Crosby Garrett, perpetual advowson and lands at Crosby Garrett and Kirkby Stephen, to act as a JP, 1805 (WQSR/599/12)

Birkbeck, Frank (1776-1849), brewer and philanthropist, of Mellbecks, Kirkby Stephen, son of John Birkbeck and Elozabeth Petty, a local bridge is popularly called ‘Frank’s Bridge’ after him as it was near hs brewery, offered a stolen horse by George Ibbotson he turned it down as it was lame, Ibbotson was transported for life in 1817, signed a 21 year mining lease in 1829 with others (ZLB/1/12 N Yorks RO); directory 1829; Birkbeck pedigree online

Birkett family of Penrith (fl 20thc), ran a bakery JR Birkett and Sons, latterly owned Hutton hall which gave its name to their bakery, established a chain of bakery shops, bakery extended in 1938 (SUDP/3/PLANS/364), bought up by Greggs

Birkett, Anne (aka Dame Birkett), ran a dame’s school in Penrith at Robert Bartman’s house in the SW corner of St Andrew’s churchyard, the house has a large porch and the initials RB, she taught William and Dorothy Wordsworth (qqv) there as small children, it was here that the future poet met his wife Mary Hutchison, Dame Birkett was keen on local traditions and festivals at Easter, May Day and Shrove Tuesday

Birkett, Dame, ran a school in Penrith in the 16thc

Birkett, James (c.1794-1835), schoolmaster of Cartmel Fell, of Rakefoot, buried at Witherslack, 11 October 1835, aged 41

Birkett, John (17xx-18xx), clergyman and schoolmaster, of Finsthwaite, nominated to curacy of Finsthwaite Chapel and to school in 1781 (bond in £200 to Jane Penny and others, 26 June 1781, in CRO, WT/Ch/acc.11085)

Birkett, John Stanwell, educ Clare College Cambridge from 1885, qualified solicitor 1891, father John Birkitt, a brewer, lived Broomhill, Cumberland; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Birkett, Reinee (b.1902), writer, b. Portinscale, A Lakeland Childhood: Memoirs of Reinee Birkett, ‘Oor Lizzie’ Keswick, c.2018; also Keswick Suffrage Exhibition, 2018; also including Mary Addison, Mary Jane Wise and Josephine Brown

Birkett, William (16xx-17xx), author of A Compendious Treatise of Measuring and Gaugeing (1711)

Birkett, William Norman, 1st Baron Birkett of Ullswater (1883-1962; ODNB), barrister and judge, born 6 September 1883 at 4 Ainsworth Street, Ulverston [plaque on facade], 4th of five children of Thomas Birkett (b.1854 at Wood Cottage, Haverthwaite, d. at Nithsdale, Ulverston, 1 October 1913), draper, and Agnes (b.1854, d. 16 April 1887), dau of Moses Tyson, butcher, marr at Ulverston, 15 October 1877), ed Barrow Higher Grade School and Emmanuel College Cambridge, Tom Mitford, the brother of Nancy Mitford, was in chambers with him in the Inner Temple, m. Ruth Nillson, 1 son and 1 dau, cr Baron Birkett, of Ulverston 1958, opened Longlands Boys’ School, Kendal on 25 October 1960, made notable speech in House of Lords to prevent Ullswater becoming a reservoir for Manchester on 8 February 1962, two days before he had heart attack and despite an emergency operation in the London Clinic died 10 February 1962, cremated, no memorial service, but commemorated by a fell above the lake near Kailpot Crag being named after him in 1962 (cairn with commemorative tablet built by boys and instructors from Ullswater Outward Bound School led by warden Sqdn Ldr Lester Davies) and in Memorial (carved in local slate by Pip Hall) for the Ullswater Preservation Society unveiled near the Ullswater Steamers pier at Pooley Bridge on 29 August 2017 (CWH, 26.08.2017) (biography H. Montgomery Hyde (1965); Dennis Bardens, Lord Birkett’s Famous Cases)

Birkhead, Agnes, master mercer, signed up an apprentice; CW3 xv 173

Birks, William (1843-19xx), FRAS, Unitarian minister, born at Stoney Middleton, Derbyshire, 29 April 1843, student at Unitarian Home Missionary Board College 1864-1867, Minister at Hastings 1867-1870 and Gloucester 1870-1874, started ministry at Kendal Market Place Chapel, 2 December 1874, resigned 28 June 1877, subsequently minister at Wolverhampton, Portsmouth, Banbury, Sunderland and Aberdeen, retired in 1893, keen astronomer, elected FRAS 1887 (ONK, 431-32)

Birley, Eric Barff (1906-1995; ODNB), MBE, MA, FBA, FSA, archaeologist and historian, born at his parents’ home, The Poplars, Worsley Road, Swinton, Manchester, or at Eccles (RJC), 12 January 1906, yst of four sons and 2 daus of Joseph Harold Birley (1870-1940), businessman and Alderman of Manchester, and member of CWAAS from 1930, of Didsbury, Manchester, and his wife, Edith Gladys Fernandes Lewis, and brother of Robert (qv), educ Clifton College and Brasenose College, Oxford (Greats, BA 1928, MA 19xx), joining CWAAS while still an undergraduate in 1926 (his father also a member from 1930, when of Moorland, Didsbury, until his death in January 1940, and his brother from 1931), purchased Chesterholm (on Vindolanda site near Bardon Mill in 1929), apptd to teaching post at Armstrong College, Newcastle upon Tyne in 1928 and transferred to lectureship at Durham University in 1931, and professor (delivered inaugural lecture on Archaeology in the North of England at Durham on 6 May 1958, which surveyed growth of active interest in the subject from 16th century), published articles on ‘The hinterland of Hadrian’s Wall’ (D&N Transactions, xi, 45-63) and ‘John Horsley and John Hodgson’ (AA, 4th ser, xxxvi, 1-46) in 1958, marr (5 April 1934) Margaret Isabel (Peggy), dau of Revd James Goodlet, minister of Forest Hall Presbyterian church, Newcastle, 2 sons (Robin and Anthony), and lived at Chesterholm until moving to Durham in 1950, president, CWAAS 1957-1960, editor of Transactions 1948-1957, died at Carvoran House, Greenhead, 20 October 1995, aged 89, and his ashes buried in garden at Chesterholm (CW2, xl, 231; xcvi, 243-244); CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff

Birley, Henry (1771-1830), linen thread mfr, of Whitehaven, est mill at Cleator

Birley, Robert Neville (1902-197x), MA, accountant, son of Joseph Harold Birley, of Swinton, Manchester (qv sub his brother Eric), prob ed Clifton, schoolmaster at The Craig School, Windermere, aged 26, when he marr (8 April 1928, at Tiviot Dale Chapel, Stockport) Margaret Joan Beardsell (aged 23), of Ivy House, Parsonage Road, Heaton Moor, Stockport, served WW2 with RAF (F/O 1940, Sqdn Ldr by 1943), member of CWAAS from 1931, Hon Auditor from 1947 (jointly with G C Ingall from 1953), member of committee for parish register section from 1948, transcribed parish registers of Holy Trinity, Kendal, 1591-1631 (Parts III and IV, 1952 and 1960) without index (later compiled by Robert Dickinson and published in 1973), agreed to stand for election to South Westmorland Rural District Council for Hutton Roof and Lupton ward in 1949 (‘I am a comparative stranger to Westmorland, and very ignorant about Hutton Roof and Lupton’, letter of 27 July 1949 to clerk in CRO, WPC 49/corresp), of 6 Moseley Road, Cheadle Hulme, Stockport (1931), The White House, Brampton Road, Bramhall Lane, Stockport (1933), 26 King Street, Manchester (1935), 34 Castle Street, Liverpool (1937), Stonecroft, Parkfield Road, Didsbury, Manchester (1940), Brookland, Holme (1946), 29 Lowther Street, Kendal (1951), and High Ground, Heversham (1955), died by 1974

Birnie, Edward D’Arcy (1892-1918), DSO, MC, military officer, son of Robert Birnie, a Scot, head gamekeeper at Winscales, and his wife Isabella, of Sycamore Terrace, High Harrington, Workington, joined 5th Territorial Battalion, Border Regt 1909, serving as sergeant in France from 26 October 1914, commissioned November 1915, awarded MC as temp 2nd Lieut (LG, 8 December 1916) and DSO as acting Captain (LG, 23 July, 1918), died 22 March 1918 of wounds incurred on 21 March while serving with 8th Bn, Border Regt, aged 26 (Harrington War Memorial [erected 1925, but re-sited and re-dedicated by Bishop Graham Dow of Carlisle on 12 June 2001]); memorial gateway lamp erected at Rampside Church (now lost) by Miss M Pollitt to whom he was engaged) [possibly Margaret Henrietta Pollitt, born at Barrow in 1894, and staying with her grandparents at Ulverston in 1901 census]

Bjornsson, Ida (fl.mid 20thc.), limnologist, 1st woman from Iceland to be awarded a PhD, met Jack Talling qv en route to a meeting at Stanford university, married him, 1 son and 1 dau, worked in the Sudan and the Lake District

Black, James Frederick, BA, clergyman and schoolmaster, apptd master of Free Grammar School, Kendal, 9 December 1845

Black, James Tait; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Black, Ian Forbes (c.1930-2017), clergyman, born in Wallasey, Cheshire, ordained deacon 1958 and priest 1959 from St Aidan’s College, Birkenhead, marr (1960) Jean, dau of churchwarden of St Michael’s Church, Bramhall, 2 sons (Forbes and Angus) and 1 dau (Elizabeth), moved to Cumbria, chaplain at HM Prison Haverigg from 1972, later vicar of St Giles, Great Orton and St Andrew, Aikton, musician and horologist in his spare time, a private man but with a keen sense of humour, died at home in Port Carlisle, 17 February 2017, aged 87, cremated at Carlisle followed by a service of thanksgiving at St Michael’s, Bowness-on-Solway, 27 February (CN, 10.03.2017)

Black, William Rushton, baron Black (1893-1985), engineer, son of James Black (b.1861), a steamship agent and Florence Rushton (1863-1947), dau of a roll turner in Barrow iron works, his grandfather John Black was a building contractor ed Barrow technical college, apprenticed in Vickers 1908, works manager Crayford 1924, then general manager Wayman Motor Bodies 1928, Park Royal Vehicles, Leeds coachbuilders making Routemaster and Bridgemaster buses, m. Patricia Dallas, 1 dau 1 son killed RAF 1944, knighted 1958, chairman Leyland Motors 1963-6, baron 1968  (

Blackburn, Thomas Eliel Fenwick (1916-1977), poet, , A Clip of Steel (1966), b. Hensingham, ed Selwyn College, Cambridge but expelled and later BA Dunelm

Blackett-Ord, Andrew (1921-2012) CVO, barrister and judge, b. Haltwhistle, ed Eton and New College, Oxford, POW 2nd WW, m. Rosemary Bovill, in 1951 they inherited his wife’s family estate at Helbeck and later his family home at Whitfield Hall near Hexham, barrister in conveyancing, VC of the County Palatine of Lancaster, a judge, d.Brough

Blackett-Ord, James, ed Leeds university, contributed to the university anthology, English master Marylebone GS, m. Rosalie de Mesio, an artist, divorced and married twice more; his memoir A Clip of Steel describes his childhood under a repressive clergyman father

Blackett-Ord, Rosemary [d.c.2015], writer; Susan Breeks of Helbeck [2014] won a Lakeland book of the year prize

Blacklock, James (1782-1823), bookseller and publisher, of Cumwhitton, business in Carlisle, m. Mary Ann Pearson, their son William James Blacklock (qv)

Blacklock, Thomas (1721-1791; ODNB), poet, son of John Blacklock [d.1740], bricklayer and his wife Ann Rae, daughter of Richard Rae, cattle drover

Blacklock, William James (1816-1858; ODNB), artist, son of James Blacklock qv, b. London but his family had Cumberland roots, apprenticed to Charles Thurnham in Carlisle, produced fine landcapes in oils, including Old Mill near Haweswater (1854), Naworth Castle (1849; NG Dublin), Devoke Water (1853; Abbot Hall) and Catbells and Causey Pike (1854; Tullie House), lithographs, suffered from mental illness, died in the Creighton asylum, Dumfries; Marshall Hall, 5-6

Blackman, James Henry (18xx-1xxx), clergyman, d 1868 and p 1869 (Carl), curate of Preston Patrick 1868-1871 and vicar 1871-1880, curate of Dawlish, dio Exeter 1888, of Elm Grove, Dawlish (1890), decd by 1914

(Blacksmith), this epitaph exists in both C and W (version at Settle and also Blackburn cathedral graveyard on the stone of a blacksmith called Hill: 'My sledge and hammer lie reclined, My bellows too have lost their wind’ (and 6 more lines) From William Andrews Epitaphs (1883 rpr 1899)

Bladen, John (1764-1820), MP, Colonel, and director of East India Co, died at Ambleside [but not buried there] (WCN, ii, 65); John Taylor (1722-1784) (qv)

Blair, Claude (18xx-191x), MC, Lieut, Royal Engineers, educ St Bees School (head boy), played football, rugby and cricket for county, killed by a shell just a few days after being awarded MC

Blake, Brian [fl.1950s], MA, editor of CWAAS Transactions 1957-1959, author of The Solway Firth (1955) and many articles, of Silver Beck, Silverhowe, Grasmere, wife Joyce

Blakeney, John, captain who fought with Marlborough, settled at Distington

Blamire family, also see Bleamire and Bleaymire

Blamire, G (d.1864/5), barrister at law, of 1 Adam Street, Adelphi, London, and Carlisle (sale of estate and effects by auction in Athenaeum, Carlisle, on 7-10 March 1865)

Blamire, George Marshall (c.1899-19xx), trade unionist and local councillor, Kendal Borough Councillor (Labour) for Highgate Ward from c.1934, re-elected in 1938, but moved to a house in Oxenholme area 100 yards outside the borough boundary, thereby becoming disqualified from office and resigning before elections in November [1945], local secretary of Boot and Shoe Operatives’ Union until he retired in 1965 (praised ‘for his very material contribution towards the success of the Company [K Shoes] and the prosperity of our workers, who have had almost continual full employment year after year’, Ronald Somervell’s retirement speech as chairman in 1965), deputised for Councillor Joseph Kirkman, chairman of Westmorland Labour Party, in proposing toast of return of Labour Government in July 1945 at celebratory dinner at Kendal Hotel for 50th anniversary of Kendal and District Trades Council [established in 1895 as Kendal and Labour Council, changing to Trades Council in 1935/36], which he chaired in 1949-1951

Blamire, Susanna (1747-1794; ODNB), poet, b. Cardew Hall, Dalston, daughter of William Blamire [1703-1758], yeoman, (memorial tablet in Carlisle Cathedral 1994; memorial plaque at Raughton Head dedicated in March 2006); her brother was Richmond Blamire, whose dau marr Robert Baynes Armstrong, QC (d.1869) (SSR, 161); Henry Lonsdale, The Poetical Works of Miss Susanna Blamire, 1842 (this work includes a memoir by Patrick Maxwell), Christopher Maycock, A Passionate Poet: Sarah Blamire, a Biography, 2003

Blamire, William [1790-1862; ODNB], MP, lived The Oaks, Dalston, son of William Blamire [1840-1814], yeoman and naval surgeon, involved in tithe debates, described as ‘that indefatigable public servant’, m. Jane Curwen

Blanchard, Bernard W (19xx-2012), Methodist minister, died 12 September 2012 (WG, 20.09.2012)

Bland, Fanny, archaeologist, wrote papers for the CWAAS

Bland, John Salkeld (1840-1867), nephew of Thomas Bland (qv), author of ms book, The Vale of Lyvennet (edited by F H M Parker, Kendal, 1910), sketchbook of castles, churches and landscapes in Westmorland and Cumberland (sold at Sotheby’s on 12 April 1963 for £32), of Wyebourne, Reagill, died of consumption, 4 January 1867; mss Jackson collection, Carlisle library

Bland, Thomas (1799-1865; DCB), artist and sculptor, creator of Italian ‘Image Garden’ at Reagill, erected small stone obelisk on site of house of ancestors of Joseph Addison on Meaburn Hill, also erected obelisk at Black Dub, near source of river Lyvennet at head of Crosby Ghyll, in 1840 with inscription commemorating occasion of Charles II and his army resting on way down from Scotland on 8 August 1651 (renewed in 1861), Sketchbook of ink drawings and watercolours of churches and houses made in period 1830-1840 (in Jackson Collection, Carlisle Library D45; copy in CRO, WDY 254), died unmarried, 18 September 1865, bur Crosby Ravensworth, (LRNW, 320-321); pedigree Kendal CRO back to 1576 ref WDY 573; Marshall Hall, 6; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 183-4 and 196

Bleasdale, James Ratcliffe (1857-1922), printer and editor of West Cumberland Times, born Lancaster, son of John Bleasdale, grocer and butcher of Penny St, and Sarah Ratcliffe, in 1871 he was an errand boy (for his father?), marr Elizabeth Hodgson (d.1898) in Cockermouth where he was a printer and compositor, four daughters Annie, Mildred, Hilda and Bertha, in 1891 he was a printer’s overseer, marr Frances Annie Thornthwaite in 1904, daughters Mona, Amy, Winfred and sons James, Walter and Frederick, latterly lived 2 Lorton Rd, Cockermouth, probate to Frances 1922, buried Cockermouth C1 grave 18; ancestry has a lively photograph

Bleaymire, Edward, steward of Musgrave Manors of Great and Little Musgrave 1876 (CRO, WDX 1572); Bleaymire, Thomas Dobson, steward of Manor of Barton, 1818 (CRO, WDX 884/4/7), and Manors of Great and Little Musgrave 1828, 1836 (WDX 1572); Bleaymire, William, steward, deputy to above for Manors of Great and Little Musgrave in 1843 and Steward in 1851, 1857 (CRO, WDX 1572)

Bleazard, Ernest (20thc), Tullie House curator, very skilled in setting up cases of birds, published Birds of Lakeland (1973)

Blencowe family, J. Blencowe, The Blencowe Families, 2001

Blencowe family (also see Blincoe);

Blencowe, Adam, granted land at Blencowe, Newbiggin and Penruddock by the lord of Greystocke in 1342;

Blencowe, Adam de, standard bearer at Crecy in 1346 and at Poitiers 1356; Fr. West, Antiquities xxix

Blencowe, Anthony [c.1535-1618], prob b. Blencowe, son of Anthony, related to baron Dudley through his mother, admitted to Oriel College, Oxford as a student, BA MA, praelector of dialectics 1567, senior proctor 1572, provost of Oriel, prebendary of Wells, chancellor of Chichester cathedral, bequeathed £1300 for the building of the front quadrangle at Oriel where his arms are carved over the college entrance, portrait in college; 67 of his books recorded in the Oriel donors’ book and 16 given to the Bodleian; CW2 lx 56; bond in 1000 marks between him, Geo Blencowe and Anthony Highmore CRO D HGB/1/41

Blencowe, William (1714-1769), m. Elizabeth Latus of Millom in 1736, she had inherited the manor of Lowick, lived Lowick Hall, buried at Ulverston, 13 June 1769, their son Ferdinando (1742-1803) also lived at the hall

Blennerhasset family, lords of Allonby in the 17thc., Thomas Blennerhasset summoned with sixty riders to the battle of Solway Moss in 1543, John Blennerhasset mayor of Carlisle 1553-4

Blennerhassett, Thomas (fl.1547-1611), MP Carlisle (1584-1611); of Flimby Hall and Ballycarty Castle, Ireland

Blezard, Ernest (1902-1970), natural historian, curator Tullie House, ed. The Birds of Lakeland, 1943

Blezard, Thomas (fl.19thc.), of Ings, dialect poet and song writer, ‘Tamar o’Trootbeck’ and ‘Kentmer’ Teap Fair’, Original Westmorland Songs (1868) (CRO, WDSo 101/1), LDDialect Soc WDSO 101

Bliss, Joseph (18xx-19xx), politician, MP (Liberal) for Cockermouth division of Cumberland 1916-1918, winning by-election until constituency abolished in 1918

Blomfield, Charles James (1786-1857), MA, DD, bishop of Chester 1824-1828 and then of London, former Cambridge pupil of John Hudson, vicar of Kendal, who enlisted his support in proposal for alteration in vicarage glebe in 1825, also made visitation to Kendal (AK, 374; CW3, viii, 101)

Blomfield, Dorothy F (1858-1932), poet and hymn writer, granddaughter of bishop Charles Blomfield (qv), her sister Katherine married Dr Hugh Redmayne of Brathay hall (qv), she wrote the hymn ‘O Perfect Love’ for their wedding at Ambleside, another lyric was set by Mary Wakefield (qv), her nephew David Blomfield (1908-1976) married Enid Hayes [1914-2000], the niece of Samuel Victor Hayes (qv) see Gurney

Blomfield, Sir Reginald Theodore (1856-1942; ODNB) architect, son of the Rev George Blomfield (1822-1900) and grandson of bishop Charles Blomfield (qv), designed inter alia the font in Carlisle cathedral and the Menin Gate war memorial, married Anne F.M. Burra and was by marriage the uncle of the artist Edward Burra q.v.

Bloomer, Right Revd Thomas (1894-1984), DD, Bishop of Carlisle, born 14 July 1894, son of Thomas Bloomer and his wife Mary, educ Royal School, Dungannon and Trinity College Dublin (DD 1946), ordained to curacy of Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland 1918, curate of Castleton, Lancs 1922 and Cheltenham, Glos 1923, vicar of St Mark’s, Bath 1928-1935, vicar of Barking 1935-1946, rural dean of Barking and canon of Chelmsford Cathedral 1943-1946, chaplain to the King 1944-1947, proctor in convocation of Canterbury 1945, bishop of Carlisle 1946-1966 (entered Lords 1953), freeman of city of Carlisle 1966, known to have had a sense of humour, marr 1st (1935) Margaret Grace (died 1969), dau of Revd David Hutchinson, 1 son (David, Conservative Parliamentary candidate for Carlisle in October 1974 and May 1979) and 2 daus, marr 2nd (1973) Marjorie, widow of I M Orr, author of A Fact and a Faith (1943) and A Fact and an Experience (1944), of 33 Greengate, Levens, died 5 January 1984

Bluck, Judith [1936-2011], sculptor, her work in Cumbria includes Jimmy Dyer and The Otters in The Lanes at Carlisle and The Capstan Boy at  Whitehaven harbour, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 152-3, 189 and 196

Boag, George (18xx-19xx), clergyman, educ University of Edinburgh, d 1878 and p 1880 (Carl), curate of Bridekirk 1878-1881, St James, Carlisle 1881-1882, curate-in-charge of Holme Eden 1882-1884, and Distington 1884-1886, vicar of Winster 1886-1899 (last reg entry is June 1899), but then no trace

Boazman, Henry (1840-1904), landowner, yst son of John Boazman (1801-1840) and his wife (marr 1825) Mary Hill (1803-1871), of Temple Sowerby, Lord of Manor of Temple Sowerby, of Acorn Bank, Temple Sowerby, marr (1874) Hannah Imeson (1852-1920), died and buried in Temple Sowerby churchyard, 26 November 1904; John Dalston Boazman (1830-1853), his eldest brother, died in 1853; William Boazman (1833-1856), his elder brother, educ Queens College, Oxford, died in December 1856 and buried at Temple Sowerby, 5 January 1857, aged 23

Boazman, Kenneth Imeson (18xx-19xx), mine manager, of Millrigg, Culgaith, near Temple Sowerby (owned by family since 1661), manager of family gypsum mine at Acorn Bank, marr (1924) Isabel Hope (ashes buried at Temple Sowerby, 18 November 1961, aged 67), dau of James Morton Nicholson (qv), of Aston Lea, Kirkby Thore; his cousins, Barbara Avril Dalston Boazman (Lady of Manor) and Marigold Gillian Bridget Imeson Boazman living at Millrigg in 1970s (GiC, 161-)

Boddington, Lt Col Hugh West, of the Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry, m. Alice Maud Bindloss, their daughter Zaida Bindloss Boddington (1908-2001) m. T.T. Macan qv

Boddy, Frederick John Richard (19xx-2012), businessman, High Sheriff of Cumbria 1994-95, former president of Burton, Milnthorpe and Carnforth Agricultural Society, (dau, Arabella Millicent, of Curwen Woods, Burton-in-Kendal, buried at Burton-in-Kendal, 7 August 1997, aged 23), died, funeral at St James’s church, Burton, 12 April 2012

Bolton, John de (d.1405), 27th Abbot of Furness

Bolton, Col. John [Boulton] (1756-1837), soldier and West India merchant, born in Ulverston and bapt there, 13 April 1756, son of Abraham Boulton, of King Street, Ulverston, apothecary, based at Duke Street, Liverpool, purchased Storrs Hall from David Pike-Watts (qv) in 1806 (who had purchased it from Sir John Legard, (qv)) and remodelled it out of profits of slave trade in 1808-1811 to design of Joseph Gandy, who also did designs for new buildings in grounds, inc a temple-like summerhouse on knoll to north of house, a garden seat in form of an aedicule, and a ‘Druidical Temple’ on Berkshire Island (now Ramp Holme) on Windermere, none of which were actually built [cf. Druidical Temple built by Joseph Pocklington (qv) on Pocklington Island (now Derwent Isle) on Derwentwater in 1779], (his land agent was Robert Pickthall, of Middle Farm cottage, 1829), entertained Wordsworth at Storrs, established school at Bowness [fine medallion plaque], patron of Windermere Regatta of 1825, hosted Northern Circuit dinner at Storrs Hall in August 1822 at which Henry Brougham met Canning, customer of Barnard Gregg, grocer in Bowness, in 1818-1820 (CRO, WDB 151); (J M Gandy sketchbook with drawings of Roslin, Melrose, Lancaster and Storrs acquired by Sir John Soane’s Museum by purchase at Sotheby’s on 15 July 1999, see article by Ian Goodall and Margaret Richardson in Architectural History, 44 (2001), 45-56) (Storrs Hall sold by descendant in 1889 and converted into an hotel in 1890), for tomb Hyde and Pevsner

Bolton, John (1791-1873), land surveyor and geologist, born at Urswick in 1791, poor parents, ‘educated himself’, (? ed Urswick Grammar School) first interested in rocks when a well was sunk by Malachi Cranke (qv) in field called the ‘Hills’ behind the school on Urswick Green in 1795/6, moved to Ulverston at age of 9, worked in weaving shop, visited every limestone quarry in Furness, then studied Silurian rocks of district and collected fossils, also invented first loom for weaving figured damask table-cloths, published geological papers and pamphlets (incl Particulars of a First Exploration of the extensive and newly discovered Cavern at Stainton, Low Furness, 1871) and Geological Fragments, collected principally from Rambles among the Rocks of Furness and Cartmel (1869), had notable collection of fossils, had small donation from Queen’s Bounty Fund (obtained for him by Prof Sedgwick), of Sedgwick Cottage, near Ulverston, died at Camden House, 10 January 1873 (GF; FFW, 35-39); Alan Smith, The Rock Men, 2001

Bolton, John, dialect writer, wrote The Ulverston Perpetual Tide Table, a familiar conversation between a Low Furness farmer and a townsman; Joseph Wright, English Dialect (section on Lancashire), p.19

Bolton, John (1838-1924), solicitor, ensign in Westmorland Rifle Volunteers 1860, admitted solicitor 1863, Clerk to Justices, Windermere division 1869-1878 and Kendal division 1878-1888, also to Kendal Borough Justices 1878-1888, Town Clerk, Kendal 1874-1908, Clerk of the Peace for Westmorland 1888-1889 and of Westmorland County Council 1889-1916, also clerk to Westmorland Education Authority, clerk to Kendal Borough Education Authority, Kendal Reservoir Commissioners and to Sleddall Almshouses, Under Sheriff, Bolton & Bolton office at 14 Kent Street, President of Westmorland Law Society 1891-1914, of Hollingarth, Kendal (1905), died 22 August 1924 (WG obit in CRO, WDY 511)

Bolton, John (1856-1915), Cockermouth GS, dialect publications; H. Winter, Great Cockermouth Scholars

Bolton, John Edward (18xx-19xx), solicitor, son of John Bolton (qv), Bolton & Bolton, Kendal, Under Sheriff for Westmorland, Town Clerk of Kendal 1908-1932, also of Hollingarth, Kendal (1905), of 8 Belmont, Kendal (1925)

Bolton, Robert (1697-1763), dean Carlisle

Bonar Law, friend of Sir Wilfred Lawson, probably visited Brayton

Bond, Alfred (18xx-19xx), schoolmaster, of 43 Hill Road, Barrow, when he and Edith Mary had son John Lawson bapt at Coniston on 22 December 1912 (born 24 October 1912)

Bond, Ernest Radcliffe (1919-2003; ODNB), police officer, b. Barrow, son of William Edward Bond who worked in the shipyard and Annie Elizabeth Radcliffe, his first training was as an apprentice to a French polisher, joined the Scots Guards 1935, fought in 2ndWW MNiddle East, and 8th Army in North adfrica, m. Mabel Phoebe Isabel Lammie, Metropolitan Police, fraud squad, flying squad and first cdr of bomb squad

Bond, Henry, began career at Lincoln, first Kendal Public Librarian 1892; J G Olle, A Librarian of No Importance, 1970

Bone, Tom C (18xx-19xx), solicitor, town clerk of Whitehaven (1938), of 13 Victoria Road, Whitehaven

Bonomi, Ignatius Richard Frederick Nemesius (1787-1870; ODNB), architect, born at 76 Great Titchfield Street, London, 31 October 1787, and bapt at Sardinian chapel, 27 December, 4th but eldest surviving son of Joseph Bonomi (1739-1808), architect, of Rome and London, and Rosa Florini (1755-1812), a cousin of Angelica Kauffmann, and brother of Joseph (1796-1878), sculptor and Egyptologist, educ not known, started architectural training in father’s office about 1803, moved to Durham about 1809 (father’s patrons at Lambton Castle), completed new Durham assize courts in 1811, built up his own extensive practice in Durham with wide clientele among local aristocracy and clergy (both Anglican and Catholic), apptd surveyor of bridges for co Durham in 1813, designed first railway bridge in England (at Skerne, near Darlington in 1824 for Stockton & Darlington Railway Company), surveyor to dean and chapter of Durham 1827-1840, competent designer in both neo-classical and Gothic styles of churches (‘rather plain and uninspired’), public buildings, small country houses and suburban villas, almost entirely in Northumberland, Durham and North Riding of Yorkshire, with just two churches in Cumberland (St Cuthbert’s Roman Catholic, Wigton (1837) and Nenthead (1845)), architect to London Lead Company and designed houses for company’s agents at Longmarton, Stanhope and Middleton in Teesdale, had two main assistants (J L Pearson (1817-1897), pupil and assistant from 1831 to 1842, and J A Cory (qv), partner from 1842), marr (27 December 1837) Charlotte (1799-1860), dau of Israel Fielding, of Startforth, near Barnard Castle, after which he left RC church to join C of E, retired in 1850, leaving Durham to live in London in 1856, spent year after his wife’s death with sister Justina in Genoa in 1861-62, then lived with brother Joseph and family at 36 Blandford Square, London, till he designed own house The Camels in Princes’s Road, Wimbledon Park, in 1865-66, where he died s.p., 2 January 1870, aged 82, and buried with wife in Paddington cemetery (BDBA, 122)

Bookless, Amos Hayton (1877-1960), draper, chauffeur and garage proprietor, b. Birkenhead and bap 11 November 1877, son of William and Mary Bookless (nee Hayton), both parents dead by 1881, his mother was a farmer’s daughter from Edderside and his father an ‘offcomer’, as an orphan was raised by relatives, in 1901 living at Crosscannonby with his sister Mary and Thomas Armstrong, a joiner, drove Squire Richmond of Clifton Hall and Belmont, Bankmill, keen sportsman: tennis, cricket, golf, fishing and followed the hunt, sang humorous songs at musical concerts locally, lived in 1911 with John Kendal (b.1871) a draper and auctioneer at Netherhall, given a dinner at The Ship, Allonby, prior to departing for the 1st WW to join the Royal Army Service Corps, in 1939 a garage proprietor in Allonby and living at the Red House, died in Cumberland Infrmary on 22 September 1960 of 21 Church St, Stanwix, probate £1019; Solway Plain website; Annie Elizabeth Bookless [his aunt?] in 1881 lived as a widow with five Bookless children

Booth, Albert Edward (1928-2010), PC, politician, born 28 May 1928, son of Albert Henry Booth and Janet Mathieson, educ St Thomas’s School, Winchester, South Shields Marine School, and Rutherford College of Technology, engineering draughtsman until 1966, local councillor 1962-1965, Labour MP for Barrow-in-Furness 1966-1983, minister of state, department of Employment 1974-1976 and secretary of state for Employment 1976-1979 under James Callaghan, shadow minister of Transport to 1983, lost seat to Cecil Franks in 1983, contested Warrington South in 1987, marr (1957) Joan, dau of Josiah Amis and May Shell, 3 sons, died 6 February 2010

Booth, William (1829-1912; ODNB), founder Salvation Army, Born Sneinton, Notts, son of Samuel and Mary Booth, apprenticed to a pawn broker, Methodist preacher, est Salvation Army in 1878, now a major distributor of human aid worldwide, visited Millom vicarage and the Rev Ivor Farrar (DCB) c.1904; Parry-Wingfield family photograph of Booth in a huge motor car

Boothman, John (17xx-1832), Methodist local preacher and hat manufacturer, alerted to Primitive Methodism by his sister (or sister-in-law) in Kendal who had been converted by PM missionaries from Hull in 1822 and she walked 44 miles to Carlisle from Kendal, to tell him, he then sent his son-in-law, James Johnson, a Wesleyan, to Kendal to find out more about PMs (Ranters) and was himself converted and both subsequently left Wesleyans to establish PM cause in Carlisle in summer of 1822, their first preaching place being in his own hat factory in Backhouse Walk for next four years, supported by preaching of William Clowes (qv), who was at Brampton on 1 November 1822, then at Carlisle (found society of some 55 members) and Penrith, later PMs had chapel at Willow Holme (1829, 1847); Memoir of Boothman, Primitive Methodist Magazine, 1909, 267

Boothroyd, Richard Michael (19xx-2010), BSc, farmer and college head, son of farmer from Vale of York, grew up in village of Little Ouseburn, educ Leeds and Cambridge Universities, farmed at home in Yorkshire, but keen on career in agricultural education, teaching at Agricultural Colleges in Nottinghamshire, Northumberland and Cumberland, becoming vice-principal of Cumbria College of Agriculture and Forestry at Newton Rigg, Penrith in 1966, and Principal 1978-1990, educational innovator at Newton Rigg, introducing many new courses (inc hill and upland farming and land use and recreation), agricultural proficiency tests, and college open days, Secretary of Cumbria Grassland Society 1967-1978, involved in wider rural community of county as chairman of Bishop’s Council for Agriculture and Rural Life, etc, awarded Blamire Medal for services to Cumbrian agriculture in 1991, retired in 1990 and lived in Cliburn, mentor and area co-ordinator for Prince’s Trust in Cumbria for 15 years, chairman of local NADFAS group, local organist, interest in music and art, died in February 2010, cremated, with service of thanksgiving at St Andrew’s church, Penrith, 8 March (CWH, 26 February 2010; WG 27 February 2010; Yorkshire Post 5 May 2010)

Bordley, Revd William (16xx-17xx), clerk, of Walker Ground, Hawkshead, and also of Thorns, Underbarrow, will dated 3 July 1730 (WDX 1556/6)

Borlaze, Edward Thomas (c.1883-1933), mine manager, born at Bettwys-y-Coed, North Wales, son of Captain William Henry Borlaze of Bosone near St Just, Cornwall, father managed the Llanworth Mines, mother was Rebecca Corin, moved to Glenridding when he was 7, educated St Bees and apprenticed to several mining companies in iron, lead and coal in northern England, then attended Camborne School of Mines, became a demonstrator at Birmingham university school of mining under Prof Redmayne, awarded BSc in 1907, to Spain with Rio Tinto, manager of Huelva Copper and Sulphur mines, 1st WW in Royal Artillery, returned to Greenside lead mine in Glenridding, then to Bilbao at Lucana Mining Co and finally a consultant, before returning to Greenside, died Carlisle 1939, marr Euphemia (1896-1983)

Borowski, John Henry Felix (1872-1956), composer, born at Burton-in-Kendal, 10 March 1872, son of Bruno Bronislas Felix Borowski, Professor of Languages, native of Poland, and his wife Clara Eliza, teacher of music, dau of Eliza Nutter (qv), of Burton House, had elder sister (Helen Louise Clothilda, born 1870), studied at Koln Conservatory, emigrated to USA in 1897, nationalised 1919, music critic Chicago Evening Post, music editor Chicago Record, composed three symphonies, three organ sonatas, three string quartets, his ballet Boudoir (1919), Le Printemps Passione (1920), Ecce homo (1923), a satirical opera Fernando del Nonsensico (1935), The Mirror (1953), Piano Concerto (1913) violin and piano music, songs, died in Chicago, 6 September 1956 (GDM), bur Rosehill cemetery; www.unsungcomposers

Borradaile, Richardson (1762-1835), East India merchant, son of John Borradaile of Wigton, hatter, Richardson and his brothers moved to London and est a furrier’s and hat manufacturing business and chair Hudson Bay Company, MP Newcastle under Lyme, lived Bedford Hill House; Hist of Parliament

Borrett, John (1658-1739), lawyer, bapt at Kirkby Lonsdale, 23 September 1658, yst son of Edward Borrett, mercer, amassed a fortune as lawyer of Inner Temple in London, an assistant to the bar, 2 July 1704, an associate of bench, 12 November 1704, master of bench, 3 February 1706, Prothonotary of Court of Common Pleas, purchased Deansbiggin in 1680 and Thurland Castle and manor of Thurland with all of Girlington property in Lunesdale, by release of 30 March 1698, also purchased manor of Shoreham, Kent, as well as properties in other counties, which he left to his eldest son Thomas (will dated 29 December 1738, PCC proved 21 February 1740); Thomas Borrett, of Serjeants Inn, later of Shoreham. Kent, marr Susanna Scawen, 2 daus (Susanna and Martha), will proved 11 March 1751, Susanna inheriting Thurland Castle and manor, marr (1760) William Evelyn, of St Clere, Kent, MP for Hythe (grandson of John Evelyn, the diarist), but later sold Thurland Castle and lands to Robert Welsh, of Leck, 10 December 1771 (HPT, 35)

Borrodale, Gawen, last abbot of Holme Cultrum, 1st rector of church

Borrodaile, Gawen, abbot of Holme Cultrum, later rector after the Dissolution, the details of the customary tithes of Holm payable in bushels and skeps;

Borrowdale, Adam de, murdered John Cooper of Whowes at Dalton in 13thc; JC Cooper, Duddon Valley

Boruwlaski, Joseph (Jozef) [1739-1837; ODNB], diminutive itinerant violinist, known as ‘the little count’, born in Poland to an impoverished gentry family, his siblings were full size, travelled all over Europe as far as Russia, Marie Antoinette’s mother Emperor Maria Teresa gave him a ring from her daughter’s finger, visited Whitehaven and Carlisle, spent many years in Durham, was much loved and supported by the dean and chapter, the ‘Count’s House’ by Prebends Bridge at Durham was not his home, died aged 98, buried inside Durham cathedral near the door from the west end of the south aisle leading to the Galilee chapel, his oil portrait, top hat and tail coat are in Durham town hall, portrait drawings by Joseph Bouet, see David A. Cross, Joseph Bouet’s Durham; J. Boruwlaski, Memoirs of Count Boruwlaski containing  a Sketch of his Travels and an Account of his Reception at the different Courts of Europe, 1788

Borwick, Isaac, boatbuilder, Bowness, in partnership as Shepherd and Borwick, this partnership amicably dissolved on 10 February 1900, set up new business with his sons John, George and Arthur; also see Shepherd

Borwick, John, George and Arthur, sons of Isaac Borwick (qv) boatbuilders, Bowness on Windermere,

Borwick, Sir Robert Hudson, 1st baron Borwick, (1845-1936), JP, KGStJ, founder of Borwick’s baking powders, of Eden Lacy, Great Salkeld, 1st baronet, chair of George Borwick and Sons, manufacturers of baking powders and custard powders, born Cartmel, teacher west Bromwich, m. Jane Hudson, dau of congregationalist minister, brother in law Robert Spear Hudson had introduced a successful commercial soap powder in 1837, he gifted the formula for baking powder to Borwick, from 1844 Borwick and Priestley druggists and drysalters sold washing and bleaching powder and baking powder, selling £12-£14,000 p.a., Borwick’s sons joined him in George Borwick and Sons, by 1896 selling 600,000 packets of baking powder per week, JP London, barony created in 1922 for Sir Robert 1st bt for providing hospital treatment for colonial officers throughout the war, m. Caroline dau of the Rev Richard David Johnston of Kurnool, India, 2 sons and 2 daus, his sons sold out to H.J.Green of Brighton in 1955 and from 1964 the firm has been part of Pillsbury of Minneapolis

Boste, John (St John Boste) (c.1543-1594; ODNB), MA, Roman Catholic priest, martyr, and schoolmaster, born at Dufton, ca. 1543, yr son of Nicholas Boste, of Wellyng, Dufton, and Janet Hutton, of Hutton Hall, Penrith, educ (prob) Appleby Grammar School and Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 1564/5, taberdar 29 January 1568(?9), BA 9 July 1568, MA 18 June 1572, admitted Fellow on 31 October 1572, lecturer in logic in 1572/3, Master of Appleby Grammar School 1573-1578, re-elected Fellow and magister puerorum on 7 July 1578, but expelled from fellowship by Provost of Queen’s on 5 October 1580, having entered English College at Rheims on 4 August, received minor orders in winter of 1580, deaconed (21 February 1581), priested at Chalons-sur-Marne (4 March 1581) and sent back to England (11 April 1581), landing at Hartlepool and spent next twelve years in energetic propagation of his faith in northern counties and Border country until betrayed by former pupil, Henry Ewbank, then vicar of Washington, or (ODNB) by Francis Ecclesfield, a renegade Catholic, in house of William Claxton at Waterhouses, west of Durham, 10 September 1593, arrested and sent to Windsor on 2 October 1593 for examination by Richard Topcliffe on behalf of privy council, tortured and imprisoned in Tower of London until returned to Durham for trial (with John Ingram and George Swallowell), sentenced to death and executed at Dryburn, 24 July 1594, with the others  two days later at Gateshead and Darlington (beatified in 1929); Boste canonised by Pope Paul VI, 25 October 1970, the only true-born Cumbrian saint (AGS, 27-29)

Boswell, James (1740-1795; ODNB), laird of Auchinleck, lawyer, diarist and biographer of Samuel Johnson, born in Edinburgh, 29 October 1740, eldest son of Alexander Boswell, Lord Auchinleck, his brothers taught by Rev James McQuhae qv, met Dr Johnson in 1763, he was 23 Johnson 54, in 1773 travelled together to Scotland, published A Journal of a Tour to the Hebrides [1786] as a trial run for the biography,  inherited the Auchinleck estate in 1782, entered Lord (‘wicked Jimmy’) Lonsdale’s circle in 1786 when invited to act as his legal adviser during second ‘mushroom’ election at Carlisle, invited to stay at Lowther Hall then at Whitehaven Castle in December 1787, having applied to him for recordership of Carlisle, offered post on 20 December 1787, and elected on 11 January 1788, but had difficult relationship with Lonsdale, who abused him on many occasions (Lonsdale’s tyrannical behaviour is recounted in his journal, Lowther saying at one point he would ‘put a bullet in his belly’), all at time of his wife’s terminal illness in May-June 1788, esp in case of Lonsdale v. Carlisle Corporation in court of King’s Bench, in which he was one of two counsel, tried in December, and won by Lonsdale, but resigned recordership as from 12 July 1790, ending his political association with him (LF, 299-302), his biography of ‘Dr’ Johnson [1791] became hugely influential on later biographers, died at his house in Great Portland Street, London, 19 May 1795 and buried in family vault at Auchinleck church, 8 June; his great granddaughter Julia marr George Mounsey (qv), of Carlisle

Bott, George [fl.1970s-2010], schoolmaster and historian of Keswick, editor of George Orwell: Seected Writings (1989),  author of Keswick: The Story of a Lake District Town (1994) and editor of A Cumbrian Anthology (2009); his uncatalogued archive (Keswick History Society)

Bottomley, E Michael (192x-2015), architect and artist, of Lickbarrow, Windermere, designed several buildings in Kendal and district (see Hyde and Pevsner) and the huge Corona at Kendal parish church, advised Mary Burkett when she inherited Isel Hall, at Lickbarrow he and his sister employed a farmer to care for a herd of rare breed cows, enthusiastic watercolourist of great skill being interested in vernacular architecture and frequently capturing neglected agricultural interiors in muted autumnal tones, secretary of Kendal Art Society, longtime committee member of the Romney Society, published a book on his own artwork c.2005, died early January 2015, service of thanksgiving at Carver Church, Windermere, xx January 2015;

Bottomley, Gordon (1874-1948; ODNB), FRSL, poet and playwright, born at Eboracum Street, Keighley, 20 February 1874, only son of Alfred Bottomley, accountant and estate agent (son of John Bottomley, wool stapler), of Keighley, and Ann Maria (died 10 March 1938, aged 90, at Applegarth, Silverdale), dau of Fletcher Gordon, of Keighley (parents were married at New Jerusalem Church, King Street, Keighley, 26 February 1873), educ Keighley Grammar School, started work as junior bank clerk, first volume of poetry The Mickle Drede published in Kendal (1896), marr (24 November 1905) Emily (d.1947), dau of Matthew Burton, chemist, no issue, three god-daughters (Elizabeth Cooper (dau of Lascelles Abercrombie), Theodora Fairfax Crowder and Christine Mirabel Moir), also a friend and correspondent of Percy Withers qv, adjudicator of elocution classes at Morecambe Musical Festival in May 1935, moved from Well Knowe House, Cartmel to The Sheiling, Silverdale [built by daughters of Mrs Gaskell] in March 1914 [auction sale, 21 September 1949], assisted Sir William Rothenstein qv in selecting works for Tullie House, died 25 August 1948, aged 74, at Martinscote, Oare Wilcot, near Marlborough, Wiltshire, cremated and ashes interred with wife’s (November 1947) in churchyard of Dundurn, St Fillans, Strathearn, Perthshire; first will dated 20 July 1940, new will 5 March 1948, codicil 16 June 1948 and probate 15 September 1949 [detailed bequests of books and paintings]; portrait drawings by Sir William Rothenstein and Charles Shannon (latter chosen by NPG) and painting by Keith Henderson (Poet and Painter: Letters between Gordon Bottomley and Paul Nash 1910-1946  (1955, 1990); letters in CRO, WD/K/242; probate papers WD/RG/box 100)

Bouch, Charles Murray Lowther (1890-1959), MA, FSA, clergyman and antiquary, son of Charles Bouch (1855-1917) and Florence Cottam (1858-1915), educ Christ Church, Oxford (BA 1921, MA 1925), Cuddesdon College 1919, d 1922, p 1923 (Carl), rector of Clifton, m. Isabel Jaquetta (1915-2003) dau of the Rev John Lowther Bouch (qv)(his cousin?),  Prelates and People of the Lake District, 1948, also his volume The Queen’s Book, given to the present queen in 1956, canon of Carlisle, president, CWAAS 1954-1957, editor of Transactions 1951-1957; obit. CW2 lix 175; CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff

Bouch, John Lowther (1872-1942), MA, clergyman and genealogist, great grandson of John Bouch, of Monument Yard, London and Grainger Houses, Wigton, educ Marlborough and Trinity College, Oxford (BA 1902, MA 1906), Cuddesdon College 1902, d 1903, p 1904 (Lond), Asst Missionary, Merchant Taylors School, Shacklewell 1903-1907, St Mary’s, Bryanston Square 1907-1910, Rector of Ackworth, Pontefract, Yorks 1910-1941, member of CWAAS from 1914 to 1935, extensive knowledge of pedigrees of ancient baronial and local families, left many ms volumes of pedigrees and genealogical notes, which were quarried by his cousin, C M Lowther Bouch (qv) in his articles for Transactions, but always reluctant himself to put anything into print, died 20 July 1942 (CW2, xliii, 214)

Bouch, Revd Thomas (1662-1716), m.Vigesima Jackson (b.1657), one dau, high sheriff of Cumberland 1672, rector of Whittington 1681-1716

Bouch, Sir Thomas (1822-1880; ODNB), MICE, civil engineer, born at Thursby in 1822, 3rd son of William Bouch a merchant captain and Elizabeth Sanderson, worked on Lancaster and Carlisle railway, resident engineer on Stockton & Darlington railway, Wear Valley line, manager and engineer of Edinburgh and Northern railway 1849, instituted steam ferries over Forth and Tay (roll on roll off ferries here or elsewhere), constructed Tay Bridge in 1870-77, knighted in 1879, died of shock resulting from destruction of Tay bridge by hurricane; plaque on his house at Thursby

Bouch, William (1814-1886), civil engineer, born at Thursby in 1814, elder brother of Sir Thomas, apprenticed at Messrs Stephenson, worked in Russia having taken machinery to the Black Sea Navigation Co., chief engineer on Russian naval vessel, joined Stockton and Darlington railway in 1840, famous for his design of steam locomotives, particularly the Saltburn class, fostered the use of standard gauge tracks, Shilden engine works 1858, worked with Hawksley on Weardale and then Consett waterworks; 100 boxes of mss Keswick Museum

Boucher, Jonathan (1738-1804; ODNB), FRSE FSA, schoolmaster, clergyman, American preacher and linguist, b. Blencogo, son of James Boucher schoolmaster and ale house proprietor and his wife Ann Barnes, taught Wigton and Workington; minister Clifton, usher St Bees, tutor in Virginia, USA, minister South Carolina, published Glossary of Provincial and Archaic Words, which assisted Noah Webster with his dictionaries, friend of George Washington and taught his stepson Jackie Custis, subscriber and contributor to Hutchinson’s History of Cumberland, supplying accounts of Bromfield, Caldbeck, and Sebergham as well as biographical material signed ‘Biographia Cumbria’, returned to England and was vicar of Epsom until his death, died in 1804 (Laurie Kemp, Tales from Carlisle; CW2 xxvii 116; (CRH, xix-xxi))

Bough, Sam [1822-1878] R.S.A., artist, b. Carlisle, son of James Bough, shoemaker and his wife Lucy Walker, a cook, worked in Carlisle and in Edinburgh, where he spent most of his life after 1849, his large memorial at Dean cemetery, Edinburgh has a fine bronze medallion; Fishing Boats Running into Port: Dysart Harbour (1854; NG Scotland), Highland Cattle in Open Lakeland Landscape (Palais Doratheum, Vienna), Crocket Match at Edenside (Tullie House); (Marshall Hall, 7-8; Sidney Gilpin, Sam Bough: Some Account of his Life and Works, 1905 [Sidney Gilpin a pseudonym qv]; Gil and Pat Hitchen, Sam Bough RSA: The Rivers in Bohemia, 1998)

Boulter, Revd John Sidney (1890-1969), MBE, TD, MA, clergyman and schoolmaster, born 16 August 1890, son of Revd Sidney Boulter (1851-1932), Vicar of Fordington 1888-1906 and Rector of Poulshot, near Devizes, Wiltshire 1906-1932, and his wife Mary, dau of Charles Alcock, DLitt, educ St John’s Leatherhead, Aldenham School and Keble College, Oxford, Asst Master, St Bees School 1913-1934, Second Master 1934-1938 and Headmaster 1938-1945, MBE 1938, marr (1939) Mary Joyce Thorn, 1 son, deacon and priest 1954, Vicar of Rusland and Satterthwaite 1955-1962, Vicar of Sawrey from 1962, died 28 February 1969

Boulton, Marjorie (1924-2017) PhD, educationalist and Esperanto poet, b. Teddington daughter of Harry and Evelyn, ed Barton-on-Humber GS and Somerville college Oxford, taught by CS Lewis and JRR Tolkein, Principal of Charlotte Mason College, Ambleside from 1962 for 24 years, succeeding Miss Hardcastle, keen supporter of Esperanto believing that one world language would encourage peace, published biography of Ludovic Zamenhof, creator of Esperanto, her Esperanto poetry appeared in Kontralte [1955], also wrote plays and essays, ran summer schools at Barlaston, in 2008 nominated for a Nobel prize; obit Guardian 19 Sept 2017

Boulton, Thomas Sibley (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, curate of Kirkby Stephen 1904-1908, vicar of Ravenstonedale from 1908

Boumphrey, Robert Staveley (1916-1987), MBE FSA, MA, finance officer and armorialist, educ Liverpool College and Pembroke College, Oxford (MA), reading law before studying languages in Germany and France for Civil Service examination, joined Colonial Audit Service in 1939 and served in Nigeria, London, Falkland Islands, Federation of Malaya and Singapore, retiring in 1959, bursar of Godolphin School, Salisbury 1959-1960, finance officer of Durham University 1960-1963 when he encountered and became friendly with Roy Hudleston, finance officer of Lancaster University 1963-1976, later deputy secretary and establishment officer, hon secretary, CWAAS 1973-1974, member of Council 1976-1979, author of A Kirkby Lonsdale Armorial (CW2, lxxi, 97-138), An Ordinary of Westmorland and Lonsdale Arms (1980), joint author (with C R Hudleston and J Hughes) of An Armorial for Westmorland and Lonsdale (1975) and Cumberland Families and Heraldry (1978), marr Naomi Emelita, dau of William Maclean Housden (1884-1941), of Antofagasta, Chile, retired from Town End Cottage, Kirkby Lonsdale to Winchester, where he died in 1987; see Dictionary of Falklands Biography

Bourke, Richard Southwell, 6th Earl of Mayo (1822-1872; ODNB), KP, GMSI, PC, MA, LLD, Viceroy of India, born 21 February 1822, eldest son of 5th Earl of Mayo, marr (31 October 1848) Blanche Julia, CI, VA, (died 31 January 1918, aged 91), 2nd dau of 1st Baron Leconfield qv, 4 sons and 2 daus, MP for Cockermouth 1857-1868, Coleraine 1852-1857 and co Kildare 1847-1852, Chief Secretary in Ireland 1852, 1858-59 and 1866-68, Viceroy of India 1868-1872, assassinated at Port Blair in Andaman Islands, 8 February 1872, and buried at Johnstown, near Naas, co Kildare, statue in Sicilian marble, 9 feet high mounted on pedestal, by Messrs W & T Wills, of London, erected by public subscription in Main Street in Cockermouth and unveiled by Lord Napier of Magdala on 19 August 1875, his widow Blanche was appointed extra lady of the bedchamber to Queen Victoria 1872-74; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 159-60

Bourne, Mrs, poet, ‘The Death of Mr Wood’ [Wood, a natural philosopher, was involved with orreries and air pumps], perhaps = to Mrs James Bourne qv

Bourne, Rev. James (1773-1854), clergyman and artist, work in Armitt collection and Dove Cottage (SGNT, 144); his wife (qv above) wrote verse including Mr Barber’s Grounds, Northern Reminiscences, 26

Bourne, Peter [fl.1844-1867], colliery manager, principal colliery agent to Lord Lonsdale at Whitehaven 1847 -1867, formerly senior assistant to John Peile (qv) 1844-1847 (seven working pits: Saltom, Wellington, Croft and Wilson pits at Howgill and William, North and Wreah pits at Whingill), resigned in 1867 to regret of working class with whom he was popular (WN, 15.09.1866; WCC, 158)

Bouskill, Edith (1879-1961), hospital matron, dau William Prickett Bouskill a builder of Kendal and wife Hagar (House of Correction Hill, Kendal), family to New Zealand, Edith became a registered nurse at Wauganui Hospital in 1912, she was only 5 foot 1.5 inches tall and weighed 7 stone 2, returned to Bowness working at Langrigg Nursing Home, promoted to matron, then matron at the huge Grange-over-Sands Eggerslack war hospital during the 1st WW, returned again to New Zealand and worked again as a matron, died Auckland

Boustead, see Bowstead

Boutflower, Right Revd Cecil Henry (1863-1942), DD, MA, bishop, born at Brathay in 1863, son of Ven S P Boutflower (qv) and grandson of Giles Redmayne (qv), educ Uppingham (1875-1882) and Christ Church, Oxford (Scholar, 2nd class Mods, 2nd class Lit Hum, and Theol Final Schools, Newdigate Prize Poem 1884, MA 1889), MA Durham 1895, ordained York 1887, Curate of St Mary, South Shields 1887-1890, Domestic Chaplain to Bishop Westcott of Durham 1890-1901, Vicar of St George’s, Barrow-in-Furness and Archdeacon of Furness and Examining Chplain to Bishop of Carlisle 1901-1905, first Bishop of Dorking 1905-1909, Bishop of South Tokyo 1909-1921, Bishop of Southampton 1921-1933, Residentiary Canon of Windsor 1925-1933, marr (1933) Joyce, dau of Revd Halsall Segar, presented (with mother? M M Boutflower) credence table to Brathay Church in 1900, dedicated the War Memorial in Brathay churchyard in August 1921, staunch advocate of missionary service, retired to Paddock Brow, Boars Hill, Oxford, died 19 March 1942

Boutflower, Revd Douglas Samuel (18xx-19xx), clergyman, brother of C H Boutflower (qv), Rural Dean of Easington

Boutflower, Ven Samuel Peach (18xx-19xx), clergyman, marr (18xx) Margaret, dau of Giles Redmayne (qv), of Brathay Hall, Incumbent of Brathay 1840-1842 and 1856-1868, lived at little house on Rothay Bridge in 1840, then at Old Brathay on his return in 1856, where he took pupils with help of a tutor, C D Russell (whose son Revd C F Russell became headmaster of Merchant Taylor’s School at Crosby) [no vicarage built until 1869], presented larger harmonium to Brathay Church (superseded by first organ given by Barratt of Wykefield in 1868), Archdeacon of Carlisle after 1868

Bower, George (1890-1953), mechanic and rock climber, came to Barrow-in-Furness in 1918 and worked for Vickers for nearly 20 years (latterly on submarine mines) before joining research and development at Rolls Royce, Derby in 1937, vice-president of Fell and Rock-Climbing Club, introduced shoulder belaying method, which saved numerous climbers’ lives, marr, 1 son (John); plaque unveiled at Dock Museum, Barrow by John Hutton, MP, on 4 December 1998

Bowers, Revd Robert George Elton (18xx-19xx), clergyman, Vicar (Perpetual Curate) of Helsington and Underbarrow (instituted in February 1929)

Bowie, David (1947-2016; ODNB), singer, performed the lead role of Cloud in a 1968 production Pierrot in Turquoise at Rosehill theatre, his theatrical debut; Cumbria magazine 27 January 2016

Bowles, Caroline (1786-1854; ODNB), writer, daughter of  Capt Charles Bowles (1737-1801) of the East India Co., second wife of Robert Southey q.v., published sonnets, Ellen Fitzherbert (1820) and Solitary Hours (1826P

Bowley, Mary, poet and translator, Echoes of Old Cumberland, one third translated from Danish; via Robin Acland and Sydney Chapman

Bowman, Anthony N (18xx-1933), solicitor and registrar, head of Mounsey, Bowman and Morton, solicitors, Carlisle, diocesan registrar and clerk of dean and chapter of Carlisle from 1895, keen antiquary, member of CWAAS from 1898, died while on holiday at Weymouth, 12 july 1933, aged 74 (CW2, xxxiv (1934), 226-227)

Bowman, Edmund, steward of Manor of Barton, member of Barony of Barton, temp Edward Hasell, 1786, 1808 (CRO, WDX 884/4/7)

Bowman, Joseph Dawson (Joe) (1850-1940), huntsman, born at Matterdale in May 1850, son of xxx Dawson and his wife Mary Martin of Patterdale (directly descended from seven generations of foxhunters), huntsman with the Patterdale or Ullswater Hounds from 1879 until 1912 (testimonial meet on 26 December 1911), then after 4 years’ ill-health again from 1916 to 1924, Ullswater pack being product of an amalgamation in 1873 of a pack based at Bald How in Matterdale with the Patterdale pack, ‘There’s nowt like a change of blood to git bone’ (acc to Joe), had a game terrier called Fury, as a breeder he is acknowledged as the originator of the Patterdale terrier, his hunting deeds extolled in verse and song, known as ‘auld Hunty’, died at Grassthwaite How, Glenridding, aged 88, and buried at Patterdale, 8 March 1940; his son, Joseph, of the same, also buried there, 8 January 1940, aged 61 (CP, 57-59); photograph in Richard Clapham, Foxes, Foxholes and Foxhunting (1923); Joseph Lucas, Hunt and Working Terriers (1931), Ullswater Foxhounds, two vols, 1863-1913 and 1914-1965

Bowman, Samuel [18thc.], mariner, Harrington, R.C.; CW2 lix 126

Bowman, Revd Thomas (17xx-1829), MA, schoolmaster, Headmaster of Hawkshead Grammar School 1786-1829, buried at Hawkshead, 19 June 1829, aged 68 (TWT, 152)

Bowman, Revd Thomas W (18xx-19xx), independent minister, late Principal of Collegiate School, Melrose, when publicly inducted as Pastor of Independent (Congregational) Chapel at Kirkby Stephen “on this day”, 2 September 1875, and Jessie Bowman was admitted to fellowship of church, but six members also resigned, went on to preside over “a gracious Revival of the Church” after visit of Revd James Mountain, of London, who “was the instrument used by God for the promotion of much spiritual refreshing and quickening”, and 35 were admitted to membership in November 1877, with some further names admitted to April [1879], after which he no longer appears in minute book (CRO, WDFC/C3/1)

Bowman, William (Billy) (1936-2022), musician and businessman, son of Billy Bowman who ran a band (est 1914) with an eclectic line-up of instruments, aged 14 stood in as drummer with his father, from 1954-56 in the Royal Navy, rejoined the band in 1960 until 1976, active in music in Cockermouth, played saxophone in the Music Masters locally and also drums with the Mechanics Band, a member of Rotary, for twenty years drove a mobile fruit and vegetable shop to access remote villages, ran a music shop in Lowther Went in Cockermouth for forty years, had a great sense of humour and was described as ‘The Music Man of Cockermouth’, lived Great Broughton with his wife Margaret, one son one daughter, funeral at Great Broughton, Christ church, 29 November 2022; Times and Star 24 November 2022

Bownass, William (1813/14-18xx), postmaster and hotelier, born at Middleton and bapt there, 6 March 1814, eldest son of Thomas and Mary Bownas, yeoman, of Middleton, marr Jane Titterington, of Bentham, aged 37, keeping the Royal Hotel, Bowness-on-Windermere by 1851, aged 37, with brother Robert, aged 20 (bapt at Middleton, 9 May 1830, yst son of Thomas and Mary Bownas) as book-keeper and sister-in-law, Mary Titterington, aged 24, as barmaid [they were married and keeping the Glenridding Hotel, Patterdale, by 1861], 2 sons (in 1851)

Bowness, Edward (Ted) (1928-2018), teacher and landscape photographer, born at Chapel Stile, Great Langdale, in 1928, educ Langdale School, Kelsick Grammar School, Ambleside, and Manchester University (geography), teacher trining, first job in Birkenhead, joined staff of new school at Ashton in Preston, joined Longlands School, Kendal in 1971, running the St Geoge’s annexe, table tennis coach (one team being English Schools Champions), moved to Kirkbie Kendal School on secondary school reorganisation in 1980, taking early retirement in 1984 to concentrate on his photography, had written and photographed a Lake District guide book in 1970s (sold over 100,000 copies), took landscape shots for AA and OS, one being included in an historical exhibition at Tate Britain in 2007, also contributed articles to Westmorland Gazette on historical topics about life in Lake District, marr (1963) Chris, of Old Hutton, died in hospital just before his 90th birthday (KOHG recordings; WG, 22.02.2018)

Bowness, George (1761-1833), army officer, born at Little Scales, near Bolton, Appleby, and bapt at Bolton, 12 January 1762, 2nd son of George Bowness (prob son of James Bowness, of Bolton Field, and his wife Grace, bapt 15 January 1729; had small farm long possessed by family) and his wife Bridget, had two brothers John (bapt 26 September 1754) and James (bapt 19 March 1767) and three sisters Anne (bapt 1 September 1757), Grace (bapt 28 February 1760) and Bridget (bapt 21 January 1765, buried 7 April 1769), educ Bolton and Appleby Grammar Schools, entd HEIC service, marr in India, at an early age, Harriet Robinson, dau of a London merchant, 6 sons and 5 daus, attained rank of Lieut-Colonel on 21 September 1804, Colonel 4 June 1813, and Major-General 12 August 1819, serving 33 years in India before returning to England in 1817, died at Sutton Benger, near Chippenham, Wiltshire, 6 July 1833, aged 72; his yst and only surv son, Major Bowness, late HM 80th Regiment, succ to Bolton property (United Service Journal, October 1833; WW, ii, 251-252)

Bowness, Rev George (fl. late 18thc- died after 1821), master at Witton-le-Wear grammar school who later lived at Orton, here he translated the charter given to the village by Oliver Cromwell, he also wrote the epitaph for the eccentric Joseph Robinson (‘Jossie of the Whips’) (qv), his son (also George) may have succeeded him at Witton grammar school and then been the vicar of Chester le Street, his granddaughter Catherine may have married the Rev Thomas Ebenezer Lord (1824-1897) who restored the Saxon church at Escomb

Bowness, John, coroner for north Westmorland (QS 1785….1794, 1802)

Bowness, Moses (1833-1894), photographer, agriculturist and poet, born at Coniston and bapt there, 28 July 1833, eldest son of John Bowness (d. 19 March 1883, aged 75), copper miner, of Hawes Bank, and Jane (nee Mossop) (d. 1885, aged 81), living as farm worker with Dugdale family at Tock Howe farm, Hawkshead in 1841, married (spring 1858 in Kendal) Isabella (died 27 August 1889), widow of Abraham Slater, builder in Ambleside (she was about 16 yrs older with children), 1 dau, one of first to set up as a professional photographer in Ambleside district in 1856, Photographer to HRH Prince of Wales and party on informal visit to Windermere and Grasmere in May 1857, employed his stepsons in his studio across Lake Road from Vale View (hotel run by his step dau, Agnes Slater) [now Churchill Hotel], did landscape but esp portrait work (incl W E Forster, H Martineau, C Mason and John Close), took on apprentices (incl Herbert Bell, Warmsley, and Gould) by 1881, active in promoting tourist trade and saving Stock Ghyll Park waterfalls, main promoter of Ambleside District Gas & Water Company and a director till his death, also promoter of abortive Ambleside Railway Bill and gave evidence at inquiry in 1887, rented 500 acre farm at Wray Castle, former secretary of Hawkshead Agricultural Society, member of Shorthorn Society, of Vale View, Ambleside (by 1871), and later of Belmount, Hawkshead, which he rented after his 2nd marriage (in December 1890 in Kendal) to Helena Hudlestone (with whom he already had several children; she later remarried and died in Wales), died two days after carriage accident on hill leading to ferry at Sawrey, 23 April 1894, aged 61, coroner’s inquest at Belmount on 25 April (verdict of accidental death), and buried at Coniston, 26 April (CW3, ix, 225-231; WG; Poems from the Ambleside Herald, by Mrs Susan Premru); CW3 ix 225

Bowness, William (1809-1867), portrait painter and dialect poet, son of Richard Bowness, hosier, of Highgate, Kendal, with his warehouse down yard adjoining Oddfellows Hall (then the Unicorn Inn) on south side, various portraits in Kendal town hall collection (inc John Hudson and Joseph Braithwaite (qv), also his son William Braithwaite), his local character portraits such as Cumberland Beggar and Westmorland Lassie echo his interests in dialect writing in his own Rustic Studies in Westmorland Dialect (1868), dinner given in his honour at Commercial Hotel on 28 June 1843 (with mayor, Richard Wilson, in chair and John Wakefield vice-chair) when many compliments paid to his talent (AK, 304.15); M. Hall, 8; LD Dialect Soc WDSO 101

Bowring, Henry Christopher White (Kit) (1911-1999), DL, JP, FRICS, FLAS, MA, Lieut-Col, land agent, born 31 January 1911, son of Henry Illingworth Bowring (qv), educ Marlborough College (1924-29) and Oxford University (1929-32), marr (1939) Helen, dau of Revd D Denholm Fraser, 1 son and 3 daus, served with Royal Fusiliers (Major, Hon Lieut-Col) 1931-1948, land agent 1948-1971 (retd), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1955-56, DL Westmorland 1973, Chairman of Heversham-with-Milnthorpe Internal Drainage Board, apptd November 1955 to February 1971, also member of Beetham and Arnside Internal Drainage Board 1956-1971, of Dallam Tower Estate Office, keen sportsman, shooting and fishing, died 8 October 1999

Bowring, Henry Illingworth (1869-1934), JP, barrister and magistrate, only son of Henry Price Bowring (1814-1893), one of original partners of Bowring Bros, and his wife, barrister but did not practise, JP City of Leeds 1900, member of court and council of Leeds University (chairman of finance committee for 20 years), Hon LLD 1922, purchased Whelprigg estate at Barbon from Major Joseph Gibson (qv) in 1924, resident in Westmorland from 1922, member of CWAAS from 1924, JP Westmorland, trustee of Kirkby Lonsdale Savings Bank, keen sportsman and country pursuits, died at Whelprigg, 8 January 1934, aged 64 (CW2, xxxiv (1934), 228-229)

Bowser, Sir Thomas (1748-1833), KCB, army officer, born at Kirkby Thore in 1748 [no bapt at KT], son of John Bowser, yeoman, had three sisters (Mary, wife of John Ellison, of Winton; Margaret, wife of Edward Thompson, of Kirkby Stephen; and Elizabeth, wife of Lancelot Compton, of Penrith), educ Appleby Grammar School, went to London as clerk in merchant’s counting house before entering military service of East India Company as cadet in 1772, distinguished military career in India, left India in 1803, leaving his property in hands of Messrs Chase, Chinnery & McDowall in Madras, but lost everything with failure of that house, being reduced to his basic pay and forcing him to sell family estate at Kirkby Thore, obtained grant of arms in 1803, when late of Kirkby Thore, then of Hanover Square, London, but prob resided at Datchet, near Windsor until 1820 when he returned to India, commanding Mysore division of East India Co army, succ General Sir Alexander Campbell as C-in-C of Madras Army in December 1824 until January 1826, then left India finally on the Mellish, installed Knight Grand Cross of the Bath in January 1827, large frame with deep scimitar gash on right cheek, unmarried, died at his house near Regent’s Park, London, in June 1833, aged 85, and buried at St Mary’s church, Portland Road, London (grant of arms in CRO, WDX 1207; portrait in possession of kinsman in 1850; WW, ii, 229-252)

Bowstead family (sometimes Boustead)

Bowstead, James (1801-1843; DCB), MA, DD, bishop, born at Great Salkeld, 1801, 2nd son of Joseph Bowstead (1759-1835), farmer, of Beck Bank, Great Salkeld, and descended from John Boustead, of Boustead Hill, Burgh-by-Sands, and nephew of Revd John Bowstead (qv), and brother of John, of Beck Bank, educ MA, DD (Cantab), a considerable scholar, Bishop of Sodor and Man 1838-1840 (cons 22 July 1838), nom to Lichfield 28 December 1839 and conf/trs Lichfield 23 January 1840, noted for his piety and charity, devoted his income to furtherance of education, died at Bristol following a fall from his horse aged only 42, this accident cutting short a promising career, 11 October 1843; ms Diary of Tour of Scotland [Corpus Christi College Library]

Bowstead, John (1755-1841) BD, clergyman and headmaster, b. Eastward, eldest son of Thomas Bowstead (1728-1809), of Great Salkeld, and descended from John Bowstead (1622-1715), of Boustead Hill, headmaster at Bampton grammar school for 54 years, encouraged spoken latin, ? appears in Ploughing in Latin c.2002, (pupils inc his nephew James Bowstead qv and John Hodgson, qv), rector of Great Musgrave 1832-1841, prebendary of Lichfield in the gift of his nephew James when bishop 1841, died the same year; Rawnsley cites him as having ‘t’makkin of a deal of priests and one of them a bishop’ (HDR on Charles Gough, 1892, 21), long inscription in the porch Bampton church, portrait inside; obit. Gent Mag 1842 ns xvii 447. ME Noble, History of Bampton, 1901, 95

Bowstead, Rowland (1766-1843), clergyman and schoolmaster, b. Great Salkeld, yst son of Thomas Bowstead, yst brother of Revd John Bowstead (qv), uncle of bishop James Bowstead (qv), schoolmaster Hawkshead GS and taught the younger Wordsworth brothers, he lodged with them at Ann Tyson’s, wrote the inscriptions in many of the books donated to Hawkshead Grammar school library, m. Agnes Sawrey, daughter of John Sawrey butcher and innkeeper (qv), headmaster Caistor GS, Lincs, in retirement rector of Ulceby, Lincs, cheated by Lord Yarborough’s agent at the time of the enclosures in an epic case of skullduggery (The Very Extraordinary Case of a Clergyman in consequences…….County of Lincoln, Goodwin and Lawson, Hull c.1830s (qv)), this trauma probably led to his return to the north west to be vicar of the tiny rural church of Littledale, Caton, near Lancaster, then St Michael’s Appleby, died Crackenthorpe Hall, home of his daughters (qv), buried with his wife Agnes under a chest tomb at Caton; T.W. Thompson, History of Hawkshead

Boyce, Christine (1928-2019), stained glass artist, born in Hull, educ Newcastle on Tyne college with LC Evetts, had infectious energy and a life packed with incident, marr Dan, son Charlie, lived in Malaya and Puerto Rico, discovered glass in 1960s and found her ideal medium, her reverence for the natural world and her consideration of spiritual meaning most evident, ‘a knowledgeable, kind and honest mentor’ (Hippisley-Cox), lived latterly at Banks near Brampton, among her work is the fine Norman Nicholson memorial window in Millom, St George’s (illustrated on the cover of Carew-Cox), the Wilson memorial at Egremont, St Mary and St Michael’s, memorial to Canon Richard Watson at Keswick, St John, an heraldic window at Lanercost priory, Abbey Mill, Lanercost, Ampthill, St Andrew, her last project in 2019, funeral Lanercost priory 26 November 2019; News and Star 22 November 2019, Journal of Stained Glass, an appreciation, vol XLIII, 2019, Alastair Carew-Cox (ed), Christine Boyce: Artist and Craftswoman, 2021; Lizzie Hippisley-Cox, CWAAS newsletter no 100, summer 2022, 16-17

Boyd, Edward Kenneth (1931-2008), headmaster Cumwhinton school; offered a professional footballer job in his teens but the letter was kept from him by his grandmother to ensure that he had a ‘proper job’; C. News 18.4.2008

Boyle, Clara [nee Ash] m. Henry Boyle (1863-1919), a diplomat q.v.; she was involved with saving Jewish people in the 2nd WW; Rob David, A Country of Refuge, 2019, 65-71]; author of Boyle of Cairo, published posthumously, Titus Wilson, 1965 (could this be by her daughter ?)

Boyle, Lt. Cdr. Edward Courtney, VC (later rear admiral), [1883-1967], Carlisle, the VC citation of 21 May 1915 refers to his action as commander of submarine HMS E 14 which dived under a minefield to reach the Sea of Marmora and sank two Turkish gunboats; plaque on his birthplace in Chatsworth Square, Carlisle

Boyle, Henry (1863-1937), diplomat, of Ellerhow, Ellerigg, Ambleside, son of xx and Nellie, marr Clara Ash, of Poland (friend of Violet Wordsworth), who died young and was buried at Ambleside in autumn 1919, in folk-dancing group with Willie Heelis, contributor to Cumbria magazine (LDF, 28), consul-general in Berlin 1909-1914, Levant consular service 1883-1909 (papers in CRO, WD/CB); Clara Boyle, Boyle of Cairo, Titus Wilson, 1965

Boynton, Sir Thomas, 1578 visitation of Kendal (PPLC, 222)

Boyville, de, family of Millom; CW2 xli 15

Brabant, Frederick Gaspard (1855-1929), writer, The English Lakes, 1905 illustrated by Edmund Hort New (qv), a range of other topographical volumes including Oxfordshire (1919), Sussex (1920), Snowdonia (1920) and The Intelligent Life, Journal of Education, vol 20, 1886, 24

Bracken, John (fl.1660s), portrait painter, Daniel le Fleming and Lady Anne Clifford (qqv) sat to him; Marshall Hall, 8-11; booklet Mary Burkett qv

Bracken, Thomas Wilson (1865-1920), engineer, railway builder, soldier and patriot, son of John Bracken (1838-1874), farmer, and Elizabeth Brunskill, brought up at Firbank (W), of the Royal Engineers, first wife Dorothy Oliver, 6 children, 2nd Polly Coleman, dau Dorothy (1902-1972); Martin Gibson, Thomas Wilson Bracken: Servant of Empire, 2009; mss PRO Kew

Bradburne, John, [b. Skirwith, Eden Valley, d.1979], son of C of E priest converted to RC church; missionary and est. a leper colony; killed Zimbabwe 1979; JB Memorial Society – charity – Africa; Didier Rance, J.B. Le Vagabond de Dieu, review Julian Whittle C. News 20 July 2012, 21

Bradbury, Bernard (1912-2002), teacher and local historian, gave memorable guided tours of the town and the castle, his widow continued after his death; published several editions of his history of Cockermouth [1st edn. 1979]

Braddyll, John Richmond-Gale (fl.20thc.), engineer, 2nd son of Col Hubert Richmond-Gale-Braddyll (1886-1975) and Nellie Vokes (1893-1960), (his elder brother was killed in the RAF in WW2), director of Vickers, Barrow, lived Prospect House, Kirkby in Furness, 1960s-70s and later at a converted gunpowder mill at Nibthwaite, m. Patricia, who claimed descent from the Phillipsons of Calgarth (qv), daughters Sarah and Lucy

Braddyll, Thomas Richmond-Gale- (1778-1862), Colonel, son of Wilson Gale (qv), assumed addnl surnames of Richmund-Gale (later Richmond-Gale) by Royal Licence in 1819, inherited Conishead Priory (described as ruinous in 1821), originally commissioned Philip Wyatt to rebuild it, but dismissed for lack of progress in 1828, so employed George Webster for gothic design, embellishing it with armorial bearings of Braddyll and related families, this expense was in the unfulfilled hope of welcoming royalty, but compelled to sell it in 1847 when he was declared to be bankrupt, his mines had failed in Co. Durham (the family believed that this was compounded by the skulduggery of their inadequately supervised mining agent), house and contents put up for sale in 1848 (catalogue in CRO(B), Z3183), died 10 July 1862, aged 85, and buried at Lillington, co Warwick (MI in St Mary’s church, Ulverston), group portrait The Braddyll Family by Reynolds [Fitzwilliam Museum], several portraits by Downman, small pencil head taken at the hustings in Durham, in David A. Cross, Joseph Bouet’s Durham; Sarah Holmes, Paradise of Furness

Brade, Daniel (18xx-1896), architect, father died in June 1857 (probate granted April 1858), marr in Penge, January 1858, died in 1896, aged 67 (BT)

Bradford [nee Bassano], Dorothy [1918-2008], artist, b. Cockermouth; Guardian obit., 15 July 2008

Bradley, Arthur Granville (1850-1943), author, eldest son of the Very Revd George Granville Bradley (1821-1903; ODNB), dean of Westminster, educ Marlborough School, but sent to Challacombe in Devon at age of 14 to be tutored by Robert Martin, the rector, in 1860s, recalled in his Exmoor Memories, prolific author (esp of Canada and North America), incl The English Lakes, illustrated by E W Haslehurst (1910) and Highways and Byways in the Lake District, illustrated by Joseph Pennell (1927), died at his Sussex home in his 93rd year

Bradley, Basil (1842-1904), artist, born Hampstead, son of William and Eliza Bradley, educ Manchester school of art, lived Beathwaite House, Levens, later in Surrey, specialised in animals and farm livestock; Levens History Society website; Chris Beetles website

Bradley, Helen (1900-19xx), artist, born in Lees on outskirts of Oldham, attended Oldham School of Art, moved to Cartmel in 1959 and began painting in earnest, evolving her own style, began painting her childhood recollections, which brought her wide success (third volume of memories published in 1975), esp distinctive warmth of colour in skies and distance, gentle reflections in waters of lakes and pools merging into misty background of landscapes (evidence of Turner influence), exhibited three times in London (Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 1973), once at Salford Art Gallery (1973), once in Los Angeles and also at Anvil Gallery, Cartmel, for which she performed opening ceremony in 1972 (incorporating the Helen Bradley Centre in Cartmel) and close friend of owners, Austen and Marjory Denison (qv)

Bradley, Howard (b.c.1928), veterinary surgeon and poet, born Dalton, practiced Barrow, lived Rakesmoor Lane, member of the Barrow Education Action Group with Michael Scott and Malcolm Cross and others which strove to keep the grammar schools, member of Barrow’s International Forum with Dr Raj Vaidya qv, an erudite, perceptive and charming man who was an early mentor of David Cross, retired to Grange, then Kendal and finally Humshaugh near Hexham; married Jean (d.2020), two daughters Susan and Fiona,

Bradley, Orton (c.1787-1857), MRCS, surgeon and landowner, born at Kirkby Stephen, member of RCS London (not practising in 1851), surgeon to Westmorland Militia, of Eden Place, Hartley, Kirkby Stephen (1829, 1851), died 28 March 1857, aged 70, wife Mary died 3 July 1865, aged 78, 7 children (inc Reginald Robert (qv), Frances C (33 in 1851), Eleanora Catherine (22 in 1851, later Mrs Haddock)) (trustees’ papers in CRO, WDX 714)

Bradley, Reginald Robert (1825-1892), MA, clergyman and farmer, born at Kirkby Stephen, 10 November 1825, son of Orton Bradley (qv), educ Sedbergh School (entd February 1842, aged 16, left June 1845) and University College, Durham (Foundation Scholar, BA 1848, MA 1851), d and p 1849 (Dur), Curate of Warcop (1851) when still living with family at Eden Place, Hartley, Curate of Crosby Garrett (1858), Chaplain at Cape Coast Castle, Gold Coast, then at Papanui, Christchurch, New Zealand, with Gen Lic until 1889, then retired to farm at Charteris Bay, Lyttleton, Canterbury, NZ, until his death, 29 January 1892, aged 66 (SSR, 207)

Bradley, Thomas (17xx-18xx), MA, clergyman, Queen’s College, Oxford, headmaster of St Bees School 1811-1830

Bradley, Walter Elliot (18xx-19xx), clergyman, educ Cambridge University (BA 1901, MA 1905), d 1901 and p 1902  (Liv), curate of St Paul, Southport 1901-1905, and Hucknall Torkard, Notts 1905-1906, organising secretary, CMS for dios Liverpool and Sodor and Man and archdeacon of Chester 1906-1908, curate of Ilkley (i/c St John Evang, Ben Rhydding) 1912-1914, rector of Ulverston 1914-1917, vicar of Crosthwaite (C) 1917-1939, rural dean of Keswick 1918-1939, proc conv Carlisle 1921-1950, hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral 1933-1956 (Emeritus from 1956), rural dean of Amblesde 1942-1956, lic to off, dio Carlisle from 1939, of Field Head House, Outgate, Hawkshead (1965) (decd by 1971, but not buried at Hawkshead)

Bradshaw, George (1801-1853; ODNB), cartographer, printer and publisher, b Manchester, conceived of the railway guide known by his name and popular for decades, made a two day tour of the Lake District, this tour was recapitulated by Michael Portillo in his TV railway programmes

Bradshaw, Thomas (d.1930), schoolmaster, retired, of Tallantire, died 23 January 1930, admon 7 March 1930 (CRO, DWM/309/14)

Bradshaw, William Bradshaw Fletcher (c.1760-1815), born c.1760, son of xxxx Fletcher, assumed addnl surname of Bradshaw on inheriting Halton Hall estate in 1775 on death without issue of his great-uncle William Bradshaw (who had bought Halton in 1743), received a grant of original arms of Bradshaw in 1781, marr xxx, son (Robert Fletcher, aged 21 in 1822, who sold Halton in 1832, marr, son, also Robert Fletcher (born at Halton Hall, 1822), educ Sedbergh School (entd February 1832 and left December 1835), but whole family emigrated to Australia “owing to heavy losses”, and son said to be “a young man of the highest abilities and character” joined mounted police, but killed by being thrown against a tree by his stumbling horse), died aged 55, in 1815 (portrait by Romney last known to be in Valentine family home at Seaton Cote, Workington, when auctioned in 1955) (VCHL, viii, 122; SSR, 189-190)

Bragg, Alice CBE (nee Hopkinson, later Lady Bragg) (1899-1989), dau of Dr Albert Hopkinson of Withington, Manchester, educated Newnham Coll Cambridge, friend of Eileen Rutherford, marr (Sir) Lawrence Bragg in 1921, son of William Henry Bragg, joint Nobel Prize winners (qqv), a member of the Royal Commission on Marriage and Divorce and later president of National Marriage Guidance Council

Bragg, Geoffrey (formerly Geoffrey Kendal) (1910-1998), actor, see Kendal

Bragg, Gwendoline (nee Todd, later Lady Bragg) (1869-1929), artist, born Adelaide, Australia, dau of Sir Charles Todd (1826-1910), astronomer, meteorologist and electrical engineer and his wife Alice Gillam, educ Adelaide School of Design, married (Sir) William Henry Bragg (qv), mother of Sir Lawrence Bragg (qv) joint Nobel Prize winners

Bragg, Jane (fl.1816-1834), artist and drawing mistress Whitehaven, exhibited Carlisle Academy 1824-1830; Marshall Hall,11

Bragg, John (1723-1795), shoemaker and diarist, lived Whitehaven, diary covers 1771-1794 (ms W/H CRO DH/37), covers events, receipes, cures and letters to Hadwin relatives in Rhode Island

Bragg, Sir (William) Lawrence (1890-1971; ODNB), crystallographer, son of Sir William Henry qv and his wife Gwendoline Todd (1869-1929) dau of Sir Charles Todd government astronomer (1826-1910) (Todd went to Australia as post master general and was one of the frst to observe Neptune and the first to take a daguerreotype of the moon, his wife Alice gave her name to Alice Springs), Lawrence was a joint Nobel Prize winner (with his father William (qv)); John Jenkin, W and L Bragg: Father and Son: The Most Extraordinary Collaboration in Science, 2008; Melvyn Bragg Radio 4 programme 2013-4 Bragg on the Braggs; for Todd see Dictionary of Australian Biography, he and his father were the ‘founding fathers of crystallography’ and were ‘enlightened enough to think that women could do good science’ (Prof Judith Howard, Durham university); it is notable that Dorothy Hodgkin (ODNB) took forward their methods in examining the atomic structure of larger molecules

Bragg, Richard (‘Bonny Bragg’) (1819-1901), cattle dealer and amateur wrestler, 3rd son and 6th of ten children of William Bragg (1783-1868), farmer of Dowbiggin, by his first wife, Frances Preston (1787-1837), marr (1862) Ann Steele (1840-1915), 3 sons and 4 daus, his eldest sister Mary marr Dawson Watson (qv) (SH, V, 6, 24-28)

Bragg, William (17xx-18xx), agent, steward and solicitor, agent to Lieut-Gen Henry Wyndham, of Cockermouth Castle, steward of manor courts and Coroner for the Honour of Cockermouth and Lordship of Egremont, solicitor, of Castle Street, Cockermouth

Bragg, Sir William Henry (1862-1942; ODNB), OM, KBE, FRS, physicist, born at Westward, near Wigton, 2 July 1862, eldest of three sons of Robert John Bragg (1830-1885), a merchant navy officer, who became a farmer at Stoneraise Place, Westward, and of Mary (1833-1869), dau of Revd Robert Wood (qv), following her early death lived with his uncle William Bragg in Market Harborough, Leics, for six years, where educ at grammar school, King William’s College, Isle of Man (1875) and Trinity College, Cambridge (third wrangler 1884 and 1st cl honours 1885),^^^^ President of Royal Society 1935-1940, joint Nobel Prize for Physics [with his son Lawrence qv], pioneer of X-ray crystallography, etc, died at the director’s residence in the Royal Institution, 21 Albemarle Street, London, 12 March 1942 and cremated on 19 March (plaque in Chiddingfold church, Surrey; W Rothenstein drawing in Carlisle, etc); John Jenkin, W and L Bragg: Father and Son: The Most Extraordinary Collaboration in Science, 2008; Melvyn Bragg Radio 4 programme 2013-4 Bragg on the Braggs

Braid, James, professional golfer and course designer, began as maker of clubs and became a player, designed Brampton Golf Course 1909 and 200 other courses in England

Braithwaite family, from the 14thc-20thc in Hawkshead, Ambleside, Burneside and Kendal, one branch held the ‘right of ferriage’ on their boats from Claife to Bowness, which gave them a steady income for generations (Jehane Wake, Kleinwort Benson, 20), poem about the Ferry disaster of 1635, The Fatal Nuptial, Richard ‘Dapper Dick’ Braithwaite; publications of Garnett Braithwaite (1904-1981) qv

Braithwaite, Abigail (later Benson) [d.1761], quaker preacher, daughter of William Braithwaite of Elterwater hall, brought a dowry of £100 in 1729 when she m George Benson [d.1758] of Stangend, travelled widely in the north of England and had eight children, Jehane Wake, Kleinwort Benson, 21, 23

Braithwaite, Anna, close friend of Mary (Moffat) Livingstone (b.1821- died in Mozambique in 1862), wife of Dr David Livingstone, explorer (1813-1873; ODNB)

Braithwaite, Charles Lloyd I (1811-1893), woollen manufacturer and drysalter, 2nd son of Isaac Braithwaite (qv), marr (3 September 1838, at Friends’ Meeting House, Kendal) Susanna (1815-1894), dau of Isaac Wilson (qv), of Kent Terrace, Kendal, 2 sons (Charles Lloyd (qv) and Isaac (qv)) and 1 dau (Anna Mary, wife of Thomas Crewdson Wilson, qv), man of great energy and business ability, carried on old family business of drysalter and dyewood cutter [which had developed out of shearman dyer business of George Braithwaite (qv) at end of 17th century], but also founded and carried on (with his G F, his yr brother) a woollen manufactory, both housed in premises opening off Highgate and within a few yards of his home on Highgate (next to his parents in 1851), a recorded minister, an original member of CWAAS (with his son, CL junr.), of Ghyll Close, Kendal; Susanna, his wife, was co-secretary of managers of Castle Street School, Kendal from 1833 [with Elizabeth Hall until 1847, then with Mrs Somervell] until 1878)

Braithwaite, Charles Lloyd II (1840-1910), manufacturer, born 24 March 1840, er son of Charles Lloyd Braithwaite (qv), marr E H Davis, a trustee of Kendal and Northern Counties Permanent Benefit Building Society (1873)

Braithwaite, Christopher (1843-1898), JP, barrister, Major, Border Regt, er son of Garnett Braithwaite (1810-1845), of Plumtree Hall, Heversham, and his wife, Sarah Smith Wilson (b.1806), and er brother of Garnett (qv), marr (1869) Elizabeth Atkinson (1850-1922), no issue, assumed addnl name of Wilson in 1871, died in 1898

Braithwaite, Daniel (1731-1817), Post Office clerk, probably b. Kendal, friend of Romney (qv), who came to know him (via Kendal contacts?) after GR moved to London in 1762, when he was already a clerk in Post Office, enjoyed patronage of Anthony Todd (qv), who apptd him ‘first Clerk to the Secretary’ as from 30 January 1765, but lost his position later that year with Todd, but was reapptd with him in 1768, still enjoyed Todd’s patronage to rise to position of Controller of Post Office Foreign Department by 1789, active in artistic circles as a patron and collector, one of proprietors (with John Sewell and Isaac Reed) of the European Magazine for a time, owned property in Ampthill, Bedfordshire, besides his house in Arpur Street, London, marr, issue inc son James (apptd postmaster at New York ‘not long before the termination of the American war’), dedicatee of William Hayley’s own Life of George Romney (1809), died in 1817; (D A Cross, Romney Newsletter No.52, 2011, David A Cross, A Striking Likeness, 2000)

Braithwaite, Garnett (1845-1906), JP, MA, yr son of Garnett Braithwaite (1810-1845) and yr brother of Christopher (qv), after whose death in 1898 he assumed addnl name of Wilson, marr (1869) Elizabeth Kay (1847-1872), 2 sons (William Garnett (qv) and George (1872-1933) unm), of Plumgarths, Kendal, died in 1906

Braithwaite, Garnett Edward (1904-1981), Lieut-Colonel and family historian, only son of Brig-Gen William Garnett Braithwaite (qv), marr (1931) Margaret Fair (b.1903), 1 son (Anthony, b.1936) and 1 dau (Susan, b.1934), sold Bleaze Hall, Watercrook, Lane Head, Stainbank Green, Birkfield, Borwick Fold, Brigsteer, Helsington Lays and Leasgill 1950, and lived at Hill View Farm, Much Marcle, Ledbury, Herefordshire, continued his father’s research on Braithwaite and related families and published “Generoso germine gemmo”: Seven Centuries. Braithwaites of Hawkshead, Ambleside, Burneside and Kendal, 1332-1964 (1965) and The Braithwaite Clan (1974), died 16 November 1981 (CRO, WD/AG/118-119, 154-155)

Braithwaite, Gawen, of Ambleside; his sister Isabel was Sir Daniel Fleming’s paternal grandmother; sons: eldest Thomas (qv), 2nd son James (dspm), 3rd son John marr Elizabeth Hudson, no son but dau Elizabeth, who was 2nd wife of Sir John Otway (qv), and 4th son Robert marr Bridget, dau of Henry Fletcher (qv), of Moresby; daus: Jane was 1st wife of E dward Wilson, of Dallam Tower, and Dorothy was wife of Samuel Sandys (qv) (FiO, i, 206-07)

Braithwaite, George (1681-17xx), Baptist minister, born at Hawkshead in 1681 [but is he George, son of James Braithwaite of Loanthwaite, bapt on 25 February 1681, or son of Thomas of Fould in Hawkshead field, bapt on 10 May 1681], educ Hawkshead Grammar School and Oxford, bapt in London in 1706 by Revd David Crossley, pastor of church at Cripplegate, and ordained over the church at Hawkshead Hill in 1707, set to ministry of the word at Hawkshead Hill, obtained by gift or by purchase land of old meeting house and burial ground, with a farm at Sawrey Ground, from William Dennison, of Waterside, between 1707 and 1709, when he petitioned Lancaster Quarter Sessions to register a meeting place for an assembly of Protestants dissenting from the Church of England, 11 January 1709, which was clearly the beginning of Hawkshead Hill Baptist Chapel, not 1678 (as in HSC, 21, 122) which was foundation date of Torver Baptist meeting (LC, 11.1876; TWT, 326-27)

Braithwaite, George (1699-1737), bapt at Warcop, 7 January 1699/1700, er son of Richard Braithwaite, of Warcop Hall, and brother of Robert (d.1739/40, qv sub Admiral Richard), marr, son (Thomas, b.1723), churchwarden of Warcop in 1736 and 1737, buried at Warcop, 21 October 1737

Braithwaite, George III (d.1740) or (1683-1735)?, dyer, established dyeing and drysaltery business in Kendal from 1711, set up first family firm to supply vegetable and chemical based dyes to woollen industry in Kendal from premises acquired in 1701 off east side of Highgate in now Dr Manning’s Yard (formerly Braithwaite’s Yard)

Braithwaite, George IV (1714-1753), dyer, son of George Braithwaite III, (qv), lived in house straddling entrance to Braithwaite’s yard (see above)

Braithwaite, George V (1746-1812), dyer, son of George Braithwaite (IV, qv), marr (1767) Deborah Wilson (1743-1821), 7 children, family house opposite New Inn, Kendal (IRW, 148)

Braithwaite, George VI (1777-1853), dry salter, er son of George Braithwaite V (qv), in dry-salter business with brother Isaac I (qv), marr Mary, sister of Anna, daus of Charles Lloyd, of Bingley Hall, Birmingham [their sister Rachel Braithwaite marr Samuel Lloyd, first cousin of Mary and Anna], chairman of trustees of Milnthorpe Turnpike Trust (1845)

Braithwaite, George (1712-1770), tanner, son of William Braithwaite (1673-1739), of Loanthwaite, Hawkshead, and Agnes (nee -), marr (1742 at Burneside) Susannah Garnett (1718-1788), dau of Anthony Garnett (b.1683), of Castle Dairy, Kendal, and Sarah (nee -), 2 sons and 5 daus [er son, Garnett (1742-1807) unm; yr son William (b.1754) marr (1782) his cousin, Hannah (b.1753), dau of his mother’s yr sister, Elizabeth (nee Garnett) (1719-1790), who marr Joseph Gough (1722-1799)], came into possession of Castle Dairy and Garnett furniture (inc oak chest ‘A.G.1694’, roundels, long case clock); his widow Susanna buried in Kendal churchyard, 18 August 1788, aged 70

Braithwaite, George (1818-1875), MA, clergyman, born in Kendal, 15 April 1818, 4th and yst son of Joseph Braithwaite (qv), educ Sedbergh School (entd January 1830, aged 11, and left June 1836) and Queen’s College, Oxford (BA 1840, MA), marr (1842) Margaret Rawson (1821-1876), no issue, curate of St Peter the Less and St Paul’s, Chichester 1841-1843, Worsborough 1843-1845, Easton, Hants 1845-1846, and Perry Bar, Staffordshire 1847-1851, vicar of St Peter the Great and Sub Dean of Chichester 1851-1868, author of Sonnets and other Poems, The Fatal Energy of Idle Words, and numerous sermons, died at Yealand Conyers, 2 April 1875 (SSR, 187-188)

Braithwaite, George Foster sen (1813-1888), woollen manufacturer and engineer, Mayor of Kendal, yr son of Isaac Braithwaite (qv) and yr brother of C L Braithwaite (qv), with whom he joined in founding another family firm, Braithwaite & Co, in 1837, acquiring Meal Bank Mill on river Mint in Scalthwaiterigg, which they ran as a woollen and linsey manufactory, installed a turbine there to replace water wheel, enabling company to continue manufacturing linseys, tweeds and horse cloths well into 20th century, of Highgate, later built Hawesmead, Kendal (J Bintley, architect, 1867), marr (23 June 1846) Mary (1823-1909), 5th dau and yst of nine children of Adey Bellamy Savory (1780-1834) and aunt of Sir Joseph Savory (qv), 9 sons and 5 daus, an original member of CWAAS from 1866, author of article in Transactions on ‘Collin Field’ read on site on 8 September 1886 (CW1, ix, 188-196), of Hawesmead, Kendal, died at Blackheath, London, aged 74, and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 24 February 1888; see his son Herbert qv

Braithwaite, George Foster jnr (1847-1931), stock & share and insurance broker, of Albion Chambers, 15a Stricklandgate, Kendal (1905), eldest of nine sons and 14 children of G F Braithwaite (qv), educ Friends’ School, Stramongate, Kendal, Secretary of Kendal Dispensary Committee for 37 years, resigning in October 1920, then chairman until his death, marr, son Basil Foster and dau Emma Julian Phoebe, of 12 Vicarage Terrace, Kendal (1905, 1914), later of ‘Southfield’, Carlton Villas, Kendal, buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 8 January 1931, aged 83

Braithwaite, Harold Bellamy (1867-1917), company manager, born in Kendal, 20 November 1867, ninth son and yst of 14 children of G F Braithwaite (qv), of Hawesmead, educ Sedbergh School (entd September 1882, left 1885), trained as an engineer at Bristol, returning to Kendal to business as woollen manufacturer, but took post as manager of The Swan Woollen, Washing, Cleansing & Dyeing Company, dyers and dry cleaners, of 88 Highgate (depot) and New Inn yard (works) from 1901 to 1908, but esp interested in fishing, cycling, music and field antiquities, author of The Salmonidae of Westmorland, Angling Reminiscences, and Leaves from an Angler’s Notebook (Kendal, 1884), reprinted from series of articles in Westmorland Gazette, planned to prepare guide to footpaths around Kendal for Kendal and District Footpaths’ Preservation Society (notes, letters and papers 1908-1910 in CRO, WDSo 1/63-113), member of CWAAS from 1909, of 20 Beastbanks (1905), then of 1 Cliffe Terrace, Kendal, died after a month’s illness at Kentdale Nursing Home, Kendal, 21 May 1917, aged 49, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 24 May (CW2, xvii, 261)

Braithwaite, Henry (18xx-19xx), elected Kendal Borough Councillor 21 January 1913 and Alderman 31 July 1938, admitted Honorary Freeman of Borough of Kendal on 9 October 1945, of 58 Greenside, Kendal

Braithwaite, Herbert M (b.1864), 8th son of George F Braithwaite qv, at age of ten wrote An Account of the Great Flood which occurred in Kendal on October 6th 1874, printed 1875 (reprinted by Kendal Civic Society in 2005)

Braithwaite, Isaac I (1781-1861), drysalter, born in Kendal, 3 January 1781, yr son of George Braithwaite V (qv) and brother of George VI (qv), in business as “George & Isaac Braithwaite”, dry-saltery and dyeing business, marr (16 March 1808, at Birmingham) Anna (born 27 December 1788, died in Kendal, 18 December 1859), dau of Charles Lloyd, of Bingley Hall, Birmingham, and Mary Farmer, 5 sons (and 2 died inf) and 2 daus (Mary Caroline, wife of Sir Joseph Savory (qv), and Anna (aged 41, at home in 1851)), signatory (with W D Crewdson and Joseph Ferguson) protesting against proposed introduction of slave-grown sugars into British markets in 1840s (CRO, WD/HCW/acc.1547), of Highgate, Kendal (next to his son, Charles Lloyd Braithwaite, in 1851), all his family had left Society of Friends  by 1840 under influence of Isaac Crewdson’s A Beacon to the Society of Friends (as had many other families related to Braithwaites), died in Kendal, 27 December 1861, aged 80

Braithwaite, Isaac II (1810-1890), eldest son of Isaac Braithwaite (qv), marr (1840) Louisa Masterman (1816-1886), 4 sons and 2 daus

Braithwaite, Isaac III (1844-1929), woollen manufacturer and drysalter, born at Highgate, Kendal, 9 August 1844, 2nd son of Charles Lloyd Braithwaite (qv), most of his family had left Society of Friends, but brought up in an evangelical environment, with strong Quaker background and tradition, educ Friends’ School, Stramongate, Kendal, but left school at about fifteen to go into father’s business of drysalters in Highgate, had some business experience in London, studied chemistry at Edinburgh University for two years and won gold medal (letters from Edinburgh to his mother 1860-62 in CRO, WD/HCW/acc.2930), glad to return home on 25 August 1862, worked in business house in City of London from June 1864 until August 1865, lodging at first with uncle Bevan and aunt Martha (further letters to mother), kept abreast of developments in drysaltery, established Isaac Braithwaite & Son, engineers, in 1885 to manufacture and sell his invention of a water heating apparatus (the “Thermodote”), [was this patented?], moving later into laundry machinery, remained all his life closely connected with both drysaltery business (as senior partner, Isaac Braithwaite & Son) and woollen manufactory (as chairman of directors, Braithwaite & Co Ltd), joint secretary of committee set up to finance building of Kendal Green School through subscription in 1872 (and later a trustee of school at time of appeal in 1911 for rebuilding after fire in 1910, whole life dominated by his Christian faith, religious work centred on YMCA (esp Bible class on Sunday afternoons), marr (1890) Mary Snowden Thomas (d.1931), whose brother Richard had married his cousin Anna Lloyd Braithwaite in 1878, of Baltimore, USA, no children, but stimulated by her to take greater part in affairs of Society of Friends, member of Kendal Borough Council for some years, took in their widowed brother-in-law, Thomas Crewdson Wilson (qv) and his four children in 1898, which prevented continuance of their travelling in the ministry, but asked to be Wardens of Woobrooke (the Settlement for Religious and Social Study established at Bournville, Birmingham by George Cadbury in 1903) in 1907, spent seven years there extending the buildings and increasing the number of students, with vacations spent back in Kendal dealing with business, retired from Woodbrooke at end of summer term 1914 to Ghyll Close, Kendal (to which they had moved from Castle Lodge in 1911), rented Holly Croft (first for a school run by their niece, Kathleen Wilson (qv) from 1910 to 1914, then purchased), and also Silver Howe and Overdale on Kendal Green from Martin Hodgson to put at disposal of Kendal Relief Committee for Belgian refugees from 1914, welcomed Conscientious Objectors to their house, wrote pamphlet on the peace question (privately printed and circulated), placed St Monica’s House, off Sedbergh Road, Kendal, at disposal of Council for Prevention and Rescue Work for a diocesan maternity home for unmarried mothers (opened on 20 February 1917) [but Holly Croft also became such a home and renamed St Monica’s in 1919 until early 1930s?], wife’s mind failed in his last years, died 15 February 1929 (obituary by his nephew, William E Wilson in The Friend, lxix, 1 March 1929 and lxxi, 23 January 1931 in CRO, WD/HCW/acc.2930; KG, 101-103, with photos on 102 and 119)

Braithwaite, James (d.1806), ironmonger, started ironmongery business in Highgate, Kendal, about beginning of 19th century (in premises later occupied by Pennington’s, grocers), marr Elizabeth (buried in Unitarian chapelyard), dau of James Cookson (qv), buried in Friends’ Burial ground at Mislet, near Troutbeck, and succ in business by his brother and sister, Tommy and Peggy Braithwaite, brother and sister of Dr J A Braithwaite (qv)

Braithwaite, John (1633-1680; ODNB), quaker apologist and missionary, b.Cartmel

Braithwaite, John (1696-1740; ODNB), soldier and diplomat, son of John (1660-1739) and Silvestra Cooke

Braithwaite, John (17xx-18xx), High Constable of Kendal Ward and Treasurer (1813) (WQS)

Braithwaite, John (17xx-1854), of Orrest Head, Windermere, contributed £300 towards south aisle in new chapel (St Mary’s, Applethwaite) in 1852, will leaving £1200 to School at Bowness and £2000 for exhibition to St John’s College, Cambridge, and £1000 to each of four schools in area (Troutbeck, Great and Little Langdale, Birthwaite and Ings) for education of poor and labouring classes [details in IJ, 85], died 1 March 1854 (memorial window in south aisle)

Braithwaite, Dr John Airy (b.1758), physician, Lancaster; b. Mislet near Windermere; CW3 ii after p.190

Braithwaite, John Henry (18xx-19xx), carpet manufacturer, educ Friends’ School, Kendal, with Whitwell & Co, Docwray Hall mills, Kendal, of Layer Breton, Kendal Green (1905, 1914)

Braithwaite, John Waistell (18xx-1934), printer and stationer, Post Office, Market Square, Kirkby Stephen, member of CWAAS from 1908 and local correspondent for town and district, author of, Guide to Kirkby Stephen, Appleby, Brough, Warcop, Ravenstonedale, Mallerstang, &c. (1884) [revised edition, 1924] (commonplace book 1923-1928 in CRO, WDX 729), died at Kirkby Stephen, 11 March 1934 (CW2, xxxiv (1934), 229); G E Braithwaite, printer (J W B & Sons), of Kelso House, KS (1905); Robert Arthur Braithwaite, son of George, of Kelso House, buried in KS cemetery, 6 June 1924; Robert Waistell Braithwaite, printer, buried in KS cemetery, 6 October 1956, aged 85

Braithwaite, Joseph (1786-1826), Mayor of Kendal, son of William Braithwaite (yr son of George Braithwaite (qv), of Castle Dairy, Kendal), marr (1809) Eleanor (1785-1852), dau and 14th of fifteen children of James Wilson (qv), of Kendal, 2 sons (Garnett (1810-1845), of Plumtree Hall, Heversham, and William (1814-1837), of Low Gill, Tatham parish, co Lancaster, buried at Kendal, 3 February 1837, aged 22), Alderman and Mayor of Kendal 1819-20, died in 1826

Braithwaite, Joseph Bevan (1818-1905), Quaker and barrister, born in Kendal, 21 June 1818, yst son (and twin with Mary Caroline, wife of Joseph Savory, qv) of Isaac Braithwaite (qv), Barrister at Law, Middle Temple 1843, and his wife Anna, marr (27 August 1851, at Banbury) Martha (born 15 March 1823, died in London, 27 March 1895), dau of Joseph Ashby Gillett, of Banbury, and Martha Gibbins, 3 sons and 6 daus, one of leaders of Society of Friends in Britain, living at 312 Camden Road, north London, where he died, 15 November 1905, aged 87

Braithwaite, Joseph (1832-1882), benefactor, born at Wigton in 1832, lived most of life in Brighton and Hove, died in 1882, bequeathing £5,000 to RNLI after his wife’s death, which did not occur until 1934, when lifeboat named “Joseph Braithwaite” was launched by Countess of Lonsdale at Maryport (nearest lifeboat station to Wigton)

Braithwaite, Peggy (1919-1996), lighthouse keeper, born on Piel island, Barrow, daughter of the lighthouse keeper on Walney island, they collected water from the roof of their cottage and generated their own electricity, assistant keeper and in 1975 keeper, painted the exterior of the lighthouse eleven times in her lifetime, MBE 1984, sailed her own 50 foot yacht with her husband Ken, great knitter of bobble hats for the RNLI, often went shooting rabbits, in 1994 aged 74 retired to Barrow; Guardian 14 Jan 1996

Braithwaite, Reginald (1738-1809), clergyman, vicar of Hawkshead 1762-1809, of Belmount (built for him in 1774 after his marriage to Frances Irton a rich heiress), also built to the design of John Carr of York the Claife viewing station south of Ferry House, Windermere, to commemorate Father West’s 1st station on Windermere, Budworth calls the site Mount Braithwaite; confusion arises from the ownership of this site by the Revd William Braithwaite (qv) by 1800; later bought by JC Curwen (qv); (Irton connections, CW2, lxiii, 96-116) (TWT; EH)

Braithwaite, Richard (‘Dapper Dick’) (1588-1673; ODNB), DL, JP, poet and author, Captain in Trained Bands, born prob at Appleby, 2nd son of Sir Thomas Braithwaite (d. 1610), of Burneside Hall and Warcop (qv), inheriting Burneside Hall on father’s death (with Warcop going to his elder brother Thomas), also of Stramongate, Kendal, educ Oriel College, Oxford, wrote verse addresses ‘To the truly worthy, the Alderman of Kendall and his brethren’ and ‘To all true-bred Northerne Sparks, of the generous Society of Cottoneers, who hold their High-roade by the Pinder of Wakefield, the Shoo-maker of Bradford, and the white Coate of Kendall: Light gaines, Heavie Purses, good Tradings, with cleere Conscience’ (c.1615), marr 1st (May 1617) Frances (died at Burneside Hall in March 1633), dau of James Lawson, of Nesham, near Darlington, 2 sons (Thomas (bapt 5 March 1617/18, qv) and Richard (bapt 25 July 1619), marr 2nd (1639) Mary, dau of Roger Crofts, of Keitlington, Yorks, 1 son (Strafford, qv), leaving Burneside for manor of Catterick (of which he was seised jure uxoris) in Yorkshire, author of The English Gentleman (1630), in which he noted that textile slump of 1620s and 1630s had turned some cloth-workers in Kendal into paupers (pp. 125-126), and probable author of poem The Fatal Nuptual about Windermere ferryboat disaster on 19 October 1635, many other works, inc Barnaby’s Journal (poem in Latin with English translation), which had seven editions before 1815, died at East Appleton, near Richmond, 4 May 1673, and buried at Catterick (portrait in possession of Col G E Braithwaite in 1966); Burneside Hall descended to Richard Braithwaite (d. c.1750), who sold it to Thomas Shepherd, of Kendal (portrait by unknown artist in CC(AH), 11; WW, ii, 271-286); CW2 xxii; fine portrait print Cumbrian Images)

Braithwaite, Richard (16xx-17xx), of Warcop Hall, 2nd son of Richard Braithwaite (qv), marr Elizabeth, dau of Sir Robert Booth, Chief Justice of King’s Bench in Ireland,

Braithwaite, Richard (1662-1735), born 26 July 1662, eldest son of Richard Braithwaite (qv), of Warcop Hall, marr Dorothy, dau of Thomas Carleton, of Appleby, died v.p. and s.p. and buried at Warcop, 26 June 1735 (letter from him to Mr Justice Spearman at Durham, dated 22 November 1712, in Durham D&C MSS (Raine 117/25) quoted in CW2, lxx, 290-291)

Braithwaite, Richard (1727-1805), naval officer, Admiral, born at Barwise, Hoff, and bapt at Appleby, 12 December 1728, er son of Robert Braithwaite (qv), of Warcop Hall, his two yr siblings did not survive, cousin of vice admiral Cuthbert Collingwood (1728-1810; ODNB) by marriage of his aunt Milcah,  ^^^ (BC, 13), saw action at St Lucia and Martinque in 1780; portrait and miniature at Old Cilgwyn, near Newcastle Emlyn (copy photo in CRO, WDY 633)

Braithwaite, Richard (c.1836-1918), manufacturer, died at 66 Exdale Road, Wavertree, Liverpool, aged 82, and buried at Parkside cemetery, 27 April 1918

Braithwaite, Robert (d.1740), of Warcop Hall, 2nd son of Richard Braithwaite (qv), marr (8 November 1727, at Warcop) Elizabeth (buried at Warcop, 18 July 1738), dau of Reginald Dobson, of Barwise Hall, nr Appleby [her sister and coheir Milcah marr Cuthbert Collingwood (1713-1788), of Newcastle, parents of Admiral Cuthbert Collingwood (1748-1810; ODNB)], 2 sons (Richard (qv), and Dobson (bapt 5 November and bur 4 December 1730 at Warcop) and 1 dau (Elizabeth, bapt 14 August 1731 and died inf at Warcop), buried at Warcop, 9 February 1739/40

Braithwaite, Robert (1816-1882), yr bro of CL, GF, and JB, in family business for few yrs, then entered church

Braithwaite, Samuel, surgeon; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Braithwaite, Samuel Hartley (1883-1947), composer and artist, his musical works include Snow Picture (1924) and Elegy (1927) which won awards from the Carnegie Trust, also A Night by Dalegarth Bridge (1921), By the Hot Lake and The Fighting Temeraire; he produced etchings and landscapes in Dorset and Lancashire, his semi-figurative paintings Foxtrot and Pavane echo his musical creativity; Biog Dic of Organists, Musical Quarterly vol xviii, issue 1, 1927, 59-71

Braithwaite, Sir Thomas (15xx-1610), landowner and recorder, one of yr sons of Robert Brathwaite, of Ambleside Hall, marr (c.1570) Dorothy, 2nd dau of Robert Bindloss (d.1595) of Borwick, 3 sons (inc Richard, qv) and 5 daus, sworn Recorder of Kendal in 1576, knighted 1591, acquired Burneside Hall, owned manors of Staveley and Winderwath, and also purchased manor of Warcop from John Warcop in 1590, died 1610, will dated 18 February 1606 [?] and proved at York, 28 May 1610; his widow lent £50 to Borough to be let on security for relief and help to poor widows and to young beginners needing stock to trade in occupation of shearman, 26 March 1609 (BoR, 233-234), a painting [Abbot Hall] shows him signing his will in 1607 [?]

Braithwaite, Sir Thomas (1583-1622), landowner, eldest son of Sir Thomas Braithwaite (qv), whom he succ in Warcop estate, knighted at Theobalds, Hertfordshire on 6 June 1616, buried at Warcop as “Sir Thomas Brathwait knyght”, 27 December 1622

Braithwaite, Sir Thomas (c.1617-1683), bapt at Kendal, 5 March 1617/18, son of Mr Richard Braithwaite (‘Dapper Dick’) (qv), of Burneside, died 14 May 1683, aged 66, and buried as “Sir Thomas Brathwayt of Strammongate Kt”, 16 May, in Bellingham chapel of Kendal Holy Trinity church (memorial brass)

Braithwaite, Thomas (c.1621-16xx), MA, clergyman, born in Windermere, son of Gawen Braithwaite (FiO, i, 318-319)

Braithwaite, Thomas (16xx-1674), Recorder of Kendal, eldest son of Gawen Braithwaite (1583-1653) of Bayesbrowne and Ambleside Hall, and Elizabeth, dau of Sir John Penruddock (1540-1601) (qv), of Hale, also uncle of Thomas, William and Samuel Sandes, marr Margaret, dau of Piers Leigh, of Lime, sworn Recorder of Kendal, 30 March 1648, died s.p. and buried at ?Grasmere, 2 December 1674; will dated 9 November 1674, leaving manor of Bayesbrowne to brother Robert, part of his Ambleside property to sister, Dorothy, wife of Samuel Sandys (qv), inter alia, and his coin collection (mostly Roman from Ambleside, 6 gold and 66 silver) to be presented by his friend, Dr Thomas Barlow (qv), to Oxford University, his bible to Elizabeth Lady Otway (qv sub Sir John Otway), gold ring and picture of the Creation to her son, Braithwaite Otway, etc, will resulting in litigation (N&B, i, 192; BoR, 241-247; CRO, WD/TE/7/161)

Braithwaite, William (1753-1800), clergyman and pluralist, vicar of  Riseley, Beds and another living in Lincolnshire, owned the Claife station, Windermere, at his death; confusion exists between him and the Revd Reginald Braithwaite (qv)

Braithwaite, William Garnett (1870-1937), CB, CMG, DSO, JP, Brigadier-General, er son of Garnett Braithwaite (qv), of Plumgarths, marr (1902) Gwendolen Hewett (1877-1964), 1 son (Garnett, qv) and 2 daus (Mary and Eleanor), joined Royal Welch Fusiliers in 1891, of Plumtree Hall, Heversham (sold 1911), sold Romney portrait of his great grandfather, James Wilson (qv), at Sotheby’s on 12 May 1927 for £760

Bramley, Frank (1857-1915), artist, ‘late of Tongue Ghyll’, member Lake Artists, Renouf, 54-5

Bramwell, Revd John (17xx-18xx), clergyman, Curate of Lindale in Cartmel, marr (22 January 1787, at Crosthwaite) Mary Cartmell, of Crosthwaite chapelry [poss Mary, dau of John Cartmel, of Green, and Ellen, his wife, bapt at Crosthwaite, 26 March 1761]

Brancker, James (17xx-18xx), sugar merchant, from Liverpool, close friend of Hartley Coleridge (qv), bought Croft Lodge, Clappersgate, Ambleside in 1827, which he Gothicised with addition of a Perpendicular porch, castellated parapet and elaborate chimney pots, and then sold in 1843 [later a hotel, then used and neglected by Cleveland County Council, now flats], also acquired two houses on north side of road at Clappersgate in 1834 (by transfer of mortgage from Margaret Robinson in August 1834, then sold them on to Lydia Mackereth Freeman in December 1834, who died on 2 March 1837, having willed premises to Ruth Frogatt, wife of Wilson Hodgson, with reversion to JB, who conveyed them together with plot of land called Willy Hill to Wilson Hodgson, with residue of mortgage assigned to Robert Moser, of Kendal, 4 June 1845, deeds in CRO, WDX 229/T8-14), trustee of Ambleside Turnpike Road from 3 July 1832, acting as chairman in 1833 (minute book in CRO, WST/1), of Aigburth, Liverpool by 1845

Brander, Margaret (19xx-2018), librarian, Local Studies Librarian at Tullie House, Carlisle, member of Royal Scottish Country Dancing Society and teacher of Scottish Dancing, died at Pennine Lodge Care Home, 1 May 2018, aged 92, and cremated at Carlisle, 11 May (CN, 11.05.2018)

Brandreth, see Gandy

Brannan, Thomas Martin (19xx-19xx), local councillor, leader of Cumbria County Council, member for Keswick St John’s, of ‘Lingy Acre’, Portinscale, Keswick

Branthwaite family of Carling Gill and Orton Hall

Branthwaite, Eliza, married John Bateman of Tolson Hall, she was a descendant of Robert Branthwaite, Keeper of the Tower of London (qv)

Branthwaite, John (1822-1864), MA, college head and schoolmaster, born in Kendal, 6 May 1822, yr son of Richard Branthwaite (born at Orton, aged 68 in 1851, bookseller and papermaker; er brother Edward, bookseller and printer, aged 35, and sister, Frances Mary, aged 22 in 1851), educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1835, left June 1839) and Queen’s College, Oxford (Scholar, BA 1843, and Fellow), Curate of Holy Trinity, Windsor 1846-1848, Second Master of St Nicholas College, Shoreham 1848-1851, headmaster of Lancing College for 7 yrs, left in poor health, Principal of St Edmund Hall, Oxford 1860-1864, unmarried (?), drowned while bathing at Morecambe, 5 July 1864 (SSR, 193)

Branthwaite, Richard (16xx-16xx), steward, Lord Wharton’s steward and lieutenant, member of Westmorland county committee

Branthwaite, Robert (fl.early 17thc), gentleman gaoler or keeper of the Tower of London, temp James I, supervised Sir Walter Raleigh and others, from 1618 constable of Dublin Castle; Hudleston (W)

Brassey, Thomas (1805-1870; ODNB), engineering contractor, built the west coast railway line

Brassington, George William (19xx-19xx), BA, clergyman, educ University of Nottingham (BA 3rd cl Theol, 1957) and Cranmer Hall, Durham 1957, d 1959 and p 1960 (Manch), Curate of St Philip, Hulme, Manchester 1959-1961, and St Cuthbert, Trafford Park 1961-1963, Vicar of Grayrigg 1963-1968, Dalton-in-Furness from 1968, decd 1976/1987 (his Grayrigg press cuttings deposited in CRO, WDX 1989, by his widow, Mrs R Swidenbank)

Brassington, Thomas (1832-1888), clergyman, Vicar of Crook, buried 29 December 1888, aged 56, first interment in new burial ground at Crook

Bray, Kenneth Augustine (1895-1953), priest, sportsman and coach, b. Barrow-in-Furness, son of Rev TW Bray, moved to Honolulu, teacher and sports coach, established innovative traditions of sportsmanship, successful teams in football, basketball and baseball, persuaded Charles S Howard, the owner of the winning racehorse Seabiscuit, to donate a horseshoe which became an important talisman for his teams, althletics complex in Honolulu named after him in 1981

Breach, Ian (1941-2013), Guardian journalist, lived many years in Milburn; obit Guardian 28 Jan 2013

Breaker, Charles (1906-1985), artist, b. Bowness, his mother a friend of Beatrix Potter qv, ran artists’ summer school in Cornwall with others including Percy Kelly (qv), portrait by Kurt Schwitters; see David A. Cross, Letters from Percy Kelly to Norman Nicholson

Breay, John (1919-19xx), MA, clergyman and historian, born in Windermere 1919, educ Selwyn College, Cambridge (BA 1941, MA 1945), and St Chad’s College, Durham (Dip Theol 1942), d 1942 and p 1943 (Carl), curate of Lowther with Askham 1942-1944, and Holy Trinity, Kendal 1944-1948, curate-in-charge of Kirkandrews-on-Esk 1948-1949 and rector 1949-1952, vicar of Soulby 1952-1955 (with Crosby Garrett from 1952), vicar of Warcop with Musgrave 1955-1959, leaving in April 1959 to be senior assistant priest at Tewkesbury Abbey and curate of Tewkesbury 1959 (Abbey House), vicar of Shepreth, Royston, dio Ely 1959-1977, rural dean of Barton 1967-1972, incumbent of Great with Little Chesterford 1977-1979, retired with perm to offic in dio Ely in 1979, great love of northern dales, author of  A Fell-Side Parson: the Reverend Joseph Brunskill and his diaries 1826-1903 (1990; pr.1995), The Agrarian Background to the Rise of Political and Religious Dissent in the Northern Dales in the 16th and 17th centuries (1992) and Light in the Dales: an introduction to the political and religious ideals of the early Quakers in the Northern Dales from 1652, with The Quaker Registers of Ravenstonedale, Grisedale and Garsdale from 1652 (1992)  [bound in 3 vols as Northern Studies and dedicated to sister, Mrs Mary Bolton of Slaidburn], of 66 Montague Road, Cambridge (JB mss: WDX 652)

Breay, Wilfrid (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Selwyn College, Cambridge (BA 1913, MA 1917), d 1914 and p 1916 (Carl), curate in dio Carlisle of Holy Trinity, Carlisle 1914-1915, Barbon 1915-1916, Addingham 1916-1920, Middleton 1920-1925, and then briefly at Great Malvern 1925-1926, before returning to diocese at Windermere 1927-1938, priest in charge of Hutton Roof with Lupton 1938-1951 (resigned from Hutton Roof parish council in January 1951), curate-in-charge of Haile 1951-1961, retired to Walker Ground Cottage, Hawkshead (1965), then at Town End Cottage, Far Sawrey (1971), died by 1975 [but no sign of burial at Hawkshead or Sawrey]

Breeks, Eleanor (Nelly) (1838-1903), spinster, born at Warcop and bapt there, 7 April 1838, 4th dau and 6th of seven children of Richard Breeks (1799-1849), of Warcop, and his wife Elizabeth (1799-1870), dau of James Wilkinson, who had eloped and later married at Warcop on 13 February 1828, and sister of Agnes, who married George Moore (qv) as his 2nd wife in 1861, but she remained a spinster after her relationship with John Lewis (1836-1928; ODNB) (founder of the department store) was ended by her family in about 1864, she has been described as the ‘first love of John Lewis’ qv, living with her elder widowed sister Elizabeth (3rd wife of Canon G F Weston, qv) at Ash Bank, Penrith by 1895, but died in Leicester, aged 64, and buried in Beacon Edge cemetery, Penrith, 21 January 1903; £4,000 left by John Lewis as endowment fund for Warcop church in her name on condition that her portrait should hang in vestry for ever (CW3, vii, 234-237)

Breeks, James Wilkinson (1830-1872), JP, landowner, bapt at Warcop, 22 March 1830, yr son of Richard Breeks, of Warcop, and brother of Nelly Breeks (qv), Agnes Moore (qv) and Elizabeth Weston (qv), served in Madras Civil Service, like his brother Richard (1829-1852), marr (1863) Susan Maria (buried at Brough, 26 April 1923, aged 82), eldest dau of Sir William Denison, KCB, Governor of Madras, 1 son (Richard William (qv)), of Eden Gate, Warcop, which was left to him by his uncle, William Wilkinson (qv), who had built it, and of Helbeck Hall, Lord of Manor of Helbeck, obtained for himself and his father’s descendants  a grant of arms (AWL, 50); Lena Elizabeth Breeks, of Helbeck Hall, buried at Brough, 20 July 1888, aged 20 – dau?; [Rosalie Dessoulavey, of Helbeck Hall, buried at Brough, 28 June 1892, aged 64 – who?]; Audrey Mary Lena Breeks, of Helbeck Hall, buried at Brough, 24 May 1951, aged 56 (or 58); Chia (?) Ellen Breeks, of Helbeck Hall, buried at Brough, 13 June 1951, aged 79

Breeks, James Wilkinson (1832-1872), civil servant Madras, 1st commissioner at Ootacamund, India, b. Warcop, made record of the tribes of South India; see Susan Breeks of Helbeck Hall, by Rosemary Blackett-Ord

Breeks, Richard William (1863-1920), Brigadier-General, only son of J W Breeks (qv), of The Hall, Blackheath Park, Charlton, buried at Brough, 6 May 1920, aged 56

Charles Wilkinson Breeks, of Broughton Craggs, near Cockermmouth, buried at Brough, after cremation, 6 January 1937, aged 66

Breeks, Susan (fl.1895-1901); Susan Breeks of Helbeck Hall, by Rosemary Blackett-Ord

Brett Young, Dr Francis (1854-1954; ODNB), doctor, soldier, novelist, playwright, composer, son of Thomas Brett Young, surgeon and his wife Elizabeth Jackson, lived for a few years near Hugh Walpole at Derwentwater also at Esthwaite Lodge, Marching on Tanga [1917], The Black Diamond [1921], Seahorses [1925], My Brother Jonathan [1928] which was made into a TV series; plaque Esthwaite; Francis Brett Young Society est 1979

Brettargh, Henry Dean (1824-1916), Roman Catholic priest, son of Henry Brettargh, of Inglewhite Lodge, Garstang, Lancs (of Brettargh Holt family), resident priest at Dodding Green, Skelsmergh 1891-1916

Brewer, Right Revd John (Jack) (1929-2000), STL, JCL, PhL, Roman Catholic bishop, born in Burnage, Manchester, 24 November 1929, educ Asbourne CE School, Ushaw College, Durham, and English College in Rome, ordained in Rome on 8 July 1956, curate at Sacred Heart, Moreton, Merseyside, then returned to English College as Vice-Rector in 1964 (starting modernisation of College buildings), Auxiliary Bishop of Shrewsbury, 28 July 1971, Co-adjutor Bishop of Lancaster, 15 November 1983, installed as fourth Bishop of Lancaster, 22 May 1985, Chairman of Committee for Ministerial Formation 1984-1988, chairman of theological committee of the Bishops’ Conference from 1988, chairman of department of Christian Life and Worship 1999, keen to further cause of Ecumenism, launched The Voice as diocesan newspaper, dedicated the restored Cathedral at Lancaster on 4 October 1995, launched the Diocese’s Covenant with the Poor as part of preparation for the Great Jubilee in 2000, and supported programme of renewal for diocese (‘New Start with Jesus’), but taken ill after presiding at Reception Mass in Lancaster Cathedral on evening of 29 December 1999, and died 10 June 2000 (LDD, 13-16)

Bridgman, George, 4th earl of Bradford (1845-1915), soldier and peer; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

Bridson, Joseph Ridgway (1831-1901; DCB), JP, born at Horwich, 10 April 1831, 4th of 6 sons and 12 children of Thomas Ridgway Bridson (1795-1863), JP (son of Paul Bridson (1766-1820), of Manx family, and (marr 1792) Mary Ridgway, of Bolton), and his wife (marr 1819) Sarah (d.1866), dau of Henry Matthews, cotton bleacher and dyer, took over Lever Bank Bleach Works and purchased Bolton Bleach and Dye Works, invented and patented many processes, Mayor of Bolton 1847, retired from running company in 1854 and moved from Bridge House, Bolton to Mornington House, Southport, where he died in early 1863 and buried at Horwich Church), JR had three elder brothers (Thomas, William and Harry), but left to take over management of bleach and dye business himself, co-founder (with G A Aufrere, qv) of Windermere Sailing Club in 1860, commissioned Jilt from Dan Hatcher of Southampton, first yacht specifically designed for racing on Windermere, in 1861, Commodore in 1866, 1874, 1877, 1880, 1883 and 1893, often cruised from Belle Isle in little yacht Maggie in evenings with wife, owned steam launch Glow Worm, rented Waterside Cottage, next to Old England, Bowness as summer residence in 1860s, leased Round House on Belle Isle from Curwens from about 1865 until 1885, where he owned flock of St Kilda sheep, built Bryerswood at Far Sawrey in 1885 (designed by Knill Freeman, of Bolton, in half-timbered style, with garden laid out by T H Mawson, his first formal garden commission, sold in 1900; demolished after WW2), member of Thirlmere Defence Association 1877, accomplished musician (playing cello and flute), with apartment in Bridge House, his Bolton residence, specially constructed for his collection of musical instruments, President of Windermere Music Guild, Bolton Philharmonic Society from 1873, Bolton Operatic Society, etc, enthusiastic amateur photographer, winning many prizes for his scenic views at London exhibitions, President of Bolton Photographic Society, ^^^ marr (1 July 1857) Margaret (will 20 August 1901, then returned to Broughton-in-Furness and died in 1903), dau of John Woodhouse, 2 sons (Athur Paul (qv sub Brydson) and Joseph Ridgway (1861-1933), Admiral, RN) and 4 daus, left Bryerswood in spring 1900 and moved to Holybourne, Alton, Hants, where he died in June 1901 (will 19 April 1901) (RWYC, 174; BSW, 127-135; plan of his property in Hawkshead parish in 1876 in CRO, WDX 647)

Brierley, Henry (1847-1933), BA, LLD, solicitor and antiquary, born in Rochdale in 1847, educ Rochdale Grammar School and Owen’s College, Manchester (Hon LLD 1920, first president of Old Owensian Association and president of Union in 1901 and 1902), articled to Rochdale solicitor, registrar of Bury County Court 1888-1898 and of Wigan County Court 1898-1928, retired, member of Rochdale School Board, chairman of Wigan Secondary Education Committee and governors of Wigan High School for Girls, of Thornhill, Wigan, then of 26 Swinley Road, Wigan from 1910, secretary of Lancashire Parish Register Society from 1899 for 32 years and responsible for transcribing and indexing more than seventy parish registers, and thirteen C & W registers, elected member of CWAAS 1905 (with his wife from 1910), council 1910  and honorary member 1919, friendly and experienced advice given to Society, member of council of Chetham and of Lancashire & Cheshire Record Societies, president of Lancashire Author’s Association from its formation (to maintain interest in Lancashire dialect) in 1909 until his death on day of AGM, at 6 Kilner Deyne, Rochdale, on 9 December 1933, aged 86 (CW2, xxxiv (1934), 227-228); published Memories of Quay St and Owens College, close colleague and friend of Thomas Baker Ashworth (1844-1878) qv, solicitor of Rochdale; (where are his voluminous mss ?, perhaps Preston, Bow Lane)

Brigg, H O (18xx-19xx), Methodist minister, former missionary, Superintendent Minister of Penrith Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, 1917

Briggs, Edward, Colonel, parliamentary commander

Briggs, Col Frederick Clifton [d.1917], Devonshire Regt., son of the Hon Augustus Briggs (1830-1882) of Bright hall, Barbados, president of the legislative assembly of the islands, saw action in Afghan and Boer wars, married Jessie Whitfield the daughter of George Whitfield of Modreeny co Tipperary, Jessy’s sister Kathleen married Sir Francis Osborne Bt., died of peritonitis shortly after his appointment as commander of the Barrow garrison

Briggs, John (c.1648-1737), BA, clergyman, aged 18 in 1666, from Lancaster, educ Wigan and Peterhouse, Cambridge (entered as pensioner in June 1666, transferred to Clare College in June 1667, BA 1669/70), ordained deacon (September 1670) and priest by faculty (April 1671), preferred to rectory of Heysham, but deprived for simony in 1674, vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale from 1676 (presented on 2 November and instituted on 20 November) on death of Henry Hoyle (qv), attractive script in registers, marr, no issue, died ‘in the 61st year of his residence at this Church’ and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 18 April 1737, aged 91 [sic] (CW2, xxix, 188)

Briggs, John (c.1786-1824), journalist and author, native of Ulverston, of Kendal from 1822, previously of Kirkby Lonsdale, Editor of the Westmorland Gazette 1822-1824 and The Lonsdale Magazine (3 vols) 1820-1822

Briggs, Robert (fl.1570s), first Recorder of Kendal, appointed Recorder or Steward of Borough by charter of incorporation, 28 November 1575, but removed 1576

Briggs, William (17xx-18xx), MD, physician, Physician to Kendal Dispensary and subscriber (1804) (CRO, WD/HCW), ? son of Thomas Briggs, MD, gent, of Poulton, Lancs, marr at Kendal by licence (25 May 1757) Mary Symons, of Kendal

Briggs, William Perry MD (1856-1928), physician, born Gilcrux, educ Edinburgh university under Lord Lister, involved in the tending of the wounded at Plevna during the Russo-Turkish war of 1877-8, medical officer of health Aspatria UDC, improved water supply and the health of his community as he had (via Lister) a good understanding of the need for cleanliness, marr the artist Rosa Mingaye; Anne Usher Thomas, Aspatria, 1993

Bright, Henry (c.1810-1873), artist, from East Anglia, pencil drawing of farmhouse and barn at Troutbeck, 1850 (purchased by WW Spooner Charitable Trust for Wordsworth Trust)

Brindle, Frederick William (18xx-19xx), JP, of Hill Top, New Hutton (1929-1938), wife Helen

Brisco family, lived Crofton, near Wigton for 500 years, tomb inscription of 1741 in Thursby church ‘worth reading’ Hyde and Pevsner, Hudleston and Boumfrey (C)

Brisco, Arthur (1828-1860), ? son of Sir Wastell (qv), joined 11th hussars, involved in John Pallisser’s North America Exploration Expedition to Canada 1857-60, they aimed to survey and gather scientific information, Brisco was not a key participant it appears

Brisco, Christopher, taken prisoner at the burning of Wigton (probably in 1322); Hudleston and Boumfrey (C)

Brisco, Lady Caroline Alicia (nee Fleming) [d.1822], dau of Lt Gen Gilbert Fane Fleming of Shadwell Park, St Kitts, W. Indies, m. Sir John Brisco 1st bt. 1776, high sherrif 1778-9, laid out grounds at Crofton in 1770s, purchased Pope’s Villa Twickenham, mother of Sir Wastel 2nd bt., sat to Gainsborough, Lady Brisco [Kenwood; ex coll Sir Musgrave Horton Briso 4th Bt] qv

Brisco, John Cumberland [fl.early 16thc.]

Brisco, Sir John Brisco 1st baronet (1739-1805), son of the Rev John Brisco DD and Catherine Hylton, marr Carolina Alicia Fleming, dau of Gilbert Fane Fleming, she sat to Gainsborough (Kenwood), through his wife he inherited Fleming property at Basseterre on St Kitts, thus becoming a slave owner, briefly before his death he owned Pope’s House at Twickenham, left £500 towards the rebuilding of Thursby church

Brisco, Joseph (17xx-1833), clergyman, vicar of Crosby Ravensworth to his death, buried at Crosby Ravensworth, 18 December 1833, aged 81

Brisco, Miss (?d.1926), of Crofton Hall, her collection of pictures listed in a letter from A Bromley to Knoedler the dealers, 23 July 1926; Paul Mellon Centre, London archive ref FHS/4/1/7 Misc B (Bagnall Butler)

Brisco, Sir Musgrave Horton, 4th Bt [1833-1909], DL, JP, landowner, of Crofton Hall, nr Wigton, chairman of Allerdale-below-Derwent petty sessions (1894), family restored Thursby church in the 1840s

Brisco, Richard (d.1747), of Lamplugh Hall, bequeathed £12 pa [a yearly rental of some of his land] to poor widows and the school

Brisco, Susan, married Richard Gipin of Scaleby (qv); Hudleston and Boumfrey (C)

Brisco, Thomas, a priest who served against the Saracens; Hudleston and Boumfrey (C)

Brisco, Sir Wastell Bt (1778-1862), born Marylebone, son of Sir John Brisco 1st baronet (qv) and his wife Carolina who sat to Gainsborough (Kenwood), educ Christ Church Oxon, called to bar at Inner Temple 1801, succ his father in 1805, inherited property at Crofton and in St Kitts, his London address was 64 Wimpole St, high sheriff 1813-14, marr Sarah Ladbroke, dau of Robert Ladbroke, Wastell  was in court following a carriage accident, following his separation there was a ‘spectacular conflict’ with her in the 1810s, Wastell being accused of cruelty and adultery, he placed an ad in the local papers stating that he would not honour further debts of his estranged wife, in 1833 she was imprisoned for libel following the Middlesex Sessions; British slavery website ucl; Nat Archives HO 17/94/160

Briscoe, William (15xx-16xx), MA, headmaster of St Bees School 1593-1612

Briscoe, William (c.1606-1688), lawyer and politician, M.P. for Cumberland during the Commonwealth

Brisset, Pierre Rene (d.1832), teacher of the French Language, of Finkle Street, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 14 June 1832, aged 110

Brittain, Vera (1893-1970; ODNB), author, her aunt Muriel, her father’s sister, married Henry Leigh Groves (qv) in 1906 at Jesus Church, Troutbeck, she was a bridesmaid aged 13

Britten, Benjamin (1913-1976), composer, kt., visited Rosehill theatre, probably with Peter Pears (qv), also see his Cumbrian born librettist, Montagu Slater qv

Broadhurst, Henry Brooks (1857-1910), son of Henry Tootal Broadhurst, Tootal cotton manufacturer in Manchester, lived Houghton hall, Carlisle, his estate was the venue for one of the Rev Sidney Swann’s flying experiments with Sam Cody (qqv), d. Jamaica

Broadis, Ivor (1922-2019), footballer and jounalist, represented Carlisle United, Sunderland, Manchester City, Newcastle United and Queen of the South, fourteen caps for England, retired 1961 to become a sports journalist, died aged 96; New and Star 14 April 2019

Broadrick, Henry Crewdson (1874-1956), schoolmaster, yr son of Lieut R F Broadrick, RN, and yr brother of R W Broadrick (qv), Headmaster of Orley Farm Preparatory School, retired to Highfield, Windermere, wrote history of St Mary’s Church, Applethwaite, Windermere, 1848-1948 (1948), died 1956

Broadrick, Richard Wilfrid (1872-1903), MA, schoolmaster and climber, er son of Lieut Richard Fletcher Broadrick, RN (d.1879; 2nd son of George Broadrick, DL, JP, of Hamphall Stubbs and Ottrington Hall, Yorks), of Highfield, Windermere, and Frances Mary (1843-1931; buried at St Mary’s, Windermere, 13 May 1931, aged 88), 2nd dau of G B Crewdson (qv), of The Wood, Windermere, educ Cambridge University (MA), assistant master at Fettes College, Edinburgh 1900-1903, killed in climbing accident on Scawfell, falling from Pinnacle Rock, 21 September 1903, aged 31, and buried at St Mary’s, Windermere, 25 September (CRO, WDX 1474); memorial centre west window in St Mary’s church to his mother 1956

Brockbank, Alan (1929-2023), boat designer and boatbuilder, born in Windermere, son of James Brockbank, who delivered groceries by horse and cart, and his wife Annie Judd, National Service 1947-1949, marr Ethel Armer 1951, three children, built mahogany speed boats, aged 29 studied for CSE maths at Kendal College, in 1966 built Venture (still afloat), in 1968 established the Bowness Bay Boating Compnay with other boatbuilders, in 1993 this became Windermere Lake Cruises, built a fleet of fibreglass six berth cabin cruisers for hire, soon afterwards the firm purchased the four large Windermere steamers: MV Tern (1891), MV Swift (1900), MV Swan (1931) and MV Teal (1936), (built for the Furness railway company, later owned by the London Midland and Scottish Railway and eventually British Rail), MV Cygnet (1879) had been scrapped in 1955 and MV Swift was scrapped in 1999, the remaining trio continued a service for visitors from Ambleside to Bowness and Lakeside, near Newby Bridge; Guardian 31 January 2023

Brockbank, Edwin (18xx-1965), JP, CC, mill manager, son of a bobbin turner at Chadwick’s Mill, asst to his uncle (1909 up to WW1), manager, partner (1938), later owner (1946) of  Staveley Wood Turning Company, Westmorland county councillor (Educn Cttee), chairman, Abbey Home, Staveley and leading figure in Staveley local life, president, Westmorland Music Council from 1958, chairman, Mary Wakefield Festival, started Staveley Operatic Society, etc, marr Alice Wilhelmina (painter, member of Kendal Art Society, committee member from 1949 and secretary 1951-1957 (succ by E M Bottomley (qv)), died 11 July 1959), 2 sons (xxx and Roger, qv), built their house ‘Craggy’ in 1920, later of Common Head/Kenwood, Staveley, strong down to earth personality, with a good voice (LVTT, 105)

Brockbank, Elizabeth (1882-1949), artist and miniaturist, lived Yealand Conyers, sold work to the Royal family, member of Lake artists, Renouf, 97-8

Brockbank, George (1839-1931), farmer, huntsman and ‘character’, lived Pool Bank, Crosthwaite, stories told about he Radish Feast at Levens Hall and the collection of mistletoe ‘honestly, if you can’; Levens History Society website

Brockbank, James Wilson (18xx-19xx), landowner and company director, proprietor of James Wilson Brockbank & Co, brewers and wine & spirit merchants, Bank Springs brewery, involved in iron trade of West Cumberland, director of various companies, large landowner and proprietor of royalties in Millom district, failed to be elected first chairman of Millom Rural parish council at meeting of 31 December 1894, losing by 4 votes to 6 for Thomas Barlow-Massicks (qv), of The Croft, Chapel Sucken, Kirksanton (1897, 1906)

Brockbank, John, clergyman, vicar of Beetham, resigned in 1670

Brockbank, John Ellwood (1927-2017), huntsman, racehorse trainer and farmer, born 13 June 1927 at Bolton Park, near Wigton, grew up on family farm, educ Brookfield School, Wigton,  and Bootham School, York, moved to Westward Park in 1948, marr (1951) Elizabeth Allen, of Patterdale, 3 sons (Mark, Stephen and Tim) and 2 daus (Ruth and Joanna), Master of Cumberland Foxhounds 1966-1994 (succ by son Tim), committed to hunting with kennels at Westward, trainer and breeder of racehorses, with numerous successes at point to points, having been a rider himself (inc at Corbridge on day his first child was born), rode Old Oats in Foxhunters Chase at Aintree’s Grand National meeting in late 1960s, also Bobjob winning a record number of times in his novice chase season, also his home-bred horse A Kinsman winning many races in early 1980s (inc two hurdling and a chase at Cheltenham Festival), steward at Carlisle Racecourse for many years, full-time farmer, died 26 April 2017, aged 89, and funeral at St Hilds’ Church, Westward, 5 May (CN, 12 May 2017)

Brockbank, Roger (1923-2006), businessman, born 7 April 1923 and bapt at Staveley, 29 April, son of Edwin Brockbank (qv), brother killed in aircraft accident in July 1939, educ Windermere Grammar School and St Bees School (1940-1942, rugby first XV), served in RNVR 1942-1946 on Murmansk convoy (HMS Dasher) and in Far East with British Pacific Fleet, returned to St Bees as Housemaster on Foundation in 1946, obtained HSC in French and went on to Durham University (geography degree), ran family business of the Staveley Wood Turning Co, High Sheriff of Cumbria 1988, marr (19xx) Clare Elizabeth (O’Brien), MBE, dau of [?Terence Herriot O’Brien, JP, of 6 Thorny Hills, Kendal in 1938?], 1 son (David, owner of Staveley Mill Yard, bought ‘Craggy’ back in 2007 after family sold it in 1970, but put it on the market in 2012) and 1 dau, of Common Head, Staveley, died 3 October 2006 (OSB); obit W. Gazette 3 November 2006

Brocklebank family, shipbuilders and ship owners, see following

Brocklebank, Sir Aubrey, 3rd Bt (1873-1929), JP, company director, born 12 July 1873, eldest son of Sir Thomas Brocklebank, 2nd Bt (qv), educ Trinity College, Cambridge, marr (15 October 1898) Hon Grace Mary Jackson (d. 5 April 1940), dau of 1st Baron Allerton, 2 sons and 2 daus, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1921, Director of Great Western Railway, Cunard Steamship Co, Suez Canal Co, etc, died 19 April 1929

Brocklebank, Daniel (c.1705-1773), clergyman, curate of Torpenhow 1735-1757, vicar of Morland 1757-1773, 2 sons, died aged 68 and buried at Morland, 25 April 1773

Brocklebank, Daniel (1742-1801), shipbuilder, born at Torpenhow in 1742, yr son of Revd Daniel Brocklebank (qv), began shipbuilding in Whitehaven, opened branch in New York (closed after outbreak of war of independence), firm moved to Liverpool in 1802, oldest in country; his son Thomas (d.1845, aged 71, s.p.), was of Standfield, Liverpool and of Greenlands, Irton

Brocklebank, Harold (1853-1936), JP, shipowner, born 24 November 1853, 3rd son of Sir Thomas Brocklebank, 1st Bt (qv), marr (1878) Mary Ellen (d. 20 November 1929), dau of John Brogden (qv), of Ulverston, 2 sons and 3 daus, had Grizedale Hall rebuilt in 1903 (by Jacksons of Ambleside, with Robert Walker, architect), with 4,500 acre estate (incl seven farms), and lived there in style, employing over 50 staff (incl one man just to move cartloads of coal from Haverthwaite sidings to keep fires going in the Hall), JP Lancashire, died 1 December 1936, after which Hall was taken over by Forestry Commission, leased to a Holiday Fellowship in 1939 but requisitioned by War Office on outbreak of WW2 as German Officers POW Camp, thereafter remaining empty and in deteriorating condition, fixtures and fittings sold off, stripped out and demolished in 1957

Brocklebank, Sir John Montague 5th Bt (1915-1974), businessman, born Hoylake, bap Whitegate, educ Eton, son of Sir Aubrey Brocklebank 3rd bart, 1st class cricketer playing for Cambridge, Lancashire and Bengal, in the Royal Artillery from 1938, captured on the island of Cos and a POW at Hartmanndorf, inherited baronetcy from his elder brother in 1953, chairman Cunard 1959-1964, died Il Palazz, Malta 1974

Brocklebank, John (fl.mid 19thc.), timber merchant Ulverston, imported timber from 1843, his yard was by the canal, his sons John and William (qv) were shipbuilders; J Snell, 97ff

Brocklebank, John (d.1864) and William (1838-1899), shipbuilders Ulverston, bought the yard of Petty and Postlethwaite in 1863, by this date the main Brocklebank family (qv) had been operating for 60 years in Liverpool, they may be distantly related, one of his vessels was the William Brocklebank (1872), William lived Church Walk, ; J Snell, 97ff

Brocklebank, Ralph (1738-1804), clergyman, born at Torpenhow in 1738, er son of Revd Daniel Brocklebank (qv), curate of Corbridge, Northumberland, died at Egremont in 1804; his only son, John Brocklebank (1775-1839), of Hazelholm, Whitehaven, was Lieutenant in West Cumberland Volunteers

Brocklebank, Sir Thomas, 1st Bt, formerly Fisher (1814-1906), DL, JP, shipowner, born 24 November 1814, son of Wilson Fisher (1774-1844), of Keekle, who marr (1812) Anne (d.1836, aged 58), dau of Daniel Brocklebank (qv) and sister of Thomas Brocklebank (d.1845), marr (4 June 1844) Anne (d. 7 January 1883), dau of Joseph Robinson, of Bolton Hall, Cumberland, 4 sons and 4 daus, assumed surname and arms of Brocklebank in lieu of Fisher by Royal Licence, 5 December 1845, chairman of Messrs Thomas & John Brocklebank, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1864, created Baronet, 22 July 1885, of Greenlands and Springwood, co Lancaster, and of Duddon Hall, died 8 June 1906 (memorial window in Irton Church)

Brocklebank, Sir Thomas, 2nd Bt (1848-1911), JP, MA, born 1 March 1848, eldest son of Sir Thomas Brocklebank (qv), educ Cambridge (MA), marr (9 July 1872) Agnes Lydia (d. 1 December 1913), dau of Sir James Joseph Allport, of Littleover, Derbyshire, 4 sons and 3 daus, High Sheriff of Lancashire 1908, JP for Cumberland and Lancashire, bought Irton Hall in 1895, died 12 January 1911

Brocklebank, Sir Thomas Aubrey Lawies, 4th Bt (1899-1953), company director, born 23 October 1899, er son of Sir Aubrey Brocklebank, 3rd Bt (qv), educ Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge, Chairman of Mersey Docks and Harbour Board, Director of Messrs Thomas & John Brocklebank Ltd, Midland Bank Ltd, Royal Insurance Co Ltd, etc, sold Irton Hall on succ in 1929, and Greenlands sold after his death in 1953, unmarried, succ by his yr bro, Captain John Montague Brocklebank, 5th Bt, TD (1915-1974)

Brocklebank, William (fl.1882), schoolmaster, of Coniston (1882), succ by Charles James Fox (qv)

Brogden, Alexander (1825-1892), politician, yr son of John Brogden (qv), MP for Wednesbury, built causeway connecting Holme Island to mainland in 1857, gave land for erection of a Wesleyan chapel at Grange-over-Sands (foundation stone laid by his wife on 11 September 1874, first service being held on 17 November 1876), of Lightburn House, Ulverston, died in Croydon, 26 November 1892

Brogden, John (1798-1867), engineer and railway pioneer, of Lightburn House, Ulverston and Holme Island, Grange-over-Sands, native of Marton or ?Worston, builder of Ulverston and Lancaster Railway (later taken over by Furness Railway Company) using £4-500,000 of own resources, had collection of geological specimens, bought Holme Island (an ornamental residence attrib to George Webster) in 1851, marr, 2 sons (John jun, of Manchester, died at Lightburn House, 6 November 1855, aged 31 (MI in Wesleyan church, Ulverston) and Alexander (qv)), died in 1867

Bromley Family, monumental masons and sculptors, Keswick, several fine examples of their large detailed tombstones at Crosthwaite, one illustrated Hyde and Pevsner; J. Hughes, The Bromleys of Keswick, CW2, [1974] pp.186-9; Marshall Hall, 11; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 165-6

Bromley, Sir Henry, 5th Bt (1849-1905), landowner, born 6 August 1849, only son of Sir Henry Bromley, 4th Bt (1816-1895) and his first wife, Charlotte Frances Ann (d.1853), yst dau of Col Lancelot Rolleston, MP, of Watnall, Notts, Captain, Notts Yeo Cav, formerly 27th Foot, marr (23 January 1873) Adela Augusta (died 23 September 1926), only child of Westley Richards, 4 sons (Robert, 6th Bt (1874-1906), Maurice, 7th Bt (qv sub Bromley-Wilson), Rear Admiral Sir Arthur, KCMG, CVO (1876-19xx), and Herbert Assheton (1879-1915)) and 1 dau (Esther, wife of Charles Robert Tryon, qv sub Tryon-Wilson), acted as main trustee of Dallam Estate during minority of his 2nd son, Maurice, came on special train from his seat at Ashwell in Rutland to Sandside station in July 1894 for a two-month visit to Dallam Tower (WG, 12.07.1894), involved in Haverbrack Common dispute in 1893-94 by asserting his rights as trustee to privacy on his estate land (CM, ch.13), gave plain brass altar cross to Beetham church and later one to Milnthorpe church (which caused a bitter ‘popery’ dispute with churchwardens and Easter Vestry in 1897), photographed with Dallam Otterhounds at Underley Hall in c.1900 (CM, 404), died 11 March 1905

Bromley, John (1772-1841), engraver and stone cutter (1829), monumental mason, Keswick; of the Bromley family (qv)

Bromley, John (1876-1945), politician, MP for Barrow 1924-1931, unsuccessfully contested Leeds North East as Labour candidate at 1918 general election, then contested Barrow-in-Furness for Labour in 1922, but lost by 1,927 votes, and lost again in 1923 by just 420 votes, finally winning with majority of 710 on 29 October 1924 and increased majority in 1929, but retired at 1931 general election, to become President of Trades Union Congress in 1932-1933, died 7 September 1945

Bronte, Charlotte (1816-1855; ODNB), novelist, stayed with Sir James Kay Shuttleworth (father of 1st Lord Shuttleworth, qv) near Windermere in August 1850, where she met Elizabeth Gaskell (who published her Life in 1857), and also with Harriet Martineau at Ambleside in December 1850 (who was critical of Villette on its publication, leading to a rupture in their relations)

Brookbank, John (16xx-1712), clergyman, bapt 26 January 1620 [or is it at Beetham?], son of John Brockbank, of Haslerigg in parish of Cartmel [but not in Cartmel PR, though a James, son of John, is bapt 5 March 1619/20], ordained d 21 December 1662 and p 20 December 1663 (Chester), instituted to parish of Beetham on presentation from king on 13 September 1664, bought Langthwaite estate at Casterton from James Greenwood in 1676, with further purchases of land in 1677 and 1705 (deeds in CRO, WD/Whelp/6/T19-33), marr, son (Thomas, qv), buried at Beetham as Curate of Witherslack, 10 June 1712 (ECW, ii, 984-985)

Brookbank, Thomas (c.1671-1732), MA, clergyman, bapt at Beetham, 20 April 1671, son of Revd John Brookbank (qv), of Witherslack, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 24 October 1687, aged 18, BA 1692, MA St Mary Hall 1694), Minister of Cartmel for 26 years from 1706, marr Elizabeth, 1 son (John) and 3 daus (Mary (bapt 12 January 1706/7), Anne (bapt 1 December 1708), Elizabeth (bapt 26 June 1710, decd), Elizabeth (bapt 5 December 1711), and Ellen (bapt 14 February 1713/14) all at Cartmel), will made 23 September 1729, with codicil dated 26 January 1732 (copy in CRO, WD/Whelp/6/T37), died and buried at Cartmel, 3 February 1732; his son John inherited Langthwaite estate and other property in Kirkby Lonsdale on condition that he assign Sparth estate to his sisters, but he (and his wife Jane) sold Langthwaite to Richard Dawson, of Masongill, Thornton-in-Lonsdale, on 31 January 1738 (E Axon, TLCAS (1941/2), lvi, 99-103; ECW, ii, 986; Langthwaite deeds in CRO, WD/Whelp/6)

Brooke, Arthur (1846-1924), army officer and merchant, marr Jane (Jenny) (1847-1885), dau of Edward Mucklow (d.1903), JP, of Castle Head, Lindale-in-Cartmel, and Bennetts, Whitstone, Cornwall, who died at Finchley in October 1885, aged 38, and buried at Lindale, 9 October (memorial window in south of nave in Lindale church), children bapt at Lindale in 1870s, when merchant, of Muswell Hill, London, late Lieut-Col, 3rd Battn Royal Fusiliers, later of Brock Wood, Burwash, Sussex, died at Brock Lodge, Sedlescombe Road South, St Leonard’s-on-Sea, Sussex, aged 77, and buried at Lindale, 16 May 1924

Brooke, Stopford Augustus (1832-1916; ODNB), MA, preacher, author and hymn writer, b. Glendoen, Letterkenny, Donegal, son of the Rev Richard Sinclair Brooke, ed. Trinity college Dublin, m. Emma Beaumont, six daughters including Honor, a social reformer, one grandson Henry [1903-1984; ODNB] became Home Secretary, visited Lady Shelley in her old age at Boscombe House and heard her personal reminiscences of Wordsworth and others from her early years at Mirehouse on Bassenthwaite, popular preacher at Bedford Chapel, Bloomsbury, chaplain to Victoria, this he ceased after some years as he had independent means, in 1880 he seceded from the church, became more interested in literature and the arts, wrote on Turner, Tennyson, Browning and Shakespeare, assisted with fund raising for Dove Cottage, died at Four Winds, the house he had built in 1911 for his retirement at Cranleigh, Surrey, 18 March 1916 (as a Unitarian minister) and cremated at Woking crematorium, 23 March; L.P. Jacks, The Life and Letters of Stopford Brooke, 1917;

Brooker, James (1816-after 1859), figurehead carver, born Liverpool, apprenticed to Archibald Robertson (1795-1859) at Greenock, lived Maryport working for Woods (his brother George joined him), built house at Eaglesfield Rd with a small version of The Lion of Lucerne which he carved over the doorway, exhibited a figure of Ceres at the Great Exhibition in the Crystal Palace at which he won a medal, carved the figureheads for the Warlock (1840), Syren (1840), Enchantress (1841), Lord Hardinge (1846) (recorded as having ‘striking detail’ including his medals), Aladdin (1856) of the Sancta Bega (1864) built by Lumley Kennedy of Whitehaven, he also carved an eagle lectern for Crosthwaite church; Marshall Hall, 11; CW2 c 207; Grace’s Guide; Whitehaven Herald 16 May 1846, Daniel Hay, ‘Sea Breezes’ magazine 1947

Brooke, Edward, clerk, worked for Col Bolton of Liverpool and Storrs, involved in a duel, Brooke was shot through the head on 20 December 1805; Ulverston Advertiser, 28 December; J Snell, Ulverston Canal, 17

Brough, Alan, ‘Tutty’ [1942-2010], eccentric and collector of horses, owner of a herd of Shetland ponies at Newbiggin, Stainton, Penrith and previously the ‘Mosedale lion’; C and W Herald 23 July 2010

Brougham family; CW2 lx 131

Brougham, Eleanor Mabel Valentine (1883-1966), writer, aunt of the 1st baron Brougham and Vaux (qv), published Corn from Olde Fields: An Anthology of English Poems from 14thc to 17thc, 1918, News out of Scotland XIVc-XVIIIc, 1926, Epitaphs, selected by EMVB, 1927; British Library catalogue

Brougham, Henry (1665-1696; ODNB), priest and pro-proctor Oxford, son of Henry Brougham of Scales Hall (C) and Mary Slee, sheriff in 1693

Brougham and Vaux, Henry, 1st baron Brougham and Vaux (1778-1868; ODNB) PC QC FRS, politician, law reformer, abolitionist, energetic polymath, b. Edinburgh, son of Edward Brougham of Brougham Hall and his wife Eleanor Syme, ed Edinburgh Royal High School and Edinburgh university, called to the bar Lincoln’s Inn, much involved with the Reform Bill and the abolition of slavery, extended and enlarged Brougham Hall, visits from London society including Edward VII qv, purchased the Brougham Altarpiece [or Triptych] for St Wilfred’s church [now at Carlisle cathedral] in addition to quantities of other European medieval woodwork, popularized both the Brougham carriage and visits to the south of France, d. Cannes, France; Henry Summerson et al, Brougham Castle, Cumbria, 1998Benjamin Furnival, The Windsor of the North: A History of Brougham Hall, 1999; for the triptych see David A. Cross, 2017, 140-2; for medieval woodwork Hyde and Pevsner 196-7; pencil portrait by Joseph Bouet illustrated in David A Cross, Joseph Bouet, original in special collections Durham University Library

Brougham, Henry Charles, 3rd Baron Brougham and Vaux (1836-1927), DL, JP, landowner, eldest son of 2nd Baron, marr (18 April 1882, at St Paul’s, Knightsbridge) Adora Francis Olga (Zoe), Lady Musgrave (died in Middlesex, 17 December 1925), dau of Peter Wells, of Forest Farm, Windsor Forest, Berkshire, and widow of Sir Richard Courtenay Musgrave (qv), of Edenhall, who was a close friend (dying prematurely at 42), 1 son (Henry, 1887-1927) and 1 dau (Eleanor Mabel Valentine, 1883-1966) and six step-children, JP Westmorland (qual 21 October 1869), died 1927 (BH&HHC, 90-103 with photo on p.95)

Brougham, James (17xx-1833), MP, brother of Lord Chancellor Brougham, welcomed to Kendal as parliamentary candidate designate for borough on day of procession in town to celebrate passing of Reform Bill on 6 September 1832, and elected first MP for Kendal, without opposition, chaired through streets and later dined with 200 electors (out of 310) at the King’s Arms, 11 December 1832, but serious rioting broke out during polling a week later in Westmorland county election on 18 December, died 22 December 1833, aged 54, and buried at Brougham

Brougham, Victor Henry Peter (1909-1967), 4th baron Brougham and Vaux, broke the bank of Monte Carlo, twice, he had to sell the hall, which was partly demolished in the 1930s

Brougham,William, 2nd Baron Brougham and Vaux (1795-1886), DL, born at Edinburgh, 1795, succ brother, Henry (qv), by special remainder in 1868, marr (1834) Emily Frances, only dau of Sir Charles William Taylor, Bt, DL Westmorland (apptd in November 1871), died at Brougham Hall, 3 January 1886, aged 90, and buried in Brougham churchyard, 7 January

Broughton, Thomas, of Broughton-in-Furness, fought for Richard III at Bosworth Field in 1485 and then supported Lambert Simnel (qv) in 1487, took refuge at Witherslack; Thomas West, Antiquities of Furness, 210

Brown, Rev Abraham, celebrated wrestler, of Egremont

Brown, Betty (1909-1965)(Mabel Raven), later Gilson, botanist, born Hensingham, Whitehaven, dau of Tom Brown (1874-1935) a solicitor, 1st class honours degree Newnham Coll Cambridge, fellow of Newnham and lecturer in botany 1939-1946, sister of Prof Julian Brown (qv), marr Hugh Gilson (qv), died Cumberland

Brown, Cyril Harold (18xx-1956), clergyman, trained at Bishop Wilson Theol Coll, IoM 1918, d 1919 and p 1920 (S&M), curate of St Thomas, Douglas 1919-1920, organising secretary, SPG, York 1921-1925, vicar of Firbank with Howgill 1925-1930 (inducted as first vicar of United Benefice on 1 November 1925), had 33 Easter communicants in 1926, St Oswald, Bradford 1930-1943, and Cottingley, Bingley 1943-1954, diocesan inspector of schools, Bradford 1943-, hon canon of Bradford Cathedral 1946-, marr Mabel (died 27 April 1975), dau (Bettina, died 7 March 2004), died at Bingley, 24 November 1956 and buried at Firbank, 14 December

Brown, Dame Edith Mary [1864-1956; ODNB], DBE, physician and medical educationalist, b. Whitehaven, MA Cantab, MD Bruxelles, est  Christian Medical College at Ludhiana, India with the Greenfield sisters, Martha and Kay, who operated beforehand as medical missionaries

Brown, Edward, Prince of Wales Hotel, Grasmere, 1851-1885

Brown, Ford Madox (1821-1893; ODNB), visited the Lakes, painting of Windermere with highland cattle (Tullie House)

Brown, Helen Wright, wife of Thomas Brown land agent and mother of Prof Julian Brown (qv), MBE for services to the WRVS in the war

Brown, James Walter (1850-1930), clergyman, author of Round Carlisle Cross: old stories retold (12 edns 1921-29), selected from weekly articles contributed to Cumberland News, 2nd edition ed by Thomas Gray and Marley Denwood (1951), A Cathedral Idyll (1915), died at his home, 35 Chiswick Street, Carlisle, 1 March 1930, aged 79 (CW2, xxx, 236-37); probably identical with the composer of ‘Little St Hugh: A Cantata’ (1909), ‘Kinmont Willie’ (1922) and Lyrics and Songs (1893)

Brown, John Wilson (1874-19xx), librarian, born 23 January 1874, started work in new library Kendal, in the Old Market Hall when building opened in December 1892 (his job included “cleaning all windows, stoking the furness [sic], preserving order…and cleaning the oil lamps”, working 12 hours a day and paid £49 pa), apptd Chief Librarian to Public Free Library, Stricklandgate, Kendal, from 22 April 1905, new Carnegie Library opened in 1909, of 13 Crescent Green, Kendal (1914) and Brantside, Horncop, Kendal (1928), retired in January 1939 to Silloth

Brown, Joseph, schoolmaster, son of John Brown, of Kendal, spinner, apptd Master of Grammar School, Kendal 1869, resigning in 1886 on establishment of new Grammar School (on amalgamation with Blue Coat School) and becoming Master of the Sandes Preparatory School, sub-editor on James Murray’s English Dictionary from 1879, leaderwriter for Kendal Mercury and Times, good platform speaker at political meetings, keen musician and member of Kendal Choral Society

Brown, (Thomas) Julian FBA FSA FKC (1923-1987), paleographer, born Tirril, son of a land agent, educ Charney Hall, Winchester and Christ Church Oxford, graduated in classics in 1948 after the war, in the 1950s his mother ran the Langstrath Hotel, Borrowdale, lived Carlisle, assistant keeper of manuscripts at the BM, his commentary on the Lindisfarne Gospels established his reputation (facsimile publ 1960), professor Kings Coll London 1961-1984, publ The Stoneyhurst Gospel of St John (1969), The Durham Ritual (1969) and Codex Vaticanus Palatinus Latinus 235 (1989) ed with T Mackay, Hon DPhil Durham 1986, married twice, two children; Proceedings of the British Academy vol 75 (1989), 341; Times obit 24 Jan 1987, 18; Michael Lapidge ed, Interpreters of Early Medieval Britain, 2002, 533 ff

Brown, Peter (d.1746), with Hugh Brown (d.1746), not natives of the county, an old man and a young one, of no known relationship, sentenced to transportation for shop breaking at Kirkby Lonsdale, but returned illegally and executed at Appleby in 1746

Brown, Richard (1709-1785), b. Winton, Queen’s College, Oxon

Brown, Robert Pennyman Hull (c.1814-1876), clergyman, no benefice (1858), died at Pull Wyke, Ambleside, 21 April 1876, aged 62

Brown, Robert Percival (18xx-193x), MA, clergyman, schoolmaster and antiquary, educ St Paul’s School and Trinity College, Cambridge (Scholar, BA (first class in Classical Tripos) 1884, and MA 1888), d 1886 and p 1887 (Sodor & Man), assistant master, Marlborough College 1884-1885, asst master and chaplain, King William’s College, Isle of Man 1885-1888, first headmaster of new Kendal Grammar School 1888-1891, headmaster of Eltham College (Royal Naval School) 1891-1896, and of Warwick School 1896-1902, priest-in-charge of Holy Trinity, Stirling, with St Ninian’s Mission, dio Edinburgh 1904-1905 and rector 1905-1917, TCF 1914-1917, vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale 1917-1933 (with Lupton to 1926), transcribed KL PRs, compiled list and article on ‘The Vicars of Kirkby Lonsdale’ (CW2, xxix, 166-192, author of Edward Wilson of Nether Levens (1557-1653) and his Kin (CWAAS Tract No XII, 1930), member of CWAAS from 1924 and of Council from 1925 (CW2, xxix, 192), left KL in summer 1933, retiring to The Elms, Ashacre Lane, Worthing, Sussex (1939), decd by 1948 [not buried at KL, no obit in CW2]

Brown, Thomas, b. Scotland, gardener at The Fitz, Cockermouth, wrote poems on deaths of Tennyson, HRH Duchess of York, Princess of Wales; H. Winter, Cockermouth Great Scholars

Brown, Thomas Forster (1835-1907; DCB), mining engineer

Brown, Tom, clergyman, rector of Long Marton 1960-1963

Brown, William (17xx-18xx), artist, first recorded as a marine watercolour painter in Maryport in 1811, painting in oil on large canvasses by 1819, inc view of Kendal from Thorny Hills, showing mill race supplying water power to Castle Mills (rebuilt in 1805/6) and river beyond, Miller Bridge, and tenter-frames on Gooseholme, also painted canal basin at Carlisle in 1823, as well as landscapes and genre paintings; Marshall Hall, 11-12

Browne family of Townend, ‘one of the oldest families in Troutbeck’, at least from the early 16thc.,  their unusual yeoman’s house is replete with oak panelling and furniture (National Trust)

Browne, Benjamin (1664-1748), county official, born 1664, son of George Browne (1626-1703) (qv), of Town End, Troutbeck, High Constable of Kendal Ward 1711-1732, 2 sons (Benjamin and George), made will on 7 September 1748 (CRO, WD/TE/ F14); Benjamin Browne the younger, of Town End, Troutbeck, wife Elizabeth, dau of James Longmire the elder, of Linefoot, yeoman, made will on 8 May 1746 (proved 10 May 1748, CRO, WD/TE/ F21)

Browne, Benjamin (c.1714-1750), excise officer, born near Penrith, died 15 May 1750 (epitaph in Alresford churchyard (CRO, WD/TE/12/25)

Browne, Benjamin (1787-1807), surgeon, born 15 April 1787 and bapt at Troutbeck, 13 May, 2nd son of George Browne (1741-1804) (qv), apprenticed with mother’s consent to William Simpson (qv), surgeon and apothecary, of Ambleside, 20 October 1804, but on his death in July 1806, set out to be medical student at Edinburgh University in November 1806, about to set up in practice in Ambleside in 1807, when he drowned in accident on Windermere (perhaps preparing for the Regatta), 13 July 1807 and buried at Troutbeck, 16 July, leaving an illegitimate son (George, born 18 March 1808 and bapt 22 March) by Agnes Simpson, widow of William Simpson, his late master (letters in CRO, WD/TE/ Bound MSS vols II, 1-2, V, 246-248, 253, 305-306; CW2, xci, 199-211)

Browne, Christopher (1703-1747), apothecary, son of Henry Browne (1673-1710), marr (November 1730) Katherine, dau of Alderman Thomas Rowlandson (qv), mayor of Kendal 1735, of 45 Stricklandgate, Kendal, died 20 July 1747 (KK, 344)

Browne, George (1834-1914), landowner, born 1834, only son of George Browne (qv), of Town End, Troutbeck, marr Margaret Dixon (1842-1909), of Kentmere, will dated 31 January 1903, bequeathing Town End to his wife Margaret for life with his 3 daus, Lucy Eleanor (1864-1913), Clara Jane (1866-1943) and Katharine Margaret (1869-1909) (buried at Troutbeck, 4 October 1909) as joint tenants, then to them in equal shares and as tenants in common, admin of estate granted to surviving dau, Clara Jane Browne, 30 September 1914

Browne, Gerard (1612-16xx), clergyman, bapt at Wigan, 9 June 1612, son of William Browne, of Wigan, educ Brasenose College, Oxford (matric 15 February 1633, BA 28 November 1635), vicar of Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire 1637-1644, Royalist supporter, forced out of pulpit about 1643 and ejected for his refusal of the Covenant, brought in custody to Nantwich after order against him by County Committee confirmed on 25 April 1644, went to Aughton near Ormskirk and chapel of Maghull as minister until approved as minister of Blackrod in 1647, assigned a good character in survey of 1650, removed to Cockerham by 1652, minister of Burton in Kendal by 1657 when his dau Elizabeth was born (bapt 13 December 1657), followed by Bridget (bapt 28 April 1660) and son Gerard (bapt 3 November 1661), wife Frances buried at Burton, 27 September 1662, instituted again on 22 October 1662 on presentation of George Middleton (qv), but gone by August 1664 (ECW, ii, 990-992)

Browne, John (1677-1763), clergyman, from Cockburnspath, Berwickshire, marr (August 1712) Eleanor (c.1679-1758), dau of – Potts and widow of Anthony Troutbeck (d.1710), 1 son (John below) and 1 dau (Margaret, 1713-1722), vicar of Wigton from 1715/6

Browne, John (1715-1766; ODNB), DD, MA, clergyman, moralist and playwright, b. Rothbury, son of Revd John Brown (qv), educ Wigton Grammar School and St John’s Camb, MA 1739, DD 1755, minor canon of Carlisle cathedral, chaplain bishop Osbaldeston qv,vicar of St Nicholas, Newcastle, author of the plays Athelstane and  Barbarossa, both performed by David Garrick, his Description of the Lake at Keswick published in 1767 was one of earliest of the  district by a ‘tourist’, is cited frequently, died 23 September 1766 (CW2, lxix, 240-274)

Browne, Joseph (1700-1767), born at Tongue, Watermillock, son of George Browne, ed Barton school, Queen’s college MA 1724, fellow 1731, DD 1743, given the living of Bramshot, Hants in 1746, Sedleian professor of natural philiosphy 1746 until his death, prebend and chancellor Hereford, provost Queen’s College, Oxford 1756, VC of Oxford 1759-65, suffered a stroke 1765, died 1767; Previous Vice Chancellors, Oxford, 2011

Browne, Philip Theodore Briarly (18xx-1951), police officer, Chief Constable to Standing Joint Committee of Cumberland and Westmorland 1926-1951, died at Acton Lodge, Temple Sowerby, and cremated at Darlington after service in church, 5 December 1951

Browne, Stuart [1946-1999], author, director and scriptwriter, wrote novel Dangerous Parking, this became a film with Tom Conti (2007), m. actress Kathryn Pogson who played Ophelia in Jonathan Miller’s Hamlet; Observer 18 March 2001

Browne, Thomas (1792-1866), clergyman, yst son of George Browne (qv), of Town End, Troutbeck, marr Mary Jackson, 1 son, vicar of Carlton in Cleveland (letters, papers, diaries and sermons in CRO, WD/TE/14); son, William Jackson Browne, bookbinder (diary and notebooks 1885-1889 in CRO, WD/TE/14)

Browne, William (1732-1802),  high sheriff, born 19 September 1732, 4th son of William and Mary Browne, of Orthwaite Hall, educ Uldale School (Hutchinson, ii, 373), later paid for flagging floor in place of clay, had commercial interests sufficient to provide him with means to buy properties, inc Tallantire Hall and manors of Dovenby, Papcastle and Tallantire in 1776 (Lysons, lxx 36-38), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1790, marr (3 September 1779) Mary (d.1818, aged 76), widow of Richard Lancaster, 1 son (William, qv) and 3 daus, died in 1802, aged 70, and buried with wife in remains of old chancel at Bridekirk (CW2, lxx, 153)

Browne, William (1780-1861), JP, High Sheriff, born 3 December 1780 and bapt at Bridekirk next day, son of William Browne (qv), of Tallantire Hall, Bridekirk, and heir to W G Browne, ‘the Traveller’ (qv) in event of failure of male heirs, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1816, JP Cumberland for many years, owned manuscript copy of John Denton’s History of Cumberland with Hugh Todd’s City of Carlisle and other documents [formerly belonging to Josiah Relph (d.1743), of Sebergham, and later to David Mawson (CW3, iv, 164)], which were used by Lysons brothers for their History of Cumberland, marr (1803) Catherine (1779-1859), dau of William Stewart, of Castle Stewart, 3 sons (William (1808-1809), William (qv) and John Stewart (b.1814)) and 6 daus (inc Caroline, who marr (8 December 1838, at Bridekirk) 2nd Baron Teignmouth (1796-1885) (qv), 3 sons and 3 daus, and died 20 September 1899, aged 83), died 2 March 1861, aged 80, and buried with wife, who died 29 January 1859, aged 80, in Bridekirk churchyard (MI) (CW2, lxx, 153-154)

Browne, William (1812-1894), JP, MA, barrister, born 9 July 1812 and bapt at Bridekirk, 8 September, er surv son of William Browne (qv), educ Balliol College, Oxford (MA 1840), barrister-at-law, Lincoln’s Inn 1843, joined Northern Circuit and practised for some years at Carlisle Quarter Sessions, marr (1847) Isabella (1825-1905/6), only dau of Robert Midford, of London, son (William Charles, qv) and dau (Nina, wife of Dr Gore Ring, qv), lived in Carlisle until his father’s death in 1861, where he took an interest in some religious societies and occasionally spoke at Bible Society meetings, then of Tallantire Hall, Bridekirk, which he had extended in 1863 (by Joseph Bintley), also built school opposite, founder member of CWAAS and member of Council, contributed papers to Transactions on ‘Bridekirk, and its Registers’ in 1878 (CW1, iv, 257-279) and ‘William George Browne of Orthwaite or Allerthwaite Hall’ in 1882 (CW1, vi, 355-356), wrote to Chancellor Ferguson on 5 July 1887 recalling playing as a child amongst stones of an old dove cote in field close to Tallantire Hall (CW1, ix, 432), died suddenly at Keswick railway station, 7 April 1894 (having been staying in town (with his dau?) and about to return to Cockermouth), aged 81, and buried in Crosthwaite churchyard, 11 April, after which Tallantire was sold, his widow Isabella, then of ‘The Hollies’, being buried with him, 3 January 1906, aged 81 (WCT, 11.04.1894; CW2, lxx, 154-155)

Browne, Revd William Charles (18xx-19xx), clergyman, pres born at Tallantire Hall and bapt at Bridekirk, son of William Browne (qv), trained at Sarum College 1876, d 1878 and p 1880 (Sarum), Curate of Tyneham, Wareham, Dorset 1878-1890, and of Dilton Marsh, Westbury, Wilts 1890-1893, Vicar of Netheravon, nr Salisbury 1893-1895, Vicar of Haynes, Bedford 1895-

Browne, William George (1768-1813; ODNB), BA, scholar and traveller, born on Great Tower Hill, London, 25 July 1768, son of George Browne, wine merchant, and grandson of William Browne (1700-1771), of Woodhall in Caldbeck parish, who had acquired Orthwaite Hall in c.1723, which he (WGB) inherited but which his nephew, George Browne sold to Joseph Gillbanks, of Whitefield House, Ireby in 1837, murdered about 120 miles from Tabriz on his way to Tehran in late summer of 1813 (CW2, lxx, …)

Browning, D. Peter J. (19xx-2010), CBE, MA, education administrator, became youngest parish clerk in England during WW2 at age of 18, career in education administration in Cumberland, Southampton and Bedfordshire, where he set up an Anglo-Italian society for Italian workers in the local brickfields, took over chairmanship of Armitt Trust [Armitt sisters qqv] from John Gavin in 1991, used his administrative and diplomatic skills in fundraising for new Armitt building and its construction, presiding over its opening by Princess Alexandra in 1997, with vision to establish it as a reference collection of academic importance, also established series of concerts in Rydal Church which raised funds for the Armitt, wife Eleanor, of Park Fell, Skelwith Bridge, Ambleside, died in February 2010

Brownrigg, Elizabeth, the last May Queen, Keswick, 1938; her mother had been May Queen in 1912

Brownrigg, Giles [d.1633], founded Ireleth School in 1608 [the plaque states 1608 but it was actually 1612]; CW2 xlviii 145

Brownrigg, William (1711-1800; ODNB), MD, FRS, physician and chemist, born 24 March 1711 at High Close Hall, Plumbland, eldest of seven children of George Brownrigg (1677-1760), of Ormathwaite, agent for estate, and his cousin, Mary (d.1770, aged 80), dau of Henry Brownrigg, settled in Whitehaven in early 1737 to practise medicine, marr (3 August 1741) Mary (1721-1794, buried 17 February at Crosthwaite), dau of John Spedding (qv), no issue, also investigated nature of exhalations in coal mines, then led to inquire into nature of mineral waters, suggested to Joseph Priestly the imitation of Pyrmont water by impregnating it with carbonic acid gas, also one of discoverers of nature of Calybeate waters, made several communications on these subjects to Royal Society in 1741, elected FRS, described in paper to Royal Society in 1746 an apparatus contrived to convey carburetted hydrogen gas (or fire damp, as it was then called) in a constant stream from coal pit into his laboratory, where many experiments were made on it, well acquainted with mining operations in Cumberland, went to live about 1770 in semi-retirement at Ormathwaite Hall, near Keswick (which estate passed to his great-nephew, John Benn, qv), died 6 January 1800, aged 88, and buried at Crosthwaite church, 12 January (plaque in chancel) (DH, 136-137); Joshua Dixon, The Literary Life of William Brownrigg, 1801;  Henry Lonsdale’s Worthies; JV Beckett, W.B.  FRS, Physician, Chemist and Country Gentleman, 1977; Jean Ward and Joan Yell, The Medical Casebook of WB, Medical History Supplement, vol.13, 1993, 25

Brownrigg, William (1xxx-19xx), politician, farmer from Kirkbampton, contested Penrith and the Border in 1951, polling 158 votes, and in 1955 as Home Rule for Cumberland candidate

Brownsword, Revd William (16xx-16xx), MA, clergyman, Vicar of Kendal, brought suit against Quakers for non-payment of tithes, granted freedom within Borough of Kendal on 6 November 1662 (BoR, 21), gave four volumes of Bellarmine’s Opera to Sandes Library, Kendal, 1675

Brucciani family [fl.20thc], makers of ice cream Barrow and ran two coffee shops in Dalton Rd., known locally as ‘top Brucci’s’ and ‘bottom Brucci’s’ [? related to Bricciani, the cast maker in London 1864 and to the Bruccianis of Preston; other Italian familes include Pieri family Carlisle and Luccini family Keswick qqv

Bruce, Marjorie, dau of Robert the Bruce, when 12 years old is said to have been sent to Edward I (qv) at Lanercost, then escorted to London and imprisoned in a cage outside the Tower at the command of the king and she was later immured in a nunnery; a similar fate is said to have been meted out to Mary Bruce (sister of Robert the Bruce) and Isabella McDuff (countess Buchan who crowned the Bruce), who were sent to Edward at Lanercost and then imprisoned in cages one at Berwick and the other at Roxburgh (they may have been metal structures inside turrets); Andrew Laing, History of Scotland, vol 2 dispels this myth; David McClaine, Ladies in Cages, 2013; Prestwich biography

Bruce, Robert the (1274-1329); CW2 xcii 77; father’s tomb Holme Cultrum

Brumwell, James Teasdale (c.1827-18xx), MRCS, LLAC, surgeon and general practitioner, born in Kendal, aged 34 in 1851, Lowther Street, Kendal (1849, 1858) and 71 Stricklandgate (1873), wife Jane (born at Bootle, Cumberland, aged 35 in 1851), 2 sons (George, aged 4, and James, aged 2 in 1851), dau Jane Elizabeth (born 29 October and bapt 22 November 1850), twins (born 26 December 1852 and bapt 2 February 1853), twins again (born 1 June and bapt 4 June 1855), and dau (born 13 April and bapt 9 July 1858), used to drive his four-wheeled dogcart across river Kent at Kirkland to keep the ford open (MOK, 132); ? his son George William Brumwell, LRCP Edin, hon surgeon to Memorial Hospital, Kendal (1906)

Brumwell, Elizabeth and Mary, sisters??, teachers, ran academy in Kent Street (1849, 1851), at 93 Stricklandgate, Kendal (1861 census)

Brumwell, William Cownley, grocer, Highgate, Kendal; Frances and Mary Brumwell, milliners and dress makers, Highgate (1829)

Brunlees, Sir James (1816-1892; ODNB), civil engineer, bridge, viaduct and pier designer, born at Kelso, 5 January 1816  

Brunner, William [c.1829-1912] itinerant photographer; CWAAS 2017, 177

Brunskill family; CW2 iii 366

Brunskill, Anthony (18xx-1894), collector of folk-lore in Crosby Garrett, died in August 1894

Brunskill, Joseph [1826-1903], cleric, headmaster and diarist, trained at St Bees college, held livings in Cumbria from 1853-1903, rector of Threlkeld 1870-1893, John Breay, A Fell-side Parson, 1990; John Breay ed. Joseph Brunskill and his Diaries, Canterbury Press, Norwich,1995, review CWAAS newsletter, 1995 or 6, (diary 1849-1854 in CRO, WDX 214/acc.2177; family papers WDX 848

Brunskill, Richard (18xx-18xx) and John William (18xx-18xx), photographic artists, of Sedbergh, purchased parcel of land on Castle Park Road, Kendal, from Isaac Whitwell (qv) on 15 February 1868 and later (when of Sedbergh and of Bowness) sold it to Thomas Baron, draper and reedmaker, of Kendal, 1 March 1873 (deeds in CRO, WD/RG/acc.1210), of Bowness (1885)

 Brunskill, Richard and John William (1820s-19xx), photographers, brothers born in Sedbergh, moved to Bowness in early 1860s and took cottage at Matson Ground, working from ‘Brunskills’ Wood-shed’ studio, later of North Terrace, Bowness, took on Henry Herbert from Durham in 1886, business ceased trading in 1910 (large collection of 17,800 glass portrait plates in Armitt Museum and Library: Still Lives exhibition in Summer 2017)

Brunskill, Ronald William (1929-2015), OBE, FSA, MA, PhD, ARIBA, architect and historian, born 3 January 1929, died 9 October 2015, reader in architectural history, Reading university and author of books on Lakeland vernacular architecture; CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff; obit. CW3 xviii 1-2

Brunskill, Stephen (1748-1836), Methodist local preacher, 62 years ministry, of Orton, despite several visits by John Wesley in 1753 and later, no attempt made to establish Wesleyan Methodist Society in Kendal until his preaching from steps of old playhouse in Market Place in 1787, Methodists then rented old playhouse as a meeting room until purchasing it for £89 in 1795, attending “Arian chapel” in morning and heard one of Countess of Huntingdon’s preachers in afternoon, later at Sand Area, Kendal, believed to have lived at Owlet Ash, Milnthorpe in 1809 (copy of account of Life of Stephen Brunskill of Orton (1837) in CRO, WDY 596)

Brunskill, Stephen (fl.1860s), JP, corn merchant, son of John Brunskill, of Lambrigg Foot, near Kendal, cousin of John Hewetson Wilson (qv), who apptd him his executor (with R W Buckley, qv) in will of 8 July 1862, and left £500 as long as he was his agent at time of his death, corn, cattle cake and manure merchant, of Exchange Chambers, Highgate, Kendal, and of Hill Top, New Hutton (1885, but gone by 1894), member of council of Cumberland & Westmorland Agricultural Society (1868), qual as JP Westmorland (23 May 1868)

Brus, Peter de (fl.1246-1260), baron, son of Peter de Brus and Helwise, er sister of William de Lancaster (qv), Baron of Kendal, issued charter of confirmation to free burgesses of Kendal in 1246x1260 (printed in CW2, xix, 113-117)

Bryan, Revd Philip (19xx-201x), clergyman, Vicar of St Bees and Chaplain to St Bees School 1977-2006

Bryce, John (1832-1896), company secretary, born in 1832, son of James Bryce (decd by 1869), working in office of Alex Cowan & Sons, papermakers, Penicuik, near Edinburgh, when he joined James Cropper & Co Ltd, as a manager at Burneside in 1852, apptd a partner in 1859, Company Secretary 1852-1896, took practical interest in welfare of workers, left money in will to establish an Institute with library, reading room, billiard room and hall for use of parish (designed by J F Curwen), also left two bursaries for school, etc, built Gowan Lea (now Melmore) 1875, one of Conservators for Westmorland for Kent, Bela, Winster, Leven & Duddon Fishery District (1894), marr. Helen Nelson White, no issue (his sister Lucy was wife of Thomas Jones (qv), schoolmaster and author of History of Burneside (1912)), died at Gowan Lea, Burneside, aged 63, and buried in Burneside churchyard, 28 March 1896 (JC&Co)

Brydson, Arthur Paul (formerly Bridson) (1859-1922), MA, JP, antiquary, born 27 September 1859, elder son of J R Bridson (qv), educ Harrow and Magdalen College, Oxford (MA), marr (26 September 1889) Catherine Day (died 2 June 1944), dau of Matthew Benson Harrison (qv), of Leigh House, Datchet, and heiress to Water Park, on south-east shore of Coniston, under will of her aunt Dora, wife of John Bolland and dau of Benson Harrison (qv), of Scale How, Ambleside and Water Park, and his wife Dorothy Wordsworth, 1 son and 1 dau, changed his name to Brydson after death of his father by Deed Poll, 26 December 1901, former Captain, Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry, author of Some Records of Two Lakeland Townships (Blawith and Nibthwaite) (Ulverston, 1908), chiefly from original documents, which he consulted himself in PRO and BM, London, and Sidelights on Mediaeval Windermere, with illustrations drawn by his brother, Captain Bridson, RN (Kendal, 1911), as well as three articles in Transactions, member of CWAAS from 1908, and subscriber to its record publication fund, member of committee for church inventories and contributed schedules for rural deanery of Dalton, friend of Alfred Fell (qv), also active in public work as member of Ulverston RDC and Board of Guardians, Kent etc Fishery Conservators, and North Lonsdale Unionist Association, JP for cos Westmorland and Lancashire, of Water Park, High Nibthwaite, Ulverston, where he died 25 January 1922, aged 62 (CW2, xxii, 468); his son, Paul Reginald Benson Brydson, of Water Park, born 7 June 1892, buried at Colton, 25 May 1977, aged 84

Brymer, Jack [1915-2003; ODNB], clarinettist, performed at Rosehill theatre c.1990

Bubb, Capt Jeremiah (d.1692) governor of Carlisle castle and MP for Carlisle, his son Jeremiah was an apothecary in Carlisle then Weymouth, son George (1691-1762) MP 1716-1761, lord lieutenant Somerset, treasurer of the Navy, cr baron Melcombe of Melcombe Regis d.s.p.

Buchanan, Revd George (d.1665), MA, clergyman, Vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale 1660-1661, then collated by bishop of Carlisle to vicarage of Stanwix, to which he was instituted on 24 April 1661, died there in December 1665; his eldest son, James Buchanan, becoming headmaster of Sedbergh School 1657-1662 (CW2, xxix, 186)

Buchanan, Jim (c.1943-2010), council leader and veterinary surgeon, assistant to Tom Wolfe, veterinary surgeon, at Aspatria from c.1970, later took over practice, marr Fiona, 2 sons (Ian and Stuart), Cumbria County Councillor for Aspatria and Wharrels from 19xx, Leader of Cumbria County Council since 2008, but had announced on 22 March 2010 his decision to stand down on 22 April because of ill health, but died at home, 8 April 2010, aged 67

Buckham, Mr, ran a coffee house in Whitehaven, in late 18thc he kept a book for the subscriptions for the new Dispensary, meetings for the Dispensary also held on his premises; Sydney, biog of Dr Joshua Dixon, 2009

Buckle, Sir Cuthbert (c.1533-1594), Lord Mayor of London, born c.1533 in parish of Brough, son of Christopher Buckle, of Brough-under-Stainmore, marr 1st Joan, 1 son (John, d. young), marr 2nd Elizabeth, dau of Thomas Marston, merchant, of London, 1 son (Sir Christopher Buckle), vintner, citizen and Alderman of City of London, Sheriff in 1582, Lord Mayor in 1593-94, lived in Mark Lane, owned property in parishes of St Mary-at-Hill and St Dunstan-in-the-East, built bridge over Augill beck in 1593 (“Buckle Bridge”), left annuity of £8, chargeable on Spittle estate, towards maintenance of schoolmaster at Stainmore in his will, contested by his heir-at-law, but decree in favour of school made in 1600, died in Banstead, Surrey in 1594 (pedigrees in Buckle MSS 19-25 in West Sussex RO; N&B, 575)

Buckley, Abigail Jackson (nee Jackson) [d.1763], heiress, of Kirkby Lonsdale, perhaps daughter of the Rev Leonard Jackson [1650-1726], held estates in Cumberland, Yorkshire, Lancashire and co. Dublin, m. 1st Mr Buckley, perhaps an Irishman, m. 2nd 1737 Sir Oliver Crofton 5th Bt [d.1780], owned Jackson Hall, KL

Buckley, F.W. [fl.1860s], chief supporter of the Staveley Gasworks

Buckley, Norman H (d.1974), MBE, world speed record holder, Union Internationale Motonautique, former Commodore of Windermere Motor Boat Racing Club, tenant (with brother Kenneth) of Low Wood, Windermere 1952-1958 and purchased freehold, 18 July 1958, bought “Crag Wood” on lakeside in 1948, son of Robert Buckley, solicitors, Manchester; Mrs B Buckley died in 1981; friend of Donald Campbell qv; owner of Miss Windermere IV; owned Low Wood Hotel

Buckley, Miss, artist, sister of Sydney Buckley

Buckley, Richard Wilson (18xx-1875), barrister and benefactor, born at Runcorn, yr son of Samuel Buckley (died intestate, 11 July 1861, letters of admon granted to RWB, 7 January 1862), excise officer, of Liverpool, and late of Albert Place, Kensington, co Middlesex, and his wife Elizabeth, dau of Thomas Wilson (d.1844/45), of Boughton, near Chester, and nephew of John Hewetson Wilson (qv), whose lands in Westmorland and house in Sussex he inherited on his death in 1862, lived in London (4 Albert Place, Kensington, with chambers at 50 Lincoln’s Inn Fields) or at The Grange, Worth, Sussex, but also built himself house at Browfoot, Staveley, which he visited regularly, took greater interest in estate than his uncle, gave land, money, advice and leadership to church and community in Staveley, helped reorganise school, helped set up Staveley Gas Company (1862/5), Staveley Building Society and Staveley Fire Brigade, rebuilt farmhouses on estate and extended The Abbey into a gentleman’s residence (let out to Daniel Harrison, qv), final gift of buildings for Staveley Working Men’s Institute (opened in September 1876 as his memorial), died without issue in 1875, will dated 10 November 1875, with codicil of 17 December, leaving his estate to his sister, Sarah Martha (two years younger), wife of Edward Johnson (qv), and after both their deaths in 1890, divided between their children, his (RWB’s) nephews and nieces (photograph presented to Staveley Institute in 1892) (CRO, WDX 572; LVTT, 14-15)

Buckley, Sydney (b.1899), architect, artist and writer, born Oldham, taught at Oldham Art College, later lived Grange over Sands, established a studio in Cartmel Gatehouse, unm. lived with his sister, died Cartmel, renowned etcher and engraver, painter of landscapes and architectural subjects, member of Lake Artists, work includes Holker Hall (c.1970)

Budden, John (1939-2022), teacher, journalist and broadcaster, born Kent, taught English, moved to Cumberland to teach, began his journalism in tandem with a school timetable, racing columnist on the Cumberland News from 1966, regularly attended all the northern racecourses, also worked for Sporting Life, friend of the jockey and Greystoke trainer Gordon W Richards (1930-1998) (qv), a raconteur, ‘a lovely man – whatever he did, he did well’, wife Jackie died 2021, two sons, Kelso race named after him; C News 2 September 2022

Budden, L (18xx-19xx), BA, MusB, Headmaster of Appleby Grammar School 1932-1943

Buddicom, Revd Robert (18xx-18xx), clergyman and college head, vicar of St Bees and Principal of St Bees Theological College 1840-1846

Budworth, Joseph (c.1753-1815), FSA, early tourist (‘The Rambler’), Captain, born c.1753, from Manchester, spent most of his life soldiering, lost an arm at Siege of Gibraltar in 17xx, visit to Lakes in 1792, aged 39, constantly reminiscing about his army days and old comrades, his reactions to the Lakes are fresh and spontaneous (eg roads in Kendal so ill-paved that he could mind nothing but his feet), no stock epithets, took particular relish in the food on his travels, had lively interest in local people, esp landlords of inns, and gathered local gossip, visited Peter Crosthwaite’s museum at Keswick (and considered his shilling well spent), first to describe Mary Robinson (qv), dau of landlord of Fish Inn, Buttermere, in 1792 and brought her to public notice, and called again at Fish Inn on his second visit in January 1798 (account in GM), one of first to climb fells and not just stay at lake level, climbing in Langdale Pikes on 7 November 1797, accompanied by Paul Postlethwaite, a local 15 year old shepherd boy, when he became crag-fast on Pavey Ark (a precipitous rock face above Stickle Tarn), possibly Jack’s Rake, but led to safety by the boy, described in his A Fortnight’s Ramble to the Lakes in Westmorland, Lancashire and Cumberland by a Rambler (1792) (with later editions in 1795 and 1810) (The Lakers, 68-73, 95)

Bueth (fl.early 11thc), Saxon earl, built Bueth’s castle, now Bewcastle, father or forbear of Gilles (qv)

Bulley, Right Revd Sydney Cyril (1907-1989), MA, Bishop of Carlisle, born 12 June 1907, 2nd son of Jethro Bulley, Newton Abbot, Devon, educ Newton Abbot Grammar School and St Chads college, University of Durham (Van Mildert scholar 1932, BA 1932, Dip Th 1933, MA 1936), ordained d 1933 and p 1934, Curate of Newark Parish Church 1933-1942, Director of Religious Education, Dio Southwell 1936-1942, Vicar of St Andrew’s, Worksop 1942-1946, Chaplain to High Sheriff of Notts 1943, Hon Canon of Southwell Minster 1945, Vicar and Rural Dean of Mansfield 1946-1951, Proctor in Convocation of York 1946-1951, Vicar of Ambleside with Rydal 1951-1959, Archdeacon of Westmorland and Director of Religious Education, Dio Carlisle 1951-1958, Archdeacon of Westmorland and Furness 1959-1966, Hon Canon of Carlisle Cathedral 1951-1966, Examining Chaplain to Bishop of Carlisle 1952-1966, Suffragan Bishop of Penrith (consecr in York Minster, 24 February 1959) 1959-1966, chairman of governors of Casterton School 1962-1972 (succ Mr Partridge, who died in 1962 after 25 years as chairman), apptd a Governor (LEA) of Charlotte Mason College, Ambleside in 1960 (accepting with note that he was just retiring as a governor of Ripon Training College, also of Derby College), translated to Carlisle in 1966, resigned in 1972, went out to Australia for two years after retiring as Chaplain nd Tutor, All Saints’ College, Bathurst, NSW 1973-1975, Hon Asst Bishop, Dio Oxford from 1975, Chairman: Southwell Dio Education Committee 1942-1951, Worksop Youth Committee 1943-1945, Mansfield Youth Committee 1947-1948, Member: Southwell Dio Board of Finance 1942-1951, Central Council of the Church for Education 1951-1954, Westmorland Education Committee 1951-1964, Governor: Derby Training College 1938-1951, Ripon Training College 1953-1958, Lancaster College of Education 1963-1969, Chairman of Governors: Casterton School 1962-1972, St Chad’s College, Durham University 1969-1983 (Hon Fellow 1987), and St Mary’s School, Wantage 1979-1984, Chaplain to Queen 1955-1959, Hon DD Dunelm 1972, autobiography The Glass of Time (1981), also author of Faith, Fire and Fun (verse) (1985) and Glimpses of the Divine (1987), Bishop Bulley Barn at Rydal Hall, of Fox How, Ambleside (when Bishop of Penrith), retired to The Manor, Loncot, Faringdon, Oxon (1975), then at 3 Upper Cross Lane, East Hagbourne, Didcot (1987), unmarried, died 20 November 1989; his autobiography, The Glass of Time; R.Watson, Mitred Men of Cumbria

Bullough family, ran a department store in Carlisle in Castle St for 100 years, est present building [later  Hoopers] in 1910; founder ? John Bullough, sons Michael and Malcolm

Bulman, Cecil George (18xx-1969), chairman of Westmorland Valuation Panel, WCC (1966), member of CWAAS from 1946, member of council 1948-1966, marr, dau (Shelagh Munro, wife of Sir Joseph Gurney Pease, Bt, qv), of 270 London Road, Harraby, Carlisle, died c.1969

Bulman, Henry (1846-1916), grocer, of Armathwaite, prominent in congregation of Armathwaite Methodist Chapel (formerly United Methodist, known locally as ‘Bulman’s Chapel’), which was opened on 26 November 1876 (CRO, DFCM 1/3)

Bulmer, TF, writer and maker of directories, History, Topography and Directory of Furness and Cartmel undated, etc

Bulteel, Hon Mary (1832-1916), lady in waiting to Victoria, dau of John Crocker Bulteel and granddaughter of the 2nd earl Grey, married Victoria’s private secretary Gen Henry Ponsonby (qv), friend of George Eliot

Bunbury, William Henry, (1750-1811; ODNB) artist and caricaturist, b. Manor House, Mildenhall, Suffolk, younger son of the Rev Sir William Bunbury 5th baronet of Mildenhall, Norfolk and his wife Eleanor Graham, dau of Col Vere Graham of Wix Abbey, Essex, ed Westminster and St Catherine’s Cambridge, popular in London as ‘the fourth man of contemporary caricature’ after the trio Rowlandson, Gillray and Cruikshank, specialised in riding subjects, m. Catherine Horneck, dau of Capt Kane William Horneck RE in 1771, their son Henry [1778-1860; ODNB] became a Lt Gen and the 7th baronet, moved to the Lake District as it was cheaper than London, here he painted several works in oils incl Rustics in a Landscape  [another priv coll Herefordshire], died Keswick; Marshall Hall, 12; Hugh Belsey ex catalogue; Karen Marie Roche, Picturing an Englishman: The Art of Henry William Bunbury 1770-1787, PhD thesis, 2008, Exeter 

Bundy, Sidney Percival (1909-2002), headmaster, born Carisbrook, Isle of Wight, son of Sidney Albert Bundy (1880-1968) engineering fitter and his wife Mabel Clara Whiston, his parents moved to Barrow before 1939 where his father worked in Vickers and the family lived on Walney Island, 2nd WW in RN, marr Phyllis Penney (b.1913), headmaster 1947-1970 at St Paul’s C of E primary school, Barrow, closely involved in the move from the Victorian school building on Wheatclose Rd to two new classrooms on Hawcoat Lane (opened c.1958 by Viscount Knollys, chairman of Vickers) and by 1960 four classrooms of the new school, vice chairman PCC 1973-1993, active in the parish and deputy churchwarden 1985-1993, wrote St Paul’s Parish of Newbarns and Hawcoat 1843-1993: The History of St Paul’s Church and St Paul’s School (c.1990), involved in local musicals and the pageant held in the rugby field, keen folk dancer beyond his 90th birthday, enthusiastic gardener who welcomed visitors to open garden events at 74, Fairfield Lane, at some point but not in the war he lost an eye (this was fascinating to his pupils);; personal memories of pupils

Bunney, Edith Adelaide (nee Hewetson) (1868-1948), artist and photographer, born in 1868, yr dau of John Hewetson (qv), of Ravenstonedale, studied in London at P H Calderon’s Art Studio, Slade Fine Art School, Royal Academy Schools, and also in Paris, marr (1899) Michael Frank Wharlton Bunney (1873-1927), MBE, FRIBA, 3rd son of John Wharlton Bunney (1828-1882) and Elizabeth (nee Fallon) (1838-1934), 1 son (Michael J H, qv), talented painter in oils, assisted husband with his photographic record of Georgian buildings for Horace Field, FRIBA, also took architectural and family photographs in Ravenstonedale with a Frena detective camera (ex inf Sally Bunney)

Bunney, Michael John Hewetson (1907-1997), MA, FRIBA, architect, born in Bolton House, Hampstead, 1907, son and only child of Michael Frank Wharlton Bunney and of Edith Adelaide Hewetson (qv), of Street and Hwith, Ravenstonedale, educ University College School, Hampstead, Uppingham School, and Queen’s College, Oxford (president of OU Archaeological Society in 1929), surveyed old domestic architecture  of Oxford between 1928 and 1935 (report and photographs with National Monuments Record Centre), attended Architectural Association in Bedford Square, London 1930-1934 (Hons Dip with Dist), marr (1935) Charlotte qv only dau and eldest child of Edward Hodson Gray, 1 son and 1 dau, lived at Downshire Hill, London until outbreak of WW2, during which he served in RAF, de-mobbed and went to Norfolk as sort of partner with Edward Boardman & Son for 2 and half years, worked on clothing factory for F W Harmer & Co, started war-damaged rebuilding job in Croydon for private client, met C B Martindale (qv), of Carlisle, who asked them to start designing houses for Glebe scheme at Wetheral and work on vicarage schemes, opened Kendal office in Lowther Street in 1949, worked on plans for Crosscrake, St John’s Carlisle and Holm Cultram vicarages, but association with Martindale fell through in 195x, then worked on alterations and conversions to existing or old buildings, farm improvement schemes (under Hill Farming Act), Kendal Methodist Church, etc in 1950s before Abbot Hall ^^^^ member of council, CWAAS 1973-  (ex inf Sally Bunney; CRO, WD/Hew)

Bunney, Charlotte (nee Gray) (1910-1995), ARIBA, architect, born in Pretoria, South Africa, 1910, only dau and eldest child of Edward Hodson Gray

Buntin, Tom Fletcher (1910-1993), farmer, born at Pye Howe in Great Langdale, 15 February 1910, yr son and yst of six children of John Fletcher Buntin (only son of John Buntin, farmer, of Robinson Place and Pye Howe, educ St Bees School, contributed articles to Lake District Herald under name of Robin Ghyll, kept diaries and scrapbooks, marr (1896) Hannah, dau of John and Jane Stables, of Walthwaite in Chapel Stile, died in 1969, aged 95), author of Life in Langdale: the Memoirs of a Lakeland farmer (Kendal, 1993), of Loughrigg Fold, died 9 December 1993

Burgess, John (1838-1903), newspaper editor, joined company in 1867, Editor of Carlisle Patriot [first issue on 3 June 1815] and of East Cumberland News 1868-1903

Burgess, Sir John Lawie (1912-1987), OBE, TD, DL, JP, newspaper proprietor and editor, born 17 November 1912, son of R N Burgess (qv), educ Trinity College, Glenalmond, served WW2 with Border Regt (CO 4th Bn Chindit campaign, Burma 1942-1944, despatches, OBE) in France, Middle East, Tobruk, Syria, India and Burma, Hon Col, 4th Bn, The Border Regt 1955-1968, chairman of Reuters Ltd 1959-1968, chairman of Press Association 1954-1955 (and a director 1950-1957), editor-in-chief and chairman of Cumberland Newspapers Group Ltd from 1945, starting an evening paper News and Star in Carlisle in 1967, also acquired The Whitehaven News (est 1852), Times and Star in 1967, Hexham Courant (est 1864) and The Mail at Barrow (est 1898), and later Eskdale and Liddesdale Advertiser at Langholm (est 1848), member of council, Newspaper Society 1947-1982, Commonwealth Press Union, chairman of Border Television Ltd 1960-1981, vice-chairman 1981-1982, former chairman of Cumbria Branch of the Soldiers, Sailors and Airmen’s Association, DL Cumberland 1955, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1969-70, JP City of Carlisle 1952-1982, knighted 1972, marr (1948) Alice Elizabeth, dau of F E Gilleron, of Elgin, 2 sons (Robin qv and Charles) and 1 dau, formerly of the Old Hall, Rockcliffe, later of The Limes, Cavendish Terrace, Stanwix, Carlisle, died 10 February 1987, aged 74; obit NewYork Times 12 Feb 1987

Burgess, Robert Lawie Frederick (Robin) (1950-2019), OBE, DL, newspaper proprietor, eldest son of Sir John Burgess (qv), marr, High Sheriff of Cumbria 2006-2007, started a magazines division with Cumbria Life in 1998, sold CN Group to Newsquest Media Group as from 9 March 2018,

Burgess, Robert Nelson (1867-1945), FJI, newspaper proprietor and editor, son of John Burgess (qv), Editor of Carlisle Patriot, changing name to Cumberland News on merger with The East Cumberland News in 1910, and managing director until 1945, founded Cumberland Evening News, President, Newspaper Society 1931-1932, chairman, Press Association 1931, Director, Reuters 1925-1932, marr (19xx) Jean Hope Lawie, of Carlisle, son (Sir John, qv), of Evening Hill, Thursby

Burgess, William (b.1897), rugby league player, active from the 1910s to the 1930s, captain of England, landlord of the Washington hotel, Roose Rd, Barrow

Burkett, Mary Elizabeth [1924-2014] OBE, museum director, author, patron and preserver of Isel Hall, born in north east, strong links with her maternal grandparents in Armagh, ed. St Hilds, Durham, taught in several schools and then lectured in art and craft at Charlotte Mason college, Ambleside, travelled in Middle East, appointed assistant curator under Helen Kapp qv at Abbot Hall, became director herself in 1966 and developed the collections holding numerous exhibitions, encouraged local artists, building a formidable network throughout the north west, President, North West Federation of Museums and Art Galleries from February 1975, unwillingly retired aged 60 in 1987, when about to leave on a world cruise she discovered that she had been left Isel Hall by her friend Margaret Austen-Leigh, a cousin of Sir Hilton Lawson qv, the last Isel baronet, spent the rest of her life living there, keeping out the weather and achieving considerable restorations, created a stir when she painted the pele tower pink, played the organ in Isel church, encouraged several creative people to live there including Josephina de Vasconcellos, Edward Hughes qqv, Finbar O’Suillabheain and David Cross, continued to be much involved in artistic and charitable organizations throughout the county, established a Feltmakers organization of which she became president, published a number of books, including The Art of the Feltmaker and others co-written with others on William Green [with David Sloss] and Percy Kelly [with Val Rickerby], and booklets including John Bracken, portrait painter qv, Kurt Schwitters in the Lake District, her large collection of illustrated letters from Percy Kelly were edited by David Cross, much supported by her unpaid secretary Dorathy Morgan, opened the house on Mondays, developing a loyal team of guides, died aged 90, funeral Isel church, buried in the churchyard beside the Austen-Leighs, memorial service in the cathedral with a eulogy by Melvyn Bragg who famously began with the words: “nobody ever said ‘No!’ to Mary Burkett”, volume on her travels, volume of autobiography; obituary by Kate Haste, The Guardian, Friday 5th December 2014; CW3 xv 1

Burn, James (1831-1xxx), schoolmaster, son of James Burn, farmer, of Martindale, aged 31 when marr (17 April 1862, at Barton) Mary (23), dau of William Armstrong, farmer, of Martindale, schoolmaster of Martindale School 1860-1875

Burn, John (1743-1802; ODNB), JP, legal editor, born at Orton Hall and bapt, 2 October 1743, only son of Richard Burn (qv), by Anne, his 2nd wife, marr (?), had illegitimate son (Joseph) by Teasdale lady, trained for legal profession but did not practise, produced no original work, but edited, corrected and continued father’s legal writings, published 16th edition of The Justice of the Peace and Parish Officer in four volumes in 1788, 17th edition in 1795, which included appendix of all new laws relating to office of JP introduced since outbreak of war with France in February 1793 (incl laws re militia, treatment of aliens and new set of precedents respecting excise laws), and two further editions, also updated father’s New Law Dictionary in 1792, JP for Cumberland and Westmorland, “an able and upright magistrate”, passed over his heir at law (Revd Richard Burn) in favour of his illegitimate son, Joseph (qv), and died at Orton Hall, 20 February 1802, aged 58, and buried in churchyard, 24 February (MI in Orton church)

Burn, Joseph, formerly Teasdale (1770-1818), merchant, born in 1770, illegitimate son of John Burn (qv), merchant, of Barcelona, Spain, and of St George’s, Bloomsbury, London, was left moiety of manor of Orton on condition that he changed his name to Burn, which he did by Royal Licence in 1802 and obtained grant of arms in 1810, marr Eulalia (died at Bath, 6 May 1813, aged 31), dau of Joseph Vila, of Barcelona, 1 son (Richard, qv) and 1 dau (Sophia, born 19 November 1807 and bapt at Orton, 16 January 1808), died at Barcelona, 12 July 1818, aged 48 (MI in Orton church)

Burn, Peter (1831-1902), poet, draper and Congregationalist, of Brampton, wrote poem ‘The Logic of Crows’ written in the style of the Ingoldsby Legends on occasion of vestry meeting called to consider re-pewing of Brampton church before abolition of church rates in 1868, close friend of the vicar Henry Whitehead, author of Reminiscences of the late Rev Henry Whitehead, a Non Conformist’s Tribute to a Churchman (Carlisle, 1899) (complete revised edition of his Poems, London, 1900); memorial placed on Brampton Moot Hall by the Friends of Peter Burn; Parsons, Brampton, 1996, 56-8

Burn, Revd Richard (1709-1785; ODNB), DCL, JP, BA, clergyman, legal writer and antiquary, born at Winton in parish of Kirkby Stephen, son of Richard Burn, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 1729, BA 1734), marr 1st Eleanor (buried at Orton, 21 October 1739), marr 2nd Anne (died 7 January 1770, aged 73, and buried at Orton, 10 January), 1 son (John, qv), vicar of Orton 1736-1785, DCL Oxford 1762, apptd chancellor of Carlisle diocese on 26 February 1765, JP for Cumberland and Westmorland, with Joseph Nicholson (qv) made use of Machel’s mss for their history, giving receipt for the six volumes to dean and chapter and returning them in 1775, published The History of Cumberland and Westmorland in 1777, his account of the Quakers questioned by G Harrison, brother of Thomas Harrison (qv), the Kendal attorney, who forwarded his letter on 19 April 1778 (CRO, WPR 9/2/1/6), died at Orton, 12 November 1785, aged 75, and buried in churchyard on 15 November (MI in Orton church) (WW, ii, 119-132)

Burn, Dr Richard, chancellor of Carlisle, antiquary; monument Orton [W] Pevsner

Burn, Richard (1811-1898), DL, JP, born 16 November 1811, only son of Joseph Burn (qv), marr (1836) Elizabeth, eldest dau of William Cuthbert, of Beaufront Castle, Hexham, no issue, succ to Orton Hall, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1852, DL and JP, Lieut-Col, Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry Cavalry, Chairman, Westmorland Conservative Association (1880), wrote to Mr Gibson concerning possible division of county association in 1885 (letter of 2 March 1885 in CRO, WD/MG/ box 4), laid foundation stone of new Market House for weekly market of butter and farm produce at Orton on 30 August 1864 (initially started in Assembly Rooms of the ‘Three Tuns Inn’ on 2 August) and formally opened on 31 May 1865, an original member of CWAAS, of Orton Hall, died 1898 s.p.

Burn, Thomas Cuthbert (18xx-19xx), solicitor, of 52 Main Street, Cockermouth, clerk to Cockermouth and Papcastle School Board, and to Cockermouth Burial Board, secretary to Derwent Fishery Board, and to Cockermouth Conservative Association, also Conservative registration agent for borough, of Rosemount, Papcastle (1883, 1894)

Burne-Jones, Edward Coley [1833-1898] Bt., friendly with the 9th earl of Carlisle qv, stayed Naworth castle with the Howard family; designed the stained glass at St Martin’s Brampton, also Jesus Church, Troutbeck and elsewhere; see Penn, Stained Glass in Cumbria; William Morris qv

Burnell, Robert (d.1292; ODNB), Lord Chancellor 1274-1292 and Bishop of Bath & Wells 1275-1292, lord of 82 manors, incl Newton Reigny, which he sold to Hugh Lowther in 1290

Burnet, John (c.1948-2010), local government chief executive, born at South Shields, qualified solicitor, joined Cumbria County Council as senior assistant clerk and deputy county solicitor in 1982, apptd first Director of Economic Development in 1986, responsible for creating Derwent Howe Industrial Estate in Workington and Furness Business Park in Barrow, Chief Executive of Cumbria County Council 1991-1997, dealing with ‘hung’ council for a time, but retiring early after months of ill-health in 1997, business and political columnist for The Cumberland News after retirement, marr Deidre (senior lecturer at Carlisle campus of Northumbria University), until emigrating to Spain, living in Alicante, died in Santa Ana Hospital, Motril, while on holiday in Malaga, 18 Feruary 2010, aged 63; memorial service and ashes scattered at Ettleton cemetery, Newcastleton, 6 March

Burnett, Charles Ridley (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, son of Revd George Burnett (qv), educ St John’s College, Oxford (BA 1898, MA 1901), d 1899 and p 1900 (Dur), curate of Byers Green, Spennymoor, Durham 1899-1902 and St George’s, Barrow 1902-1904, SPG College, Trinchinopoly 1905-1907, inc of Holy Trinity, Bombay 1907-1909, missionary at Wei Hai Wei, dio Shantung, China 1911-1927, Furlough 1909-1911 and 1927, organising secretary, Dio Carlisle 1928-1935, vicar of St Paul’s, Carlisle 1928-1932, vicar of Upperby, Carlisle 1932-1938, chaplain of Mental Hospital, Garlands 1933-1938, vicar of Pennington, Ulverston 1938-1943, hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral 1938-1947 and emeritus from 1947, lic to preach, dio Carlisle from 1947, retired to The Patch, Scotby, died by 1957

Burnett, David Ian Ridley (1937-2011), solicitor, born in Carlisle, joined family law firm, wife died in September 2011, 2 sons, buried at St Mary’s church, Beaumont, with later memorial service at Scotby (CN, 06.01.2012)

Burnett, Edward JH, solicitor, founder of the Carlisle firm, Dutch vice consul covering west coast ports in Cumberland, there was at that time a pkaque to this effect on 6, Victoria Place

Burnett, George (18xx-1899), BA, clergyman, educ Trinity College, Dublin (BA 1845, Div Test 1846), d 1850 (Ossory) and p 1851 (Cashel), minister of St James, Birkenhead 1858-1863, vicar of Scotby 1865-1899, marr, 8 sons and 3 daus; James R. Burnett, of The Red Beeches, Scotby, member of CWAAS from 1905 – a son?

Burnett, Frank R., (18xx-1961), schoolmaster, son of Revd George Burnett (qv), was a house master at St Bees School and had house built there before taking over Seascale Prep School from his brother George qv in 19xx, 2 sons (Roger (qv) and Michael (killed in action in WW2)), member of CWAAS from 1937, later of Church Lane, Boot, Holmrook, collapsed and died on Seascale golf course

Burnett, George (18xx-19xx), headmaster and school proprietor, eldest son of Revd George Burnett (qv), founded Seascale Preparatory School in 1897, first purpose-built major building erected by John Laing, then retired and handed over to his yr brother Frank in 19xx, but continued as a master himself, of Lakenhow, Seascale

Burnett, Henry Ridley (18xx-19xx), AMIEE, electrical engineer, pres? son of Revd George Burnett (qv), Borough Electrical Engineer, Barrow-in-Furness, office in Buccleuch Street, of Roman House, Barrow (1909, 1912)

Burnett, Roger Francis (1913-1984), MA, headmaster and school proprietor, er son of Frank R Burnett (qv) and grandson of Revd George Burnett (qv), educ Seascale Prep School, Worksop and St Edmund Hall, Oxford (MA), served WW2 in Intelligence Corps, then returned to take over running of Seascale Preparatory School, trust formed in 1968, but school forced to close in March 1972, marr (195x) Isobel Ellen (late of Boot, Ravenglass and Cleator Moor, died 22 December 2018, aged 97), 1 son (Ridley) and 1 dau (Rowan), died in late October 1984, memorial service and burial of ashes at St Catherine’s church, Boot, Eskdale, 10 November 1984 (WN, 01.11.1984)

Burnett, Revd William Ridley (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, son of Revd George Burnett (qv), educ St John’s College, Oxford (BA 1892, MA 1896), d 1895 (Man for Dur) and p 1896 (Dur), Curate of New Seaham, Durham 1895-1900, Curate of Crosthwaite (Cu) 1900-1906, Vicar of Thornthwaite with Braithwaite 1907-1937, TCF 1916-1919, Lic to Offic, Dio Carlisle from 1947, retired to Parkett Hill, Scotby, died by 1957

Burns, Isaac [1869-1946], trades unionist

Burns, John (1782-1834), diarist, born at Hensingham, Whitehaven, in 1782, er son and second of five children of Thomas Burns, labourer, and Ann, of Hensingham, went to sea, on ship off coast of Spain in early 1799 when he was captured, in hands of Spanish by 31 March 1799 with companions in irons, later joined by crew of the Fox, also captured, taken ashore on 13 April 1799 and marched to border with France, narrative in his diary starts from that date detailing his journey through France to Dunkirk, where he sailed for Rye on 8 January 1800, reached Dover on 12 January and sent on to Plymouth on 27-28 January, discharged on 10 February and sailed for Shields, arrived on 26 March and travelled via Newcastle to Carlisle on 28-29 March, Cockermouth on 30 March and reached Whitehaven on 31 March, diary ended at Hensingham, 1 April 1800, death reported in Cumberland Pacquet of 21 March 1834 (Diary Captive of the French in 1799 edited by Jean Ward and Anne Dick, CHS, 1999)

Burns, Richard [1601-1648] ‘Great Richard’, M.P. Carlisle; CW2 lxxxiv

Burns, Robert [1759-1796; ODNB], poet, occasionally visited Carlisle from Dumfris, fined for grazing his horse on The Bitts, Carlisle on 1st June 1787

Burns, William (18xx-19xx), trade unionist, a cooper by trade, who was instrumental in forming a union movement at Gatebeck gunpowder works, later became Secretary of Municipal and General Workers Union ???

Burnyeat, John (1631-1690) like John Banks (q.v.) son of a yeoman farmer of Cumberland, travelled to Scotland and Ireland 1658-9, and the American colonies from 1664-1667 and 1670-1674, debated with Roger Williams (New England Firebrand 1670), Burnyeat himself was author of the journal Truth Exalted (1671), wrote four other tracts, George Fox wrote in his preface to Burnyeat’s Journal in Journals of the Lives and Gospel Labours of William Caton and John Burnyeat, 1839, p 143ff: he was a ‘faithful Friend and brother…..(who) endured great troubles, storms and trials in Ireland (having) many disputes with priests and professors…...he was a peacemaker…...(who) travelled through many rivers and desperate bogs……(and sometimes) laid out at nights in Indian houses…..’ Hugh Barbour and Arthur Roberts, Early Quaker Writings, 1973 2nd ed 2002

Burnyeat, William John Dalzell (1874-1916), JP, MA, politician, barrister and company director, born 13 March 1874, eldest son of William Burnyeat (1849-1921), JP, of Millgrove, Moresby, (who was son of William Burnyeat (1819-1874), businessman, of Whitehaven, joining his cousin Tom Dalzell in Liverpool in 1865 in firm of Burnyeat & Dalzell) and his wife Sarah Frances Dalzell, educ Rugby School and Corpus Christi College, Oxford (Exhibitioner), called to bar, Inner Temple 1899 and practised on Northern Circuit,  director of a group of enterprises rel to iron industries of West Cumberland, member of several public bodies, magistrate for co Cumberland, Liberal MP for Whitehaven 1906-1910, winning seat from Augustus Helder (qv) in Liberal landslide of 1906, but didn’t defend seat in general election of January 1910, member of CWAAS from 1902, marr (1908) Hildegard Retzlaff, of Friedenau, Berlin (arrested ^^ ?), of Moresby House from 1911, died s.p. and v.p. 8/10 May 1916, aged 42 (CW2, xvi (1916), 310)

Burra family, farmers including Robert [1714-1754] Robert [1741-1823] and Robert [b.1767] both of Roans, Morland

Burra, Edward [1905-1976], artist; had Cumberland ancestors; his gg grandfather William Burra [1802-1880] a magistrate and banker, was the son of Robert Burra [b.1767] above who married Mary Salkeld at Crosby Ravensworth in 1792

Burrell, Edward (c.1794-1837), banker, native of Kendal, banker, of Orrell, near Liverpool, died aged 44 and buried at Kendal, 29 September 1837

Burridge, Tyson H (1937-2018), haulage contractor, est firm with one vehicle based at Mockerkin near Cockermouth, the firm grew, was incorporated in 1991 and eventually absorbed four other haulage firms, it has been based at Distington since 1979, each vehicle has a unique ‘tarnside’ name, an idea which stems from the origin of the firm near Mockerkin tarn, marr Audrey Salkeld, one dau; Times and Star, April 2018

Burrough, E H (Ted) (19xx-19xx), TD, MA, schoolmaster, educ Emmanuel College, Cambridge, appointed Headmaster of Heversham Grammar School in September 1951, outgoing and avuncular, resigned in April 1955 and succ by G L Willatt (qv)

Burrough, Edward (1633-1663; ODNB), Quaker activist and writer, b. Underbarrow

Burrough, Edward (c.1686-1776), clergyman, of Carleton Hall, Holmrook (CW2, lxix, 180-186)

Burrough, Rev Stanley (1725-1807), headmaster Rugby 1759-1778, son of the Rev Edward Burroughs of Drigg, dropped the s at the end of his name, marr Mary Frewen

Burroughs, Edgar Rice (1875-1950), author of Tarzan of the Apes (1912); see Greystoke

Burrow, Revd Curwen (1706-17xx), BA, clergyman, born at Hutton-in-the-Forest in 1706, son of Revd Joshua Burrow (qv), educ Kirkby Lonsdale and Christ’s College, Cambridge (admitted to scholarship, 16 April 1723, matric 1726, scholar 1727, BA 1729/30), ordained deacon July 1730 and priest September 1737, possibly curate to his cousin, Curwen Hudleston (qv) as Rector of Clifton in 1758 (LRNW, 297)

Burrow, Joseph Ashton (1812-1881), naval chaplain (CW2, lxix, 202)

Burrow, Revd Joshua (1667-17xx), BA, clergyman, born at Nether Kellet, and bapt at Bolton-le-Sands, 28 July 1664 [not 1667], son of Timothy Burrow, husbandman, and nephew of Revd Rowland Burrow (qv), admitted to scholarship to St John’s College, Cambridge, 23 June 1683, BA 1686/7, Rector of Hutton-in-the-Forest 1695-1728 (instituted on 20 May 1695, succ Nicholas Tomlinson, qv) and of Asby 1728-1739, marr (15 April 1706, at Whitehaven/St Bees) Katherine Robertson, ?widow of Ebenezer Robinson (marr 28 March 1699 at Whitehaven/St Bees), dau of Thomas and Joyce Curwen, 1 son (Curwen, qv)  (LRNW, 297; ECW, 491)

Burrow, Revd Rowland (c.1641-1707), MA, clergyman, son of Robert Burrow, of Beetham, educ Sedbergh School and St John’s College, Cambridge (admitted in 1657 at sixteen), collated to Clifton as Rector on 7 June 1668 and also instituted to Brougham on presentation by earl of Thanet on 16 March 1680, holding both until his death, signed anti-Jacobite “Association” for protection of William III, 1 August 1696, Chaplain to Earl of Thanet, baptised Brabazon, the son of Alonzo Vere and Lady Kathrine, his wife, dau of late William Earl of Meath, at his own house in Eamont Bridge, par Barton, on 19 May 1699, buried in choir of Clifton church, 26 November 1707 (LRNW, 297, 301; ECW, 1240-41, 1248; SSR, 84)

Burton, Miss EF, contributor to the OED, daughter of the chancellor of Carlisle, lived at St Nicholas

Burton, Emanuel (1764-1830), clock and watch maker, born in Fish Market, Kendal, 1764, 3rd son of Emanuel Burton and Deborah Lancaster, marr (1786) Margaret Newby, 1 son and ?, Burgess of Kendal, of Finkle Street, “a respected townsman and deservedly esteemed as an upright character” (WG), died aged 65 and buried at Kendal, 18 February 1830 (The Burton Family of Clockmakers in CW2, lxxxi, 83-91)

Burton, J., clockmaker, Backbarrow; CW2 lxiv 391

Burton, Myles Theodore (17xx-18xx), banker, built Fair View, Ulverston in early 19th century, with conservatories and garden terraces with statues, marr ?, only child Elizabeth (died 1872) marr Charles Storr Kennedy (qv), with house passing to Kennedy family of Stone Cross

Burton, Thomas (d.1661; ODNB), MP and diarist, of Brampton Hall (W)

Burton, Thomas (c.1575-16xx), MA, protégé of Dudleys of Yanwath, native of Cumberland, matric Queen’s College, Oxford 10 November 1592, aged 17, entd Lent term 1592/3, admitted St Antony Exhibitioner of Oriel, 16 June 1595 on nomination of Edmund Dudley (qv), one of nine elected “paupers pueri” of Queen’s College, 20 December 1595, and admitted “in perpetuum scholarem” (fellow) with six others on 1 March 1602/3, BA 24 April 1599, MA 30 June 1602, treasurer  1606-07, and fellow until 1608, asked for his opinion on legality of marriage with the cousin german of a deceased wife in letter of 13 February 1619/20 from John Dudley (qv) (FiO, 338-339)

Burton, Sir Thomas (fl.mid 17thc), posed as a Roundhead, the better to support the king {is he the same man as the above ?]

Busfeild, William (18xx-18xx), JP, of Morland Hall (1885) let from Revd F H Atkinson (qv), JP Westmorland (qualif 22 October 1875)

Bushby, Sir Joseph [1902-1976], High Court justice, son of Wilfred Bushby Hewson, ed. Wigton, where the Bushbys had a woollen mill, married Helen Mary [b.1905] daughter of Leonard Ropner and granddaughter of Sir Emil Ropner Bt. [1838-1924] (politician and shipbuilder and a friend of Leonard Smelt qv), bequeathed a sextant to Greenwich Museum

Bushby, Thomas [1861-1918], artist; lived Carlisle, produced commercial designs for the decorative tins of Hudson Scott qv, painted memorable watercolours of the city, notably the Carlisle Academy of Art in Finkle St. ; Marshall Hall,12-13; Renouf, 70-71

Busher, Thomas (18xx-1872), borough treasurer, ?linen and woollen draper, of Highgate, Kendal, died 18 September 1872, aged 63, and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 23 September [son Edward left for Australia]

Butler, Elizabeth Marian [1885-1959; ODNB], linguist and novelist, born Bardsea, daughter of Theobald Fitzwalter Butler [1845-1914] qv, iron merchant, business in Barrow, BA Newnham College, professor Manchester, novels include The Myth of the Magus [1947], Paperchase is her autobiography; mss at Manchester ?

Butler, Kathleen Teresa Blake [1883-1950; ODNB], college head, born Bardsea, daughter of Theobald Fitzwalter Butler [1845-1914] qv, iron merchant, business in Barrow, BA modern languages Newnham College, Schroeder professor of German, Cambridge, mistress of Girton [1942-1949], memorial booklet 8 May 1950, sister of Elizabeth Marian Butler qv, ; History of French Literature 2 vols.; mss Girton Library

Butler, Samuel (c.1750-1812), actor and theatre manager, poss b. Harrogate, worked with the actor manager Tate Wilkinson (1739-1803), established a circuit mostly in Yorkshire which included Kendal and Ulverston from c.1780, est Richmond Theatre in 1788, George Cuitt the Richmond artists painted the scenery, marr 1.Tryphosa Brockell (1729-1797) an actress and had an illegitimate child with Mary Burrell in Kendal in 1797, died Beveerley where he has a plaque; Jane Hatcher, Richmondians, 2021; Sybil Rosenfelt, The Georgian Theatre in Richmond and its Circuit, 1984

Butler, Revd Samuel Johnston (18xx-1894), MA, clergyman, Curate of Penrith 1848, collated Vicar by Bishop Percy 1853, Hon Canon of Carlisle 1872, Rector of Great Salkeld 1879, died 23 July 1894, aged 74 (HPC, 119-123)

Butler, Theobald Fitzwalter (18xx-19xx), DL, JP, iron ore, coal and coke merchant, Mayor of Barrow-in-Furness 1906-1911, of 119 Duke Street, lived Bardsea and later Infield, Barrow (1911)

Butterworth, Revd John Compton (18xx-19xx), MA, Vicar of Christ Church, Carlisle 1895-1904

Buttle, Thomas (17xx-18xx), land surveyor and commissioner for Kendal Mintsfeet Inclosure Award 1814 (Act 1811) (CRO, WD/RG/acc 419), inclosure commissioner for Preston Patrick (boundaries confirmed against appeal of Thomas Gregg, 9 January 1815, while appeal of Lord Lonsdale was withdrawn, WQ/O/12), of Jackson Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale (later the renamed Rose and Crown until Queen Adelaide’s visit in 1840, then and still the Royal Hotel)

Byard, Revd Frank (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, collated Vicar of Penrith by Bishop Diggle in July 1911, Hon Canon of Carlisle from 1917

Byers, Revd James (fl.1880s), Minister of Congregational Chapel, Kirkby Stephen (built in 1865), contributed short chapter on the Derivation of Local Names to J W Braithwaite’s Guide (1884)

Byrnes, Joseph (d.29 Oct 1885), police constable, murdered at Plumpton 1885, following up the jewellery robbers of Netherby Hall, his three assailants were hanged at Carlisle 8 Feb 1885; Martin Baggoley, Murder and Crime: The Lake District


Caddy, Jonathan (d.1852), maltster, of Greenbank, Cartmel, having attended Ulverston market he was crossing the sands back to Cartmel with his horse and gig and somehow went astray and was drowned; Ulverston Advertiser, January 1852; J Snell, Ulverston Canal

Caine, Caesar (c.1856-1922), FRGS, clergyman and antiquary, ordained xxx, curate of Garrigill, Alston 1899-1901, vicar of All Saints, Ipswich 1901-1910, vicar of Cleator from 1910, chaplain to Forces, Royal Victoria Military Hospital, Netley, nr Southampton 1917-1919, formerly AC to HM Troops, York Garrison, previously a Wesleyan Minister, of Manx extraction, studied antiquities and natural history of West Cumberland, founder and former president, Ehenside Nature Club, author of The Martial Annals of York (1893), Widdrington’s Analecta Eboracensia (ed) (1897), The Archiepiscopal Coins of York (1908), Capella de Gerardegile (1908), The Churches of Whitehaven Rural Deanery (19xx), Cleator and Cleator Moor: Past and Present (1916), and many articles in CWAAS Transactions, died 2 December 1922, aged 66

Caine, Nathaniel (1808-1877), iron merchant, born in Liverpool in 1808, son of Thomas Caine (1755-1814), merchant tailor, and Anne Sproston (born c.1774), marr (15 November 1836) Hannah (1812-1861), dau of William Rushton, woollen draper and merchant of Liverpool, and his wife, Pheobe Copley, 3 sons (William Sproston (qv), Nathaniel (1844-1926), a director of Hodbarrow Mining Co Ltd for 31 years, and Howard Thomas (1848-1892)) and 4 daus, partner in Liverpool firm of iron and metal merchants, ^^^^^^^^^ died at Broughton-in-Furness, 1 October 1877; his er brother, William Sproston Caine (1803-1876), was also a partner in Hodbarrow mining company at a later stage

Caine, Sir Thomas Henry Hall (1853-1931; ODNB), CH, KBE, novelist and journalist, born 14 May 1853, influenced by ideas of John Ruskin (qv) and visited him at Coniston, and by poetry of Dante Gabriel Rossetti to which he was introduced by chance meeting while on holiday in Lake District in 1870s, later went to live with Rossetti in Chelsea 1881-1882, purchased house The Hawthorns, Keswick (built in 1881 as Astree House) in 1888 and resided there until 1893 (2nd son Derwent born there in 1891), had significant Norse interests and believed he was ‘directly descended from the Vikings’ (letter to W G Collingwood, 9 May 1905), author of many books, inc bestseller The Bondman : A New Saga (1890), set in Iceland and Isle of Man around 1800, which may have influenced WGC, invited Jon Stefansson to escort him to Iceland to gain more accurate knowledge of the place (after critical review of The Bondman), also The Shadow of a Crime, a Saga set in and around the city of Wythburn in the valley of Thirlmere and now lies under the reservoir (reprinted 2009), died at Greeba Castle, Isle of Man, 31 August 1931, and buried in Maughold churchyard, 4 September (VVL, 78, 88; Vivien Allen, Hall Caine: Portrait of a Victorian Romancer (1997))

Caine, William Sproston (1842-1903), politician and temperance advocate, born at Seacombe, Cheshire, 26 March 1842, eldest son of Nathaniel Caine (qv), educ at schools in Egremont, Merseyside and Birkenhead, before entering father’s business in 1861, made a partner in 1864 before moving to Liverpool in 1871, but left firm in 1878 for life in politics and the temperance movement, marr (1868) Alice (b.1849), dau of Revd Hugh Stowell Brown, a noted Baptist preacher and pastor in Liverpool (who married his eldest sister Phoebe (1839-1884) as his 2nd wife and so became his step-mother-in-law), 2 sons and 3 daus (inc Hannah Rushton, wife of the Liberal politician John Herbert Roberts (1863-1955), 1st Baron Clwyd) (1868-1955), MP for Barrow-in-Furness, first elected as Liberal in by-election in 1886, but then as Liberal Unionist in subsequent general election of 1886, apptd chief whip of Liberal Unionists, but his temperance views damaged Unionist alliance with Conservatives, resigned whip and his seat in protest at scheme to compensate holders of extinguished public house licences, but defeated in subsequent by-election as an Independent Liberal in 1890 (regarded as too Unionist in pro-Home Rule Barrow), returned as Liberal MP for Bradford East in 1892, but lost seat at 1895 election, but returned for Camborne in 1900, <advocated union’s cause at Hodbarrow mine with board, of which he was a former member, in 1893>, made trip to South Africa in 1902 for his failing health, but died in Mayfair, London, of heart failure, 17 March 1903

Calcott, Maria (Lady Calcott, nee Dundas) [1785-1842; ODNB], traveller, lithographer and author, b Papcastle, Cockermouth dau of George Dundas RN [1756-1814], m. Capt Thomas Graham RN who d fever 1822, tutor to Princess Maria da Gloria in Brazil, wrote accounts of travel in India, South America and Italy including Journal of a Residence in Chile [1822],  monograph Nicholas Poussin [1820], children’s books including The Little Bracken Burners [1841], described earthquakes in Chile which led to fierce academic argument, 2nd husband the artist Sir Augustus Wall Calcott [1779-1844] RA; ER Neuman, MA Thesis Courtauld Inst

Calderwood, Henry (c.1808-1865; ODNB), Presbyterian Minister and missionary, son of Henry Calderwood and Elizabeth Mudie, ordained Minister of Scotch Secession Presbyterian Church, Woolpack Yard, Kendal in 1834, excellent preacher, congregation flourished and joined for a time by group of break away Friends who later left to form Plymouth Brethren, resigned in 1838 to go out as a missionary to Caffraria, Cape Colony in South Africa under London Missionary Society (AK, 166; KK, 323)

Calderwood, J L (18xx-19xx), CBE, local councillor, educ St Bees School (School House 1900-1906), Alderman and Chairman of Wiltshire County Council (CBE 1957)

Callow, Victor (19xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of St Bees 1953-1957

Calloway, Charles (fl.1865), MA, independent minister, invited to become pastor of Independent Chapel at Kirkby Stephen on proposal of Revd William Darwent, with offer of £70 for first year, at meeting on 4 January 1865, accepted invitation and started his ministry on 26 February 1865, publicly ordained to work of the ministry at service on 13 October 1865, until he gave notice of his resignation on 30 January 1868 (minute book of Independent Chapel in CRO, WDFC/C3/1)

Calverley, William Slater (1847-1898), FSA, clergyman and antiquary, vicar of Aspatria 1885-1898, here he erected a fine replica of the Gosforth cross, vicar of Dearham 1877-1885 and curate 1874-1877, author of Notes on the early sculptured crosses, shrines and monuments in the present diocese of Carlisle, edited by W G Collingwood, CWAAS Extra Series XI (1899), died at Hayborough, near Maryport, 21 September 1898 (CW1, xv, 388-391); his widow, Mrs Calverley, member of CWAAS from 1899, of Wray Head, Holmrook, died 3 January 1930, aged 81

Calvert, Charles (1785-1852; ODNB), landscape painter, originally cotton merchant in Manchester, eldest son of Charles Calvert (1754-1797), land agent to Duke of Norfolk’s Derbyshire estate, and Elizabeth Holliday, had 4 brothers of note, instrumental in foundation of Manchester Royal Institution (later Manchester City Art Gallery), teaching and painting in Lake District, confined to bed in later years, died at Bowness on Windermere, 26 February 1852 and buried there; Marshall Hall, 13

Calvert, Charles George (1833-19xx), clergyman, son of Revd Frederick Calvert (c.1793-1852), MA (Cantab), rector of Whatfield, Suffolk, and freeholder at Newby, Morland in 1826, marr Susanna, dau of John Warnes (by Louisa Blencowe, dau and coheir of James Everard (qv), of Lowick) [brother, William Sydney Calvert marr Henrietta, another dau of said John Warnes], 2 sons at least, educ Jesus College, Cambridge (BA 1856), d 1857 and p 1859 (Ely), curate of Boxford 1856-1862, Thetford 1863 and Upwell, nr Wisbech 1865-1868, vicar of Wiggenhall, Norfolk 1868-1877, chaplain of Heidelberg 1877-1888, vicar of Christ Church, Whitehaven 1888-1892, rector of St Columba, Kilmartin, Argyll 1893-19xx[1914 at least], later of Duntroon Castle, Lochgilphead, Argyll; his 2nd son, Charles Arthur Calvert (c.1865-1948), MA (Cantab), was of Lowick Hall, which he bought from his cousin, Francis Montagu

Calvert, Edward (d.1695), pewterer, Penrith; CW2 lxxxv 163ff

Calvert, Raisley (1728/9-1791), steward, nephew and heir of Giles Raisley, of Sillyhole, Alston, born at ? Mungrisdale, resident at Walthwaite, Greystoke, when marr (9 November 1768 at Greystoke) Dorothy (buried at Greystoke, 21 May 1776, aged 33), dau of - Mounsey, 2 sons (qv) and 1 dau (Ann), Steward of Duke of Norfolk’s estate at Greystoke Castle 1783-1791, witnessed Calvert declaration of trust in 1765 (CRO, D/HG/150), will dated 12 January 1789, with codicil 22 March 1789 (pr. Carlisle, 23 June 1791), died at Greystoke, 28 April 1791, aged 62, and buried there, 1 May 1791 (brass plaque placed in Mungrisdale Church by his last surv grandchild, Mary Stanger, in 1868)

Calvert, Raisley (1773-1795; ODNB), ‘sculptor’, friend and benefactor of Wordsworth, role model for philanthropists, bapt at Greystoke, 16 September 1773, yr son of Raisley Calvert senior above, inherited several farms near Keswick (Ormathwaite in Underskiddaw) and sums of £840 and £260, which were held in trust until his majority in 1794, educ Hawkshead Grammar School (subscriber to New Library in 1793), admitted to Magdalene College, Cambridge on 14 February 1793 and became friend of Wordsworth, but left soon afterwards to travel on continent, no evidence of any work as a sculptor, his brother is said to have been an actor, returned home on falling ill with consumption, nursed by Wordsworth, died at Penrith soon after 7 January 1795 and buried at Greystoke on 12 January, aged 21, will dated 23 October 1794, leaving £900 to Wordsworth (sonnet to his memory) (WDW, 39, 103, 204, 207); Marshall Hall, 13; his brother was an actor

Calvert, William (1770/1?-1829), er son of Raisley Calvert senior above, bapt at Threlkeld, 5 July 1770, marr ?, dau (Mary [Stanger]), educ Hawkshead Grammar School (schoolfellow of Wordsworth), later schoolmaster there and book subscriber till end of 1792, became man of independent means on death of father in 1791, inheriting Bowness estate on east side of Bassenthwaite, visited Isle of Wight with Wordsworth for a month in 1793, invited William and Dorothy Wordsworth to live rent-free at Windebrow, his farmhouse on river Greta above Keswick (Joseph Wilkinson painting of 1795 at Wordsworth Trust) in April 1794 (William left in January 1795), died in fortnight before 27 January 1829 (WW letters; WDW, 20, 26, 287)

Calvin, Ann (b.1747), flower painter, Penrith; daughter of William Calvin, artist; J. Walker, History of Penrith, (1858) appendix

Calvin, William, artist, b. Penrith; J. Walker, History of Penrith (1958) appendix

Camden, William (1551-1623; ODNB), author of Britannia (1586), son of Sampson Camden and Elizabeth Giles Curwen, Britannia vol iii has the inscriptions in Cumberland, friend of Reginald Brownrigg (qv) headmaster Appleby GS; CW3 xv 138

Camera, John de (fl.13thc), chamberlain Kendal castle, the family of de Chambre descends from him (qv), glass in Kendal parish church (1852); a later John de Camera has a wife Sibill who in 1338 was involved in a quitclaim; britishhistoryonline

Cameron, John William (1841-1896) b.Kirkby Stephen, head brewer at Lion Brewery, Hartlepool, colonel of the local volunteers, gifted Cameron hospital to town, also statue of Ralph Ward Jackson (1806-1880) founder of the town

Campbell, Donald Malcolm (1921-1967; ODNB), CBE, QCBC, land and water speed record holder, born at Canbury, Kingston Hill, Surrey, 23 March 1921, only son and yr child of Sir Malcolm Campbell (1885-1948; ODNB), racing motorist (ODNB), and his 2nd wife, Dorothy Evelyn, dau of Major William Whittall, educ Uppingham School (left following rheumatic fever in 1937), invalided from RAF in 1940, served as special constable in WW2, invested in Kine Engineering Company of Redhill in late 1940s and became managing director, developed Bluebird K7 after failure of K4 in 1951, broke world water speed record on Ullswater in 1955 in Bluebird, having arrived in Glenridding on 27 January 1955 with his engineers and carried out many experimental runs and adjustments to hull and engine, before successful record making bid on 23 July 1955 (achieving 202.32 mph), attracting such large crowds of sight-seers that Jenkin Field had to be opened as a car park, presented silver trophy (the Campbell Trophy) to organising committee of local sporting associations for outstanding performance in sport in Patterdale, awarded CBE in 1957, later achieved seventh world water speed record of 276.33 mph on Lake Dumbleyoung, Australia on 31 December 1964 and land speed record of 403.1 mph in same year, but killed in further attempt in Bluebird at over 297 mph on Coniston on 4 January 1967, aged 45, hundreds of small clear plastic buoyancy bags about 5” x 4” were scattered the next morning on the shingle of the eastern shore of the lake, married three times, 1 dau (Gina), of Priors Ford, Dorking Road, Leatherhead, Surrey; remains of boat located in 2000 and raised from lake on 8 March 2001, body recovered on 28 May 2001, confirmed as Campbell on 10 August and buried in Coniston churchyard, 12 September 2001, inquest returned verdict of accidental death in October 2002; Bluebird K7 formally gifted to Ruskin Museum, Coniston by Gina Campbell in 2006, with replica of original Bristol Orpheus engine donated by De Havilland Aviation in 2007, Bluebird wing built at Museum in 2008, and following extensive restorations engine started by Bill Smith on 8 November 2016; 50th anniversary commemorations at Coniston, 4 -8 January 2017 (Cumbria, January 2017, 17-26; local press reports); T-shaped table monument in slate in Coniston village

Campbell, Donald Fitzherbert (1886-1933), clergyman, son of Ven H E Campbell (qv), educ New College, Oxford (BA 1909), Leeds Cl School 1909, d 1910 and p 1911 (Liv), curate of St Mary, Waterloo, Liverpool 1910-1913 and of Hove from 1913,  canon residentiary and archdeacon of Carlisle 1929-1933, died in 1933

Campbell, Herbert Ernest (c.1856-1930), MA, clergyman, educ Exeter College, Oxford (BA 1879, MA 1882), d 1879 and p 1880 (S&M), chaplain to bishop of Sodor and Man 1879-1882, curate of Kirk Braddan, Isle of Man 1881-1882, curate of Christ Church, Brighton 1882-1885 and of St Michael, Chester Square 1885-1887, vicar of St George, Millom 1887-1895, rector of Workington 1895-1905, chaplain to bishop of Carlisle 1892-1905, rural dean of Cockermouth and Workington 1901-1905, hon canon of Carlisle 1904-1905, archdeacon of Furness and vicar of St George, Barrow-in-Furness 1905-1911, canon residentiary of Carlisle 1911-1930, chancellor of Carlisle diocese 1920-1930, archdeacon of Carlisle 1920-1930, joint editor, Carlisle Diocesan Calendar 1911-1920, elected member, CWAAS 1898 and vice-president 1923, marr, 2 sons (Donald Fitzherbert (qv) and Malcolm Drury, who was killed at Gallipoli 1915, aged 24), died 17 June 1930, aged 74 and buried at Carlisle Cathedral

Campbell, J Munro (18xx-19xx), MB, ChB, DPH, physician, Medical Superintendent, Westmorland Sanatorium, Meathop from 1 October 1929 (succ C Ferguson Walker, qv), also Clinical Tuberculosis Officer for Westmorland County Council at least until 1947 when he reported a substantial incease in amount of treatment given to patients, who now could be treated at newly opened (in February 1947) clinic at Fellside School in Kendal instead of travelling to Meathop (annual reports in CRO, WT/HOS/2)

Campbell, Robert (b.1841), b. Carlisle, member Wisconsin State Association in 1888

Cane, Harold Lee (1906-19xx), clergyman, [previous career?], trained at Cranmer Hall, Durham 1961, d 1962 (Penrith for Carl) and p 1963 (Carl), curate of Stanwix 1962-1965, vicar of Preston Patrick 1965-1972, district commissioner for Kendal and South Westmorland Scout Association in late 1960s, retd 1972 to 17 Beast Banks, Kendal, decd by 1987 (not on elect reg of 1978/9)

Canning, George (1770-1827), politician, joined John Bolton, Sir Walter Scott and the Lakeland bards at the Windermere regatta in 1825

Canter, Hilda DSc (1922-2007), biologist and photographer, see Lund

Cape, Joseph (17xx-18xx), clergyman, rector of Uldale for 44 years, contributed most of information on Uldale to Hutchinson’s History of Cumberland (II, 369-374), acquired advowson from Thomas Gaff (qv), of Whitefield, then lord of manor, in 1798, but his son Jonathan sold it to Joseph Gillbanks (qv) in 1833, his 2 sons built new church of St John Evangelist at Uldale in 1869, in Victorian Gothic style (architect Greyson of Liverpool) more appropriate to town suburb than a fell village (demolished in 1963) (CW2, lix, 63-64)

Cape, Ronnie (1932-2017), Keswick ‘character’, born 31 October 1932, died December 2017, aged 85, funeral at St John’s Church, Bassenthwaite, 22 December (Ivver Sen; CN, 29.12.2017)

Cape, Thomas (1868-1947), MBE, b. Cockermouth, miner for 25 years, general secretary of Cumbria Miners Association, politician, MP for Workington 1918-1945

Capek, Karel (1890-1938), playwright, famous for ‘The Insect Play’, Letters from England cited in George Bott anthology (qv)

Capstick, Frank Atkinson (18xx-19xx), farmer and breeder of pedigree dairy shorthorns and large white pigs, Chairman of Governors, Newton Rigg College 1933-1935 and 1943-1958, farmed over 150 acres, of Low House, Old Hutton (1910, 1914), then of Bridge House, Old Hutton (by 1921 and onwards) [Thomas Atkinson farmed Bridge House before 1921]

Carausius, Marcus Aurelius Mausaeus (d.293; ODNB), military commander who declared himself ‘emperor of the north’ in 286, assassinated by his financial adviser Allectus, who succeeded him, Carausius’ name appears on a milestone found near Carlisle

Carey, Thomas (1833-1936), JP, grocer and local councillor, “Cumberland’s Grand Old Man”, grocer, tea dealer, flour and grain dealer, of John Street, Maryport, Alderman of Cumberland County Council, JP Cumberland, member of CWAAS from 1878, elected at same time as Joseph Robinson (qv), whom he assisted on his archaeological excavations, oldest freemason in England, resided at 23 Curzon Street, Maryport, where he died 2 June 1936, aged 103 (CW2, xxxvi, 241-242)

Carleton family, of Carleton, from 1286 to 1703

Carleton family of Newry and Strabane, Ireland, related to the Carletons of Carleton, a younger son having moved to near Inneskillen

Carleton, George (1557/8-1628; ODNB), MA, DD, bishop of Chichester 1619-1628, son of Thomas Carleton of Carleton Hall, warder of Norham Castle, educated by Bernard Gilpin (qv), left voluminous writings, of Carleton Hall, died in 1628

Carleton, Guy (1604-1685; ODNB), MA, DD, bishop, son of obscure parents at Bramston Foot, Gillshead, kinsman of George (qv), bishop  of Chichester 1678-1685, bishop of Bristol 1671-1678, dean of Carlisle 1660-1671

Carleton, Sir Guy (1724-1808), born in Strabane of the ancient Carleton family (see above Carleton of Straban), governor general Canada 1775-8, cr Baron Dorchester 1776

Carleton, John (formerly Metcalf) (1753-1829) see Thomas Carleton III and Metcalf

Carleton, John (d.1709), the eldest equerry to Charles I and the first to Charles II; mon St Pancras church, London

Carleton, Thomas (1547-1598), politician, of Carleton, M.P. for Morpeth, shot through head; History of Parliament online

Carleton, Thomas I (d.1674), steward and mayor, steward to Lady Anne Clifford, Mayor of Appleby 1663 and 1672, and Alderman

Carleton, Thomas II (16xx-1731), steward, town clerk, and mayor, son of Thomas Carleton I (qv), of Appleby, apptd Town Clerk of Appleby 1686, Mayor of Appleby 1685, 1696, 1709 and 1710, steward to Lord Tufton, apptd Clerk of Peace for Westmorland on dismissal of Richard Baynes (qv) in 1702, but vacated office on his reinstatement in 1706, marr (1686) Dorothy Nelson (d.1739), of Penrith, 5 sons and 2 daus, died 1731, aged 71

Carleton, Thomas III (16xx-1765), eldest son of Thomas Carleton II (qv), purchased manors of Brough and Helbeck in 1750 and Barwise in 1748, marr (17xx) Hannah, 2 daus (Dorothy, who marr (1743) George Stephenson (qv), of Warcop, and d.s.p., and Elizabeth (1718-1790), wife of John Metcalfe (qv), of Bellerby, Yorks); by will dated 14 April 1758 he devised his estates in Westmorland to John Robinson and Daniel Robinson in trust for his grandson, John Metcalfe (qv), with powers for them to raise money for his other grandchildren, Thomas and Elizabeth Metcalfe, with yearly sum for their maintenance and education, and annuity for life to his daughter Elizabeth (Metcalfe), but also held various burgages in borough of Appleby, which he left to his wife Hannah and his nephew, William Hutchinson, in trust to sell and apply money in purchase of freehold lands for benefit of his grandson, John Metcalfe, but after his death his nephew Humphrey , only son of his brother John Carleton, claimed some of these burgages; his daughter Elizabeth and son in law John Metcalfe ‘have lived separate for several years last past’, his will being intended to prevent his son in law intermeddling in disposal of his estate while his grandson was still a minor of twelve, but with no guardian appointed (see case paper of disputed burgages and guardianship in CRO, WDX 42)

Carleton, William (1704-1736), county clerk and steward, born 1704, 4th son of Thomas Carleton III (qv), Clerk of the Peace for Westmorland 1729-1736, steward to Earl of Thanet

Carlisle, earls of, see Howard

Carlisle, Robert, black servant of Robert Collins Esq Carlisle, baptised St Mary Carlisle 5 April 1787

Carlisle, Thomas, black servant of Edward Nevison of Carlisle, baptised St Mary Carlisle, 11 August 1787

Carlyle family of artists, Carlisle; Marshall Hall, 15

Carlyle, John, emigrated to Alexandria, Virginia, USA, merchant, marr into Fairfax family (Lakes Line Bulletin, No.93, Winter 2008/09)

Carlyle, Rev Joseph Dacre (1758-1804; ODNB), professor of Arabic, born Carlisle son of Dr Carlyle, educ Kirkby Lonsdale, Carslist Grammar School and Christ’s College Cambridge, later Queen’s, translated Rerum Aegyptiacarum Annales from Ibn Taghribirdi, chaplain to Lord Elgin in Constantinople, travelled in the Middle East, collected mss

Carlyle, Robert (1773-1825)

Carlyle, Thomas (1734-1826), woodcarver, work in Carlisle cathedral, 3 sons artists

Carlyle, Thomas (1795-1881; ODNB), historian, b. Ecclefechan, periodically passed through Carlisle en route to the south; statue Ecclefechan

Carlyle, Thomas, described looking across from Dumfriesshire to St Bees Head, calling it ‘that Sapphire promontary’; Norman Nicholson’s Lakeland ed Hunt, 1991, p.70

Carr, Benjamin (18xx-1922), MA, clergyman, from a wealthy Yorkshire farming family, educ Oxford (MA), marr (18xx) Alice Greenwood (died 1950), grand dau of William Greenwood, of North Scale, Walney and Susannah Greenwood, of Cartmel Fell, who were married at Cartmel Priory on 22 June 1822, 1 son (died aged 3 months) and 2 daus (Lucie (born 18 October 1899, died 26 March 2001) and Kathleen M (born June 1902, died 21 September 1979), both being buried in Wolvercote cemetery, Oxford), employed a governess (Alice Gertrude Preston from Burbage, Leicester in 1911) for his daughters to prevent them acquiring a northern accent, Carr family introduced by Canon Rawnsley (ODNB) to Potter family, meeting at Lingholm in 1904, while Incumbent of Newlands church, moved in 1913 to take up living of St Leonard’s, Waterstock, Oxford, his wife Alice staying at Cartmel in February 1916, while Lucie was at Roedean School, Brighton, died in 1922; widow Alice and daus Lucie and Kathleen moved to Staverton Grange in south Oxford, Lucie going out to South Africa to work for many years as a governess, though returning to visit Oxford in 1934 and 1936, and permanently after her mother’s death in 1950, buying property 127 Banbury Road on opposite corner to Staverton Grange and later building a house on land to the rear, ‘Newlands’, 1a Staverton Road, where she died on 26 March 2001, aged 101, gave over 50 items to Museum of Lakeland Life and Industry in her lifetime, but her estate worth several million pounds, incl Beatrix Potter memorabilia left to Victoria and Albert Museum (Cumbria, January 2017, 40-45); see Lucie Carr

Carr, Frank Arnold (1873-1942), grandson of J D Carr (qv), Chairman and managing director of Carr’s Flour Mills Ltd, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1941, of Hallsteads, Watermillock

Carr, H R C (18xx-19xx), MA, Headmaster of Penrith Grammar School, lectured to Lowther & District Men’s Society on value of civilisation in February 1933 and on mountaineering in Alps in October 1934 (CRO, WDSo 346/ acc.9134)

Carr, James (17xx-1822), shipbuilder, of Harrington, died 23 July 1822, aged 53 (LM, III, 319)

Carr, Jonathan (17xx-18xx), grocer, wholesale grocer and British wine manufacturer, Highgate, Kendal (Pigot, 1828-9), Quaker, notes, queries, lectures to the Society for Promoting Useful Knowledge [c.1802] (CRO, WD/HCW/acc.1547),

Carr, Jonathan Dodgson (1806-1884), biscuit maker, son of Kendal grocer above?, walked to Carlisle and established himself as a biscuit maker, became biscuit maker to Queen by Royal Appointment in 1841, flour mills and bakeries established, hence the founder of Carr’s Biscuits; Margaret Forster, Rich Desserts, Captains Thin (1998)

Carr, Lucie (1899-2001), dedicatee of The Tale of Mrs Tiggy-Winkle by Beatrix Potter (1905) as “The Real Little Lucie of Newlands” (Cumbria, May and June 2015, January 2017) - qv sub Benjamin Carr

Carr, Lt Col Ronald N  MC DL JP (1894-1967), grandson of the founder of Carr and Co of Carlisle;  educated at Repton and Cambridge university; joined Border regiment in the 1st WW and was awarded an MC at the Somme in 1916; director of Carr and Co and chairman 1937-59, active in the political and social life of the district, chairman of Carlisle Conservative Association between the wars and chairman of the management committee of Cumberland Infirmary; remembered as a loveable personality with a great sense of community; lived Newbiggon Hall with his second wife Isabel from 1923-1967.  C News, 17 Mar 1967

Carr, William (Bill) (1921-1991; ODNB), JP, PhD, BA, historian, born in Workington, 1 April 1921, only child of William Carr (1876-1933), a colliery cashier, and his wife, Eleanor Stewart (1880-1933), converted to Roman Catholicism at age of 17, educ Workington County Technical School and University of Birmingham (matric 1939, BA 1st 1948, PhD 1955), served WW2 1939-1945 with signals corps in France and RA before working as part of team interrogating suspected Nazi war criminals and deployed with field security police at Husum in Schleswig from July 1945, which gave rise to his academic interest in region and subject of his PhD and first book, Schleswig-Holstein 1815-1848: a Study in National Conflict (1963), apptd to assistant lectureship at University of Sheffield in 1949, where he spent his entire teaching career until retirement in 1986, with award of a personal chair in 1979, marr (28 December 1950) Kathleen Mary (Kate) Williams (b.1926), 1 dau (Mary Louise, b.1952), died at his home, 39 Tapton Crescent Road, Sheffield, 20 June 1991, aged 70, and buried in Sheffield, 28 June

Carr, William Theodore (1866-1931), OBE, JP, grandson of Jonathan Dodgson Carr qv, MP for Carlisle 1918-1922

Carradice, John (Jack) (1720-1795), angler, (TPGE, 11)

Carradice (Carradus), Solomon (1771-1844), poacher, son of Solomon Carradice (1747-1821), himself bapt at Beetham the illegitimate son of Alice Carradice, vagrant, and orphaned when 11 years old (father Solomon poss figure with a landing net in portrait of Charles Strickland of Sizergh, LM (1822), III, 123), known as a first-rate “netter and leisterer” of fish and game poacher, committed to House of Correction in Kendal in October 1795 and confined as a vagabond until put on board a king’s ship, saw his wife on eve of his departure and put his hand underneath iron door for her to strike off a finger and thumb with a mallet and chisel to render him unfit for king’s service, died in Kendal Workhouse, aged 73 (KM, 27 April 1844), with a national celebrity (extract from Horne Tooke’s Diversions of Purley quoted in KM, 11 May 1844) (George Stewart, Tinkers, Potters, Gypsies and Eccentrics, 2010, 18-19) (Carradice family in the 55th Foot (Westmorland Regiment), see George Stewart papers in CRO, WDY 627)

Carradice, Thomas (18xx-1881), ‘Old Tom’, huntsman, great grandson of John (Jack) Carradice (qv), died at Natland, aged 69, 14 April 1881 (TGPE, 23-24)

Carradus, William (1784-1851), soldier, born at Anchorite Well House, Kendal, in 1784, served as soldier in the 79th Highlanders at Waterloo in 1815, died in Kendal, 17 March 1851

Carrick, J M, artist, born in Abbey Street, Carlisle (CN, 30.07.2010)

Carrick, Thomas Heathfield (1802-1874; ODNB), chemist and artist, b Carlisle, son of John Carrick china merchant, educ Carlisle GS, trained as a chemist, exhibited Carlisle Academy 1827, to London, exhibited miniatures at the RA, medal from Prince Albert, successful business until the rise of photography stole his sitters, later work tinting photographs; Marshall Hall

Carroll, Rev Charles William Desmond, (1923-2016), clergyman, son of the vicar of Arklow, Co Wicklow (a missionary in Madagascar), educ Trinity Coll Dublin and Durham, taught maths at Rickerby School, marr Doreen Ruskell, dau of a farmer and landowner (she had a place at Trinity but looked after her family; her brother an arctic film maker), vicar of Stanwix, then canon and director of education for Blackburn diocese, retained holiday home in Brampton

Carroll, Revd John William (1904-1972), clergyman (formerly Roman Catholic), native of Tyneside, educ Catholic University of America, d and p 1932 (RC Archbp of Liv), received into Church in Wales by Bishop of St Asaph on 14 August 1939, Curate of Hawarden 1939-1943 and of St John, Middlesbrough 1943-1947, Acting Curate of Holy Trinity, Brighton 1947, Vicar of St Mary Lowgate, Hull 1947-1954, Curate-in-charge of North Grimston with Wharram Percy and Wharram-le-Street 1954-55 and Vicar 1955-1963 [at time of big excavation?], also Vicar of Kirby Grindalythe 1957-1963, Rector of Long Marton from 1963 until his death in 1972, undertook much research into history of church, though few of his papers were readily available, but were used by G H Winterburn in his booklet Long Marton: A Story of a Cumbrian Fellside Parish and its Early Norman Church (1983), compiled the registers of baptisms, marriages and burials in a notable copper plate hand, devoted parish priest, assiduous in visiting sick, but also man of varied interests such as astronomy, railways, ships and literature, unmarried, died at Longmarton rectory, 20 December 1972, aged 68, and buried in churchyard, 23 December (funeral address by Archdeacon of Carlisle); pair of oak doors placed at entrance to south porch in his memory in 1973

Carrick, Thomas Heathfield (1802-1874), artist, b. Carlisle; Marshall Hall, 16

Carrington, Dora (1893-1932), artist; visited the Lakes, painted Farm at Watendlath (Tate)

Carroll, Lewis (Charles Lutwidge Dodgson) (1832-1898), related to the Lutwidges of Holmrook qv, visited Naworth Castle where the great medieval heraldic beasts (now in the V and A) are said to have inspired his Griffin in Alice in Wonderland

Carruthers, Francis John (1914-after 1979), journalist, editor of West Cumberland Times for 22 years, author of Lore of the Lake Country (1975), Around the Lakeland Hills (1976), and People called Cumbri: The Heroic Age of the Cumbrian Celts (1979)

Carruthers, George (fl.1870s), newspaper proprietor, Barrow; CW2 lxxxv 229

Carruthers, George (1917-1992) president of the Bus and Coach Council; educated Wigton

Carruthers, Richard (1792-1876), artist; b. Highfield Moor, near Carlisle; lived in Lisbon and South America, returned to organize exhibitions in Carlisle at the Athenaeum, lived latterly at Eden Grove, Crosby on Eden; Marshall Hall, 16; Pevsner 306

Carruthers, Robert (1860s), headmaster, buried Stanwix under large monument with an urn in SW of churchyard

Carson, Richard [fl.late 19thc.], Chelsea pensioner, great nephew of the Carlisle war poet H.L. Simpson qv; 1881 census

Carter, Sir Charles Frederick (1919-200x), FBA, MA, CBIM, economist, born 15 August 1919, yst son of Frederick William Carter, FRS (d.1950), of Rugby, and brother of Geoffrey William (Professor of Electrical Engineering, Leeds University), educ Rugby and St John’s College, Cambridge (MA), marr (1944) Janet (d.2000), dau of Edward Shea (d.1923), of Newcastle, 1 son and 2 daus, lecturer in statistics and Fellow of Emmanuel College, Cambridge 1947-1951 (Hon Fellow 1965), professor of economics, Queen’s University, Belfast 1950-1959 and Manchester University 1959-1963, Vice-Chancellor of Lancaster University 1963-1979, knighted in 1978, retired to Bank Head, The Banks, Seascale, and later of 1 Gosforth Road, Seascale, joint president of Policy Studies Institute 1989-1997, vice-chairman of Joseph Rowntree Foundation 1981-1994 (trustee 1966-1994), FBA 1970, hon degrees, publications, etc…..chairman of Rosehill Theatre Trust from 1984

Carter, Charles Rooking (1822-1896), builder, writer and politician, born in Kendal, 10 March 1822, 2nd son of John Carter (d.1837), builder, and Hannah (er bro John died in 1832), educ at home until 1835, then at Friends’ School, Stramongate, Kendal for two years (under Samuel Marshall, qv), apprenticed on 8 June 1837 as carpenter and joiner to John Brocklebank, of Staveley (boarding at the Eagle and Child inn and becoming an abstainer), but business foundered in 1839 and turned adrift till apprenticed to new master [Joseph] Green, builder in Penrith on 1 March 1839, boarding with his sister, but treated harshly by master, so left to work in Gateshead from September 1839 until 1843, read widely and attended evening classes at Institution for Promotion of Fine Arts in Newcastle, took keen interest in Chartists and Anti-Corn Law League, moved to London from 1843 until 1850, writing extensively on labour and economic conditions, influenced by 1848 liberal revolutions in Europe, became strong advocate of emigration, particularly to New Zealand, acted as secretary of movement resulting in shorter working Saturday for London shops, marr (6 March 1850, at St James’s, Westminster) Jane Robertson (died in September 1895), of Turriff, Aberdeenshire, 1 dau (Jane Caroline, born in Wellington, NZ, 1851, but died of scarlet fever in London, 1870), sailed to NZ, arriving in Wellington on 28 November 1850, began business as builder in Wellington, contributing notably to growth of town and to settlement of Wairarapa, leading to new town of Carterton being named after him in 1859, represented Wairarapa in General Assembly 1859-1865 and on provincial council 1857-1864, returning to England between 1863 and 1867, acting as emigration agent, wrote three-volume autobiography, Life and Recollections of a New Zealand Colonist (London, 1866-75), great collector of books, gifting them to New Zealand Institute and Colonial Museum and also to Carterton borough library, other benefactions, died in Wellington, 22 July 1896 and buried in Clareville cemetery (G H Sutherland, DNZB, I (1990))

Carter, John H. (1873- 1926), musician, composer and adjudicator, b.Helston, Cornwall but brought up in Barrow where he had cornet lessons from the Belgian born Monsieur Lexhine, his father was a miner at Stank, aged 14 he followed his father to the mine, but soon afterwards was invited to be the conductor of Dalton Brass Band, lived Weint House, Dalton, many competitions were won by the band and Carter became an adjudicator all over the country, three times at Crystal Palace, composed numerous marches, waltzes and dances, died in North Lonsdale hospital during an operation, 3000 followed his coffin plus a massed band of sixty; Rod White website, Stories Behind the Stones, buried Dalton Cemetery;

Carter, Very Rev Thomas (1765-1849), dean of Tuam in Ireland, (said to have been born in Kendal {Hudleston (C)} but other sources say born in Dublin), his brother was vicar of Torver, died of cholera

Carter Wood, Edith Florence (1888-1914), artist, b. Carlisle, dau of Joseph Edmund Carter Wood qv, ed Forbes school of painting (established by Stanhope Forbes (1857-1947)), second wife of Sir Alfred Munnings (m.1912), keen horsewoman, friend of the artist Lorna Knight (1877-1970), committed suicide by taking cyanide

Carter Wood, Helen (1886-1963), sister of Florence qv, m. Arthur Henry Macan, land agent, lived the Oaks, Dalston

Carter Wood, Joseph (1859-1939), soldier, m. Evelyn Alice Adair (1862-1939), parents of Florence Carter Wood qv, lived Cheyne Walk, Chelsea in 1880s and The Grange, Ireby in 1890s with seven servants and a governess, JCW ‘of private means’;

Carter Wood, Joseph (Joey) (1884-1915), artist, bap St Luke’s Chelsea 16 Dec 1884, brother of Florence, attended Forbes school of painting, killed in the 1st WW in 1915, the film Summer in February was based on a novel about him of the same title by Jonathan Smith (1995) which also relates to the love triangle between Munnings, Florence and Gilbert Evans

Cartmell, George Edward, solicitor, Kendal, marr Ruth (dau Nancy, bapt Beetham, 11 July 1897)

Cartmell, John (1xxx-18xx), BA, clergyman, incumbent of Crosscrake (1829), marr (by 1824) Mary, 1 son (Rowlandson, aged 13 when admitted to Heversham Grammar School on 24 July 1837, left on 28 April 1838), when living at Endmoor, Rector of Asfordby, Leics from 1857 (admission register in CRO, WDS/14)

Cartmell, Richard (1771-1831), artist and cabinet maker, bapt (with his twin brother, Turner) at Crosthwaite, 11 August 1771, son of John Cartmell, of Broad Oak in Town End Quarter, Crosthwaite, marr (1 November 1810, at Crosthwaite) Elizabeth Workman, of Crosthwaite, 3 sons and 3 daus, self-taught artist, also acquired knowledge of clock and watch machinery, though cabinet maker by trade, of Tower Hill at time of Parry’s arctic voyages (1818-1827) when he is likely to have painted copy portrait of “Captn. W. E. Parry, RN, Commander of the Polar Expedition” (discovered under layers of paint and wallpaper at Tower Hill in 1954), died at Crosthwaite Green, 20 March 1831, aged 59, and buried in Crosthwaite churchyard, 28 March (WG and KC, 02.04.1831; CW3, ix, 175-185)

Cartmell, Robinson (17xx-18xx), coroner, Coroner of Kendal Ward, Westmorland (expenses accounts 1801, 1804-05, 1805-06, 1809; paid £3 1s out of county rates by order of court, WQS, 26 April 1813); coroner’s warrant to minister and chapelwardens of Witherslack to bury body of James Armer, 11 November 1831 (CRO, WPR 22/57)

Carpentier, Charlotte (1770-1826), wife of Sir Walter Scott (qv), married in Carlisle cathedral

Cartwright, Charles (16xx-1756), burgess of Kendal, late of Lupton, died 15 February 1756, aged 82, and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 18 February (BT)

Cartwright, Thomas (1634-1689; ODNB), DD, bishop, born in Northampton, 1 September 1634, son of Thomas Cartwright, formerly schoolmaster in Brentwood, Essex, educ Northampton Grammar School and Magdalen College, Oxford (matric 1650, BA 1653, MA 1655), etc., favourite of James, Duke of York, later James II, dean of Ripon 1675, bishop of Chester 1686 (consecr 17 October), died in Ireland, 15 April 1689; marr (prob May 1662) Sarah, dau of Henry Wight, of Barking, 3 sons (John (dio court official), Gervase (bur at Kirkby Lonsdale, 28 February 1707/8), of Thompson Fold, Lupton)  [see BT for apprentices]

Carus family; CW2 lxiii 286

Carus, Edward; CW2 x 294

Carus, Thomas (d.1575), junior, aged 26 in 1571, eldest son of Mr Justice (Thomas) Carus (died 5 July 1571; IPM, RK, ii, 315), of the King’s Bench, and his wife Katherine, with Christopher Carus his 2nd son, marr (c.1560) Anne, only dau and sole heir of Wilfrid Preston, of The Biggins, Kirkby Lonsdale, 3 daus (Elizabeth (aged 13 years and 7 months at her father’s death in 1575, died 30 April 1611, aged 51), second wife of Sir Nicholas Curwen (qv), of Workington, who (Eliz) conveyed a share in the manor of Kirkby Lonsdale to Sir Henry Widdrington, of Widdrington Castle, Northumberland, and his wife, Mary Curwen, her dau and coheir (RK, ii, 319); Jane, wife of William Lambton; and one other dau decd before 1611; manor of KL later passing by sale from these coheiresses to George Preston (qv), of Holker ), died 9 September 1575 (IPM, RK, ii, 317)

Carus, Thomas (c.1515-1571; ODNB), barrister and judge, son of William Carus of Asthwaite, Westmorland and his wife Isabel, daughter of Thomas Leyburn of Cunswick, a member of the Middle Temple, MP Wigan 1547 and Lancaster 1553, sergeant at law 1559, justice of the Queen’s bench 1567, marr Catherine dau of Thomas Preston of Preston Patrick

Carus, William Wilson, see Carus Wilson

Carus-Wilson, William (1791-1859; ODNB), C. of E. clergyman, founder of charity schools

Carver, William (d.1875), carrier, from Hipperholme, Yorks, started as carrier, expanding his business with canals then railways, Manchester businessman in transporting of cotton goods, based at Old Trafford, had The Priory, Windermere, a flamboyant decorated Gothic house with tower, many gables and pointed windows, built for his wife as a summer residence by Pattinsons in 1869 (architect not known; now an hotel), also had winter residence Winterholme at Southport, died in 1875, leaving fortune to his eldest son, William, but also for financing building of memorial church (Congregational) in Windermere by Robert Walker (qv) in 1879 (now Carver Memorial Chapel of United Reformed Church); Miss Mary Isabella Carver was of The Priory (1885, 1897), but gone by 1905

Case family, brewers of Barrow, est Cases Ales, probably related to the farming family of Dendron and Manor Farm, Barrow

Case, RF, brewer, his company est in1860 in King St Ulverston, moved to Barrow by 1865 at Cavendish brewery in Cavendish St, acquired by Hammonds Breweries in 1959 incl 60 tied houses; Barrow CRO BDB41

Cass, Commander John (b.1925), police officer, educated at Wigton, national co-ordinator of crime squads, wrote the report on the investigation into the death of the New Zealand teacher Blair Peach in 1979, Peach was a member of a protest against the National Front and was killed by six officers of the Special Patrol Group (SPG), an elite group of experienced officers, the SPG was replaced in 1987 by a larger group called the Territorial Support Group, the report, which criticised the criminalisation of protestors and the closing of ranks by the SPG, was not released until 2010, Cass later worked as a security consultant;

Casson, Bobby (fl.late 19thc), manager of the Victoria Concert Hall; Worthies of Ulverston; A Few Furness Worthies (1889)

Casson, Ferdinando (1781-1838), MA, clergyman and teacher, born at Dunnerdale in 1781, yst son of Ferdinando Casson and Ann (nee Atkinson), educ prob at Dublin, went to Chester to run a school, minor canon of Chester Cathedral, marr Mary, 4 sons and 4 daus, died 22 March 1838, aged 56, leaving estate worth £25,000 (memorial in nave of Chester Cathedral erected by his pupils); his eldest son, George, MA, became vicar of Old, Northants 1842-1870

Casson, Nicholas (1682-1748), clergyman, born at Dunnerdale in 1682, vicar of South Clifton, Notts

Casson, Norman (19xx-xxxx), clergyman, born at Ulverston, educ Ulverston Grammar School, Durham University and Edinburgh Theological College, ordained 1933, vicar of Burneside, editor of Carlisle Diocesan News (1959), hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral, vicar of Ings 1968-1975, retiring to Cartmel, keen cricketer (WG, 14.03.1975)

Casson, Robert, author of A Few Furness Worthies (printed and published by James Atkinson, Ulverston, 1889), of Ellers House, Ulverston

Casson, Thomas Edmund (1883-1960), writer, born Pennington son of Thomas Casson, subpostmaster, educated Trent College and Merton College Oxford, Ballad of Urswick Tarn (1905) unpublished and Masques and Play (1914), his play Three Wise Kings of Borrowdale: A Comedy (1927) performed at Greta Hall by Keswick School June 1914, ‘A Carol of the Skiddaw Shepherds’ set to music by Ivor Gurney (1890-1937) as ‘Carol of the Skiddaw Yowes’ (1920), Lord Derwentwater’s Fate (1930)

Castlehow, William (1819-18xx), MA, BD, clergyman, born at Undermillock, Greystoke, 21 March 1819, educ Sedbergh School (entd January 1836, aged 16, and left December 1837) and Emmanuel College, Cambridge (BA (14th Wrangler) 1842, MA 1845, BD 1852, fellow, bursar and Hebrew lecturer), d 1845 and p 1846 (Ely), rector of North Cadbury, Somerset 1861-189x (by 1896)

Cautley, Thomas, clergyman, vicar of Ormside, rebuilt parsonage house and repaired outhouses in 1732 and 1733 (CRO, WPR 2/2)

Cavaghan, Michael (1940-2008), captain of Minerva, grandson of Henry Cavaghan founder of Cavaghan and Gray, food purveyors; Cumberland News 18th March 2008; articles by Cavaghan in Shipping Today and Yesterday, c.2007

Cave-Browne-Cave, Margaret (nee Cooke) MBE (1914-1978), dau of Alfred Cooke of Gorse Hill, Linton, Wetherby (Y), married William Cave-Browne-Cave (qv), lived Birket Houses, Winster

Cave, Bryan William Cave-Browne- (1915-1980), OBE, MA, broadcasting producer, born 12 December 1915, 3rd and yst son of Stretton Cave-Browne-Cave (1878-1961), of Wellington Lodge, Harborne, Staffordshire, and (marr 2 October 1907) Ethel Milbro (died 6 May 1943), er dau of William Higgin Birket Higgin-Birkett (formerly Cockerton), of Birkett Houses, Winster, educ Shrewsbury School and St Edmund Hall, Oxford (BA 1938, MA), studying English literature, acted and produced for John Masefield and Neville Coghill, mounting inaugural production of the Oxford Experimental Theatre, secretary of OUDS, joined staff of BBC as a drama and features producer in 1939, served WW2 with Royal Northumberland Fusiliers (Lieut-Col) and on General Staff (OBE 1946), BBC representative to India and Pakistan 1947, Head of Programmes, Sound and Television, BBC Northern Region, Manchester 1950-1963, Director of British Forces Broadcasting Service, Ministry of Defence, London 1963-1970, with stations all over world from Germany and Mediterranean to Aden, Singapore and Hong Kong, marr (9 August 1947) Margaret Royston, MBE (died 5 April 1978), only dau of Alfred Cooke, of Gorse Hill, Linton, nr Wetherby, Yorks, 1 son (Myles Alfred (b.1949), MA, solicitor) and 2 daus (Claire Birket (born 1948), wife of Stuart William Brown) and Elise Margaret (born 1952), wife of Franz Nadernau), succ to Birket Houses, Winster in 1969 on death of widow of his mother’s brother, Major Myles Higgin-Birket (qv), and came to live there in 1970, where there were three longcase clocks, sparking a long standing interest and his subsequent research into the Barber family that made them at Bryan Houses Farm at Winster during the 18th century and resulting in the publication of Jonas Barber, Clockmaker of Winster (Ulverston, 1979), which occupied the last years of his life and was the first detailed study of the clocks themselves and their makers, also author of Tonight is on the Mountain (19xx), member of CWAAS from 1973, and an enthusiast for antiques, antiquities, watercolours, Chinese porcelain, music, fine wine and walking, died 13 April 1980, aged 64

Cavendish, Andrew, duke of Devonshire marr Deborah Mitford (qv), Chatsworth Square Gardens was the last parcel of the Chatsworth estates in Carlisle, invited to a garden party c.1990 by Mary Robinson (qv)

Cavendish, Lady Blanche (nee Howard), dau of the 6th earl of Carlisle, marr aged 17 William Cavendish 2nd earl of Burlington and later 7th duke of Devonshire (qv), five children including the 8th duke, died aged 28 in 1840 and buried at Edensor, the duke did not remarry

Cavendish, Deborah (nee Mitford), (1920-2014) married Andrew, 11th duke of Devonshire, at lunch as president of Sheffield NADFAS c.1995 showed her familiarity with Herdwick sheep and heafing

Cavendish, Frederick (1836-1882; ODNB), chief secretary of Ireland, son of William Cavendish the 7th duke of Devonshire (qv), assassinated Phoenix Park 1882, bronze statue in Barrow; David A. Cross, 2017, 127-8

Cavendish, Lord George Augustus (1827-1794), son of the 3rd duke of Devonshire, educ St John’s Cambridge, inherited Holker Hall 1753, replanted the park and cedars of Lebanon, MP Weymouth and later Derbyshire, controller of royal household; obit Times 6 May 1794

Cavendish, Lucy (1841-1925; ODNB see husband’s entry), widow of Lord Frederick q.v.,  educational reformer, Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge college (est. 1965) named after her, her great niece Margaret Braithwaite (nee Masterman) was a co-founder

Cavendish, Moyra (1877-1942) see de Vere Beauclerk

Cavendish, Richard (19xx-1972), landowner, of Holker hall, Cark-in-Cartmel, first opened house to public in c.1950, left estate in good shape despite illness and early death in his 50s

Cavendish, Spencer Compton, 8th Duke of Devonshire (1833-1908; ODNB), KG, PC, GCVO, MA, born at Holker hall 23 July 1833, eldest son of 7th Duke (qv), chairman of Furness Railway Company

Cavendish, Victor Christian William, 9th Duke of Devonshire (1868-1938; ODNB), KG, PC, GCMG, GCVO, TD, DL, JP, born 31 May 1868, eldest son of Lord Edward Cavendish (1838-1891), succ uncle as 9th Duke in 1908 and as chairman of Furness Railway Company in 1908, but resigned in 1916 on appt as Civil Lord of Admiralty, having been a director since 1890

Cavendish, William, 7th Duke of Devonshire (1808-1891; ODNB), KG, PC, FRS, prominent both in furthering pure and applied science and sponsoring engineering, a major investor in the Barrow Haematite Steel Company in 1865, first president of the iron and Steel Institute in 1869, one of the key founders of Barrow-in-Furness, major landowner in the peninsula and owner of the considerable slate mines near Kirkby in Furness, on the death of his wife Blanche spent more time in Furness at Holker Hall than at Chatsworth, chairman of board of directors of Furness Railway from 1848, gave land for site of church and school of St James’s, Barrow-in-Furness (by Paley & Austin, 1867-69) for people of Hindpool, his son Lord Frederick Cavendish (qv) was murdered in Dublin; fine seated statue in Eastbourne, there should be one in Barrow too

Cayzer, Sir Charles William (1843-1916; ODNB), 1st Bt, JP, shipowner and MP, born 15 July 1843, only son of Charles William Cayzer (1808-1900), of Plymouth, and Mary Elizabeth, only dau of William Nicklin, of Hackney, marr (16 May 1868) Agnes Elizabeth (died 15 November 1919), only dau of William Trickey, of Clifton, Bristol, 6 sons and 3 daus, shipping agent Bombay, own business CW Cayzer and Co, MP (Con) for Barrow-in-Furness 1892-1906, elected in 1892, 1896 and 1900, contested Monmouth Boroughs in January 1910 unsuccessfully, head of firm of Cayzer, Irvine & Co, steamship owners (later Clan Line), JP cos Dumbarton, Stirling and Renfrew, Hon Colonel, 3rd Lowland Bde, RFA, knighted on 3 August 1897, cr a Baronet (Cayzer of Gartmore), 12 December 1904, died 28 September 1916; Spy cartoon

Chadwick, Sir Robert Burton-, formerly Chadwick (1869-1951), 1st Bt, shipowner and politician, born at Oxton, Cheshire, 20 June 1869, son of Joseph Chadwick and Norah Irene Gibbs, served South African War with Duke of Lancaster’s Own Yeomanry 1900-1901, and WW1 as Hon Captain, RNR Hospital service, head of shipping firm of Chadwick and Askew, of London and Liverpool, director of Chadwick, Weir and Co, elected as a Coalition Unionist MP for Barrow-in-Furness on 28 December 1918, but moved to Wallasey in 1922, which he held until 1931, parliamentary secretary to Board of Trade 1924-1928, counsellor to British Embassy at Buenos Aires 1940-1947, created baronet in 1935, changed name by deed poll to Burton-Chadwick in 1936, marr (1903) Catherine Barbara Williams, x sons (eldest, Noel, RAF, killed in action in 1941), died in London, 21 May 1951, aged 81

Challiner, William Henry (1856-1924), of Middle Reston, Hugill, born 26 February 1856, presented copy portrait of Robert Bateman (qv) to vicar and churchwardens of Ings to hang on west wall of church (he owned the original portrait in oils from Reston Hall), died 22 June 1924; widow? Louisa Josephine Challiner (nee? Johnson) (born 17 September 1869, died 14 February 1945), his son Henry killed in WW1 (died in a field ambulance from wounds received in action as “he led his platoon forward in fine style” on 12 August 1916, letters of condolence from Lt-Col C G Bradley and Major P G A Lederer, 9th Kings, 14-15 August 1916 in CRO, WDX 572/acc.11076); Louisa (Queenie) Challiner, of Middle Reston, buried at Staveley St James, 30 June 1977, aged 84

Chalmers, Lady Elizabeth, artist, specialising in flower painting and still life, Tulips, Syringa, Chrysanthemums, Anemones, exhibited Lake Artists, Renouf, 55

Chamber, Robert, Abbot of Holme Cultram 1507-1518

Chamber, Thomas, Abbot of Furness, brother of Robert (qv) and Lancelot, Abbot of Peterborough

Chamberlin, William (17xx-1827), landscape painter, also known as Mason Chamberlin, the Younger, son of William Chamberlin, the Elder (portrait painter and founder member of Royal Academy, who died in January 1787, aged 60), exhibited 59 works at Royal Academy between 1786 and 1821, also wrote religious verse and controversial essays in his The Path of Duty (1818), visited Lakes in 1806, made sketches and exhibited three oil paintings at the British Institution between 1807 and 1809 (views of Keswick Lake, Patterdale and Borrowdale), left London in later life “due to financial pressures and troubles” and retired to Blandford Forum, Dorset, where he spent rest of his life and died in 1827; landscape sketches signed, dated and fully inscribed with location details acquired by Wordsworth Trust, Grasmere, in 2010

Chambers of Raby Cote, Holme Cultram; CW2 i 194

Chambers, Charles Peter (c.1878-1949), clergyman, of Hartley, buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery, 18 February 1949, aged 70 = ??

Chambers, Charles Potter, d 1901 and p 1902 (Lich), curate of Holy Trinity, Smethwick 1901-1904, Wellingborough 1904-1907, Great with Little Weldon, Northants 1907-1909, and rector 1909-1912, rector of St George, Abbey Hey, Manchester 1912-1921, vicar of St Laurence, Morecambe 1921-1927, rector of Crosby Garrett and vicar of Soulby 1927-1939, vicar of Holme 1939-1941, rector of Thorpe Achurch  with Lilford and Wigsthorpe, Northants 1941-1944, retiring with perm to offic, dio York from 1944, living at 6 Alexandra Park, Scarborough (1948), but not in 1949-50 – so pres moved to Hartley in 1948 and died there in 1949 – as above

Chambers, Ephraim (c.1680-1740; ODNB), FRS, encyclopaedist, born at Milton, near Heversham, one of 3 sons (brothers Nathaniel and Zachary) and 2 daus, of Richard Chambers (will dated 9 October 1718, proved 2 October 1719), educ Heversham Grammar School and free school in Kendal, then went to London and apprenticed to John Senex (1678-1740), mapmaker, globemaker and bookseller, lived in chambers in Gray’s Inn, but died at Canonbury House, Islington, 15 March 1740, and buried in cloister of Westminster Abbey (MI) (WW, ii, 307-312)

Chambers, William (17xx-1778), schoolmaster, of Whitehaven, writer in the English and Irish Diaries, published several works on navigation and algebra, died in 1778

Chambers, William (1722-1796) RA, architect of Somerset House, London and designer of the gilt coach of George III,  rebuilt The Flatts, Whitehaven, for the Lowthers, including a circle of dogs as a large pebble mosaic in the stable yard; CW1 iii 363

Chambre family of Kendal, descended from John de Camera (qv)

Chambre, Allan, of Hawes, dau Anne bapt at Kendal, 14 July 1595

Chambre, Alan (1665-1745), Recorder of Kendal, son of Alan Chambre (d.1690, aged 75), of Ouston, near Doncaster, Yorks, barrister at law and bencher of Middle Temple, who had inherited Hallhead and Hawes estates, and had entered a pedigree at Dugdale’s Visitation of Yorkshire in 1666, marr (1692) Mary, eldest dau of Marmaduke Truman, of Mardenby Grange, Yorks, 3 sons (Walter (qv), Allan (bapt 25 September 1696), William (bapt 16 March 1701) and 1 dau (Jane bapt 23 June 1698), all at Kendal), Recorder of Kendal 1695-1699 and 1715-1738, also Recorder of Appleby 1723, also steward of court baron and customary of Henry Viscount Lonsdale in manor of Casterton (1732), conveyed lands in Sedgwick to his son Walter on 2-3 July 1734 (deeds in CRO, WD/TW/acc.9758), of Highgate and of Collinfield, Kendal, died at New Inn, Highgate and buried at Kendal, 5 March 1744/45

Chambre, Sir Alan (1739-1823), KC, judge, born at the New Inn, Highgate, Kendal, 4 October 1739 and bapt at Kendal, 12 November, eldest son of Walter Chambre (qv), of Highgate and of Hallhead Hall, Kendal, educ Kendal Grammar School and Sedbergh School, went to office of attorney named Wintow in London, became student of Middle Temple in 1758, migrating to Gray’s Inn in 1764, called to Bar at Gray’s Inn 28 May 1767, King’s Counsel 1781, Bencher of Gray’s Inn, apptd Solicitor General for co Durham 1795, Recorder of Lancaster 1796, a Baron of Exchequer and serjeant-at-law 1799, a Justice of Common Pleas 1800-1815, bought Abbot Hall, Kendal from executor of John Taylor in 1788 and sold it to Christopher Wilson (qv) in 1801, unmarried, described as ‘diminutive in size, with a thin squeaky voice’, died at Crown Inn, Harrogate, 20 September 1823 and buried in family vault of Kendal parish church, portrait by Romney; succ by nephew, Thomas Chambre (qv) (WW, ii, 169-178; SSR, 137-138); Chambers estate at Sedgwick bought by Wakefields (CRO, WD/W/10)

Chambre, Alan (1770-1800), MA, clergyman, eldest son of Walter Chambre (qv), of Whitehaven, and er brother of Thomas (qv), educ, MA Cantab, Curate of Crosscrake, marr (1799) Mary, dau of John Banks Russell, of Bank Ground, Coniston, 1 dau (Mary Alan (1800-1861), unmarried, of Bank Ground), died v.p. at Sedgwick, aged 29, and buried at Heversham, 21 May 1800

Chambre, Alan Alward Francois Victor Henri (1831-1902), only son of Captain Alan Chambre (b.1796), marr (1854) Beatrice, dau of Thomas Harrison, issue?, died at 10 Carlisle Parade,  Hastings, Sussex, aged 70, and buried at Coniston, 27 February 1902

Chambre, Jacob (c.1742-1771), BA, clergyman, educ Queen’s College, Oxford, nominated to curacy of Selside on death of Revd William Atkinson (qv) by majority of landowners, 11 January 1764, but not licensed, offered himself as candidate for priest’s orders at next ordination at Chester on Trinity following [2 June], with letters testimonial to Bishop of Chester of his good conduct, 4 May 1765, but ‘died on Kirkland’, aged 29, and buried in Kendal parish churchyard, 23 April 1771 (papers in CRO, DRC 10/Selside)

Chambre (Camera), John de (fl.1230), chamberlain to baron of Kendal

Chambre, Robert (d.1552), marr Joan, yst dau of Thomas Washington (qv) (d.1515), of Hallhead, Strickland Kettle, son (Walter, qv)

Chambre, Thomas, elected abbot of Furness 1491

Chambre, Thomas (b. post 1774, d.1836), barrister-at-law, yr son of Walter Chambre (qv), merchant, of Whitehaven, marr (7 November 1795, at Kendal, with consent of father) Anne Gerrat [Grierson in AWL], dau of John Harrison, of Kendal, with [Sir] Alan Chambre as witness, his uncle whom he succ in 1823; his eldest son Alan (b.1796), Captain 17th Lancers, was rep of family in 1849, then his son Alan A F V H (qv), who had a Chambre family memorial window  (The Raising of Lazarus by William Warrington) erected in west end of south aisle of Kendal parish church in 1852 (SGDC, 173)

Chambre, Walter (c.1540-1580), son of Robert Chambre (qv), inherited Hallhead at Strickland Kettle, and also the Hawes, Richard, son of Walter Chamber, of Stainton, bapt at Kendal, 18 January 1617/18, Edward, son of Walter Chamber, of Hawes, bapt at Kendal, 22 September 1618, Walter Chamber, of Stainton, marr (24 August 1631, at Kendal) Margrett Mitchell, of Hutton in the Hey

Chambre, Walter (1694-1753), MA, barrister and Recorder of Kendal, bapt at Kendal, 12 February 1694, eldest son of Alan Chambre/Chambers (qv), of Highgate, Kendal, elected Recorder of Kendal on resignation of his father in 1738, in office until 1752, marr (17xx) Mary, dau of Jacob Morland, of Capplethwaite Hall, Killington (Mrs Mary Chambre, widow of late Walter Chambre, Esq, Recorder of Kendal from Sedbergh, buried at Kendal, 13 August 1779, aged 72), 2 sons (Alan (qv) and John (buried at Kendal, 5 March 1739), will made 21 June 1741 (proved 2 August 1753), leaving his estate at Pedgecroft in parish of Sedbergh to wife Mary for her life then to his son Allan, with £1,000 to his younger children, and his estates at Wellheads in townships of Stainton and Sedgwick in parish of Heversham to his brother Allan and brother-in-law Thomas Holme on trust to receive income for support of his father and mother, after whose decease to use money to discharge mortgage on his present dwelling house to his brother-in-law, William Symson (qv), and on further trust to sell his Wellheads estate if necessary to pay off said mortgage and pay rest of money to his younger children (copy in CRO, WD/TW/acc.9758)

Chambre, Walter (1743-1813), merchant, yr son of Walter Chambre, and yr brother of Sir Alan Chambre (qv), partner in firm of Eilbeck, Chambre and Ross, merchants in Virginia trade (suffering serious losses in American War of Independence), of Lowther Street, Whitehaven, marr (1767) Elizabeth (buried 8 April 1813, aged 65), eldest dau of James Fox, carpenter, of Whitehaven, by his wife (marr 1747) Jane, dau of J Troughear, of Aspatria and Whitehaven, 2 sons (Revd Alan (qv) and Thomas (qv)) and 8 daus (Mary died at Lancaster, aged 63, and buried at Kendal, spinster, 20 February 1832; Harriet (8th) marr (1823) John Knubley Wilson (qv) as his 1st wife, but died s.p. in 1828), [other children buried at Whitehaven St Nicholas], died aged 70 and buried with wife at Whitehaven St Nicholas, 13 December 1813

Chamley, Thomas (1842-1914), DL, JP, Captain, 65th Foot, son of Matthew Chamley (died 1866, aged 61), native of Kendal, who built Warcop House (formerly Mansion), and his wife, Agnes (d.1866), dau and heir of Robert Braithwaite, of Warcop, marr, 4 sons (eldest, Thomas Coates (born 1874), but who all died s.p.) and 2 daus (er, Agnes Constance, marr (1900) Colonel Robert Walker Hall Woodburne (qv), 1 dau (Constance Vera, OBE, JP, of Warcop House)), died 10 October 1914, aged 72, and buried in Warcop cemetery, 13 October

Chance, Frederick Selby (1886-1946), JP, 4th son of Sir Frederick Chance (qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1934, marr (4 December 1923) Isabel Mary (born 17 July 1897, died 1967), only dau of Alan de Lancy Curwen, of Workington Hall (qv), 2 sons, (er son, Lt-Cdr Edward Stanley Chance, RN (qv), who assumed name and arms of Curwen in 1956 and inherited Belle Isle, Windermere), member of CWAAS from 1945, of Homeacres, Carlisle, died 27 May 1946; his widow Isabel sold the Ferry Hotel and right of ferry on Lake Windermere by auction, 31 October 1947 (sale partics in CRO, WD/Cu/68)

Chance, Sir Frederick William (1852-1932), KBE, DL, JP, manufacturer and civic leader, born 1852, eldest son of Edward Chance (1824-1881), DL, JP, of Lawnside, Great Malvern, and of  Maria Isabella (d.1890), 3rd dau of Joseph Ferguson, of Morton (qv), educ Harrow and Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge, Chairman, Ferguson Bros, cotton manufacturers, Carlisle, devoting energies to expanding the business and helping ease lot of employees, director of Bank of Liverpool and Martins Bank, and of Cockermouth and Keswick Railway, Chairman of Advisory Committee for State Purchase Undertakings in Carlisle, MP (Liberal) for Carlisle July 1905-January 1910, Mayor of Carlisle 1904 /?07, esp concerned to promote education, made gift of Carlisle School of Chemistry to city, made Hon Freeman of City of Carlisle in 1921, County Councillor, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1915, DL, member (with first wife)  of CWAAS from 1899, took keen interest in history of district, contributing many articles to local press and publishing book on Some Notable Cumbrians (1931), marr 1st (1881) Mary (died 2 August 1905, just a few days after his election as MP), dau of George Berkeley Seton-Kerr, of Kippilaw, Roxburgh, 5 sons (er two, Edward Seton Chance (1881-1918) and Andrew Ferguson Chance (1882-1916), killed in action in WW1, yr three qv below) and 1 dau (Eleanor Mary (b.1889), wife of Edward S Calthrop (d.1917)), marr 2nd (1908) Josephine (chairman of Council for Prevention and Rescue Work in Cumberland, Westmorland and Lancashire north of the Sands (viz work for diocesan home for unmarried mothers, eg St Monica’s Home in Kendal opened in 1917); member of CWAAS from 1929), dau of Sir Wilfrid Lawson, 2nd Bt, MP (qv), knighted (KBE) in 1920, of Morton, Carlisle, and later of Lancrigg, Grasmere, where he died, 1 July 1932, aged 79, and buried in Grasmere cemetery, 4 September (CW2, vi, 343; xxxiii, 313-314)

Chance, Joseph Selby (18xx-19xx), JP, chairman of Carlisle School Board (1901), county magistrate for Cumberland Ward, of Murrell Hill House, Carlisle (1906)

Chance, Josephine (nee Lawson) (1872-1960), philanthropist, dau of Sir Wilfred Lawson Bt (qv) and his wife Mary Pocklington-Senhouse, marr in 1908 as 2nd wife Sir Frederick William Chance MP (1852-1932; qv), chair of council for Prevention and Rescue work in C W and L/C over the sands, organised homes for unmarried mothers incl St Monica’s, Kendal which opened in 1917

Chance, Kenneth Miles (1893-19xx), DSO, 5th son of Sir Frederick Chance (qv, above), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1949, served WW1 1914-1917 as Major, Border Regt. (wounded, despatches, DSO 1917)

Chance, Sir Robert Christopher (1883-1960), Kt, DL, JP, businessman and Lord Lieutenant, born 28 November 1883, 3rd son of Sir Frederick William Chance (qv), of Morton, Carlisle, educ Malvern and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA), Chairman, Ferguson Bros Ltd, textile manufacturers, President, Carlisle Chamber of Commerce, member of Carlisle City Council 1918-1948, Mayor of Carlisle 1929-1930, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1938, County Comdt, ACF 1942-1945, Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland 1949-1958, marr (26 September 1918) Marjorie Winifred, dau of William Graham Bradshaw, CBE, of Down Park, Sussex, 2 sons (er son, Andrew Frederick Seton Chance, of Garth House, Brampton, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1965) and 2 daus (inc Mary, DL for Cumbria 1984-1994, Girl Guide leader, died 13 May 2012, aged 92, funeral at St James, Denton Holme, Carlisle, 23 May), member of CWAAS from 1945, of Morton, Carlisle, died 1960

Chancellor, Francis Beresford (1897-19xx), JP, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1951, author of Around Eden: An Anthology of Fact and Legend from and around the Eden Valley (with foreword by W M F Vane) (Appleby, 1954), of Eden Gate, Warcop

Chapelhow, John (fl.early 20thc.), printer of Appleby

Chapelhow, Joseph (18xx-19xx), DD, MA, clergyman, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (late Thomas Exhib, BA 1869, MA 1871, BD 1876, DD 1893), d 1869 and p 1871 (Pet), Curate of Chacombe, Northants 1869-1871, Great Musgrave 1871-1879 and Kirkby Stephen 1873-1876, Rector of Kirkbampton 1879-1896, Musgrave 1896-1898, Beaumont with Kirkandrews-on-Eden 1898- and also Vicar of Grinsdale 1899-

Chapelhow, Thomas [fl.early 20thc], monumental mason of Penrith

Chaplin, Charlie (1889-1977), actor, stayed at Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, Barrow; hotel website

Chaplin, Fr Maurus (fl. late 18thc.), Benedictine [RC] ‘missionary to Cumberland’ from Lambspring, Westphalia, recalled by his abbot Maurus Heatley, Chaplin cut the face from the abbot’s portrait and  threatened him with a cricket bat, he was imprisoned for nine years

Chaplin, William (1824-1904), BD, clergyman, son of William Chaplin (1793-1869), of Tottenham, musician and freeman of London, educ St Bees Theological College 1850, d 1850 and p 1851 (Chester), Curate of Kendal 1850-1858, Vicar of Staveley 1858-1896 for 38 years, BD (Emmanuel College, Cambridge 1865), baptised his yr brother, Wildman Smith Chaplin (b.1826) at Kendal in 1851, marr (185x) Jane Anne (died aged 79 and buried at Staveley, 26 June 1904), 1 son (William, qv) and 1 dau (Mary Beatrice, born 7 February 1860 and bapt 30 August), responsible for getting new church built (architect, J S Crowther), raising £1600 towards cost, and opened in 1865, active leader in village, helped to organise “penny lectures” on Saturday evenings, built pavement down village street, and set up a savings bank, chaplain to volunteer detachment, also chairman of gas company, committee for improving drains, in 1879, school managers (resp for appointing J A Martindale (qv) and giving him full support in his reforms), and committee for organising Golden Jubilee celebrations in 1887, succ by his son in 1896 and retired at age of 72 to Aikrigg End, Kendal with wife, where he died aged 80 and buried at Staveley, 21 September 1904 (memorial window in south nave by William Morris & Co)

Chaplin, William (1864-1932), MA, clergyman, born 4 January 1864 and bapt at Staveley, 18 February, son of Revd William Chaplin (qv), educ Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1886, MA 1890) and Ely Theological College 1888, d 1888 and p 1889 (Roch), curate of Church of Ascension, Lavender Hill 1888-1890 (living at 33 Stormont Road, Wandsworth), curate of All Saints, Margaret Street 1890-1892, Chaplain of Ely Theological College 1892-1896, succ father as vicar of Staveley 1896-1898 and 1902-1920, leaving in 1898 on grounds that parish needed a married vicar, Curate of St Matthew, Westminster 1898-1902, rector of Harrington 1920-1929, and vicar of Ings 1929-1932, marr (189x/190x?) Dorothy Margaret (buried at Staveley, 14 February 1914, aged 45), 2 sons (qv) and dau (Mary Jane Ann, buried 25 June 1920, aged 12), died aged 68 and buried at Ings, 8 July 1932 [yr son, Montague Chaplin, of Ings Vicarage, buried at Ings, 9 August 1930, aged 24]

Chaplin, William Robert Moffett (1903-1973), MA, clergyman, born 28 June 1903 and bapt at Staveley, 19 July, er son of Revd William Chaplin (qv), educ St Edmund Hall, Oxford (BA 1924, MA 1939) and Ely Theological College 1928, d 1928 and p 1929 (Carl), curate of St James, Barrow-in-Furness 1928-1931, minor canon sacrist and master of choir school in Carlisle Cathedral 1931-1935, Rector of St Peter, Northampton with Upton, dio Peterborough 1935-1945, Vicar of Haverthwaite 1945-1952, Appleby St Lawrence 1952-1960 also with Murton and Hilton 1953-1960, and Workington St John 1960-1966 (also Chaplain to Workington Infirmary), Rural Dean of Cockermouth and Workington 1961-1966, vicar of Old with New Hutton 1966-1969, hon canon of Carlisle 1952-1969, canon Emeritus from 1969, marr, 1 son (William John Montague, of Finsthwaite House, High Sheriff of Cumbria 1983, marr, sons bapt at Finsthwaite) and 1 dau (Dorothy Elizabeth Anne, wife of A A (Tony) Cotes (qv)), retiring to Tetley Cottage, Cartmel, died 1973

Chapman, Anthony (1914-1982), huntsman, born at Cote How Cottages, Rydal, 29 March 1914, 2nd son of George Chapman (huntsman of Coniston Foxhounds 1908-1932) and Hannah, educ Ambleside, farm worker at Brotherswater, but always out hunting, former huntsman of Hartsop Hounds and later of Brotherswater Hotel, whipper-in to Ernie Parker with Coniston Foxhounds and huntsman from 1944, marr Annie (died 2 May 1987), 1 son and 2 daus, died 27 December 1982 and buried at St Mary’s, Ambleside, 31 December (“Hark For’ard!”, 2004); Is he related to the T. Chapman, huntsman of Windermere Harriers (1914)

Chapman, Charles (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Corpus Christi College, Cambridge (late Scholar, BA 1858, MA 1862), d 1858 and p 1859 (Wint), chaplain, RN and NI 1860-1870, vicar of Coniston from 1870, of the Parsonage, Coniston (1882)

Chapman, Edward William (18xx-1919), MA, clergyman, collated vicar of Penrith by bishop Goodwin in 1879, hon canon of Carlisle, retired to St Mary Cray, Kent in 1888, died in February 1919

Chapman, Emma Victoria (b.1860), born Adelaide, Australia, dau of Edgar Chapman (1831-1886) brewer and businessman who rebuilt the Theatre Royal, Adelaide c.1878, married in 1881 JW Cameron (b. Westmorland) (qv) brewer in Tonbridge Wells, her father died five years later and her share of her father’s estate (the equivalent of about £10 million in 2020) doubtless enabled her husband to increase his business activities in Hartlepool

Chapman, George, Presbyterian minister and schoolmaster, Great Salkeld (1847), Presbyterian chapel built c.1710

Chapman, Maurice [1940-2014] MBE, electrical engineer, b. Walney, ed Barrow GS, worked in advertising in London, lived Bermuda in the 1960s, returned and developed Brockwood holiday park in the Whicham valley, established Acrastyle in Ulverston, specialist electrical equipment firm which manufactures, tests and intalls high voltage electrical substations, protection and control equipment, based at North Lonsdale Rd, Ulverston, MD for 24 years, president of Cartmel show, keen on racehorses and owned Chief Dan George which won at Cheltenham;

Chapman, Roger (1945-2020), submariner, engineer and founder of Rumic [now Fisher Rumic], involved with dramatic rescue operation as a young man working for Vickers Oceanics, when trapped for 84 hours with Roger Mallinson under water at 1400 feet in Pisces III, a small submersible; see Roger Chapman, No Time on our Side, c.2010; obit West Gaz 6 Feb 2020; see Michael Scott

Charles II (1630-1685; ODNB), following his coronation in Scotland in 1651 regaled his troops at Black Dub, Crosby Ravensworth, en route to Worcester; see Bland monument at Black Dub, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture,  2017

Charles, Frank (1908-1939), speedway racer and glider pilot, born in North Row, Roose, Barrow-in-Furness, worked in family butchers in North Row, but real passion was for motor cycles, began racing in 1928, became well known on north of England tracks, transferred to Wembley at then record fee of £1,000, and won league championship, with continued success before retiring in 1938, then turned attention to flying an engineless plane as gliding became his next passion, became instructor at Furness Gliding Club, killed in accident at National Gliding contest in Derbyshire in July 1939 (FFHS, 95, August 2011)

Charlesworth, Dorothy (1927-1981), MA, FSA, archaeologist, dau of John Charlesworth a county court judge, born 17 September 1927, ed Cheltenham Ladies College and Somerville College, Oxford, inspector of ancient monuments, DoE, formerly MPBW, excavated Roman fort at Carlisle, at Housesteads and at Buto in the Nile delta,  president, CWAAS 1977-1980, elected member of Council 1962 and 1975, and member from 1957, died 7 June 1981, with memorial service at Carlisle Cathedral, 11 July 1981; memorial lecture instituted by CWAAS and first held on 29 October 1982; CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff

Charlton family of Hesleyside, CW3 vii 57

Charlton, John (1909-2004), LVO, MA, FSA, archaeologist, born in Gateshead, 7 June 1909, only son of John Charlton and Emily, of Tyneside,  inspector, RCHM, president, CWAAS 1968-1971, vice-president 1959, joint editor of Transactions 1978-1983 and elected member 1947, of Purley, Surrey, died 29 October 2004; CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff

Charlton, Thomas Gardhouse (18xx-1935), ARIBA, architect and Mayor of Carlisle, died at Skinburness, 12 September 1935, aged 68 (CW2, xxxvi, 239)

Charnley family, of Ulverston and later Roa Island, much involved for many generations with a range of nautical endeavours

Charnley, Captain Robert (fl. early to mid 19thc), of Ulverston, his sons William (1836-1871) and Richard 1840-1915) were shipbuilders, built the Maggie Brocklebank (1869), in the 1st WW they carried on shipbuilding but were asked to make fenders, besoms and swill baskets for the Admiralty

Charteris, Francis (1665-1732; ODNB), army officer, gambler, money-lender and rake, successful and unscrupulous, but with notoriously dissolute reputation, attained rank of colonel, following his good luck in the South Sea Bubble acquired estates valued at about £7,000 p.a., besides some £100,000 in stocks, inc Newmills estate (co Haddington) renamed as Amisfield (after old family estate in Dumfriesshire), purchased Hornby Castle and honor from George Brudenell, earl of Cardigan, for £14,500 in 1713, also purchased estate of Holme manor and park near Kendal from Mary, dau and coheir of Sir Thomas Preston, 3rd Bt (qv) and wife of William, 2nd Marquess of Powis, in 1717, Hornby estate went with his only dau and heir Janet’s marriage in 1720 to James, 5th Earl of Wemyss (d.1756), marr Helen, 5th dau of Alexander Swinton (Lord Mersington), 1 dau (Janet), accused of rape and sentenced to death in 1730 but pardoned by George III and heavily fined, the trial at the Old Bailey was a media sensation, condemned by Alexander Pope in mopral Essay III, appears in several verse by Jonathan Swift and in both The Rake’s Progress and The Harlot’s Progress by William Hogarth (qv), died at Stoney Hill, near Musselburgh, 24 February 1731/2, aged about 72 (CP, XII, ii, 470; RK, ii, 292)

Charteris, Hon Francis, formerly Wemyss, de jure 7th earl of Wemyss (1723-1787), born 21 October 1723, 2nd son of James, 5th earl of Wemyss (d.1756), succ in 1732 to extensive real and personal estate of his maternal grandfather, Col Francis Charteris (qv), and assumed name of Charteris accordingly, owner of Holme estate near Kendal in 1773, but his son Lord Elcho sold Hornby castle, honor and dependencies in 1789 to John Marsden, of Wennington Hall, who moved to Hornby in 1794 (CP, XII, ii, 473; Mannex 1851, 531)

Chase, Charles (1850-1924), MA, clergyman, vicar of Ambleside 1882-1891

Chatfield, Frederick (18xx-19xx), MBE, DL, JP, of Garbridge, Appleby (1921), and of Bongate House, Appleby (1922), DL Westmorland (apptd in April 1899), chairman of Appleby Municipal Borough, East Westmorland and West Ward Rural Districts and Shap Urban District Joint Hospital Committee [formed in 1908] (1921), apptd Honorary Freeman of Appleby in 1937 following 44 years’ service as Councillor and Alderman of Appleby Borough, inc two terms as Mayor 1898-99 and 1912-13 and as deputy mayor during WW1 

Chatt, George (1838-1890), soldier, journalist, editor of West Cumberland Times, poet who printed other men’s verse

Chatt, Professor Joseph (1914-1994; ODNB) CBE FRS; b. Horden, co Durham, son of Joseph Chatt and Margery Parker, brought up on Cumberland farms south west of Carlisle, educated Nelson Thomlinson School, Wigton and Emmanuel College Cambridge, research into pi-bonds between transition metals, alkenes and their application to nitrogen fixation; obit Independent 31 May 1994; Royal Society Biographical Memoirs

Chauncy [sp?], Robert de (d.1278), bishop of Carlisle

Chavasse, Christopher Maud MC Croix de Guerre (1884-1962; ODNB), clergyman, son of the Rev Francis Chavasse (ODNB), rector of an Oxford parish (later founder of St Peter Coll Oxford and bishop of Liverpool), educ Magdalene Coll School Oxford and Trinity Coll Oxford, as an athlete represented Britain at the 1908 Olympics, ordained by his father in Liverpool cathedral 1911, curate St Helen’s, 1st WW chaplain and in 1918 deputy assistant chaplain general, his twin brother Noel died and was awarded a VC and bar, vicar of St George’s Barrow 1919-1922, rector St Aldate 1922-1928 and St Peter le Bailey 1928-1940, est evangelical college in Oxford in 1939, lost his leg following a boating accident which delayed his consecration as bishop of Rochester, here he est two suffragan bishops of Bromley and Tonbridge, and est Rochester theological college for older ordinands, marr Beatrice Willinck, published Evangelism (1947), The Meaning of the Psalms (1951) The Meaning of the Lessons (1955) The Meaning of the Cross (1956); Selwyn Gummer, The Chavasse Twins, 1963

Chavasse, Noel, VC and bar, brother of Rev Christopher Chavasse MC Croix de Guerre (qv), also brother of Aidan, killed 1917 and Francis MC, his sisters both lived to be 100

Chaytor, Henry (1734-1789), JP, MA, LLD, clergyman and civic leader, 2nd son of Henry Chaytor, of Croft, Yorks, prebendary of Durham 1772-1789, rector of Croft and vicar of Catterick 1778-1789, vicar of Kirkby Stephen 1759-1778, mayor of Appleby 1774-75 and 1776-77

Cherry, James (1920-2008), BSc, FSA, archaeologist and chemist, born at Blackburn in 1920, where his father had a dental practice, educ in Backburn, and University of London (external degree in chemistry in 1946 after WW2), had brief spell in industry before joining Civil Service in 1948 before transferring to UK Atomic Energy Authority, marr (9 September 1944) Joyce (qv infra), 1 son (Peter) and 1 dau (Barbara), both working at UKAEA facility at Springfield, Preston, then transferred to Windscale in 1950, moving to Seascale, became increasingly involved in archaeology of area by starting to identify all known flint sites in Drigg sand dunes, then encouraged by Clare Fell (qv) to do extensive fieldwalking for prehistoric finds, esp flints, searched gravel beds in Eskmeals Gun Range for early Neolithic finds (with pollen analysis by Winifred Pennington Tutin (1915-2007) (qv)), later moved to Kendal on retirement in 1980 and worked on limestone uplands in east of county (results published in Prehistoric Habitation Sites on the Limestone Uplands of Eastern Cumbria, a volume dedicated to Clare Fell, Res Ser II, 1987), besides contributing 49 papers and notes to Transactions from ‘Cairns in the Birker Fell and Ulpha Fell area’ in 1961 to ‘Seascale Gasworks’ in 2007, and also chapter (with Peter Cherry) on Yorkshire flint in Cumbria in Clare Fell’s memorial volume, Studies in Prehistory (Extra Ser XXXIII, 2007), joined CWAAS in 1959, member of council for three terms in period 1965-1981, secretary of committee for Prehistoric Studies 1970-1973 and member of its successor body, Fieldwork and Excavation committee until 1988, and also committee for Industrial Archaeology 1969-1983, and served as President 1987-1990, assisted Joyce in compiling Index to New Series 1960-1989 (1990), member of Historical Metallurgy Group, keen user of new technology, moved from Kendal to Lichfield in 1999, where he died (CW3, viii, 301-302); CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff,  CW3 viii 300

Cherry, Joyce (1924-2008), secretary and indexer, born in San Francisco, California, 17 January 1924, her parents returning to England in 1931 and settling in Blackpool, but she remained a US citizen all her life, educ Blackpool Collegiate School for Girls, became a scientific librarian at Sutcliffe Speakman, an engineering company making plant for brickmaking, here she met Jim Cherry (qv), moved with him and family to Seascale in 1950, indexed CWAAS Transactions new series (CW3, ix, 279-280)

Chew (nee Gundersen, formerly Mohr), Eva (d.1997) b. Bergen, Norway, m. 1st Conrad Mohr, a pilot in occupied Norway, 1 son Bill, fled to Sweden in 1942, Conrad died in a plane crash, she became a member of the Norwegian Air Force, m 2nd F Robert G Chew (d.1970) (qv)  in Oslo c.1947, he became headmaster of Gordonstoun during the schooling of the Prince of Wales, 2 sons, Robert died, lived in her widowhood in Troutbeck (W), memorial service Gordonstoun chapel 27 April 1997, a strikingly elegant and charming lady

Chew, R G (d. 1946), of Dove Nest, near Waterhead, retired city banker, father of FRG Chew qv, Hon Treasurer, Armitt Trust

Chew, F Robert G (Bobby) (d.1970), CVO, son of R G Chew (qv), marr Eva Mohr (qv sub Chew) Armitt Trustee 1968-1970, former headmaster of Gordonstoun School during the schooling of the Prince of Wales, of Troutbeck

Chew, Muriel Eileen (Biddy) (19xx-1995), dau of R G Chew (qv) and twin sister of Bobby (qv), Armitt Trustee from 1953 and Armitt member for nearly 50 years until retired for health reasons, died 4 October 1995, aged 88, and buried at Jesus church, Troutbeck, 9 October

China, WE, entomologist, worked at Natural History Museum, came to Ferry House with many cabinets of insects to secure their safety during WW II with his colleague DE Kimmins, he then did Ferry House administration in the absence on duty abroad of Dr Barton Worthington, Mr China ran a platoon of the Local Defence Force and was involved in the apprehending of escapees from Grizedale POW camp; WE China, ‘A bug which lures ants to their destruction’, Nat Hist Magazine vol 1, no 6, 1928 and other refs on NHMus website; CWAAS 2021, 292-3

Chippindall, William Harold (1850-1942), JP, soldier and antiquary, Colonel RE, chairman of Kirkby Londale Bench (1934), member of CWAAS 1915, member of council of Lancashire Parish Register Society, author of A History of the Parish of Tunstall (1940), etc, of Fairbank Cottage, Kirkby Lonsdale, where he died in 1942, aged 92, and buried in churchyard, 3 October, with his wife Elizabeth, who was buried there, 22 February 1937, aged 77 (CW2, xliii, 215-16)

Chisam, Joseph (18xx-1921), Methodist local preacher, temperance mission leader and town councillor, one of original trustees in establishment of Seascale Methodist Church (built in 1896), established several missions in Whitehaven, opened Cocoa and Coffee houses to try and persuade people away from alcohol, marr, son (William Edward, qv infra), of Norse Range, Seascale, died in 1921, aged 84 (WN, 15.06 2017)

Chisam, William Edward (1865-1942), hotelier, born in Whitehaven 1865, son of above, running Temperance Hotel, 31 Botchergate, Carlisle in 1911, marr Susan (from Kent), 2 sons and 2 daus, living at Norse Range, Seascale by 1930, died 25 November 1942, aged 77; Susan died 28 September 1954 (memorial window in Seascale Methodist Church) (WN, 05.10.2017)

Chorley, Katherine Campbell (nee Hopkinson, later Lady Chorley) (1897-1986), author, dau of Edward Hopkinson MP DSc (1859-1922), of Alderley Edge (her uncle Sir Alfred Hopkinson was vice Chancellor of Manchester university, her grandfather John Hopkinson was an engineer and lord mayor of Manchester), married Robert Chorley (qv) later Lord Chorley, published Armies and the Art of Revolution (1943), Manchester Made Them (1950)

Chorley, Richard Fisher (1860-1922), solicitor, son of Cleasby Chorley (1836-1909), of Fern Lea, Kendal, formerly of Kirkland (1886), landlord of Cock and Dolphin Inn, Kendal for many yrs, marr Annie Elizabeth, dau of Samuel Frost, farmer, of Hardingstone, Northampton, 3 sons (inc R S T, qv), partner with Thomas Toft in firm of Chorley & Toft at 31 Stramongate, Kendal, also at Tebay and Arnside, of Chapel Close, Kendal, died aged 61 and buried at Parkside cemetery, 29 March 1922

Chorley, Robert Samuel Theodore, 1st Baron Chorley (1895-1978; ODNB), JP, QC, MA, lawyer and conservationist, born in Kendal, 29 May 1895, eldest of 3 sons of Richard Fisher Chorley (qv), educ Kendal Grammar School and Queen’s College, Oxford (BA 1916), called to bar, Inner Temple 1920, tutor and lecturer at Law Society School of Law, marr (15 April 1925) Katharine Campbell (d.1986), dau of Edward Hopkinson, MP, of Alderley Edge, Cheshire, 2 sons (er, Roger, 2nd Baron, qv) and 1 dau, Sir Ernest Cassel professor of Commercial and Industrial Law, London School of Economics 1930-1946, a deputy regional commissioner for civil defence 1942-1944, chairman, Westmorland Quarter Sessions 1944-1968, contested Northwich as Labour candidate 1945, cr baron Chorley 1945, lord-in-waiting 1946-1950, first general editor of Modern Law Review 1937-1971, etc., holiday home in the Lakes, mountaineer and defender of Lake District, President of Fell and Rock Climbing Club 1935-1937, member of National Trust executive committee for 45 years, etc, died 1978

Chorley, Roger Richard Edward, 2nd Baron Chorley (1930-2016), MA, accountant and environmentalist, born 14 August 1930, er son of 1st Baron Chorley (qv), educ Stowe School and Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge, president of CU Mountaineering Club, went on expedition to Himalayas in 1953, Alps in 1955 and Nepal in 1956, when he was paralysed in both legs by polio, which ended his climbing career, later hon secretary of the Climbers’ Club 1963-1967, member of management committee of the Mount Everest Foundation 1968-1970, and president of Alpine Club 1983-1985, joined Cooper Brothers & Company (later Coopers & Lybrand) in 1955, manned its New York office 1959-1960, worked in Pakistan on Indus basin project in 1961,  and partner 1967-1989, noted for his committee skills, accountancy adviser to National Board for Prices and Incomes, member of Royal Commission on the Press 1974-1977, Ordnance Survey Review Committee 1978-1979, British Council from 1981, House of Lords Select Committee on Science and Technology for periods between 1983 and 2007, Royal Geographical Society (and president 1987-1990), and board of National Theatre from 1980, chairman of National Trust 1991-xxxx, dealing with contentious issue of stag hunting on NT land, member of NT finance committee for 20 years, chaired government’s inquiry into handling of geographic information systems (GIS) 1985-1987, member of Natural Environment Research Council 1988-1994, succ father as 2nd baron in 1978, elected as a crossbench hereditary working peer after Lords reform in 2001 until he retired in 2014, maintained home in Hawkshead area of Lake District, which provided the backdrop to his love of mountaineering, to his concern for the environment and (following his father) to his lifelong commitment to National Trust, low-key personality not given to displays of emotion, marr (19xx) Ann Debenham 2 sons (Nicholas and Robert), died 21 February 2016 (Guardian, 26 Feb 2016 and 30 Mar 2016)

Christian of Unerigg (Ewanrigg), family; CW2 iv 217

Christian of Whithorn (1154-1186), bishop, perhaps originally a monk at Holme Cultrum

Christian, Princess, of Schleswig-Holstein, Helena Augusta Victoria (1846-1923), GBE, CI, RRC, born 25 May 1846, 3rd dau and 5th child of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, marr (5 July 1866, in private chapel of Windsor Castle) Prince Christian of Schleswig-Holstein (died 28 October 1917), 2 sons and 2 daus (and 2 sons d. inf), founding president of (Royal) British Nurses’ Association in 1887, also of Army Nursing Service until 1901, supporter of nurse registration, founding president of School of Art Needlework 1872 (Royal School of Needlework from 1876), visited Kendal on 28 April 1906, died at Schomberg House, London, 9 June 1923, and buried in Albert Memorial Chapel at Windsor, 15 June 1923, but reburied at Frogmore, 23 October 1928

Christian, Edward (1758-1823), lawyer, bap Brigham, son of Charles Christian, brother of Fletcher Christian (qv), educ Peterhouse coll, Cambridge, BA 3rd wrangler 1779, fellow of St John’s, briefly headmaster of Hawkshead GS in 1781, Gray’s Inn 1782, Downing professor of law 1788-1823, chief justice Isle of Ely 1800 (Gunning recorded that he ‘died in the full vigour of his incapacity’ (Venn)), nonetheless he was largely responsible for negotiating the rights of every copyrighted work for the university, marr Mary Walmsley of Castlemere, Rochdale, dsp; Burke’s Landed Gentry; Venn Alumni

Christian, Ewan (1718-1752), eldest son of above, born 28 July and bapt at Dearham, 3 August 1718, acted when his father was ill as steward of Egremont manor court in 1743, died unm and buried at Dearham, 16 August 1752

Christian, Ewan (1814-1895; ODNB), architect, son of Joseph Christian, born London, articled to Matthew Habershon, set up for himself in 1841, designed 90 new churches, involved in the restoration of Carlisle cathedral and Southwell Minster, his magnum opus is the National Portrait Gallery, London, president RIBA 1884-6; Burke’s Landed Gentry;; Dictionary of Scottish Architects

Christian, Fletcher (1764-c.1793; ODNB), mutineer, born at Moorland Close, near Cockermouth, 25 September 1764, 7th of ten children of Charles Christian (1729-1768), merchant, and Ann Dixon (1730-1820), educ Brigham parish school, Cockermouth Free Grammar School and St Bees School (c.1777-1779), joined Royal Navy, promoted acting lieutenant in March 1788, led mutiny on the Bounty on 28 April 1789, eventually sought refuge on Pitcairn Island, where ship was sunk, had three children by Tahitian wife, Mauatua (Isabella, d.1841), probably killed in outbreak of violence between mutineers and islanders about October 1793, the tradition that he survived and returned to Cumberland is probably wishful thinking

Christian, Harry, VC, from Ulverston

Christian, Henry Taubman (1810-1859), 18th of Milntown, born at Ewanrigg Hall, near Dearham, 29 January 1810, 2nd son of John Christian (qv) and yr brother of John Allen Christian (born 28 February 1809, died 3 June 1828), educ Sedbergh School (entd with his brother in January 1822, aged 11, but left in June), succ to father’s estate in February 1857, but died in 1859 (SSR, 174)

Christian, Humphrey (1720-1773), clergyman, vicar of Docking, Norfolk, 3rd son of John Christian of Ewanrigg by his wife Bridget Senhouse, dau of Humphrey Senhouse, his son Edward was the vicar of Workington and a cousin of Fletcher Christian (qv), he was left the 3000 acre Docking estate by a relative provided he adopted the name of Hare, this he did and he rebuilt Docking Hall to the designs of Ewan Christian; another Christian was the Chief Justice of the Isle of Ely ; Illus London News 7 June 1856 p.618

Christian, John (1688-1745), agent for Duke of Somerset till his death in 1745, steward of Egremont manor court from 1723, born 14 May 1688 at Dearham, 3rd son of Ewan Christian (1651-1719), of Dearham, marr (14 May 1717) Bridget (buried at Dearham, 27 September 1749), eldest dau of Humphrey Senhouse, of Netherhall, 7 sons and 4 daus, buried at Dearham, 25 September 1745 (CW2, iv, 223; xvii, 50)

Christian, John (c.1710-after 1766), married Bridget Senhouse, grandfather of Fletcher Christian, owned Norham House, Main St., Cockermouth from 1745-1766.

Christian, John, of  London, assumed nom de plume of Jack Todd, authority on dialect of Whitehaven and its vicinity in his contributions to local press

Christian, John (1756-1828), MP, 16th of Milntown and later of Workington Hall, see Curwen, John Christian

Christian, John (1776-1852), JP, MHK, MA, 17th of Milntown, barrister and deemster, only son of John Christian (later Curwen) (qv) by his first wife Margaret Taubman, educ Cambridge (MA), succ to Ewanrigg and Milntown, marr, 3 sons (John Allen, Henry Taubman (qv) and William Bell (qv))

Christian, Mary (1722-1762), of Unerigg, relative of Fletcher Christian, wife of Bishop Edmund Law q.v., buried Little St Mary’s, Cambridge

Christopherson, John (d.1558), fellow of St John’s Cambridge, chaplain of Queen Mary, translated Eusebius bishop of Chichester 1557, died in prison

Christopherson, William (16xx-17xx), son of Alexander Christopherson, of Lowick and Grace, marr Jennet (b 1673), dau of Christopher Redman (qv), of Kendal, son (Christopher, bapt at Kendal, 27 September 1702)

Churchill, Clementine [nee Hozier] (1885-1977; ODNB), wife of Winston S. Churchill (qv), launched the aircraft carrier HMS Indomitable at Barrow on 26 March 1940, WSC was with her as First Sea Lord; Sonia Purnell, Life of Clementine; Les Shore, Redshaw biography, 2011, 29-30

Churchill, Winston Spencer [1874-1965; ODNB], as First Sea Lord, attended the launch by his wife Clementine (qv) of HMS Indomitable at Barrow in 1940, the year he became PM in May 1940; his nanny Elizabeth Everest (qv), and his valet Frank Sawyers (qv), both had Cumbrian links

Churchyard, Thomas (1798-1865), solicitor, prolific artist and collector, of Woodbridge, Suffolk, believed to have gone sketching with John Constable (  ), friend of Edward Fitzgerald and Bernard Barton (qqv), the trio being dubbed ‘The Wits of Woodbridge’, visitor to the Lakes, probably stayed at Mirehouse, his oil painting Lyulph’s Tower is at Abbot Hall (Lyulph qv), he bought and sold paintings apart from his own work and his collection included work by Constable, Gainsborough and Croome; Wallace Morfey, Painting the Day, 1986, Sally Kibble, The Artist’s Daughter, 2009;

Clapham, Richard (fl.early 20thc.), writer on sporting subjects, Foxhunting on the Lakeland Fells, 1920, The Book of the Otter, Sport on the Fell, Beck and Tarn, Rough Shooting for the Man of Moderate Means, etc

Clark, Mr, drowned in Leathes Water at a point now called Clark’s Leap, Roger Bingham, Memories of South Lakes, 79

Clark, Arthur Bromfield (18xx-1912), local councillor, Cumberland County Councillor, Commissioner for Income Tax, rep Aspatria on Wigton board of guardians and chairman of finance committee, chairman of Aspatria Gas and Light Company, director of local savings bank and public hall company, governor of Nelson School, Wigton, vicar’s warden and lay rep to Ruridecanal Conferences, member of CWAAS from 1892 and keen attender at meetings, of Prospect House, Aspatria, died 22 December 1912 (CW2, xiii, 422)

Clark, Cumberland (d.1941), poet who produced  quantities of doggerel, died in a German air raid upon Bournemouth

Clark, Daniel (1813-1880), iron and brass founder, m. Ann (1809-1869), worked for Thomas Burgess (d.1849) and took over his business, leased from 1871 the Waterloo Foundry in St Nicholas, Carlisle, among other things he made and sold Brown’s Wigton Mower and Reaper, as a sanitary engineer he patented a gully trap to reduce ‘stench filled gullies’, huge monument Carlisle cemetery Grade II listed; mss in Carlisle CRO DB85 include staff records

Clark, Douglas (1891-1951) MM, rugby league player and wrestler, b. Maryport; bust in Maryport Maritime Museum;

Clark, Ewan (1734-1811), poet, born at Wigton in 1734, 3rd son of Wilfrid Clark (qv), of Standingstone, Wigton

Clark, Samuel Thomas (1862-1935), confectioner, son of John Noble Clark (1831-1873) and Betty Nicholson, marr Mary A Bateman, four children, in 1919 he bought the mint cake receipe, the firm later established George Romney’s Kendal mint cake in 1936, this was used on the Everest expedition by Edmund Hillary (qv)

Clark, Thomas James (18xx-18xx), MA, clergyman, collated to Penrith by bishop Percy in 1841, promoted to Horncastle, Lincs in 1845

Clark, Wilfrid (17xx-1802), MA, clergyman, eldest son of Wilfrid Clark (1695-1777), (son of John Clark (d.1734), of Standingstone, Wigton, who was a subscriber to The History & Antiquities of the Cathedral Church of Canterbury by Revd J Dart, London, 1726), and his wife, Jane Christian (1695-1760), of Milntown and Unerigg, educ Oxford University (MA), vicar of Wigton 1763-1802, marr, son (Wilfrid, qv)

Clark, Revd Wilfrid (1766-1825), MA, clergyman, son of Revd Wilfrid Clark (qv), educ Cambridge University (MA), succ father as Vicar of Wigton 1802-1804

Clark, William (1716-1763), clockmaker of Kendal; (CW2, xcii, 135-160)

Clarke, E L (18/9xx-19xx), MA, education officer, Director of Education, Westmorland in 1950s, painter in oils, member of Kendal Art Society from 1956, resigned in 1983, vice-chairman in 1960s, of 1 West Bank, Queen’s Road, Kendal, later of The Orchard, Natland

Clarke, Revd Henry (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, Vicar of Low Wray 1886-1895, retired to The Cote, Torquay (1914) (memorial window in north of nave in St Margaret’s, Low Wray)

Clarke, Henry Lowther (1850-19xx), MA, DD, DCL, clergyman, archbishop of Melbourne, born at Firbank, 23 November 1850 and bapt there, 19 December, elder son of Revd William Clarke (qv) and er brother of Revd Joseph J Clarke (qv), educ St John’s College, Cambridge (Scholar, BA (7th Wrangler) 1874, MA 1877), MA Durham 1886, d 1874 and p 1875 (York), curate of St John, Kingston-upon-Hull 1874-1876, vicar of Hedon 1876-1883v, asst master of St Peter’s School, York 1883-1884, vicar of St Martin, York 1884-1890, chaplain of North Riding Asylum 1885-1890, vicar of Dewsbury 1890-1901, rural dean of Dewsbury 1898-1901, hon canon of Wakefield Cathedral 1893-1902, vicar of Huddersfield 1901-1903, rural dean of Huddersfield 1901-1903, proc in conv 1902-1903, consecrated first archbishop of Melbourne, Australia, in St Paul’s Cathedral on 1 November 1902, also metropolitan of Province of Victoria from 1905 until 1920, also founder of Firbank C of E Girls’ Grammar School at Brighton, Melbourne in 1909 (memorial brass plaque on south wall of Firbank church, together with separate plaque presented by students and staff of school who visited church in school’s centenary year in 2009) (file in CRO, WPR 32)

Clarke, James (1744-1792), surveyor, inn proprietor and radical freemason, of Penrith, published A Survey and Description of the Lakes of Cumberland and Westmorland and Lancashire, 1787, with second edition in 1789, inc plans of lakes, embroidering various legends, but his single text promoting improvement of land and people was at odds with needs and sensibilities of picturesque tourists also his customers (FLD, 20-22); Bicknell, The Picturesque Scenery of the Lake District, 45 [same ODNB ?]

Clarke, Joseph James (1855-1936), MA, clergyman, born at Selside, 27 June 1855 and bapt there, 13 September, yr son of Revd William Clarke (qv), educ Corpus Christi College, Cambridge (late Foundation Scholar, BA 1878, MA 1894), d 1881 and p 1882 (Manch), curate of St Paul, Preston 1881-1883, Roughton, Norfolk 1884-1885, and Higham, Kent 1886, vicar of Selside from 1887, last entry in Nov 1924, (his mother Sarah buried from vicarage at Selside, 14 March 1896, by his brother, Revd H L Clarke, qv), died in nursing home at Carlisle, 15 June 1936, aged 80 (CW2, xxxvi, 243)

Clarke, Martha (1811-16 Feb 1898)  Daughter of the Rev Robert Clarke MA (1778-1824) (and his wife Martha Shaftoe) of Walwick Hall and Hexham House (N) who was the lecturer at Hexham Abbey from 1821-1824.  She was the granddaughter of the Rev Slaughter Clarke (1741-1820) of Hexham, where the family have tombs in the crypt and hatchments in the nave. She moved with her sister Honoria (1814-1882) to Newbiggin Hall, then owned by the Dean and Chapter of Carlisle.  Honoria has a plaque at Upperby church, where Martha was a benefactress, contributing to the restoration of the church and donating an organ (still in use) in memory of her sister.  On her death she made various charitable bequests.  Carlisle Journal 25 Feb 1898

Clarke, Samuel Thomas (18xx-19xx), confectioner and tobacconist, wholesaler from 1918, original recipe for mint cake purchased and manufacture began a year or two before company (now George Romney Ltd) was formed in 1930, also Kendal Tobacco Co Ltd, of 53 Highgate, Kendal (1929)

Clarke, Thomas (c.1816-1893), clergyman, educ Queens’ College, Cambridge (BA 1846), d 1846, p 1847 (Chester), curate of Bacup 1846-1848, St Mary, Sheffield 1848-1850, St George, Sheffield 1850-1854, and St George, Bloomsbury 1854-1856, rector of Ormside 1856-1xxx, made copy of entries in baptism and burial registers between 1850 and 1871, made agreement (as sole manager of Ormside National School) with Ormside School Board for transfer of premises, 26 July 1876, author (with others) of Specimens of the Dialects of Westmorland (Kendal, 1885) (copy in CRO, WPR 2/6/3), marr Annie Elizabeth (buried at Ormside, 28 October 1886, aged 50), died at Ormside Rectory, aged 77, and buried in churchyard, 21 May 1893

Clarke, Vernon Douglas (1918-2009), clergyman, born in Hull, 7 June 1918, son of Henry Douglas Clarke, educ Hymers College, Hull, and Jesus College, Cambridge (following his father (1906), read history and theology, but interrupted by war service as gunner with 10th Light Training AA Regt of RA, BA 1948, MA 1950), and Bishops’ College, Cheshunt 1947, d 1949, p 1950 (Southwell), Curate of Bulwell, Notts 1949-1951 and Ambleside 1951-1954, Vicar of Aspatria 1954-1963, Holy Trinity, Millom 1963-1971, and Cockermouth 1971-1974, Chaplain in Spain and Commiss, Fulham and Gibraltar 1975, Priest-in-Charge of Kirkland 1975-1983 and of Great Salkeld 1979-1980, and Curate of Great Salkeld with Lazonby 1980-1983, retired 1983 to Birchfield, Great Salkeld, closely involved in community as well as church activities, opened new children’s playground in Great Salkeld at end of 2008, keen radio ham, marr (1944) Cicely Mary (d.2006), 2nd dau of Clement Fisher Fletcher (1876-1965), TD, JP, of Atherton Hall, near Bolton (who was yr son of Ralph Fletcher (1842-1916), of Crow How, Ambleside), no issue, died 18 February 2009, aged 90, service of thanksgiving at St Cuthbert’s, Great Salkeld, 9 March 2009

Clarke, William (1804-1868), MA, clergyman, born at Strickland Kettle, 26 November 1804, educ Sedbergh School (entered ), and St John’s College, Cambridge (BA, Sen Opt 1829, MA), incumbent of Firbank 1849-1868, marr Sarah (latterly of Selside vicarage, buried at Selside, 14 March 1896, aged 82), 2 sons (Henry Lowther (qv) and Joseph James (qv)) and 1 dau (Mary Isabella (born 13 September 1852 and bapt 10 October), poss author of My Daily Round (18xx), died 11 August 1868, but not buried at Firbank (SSR, 174)

Clarkson, Thomas (1760-1846; ODNB), slavery abolitionist, bought small estate at Eusemere on Ullswater for £1,000 in 1795/6 to recuperate after campaigning when health declined, built a house there, marr (1796) Catherine Buck (1772-1856), of Bury St Edmunds, a close friend of Dorothy Wordsworth, 1 son (Thomas), sold Eusemere in 1804, author of A Portraiture of Quakerism, inc chapter on Quaker dedication to the poor (read by Wordsworth in 1806), sonnet addressed to him by WW in 1807 (‘Clarkson! It was an obstinate hill to climb’), returned to live at BSE from 1806 until 1816 when they moved to Playford Hall, near Ipswich, from where he wrote to Dilworth Crewdson at Kendal concerning slave trade, Brougham and Westmorland election, and support of Lord Lonsdale in Parliament, 19 February 1818 and asking favour to mention his son in training to be a barrister (at 2 Lamb Building, Temple) to local solicitors, 8 December 1820 (letters in CRO, WD/Cr/4/180 and 213), died at Playford Hall, 26 September 1846, and buried at St Mary’s church, Playford, 2 October; memorial Ullswater, Hyde and Pevsner, 580; main speaker in Haydon’s painting of the 1840 Anti-Slavery Convention; statue with leg irons in Wisbech, his birthplace; qv George Head, also appears in the Haydon painting

Clavering, Thomas (1830-1890), RC priest, of an old Northumbrian family, priest at Carlisle and Cockermouth

Clavering, Thomas Charles (c.1830-1904), Roman Catholic priest, member of old Northumberland family, ordained in 1856, served as priest in Carlisle until 1858 when he moved to Long Horsley, Morpeth, Northumberland, returned to Cumberland in 1884 as priest at Cockermouth RC church until 1899, when he retired to St Joseph’s Home, Botcherby, Carlisle, where he died in 1904, aged 74

Claxton, Ecroyde, surgeon, son of John Claxton (d.1812), surgeon of Kendal, surgeon on slave ships Young Hero (1788), The Mary (1794) and Speedwell (1795), gave evidence at the House of Commons committee on abolition but seems to have carried on working on slavers, brothers Charles and Caleb also slave ship surgeons; CW3 ix 153; database of 1000 slave ship surgeons, university of Wellington, New Zealand

Claxton, John (17xx-1812), surgeon and apothecary, of Market Place, Kendal, marr (1769) dau (died in Liverpool in 1810) of John Ecroyde (qv) and Mary, 2nd dau of Dr Caleb Rotheram (qv), 4 sons (Ecroyde (bapt 14 December 1769), Charles (bapt 1 June 1773), Caleb (bapt 19 January 1775), John (bapt 10 April 1777)) and 3 daus (Jane (bapt 10 September 1771, buried 12 June 1777), Mary (bapt 10 May 1778, buried 22 November 1779), Elizabeth (bapt 30 January 1780) all at Market Place chapel), surgeon to Kendal Dispensary 1804, died and buried in chapel yard, 3 June 1812 (ONK, 317, 462~485)

Clay, Beryl Margaret (d.1963), artist, granddaughter of John Harden q.v., member of the Lake Artists

Clay, John Harden (1848-1923), MA, clergyman, son of Revd John Clay of Miller Bridge, Ambleside, and Mrs Clay, dau of John Harden of Brathay Hall, educ Repton and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1872, MA 1874), d 1872 and p 1873 (Cant), curate of All Saints, Maidstone 1872-1875, vicar of All Saints, Child’s Hill, Hendon, Middlesex 1875-1893, rector of St Michael’s, Tyndall’s Park, Bristol 1893-1918, hon canon of Bristol 1913-1918, retired to Ambleside 1918, elected member of CWAAS 1919, marr (18xx) Alice Spencer (nee Bagnold), 12 children (incl Rotha Mary, qv), died at Miller Bridge, 31 October 1923 (CW2, xxiv, 380)

Clay, John William (1838-1918), JP, FSA, genealogist and historian, eldest son of Joseph Travis Clay (qv), marr Alice, dau of Col Henry Pilleau, RAMC, artist, 2 sons [yr son, Sir Charles Travis Clay (1885-1978), CB, FBA, FSA, FRHistS (ODNB)], author of The Extinct and Dormant Peerages of the Northern Counties of England (1913), died at Rastrick House, Brighouse, West Riding Yorks, 2 October 1918, aged 80 (YAJ, xxv (1920), 124-126)

Clay, Joseph Travis (1804-1892), son of – Clay, marr (1834) Jane, dau of Isaac Whitwell (qv), of Kendal, issue, lived at Croft Lodge, Clappersgate 1845-49, one of first directors of Kendal & Windermere Railway resigned August 1846

Clay, Phillis (fl.1925-1947), sculptor, Grasmere, Ophelia Gordon Bell qv modelled her head; online sculpture project Glasgow university

Clay, Rotha Mary (1878-1961; ODNB), FRHistS, historian and social worker, born at the vicarage, Child’s Hill, Hendon, Middlesex, 17 September 1878, dau and one of twelve children of Revd John Harden Clay (qv), named after River Rothay at Ambleside (which she liked to visit as an adult), moved with family to Bristol in 1893, educ private and informal, but for a single year as pupil at Queen’s College, London from Michaelmas 1895, aided by a scholarship for children of Cambridge graduates, but did not proceed to university, developed research interest in medieval history, author of Medieval Hospitals of England (1909), Hermits and Anchorites of England (1914), Samuel Hieronymus Grimm of Burgdorf in Switzerland (1941), and Julius Caesar Ibbetson (1948), died at Ilex Cottage, High Street, Shirehampton, 1 March 1961

Cleasby, Sir Anthony (1804-1879; ODNB), QC, MA, judge, born 27 August 1804, yr son of Stephen Cleasby (qv), appointed a Baron of Court of Exchequer, 25 August 1868, admitted a sejeant on 2 November and knighted on 9 December, one of principal landowners in parish of Brough 1873, retired in October 1878 to live at Penoyre, near Brecon, where he died, 6 October 1879

Cleasby, Richard (1797-1847; ODNB), philologist, born at Craig House, Brough, 30 November 1797, eldest son of Stephen Cleasby (qv) and brother of Anthony Cleasby (qv), studied in Edinburgh and Germany, began work on Icelandic-Englis dictionary,  died of typhoid fever, 6 October 1847 and buried at St Peter’s, Copenhagen, dictionary completed by others and published in 1873

Cleasby, Stephen (17xx-1844), merchant, a Russia broker, of 11 Union Court, Broad Street, City of London, son of Stephen Cleasby, of Craighouse, Brough and Mary (buried at Brough, 31 July 1775), dau of – Wilson, of Warcop, marr (4 February 1797 at Stoke Newington) Mary (1768-1841), 2nd dau of George John, of Penzance, 2 sons (qv), obtained grant of arms 1823

Cleasby, Thomas Wood Ingram (1920-2009), MA, clergyman, born at Windermere, 27 March 1920, educ Sedbergh School and Magdalen College, Oxford (Exhibitioner, BA, MA 1947), served WW2 in North Africa, Italy and NW Europe (wounded and prisoner at Arnhem), Cuddesdon College 1947, d 1949 and p 1950 (Wakef), curate of Huddersfield 1949-1952, domestic chaplain to archbishop of York 1952-1956 (carried the cross of York at the coronation in 1953), chaplain of Nottingham University and curate of St Mary, Nottingham 1956-1963, vicar of Chesterfield 1963-1970, rector of Morton, Derby 1970-1978, archdeacon of Chesterfield and hon canon of Derby 1963-1978, dean of Chester 1978-1986, retired to Low Barth, Dent in 1986 and had perm to offic in Carlisle dio 1986 and Bradford dio 1987, president of Sedbergh and District History Society 1998-2008, organised Millennium Symposium in October 2000 and production of Dentdale 2000, helped organise survey of hill settlements in Howgills, archaeological dig at Crosedale, and limekiln survey and bridge survey of Sedbergh, Garsdale and Dent in 1990s, also keen bird watcher and recorder, joined Cumbria Wildlife Trust local support group committee, contributed to surveys by British Trust for Ornithology and Cumbria Bird Atlas, monitored breeding of local peregrine falcons, helped co-ordinate Sedbergh Red Squirrel Group, etc, did family history research (lost his notes in house fire in ??), marr 1st (1956) Olga Elizabeth Vibert Douglas (died at Chesterfield, 29 July 1967, aged 42, MI at Howgill), of Canada, 1 son (John) and 2 daus (Anne Douglas (died 11 July 1976, aged 18, MI at Howgill) and Sarah), marr 2nd (1970) Monica, 1 dau (Emma), died in March 2009, aged 88 (WG; SH, v, 6)

Cleathing, John (d.1766), secretary to the British consul at Leghorn, endowed a school at Bewcastle

Clegg, Herbert (19xx-1983), Secretary, CWAAS 1959-1971, died 27 May 1983

Clegg, John (1909-1998) b.Ormskirk, sqdr ldr 2nd WW, i/c photographic service Ceylon and Singapore, curator Haslemere museum until 1962, education officer RSPB Sandy, Beds, consultant to Frederick Warne, publisher, author of Freshwater Life (1952) and Ponds and Streams (1985), in retirement worked at Ferry House, Peter Scott award from the Council of British Naturalists, 1991, lived Carter’s Lane, Grange-over-Sands, trustee of Abbot Hall art gallery who supported Mary Burkett’s application as director, often lectured on Beatrix Potter via her link with Warne’s, obit in Queckett, J of Microbiology 1999, 30, 163, mss FBA GB986

Clement (sometimes Clemett) Joseph (bap.1779-1844; ODNB), engineer, bapt 13 June 1779 at Great Asby, son of Thomas Clemett, hand-loom weaver, and Sarah (nee Elliotson), became a skilled maker of scientific instruments and constructed the first large difference engine for Charles Babbage (1791-1871) in 1832, which was the precursor of the modern computer

Clerk, Sir John (1676/84?-1755; ODNB), Bt. of Penicuik, antiquary, advocate and patron, author of account of journey to Carlisle and Penrith in August 1731, visited his 2nd son George at Mr Wilkin’s school at Lowther, also Lowther Hall, Eden Hall, Ullswater, Penrith, and assize courts in Carlisle (CW2, lxi, 202-237; CW2 lxii 231; CW2 lxii 246)

Cleterne (later Cleator), Lady Isabel (fl.1338-1343), litigant, widow of Richard of Cleterne, abducted from her manor by Adam Culwen (Curwen) son of Gilbert de Culwen and others, taken to Aykhurst castle (unlocated today), held until released  by the power of the Lucys; SC8/39/1937; CW2 lxiv 135

Cliburn, Richard (1532-1588), imprisoned for his faith, involved with plots to free Mary Queen of Scots (qv), being ‘up to the very hilt in treason’ [O’Hart’s Irish and English Pedigrees], involved with Gerard Lowther MP in a riot between their servants; Hudleston ( C )

Clifford, Lady Anne (1590-1676; ODNB), landowner, restorer of castles and patron of literature, b Skipton, only child and heiress of George Clifford, 3rd earl of Cumberland (1558-1605) (qv) and his wife Margaret Russell (qv), dau of the 2nd earl of Bedford, had good tutors and musical education, John Donne admired her intellect and breadth of discourse, on her father’s death in 1605 his estate was inherited by her uncle, married Richard Sackville, the earl of Dorset in 1609, so became countess of Dorset, she then married Philip Herbert, so became the countess of Pembroke and Montgomery in 1630, involved in much controversy over many years as she tried to wrest back her patrimony, after the deaths of her uncle and cousin this she achieved in 1649 and she then as a widow and known as the countess of Dorset, Pembroke and Montgomery set about restoring her father’s castles of Skipton, Appleby, Brougham, Brough and Pendragon, as an indomitable octogenarian she died and was buried at St Lawerence, Appleby, several portraits survive and ‘The Great Picture’ (Abbot Hall art gallery), statue at Kirkby Stephen (2021), Lord Hothfield is a direct descendant; Richard T. Spence, biography 1997; Diaries ed. D.J.H. Clifford, 1990; Pevsner and Hyde, for her tomb CW1 viii 181; CW2 v 188 buried at St Lawrence, Appleby in a large tomb beside her mother, the Lady Anne Clifford pillar is at Brougham (David A Cross, Public Sculpture, xxiii)

Clifford, Francis, 4th earl of Cumberland (1559-1641; ODNB); CW2 xci 101

Clifford, George, 3rd earl of Cumberland (1558-1605; ODNB), a typical Renaissance man of learning and action, co founder of the East India Company, Elizabeth I’s champion, m.Margaret Russell (qv), father of Lady Anne Clifford (qv); Richard T. Spence, biography, 1995; several references in Shakespeare: ‘look where bloody Clifford comes…….’; fine miniature by Hilliard in elaborate champion’s armour; for his speech as Elizabeth’s champion at the tiltyard as the knight of Pendragon (Kendal CRO WD/Hoth/A988/6). Richard T Spence, George Clifford, 3rd Earl of Cumberland, 1995

Clifford, Henry, ‘the Shepherd Lord’, another name for the 10th baron Clifford (c.1454-1523), son of the 9th baron, he inherited the title on his father death when he was only five years old, legend has it that his father had killed a royal prince and his mother was anxious about a revenge attack, so she spirited him away to live in the country, his education was limited and he lived a pastoral life, hence the name ‘shepherd lord’; most modern scholars seem to reject the authenticity of the tale

Clifford, Henry, 10th Lord Clifford (d.1523; ODNB), re-established family in Westmorland after Bosworth in 1485 and continued practice of staying at Brough Castle, often more than passing visits, celebrated ‘a great Christmas’ there in 1521, after which a fire devastated whole castle, leaving it uninhabitable until Lady Anne Clifford took it in hand from 1659

Clifford, John de (c.1435-1461), 13th baron Clifford, fought at Wakefield, fell at Ferrybridge, attainted by the Yorkists

Clifford, Margaret (nee Russell), countess of Cumberland (1560-1616; ODNB), maid of honour to Elizabeth I, daughter of the 2nd earl of Bedford, wife of George Clifford (1558-1605) and mother of Lady Anne Clifford (1590-1676) (qqv), founded almshouse at Appleby and Beamsley hospital; her tomb and effigy is at St Lawrence, Appleby (CW1 viii 174); the Countess pillar, erected to her by Lady Anne, is at Brougham

Clifford, Robert (1273-1314), 5th baron Clifford, succeeded to Brougham castle in 1285, governor of Carlisle 1297, constant battles with the Scots, granted Skipton castle, favourite of Edward II, slain Bannockburn in 1314

Clifford, Roger de, built Brougham castle; CW1 p.67

Clifford, Roger, 9th baron Clifford (1333-1389), born 10 July 1333, made proof of age, 10 August 1354, served in Flanders and against the Spanish fleet, frequent warden of the western marches, governor of Carlisle 1377, marr Maud Beauchamp (died Jan or Feb 1402/3), dau of Thomas, Earl of Warwick, 2 sons and 3 daus, grantee of Kirkby Stephen market charter, 16 October 1353 (copy in CRO, WD/Hoth/34/3), died 13 July 1389, aged 56

Clifford, Thomas (d.1391), in attendance on Richard II, governor of Carlisle 1386, banished by the barons in 1388, slain Germany 1391

Clifford, Thomas (1414-1455), attended Bedford in France, raised troops against the Scots 1435, summioned to Parliament 1436, called on during the relief of Calais 1452 and 1354, slain St Albans 1455

Clinton, Edward, otherwise Fiennes, lord Clinton and earl of Lincoln (1512-1585), granted nine messuages in Clarethorpe in Burton (formerly St Mary’s York), one in Dribecke and ‘house, tenement and garden called Le Ankeres by Kendal in Kendall’(formerly St Leonard’s York) by letters patent of 3 May 7 Edw VI [1553] and exemplified at request of Alan Bellingham on 13 December 2 & 3 Philip & Mary [1555] (Levens deeds register, p.36 in RK, ii, 285), created earl of Lincoln, 4 May 1572, died 16 January 1585

Close, Very Revd Francis (1797-1882; ODNB), DD, MA, Dean of Carlisle, born at Corston, near Bath, 11 July 1797, yst of four sons and five daus of Revd Henry Close (1753-1806) and his wife Mary, nee Waring (1754-1843), educ Midhurst Grammar School 1806-1808, Merchant Taylors’ School 1808-1812 and St John’s College, Cambridge (BA 1820, MA 1824), marr 1st (1820) Anne Diana Arden (1791-1877), five sons and four daus (inc Agnes, qv sub Kentish), marr 2nd (22 December 1880) Mary Antrim Hodgson (1806-1899), dau of John Mabanke and widow of David Hodgson, one of founders of Church of England Education Society in 1853, Perpetual Curate of Cheltenham 1826-1856 (Dean Close Memorial School, Cheltenham opened in 1886), Lambeth DD 1856, Dean of Carlisle 1856-1881, resigned in August 1881 and settled at Morrab House, Penzance, where he died of heart failure, 18 December 1882, aged 85, and buried in Carlisle cemetery (marble effigy in Carlisle Cathedral erected in 1885); David A. Cross, Public Sculpture

Close, John (1766-1856), poet, d. Kirkby Stephen; Irvine Hunt, Fenty’s Album, 68-9

Close, ‘Poet’ John (1816-1891; ODNB), printer and writer of doggerel, born in Swaledale in 1816, published his The Book of Chronicles or Winter Evening Tales of Westmorland (1842), became a printer in Kirkby Stephen in 1846, advert for Mrs Close’s at Poet’s Hall for finest tea in Kirkby Stephen, friend of Moses Bowness (qv), set up his bookstall near steamer pier at Bowness-on-Windermere each summer, abusing all passers by who did not stop to buy any of his works, issued a Grand Christmas Book of his verses and letters each year, with ‘The Wondrous Story of a Poet’s Life’, obtained civil list pension of £50 in April 1860, but this was soon withdrawn after ridicule in Punch, but he received £100 compensation, with attendant publicity prompting more visitors to his bookstall, great publicist, sent unsolicited copies of his books to members of high society up to Queen Victoria, his bookstall moved away from waterfront and set up in a yard by local authority in August 1879, died 15 February 1891 and buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery (FA, 68-69); box file Kirkby Stephen library

Close, Nicholas (d.1452; ODNB), bishop of Carlisle, Coventry and Lichfield, probably of a Westmorland family, son of Cloos or Close the surveyor or architect who built the remarkable chapel for Kings College Cambridge, the chapel being completed in 1515, became an original fellow of Kings in 1433, commissioner to Scotland, archdeacon of Colchester, bishop of Carlisle and then of the joint see of Coventry and Lichfield

Close, William (1775-1813), surgeon, apothecary, antiquary, musician and inventor, born at Field Broughton, his father a farmer, the family moved to Walney c.1780, educated Walney school on the Promenade, apprenticed to Roger Parkinson a surgeon of Burton in Kendal, attended lectures at Edinburgh university in anatomy, surgery and midwifery, one of his lecturers was Alexander Munro II (1732-1817), diploma in medicine 1797, began practice in Dalton-in-Furness, his practice extended from Ireleth to the south end of Walney (a distance of ten miles), introduced local vaccination for smallpox in 1799 only a year after Dr Jenner, marr Isabel Charnock in 1803, son John (1805) and daughter Jane (1806), as a musician he improved the trumpet, french horn and bugle, secured a patent for pistons on the cornet, invented a polyphonic trumpet, keen local antiquary and topographer, compiled an itinerary of Furness and Environs (1805-1813; ms in MCL), in 1805 he published a further edition of Father Thomas West’s Antiquities of Furness which has extensive additional pages, died of tuberculosis on 17 June 1813 at his home at 2, Castle St, Dalton, carried by 8 bearers he was interred nine feet down beneath his favourite ash tree at Walney Chapel burial ground in an unmarked grave, a plaque was unveiled on his former home; Alice Leach (qv) notes c.2000 Harper Gaythorpe, Barrow Field Naturalists offprint, Barrow library

Cloudsley, William of, 14thc archer in Inglewood Forest, a Cumbrian Robin Hood; Francis James Child, English and Scottish Popular Ballads, no 116, 1904

Clough, Anne Jemima (1820-1892; ODNB), college principal, born in Liverpool, only dau of James Butler Clough, cotton merchant, started school in Ambleside 1852, one of her pupils was Mary Arnold, later Mrs Humphrey Ward (qv), presented evidence to the Taunton Commission in 1864 re girls’ education, a suffragist, her efforts with others led to the foundation of Newnham College Cambridge of which she was eventually the first principal, ran for 10 years (TOA, 12), when of Eller How, Ambleside, with her mother living with her until her death in 1860, and brother of poet, Arthur Hugh Clough. Gillian Sutherland, Faith Duty and the Power of Mind: The Cloughs and Their Circle, 2006

Clough, Annette Dorothea (formerly Sumsion, nee Wilson) (1930-2017), JP, dau of H C Wilson (qv), of Kendal, and sister of Tessa Wilson, marr 1st (19xx) John Sumsion, son of Herbert Sumsion (1899-1895; ODNB) Gloucester cathedral organist, marr 2nd (19xx) XX Clough, 2 sons (Chris and Mike) and 2 daus (Bridget and Kate), of Gandy Street and Greenside, Kendal, died at Cartmel Grange Nursing Home, 5 February 2017, aged 86, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 14 February (WG, 09.02.2017)

Clough, Arthur Hugh (1819-1861; ODNB), poet, friend of Arnold family and visitor to Lake District, born in Liverpool, son of James Butler Clough (died 19 October 1844), who had left Derbyshire for Liverpool as a cotton merchant, and his wife (marr 1816) Anne (died at Eller How, Ambleside, 12 June 1860, aged 65, and buried at Grasmere, 19 June (WCN, i, 217)), dau of John Perfect, banker, of Pontefract, Yorkshire, had two brothers (yr George died of yellow fever in Charleston, USA, in November 1843, aged 22) and sister (Anne Jemima, qv), marr (12 June 1854) Blanche Smith, cousin of Florence Nightingale, Fellow of Oriel College, Oxford, buried in Swiss cemetery at Florence, where he died 13 November 1861, aged 42; his cenotaph at Grasmere bears four lines of Tennyson’s ‘In Memoriam’, his sister and daughter wre both principals of Newnham College; Anthony Kemp, A Poet’s Life, 2009. Gillian Sutherland, Faith Duty and the Power of Mind: The Cloughs and Their Circle, 2006

Clough, Clym of, 14thc archer in Inglewood Forest, a Cumbrian Robin Hood; Francis James Child, English and Scottish Popular Ballads, no 116, 1904

Clouston, Augusta Maud (b.1871), dau of Sir Thomas Clouston (qv), born Carlisle, marr Sir David Wallace (1862-1852), surgeon of Edinburgh

Clouston, Joseph Storer [1870-1944], historian and author, born Carlisle

Clowes, William (1780-1851; ODNB), Methodist preacher and a founder of Primitive Methodism, born at Burslem, Staffordshire, 12 March 1780, son of Samuel Clowes, potter, and Ann, dau of Aaron Wedgwood, worked as a potter and led a dissipated life until converted at a prayer meeting on 20 January 1805,  became one of founders of Primitive Methodist Connexion with Hugh and James Bourne (leaders of the Camp Meeting Methodists) and James Crawfoot as from 14 March 1810, became confident and forceful preacher, esp in northern counties, visited Hull in 1819, which became a stronghold of Primitive Methodism and a springboard for rapid advance into North-east and Cumberland, spearheaded by Clowes in years up to 1824, first entered Cumberland, preaching at Brampton on 1 November 1822, going on to Carlisle and staying for three months helping John Boothman (qv) to establish PM work in city, some 55 members in society, then to Penrith preaching several times before returning to Hull, visited Carlisle again in summer of 1823 on his way to Whitehaven to open a new mission, called back to Hull at end of August but returned to Whitehaven on 28 September, went on to Kendal to open chapel on 19 October before going north to Cockermouth via Penrith, then on to Workington, Egremont and Cleator before moving to Carlisle again, and back to Whitehaven, which he left on 2 January 1824 to return to Hull via Manchester and Leeds, died in Hull, 2 March 1851, and buried there (CWHS, 68, Autumn 2011, 6-12); his  Journal published 1844

Clybborne, John, the plea of; CW2 lxiii 178; Jackson W. Armstrong, England’s Northern Frontier, 2020, chapter 9

Cobbe, Frances Power (1822-1904), women’s rights campaigner, anti-vivisectionist, descendant of archbishop Charles Cobbe (1686-1765), visited Keswick in 1890 and met the Rawnsleys (qqv), HDR visited her at her home in Dolgellau in Wales several times (he wrote sonnets to her cypress trees, she suggested to HDR that Charles Gough (qv; DCB) deserved a monument, he became a trustee of her library after her death), her publications included The Pursuits of Women (1863) and The Scientific Spirit of the Age (1888), she appears on the Reformers Memorial Kensal Green and on the plinth of Millicent Fawcett’s statue in Parliament Square; Rawnsley, HDR biography 2022, 176-7 and 353

Cochrane, Ian L (c.1924-2011), MA, teacher, born in Selby, East Riding, Yorkshire, educ Silcoates School and Oxford University, fluent in French and German, served WW2 with RAF, spent two years working in Hamburg, teacher of modern languages in London and Sheffield before moving to Kendal in 1965 as Headmaster of Kendal Grammar School for fifteen years until it became a comprehensive, Kirkbie Kendal, in 1980, keen sportsman as rugby referee and all-round cricketer, supporter of Yorkshire County Cricket Club, played golf and tennis in retirement, also walked in Lake District and Scottish hills, marr 1st Joan (died of cancer), 2 sons (Simon and Matthew) and 1 dau (Nicola), marr 2nd Gillian, died in Westmorland General Hospital, Kendal, 2 October 2011, aged 87, with service of thanksgiving at United Reformed Church, Kendal, 21 October

Cochrane, James Lang (18xx-19xx), MC, MB, BS, JP, medical practitioner and local councillor, qual physician and surgeon Glasgow, served WWI (awarded MC), came to Kendal about 1920, of 116 Stricklandgate/ Maude Street, Kendal, originally held three surgeries every day and two on Sundays, later Sundays by appointment, but still three on Saturdays, later reducing to just a morning surgery, Alderman of Westmorland County Council, JP; practice at Maude Street and Helme Chase later known as the James Cochrane Practice, marr, dau (Dr Sheila Cochrane)

Cock, Revd Edwin Henry, see Cox

Cock(e), James (fl.17thc.), mercer, elected burgess, chamberlain 1622, Alderman 1624-25 (when King Charles was proclaimed), mayor of Kendal 1653-54 (sworn 2 October 1653), gave lantern clock to be held by each mayor of Kendal successively (later part of William Todhunter’s Museum collection), sworn a mercer freeman, 16 April 1646, had number of apprentices (BoR), late of Birkhagg, Kendal

Cock(e), James, junior, mercer, sworn freeman 1655, Mayor of Kendal 1681-82, sworn 21 July 1659 (BoR, 21, 61)

Cock, James (c.1710-1786), clergyman, died at Kirkby Lonsdale, 8 August 1786, aged 76, and buried in churchyard, 10 August (papers in case of Atkinson v. Smith and others re his will in CRO, WD/Big/1/143)

Cockerham, John, abbot of Furness, built Piel castle c.1327 to enable his servants to supervise trade in the harbour and to protect aginst the Scots, it had a keep, an inner and outer bailey; license to crenellate given by Edward III

Cockerham, Abbot John (early 14thc.), of Furness, met Robert the Bruce q.v. to discuss the terms of peace and paid a large ransome in 1322, that his lands in Furness would not be raided

Cockill, William Baron (1864-19xx), MD, DPH, MRCS, LRCP, JP, Medical Officer of Health for Westmorland Combined Districts, also for Borough of Kendal (to 1945) and Certifying Surgeon, of 17 Lowther Street, Kendal, hon anaesthetist to Memorial Hospital, Capt comdg Lancaster & Border Bearer Co, RAMC (Volunteers) (1906), admitted Honorary Freeman of Borough of Kendal on 9 October 1945, owned one of first motor cars in Kendal (a DeDion Bouton in 1905), with Jimmy (James William) Atkins as his driver, of Lindum Holme, Stricklandgate, Kendal

Cockin, William (1736-1801; ODNB), schoolmaster, poet and natural philosopher, baptised at Burton-in-Kendal, 6 September 1736, son of Marmaduke Cockin [1712-1754], writing master, and Elizabeth Crossfield [1716-1770], Marmaduke was baptised at Whittington in Lonsdale on 21 April 1700, descended there from several Marmadukes back to 1565, married 1735, soon finding himself in straightened circumstances, he suffered a removal order from Burton-in-Kendal to Priest Hutton, Lancs, with the 3 year old William, 29 March 1740 [CRO below], William somehow attended a good school, taught in London schools, appointed writing master and accountant at Lancaster Grammar School in 1764, assisted Father Thomas West qv in the compilation of his Guide to the Lakes (1778) and extended and published two further editions himself after West’s death, composed his Ode to the Genius of the Lakes (1780), accompanied by short local biographies of major figures from the lake counties, also urged the commemoration of famous Cumbrians by placing inscribed stones on the fells, his Ode reappears in his Rural Sabbath (1805), his description of a strange meteorological phenomenon was given as a paper at the Royal Society, lifetime friend of George Romney qv, successively Romney’s companion at Hampstead and his amanuensis at Kendal, eventually pre-deceased the artist in his house on Milnthorpe Road, 30 May 1801, and was buried at Burton, 2 June  [CRO Kendal WPR 10/7/4/2/15]; Cockin’s Ode and his intriguing list of worthies were a major stimulus at the inception of the Cumbrian Lives project, David A. Cross, A Striking Likeness, 2000; Forster tree 

Coco the Clown, see Nicholai Poliakovs

Cody (Cordery), ‘Col’ Sam Franklin (1867-1914), early aviator, first to fly a plane in UK in 1908, flew to Carlisle on the Daily Mail Circuit of Britain Air Race in 1911, this was of 1540 miles, this was held annually from 1911-1914, Lord Northcliffe put up prizes (the first was £10,000), to boost interest in and development of aircraft, Cody landed at the racecourse, died in testing his Cody Floatplane in 1914; Emmett and Templeton, A Century of Carlisle, photograph, 35-7

Cole, George William (18xx-1897), BA, clergyman, educ Downing College, Cambridge (Scholar, BA 1864), d 1866, p 1868 (Worc), curate of Redditch 1866-1869, Kirkby Lonsdale 1869-1873, St Mary’s, Ely 1873-1878, Witchford, Cambs 1878-1879, St Margaret, Dalton-in-Furness 1879-1881, vicar of Beetham 1881-1897, organising secretary, SPG for archdeaconries of Westmorland and Furness 1884-

Cole, Ray (19xx-2017), police officer and local councillor, joined Cumbria Police in November 1964, retired as inspector for Millom in February 1996, Millom Town councillor, Cumbria County Councillor, deputy leader of Conservative group, member of Cumbria Police Authority from June 2005 and chairman 2010 (until abolished on election of Police and Crime Commissioner in 20xx), elected for Newtown ward on Copeland Borough Council 2003-2011 and re-elected in May 2015, member of licensing, taxi and general licensing, overview and scrutiny committees and appeals panel, a director of South Copeland Tourism, died in April 2017, funeral on 20 April (CN, 14.04.2017; WN, 20.04.2017)

Cole, Thomas Clarke Butler- (1870-1952), JP, farmer and countryman, eldest son of Revd Thomas Foster Clarke (1841-1926), of Rostherne, Cheshire, educ Rossall School, marr (11 June 1901, at St Michael’s Church, Bootle) Eleanor, er dau of Robert Falcon, of Eskmeals House, Bootle, six children (eldest son, Michael Bernard Clarke-Butler-Cole), assumed additional surnames of Butler-Cole on inheriting properties of Kirkland Hall, Garstang and Beaumont Cote, Carnforth in 1915, JP for Cumberland and Lancashire, chairman of farm committee of Royal Albert Hospital, Lancaster, vice-chairman of Tunstall PCC and sidesman, skilled horseman and shot, owned a notable hound in ‘Thruster’, the champion trailer, member of CWAAS from 1910, when of Eskmeals, then farmed at Moresdale Hall, nr Kendal, from 1919 to 1925, lived at Burrow Cottage for 18 months, then at Beaumont Cote from 1927, and at The Knoll, Lancaster from 1932/3, before settling at Tunstall House in 1936, where he died on 11 February 1952 (CW2, li, 219-220)

Coleman, Ann Raney (1810-1897), diarist and pioneer in America, born at Whitehaven, 5 November 1810, dau of John Raney a banker, dealer and chapman who inherited several estates, enjoyed a privileged childhood, following her father’s bankruptcy in 1832 emigrated en famille to USA, the vessel attacked by pirates en route, lived in log cabins, marr  cotton planter John Thomas in 1833, he died, 2nd husband Mr Coleman dishonest and abusive, eventually divorced, married twice and endured numerous hardships and adventures including during hostilities between Texas and Mexico where she learned to make bullets, in the American Civil War on one occasion sheltered in a ditch with exploding shells on all sides, later kept schools, took into her household an escaped slave girl, several of her chidren died, she died in Cuero, Texas, March 1897 (her Journal published as Victorian Lady on the Texas Frontier, ed. C Richard King (1974), mss a Texan university

Coleridge, Christabel Rose (1842-1921), novelist and editor of girls’ magazines, daughter of Derwent Coleridge and granddaughter of ST Coleridge (qqv), conservative with regard to the role of women

Coleridge, (David) Hartley (1796-1849), biographer, teacher and writer, born in Oxford Street, Kingsdown, Bristol, 19 September 1796, er son of Samuel Taylor Coleridge (qv), Fellow of Oriel College, Oxford, apptd second master of Sedbergh School in place of Isaac Green (qv) for a time in 1837 and acted as Headmaster ad interim in 1838 between death of Henry Wilkinson on 31 March and arrival of J H Evans in August, of strange appearance (long swallow-tailed coat) and irregular habits but appreciated by older boys (see impressions of him from Revd Thomas Blackburn (1821-1859) in letter in preface to Derwent Coleridge’s Memoir of Hartley Coleridge), had a serious alcohol problem, author of The Worthies of Yorkshire and Lancashire; being the Lives of the most distinguished persons that have been born in, or connected with those provinces (1836), which was republished as Lives of Northern Worthies in a new edition edited by his brother (3 vols, 1852), died at Nab Cottage, Rydal, after falling into a ditch, 6 January 1849, and buried in Grasmere churchyard on 11 January (SSR, 31, 45); named after David Hartley [1705-1757; ODNB], whose Observation on Man influenced his father’s Biographia Borealis (1833)

Coleridge, Ernest Hartley (ODNB), son of Derwent Coleridge and granddaughter of ST Coleridge (qqv), edited many of his grandfather’s works

Coleridge, Derwent (1800-1883; ODNB), clergyman, writer and educationalist, yr son of Samuel Taylor Coleridge (qv), named after the lake at Keswick, ed locally by John Dawes (qv) and at St John’s College, Cambridge, married, daughter Christabel and son Ernest Hartley (qqv), teacher at Plymouth GS, priested 1826, headmaster Helston GS Cornwall, here he taught Charles Kingsley (1819-1875; ODNB) (Charles Darwin’s ‘Bulldog’ and author of Westward Ho !’), his final appointment was to the new St mark’s College, Chelsea from 1841-64, offered the living of Northolt by bishop Blomfield (qv) which he refused, then the living of Hanwell by archbishop Tait (qv) which he accepted in his 80th year, apart from the usual scholarly Latin, French and German, could read Arabic, Coptic,  Zulu and Hawaiian

Coleridge, Samuel Taylor (1772-1834; ODNB), poet, journalist, philosopher, son of the Rev John Coleridge [1718-1781] of Ottery St Mary, Devon, ed Christ’s Hospital and Jesus coll Camb, friend of Wordsworth, De Quincey, and Southey, marr Sara Fricker qv (1770-1845), 2 sons (David Hartley (qv) and Derwent) and 1 dau (Sara, qv), lived at Greta Hall, Keswick from 18xx, did 9-day walking tour (‘Circumcision’) of Lake District in August 1802, giving one of first written accounts of rock climbing, founded and wrote The Friend journal (24 issues), Rime of the Ancient Mariner, Xanadu, Christabel, split with WW after remarks of Basil Montagu, Biographia Literaria, died 25 July 1834; James Gillman, Life of Samuel Taylor Coleridge, collected letters ed Earl Leslie Griggs [1956-7], Molly Lefebure, A Bondage of Opium, 1974; Grevel Lindop, Keswick Characters vol.2

Coleridge, Sara (1802-1852; ODNB), writer and literary editor, born at Greta Hall, Keswick, 23 December 1802, only dau and yst of 3 children of Samuel Taylor Coleridge (qv), marr (3 September 1829) Henry Nelson Coleridge (1798-1843), her first cousin, and moved to London, living at 21 Downshire Hill, Downshire Place, Hampstead, 1 son (Herbert (1830-1861) (ODNB)), 1 dau (Edith (1832-1911)), and twins (Florence and Berkeley, who lived only a few days in January 1834), but also had three miscarriages between 1836 and 1839, died of breast cancer at her home, 10 Chester Place, London, 3 May 1852

Coles, Revd Thomas William (1901-1986), BSc, clergyman, educ University College, Durham (Scholar and Pemberton Exhibitioner, BSc 1928), Wycliffe Hall, Oxford 1928, d 1930, p 1931 (Carl), Curate of St Nicholas, Whitehaven 1930-1932, Curate-in-charge of Currock Conv Dist Carlisle 1932-1937, Minister 1937, Rector of Moresby 1937-1949, Vicar of Luddendenfoot, dio Wakefield 1949-1952, St George, Ovenden, Halifax 1952-1965, Grosmont, North Yorks 1965-1971 (with Egton from 1966, Curate-in-charge of Egton 1965-1966), retired to Burton-in-Kendal (61 St James Drive), died in Halifax, aged 84, and buried in Burton St James churchyard, 11 January 1986

Collett, Frederick Maurice (1923-2018), teacher and athlete, born at RAF Halton, Bucks, 19 January 1923, educ Bishopshalt School, Hillingdon, near Aldershot, excelling in athletics, competed in Middlesex schools championships, joined cross-country team at Aylesbury Grammar School, member of running squad at St Luke’s College, Exeter, while doing his teacher training during WW2, cycled from Exeter to his family at Blackpool, staying at youth hostels along the way, discovered Lake District and Yorkshire Pennines, marr (9 August 1944) Lorna Macpherson (died 16 May 2006) at Port Sunlight, 1 son (Paul) and 1 dau (Susan), member of Wirral AC and Blackpool and Fylde AC, moved to Brigsteer on getting teaching job at Natland Church school in September 1947, joined Lancaster Harriers and founded Kendal Athletics Club in 1949, member of Lakeland Youth Hostel Association committee and later of YHA national executive, finished second in first Lake District Mountain Trial organised by YHA in 1951, moved to Bahamas as head teacher at Tarpum Bay on island of Eleuthera for three years, returned to Kendal as mathematics teacher at Longlnds Boys School, retiring early to Skelsmergh in 1980, introduced to orienteering in 1964 and won men’s veteran title in 1973, started Kendal playing card sales in 1968, organised convention of collectors in Kendal after which International Playing Card Society was founded, one of carriers of Olympic torch in 2012, died 12 July 2018, aged 95, and cremated at Beetham Hall, 3 August (WG, 26.08.2018)

Collingwood, Alfred Henry (18xx-19xx), solicitor and town clerk, Town Clerk and Clerk of the Peace, Carlisle City Council, also clerk to education committee, to visiting justices in lunacy, and clerk and treasurer to Howe’s Charity, member of Law Society, offices at 15 Fisher Street, Carlisle, of 3 Alfred Street North, Carlisle (1901, 1906)

Collingwood, Barbara Crystal (1887-1961), sculptor, dau WG Collingwood (qv), (m. Oscar Gnosspelius qv), sculptor of war memorials; Marshall Hall, 17; Renouf, 72-3, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 165-6 and 198

Collingwood (Altounyan), Dora (1886-1964), artist, dau WG Collingwood (qv), m.Ernest HR Altounian (1890-1902) (qv), lived Aleppo, mother of the Altounian children (qqv) who inspired Arthur Ransome’s Swallows and Amazons; Marshall Hall, 17

Collingwood, Edith Mary (Dorrie) (nee Isaac) (1857-1928), artist, born 29 September 1857, dau of Thomas Isaac (1824-1898), corn merchant, of Maldon, Essex, and Sarah Prentice (1825-1896), marr (1883) W G Collingwood (qv), 1 son and 3 daus, trained in London, but spent 45 years working in Lake District after her marriage, influential force in revival of Lakeland art, established her national reputation with exhibition of her Portrait of a Lady at Royal Academy in 1901, followed by Blossom in 1902, also portraits of two of her four children (Robin in 1910 and Ursula in 1911),  joined Society of Miniaturists, sketches exhibited at Dickinson’s Galleries, New Bond Street, in 1907, landscape studies of Switzerland among other places won further recognition, commissioned to complete flower panels at Wallington Hall in Northumberland for Trevelyan family, but portraits and flower studies were her largest contribution in Lakes, executed in specially designed studio at Lanehead, exhibiting consistently in region at Coniston, Hawkshead, Grasmere, etc from 1885, one of first women to be elected to Lake Artists Society in 19xx and member of its council from 1913, died aged 70 and buried at Coniston, 26 May 1928 (LAR, 194-97)

Collingwood, George (16xx-16xx), marr Agnes, yr dau of John Fleming (qv) and coheiress of her brother William Fleming (qv), of Esslington, par Whittingham, Northumberland, articles of agreement with Sir Daniel Fleming concerning ownership of wainscot and lead from Rydal Hall, 4 April 1655 (CRO, WD/Ry/39/2/5); son or grandson of same name attainted and executed for joining Earl of Derwentwater in 1715 Rebellion (FiO, i, 10)

Collingwood, Robin George (1889-1943; ODNB), MA, FBA, FSA, FRHistS, philosopher and archaeologist, born at Coniston, son of WG Collingwood (qv), marr 1st (1918) Ethel Winifred Graham (born 1885, member of CWAAS 1922-1941, later of 38 Carlton Drive, Putney, London SW15, died 1943 and ashes interred in Coniston old churchyard, 25 September 1973), 1 son (William (Bill) 1919-1975) and 1 dau (Ursula Ruth, Mrs Parry, born 1921, died in childbirth at Great Malvern, aged 22, and buried at Coniston, 23 July 1943), marr (1942) 2nd Kathleen Frances Edwardes (1911-1980), 1 dau (Teresa, born 1941, wife of George Smith), member of CWAAS from 1909, President 1932-1938, Editor of Transactions 1920-1934, Waynefleet professor of moral Philosophy, Oxford, assisted Mortimer Wheeler in excavations at Lydney Park, Glos in 1932, described by Jacquetta Hawkes as ‘the brilliant RGC who was as a much a Roman archaeologist as an Oxford philosopher’ (Hawkes, Mortimer Wheeler, Adventurer in Archaeology, 1982, 149, died at Lanehead and buried at Coniston, 12 January 1943 (CW2, xliii, 211-214); dau Teresa Smith is copyright holder and president of R G Collingwood Society based at Swansea; CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff; David Boucher and Teresa Smith eds, RG Collingwood: An Autobiography and other Writings, with Essays on his life and Work, 2014

Collingwood, William (1819-1903), artist, son of an architect, born Greenwich and educ Oxford, pupil of James Duffield Harding (1797-1863), influenced by Samuel Prout (1783-1852), praised by Ruskin, prolific exhibitor at the RA and the OWS, father of WG Collingwood (qv)

Collingwood, William Gershom (1854-1932; ODNB), MA, FSA, archaeologist, artist, author and lecturer, born in Liverpool, 6 August 1854, son of William Collingwood (1819-1903), RWS, of Liverpool, and Marie Elizabeth Imhoff (1826-1873), educ University College, Oxford, and Slade School (studied under Legros), marr (1883) Edith Mary (Dorothy/ Dorrie) (qv), dau of Thomas Isaac, of Maldon, Essex, 1 son (Robin George, qv) and 3 daus (Dora (Altounyan), Barbara (Gnosspelius) and Ursula (Luard-Selby) qv), Private Secretary to John Ruskin 1882-1900, visited Iceland in 1897 and did 300 watercolours [National Museum of Iceland holds many], designed new chimney for paper mill at Burneside in 1900 in style of bell-tower in Siena’s Piazza del Campo after being commissioned to produce drawings of campaniles from Italy (LWO, 113), Professor of Fine Art, Reading University 1905-1911, President, CWAAS 1920-1932, Editor of Transactions 1900-1925, chairman of The Arts and Crafts of the Lake District (held in Institute Hall, Coniston) (1912), gave lecture on ‘The Roman Camp at Ambleside’ in June 1912 (printed at request of the Ambleside Committee for assisting the National Trust in the purchase of the Borrans Field, 1912), President, The Lake Artists Society 1922-1932, exhibited Top of Wetherlam after a storm, from Hawkshead Moor at Hawkshead in 1927 (WG, 06.08.27), held view that Anglian Northumbria owed much to fusion of Briton and Anglo-Saxon art, designed several churchyard monuments (see crosses in VVL, Ch.5, 146-152), also Boer War Memorial at Millom (1905) and K Shoes company war memorial at Netherfield, Kendal (green Celtic cross), died peacefully during an afternoon drive with his dau Barbara, 1 October 1932, aged 78, and buried with wife, close to Ruskin, in Coniston churchyard, 4 October (gravestone in form of one of earliest Christian pillar-stones) (LAR, 196; VVL, passim); ‘Cumbria’s most affectionate historian’ [Mevyn Bragg]; via his Viking research he became the ‘first historian of Iceland’, there is a display to him at Reyjavik Museum; Gershom was the son of Moses by Zipporah; Marshall Hall, p.18; CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff; Matthew Townend, The Vikings and Victorian Lakeland: The Norse Medivealism of WGC, 2009;  forthcoming biography by Malcolm Craig; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 198; Collingwood Archive, Cardiff University; mss also at Abbot Hall; also see website Collingwood Art; Symposium held at the Nat Mus Iceland 26 Nov 2010. ms transcript of WGC diaries at Walker Art Gallery, Liverpool

Collins, Revd John Taylor (c.1857-1932), clergyman, trained Lichfield College 1886, d 1886 and p 1887 (Liv), Curate of Walton-on-the-Hill, Liverpool 1886-1889, Widnes 1889-1891, and Topcliffe, Yorks 1891-1892, Rector of St Leonard, Lasswade, Midlothian 1892-1905, Rector of Dufton from 1905 until his death, marr, son (Cecil Taylor, born 25 September 1894, entd Appleby G S February 1905, day boy May 1905, drowned at sea), died at Dufton Rectory, aged 75, and buried at Dufton, 19 April 1932

Collins, Wilkie (1824-1889; ODNB), novelist, visited Allonby with Charles Dickens in 1857 and collaborated with him in The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices  (1857) also set A Lady in White (1859) in Cumberland

Collinson, Peter (1694-1768; ODNB), FRS, FSA, botanist and naturalist, born at Hugill Hall, nr Staveley, in 1694 (WW) or at the Red Lion, Gracechurch Street, London, 28 January 1694 (ODNB), son of Peter Collinson, cloth merchant, great grandson of Peter Collinson, of Hugill Hall, and probably grandson of William Collinson (qv) (GM, 82 (March 1812), 206-207; WW, ii, 313-18; WNB, 239); William Cockin qv list of worthies

Collinson, Septimus (1739-1827; ODNB), b. Gotree, Hunsonby, 7th son of Joseph and Agnes Collinson, ed Appleby GS and Queens college, Oxford, Lady Margaret Professor of Divinity, Oxford

Collinson, Thomas Harrison (1865-19xx), MA, clergyman and poet, born in Windermere 1865, MA Oxford, rector of Great Musgrave, his poem ‘The Tale of Rossett Gill’ about the packhorse woman who died in a storm along the route through Rossett Gill on her way from Wasdale Head to Langdale in the mid-18th century appeared in Lakeland Poems and Others (published by Charles Thurnam in 1905) (Cumbria, September 2016, 64-65)

Collinson, William (16xx-1683), Mayor of Kendal 1673-74, son of ? Peter Collinson, of Hugill Hall, marr Ellinor (buried at Selside, 15 April 1707), 2 daus (Ellinor and Jane), hardwareman, apprentices, will 1683 (see Blake), died of Stricklandgate and buried at Kendal, 7 April 1683

Collison, Charles (18xx-1951), schoolmaster, St Bees School 1907-1938, died at St Bees, 16 March 1951, aged 84 (CW2, li, 218)

Colomb, General George Thomas, Hon. R.H.A. [1787-1874], soldier and artist, b.Twickenham, son of a Swiss émigré, served in 96th regt of foot 1808-1841, later col of the 97th foot, exhibited Royal Hibernian Academy, took lodgings at Armathwaite castle from 1827-30 and exhibited at Carlisle Academy, had excellent reviews; Marshall Hall, 19

Comber, Thomas (1575-1653), dean of Carlisle, son of Sir Richard Comber, Clarenceux king of arms, master of Trinity College Cambridge, gave plate to Charles I to fund the civil war

Compton, Mary (later Llewellyn-Davies), dau of Sir Charles J Compton of Derby, banker and barrister (1797-1865; ODNB), marr the Rev John Llewellyn-Davies (qv), the butter cross at Kirkby Lonsdale built in her memory; see Llewellyn-Davies

Conder, Edward (1790-1865), Alderman of London, born 11 December 1790 [no bapt entry in KL par reg], eldest son of Edward Conder (1759-1843), [prob timber merchant, ledger in CRO, WDB 155], of Terry Bank, Mansergh, and his wife, Elizabeth, dau of James Cragg (d.1809), had 4 yr brothers (Joseph (1794-1868), John (1797-1895), Richard (1799-1859) and Robert (1806-1869), marr (20 June 1820, at St Botolph’s, Aldgate, London) Elizabeth Vaux (died 9 December 1856, aged 66), of London, Sheriff of City of London and Alderman 1859, no issue, died at Havering-atte-Bower, Essex, 12 January 1865, aged 74, and buried with his wife at Tower Hamlets cemetery, Mile End Road, London, 19 January (memorial west window in St Peter’s church, Mansergh) (portrait hanging in small study at 5 Windlesham Road, Brighton in 1957); Terry Bank estate inherited by his brother Joseph, born at Mansergh, 1 August 1794 and bapt at KL, 21 September, marr (9 January 1841, at St Peter’s, Cornhill, London EC) Frances Elizabeth (born 23 August 1802, buried at Mansergh, 29 November 1869), dau of Thomas Boyce, of New Place, Upminster, Essex, no issue, died aged 73 and buried at Mansergh, 11 February 1868, leaving the estate to his nephew, Edward Conder (qv)

Conder, Edward (1829-1910), JP, born 27 November 1829 and bapt at Dent, 17 January 1830, er son of Richard Conder (1799-1859), of The Great House, Dent, and his wife, Alice (1806-1873), dau of John Haygarth, succ to his uncle’s estate of Terry Bank, Mansergh in 1869, but also of Elmhurst, Essex, and New Court, Colwall, Herefordshire, Lord of Manor of Kilcot, co Gloucseter, marr (9 September 1856, at Colesbourne, Glos) Susanna (born 9 September 1833, died at Southbury House, Priory Road, Great Malvern, 24 July 1931, aged 97, and buried at Mansergh, 28 July), 2nd dau of Henry Kitton, 1 son (Edward, qv) and 1 dau (Alice Susanna (born 20 July 1857, marr (30 January 1880) Richard Carington Smith-Carington, died 18 March 1931), JP Herefordshire, of New Court, Colwall, where he died, 7 February 1910, aged 80, and buried at Mansergh, 11 February

Conder, Edward (1861-1934), FSA, JP, antiquary, born at (?) Romford, Essex, 7 January 1861 and bapt 16 February, only son of Edward Conder (qv), of Terry Bank, Old Town, Kirkby Lonsdale, educ Chigwell School, Essex 1872-77, King’s College, London 1877-1880, elected FSA in 1896, High Sheriff of Gloucestershire 1922, JP 1910, member of CWAAS from 1883, contributed papers to Transactions (inc ‘The Hearth Tax return, 22 Charles II, Kendal Barony’ in CW2, xix, 140-150), marr (29 April 1887, at Christ Church, Lancaster Gate, London) Bertha Helen Louisa (born in Madras, 27 March 1863, died 17 December 1951, aged 88, and ashes buried at Mansergh, 6 June 1952), dau of Dering Williams, of Madras Civil Service, 1 son (Edward, qv), died at Conigree Court, Newent, Glos, 27 July 1934, aged 73, and buried at Mansergh, 31 July 1934

Conder, Edward (1888-1960), MA, MC, barrister, born at Chase Cross, Romford, Essex, 5 April 1888, and bapt at church of Ascension, Collier Row, Romford, 3 November, son of Edward Conder (qv), educ Winchester (to July 1907) and Trinity College, Oxford (matric October 1907, BA, MA), called to Bar, 6 May 1914, served WW1, commissioned as 2nd Lieut, 1/5 Gloucester Regt, 2 September 1914, mentioned in despatches January 1916, MC April 1917, Captain March 1918, and resigned 19 August 1920 while retaining this rank (LG), marr 1st (13 October 1917, at St Mary’s, Newent, Glos) Madeline Grace (born 29 July 1891, died 4 May 1926, and buried at Oxenhall, Glos), 4th dau of Luke Livingston Macassey, of Holywood, co Down, 1 son (Edward, born 27 July 1918), marr 2nd (30 July 1927, at St Peter’s, Cranley Gardens, London SW) Edith (born 8 August 1894, died at St Augustines, Simplemargh, Addlestone, Surrey, 12 September 1981, aged 87, and ashes interred at Mansergh, 25 October 1981), 3rd dau of Charles Ernest Cadle, of North Bailey, Durham, 1 dau (Angela Helen Elizabeth, born 14 December 1928), of Brighton, died 9 November 1960, aged 72, and buried at Mansergh, 26 November 1960

Connon, Peter (1944-2018), writer, son of a Dublin born father, mother was descended from John Williamson of Millbeck, lord of the manor of Crosthwaite, Keswick, Williamson’s wife was heir of John Threlkeld and granddaughter of Sir Lancelot Threlkeld of Crosby Ravensworth, m. Sheila, published Shadow of the Eagle’s Wing and An Aeronautical History of Cumbria, Dumfries and Galloway parts I, II and III in the 1980s

Connor, William ‘Lorenzo’ [1848-1880], ‘low comedian and chair balancer’, tomb in Barrow cemetery; Rod White, The Stories behind the Stones [in Barrow cemetery], no.9, c.2015

Constable, George (16xx-1673), clergyman, said to be a ‘poore Relation’ of Sir Richard Graham, Bt (qv), who presented him to Arthuret in 1639, who ‘during his time was content with his allowance of tithe’ (Dr Todd), also described as ‘a Yorkshire man of Good Family – Died in Yorkshire’, contributed £3 to needs of besieged city of Carlisle in 1644-45 (in list of prominent local clergy), possibly sequestered as well as rector of Kirkandrews (but no evidence), marr, dau (Thomasin (died 1 February 1674/5), who marr (12 January 1658/9) Thomas Story (1630-1721), of Justicetown, Kirklinton, 3 sons (George (qv), Christopher and Thomas (qv) and dau (Anne)), died in 1673 (ECW, i, 134, 305; Arthuret MI)

Constable, John ( 1776-1837), artist, son of a Suffolk corn miller, Golding Constable and his wife Anne, studied at the RA, visited the Lakes in 1806, probably visiting his uncle David Pike Watts (qv) then living at Storrs Hall, several drawings in local collections including The Langdale Pikes (Dove Cottage) and Rydal Falls (Abbot Hall). Woof, Shields and Hebron, Constable and the Lake District, 1806, 2006

Constantine, king and saint (fl.7th/8th cents), closely linked with Kentigern, through his intercession that Rhydderch’s queen bore a son after many years being barren, soon after Kentigern’s return to the north, later succ as king and subdued all barbarian peoples bordering his own, ‘called by many, and is to this day (c.1180) St Constantine’ (Jocelin of Furness); poss relation to Constantine’s Bells, three cells cut out of rock about 40 feet above river Eden near Wetheral, and to tradition of his retirement from world (at time of height of anchoritic movement in 7th and 8th centuries) (HC, i, 160-163)

Conybeare, John William Edward (1843-19xx), MA, clergyman, born in 1843, son of William John Conybeare (decd by 1870), educ Trinity College, Cambridge (late Scholar, BA 1866, MA 1869), d 1868 and p 1869 (Lon), curate of Staines 1868-1870 and East Molesey 1870-1871, vicar of Barrington, Cambridge 1871-, marr (29 December 1870, at Burneside) Frances Anne (1847-1933), er dau of James Cropper (qv), of Ellergreen, Burneside, no issue, keen rock climber (FRCC), author of articles (see Audrey Plint)

Cooke, John Hunter (17xx-18xx), High Constable of Lonsdale Ward and Treasurer (accounts 1801-02, 1805-06, 1813; up to Easter 1816, when succ by Edward Tomlinson (qv) (WQS)

Cookson, see also Crackanthorpe

Cookson family, pewterers, Penrith; CW2 lxxxv 163ff

Cookson Edith Elizabeth Margaret Sawrey- (nee Turner) (1883-1960), dau of Sir George Robertson Turner (1855-1941; see Plarr’s Lives), surgeon, and his wife Isabel du Croz, dau of Frederick du Croz of East Grinstead, marr Sidney Sawrey-Cookson (qv), son of James Sawrey-Cookson of Broughton Tower, Broughton in Furness, her pension paid as a Gold Coast colony widow from 1933; Gold Coast Colony Blue Book 1933-4

Cookson, Henry Wilkinson (1810-1876; ODNB), MA, DD, college head, born in Kendal, 10 April 1810, and bapt at Unitarian chapel, 29 June, 6th of seven sons and eleven children of Thomas Cookson (qv) and his wife Elizabeth, yr brother of William S Cookson (qv), and a godson of Wordsworth, educ Kendal Grammar School, Sedbergh School, and Peterhouse, Cambridge (entd October 1828, BA as seventh wrangler 1832, MA 1835, BD and DD 1848), fellow 1836, tutor 1839, proctor 1842 and master of Peterhouse from 1847, also rector of Glaston in Rutland 1847-1867, vice-chancellor of Cambridge University (elected on five occasions: 1848, 1863, 1864, 1872, and 1873), member of council of  senate from 1856, president, Cambridge Philosophical Society 1865-66, declined Derby’s offer of bishopric of Lichfield in 1867, marr (1855) Emily Valence, er dau of Gilbert Ainslie, DD, Master of Pembroke College (qv), 1 dau, died in Peterhouse Lodge, Cambridge, 30 September 1876, and buried in Cherry Hinton churchyard

Cookson, Isaac (1679-1743; ODNB), b.Penrith bought land at Little Clifton, Workington 1721 and est a foundry, later another in Gateshead for iron and brass, took over Dagnia Flint glasshouse and est ano9ther in South Shields; the Cookson Group is now Vesuvius

Cookson, Isaac [1705-1754], silversmith, b. Penrith, lived Newcastle, one of the notable silversmiths of the period, related to the Cookson metal workers, apprenticed to Francis Batty and then gained experience in London probably with George Wilde, returned to Newcastle and became the leading craftsman for church plate and secular pieces, one of his George III teapots was bought by the Art Fund for the LaingArtGallery, among his apprentices were John Langlands and John Goodrick, who were partners after Cookson’s death;

Cookson, Isaac [1878-1952], shepherd, of Gillhead, Bampton, attended Mardale Shepherds’ Meet on 64 occasions, sitter for the iconic photograph at Mardale Meet in 1952 by Joseph Hardman [q.v.] of a bearded shepherd holding a herdwick ewe across his shoulders, crook in hand, this image was moulded and cast in bronze for the Abbot Hall gallery’s 25th anniversary medallion, for many years a large print of the photograph was prominently displayed at Westmorland service station; John Satchell, Family Album, 1996, 3

Cookson, James (c.1740-1806), woollen manufacturer and dyer, whose warehouse was in yard adjoining Braithwaite’s ironmongery business in Highgate, Kendal, and residence below on river side at Kent Place, marr Elizabeth (died 28 August 1796, aged 60), 3 sons (Thomas (qv), William (bapt at Unitarian chapel, 9 April 1775 and died in Jamaica in July 1815, aged 41), and Richard (bapt 18 May 1777 and died 13 September 1799, aged 22)) and daus (inc Elizabeth (bapt 7 January 1770, wife of James Braithwaite (qv), and died 24 February 1799, aged 29, and buried 28 February, MI in Unitarian chapelyard, Market Place, Kendal)), chapel warden 1791-92, died 15 February 1806, aged 65

Cookson, James H (c.1882/3-1950s), cabinet maker and painter, one of nine children of Thomas Cookson, of 34 Kirkland, Kendal (who ran a jam and toffee boiling business, pioneering manufacture of Kendal Mint Cake, which he coloured red with cochineal or yellow with logwood chips), joined workshop of Arthur Simpson, ‘The Handicrafts’, and became skilled cabinet maker, awarded National Medal for Success in Art by Department of Science and Arts in 1899, excelled as wood carver and believed to have worked on fitting out of Titanic and locally at Blackwell, some of his furniture items survive among descendants and others dispersed after death of his brother, J Robinson Cookson, antique dealer, of 99 Highgate, Kendal, painted watercolours for pleasure (incl Anchorite House, Kendal (1927), Scout Scar, and Bridge House, Ambleside), sketchbooks of watercolours and pencil drawings (of Indian life and landscapes) survive from time of service in WW1 with Border Regt based at Peshawar on NW Frontier of India, also photographer, esp of life of hill farmers in Howgills in late 1930s to mid 1940s (all aspects of farming life from haymaking to hedge laying, stone clearing and harvesting potatoes, all labour intensive before arrival of tractors, died in 1950s (‘The Heritage of the Hills’ by Judy Dunford, Berwyn House, Orton, Penrith, 2011)

Cookson, Thomas (c.1771-1833), merchant, pres bapt at Unitarian chapel, Kendal [no entry found], eldest son of James Cookson (qv), dyer, of Stramongate, a trustee of Unitarian chapel from 1815 (when old trustees under deed of 1782 resigned) until his death, friend and kinsman of William Wordsworth, who was his guest and occasional attender at chapel, marr Elizabeth, 7 sons (William Strickland (qv), James (born 18 February 1803 and bapt 24 April), John (born 7 September 1804 and bapt 7 October), Thomas (born 31 May 1806 and bapt 29 June), Richard (born 13 March 1808 and bapt 13 April), Henry (qv), and Edwin Mitford (born 23 September 1816 and bapt 22 October)) and 4 daus (Elizabeth (born 14 October 1799 and bapt 10 November), Hannah (born 17 March 1812 and bapt 16 April), Sarah (born 14 April 1814 and bapt 24 May), and Mary (born 2 January 1819 and bapt 8 February)), died at Ramsey, Isle of Man, 20 October 1833, aged 62 (ONK, 471, 522)

Cookson, William (d.1820), clergyman, canon of Windsor, b. Penrith, uncle of Wordsworth

Cookson, William Strickland (1801-1877), solicitor, born 18 June 1801 and bapt at Unitarian chapel, Kendal, 12 July, eldest of seven sons and 2nd of eleven children of Thomas Cookson (qv) and his wife Elizabeth, and eldest brother of Henry W Cookson (qv), educ Kendal Grammar School, became solicitor, rising to become president of Incorporated Law Society in 1860-61, and treasurer of National Association for Promotion of Social Science, made subscription of £20 towards restoration of Dissenting Chapel in Market Place, Kendal in 1845, when of Bedford Square, London, died at Hampstead, 5 July 1877 (ONK, 415, 522)

Cookson, James Sawrey- (1816-1888), formerly Cookson, of Neasham, co Durham, inherited Broughton Tower in 1881 (photo in CRO, WDX 1168), son?

Cookson, the Hon Sydney Spencer Sawrey-, colonial judge, born 5 August 1876, son of James Sawrey-Cookson, formerly of Neasham Hall and Broughton Tower, marr (1910) Edith Isabel Margaret, er dau of Sir George Turner, 1 son and 2 daus, died 1 August 1933

Coombe, John Henry (18xx-18xx), clergyman, marr (by 1838) Frances Agnes, 1 son (George James, aged 8 when admitted to Heversham Grammar School in August 1846, leaving at Xmas 1846), when curate at Preston Patrick, residing at Holme, later curate of Cleasby, Yorks (admission register in CRO, WDS 14)

Coombes, Charles Walter [1879-1942], sculptor of Kendal and Egremont war memorials, remarkably he was also a designer at the Royal Mint; David A. Cross, 2017, 170-1 and 198-9

Cooper, Revd Alfred Ernest (1857-1934), MA, clergyman, born 27 August 1857, Vicar of Winster 1925-1934, died 16 March 1934

Cooper, Alfred Heaton (1864-1929), landscape artist, born in Manchester 1864, one of six children of millworkers, brought up in Bolton, worked as a clerk after school, but moved to London in 1884 to study art under George Clausen, heavily influenced by Constable, Turner and Millais, embarked on period of travelling, first north to Yorkshire, then abroad to Morocco (where influenced by the intricate craftsmanship seen in 1880s) and finally settling in Norway, esp fascinated by rural lifestyle of Sogne region, setting up studio beside fjord at Balestrand where he met Mathilde Marie Valentinson, but could not make a living, married Matilde and returned to Bolton in 1894, later moving to Lake District, shipped his log cabin studio from Norway to Coniston and later to Ambleside, settled to life of continuous painting, walking fells and valleys for scenes to paint, while Mathilde ran studio business, member of the Lake Artists Society, illustrated many guidebooks, his children were Alice Elide [1897], Frithjof [1900], William [1903] (qv) and Una Mathilde [1909], died in 1929; Renouf, Lake Artists, 74-5; Jane Renouf, Alfred Heaton Cooper: Painter of Landscape; Marshall Hall, 19-20,

Cooper, Arthur Henry (18xx-19xx), BA, clergyman, educ Corpus Christi College, Cambridge (BA 1875), d 1876 and p 1877 (Ripon), curate of Chapelthorpe, near Wakefield, Yorks 1876-1878, St James, Stockton-on-Tees 1878-1880, St Bartholomew, Gray’s Inn Road, London 1880-1881, and Holy Trinity, Carlisle 1881-1886, vicar of Haile 1886-1909, PC of Ennerdale 1909-

Cooper, James Woodman Astley ( 1870-1938) LRCS, LRCP LFPS LSA, doctor, born Cromer, d. Co Durham, marr Helen Reeve Farr in Newport, ran the Ghyll Retreat a clinic at Hassness, Buttermere to cure inebriates, his business partner until 1908 (London Gazette July 3) was George Hagill Dobson, author of Pathological Inebriety: Its Cause and Treatment; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Cooper, John (1813-1896), MA, clergyman, born 16 March 1813, 2nd son of Samuel Cooper, of Tranby, Hull, and brother of Sir Henry Cooper, MD, educ Shrewsbury School and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA, wrangler and 1st in Classics 1835, MA 1838, fellow 1837-1859, tutor 1845-1855 and senior dean 1855-1858), d 1837, p 1838 (Ely), vicar of St Andrew the Great, Cambridge 1843-1858, presented with gift of plate by master of Christ’s College on leaving Cambridge, having shown notable concern for poor and provided cottages and allotments for them at his own expense, as well as parish room also serving as a Sunday School, vicar of Holy Trinity, Kendal 1858-1896 (inst 15 August 1858), archdeacon of Westmorland 1865-1896 (succ Ven R W Evans (qv) and installed in Carlisle Cathedral on 14 January 1865) and proc archdeacon 1858-1865, rural dean of Kendal, hon canon of Carlisle 1861-1883 and residentiary canon from 1883, proposed to build Mission Church of All Hallows in memory of his predecessor in November 1863 and site on Fellside chosen, chairman of burial board, recruited appeal committee to work for increase in endowments of country churches (through Ecclesiastical Commissioners, governors of QAB, Trinity College, and private donations), elected chairman of school board on its formation in 1870, raised funds for building of new schools in Kirkland, and worked for growth of church schools in rural districts, governor of Kendal Grammar School, member of Howard Orphan Home committee, chairman of Temperance Society (estab 1 Feb 1832), worked unceasingly for relief of poverty, developing system of district visitors (estab in 1811), built new vicarage in Vicar’s fields in 1860 on elevated position on south side of present Vicarage Drive (with former vicarage designated The Glebe House being used for occupation of the curate), unmarried, lived with his niece, Mary Jane Cooper (aged 45 in 1891), who moved to the Terrace, Windermere, after his death, but often returned to Kendal to support church and its charities, read prayer of committal at funeral of his old Trinity friend Bishop Harvey Goodwin (qv) in 1891, fell seriously ill in spring of 1895 and signed letter of resignation to Trinity College on 9 January 1896, too weak to preach a farewell sermon in March, retiring to his cathedral canonry at the Abbey in Carlisle, but health declined and died there, 25 July 1896, aged 83, and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 29 July; Runic cross (copy of Irton Cross) as his memorial in Borrowdale stone subscribed to by people of Kendal, but differing views for site of its erection (open letter from his executors, John Spyvee Cooper and Frederic Arthur Scott, Hull, 24 September 1900, in CRO, WPR 38/17/2); (photograph in CRO, WPR 38/2/4/1; sermons between 1857 and 1887 in CRO, WD/K/177; GPK, 28-34, 125, 131, 137; KM, 31.7.1896)

Cooper, Dr. Myles [1736-1785; ODNB; DCB], clergyman and academic, b. Broughton-in-Furness, graduate of Queen’s College, Oxford and president of King’s College, New York, known as a loyalist eventually was forced to flee at night in his nightshirt; CW2 1xiv, 335-48

Cooper, Ophelia (nee Gordon Bell), see Bell

Cooper, Revd Thomas John (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ University College, Oxford (BA 1860, MA 1863), d 1860 and p 1861 (Lich), Curate of Fenton, Staffs 1860-1862, and St Mary’s, Applethwaite 1862-1864, Perpetual Curate of Staveley-in-Cartmel 1864-1874, Vicar of St Cuthbert’s, Carlisle 1874-1883, Hon Secretary of Carlisle Diocesan Conference 1875, Hon Canon of Carlisle 1883, Vicar of Dalston and Rural Dean of Wigton 1883-1888, PC of Grange-over-Sands 1888- , retired at Newton (1912), marr (186x) Anne Eliza, 5 sons (Archibald (bapt 14 July 1867), Henry (bapt 24 April 1870), Edward (bapt 9 July 1871), William (bapt 29 December 1872), and Reginald (bapt 5 March 1874)) and 3 daus (Rose Frances (bapt 13 November 1864), Margaret Anne (bapt 10 December 1865), and Katharine (bapt 6 September 1868, but buried at Staveley-in-Cartmel, aged 7 weeks, 3 October 1868)), all born and baptised while at Staveley,  first at Barrowbanks (1864-65), then at Staveley vicarage (to 1874), but returned to baptise a Lindsay child in 1877 and an illegitimate son of Bridget Lindsay in April 1896 [was his wife a Lindsay?], decd by 1914

Cooper, William Heaton (1903-1995), RI, landscape painter, born in Coniston, 6 October 1903, and bapt there, 15 November, son and 3rd child of Alfred Heaton Cooper (qv) and his wife Mathilde Valentinson, educ Kelsick School, Ambleside (1912-1919), studied under father and at RA Schools 1922-1925 (Landseer Prize 1924), exhibited RA and Glasgow 1925, 1933, took over father’s studio in Ambleside after his death in 1929, but decided to move business to Grasmere, building a home and studio there from 1938, eclipsed reputation of his father, exhibited at RA, RI, RBA, etc, elected RI in 1953, work in permanent collections at Abbot Hall, Kendal, Lancaster University, Bolton Art Gallery, Alpine Club, etc, President of the Lake Artists Society 1960-1971 and Hon Life Member, Hon Member of Fell and Rock Climbing Club, author and illustrator of Hills of Lakeland (1938, 1947, 1985), Lakeland Portraits (1954, 1958), The Tarns of Lakeland (1960, 1970, 1983), The Lakes (1966, 1970), Mountain Painter (1984, 1985), and illustrated many climbing guides, etc, marr Ophelia Gordon Bell (qv), 2 sons (Julian (born 1947), artist, and John, manager of Studio business) and 2 daus, of The Studio, Grasmere, died aged 92 and buried in Grasmere;

Copeland, William Robert (fl.1818x1834), actor and comedian, had been with Howard’s troupe for several seasons, inc Kendal from 1818 (Howard was manager of Theatre Royal, Lancaster), with Mr Wilson’s company at Kendal theatre in 1823 (now “greatly improved”), took over management of theatre in 1831, but experienced difficulties in attracting audiences, engaged Edmund Kean (ODNB) for one performance on 5 March 1832, his company returned to Kendal for season in 1834, theatre repainted, but despite favourable reviews of Richard III and Othello (with Mr Lyon) public support proved insufficient and New Theatre [now the Shakespeare Centre] closed when his company left in March 1834, marr Eliza Sarah, infant son Douglas buried at Kendal, 27 February 1834, of Stricklandgate, Kendal <then what did he do?> (GFN, 21, 29; KC; playbills in CRO, WD/Cu)

Copland, James (18xx-18xx), schoolmaster, Headmaster of Friends’ School, Stramongate, Kendal 1892-1899 (biography by dau in CRO, WDS 26/A1912)

Copland, Nicholas (15xx-16xx), BA, first Headmaster of St Bees School 1583-1593

Copley, Robert (d.1675), chief bailiff of Copeland Forest, built Gosforth Hall, his grandsons lived at Ponsonby Hall and Hawkshead Hall; CW2 iii 228

Corbett, Revd Frederick St John (18xx-19xx), clergyman, Rector of Long Marton 1896-1903

Coremac (fl.1120), priest, described as ‘Servant of Bega’ in witness list to foundation charter of St Bees Priory in c.1120, may have been priest at earlier church

Corley, Sir Kenneth Sholl Ferrand (19xx-200x), industrialist, educ St Bees School (Grindal House 1923-1926), former chairman of governors, St Bees School, President of Old St Beghian Club 1976-1978, opened refurbished school library in November 1995/6

Cormack, Revd W H, clergyman, succ as Vicar of Bampton in 1931 after two-year vacancy

Cornick, Glenn Douglas Barnard (1947-2014), musician, b. Barrow-in-Furness, attended Barrow GS, bass player in the band Jethro Tull in the albums: This Was, Stand Up and Benefit ;

Cory, John Augustus (1819-1887), architect, educ Emmanuel College, Cambridge (1839-1841), pupil of J J Scholes, friend of Joseph Bonomi, whose brother Ignatius Bonomi (qv)’s architectural practice in Durham he joined in 1842 as partner, presumably influenced by Cambridge Camden Society, which was prob resp for change in style of the practice’s ecclesiastical architecture output after 1842, continued to practise in Durham after Bonomi’s retirement in 1850 until apptd county bridge surveyor for Cumberland in 1856, went into partnership with C J Ferguson (qv) at Carlisle in 1860, commissioned to plan and supervise extensive restoration of Long Marton church in 1880, built St Bride’s church at Bridekirk, original member of CWAAS, member of council and contributor of several articles, of Bramerton Lodge, Carlisle, died in 1887; wrote the third article in volume 1 of CWAAS Transactions; Hyde, many references; Crosby, Life of Bonomi, 37

Cory, Robert MD (1844-1900), physician, jointly established the Animal Vaccine Centre, born London son of John Augustus Cory, architect of Carlisle, educ Rossal and Pembroke Collwege Cambridge, then St Thomas’s, after Franco German war appointed at St Thomas’s and Addenbroks, with Sir George Buchanan established the Animal Vaccine Centre in 1881; biography Royal College of Physicians

Costeloe, Frederick Charles (189x-196x), MA, clergyman, educ TCD (BA 1909, MA 1913), d 1910 and p 1911 Bristol, curate of St Werburgh, Bristol 1910-1912, Christ Church, Clifton 1912-1915, vicar of St John Evang, Carlisle 1915-1920, chaplain of Carlisle Union 1918-1920, vicar of St Saviour, Nottingham 1920-1928, Christ Church, Silloth 1928-1945, and Staveley-in-Cartmel 1945-1959, marr with 9 children, retired on 31 May 1959 to Bredon, Cusop, Hay-on-Wye, Hereford, and died by 1965 (framed photograph in Staveley St Mary’s church vestry)

Costeloe, J Geoffrey (192x-2009), soldier, born at Nottingham in 192x, one of nine children of Revd F C Costeloe (qv), grew up with father in Silloth, educ St Bees School (Grindal House 1934-38), awarded choral scholarship to Cambridge, but did not take it up and joined merchant navy instead, made two voyages to India, left in 1939 to join Border Regt, but switched to Airborne Division, served WW2 in North Africa, Sicily, Italy, and Arnhem (yr bro Norman, Capt, 9th Gurkha Rifles, killed at Rimini, Italy in 1944), sent to India as Police Commissioner on Burma-China frontier, rubber planter in Malaya, then left for San Francisco, Marsden in Saskatchewan and Edmonton in Alberta, joined Canadian Army and served in Korea with Princess Patricia’s Canadian LI, later in Canada and Germany, retd in Europe, but moved back to Canada and spent last 25 years in Victoria, BC (inc being director of Veterans’ Hospital in Victoria), marr Betty, 2 sons (Tim and Nigel), died in February 2009

Costin family, kipper smokers, see Beeby

Cotes, Anthony Arnold (Tony) (1923-2012), BA, schoolmaster, born 2 April 1923, son of Thomas Llanfair Cotes, Minister of Religion, educ Leeds Grammar School (with David Lyall), playing rugby (scrum half) and cricket (fast away-swing bowler), and Leeds University (classics degree), did National Service as intelligence officer with RAF, sent to Cambridge University for a six-month Russian course, did teaching practice at Widnes Grammar School, then applied for post to teach classics at Perse School, Cambridge, where he met Elizabeth Chaplin, matron of junior house, moved to St Bees School as assistant classics master in 1959, head of classics from 1966, house tutor on Grindal, later Housemaster for 17 years, running the house efficiently and sympathetically, esp in last year when it was to be converted to a girls’ boarding house, involved with cricket and rugby coaching and ran squash team for several years, joined CCF Army Section as a 1st Lieutenant, later transferring to RAF Section, which he commanded for 25 years, also organising fly-past by Red Arrows at school’s quatercentenary in 1983, appointed Deputy Head for last three years before retirement in 1990, Secretary of Old St Beghians’ Club/St Beghian Society, organising a notable 60s reunion in 1998, chairman of St Bees Parish Council, founder and chairman of St Bees Heritage Group, keen cricketer, P G Wodehouse collector, regular worshipper at Priory, marr (15 August 1959, at Appleby St Lawrence) Dorothy Elizabeth Anne (born 1936), school matron, dau of Revd William Robert Moffett Chaplin (qv), of The Vicarage, Appleby, 1 son (Marcus) and 2 daus (Katy (Heap) and Sarah (Dakin)), his niece is Revd Dr Mary Cotes, first living at 2 Main Street, St Bees in 1959, died 3 December 2012, aged 83, cremated 7 December, and service of thanksgiving at St Bees Priory church, 10 December (OSB No.183, January 2013, 36-37)

Cotton, Thomas (d.1743), from Ireland, Whitehaven printer, invited to the town in 1735 by Sir James Lowther qv, died at Whitehaven in 1743; is he the same Thomas Cotton who published the Kendal Weekly courant in 1731-36 and the Whitehaven Weekly Courant from December 1736 [or 1735]; Daniel Hay, Library Review, 1 Jan 1971,

Cottrell, Leonard Eric (1913-1974), author and journalist, resigned from BBC in 1960 to move to Westmorland and spent time writing succession of archaeological and historical books, editor of Concise Encyclopaedia of Archaeology (1965), of Greenacre, High House, Stainton, died 6 October 1974

Cotyngham, Thomas (d.1379), Prior of St Bees (grave slab in St Bees Priory church)

Coucy, Enguerrand VII (Ingelram) de, Earl of Bedford (c.1340-1397; ODNB), KG, son-in-law of Edward III, (seal repro in Local History News, No.106, Winter 2013, 35)

Coucy, William de, the younger died on Wednesday after Candlemas, 16 Edw III [6 February 1342] and Ingelram, his elder brother, was his next heir; his widow, Joan del Strother, later married John de Copeland (qv)

Coulson, Francis Ernest (1919-1998), MBE, chef and hotelier, born in Bedford, 6 June 1919, son of a draper, Quaker family, educ Bedford Modern School, opened Sharrow Bay Hotel, Ullswater in 1948, having arrived from London with pans hanging from his haversack, Wendy Courtenay  introduced him to Brian Sack (qv) in 1952, so inaugurating a partnership that was to last some five decades, creating a prototype of country house hotel and making it the best known of its kind in world, Coulson dedicated to the kitchen, championing British food and cooking, while Sack managed business and cosseted clients, both cared greatly for their staff too and trained countless young people in skills of cooking and service, creating an unsurpassed record of loyalty and long service, hotel enjoying very high percentage of occupancy and returning guests, lauded as both hotel and restaurant by all guidebooks (Egon Ronay gold award as “Restaurant of the Year” in 1975 and “Hotel of the Year” in 1980, and also “Hosts of the Year” in 1993, Michelin star in 1996, also member of ‘Relais et Chateaux Association’ of small personally owned and supervised hotels from 1967), both apptd MBE in 1994 for their charitable works, esp for Carlisle Cathedral and local technical colleges (governors of Kendal College and subscribed to new students restaurant at Lancaster and Morecambe College, later named after them), strong supporters of opera and gifted musicians themselves (Coulson a pianist and Sack a good tenor), sponsored concerts at LDSM, several paintings by Sheila Fell in hotel, reluctantly played lesser part in daily routines of hotel with advancing age and ill health, ‘warm, loving friends who effortlessly maintained long-standing friendships and were defined by their enthusiasm and generosity’ (Clare MacDonald), Coulson died in 1998, both unmarried and both of Swarthfield, Sharrow, (DT, 05.01.2002), died at Swarthfield, Sharrow, 20 February 1998, aged 78, and buried at Barton, 28 February (Independent, 06.03.1998); John Tovey (qv)

Coulson, John, steward of manor of Warcop 1735-1739; a John Coulson, gent, of Warcop, marr Lucy, dau of Richard Brathwait (qv), of Warcop Hall (CW3, i, 204)

Coulthart, William (17xx-18xx), architect, practising in Lancaster (Castle Grove) in 1820s (Pigott 1828-29), responsible for repairs to Levens Hall in 1823-24, and for designing Levens church [not Webster], school and cottages (Levens Hall accounts), also rectory at Halton, near Lancaster, in Elizabethan style (by 1832), later established himself in Leamington Spa, where he designed houses on north side of Warwick Street and on east side of Beauchamp Square, widow died in Manchester (BDBA, 236)

Counsell, Hugh Alfred (18xx-19xx), schoolmaster, Headmaster of Appleby Grammar School, Mayor of Appleby 1932-33; E H M Counsell, MA, prob son of above, educ Appleby Grammar School (1916-1921), of South Hill House, Ditcheat, nr Shepton Mallet, Somerset (1952)

Coupland, John de, vaiant at the battle of Durham; Thomas West, Antiquities of Furness, 39 and note

Court, Salathiel [fl.late 17th-early 18thc], artist, the tale of his disappearing lion is retold in Marshall Hall, Dictionary of Cumbrian Artists; his lion now appears engraved on the pavement in Cockermouth Market Place

Court, Thomas fl.mid 18thc), his naval diary of 1756-1763; CW1 or CW2  xxxviii

Courtenay, Revd Francis John (c.1800-1859), clergyman, Rector of North Bovey, nr Exeter, Devon from 1831, died at Long Marton House, aged 59, and buried at Dufton, 17 May 1859

Courtenay, Reginald Harrison (c.1855-1925), Esq, of Marton House, Longmarton (1905); mother prob Emma Camilla Courtenay, of Marton House, (buried at Dufton, 14 May 1895, aged 80), wife prob Eliza Fowle Courtenay, of Marton House, (buried at Dufton, 13 January 1922, aged 60), buried at Dufton, 20 October 1925, aged 69; Rachel Henrietta Camilla Milner, his sister, was wife of William Smith, MD, also of Marton House, and buried at Dufton, 20 August 1904, aged 63; William John Courtenay, of Long Marton, buried at Dufton, 20 November 1856, aged 24; Henry Bellenden Courtenay, of Long Marton, buried at Dufton, 19 June 1857, aged 18; Edward Kenelm Courtenay, of Long Marton House, buried at Dufton, 15 October 1864, aged 26; Charles Augustus Courtenay, of Morland, buried at Dufton, 25 September 1882, aged 37; Emily Anne Courtenay, of Marton House, buried at Dufton, 23 August 1886, aged 38; Eliza Fowle Courtenay, of Marton House, buried at Dufton, 13 January 1922, aged 60; Charles W F Baker-Courtenay was of Marton House (1929, 1938)

Coutts, Hubert (1851-1921), artist – qv sub Tucker, of The Wood, Windermere (1897), then of Hammarbank, Ambleside Road, Windermere (1905,1914 and 1921), buried at St Mary’s cemetery, Windermere, 10 December 1921, aged 70; Mrs Coutts continued at Hammarbank in 1925, 29, 34, 1938

Cowans, General John [1862-1921], quartermaster general from 1912-19. b. Carlisle

Cowans, Gen Sir John Steven (1862-1921; ODNB), born in Carlisle, son of John Cowans, engineer and founder of Cowans Sheldon, his mother was Jeannie Steven, rose through the army to be the Quartermaster General for the whole of the 1st World War, described by prime minister HH Asquith as ‘the best quartermaster since Moses’

Coward, Edward, of Gill House, Furness, reported patch of exposed Ireleth limestone on Kirkby Moor to Prof Sedgwick and Dr Gough (noted in GF, 29)

Coward, George (1831-1892), alias ‘Sidney Gilpin’, bookseller, printer and stationer, born near Ulverston, apprenticed there, set up in business in Carlisle in 1857, taking former printing firm of I F Whitridge, advertised that he was printing by machinery in Fisher Street, but his shop was in Scotch Street, took his brother Thomas (who marr (1860) Mary Askew at Ulverston) into partnership, published Henry Barber/Roger Piketah’s Forness Folk in 1870, fascinated with dialect, having rewritten lyrics of song ‘D’ye ken John Peel’ with the approval of the originator JW Graves, subsequently owned the copyright (copyright dated 24 May 1866), which he sent out to Graves (qv) in Tasmania, authority on Cumberland dialect and published The Songs and Ballads of Cumberland in 1869, which includes the John Peel lyrics, a later edition [1874] also has biographical sketches, there followed Popular Poetry of Cumberland [1875] and Cumberland Ballads [1881], also published magazines such as The Border City and The Democrat, and volume on Sam Bough qv [1892], death reported in U.A., 21 April 1892; Jacob Robinson published jointly his North Country Sports and Pastimes [1893]; his manuscripts sold by auction at Sotheby’s in June 1919, but originality of copyright manuscript of ‘D’ye Ken John Peel’ disputed, with Lord Lonsdale, the dedicatee of the song, believing original to be at Lowther, with several differing versions extant, one of which being in possession of Hugh Holme was in hand of and signed by William Metcalfe (qv), dated 26 February 1907; business of G & T Coward, chrome lithographic and colour printers on tin, carried on at 75 Scotch Street, Carlisle, after his death by Thomas, who took it into direct competition with Hudson Scott (qv) and expanded Fisher Street works in 1897 by taking the former Dixon factory through to West Tower Street, but firm came to an abrupt end in 1915 (Carlisle Journal advertising that receiver was “to sell the freehold land and property, 9 Fisher Street, in the occupation of Messrs G and T Coward with machinery” (catalogue for sale of contents of the works survives) (CN, 30.12.2016)

Coward, James (c.1757-1807), MA, BD, clergyman and schoolmaster, son of John Coward, of Kendal, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric aged 16 in 1773, BA 1777, MA 1781), d 1780 (Ox) and p 1781 (Cov & Lich), Curate of Coleshill 1781-1782, Schoolmaster, Appleby Grammar School 1782-1794 (apptd 24 June 1782, licensed 16 July 1783, occ in visitation book 1 June 1785, resigned 31 December 1794), changes made in school admission procedure and in fees paid from 1782 (six ‘poor boys’ to be admitted free of charge and sons of inhabitants of Appleby to be taught for half-a-crown a quarter), also compiled new catalogue of library at school (Catalogus Librorum in Bibliotheca Scholae Aballabensis in Comitatu Westmorlandiae 1782), replacing Edmundson’s Perfect Catalogue of 1656, listing 862 works alphabetically by author or title, with shelf location marked on spine of volume and in catalogue (duplicate copy of which was kept in Library), also used Yates’s account book to record issues from 1782 (to 1834), adding further 27 works with donations he received, curate of Kirkby Thore 1790 (occ in visitation book 2 June 1790), resigned to take up benefice of ??, rector of Bletchington, Oxon 1803-1807 (instit 19 April 1803), died on or by 30 December 1807 (AGS, 55-56; CRO, DRC1/8, DRC5/64; ORO, ODP, b.22)

Coward, James (18xx-188x), clergyman, vicar of Langdale 1860-1883?, widow, Charlotte Annie, died at Low Arnside, Coniston, aged 67, and buried at Langdale, 27 March 1889

Coward, Jeremiah (fl.19thc.), owner of Skelwith bobbin mill and the Hare and Hounds pub (now the Skelwith Bridge Hotel)

Coward, Stephen (c.1915-c.2005), farmer, Skells Lodge, Urswick, his father farmed there before him, marr Stella Brockbank (later Barnes), teacher at Urswick Grammar (now primary) School, one son two daughters

Coward, William (c.1760-1833), surgeon, obtained certificate of attendance at courses in midwifery at London, 15 May 1781 (CRO, WDX 354/1), listed as surgeon in Kendal in 1790 (Universal British Directory, 473), certified that he attended Catherine, wife of John Fawcett, of Old Hutton, on 19 May 1791 for birth of son Joseph Fawcett, now Curate of Heversham, 31 August 1816 (CRO, DRC 10/ Heversham), of Stramongate, Kendal when he died (as gentleman and formerly surgeon), aged 74, and buried at Kendal, 16 January 1833

Canter, Hilda DSc (1922-2007), biologist and photographer, see Lund

Cowen, Arthur (b.1875), professor of music and organist, born Dalston, son of Robert Watson Cowen, mill owner Dalston, marr Gertrude Emma Symonds in 1894 at Twickenham, conducted Twickenham Philharmonic Society 1910-1913, active in Aberystwyth; Musical Times vol 51 no 807 May 1 1910, 311

Cowen, Betty (1914-1977), actress, dau of Arthur Cowen of Dalston (qv), marr Temperley Oswald Darke (qv), mother of Nicholas and Jo Darke (qqv);

Cowen, Jacob (1772-1807), of Biglands, Aikton, son of Luke Cowen and Ann Williamson, marr Mary Donald

Cowen, Robert Watson, mill owner, Mill Ellars, Buckabank, Dalston, son of George Cowen and Margaret Watson, employed 1207 men, marr Emily Webster, father of Arthur Cowen (qv);

Cowern, Jenny (1943-2005), artist and feltmaker, dau of Raymond Cowern RA and Margaret Trotman, ed Royal College of Art, lived Aspatria, numerous exhibitions incl Abbot Hall, lifetime partner Raymond Higgs, buried at Bromfield; Mary E Burkett and Val Rickerby, A Softer Landscape: The Life and Work of Jenny Cowern, 2007

Cowherd/Coward, Edward (1706-1787), tidewaiter, of Arnside Tower, “he was many years Tidewaiter”, marr Eleanor, then living at Cartmel, son (William Machel Coward, who succ at Arnside Tower) and dau (Ann, Mrs Wheeler, qv), buried at Beetham, 15 December 1787, aged 81

Cowherd, James H, son of Thomas C. Cowherd (1817-1907) of Kendal, worked with Alexander Graham Bell (1847-1922; ODNB) on his telephone work

Cowie, Herbert (18xx-1924), trustee with R H Greenwood (qv) of his sister’s marriage settlement, C M Cowie, died 17 January 1924, his widow Mrs H Cowie was of 9 Monk’s Road, Exeter (letter to RHG from The Castle, Bude Haven, Cornwall, 25 May 1927 in CRO, WD/AG/ box 40/ 1927)

Cowley, Hannah (1743-1809; ODNB), playwright and poet, born Tiverton, Devonshire, dau of Philip Parkhouse, bookseller, as a voter in the town he knew Lord Harrowby who encouraged Hannah’s early career, married Thomas Cowley (qv) of Cockermouth, her play The Runaway starring Sarah Siddons was put on by David Garrick at Drury Lane on 22 February 1780 and this ‘smash hit’ was admired by Queen Charlotte, the theme being an arranged marriage, Cowley was liked for her ‘fluid sparkling dialogue and memorable comic characters’ (Mahotiere), her Belle’s Stratagem (she adapted the title from Farquar’s Beaux’ Stratagem) performed in Whitehaven in March 1780, her other plays included Who’s the Dupe (1776) and Albina (1776), these plots were plagiarised by Hannah More in her Fatal Falsehood (1779), following an exchange in the St James’s Chronicle (reprinted in the Gentleman’s Magazine August 1779) More’s playwright career ceased, Cowley followed with A School for Greybeards (1786), her plays clearly fought for justice for women, she was friendly with Richard and Maria Cosway the artists, her dau Frances married the Rev David Brown (1763-1812; ODNB) who was a chaplain of the E India Co., her son was a lawyer in Portugal, she died 1809, buried Tiverton, her plays were produced well into the 19thc with Henry Irving and Ellen Terry in prominent roles; Cumb Pacquet 4 March 1780; Mary de la Mahotiere ODNB,

Cowley, Mary (fl.early 18thc), bookseller, Cockermouth, mother of Thomas Cowley (qv)

Cowley, Thomas (1744-1797), born Cockermouth, son of Mary Cowley (qv) bookseller, married Hannah Parkhouse, worked at the Stamp Office, London and following support from Lord Harrowby joined the East India Co., died in India

Cowper of Aldingham, family; CW2 xxi 81

Cowper, Geoffrey Thomas Middleton Carleton, major W and C Yeomanry 1st WW, lived Carleton Hall, Penrith; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Cowper, Henry Swainson (1865-1941), JP, FSA, antiquary and author, born 1865, yr son of Thomas Christopher Cowper (1825-1901), who assumed addnl name of Essex in 1879, of Harrow and Acton, and later of High House, Hawkshead (original seat of Sawreys of Sawrey Ground), educ Harrow School, marr (1902) Amy Mary, dau of Major-General C S Dundas, RA, 1 son (Christopher Swainson Cowper-Essex, born 1903, died 13 February 1976), edited The Oldest Register Book of the Parish of Hawkshead in Lancashire 1568-1704 (1897), author of Hawkshead: Its History, Archaeology, Industries, Folklore, Dialect, etc.(1899), died at a nursing home in Windermere, 7 April 1941, and buried at Hawkshead, 10 April, aged 75 (CW2, xli, 223-224); his er brother, Thomas Cowper-Essex (1863-1927), who assumed addnl name of Essex in 1903, of Keen Ground, Hawkshead, buried at Hawkshead, 21 July 1927, aged 64 (Hawkshead Commonplace book 1900-1936 in CRO, Z/292/1); Alice Elizabeth Cowper-Essex, of 5 Park Way, Bognor Regis, buried at Hawkshead, 13 May 1977

Cowper, John (1xxx-17xx), MA, clergyman, rector of Kirkbride, when collated to vicarage of Penrith, void by cession of Battie Worsop (qv), 22 September 1750

Cowper-Essex, Col. Thomas [1863-1927], soldier and artist, born Thomas Cowper, brother of HS Cowper qv, member Lake Artists, Renouf , 49

Cowper, William (d.1809), clergyman, vicar of Harwich, Essex (placed by John Robinson, MP), following Wordsworth’s refusal of curacy in 1791 (CW3, x, 228-29), wife Ann buried at St Michael’s Bongate, Appleby, May 1809, aged 60, and buried there too, November 1809

Cowperthwaite, Thomas [d.1782], produced witty rhymes, tomb Hawkshead churchyard

Cox, Bridget (1951-2022),  artist, born in Caldbeck, daughter of Dr Michael Cox, Caldbeck general practitioner and his wife Betty, educ Carlisle Art College, Sunderland Polytechnic and University of Ulster, Belfast (BA Hons Fine Art), lived in the west of Ireland for many years, exhibited portraits, landscapes and still life work in Ireland (N and S), Queens University, Belfast, Clifton Arts Festival, Co Galway, Compass Gallery, Glasgow, no 4 Gallery, Carlisle, work in public collections including the Northern Ireland Civil Service, at Tullie House including five portraits of Eric Wallace (1938-2004), and in private collections (including a portrait of David Cross, founder of Cumbrian Lives, inspired by a mutual interest in Louis de Broquy), in 2021 she was one of 45 selected entries (out of 2534 international works) in the BP Portrait Awards with her portrait of her friend Hilary Linton of Brampton, died Eden Valley hospice on 3 March 2022

Cox (formerly Cock), Edwin Henry (1886-1948), MA, clergyman, educ Trinity Hall, Cambridge (BA 1886, MA 1890), Bishop of Durham College 1894, d 1895 (Dur) and p 1901 (Carl), curate of St Peter, Jarrow 1895-1897, Boldon 1898-1899, Dacre 1900-1902, Ambleside 1902-1904, Wetheral with Warwick 1904-1907, vicar of Winster 1907-1919, Hugill (Ings) 1919-1929, officiating chaplain to Westmorland County Hospital 1912-1929, chaplain, Toc H 1926-1929, rector of Doynton, Bristol 1929-1935, officiating chaplain to Homoeopathic Hospital from 1936, changed his name from Cock to Cox sometime between 1939 and 1948, of 6 Henleaze Gardens, Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol, pres decd by 1949

Cox, Eli (18xx-1890), architect, of The Lound, Kendal (1851, 1873) and Kirkland, Kendal, work incl Assembly Room, Milnthorpe for William Hodgson, 1871, Flowerden at western end of Main Street, Milnthorpe, for Mrs Agnes Bindloss (qv) 1881, Kitching Memorial Reading Rooms in Beetham Road, Milnthorpe (“in Gothic style freely treated”) for Mrs Elizabeth Bindloss (qv) and Cottage Hospital on hill above Owlett Ash (“in a mixed, medieval, early, modern style”) for Mrs Agnes Bindloss (1880-1881), Wilkinson organ works and residence (1884) and Sleddall Victoria Jubilee Almshouses and Mission Church, Aynam Road, Kendal (1887-88), won competition for new Market Hall, Kendal, but job secured by Daniel Brade (qv) in 1887, died in Sept quarter 1890, aged 47 (CM, 270-271)

Cox, Nicholas (1724-1794), soldier, officer in Nova Scotia, commanded Fort Beausejour 1755

Crabtree, Zenas (c.1880-1945), garage proprietor, born at Hebden Bridge, West Riding, Yorkshire, yr son of Joseph Crabtree, fustian and velveteen cutter, apprenticed as pattern maker with Pickles Engineering Works, Halifax, joined Gardners, of Patricroft, Manchester, making internal combustion engines, for 4/5 yrs before coming to Kendal in early 1900s as a pattern maker for C H Oliverson, Victrix Motors, Lound Street, Kendal, but decided to set up in business himself, worked with Kendal Munitions Group during WW1, then began making gearboxes for Model T Fords, also adjustable brake shoes for cars and licence holders, moved to larger premises at 96-100 Kirkland in 1921, expanded again in 1936-37 from 80 to 100 Kirkland, marr Edith, 10th of eleven children of Squire and Charlotte Ashworth, of Peckett Well, nr Hebden Bridge, 3 sons (Bernard Ashworth (b.1908), Malcolm (b.1913), and Bryan (b.1918/19)), of 30 Natland Road, Kendal (1938), died in 1945, aged 66, at 3 Osborne Terrace, Kendal, his 2 sons taking over business (Bernard retired in 1973) (An Old Westmorland Garage, 2000)

Crackanthorpe of Newbiggin; CW2 xxxiii 43,held the manor of Newbiggin for fifteen generations in the male line from the 14th to 18th centuries, following this Dorothy Crackanthorpe married William Cookson, whose daughter Ann married John Wordsworth (qv); two Crackanthorpe brothers died at the battle of Towton in 1461; many mss survive in the CRO

Crackanthorp, Ambrose (fl.1490), had grant of Abbotsflatte in manor of Holgill from Richard Redman, Abbot of Shap (qv), by deed of 18 March 5 Hen VII [1490] (CRO, WD/Hoth/ Box 35)

Crackanthorpe, Ann (1725-1790), great aunt of Wordsworth; CW2 lx 135

Crackanthorpe, Christopher (d.1552),  built Newbiggin Hall in 1533 and was granted properties at the Dissolution which his forbears had given to Holm Cultrum, landowner, marr (1524) Anne, dau of Thomas Blenkinsop, 3 sons (Henry (qv), John, of Little Strickland, and Christopher (d.1612/13?), received grant of monastic lands from Henry VIII, 6 November 1543 (Royal Letters Patent in CRO)

Crackanthorpe, Christopher (1578-1623), landowner, born in 1578, eldest son of Henry Crackanthorpe (qv), marr Mary (buried 25 May 1667), dau of Sir James Bellingham, of Helsington, 3 sons (Richard (qv), Christopher (b.1610) and Henry (killed at Wigan, 1651)) and 7 daus, died 2 June 1623 [or 2 September 21 Jas I as in valor of his manors?]

Crackanthorpe, Christopher (d.1669), son of Richard Crackanthorpe, of Newbiggin Hall, matric Queen’s College, Oxford, 12 February 1652, marr Anne, dau and coheir of Robert Rawlinson, of Cark in Cartmel, Knight of the Royal Oak 1660 (with estate valued at £600 pa)

Crackanthorpe, Christopher, of Newbiggin Hall, marr (3 September 1730, at Askham) Dorothy Sandford, of Askham Hall

Crackanthorpe, Christopher Crackanthorpe, formerly Cookson (1745-1799), son of William Cookson and Dorothy (d.1792), dau of Richard Crackanthorpe, bapt at Penrith, 20 May 1745, succ to Newbiggin and took name and arms of Crackanthorpe in 1792 

Crackanthorpe, Dayrell Eardley Montague (1871-1950), CMG, JP, diplomat, born 9 September 1871, 2nd son of Montague Hughes Cookson, later Crackanthorpe (qv), educ St Paul’s School and Merton College, Oxford, entd Diplomatic Service 1895, Third Secretary at Madrid Embassy 1898-1900, at Washington 1900-1902, Second Secretary at Brussels 1902-1906 (Acting Charge d’Affaires in October 1902 and October 1903), First Secretary 1908, transferred successively to Bucharest, Vienna, Tokyo, Belgrade (in charge of HM Legation 1913-1914 and accompanying Serbian government in exile), and Athens (Charge d’Affaires from June to October 1917, British Delegate to International Financial Commission at Athens in 1917), Councillor of Embassy in Madrid in 1919 and in charge of Embassy from July to October 1920, apptd Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to Guatemala, Honduras and Salvador 1919, retired in 1921, CMG 1918, succ to Newbiggin Hall estate in 1913, Lord of Manors of Newbiggin and Hale and of Ousby and Bank, Patron of Newbiggin living, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1928, JP for Cumberland and Westmorland, served with LDV and Home Guard (Lieut 1941) in WW2, marr (20 October 1898) Ida (died 8 December 1918), dau of General D E Sickles, former Minister for USA in Paris and Madrid, 2 sons (Francis Dayrell Montague (born 6 January 1899, Lieut RN, and died on active service, 4 December 1944) and George Christopher (born 21 February 1901 and died 9 May 1931) and 1 dau, died 9 February 1950 (CW2, xlix, 234); will proved on 19 May 1950, succ by his grandson, David Richard Francis (born 16 January 1929), barrister at law and author, who sold Newbiggin Hall estate in 1956 and later sold manors of Newbiggin and Ousby and Bank to Captain and Mrs John Henry Crackanthorpe Sawrey-Cookson, 15 December 1971; [Fanny Crackanthorpe, of 5 Observatory Gardens, London, buried at Newbiggin, 26 April 1980 and ashes removed from chapel to graveyard, 24 May 1982 – was she DRF’s first wife?] [his wife Helen died 21 December 1992]

Crackanthorpe, Gilbert (1717-1793), schoolmaster, bapt at Kendal, 17 June 1717, yr son of Richard Crackanthorp, attorney (Little Strickland line), elected Master of Kendal Grammar School, 24 February 1741, resigned in May 1774, following death of wife Elizabeth (buried at Kendal, 4 January 1774, aged 53; admon 19 January 1774), no issue, will made 30 April 1787, leaving interest on sum of £600 (due to him on security by mortgage of White Hart Inn or coffee house in Kendal by trust to his friends, James Fell (qv), surgeon and apothecary, of Kendal, and Josias Lambert (qv), gent, of Kirkland) to wife Elizabeth, then after her death in trust for his nephew Richard Jackson and niece Mary Jackson (later wife of Thomas Backhouse, of Roston, co Derby, officer of excise), children of Thomas Jackson, of Kendal, his brother-in-law (probate 13 July 1793), formerly of Kirkland, later of Highgate, Kendal, died aged 76 and buried at Kendal, 26 May 1793 (CRO, WDY 71/44 (copy of LRO, R507/75); TWT, 47-53; KGS, 20)

Crackanthorpe, Sir John (fl.1370-1390s), marr Alice heiress of Roger de Salkeld in the 1370s, thus acquiring property in Great Salkeld and Penrith, appointed constable of Brough castle by Thomas Lord Clifford in 1390

Crackanthorpe, Hubert Montague [formerly Cookson] (1870-1896; ODNB), writer, born in London, 12 May 1870, eldest son of Montague Hughes Cookson, later Crackanthorpe (qv), changed his name to Crackanthorpe in 1888 on his father’s inheritance, wrote short stories, essays and a novella, Wreckage [1893], a play The Light Sovereign [1917], contributed to the Yellow Book, staying at Pensione Chiusareth in Siena when he wrote to Mrs Heywood about his return to London, support for miners, etc, 28 September 1893 (CRO, WDY 65), marr (14 February 1893) Leila, yr dau of Reginald J Somerled Macdonald (and grand dau of Sir William Grove), also a writer, relocated to France, living in the Villa Baron near Sallespisse, but she had miscarriage in early 1896 and left for Italy, he then having affair with Sissie Welch and she with Comte d’Artaux, she left him on 4 November and returned to London, he not seen alive again, his body being discovered in river Seine on 24 December 1896, death certificate issued by British Consulate at Paris gives his residence as Avenue Kleber, Paris, and date of death as 5 November 1896 (informant Reginald Gesling, undertaker, of 3 Rue d’Agnesseau, Paris, registered and witnessed by A P Inglis, HM Consul, Paris, 28 December 1896), aged 26, cremated at Woking, 1 January 1897 and ashes buried in north chapel of St Edmund’s church, Newbiggin, 2 January 1897

Crackanthorpe, Montague Hughes [formerly Cookson] (1832-1913; ODNB), DL, JP, QC, DCL, barrister and eugenicist, born 24 February 1832, 6th son of Christopher Cookson (1791-1834), of Nowers, nr Wellington, Somerset, a cousin of William Wordsworth (qv), and of Jane (d.1871), dau of John Strother Ancrum, educ Merchant Taylors’ School and St John’s College, Oxford (scholar, Fellow 1850-1869), marr (6 April 1869) Blanche Althea Elizabeth (died 4 June 1928, aged 81, and ashes buried with husband, 9 June), yr dau of Revd Eardley Chauncy Holt, 3 sons (Hubert (qv), Dayrell (qv) and Oliver Montague (1876-1934) buried at Newbiggin, 13 August 1934, aged 59), called to bar, Lincoln’s Inn 1859, QC 1875, Chairman, Westmorland Quarter Sessions, chairman of Cumberland Benevolent Institution and supported system of national insurance (CJ, 17.05.1893), assumed name of Crackanthorpe by royal licence in lieu of Cookson on succ to Newbiggin Hall estate of his unmarried cousin, William Crackanthorpe (qv), in 1888, died at his home, 20 Rutland Gate, Knightsbridge, London, 16 November 1913, aged 81, cremated and ashes buried in north chapel of St Edmund’s church, Newbiggin, 21 November [not buried at All Saints, Ennismore Gardens, London, pace writer of ODNB]

Crackanthorpe, Richard, Chaplain to James I, author of Defensio Ecclesiae Anglicanae contra M. Antonii de Dominis injurias… (London, 1625) [copy presented to Cartmel Library on 15 October 1648 by Christopher Philipson, Esq.]

Crackanthorpe, Richard, writer of tracts

Crackanthorpe, Richard (1608-1662), landowner, born in 1608, eldest son of Christopher Crackanthorpe (qv), whom he succ in 1623 as a minor, reached his majority on 29 May 5 Chas I (as in Valor in CRO, WD/Crk/acc.10877)

Crackanthorpe, Richard (16xx-17xx), attorney, marr, son (Gilbert, qv) and daus (Jane, bapt 19 December 1720; Eliz, bapt 17 June 1722; Jane, bapt 22 September 1724; Ann, bapt 14 December 1725, all at Kendal), of Highgate, then of Finkle Street, Kendal, father of Gilbert (qv)

Crackanthorpe, Robert (d.1349) married the heiress Emma de Newbiggin, daughter of Robert de Newbiggin and acquired the Newbiggin estate

Crackanthorpe, Robert (fl.early 15thc.), party to Yanwath manor recovery by Sir Henry Threlkeld on 23 March 1425 (CRO, WD/Ry/92/79), querent in fine for Skirwith manor on 12 November 1431 (ibid, 92/81), but dead by 1443 when Elizabeth is described as late wife (family settlement of 12 August 1443, ibid, 92/90)

Crackanthorpe, William (fl.1425/25), receiver, acted as receiver for money accounted for by Thomas Skafe, reeve of Sowerby near Brough under Stainmore, in 1424-25 for Clifford’s Westmorland estate (CRO, WD/Hoth/box 45), poss = knight of shire for Westmorland 1425, who died 25 April 1439 (CW2, xxxiii, 53-55)

Crackanthorpe, William (1790-1888), DL, JP, landowner, born 25 February 1790, son of Christopher Crackanthorpe, of Newbiggin Hall, educ Sedbergh School, but removed by his uncle, Canon Cookson, and placed with Dr Gretton at Windsor (which he always regretted; mss below), succ to father’s estates in 1800, entered St John’s College, Cambridge in 1807, , travelled on continent in 1814-15 (visiting Napoleon on Elba the day before he escaped), active Liberal in politics, name put forward as candidate in 1831, but withdrawn after compromise, close friend of Wordsworth (his cousin), Coleridge, Southey, Herschell, Lyell and others, High Sheriff of Cumberland 18xx, DL Westmorland 18xx, JP (qualif. 2 July 1831), oldest magistrate in C or W, died unmarried, 10 January 1888, aged 97, and buried at Newbiggin, 16 January (SSR, 163-164); (Cambridge university library GB12 ms Add 8908 and many others)

Cragg family of Lowscales; CW2 xcii 93

Craig, Robert (18xx-18xx), gardener, succ Alexander Forbes (qv) as head gardener at Levens Hall in 1861, until 1883 ?

Craik, Helen (a.k.a. Mrs Craik) (1751-1825) gothic novelist, publications include Stella of the North and The Nun and her Daughter; subscriber to works of Robert Anderson, lived unmarried at Flimby Hall from 1792 until her death;  known as Mrs Craik, she must not be confused with Dinah M. Craik (1826-1887; ODNB), also ‘Mrs Craik’ author of John Halifax, Gentleman (1856), Neil Curry, Cumberland Coast

Crakeplace family, married into many local landed families, ‘though very ancient gentry I never heard them of any great remark’; Hudleston ( C )

Cramer, John Antony (1793-1848; ODNB), dean of Carlisle and historian

Crampton, Vera G L (189x-1993), schoolteacher, St Anne’s School, Brow Head, Windermere, apptd a (LEA) Governor of Charlotte Mason College, Ambleside in 1960, appointed chairman of governors of Old College, Windermere for remainder of school’s life at meeting of governing body on 5 November 1964, having first been appointed chairman on 7 November 1963 (minute book in CRO)

Crank, John (1922-xxxx), artist, born in Salford in 1922, marr to an artist, served WW2 with RAF (inc period in India), attended Salford Art School (scholarship) for three years, worked in various art studios, professional artist, with original source of inspiration in life of native city, but later became keen bird watcher and came to concentrate on studies of birds, exhibited at Manchester Academy of Fine Art and elsewhere in England, inc Anvil Gallery, Cartmel, which acted as his sole agent and organised two one-man exhibitions in USA in 1974 and 1975 (kingfisher, jay, redstart, pheasant)

Cranke, James Sr (1707-1780), artist, father of James the younger qv; CW2 vi 128-142

Cranke, James Jr (1746-1826; ODNB), artist, son of James Cranke (1707-1780), painter and limner, of Urswick, and his wife Elizabeth (1713-1791), dau of J Essex;  marr, son William, of Hawkshead, who had son, Malachi James (1828-1909), of Midtown, Much Urswick, yeoman and churchwarden for 40 years (CW2, vi, 128-142); Alex Kidson, Transactions of the Romney Society , 2019, 28-36

Cranke, Malachi (b.1752, Ulverston), relative of James Cranke (qv), lived Urswick, sank well behind the school 1795-6, the exposure of rock which inspired John Bolton [b.1791] the geologist, qv

Craven, Sir Charles Wallington, Bt. (1884-1944), MD Vickers Barrow, Craven House, a large 1960s building was named after him

Craven, Ciceley Musgrave  (1890-1962; ODNB) JP, educator and prison reformer, b.Rocklands, Strickland Kettle, dau Dr Robert Musgrave Craven (1890-1962), medical officer of health, ed Wycombe Abbey and St Hilda’s Oxford but owing to the constraints on women did not graduate until 1920, taught Winchester High School and later was secretary of the Howard League for Penal Reform, lived with her sister Millicent a social worker

Craven, Francis, DSO, (d.1921), Lt Cdr who saved 600 lives in 1918 on the HMS Otranto, died at the hand of the IRA in 1921; tombstone Barrow cemetery; Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones

Craven, Martin Grant (1940/1-2013), athlete, born in December 1940/January 1941, er son of Edward Ferguson, bank manager, of 25 Sedbergh Road, Kendal, and his wife Alice, educ Heversham Grammar School (admitted 16 September 1954, aged 13 years and 9 months, at same time as his yr brother, Patrick Marshall, aged 11 years and 7 months, and left 24 July 1959), Edinburgh and Oxford Universities, gaining an athletics blue at both, became teacher at Barrow Grammar School, joined Kendal Athletics Club as a youth and won Windermere to Kendal road race, while regularly representing Cumberland and Westmorland in annual inter-counties cross-country championship, made international debut as runner for Great Britain in the Kosice Marathon in Czechoslovakia in 1963,…………died in Edinburgh in week of 12-19 January 2013, aged 72 (WG, 24.01.2013)

Craven, Robert Musgrove MRCS LRCP DPH Camb, surgeon, lived Westmorland; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

Crawford, Revd Prince (17xx-18xx), MA, clergyman and schoolmaster, was Master of an academy in vicinity of Dublin when selected by Feoffees of Heversham Grammar School to be Master, succ Revd George Wilson (qv) in December 1834, (Revd Edward Power, who having first been chosen, never took up his duties, changing his mind and accepting mastership of Foundation School at Atherstone, Warwickshire), with salary of £50 per annum and Shrovetide cock-pence (about £15), but soon fell foul of parishioners who sent memorial to feoffees on 20 November 1835 complaining of increased charge and only two parish boys attending school, resulting in request to him to resign, though supported by vicar, George Lawson (qv), he refused but had meeting with feoffees at Cross Keys Inn, Milnthorpe on 11 February 1836, with evidence given by his predecessor, George Wilson, then vicar of Grayrigg, against and John Hudson (qv), vicar of Kendal, also against, developed into a real row, forcing feoffees to draw up a new set of rules, dated 10 March 1836, continued as headmaster until he sent in letter of resignation on 6 October 1836, accepted at meeting of feoffees on 10 November, vacating mastership at Christmas 1836, having been offered a church in Liverpool, marr (182x) Anne Margaret, 2 sons (Prince Irwin and John Torrens, both admitted to Heversham School, 1 December 1834, aged 12 and 9, and left at Xmas 1836), (admission register and feoffees’minute book in CRO, WDS 14)[no living listed for him in 1858 Clergy list]

Crawley (Crowley), Abraham (c.1698-1760), pewterer, Penrith; CW2 lxxxv 163ff

Creed, A H (18xx-19xx), Methodist minister, chairman of Carlisle District, superintendent minister of Fisher Street Circuit, Carlisle (succ Revd H Oswald Brigg in 1934//38), gave address at foundation stone-laying of new Sunday School at Job Pennington Memorial Methodist Hall, Fellside, Kendal, on 5 November 1938, of Lilacs, Wigton Road, Carlisle (1938)

Creeny, Horatio Nelson (18xx-1xxx), MA, clergyman, educ Trinity College Dublin (BA 1849, MA 1865), div test (2) 1866, d 1866 and p 1867 (Down), curate of Dundonald, Down 1866-1869, Killead, Antrim 1869-1873, and Egremont 1873, vicar of Eskdale 1873-1883, of Carnforth (1890), but decd by 1914

Creese, W H, pseud Paul Braddon (1864-1938), artist, of Birmingham, best known work ‘Nooks, Corners and Crannies of Birmingham’ (1893), but active in Kendal about 1880 to 1893, his watercolour of ‘Highgate, Kendal as it appeared in 1830’ purchased for town from Farleton Tithes Trust Fund in 1895, showing narrow entrance to Allhallows Lane (widened in 1914 by demolition of building on its south corner) and fruit market

Creighton, James Robert (1845-1896), JP, timber merchant, born 1845, yr son of Robert Creighton (1816-1878), timber merchant, of Carlisle, and Sarah (d.1850/51), dau of Thomas Mandell, farmer, of Bolton, and yr bro of Bishop Mandell Creighton (qv), firm of R & J R Creighton, timber merchants, Byron Street, Carlisle, pioneering local councillor, mayor of Carlisle 1880-1881 and 1888-1889, Hon Freeman of City of Carlisle 1889, of The Snabs, Scotby, m Caroline Hope [1851-1893] dau of Joseph Hope qv, wine merchant of Carlisle, died 1896; son, Robert (b.1873), JP, was director of firm; column with St George on top and a portrait medallion on the base erected to him on Hardwick Circus, Carlisle, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 150-151

Creighton, Louise Hume (1850-1936; ODNB), social activist and writer of popular histories and biography, b.Sydenham, dau of Robert William von Glehn (1801-1885), merchant, one of the first women to take a London university exam and passed with honours, later member of the Association for Promotion Education of Women, Child’s First History of England, The Life and Letters of Bishop Mandel Creighton (1904), co-founder and president of the National Union of Women’s Writers, supported suffrage movement, her brother Alfred de Gleyne designed French steam locomotives, co-founder of the Ladies Dining Society, lived latterly in a grace and favour apartment at Hampton Court Palace

Creighton, Right Revd Mandell (1843-1901; ODNB), PC, MA, DD, historian and bishop, born in Carlisle, 5 July 1843, er son of Robert Creighton (qv), educ Carlisle Cathedral School (entd 1852), Durham Grammar School (scholarship 1858), and Merton College, Oxford (1862), marr (8 January 1872, at St Bartholomew’s, Sydenham) Louise Hume (1850-1936; ODNB) (qv), dau (and 10th child) of Robert William von Glehn (1801-1885), a naturalised merchant from Estonia, and Agnes Duncan (c.1813-1881), contributed DNB article on John Hodgson (qv); his life written by his widow (qv); Frederick Chance, Some Notable Cumbrians, c1890

Creighton, Margaret, sister of bishop Mandel Creighton qv, first woman to be presented with the Freedom of the Borough, pensioners’ housing named after her off Greystone Rd.

Cressoner, William de la [d.1260-1], child murder victim; litigation followed; CW2 xci 59

Creswell, Lionel (18xx-1943), JP, barrister, son of David Gordon Cresswell, of Fagley House, Fagley, Bradford, Yorks, took active part in local government and magistrate in West Riding, lord of manor of Burley-in-Wharfdale, purchased Crackanthorpe Hall from Lady Valda Machell in 1928, member of CWAAS from 1929 and took keen interest in local history, especially place-names, read paper on Crackenthorpe and Machell family on occasion of Society’s visit to Hall in September 1932, left legacy of £50 to Society, keen sportsman and good shot, died after long illness, 1 May 1943 (CW2, xliii, 217)

Creswick, Benjamin (1853-1946; DCB), artist, educator and sculptor, born in Sheffield, son of Edward Creswick (1810-1897), spectacle maker and his wife Mary Thorp, educ Sheffield School of Art and encouraged by John Ruskin via Mr Swan at Walkley Museum from 1877, this resulted from his making of a terracotta bust of Ruskin who dubbed him ‘a true and pure genius’ and invited him to Brantwood to model another bust, from 1879 lodged at Dixon Ground, Coniston, influenced by Ruskin’s principles he became a member of the Bromsgrove Guild and sculpted details on many buildings notably a freize on Cutlers’ Hall, London, professor of sculpture at Birmingham Municipal School of Art (now Birmingham School of Art), Creswick is ‘a living testament’ to the success of Ruskin’s Guild of St George and the Museum at Walkley, Sheffield and his efforts to improve the education of the working man.

Creswick, Thomas [1811-1869; ODNB], artist

Crewdson family, prominent in Kendal, see below (also Croudson)

Crewdson, Bardy (c.1920-c.2010), portrait painter, wife of Peter (qv), served WW2 in WRNS, exhibitor at Royal Society of Portrait Painters, elected member of Kendal Art Society 1948, member Romney Society; Renouf

Crewdson, Edward (18xx-1xxx), of Abbot Hall, Kendal (1886)

Crewdson, Eric (18xx-1967), DL, County Alderman for Westmorland, Secretary of Kendal Dispensary Committee from 1920 (succ G F Braithwaite, qv), governor (apptd by Westmorland County Council) of Westmorland Sanatorium, Meathop from 1937 (and chairman of its finance committee from 1941) – to at least 1947, of Low Slack, Queen’s Road, Kendal (>1938 to 1963/65), died at his elder son’s home, Summer How, Shap Road, Kendal, xx (Sat) February 1978, aged 78 (WG, 09.02.2017, quoting 50 Years Ago)

Crewdson, Francis William (18xx-1941), JP, banker, son of Edward Crewdson, of Kendal, and his first wife Mary Bolton (d.1864), half-brother of W H Crewdson (qv), marr (21 July 1886) Annie Whitwell (died 24 November 1947), 2nd dau of Isaac Whitwell Wilson (qv), 2 sons (inc Bernard Francis (1887-19xx), CBE, Gen Sec, Intell and Stat Ser, Austrian section of Reparations Commn at Vienna, 1920) and 3 daus (inc Cicely), Westmorland County Councillor for Levens, first hon treasurer of St Monica’s diocesan maternity home for unmarried mothers, Kendal from 1917, trustee of Levens Institute 1914-1941, held Bible classes at Levens on Sunday afternoons for some years, had affectionate opinion of people of Levens, of Beathwaite House, Levens, also of Gillinggrove, Kendal, and later of Long House, Windermere, and then of Greenclose, Windermere, where he died 7 July 1941, aged 88 (pen and ink drawing by his dau Cicely)

Crewdson, George (1840-1920), clergyman, of the banking family, yr son of G B Crewdson (qv), marr (1870) Mary Salome Hay Sweet Escott qv, 1 son (W D, IV, qv) vicar of St George’s Kendal, keen geologist, hon. curator of Kendal Museum

Crewdson, George Braithwaite (1800-1876), JP, banker, born in Kendal, 2nd son of William Dillworth Crewdson I (qv), marr (1831) Eleanor Fox (1807-1890), from Cornwall, 2 sons (William Dillworth (qv) and George (qv)) and 3 daus (Maria Jane, Frances Mary and Ellen), all born in Kendal, director of Kendal & Windermere Railway 1846-1859, of Highgate, Kendal (1851), but of the Terrace, Windermere (1856-58), died at The Wood, Windermere, 10 May 1876, aged 75

Crewdson, Isaac (1780-1844; ODNB), Quaker seceder, born at Kendal, 6 June 1780, er son of Thomas Crewdson and Cicely (nee Dillworth), of Kendal, settled at Ardwick, Manchester at age of 14 and became successful textile manufacturer, marr (27 July 1803) Elizabeth (1779-1855), dau of John Jowitt and Susannah (nee Dickinson), of Leeds, 1 surv dau (Mary, who marr Henry Waterhouse in 1832), strict Quaker in upbringing, opposed slavery, and ministered in Society of Friends from 1816 to 1836, but became more evangelical after a serious illness, provoked major crisis among Quakers with his A Beacon to the Society of Friends in 1835, criticising Quaker rejection of scriptural authority of Lord’s supper and baptism by water, resigned from Society in November 1836 with about 50 sympathisers and established assembly of Free Evangelical Friends, loosely associated with Plymouth Brethren, baptised in 1837 and also administered baptism to other Quakers, died at Bowness-on-Windermere, 8 May 1844 and buried at Rusholme Road cemetery, Manchester (portrait by B R Faulkner 1840, engraved by F C Lewis, in Friends’ Library, London)

Crewdson, John (1701-1760), woollen manufacturer and merchant, and card manufacturer, eldest son of John Crewdson (1676-1718), of Stramongate, Kendal, weaver, and (marr 1700) his wife, Margaret Braithwaite, became one of Kendal’s principal woollen merchants, employing 700 people in woollen manufacture, formed company of Bayliff & Crewdson to market a machine for crooking the wire teeth used in card-making invented by one of his employees, Dover Bayliff, marr (1724) Rachel, dau of Thomas Wilson, tanner, of Kendal, 5 sons and 1 dau, moved to Crook, died in 1760

Crewdson, John (c.1765-1837), blind fiddler, of Beast Banks, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 5 February 1837, aged 71

Crewdson, Margaret, master stuff weaver, took on an apprentice; CW3 xv 163

Crewdson, Mary (fl.mid 20thc.), married Eric Gilkes, she was deputy liaison officer for 2nd world war refugees with Catherine Marshall q.v. in Keswick; Rob David, Country of Refuge, 2019, 53-64

Crewdson, Peter Eric Fyers (19xx-2007), company director and conservationist, grandson of F W Crewdson (qv), educ Shrewsbury School and Jesus College, Cambridge, but joined Royal Marines after a couple of terms, served WW2 in Italy and NW Europe, Captain, RM, marr (1944) Bardy (qv), 5 children (inc son, Christopher), chairman and managing director of Gilbert Gilkes and Gordon Ltd, Kendal, manufacturers of water turbines and pumps (Queen’s Award for exports in 1969), influential figure in conservation and visual arts in south Lakeland, first chairman of Friends of Abbot Hall Art Gallery, Kendal 1962-1972, and President/Chairman 1972-1999, Chairman, Kendal Civic Society, High Sheriff of Cumbria 1984-85, formerly of Natland Mill Beck (to 195x), member Romney Society, then of Summer How, Kendal, died in 2007

Crewdson, Robert, Esq, of Rydal Mount (1885), had lease of Rydal Mount for £100 p.a. from G C H le Fleming, 10 June 1873 (CRO, WD/Ry/123)

Crewdson, Samuel Shaw (1839-1891), itinerant photographer, b. Ulverston; CWAAS 2017, 177

Crewdson, Thomas (1737-1795), hosier and linsey manufacturer, wool merchant and banker, born in 1737, yr son of John Crewdson (qv), marr (1774) Cicely, dau of William Dilworth, Quaker banker, of Lancaster, trading with William Dent in 1763, founder with Christopher Wilson (qv) and Joseph Maude (qv) of Kendal Bank in 1788 (opened on 1 January), treasurer of Kendal Dispensary from start in 1783, Quaker, died in 1795

Crewdson, Wilfred Howard (1869-1907), born 15 April 1869, son of Edward Crewdson, of Kendal, and his 2nd wife, Mary Susan Wilson (born 7 October 1842, died 31 October 1907), half-brother of F W Crewdson (qv), original trustee of Levens Institute from 1903 until his death, made loan of £150 to Institute (being discharged under terms of his will, by codicil of 4 November 1904, with probate granted to J E Bolton, solicitor, at Carlisle on 23 December 1907), died at Beathwaite House, Levens, 31 October 1907, aged 38, just a few hours before his mother, both being buried at Heversham (MI) [Beathwaite House was later occupied by North West Water Authority, 1988]

Crewdson, William (died 1 May 1871), photographer, obituary  in CRO; large photographic collection sold Christie’s May 2000 (WDX 413/16 ); West Gaz 28 April 2000

Crewdson, William Dillworth I (1774-1851), banker, er son of Thomas Crewdson (qv), marr (1798) Deborah (1775-1844), 2nd dau of George and Deborah Braithwaite, 4 sons and 5 daus, succ father as partner in Bank in 1795, lived at 63 Highgate, Kendal from 1797 until he moved to Bank House in 1801, built Helme Lodge, Kendal (F & G Webster, 1824-27), drew up regular code of laws for government of Kendal Workhouse 1803 and adopted by trustees of Kendal Fell Inclosure Act, treasurer of Kendal Dispensary (succ his father?) and subscriber (1804), also of committee for relief of poor (1817), Deputy Recorder (1830), secretary and treasurer of committee apptd for applying funds for relief of distress among poor (agreed at meeting in Town Hall on 12 January 1830), signatory (with Isaac Braithwaite) to protest against proposed introduction of slave-grown sugars into British markets [post-1840] (CRO, WD/HCW/acc.1547), resigned from Society of Friends in 1840 after disapproval of his recent baptism by immersion, merged his bank with Wakefields in 1840 (partners of three Crewdsons and two Wakefields); built the building which is now Barclays bank in Kendal, a cast iron lion on roofline by Felix Austin (c.1800-1850)(Austin later went into partnership with John Seeley)

Crewdson, William Dillworth II (1799-1878), banker and keen photographer, eldest son of William Dillworth Crewdson I (qv), marr (1825) Sarah W Fox (1802-1883) [born in Plymouth, Devon, she was first co-secretary (with Jane Whitwell) of Castle Street School managers from 1830 to 1833], sent contribution to Clergy Daughters Preparatory School (letter of receipt from Revd William Carus Wilson, 28 August 1837, in CRO, WDX 28/2), had lease of Sizergh Hall and part of grounds (after death of Thomas Strickland (qv)) for five years on 15 December 1835 (CRO, WD/Cr/6/91), wife at Sizergh with news on 10 July 1840 (letter, WD/Cr/6/83), and recorded in 1848 that he was a resident ‘in whom the old Hall has had a worthy and careful keeper, shewing its various matters of interest with a courtesy and kindness not too common among custodians of English antiquities’ (S C Hall, The Baronial Halls and Picturesque Edifices of England, 1848, 4), of Stramongate, Kendal (1851)

Crewdson, William Dillworth III (1838-1908), DL, JP, banker, er son of George Braithwaite Crewdson (qv), member of banking firm, Messrs Wakefield, Crewdson & Co (later amalgamated with Bank of Liverpool Ltd), Chairman of Westmorland County Council from March 1906 to January 1908, vice-chairman 1889/90-1906, and alderman from first meeting of new county council, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1888, JP co Westmorland 1874 (chairman of Kendal Ward division) and Kendal borough 1876 (senior magistrate), a staunch conservative and vice-chairman of South Westmorland Conservative Association, member of CWAAS from 1886 and Hon Treasurer 1890-1908, great reader and excellent lecturer (esp to Kendal Literary Institution on his tours abroad and discourses on church history), though not a contributor to Transactions, supported many missionary enterprises, charity organisations, hospitals and dispensaries, and educational societies in county, generally welcomed as a genial presence, died three days after suffering a stroke, 13 January 1908, aged 69; Natland Church erected in 1910 in his memory, with memorial window to his wife Katharine (nee Davidson), marr (1866) (born 14 November 1843, died 9 April 1910) placed at West end in 1912 (CW2, viii, 386)

Crewdson, William Dillworth IV (1879-1972), CB, LLB, TD, DL, JP, MA, Colonel, barrister and judge, son of Revd George Crewdson (qv), examined fit to be called to Bar at Gray’s Inn 1902, laid foundation stone of new Natland church on 29 June 1909, also contributing to its cost in his uncle’s memory, apptd Puisne Judge, Supreme Court of Leeward Islands 1911, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1912, apptd officer in TF 1911, served with 1/4th Border Regt, serving in India and Burma to 1919, president of Kendal Branch of British Legion, Chairman of Natland Parish Council, South Westmorland Rural District Councillor (1930), chairman of Westmorland Combined Probation Committee (1953), Deputy Chairman of Westmorland Court of Quarter Sessions (1953), Foundation manager of Natland St Mark’s C of E School (as PCC rep) from introduction of new scheme in April 1954 until his death, laid foundation stone of new school on 6 July 1966, gift of £200 from his wife to school in 1965 invested in Carlisle Diocesan Board of Finance account in 1971 (“Crewdson Education Benefaction”), marr (1907) Cicely Maud Nichols (died 1965x71), of Helme Lodge (damaged by fire on 11 March 1915), died after 11 February 1972 (memorial service, 22 February 1972) (corresp, papers and account books in CRO, WD/Cr/10; WDX 345)

Crichton, Lady Madeline Olivia Susan, nee Taylour (184x-1876), eldest dau of 3rd Marquess of Headfort (qv), of Underley Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale, marr (2 January 1873) Hon Charles Frederick Crichton (1841-1918), DL, JP, Col, Grenadier Guards, of Mullaboden, co Kildare, 2nd son of 3rd Earl Erne, KP, 1 son (infra) and 1 dau, died 27 January 1876, following birth of her daughter, Amelia Madeline Louisa, on 20 January 1876. Her son, Hubert Francis (1874-1914), born 17 December 1874, Major, Irish Guards, marr (14 July 1903) Esther Eliza, 3rd dau of Llewellyn T B Saunderson, of Kingstown, Dublin, 2 daus (Doris Madeline (qv sub Pease) and Enid Irene Adelaide (born 27 February 1907, died 5 April 1974)), killed in action, 1 September 1914

Critchley, Alfred Cecil, [1890-1938] CMG CBE DSO, Brig. Gen., b. Calgary, attended St Bees school, meteoric promotions in the 1st world war led to him making that rank by the age of 27; introduced modern Greyhound Racing in 1925, MD of Greyhound Racing Association, international amateur golfer won championships in France, Belgium and Holland; Story of St Bees c.1940, 73

Croft, Elizabeth (1907-2003), actress, played in Vintage Wine with Seymour Hicks in 1934, 1940s RSC, later Crossroads as Edith Tatum, b.Windermere

Croft, Herbert John (18xx-19xx), motor car agent, cycle dealer at 1 Wildman Street, Kendal at end of 19th century, but quick to move into motor cars and became agent for Humber, Rover and Daimler, later moved into premises at 84-92 Highgate and agent for Austin, Morris and Rover, of 2 Castle Garth, Kendal (1905)

Croft, Richard, clergyman, apptd and admitted to vicarage of Burton-in-Kendal on 10 June 1654, 3 July 1654-6 March 1660 (Register of Approved Ministers, Lambeth Palace Library)

Croft, Roger (fl.1453), priest, vicar of Crosby Ravensworth as party in fine with Sir Henry Threlkeld and Dame Alice re lands at Threlkeld and Yanwath (deed in CRO, WD/Ry/box 92/1/3/21/5)

Croft, Thomas (17xx-18xx), MA, educ Christ’s College, Cambridge (BA, MA), headmaster of Free Grammar School, Kirkby Lonsdale 1845-1860, built headmaster’s residence and Springfield House for boarders in 1847, had reputation for being ‘a terrible caner’ (1849, 1858)

Croft, Tobias (c.1706-1765), MA, clergyman, dau Dorothy (born 22 December 1737 and bapt at KL, 20 January 1738), buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 23 October (August?) 1765 (CW2, xxix, 189)

Crofton, Clement de (d.1369), son of John de Crofton (fl.1300-1332), marr Joanna, granted part of William Armstrong’s moiety of lands in Ousby by Adam Armstrong in 13xx (TD, 339-40), witness to grant by Hugh de Berwys of messuage and lands in Ousby to Roger de Salkeld in c.1355 (CRO, WD/Crk/5/1/4), authorised to convey third part of moiety of manor of Ousby to Roger de Salkeld and Joanna, dau of Thomas Beauchamp, by letters patent of 24 October 1355 (WD/Crk/acc.1428), with fine levied in 1356-57 (CW2, vii, 240), made will in his hall at Crofton on 11 October 1369 (written in hand of Walter Marshall, clerk) and proved on 19 October, body to be buried in churchyard of St Andrew’s, Thursby, leaving his body armour to his brother John (qv) and residue of all his goods to his wife Joanna after payment of debts (Test Karl, 91-92)

Crofton, Sir John de, son of John de Crofton (fl.1300-1332) and brother of Clement, marr Margaret, dau and heir of Sir Gilbert de Whinnow (qv), his dau and heir Margaret, marr c.14 Ric II [1390-91] Isold Brisco, thereby acquiring manors of Crofton, Whinhow and Dundraw, besides Brisco (NB, ii, 202)

Crofton, Sir Oliver, 5th Bt of the Mote (17xx-1780), only son of Oliver Crofton (d.1709), of Lissanarre, co Limerick (yr son of Sir Edward Crofton, 2nd Bt) and Katherine Armstrong (d.1750), residing at Galbally and Lissanarre in co Limerick, marr (6 December 1737) Abigail Jackson Buckley (died in December 1763), heiress of estates in Cumberland, Yorks, Lancs, and Dublin, and owner of the Bull, Market Square, Kirkby Lonsdale, which he rebuilt as a private house, known as Jackson Hall (which then descended after her death to Richard North, of Newton, to his son Myles North, and to his son Richard Toulmin North, of Thurland Castle), died s.p.leg. 9 November 1780

Crofts, John (fl.mid 18thc.), visit to the North 1759; CW2 lxii 288

‘Croglin Watty’, hired by Margery Jackson [1722-1812] the Carlisle miser q.v., an though he came to regret it; this is the subject of a poem by Robert Anderson q.v.; oil painting by William Brown [Tullie House] shows Watty and Margery; Keith Gregson, ‘The Cumbrian Bard: An Anniversary Reflection’, Folk Music Journal, vol 4 no 4 [1983], 333-65

Crompton, Caroline Clayton (18xx-1937), watercolour artist, dau of Revd William Crompton (qv), prolific watercolour artist, member of Lake Artists Society, painted scenes of Mardale and Haweswater in 1920s and 1930s, of Hill Top, Shap, died aged 52, and buried at Shap, 13 February 1937

Crompton, William Henry (c.1859-1919), MA, clergyman, educ London University (1st cl Prelim Theol Exam 1882, BA 1894, MA 1901), d 1883 and p 1884 (Man), curate of St John Evangelist, Accrington 1883-1886, St Mark, Ancoats, Manchester 1886-1888, Christ Church, Bradford 1888-1893, Broughton-in-Furness 1893-1898, St Mary, Windermere 1898-1904, on bishop of Carlisle’s special clergy staff 1904-1905, vicar of Shap 1905-1919 and chaplain of West Ward Union, died at the Vicarage, aged 61, and buried at Shap, 7 July 1919; Martha Crompton, of Hill Top, Shap, buried at Shap, 13 May 1932, aged 72 (service conducted by G S Richardson, vicar of Caldbeck, T P Hartley, vicar of Morland, and F S Sinker, vicar of Shap) – pres his widow

Crook, R W, clergyman, of Lazonby, died 14 June 1957

Crookdale, Adam, subject of ‘the worthy warrior’ stone, in black letter, over door at Bromfield church, Burgh-by-Sands, he may be a legendary figure; Hyde and Pevsner

Crookenden, Spencer (1919-2006), CBE, MC, DL, businessman, born in Chester, 1919, educ Cambridge University, served WW2 with RE (MC, wounded), Chairman, K Shoes 1975-1983, previously marketing director, sales director, and joined firm [then Somervell Brothers Ltd] in August 1947 as graduate trainee in sales management, Director, C & J Clark Ltd 198x-198x, Chairman, NW Region, National Trust for 5 yrs, past chm and trustee, Lake District Summer Music, past pres and cttee mem, Westmorland Music Council, first chairman of governors of Dallam School from 1984 (voluntary aided school combining Heversham Grammar School and Milnthorpe Secondary School), chairman of governors of Casterton School, author of K Shoes: The First 150 Years 1842-1992 (1992), marr 1st Jean (d.1957), marr 2nd Elisabeth (nee Voss) (died at Edenbridge, 20 November 2015, aged 86), 1 son and 3 daughters, of Reston Hall, Ings, until sold in 200x, died at Edenbridge, Kent, 5 December 2006, aged 87

Crookes, Joseph Wells (18xx-19xx), solicitor and clerk, solicitor with firm of Richardson & Crookes, clerk to Wigton Urban District Council, West Street, Wigton, of Brookside, Wigton (1897, 1906, 1910)

Cropper, Anthony Charles (1912-1967), DL, JP, BA, papermaker, born 1912, only son of James Winstanley Cropper (qv), marr Philippa Mary Gloria, nee Clutterbuck (1917-2009) (died November 2009), 3 sons (James Anthony (b.1938), KCVO (2011), Chairman of James Cropper & Co 1971-2010 and Lord Lieutenant of Cumbria from 1994, Charles (1941-1960) and Philip (b.1946)) and 1 dau (Nicola), Chairman of James Cropper & Co Ltd 1956-1967, and Director from 1938, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1950, also played active part in public life in Kendal and south Westmorland area, followed family’s passion for field sports, died after heart attack in May 1967 (WG, 05.05.1967); John Cropper, The Leaves We Write On, 2004

Cropper, Charles James (1852-1924), DL, JP, BA, paper manufacturer and huntsman, Chairman of James Cropper & Co Ltd 1900-1924 and Director from 1870 (except for 1907-1914), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1906, DL (apptd in September 1881), bought Tolson Hall on his marriage in 1876, marr Edith Holland, 1 son (J W, qv) and 4 daus, obsessive huntsman, hunted with 75 packs in his lifetime, spending over 1,340 days away hunting in packs over country between 1880 and 1914, mainly at weekends, esp Fridays, his horse ‘Commando’, resigned as full-time director of paper firm in 1907, but back by June 1914, still hunted 36 days a season in his later years, despite suffering gout, died after accident in hunting field, 6 October 1924, aged 72 (painting by George Armour); John Cropper, The Leaves We Write On, 2004

Cropper, Eleanor (1878-1933), dau of Charles Cropper (1852-1924) and Edith Emily Holland (1853-1923), sister of Mary Cropper (qv)

Cropper, James (1773-1840), Liverpool merchant, philanthropist, abolitionist; John Cropper, The Leaves We Write On, 2004

Cropper, James (1823-1900; ODNB), DL, JP, paper manufacturer and politician, born 22 February 1823, at Liverpool, (last) MP for Kendal 1880-1885, bought Burneside and Cowan Head paper mills in 1845, director of Kendal & Windermere Railway 1847-1852, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1875, JP 1863, DL, first chairman of Westmorland County Council February 1889-October 1900, vice-chairman of Governors of Sedbergh School (1895), died from pneumonia on visit to Paris, 16 October 1900; portrait by E F Haines in Kendal Town Hall; bronze medallions in County Hall and Town Hall; stone pillar in Abbot Hall Park with portrait in relief and wording: ‘By his Christian Ideal in public and private life alike and by his constant enthusiasm for all good works he won the gratitude and esteem of a whole county. Kendal is proud of him’ (CW2, i, 320-321); John Cropper, The Leaves We Write On, 2004; monument on the edge of Abbot Hall park, Kendal, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 169-70; bronze medallion at doorway of civic building and another in Kendal Museum.

Cropper, James (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, collated vicar of Penrith by Bishop Bardsley in 1905, resigned in 1911 on promotion to Wombwell, Yorkshire, by Trinity College, Cambridge, apptd dean of Gibraltar 1919

Cropper, James Winstanley (1879-1956), LL, JP, paper manufacturer, born 1879, only son of C J Cropper (qv), educ prep school in Berkshire (1891), Eton College and Cambridge, spent one year with Price Waterhouse, accountants, in London, began work in family paper mill in 1902, toured Europe, Far East, Canada and New York in 1903, Director from 1905 and Chairman 1924-1956, Lord Lieutenant of Westmorland 1945-1956, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1928, Westmorland County Councillor, chairman of Westmorland Parish Councils Association (1949, 1956), chairman of general purposes committee of Wetsmorland County Hospital 1939-1948, chairman of Westmorland Valuation Panel (1953), governor (apptd by Westmorland County Council) of Westmorland Sanatorium, Meathop for over 20 years (resigned in October 1946), member of council of the Commons, Open Spaces and Footpaths Preservation Society (1953), enthusiast for field sports, hunting and shooting two days a week in season from 1907 to 1914, injured while hunting in North Yorkshire and spent in hospital in Darlington and later toured Canada and Japan, Hon Secretary of Oxenholme Staghounds (1923) when of Summerhow, Kendal, marr (7 September 1910 at Heversham) Marjorie Constance (1887-1951), 2nd dau of Captain Josceline Bagot, MP (qv), of Levens Hall, 1 son (Anthony, qv) and 5 daus, died at Ellergreen, Burneside, 10 November 1956, aged 77

Cropper, Margaret Beatrice [1886-1980], poet and hymn writer, 3rd dau of Charles Cropper (qv), educated privately, lived Burneside near Kendal, Sunday school teacher from 1900, superintendant from c.1925, Poems [1914], Broken Hearthstone [1927], Springing Well [1929] Little Mary Crosbie [1932], Anthony Broom [1937], Collected Poems [1938] and the posthumous edition Poems [1983], ed Anne Hopkinson, made two trips to South Africa otherwise resided in Kendal, scripted and organised Nativity [1934] and Christ Crucified [1942], three volumes about saints: Flame Touches Fire [1949], Sparks Among the Stubble [1955] and Shining Lights [1963], one biography of her friend Evelyn Underhill [1958], books of prayers for adults and children, two collections of hymns for children [1939] and 1963], five of her hymn lyrics are recorded including ‘We have a king who came to earth’ and ‘What do holy angels sing on Christmas Day ?’ which she set to her own tune ‘Stavely’ [sic], and probably her most popular ‘Jesus hands were kind hands’, set to Au Clair de la Lune; Grevel Lindop; John Richard Watson ed. Hymnology research project

Cropper, Mary (1881-1973), dau of Charles Cropper (1852-1924) and Edith Emily Holland (1853-1923), sister of Eleanor Cropper (qv), supporter of the Anti-Suffrage League c.1909

Cropper, Susanna Elizabeth Lydia (1831-1911), of Dingle Bank, Liverpool, died aged 80 and buried at Ambleside, 9 June 1911

Crosbie family of Westmorland; CW1 xiv 134

Crosbie, John (1597-1669), MA, clergyman, born at Orton, 13 April 1597, rector of St Marylebone, London, died 30 June 1669, aged 72 (oval marble memorial on west door screen of church) (CW1 (1897), 134-138)

Crosby, Bing (1903-1977), comic actor and singer, visitor, fished for salmon on the Derwent at Cockermouth, photographs at the Trout Inn

Crosby, John (17xx-18xx), banker, of Kirkby Thore, attended at King’s Head Inn, Appleby on Saturdays and at George Inn, Penrith on Tuesdays, drew on Masterman & Co (1829), probably the John Crosby buried at Kirkby Thore, 17 February 1861, aged 79 (papers 1841-1849 in CRO, WDX 923; copy of original cheque of 1849 in WDX 1251/5/1); Mary, widow of John Crosby, of Breaks Hall, died at Kirkby Thore, 1 April 1895, aged 65; Richard Winter Crosby, of Prospect House, Kirkby Thore, buried at KT, 27 March 1889, aged 45; John Crosby, of Prospect House, Kirkby Thore, buried at KT, 19 August 1896, aged 71

Crosby, William (c.1663-1733), MA, JP, clergyman, born in City of Durham, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (matric 1683/4, elected fellow 1690), vicar of Kendal 1699-1733, also rector of Windermere 1719-1733, made complaint against John Brathwaite and others for non-payment of tithes, 18 February 1720 (CRO, WD/TE/ Bound Vol I, no.217), rebuilt Kendal vicarage, ended practice of burying dead without coffins, ‘a man of exemplary morals’, preached last sermon on 2 December 1733, ‘suddenly seized with an Apoplexy’ on following day, died on 7 December, aged 69/70, and buried on 10 December in front of Communion Table in Holy Trinity Church (broadsheet The Life, Character and Death of the Reverend Mr William Crosby late Vicar of Kirkby-Kendal, printed by Thomas Cotton, 1734 in CRO, WD/TE/15/12; portrait as one of the Bench of Justices in Westmorland hanging in Dallam Tower in 1821 (LM, ii, 283); library of books bequeathed to trustees in 1732 and kept in Town Hall until 1923 (CRO, WSMB/K/A940); brass plate in church, AK, 61)

Crosfield, Robert (1573/75-1650), scrivener and mayor of Kendal, born 1573 or 1575, marr 1st Barbara Philipson (died 1602x06), 1 son (Thomas, qv), marr 2nd (6 September 1606 at Kendal) Dorothy, dau of Martin Gilpin, of Catterton, WR Yorks, and Catherine (dau of Richard Newby, of Strickland Roger, yeoman, who died 16 September 1617, buried at Kendal, 18 Sept, will of 9 March 1617, proved 16 January 1618), described as ‘servant’ to Thomas Braithwaite (qv), of Burneside Hall, in documents of 1603 and 1609, ‘yeoman’ when apptd a trustee of Heversham Grammar School in 1619/20, ‘gentleman’ when apptd one of King’s Commissioners in 1623 and 1626, visited son Thomas in London and Oxford (7 May and 19 October 1633), sworn one of “Scryveners Fremen” in May 1628, Alderman of Kendal 1629-1630, apptd one of 12 modern aldermen by Charter of 1637, Mayor of Kendal 1642-1643, displaced as an alderman (“dislocat’ ex assensu suo”), 18 September 1645, prob bec of Royalist sympathies, submitted petition to be allowed to compound, 6 October 1644, listed as a delinquent in 1650, made will on 17 June 1650 (legacies to Thomas Sands, qv), wife having died on 13 June 1650; sister-in-law Grace (nee Gilpin) marr William Bateman (her will made 13 February 1668, proved 15 January 1670), son Henry, dau Catherine marr Thomas Sands (qv), and dau Ann marr Revd George Benson; son Thomas begged to pay fine for compounding, August 1652 (CW2, lxiv, 383-384; RK; KBR)

Crosfield, Thomas (1602-1663; ODNB), MA, BD, clergyman and diarist, born in Strickland Roger, Kendal, 14 May 1602, only son of Robert Crosfield (qv), educ (pres) Kendal Grammar School (bought books for school in 1630, DTC, 41), entd Queen’s College as batler or servitor in Christmas quarter of 1617/18 and matric as pleb fil of Westmorland (15 May 1618), BA (9 December 1622) and MA (30 June 1625), elected fellow of Queen’s College, Oxford, 20 October 1627, rose to second fellow on roll in 1640/41, junior bursar 1632-33 and 1633-34, BD (17 December 1635), presented by college to vicarage of Godshill, Isle of Wight 1638, but sequestered in 1644, resigned living in 1654, possibly rector of Windermere between September 1644 and February 1645, rector of Chale, Isle of Wight 1648, and presented to rectory of Spennithorne 1649 (after his father-in-law’s death, buried 26 December 1648), paid fine of £72 to have his father’s estate at Strickland Roger discharged by Committee for Compounding, 6 September 1652, marr (7 April 1645) Helen, er dau of Revd Francis Wyvill, rector of Spennithorne, Yorks, and gr dau of Sir Marmaduke Wyvill, 1st Bt, of Burton Constable (she marr 2nd Edward Preston, of York), 2 sons and 3 daus, author of Statuta Selecta e Corpore Statutorum Universitatis Oxon (published anonymously in 1638, reprinted as Parecbolae in 1661, 1674, 182, 1693, etc.), and his Diary (1626-1640, 1653-1654) edited from MS 390 in Queen’s College Library for RSL by F S Boas, published in 1935, will made 24 October 1661 (proved York, 1 April 1663), leaving his Westmorland estate to er son, Robert, and Bellerby estate to yr son, Francis, and £200 to each dau, Helen, Elizabeth and Katherine, died and buried at Spennithorne church, 15 February 1663 (DTC; FiO, I, 287, II, xvii-xviii; CW2, lxiv, 382-385) 

Crosier, William (fl.late 18thc.), formerly of Dalston, owned a sugar plantation in 1780, a painting by George Heriot shows the house situated on a hill; illus London university slave owners website

Crosland, Sir Jordan (c.1620-16xx), marr Bridget, er dau of John Fleming (qv), knighted at Lincoln, 14 July 1642, Constable of Scarborough Castle, aged 45 at time of Dugdale’s Visitation of Yorkshire 1665, when of Newby in liberty of Ripon, but of Harome How, Helmsley, Yorks, in Cumberland Visitation, executor with George Collingwood (qv) of will of John Fleming, compounded for delinquency against Parliament 1649, returned by County Committee of Lancaster as a papist and owner of Urswick 1653, which he denied, started own independent petitions since his wife’s and sister-in-law’s interest were not same as that their brother William, father of Sir Daniel (FiO, i, 365-373), articles of agreement with Sir Daniel Fleming concerning ownership of wainscot and lead at Rydal Hall, 4 April 1655 (CRO, WD/Ry/39/2/5)

Cross, Alfred Frank (1896-1980) MC, soldier and civil servant, b. Burslem, Staffs, son of Alfred Newton Cross, jeweller, and his wife Zitella Hickson (both of Cheshire), educ Denstone, active in the OTC, civil service exams, enlisted in the 9th bn Royal Welch Fusiliers in 1914, his c.o. was the colourful polymath Lord Howard de Walden (1880-1946; ODNB), by 1919 he was an acting major and had been decorated and mentioned in despatches twice, began with the Inland Revenue at Tonbridge, met his future wife Beatrice Gladys (1897-1951) (qv) , a pharmacist, and her father Ernest Gunson (qv) on a cruise on the Andorinha, corresponded with her in 1922 when she was staying at Conishead Priory, Ulverston, then a hydropathic hotel, m. January 1923 St Cuthbert’s Withington, Manchester, lived in Chippenham Wilts. where their only child Malcolm (1925-2015) (qv) was born, then Purley and Cliftonville, Kent, regularly visited the Lakes, initially to visit his brother Cyril qv, loved Buttermere and Crummock, on outbreak of  2nd WW, trained troops in the Welsh borders, then in North Africa and Sicily and became part of the military administration, remarkably being able to attend opera performances in Palermo, promoted full colonel as financial officer with AMGOT, working  under Lord Rennell of Rodd (1895-1978; ODNB), offices in Shonbrunn palace, Vienna until 1947, returned to Kent, bought Danaway, a fruit farm near Sittingbourne, where his wife died in 1951, son Malcolm then in Barrow having married Sybil Hayes qv, enjoyed sailing on Windermere at Fell Foot from 1952-58, senior principal working at Somerset House, with a period advising the Burmese government in Rangoon in 1956-7, he spent many weekends sailing at Hayling island in his Z4 tonner Treize, took a cottage beside Tent Lodge, Coniston, married Lilian Lyons (1911-2006), in 1958, his last posting to St Kitts in the West Indies, considered buying a property in the Lakes, decided upon a small woodland estate in the rather sunnier Dorset, at Gods Blessing Lane, Holt, enjoyed forestry, designed two woodland gardens from scratch with specimen trees, rhododendrons and azaleas, built a bungalow nearer the roadwith solar panels installed c.1975, continued to visit Barrow, the South Windermere Sailing Club, climbed Cumbrian fells, in 1969 he took his grandchildren on a short Grand Tour of Europe, died in Poole hospital in April 1980 and his ashes were buried with his first wife in Kent; obit. Old Denstonian Chronicle, 1981

Cross, Arthur Cyril (1905-1949), brother of Alfred Frank Cross qv, b. Colwyn Bay, ed. Kings College, Wimbledon and Sutton Bonington College, Notts, worked on Lowther Estates in the mid 1920s, then for ICI in York, m. Sybil Mary Chapman, Chapel en le Frith October 1930, dau of W.G. Chapman, company secretary for Nunnery Colliery, Sheffield, resident at Greenlands Farm, Edale, seconded to the Cumberland and Westmorland Agricultural Committee during the war to encourage food production in the ‘Dig for Victory’ campaign which involved land reclamation, setting crop production targets and training of the Women’s Land Army, lived Littletown Farm in the Newlands valley, then Portinscale, (son Michael attended the relocated Mill Hill prep school at Cockermouth, the senior school being at St Bees during the war, dau Hilary attended the relocated Gads Hill, then Abbots Bromley), after the war returned to being technical instructor with ICI in Bradford, lived Malton, d. prematurely in 1949 at Royal Hospital, Sheffield aged 43; Michael later followed his father into ICI and then worked in international marketing with Fisons and Asgrow; Hilary m. her cousin Humphrey Chapman and ran a  restaurant at Sherborne and then Cheddington Court, a country house hotel on the Somerset-Dorset border

Cross, Beatrice Gladys (1897-1951), pharmacist, born Manchester, dau of the surveyor Ernest Gunson (qv)  and Beatrice Ashworth, dau of Thomas Baker Ashworth (qv),  educated at St Philomena’s, Carshalton and at The Steyne School, Worthing (later the Warren School) where she became head girl under her aunt, the formidable Gertrude Ashworth (1870-1950), one of her contemporaries was the daughter of Horace Nicholls (1867-1941) the Boer war photographer who took an equestrian portrait photograph, (Nicholls’ photographs of Ascot and the Derby fed into the costumes designed by Cecil Beaton for ‘My Fair Lady’), trained as a pharmacist at Manchester, worked in the dispensary at Withington hospital, regularly visited the Lakes, met Alfred Frank Cross on a cruise on the Andorinha in 1922, corresponded with him later that year when she was staying at Conishead Priory, Ulverston, then a hydropathic hotel, m. January 1923 St Cuthbert’s Withington, Manchester, lived in Chippenham Wilts. where their only child Malcolm (1925-2015) (qv) was born, then Purley, Cliftonville, Kent and finally at Danaway,near Sittingbourne, celebrated her son’s wedding to Sybil Cross (qv) at St Paul’s Barrow in 1950 and at the Fisherman’s Arms in Baycliffe, died prematurely in 1951, buried Sittingbourne; for her schooling see David A. Cross, Churchill in Petticoats: Gertrude Ashworth and the Warren School, 2005

Cross, Ernest Frank Malcolm (1925-2015; DCB), marine, mechanical and nuclear engineer, son of Col. Frank Cross MC (qv) and Beatrice Gladys Gunson (qv), ed. Denstone and Sidney Sussex college, Cambridge, stage manager for the ADC, rowed sculls on the Cam, graduate apprentice Vickers Barrow, then draughtsman, m. Sybil Hayes (qv sub Cross), first chairman of the Elizabethan Players, four children David [1951], Richard [1954], Rose [1957] and Paul [1960], senior test engineer on Dreadnought, installation manager for Polaris missiles, co-founder Barrow Civic Society, established the Barrow enterprise agency, first and only chairman of the Furness Maritime Trust and effectively founder of the Dock Museum; obituaries in Sidney Sussex college, Cambridge, journal 2016, Old Denstonian Chronicle, Westmorland Gazette, North Western Evening Mail;  mss Barrow CRO

Cross, the Hon. Georgiana (fl.1914-1957), nurse in both world wars, daughter of 1st viscount Cross of Ecclerigg

Cross, (the Hon.) Marjorie, daughter of 1st viscount Cross of Ecclerigg, uncovered prehistoric material in the dunes of Walney island; CW2 xi 68-77

Cross, Richard Assheton (1st Viscount Cross) (1823-1914; ODNB), statesman, b. Red Scar, Preston, son of William Cross [1771-1827] and Ellen daughter of Edward Chaffers, ed Rugby and Trinity college, Cambridge, Inner Temple, conservative MP for Preston, the SW Lancashire, home secretary, board member Manchester and Sheffield Railway, m. Georgiana Lyon in 1852, lived from 1865 at Ecclerigg in Broughton-in-Furness, a house designed for him by Paley (qv); tomb at Broughton, gilded cenotaph  Carlisle cathedral

Cross, Sidney (fl.mid 20thc), established Langdale mountain rescue team in the 1950s

Cross, (Mary) Sybil (1925-2011), teacher and amateur actor, born Holyhead, the second daughter of Samuel Victor Hayes (1884-1954) (qv), electrical engineer with the LMS and Lilian Alice Binks (1884-1974), born in Richmond, Yorkshire, (whose father Richard was a first cousin of John James Fenwick (1846-1905-ODNB)  and founder of Fenwick’s of Newcastle), moved to Barrow in 1927, educated Barrow Girls Grammar School [where she was on the senior teams for both hockey and tennis] and Avery Hill college of education, London, evacuated in 1943 to Huddersfield, spending much of her student life there, sang under Sir Adrian Boult (1889-1983-ODNB) in Huddersfield choral society, wrote verse suitable for adults and children (unpub.) notably one about a frog-eating witch, her novel about the abduction of a baby (unpub.) was deemed hilarious by her peers and abandoned, her fondness for punning led to her nickname ‘Haze’ (Hayes over the Punjab), taught physical education, games and English in Colchester for two years and then at Risedale secondary school in Barrow, occasionally played cricket and once baseball in a game which stopped after she had broken the only bat, member of Ulverston Outsiders drama group, married Malcolm Cross (1925-2015) q.v., four children: David (1951), Richard (1954), Rose (1957) and Paul (1961), committee member of Dr Barnardo’s in Furness, her garden frequently teemed with neighbouring children, tolerant of large noisy children’s parties with games and charades, loved picnics and organizing games on the beach at Walney, with Malcolm a founder member of The Elizabethans, Freda Dowie (qv) being another member, when Malcolm went to Electric Boat in Connecticut, USA she soon followed taking three small children across a stormy Atlantic in December 1959 on the Sylvania, lived in Mystic Seaport for seven months, member of the South Windermere Sailing Club at Fell Foot where she sailed late into her 70s, loved ballroom dancing and SWSC dinners at the Netherwood or Grange hotels, a generous hostess frequently welcoming new managers and their wives to supper, thought nothing of having adult buffet parties where she catered for fifty, returned to teaching c.1975 at Holker St. school, Alfred Barrow school and finally at St Bernard’s school, a member (and minibus driver) of Cumbria Theatre in Education in the 1970s, with Stuart Lawrence qv, Roger Rushton and others, performing, inter alia, Rare Earth an early drama with ecological themes, a play on the First World War and another on the Fells of Swarthmoor qv, in primary schools all over the county, retired 1985, supported numerous elderly ladies with shopping, home baked cakes and pot plants, a member of the same rotating coffee morning group for forty years, enjoyed oil painting classes with Graham Twyford, an energetic acting member of Rampside WI where her clear diction, colourful costumes and lively personality were held in great affection even in her early 80s when she had to be hauled upon stage in a wheelchair, maintained a sixty year correspondence with a friend in Utrecht, Holland and another in Harare, Zimbabwe, d. 2011, funeral St Paul’s Barrow, ashes buried in Barrow cemetery; family information and the eulogy at her funeral

Cross, William Henry (1856-1892), MP, born 22 August 1856, eldest son of Richard Assheton Cross, later 1st Viscount Cross, PC, GCB, GCSI, FRS, BA, of Broughton-in-Furness, predeceased his father, marr (19 August 1880) Mary (died 8 November 1946), yr dau of William Lewthwaite (qv), of Broadgate, 1 son (Richard Assheton, 2nd Viscount Cross) and 4 daus (all of Ash House, Millom), MP for West Derby Div of Liverpool, died 11 December 1892

Crosse, A J W (18xx-19xx), military chaplain, served WW1 on the Somme as senior chaplain, 11th Battalion, Border Regt, in 1915 the bishop of Liverpool wrote that he was: ‘glad the soldiers have got as good a man as Crosse for chaplain’, at other times he was vicar of Rye and vicar of St Cyprian, Durban, (mss letters at Shakespeare Birthplace Trust include one from HD Rawnsley (qv))

Crossfield, Robert Sands (19xx-1978), OBE, DL, JP, council leader, Chairman, Westmorland County Council April 1952-April 1970, County Alderman, elected member for Arnside on 26 July 1940, former District and Parish Councillor, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1970, apptd a (LEA) Governor of Charlotte Mason College, Ambleside in 1960, opened Edenside Old People’s Home, Appleby on 3 March 1971, presided at foundation stone-laying for new Sunday School at Job Pennington Memorial Methodist Hall, Fellside, Kendal on 5 November 1938, of Brantfell, Redhills Road, Arnside, which he purchased in 1934 [built for Henry Thompson, Kendal solicitor, in c.1882] and later became an Abbeyfield Home and renamed ‘Crossfield House’ after death of his widow, Miriam, in October 2001, aged 92; ring of six oak saplings (The Crossfield Circle) planted in Redhills Wood in his memory in 1981

Crossland, J Brian (fl.mid 20thc.), writer, Looking at Whitehaven, 1971

Crossland, James Henry, artist; member Lakes Artists; Renouf, 31

Crossley, George (1917-2013), BEM, solicitor’s clerk, born at Birkwray House, Outgate, Hawkshead, yr son of John Crossley and his wife Agnes, educ Hawkshead School and Kelsick Grammar School, Ambleside, joined W H Heelis & Son, of Hawkshead in 1935 as a clerk to William Heelis, husband of Beatrice Potter (portrayed in Miss Potter film as ‘George’ and later recalled incidents highlighting eccentricities of their marriage), while posted to Newport Pagnell, met and marr (6 April 1942, at St Peter and St Paul, Olney) Marion (died 2010), 2 sons (Jonathan and David) and 1 dau (Elizabeth [Canon Beth Smith], of Cumwhinton), served WW2 in Army from 1942 in North Africa, Italy and Austria as a driver before transferred to admin duties at 5 Corps Troop HQ (BEM for distinguished service in Italy), returned to William Heelis & Co after war service and supported Kirk Brownson, who had taken over the firm, specialised in probate work and observed application of proper and accurate legal principles, appointed clerk to Governors of Kelsick’s Educational Foundation from 1959, steering its transition from a grammar school to a charitable foundation, retiring in 1992, acted as local correspondent for WG, CWH and Ulverston News, shareholder in C&W Herald and took part in 150th celebration in 2010, involved with Esthwaite Club, Outgate Sports and Hawkshead Show, assisted for many years in secretary’s tent at Ambleside Sports, worshipped regularly at St Mary’s parish church, Ambleside and member of PCC for many years, also longest-serving member of Ambleside Society for Prosecution of Felons and its annual dinner, gentle and modest, well respected member of Ambleside community, died in January 2013, aged 95, and funeral at St Mary’s, Ambleside (WG, 24.01.2013)

Crossley, Louis John (1842-1891), descended from John (1772-1837) and Martha Crossley (1775-1854; ODNB) who established a carpet manufactory in Halifax, invented a ‘table telephone’ system (1879) which he installed in the family mills, the patent he sold to Alexander Graham Bell, marr Hannah Birks (1846-1925), his son Percy (qv) was a yacht designer; related to Sir Francis Crossley (1817-1872; ODNB) 1st bt

Crossley, Percy (1876-1966), yacht designer, b Halifax, son of Louis Crossley (qv) and his wife Hannah Birks (1846-1925), trained as a naval architect with Linton Hope, designed and established a 17 foot restricted class on Windermere for the Royal Windermere Yacht Club, forty three were constructed, marr Annie Marsden-Smedley, his cousin Herbert Crossley also designed yachts

Crossley-Evans, MJ, see Lynn Dewing

Crossman, Clare (1954-2021), poet and teacher, born Dartford Kent, daughter of Bill Crossman a hotelier, and Charmian Hanson, came to Cumbria aged 14, educ Bristol university and then Lancaster university in Theatre Studies, ran extra-mural creative writing courses for Newcastle university for ten years, wrote the play Public Faces, Private Lives based on Dorothy Parker which was performed at the Edinburgh Festival in 1986, marr Iain McPhee 1993, seven volumes of poetry published including Vanishing Point (2013) and The Mulberry Tree (2021), a friend of the artist Lorna Graves (DCB) she wrote her memoir (2018), buried at St Thomas a Becket churchyard, Brampton; Guardian obit Other Lives 23 April 2021

Crosthwaite, Daniel (17xx-18xx), museum proprietor and Aeolian harp manufacturer, son of Peter Crosthwaite (qv) who claimed to have invented this instrument, listed under mineralists, Keswick (1829)

Crosthwaite, John Fisher (1819-1897), postmaster, actuary of Post Office Savings Bank,  manager of Keswick Branch of Cumberland Union Banking Co Ltd (1873, 1883) and philanthropist, great nephew or grandson of Peter Crosthwaite qv, based in Main Street, Keswick, major with Volunteer Assembly Room in Southey Street (1883), joined with Henry Irwin Jenkinson (qv) in establishing Fitz Recreation Ground, covering 28 and a half acres, for total cost of about £7,500, opened in 1887 (Bulmer, 1883, 587-88); active in the CWAAS; wrote an article in the first volume of Transactions; David Wilson, Keswick Characters vol.2

Crosthwaite, Peter (1735-1808), mariner, surveyor, museum proprietor, cartographer,  guide and eccentric, born at Dale Head in Crosthwaite and bapt 22 September 1735, 3rd son of Robert Crosthwaite of Monk’s Hall (d.1787, aged 85), marr. Hannah, dau of Daniel Fisher of Shaw Bank, Keswick, 1 son (Daniel, qv), weaver, former captain of East India Company ship, acquainted with marine surveying, customs officer at Blyth in Northumberland, moved to house in the Square in Keswick in 1780, where he opened his museum or Cabinet of Curiosities in 1781 (collection inc gift of an albatross with ten-foot wing span from Captain John Wordsworth), produced his own maps and surveys of district, which he sold from his museum, along with Claude glasses and Aeolian harps made by his son Daniel (qv), acted as ‘Guide, Pilot, Geographer and Hydrographer to Nobility and Gentry, who make the Tour of the Lakes’, published A Series of Accurate Maps of the Principal Lakes of Cumberland, Westmorland, & Lancashire..…first surveyed and planned between 1783 and 1794 (reprinted with introduction by William Rollinson, Newcastle, 1968), which he sold as sets bound or unbound, they show the stations or viewpoints of Father West qv, and the seats of the principal inhabitants, also sold 80 copies of Thomas Donald’s tourist map of Keswick between 1789 and 1796, copies of Thomas West’s guides (516 copies bought between 1789 and 1811), and sets of twenty large views of lakes by Joseph Farington (who delivered the prints to museum himself on 17 July 1792), sold various types of glasses used by artists, including Claude glasses and by viewers to experience landscape (details in his account book), claimed to have discovered first set of musical stones on 11 June 1785, claimed to be inventor of the Aeolian harp (played by the wind blowing across the strings; one of his instruments could be heard at Claife station), had deep seated antipathy towards Thomas Hutton (qv), who was proprietor of a rival museum in Keswick (and accused him of beating up his son and stealing his exhibits on one occasion), co-organised, promoted and participated in Keswick Regatta, after being invited by Joseph Pocklington (qv) to take part of Admiral and Commander of the fleet that was to ‘attack’ Pocklington’s Island on Derwentwater, using his seafaring experience to plan siege in minute detail and choreographing gun and cannon fire by a flag-raising system, an egotist with talent for self promotion, corresponded with Dr John Dalton (qv), died 9 June 1808 (TCA, iii, (1877-78), 151-164, his son Daniel (qv) continued the business, some of the collections are now in Keswick museum; monument in Museum Square by Alan Dawson, Keswick, handbill of 1842 in Kendal Library; account book acquired by Wordsworth Trust, Grasmere in 2005); Alan Hankinson, Keswick Characters vol.2; Alan Hankinson, The Regatta Men, 1988, Norman Nicholson Anthology [pb edn], 172

Crosthwaite, Samuel (1791-1867), artist; Mary Burkett, Cockermouth School ; Marshall Hall

Crosthwaite, Samuel Maitland (18xx-189x), MA, headmaster, educ Pembroke College, Cambridge (scholar, BA 1869, MA 1877), d 1875 and p 1877 (Cant), asst master of King’s School, Canterbury 1870-1872, curate of Preston-next-Faversham 1875-1876, headmaster of Faversham Grammar School 1872-1882, Maidstone Grammar School 1882-1890, and Carlisle Grammar School from 1890, pres decd by 1897 (‘Crosthwaite’ Gymnasium visible from Georgian Way, Carlisle erected by 1896)

Croudson family, farmers at Greenslack, Broughton-in-Furness

Crowder, William Irwin Robert (18xx-19xx), JP, mayor of Carlisle 1896-97, Carlisle city magistrate, of Eden Mount, Stanwix, Carlisle

Crowder, William Irwin Robert (18xx-19xx), junr, mayor of Carlisle 1905-06, when of 3 Portland Square, Carlisle

Crowle, George (d.1753), son of Thomas Crowle (qv), of Cunswick, buried at Beetham, 19 April 1753, Richmond will, MI

Crowle, Richard (16xx-17xx), recorder of Kendal 1752-1757

Crowle, Thomas (16xx-17xx), family originally from Hull, purchased Cunswick estate after forfeiture by John Leyburne in 1715, later bought by Sir James Lowther after death of his son, George Crowle (qv) in 1753

Crowther, Joseph S (fl.1850-1886), architect, with firm of Messrs Bowman and Crowther, of Manchester, built vicarage at Kendal in 1859-60, Staveley church in 1863, restored Kendal Holy Trinity parish church in 1864-68, Parkside House and Parklands, Kendal in 1865, but best known for restoration of Crosby Ravensworth church, under Canon G F Weston (qv), in period between 1850 and 1886 (after less happy restoration by Robert Smirke (qv) in 1809-16)

Crozier, Christopher (1783-1839), blacksmith, Brampton, joined the army and fought in the Peninsular War, wounded in 1812 and discharged, in court in April 1817 for larceny but acquitted, later in early 1818 he was confined in Warden Close asylum at Newcastle under Dr Wood and Dr Glenton, returned to Brampton and resumed work as a blacksmith in 1818; https://thepoorlaw/theproject  see under Cumbria

Crozier, John (c.1822-1903), huntsman and landowner, son of Joseph Croz(s)ier, yeoman farmer, of Gate Ghyll, a contemporary of John Peel (qv), educ at school in St John’s-in-the-Vale, took over pack (then known as Threlkeld Hounds at Gate Ghyll Farm) from his father in 1840 at age of 18 with only six couples, Master of Blencathra Foxhounds for 64 years, bore cost of maintaining pack himself until 1870 when he allowed hunt to become a public subscription one, of Riddings, Threlkeld (where kennels were located), vice-president of Keswick & Lake District Agricultural Society (1881), died 5 March 1903 (HAL Rice, WRtM, 65-68)

Crusoe, Robinson, black man baptised Whitehaven, 1773

Culcheth, Revd Richard (d.1714), MA, clergyman, son of William Culcheth (qv), Rector of Stapleton 1683-1714 (instituted on 26 May 1687), collated by Bishop Smith to Nether Denton on 17 March 1693 but resigned in 1703, also had living of Farlam in 1703, Vicar of Brampton 1702-1714 (instituted on 13 March 1702), neglected for five years to keep up his register of baptisms, burials and marriages (between 1707 and 1713), described by Bishop Nicolson as ‘somewhat too worldly; endeavouring to hold Stapleton, Upper Denton and Farlam in Commendam with ye Living of Brampton’, with scathing condemnation of state of church at Stapleton, buried at Brampton, 4 February 1714 (ECW, 261, 275, 277, 288; MADC, 55, 142; CW1, xiv, 214, 239)

Culcheth, Revd William (16xx-?1692), clergyman, probably son of Mr Culcheth, steward at Naworth Castle in 1649, first appears as Rector of Nether Denton in 1667 (signing bishop’s transcript) until 1692, also had living of Stapleton from at least 1669, but resigned in favour of son Richard (qv) in 1683, died in 1692?

Cullen, Margaret (1767-1837; ODNB), dau of William Cullen physician, she lived Clappersgate and published a five volume novel Home which relates the sad tale of her father’s will, her brother was Lord Robert Cullen (1742-1810; ODNB) a judge

Cullen, William (1710-1790; ODNB), Scots physician, taught by William Hunter, worked as a ship’s surgeon and then in Hamilton, later professor at Glasgow, published Synopsis Nosologiae Methodicae (1814), marr Anna Johnston (d.1786), their two daughters lived latterly at Clappersgate, Robina marr John Craig Millar, the son of Professor Millar of Glasgow, Margaret Cullen (1767-1837) was unmarr and  published a five volume novel Home which relates the sad tale of her father’s will, their brother was Lord Robert Cullen (1742-1810; ODNB) a judge, Adam Smith negotiated a pension for the sisters; Thomas de Quincey, Collected Writings vol 2, Society of the Lakes ch ix ff

Culwen family (later Curwen, also Coren and Curen); CW2 xiv 343

Culwen, Sir John (a.k.a. Kendal)  (fl. late 15thc), soldier, diplomat and statesman, active in Venice and Rhodes, notable for his medallion, the first struck in Italy to an Englishman; CW2 ix 168 (medallion illustrated)

Cumberland, Duke of, see Prince Rupert (1644-1682), Prince George of Denmark (1689-1708), Prince William Augustus (1726-1765), and Prince Henry Frederick (1766-1790)

Cumberland, duke of (1721-1765), see William Augustus

Cumberland, earls of, see Clifford

Cumberland, Richard (1731-1811; ODNB), dramatist and civil servant, son of Dr Denison Cumberland, bishop of Clonfert, great grandson of bishop Richard Cumberland of Peterborough, his mother Johanna was the daughter of Richard Bentley, master of Trinity, educ Trinity Coll Cambridge, friend of George Romney (qv) of whom he wrote the first biography (c.1805), his most successful play was The West Indian (1771), travelled to the Lakes and wrote The Ode to the Sun; NN

Cummings, William (fl. mid to late 20thc.), physician, practiced in Barrow in 1950s-70s, lived in Croslands Park, was he born in Jamaica or the UK ?, married a nurse and had five children, Julie, Nicholas, Jane, Catherine and Anna, Nicholas was a lawyer in Cheshire

Cummins, Mary Jane Warmington (b.1923), novelist, educ Ayr, lived Mere Cottage, Bass Lake, marr William Cummins, prolific writer of popular titles including The Mistress of Elvan Hall, Pyramid of Love, Catch a Moonbeam and The Falls of Glerngarry

Cuppage, Mr, headmaster Calgarth Park, (was he married to Muriel Cuppage ?), instituted archery for children in wheelchairs; Hillman, History of Calgarth online

Curry, John, ice skater, lived Barrow, his father Joe Curry owned Her Majesty’s theatre and Donald Sartain rented it at £30 pw

Curry, Luke (18xx-1xxx), Roman Catholic priest, about 64 when he came to Westmorland, of St Herbert’s, Windermere

Curwen family of Workington; CW1 v 181ff and 311 ff; also see Culwen; a 16thc Curwen sat to Holbein; the Curwen heraldic unicorn appears on the Workington coat of arms

Curwen, sat to Holbein

Curwen, one of the five co-founders of the CWAAS; see 150th anniversary volume

Curwen, Alan de Lancy (1869-1930), landowner, born 21 July 1869, yr son of Henry Fraser Curwen (qv), of Workington Hall and Belle Isle, Windemere, educ Charterhouse and Corpus Christi College, Oxford, started on engineering career with Messrs Armstrong-Whitworth, Newcastle, but cut short by death of his er brother, Edward Darcy (qv) in 1891, succ to Curwen property on death of father in 1900, uncovered original foundations of Workington Hall, but spent most of later years on Belle Isle, keen archaeologist (member of CWAAS from 1900), sportsman, good shot, archer and fisherman, owned fine pack of foxhounds before War, linguist and also did painting, etching and metalwork, president of  Workington Infirmary (1906, 1921), marr (5 November 1895) Mabel (died 5 December 1918), 2nd dau of Sir Wilfrid Lawson, Bt (qv), 2 sons (Alan Henry (1899-1920) and Eldred Arthur (1904-19xx)) and 1 dau (Isabel Mary, wife of F S Chance, qv), died in a Carlisle Nursing Home, 7 January 1930 (CW2, xxx, 236; AHC, 194) 

Curwen, Alexander John Goldie (1848-1915), BD, clergyman, born at Workington in 1848, 3rd son of Revd Henry Curwen (qv), marr (5 June 1877, at Appleby St Michael) Margaret, dau of William Scott Fulton, banker, of Appleby, 2 sons (Henry drowned off coast of coast of Chile in wreck of Santiago, aged 24) and 4 daus (yst, Cicely, bur at Kirkby Thore, 8 March 1900, aged 13), educ University College, Durham (Th Exhib, LTh 1871, BD 1891), d 1871 and p 1872 (Carl), curate of St Michael, Appleby 1871-1880, rector of Dufton 1880-1893, rector of Kirkby Thore 1893-1915, died at the rectory after illness of four months, aged 66, and buried at Kirkby Thore, 27 February 1915 (AHC, 190; sale catalogue of his library, furniture and other effects from the rectory on 14 April 1915 in CRO, WPR 36/17/1/11)

Curwen, Alfred Francis (1835-1920), clergyman, born 25 November 1835, 2nd son of Edward Stanley Curwen (qv), marr 1st (2 January 1862, at Grasmere) Beatricia Cervinia, dau of John Hills, recorder of Rochester, 3 sons and 3 daus, marr 2nd (1878) Laura Naomi (d.1876/78), dau of John Smith, of Weyhill, Hants, 1 son and 2 daus, member of CWAAS from 1878, d 1861 and p 1862 (Carl), curate of Wigton 1861-1862, rector of Harrington 1862-1920, holding living for 58 years until his death on 3 May 1920 (AHC, 192)

Curwen, Sir Christopher, took part in a tourney on Castle Green, Carlisle in 1417, six English knights including Curwen and John Clifford, 7th baron, jousted with six Scots knights

Curwen, Donald Rigg (1891-1968), Captain, RN, born 27 June 1891, yr twin son of J F Curwen (qv), educ Heversham Grammar School (admitted with twin brother J S in November 1900, aged 9, left in April 1903), established Curwen Archives Trust by his will, died in 1968

Curwen, Edward Darcy (1864-1891), diplomat, born 26 August 1864, er son of Henry Fraser Curwen (qv), educ Brasenose College, Oxford (BA), Hon Attache to British Embassy in Constantinople, where he died in April 1891, buried in English cemetery at Haidar Pasha on Asiatic side of Bosphorus (AHC, 194)

Curwen, Edward Hasell (1847-1919?), DCL, clergyman, born 4 June 1847, 5th son and 7th child of Edward Stanley Curwen (qv), marr (1872) Eleanor Marie Louise, dau of Revd R T G Hill, 1 son (Edward Stanley, born 1879 and killed on first day of Somme, 1 July 1916) and 1 dau, educ University College, Durham (L Th 1869, BA 1881, BCL and DCL 1885), d 1970 and p 1871 (Carl), curate of Grasmere 1870-1872, Harrington 1872-1874, curate of Lezayre and chaplain of St Olave, Ramsey, IoM 1874-1875, rector of Plumbland 1875-1919, rural dean of Maryport 1885-1894, chaplain of St M Home, Plumbland 1875-1908, hon canon of Carlisle from 1909

Curwen, Edward Stanley (1810-1875), DL, born 10 July 1810, eldest son of Henry Curwen (qv), marr (22 January 1833) Frances Margaret (“Fanny Myrtle”), dau of Edward Jesse, of Hampton Court, 5 sons and 3 daus, took up residence at Park End House, Workington, after death of agent, Benjamin Thompson, in 1839 until he succ his father at Workington Hall, Lieutenant in 14th Light Dragoons, DL Cumberland, died at Cowes, Isle of Wight, 1 April 1875

Curwen, Edward Stanley Chance (1924-1982), Lieut-Comdr, RN, born 20 November 1924, son of Frederick Selby Chance (qv) and Isabel Mary (above), assumed name and arms of Curwen in 1956, inherited Belle Isle, Windermere, m. Elizabeth Susan Honor Calcott (d.2021) (who m. 2nd David Heath Thornley)

Curwen, Henry (15xx-1599), MA, clergyman, son of William Curwen (qv), educ St John’s College, Cambridge (MA, 14 July 1584), Vicar of Burton-in-Kendal 1584-1599 (instituted 20 October 1584), presented in Chancery suit by George Middleton (qv), of Leighton, owner of advowson, and John Geward, customary tenant of part of Burton glebe, for rent on 7 February 1598/99, possibly presented to vicarage of Workington on 31 January 1595 (CSP Dom, 1595-97, p.5) but declined, marr dau of – Jackson, of Warton, 1 son (William, qv), died as Vicar of Burton in 1599 (AHC, 315)

Curwen, Henry (1728-1778), landowner, bapt 5 November 1728 at Workington, son of Eldred Curwen (1692-1745) (qv) and Julian Clemnoe (d.1759), marr Isabella (died 10 December 1776), dau of William Gale, of Whitehaven, 2 daus (Margaret, b.& d.1751, and Isabella (1765-1820), qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1753, MP for City of Carlisle 1761-1768, great wealth from shipping and coal trade, built quay and laid out harbour at Harrington to berth 30-40 vessels in c.1758, engaged in re-building Workington Hall when he died 23 June 1778, leaving dau Isabella a minor of thirteen years to the care of a guardian JohnChristian (qv), will proved at York, proceedings in Chancery 1778-79 (PRO, C38/700), inventory (CW2, lvii, 127-157; AHC, 173-176)

Curwen, Henry (1783-1860), DL, landowner, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1834 (customer of Barnard Gregg, grocer in Bowness, purchased a jew’s harp on 22 December 1819)

Curwen, Henry (1845-1892), journalist, b.Workington Hall, son of Rev Henry Curwen, went to India to work initially under the editor Grattan Geary at The Times of India,  the proprietor was Nassau Lees, promoted to editor in 1880 and became proprietor himself in 1889, but died in 1892 on board SS Ravenna three days out from Bombay, his translations were published as Echoes from French Poets (1870), also in the 1870s author of lives of Edgar Allan Poe, Balzac and Novalis, wrote several novels including Lady Bluebeard (1880)

Curwen, Henry Fraser (1834-1900), DL, JP, landowner, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1888, chairman of Cleator and Workington Railway from 1875/6 (made speech at dinner in celebration of completion of line to Workington, 18 October 1879), vice-president of CWAAS from 1878, agreed to be a vice patron of Lake District Association (letter to J F Crosthwaite, 16 February [1878], in CRO, WDX 269)

Curwen, Hugh (Coren/Curen) (c.1500-1568; OBNB), clergyman, archbishop of Dublin 1555-1567, also lord chancellor of Ireland, bishop of Oxford 1567-1568, dean of Hereford 1541-1558 (WW, i, 81-94)

Curwen, Isabella (1765-1820), heiress, born at Workington, 2 October 1765, and bapt 19 February 1766, only surv dau and sole heir of Henry Curwen (qv), of Workington Hall (her sister Margaret born and died, 17-18 June 1751),  immensely rich heiress to huge mining interests and so attracted many titled and rich suitors as she grew up, noticed by Fletcher Christian (qv) on her visits to Ewanrigg, Longholme island in Windermere purchased for her in 1781 for 1,640 guineas (less than half amount spent on it) and named Belle Isle after her, marr (9 October 1782) her cousin and guardian, John Christian (Curwen, qv) as his 2nd wife, 5 sons, 3 daus, sat for portrait by Romney before and after her marriage (on 25 and 28 September, 1, 5 and 25 October, and 1 November 1782, 28 January 1783 and finally on 27 May 1788), with Belle Isle in background, completed house begun by Thomas English (qv), demolished the formal garden and laid out whole island acc to plans of Thomas White, died at Workington, 18 April 1820, aged 54 (AHC, 180-187); CW2 x 301

Curwen, John (1816-1880; ODNB), descendant of the  Cumbrian Curwens but born in Yorkshire, son of  the Rev Spedding Curwen (1790-1856) (qv) (this first name being another Cumbrian link), though sometimes called the ‘inventor’ of the tonic sol-fa system, he actually ascribed the idea to a Norwich schoolmistress, Sarah Anna Glover (1786-1867; ODNB) (a cousin of the sculptor John Bell), in reality it appears that the system was invented by the Benedictine monk Guido d’Arezzo in (c.991-after1133) and publicised in his own Micrologus, but Curwen did much to popularize the notion, Guido being sufficiently esteemed to be included among the luminaries upon the Albert Memorial; BBC Music magazine c.2015; Bernard Ingham, Yorkshire Greats, 114-6

Curwen, John Christian, formerly Christian (1756-1828; ODNB), MP JP, MHK, 16th of Milntown, Isle of Man, agriculturist and politician, born at Ewanrigg Hall, Dearham, 12 July 1756, eldest son of John Christian (qv), of Ewanrigg, educ Eton and Peterhouse, Cambridge, marr 1st (10 September 1775, at Kirk Maughold, IoM) Margaret (died at Peeltown, IoM, 1 February 1778), dau of John Taubman, of Castletown, IoM, 1 son (John Christian, qv), marr 2nd (9 October 1782, at Edinburgh) his first cousin and ward, Isabella (qv), dau and heir of Henry Curwen (qv), of Workington Hall, 5 sons and 3 daus, took name and arms of Curwen in 1790, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1784, MP for City of Carlisle 1786-1812 and 1816-1820, and for Cumberland 1820-1828, set up a  model farm at Schoose, bought West’s viewing station at Claife c.1802, died at Workington Hall, 11 December 1828, and buried beside his wife (no monument or memorial) (Romney and Robert Smirke portraits; both Romney portraits delivered to Workington Hall in August 1788) (AHC, 180-187) (patron also of PJ de Loutherburg who painted Belle Isle in a Calm and Belle Isle in a Storm for him (both Abbot Hall), of John ‘Warwick’ Smith (qv) and also again of Romney, including The Spinstress, one of the many canvases inspired by Lady Emma Hamilton; Jolly, Cumberland Guide and Directory 1811, 54

Curwen, John Flavel (1860-1932), JP, FSA, FRIBA, MSI, architect, sanitary engineer, antiquary and author, born in London, 2 July 1860, 3rd son and 6th of ten children of Thomas Taylor Curwen (1819-1879), of the London Stock Exchange, brothers were Edward Spedding, Thomas Cecil, Harry Brown and Eliot, began practice as architect at Redhill, Surrey in 1884, moved to Kendal in 1887, sanitary engineer (wrote several papers on subject, inc Sewage Disposal by the “Universal Process” (Ulverston, 1890) and The Rapid removal of everything that is liable to putrefy, or Drainage), member of CWAAS from 1887, presented paper on Sizergh Castle on occasion of Society’s visit in 1888 (OS, x, 66-74), Hon Secretary 1898-1911, Secretary for antiquarian correspondence 1911-1932, Vice-President 1922, Treasurer 1923-1932 and chairman of council 1930-1932, elected FRIBA in 1893 (resigning in 1919), practice at 26 Highgate, Kendal, principally in restoring old houses and buildings, this work being informed by his antiquarian studies, but also new designs (eg Gillinggate), undertook remodelling of Sizergh between 1897 and 1902 (E H Report, 2000, 89-93), architect plans of proposed fountain in Abbot Hall grounds (1898), made additions to Horncop Hall in 1888 and 1892, then built new home at Horncop Hall, Heversham in 1900, occupied for two years in major revision of the Curwen pedigree following first edition in 1904 and discovery of new material, resulting in publication of his A History of the Ancient House of Curwen of Workington in Cumberland and its various branches (Kendal, 1928), with generous financial help of Mrs John Spencer Curwen [see AHC, 208], marr (27 June 1888) Anne Stuart James (born 3 November 1861, died 23 September 1936, buried at Heversham), 3 sons (Alan Darcy (born 22 August 1889, educ Heversham Grammar School from May 1900 to April 1902, and Sedbergh where he had football accident on 7 February 1905, crippled and died 6 January 1906, aged 16), and twins, John Spedding and Donald Rigg, qv), died at Horncop, Heversham, 31 July 1932, and buried at Heversham (The Builder, 12.8.32, 247; Journal of the RIBA, 12.11.32, 26-27; copy will in CRO, WD/AG/ box 113; ms of LRNW in CRO, WDX 214/box 5))

Curwen, John Spedding (1734-1801), land steward, born in 1734, only son of Henry Curwen (1691-1759), merchant, and his wife Mary, dau of Edward Spedding, of Aikbank, near Whitehaven, left school and entd office of his uncle, John Spedding (qv), land steward of Sir James Lowther, and brother of Carlisle Spedding (qv), and succ him as steward on his death in 1758, acted as Lowther’s chief agent in his mining and parliamentary rivalry with Eldred and Henry Curwen of Workington, marr Catherine, 3 sons (Thomas (qv), John (1761-1812) and Darcy) and 1 dau (Anne/Nancy, wife of Isaac Bragg, of Calder Abbey Farm), died 18 March 1801 (AHC, 201)

Curwen, John Spedding (1891-1963), OBE, JP, FRIBA, FMSA, architect and surveyor, born 27 June 1891, er twin son of J F Curwen (qv), educ Heversham Grammar School (admitted with twin brother D R in November 1900, aged 9, left in April 1903), Lieut-Col, Consulting Architect & Surveyor, Surveyor to Diocese of Carlisle (Southern Area) in 1930s, member of CWAAS from 1930, of 24 Highgate, Kendal, Lieut-Col, later of Beck House, Windermere, marr (28 March 1925) Pauline Louise Schomburg (born 21 July 1893), of Adelaide, Australia, died 18 February 1963, aged 71

Curwen, Sir Patricius, 1st Bt (15xx-1664), cr Baronet 1626/27, marr Isabel (will dated 24 December 1666, died in January 1667), dau and coheir of George Selby, of Whitehouse, co Durham, son (Henry dvp), died 15 December 1664

Curwen, Patricius (19thc), tomb slab in the churchyard at the west end of St Michael, Workington

Curwen, Spedding (1790-1856), Congregational minister, born at Whitehaven, 19 January 1790, eldest son of Thomas Curwen (qv), offered a Church of England living by his father’s noble patron, but preferred to enter Rotherham College to train for Congregational ministry under Dr Williams, ordained minister at Upper Chapel, Heckmondwike in December 1814, marr 1st (1814) Mary (died 27 September 1822, aged 37, and buried at Cottingham), dau of John Jubb, of Leeds, 2 sons (John (1816-1880) and Thomas Taylor (1819-1879)) and 1 dau (Mary Jubb, d.inf.1816), moved to Cottingham, near Hull in spring of 1819 and built new Zion Chapel there, moved to Barbican Chapel in London at beginning of 1824, marr 2nd (March 1828) Mrs Davis, dau of John Spencer, of Oakhill, near Bath, further issue, apptd minister of Zion Chapel, Frome, where his father-in-law built the Trinity vicarage for his residence, in summer of 1828, resisted payment of church rates in 1835, being summoned before Frome magistrates for non-payment (The Times, 4 March 1835, p.4, col.4), removed to Newbury towards end of 1838, but called to Castle Street Chapel, Reading after nine months and remained there until his death on 9 January 1856 (AHC, 203-207, inc portrait)

Curwen, Sir Thomas (fl.early 16thc), Furness Abbey estates passed to him in 1539 and then to his son in law John Preston, at the death of Sir Thomas Preston Bt (1641-1709) the estates passed to Sir Thomas Lowther

Curwen, Thomas (1759-1815), land steward, born in 1759, eldest son of John Spedding Curwen (qv), moved to Middleton, near Leeds, in 1799 and apptd a surveyor of mines to a local nobleman, but returned to Whitehaven on death of his father to be land steward to Lowther in 1801, marr (3 April 1788) Bridget (buried at Cottingham, near Hull, in June 1825), dau of John Taylor, of Whitehaven, 3 sons (Spedding (qv), Thomas and John (twins born in 1791)), and 2 daus (Bridget and Catherine), died 18 December 1815 and buried at Ardsley, near Wakefield (AHC, 202)

Curwen, William (15xx-1565?), escheator, yr son of Sir Thomas Curwen III (qv) and Agnes, dau of Sir Walter Strickland (qv), marr Elizabeth, dau of Jervase Middleton, of Leighton in Warton, at least 1 son (Henry, qv), acted as escheator at IPM of his grandfather at Brougham, 5 April 1530 (RK, i, 152), died in 1565? (AHC, 315)

Curwen, William (1592-1685), MA, clergyman, born in 1592, son of Revd Henry Curwen (qv), educ St John’s College, Cambridge, marr (before 1621) Susan, dau of Thomas Orton, of Cambridge, 3 sons and 3 daus, curate and schoolmaster of Over Kellet 1635, vicar of Crosby Ravensworth 1643 (inducted 28 August 1643), received augmentation of £50 from Commonwealth Commissioners on 10 June 1646, ejected from living for royalist sympathies in 1657, restored in 1660, died aged 93 [95/8? in PR] and buried at Crosby Ravensworth, 5 April 1685 (LRNW, 321; ECW, ii, 1197-99; AHC, 316-317)

Curwen, William (16xx-17xx), mayor of Kendal 1696-1697 (AHC, 318)

Curzon, Blanche (nee Pocklington-Senhouse), dau Joseph P-S, sister of Lady Lawson, marr Alfred Curzon 4th Lord Scarsdale, thus she became the mother of Lord Curzon (qv), viceroy of India

Curzon, Sir Clifford Michael (1907-1982; ODNB), pianist, holiday home at The Close, Patterdale, died in London, 7 September 1982, aged 75, and buried, with his wife, at Patterdale

Curzon, George Nathaniel (1859-1925; ODNB), later Earl Curzon of Kedleston, politician, son of 4th Lord Scarsdale and Blanche Pockington-Senhouse (qv), viceroy of India

Curzon, Lucille (nee Young) (1898-1977), see Wallace

Cuthbert [St Cuthbert] (c.635-687; ODNB), bishop and missionary, consecrated bishop of Lindisfarne, 26 March 685, at that date the disocese included Cumberland, supposedly visited Carlisle in 685 and shown Roman walls of city and fountain still in working order, given city and lands within 15 miles around it and also Cartmel et omnes Brittanos cum eo by King Ecgfrith (670-685) of Northumbria (St Cuth in RS 75, i, 200), died 20 March 687, cult based on shrine at Durham Cathedral widespread in northern England and southern Scotland; local church dedications incl Aldingham, Bewcastle, Carlisle, Cliburn, Clifton, Dufton, Edenhall, Great Salkeld, Holme St Cuthbert [Mawbray], Kentmere, Kirkby Ireleth, Kirklinton, Lorton, Milburn, Nether Denton, Plumbland, and Seascale, with associated holy wells at Blencogo, Carlisle, Colton, Edenhall, Irthington, Scotby and Wetheral, also modern RC dedications of Flookburgh (1935, 1988) and Wigton (1837, 1857) (CW2, lxxxiv, 67-77); Bede describes his friendship with St Herbert qv; CW1 ii p.14; his coffin’s journey CWxiii 67

Cuthell, Alexander (1746-1824), actor, performed School for Scandal in 1779 at Carlisle, Workington, Whitehaven, Penrith and Cockermouth, also The Death of Mary Queen of Scots, The Death of Thomas Overbury and High Life Below Stairs, he then joined a company in Kidderminster and later worked in London; Cumb Pacquet 13 Apr 1779 and 14 Dec 1780


Dacre family; ODNB; CW3 xiv 291; also see Lennard, Francis

Dacre, Baron, of the South, see Lennard

Dacre, Anne, see Howard, Anne, Countess of Arundel, (c.1557-1630), eldest dau of Thomas, 4th Baron Dacre (qv), marr (1571) Philip Howard, earl of Arundel, son of her stepfather, 4th Duke of Norfolk, thereby bringing half of Dacre C and W estates (based on barony of Greystoke) into the Norfolk Howard family, with the other half going to her sister and co-heiress, Bessie (Elizabeth) (qv), to form basis of Carlisle Howard family inheritance, lived Gilsland, mother of Sir Thomas Howard (1585-1647; ODNB), courtier, diplomat and art collector, his collection of 700 paintings including work by Holbein, Rubens and Durer, also a large collection of sculpture; sale of Dacre lands by the Crown, 19 November 1601 (TNA, C.66/1570)

Dacre, Lady Caroline [nee Carlisle], lived in Abbey St, the racing bells [Tullie House; dated 1599] inscribed ‘for my Lady Dacre’s sake’ and with the initials of the mayor were awarded to winners in the earliest known horse racing events at Kingmoor, Carlisle, they are  the oldest surviving sporting trophy in England

Dacre, Charles (1786-1823), army officer, HEIC, Captain in 12th Bengal Native Infantry, later Major, yr son of William Richard Dacre (qv), of Kirklinton Hall, marr (August 1801 or 08?) Sophia Isabella, sister Charles Chaston Assey, surgeon in Bengal Army, HEIC, 8 children (inc Charles William (d.1842, aged 27), who assumed name and arms of Assey under terms of his uncle’s will in 1836, of Cavendish Place, Carlisle, and George, qv), died in Agra in May 1823; his widow was living in Abbey Street, Carlisle [now No.26] by July 1826, moving to Warwick Road in 1834, received bequest of plate, bed and table linen by will of Dame Mary Dacre [Rosemary, dau of Joseph Dacre-Appleby (qv) and widow of Sir John Clerk, 5th Bt of Penicuik (d.1798)], who died at Princess Street, Edinburgh in November 1834, and died at Warwick Road in January 1840, aged 57, and buried at Christ Church, Botchergate, Carlisle (CN, 22.12,2017)

Dacre, Sir Christopher (c.1470-c.1540), of Croglin and Carlisle, son of Humphrey 1st lord Dacre, fought at Flodden Field in 1513, in the Tower of London 1534 for feuding, repelled the assault of Carlisle castle in 1537 [part of the royal response to the Pilgrimage of Grace] following the dissolution of the monasteries and took 700 prisoners; History of Parliament online; GW Bernard, The King’s Reformation, 2005, 362-5 and 372-396

Dacre, Elizabeth (1564-1639), a.k.a. ‘Bessie of the Braid [Broad] Apron’, daughter of 4th baron Dacre, Dacre heiress who brought rich estates into the Howard family at her marriage to Sir William Howard of Naworth in 1577; the inheritance was shared with her sister Anne (qv)

Dacre, George (c.1561-1569), 5th baron Dacre, summoned to Parliament aged five

Dacre, George, Lord Dacre (1561-1566), son of Thomas Dacre, 4th baron Dacre (c.1527-1566), succeeded his father but died aged five from a fall from a rocking horse at their house near Thetford, his ghost is said to haunt Nuns Bridge at Thetford; officially Thomas Dacre had no children so maybe this is a legend ?

Dacre, Henry (d. c.1623), son of Christopher Dacre (qv), of Lanercost, marr (7 November 1599, at Shap) Mary, dau of George Salkeld (qv), of Rosgill Hall and Thrimby Grange, son Thomas (born 1607, qv), lived at Rosgill Hall

Dacre, Humphrey (c.1424-1485), 1st baron Dacre, warden of the West Marches

Dacre, Joan, dau and heir of Thomas, 6th Baron Dacre (d.1458), inherited original barony of Dacre…..

Dacre, Joseph (1711-1779), JP, son of Joseph Dacre-Appleby (qv), dropped surname of Appleby in c.1742, marr (1736) Catherine (d.1775, aged 58), dau and coheir of Rt Revd Sir George Fleming (qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1738

Dacre, Leonard (d.1573; ODNB), son of 3rd baron Dacre, promoter of northern rebellion

Dacre, Mabel (d. after 1503); CW2 xcix 177

Dacre, Magdalene (later Browne) (1538-1608; ODNB), daughter of 3rd baron Dacre of Gilsland, married viscount Montagu

Dacre, Ralph, Lord Dacre (d.1339/40), acquired castle and manor of Kirkoswald by marriage to Margaret (b.1300), dau and heir of Thomas, Lord Multon of Gilsland (d.1313/14)

Dacre, Thomas, Lord Dacre (d.1525), founder (with Rowland Threlkeld, qv) of the College at Kirkoswald before end of 1523, rebuilt Kirkoswald Castle

Dacre, Thomas (1467-1525; ODNB), 2nd baron Dacre, magnate and soldier, fought at Bosworth Field, commissioned c.1507-15 the remarkable Dacre Beasts (V and A; sold from Naworth castle c.2000); see ‘The Ballad of Bosworth Field’

Dacre, William (1500-1563; ODNB), 3rd baron of Gilsland

Dacre, Revd William (1827-1903), MA, clergyman, yr son of Joseph Dacre (1825-1868) and grandson of Joseph Dacre (1785-1828), marr (18xx) Margaret, dau of Revd Dr George Jeffrey, vicar of Irthington 1852-1898

Dacre, William Richard (1749-1807), JP, 2nd son of Joseph Dacre (b.1711 qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1782, marr, 2 sons (Joseph (1785-1828), Madras Civil Service, died in India, and Charles, qv)

Dalrymple, Sir Adolphus John, 2nd Bt (d.1866), politician, MP for Appleby, m. Ann dau Sir James Graham [1753-1825] 1st Bt., MP Carlisle

Dalston family of Acorn Bank; CW2 lviii 140

Dalston, Sir George (1581-1657) JP, politician, of Dalston Hall, son of Sir John Dalston and his wife Frances Warcop, ed Queens college, Oxford, captain of Carlisle castle 1608-1643, knighted 1607, MP 1621-1643, High Sheriff, in 1644 fled Dalston Hall at the time of the siege of Carlisle when it was requisitioned by Gen Leslie qv, on the solar tower at Dalston Hall is the inscription: ‘John Dalston Elisabet mi wife mad ys byldyng’, died 1657, funeral speech preached on 28 Sept 1657 by Jeremy Taylor (1613-1677; ODNB), bishop of Down and Connor and published 1658; Hyde and Pevsner, 325

Dalston, John (c.1606-1692), politician, MP for Appleby from 5 April 1661 until September 1679, made gift of ceremonial sword engraved with arms of Dalstons of Acorn Bank and borough of Appleby to Appleby corporation, died 13 April 1692, aged 86, and buried in chancel of Kirkby Thore church, 18 April (memorial brass) (N&B, i, 364)

Dalston, William [18thc.], R.C. buried Great Salkeld; CW2 lix 125

Dalton, Alice (1621-1729), possibly the oldest woman to live in Westmorland, bapt at St Andrew’s Auckland church in Bishopric of Durham, 11 March 1621, dau of George Parkin, widow of Richard Dalton [prob Richd Dalton, junior, who was buried 26 September 1684], of Cliburn, buried at Cliburn, 11 October 1729, aged 108

Dalton, Jim (18xx-19xx), huntsman, Blencathra Foxhounds, from 1894-1930

Dalton, John, of Dean (1709-1763; ODNB), clergyman and poet, son of Rev John Dalton, rector of Dean, graduated Queens college, his brother Richard (qv) (c.1715-1791; ODNB), produced a libretto for John Milton’s masque Comus which was set to music as an opera by Thomas Arne (1710-1778;ODNB), (John Milton (1608-1674; ODNB) wrote Comus in response to a major court scandal) Dalton was pleased when a production of ‘his’ opera was performed as a benefit for Milton’s granddaughter Elizabeth Foster; the same John Dalton who was the father of John Dalton of Darlington ?

Dalton, John (1766-1844; ODNB), chemist and natural philosopher, born at Eaglesfield, 6 September 1766, son of Joseph Dalton, weaver, and Deborah, dau of John Greenup, of Greenrigg, Caldbeck, educated by his father and John Fletcher at Parshaw hall qv, influenced by Elihu Robinson, taught in Kendal aged 13 with his brothers Jonathan and Jonah qqv, friendly with John Gough qv, conducted extensive meteorological research and collection of data (mss Kendal museum), aged 27 appointed to teach maths at New College, a college for dissenters  in Manchester, being colour blind did research on ‘Daltonism’, experimented on the composition of gases and wrote Dalton’s Law (1801), Law of Partial Pressures conceived, New College in financial trouble 1801 so he began giving public lectures, provided a method for the calculation of relative atomic weights for the chemical elements, his key achievement the notion of Atomic Theory (1808), his diagrams of atoms and molecules are similar to those used today, inherited with his brother Jonathan estate at Greenrigg, Caldbeck by will of his aunt, Ruth Greenup, 7 March 1814, which he and others sold to Joseph Parkin, 17 March 1819 (CW2, xxi, 236), this gave  him a little financial freedom, annual visits to the Lakes, awarded hon doctorate by Oxford, Humphry Davy qv said he had laid ‘the foundations for future labours’, unmarried, died of a stroke 1844, 40,000 people filed past his coffin in Manchester town hall, buried Ardwick; mural by Ford Madox Brown, Dalton Collecting Marsh Gas (Manchester Town Hall); statue by Chantrey, Royal Manchester Institution, Terry Wyke, Public Sculpture of Manchester, 62, another by William Theed outside Manchester Metropolitan faculty of science, another at Manchester town hall, portrait by James Lonsdale, pupil of Romney; Dalton pedigree from 16thc (W/H CRO YDX 573); John Dalton Way, a walk from Eaglesfield to Calder Hall, home of the first atomic power station inaugurated for his 250th anniversary; famous; AB Griffiths and RM Leslie, John Dalton: Founder of Modern Atomic Theory, 2016, Elizabeth Chambers Patterson, Life of John Dalton, 1970, Albert Leslie Smyth, John Dalton Bibliography, 1966

Dalton, Jonah (1766-1844), brother of John Dalton (1766-1844) (qv), the chemist, schoolmaster Kendal

Dalton, Jonathan (1759-1834), older brother of John Dalton (1766-1844) (qv), the chemist, schoolmaster at Kendal, joined by John from 1781-1793, continued his brother’s meteorological records after his departure, letter from Ponsonby Harrison of Eaglesfield (W/H CRO Harris family mss DBH/4/11, other mss university of Manchester)

Dalton, Millican (1867-1947), ‘Professor of Adventure’, the Borrowdale Hermit, pioneering rock climber, camper and mountain guide, born at Foulard, Nenthead, Alston, 20 April 1867, son and one of seven children of William Dalton (1825-1874) mining agent and Quaker b. Appleby, and his wife Frances (nee Tinniswood), m. 1853, dau of Millican Tinniswood qv, family moved after his father’s death to edge of Epping Forset, developed his taste for life outdoors, living in tent in Thornwood in 1901, took climbing holidays in Lakes with his brother Henry, left office job as insurance clerk in London in 1903 and rode north on his bicycle to Lake District, settled first in a tent at High Lodore, then lived in cave on eastern flanks of Castle Crag in Borrowdale, walked down to Grange and Rosthwaite for letters and supplies, lived by mountain, forest, river and lake guiding, teaching rock climbing, and taking paying guests on dangerous adventures, built his own rafts, designed rucksacks and lightweight tents, and made his own clothes, addicted to coffee and Woodbine cigarettes, climbed Napes Needle more than fifty times, visited A W Simpson at Littleholme, Sedbergh Road, Kendal in 1913 (photo in CROK, WDX 515), not reclusive but very hospitable to guests, enjoyed philosophical discussions round the campfire, his motto for life etched in stone in his cave near his bed of leaves: ‘Don’t waste words. Jump to conclusions’, unmarried but had enduring friendships with women, notably Dr Mabel Barker (qv), his winter shack High Heavens Camp, Marlow Bottom, gutted by fire in 1939, retreated to a hut in Epping Forest in harsh winter of 1946/47, living in a tent, contracted pneumonia and died in hospital at Amersham, Bucks, 5 February 1947, aged 79 (M D Entwistle, 2004; play The Professor of Adventure written and performed by Peter MacQueen and produced by Theatre by the Lake, Keswick, 2016; Cumbria, December 2016, 65-68, and December 2017, 55-60; Jorrit Jorritsma, co-founder of Millican: Lessons in Manliness @; ‘Millican Dalton, professor of adventure’ at, 13.08.2010); nephew Nicholas Dalton had stayed with him (Cumbria, February 2017, 86); see M.D. Entwistle biography, 2004; for the inscription in Borrowdale cave, Bill Birkitt, A Year in the Life of Borrowdale, 108; AH Griffin, The High Places, 17-18; A. Hankinson, A Century in the Crags has photographs

Dalton, Patrick (b.1907), rugby league footballer in the 1930s, b. Harrington, played for Salford Red Devils in 291 games between 1930 and 1940, and several times for England, in 1938, Salford beat Barrow, a major rival, 7 to 4, a great fan of the Red Devils Tommy Bannister wrote a poem which was only rediscovered in 2021 includes the lines:

       L stands for loose-limbed lad who gave a wonderful show

       Like long-legged Paddy Dalton in that dashing front row

Dalton, Pearson, shepherd, Caldbeck Characters, Caldbeck Hist Soc, 1995

Dalton, Percy (1884-1957), ARIBA, AMICE, architect, engineer and surveyor, and pioneer of housing development, born in Walton, co Lancaster, 21 January 1884, son of Samuel Dalton, book-keeper, and his wife Margaret, educ xxx, joined Carlisle City Corporation as architectural assistant to H C Marks (qv), City Engineer and Surveyor, in 1909, completed erection of Turkish Baths on James Street in 1910, extended Electricity Works on opposite side of James Street in 1913, appointed deputy City Engineer and Surveyor 1919 and succ Marks on his retirement in September 1926, supervised house building programme begun after end of WW1 with 22 new housing estates (inc Raffles and Longsowerby) built and special designs for old peoples homes (inc Margaret Creighton Gardens), designed and supervised construction of railway sidings and buildings of Electricity Power Station at Willowholme (opened in 1927), also extensions of five bridges (Caldew, Eden, Warwick Road, London Road and St Nicholas), supervised completion of Police and Fire Brigade HQ in Rickergate in 1941, made study of design of Community Centres (Carlisle being one of first authorities to support their establishment), supervised demolition of Gaol (later Woolworths) and island block that stood in front of it, Heysham Park (Raffles), and Italian Gardens at Stanwix end of Eden Bridge, carried out extensive city sewerage scheme, oversaw tarmacadaming of many city roads and streets, also played part in Carlisle Pageant of 1928, retired after 40 years’ service on 20 January 1949, died in 1957, aged 73 (CJ); See Marie Dickens, Changing the Face of Carlisle

Dalton, Richard (c.1715-1791; ODNB), born Dean, younger son of the Rev John Dalton of Darlington (qv), eminent life in London as Keeper of Royal Drawings and Medals to George III; see Grove Dictionary of Art

Dalton, Thomas (fl.1754-1782), clergyman, b. Cumberland, fellow of Queens college, vicar Carisbrook, Isle of Wight, executor of Myles Cooper q.v.

Dalzel, Joseph (d.1852) bonesetter, Workington; son of John Dalzell (1770-1841), yeoman of Stainburn Hall, his grandfather Thomas Dalzel (1739-1818), of Moresby, buried St Bees with his wife Elizabeth; prominent and elegant obelisk to Joseph in churchyard at east end of St Michael’s church, Workington

Danby, Revd Francis (1xxx-18xx), BA, clergyman and schoolmaster, apptd Chaplain to House of Correction, Kendal,  in 1840, elected Master of Kendal Grammar School in succ to Revd John Sampson (qv) in 1843, reopened school in April 1844, following period of repairs and improvements to school house and premises (at same time as removal of roughcast and pointing of exposed stones was carried out on parish church), but resigned office in 1845 after failing to receive any encouragement, well liked and respected, also curate of St Thomas, Kendal, amateur geologist and fossil collector, died [xx] [not in 1858 clergy list] (KK, 171; LC, 114; RM, 26)

Dand, Revd Michael (17xx-1847), Rector of Clifton 1841-1847

Daniell, William (1769-1837), author of A Voyage Round Great Britain, having toured coast in a rowing boat during summers of 1813 to 1816 and made 308 hand-coloured sketches illustrating features of the coast, and during winters worked on these to produce a series of aquatints which were later published in a single volume, an unrivalled record of British coastline at that time

Daniels, Charles (1932-1996), architect; obit. CW2 xcvii 261

Daniels, Harry (fl.mid 20thc.), surgeon, North Lonsdale hospital, Barrow, m. Betty, lived Far East for a few years, 2 daus ‘Kipper’ and Susan, 1 son Peter, upon his appointment at Barrow c.1955 was promised a new hospital but the delayed Furness General Hospital did not open until after he retired, lived Pendlehurst, Ulverston, friend of Philip Waind qv, frequently a prizewinning helmsman at South Windermere Sailing Club

Danson, Revd William (17xx-1803), clergyman, Curate of Crosthwaite, marr (24 February 1789, at Crosthwaite) Elizabeth Sedgfield, of Crosthwaite, buried at Crosthwaite, 15 April 1803

Darbishire, Helen (1881-1961; ODNB), CBE, FBA, literary scholar, of Shepherds How, Grasmere, principal of Somerville College, Oxford 1931-1945, chairman, Wordsworth Trust 1943-1961

Darke, Jo (1939-2010), photographer and founder of the Public Monuments and Sculpture Association, b. Cornwall, dau of Bob Darke a farmer and his actress wife Betty Cowen, her sister Caroline Darke is a designer and her brother Nicholas Darke was a playwright, wrote The Monument Guide to England and Wales [1991], the first overview of British public monuments, founder c.1993 of the Public Monuments and Sculptures Association [PMSA], thus she was the spark that led to the research and publication of the PMSA series with Liverpool University Press, she was related to Musgrave Lewthwaite Watson (qv) and often visited the Lakes, also published a Lakeland volume, m. Richard Pearce, a science teacher 2 daus; Guardian obit 23 June 2010

Darke, Nick Temperley Watson (1948-2005), actor, playwright, lobster fisherman, beachcomber, broadcaster, environmentalist, son of Temperley Oswald Darke (1912-1993), Cornish chicken farmer and ornithologist, his mother Betty Cowen (1914-1977), dau of Arthur Cowen (qv) an actress, brother of Jo Darke (qv), related to the sculptor Musgrave Lewthwaite Watson (qv), educ Truro cathedral school (expelled), Newquay GS and Rose Bruford school of Drama, marr Jane Spurway, performed in 80 plays at the Victoria Theatre Stoke on Trent, wrote 28 plays including 8 produced at the RSC, died aged 56

Darling, Sir William (b.1885), politician, b. 8 May 1885, Hart St Carlisle, son of a draper who moved his business to Princes St. Edinburgh, became MP for South Edinburgh; CN 19 Dec 1953 with photo CN 9 Feb 1962, 11; his autobiography Looks at Me

Darlington, Lord, see Vane

Darlington, Sir Charles (1910-1998) KBE, rear admiral, b. Ontario, son of Charles Darlington and Alice Edwards, after war service held a range of posts of rising seniority, director of Naval Education Service 1960-1965, later superintendant of the St John’s Ambulance Brigade, m. Nora Wright of Maulds Meaburn qv, d. Portsmouth; portrait photograph NPG

Darlington, Lady Nora (nee Wright) b. Maulds Meaburn c.1915, married rear admiral Sir Charles Darlington KBE [b.1910]

Darwent, James Major (18xx-18xx), MA, schoolmaster, from Delph in Saddleworth parish, West Riding, Yorks, headmaster of Free Grammar School, Kirkby Lonsdale 1860-1873, of Springfield House (1873)

Daulby, Daniel (1745-1798), artist and collector, of Liverpool, but lived at Rydal Mount in 1790s, knew artists such as Chubbard, Holland, Burdett, Farington and Wright of Derby

Davenport, Rowland Ashley (1886-195x), BA, clergyman and schoolmaster, er son of John M Davenport, machinist, of Rochdale, and his wife Mary, educ Heversham Grammar School (admitted in September 1896, aged 10, left in December 1902), with yr brother James Lees (aged 12 at Heversham GS, January to May 1902), and University of London (BA 1910, 2nd cl Mod Lang 1921), d 1911 and p 1912 (Carl), curate of Holy Trinity, Carlisle 1911-1914, TCF 1915-1916, assistant master, Carlisle Grammar School and lic to pr, dio Carlisle 1914-1931, Curate of Maryport 1931-1933, asst organiser of religious education, dio Carlisle 1931-1937, vicar of Scotby from 1933, when he gave address at first Foundation Day at Heversham School on 24 January 1939, taking as his text ‘The lot is fallen unto me, in a fair ground, yea and I have a goodly heritage’ until 1948, editor of Carlisle Diocesan Gazette 1939-1949, hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral 1945-1948 (Canon Emeritus 1948), lic to offic, dio Carlisle 1949-1955, retiring to 72 Aglionby Street, Carlisle, decd by 1959

Davey, Peter (19xx-2015), headmaster, died in December 2015, aged 84 (CWH, 26.12.2015)

David I, (1085-1153) king of Scotland, took Carlisle in 1135 and died in Carlisle castle, his grandson withdrew and Henry II seized it back; CW2 xcix 117

David, Joan Everard (1920-2000; DCB), biologist, dau of Robert Storey (1889-1947) the co-founder of the Storey Foundry at Heaton Norris, and Alice Grace Williams, educ Ackworth School and Manchester university, worked on eels at Ferry House during the war, m.Werner David, 1 son, 1 dau, later chairman of family foundry in Lancashire, collector of art, major correspondent of Percy Kelly, her collection was the source of The Painted Letters of Percy Kelly (qv), lived Troutbeck and Kendal, author of The Strands Inn, 1987 (Thomas Smith, innkeeper (qv))

Davidson, I (18xx-18xx), headmaster of Windermere Grammar School 1864-1869

Davidson, John (17xx-18xx), of Hill Top, Kendal, built new property on site of old weaving shops at 134 Highgate, Kendal in c.1798 (architect Francis Webster) [now 2016 owned by K-Town Properties]

Davie, William Richardson (1756-1820), soldier and lawyer, born at Egremont, 22 June 1756, son of Archibald and Mary Davie, emigrated with his parents to American colonies, 10th governor of  South Carolina, one of the 55 delegates to constitutional convention at Congress which drew up Constitution of United States in 1787, thus one of the ‘Founding Fathers’ of the USA and one of the ‘Framers of the Constitution’, laid foundation stone of university of North Carolina, th building now known as ‘Old East’; portrait by Wilson Peale, mural by Dean Cornwell at UNC of the stone laying at ‘Old East’

Davies, Ann Lester, visited the Himalayas in the 1950s and wrote No Purdah in Padam (1960)

Davies, Arthur Llewellyn (1863-1907), briefly a master at Eton, barrister; b. Kirkby Lonsdale, father of the boys who were part of the process of creativity which led Sir James Matthew Barrie, Bt. (1860-1937; ODNB) to write Peter Pan; Barrie claimed this in the dedication to the 1928 edition of Peter Pan; Davies obit. The Times 19th May 1916

Davies, John Llewellyn (1826-1916; ODNB), MA, DD, clergyman, born at Chichester in 1826, educ Repton and Trinity College, Cambridge (Bell (University) Scholar 1845, 5th classic 1848, MA 1851, and Fellow 1851-1859), early alpinist, a founder of the Working Men’s College, Vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale 1889-1908, a Governor of Sedbergh School, his wife Mary [nee Crompton], daughter of Sir Charles Crompton (1797-1865; ODNB) of Derby, banker and barrister, Mary was buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 10 February 1895, aged 60, built the elaborate butter cross at Kirkby Lonsdale in her memory, resigned living, moved to Hampstead with his daughter Margaret (qv), and died (at? 11 Hampstead Square, London), (son Theodore, Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, drowned when bathing in Leck beck in 1905, aged 34) (AKL, 114-115; CW2, xxix, 191); Mary Llewellyn Davies’ brother Charles Crompton m. Florence, dau of the RevWilliam and Elizabeth Gaskell (qqv)

Davies, John Stanley Webb (1894-1978), furniture maker; Hugh Wright volume, Bookcase, 2006

Davies, Joseph (c.1773-1835), Congregational minister, Minister of Congregational chapel, Soutergate, Ulverston for nearly 26 years, died 4 June 1835, aged 62; his eldest son, Revd John L Davies, Minister of Edmonton, London, died at Ulverston, 18 May 1832, aged 26 (MI tablet in chapel)

Davies, John Morgan (c.1910-c.1980), BSc (Wales), principal of Newton Rigg College from 1947, Fatstock Marketing Corporation from 1854, contested Carmarthen as Liberal candidate, returned to farming in native Carmarthenshire, marr Dorothy, sister of John Moffat (qv?), died aged 70

Davies, Lester (1910-c.2000), squadron leader (RAF) and outward bound instructor, worked at Ullswater after the war, inretirement lived at the station master’s house at Eskdale Green, his wife Ann Lester Davies went to the Himalayas and wrote No Purdah in Padam (1960)

Davies, Margaret Llewelyn- (1861-1944; ODNB), dau of the Rev Llewelyn-Davies (qv) of Kirkby Lonsdale, general secretary of the Women’s Cooperative Guild from 1889-1921, member of the general council of the Union of Democratic Control, edited Maternity: Letters from Working Women (1915); Roger Smalley, Political Dissent in Westmorland, 1880-1930, 2013

Davies, Sir Noel (1933-2015), son of a Shropshire farmer, ed. Ellesmere college, at Thurso, Caithness, senior manager Vickers, Barrow and then after posts held in Thurso, Caithness and elsewhere returned as MD Vickers, Barrow, m. Sheila, several children; obit Times 8 March 2015, Les Shore, Leonard Redshaw (qv) has refs.

Davies, Sarah Emily (1830-1921; ODNB), co-founder of Girton College, feminist and suffragist, dau of the Rev John Davies DD (1795-1861), sister of  the Rev John Llewellyn-Davies (qv), aunt of Margaret Llewellyn-Davies (qv)

Davies, Stanley Webb (1894-1978), arts and crafts furniture maker, designed and built Gatesbield, New Road, Windermere in 1926, with much of carving done by Emily, their furniture workshop and showroom in craft cottage by road, designed by Kenneth Cross in 1923 (Hugh Wright)

Davies-Shiel, Michael (1929-2009), historian; many articles and books on the Lake District including Wool is my Bread (1975), The Watermills of Cumbria (1979), The Archaeology of the Lake Counties (xxxx);  CW3 x 1-2

Davison, John (fl.late 18thc), of Hill Top, built 134-136 Highgate, Kendal, 1797/98 (attrib to Francis Webster)

Davison, Monkhouse (1713-1793), tea merchant and grocer, b. Carlisle, son of Isaac and Jane Davison of Cowdall Hall, Newtown, tea chests owned by him were dumped in Boston harbour during the Tea Party, asked for compensation from George III, at his death left £600,000

Davy, Humphry (1778-1829; ODNB), scientist, inventor of the safety lamp (see Carlyle Spedding), visited Wordsworth in 1805, his brother John (1790-1868; ODNB) (qv) lived in Ambleside

Davy, John (1790-1868; ODNB), MD, FRS, physiologist and anatomist, born at Penzance, Cornwall, 24 May 1790, son of Robert Davy and yr brother of Sir Humphry Davy [ODNB]  (present at his death in Geneva in 1829), marr (1830) Margaret (1798-1869), 3rd dau of Archibald Fletcher (qv, of Lancrigg, Grasmere), physician at Ambleside, friend of Wordsworth, loved angling in Lake District, built Lesketh How, Ambleside, where he lived from 1844-68, he died, 24 January 1868

Davy, Peter (d.2015), headmaster Kirkby Kendal school; West Gaz 18 Dec 2015

Dawes, John (1766-1845/6), clergyman, baptised 30 March 1766, son of Joseph Dawes, pupil of Isaac King, started own school and taught Hartley and Derwent Coleridge, John and William Wordsworth, and sons of John Harden (qqv), curate of Ambleside 1811-1845/6 (DRC/10; TOA,11)

Dawes, Lancelot (1579/80-1654/5; ODNB), DD, MA, clergyman, born at Barton Kirk, attended Queen’s College, Oxford as poor serving child, then as taberdar, matric 14 October 1597, aged 17, BA 30 June 1602, MA 6 June 1605, and fellow 1605, becoming an ‘ornament’ of the college, nominated by John Fetherston to vicarage of Barton in 1608, and though George Hudson was presented, LD was instituted, rector of Asby 1618-1654 and prebendary of Carlisle 1619-1654, co-founder of Barton Grammar School, marr, son (Thomas, d.1684) (FiO, i, 340)

Dawes, Richard (1793-1867), clergyman and schoolmaster, born in Hawes, educ Ravenstonedale Grammar School between 1800 and 1815, developed a parish school at King’s Somborne, Hampshire, with a very advanced curriculum

Dawes, Thomas (d.1718), High Sheriff, son of Lancelot Dawes (died v.p. and buried at Barton, 10 August 1675), of Barton Kirk, marr Elizabeth (buried 5 February 1750), large family (inc Lancelot (bapt at Barton, 24 July 1695), Christopher (buried 5 March 1705), Mary (buried 10 June 1707, Thomas (buried 12 September 1707), Amy, (buried 22 January 1719), ^^^ ), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1698-99, buried at Barton, 18 August 1718

Dawson, Christopher (15xx-1605), clergyman, Curate of Torver, brothers John and Bryan, sister Margaret, will made 10 May 1605, with inventory on 5 June 1605 (trans in CRO, WDY 475), buried in Torver church

Dawson, James (c.1779-1875; DCB), FRCS, JP, surgeon, of Liverpool, elected MRCS on 15 February 1805 and one of the 300 foundation fellows on 11 December 1843, marr (18xx) Margaret (from wealthy family of spirits merchants), visited Lake District from 1820s and wanted to build own grand house there, started buying up land in 1830s (estate of some 900 acres at its fullest extent), built Wray Castle in 1845-47 (attrib to his friend, John Jackson Lightfoot, an amateur architect, of Liverpool (design exhibited at Liverpool Academy in 1842), with H P Horner taking over after his early death) ‘absolutely regardless of expense’, a situation with striking views over lake but also of Fairfield, Langdale Pikes and over to Bow Fell and Scafell Pike, moved into castle in late 1840s, but wife hated the building, a gothic fantasy of what he thought a castle should be, also responsible for erection of St Margaret’s church, Low Wray in 1856 (though not consecrated until 1861) and endowed it with a further £100 in 1865, and also built Low Wray vicarage and fine boathouses, remodelled neighbouring farm, planted many trees, friend of Wordsworth, who visited castle and planted a mulberry tree in grounds in 1845, noted for his charitable work (The Lancet, obit 30 January 1875), died aged 96; Wray Castle left to her nephew and heir, E P Rawnsley (qv) (a relative of Hardwicke Drummond Rawnlsey who became vicar of Wray) who sold it to David Ainsworth (qv) in 1898 for £30,118; sold again by auction, 26 June 1928 (CRO, WDX 598; CW3, ii, 231-252; iii, 249; CuL, Sept 2011, 36-41)

Dawson, John (1736-1820), mathematical tutor, lived at Sedbergh, though not attached to Sedbergh School, largely self-taught mathematician and successful tutor, with eleven of his pupils becoming Senior Wranglers, died aged 85 and buried at Sedbergh, 23 September 1820 (TWT, 75)

Dawson, John, manufacturer, of Bank House, Kendal, his widow Elizabeth died at Kent House, Kendal and buried at Kendal, 28 July 1840, aged 84

Dawson, John (c.1755-1843), clergyman, curate of Witherslack, marr (9 December 1783, at Crosthwaite) Elizabeth Robinson, of Heversham parish, died at The Parsonage, aged 88, and buried at Witherslack, 21 June 1843

Dawson, John (1926-2011), MA, teacher and local historian, born at Rochdale, 15 October 1926, educ Rochdale Municipal High School and Jesus College, Cambridge (matric 1944, scholarship to read history, set up table tennis club, played for cricket XI, BA 1947, MA 1951), pursued career as teacher, coming to Lake District in 1960 as first headmaster of John Ruskin School, Coniston, taking early retirement in 1982 to concentrate on historical research and walking the Lakeland hills, hon curator of Ruskin Museum at Coniston and kept it going against the odds, the entrance for many years still being via a penny in the slot turnstile, chairman of Friends of Brantwood, author of Torver: The Story of a Lakeland Community (Phillimore, 1985), Wordsworth’s Duddon Revisited (19xx), A Dream of Eden (19xx), Cumbrian Privies (19xx) as well as contributing numerous articles of local, historical and topographical interest to many periodicals, inc Country Life, Lancashire Life and Cumbria, also broadcast a number of short stories written for Radio Cumbria, served as a Methodist lay preacher for almost half a century, marr (1955) Margaret Isobel Shepherd, 2 sons and 2 daus, left Coniston and moved to Whittington about 2000, where he died, 20 December 2011, aged 85, with funeral at Whittington parish church, 30 December

Dawson, Joseph (d.1857), printer, bookseller and stationer, also slate pencil manufacturer, and musical instrument dealer, assigned premises at 8 Stricklandgate, Kendal from Thomas Richardson (publisher of The Westmorland Journal of Useful Knowledge, first issued on 1 June 1833), obtained further lease of 14 yrs on 12 July 1842, enlarged premises by taking in adjoining shoemaker’s shop and started selling sheet music and musical instruments, succ by nephew, William Fisher, on his death in 1857, and later by his son, Richard Fisher till 1896 (KK, 270)

Dawson, Mrs (c.1675-1700), of Kendal, wife of Jacob Dawson, her death on 19th June 1700 gave rise to a once popular toast in the town: ‘May we all live as Jacob Dawson’s wife died’.  From William Andrews Epitaphs (1883 rpr 1899)

Dawson, N (18xx-19xx), MA, BLitt, educ St Edmund Hall, Oxford, appointed Headmaster of Heversham Grammar School in September 1938, resigned in August 1951

Dawson, Richard (d.c.1605), clergyman, Torver; CW2 lxxxviii 121

Dawson, Richard Jackson (18xx-19xx), OBE, JP, council leader, chairman of Westmorland County Council from March 1940 to April 1952, and Alderman, apptd honorary freeman of Appleby Borough in 1950 for over 25 years’ service as councillor and alderman of Appleby Borough, inc one term as mayor 1930-31, of Ashland House, Appleby (1929), later of Brampton Crofts, Long Marton (1938)

Dawson, Robert (1776-1860; ODNB), surveyor, son of Thomas Dawson of Penrith (1725-1794), royal military surveyor, a key figure in the first ordnance survey, his son Col Robert Kearsley Dawson (ODNB), his grandson General Robert Dawson inherited Brent House, Penrith [ODNB says Robert Dawson senior was born in Plymouth.  But gives his dob as 1771  CHECK]

Dawson, Robert (1589-1643), clergyman, bishop of Clonfert and Kilmacduagh 1627-1643, b. Kendal, died 13 April 1643; memorial brass in Kendal Holy Trinity church (CW2, xc, 205-15 and/or CW2 lxc 205; WW, i, 109-112; SSR, 66)

Dawson, Robert Basil (1877-1940), MA, clergyman, descended from Dawsons of Langcliffe, Yorks, and of Ford, co Durham, vicar of Irthington 1924-1928

Dawson, Thomas (fl.late 19th-early 20thc), landlord and defendant, licensee of the Newfield Inn at Seathwaite in the Duddon valley, on 25 July 1904 dealt with a riot by drunken navvies working on the Seathwaite tarn waterworks which would provide water for Furness, he had refused to serve some of the men who reacted violently smashing windows and doing other damage to the public buildings in the village and he responded by firing his gun, killing one man and wounding others, he and his young barman James Greenhow were prosecuted for the death of Owen Kavanagh of Millom, but were exonerated; Westmorland Gazette 14 Nov 2015

Day, George Edward Foden (18xx-1929), clergyman, vicar of Bampton, also curate of Swindale 1893-1896 (between Stephen and Joseph Whiteside), marr (by 1881) Eleanor F, 1 son (George E F, qv), died 10 October 1929, his executors handing his parish papers over to Revd H A Ransome (qv), acting curate-in-charge of Bampton, who filed them ready for new vicar-designate, Revd W H Cormack (qv) in 1931

Day, George Edward Ferens (1881-19xx), BA, clergyman, son of Revd G E F Day (qv), educ Heversham Grammar School (admitted aged 15 in September 1896, left in August 1900), Queen’s College, Oxford 1901 and Hatfield Hall, Durham (BA 1907), d 1908 and p 1909 (Worc), curate of St George, Kidderminster 1908-1912, and of Nantwich 1912-1917, vicar of Renwick 1917-1921, rector of Cliburn 1921-1956 and PC of Bolton 1947-1956, organising secretary of SPG, Dio Carlisle 1924-1928, retiring in 1956 to Walmhow, Bampton, then to 211 London Road, Twickenham, Middlesex by 1965, still there in 1975

Day, Harold Hill (18xx-19xx), engineer and iron founder, Castle Iron Foundry, Canal Head, Kendal, 1930s, of Hill Crest, Kendal (CRO, WDX 653)

De Grey, Sir Roger (1918-1995), see Grey

De Lara, Adelina (1872-1961), concert pianist and composer, born Lottie Adelina Preston, Carlisle, dau of George Matthew Tilbury (aka Preston) and Anna de Lara the granddaughter of the Dutch limner David Laurent de Lara who specialised in illuminated manuscripts, gave recitals from the age of six using her mother’s name which was viewed as more exotic, studied at the Hoch Conservatory, Frankfurt and had lessons with the elderly Clara Schumann, she also knew Brahms, taught the piano to students including Eileen Joyce (1908-1991), m. Thomas Johnson Shipwright, several children, much admired by the Queen mother who would send her a note before a concert, wrote autobiography Finale (1955), a great grandson is Kit Hain the singer songwriter,

De Selincourt, Ernest (1870-1943; ODNB), of Grasmere, literary scholar, Chairman, Wordsworth Trust to 1943, bequeathed his library to the Armitt, retired to Grasmere 1935, died at Olrig Nursing Home, Kendal

Deakin, George William, wine and spirits merchant, built Blawith House and died four years later

Deakin, James Henry Edward Kenneth (d.c.1899), wine and spirits merchant, son of C and M Deakin, built Netherwood, Grange-over-Sands (memorial window in north of nave in Lindale church, c.1900)

Deakin, Joseph (c.1834-1892), barrister, marr Mary Katharine, children bapt at Lindale in 1870s, when barrister-at-law, of Eller How, Lindale-in-Cartmel (let by Webster family ?), died at Southport, aged 58, and buried at Lindale, Ash Wednesday, 2 March 1892

Dean, Charles Walter (18xx-19xx), clerk, Clerk to Ulverston RDC, clerk to Guardians of Ulverston Union, Council Buildings, Queen Street, Ulverston, of Pendlehurst, Ulverston (1909)

Dean, Susan (nee Sandison-Wood) (1930-2011), farmer, last surviving of 4 daus of Alexander Sandison-Wood, OBE, and great granddau of 9th Earl of Carlisle, educ Girton College, Cambridge (agriculture), marr (1953) Peter Dean, 1 son and 2 daus, farmed first at Burtholme, near Lanercost in 1950s, before moving to Kirkhouse at Farlam, near Brampton in 1970, committee member and secretary of the Simmental Society (milked her Simmental cows every day into her 60s), secretary of Dacre Hall Committee at Lanercost Priory for many years, governor of Hallbankgate School from 1970s and chairman in 1990s, supported Bewcastle Pony Club, esp providing riding for disabled children, member of Brampton Players’ committee for many years (attended official opening of Brampton Playhouse in 1936) and chairman in 1980s, member of Carlisle Diocesan Synod, died in Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle, January 2011 and funeral at Farlam church (CN, 21.01.2011)

Deane, Joseph, tide master, Whitehaven, corresponded with the Washingtons in America

Deans, Charlotte (nee Lowes) (1768-1859), actress, born 1 September 1768, 2nd dau and 3rd child of Henry Lowes, attorney at law, and Alice Howard (died 31 December 1775 and buried 2 January 1776 in Wigton churchyard), of Wigton, marr 1st William Johnston, marr 2nd Thomas Deans, 17 children, itinerant actress performing in barns, stables and makeshift ‘theatres’ throughout Cumbria and southern Scotand (Frances S Marshall, A Travelling Actress, 1984)

Dearden, Revd F Cawood (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, vicar of St Michael’s, Bamford, near Rochdale, before being licensed to Longsleddale at Rose Castle on 14 July 1914

Dearden, nee Kimber [1834-1915], Sophia, daughter of a coal merchant, widow of John Deardon MD [1833-1897] of Church near Accrington whom she had married in Accrington (he was of Oswaldtwistle), aware that the town had hoped to have a Victoria jubilee clock tower, presented a fine one to Grange over Sands in her own name 1912 at a cost of £300, lived Lyndhurst, Fernleigh Rd., with her daughter Leonora, also gave woodland at Yewbarrow Cragg to the town, upon her death Leonora became the third wife of William Kellaway, in her will Sophia gave a second clock tower to Church near Accrington; Cartmel Peninsula Local History website; Hyde and Pevsner

Dearden, Tom (1942-2020), artist, born in Ulverston, educ Dowdales School, keen on country activities, served his time as a butcher and worked in a slaughterhouse, as a student of meat inspection a tutor spotted his artistic skills and advised him to apply for art college, he attended Lancaster and Morecambe college and was encouraged by Bernard Eyre Walker and Claude Harrison, lived in France and London where he familiarised himself with great masters in galleries, returned to live at Witherslack, The Petrel was exhibited at the Paris Salon and won the Gold Medal, solo exhibition Abbot Hall in the 1970s, his work includes Winter, a juxtaposition of Lakeland rock, blasted tree and a human figure, A French Hilltop Village (1990), and  Lilian Fairhurst (Abbot Hall), he exhibited at the RA, a member of the Lake Artists; Jane Renouf, Lake Artists, 226-7; Davy Priestley, Tom Dearden, c.2020; obit West Gaz 3 Sept 2020

Decies, 3rd baron, see Horsley-Berresford

Defoe, Daniel (1660-1731; ODNB), writer, in his travels visited the Lake District and Whitehaven, he described Cumberland in his book A Tour Through the whole Island of great Britain (3vols, 1724)

Denison, William Austen Raymond (1910-2010), owner of Anvil Gallery, Cartmel, former North Lonsdale District councillor (c.1964-1969), formerly of Anvil House, Cartmel, died at the Old Vicarage Residential Home, Allithwaite, 24 October 2010, aged 100, and buried at Grange cemetery after funeral service in Cartmel Priory, 2 November (CRO, WDB 111; WDX 1121; WDX 1485)

Denman, Sir Richard Douglas (1876-1957; ODNB), 1st Bt, JP, BA, politician, yr brother of 3rd baron Denman, educ Oxford, MP for Carlisle 1910-1918 and for Leeds Central 1929-1945, cr baronet 1945, marr 1st (1904) Helen Christian (1881-1965) (see Sutherland), dau of Sir Thomas Sutherland, GCMG, separated 1909 and marr annulled 1913, marr 2nd (19xx) dau of James Spencer, of Murrah Hall, Greystoke, son (Charles Spencer, CBE, MC, TD, who succ father as 2nd Bt in 1957 and succ cousin as 5th baron in 1971), of Staffield Hall, Kirkoswald, died 1957

Denmead, Christine [1942-2017], arts administrator, probably born Barrow, dau of ?John Denmead, senior teacher at Barrow Girls’ GS, after the demolition of Her Majesty’s theatre and the establishment of the Renaissance Theatre Trust, became the Trust’s secretary in Fountain St, Ulverston, see Donald Sartain and Norah Seddon qqv, she latterly worked with Denis McGeary; mss Renaissance Theatre Trust in CRO

Dennison, Thomas (fl.1748), High Constable of Kendal Ward (accounts for 1748 in CRO, WDS 30/6/31)

Dent family (1820-1927; ODNB), bankers (Hong Kong and Shanghai Bank) and involved with opium trade, by 1787 at a rate of 4000 chests of opium pa, and by 1833 30,000 chests, activities which were precursors of the Opium Wars 1839-42 and 1856-60 between the Qing dynasty and the western powers, once lost, China opened Shanghai as a treaty port and gave sovereignty to Hong Kong to the British, rivals in trade of Jardine Matheson and Co., lived Skirsgill, Penrith; Peter Ward Fay, The Opium War, 1997; Frank Dikotter et al, Narcotic Culture, 2004; Julia Lovell, The Opium Wars: Drugs, Dream and the Making of China, 2012; Hyde and Pevsner 575

Dent, Abraham (1729-1803; ODNB), shopkeeper, of Kirkby Stephen, Dent was a grocer, mercer, stationer, brewer, wine merchant and hosier; Thomas S. Willan, An Eighteenth Century Shopkeeper, Abraham Dent of Kirkby Stephen, 1970

Dent, John Charles (1841-1888), journalist and historian, b. Kendal, lived Canada

Dent, Lancelot (1799-1853), opium merchant, b. Crosby Ravensworth, son of William (b.1775) qv and his wife Jane (b.1762), one of the three key Dent brothers of Dent and Co, to Bombay on the Euphrates in 1823, dissolved partnership with Keirs of Madeira in 1825 (his father’s partners?), joined Dents at Canton in 1827, sailed on the Cornwallis to Bombay in 1828, in this year his son John Dent by Mary Colledge (sic) was born in Macao, she later married Captain John Fish and boy became known as John Dent Fish, took over as head of Dents when brother Thomas departed from China in 1831, regular sailings from Whampoa recorded between 1828 and 1832, to buy opium in Calcutta, on the Jane and the Waterwitch, his eldest brother Robert died at Mitcham, Sy, in 1835, following the Opium War their operations moved to Manilla from 1839-1842, in 1840 in Chusan, his mother Jane died that year, he was also appointed paymaster of HM Forces, Dent and Co established in1841 in Hong Kong, on his return in 1842, in 1843 adopts John Dent Fish as his heir, in 1845 brother John died in Calcutta, sister Elizabeth d. 1847, he or his siblings built Flass House in the early 1850s at Maulds Meaburn, the architect was George JJ Mair a pupil of Decimus Burton (Hyde and Pevsner), d. Cheltenham 1853, buried  at Crosby Ravensworth, JD Fish his exor. recd. £10,000, Dents continue to operate and were, in 1864-5, one of the founder partners of the HSBC

Dent, Sir Robert Annesley Wilkinson (1895-1983), CB, landowner and parliamentary clerk, born 27 January 1895, er son of R W Dent, JP, of Flass, Maulds Meaburn, educ Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge, marr (1927) Elspeth Muriel, dau of Sir Alfred Tritton, 2nd Bt, of Upper Gatton Park, Reigate, 1 son and 3 daus, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1960, clerk of public bills, House of Commons 1948-1959, asst clerk 1920, sold Flass House, later of Lyvennet Bank, Maulds Meaburn, died (Dent of Flass papers in CRO, WD/DF)

Dent, Thomas, opium merchant, son of William [b.1775] qv, one of the three key Dent brothers, in Canton 1823, joined Davidson and Co but Davidson left in 1824, firm became Dent and Co

Dent, Wilkinson [b.1800], opium merchant, son of William [b.1775] qv, one of the three key Dent brothers, paid for restorations of Crosby Ravensworth church; Hyde and Pevsner have several refs

Dent, William (b.1775), Canton merchant, father of the three key Dent brothers, Lancelot, Thomas and Wilkinson (qqv), opium merchants

Dent, William (1832-18xx), clergyman, Incumbent of Longsleddale 1862-1871, then without cure of souls at Holme, Huddersfield, Yorks (1881), Asst Curate, East Witton (1861), born at Sedbergh, marr Jane Stevens, 2 sons and 3 daughters (ex inf Mrs Irene Stolk, ggdau)

Denton family; CW2 xvi 40; CW3 xiv 298

Denton, Henry (1535-1584; ODNB), antiquary, father of John (b.1561)

Denton, Henry (c.1640-1681; ODNB), clergyman and translator, b. Warnell Hall, Warnell Denton south of Carlisle

Denton, John, of Cardew; CW3 iv 163

Denton, John de, Lord of Nether Denton, descendant of John de Denton (living 1225), marr Agneta, dau and coheir of Ranulf de Halton, of Halton, Northumberland

Denton, John (c.1561-1617; ODNB), antiquary, son of Henry [b.1535] earliest known historian of Cumberland, of Cardew Hall, ms edited by R S Ferguson as John Denton’s account of Cumberland, CWAAS, Tract Series II, 1887, and more completely by A J L Winchester as John Denton’s ‘History of Cumberland’ (CWAAS, Record Series XX, jointly with Surtees Society, CCXIII, 2010)

Denton, Sir Richard de (d. by 1363), Knight of Shire for Cumberland 1324, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1336-1338 and 1350, descendant of John de Denton (qv), Lord of Nether Denton, marr Agnes (died Sept/Dec 1356, to be buried in parish church of Thursby), dau and coheir of William de Burdon, 1 dau and heir (Margaret, who marr Adam de Copley, of Batley, Yorks), executor with his brother John  and William de Denton (qv), Rector of Ousby, of his wife’s will (made at Ousby on 2 September 1356 and proved at Rose on 2 December 1356), died by 1363 (Test Karl, 12-13)

Denton, Robert (fl. early 13th cent), Abbot of Furness 1203-1237

Denton, Thomas (1637-1698; ODNB), topographer, recorder of Carlisle 1663-1679

Denton, Thomas (d.1643), died of wounds received at Hull in 1643

Denton, Thomas, principal of St Edmund Hall

Denton, Thomas [1723-1777], priest and writer, b. Sebergham, son of Isaac Denton, yeoman of Greenfoot

Denton, William de (d.1359), Rector of Ousby, executor of will of Dame Agnes, wife of Richard de Denton (qv), proved in 1356, died in 1359 (NB, ii, 437; CW2, xxii, 51)

Denwood, John (1845-1896), dialect poet and poacher, born 12 September 1845, imprisoned for poaching on several occasions, local reputation as a writer in dialect verse, died in Kirkgate, Cockermouth, 6 August 1896; probably identical with John Denwood, tailor, actor, poet and song writer, among his work is ‘Boggie Willie’, ‘The Cumbrian Brothers’ and ‘Barney Blarney’s Pretty Kate’

Denwood, Jonathan M (18xx-19xx), author and poet, son of John Denwood (qv), author of John Peel, Red Ike (with S Fowler Wright), Idylls of a North Countrie Fair: Songs and Prose (with John Denwood, junr) (1916), Canny Oald Cummerlan, and The Shepherds’ Meet, and Cumbrian Nights: Red Ike’s Poaching Life (1932), of Kirkgate, Cockermouth

De Salis, Nina (d.1929), family librarian, dau of Leopold Fane de Salis (1816-1898) of Cuppacumbalong Station near Tharwa, Australia, of an ancient Swiss family he was a pastoralist and politician and the son of the 4th Count De Salis-Soglio, she married WJ Farrer the agronomist (qv), sometimes called ‘the father of the Australian wheat industry’, as the family librarian she accumulated with her father 1600 volumes which are now in the National Library of Australia, mostly of the 1850-1920, the oldest is an edition of Cicero of 1606

Derbyshire, Delia (1937-2001), musician and composer of electronic music, born in Coventry, the daughter of Edward Derbyshire (d.1965) a sheet metal worker and his wife Emma Dawson (d.1994), deeply interested in the sound of the world around her from an early age, she recalled the impact of the air raid sirens in Coventry and later the sound of clogs on the cobbles in Preston, she learned the piano and became an LRAM, educated Barr’s Hill Grammar school, Preston and Girton college, Cambridge, reading Maths and Music, developed a style involving electronic sounds, everyday sounds and recorded musical instruments, at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop in the 1960s she produced the music for 200 radio and TV programmes involving many sounds never heard before and in particular realised the musical ideas of Ron Grainer which resulted in the unforgettable theme tune of Dr Who, still in use after more than 50 years, in London she cut a striking figure wearing large hats and a flowing cloak, for years she captured and crafted her own sounds and was not keen on the advent of synthesisers which had limited repertoires of sound and drove a culture of speed rather than quality, she found the BBC administration stifling to her creativity and was repelled by the realisation that the power at the Corporation lay largely with the accountants, eventually, disillusioned by the workload, she resigned and moved to Holland where she worked with Madelon Hooykaas the film maker, returning to the UK she worked as a translator of French weather reports for the Gas Board who were laying the pipeline for North Sea Gas, here she met her husband David Hunter and lived at Gilsland in Cumbria where she took snuff, drank too much Guinness and displayed a remarkable ability as a darts player, from 1974-1978 she also collaborated with the artist Li Yuan-Chia (1929-1994) at his studio at Banks, near Lanercost and assisted with setting up exhibitions, after her marriage failed she lived from 1978 with a new partner Clive Blackburn in Northamptonshire, among her important work is Four Inventions, a collaboration with the poet Barry Bermange, described as a wonderful yet infuriating person, she has now achieved a posthumous cult status of the godmother of techno music. Documentary film Delia Derbyshire: The Myths and Legendary Tapes  (2020); Radio 4 Great Lives 19.1.2021 16.30 pm; her archives are held at Manchester University and the John Rylands Library

Derome, Matthew (18xx-19xx), local councillor, Westmorland County Councillor for Kendal Borough Central division, of 4 Airethwaite, Kendal (1894); Martha, wife of Joseph Derome, of Wildman Street, Kendal, buried at Kendal, Papist, 8 December 1839, aged 62

Derwentwater, earls of, see Radcliffe, Ratcliffe and Ratclyffe

Dessure, Mark Bernard Adolphus (c.1825-1895), itinerant photographer, CWAAS 2017, 177

Devis, Arthur (1712-1787; ODNB), member of a family of artists in Preston, visited Cumberland to paint portraits

Dewberry, Charles G (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman and schoolmaster, educ Corpus Christi College, appointed headmaster of Heversham Grammar School in July 1903, resigned in August 1909

Dewick, Francis Ernest (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ St Edmund Hall, Oxford (BA 1894, MA 1910), d 1894 and p 1895 (Carl), on bishop of Carlisle’s Special Service Staff 1894-1896 and 1898-1900, curate of Ulverston 1896-1898, domestic chaplain to bishop of Carlisle 1900-1904, curate of Raughton Head 1900-1901 and vicar of Raughton Head with Gaitsgill 1901-1909, PC of Lindale-in-Cartmel from 1909

Dewing, Lynn (fl.1817-1847), author, MJ Crossley-Evans: Unknown Lakeland Traveller; CW3 ix 187, CW3 xi 183

De Vere Beauclerk, Lady Moyra, dau of duke of St Albans, marr Lord Richard Cavendish, lived Holker Hall, est local WI

Diana, Princess of Wales (1961-1997), daughter of 8th earl Spencer and Frances Roche, marr Charles Prince of Wales, mother of Prince William (b.1982) and Prince Harry (b.1984), visited Carlisle in 1983 as patron of the Deaf Association and again in 1986 when Charles was given the freedom of the city; Andrew Morton, Diana: Her True Story, 1992; Sarah Badford, Diana, 2006

Dickens, Charles J.H. (1812-1870; ODNB), novelist, invited to open the new reading room in Carlisle in Lancaster St, he was unable to accept but he did write about the project in ?Household Words being impressed that the working men were running it all themselves, Mechanics’ Institutes were usually run on their behalf by philanthropic professionals visited Allonby in 1857 and published The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices the same year

Dickenson, Richard (d.1816), clergyman, rector of Castle Carrock from 1777, probably non-resident, buried at Carlisle in 1816, aged 93 (CW1, xiv, 218)

Dickinson, Sir Alwin Robinson, KCMG (1873-1944), British phosphate commissioner, b. Cartmel

Dickinson, George (1852-1934), partner with brother John (1847-1907) in legal firm of Hill, Dickinson of Liverpool, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1920, marr, 3 sons (2 killed in WWI; 3rd George Fryer Dickinson (1886-1932), JP, MA, LLB (Cantab), Barrister at law, Captain, The King’s Liverpool Regt), member of CWAAS from 1921, died in April 1934 and succ by his grandson

Dickinson, George William (d.1847) in Montevideo a bullet passed through its intended victim and killed him too; Bingham, Memories of South Lakes, 137

Dickinson, James (1659-1741), itinerant quaker minister, born Lowmoor House, Dean, travelled preaching over northern counties, Ireland, Scotland, Holland, the West Indies and America, d. London bur. Eaglesfield, H. Winter, Great Cockermouth Scholars

Dickinson, Revd John Compton (19xx-199x), DLitt, MA, FSA, FRHistS, clergyman and church historian, of Cartmel, senior lecturer in Theology, Birmingham University 1962-1973 and lectr 1960-1962, hon canon of Peterborough 1970-1973, fellow of Emmanuel College, Cambridge 1947-1950, fellow and chaplain of Pembroke College, Cambridge 1950-1960, select preacher, Cambridge University 1950-1958 and Oxford University 1957-1959, Church Unity work in 1960s, president, CWAAS 1971-1974, editor of Transactions 1945-1948, author of The Origins of the Austin Canons and their Introduction into England (1950), The Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham (1956), Monastic Life in Medieval England (1961), The Buildings of the English Austin Canons after the Dissolution of the Monasteries (article in Journal of Archaeological Association, xxxi, 1968), The Land of Cartmel: a history (1980), and The Priory of Cartmel (1991), died after car accident returning to Cartmel from brother’s funeral (collection of various mss in CRO, WDX 214); CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff

Dickinson, John Norman (18xx-19xx), JP, of Hames Hall, Papcastle, Cockermouth (1921)

Dickinson, Joseph (1846-1909), JP, landowner, prob? son of John Dickinson (1810-1890), of Red How, Lamplugh, and Jane (1816-1891), his wife, member, Cumberland County Council after 1889, marr (12 March 1901) Mary Cowperthwaite (died 5 July 1920), er dau of Henry Jefferson (qv), of Springfield, Bigrigg, died s.p. 1909 (memorial west window in tower of Lamplugh church dedicated in 1910 and window in north of nave in 1911), and succ by brother, George (qv)

Dickinson, Percy Charles (fl.late 19thc.), newspaper editor, offices Holborn Hill, Millom, printer, proprietor and editor of the Millom Gazette, this weekly paper was published every Friday at 4.00, succeeded by his son John Love Dickinson, his granddaughter Joyce Dickinson married Ian Johnstone McIntosh, architect (qv); copies via

Dickinson, Ronald Fryer (1916-1985), DL, JP, local councillor and artist, born 25 September 1916, of Redhow, Lamplugh, landowner, arboriculturist and artist, formerly Lt-Cdr, RNR, m. Pam, several children, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1953, member and Alderman, Cumberland County Council 1940-1974, Chairman, Lamplugh Parish Council, President, The Lake Artists Society 1977-1983, died 18 February 1985

Dickinson, Robert (17xx-18xx), clergyman, will probate (CRO, WD/AG/ box 89)

Dickinson, Thomas, industrialist Ellers High Mill, Ulverston; CW3 xv

Dickinson, William, at the battle of Marston Moor in 1644 with the king

Dickinson, William (1799-18xx), FLS, writer on dialect and agriculture, born at Kidburngill in parish of Arlecdon in 1799, esp studied geology and botany, author of Essay on the Agriculture of West Cumberland (1850), Cumbriana or Fragments of Cumbrian Life (1876) (dedicated to Mrs Craig Gibson) [incl ‘Reminiscences of Clerical Life’], and compiler of A Glossary of Cumberland Words and Phrases (1878), The Botany of Cumberland, Lamplugh Club, etc, dedicatee of The Folk-Speech of Cumberland by his friend, Alexander Craig Gibson (qv), presented his collection of geological specimens to Workington Mechanics’ Institute, of North Mosses and Thorncroft, Workington

Dickinson, William Fryer Daniel (1810-1865), FRCS, physician, born at Lamplugh in 1810, educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1823, aged 12), practised as doctor, also cert surgeon of factories for North Lonsdale, at Fountain Street, Ulverston (1849, 1866), died 5 November 1865 (SSR, 177)

Dicky Doodle, (fl. 12thc), at the court of Richard I, he was being a nuisance to the ladies, so the king sent him on a perilous trip north to deliver the new market charter to Kendal, on arrival he celebrated at the Cock and Dolphin, became very drunk and was chased across a ford to the east side of the river Kent (now beside the Nether Bridge), the poorer part of town, here he was welcomed as one of their own and elected mayor of ‘Doodleshire’, this event of electing a rival mayor continued as a local tradition (rather like that of the Lord of Misrule), for many years, Kendal, Lake District Miscellany, 182

Diggle, John William (1847-1920), MA, DD, bishop, born at Canal Bank, Pendleton, Lancashire, 1847, son of William Diggle, warehouseman, and his wife, Nancy Ann, dau of John Chadderton, and er brother of Joseph Robert Diggle (1849-1917; ODNB), educational administrator, educ Merton College, Oxford (BA, 1st cl Law 1870, MA 1873, lecturer in Roman Law and Modern History 1870-1871), d 1871 (Man) and p 1872 (Ches), curate of Whalley Range 1871-1872, All Saints, Liverpool 1872-1874, and Walton-on-the-Hill, Lancs 1874-1875, vicar of St Matthew with St James, Mossley Hill, Liverpool 1875-1896, rural Dean of Childwall 1882-1896, hon canon of Liverpool 1889-1896, examining chaplain to Bishop of Carlisle 1892-1901, canon of Carlisle and archdeacon of Westmorland 1896-1901, select preacher, Oxford 1898, rector of St Martin, Birmingham 1901-1905, archdeacon and rural dean of Birmingham 1903-1905, examining chaplain to Bishop of Worcester 1902-1905, nominated 60th Bishop of Carlisle on 21 December 1904 and consecrated in York Minster on 2 February 1905, lecturer in Pastoral Theology, Cambridge University 1908-1909, author of Godliness and Manliness (1886), editor of Bishop Fraser’s University and Village Sermons (2 vols), True Religion (1887), Bishop Fraser’s Lancashire Life (1889) (dedicated to the working people of all classes in Lancashire), Sermons for Daily Life (1891), Religious Doubt (1895), Short Studies in Holiness (1900), Quiet Hours with the Ordinal (1906), Home Life (1908), and The Ministry of the Word and Sacraments (1911), died 24 March 1920 (memorial window in south choir aisle of Carlisle Cathedral; portrait by John Henry Smith), monument Crosthwaite; Mrs Diggle, of Deepghyll, Plumpton, Penrith was member of CWAAS from 1947 until 1960

Diggle, Percy Robert (1887-1977), barrister and rugby player, son of Bishop John Diggle (qv) and Edith Moss, educ Marlborough and Oxford, Oxford blue, called to the bar at Inner Temple, played rugby for Cumberland, later a company director, marr Margery Stead, lived Penrith

Dinwoodie, (George ?) (fl.19thc.), sculptor, Brough-under-Stainmore, lived opposite the old cross in a house which has a latin inscription and a hammer and chisel cut in stone over his front door; (illus. Margaret Gowling, Brough-under-Stainmore, 88)

Dixon, Anthony Joseph Steele (1862-1909), JP, landowner, yr son of Thomas Dixon, JP, and brother of Thomas Dixon, JP (qv), of Rheda, Frizington, marr, 1 son (Anthony Thomas Steele (1900-1962), who sold Lorton Hall estate in 1947, later of Thika, Kenya) and 1 dau (Ethel Florence Nancy (d.1975), who marr Humphrey Patricius Senhouse (qv), of The Fitz), Captain, Royal Cumberland Militia, JP Cumberland, of Lorton Hall, died in 1909

Dixon, David (1919-19xx/200x), clergyman, of Rheda family?, earlier career?, trained at Lichfield Theological College 1957, d 1958 (Penrith for Carl) and p 1959 (Carl), curate of St Luke with St Perran, Barrow-in-Furness 1958-1961, vicar of St Mary Westfield, Workington 1961-1968, warden of Rydal Hall, Ambleside 1968-1984, priest-in-charge of Rydal 1978-1984, hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral 1984-1985, district commissioner for Ambleside and Windermere, Westmorland Scout Association in late 1960s, retired 1984 to ‘Rheda’, The Green, Millom

Dixon, Dorothy Mary (fl.1949-1960), policewoman, one of the first in Cumbria, though there were some appointed in the 1st World War to supervise garrison towns; West Gaz, 8 Feb 2015; Allen and Rawnsley Hardwicke Rawnsley biography 2022, 336

Dixon, George (d.1860), JP, yr son of Peter Dixon (qv) and brother of John Dixon (qv) and Peter Dixon (qv), Mayor of Carlisle 1843 and 1849, of Tullie House, Carlisle, died s.p. 1860

Dixon, George (1870-1850), organ designer, b. St Bees, lived Whitehaven, worked on organs in Cumbria and then on those at Norwich cathedral and the Albert Hall

Dixon, Henry (fl.early 19thc.), solicitor, writer of An Account of Donations to the parish of St Andrew, Penrith (1821); J. Walker, History of Penrith, (1858) appendix

Dixon, Henry Hall (1822-1870), BA, sporting writer and barrister, born in Carlisle, 16 May 1822, 2nd son of Peter Dixon (qv), educ Rugby (1838-1840) and Trinity College, Cambridge (matric 1841, BA 1846), suffering an attack of ophthalmia, moved to Doncaster in 1847 to be articled to firm of solicitors headed by Robert Baxter, who campaigned for abolition of Doncaster races, but he became a lifelong devotee of sport, had written on sporting subjects for Bell’s Life and Sporting Chronicle while still at school and at Cambridge, so spent more time writing for Doncaster Gazette than on law, becoming editor of paper, offered but refused editorship of Bell’s Life on death of Vincent Dowling in November 1852, also declined a post in government from Sir James Graham (qv), though called to bar by Middle Temple in 1853 and practised on Midland Circuit, wrote regularly for Sporting Magazine from c.1853, later for Illustrated London News, Mark Lane Express and Daily News on sporting matters under pseudonym of “The Druid”, author of The Law of the Farm (1858), Breeding of Shorthorns (1865), Post and Paddock (1856), Silk and Scarlet (1859), and Scott and Sebright (1862); Frederick Chance, Some Notable Cumbrians

Dixon, James Wilson (188x-195x), BA, clergyman, educ St Aidan’s College, Birkenhead 1903 and University of Durham (BA 1912), d 1906 and p 1907 (Dur), Curate of Dunston-on-Tyne 1906-1909, Arthuret 1909-1911, Egremont 1911-1912, St Peter, Bishop Wearmouth 1912-1914, and St George, Millom 1914-1918, Vicar of Tebay 1918-1923, PC of Nicholforest 1923-1932, Rector of Kirkbampton 1932-1954, Vicar of Crosby-on-Eden 1954-1956, retired to 8 St George’s Crescent, Carlisle, died c.1958/59

Dixon, Jeremiah (17xx-18xx) FRS, Leeds merchant, son of Jeremiah Dixon (1726-1782) of Gledhow hall (Y) and his wife Mary Wickham, daughter of the Rev Henry Wickham,  mayor of Leeds 1784, built three-storeyed white stucco house overlooking Windermere at Fell Foot near Newby Bridge in the late 18th century, this house is marked with his name on Crosthwaite’s map of Windermere (1783), married in 1773 Mary (qv), the daughter of John Smeaton (1724-1792; ODNB)  (qv) the engineer; not to be confused with Jeremiah Dixon (1733-1779) of the Mason-Dixon line in the USA. refs to Mrs Dixon in Sarah Holmes Griffiths’ biog of Elizabeth Smith (qv)

Dixon, John (17xx-18xx), clergyman, master of Windermere Free Grammar School from c.1811 until 1828

Dixon, John (1785-1857), JP, manufacturer, eldest son of Peter Dixon (qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1838, mayor of Carlisle 1840-41, MP for Carlisle 1847, but immediately unseated as a government contractor, cleared himself of such contracts and contested city again, unsuccessfully, active member of Anti-Corn Law League, free-trader and liberal, benefactor to many charitable purposes in Carlisle, of Knells, Houghton, Carlisle [sold in 1872], the staircase of the house has a skylight supported by caryatids, died in 1857, leaving large family (CWMP, 348-349); Hyde and Pevsner, 414

Dixon, Joshua MD (1745-1825), physician, born Whitehaven, son of Joshua Dixon a mariner, to Liverpool in 1764 to study with the apothecary Edward Parr, then to Edinburgh, graduated MD 1768, returned to Whitehaven to practice as physician at 7 Lowther St., his income was from paying patients but he was very aware that numbers of local people were sick but unable to pay a fee, in 1775 married Anne Fletcher (d.1815), six children, three died in childhood, the national dispensary movement led to buildings for daily treatment which were not large enough for long term care, (John Heysham qv opened the Carlisle Dispensary in 1782) prompting from Dixon resulted the Whitehaven Dispensary being established in Scotch St in 1783 with a generous donation of £100 from Sir James Lowther Bt (qv) and 114 subscribers in all, including John Christian Curwen, Sir Wilfred Lawson of Brayton (qqv) and others as far off as Rotterdam and Jamaica, patients were required to be impoverished and had to provide a note of recommendation from a clergyman, a magistrate or a subscriber, Dixon also sought to annexe the charity to the London Humane Society, from 1783-4 a total of 1,467 patients are recorded of whom 1089 were described as ‘cured’, Dixon kept careful records and produced statistics of the range of illnesses or afflictions he encountered, in this project he was supported by Dr William Brownrigg (qv) of whom he wrote The Literary Life of William Brownrigg and an obituary in the Gentleman’s Magazine, Dixon became a keen proponent of inoculation  against smallpox and the incidence of that disease was reduced in the town, Whitehaven Dispensary was the first in the UK to offer resuscitation from drowning from 1785 (the first case was five year old Robert Steele), he also held an unofficial public health role before the advent of Medical Officers of Health (a century later), to prevent epidemics running out of control, he encouraged people to change their sheets regularly, to allow fresh air into their homes, to explode gunpowder and burn incense, in 1791 Dixon observed the huge inequalities in health between rich and poor resulting from bad sanitation, damp and overcrowded homes, an early report of this phenomenon which shamefully continues to be a problem in the 21st c., there were no beds in the Dispensary so he opened a house of recovery as an annex at the Ginns in 1819, he was a true medical pioneer, after 50 years of practice he was presented with a silver epergne with a representation of the Good Samaritan upon it made by the Cumberland born London goldsmith Mr Fisher (qv), he announced his retirement in 1823, his portrait by George Sheffield was placed in the Dispensary meeting room, he died 7 January 1825 aged 80, buried at St Nicholas with another representation of the Good Samaritan on his tombstone, the reputation of the Dispensary continued to be high after his death, his will left £100 towards the improvement of medical care by founding an infirmary, in 1829 there were plans voiced for an infirmary, this was opened in former home of Joseph Gunson, apothecary and surgeon, in 1830 in Howgill St.; CW1 iii 365; Michael Sydney, Bleeding, Blisters and Opium: Joshua Dixon and the Whitehaven Dispensary, 2009

Dixon, Mary (1761-1820), daughter of John Smeaton (1724-1792; ODNB) the engineer, lived Fell Foot at Newby Bridge, wife of Jeremiah q.v., est. school Staveley, friendly with the Smiths at Tent Lodge, painted Storrs Hall in oils between 1799 and 1802 (reproduced in R.Woof, ‘The Matter of Fact Paradise’); Sarah Holmes Griffiths, Life of Elizabeth Smith, 2020

Dixon, Peter (1754-1832), cotton manufacturer, grandson of Christopher Dixon (b.c.1690), yeoman, of Edmond Castle, marr (1783) Mary, dau of Richard Ferguson (qv), of Carlisle, 3 sons, formerly in business in Whitehaven but moved to Carlisle in c.1800 to learn cotton trade and assist in management of Fergusons’ cotton mill at Warwick Bridge, esp after death of John Ferguson in 1802, leaving young family, then all Dixon family moved from Whitehaven to Carlisle in c.1812, Warwick mill enlarged by George Ferguson and let to his nephews, built up largest trading firm in Cumberland, Peter Dixon & Sons, of Tullie House and later of Knells, Stanwix; the same Peter Dixon bought land Whitehaven ? CW1 iii 371-5

Dixon, Peter, built in 1836 the last large chimney remaining in Carlisle for his Shaddongate Cotton Mill, the architect was Richard Tattersall of Manchester

Dixon, Peter (1789-1866), JP, cotton manufacturer, yr son of Peter Dixon (qv) and yr brother of John Dixon (qv) and George Dixon (qv), marr Sarah Rebecca, (dau of General Tredway Clarke (1765-1858) of the E India Co, who fought against Tippoo in the 1790s, in 1798 head commissary of ordnance at Fort George and his wife Sarah Sydenham), mayor of Carlisle 1838-39, built Holme Eden in 1841 and also Holme Eden church

Dixon, Peter James (1820-18xx), JP, eldest son of John Dixon (qv), Mayor of Carlisle 1853-54, of Houghton Hall

Dixon, Richard (17xx-18xx), High Constable of East Ward (1805; appt renewed for year at Easter QS 1812)

Dixon, Richard Watson [1833-1900; ODNB], dean of Carlisle; friend of Edward Burne Jones (qv), taught Gerard Manley Hopkins at Highgate; correspondence between Watson and Hopkins ed. Claude Collier Abbott (1935, 1955)

Dixon, Thomas (c.1650-1722), MA, DD, clergyman, son of Thomas Dixon, of Orrest Head, Windermere, aged 15 on entering Queen’s College, Oxford as batler 7 March and matric 10 March 1665, aged 15, ‘serviens juratus’ 14 July 1665, elected taberdar 4 March 1669, BA 19 June 1669, MA 23 January 1673, fellow by Lent term 1673/4, BD 19 June 1682, and DD 26 June 1685, presented to rectory of Weyhill, Hampshire in 1682 and remained until his death in 1722, frequent correspondent of Sir Daniel Fleming from 1677 (esp re his son Henry’s college accounts) to 1680 (FiO, i, 215, 226~333); window in Queen’s College chapel, to which he was a benefactor

Dixon, Thomas (fl.early 18thc.), established Whitehaven Academy in 1708

Dixon, Thomas (1861-1923), JP, MA, barrister and landowner, er son of Thomas Dixon (1808-1882), JP, of Rheda, Frizington, who died 13 October 1882, marr (1889) Maria Florence, only dau and heir of Llewelyn Lewis, of Tan-y-fynwent, near Bangor, 2 daus (Myfanwy Wynn Lewis, who marr (1913) Alwyn Haswell Holman (k. by enemy action 1940, aged 50, with dau, Benita Rosemary Joyce, aged 17), 2 sons, and Vera Mabel Florence, who marr (1917) Capt Thomas Alexander Lacy Thompson (qv), of Farlam), placed memorial tablet to his parents in Frizington church and donated cost of decorating church in 1890, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1903, had gamekeeper (Robert Routledge, of Foumart Hill) in 1906, subscriber to Test Karl (CWAAS, 1893), died in 1923 [Rheda estate sold in 1952 – sale particulars in CRO, WDB 22/ Arlecdon, 20 May 1952]

Dixon, James Addison Woodhead-Keith- (1925-2012), clergyman, trained at St Aidan’s College, Birkenhead 1944, d 1948 and p 1949 (Carl), curate of Upperby 1948-1950 (living at 27 Upperby Road, Carlisle) and of Dalton-in-Furness 1950-1952 (living at Vicarage Cottage), vicar of Blawith with Lowick 1952-1959, vicar of St Cuthbert, Lorton 1959-1980 (instituted on 9 February 1959), living at Lorton Hall, Cockermouth, chaplain at Puerto de la Cruz, Teneriffe 1980-1982, team vicar of Bellingham/Otterburn Group 1982-1983 and team rector 1983-1991, living at the Rectory, Falstone, Hexham, Northumberland, and Team Rector of North Tyne and Redesdale Team 1991-1992, retired in 1992, member of CWAAS from 1945 and of Society of Genealogists from 1949, when of 13 Holborn Hill, Millom, as James A Dixon, becoming Woodhead-Dixon in 1950/51, and Woodhead-Keith-Dixon in 1966/67, of Cree Grange, Cree Bridge, Newton Stewart, Wigtownshire, died 2012 (reported to CWAAS in September 2012)

Dobson, Christopher (17xx-17xx), steward and agent to Sir Philip Musgrave of Edenhall (letters in CRO, WD/CAT/Mus)

Dobson, Henry Wheeler (18xx-19xx), solicitor, clerk to Kendal Borough magistrates, 14-16 Finkle Street, Kendal, solicitor to Kendal and District Trade Protection Society, 25 Finkle Street, but lived in Windermere (1885, 1915)

Dobson, John (17xx-18xx), clergyman and schoolmaster, perpetual curate of Hutton Roof 1799-1842, master of Free Grammar School, Kirkby Lonsdale 1785-1832, at Mill Brow, assisted by John Just in classical and mathematical department, of Fairbank cottage, Kirkby Lonsdale (1829); succ as headmaster by Revd William Stephen Dobson, MA, 1832-1836 [son?]

Dobson, John (fl.20thc.), headmaster Urswick GS, articles in CWAAS transactions

Dobson, Thomas (Tommy) (c.1827-1910), huntsman, born at Staveley, near Kendal, bobbin turner by trade, moved to Eskdale in 1850 and founded Eskdale and Ennerdale Foxhounds in 1857, master for 53 years, friend of Mary Fair qv,  died 2 April 1910, aged 83, and buried at St Catherine’s churchyard, Boot, Eskdale (fine granite monument erected by nearly 300 friends bears a fox’s mask, horn and whip, illus Rollinson) (HAL Rice, WRtM, 70)

Dobson, William [d.1503], gentleman usher to queen of Henry VII, tomb Ulverston parish church

Dobson, William Perceval (1906-197x), local councillor, aged 11 years and 2 months in September 1917, son of William Dobson, comb manufacturer, Church Street, Milnthorpe, and his wife Elizabeth, educ Heversham Grammar School (admitted in September 1917, left in April 1922), had poss half-brother, Harry, aged 12 in 1895 (son of William and Dora Dobson, comb maker, of Milnthorpe), last vice-chairman of Westmorland County Council (to March 1974) (papers and books in CRO, WD/WPD)

Docker of Keld family; CW2 xviii 161

Dockwra, Sir Thomas (?1458-1527), of Pirton, Herts, but descended from the Dockwras of Dockwra Hall, Kendal, grand prior of the order of knights hospitallers of St John of Jerusalem, premier lay baron of England, was on the island of Rhodes during the siege by the Turks, attended the Field of the Cloth of |Gold with Henry VIII in 1520, built St John’s Gate, Clerkenwell (Richard Hogarth held his latin coffee house here, thus this was one of the childhood homes of the painter William Hogarth (qv))

Dodd, Henry (17xx-18xx), clergyman, curate of Burneside, wife Agnes (buried at Kendal, 12 October 1809, aged 44)

Dodd, Rev John (fl.1790s), priest and botanist, vicar of Aspatria, collected plants, his herbarium (on the market 2022) is unusual in that it contains precise details of the locality of each specimen, it provides a unique record of biodiversity in the late 18thc Cumberland; CWAAS newsletter Spring 2022, 99, 15

Dodd, Sir John Samuel (1904-1973), engineer and industrialist, ed Uppingham, Rouen and Christ Church, Cambridge, MP for Oldham 1935-1945, formerly of Ecclerigg, Windermere

Dodd, Ken, comedian, performed many times in the county, including Kendal 1974, Barrow 1987 and Carlisle 2017, unveiled the Laurel and Hardy state at Ulverston (qv); David A Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017

Dodd, William (b.1804), writer on the exploitation of children, b. Kendal, worked in card making and textile factories, taught to read and write, asked by his employer William Wilson in the textile mill to assist with administration, established his own school but the lease expired and he went to London to do various jobs, he had been physically damaged by his work in childhood and an arm had to be amputated, wrote and published A Narrative of the Experience and Sufferings of William Dodd, a Factory Cripple (1841) and The Factory System (1842), went to the USA and his further publications included The Labouring Classes of England (Boston 1847), his date of death is unknown

Dodds, David (18xx-19xx), carpet manufacturer, started management career in carpet industry in Kirkcaldy, moved to become a factory manager for a Kidderminster firm in 1902, resigned his post in 1919 and moved to Kendal to revive carpet manufacture at Highgate mill in early 1920s, purchased Oakdene, 21 Kendal Green, from Joseph Jordan (who had it built in 1884 by Stephen Shaw) in 1922, friend of Malcolm Shaw, keen motorist, marr Mary Ramsey (nee Waldie), 1 son George Waldie (who marr Dorothy, dau of James Charles Blacow, of Laurel Mount, 19 Kendal Green, in 1937), died (KG, 41, 50, 79-80, 108)

Dodsworth, William (d.1648), MA, of St John’s College, Cambridge, buried at St Andrew’s, Penrith, 31 July 1648

Dodgson, Charles Lutwidge (aka Lewis Carroll), writer, nephew of Admiral Skeffington Lutwidge (qv), visited Lord Tennyson (qv) in the Lakes c.1857

Dodgson, Isaac (1xxx-1873), MA, clergyman, perpetual curate of Lanercost and Upper Denton from 1845 (1858), marr (18xx) Mary (died in August 1895), died in February 1873 (memorial window in north aisle of Lanercost Priory designed by Burne-Jones, and William Morris & Co)

Dodgson, John (fl.1726-1740), mayor of Kendal 1726-1727, alderman, of Highgate, Kendal, wife Jane buried at Kendal, 13 January 1740

Dolfin, (fl.1092; ODNB), son of Gospatrick, earl of Northumbria, driven out of Carlisle by advance of William Rufus in 1092

Dolman, William Ledsham (1875-19xx), FRIBA, architect, assistant to Dan Gibson (qv), from 1902, but continued practice at Crescent Road, Windermere, after his death in 1907, agreeing to pay Mrs Gibson a tenth of his income for ten years (memo book and agreement in CRO, WDB 82), added vestries to St Martin’s church, Bowness (1910-11)

Domina, Julia (160-217), wife of the Roman emperor Septimus Severus, born at Emesa (Homs) in Syria, mother of Caracalla, briefly co-empress with Caracalla’s wife Fulvia Plautilla, described as the ‘Mother of the Empire’, altar dedicated to her found at the Roman bath house at Carlisle cricket club (Tullie House, ref RIB 976), it is held that Stanwix was the site of the Roman court for a period, she is known to have been at York, did she come to Stanwix ?; bust Vatican Museum

Donald, Mary Jane (later Longstaff) [1855-1935], paleontologist, b. Stanwix, daughter of Matthew Donald, a cotton manufacturer; Notes on the Land and Freshwater Snails of Cumberland, CWAAS, 1882, 51-60; David Ramshaw, in Village Link, July-August 2019

Donald, Matthewman Sidney (1863-1930), MA, clergyman, son of Matthewman Hodgson Donald (1822-1885), of Blaithwaite and Albert Villa, Stanwix, Carlisle,and his wife (marr 1851) Henrietta Maria (d.1876), eldest dau of hon John Henry Roper-Curzon (qv), and cousin of William Nanson Donald (qv), educ Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge (exhibitioner, BA 1885, MA 1889), d 1887 and p 1889 (Carl), curate of Barton 1887-1891, Lic to Pr 1892-1895, vicar of Grinsdale 1895-1899, of Etterby, Carlisle (1897), later of Quarry Hill, Mealsgate (by 1906), died in 1930

Donald, Thomas (fl.1770-1780s), cartographer, surveyed Cumberland at request of Thomas Jefferys (qv) in 1770-71 (perhaps with assistance of John Ainslie), engraved and published by Joseph Hodkinson 1774; map republished at same scale by Hodskinson (1783), Faden (1802) and Fryer (1818) and at twice half-inch scale by Hodskinson (1783) and Faden (1810), with ‘The Environs of Keswick’ extract produced by Donald and Faden in 1789 (80 copies sold by Peter Crosthwaite’(qv) at his museum at Keswick between 1789 and 1796)

Donald, William Nanson (1859-1936), VD, JP, stockbroker and Mayor of Carlisle, only son of John Donald (1828-1894), cotton manufacturer on the West Walls, Carlisle, of Denton Hill, Carlisle, and cousin of Revd Matthewman Sidney Donald (qv), marr, 2 sons (John Carlisle Nanson, born during his mayoralty year, and William Spooner), Mayor of Carlisle 1907 (presented with a silver epergne in shape of a cradle with crests of his family and arms of City of Carlisle), Councillor for St Cuthbert’s Ward (elected by 1901), also Mayor’s Auditor, stock and sharebroker, of 33 Lowther Street, Carlisle (1901), previously secretary to Donald Irlam & Co Ltd, cotton manufacturers, Milbourne Street, Carlisle (1897), Lieut-Col comdg 4th Battn Border Regiment, of Cavendish Mount, Stanwix (1901) and of Inglesham, The (Etterby) Scaur, Carlisle (by 1910), died in 1936

Donald, William Spooner (b.1910), naval officer and novelist, born Keswick, promoted to Lt Cdr, wrote on sports and naval subjects, Pickled Salts (1951), lived latterly at Troutlets, Church St, Keswick

Doodle, Dicky, see Dicky Doodle

Dormer, Clement Upton-Cottrell- (1827-1880), DL, JP, born 20 September 1827, only son of Charles Cottrell-Dormer, of Rousham Hall, Oxfordshire, marr (22 April 1858) Florence Anne (died 17 January 1907, aged 69; will dated 14 July 1906), yr dau of Thomas Upton (qv), assumed addnl surname of Upton by Royal Licence on succ to Ingmire Hall estate in 1876, 8 sons and 6 daus, died 29 December 1880

Douglas, Clementina Johannes Sobiesky, “The Finsthwaite Princess” (1746-1771), alleged dau of the Young Pretender, Prince Charles Edward Stuart, lodged with a man, James Douglas (Captain Douglas), probably her father, brother or uncle, at Waterside in Finsthwaite, both witnessed will of Edward Taylor (qv), their landlord, on 28 April 1770, buried in Finsthwaite churchyard, 16 May 1771; Janet Martin, The Making of a Myth; (CW3, i, 155-164)

Douglas, George Guy (19xx-2001), clergyman, former vicar of Haverthwaite, retired to Brown Howe Cottage, Coniston, died 28 August 2002, aged 65, and buried at Haverthwaite, 30 August

Douglas, John (1721-1807; ODNB), bishop of Carlisle and Salisbury, edited Capt James Cook’s Journals and Clarendon’s Diary and Letters, his sister kept the British Coffee House in London

Douglas, Lilian [1895-1989], photographer, b. Whitehaven

Douglas, William (1755-1802), judge, East India Co, married Jane, the sister of bishop William van Mildert of Durham (1765-1836) (her father Cornelius van Mildert was a gin distiller)

Douglass, Frederick (c.1818-1895), born into slavery in Maryland, escaped, taught himself to read, published his autobiography in 1845 which was a bestseller, toured giving lectures in the UK including appearances in Carlisle in 1846 and Whitehaven the following year, a letter of 18 March 1847 is included in the John Gibson (qv) collection of autographs (Whitehaven CRO); Chris Donaldson, CWAAS newsletter 2021 p.12

Dowie, Freda (1928-2019) actor, b. Carlisle, daughter of John Dowie and Emily Davidson, Barrow Girls GS, Central School of Speech and Drama, some early amateur work with the Elizabethans during the chairmanship of Malcolm Cross (qv), later with the RSC, TV and film work: Dixon of Dock Green (1960s), Doomwatch (1970-71), Edna the Inebriate Woman (1971), Electra with Derek Jacobi (1971), Queen Victoria in Brunel (1972), I Claudius (1976), The Omen (1976), The Old Curiosity Shop (1979), Oranges are not the only Fruit (1990), Our Friends in the North (1996), Cider with Rosie (1998), marr three times, finally to the producer David Thompson; obit Guardian 23 August 2019, obit The Stage 28 Aug 2019

Dowker, Dorothy (c.1749-1831), dau of James Dowker (qv), died at her house in Stricklandgate on 15 May 1831, aged 82, and buried at Kendal on 19 May, by her will left £100 to Kendal Dispensary, also £3,000 to endow a hospital for six unmarried women (of good character, over 50 and born in township of Kendal), known as Dowker’s Hospital, Highgate (designed by George Webster in 1833, demolished in 1965) (KK, 121-123)

Dowker, James, ‘the Milnthorpe beast’, a glutton; Roger Bingham, Memories of the South Lakes, 35

Dowker, James (c.1720-1786), attorney and coroner, descended from Quakers in Crook, owner of Kendal Castle, which lands he bought (together with Thomas Holme, of Kendal, and Benjamin Hall, of Newton in Cartmel) in 1765, dividing them up (see Kendal Parks Estate deeds in CRO, WDFC/F1/66) and Castle falling to him (later descending to his dau, Mrs Thomasin Richardson (qv)), witnessed Market Place New Theatre deed of Thomas Asburner (qv) and William Gurnal (qv) on 5 June 1758, steward of manor of Beetham 1766, 1773, 1776, 1780 (CRO, WD/TW/acc1990/1; WD/AG/box 114), kept account books for Levens estates of Lord Suffolk 1771-1779 and Lady Andover 1762-1786, Coroner of Kendal Ward (QS 1785), deputy recorder of Kendal, of 71 Stricklandgate, Kendal (inscriptions on kitchen window inc “James Dowker, Trinity College, Cambridge, 1782” and “Thomas and John Wilson”), marr (17xx) Jane, only dau of Thomas Wilson, of Highgate, Kendal and Dorothy (nee Fenwick), and sister of Thomas Fenwick (formerly Wilson) (qv), 2 sons (John and James, qv) and 2 daus (Dorothy and Thomasin, qv), of Heaves Hall when he purchased a dale of about half an acre at Beathwaite Green for £47 in 1763 and was still in possession of it in 1777, but dispute with neighbour William Wilson (CRiBoK, 133-; Levens Hall MSS, box 16/2, 16/5; CRO, WD/D/Le1/5), died aged 66 and buried at Kendal, 24 August 1786 (records of Dowker, Richardson and Fell, solicitors, Kendal in CRO, WD/MM, boxes 9/6, 28, 32 and 34; KK, 347) <<look for Dowker-Wilson marriage in Kendal in late 1740s>>; Revd James Dowker listed in Stricklandgate, Kendal in 1787 census, with Miss Dority Dowker, buried at Kendal, 22 October 1789, aged 28]; CW3 xiv 187; John Dowker, Esq, of Stricklandgate, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 25/7 May 1787, aged 30

Downing, George (1685-1749; ODNB), MP, later 3rd baronet, married daughter of Sir William Howard of Naworth, built and named Downing St, endowed Downing college, Cambridge

Dowson, John (1722-1777), gentleman, of Greystocke, marr Anne, plaque and urn on south side of church beneath two hatchments; mss in CRO

Dowson, William DD (1749-1800), principal of St Edmund’s Hall, Oxon, son of John and Anne of Greystocke (qv); his commonplace book is at the Bodleian

Doyle, Arthur Conan (1859-1930: ODNB), journalist and novelist, as a war correspondent in 1916 visited the ‘Devil’s Porridge’ works near Gretna in 1917 (this site for explosives is huge and is partly in Scotland and partly near Longtown in Cumbria) and wrote an article for the Times describing the site and the dangerous process of mixing cotton waste with nitric acid and nitroglycerine to produce cordite for military shells, it was Doyle in visiting this ‘miracle town’ also coined the term ‘Devil’s Porridge’ and his experience of seeing the 12,000 women (dubbed munitionettes’) working in unpleasant conditions bolstered his view that women deserved the vote;; Gordon L Routledge, Gretna’s Secret War, 1999; Janet Pascal, Arthur Conan Doyle: Beyond Baker Street, 2000

Drake, Sir James (1907-1989), civil engineer and bridge master, b.Blackburn, chief driver of the M6 motorway, surveyor of the route, the first in Britain, monument at jct 31 on M6

Drayton, Michael, poet, wrote Polyolbion which includes elements of the topography of the north, Song 27 includes the Isle of Man and Furness, Song 30 Westmorland and Cumberland, including Skiddaw, Arthur’s Table at Eamont Bridge and Castlerigg circle lost ‘in darke oblivion’; NN anthology, see the Polyolbion Project, university of Exeter

Drew, Hermione (fl.1930s), dau of John Malcolm Drew (qv) created the illustrated diary (1934-5) of the Oxenholme Staghounds, (CRO, WDX 1629, also published 2010)

Drew, John Malcolm (18xx-19xx), JP, of Eversley, Heversham (1925, 1929, after death of T A Argles in 1923; only Mrs Drew in 1934, 1938), JP Lancs, died 1929/34; dau Hermione was author of illustrated diary of the 1934-35 season of the Oxenholme Staghounds(CRO, WDX 1629, also published 2010), and had copy of Hodgson’s map of Westmorland 1828 repaired by CRO (deposited 4 December 1979 and returned 25 March 1982)

Dring, Thomas Robson (d.1989), bookseller, Carlisle; obit Cumberland News 8 Dec 1989 p.28; Isabella (his widow ?) article CN 17 June 1994

Drinkel, Francis (c.1711-1787), senior alderman of Kendal, m.Frances, buried at Kendal, 12 September 1787, aged 76, his dau m. Rowland Stephenson (1728-1807) (qv), Romney wrote to his wife in Kendal in 1762 requesting that she remind her husband that Rowland Stephenson had not paid his account (Rev John Romney biography of GR, 40)

Driver, George Francis (1860-1881), stoker for Furness Railway, killed whilst shunting wagons; Barrow Herald 19 March 1881; tombstone Barrow cemetery, Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones

Duckett, Sir George Floyd (1811-1902), 3rd Bt, FSA, antiquary, born 27 March 1811 at Spring Gardens, London and bapt at St Martin’s-in-the-Fields, only son of Sir George Duckett, 2nd Bt, FRS, FSA (1777-1856) [formerly Jackson until 1797 when his father, Sir George Jackson, 1st Bt, took name of Duckett by Royal Licence] by his first wife, Isabella (1781-1844), yr dau of Stainbank Floyd, of Shrewsbury and of Barnard Castle, co Durham, educ Harrow School, of Bramfield Hall, Halesworth, Suffolk, member of CWAAS from 1875, author of Duchetiana, contributed nine papers to Transactions (ii-v) and edited Fleming’s Description of Westmorland (Tract Series, I, 1882), also author of Penal Laws and Test Act: questions touching their repeal propounded in 1687-88 by James II (1882), and Anecdotal Reminiscences of an Octo-nonogenarian (Kendal, 1895) [incl full bibliography on pp.198-200, dated at Brighton, 15 May 1894], died 13 May 1902, aged 91

Duckett, James (d.19 Apr 1601), martyr; b. Gillfootrigg, Skelsmergh, a layman, born a Protestant, marr a Catholic widow anne hart, printed catholic devotional material and copies of Our Lady’s psalter and some of Fr Southwell’s books were found in his house, executed at Tyburn; beatified by Pope Pius XI in 1929; his son became the prior of the English Carthusians at Nieuwpoort in Flanders,

Duckett, John (d.1644), priest and martyr, died Tyburn

Duckett, Canon Dr Richard (1833-1910), born Kendal, son of Thomas Duckett sculptor (qv), his family included several RC martyrs, from 1876 the priest of St John the Baptist, Norwich, travelled all over the county by train to take mass to private houses including Abbots Hall Farm, Aylsham, bought land in Norwich for the building of a new church, later the RC cathedral, the building was funded by Henry Fitzalan Howard, the 15th duke of Norfolk, designed in the gothic style by Giles Gilbert Scott and built by Scott’s younger brother John Oldrid Scott (now grade 1 listed), earlier generations of catholics had worshipped in the chapel of the ducal palace at Norwich, Duckett died just before the opening of the new church (now cathedral), in 2012 the Duckett library in the cathedral opened in his honour; Catholic archives Norwich

Duckett, Richard, Esq, lord of manor of Grayrigg (deed of Grayrigg Foot to John Duckett on 4 November 22 Eliz [1580] in CRO, WD/SE/ Grayrigg Foot deeds)

Duckett, Thomas (1804-1878), sculptor, born in 1804, son of a farmer, of Preston, first worked as apprentice to a local plasterer, but changed to wood-carver to firm of cabinet-makers, self-taught artist, later went to Liverpool where he was employed by Messrs Franceys and exhibited bust of Revd J Dunn at Liverpool Academy in 1828, moved to Kendal and employed by Webster firm of architects, going on to manage its sculpture department, best known for his figure of St George and the Dragon in limestone for pediment on east front of Roman Catholic church of Holy Trinity and St George, New Road, Kendal, also headstops of the door and prob interior work in church (George Webster, 1835-37), also did eloquent headstops on triple lancet west windows of St George’s church, Kendal (GW, 1839-41), likely that he was responsible for whatever figurative sculpture there is in the firm’s output, also did mourning soldier on monument to Captain Considine in Chester Cathedral (1841), and weeping figure and urn in memory of Francis Webster, formerly in garden of Eller How, then returned to Preston about 1844, where he did a great deal of work until his death in 1878, inc design of statue of John Horrocks (won prize in 1838), statue of Sir Robert Peel in Winckley Square, of Kendal Fell limestone (1851), also carved stone work on front of Literary and Philosophical Institute (1846), marble altar for St Augustine’s church, and group of two children over entrance to infants’ school in Lancaster, also many busts and tablets in and around Preston, inc Richard Gell in Walton-le-Dale (1841), James Thompson (prob) in Clitheroe (1850), T Lowndes in Preston St George (1854), William Pearson (qv) in Crosthwaite (1857), Giles Thornber in Poulton-le-Fylde (1860), Thomas Hart in Preston St John (1861), effigy of Revd Robert Harris in Preston St George (1862), though still did occasional work for Websters firm after he had left Kendal (viz Pearson bust), copy of (prob Roman) bust of Vitellio in Abbot Hall, Kendal, has great vitality, while ‘Ecce Homo’ was very fine head of Christ in marble acc to WG of 3 May 1834, which compared him favourably with ‘those who stand higher in the Hall of Fame’, died in 1878, buried in Preston New Hall Rd cemetery beneath a tombstone which unusually has a head in relief on both elevations,  (WoK, 51-52, 60, 141-42; DBS, 133); David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 200; his son, Canon Richard Duckett (1833-1910) was the prime mover in the building of the R.C. cathedral in Norwich in the 1870s

Dudgeon, John Hepburn (1863-1934), VD, DL, JP, Lieut-Colonel, chairman of Workington magistrates, member of Cumberland County Council, member of CWAAS from 1924, died at Stainburn, Workington, 30 January 1934, aged 70 (CW2, xxxiv (1934), 229)

Dudley of Yanwath; CW1 ix 318

Dudley, Ambrose, earl of Warwick (c.1528-1590), courtier, 4th son of John Dudley, duke of Northumberland, granted part of demesne lands of Kendal Castle by Elizabeth I in 1580-81 (FiO, i, 342-343)

Dudley, Christopher (1607-1660), landowner, last of male line Dudleys of Yanwath, born 17 December 1607, 2nd son of Thomas Dudley (who was 2nd son of Edmund Dudley, qv), his elder brother Edmund (born 5 November 1597) having died v.p., marr 1st Elizabeth, dau of Robert Snowden, Bishop of Carlisle (qv), marr 2nd Agnes (1606-1671), eldest dau of Daniel Fleming, of Skirwith Hall and aunt of Sir Daniel Fleming, 1 dau (Mary, died young), sold Yanwath estate to Sir John Lowther, of Lowther, 12 February 1654, for £2,200 but granted lease back for life, with Agnes being sole legatee of his nuncupative will, made 9 September 1660, on which day he died in London, admin granted, 29 December 1660; Agnes died on 5 October 1671, with her nephew Daniel Fleming as her executor (FiO, i, 341-358; N&B, i, 413; CW2, lxiv, 387)

Dudley, Edmund (c.1543-1616/7), of Yanwath, son of Richard Dudley (qv), aged 50 years and more at his father’s IPM in 1593, marr Catherine, dau and coheir of Cuthbert Hutton, of Hutton John, 4 sons (Richard (a priest), Thomas (qv sub Christopher), John (qv), and Henry) and 6 daus, nominated Thomas Burton (qv) for St Antony exhibition at Oriel College, Oxford in 1595, received letter from John Sutton at Queen’s College, Oxford dated 12 December [1615] following his election to Dudley Exhibition (FiO, i, 335-36; N&B, i, 413)

Dudley, John (c.1573-1622), BA, lawyer, yr son of Edmund Dudley (qv) and yr brother of Thomas, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 17 February 1585/7, aged 14) and Oriel College (admitted Dudley Exhibitioner on presentation of his grandfather Richard, 3 March 1586/7, resigned his Dudley Exhibition by 29 June 1591, elected ‘in pauperem puerum’,30 June and admitted 30 July, BA 3 July 1592, but freely resigned his place, 2 February 1593/4, admitted student of Gray’s Inn, 25 April 1594, called to bar 1601, MP for Carlisle 1601-, wrote letter to Thomas Burton (qv) asking for opinion on marriage with a deceased wife’s cousin german, 13 February 1619/20, marr Frances, illegit dau of Sir Christopher Pickering (qv), who survived him and later married to Cyprian Hilton (qv), of Burton (FiO, i, 339; N&B, i, 413); historyofparliament online

Dudley, Richard (1521-1593), landowner, of Yanwath (then Yanewath), born about Candlemas 1521, ‘8 yrs after Floddenfyld’, son of Thomas Dudley (qv) and his wife Grace, one of Threlkeld coheiresses, of Yanewath, marr Dorothy, dau of Edmund Sandford, of Askham, son (Edmund, qv), Appleby vicarage case: had a direct interest in St Lawrence’s vicarage by 1573 (possibly had a lease in 1562) before he presented (as assignee of Bishop of Durham and others) Christopher Walker (qv) to living of Appleby St Lawrence on death of Lancelot Manfield (qv) in 1582, having claimed vicarage premises, but Richard Barnes, Bishop of Durham and formerly of Carlisle (qv), and others decided that Manfield should enjoy the vicarage so long as he remained in post, but he had then sublet premises to Richard Backhouse in June 1582 shortly before his death, so RD brought bill of complaint against Backhouse in 1583 (CRO, WD/Ry, box 46), but outcome not known, died 1 January 1593, IPM held at Temple Sowerby on 4 May 1593 (will dated 28 January 1591/92, WD/Ry/ 44) (FiO, i, 335; CW2, xciv, 121-134)

Dudley, Thomas (formerly Sutton), son of Sir Edward Sutton (died v.p.1483x87), son of Sir John Sutton, 1st Baron Dudley, KG (1400-1487), and of his wife Maud, dau of Thomas, 8th Baron Clifford (qv) and widow of Sir John Harington (qv), of Hornby, assumed surname Dudley in ??, marr (ante 1512) Grace, eldest dau and coheir of Sir Lancelot Threlkeld (qv), of Yanwath, thereby acquiring manor of Yanwath

Duff, Margaret (1925-1998), photograph collector, dau of Elizabeth Armer, who taught at Dean Gibson Catholic School, Kendal, marr (1946) Percy Duff (qv), 2 sons, served WW2 in Women’s Land Army in Carlisle area, started collecting old photographs of Kendal rather than see them being thrown out, collaborated with Percy on publishing a number of collections of photographs in 1980s and 90s, always willing to share her great knowledge of the town, organised the first exhibition in the Warehouse Gallery at the Brewery Arts Centre when it was opened in April 1987, also organised several exhibitions in Town Hall during Kendal Gathering, also restored old dolls’ houses and dolls’ prams, raising funds for Boys’ Brigade and Save the Children Fund, trustee of the Mayor of Kendal’s Homes for the Aged and Infirm charity for 15 years, member of Westmorland Motor Club with Percy, died at home on Burneside Road, Kendal, 7 September 1998, aged 73, with funeral at Roman Catholic church, Kendal, 15 September (WG, 11.09.1998) (Margaret Duff Collection in CRO, WD/MD)

Duff, Percy Skipworth (1922-2011), MBE, council official, local historian and motorcyclist, born at 10 Kendal Green, Kendal, in 1922, educ Kendal Grammar School, excelling at maths, joined Kendal Borough Council in 1938, served WW2 with East Surrey Regt in North Africa (wounded and narrowly escaping death in 1941) and Italy, rejoined borough treasurer’s dept in 1946, m. Margaret Armer (1925-1998) (qv Duff), in 1946, 2 sons (Paul (b.1947) and Michael (b.1960), succ Alfred  Wainwright (qv) as Borough Treasurer of Kendal in 1967, deputy Treasurer of South Lakeland District Council from 1974 until his retirement in 1982, continued as Kendal Town Treasurer from 1974 until finally retiring in 1998, after 60 years’ service to town, also treasurer of Lakes-Lune Water Board, Mayor of Kendal’s Fund for the Aged and Infirm, Westmorland Arts Trust (to 2004) and of numerous local charities, consolidating many with the Charity Commission, esp committed to social housing, keen preserver of town’s civic pride and traditions, with his especial custody of treasures in mayor’s parlour, encouraged his wife Margaret in establishing her photographic collection from 1970 (arising from preparing a record of Westmorland Motor Club), esp by ensuring that glass plate negatives, old prints and other photographic records were rescued from local offices in Kendal, collection was used widely for illustrating articles in the Westmorland Gazette and local history books, published (with Margaret) four volumes of old photographs Life in Old Kendal (Dalesman, 1983), Kendal and District in Times Past (Countryside Publications, 1988), Kendal in Old Photographs (Sutton, 1992), and Kendal Revisited (Sutton, 1997), in great demand to give talks to local societies and groups, keen photographer himself but principally of railways, travelled widely in Europe in pursuit of this hobby, keen motorcyclist, president of Westmorland Motor Club (founded in 1910), honorary life vice-president of Northern Centre Auto-Cycle Union, with the Barbon Hill Climb, the highlight of the National Motorcycling calendar, bearing his name, also keen supporter of Kendal Rugby Union Football Club (played regularly for 2nd XV and occasionally for 1st, but regularly attending games until near his death), awarded MBE (1986) for his social housing work, Honorary Citizen of Kendal 1998, in which he took greatest pride, great friend of Alfred Wainwright, though having little in common, but acted as his executor and scattered his ashes on Haystacks with Betty, of 218 Burneside Road, Kendal, died at Summerhill Nursing Home, Kendal, 17 December 2011, aged 89, private cremation at Lancaster and memorial service at Stricklandgate Methodist Church, Kendal, 30 December 2011 (WG, 22.12.2011)

Duffield, James (1835-1915), JP, iron and steel industrialist, director of Charles Cammell & Co for many years, oversaw transfer of Dronfield works (opened in 1873) to Moss Bay, Workington in 1880-2, a colossal job, these works were built up by him and later incorporated into Workington Iron and Steel Co, mayor of Workington Borough, of Tallantire Hall, Bridekirk, from 1896, died in 1915 (CRO (W), DH 292); he and his wife Selina, both buried Bridekirk

Duffy, John Albert (1920-2016), managing director of Seymour Plant Hire, Carlisle (est 1940), he died 2016 and the firm was dissolved in 2021

Duffy, Thomas Gavan (1867-1932), trade unionist and politician, born in Dublin, 25 September 1867, educ by Christian Brothers, a district delegate for Shop Assistants’ Union, general secretary of Cumberland Iron Ore Miners’ Association for 23 years, contested Whitehaven as Labour parliamentary candidate in 1918 before being elected as MP in 1922, but defeated by Robert Hudson (qv) for Conservatives in 1924, died 4 August 1932

Dufton, William, surgeon, b. Brigham, later surgeon at Birmingham Hospital; Boase, 925

Duckett, Arthur (fl.mid 16thc.), of Grayrigg (W), in 1568 one of 24 shareholders of Elizabeth I’s Society of Mines Royal

Dunbar, David Jr (fl.1815-1838), sculptor, had infant dau Elizabeth, who died in Abbey Street, Carlisle and was buried in Cathedral burial ground in 1831 (DBS, 133-134); Stephen Matthews, David Dunbar

Dunbar, David Sr (1782-1866), sculptor, born in Dumfries but much involved in the Carlisle Art Academy, work on Lowther Castle, time with Sir Francis Chantrey, exhibited RA, employed by Paul Nixon, encouraged Musgrave Lewthawaite Watson (qv), sculpture also of Katherine Losh and Robert Anderson (qqv), carved bust in Carlisle cathedral to Sir Joseph Gilpin (qv); Marchall Hall, 24-5, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017; Stephen Matthews, David Dunbar

Dunbar, Gavin (1490-1547), bishop of Glasgow, required an anathema against the reivers to be read in all churches; the Cursing Stone in Carlisle bears part of the text

Duncan, Charles (1865-1933; ODNB), JP, trade unionist and politician, born at 93 Stockton Street, Middlesbrough, 8 June 1865, son of Alexander Duncan, ship’s pilot, and his wife, Jane Dobson, marr (1890) Lydia Copeland, ^^^^^^^^ Secretary of Workers’ Union from 1900, sponsored by ASE as MP (Labour) for Barrow-in-Furness 1906-1918, serving for a time as a Labour whip, lost his seat (after his support of British Workers’ League for a time) in 1918, contested two by-elections in 1920 unsuccessfully before being elected for Derbyshire mining seat of Clay Cross 1922-1933, JP Middlesex 1919, of 16 Agincourt Road, Hampstead, London (1909), died after long illness in Manor House Hospital, North End Road, Hampstead, 6 July 1933

Duncan, W David, MP (Liberal) for Barrow-in-Furness, 1885-1886, the first member elected for the new Parliamentary Borough

Duncan, James Archibald (1858-1911), MA, LLB, son of David Duncan (qv), MP (Liberal) for Barrow-in-Furness 1890-1892, elected in by-election

Duncan, Henry William (18xx-19xx), author (as D.K.K.) of Reminiscences of Persons and Places in Kendal, Sixty Years Ago, reprinted from the Kendal and County News, T Wilson, Kendal (1890), of 12 Tithebarn Cottages, Kendal (1886, 1894), but also owned burgage cottages in yard 161, Highgate, Kendal

Dunglison, Daniel, master of Kendal Workhouse, Shaw’s Brow, Kendal (1829)

Dunglison, Robley (1798-1869; ODNB), MD, physician and medical writer, born at Keswick, 4 January 1798, son of William Dunglison (poss engaged in woollen manufacture) and his wife Elizabeth Jackson (d.1854), ed. Green Row Academy, Abbey Holme, intended for a merchant’s career and to join his great uncle Joseph Robley, wealthy planter in West Indies, but latter died and he resolved to study medicine, apprenticed to John Edmundson, a Keswick surgeon, in 1815, joined practice in London as pupil of Charles T Haden, visited Paris medical school, but spent session of 1815-16 at Edinburgh University and Edinburgh Royal Infirmary, London, finally awarded MD at Nuremburg, offered chair at university of Virginia, then Maryland, finally Philadelphia, he was physician to Thomas Jefferson for a period and has been hailed as the father of American physiology, died at his home in Philadelphia, 1 April 1869; published A Dictionary of Modern Science (1874) on 1131 pages

Dunlop, Arthur Brook (18xx-19xx), JP, of The Howe, Troutbeck, Westmorland County Alderman (to 1916), County Councillor for Troutbeck, chairman of Troutbeck Parish Council, and chairman of school managers (1905)

Dunlop, John Macmillan (d.1878), JP, of Holehird, Windermere (moved in 1867), bought The Howe, Troutbeck from Wilson family in 1871 (sold by J S Dunlop in 1937), born at Huddersfield in November 1818, marr. (1850) Ellen Adelaide Brook, dau of Huddersfield woollen mill owner (died 13 June 1867, aged 37), 5 sons and 1 daughter, died 24 August 1878 at Holehird and buried with wife (18 June 1867) in Troutbeck churchyard, xx August; Robert Macmillan Dunlop sold Far Orrest estate and other property in Applethwaite to William Little (qv) in 1895

Dunmail (Duvenald) (fl.10th cent), last celtic king of Strathclyde and Cumbria, son of Owain (qv) who lost the battle of Brunanburh to Athelstan q.v., represented a resurgence of British authority against English, possibly assisted by a Norse-Irish alliance, until his defeat in battle on the pass between Grasmere and Thirlmere by King Edmund of Northumbria in 945, allegedly killed (legendary burial place marked by pile of stones at top of the eponymous Dunmail Raise), but in fact said to have withdrawn with the Cumbri to north Wales or indeed to have continued as king of Strathclyde until he died some 30 years later on a pilgrimage to Rome, his two sons having been ordered to be blinded by Edmund, who ceded Cumbria to Malcolm, King of Scots, on understanding that he would support English king whenever required, and it remained part of Scotland until 1032; cairn visited by Machell in 1692 and drawn as a huge heap of stones with wall over top to mark boundary between ‘Cumbraland’ (Strathclyde) and Westmorland (AoH, 145-146), much reduced by 1860 (M E C Walcott; Hardwicke Rawnsley (qv) lobbied for the preservation of the cairn during the Thirlmere project), but now standing out on the bank between the double carriageways of A595; recent pollen analysis suggests that Thirlmere valley to north was first cleared in 10th century, reinforcing tradition that this boundary dates from that period; A Masque of Dunmail by T E Casson, a romantic treatment of the legend, introducing a Druid and ritual, was presented by members of Keswick School in May 1912;

Dunn, Charles JP, Ecclerigg, Westmorland; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

Dunn, Isobel (d.1993), director of the Eden Countryside Project, inscription on top of High Dun Fell; Dick Capel, 2020, 137

Dunn, John (1735-1817), bookseller Whitehaven; Barry McKay, Three Cumbrian Chapbook Printers

Dunne, Sir John (1825-1906), DL, JP, police officer, born 12 February 1825, 4th son of William Dunne, of Boley, Queen’s County, Ireland, and his wife, Julia, dau of Denis O’Kelly, educ at Montauban and Dublin, joined newly formed Manchester Police in 1840 at age of fifteen but well built at six foot tall, superintendent of police at Bearsted, Kent in 1850, chief officer of Norwich City Police in 1852, then to Newcastle City Police as chief constable, and finally selected in 1857 as Chief Constable of Cumberland and Westmorland Joint County Constabulary, based at Lowther Street, Carlisle, shortly after the introduction of the County and Borough Police Act 1856, seriously considered moving to Gloucestershire in 1865, but remained at Carlisle for rest of his career, increased force from 64 to 107 on taking office, introduced training and sets of regulations, zealous exponent of rigorous policing (esp hard on tramps, vagrants and criminal underclass), believed that main objective was crime prevention rather than detection, retired on 2 January 1902 just six weeks before reaching the age of 77, making him the oldest and longest serving police officer and chief constable in the country, marr (1 October 1868, at All Souls, Langham Place, London) Mary, dau of Dr Thomas Barnes, (qv), of Bunkers Hill, Carlisle, and Tring Park, Hertfordshire, 2 sons (Francis Plunkett, born 1871, and Gerlad, born 1875) and 1 dau (Henrietta, born 1870), his wife making him a wealthy man by bringing property she had inherited from her uncle, William Kay, three years earlier, and then also Brunstrux Manor, Berkhamstead, Herts, after her father’s death in 1872, and enabling him to purchase several properties in subsequent years, inc Moor House Hall, Wetheral, knighted in 1897, also appointed DL for Cumberland and JP for Carlisle in 1897, died at his home, Eden Mount, Wetheral, 5 January 1906, aged 80, and buried in local cemetery; will……  (CFHS Newsletter, No.xx, August 2011)

Dunphie, Maj Gen Sir Charles Anderson Lane (1902-1999) CB DSO CBE, chairman Vickers Barrow from 1962-67 during the early period of nuclear submarines, son of Alfred Edwin Dunphie (1860-1938), barrister and director of Coutts Bank and Katherine Hammond-Smith (1879-1978), in 2nd WW brigadier in 26th armoured brigade, made an heroic stand against Rommel’s Panzer Corps, m. Susan the widow of Col Percy Wright, obit Independent 22 Oct 2011, his widow died 2020, Les Shore, Redshaw biography (qv)

Du Pre, Jacqueline (1945-1987; ODNB), cellist, performed at Rosehill theatre

Durden, James (1878-1964), artist and illustrator, born in Manchester, painted Lake District scenes, inc notable Summer Evening from his house at Millbeck, below Skiddaw, lived Keswick, member of the Lake Artists, Renouf, 94-5

Dwelly, Very Revd Frederick William (1881-1957), MA, DD, clergyman, born at East Street, Chard, Somerset, 9 April 1881, tenth child of Robert Dwelly (1842-1927), carriage builder and local councillor, and his wife, Caroline, nee Cooper (1837/8-1928), of deeply Christian family, educ Chard endowed grammar school, went to London and worked in an Oxford Street store, spent his weekends in social and religious work in East End, then matric at Queen’s College, Cambridge 1903 through influence of Revd F S Webster, Vicar of All Souls, Langham Place, not academically outstanding, BA 1906, MA 1910, dissatisfied with artificiality of college religious services, but  profoundly influenced by series of lectures by Revd William Ralph Inge in Lent term 1906, esp the modernist, and mystical elements of his teaching, ordained at Carlisle d 1906 and p 1907, Curate of St Mary, Windermere 1906-1911, senior curate at St Mary, Cheltenham 1911-1915, Vicar of Emmanuel church, Southport 1915-1916-1925, Residentiary Canon of Liverpool Cathedral 1924-1931 (installed in May 1925), Vice-Dean 1930-1931 and Dean 1931-1955, DD (Lambeth) 1931, Select Preacher, University of Cambridge 1937-38, Lecturer 1939-40 and 1947 (on pastoral theology), Hon LLD Liverpool University 1954, marr (June 1907) Mary Bradshaw (1880-1950), dau of George Henry Darwin, medical practitioner, no children, but marriage broke down, health began to deteriorate, resigned as Dean in 1955, died at his home, 6 Grove Park, Liverpool, 9 May 1957, aged 76, and cremated with ashes placed in sanctuary at Liverpool Cathedral until memorial to him was unveiled in December 1960  (Peter Kennerley, 2004)

Dyer, Jimmy (1841-1903), itinerant fiddler and ballad seller of Carlisle, in youth employed to dive for drowned bodies in the river Eden, lived by fiddle playing, ballad singing and selling postcards, known as the ‘Cumberland Bard’ (a title shared with Robert Anderson (qv)), wrote his own short biography, died aged 62 (bronze statue by Judith Bluck qv in Lanes shopping centre, Carlisle); David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 153-4

Dykes, Leonard (fl.1637), of Warthole, ancestor of Dykes family of Dovenby Hall, local agent for Earl of Northumberland, deputy steward of Egremont manor court (for Hugh Potter, qv) from 1637 (CW2, xvii, 50)

Dykes, Frecheville Hubert Ballantine- (1881-1949), CB, DSO, OBE, DL, JP, landowner, army officer, born 16 September 1881, only son and child of Lamplugh Frecheville Ballantine-Dykes (qv), of Dovenby Hall, marr (18 July 1911) Winifred Mary, JP (Cumberland 1925) (died 14 July 1945), er dau of W Pitt Miller, of Merlewood, Grange-over-Sands and Thiselton, Lancs, 2 sons (Thomas Lamplugh, born 30 June 1912, Major, Scots Guards, killed in action in Libya, 13 June 1942 and Joseph, MC, born 15 April 1922) and 1 dau (Nancy, born 14 September 1919), served WW1 (despatches, DSO 1917), OBE 1923, drove engine on railway passenger service operating between Whitehaven and Penrith during General Strike of 1926, appointed second in command of British Legion’s abortive police force of 1,200 volunteers formed to police plebiscite areas on proposed new Czech-German border after Munich crisis of 1938, but disbanded after only two days’ aboard two liners in Thames estuary off Southend, after international commission decided not to hold plebiscite, had distinguished military career with commission in Scots Guards, Brevet-Colonel, Border Regt (TA), ADC (additional) to King (to November 1948), president of Cumberland Territorial Army Association (CB 1945), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1923, Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland 1944-1949, vice-chairman of Cumberland County Council, JP Cumberland 1905, lord of manors of Gilcrux, Ireby, Papcastle, Dovenby, Crookdake, Allerby and Dearham Row, sold Dovenby Hall in 19xx, later of Kepplewray, Broughton-in-Furness, where he died, aged 67

Dykes, Frecheville Lawson Ballantine- (1800-1866), JP, landowner and politician

Dykes, Lamplugh Frecheville Ballantine (1854-1893), DL, JP, landowner, born 5 July 1854, 2nd but eldest surviving of five sons of Frecheville Lawson Ballantine Dykes (qv), of Dovenby Hall and Wardhall, educ Harrow and Christ Church, Oxford, marr (19 February 1879) Edith Georgina (died 1 November 1912), yst dau of R Howard-Brooke, of Castle Howard Avoca, co Wicklow (see Brooke, of Colebrooke, Bt), 1 son (Frecheville Hubert, qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1885, DL and JP, died 5 February 1893

Dykes, Nancy Ballantine- (1919-xxxx), artist, dau of Frecheville Hubert Ballantine-Dykes (1881-1949) and his wife Winifred Mary Pitt Miller, described as ‘impressionist’ but perhaps post-impressionist, one work in National Trust collection

Dymond, Charles William (1832-1915), FSA, Hon FSA Scot, archaeologist and civil engineer, son of William and Frances Dymond, b. Heavitree, Devon, chief engineer of Bristol and Exeter Railway, devoted his time to antiquarian work after retirement, noted for his exploration of Worlebury, nr Weston-super-Mare, elected FSA in 1879 and Hon FSA Scot in 1890, induced by Chancellor Ferguson in 1890 to resurvey ancient settlement in Hugill (CW1, xii, 6-14 and xiv, 465-467), elected member of CWAAS 1894, but connected with Lake District by his marriage to Mary Esther Wilson (1827-1906), whose father John was born Hawkshead and her mother Margaret Atkinson was from Kendal, elected Honorary Member in 1913, letters re Swinside Circle, April 1901 (CRO, BD/Lew/3/2/4), author of many articles in Transactions from 1879 (early ones reproduced from Journal of British Archaeological Association) and also in other societies (noted for careful and accurate surveys, author of Key to Theory and Methods of Linear Perspective (1910), and also of Memoir, letters and poems of Jonathan Dymond (1907), his kinsman, the Quaker moralist (1796-1828; ODNB), chairman of Claife Parish Council, member of Society of Friends, prepared schedule of deeds of Hawkshead Meeting House (kept at Kendal), of The Castle, High Wray, Ambleside, died 7 February 1915, in Ulverston, aged 82 (CW2, xv, 206-207; HSC, 118)


Eaglesfield, Gawen (d. by 1528), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1517

Eaglesfield, Richard (d.1557), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1551 and 1556, son of Gawen Eaglesfield (qv), last in male line of family, his sisters and coheirs being Elizabeth (marr 1528 John Senhouse, of Seascale) and Anne (marr – Bardsey)

Eaglesfield, Robert, founder of Queens college, Oxford, see Eglesfield

Eaglesfield, Thomas (fl.1472), Master of Greystoke College (arbitrator in deed of 8 May 12 Edward IV in CRO, D/HG/B, Skelton)

Ealdred of Bamburgh (d.933; ODNB), leader of the Northumbrians, lord of Bamburgh, the most important Anglo-Saxon in Northumbria in the 10thc, one of the princes who met Athlestan at Eamont Bridge in 927,

Eastham, Thomas (c.1803-18xx), solicitor, born at Whalley, Lancashire, marr Eleanor, of London, 1 son (George, bapt at KL, 21 September 1843), solicitor in Kirkby Lonsdale by 1839, firm of Eastham and Townson, attorneys and clerks to magistrates, Main Street, Kirkby Lonsdale (1849, 1851), Thomas Eastham, solicitor, clerk to magistrates and clerk of Commissioners of Property and Income Tax (1858), pres decd by 1873 when Mrs Eastham is of Main Street, later of Town End (1885), not buried at KL

Eastham, Thomas (c.1774-1822), ‘an ingenious mechanic at Chorley Moor’, made machine for cutting all kinds of ivory combs, reported to have been lately erected in Kendal (15 August 1801) for Alderman Berry (qv), who conducted business for several years under his practical management, later became partner in business, ‘became well known and highly esteemed in Kendal for his scientific attainments and worthy character’, died 28 January 1822, aged 48, and buried at Kendal, 1 February, as papist (LC, 117) = father of Thomas Eastham supra?

Eastwood, Tom (1888-1970), geologist, b Lancashire, member of Geological Survey based in Whitehaven, published ‘The Lead and Zinc Ores of the Lake District’ (1921); co-author of British Regional Geology: Northern England, author of Stanford’s Geological Atlas of Great Britain (1965), vice president of Geological Society of London, his books provided the nucleus of the Cumberland Geol Soc’s library; Cumberland Geological Society Proceedings vol 6 1998-9 pt 3, p.403

Eber, Ferdinand (18xx-1884/5), Hungarian refugee, escaped to England after Austro-Hungarian War of 1849, having served in Austrian Foreign Office, trained in Metternich’s College for diplomats, introduced to Kendal by John Whitwell (qv) and tutored numerous families in Kendal district in 1850s in German, inc Arnold family of Fox How (esp Frances, sister of Matthew Arnold, and befriended yr sister, Susanna, who marr John Cropper in 1853) and also dau of Lady Langdale, via whose introduction his article on National Music got into Quarterly Review in 1852/3, followed by others leading to invitation by The Times to report for them with Dr Russell in Crimean War at end of 1853, reappeared in Kendal at end of War with stories of Turks and Russians, reported again for The Times on Austro-French War in Italy, and following battles of Solferino and Magenta, joined Garibaldi’s army and made a general, then returned to Kendal in 186x to give account of Italian volunteer army in Sicily, later returned to Hungary after ban on Hungarian rebels of 1848 was lifted (Ausgleich of June 1867), parents had died and his estate handed to his younger brother, became member of Diet and kept his seat for number of years, friend of James Cropper (qv) and visited Ellergreen in 1879 and gave him first-hand accounts of Cavour, Disraeli and Bismarck, died as result of accident in his house at Pesc (Pesth) in 1884/5 (James Cropper, Notes and Memories (1900), 136-140; letters to James Cropper in private collection)

Eccles, John (c.1730-1810), Catholic priest, of Sizergh Hall, Papist, buried at Kendal, 19 March 1810, aged 80

Eccles, William Henry (1875-1966; ODNB) FRS, physicist and pioneer in radio communications, b. Barrow-in-Furness, son of Charles Eccles a blacksmith, graduate of the Royal College of Science, was an assistant to Marconi, named the diode, co-patented the flip-flop circuit the basis of electronic memory in computers with FW Jordan, assisted in the design of the first long wave radio station, involved in the early work at the BBC after the corporation was founded in 1922,  president of the Physical Society 1928-30, president of the Institute of Electrical Engineers and president of the Radio Society GB, died in Oxford; Biographical Memoirs of the Fellows of the Royal Society

Eccles, William Henry Sr (1875-1966), physicist radio communications pioneer, born Barrow, PhD Royal College of Science, London 1901, lectured SW Polytechnic 1902-16 and the City and Guilds Technical College 1916-1926, proponent of Edward Heaviside  theory of the reflection of radio waves, published A Handbook of Wireless Telegraphy (1915) and Continuous Wave Technology (1921)

Eccles, William, OBE, chairman James Fisher Ltd, Barrow, qv, awarded Norwegian knighthood as vice consul in Barrow

Echlin, John Robert, MA, clergyman, educ Trinity College Dublin (BA 1833, MA 1851), d 1838 and p 1839 (Chester), curate of Wooton, Kirkham 1838-1839, PC of Bronington, Flints, of The Oaks, Ambleside (1885)

Eckersley, the Rev James H  (1911-1985) The son of the Rev CH Eckersley, the rector of Brougham, James Eckersley was educated at Penrith Grammar School, St Bees, and Keble College, Oxford, following which he studied at Lincoln Theological College. His brothers were John and Charles. Ordained in 1935, after curacies at Workington and Keswick, he became Vicar of Holy Trinity, Millom (forming a friendship with Norman Nicholson, the poet), followed by St Mary’s, Walney Islan