S

Sack, Brian George (1923-2002), MBE, hotelier, born in London, 29 January 1923, wavered between hotel management at The Savoy and becoming a chartered surveyor after school, started studying surveying but WW2 intervened and he joined RAF in 1942, later qualifying as spitfire pilot, but saw no action, joined RAFVR in 1945, qualified as chartered surveyor and joined staff of Ministry of Works, still felt drawn to hotel business, trained at Node Hotel with Wendy Courtenay, who introduced him to Francis Coulson (qv) in 1952, so inaugurating a partnership that was to last some five decades, Sharrow Bay Hotel on Ullswater having been opened by Coulson on a modest scale in 1949, they went on to create a prototype of country house hotel and making it the best known of its kind in world, Coulson dedicated to kitchen, championing British food and cooking, while Sack managed business and cosseted clients, both cared greatly for their staff too and trained countless young people in skills of cooking and service, creating an unsurpassed record of loyalty and long service (including John Tovey (qv)), hotel enjoying very high percentage of occupancy and returning guests, lauded as both hotel and restaurant by all guidebooks (Egon Ronay gold award as ‘Restaurant of the Year’ in 1975, ‘Hotel of the Year’ in 1980, and also ‘Hosts of the Year’ in 1993, Michelin star in 1996, also member of ‘Relais et Chateaux Association’ of small personally owned and supervised hotels from 1967), both apptd MBE in 1994 for their charitable works, esp for Carlisle cathedral and local technical colleges (governors of Kendal College, subscribed to new students’ restaurant at Lancaster and Morecambe College, later named after them), strong supporters of opera and gifted musicians themselves (Coulson a pianist and Sack a good tenor), sponsored concerts at LDSM, several paintings by Sheila Fell in hotel, reluctantly played lesser part in daily routines of hotel with advancing age and ill health, ‘warm, loving friends who effortlessly maintained long-standing friendships and were defined by their enthusiasm and generosity’ (Clare MacDonald), Coulson died in 1998, both unmarried and both of Swarthfield, Sharrow, died 1 January 2002, aged 78, and buried at Barton, 12 January (DT, 05.01.2002)

Sackville, Thomas, 1st earl of Dorset and 1st baron Buckhurst (c.1536-1608; ODNB), poet and administrator, elected to Parliament for Westmorland in January 1558, Lady Anne Clifford’s father-in-law

Sagar, James, schoolmaster of Matterdale School 1854-1857, (of Winton?)

Saint, John Jackson (b.c.1865), solicitor, of an 18thc wool merchant’s family, b. Haltwhistle, qualified Carlisle by 1884, office Bank St., city councillor 1890, alderman 1898, firm expanded to other towns

Sale, Geoffrey (19xx-199x), schoolmaster, headmaster of Rossall School, retired to Loweswater, author of history of Casterton School (1983)

Salkeld family of Whitehall; CW3 vii 57; a quantity of information available via Robert Salkeld

Salkeld, George (1528-1597), JP, landowner, born at Thrimby Grange in 1528 and prob bapt at Morland (where his yr brothers and sisters were), eldest son of Richard Salkeld V (d.1559), of Thrimby, and Agnes Bellingham (buried at Morland, 29 June 1578), marr (by 1559) his cousin Barbara (1540-1626), only dau and heir of Richard Salkeld IV (d.1575, qv), of Rosgill, and heiress to Rosgill, Corby and Pardshaw, who was widowed with two daus (Madlayne, who marr (3 February 1578/9) Mr Robert Salkeld, of Thrimby, and buried at Shap, 13 April 1584) and Fraunces, who were given 100 marks each towards their marriage in will of said Richard IV), ten children [see SSC, 62] (sons Thomas V (qv), Richard (bapt at Morland, 3 October 1562), who was given a horse in will of his godfather, Richard Salkeld IV (qv), Allen (bapt at Shap, 20 June 1566, buried at Morland, 24 June 1568), Francis (bapt at Morland, 1 February 1568), Margrett (bapt at Morland, 23 July 1561), Dorothy (bapt at Shap, 5 January 1570/1), Jane (bapt at Shap, 31 March 1577), Mary (bapt at Shap, 5 October 1579, wife of Henry Dacre, qv), and Frances (buried at Shap, 11 February 1581/2)), High Sheriff of Westmorland (1577, 1579, 1587), JP for Westmorland 1596, Commissioner for surveying defences of West March in 1580, died and buried at Morland, 12 August 1597 (SSC, 175-178; inventory, 179)

Salkeld, Henry (d.1584), son of (prob) James Salkeld (d.1582), of Pardshaw Hall, marr (1568) Elizabeth, 3 sons (John, Thomas, and Richard) and 1 dau (Mary), will dated 28 November 1584, when he died at Pardshaw Hall, buried at Dean parish church, 28 November 1584 (SSC, 65-66)

Salkeld,  Henry (1584-1645; ODNB), clergyman, bapt at Morland, 18 November 1584, yst son of Edward Salkeld, and brother of ?Sir? George and Revd John Salkeld (qv), student at English College of St Gregory, Seville, ordained priest in 1610 and left via Douai on 6 October 1610 for English mission, but rapidly conformed to Church of England and granted formal pardon with his brother on 17 March 1615 for having attended a foreign seminary, instituted as rector of Wyke Without, Winchester, on 5 April 1617, then as rector of Milborne Port, Somerset (in gift of Winchester College), on 22 August 1618, where he died, buried there, 12 September 1645

Salkeld [alias Dalston], John (1579-1660; ODNB), BD, clergyman and theologian, born at ?Corby Castle (Jollie), and bapt at Morland, 26 August 1579, 3rd of six (not 4th of five) sons of Edward Salkeld, a Catholic recusant, and yr bro of ?Sir? George Salkeld (qv), of Corby Castle?, educ (poss briefly) at Queen’s College, Oxford, sent abroad for educ by Jesuits at University of Coimbra, Portugal, and then at English College of St Gregory, Seville, entd novitiate of Andalusian province of Society of Jesus at Montilla, near Cordoba, in February 1602, aged 23 in January 1603, later ordained priest, remaining there till 1608, when sent on English mission with alias of John Dalston, apprehended in Cornwall in March 1612, with papers of his ‘conversion from Popery’, interviewed by lord treasurer and archbishop of Canterbury, guest of bishop of London in July 1612 and had theological conversations with James I, who styled him ‘the learned Salkeld’ and presented him to living of Wellington in Somerset in November 1613, author of A Treatise of Angels (1613), dedicated to king, with sequel, A Treatise of Paradise, and the Principall Contents Thereof (1617), which was dedicated to Sir Francis Bacon, noted for his ‘effective anti-Romist preaching’, reported his former neighbour Lord William Howard, of Naworth Castle, for recusancy in November 1616, instituted as rector of Churchstanton, Devon in January 1634, committed royalist and deprived of living in about 1646, marr Susanna (buried 16 May 1660), 1 son (John), settled at Ulfculme, Devon, where he was examined by county commissioners, died in February 1660, aged 80 (84 in Jollie), and buried there, 16 March

Salkeld, Lancelot (c.1490-1560), last prior of Carlisle, 1st dean,  erected elaborate carved screen adjacent to chancel in the cathedral (June Barnes’s article CW3); CW2 xcviii 145, (SSC, 172)

Salkeld, Richard, IV (d.1575), landowner, son of Thomas Salkeld IV (d.1574), marr Elizabeth Duckett (buried at Shap, 11 March 1586), lived at Cliburn until father’s death, then held manors of Rosgill and Timperon and moiety of manors of Corby and Little Salkeld, which descended to his dau Barbara, wife of her cousin, George Salkeld (qv), will dated 30 January 1574/5 (incl bequests to his three brothers), with inventory of goods at Rosgill taken on 6 February 1574/5 and at Corby on 10 February, buried in Shap parish church, 3 February 1574/5 (SSC, 50-51, 56-58)

Salkeld, Richard (1592/3-1630), landowner, born in January 1592/3, son of Thomas Salkeld V (qv), kidnapped (from Corby?) by the Grahams in 1600 and ransomed (Scrope’s report to Cecil in July 1600), left Rosgill manor and estates to sister Dorothy, wife of William Wormeley/Warmsley, and later of a Christian of Unerigg; Rosgill manor later sold to Lowthers (SSC, 31, 48)

Salkeld, Thomas, IV (d.1573/4), landowner, of Rosgill, marr Margaret Curwen, 4 sons (Richard IV (qv), James (buried at Dean church, 29 December 1582) of Pardshaw Hall, where succ by son Henry (qv), John, prob of Rosgill, and John the younger, of the Riddings at Corby) and 1 dau (Elizabeth)

Salkeld, Thomas, V (1567-1639), born in 1567, eldest? son and heir apparent of George Salkeld (qv), of Rosgill and Thrimby, and grandson of Richard Salkeld IV (qv), marr (by 1592) Thomazin, dau of Alan and Dorothy Bellingham, 2 sons (Richard, qv) and 3 daus (Dorothy), High Sheriff of Cumberland in 1598, sold moiety of manor of Corby to Lord William Howard, 10 February 1624/5 (SSC, 31-32, 46, 177)

Salmon (formerly Salomon), Robert (1775-c.1850; DCB), marine artist, b.Whitehaven, son of Francis, a jeweller, worked all over the UK, travelled to the USA, founder of U.S. school of maritime art via his residence in Boston, returned to Europe and was last recorded in Italy, work in major galleries in UK and USA; John Wilmerding, catalogue raisonne

Salmond, James (1805-1880), JP, landowner, born 15 June 1808, son and only child of James Hanson Salmond (qv) by his first wife, educ Rugby and Oriel College, Oxford (BA 1826), marr (16 August 1832) Emma Isabella (died 8 March 1886), yst dau of D’Ewes Coke, DL, JP, of Brookhill Hall, Derbyshire (see LG, Coke of Brookhill), 9 sons and 3 daus, Lieut-Col, Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry Cav, formerly Notts Volunteers and 2nd Dragoon Guards, JP for Cumberland, Westmorland, Notts and Derbyshire, of Waterfoot, 5 miles SW of Penrith, died 24 November 1880

Salmond, James Hanson (1766-1837), Major-General, born at Sizergh Castle, 17 August 1766, eldest son of William Salmond (qv), of Antigua, brought up at Dalemain as brothers with William and Ned Hasell, became deaf as result of long illness and so unable to leave for India at Christmas 1782 to train as a cadet, but in London in December 1783 preparing to depart for Bengal on Christmas Day, served with East India Co in Bengal, but his mother Jane (nee Hasell) felt that he was never treated well by her relations, commissioned into Army (LG, 8 October 1796), apptd Adjutant of 1st Regiment of Royal East India Volunteers (LG, 26 November 1796), marr 1st (2 July 1798) Louisa (died after birth of son in June 1805), eldest dau of David Scott, of Dunninald, MP, and sister of Sir David Scott, Bt, 1 son (James), marr 2nd (17 August 1808) Rachel Mary Ann (died in February 1847), eldest dau of Ven Thomas Constable, of Beverley (see LG, Strickland-Constable, of Wassand), 1 son (Edward, born 3 April 1809 and died 14 May 1821), military secretary to court of directors of EIC 1808-1837, returned to England, promoted Major-General (LG, 20 January 1837), retired with resolution of Court (15 March 1837) that ‘this distinguished officer has uniformly manifested great ability, unwearied zeal, and inflexible integrity’ for long career of service in India and England, granted pension of £1,500 pa and presented with piece of plate to value of £500, in hope of enjoying a long honourable retirement, author of The Mysore War, tenant of Eusemere, Pooley Bridge 1820-1822, later built Waterfoot, Ullswater, died 1 November 1837 (HoD, 62-68, 105-107, 185), his widow lived until 1847

Salmond, William (1737-1779), plantation owner, born 4 August 1737, only son of James Salmond (1694-1746), of Falkirk, Scotland, who purchased two plantations in St Mary’s parish, Antigua, and his wife (marr 1733) Lydia Hanson (1701-1748), sent to England on death of his father at age of nine and educ St Bees School, once of age he sold Sage Hill plantation to his brother-in-law, John Gilchrist, and Salmond’s to Sir George Colebrooke, and went to Sotland, marr 1st (22 August 1759, at Edinburgh) Elizabeth (born in February 1740, died 18 July 1760, after birth of dau, Euphemia, on 7 June), dau of Andrew Chalmers, of Edinburgh, inherited his cousin, Francis Hanson’s Antiguan plantation in St John’s parish in 1765 and renamed it Seaforth (about 500 acres and estimated worth £1,200 pa), moved to Liverpool and considered proposal from his future brother-in-law, Christopher Hasell (qv), to act as agent for sugar imported there from Seaforth, also met Jane Hasell, marriage settlement in late September 1765, by which he would receive £1,000 and settle annuity of £200 on his widow out of Seaforth estate, marr 2nd (3 October 1765) Jane (born 22 April 1745, died 11 August 1820), 2nd dau of Edward Hasell (qv), of Dalemain, 4 sons and 4 daus, stayed in north Cumberland for rest of 1765, rented Sizergh Castle for 1766 (where eldest son (qv) was born), then moved to Carlisle with intention of becoming politically involved in 1768 election, bought plot of land in English Street and built substantial house, but nothing came of his political ambitions, lived there for four years, then went out to Antigua in 1772 (dau Julia born), but climate and sickness drove them to return in September 1773, rented Marpool estate at Withycombe Raleigh, near Exmouth in Devon (two further daughters born, Lydia and Maria), apptd member of King’s Council for Antigua and returned there in early 1778 (last dau Frances born), sugar crop failed in 1779 and financially ruined, died 4 August 1779 and buried at St John’s next day, regarded by his father-in-law as ‘a vain idle man’ but well regarded in Antigua (HoD, 62-68, 105-107)

Salt, Henry S., walker and writer, On Cambrian and Cumbrian Hills: Pilgrimages to Snowdon and Scafell, 1922

Salvin, Anthony (1799-1881; ODNB), architect, esp medieval military architecture, resp for restorations of and/or additions to Lanercost Priory (reported on fabric in 1846 and carried out conservative restoration in 1847-49), Greystoke Castle (first in 1837-45 to rebuild 17th cent part for Henry Howard, then again in 1875-78 for H C Howard to reinstate it after fire of 1868, with changes to exterior), Newbiggin Hall (rebuilt west tower in 1844, with bell tower, for Crackanthorpe), Naworth Castle (restoration after fire of 1844, adding Morpeth Tower (for bedrooms) to outer side of NE wing in 1844-51 for 6th earl of Carlisle), Patterdale Hall (1845-50 for Marshall), Whitehall, Mealsgate (converted into mansion for George Moore from 1862, only stable (1861) and lodge remaining), Hutton-in-the-Forest (new courtyard and offices on north and new porch and battlements for medieval tower, in 1862-67), and Muncaster Castle (recast the late 18th cent reconstruction in 1862-66 for 4th and 1872-74 for 5th Lords Muncaster), restored Muncaster church in 1873 and built parsonage [now The Chase] in 1872-74, built Keswick, St John Evangelist church (for John Marshall in 1836-38, with parsonage house 1838), Patterdale church (for William Marshall in 1852-53), parsonage house at Denton (?), and County Hotel, Carlisle [later Lakes Court Hotel] (1852-53 for G H Head), built church in Ulverston, died at Haslemere in 1881 (LRNW, 382; Pevsner, passim); Keswick Characters vol.3 p.44; John Marsh, Dear Mr Salvin: The Building of a 19thc Church in Ulverston, 1993

Sambrooks, Eileen Mary (19xx-2017), BD, BA, United Reformed Minister, dau of Ernest and Ada Sambrooks, and sister of Enid and Muriel, formerly of Eccleshill, Bradford, former minister at Keighley, Blundellsands and Grange-over-Sands United Reformed churches, died at Hillcroft Nursing Home, Galgate, Lancaster, 29 January 2017, aged 71, and cremated at Lancaster and Morecambe crematorium following funeral at Bare Methodist Church, Morecambe, 14 February (WG, 09.02.2017)

Sampson, Everard (19xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of St Bees 1941-1949

Sampson, John (17xx-18xx), clergyman and schoolmaster, master of Kendal Grammar School 1804-1843, retiring in March 1843, formerly asst curate of Natland, described as ‘a very desirable and valuable man and in the Classical Line will give very great satisfaction – He is also a good Mathematician’ by Christopher Wilson (qv) in letter to Daye Barker (qv) of 24 June 1805 (CW2, lxxv, 252), wrote elegant Latin verses, and abstruse problems for periodicals of the day; (brass memorial tablet in Natland church) (AK, 194)

Sandby, Paul, R.A., (1725-1809), artist, visited the Lakes, collaborated with the Rev. William Gilpin (qv); several works in Cumbrian public collections, see Paul Sandby Munn

Sanders, Brigit (nee Altounyan) (1926-1999), granddaughter of WG Collingwood, one of the children who inspired Arthur Ransome’s  ‘Swallows and Amazons’; member of Coniston WEA writing group in late 1990s with her sister Mavis Guzelian (qv), Sheona Lodge (qv), Brenda Hart-Jackson, David Cross and others

Sanderson, Edmund, (c.1675), lived Askham, visited Eskdale; see CWAAS 1890

Sanderson, James (1769-c.1841; ODNB), composer, b. Workington, self taught on the violin, taken on at Sunderland theatre, later teacher South Shields, leader of the orchestra Newcastle theatre, then at Astley’s in London, the Royal Circus, composed the U.S. anthem ‘Hail to the Chief’, set William Collins’ Ode to the Passions and Rabbie Burns’ Comin’ through the Rye

Sanderson, John (later 17th-early 18thc.), clockmaker, earliest member of the Wigton school of  clockmaking, probably trained by John Ogdon of Bowbridge, Yorks., keen collector Lee Borrett in Kent see www.primitiveclocks.co.uk; CN 12 February 2010

Sanderson, Sir Lancelot (1863-1944), PC, KC, judge and politician, born 24 October 1863, barrister, Inner Temple, recorder of Wigan 1901, KC 1903, MP for Appleby 1910-1915, resigning on appt as Chief Justice of High Court of Judicature in Calcutta till 1926, when apptd to Privy Council (member of Judicial Committee 1934-1935), died in Lancaster, 9 March 1944; played cricket Lancashire and MCC

Sanderson, N (19xx-19xx), clergyman, instituted to St Mary and St Paul, Carlisle on 8 April 1959

Sanderson, Randal, clergyman, born at Reagill, educ Appleby Grammar School and Queen’s College, Oxford, fellow, rector of Weyhill, Hampshire, benefactor to Appleby Grammar School and endowed Reagill School (built about 1684) with benefaction of £120

Sanderson, Thomas (1759-1829), poet and writer, b Raughtonhead, educated at home and at Sebergham school, master at Greystoke, friend of Josiah Relph (qv), Essay on the Peasantry of Cumberland; retired to Kirklinton, J.Lowthian, Life and Literary Remains, portrait by George xxxx 

Sandes,Thomas (16xx-1681), wool-trader, armourer, hardwareman and benefactor, mayor and crown official, born in 16xx, prob in Kendal, nephew of Thomas Braithwaite (d.1674) (qv), sworn armourer and hardwareman freeman, 20 April 1641, mayor of Kendal 1647-1648 (sworn 8 October 1647), having been elected alderman in 1645 but displaced by ordinance of Parliament, 9 October 1650, member of Westmorland County Committee from 16xx and added to commission of peace in March 1652, but put out with royalists in July and later restored, letter to Levens Hall concerning his right to Brigsteer moss in respect of his tenancy of house called the Fox and Goose, 10 May 1654 (Levens MSS, box 1, no.17), built for himself in 1659 a gallery-fronted ‘House of Manufacture’, schoolroom and library in front house of Elephant Yard [on site of later Elephant Inn, built c.1820] in Stricklandgate, with his warehouse for Kendal cottons behind, which made his fortune (see his tradesman’s token of 1656 in AK, 131), but also prospered from money-lending and mortgages later in life (e.g. CRO, WD/D/He4/37), a receiver for crown lands after Restoration, founder of Almshouses and endowed Sandes Hospital and Bluecoat School in Highgate, Kendal in 1670 (by indenture of 6 September 1670), founded library of 270 books left to Kendal Grammar School (catalogue made 30 December 1675), also founded exhibition at Queen’s College, Oxford, for a poor scholar from Kendal with gift of £100, certifying details of this clause in his will in letter of 8 September 1679 to Provost (AK, 192-193), marr (25 July 1631, at Kendal) K(C)atherine (buried 30 May 1681), dau of William Bateman and Grace (nee Gilpin), issue?, left £5 in will of Thomas Braithwaite in 1674 (with a further £10 to his son Thomas as godson of TB), will dated 6 September 1670 (probate copy 1681 in CRO, Kendal, WD/TE/ XIV, 8-15; also copy in WD/CW/Kendal/ box 1), died in his Stricklandgate house and buried at Kendal, 23 August 1681; memorial in Kendal church – <Machel quote> (BoR, 18, 24, 72, 245-46; AoH, 92-93; N&B, i, 81-82; AK, 195-198; CBP in NH, 5 (1970), 56-57, 63)

Sandford, Edmund (fl.late 17thc.), historian, ‘A cursory relation of all the antiquities and families in Cumberland’ c.1675, published Titus Wilson ed Chancellor Ferguson in 1890

Sandford, Sir Richard, 3rd Bt (1675-1723), of Howgill castle, politician, born in 1675, only son of Sir Richard Sandford, 2nd Bt, who was murdered in Whitefriars, London on 8 September 1675 supposedly in very hour of his birth, warden of the Mint, MP for Westmorland 1695-1700 and 1701-1702, for Morpeth 1701 and 1705-1713, and for Appleby 1713-1723, died unmarried 1723; succ by his only sister Mary (d.1745), wife of Robert Honywood, father of General Philip Honywood (qv) (letter to Sir Daniel Fleming re election, dated at Kendal, 21 December 1700, in CRO, WD/Ry/ HMC 5597) (CWMP, 433); Burke, Genealogical and Heraldic History of Extinct Baronetcies p.467

Sandford, R (17xx-1839), clergyman, incumbent of Crook for 40 years, marr Margaret (died 14 January 1849, aged 74), 2 sons (Robert (died 9 November 1828, aged 21) and Allan (died 21 June 1835, aged 23)), died 19 November 1839, aged 65 (WCN, ii, 310)

Sandford, William (d.1730), last of Askham Hall, died s.p.m.s. and buried at Askham, 14 October 1730; estates passed to his eldest dau Mildred and her husband, William Tatham (qv), while his 3rd dau and coheir, Elizabeth, was mother of Henry Marsden (qv), of Gisburn and Wennington Halls

Sandys family of Graythwaite, West, Antiquities of Furness, ms volume with a section written by each owner of the hall for several generations, ref G. Stebbs [?]

Sandys, Edwin (1519?-1588; ODNB), archbishop of York, born at Esthwaite Hall, Hawkshead, 5th of seven sons of William Sandys (d.1548), founder of Hawkshead Grammar School, advocated succession of Lady Jane Grey and imprisoned in Tower by Mary I, escaped to continent but recalled by Elizabeth I, later bishop of Worcester, one of translators of Bishop’s Bible in 1572 (portrait in oil on panel in NPG) (CC (AH) 4); erected elaborate tombs to his parents at Hawkshead, buried Southwell Minster  

Sandys, Sir Edwin (1561-1629; ODNB), politician and colonial administrator, bap Hartlebury castle, Worcester, son of the archbishop, educ Merchant Taylors and Corpus Christi, Oxford, prebend of York (via father’s gift, but he was not ordained), called to the bar Middle Temple, MP for four constituencies, travelled 1593-99, a founder of the Virginia Company, a parish in Bermuda named after him, paid court to James I and knighted by him, married four times,

Sandys, George (1578-1644; ODNB), writer and traveller, born Bishopsthorpe, son of the archbishop, visited Virginia, Venice, Constantinople, Cairo and Jerusalem, portrait by Cornelius Janson

Sandys, George Owen (1884-1973), DL, JP, landowner, Lieut-Colonel, High Sheriff of Lancashire 1925, succ his cousin, Col T M Sandys (qv), at Graythwaite Hall, lay rector, died at Wilbraham Place (Flat 6), Chelsea, aged 88, and buried at Hawkshead, 19 March 1973; wife Dulcie Edythe Angela also died in Chelsea, aged 78, and buried with him in Sandys family vault at Hawkshead, 4 May 1973

Sandys, Mervyn Edwyn Myles (1915-1995), JP, army officer, landowner, only son of Lt-Col George Owen Sandys (qv), of Graythwaite Hall, High Sheriff of Lancashire 1953, president of Cartmel Agricultural Society for 1962, marr Helen Ann, dau of Lt Col James Gordon Ramsay DSO of Renfrewshire, died in March 1995

Sandys, Myles (d.1716), DL, JP, landowner, entailed estate on his grandson Myles (qv) in 1713, buried in Sandys choir in Hawkshead church, 23 February 1716

Sandys, Myles (1696-1766), DL, JP, landowner, bapt at Hawkshead, 20 June 1696, er son of Thomas Sandys, of Esthwaite, and Anne, dau and heiress of last Myles Sandys (qv), of Graythwaite Hall, succ to Graythwaite estates on death of his maternal grandfather in 1716, marr (17xx) Isabel (buried at Hawkshead, 30 April 1748), dau of James Penny, of Penny Bridge, 7 sons (yst son, George, officer in Army, died 9 January 1795, aged 59, and his widow Elizabeth died 1 December 1805, aged 82 (MI in St Mary’s churchyard, Ulverston)) and 3 daus, received Captain’s commission in 1713, comd a company of Militia under Sir Henry Hoghton in 1716, High Sheriff of Lancashire in 1725-26, DL 1713, 1745, 1757 and 1760, JP for many years, died 29 April 1766 and buried at Hawkshead, 9 May

Sandys, Samuel (1612-1651), bapt at Hawkshead, 14 July 1612, son of Edwin Sands and grandson of Anthony Sands (yr bro of Archbishop Edwin Sandys, qv), marr Dorothy (to whom her brother Thomas Braithwaite (qv) conveyed part of his Ambleside property; not buried at Hawkshead, 18 July 1643 [as acc to Joseph Foster] but as ‘of Amblsid widow’ at Grasmere, 20 November 1677), dau of Gawen Braithwaite (qv), of Ambleside, sons (eldest, Samuel (bapt 24 December 1635(?), died ‘at his brother Brookes house in Ambleside’, unm, and buried at Grasmere, 24 May 1680; William (bapt 28 September 1645, decd) and yr William (bapt 16 July 1648, died ‘at an Alehouse in Ambleside after a long sickness’, 25 August 1687, and buried at Hawkshead, 26 August), and dau Bridget (bapt at Hawkshead, 12 February 1649/50, marr Christopher Brooks, surgeon, of Ambleside), of Gray’s Inn and of Esthwaite, buried in chancel of Hawkshead church, 12 March 1651 (FiO, i, 16, 486-87, 502; ii, 381)

Sandys, Thomas Myles (1837-1911), DL, JP, landowner, Colonel, MP, Graythwaite Hall remodelled in c.1840 and again by R Knill Freeman in 1887-1890, employed T H Mawson to carry out a ‘comprehensive scheme for the improvement of the gardens and park’ at Graythwaite in 1889 (until c.1912), so that grounds were arranged ‘to get as much of picturesque effect and at the same time to involve as little labour as possible’ (Gardeners’ Chronicle, 1890) (CRO, WDB 86/rolls 49, M4, 240, photos, etc), member of Thirlmere Defence Association from 1877

Sandys, William (1493-c.1558), ironmaster, of Colton Hall, son of George Sandys and Margaret Curwen, owned Conishead estate from 1548, Receiver General of Furness, he was detested, murdered at Conishead in c.1558, altar tomb Ulverston parish church

Sandys, William (16xx-1659), of Graythwaite, buried in Hawkshead Church, 27 November 1659; wife Isabell also buried in church, 5 April 1659

Sankey, Edward (fl.1890s-1930s), photographer, Barrow-in-Furness, 15,000 negatives exist in the family archive, his son Raymond continued as a photographer until the 1960s; Stephen F. Kelley, Victorian Lakeland Photographers, 1991; project from 2019 in Barrow to restore and publicise this collection, via Signal Films, Barrow, collection in CRO

Sankey, Raymond (fl.1920s-1960s), photographer, son of the above

Sargent, John Grant (fl.1854-64), bobbin maker and writer, Cockermouth; Boase iii 415

Sargent, Malcolm (1895-1967) Kt., conducted at the Mary Wakefield Festival

Sarginson, Tom (1870-1951), journalist and editor, started as a compositor on the Penrith Herald before gradually moving over to journalism, wrote ‘Notes and Comments’ column for 54 years from 1896, acting editor in 1903 and editor from 1913 until his death, known as ‘Silverpen’, one of five journalists invited to represent the provincial press at the coronation of George VI in 1937, died December 1951, aged 81

Sartain, Donald (1937-after 2006), theatre manager, began acting at Tonbridge where he established his first Renaissance Theatre Company, then as manager at Lyme Regis, then having secured a lease of Her Majesty’s Theatre at Barrow with John Tovey (qv) and others, [Sartain refers to Joe Curry father of John Curry (qv) as the owner] rented the building for £30 per week and ran the company for several successful seasons from 1958 until 1964, the theatre in Albert St, ‘a gem of 1864’ was originally the Theatre Royal, though by then semi-derelict, had 1500 seats, boxes and a lavishly appointed interior, the discovery of this neglected beauty was to Sartain ‘enough to make you weep’, opened in January 1958 with a weekly then fortnightly repertory company, a wide ranging programme included Ibsen and Arden with Antigone in April 1962 with Charmian May (qv) and Macbeth with Bernard Gallagher (qv), included shows for children, pantomime and a memorable visit of the marionette Muffin the Mule, the company members were also involved in theatre in education, remarkably the rise of television in the 1950s did not impinge upon audience numbers, one major highlight was the ‘Shakespeare season’ of Hamlet and The Merchant of Venice for the bard’s 400th anniversary, for which he had constructed a ‘Globe Theatre’ on stage, (Derek Goldby (b.1940), a young director at Her Majesty’s, later directed the first production of Stoppard’s Rosencrantz and Guildenstern and later worked on Broadway, Richard Hammond (qv) was Sartain’s designer, John Tovey (qv) did the books), Barrow and Furness community provided loyal and supportive audiences, but the building continued to deteriorate, the company managed on their own resources with modest assistance from Vickers, the local authority and the Arts Council, a campaign to save the theatre was in vain, productions continued until 1967 and the building was demolished in January 1972, Sartain went on in early 1965 to be the manager of the theatre at Dundee and then of the Young Vic in London, he inspired the Renaissance Trust, based in Ulverston, which, via Norah Seddon, Christine Denmead (qqv) and others was energetic in running subsequent cultural events in Furness; he read at the memorial service at St Paul’s Covent Garden for Charmian May in 2003; a transcript of an interview with him (2006) is in the BL

Satchell, John Eric (1923-2003), biologist and local historian, b. Blaby, Leicester, son of Frederick M. Satchell (1883-1963), bookseller, and his wife Beatrice Mary Swift (1895-1962), dau of George Swift (b.1869) lithographic artist, PhD London on soil science and later researched earthworms having one named after him, edited many scientific papers and chaired conferences, a researcher at Merlewood, Grange-over-Sands, (the house built by Alfred Binyon (qv)), established for research by the Nature Conservancy, later the Institute of Terrestrial Ecology in 1953, (activities moved to Lancaster university in 2003, now self catering apartments), very active Chairman, Kendal Civic Society, saved Collin Croft and the Shakespeare Theatre, initiated Greenside limekiln project, fought for the saving of Kendal Canal, trustee of Newland Furnace, author of Kendal on Tenterhooks (1984), The Kendal Weaver (1986), Christopher Wilson of Kendal, an Eighteenth Century Hosier and Banker (with Olive Wilson) (1988), Family Album: Edwardian Life in the Lake Counties (1998), and Kendal’s Canal: History, Industry and People (2000), his notes on the Kendal Yards revised and published for Kendal Civic Society by Arthur Nicholls and Trevor Hughes in 2017, organized 45 blue plaques in Kendal, an ‘inspirational genius’ and according to John Marsh (qv) the Museum of Lakeland Life and Industry at Abbot Hall was his idea, editor of Quarto, Abbot Hall Gallery’s quarterly journal for several years, also ran an antique shop in retirement, marr (by 1955) Sheila Mary (funeral at Kendal Parish Church, 22 February 2016), celebration of his life in town hall 28 September, 2 sons (Justin and Mark) and 1 daughter (Caroline), of 3 Greenside, Kendal (1955), Castle Road, Kendal, Draw Well, Crosthwaite, died aged 80, obit. Westmorland Gazette 31 August 2003

Satterthwaite, Gilbert (1934-2013), astronomer, b Norwich, educ Weymouth GS, employed Pergamon Press, adult eduction lecturer, taught optics at Imperial College, vice chair Society of the History of Astronomy; obit Spring 2014 SHA bulletin; J of British Astronomical Association Feb 2014 vol 1 no 124, 52

Satterthwaite, Revd James (c.1773-1827), MA, DD, clergyman, son of Colonel James Clarke Satterthwaite (qv), of Cockermouth, educ Eton (with Dr Davies) and St John’s College, Cambridge (pensioner, 12 November 1791, aged 19, matric 1792, scholar 1794), migrated to Jesus College (thence BA 1796, MA 1799, DD 1815, and fellow 1795-1806), domestic chaplain to Lord Lowther 1802, rector of Whicham 1804-1813, of Bootle 1807-1813, of Lowther 1813-1827, and of Aikton 1814-1827, served two terms as mayor of Appleby in 1815-16 and 1822-23, governor of St Bees School, advising Lord Lonsdale at time of mineral lease affair in 1814 against further discussion with William Wilson (letter to Lonsdale, 5 April 1814, in CRO, D/Lons) and also advised on appointment of a new governor, thereby upholding the Lonsdale interest, until his death, said to be worth £100,000 (‘We don’t know how he could have so much, and we don’t know how he could hoard at all in the face of certain texts one might quote, about Christianity and Mammon’, LC, 72), died at Lowther Rectory, aged 54, and buried at Lowther, 3 December 1827; his coheirs were his nieces (TC, III, xx; CW2, lxxxiii, 165; LC, 72)

Satterthwaite, James Clarke (c.1742-1825), JP, politician and magistrate, nephew of James Satterthwaite, of Helm, Undermillbeck (will pr 1800), receiver-general for Cumberland for nearly 30 years (at time when county finances were audited in the parlours of the Bush at Carlisle and the Globe at Cockermouth over wine and walnuts), chairman of Cumberland Quarter Sessions for many years (prior to Major Aglionby), said to have great influence in appointment of magistrates, member of court house committee in Carlisle from 1807 until it was disbanded in 1818 before the new courts were completed, MP for Cockermouth 1784-1790, elected for Carlisle with Edward Knubley (qv) in 1790 with aid of ‘mushroom’ votes, but unseated on petition (and replaced by J C Curwen and Wilson Braddyll), then MP for Haslemere 1791-1802, one of Lord Lonsdale’s staunchest supporters (‘Nine-pins’), stayed with James Boswell (qv) on visit to Lowther Hall at Christmas 1787, then on to Whitehaven Castle, Lieut-Colonel in Cumberland Militia, of Papcastle and Arkleby Hall (later sold to Lowther), later becoming tenant of Wordsworth House, Cockermouth, marr Jane (died 1818, aged 74), 1 son (James, qv), died in 1825, aged 83 (CWPM, 433; CW2, lxx, 208, 217; lxxxi, 117)

Satterthwaite, John (1743-1807), of Castle Park, Lancaster, son of Benjamin Satterthwaite (1718-1792), of Lancaster, bought joint manors of Rigmaden and Mansergh from Margaret (nee Mawdesley), wife of John Wilson Robinson (qv), on 28 October 1784 (later sold to Christopher Wilson, of Kendal in 1821)

Saul, George Hodgson (1837-1911), sculptor, yr son of Silas Saul (qv), did not follow family profession as solicitor, but trained and worked in Italy as sculptor, professor of sculpture at Florence, exhibited at Royal Academy and Grosvenor Gallery, lived at Crosby Lodge for 20 years later in life (surviving sketch of Lodge) (CL, Jan 2011)

Saunders, John (fl.late 18thc.), nurseryman, of Keswick, introduced ‘Keswick codlin’ type of apple at end of 18th century

Saunders, JT, freshwater biologist, taught zoology at Cambridge, set up the first freshwater biological course there by 1925, (ran Easter courses at Wray Castle soon afterwards, in 1933 attended by TT Macan (qv)), became the co-founder of the Freshwater Biological Association at Windermere in 1929 with WH Pearsall (and who), established laboratories at Wray Castle in 1931, the FBA moved in 1950 to Ferry House, among his papers are ‘The Measurement of the Carbon Dioxide Output of Freshwater Animals by means of Indicators’, Biol Rev vol 1, 44

Saunders, Samuel (16xx-1741), master of Sedbergh School

Saunders, W A F (fl.late 19thc), defeated Conservative candidate in Lancaster in 1859 and Kendal, address to electors, 4 February 1874 (CRO, WDX 413/18)

Savage, Arthur (?1622-1701), MA, clergyman, poss son of John Savage, of Wootton Hall, Salop, poss matric St John’s College, Oxford , 16 March 1637/8, aged 16 years, marr (Mrs Savage buried at Caldbeck, 29 April 1685), son (Richard, qv), dispossessed as rector of Brougham in 1644, restored in 1647, profits of rectory being sequestered from him in 1649, ejected again in 1655 and restored again in 1660, made prebendary of second stall at Carlisle 1660 (petition in June 1660 for place void by death of Frederick Tunstall, qv), resigned Brougham in 1664 on being collated by Bishop Sterne to rectory of Caldbeck, particularly aggressive against Quakers, intimate friend of Sir Philip Musgrave (qv), ‘lived many years in his house, taught his children, and did ye offices of a Minister of God’s word’ (Life of Sir P M by Gilbert Burton, p.34), instrumental in taking the library of Henry Hutton (qv), of Long Marton,  into possession of dean and chapter, forming the foundation of its library, held Caldbeck from 1663 until his death in 1701, which had been ‘long expected’, dying ‘about three a clock this morning’ (5 March 1700/1), acc to letter from George Fleming to his father (CRO, WD/Ry/ HMC 5651), and buried at Caldbeck (NB, i, 392; ECW, i, 177-78, 371, 375, 553, 1149, 1247-48; FiO, iii, 394-95)

Savage, Ernest Urmson (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Pembroke College, Cambridge (BA 1900, MA 1904), d 1901 and p 1903 (Liv), asst chaplain, Mersey Mission to Seamen 1901-1914, licence to preach, dio Chester 1903-1914, vicar of Levens 1914-1921, domestic chaplain and secretary to bishop of Carlisle 1921-1924, vicar of Raughton Head with Gatesgill 1924-1927, vicar of Barbon 1927-1934, vicar of Ings 1934-1937, retd to Fell Close, Nether Staveley, 1938, decd by 1948

Savage, Richard (16xx-1674), BA, clergyman, son of Revd Arthur Savage (qv), of Caldbeck, educ Cambridge (BA 1660), ordained deacon (25 September 1670) and priest (21 September 1673), instituted to Thursby on following day and inducted on 6 October, but only held living for a year, died and buried at Caldbeck, 4 April 1674 (ECW, i, 544

Savage, Richard (1853-1905), organist and choir master, worked for James Cropper (qv), from 1870 conducted Burneside choral society (HPCB, 99-100)

Savage, Sidney (1862-1947), clergyman, b South Africa, educ New College, Eastbourne, University College, London and Magdalen College, Oxford, vicar of St Mark’s Barrow, Hexham abbey and St Bartholomew the Great, London, marr 1st Jane McEwan and 2nd Sibil Farrar, dau of dean Farrar of Canterbury whose sister was General Montgomery; David Jennings, biography, Hexham Local History Society

Savage, Thomas (1675-1754), Quaker, born 1675, son of Thomas Savage, of Clifton, marr (1699) Alice Hadwen, of Kendal, his house in Clifton where duke of Cumberland lodged on night of 18-19 December 1745 after skirmish of Clifton Moor, gave account of battle in letter to Richard Partridge, dated 29 December 1745, also copy of his letter to Samuel Fothergill, Warrington, dated 22 [December/Jan.46?] 1745, with copy of narrative of battle by Thomas Savage, (papers in CRO, WD/PW/3/23)

Savory, Sir Joseph (1843-1921), 1st Bt., DL, JP, born 23 July 1843, eldest son of Joseph Savory (1808-1879) and his wife (marr 26 October 1841) Mary Caroline (died 7 January 1887), dau of Isaac Braithwaite I (qv), educ Harrow School (entd 1858), but did not go on to university as he then joined father and uncle in the business at Cornhill, family moved to Buckhurst Park, Ascot in 1864, began to take part in City concerns from 1881, Sheriff of London and Middlesex 1882-1883, Lord Mayor of London 1890-91, MP for Westmorland 1892-1900, company director, governor and trustee of many bodies, Lord of Manor of Murton, cr Baronet 1891, admitted an Honorary Freeman of Borough of Kendal on 10 September 1892, sent letter of resignation from Court of Aldermen after 37 years on 5 September 1920 (Alderman of Bridge-Without from 1898 and of Langbourn 1883-1898), marr (26 July 1888) Helen P Leach (who published her Memoir of Joseph Savory in 1928), died s.p. at Buckhurst Park, 1 October 1921, aged 78, and buried in family vault in Winkfield churchyard after service at Sunningdale parish church, 5 October, followed by memorial service at St Mary Woolnoth, 6 October

Sawrey family, monastic tenants in Hawkshead and Coniston involved in early iron industry and farming; West, Antiquities of Furness

Sawrey, Anne (d.1769), heiress of Graythwaite and Plumpton, marr 1723 Bacon Morritt of York and Rokeby Park (Hudleston (W))

Sawrey, Isaac (1766-1833), butcher of Hawkshead, son of John Sawrey (qv), lived Walker Ground, Coniston, later of Liverpool, marr three times, his 1st wife Elizabeth Scott (1768-1791) was the mother of his daughter Margaret (qv) married Joseph Parker of the Low Hill Coffee House, West Derby, Liverpool (qv), his 2nd wife was Agnes Gasgarth (1763-1813) dau of John Gasgarth of Grasmere and his 3rd wife was Elizabeth Beach (b.1771) of Liverpool

Sawrey, John (1732-1799), butcher of Hawkshead, son of Peter Sawrey (qv), sold meat to Ann Tyson (qv) (in whose house the Wordsworth brothers lived when at the Grammar School), marr Margaret Dodgson (1737-1786), among their children were Isaac Sawrey (qv), and Agnes Sawrey who married the Rev Rowland Bowstead (qv); TW Thompson, Hawkshead

Sawrey, John (d.1665), puritan justice; lived Plumpton Hall, Ulverston, bitter opponent of George Fox and the Quakers, drowned crossing the sands

Sawrey, Margaret (1789-1870), d. of Isaac Sawrey (qv), born in Hawkshead, lived Walker Ground, moved to Liverpool with her father and her stepmother Agnes, marr Joseph Parker (qv) of the Low Hill Coffee House, West Derby, Liverpool, their daughter Elizabeth marr Henry Heys (qv) at St Andew’s Penrith in 1842

Sawrey, Peter (1698-1793), mercer of Hawkshead, lived at nearby Gallowbarrow, marr Isabel Townson, father of John Sawrey (qv), Hawkshead, had shares in the Williamson and the Dallam Tower out of Whitehaven, in old age sold sweets on account to the boys at the grammar school including theWordsworths (Anne Tyson account book (qv)), his will, TW Thompson, Hawkshead

Sawrey, Roger (d.1718), chamberlain of the city of York, established a bible charity for Ulverston

Sawyer, Harold Athelstane Parry (1865-1939), MA, clergyman and headmaster, born 13 January 1865, 3rd son of Right Revd William Collinson Sawyer, DD, Bishop of Grafton and Armidale, New South Wales, educ Magdalen College School and Queen’s College, Oxford (Senior Scholar and tabedar, excelled at cricket and rugby), assistant master, St Dunstan’s College, Catford, London 1889-1892, assistant master and house tutor, Highgate School 1892-1903, headmaster of St Bees School 1903-1916 (more than trebling the numbers attending the school), hon canon of Carlisle 1916, Headmaster of Shrewsbury School 1916-1932 (succ Dr Cyril Alington), retired after celebration of jubilee of school’s removal from its original site in the town to its position on the heights, chaplain and fellow of Corpus Christi College, Oxford from 1933, hon fellow of Queen’s College 1932, select preacher, Cambridge University 1926 and Oxford University 1927, marr (1919) Gladys Vere, er dau of John Richmond Smith, of Flaxton, Yorkshire, no issue, died at his home, Morwenstow, Marley Common, Haslemere, Surrey, 15 June 1939, aged 74, and cremated at Woking after funeral at Bramshott Church, Liphook

Sawyers, Frank (1902-1972; DCB), Churchill’s wartime valet, b. Carlisle 27 August 1902, son of William Sawyers (1861-1933) a chemical labourer and Williamine Ainslie (1862-1932), valet to Sir William Lowther Lysley until 1939, marr Carlisle Ellen Simpson in 1937, no children, estranged by 1939, employed by Churchill for six years 1939-46, was at Yalta,  Stalin raised a glass to him, Defence Medal 1945, valet to Sir John Kennedy governor of Rhodesia 1947-53, then Lord Astor, then the Winthrops of New York and finally to Leon Mandel of Chicago, ret to Carlisle by 1970, ‘the saintly Sawyers’ died 1972; see Jon Pearson, Citadel of the Heart: Winston and the Churchill Dynasty, 1993

Sayer, John (18xx-19xx), parish official, clerk to Kirkby Stephen parish council, assistant overseer for Kirkby Stephen and Hartley, income tax collector for Kirkby Stephen and district, accountant for both Auction Marts in Kirkby Stephen, organist to Kirkby Stephen parish church and ‘professor of music’, of 65 High Street, Kirkby Stephen (1905, 06), also clerk to Kirkby Stephen sub-committee of Westmorland Local Pensions Committee (1910, 14, 21)

Sayer, W (fl.mid 19thc.), author of ‘Sayer’s History of Westmorland’, printed by W Sayer, Stricklandgate, Kendal, and by Partridge and Oakey, 34 Paternoster Row, London, ‘containing the substance of all the remarkable events recorded by Burn & Nicolson, together with a variety of interesting and useful information from ancient mss never before published, with illustrations by Thomas Gilks’ in 2 volumes (Vol. I, 1847, Vol. II, 1848)

Scaife, Henry Wilkinson (1851-19xx), clergyman, born in Wet Sleddale, Shap, educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1867, aged 16, and left October 1871) and St John’s College, Cambridge (Jun Opt 1875), curate of Mottram-in-Longdendale 1875-1877, of St Margaret, Dunham Massey 1877-1878, and of Witton St Mark, Lancs 1878-1880, vicar of Mardale 1880-1882, then went to America (1895) (SSR, 262)

Scales, Thomas Jackson (c.1815-1844), solicitor, born at Kendal, educ Sedbergh School (entd January 1832, aged 17, left June 1832), solicitor at Ambleside and Whitehaven, later held Post Office appt in Hong Kong, died of fever in 1844 (SSR, 190)

Scambler, Richard (1781-1820), surgeon, born at Burton (Botton) Head near Lower Bentham, in 1781 and bapt at Hornby, 13 October 1782, son of William Scambler and Elizabeth (nee Middleton), educ Wray School in Hornby parish, apprenticed to Dr [Robert] Bickersteth (qv), of Kirkby Lonsdale (later of Liverpool), attended course of lectures on anatomy and set up in practice in Hawkshead in place of Dr [Charles] Robinson (qv) in about 1804, moved to Ambleside after about two years and practised there (surgery at Walton Mount) until his death, marr (? not at Middleton or Hawkshead) Alice (bapt 18 March 1781), 2nd dau of William and Alice Bownass, of Middleton-in-Lonsdale, 5 sons and 3 daus (all bapt at Grasmere but for eldest son, William (qv) at Hawkshead), well respected and charitable (though not so well regarded by William Green), died 9 September 1820, aged 38, and buried at Ambleside, 15 September; widow of Walton Cottage, Ambleside in 1829 (LM, i, 553; CW2, xci, 205)

Scambler, William Middleton (1805-18xx), surgeon, born at Hawkshead, 1 April 1805, bapt privately there on 28 April and bapt publicly at Ambleside, 28 September 1806, eldest son of Richard Scambler (qv), practising as surgeon in Over Staveley in 1829

Scammell, William (1939-2000), poet and extra-mural organiser, b. Hythe near Southampton, son of a plumber, (brother Michael Scammell [b.1935], biographer, translator and academic in USA), photographer on the RMS Queen Elizabeth and RMS Queen Mary, as mature student took his degree at Bristol, teacher of adults in the WEA and later organiser in Cockermouth, then Cumbria staff tutor in Literature for extra mural department Newcastle university, m. Jackie, two sons, won a £2000 Cholmondeley prize 1982, div and married 2nd wife Jan and lived Aspatria, publications include Jouissance (1985), Bleeding Hart Yard (1992) and Barnacle Bill (1994), he also edited New Lake Poets (1991) which grew from a poetry workshop at Keswick shared with Chris Pilling (qv), ed the festschrift Between Comets for Norman Nicholson’s 70th anniversary, ed Winter Pollen (1994) a collection of prose by Ted Hughes, another friend, d 2000 bur Bromfield, near Wigton; obit. Guardian 13.12.2000; West Gaz 8 Mar 2001; plaque on former home at Hythe

Scarisbrick, Thomas (17xx-1869), organist, apptd organist of Holy Trinity parish church, Kendal on 21 December 1822, succ David Jackson (qv), a post he held until his death on 26 February 1869 (CW1, xvi, 197)

Scarrow, Thomas (fl.1810-1833), artist, Cockermouth School, Mary Burkett

Schmidt, E H de (fl.early 20thc.), chief of police Carlisle at the time of a visit by George V 1917 (like the royal family who changed their name from Saxe-Coburg-Gotha to Windsor, he changed his name to anglicised XXX)

Schneider, Henry William (1817-1887; ODNB), DL, JP, industrialist and politician, of Oak Lea, Hawcoat, Barrow-in-Furness (built in 1874) and of Belsfield, Windermere (built by Baroness de Sternberg (qv)), started iron works near Ormsgill Nook, Barrow, as Messrs Schneider, Hannay & Co in 1859, later Barrow Haematite Iron and Steel and Mining Co, limited company from 1866, and Mousell Mines at High Haume and Haverslack Hill, Old Hills, Whitriggs, and Marton (GF, 33-34), erected Working Men’s Club and Institute in Abbey Road, Barrow, at cost of £3,450 to designs of H A Darbishire, of London, in 1870, never a good friend of Revd Thomas Stanniforth (qv), of Storrs, which he steered clear of when sailing to Belsfield from Lakeside in the Esperance, marr 1st (14 September 1842, at Urswick) Augusta (died 18 January 1862, aged 41), dau of Richard Smith, of Bankfield, Urswick, 3 sons, marr 2nd (1864) Elizabeth (died on holiday at Dresden, Germany, 12 June 1881, aged 50, and buried in Bowness cemetery, 18 June), 4 daus, died at Belsfield, 11 November 1887, aged 72, and buried in Bowness cemetery, 15 November; bronze statue in Schneider Square, Barrow, Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 132-3; memorial window to Augusta in north aisle of St Mary’s church, Dalton (A G Banks, 1984)

Schnibben, William Mangels (18xx-1894), clergyman, trained at St Bees 1845, d 1847 and p 1848 (Carl), curate of Wigton 1847-1852, curate of Bromfield 1852-1870, vicar of Wigton 1870-1880, rural dean of Wigton 1876-1880, vicar of Christ Church, Penrith 1880-1893, died at Southport, 13 October 1894 (memorial window by Heaton, Butler & Bayne in south aisle of St Mary’s church, Wigton)

Schollick, EJ (1825-1908), shipbuilder, inherited Aldingham Hall from the Rev Stonard (qv), made philanthriopic donations, established a boatyard at Canal Foot, Ulverston, built six vessels, John Stonard (1856) and vessels named after other Stonards and finally Frederick Stonard (1861), John Stonard sailed from Greenock to Le Havre in 84 hours, a major achievement under sail and a testament not only to the crew but also the boatyard which by 1864 was owned by John Wilson; Jennifer Snell, Ulverston Canal, 54-5

Schon, Frank, Baron Schon (1912-1995), industrialist, born in Vienna, became refugee from Austria after Nazi takeover and moved to London, began small industrial enterprise in Whitehaven in 1940 in a garage with Fred Marzillier (qv) and five men producing firelighters with sawdust and combustible materials, from 1949 Solway sulphuric acid and from 1953 sodium tripolyphosphate, general director of Marschon Products, made hon freeman of borough of Whitehaven on 23 March 1961 in recognition of way in which their industry had revitalised local community, 1963 detergent, 1969 exported to France, 1972 to Spain and Italy and eventually Australia and India, Queen’s Award for Exports, became the largest exporter of sulphuric acid in Europe, employed 2500 men at their peak, knighted 1966, ennobled 1972; obit. Independent 12.1.1995; AW Routledge, Marschon, 2005

Schulenberg, Ermengarde Melusina, baroness von der, duchess of Kendal (1667-1743; ODNB), Royal mistress, born 25 December 1677, at Emden, dau of Gustavus Adolphus, baron von der Schulenberg, PC to Elector of Brandenburg, maid of honour to Sophia, Electress of Hanover, mother of George I, whose mistress she became at an early age and continued so to his death in 1727, accompanying him to England in 1714, cr. baroness of Dundalk, countess and Marchioness of Dungannon and duchess of Munster (I), 18 July 1716, and baroness of Glastonbury, countess of Feversham and  duchess of Kendal, for life, 19 March 1719, also cr. princess of Eberstein by Emperor, 1 January 1723, resided mainly at Kendal House, Isleworth, Middlesex, had 2 daus by King (Petronille Melusine (b.1693, d.16 September 1778), cr. countess of Walsingham 1722 and wife of Philip, 4th earl of Chesterfield, and Margaret Gertrude (b.1703, d. 11 November 1773), wife of count von Lippe), died 10 May 1743 (coat of arms as engraved by T Cook, coloured by Hogarth and published by Longman, Hurst, Rees & Orme, 1 July 1809) 

Schwartz, Martin (fl.later 15thc), mercenary colonel, fought for Maximilian I king of the Romans, poached by Margaret queen of Burgundy to be the leader of the 200 (some sources say 2000) German and Swiss mercenaries who supported Lambert Simnel (qv) the Yorkist pretender to the throne (qv), they landed at Piel Castle, Rampside (now Barrow) on 5 June 1487, his name is said to have been the origin of Swarthmoor, near Ulverston, the site of an early skirmish, he died with John de la Pole (the 1st earl of Lincoln), Thomas FitzGerald, Francis Lovell and 7000 English, Irish and German men at the battle of Stoke Field, near Nottingham, on 16 June 1487; Nathen Amin, Henry VII and the Tudor Pretenders: Simnel, Warbeck and Warwick, 2020

Schwitters, Kurt (1887-1948; ODNB), artist, prominent in Dada movement, born in Hanover, Germany, 20 June 1887, successful in Germany until exhibited at the Entartete Kunst show, his original Merzbau construction started in Hanover in 1923 in his own house but lost to bombing in 1943, left Hanover and his wife Helma in January 1937 for Oslo near where he made his second Merzbau (burned by children) but interned after Nazi invasion in April 1940, fled to Scotland on release in June but interned again on Isle of Man, until released in November 1941, moved to London but after a stroke during the Blitz came to Lake District to convalesce in September 1942, his wife died in 1944, returning to Ambleside permanently in 1945 with a companion Edith Thomas (aka ‘Wantee’), very prolific period with over 600 catalogued works, creator of his third Merzbau) in a barn in Langdale belonging to Harry Pierce (removed with considerable difficulty to Hatton Gallery, Newcastle University in July 1965), exhibited at Lakes Artists’ Society at Grasmere in 1947, in poor health and short of money, granted British citizenship on 7 January 1948, but died the following day in Westmorland General Hospital, Kendal, 8 January 1948 and buried in Ambleside churchyard, 10 January, and re-buried in Hanover in 1970 (Cumbria, January 2018, 52-57); exhibition ‘The Ambleside Legacy’ at Armitt Trust in 2017, work at Abbot Hall (notably Flight) and the Armitt (notably Portrait of Dr George Ainslie Johnson (qv)), catalogue raisonne by Werner Schmalenbach (1984)

Scoresby, William Jr. (1789-1857), whaler, The Arctic Whaling Journals of, ed. Ian Jackson, Yale, published Hackluyt Society; (mss dated 1811-1820); William Scoresby Routledge (qv) named after him

Scott family of Carlisle, of the Hudson Scott firm, several generations below including Sir Benjamin (qv)

Scott family of Kendal, founders of Provincial Insurance, claim descent from Jean Scotte of 1570 who was ennobled by Charles III of Lorraine several generations below including Sir James Bt

Scott, Sir Benjamin (1841-1927), JP, mayor of Carlisle, son of Hudson Scott (d.1891), took over management of firm with his brother William Hudson Scott in 1868, m Sarah Hope dau of Joseph Hope wine merchant of Carisle qv, one dau, six times Mayor of Carlisle, knighted in 1904, of Linden House, Stanwix, Carlisle (CN, 24.02.2012)

Scott, Brian (1935-2012), BA, clergyman and schoolmaster, born in 1935, younger son of George Scott, of Hoylake, and his wife Rose, his elder brother Dennis killed in action serving with RAF in WW2, educ Kingsmead preparatory school, Hoylake, and St Bees School (Grindal House 1948-53; cricket 1st XI for three seasons, spin bowler, vice-captain, captain of cross-country VIII 1953, head librarian, sergeant in CCF), did his two-years’ national service with Cheshire Regiment, being commissioned at Eaton Hall OCS in 1954, then to Corpus Christi College, Oxford in 1955 (BA 1958, 2nd cl modern history), studied for holy orders at the Community of the Resurrection at Mirfield, Yorkshire from 1959, ordained deacon by bishop Graham at Carlisle Cathedral 1962 and curate of Christ Church with St Aidan’s, Carlisle 1961-1962, assistant master at Hutton Grammar School, Preston 1963-1965 till ordained priest at Leicester Cathedral in 1965, then at City of Leicester Boys’School 1965-1970, perm to offic, dio Leicester 1965-1967 and lic to offic 1967-1970 (assisting in parishes of Ratby and Groby, also helped his father-in-law at Launde Abbey diocesan retreat house and surrounding parishes), vicar of All Saints, Lubbenham 1970-1978 and c-in-c of Theddingworth, Market Harborough 1971-1978, asst chaplain of Oundle School and Laxton School, Northants 1978-1983, rector of St Peter’s, Barrowden and Wakerley with St Mary’s, South Luffenham, dio Peterborough 1983-1999, retired to village of Preston in Rutland, marr (1968) Susan Mary , dau of Revd C V B Haddelsey, warden of Launde Abbey, Leics, 2 daus (Clare and Madeleine), inspirational teacher with zany sense of humour, diagnosed with oesophagal cancer in December 2011 and died in Leicester Infirmary, 3 April 2012, aged 76, with funeral at Uppingham church, 20 April (OSB, No.183, January 2013, 41-44)

Scott, Daniel (1861-1930), journalist and local historian, born at Wakefield in 1861, served apprenticeship in journalism there, worked with a press agency in Manchester, then came to Cumberland as member of staff of West Cumberland Times, acquired interest in historical and archaeological matters, left to become editor of Hertfordshire Advertiser, but returned in 1889 to be editor of the Penrith Observer, remaining until his death, wrote articles on local history and folklore over signature of ‘Northerner’, author of Bygone Cumberland and Westmorland (1899), The Stricklands of Sizergh Castle (1908), History of Penrith Church: A Bi-Centenary Sketch (1922) and The Story of the Beacon (Penrith) (both reprinted articles from the Penrith Observer), the Cumberland and Westmorland edition of Methuen’s Guides, and many pamphlets on archaeological subjects, member of CWAAS from 1908, Council from 1916 and Parish Register Committee from 1918, frequent attender on Society excursions, many articles in Transactions, inc the Clifford muniments (CW2, xviii, 189-210), Millrigg (CW2, xxvii, 178-183), compiled An Index-Catalogue to the Transactions, Vols 1 to 12 (1915), also compiled detailed Index to Nicolson and Burn’s History, but unpublished at time of his death and later revised and abridged for publication by CWAAS by Henry Hornyold-Strickland (qv), of 13 Brunswick Square, Penrith, died at Penrith after long illness, 6 January 1930 (CW2, xxx, 235-36)

Scott, Donald George (1937-2011), entertainer, born in Carlisle but his mother died a few hours later, marr, 3 sons, ever the performer and showman, raising people’s spirits, great friend of Mary Simpson (who died many years before), died 29 December 2011, aged 74, and cremated at Carlisle, 5 January 2012, followed by service at St Cuthbert’s, Carlisle (Alan Air, Over the Garden Wall: Donald Scott’s Carlisle Memories; CN, 06.01.2012; 28.12.2012)

Scott, Douglas Keith (1941-2020) CBE, climber, b. Nottingham, member of team who ascended SW face of Everest in 1975, gold medal RGS, lived latterly in Caldbeck

Scott, Edward ‘Ted’ (d.1932), newspaper editor and yachtsman, son of Charles Prestwich Scott (1846-1932; ODNB), MP, editor of The Manchester Guardian for 57 years from 1872-1929 and owner in 1907 after quite a battle with the Taylor family, Ted followed his father as editor but capsized and drowned in Windermere a few months after his father’s death, in April 1932, the Scott Trust was established in 1936 by his surviving brother John, Ted Scott’s sister Madeleine was the mother of Evelyn Montagu, the athlete, whose triumph was reprised in the film Chariots of Fire

Scott, Francis Clayton (1881-1979), BA, company chairman, born 6 August 1881, yr son of Sir James Scott, 1st Bt (qv), founder of Provincial Insurance Company, educ Oriel College, Oxford (BA 1903), marr (31 August 1911) Gwedolen Frieda Martha (d.1973), 2nd dau of George Jager, of Lingdale, Birkenhead, 1 son (Peter Francis, qv) and 1 dau (Joan Frieda), chairman of Provincial Insurance Co 1946-1956, director Monument Insurance Co Ltd, Sackville Estates Ltd, and other cos, Francis C Scott Charitable Trust established in 1963 by his son, Peter F Scott (who was at loggerheads with him), then company chairman, together with his parents Francis and Frieda, and sister Joan Trevelyan (deed of trust dated 1 October 1963) with wide powers to distribute for charitable purposes (esp music and arts, youth and social work), and its capital was increased in 1967 when a former Trust set up by FCS in 1940s to fund activities at Brathay Hall was wound up (Brathay Hall itself purchased and the trust founded by FCS to provide personal development programmes and opportunities for young people), covenanted with National Trust for preservation of some 800 acres of Patterdale Hall estate (inc shore and land bordering head of Ullswater and also Grisedale valley), and also gave Jenkin Field opposite St Patrick’s Well to the dale in 1938, chairman of executive committee, Mary Wakefield Westmorland Festival (1935), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1934, of Matson Ground, Windermere, died 1979, aged 97; Russell Lewis, Memoir of F.C. Scott, 1989; portrait Abbot Hall by Tom Dearden

Scott, G W, solicitor and town clerk, town clerk of Kendal Borough, his widow died in Kirkland, Kendal, 7 November 1831, aged 68 (born, married and buried on 11 November) (LC, 85)

Scott, Hudson, founder of the printing firm, later Metal Box; his sons Benjamin and William (qqv)

Scott, Irving (1903-2007), captain, merchant marine, died at Hames Hall, Cockermouth, xx December 2007, aged 104

Scott, Isaac (1834-1908), soldier, quartermaster of Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry, born at Cockermouth, son of farmers, but moved to Penrith in 1840s, veteran of the Crimea and Indian Mutiny, buried Carlisle cemetery; Martin Daley, Glory Boy, 2000

Scott, James (18xx-19xx), JP, of Abbotsford House, Wordsworth Street, Penrith (1906x 1925); Edward Scott, of Abbotsford House (1934x38)

Scott, Sir James William (1844-1913), 1st Bt, JP, cotton manufacturer, born in Manchester, 23 June 1844, son of John George Schott, who came from Frankfurt to Manchester as a merchant, marr (16 April 1874) Anne Jane (born 13 January 1849, died at Yews, 30 April 1922, aged 73, and buried at Winster, 3 May), dau and heir of John Haslam, JP, textile manufacturer and merchant, of Gilnow Hall, Bolton, Lancs, and of Yewbarrow Hall, Grange-over-Sands, 2 sons (Samuel Haslam (qv) and Francis Clayton (qv)) and 1 dau (Jane Millicent, born c.1878, marr (4 August 1904, at Winster) Edward Gwynne Eardley-Wilmot (died 12 October 1965), then 27 and asst master at Harrow School, later barrister, son of Robert Eardley-Wilmot, 2 daus, awarded OBE in 1920 and died 11 December 1964), marriage giving him control of his father-in-law’s enterprises, founder and chairman of Provincial Insurance, chairman of John Haslam & Co, Lancs, director of Manchester and County Bank, cr Baronet, of Yews, in 1909, of The Yews, Storrs, Undermillbeck, Windermere, which he purchased in 1896 when still an old lakeland farmhouse, then built up estate by further purchases, house restored and enlarged under supervision of Joseph Pattinson, converting former byre into a ‘Great Hall’, with new block of different scale and style added in 1906 by W T Dolman (though with his own active influence on plans), commissioned T H Mawson to design ‘a small interesting garden’ in 1902 (CRO, WDB 86/roll M47), tennis court added in 1907, house extended in 1911, and gardens added to by H A Tipping, died at his home, Beech House, Bolton, 4 August 1913, aged 69, and cremated at Chorlton-cum-Hardy, with memorial service at Bank Street Unitarian Chapel, Bolton, conducted by the minister, Revd J H Weatherall

Scott, Joan Freida (1912-2008) dau of Francis C Scott (qv) marr John Trevelyan (1903-1986; DCB), British Film censor, 2 children James and Sara

Scott, John (1780-1865), stained glass manufacturer, born in Wigton in 1780 [no bapt recorded], gilder in Rickergate, Carlisle 1809 (militia list), started business of John Scott & Son by 1841, did clear glazing of Stanwix Church in 1841, Carlisle agents for Royal Birmingham & Midland Counties Art Union for the Purchase of Works of Living Artists (CJ, 1844), retired in 1855, died 26 July 1865 and buried in Carlisle cemetery

Scott, John (1816-1880?), stained glass manufacturer, son of John Scott (b.1780; qv), born in Carlisle 1816, joined in partnership after father’s retirement in 1855 by David Relph Drape (formerly manager to William Atkinson of Carlisle, architect and decorative painter, who repaired Kirkoswald Church in 1847), business known as Scott & Drape till 1861, reverting to John Scott & Son, closing down prob in early 1880, date of death not known (CW2, lxxii, 274-282)

Scott, John Anker (18xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of High Hesket 1876-1920

Scott, John Robertson (1866-1962; ODNB) CH, writer and campaigner on rural issues, b. Wigton, son of David Young Crozier Scott (1844-1887), founder and editor of ‘The Countryman’ in 1927, published England’s Green and Pleasant Land, an indictment of agricultural exploitation, Companion of Honour in 1947; Laurie Kemp, Tales from Carlisle

Scott, Keith (19xx-2015), CBE, architect, born at Preston, chairman of Lake District Summer Music, died in July 2015, funeral at Preston Minster 31 July 2015 with memorial service 2 September

Scott, Mackay Hugh Baillie (1865-1945; ODNB), architect, designed Blackwell, his first significant building in England, for Sir Edward Holt (qv), completed in 1901 (family home for Holt family and their tenants until WW2, when Liverpool school was evacuated there and continued as school until 1970s, when bought by a businessman who leased it to English Conservancy Council (later English Nature) until 1997, then bought by Lakeland Arts Trust in 1999 and opened to public in July 2001)

Scott, Michael (1175-1232), conjurer, a monk with links to Holme Cultrum, famed monastic intellectual (and ‘wizard’ of Border legend) whose feats were construed as magic, tried to get the sea to rise up to Carlisle to make a new haven, also said to have split the Eildon hills into three peaks, went to Toledo and learned Arabic, translated Aristotle from an Arabic ms in the Moorish library to latin (part of the slow process by which the wisdom of the classical world was revealed and in time catalysed the so called Renaissance), renowned for his wisdom became a  teacher of emperor Frederick II, court astrologer, Dante referred to him in Inferno (1320; canto xx 115-117), an image of him survives in the ms De Physionomiae (Bodleian library), fortold his own death from a falling pebble, buried with his books either at Holme Cultrum or Melrose, there is little evidence of his link to Holme Cultrum except that oneof his books seems to have been kept there, in the 17thc a room at the abbey was nmed the Michael Scott chamber; Sandford 1675, 31 (qv); Neil Curry, Cumberland Coast, 31-3, www.britishhistory.ac.uk, Charles Burnett, Arabic into Latin in the Middle Ages (2009)

Scott, Michael (1929-1991), physicist, b. Newcastle, son of Robert Percy Scott (1897-1963) and Edith Mildred Wood (1901-1988), (Robert served on HMS Superb at the battle of Jutland, Mildred a contemporary of Henry Moore at Leeds college of Art), ed. Newcastle Royal GS, evacuated to Penrith in WWII and became keen on hiking and the YHA,  1st class hons in Physics at King’s Durham, scholarship to St John’s college Cambridge, won an oar rowing for Lady Margaret hall, res geo-physics at Cambridge, m. Margaret Louise McVey (b.1933) having met her at Scottish country dancing, dau of John McVey and Louisa Somerville Lockhart Greig, five children: Jennifer (1954), Nigel (1955), Alison (1957), Neil (1959) and Angus (1964), fascinated  by science, engineering and the history of engineering, joined Vickers Health Engineering as a physicist, Vickers Engineering, Thurso 1961, then to Barrow 1963 for the submarine programme, sent as a scientific adviser with Currie Davies to the USA by Sir Leonard Redshaw (qv) to visit many manufacturing and research organisations, his extensive research findings on the need for improved technology for handling small submersibles at sea and the future of naval warfare led to the founding of Vickers Oceanics, of which he was the first manager, underwater technology being expected to become more important in future, Redshaw also urged him to stand as a local councillor, this he did but only served for one term, involved with the Barrow Education Action Group (BEAG) campaign to save the grammar schools at Barrow which had some success, he then moved to work in British Aerospace at Warton, Vickers Oceanics was later in the news in 1973 regarding the dramatic rescue of the two crewmen Roger Mallinson and Roger Chapman (qqv), trapped with diminishing oxygen for 84 hours at 1600 feet in the diminutive submersible Pisces III, part of a team including Vickers Voyager involved in laying translatlantic cable south of Cork, (Roger Chapman wrote No Time on our Side [1975] describing this experience), in his spare time he restored Jaguar cars; Les Shore, Leonard Redshaw

Scott, Sir Oliver Christopher Anderson (1923-2016), 3rd Bt, MD, radiobiologist and philanthropist, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1966, died 4 November 2016, aged 93, funeral at St Martin’s Church, Bowness-on-Windermere, 26 November (WG, 17.11.2016)

Scott, Peter Francis (1917-2010), CBE, DL, MA, businessman and philanthropist, born 21 September 1917, son of F C Scott (qv), educ Winchester and Oriel College, Oxford (BA 1939), served WW2 as Captain, 1st Bn KRRC (Supp Res), 8th Army in North Africa, Sicily and Italy, and 21st Army Group, N W Europe, a director of Provincial Insurance Company from 1946, working from head office in Kendal, deputy chairman 1955 and succ father as chairman in 1957 until he retired in 1976, then president of company until its sale to UAP in 1994, led Provincial through its high period, employing over 600 staff in Kendal and 2,000 nationwide, known for its innovative policies and employee share ownership, supervised creation of Provincial Life, oversaw construction of new office block adjoining Sand Aire House in 19xx, showed creative and benevolent leadership of company and of family trusts, which had considerable impact on business, social and cultural life of Kendal and Westmorland, making over 4,000 grants since 1963, esp making Kendal an important centre of cultural activity, chairman of Lake District Art Gallery and Museum Trust (developing Abbot Hall as a gallery of national reputation), principal founder of Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal and chairman of its trust, also chairman of Brathay Hall Trust (working with young people and providing professional development activities), member finance committee of University of Lancaster (on its establishment in 196x) with Peter Scott Gallery on campus, also served as member of Standing Commission on Museums and Galleries, National Trust exec cttee (and chm of Lake District cttee), Northern Arts Assoc, Northern Economic Planning Council, director of National Theatre, vice-president of Voluntary Action Cumbria (1977), etc, Hon LLD, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1963, Hon Freeman of Kendal, CBE 1982, DL Cumbria, of Long Dales, Matson Ground, Windermere (modern house by Basil Ward, 1961), but left district for Devon in 19xx, engaged with Oxford House in Bethnal Green (chairman of council) and as prisoner visitor with New Bridge Foundation, being practical expressions of his Christian faith, 1 son (Alexander) and 3 daus (Madeleine, Rebecca and Charlotte), died in St Thomas’s Hospital, London, 13 November 2010, aged 93, and private cremation; thanksgiving service at Kendal parish church on 14 January 2011 (WG, 18.11.2010 and 20.01.2011; Times, 08.12.2010); correspondent with and supporter of Percy Kelly (qv); he is mentioned in editions of  letters from Kelly to Norman Nicholson (2007) and Mary Burkett (2011) ed David A Cross

Scott, Robert (17xx-1809), MA, clergyman and headmaster, son of Revd William Scott (qv), educ Queen’s College, Oxford, minister of St Bees 1776-1784, rector of Whicham 1794-1804, headmaster of St Bees School 1773-1788, died in 1809

Scott, Robert Selkirk [fl.19thc.], minister of United Presbyterian Church, Kendal 1858

Scott, Samuel (c.1784-1829), clergyman, minister of Preston Patrick chapel for 18 years, died 5 April 1829, aged 45 (marble memorial in Preston Patrick church)

Scott, Sir Samuel Haslam (1875-1960), 2nd Bt, JP, MA, company chairman, born 7 August 1875, er son of Sir James Scott, 1st Bt (qv), of Yews, Windermere, marr 1st (4 April 1905) Carmen Estelle (born 22 August 1879, died 8 February 1919), 2nd dau of Edmund Heuer, of Dunham Massey, Cheshire, 1 son (k in action 1942) and 2 daus, marr 2nd (18 March 1920) Nancy Lilian (died 15 August 1935), dau of William Charles Anderson, of Hill House, Keston, Kent, 1 son, marr 3rd (7 January 1937) Marion Dorothy (born 29 December 1888, died 21 December 1978), er dau of Charles Garnett, of Hall Garth, Carnforth, educ Oriel College, Oxford (BA 1900, MA 1902), chairman of Provincial Insurance Co Ltd 1913-1946, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1926, president of the Rough Fell Sheep Breeders Association in 1940s and vice-president 1927, presented Glencoyne farm and its estate to National Trust in 1948, vice-chairman of Lake District Advisory Committee of National Trust, author of A Westmorland Village (1904), a study of the homes and statesman families of Troutbeck, made settlement in 1923 of 1,000 Provincial ‘A’ ordinary shares on Eardley Wilmots (as F C Scott did also) but wound up in April 1944, later settled his reversionary and other interests on his children (by deed of 16 November 1934), made Children’s Settlement gift in 1947, which was wound up in 1951 and each of his children received £24,260 cash (Dr O C A Scott, Mrs M M Sargent and Mrs A K S Morton) (details in CRO, WDB 21/box 142), died 23 June 1960; obit. CW2 lx 211

Scott, Sydney (fl.1890-1914), artist, member Lake Artists, Renouf, 38

Scott, Sir Walter (1771-1832; ODNB), novelist and poet, visitor to Lake District, proposed to Miss Charpentier at the Popping Stone, Gilsland and married her in Carlisle cathedral

Scott, Sir Walter, Bt.,(1826-1910; ODNB), civil engineer, b. Abbeytown, supervised construction of sections of the London Underground

Scott, Walter Francis Montagu-Douglas-, 5th duke of Buccleuch (1806-1884; ODNB), as a major Furness landowner, effectively the co-founder (with the 7th duke of Devonshire, who was more closely involved) of Barrow-in-Furness, though his mineral agent Edward Wadham (qv) was the key administrator on his behalf, Dalton Castle was owned by his family in the 18thc and John Romney (qv) worked upon it with his brother; fine bronze statue outside St Giles cathedral, Edinburgh

Scott, William (17xx-1776), clergyman and headmaster, curate of St Bees 1734-1739 and minister 1739-1776, headmaster of St Bees School, died in 1776

Scott, William Hudson (1842-1907), businessman, son of Hudson Scott, brother of Sir Benjamin (qqv), director of Hudson Scott of Carlisle, brother of Sir Benjamin qv, commissioned Dale Oliver to design ‘The Red Gables’ in Chatsworth Square, Carlisle, where he lived before moving to High Moss, Portinscale, funded a bronze relief on Victoria monument Carlisle, buried under celtic cross Crosthwaite, Keswick, inscription by H D Rawnsley; arms see Hudleston

Scott-Nicholson, Maud (1875-1947), patron of the arts, dau of Sir Benjamin Scott (1841-1927) MD of Hudson Scotts of Carlisle and his wife Sarah Anne Hope (1847-1877).  She married Edwin Nicholson c.1900 and they commissioned Norman Evill, fresh from the office of Edwin Lutchens to design a new house for them.  He produced Barn Close in Well Lane, Stanwix, a fine arts and crafts house for them. (Mathew Hyde and Esme Whittaker, The Arts and Crafts Houses of Cumbria.)  In 1933, as a co-opted member of the museum committee suggested that a Purchase Scheme should be initiated, the committee sought advice from Sir William Rothenstein of the Royal College of Art and he was their Hon Advisor from 1933-1942, followed by Edward Le Bas, Carel Weight and Roger de Grey (qqv), in 1933 the modest sum of £100 was made available (£200 in 1936) and 200 excellent purchases were eventually made, through this connection the city became a member of the Contemporary Art Society which made further donations including a major work by Stanley Spencer, Maud also commissioned the fine wrought iron gates to the cathedral close at Carlisle in memory of her father; Edward Morris, The Public Art Collections of the NW, 54

Scotter, William Henry, clergyman, vicar of Ulverston, marr Emma Gordon Dill

Scotter, Sir William Norman Roy (Bill) (1922-1981), KCB, OBE, MC, general, born at Birkenhead, Wirral, 2 February 1922, son of Claude Norman Scotter (1889-1978) and Hilda Marie (nee Turner) (1892-1948),  grandson of Canon W H Scotter (qv) and great nephew of Sir Charles Scotter, educ St Bees School

Scrope of Bolton, barony cr 1371

Scrope, Henry, 9th baron (1534-1592), heir of the 8th baron, mother a Clifford, warden of the west marches and captain of Carlisle from 1562 to his death, took Mary Queen of Scots (qv) to Bolton Castle in 1568, Elizabeth praised his service

Scrope, Thomas,10th baron, son of Henry 9th baron, marr Philadelphia Hunsden (c.1567-1609), succeeded his father in 1593 as warden of the west marches and captain of Carlisle, also custos rotulorum and steward of Inglewood forest, held 20 manors in Y and one in Bucks, adopted an aggressive attitude to the border reivers, discharged 1605 and retired to Y, but died in Nottinghamshire

Seagrave, Sir Henry (1896-1930) Kt., b. Baltimore, educated Eton, land and water speed record holder, died on Windermere on 13 June 1930 while racing Miss England II

Seatle, Henry (17xx-1822), clergyman, vicar of Finsthwaite, conscientious country clergyman, died 10 January 1822, aged 63 (LM, III, 40)

Seaton (Seton), Mary (1542-1615), royal hairdresser, dau 6th lord Seton and Marie Pieris, one of the attendants of Mary Queen of Scots (qv) known as ‘the four Marys’, while in Carlisle for two months with her mistress, created for the queen a new hairstyle each day according to Sir Francis Knollys, her keeper, after the queen’s execution she became a nun at the convent of St Pierre at Rheims; see text of song ‘The Four Marys’ by the Corries

Sedbergh, Adam (c.1502-1537; ODNB), abbot of Jervaulx, member of the Cistercian order (perhaps born in Sedbergh or descended from a family of that town, there is no family of this name), subdeacon of York 1526, deacon 1527, became a monk, elected abbot in 1533, involved in the Pilgrimage of Grace, fled to Bolton castle and sought sanctuary with John Scrope, 8th baron, Scrope  fled on arrival of the king’s commissioners and Sedbergh hid on Witton fell until his capture, imprisoned in the Beauchamp tower at the tower of London, here he carved his name Adam Sedbar Abbas Jorevall 1537 (inscription still visible), he was hanged drawn and quartered at Tyburn for treason on 2 July 1537 in company with the prior of Bridlington, their heads were displayed on London bridge

Seddon, Norah (fl.1960s-70s), m. Dr Seddon, a general practitioner  and lived Abbey Road, Barrow, five children including Leslie, Vicky, Deborah and Daniel, a driving force behind the Renaissance Trust and its office in Ulverston, following the demolition of Her Majesty’s Theatre, Barrow; 17 boxes of records at Barrow CRO; Christine Denmead and Donald Sartain (qqv)

Sedgewick, Adam (1785-1873; ODCB), geologist, son of Revd Richard Sedgwick (qv), b. Dent, educ Sedbergh School, Trinity College, Cambridge, fellow Trinity, initially unfamiliar with geology he went on to become one of the founders of modern geology, proposed the Cambrian and Devonian periods of geological time, when senior proctor would scour the town for streetwalkers, once committing seven women to prison in one night, Woodwardian professor who taught Charles Darwin but read his Origin of Species ‘with more pain than sorrow’, though an abolitionist he inherited a large sum following the compensation of slave owners in 1835, died unm at Cambridge, 27 January 1873 (SSR, 167-168), a granite memorial trough and fountain, Dent; David Boulton, Adam Sedgwick’s Dent, 1985, The Life and Letters of Adam Sedgwick, CUP, 1890, Alan Smith, The Rock Men, 2001, A Memorial by the Trustees of Cowgill Chapel, Cambridge, 1868

Sedgwick, George (1618-1685), secretary, born at Capplethwaite Hall, Killington, 10 January 1618 [/19?], er son of Jeffrey Sedgwick, of Collinfield (who had sold his Capplethwaite estate to John Ward (qv), of Rigmaden, for £1,100 in 16xx after contracting large debts, and bought small estate a mile above Sedbergh, but of Collinfield by 1620, buried at Kendal, 23 January 1627/8) by his wife, one of daus of Thomas Benson, of Hugill [or poss bapt 12 June 1613, son of Robert Sidgwicke, of Sedbergh?], educ Sedbergh School (taken into house of Gilbert Nelson (qv), the Master (1623-1646), for ‘diet and lodging for a year and above’ when his ‘father began to decay in his estate’) and St John’s College, Cambridge (entd 1631 as a subsizar to George Braithwaite (qv), of Warcop, a fellow-commoner, and tutored by Thomas Fothergill (qv), of Brownber, later President of College), but could not afford to stay on and take his degree and so returned home, family moved to London, entd service of earl of Pembroke on recommendation of letter of countess’s mother, Lady Margaret, Countess of Cumberland, to his grandfather Jeffrey Sedgwick (when serving as a juror at York in great cause tried there in 1607/09 between Lady Anne and her uncle Francis Earl of Cumberland) as a clerk to one of earl’s secretaries for 5 or 6 years, then paymaster of Pembroke’s regiment of 600 horse raised in 1639 to guard king, apptd secretary to earl in 1640 (who was also Lord Chamberlain until dismissed in 1641) and acted until his death in January 1650, continued in office to his son, Philip, but found him too wasteful and left him, intending to join embassy of Sir Thomas Bendish to Constantinople, but dissuaded from going by Lady Anne, Countess of Pembroke, who invited him down to Skipton ‘to write all her post letters, make all her leases, and receive and pay all her money’, so returned north in August 1652 and apptd secretary to Lady Anne at Skipton, where he continued for some four years, then asked to take charge of her grandson, John Tufton (qv), later Earl of Thanet, as a travelling tutor overseas in France, Flanders and the Low Countries, for some two years, with allowance of £400 a year for their expenses (with servant and footman), observed a number of nobility resident in Utrecht and visit of duke of York in 1656, returned to continue in service for 18 years in all, arranged for widow of his old schoolmaster to be placed in new almshouses at Appleby, given rent charge of £20 a year for 21 years and £50 in gold by Lady Anne before going overseas and another rent charge of £20 for 21 years with £100 in money after his return, then given £200 towards purchase of a small retirement home, Collinfield, Kendal in 1668, ‘a small estate held under Queen Katherine, as part of her jointure, by a moderate rent and fine, convenient for the church and market, freed from all assizes and sessions’, where he enjoyed a quiet retirement with the society of his friends and neighbours from Kendal, (with carved oak cupboard and pillars dated ‘G.S. 1674’ and 1675), and where he wrote his diary (‘A summary or memorial of my own life’, dated 10 December 1682), inspired by Lady Anne’s example?, containing detailed account of his service with Pembroke and Lady Anne, esp impressed by scholarly apparatus of Great Books, received legacy of £240 in her will, died 10 June 1685 and buried at east end of nave of Kendal parish church (now under pulpit), 12 June (MI on parchment in black oak frame moved; his pew retained by Yeates family until 1850 restoration) (NB, I, 294-303; SSR, 77-78; AK, 69; CW1, ix, 188-193; CW2, xxxviii, 303; LAC, 222); unbaptised infant dau of Jeferay Sidgswicke buried at Kendal, 23 September 1620 = sister of George ?; Elizabeth, w of Mr Geo Sedgswick, of Highgate, buried at Kendal, 12 March 1692/3; George Sedgwick, his nephew, sold Collinfield property to John Yeates in 1747

Sedgwick, Revd John (17xx-1836), clergyman, curate of Howgill, Sedbergh, for 64 years from 1773 until his death, aged 81, died 26 April 1836; Thomas Sedgwick, his great grandson, was churchwarden of Howgill at time of 150th anniversary in 1988

Sedgwick, Revd John (17xx-1859), JP, BA, clergyman, son of Revd Richard Sedgwick (qv) and brother of Adam (qv) and James, educ Sedbergh School, entd St John’s College, Cambridge 1810 (BA 1814), curate of Stowe, Lincolnshire, succ father as vicar of Dent in 1822, JP West Riding Yorks, died 9 February 1859; brother, Revd James Sedgwick, was vicar of Scalby, nr Scarborough 1840 and died 28 August 1869 (SSR, 168)

Sedgwick, Richard (c.1736-1828), BA, clergyman, son of Thomas Sedgwick, educ Sedbergh School, entd St Catherine’s College, Cambridge 1756 (BA 1760), curate of Amwell, Herts 1761-1768 (and asst master of school), vicar of Dent 1768, master of Dent Grammar School c.1794, marr, 3 sons (inc Adam, qv) and dau (Ann, qv sub William Westall), died 14 May 1828, aged 92 (SSR, 143)

Seed, Jeremiah (16xx-1722), BA, clergyman, educ Jesus College, Cambridge (BA 1682), ordained deacon on 3 June 1683 and priest on 25 May 1684 (Chester), curate of Kendal in 1690s, instituted to Askham on 4 February 1696/7 (presentments by churchwardens in 1684), collated to Clifton as rector on 10 December 1707, marr Elizabeth (buried at Askham, 8 March 1699/1700), 2 sons (Jeremiah (qv) and Jonathan, buried at Kendal, 29 September 1691), buried at Clifton in December 1722 (ECW, ii, 1222, 1241) 

Seed, Jeremiah (c.1699-1747; ODNB), MA, clergyman and writer, born at Clifton, Cumberland, prob bapt at Askham, son of Revd Jeremiah Seed (qv), educ Lowther Grammar School and Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 7 November 1716, BA 13 February 1722, MA 1725 and elected fellow 1732), gave eight lectures on truth of Christianity, human nature, redemption, and the Trinity for the Lady Moyer lectureship at St Paul’s Cathedral, London 1732-1733, curate to vicar of Twickenham 1732-1741, rector of Ridge, Hertfordshire 1736-1738, presented to living of Knight’s Enham, Hampshire by Queen’s College in 1741, which he held together with that of Church Oakley, Northamptonshire until his death, admired for his preaching, author of Discourses on Several Important Subjects (1743) and The Posthumous Works (1750), marr (wife’s details not known), died at Knight’s Enham, 10 December 1747 (N&B I, 414)

Seigenberg, Clifford Michael, the birth name of Clifford Curzon (qv), pianist, born London, son of Michael Seigenberg, furniture dealer and his wife Constance Mary Young, dau of James Young, a brewer of Portsea

Seivewright, Andrew (1926-2010), organist, conductor and composer, b. Leicestershire, son of the Rev RT Seivewright of Plungar, educated Denstone and King’s College, Cambridge, served WW2 with RAF in Canada, trained as navigator before returning to King’s to study composition with Patrick Hadley, taught at Ermysted’s Grammar School, Skipton and King’s School, Pontefract before moving to Carlisle in 1960, master of Music at Carlisle cathedral for 31 years, retiring in 1991, formed the Abbey Singers in 1962, and the Music in Cathedral Society, teaming up with the London Contemporary Network, lectured at adult education classes, started TV choir at Border Television, where he also wrote several religious music programmes, organist at Crosthwaite church and later at St Oswald’s, Grasmere, wrote concert reviews for local press, conducted his own Morland Cantata (based on John Betjeman’s poem Christmas) in Morland church in winter 1972 (?), made coast-to-coast recital tour of America in 1981, entered competition to write a national anthem for Swaziland (unsuccessfully), great exponent of British musical tradition, his own compositions combined strong melodies with chromaticism in a highly characteristic way, his most popular church music being Starlight, Mary and the Angel (The Annunciation), and the Safari Carol, while his orchestral highlight was commission to write the Celebration Overture to commemorate the 900th anniversary of Carlisle Castle (performed in open-air concert by RLPO in 1992), had particular love of Finzi’s music (made organ arrangement of ‘There was a Time’ from Intimations of Immortality), issued Christmas CD of his own compositions and arrangements (If Winter Comes) in 2009 (with his former pupil, John Cooper Green, conducting and former assistant, Ian Hare, as organist), also made premiere recording of Robin Milford’s organ music, marr Nora, twin sons (one a concert pianist and the other a psychiatrist), of Millbeck, near Keswick, died 10 December 2010; memorial service in Carlisle cathedral (CL, Jan 2011; BMS News 131, Sept 2011); for his life and compositions: britishmusiccollection.org, robinmilfordtrust.org.uk; Canon Gervase Markham Memoirs, 99

Sekers, Sir Nicholas Thomas (Miki) (formerly Szekeres) (1910-1972), MBE, textile manufacturer, fabric designer and patron of arts, born in Sopren, Hungary, 15 December 1910, son of silk manufacturer, Budapest, trained in textile technology at Krefeld in Germany, designer in family business for six years before arriving in Britain from Hungary in 1937, looked for suitable site for factory and attracted by Cumberland Development Council and Lord Adams of Ennerdale (qv) to build factory on Richmond Hill site at Hensingham overlooking Whitehaven, with his cousin and partner, Tomi de Gara (qv), forming West Cumberland Silk Mills in 1938, with handful of skilled textile workers from Hungary, but trained staff to operate 50 looms by 1940, produced parachute fabric during WW2, then turned to fashion fabrics, using his flair for design and colour, combined with his skill in marketing and understanding of technology and modern methods of manufacture, made Sekers Fabrics an international name, selling fabrics to French couture houses (inc Dior, Cardin and Givenchy) and persuading artists like Cecil Beaton, Oliver Messel and Graham Sutherland [all ODNB] to design his brocades, factory expanded with up to 500 employees, became joint managing director when public company in July 1955 for publicity and design, with his cousin Tomi de Gara qv for production and finance, opened new glass showroom in Sloane Street, London in 1964, introduced fire-proof fabrics in 1968, advised by Madge Garland (ODNB) as fashion consultant, founder of Rosehill Theatre, built in garden of his house, with interior designed by Oliver Messel, set up Rosehill Arts Trust and the theatre opened by Dame Peggy Ashcroft in September 1959, attracted musicians of international stature, he was a trustee of Glyndebourne Opera, the Royal Opera House, council of Shakespeare Theatre Trust, chairman of London Philharmonic Orchestra, his attitude to business was shaped by inspiration and creativity through art, Member of Council of Industrial Design 1966-1971, MBE 1955, knighted 1965, Design Centre Award 1965, awarded Royal Warrant of Appointment as suppliers of furnishing fabric to the Queen in 1967, his silks were used by Cecil Beaton for his costumes in My Fair Lady, had heart operation in 1970 and retired, but recovered and set up a design consultancy and worked with rivals, Lister Group of Bradford, creating tension with Silk Mills, marr Agota, 2 sons (David, born 1943, and Alan, born 1947) and 1 dau (Christine, born 1942), died while on holiday in Yugoslavia, 23 June 1972; Thomas Tuohy, British Art Journal, vol XVII, no 1, spring 2016, 108 ff.; photograph in the autobiography of Joyce Grenfell, In Pleasant Places, 1979, opp.120

Selby, Viscount, see Gully

Selby, Revd Reginald Bertram Luard- (1885-1951), MA, clergyman, born 1885, son of Bertram Selby Luard-Selby, musician [his The Waits of Bremen performed at Mary Wakefield Festival in 1901], educ Selwyn College, Cambridge (BA 1907, MA 1911), trained at Lincoln Theological College, d 1909 and p 1910 (xx), curate in dio Lincoln 1909-1917, vicar of Winterton, Lincs 1917-1925, vicar of Ambleside 1925-1933, vicar of Troutbeck 1933-1951, hon chaplain to bishop of Carlisle (1938), hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral 1945-1951, marr (1 September 1925) Ursula Mavis (qv), yst dau of W G Collingwood (qv), 1 son (Richard 1930-1933) and 2 daus (Sara (1926-1989?) and Philippa (b.1928, Mrs Fothergill, formerly Mrs Ryan and previously Mrs Tolfray, died at RLI Lancaster, 27 January 2015, aged 86, with service of remembrance at Jesus Church, Troutbeck, 9 February), died in 1951 (WG, 05.02.2015)

Selby, Ursula Mavis Luard- (nee Collingwood) (1891-1962), midwife and art teacher, born in 1891, 3rd and yst dau of W G Collingwood (qv), often signed herself ‘Kid’, educ at home and boarding school, did sketch of RG, trained as a midwife and practised from c.1912 until her marriage in 1925, marr (1 September 1925, at Coniston) Revd Reginald Bertram Luard-Selby (qv), 1 son and 2 daus, lived at Ambleside vicarage 1925-1933 and at Troutbeck vicarage 1933-1951, moving after husband’s death to Field Head, Hawkshead 1951-1954, but was teaching art at Blackwell School, near Bowness from c.1945 until 1954, when she took up farming at Sunny Bank, Underbarrow until she died in 1962, member of CWAAS from 1958

Selincourt, Ernest de (1870-1943; ODNB), Wordsworth scholar, b. Streatham, son of Charles a clothing manufacturer and his wife Theodora, fellow of University college Oxford, professor of poetry at Oxford and Birmingham, m. Ethel Shawcross, four children, retired to Grasmere, lived latterly at Ladywood, Grasmere; mss Birmingham university special colls.

Senhouse family of Maryport (some early members also used the name Sever (qv); CW1 vi 126; CW2 lxiv 306

Senhouse family of Seascale; CW1 xii 427

Senhouse, George, artist; CW3 iii 244

Senhouse, Sir Henry, of Steelfield Hall, Gosforth (built for him in 1830)

Senhouse, Humphrey (1705-1770; ODNB), b.Millom

Senhouse, Sir Humphrey Le Fleming (1781-1841; ODNB), CB, naval officer, b. Barbados, Captain, RN, senior officer in command of British Fleet in the China Seas, died on board HMS Blenheim at Hong Kong, 13 June 1841, ‘from the effects of fever contracted during the zealous performance of his arduous duties at the Capture of the Heights of Canton in May 1841’, aged 63 (MI in Protestant cemetery in Macao)

Senhouse, Humphrey (fl.19thc.), in 1870 found 17 Roman altars, later the basis of the Senhouse Museum collection, see their records

Senhouse, Humphrey Patricius (1860-1914), JP, MA, of The Fitz, Cockermouth, only son of Richard Senhouse, formerly Bell (qv), educ Oxford Univ, Cumberland County County Councillor,  died in January 1914 (memorial window in north aisle of Christ Church, Cockermouth)

Senhouse, Humphrey Patricius (1894-1970), MC, of The Fitz, Cockermouth, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1947, only son of above, marr (1927) Ethel Florence Nancy (d.1975), dau of Joseph Anthony Steele Dixon (qv), of Lorton Hall, and sister of Anthony Thomas Steele Dixon (qv), 1 son (below)

Senhouse, Humphrey Patricius (1928-xxxx), MA, only son of above, educ Oxford Univ, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1968, sold The Fitz to Robert Slack in 1991

Senhouse, John (d.1604), friend of William Camden (1551-1623) the antiquary, very interested in the antiquities on the estate

Senhouse, Sir Joseph (1743-1829), collector of customs Dominica and then Barbados, brother of William qv, m. the heiress of John Ashley Esq. of Ashley St Legers; knighted by George III at the time of his near assassination by the madwoman Peg Nicholson. Hence Senhouse was dubbed satirically ‘one of Peg Nicholson’s knights’; CW1 iii 371; probably = Sir Joseph Senhouse subscriber, auditor and committee member of Whitehaven Dispensary (1808); slave owner ucl.ac.uk website of owners

Senhouse, Patricius (d.1682), 4th son of John Senhouse (d.1667), of Netherhall, marr (1655) Elizabeth, dau and heir of Thomas Bromfield, of Hames Hill, Cockermouth, and widow of son of Henry Dalton, who had bought the Fitz estate in 1627 (from Cuthbert Orfeur, of Arkleby?), thereby acquiring both Hames Hill and The Fitz, died in 1682

Senhouse, Miss RM Le Fleming, archaeologist, wrote papers for the CWAAS

Senhouse, Richard (d.1626), bishop of Carlisle, son of John, b. Netherhall

Senhouse, Richard (fl.1705-1737-7), apothecary, Whitehaven, worked with Dr William Brownrigg (qv) who preceded him, built an expensive house well beyond his means in 1705 and sold to Thomas Lutwidge (qv) in 1710; CW1, iii, 369

Senhouse, Richard, formerly Bell (1805-1887), MD, JP, surgeon, eldest son of James Oliphant Bell (qv), practised with brother Henry at 135 Main Street, Cockermouth (1847), marr (1857) Isabella (1817-1888), only dau of Humphrey Senhouse (1788-1839), of The Fitz, Cockermouth, 1 son (qv), assumed surname of Senhouse in 1875 when she succ to The Fitz after death of her three brothers (Humphrey (1811-1875), William Ponsonby (1813-1856) and John (1816-1849)) s.p., died in 1887

Senhouse, Roger (1899-1970), publisher, translator and the last lover of Lytton Strachey (1880-1932), co-owner of Secker and Warburg, publishers with Warburg from 1935, Strachey described him as ‘the best of monkeys’, the last owner of Netherhall before dereliction set in, a cousin (via the Pocklington-Senhouse family (qqv)) of Margaret Austen-Leigh (qv) of Isel Hall who arrived with a van and two men to ‘rescue’ family portraits, having secured her ancestors, she wrote to inform him of her actions writing: ‘Dear cousin Roger, I have just broken into your house.......’ (event retold by M A-L to MEB); Guardian Review 20 March 2005; Strachey’s Letters ed Levy, 2005

Senhouse (or Sever – the name derives from Seven Hills - see Hud ( C ) ), William (d.1505), abbot of St Mary’s York, bishop of Carlisle, bishop of Durham

Senhouse, William (1741-1800), surveyor general of customs, Barbados, son of Humphrey, slave owner; ucl.ac.uk website of owners

Sessions, Frederick (d.c.1913), had private museum in Stramongate School, Kendal, began collecting as Quaker missionary in East, but added local geological, technological and natural historical material, his collections  offered to town after his death by his son and formed part of collection in current museum from 1913/14

Sessions, Wilfred (18xx-19xx), BSc (Lond), headmaster, principal and headmaster of Friends’ School, Stramongate, Kendal, also registrar and officer for marriages for Kendal and Sedbergh monthly meeting, Society of Friends, of Dalton House, Kendal (1906, 1915)

Settle, Dr John Towers (formerly Towers) (1847-1929) MD, physician, born at Keldray, north of Ulverston, on 26 February 1847, son of John and Maria Towers, early medical officer of health, Barrow-in-Furness 1875(8?)-1910, elected to Barrow Council for Walney ward in Nov 1875, but resigned seat on 25 May 1878(5?) on taking up duties as MOH (on death of Dr Allison, first MOH apptd 1871) (BT in CM), performed autopsies including that upon William ‘Lorenzo’ Connor (qv), the music hall artiste in October 1880, marr Harriet Seed, lived Storey Square in 1901; Settle St. is named after him; Bryn Trescatherick, in Cumbrian Miscellany ed. Leach, 148-57; also Barrow Civic Society website

Sever (another name used by the Senhouse family), clergyman, (d.1605; ODNB), bishop of Durham

Severn, Arthur (1842-1931; ODNB), artist, son of John Keats’ friend Joseph Severn, married Ruskin’s cousin Joan Agnew (qv below), lived at Brantwood in Ruskin’s lifetime, after which Joan inherited the estate, also of 9 Warwick Square, London SW, buried at Coniston, 2 March 1931, aged 89; when the house was emptied of its valuables for sale, piles of Ruskin mss were dumped in the garden and many blew into the lake (this story told by Arthur Severn’s godson who lived across the lake south of Coniston)

Severn, Joan (nee Agnew) (1846-1924), cousin of Ruskin, married Arthur Severn (qv), took care of old Mrs Ruskin and later of John Ruskin and inherited Brantwood after Ruskin’s death, unveiled the Friar’s Crag Ruskin monument on a blustery day, 6 October 1900; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 172

Severn, Walter (d.1797; ODNB), artist

Severs, Joseph (18xx-19xx), chemist and naturalist, probably desceneded from Hugh Sewepartner with Thomas Bateson in Severs & Bateson, pharmaceutical chemists and druggists, of 23 Stricklandgate, Kendal (1885, Hon Secretary of Kendal Natural History Society (apptd at inaugural meeting on 16 October 1885), of 1 Airethwaite, Kendal (1873), later of Prospect Villa, Serpentine Road, Kendal (1885, 1897)

Seward, Anna (1742-1809; ODNB), poet and correspondent, born Eyam, dau of the Rev (later Canon) Thomas Seward, lived in Lichfield cathedral close, prolific writer and correspondent, known as ‘the Swan of Lichfield’, held progressive views re the education of women, wrote Sonnets, Elegies and the Memoirs of Dr (E) Darwin (1804), she did not visit the Lakes but refers to ‘Helvellyn’s peak sublime’ in her ‘Mount Etna’, her work was edited by Walter Scott, she was critical of Wordsworth’s ‘Daffodils’, writing to Scott: ‘Surely if his worst foe had chosen to caricature this egotistic manufacturer of metaphysical inspiration upon trivial themes, he could not have done it more effectively’, she visited Coalbrookdale and chose to challenge the conventional male attitude towards technology and progress by referring to the violation of the landscape; Walter Scott, The Poetical Works of Anna Seward with Extracts from her Literary Correspondence (1810); NN anthology

Sewell family, descendants of the Rev Thomas William Sewell (1721-1800) b Cumrew, ‘a patriarchal figure of Shap’ who was himself probably descended from Hugh Sewell, vicar of Caldbeck from 1549 and later of St Lawrence, Appleby, marr Frances Clarke (1740-1803); CW2 lv 293; see descendants below

Sewell, Elizabeth Missing (1815-1906; ODNB); novelist, writer on religion and education, son of Thomas Sewell and Jane Edwards, sister of three brothers below (qqv), their grandfather Sewell lived at Shap, as a home tutor devised a set of influencial principles of education, met Browning and Tennyson and visited her ancestral area of the Lakes with the young Algernon Swinburne and his parents who were visiting Wordsworth, her novels include Amy Herbert (1844), Laneton Parsonage (1846-8), The Earl’s Daughter (1850); CW2 lv 293; www.victorianweb

Sewell, Henry (1807-1879; Dict New Zealand Biog), first premier of New Zealand, son of Thomas Sewell and Jane Edwards, brother of William, his father a solicitor on the Isle of Wight, their grandfather Sewell lived at Shap, educ Hyde Abbey school, articled to his father as a solicitor, but father lost money so was encouraged by the Canterbury Association to emigrate to New Zealand where he became an advocate for self government and eventually the 1st premier; CW2 lv 293; diary in two volumes ed McIntire (1989)

Sewell, Hugh (fl. 1540-90), canon of Carlisle; CW2 xci 91

Sewell, James Edward (1810-1903; ODNB), warden of New College, Oxford, son of Thomas Sewell and Jane Edwards, brother of Henry and William (qqv), their grandfather Sewell lived at Shap, educ Winchester and New college Oxford, fellow then warden, reformed the college, was the smallest in Oxford but became one of the largest, vice-chancellor Oxford 1874-8, died aged 93; CW2 lv 293, Spy cartoon 1894; Who Was Who

Sewell, John (18xx-1880), painter and glazier, of Scotch Street, Carlisle, made windows for churches of Hayton, Threlkeld, Upperby, and Bowness-on-Solway, began ‘diaphanie process’ in 1866 whereby stained glass is imitate on coloured paper, buried in Bowness churchyard 1880 (memorial to John and Mary Sewell and their son John erected 1900)

Sewell, John (Jackie) (1927-2016), footballer, born at Kells, Whitehaven, 24 January 1927, left school to become a milkman, but soon switched to coal mining, leaving his weekends free to play football for local club, Kells Central, following in footsteps of his father and several uncles, started his career at Notts County in 1942 on advice of Frank Buckley (former manager of Wolves), won a regular place in 1946/47 season and was a key member of team that won Third Division South title in 1949/50, scored 97 goals in 178 League appearances, although happy at Meadow Lane he agreed to be transferred to Sheffield Wednesday in 1951 for £34,500 (most expensive signing in English football at the time), scoring 92 goals in 175 games for the Hillsborough club in four years, joined Aston Villa in December 1955 for £20,000, scoring 36 goals in 123 appearances and member of FA Cup 2-1 winning team against Manchester United in 1957, moved to Hull City for just £2,000 for two years before retiring in 1961 after scoring 8 goals in 44 games, made 509 League appearances with 228 league goals in 15-year career, made first appearance for England against Ireland in November 1951, capped six times in all by England (including scoring in the 6-3 defeat by Hungary at Wembley on 25 November 1953, though not in the 7-1 defeat in Budapest the following May), a quick and incisive inside forward who struck up an understanding with Nat Lofthouse, centre forward, who credited him with ‘great positional sense and an ability to spot an opening’, moved to Northern Rhodesia as player-coach for City of Lusaka FC, making 10 appearances for Zambia in 1964-65 and scoring seven goals, later coached in Zimbabwe and Congo before returning to settle in Nottingham, marr Barbara (died 2010), one son (Paul), died 26 September 2016, aged 89 (WN, 29.09.2016; Guardian, 25.10.2016)

Sewell, Thomas, priest of Whitehaven, involved in the translation of the bible into Manx; CW2 lxii 265

Sewell, Revd William (17xx-1869), clergyman, incumbent of Troutbeck, nominated to curacy by Richard Fleming (qv), rector of Windermere, 2 April 1827, caused the Traveller’s Rest, later known as Kirkstone Inn, to be built, a rich character, died aged 88 and buried at Troutbeck, 5 August 1869; (clergy papers 1827 in CRO, DRC/10/Troutbeck)

Sewell, William (1804-1874; ODNB), school founder, b Isel of Wight, son of the solicitor Thomas Sewell and Jane Edwards, brother of Henry and James (qqv), their grandfather Sewell lived at Shap, educ Winchester and Merton college, Oxford, fellow and tutor of Exeter college, Oxford, Whyte’s professor of philosophy, sympathetic towards the Oxford movement, co-founder of Radley College, prolific author; CW2 lv 293

Seymour, Algernon, 7th duke of Somerset (1684-1750), general and Whig politician, marr Frances Thynne, also cr Baron Egremont and Cockermouth with a remainder to his nephew Sir Charles Wyndham, his dau Elizabeth married Sir Hugh Smithson who became the 1st duke of Northumberland, Petworth went to his nephew Charles, 2nd earl of Egremont (?with Egremont and Cockermouth castles)

Seymour, Charles, 6th duke of Somerset (1662-1748), landowner, acquired Percy estates in Cumberland by marriage in 1682 to Elizabeth Percy

Seynesbury, Thomas (Swyer) de (fl.1352-1366-1393), vicar of Kendal, first occurs in 1352 with indult (permission or privilege given by a bishop or pope) to pursue his studies at a university or reside at the Roman court for five years (Cal Papal Reg, iii, 464), enfeoffed (with Walter de Welle, parson of Lowther, and William de Wechyngton) by Sir Thomas de Stirkeland (qv) of his lands and tenements in Whinfell, Grayrigg and Lambrigg and then granted same premises to Strickland for life with remainder (details in deed dated at Whinfell on Thursday next after Easter, 40 Edw III [9 April 1366] at Sizergh) (RK, I, 22, 206, 215, 224), prob also to be identified as Thomas Swyer of Seynesbury, perpetual vicar of church in Kirkeby in Kendale, who was a feoffee to uses of lands in Bannisdale in vill of Strickland Ketel rel to wills of John de Roos and Richard de Roos in 1393 or 98? (deed at Levens, Box A , no.146 in RK, i, 234)

Shackleton, Edgar Howard (1903-1991), geologist and remarkable autodidact, b. Great Harwood, worked in a cotton mill, moved to Windermere and made a precarious living as a guide and lecturer, one of his clients was later Lord Chancellor, in 2nd WW at Drigg in the ordnance, joined United Steel at Workington as an instrument engineer, met Charles Edmonds and organised WEA classes in geology which led in 1961 to the founding of the Cumberland Geological Society, contributed to Newcastle University adult classes, several publications including Lakeland Geology (1966), had a huge collection of geological specimens in his house at Hensingham and made generous donations to university and museum collections; Cumberland Geological Society Proceedings vol 6 1998-9 pt 3

Shankly, Bill (1913-1981), football manager, ran Carlisle and then Preston, encouraged Percy Kelly (qv) in his football activity

Sharp, Amy Amelia (1857-1939), suffragist, ed. Newnham College, Cambridge 1879-1883, but at that date unable to graduate, twenty two years later graduated BA Trinity college Dublin 1905, vice president Ambleside Suffrage Society, built Silverholme (now NT) an unusual arts and crafts house with views of Langdale,  (Keswick museum exhibition c.2015)

Sharp, Frederick J. (d.1957), carpentry tutor, Barrow, follower of John Ruskin and collector of many mss which he accumulated cheaply, Ruskin having fallen from favour in the early 20thc., (were some of these the mss blowing into the lake at Brantwood in the 1930s sale?; see Severn), bequeathed these to the Ruskin scholar Helen Viljoen

Sharpe, Joseph (1756-1831), MA, clergyman, vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale 1791-1831; (CW2, xxix, 189-190)

Shaw, Captain Sir Eyre Massey (1830-1908), RN, chief fire officer, b Ballymore, Co Cork, claimed to be educated at Trinity College Dublin, joined the North Cork Rifles, promoted captain, then chief constable of Belfast where he also had responsibility for the nascent fire brigade, first chief fire officer of the London fire brigade from 1861-91, introduced modern fire fighting methods, immortalised in Gilbert and Sullivan’s Iolanthe (1882) with the lines:

                     Oh, Captain Shaw,

                         Type of true love kept under,

                     Could thy Brigade with cold cascade

                         Quench my great love, I wonder ?

(he attended the first night and the lines were directed at him), established an educational trust, one of the new schools in his name was opened at Bootle, Cumberland (a huge inscription on the wall); his brother, the Rev EF Shaw FRAS, lived at Elgin Ave SW; Ronald Cox, O Captain Shaw: Chief of the London Fire Brigade, 1984; masseyshaw.org

Shaw, Frank Denton (1921-xxxx), journalist, in 2nd WW he was a signals officer of 5 Commando after the surrender of the Japanese, editor and later director, of Cumberland and Westmorland Herald, Penrith, in 1995 in retirement attended the liberation ceremony of Hong Kong

Shaw, Gabriel (1738-1816), shearman dyer, son?/descendant of Thomas Shaw (qv), in whose  house he lived, huntsman to squire of Dallam Tower, walked from Kendal to Whitehaven on 30 June 1801 and back again on 1 July at age of 63, killed in September 1816 (KK, 334) = ? [Gabriel, son of Jno and Agnes Shaw, of Stricklandgate, bapt at Kendal, 7 September 1731]

Shaw, Geoffrey Edward (1921-2004), VRD, landowner, 2nd son of Major John Edward Durrant Shaw, TD, JP, of Wellburn Hall, Yorks (High Sheriff of Yorkshire 1939), marr Rosemary (vice-chairman of Cumberland Foxhounds 1979- and committee member, d.200x), of Quarry Hill, Mealsgate

Shaw, Harrison (c.1762-1823), JP, LLB, clergyman, son of Revd Henry Shaw (qv), vicar of St Michael’s, Bongate, Appleby 1789-1823, died at Bongate vicarage, aged 61, and buried at Bongate, March 1823

Shaw, Henry, clergyman, vicar of Crosby-on-Eden

Shaw, Henry Charles JP; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Shaw, James (16xx-1739), mercer, marr Elizabeth, 4 sons and 2 daus, mayor of Kendal 1738-39, but died in his mayoralty and buried at Kendal, 18 May 1739; John, son of same, bapt 19 February 1716/17; Margaret, dau of same, bapt 27 May 1718; William, son of Mr James Shaw and Eliz his wife, of Highgate, bapt at Kendal, 9 May 1722; Elizabeth, dau of same, of Fincal Street, bapt 29 August 1727; Edmond, son of same, bapt 30 December 1729; Thomas, son of same, bapt 25 May 1731

Shaw, John (1717-1782), JP, mercer, bapt at Kendal, 19 February 1716/17, son of James Shaw (qv), mayor of Kendal 1745-46 and 1758-59, alderman, county and borough magistrate, was mayor when corporation sold premises at north east corner of Market Place to Thomas Ashburner (qv) for his New Theatre (deed of 20 May 1758), built Anchorite House, Kendal c.1770, apptd a governor of Old Hutton Grammar School in 1756 and party to deed appointing other governors of the school in 1776 (CRO, WPR 17/11/7/10-11), marr [1740s] Elizabeth Greenhow, 3 daus (‘Miss Margaret Shaw from Oxenholme, third daughter of the late John Shaw Esq’ buried at Kendal, 29 November 1787, aged 33; Ann Dixon, widow and ‘daur of the late John Shaw, Alderman of Kendal’, died at Castle Buildings, Kendal, aged 89, and buried at Kendal, 14 May 1835), buried in Kendal parish churchyard, 7 May 1782, aged 66

Shaw, Malcolm Graham (1875-1961), architect, son of Stephen Shaw (qv), sent for training with firm of a cousin, George Brown and Son, builders and general contractors of Newark, his work in Kendal predominantly commercial and with little of father’s interest in design, inc Kendal Museum extension (for taxidermy collection), Shap Road laundry, Kirkland garages, Stricklandgate doctor’s surgery, also village halls in Crosthwaite, Holme and Staveley, designed and modernised council housing for local authorities and retained by several breweries (modernised some 20 pubs in Kendal and more in vicinity), best major building considered to be Allen Technical School (now College) in Sandes Avenue (1912), keen motorbike enthusiast, marr (4 August 1926, at FMH, Preston Patrick) Phyllis (aged 27), dau of John Watson, of Eden Mount, Horncop Lane, Kendal, 2 sons, of 157 Stricklandgate, Kendal, died in 1961 (KG, 93-95); for his twin sister Sarah (qv)

Shaw, Richard Carradus (1831-1862), architect, eldest son of Robert Shaw, stonemason, of Serpentine Road, Kendal, built Gawith Buildings in Highgate, Castle Street cemetery and chapel, Laburnam Bank and other houses in Castle Road, died unm.

Shaw, Ronald Cunliffe (19xx-1977), MSc, FRCS, FSA (Scot), surgeon, patron of CWAAS 1968, vice-president 1960, and member from 1920, member of council of Lancashire Parish Register Society, transcribed and edited The Parish Registers of Kirkham, Part II, 1601-1653 (LPRS, Vol 99), author of The Records of the Thirty Men of the parish of Kirkhm in Lancashire and the history of Kirkham Grammar School  from 1621 to 1663 (with H G Shaw) (1930), The Records of a Lancahire Family from the XIIth to the XXth century (1940), The Royal Forest of Lancaster (1956), The Men of the North (Leyland, undated, but post 1969), of 6 Victoria Road, Poulton-le-Fylde (1920-), 24 Ribblesdale Place, Preston (1932-), Overleigh House, East Cliff, Preston (1950-), and of Orry’s Mount, Bride, Ramsey, IoM (1963-)

Shaw, Sarah Margaret (Maggie) (1875-1963), photographer and diarist, twin sister of Malcolm Graham Shaw qv, marr. John Bewley (1863-1945) of Causa Grange, Westward, farmer, no issue (‘Family Album’)

Shaw, Stephen (1846-1930), FRIBA, architect, b Kendal, yst son of Robert Shaw, practice at 45 Highgate, successor of Malcolm Shaw [Shaw and Dent] responsible for most of best buildings erected in Kendal in last quarter of 19th century, incl Grammar School, White Hall conversion to Town Hall, Zion Chapel, Bannel Head, Stonecross, Tower Buildings in Stramongate, Market Place public library (frontage later moved to Sandes Avenue), Sawyers’ Arms, Tudor House in Highgate, Waterloo House in Finkle Street, Jordan’s Granary at top of Allhallows Lane, Presbyterian Chapel and County Mews on Sandes Avenue, and larger houses on Queen’s Road (Underwood, Hollin Garth, Prospect, and Brantfell) and on Greenside, Castle Road, and Sunnyside, and own house at 157 Stricklandgate, marr Jane Graham (died November 1909) of Sebergham (her sister Esther (‘Aunt Ettie’) farmed Broadmoor at Rosley and was prominent breeder of Shorthorns, retired in 1914), twin son and dau (qv sub Malcolm), died and buried in Castle Street cemetery in 1930; Hyde and Pevsner

Shaw, Thomas,

Shaw, Thomas (1694-1751; ODNB), FRS, MA, DD, traveller and orientalist, born in house in Muslin Yard (demolished in 1897 to open up Maude Street, Kendal), on 4 June 1694 and bapt 18 June, son of Gabriel Shaw, shearman dyer, educ Kendal Grammar School, and Queen’s College, Oxford, marr (1733) Joanna, widow of Edward Holden, chaplain to the English Factory in Algiers, principal St Edmund Hall, professor of Greek, author of Travels or Observations related to Several Parts of Barbary and the Levant (1738), print of Dr Shaw in his study entitled ‘the first of the genuine scholars to spend time in Barbary’, died at Bramley vicarage, Hants, 15 August 1751 and buried there in September (memorial in church) (WW, ii, 51-84); his niece Martha Baldwin (qv); Tim Severin, The African Adventure: A History of African Exploration, 1973, 71

Shaw, Thomas Rogers (1853-1925), JP, son of Eli Shaw (1812-1897), of Penkridge, Staffs, educ Heversham Grammar School, marr (1877) Rosa Hannah, dau of William Truman, of Canwick, Staffs, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1914, JP Westmorland 1906/10, died at Greenside, Hincaster, 1925

Shaw, William (Bill) (1909-1978), geologist; collection at Kendal Museum                                                             

Sheaf, Charles Alfred Ernest (fl.late 19thc.), MRCP, FRCSE, Admiralty surgeon and agent, medical officer to Board of Trade, surgeon to Barrow Shipbuilding Co. and to Stank Mines, hon surgeon to Barrow Hospital, of 1 Hartington Street, Barrow (1882); mss lectures on physiology (Royal Coll of Surgeons archive)

Sheffield, George, the elder (1800-1852; ODNB), artist, b.Wigton, portrait painter, apprenticed to Joseph Sutton, worked Whitehaven, his portrait of the Lonsdales’ gardener Pennyfeather (The Beacon), sent 40 works to Carlisle academy exhibitions, to London studied at the RA, friendly with Sir Thomas Lawrence, lacking success returned to Wigton, several portraits engraved including Joshua Dixon MD, died Wigton, buried Bridekirk

Sheffield, George, the younger (1838-1892; ODNB), artist, nephew of the above, b.Wigton, landscape and marine painter, moved to Warrington in childhood, then to Manchester, crossed the Atlantic and visited Holland, this encouraged his success with marine art; Mary Burkett, Cockermouth School

Sheldon, Edward Pattinson (fl.19thc.), apprentice of Robert Stephenson, est. Cowans Sheldon in 1846, crane manufacturers Carlisle; see John Cowans (qv)

Sheldon, William Henry (1803-1883), coach driver and tramway pioneer, born Kendal (Sheldon gives Preston), a quaker, drove coaches from Carlisle to Birmingham, during this period as a ‘mail contractor and coach master’ lived at Cooks House, Kendal, est excellent cheap omnibus service in London, also from England to Scotland, est first tramways in London with the American GF Train which were unsuccessful, having cut his teeth he advised cities to set up tramways including Brussels, Copernhagen, Madrid and Bucharest, returning to the UK set up tramways at Aberdeen and Glasgow; Times obit 8 12 1883; Boase iii 537; thesheldonchronicles.net

Shelley, Percy Bysshe (1792-1822; ODNB), poet, stayed at Keswick for his honeymoon and received by Southey at Greta Hall in 1812 (exhibitions at Wordsworth Trust, Grasmere in 1992 and 2011)

Shepherd, Alan (1935-2007), motorcycle road racer, b Keswick, twice on the pdium at the Manx TT races

Shepherd, Arthur (1825-1909), DL, JP, landowner, born in Kennington, Surrey, mother Mary Ann (aged 49 in 1851, of London), marr, 1 son, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1865, of Shaw End, Patton, which was sold after death of his only son, Henry Anthony Shepherd (1867-1942), whose only son, Arthur Robert Tailyour Shepherd (1895-1917), Oxford and Bucks L I, was killed in action in 1917; Revd R Shepherd, brother of A Shepherd, of Shaw End, presented to living of Colm in Derbyshire, October 1833 (LC, 93)

Shepherd, Arthur C (17xx-18xx), of Shaw End, Patton, purchased Grayrigg Foot estate from Daniel Wilson for £3150 in 1798 (deeds and receipt in CRO, WD/SE/ Grayrigg deeds)

Shepherd, Henry, coroner of Kendal Ward (QS 1787…1790)

Shepherd, James Parkinson (18xx-1925), solicitor, Bleaymire & Shepherd, town clerk of Appleby 1869-1885, clerk to guardians of West Ward, to Sanitary Authority, Assessment and School Attendance Committees, Conservative agent for Appleby (1885), steward of Musgrave manors of Great and Little Musgrave 1894 (CRO, WDX 1572)

Shepherd, John (17xx-18xx), master of House of Correction at Kendal (paid out of county rates 1813, WQS)

Shepherd, John (19xx-2011), general medical practitioner, marr (1961) Margaret Elliott (social and geographical historian, also Westmorland county councillor for Brough to March 1974), dau of Joseph Barron, former deputy chief constable of Cumberland and Westmorland, of Allen Grove, Carleton, Penrith (1938), 1 son (David) and 1 dau (Barbara), spent 25 years in Church Brough, covering patients in nine parishes of Upper Eden valley, moved from Brough to Cambridge on his retirement (and after Margaret’s admission as an affiliated student of Wolfson College in 1985, with award of college bursary in 1988, later election to a junior research fellowship, appt as a tutor of college, and later emeritus fellow), assisted his wife’s research, which saw her publications of From Helgill to Bridge End: aspects of economic and social change in the Upper Eden Valley, 1840-1895 (2003) and Across the Oceans: Emigration from Cumberland and Westmorland before 1914 (2011), first of 28 Barton Road, Cambridge, died in Cambridge in October 2011 (CN, 11.11.2011)

Shepherd, Kenneth (19xx-19xx), photographer, Westmorland Gazette photographer in 1930s and 1940s, also dedicatee of Wainwright’s Fellwalking with a Camera (1988) ‘a photographer friend who applied his skill to my indifferent snapshots, gave them life and revealed in them a merit I had not suspected’ (intro), author of Lakeland 50 Years Ago (1989), his Lake District collection of glass plates now conserved by National Trust at Wray Castle, dau Rosemary

Shepherd, Nathaniel (c.1725-1793), clergyman, curate of Old Hutton, buried at Kendal, 5 June 1793, aged 68

Shepherd, Nathaniel [19thc.], boatbuilder, Bowness, in partnership with Borwick qv, the partnership later dissolved

Shepherd, Richard (?1662/3-1739), clergyman, [? bapt 15 March 1662/63, son of Henry Shepard, of Cliburn?], marr 1st (at St Mary’s, Carlisle, 8 October 1685) Jane (buried at Cliburn, 2 November 1695), dau of Revd Thomas Stalker (qv), his predecessor at Rockcliffe, marr 2nd Hannah (buried at Cliburn, 19 February 1716/17), 1 son (Henry (born 21 April and bapt 25 April 1703)) and 4 daus (Barbary (born 22 August and bapt 14 September 1699), Mary (born 10 September 1700, bapt next day, and buried in woollen, 3 October 1700), Agnes (born 4 May and bapt 6 May 1702, buried, 3 May 1721) and Hannah (born 20 August and bapt 5 September 1706)), licensed curate of Kirkby Thore, 20 December 1680, schoolmaster at Carlisle ‘for one year teaching School ended at Easter 1682’, licensed curate of Rockcliffe, 17 April 1683, collated to Cliburn, 8 March 1688/89 and inducted 18 March by Thomas Machell (qv) (CRO, WPR 24/2), rector of Cliburn 1689-1739, admired by Bishop Nicolson as ‘a discreet and worthy Clergyman (tho, he never had the Advantage of any University Education)’, offered Vicarage of Lazonby, ‘but he modestly declin’d the acceptance of it’, 20 August 1703 (MADC, 77-78), died and buried at Cliburn, 13 October 1739 (ECW, i, 182, 315, ii, 1245)

Shepherd, William, clergyman and schoolmaster, ran a private school at Longmarton, near Appleby; he taught William Turner, the anatomist (qv)

Shepherd-Rae, James, erected the memorial well, Shap, in 1914 in memory of his young daughter Mary Agnes, who had died in the West Indies in 1896

Shepperson, Claude Allin (1867-1921), artist, b Beckenham, Kent, son of Allin Thomas of Winsland, Bargeton, educ Weymouth college and Heatherley’s school of fine art, illustrator for Punch, exhibited with the Lake Artists, work in the Tate, V and A and BM; Renouf, 71-2

Sherwen, Rev Samuel (1790-1870), clergyman, descendant of Robert Sherwen (1540-1597) of Mealbank, Gosforth, born Seascale How, Gosforth, son of John Sherwen (1743-1822), rector of Dean for 45 years from 1825-1870, also patron of the living, marr (1) Hannah Robinson and (2) Anne Eliza Grey (born in the East Indies); ref in Highways and Byways in the Lake District

Sherwen, William (1831-1915), MA, clergyman, archdeacon of Westmorland 1902-1915, hon canon of Carlisle 1887-1902, president of Old St Beghians’ Club 1910-1912

Sherwen, William Sherwen (1872-19xx), BA, clergyman, incumbent of Thwaites 1916-1947, and of Eskdale, Ravenglass, and father of Dora Hodges (qv)

Shiel, Michael Davies- (1929-2009), BSc, FRGS, industrial archaeologist and lecturer, born at Rock Ferry on the Wirral, 5 June 1929, only son and 2nd of five children of L Davies-Shiel, a geography teacher, of Bebington, Wirral, marr Noree, 2 sons (1 decd), educ Bebington and Birmingham University (BSc in geology, geography and mine surveying, 1950), interest in industrial history began early when his parents showed him old corn mill at Loggerheads, near Market Drayton, and his first working watermill in North Wales in 1930s, qualified as mining geologist, but after two years National Service in Army Education Corps, opted for teaching career, first at Windermere Grammar School from 1953, then at Lakes School, Troutbeck Bridge, pioneered environmental studies as well as teaching geography, also ran sailing, chess and geology clubs, field historian by inclination, besides rocks also interested in geomorphology, clouds, alpine flora and early settlement, pioneered field-mapping techniques for New Land Use Survey of England and Wales from 1959, focussed specifically on water mills in Cumbria, esp textile mills, smelting of metals and woodland industries, potash pits, prolific collection of slides, sketches and notes, enthusiastic lecturer, member of CWAAS from 1964, council 1973/74-1977, and joint secretary of committee for industrial archaeology 1969-1980, elected FRGS in 1972, elected president of Cumbria Industrial History Society in his last weeks, author of The Industrial Archaeology of the Lake Counties (with J D Marshall) (1969), The Lake District at Work: Past and Present (also with JDM) (1971), Wool is my Bread, or The Early Woollen Industry of Kendal from c.975 to 1575 AD (1975), Watermills of Cumbria (1978), died at Windermere, 15 July 2009 (funeral at St Thomas’s, Kendal, 25 July, with cremation in following week) (CW3, x, 1-2)

Shiels, John (18xx-19xx), golf professional and club maker, appointed first professional to Kendal Golf Club in 1907 and served until 1951 (WG, 15.09.2016, p.82 – on Kendal Golf Club’s 125th anniversary)

(A Shoemaker), his epitaph (to whom ?) in Alston graveyard: ‘My cutting-board’s to pieces split, My size-stick will no measure meet’ From William Andrews Epitaphs (1883 rpr 1899)

Short, Edward Watson (Ted), baron Glenamara (1912-2012; ODNB), CH, PC, politician, born at Warcop, 17 December 1912, 2nd son of Charles Short (d.1948), tailor, of Shoregill, Warcop, and his wife Mary, had elder brother Leonard (born 27 February 1905) and sister Norah (born 23 November 1902) and younger brother Brian (born 26 May 1923), spent holidays in Carlisle with his grandfather who ran a factory in city, educ Warcop CE School (admitted 20 August 1917, left 16 December 1927) as were his siblings, started to be given ‘more responsible work’ at school (agreed by school managers, 7 January 1931), yr brother Brian transferred to Brough School in March 1933, and Bede College, Durham University, and London University, served WW2, Captain Durham Light Infantry, member of Newcastle City Council and leader of Labour Group 1948, president of North Newcastle Labour Party 1946, secretary of South Northumberland Branch of NUT 1950 and headmaster, entered Parliament as MP (Labour) for Newcastle upon Tyne Central in 1951 and served until 1976, opposition assistant whip 1955, deputy opposition chief whip 1962, parliamentary secretary to Treasury and chief whip October 1964-July 1966, postmaster general 1966-1968, secretary of state for Education and Science 1968-1970, opened new Long Marton County Primary School in centre of village on 1 November 1968, having opened Phoenix Centre in Windermere the previous day, Opposition spokesman on Education 1970-1972, Deputy Leader of Labour Party under Harold Wilson April 1972-1974, lord president of Council and leader of House 1974-1976, elevated to the peerage by James Callaghan, in 1977 as baron Glenamara, chancellor of University of Northumbria, and instrumental in bringing part of that university to a campus in Carlisle, which partly paved the way many years later for University of Cumbria, freeman of Newcastle, member of CWAAS from 1970/71 (when of 4 Patterdale Gardens, Newcastle), marr (1941) Jennie, dau of Thomas Sewell, of Newcastle upon Tyne, 1 son (Michael) and 1 dau (Jane), died 4 May 2012, aged 99, with funeral service at St Elizabeth’s church, Minsteracres, south of Riding Mill, Northumberland, 16 May (CN, 11.05.2012; Warcop School records in CRO, WDS 154);; obit Guardian 12 May 2012, Andrew Connell, Edward Short MP: From Westmorland Village to Westminster Village, CW3 xix 251-268

Short, John (1911-1991), poet, born Westmorland, published The Oak and the Ash (1947); NN anthology

Short, L B, Unitarian minister, inducted as minister of Unitarian Chapel, Market Place, Kendal, February 1934

Short, Patrick Edgar (1942-2010), teacher, children’s worker, and councillor, one of 8 children, educ St Bees School (F 1955-59), entered Sandhurst, but invalided out before completing officer training, decided on teaching career, training in PE, first in Inner London school, then at Hampstead School (teaching science, head of house and acting deputy head), left to open a specialist coffee shop till 1980s, returned to teaching as head of ICT, then at Parliament Hill School in Camden, active Liberal supporter, chairman of SE Region at time of merger with SPD, co-opted member of Hertfordshire County Council, moved back to London in 1992, chairman of Kensington and Chelsea Lib Dem Assoc, returned to live in Cumbria in 2001, Allerdale Borough Councillor for Waver ward, elected at byelection in September 2001 and serving until 2003, subsequently a parish councillor for Upper Derwent, dedicated to local community and young people, came out of retirement in 2007 to become children’s services manager for Barnado’s Allerdale Children’s Centre in Maryport, chairman of Cumbria Rural Choirs since 2007 and active member of Keswick and Wigton Choral Societies, former churchwarden, marr Wendy Scott, 2 sons (Guy and Ben) and 2 daus (Rachel and Helen), killed in his car in collision with Keswick School coach (on which two children also died) on A66 near his home at Braithwaite, 24 May 2010, aged 68 (Requiem mass at Keswick led by bishop of Carlisle on 16 July) (OSB, No.179)

Shotter, David Colin Arthur PhD FSA (1939-2021), archaeologist and professor of Roman Imperial History, born London, educ Kings College School and Southampton university, from 1964-66 lectured at Magee university college, Derry, at Lancaster university 1966-2004, chaired forty annual archaeological conferences, worked to est Cumbria and Lancashire archaeology unit (1979), marr Anne 2002, active member CWAAS serving in several roles including president 2005-2008, his publications include Rome and her Empire (2003), The Fall of the Roman Empire (2005), Augustus Caesar (2005) and Nero Caesar Augustus (2008), died in 2021 and remembered as warm and generous; Lancaster News obit; www.cambridge.org/core/journals/britannia/article/editorial/189199ED658D93E444886F7DO53D1A58; David Shotter Memorial Lecture 16 Sept 2022 at Tullie House

Shrigley and Hunt, stained glass window makers, Lancaster; see Hunt

Shuttleworth, Kenneth (1945-2017), fell runner, born at Melling, 29 March 1945, son of John and Emma Shuttleworth, moved with family (brother Alan and sisters Joan and Mavis) to Haggle Foot Farm at Cowan Head, educ Burneside School, marr 1st (1970) Carol Wharton (died 2014), 2 daus (Katie and Jennifer), marr 2nd (2016) Susan Park, worked as a milk tanker driver and delivery driver for Builders Supply, an experienced Lake District fell runner and coach, founded the Helm Hill Running Club in 1990 (with Billy Procter and Billy Reed) and later life president, organised the Kendal Winter League races, particularly keen on introducing young people to the sport and training them, remembered at British Open Fell Running Association race at Sedbergh on 7 May, died at home in Stonecross Road, Kendal, 5 May 2017, aged 72, with funeral at Kendal Parish Church, 15 May, and memorial service at Kendal Cricket Club at a later date (WG, 11.05.2017)

Shuttleworth, Sir Ughtred James Kay-, 1st Baron Shuttleworth (1844-1939), 2nd Bt, PC, JP, born at Westminster, 18 December 1844, and bapt at St Luke’s, Chelsea, 28 February 1845, eldest son of Sir James Phillips Kay-Shuttleworth, 1st Bt (cr.1849; died 26 May 1877), of Gawthorpe Hall, Burnley, and Janet (died 14 September 1872), only child and heiress of Robert Shuttleworth, of Gawthorpe, educ Harrow and London University, Hon LLD Manchester 1912, succ father as 2nd Bt in 1877, Liberal MP for Hastings 1869-1880 and for Clitheroe div of North-East Lancashire 1885-1902, member of London School Board 1880-1882, under-secretary of state for India 1886 (February-April), chancellor of duchy of Lancaster 1886 (April-August), privy councillor 1886, chairman of public accounts committee 1888-1902, parliamentary secretary to Admiralty 1892-1895, cr baron Shuttleworth, of Gawthorpe, 16 July 1902, chairman of Royal Commission on canals and waterways 1906-1911, lord lieutenant of Lancashire 1908-1928, president of Lancashire TAA 1908-1928, hon colonel, 93rd East LancsBrigade, RFA (TA), lord of manor of Barbon, JP Lancashire and Westmorland (qual 4 July 1884), a governor of Sedbergh School (1895), marr (1 July 1871, at St Leonard’s church, St Leonards-on-Sea) Blanche Marion (died 10 June 1924, aged 73, and buried at Barbon, 13 June), yst dau of Sir Woodbine Parrish, KCH, 2 sons and 4 daus (inc Nina Louisa, wife of Judge Hills, qv), died 20 December 1939, aged 95, and buried at Barbon, 23 December; Lawrence Ughtred (born 21 September 1887), his er son and heir, served WW1 as Captain and Adjutant, RFA, killed in action, 30 March 1917, and his yr son, Edward James (born 16 March 1890), of The Grove, Witham, barrister of Inner Temple, served WW1 as Captain and Adjutant, 7th Bn, The Rifle Brigade (despatches), accidentally killed, 10 July 1917 and buried at Barbon, 16 July, aged 27; succ by his grandson, Richard Ughtred Paul Kay-Shuttleworth (born 30 October 1913) as 2nd Baron and 3rd Bt, F/O, RAFVR, killed in action on air operations during Battle of Britain, 8 August 1940, and succ by yr brother, Ronald Orlando Lawrence (born posth 7 October 1917) as 3rd baron and 4th Bt, Captain, RA (TA), killed in action in North Africa, 17 November 1942, and succ by his cousin, Charles Ughtred John (qv) as 4th baron and 5th bt

Shuttleworth, Sir Charles Ughtred John Kay-, 4th baron Shuttleworth (1917-1975), 5th Bt, MC, MA, JP, born 24 June 1917, only son of Edward James Kay-Shuttleworth (sub 1st Baron) and of Sibell Eleanor Maud (later wife of Sir Roger Fulford (qv), buried at Barbon, 20 October 1980, aged 90), dau of Charles Robert Whorwood Adeane, CB, of Babraham Hall, co Cambridge, educ Eton and Magdalene College, Cambridge (BA 1938, 1952), JP co Lancaster, served WW2 as T/Major RHA (wounded twice, MC 1940, invalided 1942), succ cousin as 4th Baron in 1942, marr (5 November 1947) Anne Elizabeth, er dau of Colonel Geoffrey Phillips, CBE, DSO, of Sloane Avenue, London SW3 (buried at Barbon, 24 December 1991, aged 69), 1 son (5th Baron) and 1 dau, of Leck Hall and Barbon Manor, died aged 58 and buried at Barbon, 8 October 1975

Sibson, Florence Vernon (19xx-2016), pottery historian, died aged 80 (WN, 21.01.2016)

Sibson, Mary Kathleen (1908-1980), mayor of Carlisle 1967-8, dau Thomas Sibson, solicitor and his wife Elizabeth Liddle; photograph in Cumbrian Image Bank

Sibthorp, Col Charles de Laet Waldo (1783-1855; ODNB), army officer and MP, born Lincs, son of Col Humphry Waldo Sibthorp, 4th Dragoon Guards, sat for Lincoln almost continuously from 1826-1855, an ‘Ultra Tory’, opposed Catholic emancipation, the Reform Bill and even the building of the National Gallery, cartoons in Punch, lived Barco Lodge Penrith

Sickles, Ida (later Crackenthorpe), dau of General Daniel Edgar Sickles (1819-1914), soldier politician and diplomat and his second wife Carmina Creagh (the general was a complex character who gunned down the lover of his wife in broad daylight, he was prominent during the Civil War and lost a leg at Gettysburg, a diplomat in London from 1853-5, he presented his mistress to queen Victoria under an psuedonym),  marr Dayrell E Montagu Crackenthorpe (qv), sat to de Laszlo, the general left his estate to his grandchildren but according to the NY Times the money ‘did not exist’

Sidney, Sir Philip (1554-1586; ODNB), soldier and courtier, said to have stayed at both Brougham and Coniston Old Hall, W.G. Collingwood, The Book of Coniston, 32

Silvester of Everden (d.1254), bishop of Carlisle

Simnel, Lambert (1376-after 1434), imposter and claimant to the English throne, son of Thomas Simnel a carpenter or organ maker, little known of early life, his schoolmaster Richard Symonds spotted his similarity with the Princes in the Tower and trained him in courtly etiquette, in Ireland he was taken up by the earl of Kildare, John de la Pole (earl of Lincoln) and Francis Lord Lovell (qqv) as the figurehead in their rebellion (two years after Bosworth Field) against Henry VII whom they considered an usurper, Simnel was crowned king at St Mary’s Dublin on 24 May 1487, Lord Howth remained aloof calling the events ‘this mad dance’ (Amin 101), then, in company with these aristocrats Col Martin Schwarz (qv) and 200 (or 2000) mercenaries bolstered by 6000 Irish kerns sailed from Ireland and landed at Piel castle (sometimes the Pile of Fowdrey) near Rampside (now Barrow) on 5 June 1487 (the castle was built in 1327 by the abbots of Furness to secure their wool and grain and was described as ‘the best harbour between Milton Haven and the Scottish border’ in the days before the advent of Whitehaven and Liverpool,), rebellion had been anticipated by the king who had arranged for a papal bull to be sent by Pope Innocent VIII threatening rebels with excommunication (this was to be read from pulpits including those at Furness and Cartmel), the rebels had their first skirmish near Ulverston at a place later named Swarthmoor after Col Schwartz, they were joined in Furness by Sir Thomas Broughton (qv) a former retainer of Richard III and Robert Harrington of Cartmel, the army moved south and fought ‘the last battle of the Wars of the Roses’ at Stoke Field in Nottinghamshire, many died including Schwartz and Lincoln, Lord Lovell fled leaving the boy to his fate, Simnel was captured by Robert Bellingham and taken before the king, granted his life he became a falconer in the royal mews; Nathen Amin, Henry VII and the Tudor Pretenders: Simnel, Warbeck and Warwick, 2020

Simond, M (sp), married the niece of John Wilkes the politician, lived in USA

Simpson, Arthur William (1857-1922), woodcarver and furniture maker, born at Highgate, Kendal, 7 December 1857, son of William Simpson (aged 28), foreman tailor, of Miles Bank, Hanley, and later warehouseman, (son of Joseph Simpson), and his wife (marr 2 March 1857 at register office, Stoke upon Trent) Eleanor (aged 25), confectioner, of Shelton, dau of John Holme, worsted spinner, worked in aesthetic tradition of the Arts & Crafts Movement, of The Handicrafts, Kendal, opened first workshop at 25 Finkle Street 1885, member: Society of Friends, Church Crafts League, Design and Industries Association, CWAAS from 1905, active member, Society of Friends, chairman, Starnthwaite Home for Epileptic Boys, marr (14 March 1888, at Preston Patrick FMH) Jane (then nurse at Memorial Hospital, Kendal, aged 27, died at Littleholme in 1950, aged 90), dau of James Davidson, 2 sons (Hubert (qv) and Ronald (qv)) and 1 dau (Hilda, who cared for her mother, then lived at 74 Greenside, Kendal after sale of Littleholme in 1951), died 8 November 1922 and buried in Friends’ burial ground, Sedbergh Road, Kendal, 11 November (CRO, WDX 482, 515; SoK; ACM, 21-55)

Simpson, Bridget, nee Parke, (fl. later 17th-early 18thc.) married John Simpson a farmer of Whitbeck, grandmother of George Romney, as a widow, shipped iron ore from Lowsey Point near Askham; David A. Cross, A Striking Likeness, 2000

Simpson, Eleanor Foster (Nellie), Mrs H D Rawnsley (1873-1959), author, secretary to H D Rawnsley, whom she marr (1 June 1918, at Gramere) as his 2nd wife, wrote Grasmere plays, author of Canon Rawnsley: An Account of his Life (1923), a modest volume in which she wrote out his first wife, and Grasmere in Wordsworth’s Time, compiled album of Grasmere history (gifted to Wordsworth Trust by Temple Heelis, solicitors, in 2011), died 29 April 1959, buried Crosthwaite; CW2 1ix 177

Simpson, Frank Gerald (1882-1955), CBE, FSA, MA, archaeologist, born 31 October 1882, son of Edward Simpson, of Boston Spa, Yorkshire, educ Rydal School, first Director of the Durham University Excavation Committee, which was mainspring in research on Hadrian’s Wall for more than forty years, president, CWAAS 1947-1948, marr (1914) Sarah Mayhew, dau of Revd John Mayhew Wamsley, daus (inc Grace), died 14 May 1955 and buried at Nether Denton (portrait by Alphaeus P Cole, 1949; CW2, lv, 359-365); CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff

Simpson, Revd George (1718-1778), clergyman and schoolmaster, bapt at Aldingham, 30 June 1718, nominated to curacy of Finsthwaite chapel and school in 1741 (bond in £200 to Clement Taylor and others, 5 October 1741 in CRO, WT/Ch/acc.11085), nomination papers signed 25 August 1741 (Finsthwaite clergy bundle in LRO, DDCh 37/51), incumbent until his death, marr 1st (14 August 1742) Agnes (buried 2 December 1750), dau of Christopher Taylor, of Plum Green, children (bapt 1743-1750), marr 2nd (15 November 1773) Margaret (buried 18 April 1786), widow of Robert Taylor, of High Stott Park, buried at Finsthwaite, 8 July 1778 (CTF, 238)

Simpson, Revd G W (18xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of Blackford 1901-1936, champion of traditional Puritanism in Carlisle diocese, refused to allow Girl Guides attached to his Church school to sing in Carlisle Music Festival because it was being held in a theatre (SLD, 15-16)

Simpson, Henry (1880-1960), cinema proprietor and local politician, b. Loppergarth, Pennington, son of the landlord of the Wellington Inn, in 1901 he was the secretary of the Ulverston Pierrot Company, later arranged programmes at the Coronation Hall, after running cinema programmes for a short while in Dalton, Keswick and Grange-over-Sands, he took the lease in 1929 on the new Palladium cinema in Ulverston and established ‘talkies’, his portfolio soon included the Pavilion at Keswick, the Roxy at Ulverston and in time the Royalty in Bowness in 1951, in the 1940s new funding from CEMA, the precursor of the Arts Council, supported touring drama with the Old Vic and other companies, also the Russian Ballet and the Halle Orchestra, Simpson was president of the cinematographic exhibitors association in 1943 and the National Cinema Association and on the UDC being aware of the need for further employment was instrumental in enticing Glaxo to set up in the town, mayor of Ulverston, in the 1950s he witnessed the precipitous decline of cinema following the availability of television, he died aged 80 in 1960 but the Roxy continued well beyond the millennium; Charles Morris, The Roxy: 80th Year, 2017

Simpson, Hubert (1889-19xx), JP, cabinet maker, born in Kendal, January 1889, er son of A W Simpson (qv), of Littleholme, Kendal, educ Ackworth School (1902-1904), enlisted in November 1914 in RAMC (34th) and served in France, demob on 7 January 1919, took over The Handicrafts, Kendal after father’s stroke in 1920, apptd JP for Kendal Borough in 1934 and later became first deputy chairman of bench, president of Rotary Club of Kendal 1936, trustee of Bryan Lancaster estate until his death, secretary and treasurer of the Joseph Smith Almshouses at Thornton-in-Craven c.1947-1965, enthusiastic photographer, also gardener (as exhibitor and committee member of Westmorland Horticultural Society), marr (22 July 1918, at FMH, Kendal) Edith Mary (aged 27), dau of William Vaulkhard, draper, of 31 Crescent Green, Scalthwaiterigg, Kendal, 1 son (Oliver) and 1 dau (Jean, died August 2011, aged 90), of Fairfield, Heversham (1947), of Ghyll Close Cottage, Kendal (1955), died

Simpson, Hugh (16xx-1728), solicitor, eldest son of Lancelot Simpson (qv), marr (1699) Jane (b.1674), dau and coheir of Thomas Addison (qv), 2 sons (Lancelot (1703-1768), of Musgrave Hall, and Thomas (1706-1768), qv), clerk of the peace for Cumberland 1710/11-c.1728, muster master of Cumberland Militia, County Treasurer 1702, appeared before Justices in 1691 for ‘riotously entering house of Thomas Stamper at Rash in Bolton and for taking of his custody one Robert Feare a prisoner upon a commission of rebellion’

Simpson, Isaac William (18xx-19xx), JP, CA, local councillor, alderman of Cumberland County Council, chairman of Penrith Rural District Council, JP for Penrith Division, of Beech House, Winskill, Penrith (1938)

Simpson, Revd James (1819-1886), JP, LLD, FSA, clergyman, civic leader and antiquary, born Lyth into farming family of Crosthwaite, Kendal, schoolmaster in Shap, studied theology at University College, Durham (prizes in Hebrew and Greek), curate, Chester-le-Street and Morland, vicar of Shap 1857-1863 and of Kirkby Stephen 1863-1886, supervised renovation of nave of church from 1871 and Smardale Chapel and addition of clerestory (cost of £4000), hon canon of Carlisle 1874, LLD 1872, chairman of Westmorland Quarter Sessions, JP Westmorland, mayor of Appleby, chairman of school board and burial board, vice-chairman of East Ward Poor Law Union, gave evidence to Royal Commission on employment of children and to Richmond Commission on Schools, grand chaplain of England Freemasons, first chairman of council, CWAAS 1866 (inaugural meeting, 11 Sept 1866), provided the first article in the first volume of CWAAS Transactions, his portrait as frontispiece, president 1882-1886, died at Kirkby Stephen vicarage, 9 March, aged 66, and buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery, 15 March (CW1 viii 532; PO); CW1 viii; obit. Carlisle Patriot and Carlisle Journal 12.3.1886; CWAAS 150th volume 303ff;

Simpson, Joseph (1879-1939), artist and poster designer; b. Carlisle; RAF official war artist; painted portrait of George V, annual calendars for Thurnhams of Carlisle depict major Lakeland characters: John Ruskin, John Peel et al, some of these are exhibited at Watt’s coffee shop in Bank St, Carlisle; Marshall Hall

Simpson, Lancelot (1643-1711), attorney, son of Hugh Simpson (d.1675, aged 50 in 1665), of Orthwaite (Allerthwaite), marr (1662) Mary (1638-1703), dau and coheir of William Musgrave (qv), of Musgrave Hall, Penrith and Fairbank, Plumpton, acquiring those properties, sold Orthwaite Hall c.1664, aged 22 in 1665, clerk of the peace for Cumberland 1690-1711, under sheriff of Cumberland 1673, steward of manors of Inglewood Forest, will 1711, son Hugh (qv)

Simpson, Richard, clergyman, born at Dixies, near Milnthorpe, curate of Mount Sorrel, Leicestershire (BR 1770, 111) <check Beetham and Heversham baptisms pre-1770 for him>

Simpson, Ronald Davidson (1890-19xx), OBE, DL, designer, born in Kendal in 1890, yr son of A W Simpson (qv), educ Ackworth School from 1904, went to Mortons at Carlisle in May 1909 for two or three months, but stayed with firm for rest of his life, DL Cumberland 1955

Simpson, Thomas (1706-1768), attorney, yr son of Hugh Simpson (qv), marr Elizabeth, sister and coheir of Christopher Pattenson (qv), of Carleton Hall, 1 son (Hugh (1733-1768) survived father less than two months) and 1 dau (Elizabeth (1741-1811) wife of James Wallace, qv), acquiring Carleton Hall estate, admitted attorney 1730, clerk of the peace for Cumberland 1730-1768, muster master and treasurer of Cumberland Militia (CRS, I, Jacobite Risings), agent and steward to duke of Somerset 1747 and later to Charles, earl of Egremont, steward of Egremont manor court from 1745, and to duke of Portland, solicitor resident at Penrith (CW2, xvii, 50; Simpson wills in CW2, lxix, 234-239) = ? Thomas Simpson also steward of manor court of Barton (Edward Hasell), 1764 (CRO, WDX 884/4/7); and Thomas Simpson, steward of manor court of Bleatarn (Sir Christopher Musgrave, Bt), 1732 (CRO, WDY 641)

Simpson, Thomas (fl.late 18thc.), presbyterian minister, ordained in 1774 to Scotch United Presbyterian Chapel on Beast Banks (on site of later Hill House and present Monument House), Kendal, succ Revd James McQuhae (qv), but inability of congregation to pay his stipend led to his resignation in 1780, (chapel sold and proceeds with subscriptions went to purchase of theatre in Woolpack Yard, converted into chapel in 1824) (KK, 322; AK, 165)

Simpson, Thomas (17xx-1830), stage coach operator and racehorse owner, made a fortune as coach builder in London (with royal patronage), returned to Kendal, advertised coaches leaving the White Hart Inn, Kendal to Liverpool and Manchester every morning at 5.30 am to arrive the same evening, May 1818, opened new theatre (architect, John Richardson, qv) in Shakespeare Yard, 22 June 1829 (continued to 1834 when converted into stables for use of Inn, which TS had built in 1830), intended erecting theatre on old buildings adjoining Blue Coat School, November 1829, died at Wattsfield (Watch Field), Kendal, 29 December 1830, aged 61 or 81; his widow died 13 January 1831, surviving him for only 15 days, also aged 81; his racing stud and stage coach horses advertised for sale, 12 February 1831 (LC, 20, 82; KK, 195, 321)

Simpson, Thomas (1805-1873), civil engineer, b. Blackwell, Carlisle; worked on Chelsea Waterworks and active in Glasgow and Liverpool; monument St Cuthbert’s Carlisle (in porch)

Simpson, Thomas (1809-1876), MA, clergyman, formerly of Witherslack, died at his residence, Holme Acre, Altrincham, 20 December 1876

Simpson, William (c.1772-1806), surgeon, possibly of Knaresborough as listed in corporation of surgeons (RCS) in 1794, possibly having qualified as doctor of medicine at Edinburgh University in 1793, last listed in RCS in 1801, initiated as member of Union Lodge of freemasons at Kendal, 12 May 1795, marr (21 May 1796 at Ambleside) Agnes (bapt 1 August 1773), dau of Roland Suart, house carpenter, of Ambleside, 1 son (Rowland, bapt 4 May 1797, buried 20 May 1816) and 1 dau (Frances, b 4 August 1805, d 20 March 1808), medical practice in Ambleside till he died 18 July 1806, aged 34, and buried at Ambleside, 21 July; his widow Agnes had illegitimate son (George, born 1808) by Benjamin Browne, surgeon (qv), who had been apprenticed to him (CW2, xci, 199-211)

Simpson, Canon William (1843-after 1931), vicar of Caldbeck; CW3 xviii 95

Sinclair, Sir John (1794-1873), 6th bart of Barrock House, Caithness, born Penrith; Boase vi 566

Singleton, William (17xx-18xx), clergyman, native of Drigg, vicar of Hanslope and Castle Thorpe, Bucks for nearly 50 years, but lived mostly at Drigg Hall, subscriber to Hutchinson’s History of Cumberland as ‘The Rev Mr Hanstope, Buckinghamshire’ (CRH, xviii, letter quoted on p.682)

Singleton, William, interests in slate quarry, Duddon, lived at Frith Hall a former hunting lodge sited dramatically in the north western corner of the valley (now ruined); Stebbens, Duddon Valley, 103-5 and 106-11

Sinker, Rev John, son of the Rev Robert Sinker, educ Cambridge, curate Raughtonhead, vicar Burneside, 1st provost of Blackburn (1931), wrote several books

Sinkinson, Edward James (1849-1891), financial secretary to Government of India, b Kendal, marr Katherine Irene Le Mesurier, dau of William Henry Le Mesurier (of an old family of Guernsey) in 1878 in Meerut, Bengal, 6 children, d Darjeeling, appears in a group photograph  at NPG, stained glass Kendal parish church (1893),

Sissons, Joseph (c.1763-1838), horn comb manufacturer, of Fellside, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 4 December 1838, aged 75

Size, Nicholas (1866-1953; DCB), railway administrator, hotelier and novelist, proprietor of the Victoria Family Hotel in Buttermere, which he had restored, author of The Secret Valley (1929), an imaginative account of Earl Boethar’s struggles against Norman invaders in Buttermere, Shelagh of Eskdale, or the Stone of Shame (1932), which was a re-telling of The Story of Shelagh (1909) by Dr Charles Arundel Parker (qv), and Ola the Russian (1933), a novel about Olafr Tryggvason, with scenes set in the Wirral and the Lakes, also completed a further Viking novel, The Vindication of Canute, but never published, member of CWAAS from 1927 (contributed one paper on Buttermere, CW2, xxxvi, 192-195), died at Buttermere, 14 April 1953, aged 86, buried illegally in his own ‘Fairy Glen’ nearby (CW2, lii, 223; Times, 17.04.1953);; obit. CN 18 April 1953

Skayfe, Thomas (fl.1424/25), manorial official, reeve of Sowerby near Brough under Stainmore, succ John Scardale, accounting for receipts in year 1424-25, illustrating typical components of manorial income accounted for by the local reeve or bailiff (prepositus) on Clifford estates in north Westmorland, with £16 18s. 1d. of the sum total of receipts (£18 10s. 1d.) going to William Crackanthorpe (qv), the lord’s receiver, an isolated surviving example of this type of manorial account (CRO, WD/Hoth/box 45)

Skawseby, Alice (fl.1430), anchoress, enclosed ‘in quadam domo pro anchoritis constructa juxta ecclesiam de Kirkeby in Kendall’ by the prior of Cartmel, commission from archdeacon of Richmond, dated 4 December 1430 (BL, MS Harl. 6978, from abstract made by Matthew Hutton and edited by A Hamilton Thompson, YAJ, xxv (1920), 215-216; R M Clay); reference is also made to the ‘ankret’ in Kendal by Agnes Hilton in her The Hermit of Eskdale (1933), 54), her life recalled in Anchorite House and Anchorite Rd, Kendal

Skeaping, John Rattenbury (1901-1980) RA, sculptor, first husband of Barbara Hepworth (1903-1975), (qv), encountered a farmer at St Bees c.1930 who had ploughed up some chunks of alabaster, further investigation led to his location of an alabaster mine on the coast near Sandwith, south of Whitehaven, this pale grey stone with a pink tinge was used by Skeaping, Henry Moore and Hepworth; Skeaping’s Burmese Dancer (Tate), Moore’s Four Piece Composition (Tate) and Hepworth’s Mother and Child (Tate), all appeared in the 1930s; Moore recalled in 1978 that Skeaping had introduced him to this stone

Skeat, Bertha Marian (1861-1948), PhD, school principal, born at East Dereham, Norfolk, 30 December 1861, dau of Revd Dr Walter William Skeat (1835-1912; ODNB), professor of Anglo-Saxon, Cambridge University, and his wife Bertha, had 2 brothers and 3 sisters, educ Newnham College, Cambridge (Med and Mod Langs, class I, and honours in English 1886), Cambridge teachers’ certificate (honours in theory and practice), special probationer for four months in Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge, PhD (University of Zurich), lecturer at Cambridge Teaching College for Women 1890-1893, examiner in English at college of preceptors, teacher at Blackburn High School for Girls (with Jessie Auld, MSc) when they moved to Barnard Castle in 1900 to establish a school for girls there named after Bernard Baliol, first in temporary premises then transferring to a permanent site at Sedbergh in 1901, when there were four teachers, three servants and 13 pupils besides the joint principals, site being on land of over six acres of an estate called Pedge Croft, which had been conveyed by Jacob Wakefield (qv) to Herbert Newsome Baxter, wine merchant, of Thornton-le-Moor, Yorks (former Sedbergh School pupil), by deed of 13 November 1896 (in NYCRO), who built house on it (date stone of HNB 1897), but later conveyed premises to Ann Beck and Mary Hewetson (by deed of 8 October 1907, with lease vested in B M Skeat on 24 March 1908), with premises finally conveyed to her and Auld by deed of 5 March 1924 for £6,000, compiled the Borough Pocket Guide to Sedbergh and its Schools, c.1910, also published a number of books and articles, inc a word-list for the English Dialect Society, a primer of historical English grammar, and two anthologies of English literature for use in schools, also wrote school plays and poems, some with local connections such as The City of My Heart (Sedbergh Yorkshire), taught English and French (with Miss Auld teaching Mathematics), said to be very austere and keen on what was good for the spirit rather than the body, Baliol School closed at end of summer term 1932, when she was over 70, and she had moved into Baliol Cottage in Thorn’s Lane Sedbergh, by October (part occupied by Miss Auld and Miss Gordon), still continued to teach local girls and boys and to read and judge poetry at a literary festival in 1945/6, also kept up the Old Baliol Association newsletters until Christmas 1945, died at Baliol Cottage, 2 December 1948 (her book rest carved by her father was given to Gordon Middleton, who gave it to Sedbergh Methodist chapel) (‘Baliol School’ by Elspeth Griffiths, Sedbergh Historian, VI, 3, Summer 2012; prospectus of c.1910 in CRO, WDS 131)

Skelton of Skelton; CW2 xxxiii 24

Skelton, Gen Henry (d.1757), of Branthwaite Hall, fought at the battles of Dettingen in 1743 and Fontenoy in 1745;  Hudleston ( C )

Skelton, olim Jones, Captain James, saved General Henry Skelton from being cut down by an enemy dragoon, upon his death in 1757 inherited the Branthwaite estate and changed his name; Hudleston ( C )

Skelton, John (fl.late 18thc), lived Rowrah, founding president of the Lamplugh Friendly Society in June 1788, the second oldest such society in the UK, meeting for many years in the Lamplugh Arms, it ran for 150 years; CW2 1966 418-23; mss at CRO

Skelton, Tom (fl. 16th cent), fool, resident at Muncaster castle in 16th century, full-length portrait in castle shows him in green, white and yellow gown, carrying a hat, staff and bowl, he is said to be the origin of tomfoolery; (qv) Tom Fool

Skene, Zoe (1819-1890),  born in Aleppo, her father James Henry Skene the British consul and his wife Rhalou Rangavis (sister of Alexandros Rizos Rangavis (1809-1892) poet, dramatist and statesman), marr William Thomson of Whitehaven, later archbishop of Canterbury (qv), mother of several children including Wilfred Thomson 1st bt, she died at Hampton Court Palace in her widowhood and was buried with her late husband at Bishopsthorpe, the only interment there of an archbishop, she was related in some way to the wife of Scott of the Antarctic; EC Richards, Zoe Thomson of Bishopthorpe and her Friends, 1916

Skiddaw Hermit, aka George Smith (qv)

Skipwith, John Granville Wemyss (1921-1991), army officer, born 12 February 1921, yr son of Lieut-Col James Wemyss Skipwith, RE (1875-1950), and descendant of Sir Grey Skipwith, 8th Bt (1771-1852), educ Shrewsbury and RMA Woolwich, served WW2, Major RA, marr 1st (10 June 1947) Margaret Lettice Mary (died 22 October 1968), only dau of Colonel William Paget-Tomlinson, DSO (qv sub W S Paget-Tomlinson), 2 sons (Guy Paget Grey (b.1951) and Philip James Henderson (b.1957), now of Garden Cottage, High Biggins), marr 2nd (1977) Eva Agnes (died 7 April 1997), dau of George Cooper Ingall, chartered accountant, of Croft End, Kendal, and widow of Major James Cameron Campbell, RE, chairman of Westmorland Conservative Association (1975), author of A-Z of Conducting a Parish Council Meeting (Cumbria Association of Local Councils leaflet, October 1980), of Biggins House, Kirkby Lonsdale, died 25 August 1991

Slack, Arthur Edworth Parkin (18xx-19xx), local councillor, apptd honorary freeman of Appleby in 1950 for 25 years’ service as councillor and alderman of Appleby Borough Council, inc one term as mayor 1931-32, later served a further term in 1958-59

Slack, Austin Ainsworth (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, vicar of Beetham, succ G W Cole (qv) on his death in 1897, but resigned in 1904, having enlarged and further improved new vicarage at a cost of £435 in 1897 (BR, 113)

Slack, Thomas (1723-1784), printer, newspaper proprietor and bookseller (including children’s books), b. Wreay; Jenny Uglow, The Pine Cone, 30

Sladen, Alfred Reyner (18xx-19xx), boat designer, yachtsman and athlete, born in Stalybridge, of independent means, arrived in Windermere with his brother Mortimer in 1888, had 27 ft steam launch Bat constructed to his design in 1891, followed by his first powerful steam launch 55 ft Phantom and 65 ft Elfin in 1895 (latter, with top speed of 25 mph, carried Kaiser’s staff on his visit in 1895, also provided electricity for Diamond Jubilee celebrations in Bowness in 1897), designed his first steam boat 43 ft Otto for his brother in 1896  (GATW, 63-74), employed T H Mawson to design three-acre garden in landscape style at Cleeve Howe, standing on the Elleray woods, in 1894 (CRO, WDB 86/roll 47)

Sladen, John Mortimer (18xx-19xx), BA, JP, brother of Alfred (qv), of Cleeve Howe, Windermere (architect, J S Crowther, 1853), founder of Windermere Sea Scouts in 1912, owner of motor launch Beaver, friend of Sir Robert Baden-Powell, chairman of governors of Windermere Grammar School (1929, 1934), made gift of nurse’s cottage to Windermere Nursing Association (with portion of land given by Joseph Cross, of Ferney Green), member (with his brother) of general committee of Ethel Hedley Hospital for Crippled Children, Calgarth (1930)

Slater, (Charles) Montagu (1902-1956; ODNB), BA, writer and librettist, born in St George’s Road, Millom, 23 September 1902, er son of five children of Seth Slater, a sub-postmaster, master clothier and lay preacher, and his wife, Rosa Annie Thora Lugsdin, both strict Wesleyan Methodists, educ Millom secondary school and Magdalene college, Oxford (as a non-collegiate student in October 1920, reading philosophy, politics and economics, BA 1924), journalist Liverpool Post, published fourteen books, one of his great achievements was the libretto for Benjamin Britten’s Peter Grimes, died from cancer in Whittington Hospital, Islington, 19 December 1956; Norman Nicholson biography by Kathleen Jones, The Whispering Poet, 37

Slater, John J (d.1967), DD, PhD, Roman Catholic priest, priest-in-chrge of Arnside and Milnthorpe parish 1947-1949, died in March 1967

Slayteburn, William de (fl.1344), vicar of Kendal, presented to vicarage of church of Kirkeby Kendale, 12 March 1344, then thought to have died as king presented William de Swyneflete, king’s clerk, to vicarage, but this was then revoked because he is ‘alive and well’, 30 March 1344 (Cal Pat Rolls, 1344, 217, 220), prob dead by 1345 when estate of John de Bokham was ratified as vicar of church of Kendal (ibid, 1345, p.467) (RK, i, 21)

Sleddall family, of Kendal (qqv), residence at Sleddall Hall in Wildman St, William founded the Sleddall Prayer Book Charity, John founded the Sleddall Victoria Jubilee Almshouses

Sleddall, John (18xx-1887), philanthropist, descendant (pres) of Thomas Sleddall (qv), founder of twelve alms houses and chapel for benefit of poor, aged and infirm inhabitants of borough of Kendal, originally intended for New Hutton, erected in 1888 on Aynam Road (architect, Eli Cox, qv), out of £40,000 which he left for charitable purposes, with £4000 from remaining surplus for foundation of scholarships at Kendal Grammar School, died at Ulverston, aged 84, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 21 April 1887

Sleddall, Thomas, mayor of Kendal 1636-37, the ‘first modern mayor’ under the new charter of 4 February 12 Chas I [1637] (BoR, 315, 355)

Sleddall, William (17xx-1813), endowed Greencoat Sunday School in Kendal, died 25 July 1813, aged 92

Sleddall, William, of Rawhead, Hutton-in-the-Hay, Kendal, 1840s

Slee, Christopher (fl.early 16thc.), prior of Carlisle, built the west gate to the cathedral precinct 1528 which has the inscription in latin carved in black letter: Orate........... (Pray for the soul of Prior Christopher Slee who commenced this building AD 1528); Pevsner 30, 225, 236; ms re court case vs tenant at Sebergham in national archives

Slee, John, master at Kendal Quaker school in late 18thc., ‘the celebrated John Slee’, taught Isaac Ritson (qv); is he identical with John Slee, schoolmaster of Tirril (below)?

Slee, John (17xx-1828), mathematician, born in Mungrisdale, member of Society of Friends, founded academy at Tirril, which drew undergraduates from universities in vacations to receive instruction in mathematics, died at Tirril in May 1828, but school was continued by his son Thomas

Slee, Lancelot (Lanty) (1802-1878), distiller of illicit spirits, born in Hallsteads poorhouse at Chapels, Kirkby Ireleth, 2 February 1802, and bapt at St Cuthbert’s, Kirkby Ireleth, son of Jane Slee, working as quarryman at Tilberthwaite, Little Langdale when he marr (3 June 1839) Mary Anne (died 1874), dau of xx Richardson, woodcutter from Satterthwaite, at St Mary’s, Ulverston, 7 sons and 3 daus, farmed but needed to provide for his large family, distilled illicit whisky from potatoes in stills hidden under flagged kitchen floors and on fellsides and old quarries around Little Langdale, including one in Bessycrag Quarry on the slopes of Wetherlam, using kettle and coil condenser (‘cow and worm’), known as ‘milkin’ coos in t’ haystacks’, took a packhorse accompanied by two black lurchers over Wrynose and Hardknott passes to Ravenglass to exchange his whisky for rum, brandy, tobacco and sugar, a round trip of nearly 60 miles, selling his poteen whisky for about ten shillings a gallon, convicted by local magistrates on several occasions but made sufficient money to buy Greenbank Farm in Little Langdale, where he died, aged 76, buried in churchyard at Chapel Stile, 24 May 1878; one son married to dau of John o’ t’ Forge, Langdale farmer (‘Lakeland Smugglers’ in Idylls of a North Countrie Fair (1916), 215-239; Cumbria, February 2017, 27-31)

Slee, Mary (fl.early 20thc.), artist, illustrated several attractive small scale books (smaller than 8vo) to raise funds for Carlisle Infrmary, these included Older Carlisle: Local Worthies (1923) illustrated with her portrait drawings and others showing local architectural subjects

Slevan, James Alexander (1837-`1889), tailor’s cutter, poet and song writer, ‘Bess O’ Derwent Green’ published in local press

Sloss, David (1932-2000), physician and writer, son of John David G. Sloss of Liverpool (1905-1975), a master builder, and Agnes H. Robertson Grant (1907-1994), practiced in Harley St., married Linda Jane Hodgson (1927-2009), an American heiress, lived Storrsthwaite, near Storrs Hall on the east shore of Windermere, keen yachtsman, loved the Outer Hebrides, collector of art, member of the Art Fund, wrote monograph on William Green with Mary Burkett (qv), lent crucial books to David Cross for research on the history of medicine

Smallpiece, John (18xx-18xx), tutor, of Croft House, St Bees (1883), probably related to Miss Smallpiece, headmistress of Kendal High School for Girls

Smallwood, William (1831-1897), composer, organist and choirmaster, St George Kendal, published Smallwood’s Pianoforte Tutor, lived Heathfield House (1885), of 5 Strickland Place (1873)

Smalwood, Charles (c.1721-1771), clergyman, vicar of Kirkoswald and rector of Ainstable, marr (27 August 1753, at Kirkoswald) Joyce (buried 21 August 1778, aged 50), dau of Heneage Fetherstonhaugh, and sister of Timothy (qv), son (Charles, qv) and dau (Jane, wife (marr 1777) of Sir Thomas Crew, 6th Bt), buried at Kirkoswald, 7 March 1771, aged 49

Smalwood, Charles (1762-1839), see Fetherstonhaugh

Smeaton, John (1724-1792; ODNB), engineer, responsible for building the underground canal, the Nent Force Level near Alston, also the machinery for High Mill, north of the market place, designed St Augustine’s church, Alston, more familiar for building lighthouses, his daughter married Jeremiah Dixon (qv), of Fell Foot, Newby Bridge, portrait by George Romney (NPG); for the Nent Force Level see CW2 lxiii 253

Smirke, Mary (1779-1853), artist and translator, daughter of Robert Smirke Sr., translated Don Quixote (1818); Marshall Hall

Smirke, Robert, the elder (1752-1845; ODNB), RA, painter, born in Wigton, 1752, 2nd son of Robert Smirke, noted for beauty of the innumerable coats-of-arms he painted on coach panels, elected RA in 1793, portrait of John Christian Curwen (qv) in 1791, marr, 3 sons (inc eldest, Richard (1778-1815), antiquarian draughtsman, and Robert (qv)), painted work for Alderman Boydell’s Shakespeare Gallery, some of which are now at the RSC Collection, Stratford, illustrated numerous publications, died in London, 5 January 1845

Smirke, Sir Robert, the younger (1780-1867; ODNB), RA, FRS, FSA, architect, born in London, 1 October 1780, 2nd son of Robert Smirke RA (qv), rebuilt Lowther Castle in 1802-08, southern tower of Carlisle Citadel in 1810, County Courts, Carlisle, Eden Bridge, Carlisle, some work on Carlisle cathedral, Fish Market and Butter Market, Whitehaven, cloister to St Lawrence’s church, Appleby in 1812, Market House, Appleby, restored (less happily) Crosby Ravensworth church between 1809 and 1816, knighted in 1832, retired in 1845, died in Cheltenham, 18 April 1867, aged 86 (LRNW, 382); Pevsner

Smith, Alan (1928-2007), post office engineer, watercolour artist, boatbuilder, yachtsman and French horn player, member of the Lakes Artists, lived Rampside, near Barrow, where after his divorce built a new house in his garden with a fine view across the water to Piel Castle; Renouf

Smith, Arthur Jackson (18xx-19xx), wood carver, from Sale in Cheshire, settled at Coniston, carved oak interior at Langdale Chase, Windermere in 1890s, his grandson Bert was a violin maker

Smith, Bert (1910-1973), violin maker, grandson of AJ smith (qv), lived Bowness-on-Windermere and later Coniston, made a violin for Yehudi Menuhin, his collection of tools and files, negotiated for Abbot Hall by Carol Davies, museum curator; Quarto, c.1991

Smith, Charlotte (1749-1806; ODNB), poet and novelist, her Ethelinda (1789) is partly set in a gothic abbey in the Lakes and includes ‘the first fictional treatment of Grasmere’, her verse was illustrated by engravings after Romney and Stothard, the only known portrait of her is a pastel by Romney (Abbot Hall Art Gallery); Penelope Bradshaw, Romantic recluses and humble cottages, Womens Writing, 26, 2019; David A Cross, A Striking Likeness, 2000, 169-70

Smith, Edward Benn V.C. (1898-1940), b. Maryport

Smith, Egerton (1774-1841) founder of Liverpool Mercury, was apprenticed in Kendal to James Ashburner, son of  Thomas Ashburner (qv)

Smith, Elizabeth (1777-1806; ODNB), scholar, writer, translator and fell walker, lived Tent Lodge, Coniston 1801-6, having sensitive lungs she lived for a while in a tent beside Coniston Water, her tent gave the name to the house, published the unusual and early Vocabulary of Hebrew, Arabic and Persian; Sarah Holmes Griffiths, Life of Elizabeth Smith, 2020

Smith, George (fl.1725/31),‘of Kendall in Westmorland’, author of A Compleat Body of Distilling, explaining the mystery of that Science, in a most easy and familiar manner, containing an exact and accurate method of making all the compound cordial waters (printed for Bernard Lintot, London, 1725; 2nd edition printed for Henry Lintot, London, 1731); [Jane, wife of George Smith, of Highgate, Kendal, buried at Holy Trinity, Kendal, on 12 September 1713]

Smith, George (c.1700-1755), schoolmaster, surveyor and polymath, born soon after 1700, native of Scotland, but nothing known of his upbringing and education, an assistant in some seminary of learning in or near London as early as 1722, assisted Dr John Theophilus Desaguliers (1683-1744; ODNB), curator of experiments to the Royal Society, in his scientific experiments in London, at York 1735-1738, then engaged at academy in Wakefield till c.1740, married (who, where, and when not known) with step-dau (Mrs Sarah Smith, who was preacher among Quakers), living and teaching at Boothby near Brampton by 1741, fell under suspicion of being a Jacobite sympathiser, but in fact working as government agent drawing up military maps of Carlisle in 1745 and 1746, on friendly terms with duke of Cumberland, surveyed Cumberland coast in 1756, moved from Boothby (August 1746) to Wigton by 1748, teaching mathematics and philosophy in neighbourhood, with annuity settled on him by elder brother, a merchant in Turkey, enabling him to pursue his study of antiquities, an early climber of the fells,  contributor to Gentleman’s Magazine after 1735, especially in fields of topography, astronomy, meteorology, and antiquities (particularly Roman inscriptions), hired guide at Kendal, thought to have died in 1773 (verses on his death by Gough in the Sentimental Magazine), but in fact died at Wigton and buried there, 3 September 1755 (letter of 16 July 1756 from T Tomlinson, bishop’s chaplain, mentions ‘the late Mr Smith’) (CN, 27.08.2010; Jonathan Boucher; Gordon Manley (1948); E L de Montluzin in Eighteenth Century Life, 2004, 28 (3), Duke UP); CW2 xlviii 135; Stephen Matthews, The Gentleman who Surveyed Cumberland, 2014

Smith, George (c.1825-1876), ‘The Skiddaw Hermit’ or ‘The Dodd Man’, artist, born about 1825 at Crossbrae, Forglen, Banffshire, one of 8 children, father was a crofter on estate of Sir Robert Abercromby, mother died when he was a child, father remarried but died soon afterwards, made homeless by his stepmother, educ Fordyce School and Aberdeen University, came to Keswick in 1863 and built himself a ‘nest’ on slopes of Dodd, painted and sketched local people (incl Tom and Mary Graves of Mirkholme, Bassenthwaite, Isabella Wilson of Torver with child, George Clarke of Ambleside and Robert Hebson of Pooley Bridge (a waiter in a Keswick hotel), also practised phrenology at fairs, had a weakness for whiskey, was drummed out of Keswick and took refuge on shores of Windermere near Ambleside about 1870 and then at Beech Hill, Bowness, but involved in riotous disturbance in Ambleside and taken to court, then went to Holburn Hill at Millom, then to Barrow, converted to Christianity, photographed by Moses Bowness (qv) and C J Whittaker of Penrith, returned to Scotland about 1873, died in Banffshire Lunatic Asylum, 28 September 1876 (portrait by J Brown of Keswick, 1870); Mary E. Burkett, The Skiddaw Hermit, 1996

Smith, James (d.1753), clergyman, vicar of Beetham for 43 years, died in 1753

Smith, James Alexander (1881-1968), VC, born in Workington, 5 January 1881, private, Border Regt, won VC at Rouges Bancs, 21 December 1914, died 21 May 1968

Smith, John (1659-1715; ODNB), clergyman and historian, b. Lowther, son of rector William Smith and grandson of Matthew Smith (1589-1640; ODNB) (a member of the Council of the North), educ St John’s Cambridge, treasurer of Durham, worked for many years on an edition of the Venerable Bede which was complted by his son George (1693-1756)

Smith, John (1749-1831; ODNB), watercolour painter, known as ‘Warwick Smith’ or ‘Italian Smith’, born at Irthington, near Carlisle, 26 July 1749, son of the gardener to Susannah Dacre (nee Gilpin), educ St Bees School (probably funded by the Gilpins), taught by Captain John Bernard Gilpin (qv),  visited Calke Abbey in summer of 1775 with artist Sawrey Gilpin (qv), brother of William Gilpin (qv), to see Sir Harry Harpur, whose brother-in-law, earl of Warwick, he met there and who became his patron, paying for his travels to Italy and providing details of commissions to be completed, spent five years in Italy and met other artists such as Francis Towne and Thomas Hearne, returned in August 1781 and settled in Warwick, became well known as a landscape draughtsman and contributed to Samuel Middiman’s (later) popular publication, Select Views in Great Britain, commissioned in 1789 to produce 100 drawings for John Christian Curwen (qv), of Workington Hall, all dated between 1789 and 1792, but never shown in public until 1934 when Mrs Chance (a Curwen descendant) lent one drawing (‘The Entrance to Borrowdale’) to the British Exhibition, later culminating in a display of almost half the original drawings at Harris Art Gallery, Preston in 1949, but the Chance family retain remaining original drawings (loaned to Wordsworth Trust for exhibition from November 2011 to April 2012), painted twenty ‘Views of the Lakes…’, engraved by J Merigot and published by Richard Blamire, Strand, London, between March 1791 and May 1795 in five numbers at one guinea a number, republished by Darling and Thompson in 1798 (eight prints in CRO, WDX 1497/4), marr (6 February 1783, at St Mary’s church, Warwick) Elizabeth Gerrard, 2 sons and 1 dau, died at Middlesex Place, Marylebone Road, London, 22 March 1831, aged 81, and buried in St George’s Chapel, Uxbridge Road; Dove Cottage exhibition catalogues

Smith, (John) ‘Jack’ (fl.1890s-1918), footballer, badly wounded in 1st WW, his son William wrote Footballers Don’t Cry (2009)

Smith, John Henry (1857-1938), stationmaster and artist, born at Gill Banks, Ulverston, 14 November 1857, er son of John Smith (1826-1890) and his wife, Margaret Bromley (c.1830-1887), at 16 Neville Street, Ulverston (1861), at Dalton-in-Furness (1871), had natural aptitude for painting and studied for some years at Barrow School of Art, witnessed his brother Seth’s marriage to Hannah Mary Rigg at Dalton on 8 July 1878, railway clerk boarding with Thomas and Sarah Johnson at 26 Paradise Street, Barrow-in-Furness (1881), railway clerk at Woodland station, Broughton West, when he marr (1 February 1882, at Cartmel) Dorothy Storey (born c.1859), 1 son (Frank) and 6 daus (Annie, Nellie, Bessie, Emily, Jennie and Mary), station master at Drigg by 1891, retired on 4 May 1923 after 50 years’ service with Furness Railway Company, 41 of which was spent as a stationmaster and 33 at Drigg, held in high esteem (108 subscribers to his retirement present), found opportunities to develop his painting at Drigg, with his little studio attracting many visitors, had chance friendship with Sir John Lavery (1856-1941; ODNB) and other artists, whose studios he visited in London, this exposure gradually enhanced his reputation and he exhibited portraits at Royal Academy, Walker Art Gallery and elsewhere, member of Lake Artists’ Society, sitters included Bishop Diggle (qv) of Carlisle and Alfred Ollivant (qv), but also painted portrait of Thermutis Pharaoh (born 1897), dau of John Pharoah, boot & shoe maker, of Main Street, Ravenglass, who was first lady clerk employed by Furness Railway Company at Drigg, in c.1914,also painted Thomas Ashburner when a baby (son of the Drigg porter) in 1925 [still living in Ravenglass in 2007], also painted Tinnie Yowert, later Mitchell, of Holmrook, gifted another of his paintings (‘Muncaster Tarn by Moonlight’) to Thermutis on her marriage to John Webster Edgar in 1922 (see Edgar papers in CRO, WDX 1549), died at Woodside, Drigg, 16 November 1938, aged 81, will proved at Carlisle on 20 January 1939 (Ulverston News, 1923; http://taryphelan.com/p457.htm); Renouf, 63

Smith, John Taylor (1860-1938; ODNB), KCB, CVO, DD, bishop and chaplain-general, born at Kendal, 20 April 1860, 2nd son of James Smith, coal agent, and Jane, educ Kendal Grammar School, evangelical conversion at age of 12, entered brother’s jewellery and watchmaking business till 1882, trained at London College of Divinity at St John’s Hall, Highbury 1882-1885, d 1885, p 1886 (Rochester), curate of St Paul, Penge, Upper Norwood 1885-1890, subdean and canon of St George’s Cathedral, Freetown, Sierra Leone, and diocesan missioner 1891-1897, dean 1897-1901, chaplain to Ashante Expedition 1895-96, hon chaplain to Queen Victoria 1896-1897, bishop of Sierra Leone 1897-1901, chaplain-general, HM Forces 1901-1925, sub-prelate of Order of St John of Jerusalem from 1916, of Wyverstone, London Lane, Bromley, Kent and still owned freehold house, Brookside, in Kendal (1912), active in numerous evangelical societies in retirement, in constant demand as preacher and missioner, died returning from Australia on board SS Orion, 28 March 1938 and buried at sea

Smith, John Timmis, (1823-1906; DCB), innovative engineer, b. near Chesterfield son of Benjamin Smith (1797-1886), an iron master, and Harriet Timmis, both of Sutton-cum-Duckmanton, near Chesterfield, apprenticed to John Wilson in Glasgow and studied in Paris at the Ecole des Mines, MIMechE in 1851, after smelting experience in Glasgow and Worcester, came to Barrow via Henry Schneider and Robert Hannay qqv and introduced the Bessemer process which achieved steel production in bulk, he was manager of the Hindpool works and then of the Barrow Haematite Steel Company, also town counciloor and mayor, as one of the first eight mayors of the town his initials appear on a shield held by a ram upon the octagon of the tower, during this period lived at Croslands [now Chetwynde], Barrow in Furness, later worked elsewhere in England and in the USA; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017 (Barrow town hall)

Smith, Joseph (1670-1756; ODNB) MA, clergyman and head of college, b. Lowther, son of rector William Smith, provost of Queen’s College Oxford 1730-56, chaplain to Caroline princess of Wales from 1715, secured legacies for the college, published works against deists and non-jurors

Smith, Keith (1938-2022), architect, born in Hull to Cyril Smith and Esme (nee Speak), educ Hull GS and Hull School of Architecture, joined Hull city architect’s department, marr Margaret Woods in 1961, one son Paul and one daughter Clare, moved to Lymm, Cheshire and in the 1960s worked with Sir James Stirling (1926-1992) and Michael Wilford (b.1938) on Runcorn New Town, deputy chief architect in 1966, led the design team for the Esso Motor Hotel there (RIBA commended), proudest of his designs for the law courts and police HQ, moved to private practice in 1989,  lectured at Sheffield university from 1991, ran the 3rd year of the BA programme, keen to encourage clients to embrace artistic principals rather than mere fashion, in 1984 bought a derelict barn in Ravenstonedale, Cumbria, with fine views, transformed the structure and developed gardens, c.2006 moved to Harrogate, from 2007 an active artist and saxophone player in a jazz band; Jon Lang, Urban Design, 2006, 69; Other Lives The Guardian 8 June 2022

Smith, Kenneth (19xx-199x), clergyman and antiquary

Smith, Kenneth (19xx-19xx), librarian, born and educ in Leeds, trained in Leeds public libraries, moved to London, served WW2 as naval officer in command of minesweepers, city librarian of Carlisle 1949-1973, author of Carlisle (‘Old Towns and Cities’ series, Dalesman, 1970), Early Prints of the Lake District (Nelson, 1973) [over 700 Lake District prints in his custody], Cumbrian Villages (dedicated to his wife Margaret) (Robert Hale, 1973), and many articles (in Cumbria, Cumberland News, Yorkshire Post and Country Life) on Cumbria and Lake District, a region he had known for over 50 years by his retirement (announced in June 1973), also had verses published in Punch, marr Margaret, 1 dau

Smith, Lancelot (c.1637-1707), pewterer, Penrith; CW2 lxxxv 163ff

Smith, Peter Michael (1927/8-2017), clergyman, of Kendal, marr Beatrice Mary (decd), 2 sons (Terry and Samuel) and 2 daus (Hilda and Bridget), died 20 November 2017, aged 89, funeral at St George’s Church, Kendal, 30 November (WG, 23.11. 2017)

Smith, Robert (fl.early 18thc.); wrote observations on the ‘Pictish Wall’ 1708-9; CW2 lv 154

Smith, Thomas (1614-1702; ODNB), clergyman and bibliophile, bishop of Carlisle, born at White-wall in Asby parish, educ Appleby Grammar School under care of William Pickering (as Thomas Barlow (qv) had before him), and admitted to Queen’s College, Oxford in 1630 under tuition of Dr Barlow, his cousin-german, dean of Carlisle 1672 and bishop 1684-1702, endowed Carlisle Grammar School, built diocesan registry, bequeathed books to dean and chapter library, died 12 April 1702 (WW, i, 125-132); David Weston Thomas Smith: Dean of Carlisle and Bishop of Carlisle, 2020

Smith, Thomas (1720x24?-1767; ODNB), landscape painter, known as ‘Smith of Derby’, parentage in Derby not known, marr Hannah, 2 sons (Thomas Correggio (c.1750-c.1802), miniature painter, and John Raphael (1751-1812), portrait painter and engraver), self-taught artist, contributed to the rise of English landscape painting in mid-18th century and of the interest in beauties of English scenery, including the Lake District, first engravings of his Views of Four Lakes in Cumberland (Windermere, Thirlmere and Derwentwater, and Ennerdale), dated 1761, have general air of wildness, over-precipitous mountains and foreboding skies, republished by John Boydell in 1767, died in Hotwells district of Bristol, 5 September 1767; Daniel Stacey, British Art Journal, vol. XVIII no 2, 4-32

Smith, Thomas (1829-1900), innkeeper, bapt at Kirkby Ireleth, 20 September 1829, son of Isaac Smith, of Gouthwaite, Lowick, and Margaret (nee Woodburn), of Grizebeck, apprenticed as bobbin turner at William Russell’s mill in Mitredale, marr (30 January 1858 at Nether Wasdale) Hannah (d.1901), eldest child of John Lindal (1795-1879), shoemaker, and Ann (1801-1875), of Low Wood, Nether Wasdale, 2 sons (Isaac, who died after fall from a wood pile, aged 8, in 1866 and John, who continued running of inn), took over as innkeeper of Strands Inn and posting house, Nether Wasdale after 1858 and by 1861, also kept general store, ran transport business, felled and distributed timber, farmer, parish official until his death on 11 May 1900 (Joan E David, The Strands Inn,1987)

Smith, Walter Parry Haskett- (1861-1946), pioneer rock climber, first to climb Napes Needle (on the Wasdale flank of Great Gable) alone on 29 June 1886, little seen in Lakes after 1920s but went up again on 50th anniversary of his first ascent of the Needle when aged 74, roped between Lord Chorley (qv) and G R Speaker, went on to climb in Alps, Pyrenees, Norway, Balkans, North Africa, Rockies and Andes, man of strong personality and wide culture, though eccentric in habits and dress, one of the founders of the Fell and Rock Club, used his close knowledge of Lake District mountains to discuss topographical names near Wasdale Head as given in boundaries of 1322 and 1338 in paper in the Climbers’ Club Journal (1903), which William Gershom Collingwood took up (CW2, xx, 243-245), and led to his article on topographical changes in Keswick district from study of Fountains Abbey charters in BM Cotton MS, ‘Fountains Abbey and Cumberland’, in Transactions in 1921 (CW2, xxi, 152-158), also contributed chapter on ‘Mountaineering’ to WGC’s revised edition of The Lake Counties (1932), died in Dorset, aged 85, in 1946

Smith, William Herbert Rawdon- (1887-1969), MBE, local government leader, son of Francis Rawdon-Smith (1851-1930), of Liverpool, and Ellen Beatrice Melly (1858-1951), assumed surname Rawdon-Smith in lieu of Smith in 1914, lived Tent Lodge, Coniston, chairman of Ulverston Rural District Council and of Lancashire Association of Parish Councils, preserved the mss of George Melly MP of a family of Liverpool shipowners and a relative of his mother, also a relative of George Melly (1926-2007) (qv) the jazz musician

Smith, Sir Jonah Walker- (18xx-19xx), MP MIMechE Hon ARIBA, politician, enginer and barrister, b Watford, son of John Jonah Smith, educ King’s college London as an engineer, 1901-2 deputy borough engineer at Barrow-in-Furness, then chief borough engineer, returned to Watford to work in an engineering company, returned to be elected as National Conservative for Barrow on 14 November 1935 to 1945, marr Maud Hunter dau of Coulton Walker Hunter (1856-1926) of Barrow and Barton Hall, dau d young, 2 sons, one Derek Walker-Smith was also an MP an created Lord Broxbourne (qv), lived Newbarns

Smith-Hill, Roy (1897-1996), brigadier, DL b. Cumberland, educated St Bees, served in the Marines in 1st WW, staff officer in 2nd WW, retired in 1950; obit Times 17 August 1996

Smuts, Jan (1870-1950), field marshal, prime minister South Africa, friend of Sir John Ponsonby (qv) and stayed at Haile Hall, Beckermet

Smyth, James (c.1685-1753), clergyman, instituted to vicarage of Beetham, 11 May 1710, vicar for 43 years, marr Elizabeth, sons (John (d.1805), steward at Dallam Tower, and Thomas, curate of Stannington, Northumberland) and dau (one died in early 20s), died aged 68 and buried at Beetham, 17 May 1753; will made in 1752 (copy in CRO, WD/A 2/1/25/1)

Smyth, Fr Patrick J (1931-1989), Roman Catholic priest (LDD 1990, 62)

Snaith, John (1836-1923), Methodist minister, born in Little Broughton in 1823, originally a Baptist, but became a Primitive Methodist after attending a camp meeting at Dearham, marr (1864) a lady of Dearham, 1 son, worked mainly in north east, inc Berwick, Eyemouth and Hexham as an ‘exhorter-on-trial’ and later as a minister

Snaith, John Allen (1869-1945), Methodist minister, son of John Snaith (supra), entered ministry in 1893 and served as Primitive Methodist minister mainly in south of Cumbria, marr (by 1898) a lady of Thetford, 1 son (Norman Henry, born at Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire in 1898, also a Methodist circuit minister at Fulham, Gateshead, Durham and Luton before joining staff of Headingley College, Leeds as Old Testament tutor and later principal, president of Methodist Conference in 1958, marr Winifred (d.1981), 1 dau (Mrs Margaret Ruxton), died at Methodist Home in Ipswich in 1982)

Snape, Richard Herbert (18xx-19xx), clergyman, trained at Lichfield College 1875, d 1877 and p 1878 (Lich), curate of Heath Town, Wolverhampton 1877-1880, Deane, Lancs 1880-1886, and St Philip, Salford 1886-1888, vicar of Eskdale 1888-1900 and St Bees 1900-1911, lic to pr, dio Carlisle and Chichester 1911, retired to 31 Arlington Road, Eastbourne (1914)

Snelus, George James (1837-1906; ODNB), chemist, worked at Dowlais ironworks, solved the long standing ‘phosphorus problem’ (which was practically employed later on by Sidney Gilchrist Thomas and Percy C  Gilchrist), general manager West Cumbria steelworks 1872-1899, d. Ennerdale Hall

Snoden [Snowden], Robert (c.156x-1621; ODNB), DD, MA, bishop of Carlisle, birth details not known, 3rd son of Ralph Snoden, of Mansfield Woodhouse, Nottinghamshire, entd Christ’s College, Cambridge (as sizar 1580, BA 1583, MA 1586, BD 1593 and DD 1598), ordained deacon and priest by bishop of Lincoln in February 1589, rector of Harby, Leics 1596 and rector of Hickling, Notts in 1598, collated to a canonry at Southwell in 1599, later reader of divinity lecture there, marr (1590s) Abigail, dau of Robert Orme, of Elston, Notts, 3 sons (inc Rutland, bapt at Southwell in November 1600) and 2 daus (inc Elizabeth, first wife of Christopher Dudley, qv), member of York high commission 1603, also JP for Southwell liberty and commissary for archbishop Matthew in Nottingham archdeaconry, apptd a chaplain to Prince Henry of Wales in 1610, preached strongly protestant sermon before James I at Newstead Abbey in August 1612, but Prince Henry died in November that year, then chaplain to James I and eventually won preferment through backing of Lord Villiers to bishopric of Carlisle in 1616 (elected on 12 September and consecr on 24 November 1616), resigning his livings and canonry, resided in diocese, personally led his primary visitation in 1617, preached before James I in Carlisle Cathedral on 5 August 1617 and submitted report on the state of diocese to king later that month, became embroiled in disputes over managing estates of bishopric, died in London, while attending parliament, 15 May 1621; widow wrote letter to his successor, bishop Richard Milbourne (qv), concerning contentions with Dalston tenants, 25 July 1621 (RC, 168; CW2, xxxix, 122-23, 133-34)

Snoden, Richard (d.1620), MA, clergyman, er brother of Bishop Robert Snoden (supra), Cambridge (MA), ordained 1584, vicar of St Oswald, Durham 1602-1620, prebendary of Carlisle 1617-1619, died in 1620

Snoden, Ralph (d.1633), clergyman, poss son or other relative of bishop Robert Snoden (supra), who collated him to Nether Denton on 16 September 1620, where he died in 1633

Snow, David William (1925-2009; ODNB), ornithologist, b. Windermere, son of William Snow who ran a prep school at The Craig, educated Eton and New College, Oxford, served RN in 2nd WW, established the Darwin Research Station on the Galapagos Islands where he worked, author of more than 30 books on birds including Birds in our Life and The Birds of the Western Palearctic, birds of the genus Snowornis are named after him, marr Barbara K Whitaker, also an ornithologist and geologist, (WG, 31.01.2013), Ibis, 150 (3), 662-3, 2008, Guardian obit. 18 March 2009

Soames, Olave (later Baden-Powell), dau of Harold Soames, a brewer of Chesterfield, friendly with Sybil Mounsey-Heysham of Castletown (qv), stayed there in 1903, in 1912 on a trans-Atlantic liner met Robert Baden-Powell and married him later that year, B-P had est the Scouting movement in 1907, she became involved in the movement becoming chief guide in 1918, visited Carlisle again in September 1915; her autobiography ed Mary Drewery, Window on my Heart, 1973; David Carter, Carlisle in the Great War, 89

Somers, Thomas (d.1610), martyr, died Tyburn

Somerset, duke of, also earl of Egremont, and baron Cockermouth, see Seymour

Somervell family of Kendal, Spencer Crookenden, K Shoes: The First 150 Years (1842-1992), 1992

Somervell, Sir Arnold Colin (1883-1957), OBE, DL, company chairman, born 1883, son of Colin Somervell (qv), joined firm in 1906, partner 1909, director of Somervell Brothers from company’s formation in 1915 and chairman 1934-1957, but main driving force in firm since 1920s, member of British Footwear Manufacturers’ Federation 1921-1936, also treasurer and president, represented British shoe industry at Ottawa Conference on Tariffs in 1934, welcomed duke and duchess of York on visit to Netherfield on 5 April 1935, worked closely with Lord Adams (qv) in West Cumberland Industrial Development Company (as vice-chairman), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1936, knighted in 1954, exceptionally tall man, marr, 1 son (Peter Gordon Colin (b.1910), with firm 1931-1957, president of Netherfield Cricket Club in 1950s), of High Wells, near Kendal (1912), later of High Borrans, Windermere, died 5 July 1957; Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, Sir Arthur (1863-1937; ODNB), MA, MusD, FRCM, composer and educationist, born at Hazelthwaite, Windermere, 5 June 1863, 6th and yst son of Robert Miller Somervell (qv), educ Uppingham School 1878-79 and King’s College, Cambridge (BA 1884), studied composition under Stanford, at Berlin (1884-85) and with Parry at Royal College of Music (1885-87), joined staff of Royal College of Music in 1894, inspector of music to Board of Education 1900 and chief inspector 1920-1928, knighted 1929, chairman of School Orchestra Festivals at Queen’s Hall 1932-1937, marr (5 August 1890) Edith Lance (b.1862), dau of James Collet, civil engineer, twin sons (Ronald Arthur (1900-1978) (qv) and Hubert Arthur (1900-1962) and 1 dau (Katharine Margaret (d.1975), wife of David Howard (d.1962) and mother of Elizabeth Jane Howard), died at home, 105 Clifton Hill, St John’s Wood, London, 2 May 1937 and buried at ?Windermere? 

Somervell, Clifton (1857-1937), 4th son of Robert Miller Somervell (qv), joined firm of Somervell Brothers Ltd 1873, partner 1881, but withdrew in 1884, wife Helen (secretary of Castle Street School managers 1888-1891, died aged 71 and buried at Parkside cemetery, 27 January 1925), of Brantfell, Kendal, died 1937; Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, Colin (1855-1929), JP, company chairman, 3rd son of Robert Miller Somervell (qv), joined firm in 1872, partner 1881, chairman of directors 1915 till his death in 1929, secretary of Incorporated Chamber of Commerce and Manufactures, Kendal (1885), hon secretary of Westmorland County Hospital until his death, Westmorland County Councillor for Kendal Borough Kirkland division (1894), member of Kendal School Board (1885), marr Edith (buried at Parkside cemetery, 4 April 1940, aged 89), 2 sons (Arnold Colin (qv) and Leonard Colin (qv)) and 1 dau (Edith Marjorie Colin, spinster, died at WCH, Kendal, aged 75, and buried at Parkside cemetery, 10 November 1958), of Tenterfield, Kendal, died 29 October 1929, aged 74, and buried at Parkside, 1 November; will made 22 January 1926, proved 19 February 1930; Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, Sir Donald Bradley, baron Somervell of Harrow (1889-1960; ODNB), OBE, KC, politician and judge, born at Harrow, 24 August 1889, 2nd son of Robert Somervell (qv), MP for Crewe 1931-1945, solicitor-general 1933-1936, attorney-general 1936-1945, home secretary in caretaker goverment May-July 1945, lord justice of appeal 1946-1954, lord of appeal in ordinary 1954-1960, marr (29 July 1933 at Temple Church, London) Laelia Helen (died 17 July 1945), only dau of Sir Archibald Buchan-Hepburn, no issue, died at Hospital of St John and St Elizabeth, Marylebone, London, 18 November 1960 and buried at Ewelme, Oxfordshire (rolls of honour in CRO, WDX 731)

Somervell, Gordon (1859-1924), shoe manufacturer and Lakeland defence campaigner, 5th son of Robert Miller Somervell (qv), joined firm of Somervell Brothers in 1875, partner 1881, and director 1915 until his death in 1924, friend of H D Rawnsley (qv) in Lake District defence campaigns and thus a member of Lake District Defence Society, member for Windermere ward of Windermere UDC (to 1916), churchwarden of St Mary’s, Applethwaite 1911-1924, of Annesdale [later St Mary’s Vicarage], Windermere, will made 28 August 1923, died aged 64 and buried at St Mary’s cemetery, Windermere, 17 October 1924; Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, Herbert Arthur, of 6 Belmont, Kendal (1925)

Somervell, John (1772-1840), father of the founders of the firm Somervell Brothers

Somervell, John (1814-1887), leather merchant, er son of John Somervell (1772-1840), joined yr bro Robert Miller as partner in 1848 as Somervell Brothers, marr (1847) Rachel (1823-1889) [Mrs Somervell, of Kent Terrace, Kendal, was co-secretary of Castle Street School managers from 1847 (with Mrs C L Braithwaite until 1878), then secretary until 1888], 2nd dau of William Wilson (1786-1840) and Hannah (nee Jowitt) (1793-1875), 2 sons (John (qv) and William Henry (qv), both of whom served in Company from 1873 and 1876 until 1934 respectively), and 1 dau (Rachel Anna (33), wife of John William Hoyland (30), manufacturer, of Edgbaston, marr 20 October 1886 at Kendal FMH), mayor of Kendal for two successive years 1882-1883 and 1883-1884, objector to Thirlmere (letters to Ruskin at Lancaster), president of Incorporated Chamber of Commerce and Manufactures (1885)<or John junior?>,… of Thorny Hills, Kendal; Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, John (1857-1943), JP, shoe manufacturer and author, er son of John Somervell (qv), joined firm in 1873, partner 1881, and director 1915 until retiring in 1934, mayor of Kendal 1898-1899 and 1905-1906, admitted Honorary Freeman of Borough of Kendal on 6 April 1937 (and at special meeting of council on 25 May), member of CWAAS from 1904, author of Isaac and Rachel Wilson, Quakers, of Kendal, 1714-1785 (1924), Some Westmorland Wills 1686-1738 (1928), Water-Power Mills of South Westmorland (1930), and After 90 years: The Evolution of K Shoes (1932), marr (24 August 1882) Sarah Emily, dau of Edward Crosfield [Mrs Somervell was secretary of Castle Street School managers from 1891 to 1924], 2 sons (John Malcolm (qv) and Austin (1883-1947)), of Broom Close, Kendal, died 28 October 1943, aged 86 (CW2, xliv, 171); Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, John Malcolm (1883-1962), JP, company director, born at Kendal in 1883, er son of John Somervell (qv), of Broom Close, Kendal, educ Rugby and on the continent, served WW1 (1914-1919), severely wounded when Captain, Duke of Wellington’s Regt in 1917 (rescued by his batman), and attached to RAF for staff duties after year in hospital, trained with a Birmingham firm of chartered accountants before joining firm of Somervell Brothers 1904 and made a partner 1909, a director on formation of company of Somervell Brothers Limited 1915, and of K Shoes Limited 1949, retired in 1954, but retained seat on board, most of his 50 years’ service being devoted to the agency side of the business, esp strengthening friendly relationships between company and its customers, JP for Borough of Kendal 1923, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1946-47, Hon Secretary of Westmorland County Hospital 1929-1948 (succ Colin Somervell (qv) until formation of NHS), also hon secretary of League of Friends of WCH, governor of Meathop Sanatorium, chairman of Kendal Charitable Funds Committee, Kendal Clerical Charity, and Old Folks’ Treat Committee, hon treasurer of Kendal & District Charity Organisation Society, and member of Northern House Committee of Lancaster & Kendal Group of Hospitals, regular attender at St George’s church, Kendal for most of his life, but latterly at Kendal parish church, regular visitor to Switzerland for winter sports, played golf in summer, played in local tennis tournaments and hockey for county in his younger days, marr (1941) Kathleen Anderson (d.1957), widow of J S Fothergill, of Newlands, nr Kendal, no issue, died 7 July 1962, aged 78 [not buried at Parkside or Castle Street cemetery], Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, Leonard Colin (1888-1958), surgeon, born in 188x, 2nd son of Colin Somervell (qv) and yr brother of Sir Arnold, educ Uppingham School and King’s College, Cambridge, and Medical School of London Hospital, served WW1 as medical officer in 3rd Rifle Brigade, but invalided out, practised as consulting surgeon in south Westmorland, on honorary staff of Westmorland County Hospital and also of Ethel Hedley Orthopaedic Hospital, Calgarth, Windermere, worked for Special Areas Commission in Newcastle and Durham areas after industrial depression, served WW2 in Home Guard, working from its headquarters near Greenodd, great lover of music from his boyhood, closely associated with Mary Wakefield Music Festival, conducted Kendal North-West Festival Choir, which achieved many competition successes, also served as one of Festival chorus masters, took leading part in affairs of Westmorland Music Council after its formation in c.1940, serving as chairman and president, esp encouraging formation of youth orchestras, marr (1936) Jean Margaret Colmer, of Winster House, Windermere, died at Langrigge Close, Windermere, 19 August 1958, aged 70, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, after funeral service at St Mary’s Church, Windermere (WG, 22.08.1958)

Somervell, Leslie William (1895-1958), JP, shoe manufacturer, yr son of W H Somervell (qv) and yr brother of T H Somervell (qv), joined family business in 1914 and spent whole career with firm apart from 1914-1918 War service, unfit for Army but worked for YMCA at Harfleur and in Havre area from 1914, until accepted as a despatch rider in 1916, serving in Salonika, and commissioned in RGA in 1918, director of Somervell Brothers Ltd/ K Shoes Ltd from 1920, had unrivalled knowledge of craft of shoemaking, kept factories going during WW2 in spite of all shortages of materials and skilled labour, commanded Netherfield detachment of Home Guard, originated (with William Ingall) the K Fellfarers in 19xx and was chairman until his death, took keen interest in YMCA (president of Kendal YMCA), fine rock climber and was past president of Fell and Rock Climbing Club, first president of Lake District Ski Club, hair-raising motorist, JP Westmorland from 1934x38, marr Rosemary de Fonblanque (supporter of Camphill Village Trust (Botton Village) in North Yorkshire, for handicapped persons living and working in a rural community and also founder trustee of Garthwaite Community for handicapped children at 21 Kendal Green, but retired in March 1976 with ill health and died in the autumn), son (Jonathan de Fonblanque, b.1932, died 2018), of Plumgarths, Kendal, died in May 1958 (K Shoes, 141); [Rosemary de Fonblanque died in her 99th year, 22 March 1975]; Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, Robert (1851-1933), schoolmaster, born 1851, eldest son of Robert Miller Somervell (qv), educ Friends’ School, Stramongate, Kendal, member of Somervell Brothers company, Kendal 1867-1880, master and bursar of Harrow School 1888-1919, marr Octavia Paulina, dau of Revd John Churchill, 2 sons (David (1885-1965), father of Robert (qv), and Donald (1889-1960), qv), died 1933

Somervell, Robert (1920-2010), schools careers adviser and company director, born in 1920, son of David Somervell (1885-1965) and grandson of Robert Somervell (qv), joined company in 1946 after war service in India [no longer a family right by this time] and worked for K Shoes 1946-1978, apptd a director of Somervell Brothers Ltd in March 1956, the last of founding family to serve on board, responsible for design and production of men’s shoes, and director of K Shoes Limited, the holding company, in April 1959, retiring on reorganisation of management structure in January 1978, president of K Fellfarers 1967-1975 when he was instrumental in obtaining money from company to repairs to the Hut and towards new lease rents, his first recorded visit to the Hostel was in April 1947, worked as a schools careers adviser in retirement, volunteer with South Cumbria Dyslexia Association (SCuDA), treasurer of Kendal Civic Society (till c.2005), closely involved in campaign to have K Shoes archives returned to Kendal after removal by Clarks, marr 1st Veronica (nee Mackay), 4 sons (David, Philip, Colin (d.1985) and Tony), marr 2nd Jean (nee McNeill) for 19 years until her death in 2007, died at Westmorland General Hospital, Kendal, 22 May 2010, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 4 June; Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, Robert Miller (1821-1899), leather merchant and shoe manufacturer, yr son of John Somervell (1772-1840), founded Company (later K Shoemakers) in 1842, joined by his er bro John in partnership as Somervell Brothers in 1848, began currying leather in lower room at Bridge End, Netherfield, with upper room used for their merchanting business, purchased whole Netherfield property in 1849 [previously bought in 1825 by Thomas Wilson & Sons, calico weavers], marr Anne (buried with husband, 24 April 1905, aged 81), dau of Isaac Wilson (qv), 6 sons and 3 daus, of Hazelthwaite, Applethwaite, Windermere, died in December 1899, aged 78, and buried in Windermere St Mary’s cemetery, 2 January 1900; Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, Ronald Arthur (1900-1978), company chairman, er twin son of Sir Arthur Somervell (qv), [his yr twin brother Hubert (1900-1962) was a member of the Company 1921-1934], joined firm of Somervell Brothers in 1933, served WW2 with RAF, director responsible for design and production of women’s ranges, for upper leather production planning and new factory development, and chairman of K Shoes Ltd from 1960 until he retired in February 1965 (sales of K Shoes and Gold Cross Shoes increased by 73% during his chairmanship), introduced first K Pensioners’ Party at County Hotel, Kendal in December 1964, marr (19xx) Frances Roona, with whom he was closely involved with building of Roman Catholic Church in Milnthorpe (consecrated on feast day of Christ the King, 22 November 1970) and apptd Knight Commander of St Gregory by Pope Paul VI, 1 dau (Kathaerine T), of Haverbrack, Beetham, died in 1978; Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somervell, Theodore Howard (1890-1975; ODNB), OBE, FRCS, MB, BCh, MA, medical missionary, mountaineer and artist, born 16 April 1890, er son of William Henry Somervell (qv), marr (1925) Margaret, dau of Sir James Hope Simpson and Mary (nee Wilson), 3 sons, honorary freeman of Borough of Kendal (conferred 12 February 1948), president, Ambleside branch of Westmorland Liberal Association 1964-1967, died at Ambleside, 23 January 1975, aged 84, funeral at Ambleside Church, 28 January, with memorial service at Zion Chapel, Kendal, 6 February (WG, 31.01.1975; 14.02.1975); q.v. Hills

Somervell, William Henry (1860-1934), JP, company chairman, born Kendal, 5 April 1860, yr son of John Somervell (qv), educ Grove House School, Tottenham, joined Somervell Brothers in 1876, partner 1881, director 1915 and chairman 1930 until his death in 1934, housing schemes… , presented with address in recognition of his support of Liberal cause in 1913 (over 3,000 names) (album in CRO, WDX 1659), opened K Fellfarers Hostel, High House, Borrowdale in May 1934, JP Westmorland and Kendal Borough, contested South Westmorland twice as Liberal candidate, Liberal MP for Keighley Division of Yorkshire, April-November 1918, sketcher in watercolours and pastels, marr (1889) Florence, 2nd dau of Theodore Howard, Westleigh, Bickley, 2 sons (Theodore Howard (qv) and Leslie William (1895-1958), of Plumgarths, Kendal, who joined firm in 1914, director 1920, and father of adopted son, Jonathan (Jonty) (b.1932, d.2018), and dau (Joanna Barrington)), of Brantfield, Kendal, died 26 September 1934; will made 6 May 1932, with two codicils (first rel to Leslie’s adopted children and second rel to proposal to establish Art Gallery for Westmorland) 19 May and 21 August 1934, proved 2 November 1934 (WHS memorial organ in Zion Chapel, Highgate, Kendal – opening service and recital on 3 March 1937); Spencer Crookenden (qv)

Somerville, Daniel Gerald (1879-1938), engineer and politician, born in Edinburgh, 26 October 1879, son of Dr A T Somerville, LRCP, FRCS (Edin), and Alice, his wife, dau of John Elliot, educ George Watson’s College and Heriot-Watt Technical College, Edinburgh, trained as civil and constructional engineer, moved to London 1905, established firm of D G Somerville & Co Ltd, public works engineers, in 1907 (managing director), marr (1908) Dora Wentworth, dau of Thomas Ekin, 1 son and 1 dau, elected as Conservative MP for Barrow-in-Furness, 15 November 1922 and again on 6 December 1923, but narrowly defeated in 1924 election by John Bromley (qv) for Labour, returned to Commons as MP for Willesden East at 1929 general election and held seat until his death, 1 July 1938, aged 58 (dying on same day as his predecessor, George Frederick Stanley), of Wentworth House, Great College Street, London

Sommers, Thomas (fl.1590s), RC schoolmaster at Grange, taught Richard Hudleston (qv)

Sopwith, Thomas (1803-1879), mining engineer, surveyed lead mines at Alston, grandfather of the aviation pioneer Sir Thomas Octave Murdoch Sopwith (1888-1989) (the latter flew 1st in 1910 and crashed after300x, later that year won £4000 prize for longest flight of 169 miles which included crossing the channel, established Sopwith Aviation Co)

Soulby, Anthony (b.1740), chapbook printer, Penrith, b. Kirkby Thore

Soulsby, Ernest Jackson Lawson (1926-2017; ODNB), Lord Soulsby, parasitologist, born near Haltwhistle, childhood on the family farm at Temple Sowerby, educ QUEGs, Edinburgh university, studied microbiology and parasitology, marr Annette Williams, lectured Cambridge, professor 1978-93, veterinary surgeon to the Queen, pubsuihed 14 books

Soulby, John (17xx-1817), printer and stationer, of Kendal and Penrith printing family, marr (4 April 1795, at Ulverston) Alice, widow of James Houghton, thought to be first printer in Ulverston,  died in 1792 (buried on 2 March, aged 23), made will on 23 November 1816 with codicil added on 12 March 1817, the day before he died, requiring his trustees to employ his journeyman Stephen Tyson to carry on business for benefit of his children, in time his son Stephen carried on the business (qv);  (CW2, lx, 156); M. Twyman and W. Rollinson, John Soulby, Printer, Ulverston, 1966

Soulby, John Wilson (b.1834), of Rampside; son of Stephen Soulby; diary August to December 1847 re Rampside Academy; CW2 lx 156

Soulby, Stephen (1808-1864), printer, bookseller, inventor and newspaper proprietor, born at Ulverston, 10 December 1808, and bapt there, 15 April 1809, son of John Soulby (qv), marr (24 November 1832) Alice Leece, of Colton, son (John Wilson, born 27 August 1834 and bapt at Ulverston, 24 September, author of Journal of Rampside Academy, 1847), founded first successful Furness newspaper, Soulby’s Ulverston Advertiser in 1848 (continued until 1914), invented and patented 1854 a new printing machine built as ‘The Ulverstonian’ by Payne and Dawson of Otley, one of these machines survives in The Powerhouse Museum, Sydney, Australia; (CW2, lx, 156-186; CW3, viii, 207-218)

Southey, Robert (1774-1843; ODNB), poet and historian, Poet Laureate, marr Edith Fricker (qv), of Bristol, 1 son (Herbert (bapt 27 November 1806)) and 5 daus (Edith May (bapt 24 June 1805), Emma (bapt 1 November 1808), Bertha and Katherine (bapt 12 September 1810), and Isabel (bapt 3 December 1812), all at Crosthwaite), ‘now living at Greta Hall’ (1805), Keswick, died aged 68, and buried in Crosthwaite churchyard, 24 March 1843; 2nd wife Caroline Ann Bowles (1786-1854) (qv) educated by William Gilpin (qv), cared for the poet in his latter years; marble effigy inside Crosthwaite church, Keswick by Lough, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 173-4; W.A.Speck, Robert Southey, Yale, 2006; Ros Roberts, Keswick Characters vol.2; portrait by Downman 1812

Soverarne, Nicholas de (fl. 1360s), cleric, vicar of Edenhall as party with Richard de Langenby to deed concerning manor of Catterlen, 36 Edw III (CRO, WD/Hoth/Box 35)

Sowden, William, widow Mrs Sowden, of Scalthwaiterigg, buried at Kendal, 27 December 1787, aged 62; Margaret, widow of John Sowden(s), manufacturer, of Kendal, of Lowther Street, buried at Kendal, 24 November 1837, aged 85; Richard Watson Sowden, gent, of Burneside, buried at Kendal, 24 January 1839, aged 52

Sowerby, Arthur de Carle (1885-1954), FRGS, FZS, explorer and naturalist in China, descendant of naturalists, spent 40 years exploring least known regions of China, Mongolia, Manchuria and Korea, collected specimens of rare mammals and birds, often in dangerous conditions, also carried out archaeological work (artefacts in ‘The Sowerby Collection of Far Eastern Art’ was in Heude Museum, Shanghai), later played important role in political and social life of China, responsible with friend for rescue of Chiang Kai-shek after his capture at Si-an Pu by communists in 1935, founder and editor of The China Journal, which he published for 15 years in Shanghai until Japanese invasion, hon director of the Shanghai Museum until 1946, author of 19 books, some illustrated by his own watercolours and drawings; RR Sowerby, Sowerby of China, Titus Wilson, 1956

Sowerby, James (1757-1822; ODNB), botanist and flower illustrator, lived Lambeth, father from Furness

Sowerby, John (b.1745), according to the Rev Edmund Carr, vicar of Dalston, Sowerby began as a barefoot boy hauling bricks, later sent to ondon he worked in insurance and secured a fortune, he bought Dalston Hall from the Davison family; Hudleston ( C ); the footnote indicates his astuteness and good fortune

Sowerby, Joseph (1721-1749), mathematician; b. Murrah in Greystoke; William Cockin (qv) describes Sowerby’s ‘singular proficiency in mathematics’, d. Edmonton, London, The Gentleman’s Diary: A Mathematical Repository (1741) includes an observation by Sowerby; Cockin, Ode to the Genius of the Lakes, 28 

Sowerby, Richard Raine (c.1888-1968), solicitor, farmer and writer, head secretary of Swaledale Sheep Breeders’ Association, author of Kirkby Stephen and District (1948), Historical Kirkby Stephen and North Westmorland (enlarged edition, 1950), Historical Castle Sowerby and Mid-Cumberland (1954), and Sowerby of China (19xx), member of Kendal Art Society (with his wife, Marion, who resigned after his death, and herself buried in KS cemetery, 16 January 1974, aged 68), of Winton House, Winton, died at Lammasett, Winton, aged 81, and buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery, 9 April 1968; Philip Sowerby, solicitor, of Sunny Bank, Appleby Road, Kirkby Stephen, also buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery, aged 87, 4 June 1970 – his brother ?

Sparke, Archibald (1871-1970/1), FRSL, FLA, librarian and curator, born 19 July 1871, only surv son of Edward Sparke, Cardiff, marr (1896) Beatrice (d.1948), er dau of James Andrews, Roath Park, Cardiff, 2 daus (one d.v.p.), educ Tredegarville School, Cardiff and private tutors, librarian at Kidderminster, city librarian Carlisle, moved to Bury Art Gallery by 1900/01, then to Bolton as Librarian, retired in 1931, former member of council of Library Association and past president of North-West Branch, extra-mural lecturer at Victoria University, Manchester (Hon MA), member of CWAAS from 1898 to 1904/5, rejoining in 1917 until 1954, hon secretary of Lancashire Parish Register Society 1931-1957 and hon member, author of The Uses of Public Libraries (1895), Tullie House, Carlisle: and what it contains (article in ‘Northern Counties Magazine’, June 1901), A Bibliography of the Dialect Literature of Cumberland, Westmorland & Lancashire North of the Sands (1907) and compiled Catalogue-Index to the Transactions of the Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian and Archaeological Society, Vol I (1866) to Vol XVI (1900) (1901), many pamphlets and articles on librarianship and bibliography in professional journals, inc Bolton Bibliography, edited and transcribed many Lancashire parish registers (inc The Parish Registers of Warrington 1653-1680, LPRS, 95, 1955 and Warrington 1681-1700, 1962), observed to suffer from ergophobia (even in retirement), retired to The Homestead, Iwerne Minster, Blandford, Dorset in 1931, but later moved back north to Southport (18 Allerton Road, Hesketh Park by 1948, 44 Park Avenue, Hesketh Park by 1950, and 11 Conyers Avenue, Birkdale by 1955), died about 1970/71

Speaker, GR, see Haskett-Smith

Spears, Sir Edward Louis (1886-1974; ODNB), 1st Bt, KBE, CB, MC, FInstD, Major-General, soldier, politician, company director and author, born 7 August 1886, only son of Charles McCarthy Spears and Marguerite Melicent Hack, educ privately, joined Kildare Militia 1903, gazetted 8th Hussars 1906, transferred 11th Hussars 1910, temp Captain 1914, served WW1, Brevet Major to Hon Brig-Gen as Head of British Military Mission, Paris 1917-1920, retd 1920, marr 1st (1918) Mary (Mary Borden, author) (died 1968), formerly wife of George Douglas Turner (by whom she had 3 daus, one of whom marr Rupert Hart-Davis), dau of William Borden, of Chicago, 1 son (Michael Justin Aylmer, born 21 March 1921, died v.p.1969), marr 2nd (1969) Nancy (died 1975), dau of Major-General Sir Frederick Barton Maurice, of xxx, MP (Nat Lib) for Loughborough 1922-1924, contested Bosworth by-election on 31 May 1927, MP (Unionist) for Carlisle 1931-1945, Major-General 1940, Prime Minister’s personal represntative with French Prime Minister and Minister of Defence May-June 1940, head of British Mission to General de Gaulle July 1940, head of Spears Mission to Syria and Lebanon July 1941, first minister to Republics of Syria and Lebanon 1942-1944, chairman of council, Institute of Directors (and president 1953-54), etc, cr Baronet 1953, author, died 27 January 1974, when baronetcy became extinct

Speck, William Arthur (Bill) (1938-2017), DPhil, MA, historian and lecturer, born in Bradford, 11 January 1938, educ Bradford Grammar School (1948-) and Queen’s College, Oxford (BA 1960, DPhil 1966; University Cycling Club), tutorial fellow, University of Exeter 1962-63, lecturer in History, University of Newcastle upon Tyne 1963-1974 and reader 1974-1981, G F Grant professor of History, University of Hull 1981-1984, professor of Modern History, University of Leeds 1984-1997, held visiting posts in USA at College of William and Mary, Universities of Iowa and Portland State, Oregon, and a sabbatical year at Yale University where his interest in literature developed with work on Augustan satirical verse, took early retirement from Leeds in 1997 (Professor Emeritus), but remained active in research and moved to Carlisle primarily to be closer to the material for his research on the life of Robert Southey (esp at Greta Hall, Keswick, where the relevant papers and books were to be lodged), president of Historical Association 1999-2002, hon professor in School of English Studies, University of Nottingham 2006-2012, where he co-convened the Interdisciplinary Eighteenth-Century Research Seminar, author of Divided Society: Parties and Politics in England 1694-1716 (1967), Tory and Whig: The Struggle in the Constituencies 1701-1715 (1970), Stability and Strife: England 1714-1760 (1977), which were ground-breaking works, The Butcher: The Duke of Cumberland and the Suppression of the 45 (1981) (2nd ed 2013), The Reluctant Revolutionaries: Englishmen and the Revolution of 1688 (1988), A Concise History of Britain 1707-1975 (1993), The Birth of Britain: A New Nation 1700-1715 (1994), Literature and Society in Eighteenth-Century England 1680-1820: Ideology, Politics and Culture (1998), Cassell’s Companion to Eighteenth-Century Britain (2002), James II (2002), Colonial America: From Jamestown to Yorktown (2002), Robert Southey: Entire Man of Letters (2006), Dictionary of British America 1584-1783 (2007), and A Political Biography of Thomas Paine (2013), highly regarded teacher and lecturer, esp with his charm enthusing and encouraging young researchers, keen amateur musician as clarinet player and jazz enthusiast, loved walking the Lakeland fells, noted cat lover and chairman of Carlisle branch of RSPCA, pub quizzer, died in Carlisle, 16 February 2017, aged 79, and cremated at Carlisle, 7 March (CN, 24.03.2017; IHR obit by Prof Tony Claydon, 07.03.2017)

Spedding, Carlisle (1695-1755), mining engineer, inventor, architect and agent, born 10 September 1695, 4th and yst son of Edward Spedding (d.1706), of Whitehaven (who had moved to west Cumberland in 1687, leased Akebank farm from Sir John Lowther in 1690s and apptd porter in Whitehaven custom house in 1700) and Sarah (d.1716), dau and coheir of Lancelot Carlisle, of Cairns, marr (1716) Sarah (d.1771, aged 74), dau of Edward Towerson, ship’s captain, 3 sons and 2 daus, principal colliery steward to Sir William Lowther of Whitehaven, first employed to assist in collieries in 1706, effectively in charge of all Lowther colliery interests from c.1730, responsible for sinking pits in the Howgill colliery (Duke, King, Thwaite, Ravenhill, Saltom, Kells, Fox, Country, Moss, Arrowthwaite, Parker, Fish, Hind and prob other pits) and in the Whingill colliery (Taylor, Hinter, Carr, Fox, Daniel, Green, Watson, Pedlar, Harras, Pearson and Jackson pits), many of great depth (Thwaite being deepest in country at 149 fathoms), invented in 1730 the ‘Spedding Wheel’ a steel mill operated by children to give modest illumination in the  mines (a hand-cranked wheel fitted with a flint which struck against a rapidly rotating steel disc to produce a stream of sparks) which extraordinarily did not ignite subterranean gases and continued in use until Humphrey Davy’s safety lamp was invented in 1815) [Beacon Museum; Haig Pit Museum], (100 Spedding mills were used in the Tyneside colliery alone), also developed system of ventilation known as ‘coursing the air’, both techniques enabling mining to go deeper, responsible for sinking of Saltom Pit in 1730-31, reaching the unprecedented depth of 456 feet under the Irish Sea (Benjamin Franklin’s visit (qv)), lighted his own office with gas in c.1750 and then offered to lay on supply to town, Whitehaven being first town to be lighted with gas laid on direct by pipes from coal pits (half a century before William Murdoch (1754-1839) in the 1790s, though Murdoch gets the credit for this innovation), James Lowther was involved himself in the gradual realisation of this resource and he experimented with a bladder of gas, observing its slow combustion, Whitehaven Harbour Board Trustee, also acted as Lowther’s election agent in 1721 and 1752, killed in colliery accident ironically by the explosion of fire-damp, 8 August 1755, but left a legacy of mining methods at Whitehaven which were the most advanced in the country (CW2, lxxxiii, 131-140; WHC, 442; WCC, 164; CRO, D/Lons/letters); CW1 iii 375

Spedding, Carlisle James Scott (1852-1915), private chamberlain of the sword and cloak to Pope Leo XIII and Pius X; Hudleston ( C)

Spedding, Edward (1660-1705) father of Carlisle Spedding, Lowther agent at Whitehaven, m. Sara Towerson (1655-1716)

Spedding, Henry Anthony (1846-1887), DL, JP, BA, son of Thomas Story Spedding (qv), of Mirehouse, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1884, president of Keswick and Lake District Agricultural Society in 1881, marr (1882) Lady Jane Charlotte Stewart (d.1897), dau of 9th earl of Galloway, 2 daus

Spedding, James (1720-1788), mining engineer and agent, er son of Carlisle Spedding (qv), introduced at an early age to job as engineer, marr (1779) Elizabeth (1745-1821), dau and coheir of Thomas Harrington, of Fisher Street, Carlisle, 1 son, bought Summergrove, Hensingham from Anthony Grayson in 1761, fully employed in pits by 1737, eventually succ father as colliery steward in August 1755 and his uncle, John Spedding (qv), as estate steward later in 1755 in addition, improved and extended Whitehaven coal works, prosecuting coal trade with great vigour, sinking new pits (inc Croft, Wilson, James, Lady, George, Davy, North, Bateman, Howe, Wolfe, Scott, Harras and Moss pits) as old ones became exhausted, with annual average output of about 150,000 tons and price on board ship of about 3s.4d. per ton between 1755 and 1780, retiring from management of Lonsdale’s affairs at Whitehaven in 1781 (succ by John Bateman), died ‘after a severe illness’ at his house in Roper Street, Whitehaven, in August 1788 (CP obit, 27.08.1788 quoted in CW1, iii, 289-290)

Spedding, James (fl.early 18thc), timber merchant Whitehaven

Spedding, James (1779-1863), DL, JP, major, Royal Westmorland Militia, captain, 1st Foot Guards, only son of James Spedding (qv), of Summergrove, Hensingham, by his 2nd wife, apptd a governor of St Bees School in January 1828 in place of Dr James Satterthwaite (qv)

Spedding, James (1808-1881; ODNB), Francis Bacon scholar and biographer, lived Mirehouse, Bassenthwaite, entertained Lord Tennyson who is said to have written part of ‘Morte D’Arthur’ while his guest, also entertained the poets Edward Fitzgerald (1809-1883; ODNB) and Bernard Barton (1784-1849; ODNB) and probably the Suffolk artist Thomas Churchyard (1798-1865) (qqv), who painted Lyulph’s Tower (Abbot Hall) at this time

Spedding, John (1685-1758), steward, eldest son of Edward Spedding, taken on as domestic servant by Sir John Lowther in 1700 (brothers George and Lancelot apprenticed to sea), checked on activities of John Gale (qv), Lowther’s colliery steward, and exposed embezzlement on 1707, leading to Gale’s dismissal and replacement by Spedding, effectively acting as estate steward from c.1730, employed a Newcomen engine to pump water from Whitehaven mines, marr (dau, Mary, marr Dr William Brownrigg, qv), died in 1758, succ by John Spedding Curwen (qv) as steward; CW2 lxxxix 181

Spedding, Thomas (1722-1783), clergyman, yr son of yr son of Carlisle Spedding above, godson of Sir William Lowther, educ Trinity College Dublin 1739 (financially helped by Lowther), agreed that he would be first minister of church built by his father, St James’s, after its consecration on 25 July 1753 (chapel of ease to St Bees parish church until separated in 1835), vicar of St James, Whitehaven 1753-1783, marr, 3 sons (Carlisle, bapt 14 February 1757; Langton, bapt 2 October 1761; Thomas, bapt 17 October 1766), 5 daus (Isabella, bapt 25 April 1755; Mary, bapt 22 June 1759; Elizabeth, bapt 21 January 1763; Ann, bapt 19 April 1765; Jane, bapt 19 October 1768, all at St James’s) (CW2, lxxxiii, 137)

Spedding, Thomas Story (1800-1870), LLB (Cantab), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1855

Spence, Joseph Edward (1885-1962), MB, ChB, DPH, FSA, president, CWAAS 1951-1954, died at Weymouth, 27 February 1962 (CW2, lxii, 356-57); CWAAS 150th volume , 303ff

Spencer, Lady Diana, see Diana, Princess of Wales

Spencer, Gilbert (1892-1979), artist, brother of Stanley (qv), tutor at the RCA, evacuated with the students to Ambleside during the war

Spencer, Jeremiah (1789-1865), a Quaker landowner, born in Pardshaw, son of Jeremiah Spencer (1752-1841) cabinet maker, tallow chandler and agent of the Eagle Insurance Co, and his wife Jane Harrison (1759-1825) of Wigton, married Lydia Yeates (1798-1837) of Antigua, built South Lodge, Cockermouth in 1831, he was a shareholder in the Maryport and Carlisle Railway, treasurer of the Cockermouth Temperance Society and a Poor Law Guardian, interested in cartography, he holds a Johannes Blaeu type world map of two spheres in his portrait by Joseph Sutton (1832), this may reflect his interests in cartography or his wife’s business concerns in the West Indies, he had two daughters (one named Marian) who sat together to Sutton (illustrated in ME Burkett, The Cockermouth School p.12 and 21), his daughter Mary Ann (Marian?) married James Bell (1818-1872; DCB) MP for Guildford from 1852-1857, at this date (1858) Spencer described himself as ‘yeoman’; Lena Stanley-Clamp, Lorton and Derwent Fells History Society Newsletter, August 2020; History of Parliament

Spencer, Stanley (1891-1959; ODNB), artist, brother of Gilbert (qv), visited Ambleside during the war; Quarto July 1995, p.5

Spencer-Bell, James, see Bell

Spira, George (DCB), textile engineer, son of Adolf Spira of Kosice in Hungary, worked for a relative at Madaraz silk factory in Varazdin, sent to West Cumberland with several looms, worked at Sekers Silk mills from 1939, produced parachute silk in wartime, marr Aniko Szega, later a director of West Cumberland Silk Mills, retired Australia where his sons lived

Spooner, Harold (18xx-1964), clergyman, chaplain to the forces at siege of Kut-al-Amara in 1916, died in Kendal, 17 December 1964

Spooner,  Henry Maxwell (c.1855-1929), archdeacon Maidstone, the brother of the Rev Dr William Archibald Spooner (qv), m. Catherine daughter of Harvey Goodwin bishop of Carlisle qv, their daughter Mary Catherine (Kitty) m. dean Inge (1860-1954; ODNB) of St Paul’s

Spooner, Kitty, granddaughter of bishop Harvey Goodwin (qv) married dean Inge; see ODNB re Inge

Spooner, William Archibald (1844-1930; ODNB), DD, clergyman and college head, warden of New College, Oxford 1903-1924, etc, of 1 Canterbury Road, Oxford, m. Frances Wycliffe Goodwin [1852-1939] daughter of bishop Harvey Goodwin (qv) in Carlisle in 1878, widely known for his ‘Spoonerisms’, though many attributed to him are probably the inventions of others, died aged 86 and buried in Grasmere cemetery, 3 September 1930, ashes of widow, Frances Wycliffe, also buried in Grasmere cemetery, 23 September 1939, son William Wycliffe Spooner (qv); entry in the Oxford Book of Literary Anecdotes

Spooner, William Wycliffe (d.1967), art lover, son of the Revd WA Spooner (qv) and the brother of Rev Henry Maxwell Spooner (qv), established W W Spooner Charitable Trust, died 17 September 1967)

Spotiswode, Aloysius (1916-1994) PhD, philosopher, born Appleby, conscientious objector, imprisoned, member Labour party

Spring Rice, Sir Cecil Arthur (1859-1918; ODNB), diplomat and poet, brought up at Watermillock, best man of Theodore Roosevelt, British ambassador to the U.S., wrote the lyric: I vow to thee my country, memorial upon Aira Force bridge to him and his brother Stephen; Stephen Gwynn, Letters and Friendships of S.C. Spring Rice, 1929; Lord Greystoke (qv)

Spring Rice, Stephen (1856-1902), civil servant and academic; brother of Sir Cecil (qv), brought up at Watermillock, fellow Trinity College, Cambridge, memorial to him and his brother upon Aira Force bridge

Sprott (or Spratt) (d.1600), martyr, beatified in 1987

Spry, Constance (nee Fletcher, previously Marr) (1886-1960; ODNB), educator, welfare supervisor, florist, b Derby, dau of George Fletcher and Henrietta Dutton, after she left her husband in 1916 worked in welfare in  Barrow-in-Furness, then as secretary of the Red Cross in Dubin, became an influencial flower arranger, worked with Pamela Hitcham in London, daughter of Sir John Forster (qv); Cornish Torbock (1905-1993) (qv) a keen gardener and flower arranger himself used to say that he had ‘taught Connie everything she knew’, which, considering their age disparity, was probably a joke, marr 1st James Marr in 1910 1 son, marr 2nd Henry E Spry in 1926

Stabler, George (1839-1910), schoolmaster and naturalist, b. Crayke, N. Yorks. 3 September 1839, son of James, a shoemaker, educated at Welburn where he was taught by Richard Spruce [1817-1893], the expert on mosses, scholarship to St John’s, York, moved to Levens as master, m. Sarah Wilson 1869, 4 sons (James (bapt 22 June 1870), Harold (qv), Edgar (bapt 11 October 1874), Oswald (bapt 7 May 1876) and 1 dau (Bertha Elizabeth (bapt 7 July 1878)), published on mosses and liverworts, taught John Mitchie, later king’s factor at Balmoral, contact with learned societies in Manchester and Glasgow, of the School House, later of South View, Levens (1905), died 4 January 1910 and buried Heversham; Ian D. Hodkinson, Three Legged Society, 2012; publications in journals including  the Journal of  Botany and the Naturalist; collections at Kendal Museum; (letters from botanical authorities 1856-1894, CRO, WDX 950)

Stabler, Harold (1872-1945), RDI, wood carver, designer in ceramics, enamels and jewellery, and teacher, born in Levens, 10 June 1872 and bapt there 25 August, 2nd son of George Stabler (qv), started carving in 1886/7 and became competent designer and carver by age of 20, winning prizes at Kendal Art School in Art Teachers’ Certificate course, pupil or poss apprentice of A W Simpson until 1896 when he joined teaching staff of The Keswick School of Industrial Art, then period with the Rathbone at Liverpool, apptd to staff of the Sir John Cass Institute in 1902, becoming principal of Arts and Crafts Department in 1905, marr Phoebe McLeish, returned to Kendal frequently to visit Simpson family, died in London, 11 April 1945

Stafford, Thomas (fl.1630-1653), bellfounder, cast two bells for Cartmel in 1630-31, cast one bell for Kendal in 1631, another for Kirkby Stephen in the same year, two for Penrith in 1639 and one for Hutton-in-the-Forest in 1653

Stagg, John (1770-1823; ODNB), poet, born Burgh by Sands, known as the ‘Blind Bard of Cumberland’, lost his sight when a child, collector of folk tales and songs, also accomplished fiddler, author of two series of Miscellaneous Poems (1804 and 1807) and Minstrel of the North (1810)

Stainton, J B, & Son (19thc.), blacksmiths and agricultural implement makers, Milton Mill, Preston Richard, forges for Stainton Plough 1854 ; Thomas & William Stainton (1885)

Stainton, Richard (16xx-1734), clergyman, vicar of Barton, succ John Harrison (qv), instituted vicar at Rose Castle by bishop of Carlisle, 17 July 1705 and inducted 20 July, wife Jane (buried at Barton, 19 May 1716), buried at Barton, 2 August 1734

Stalker, John W (18xx-19xx), MSA, architect and surveyor, practice at 57 Highgate, Kendal (inc Dean Gibson Memorial School, Gillinggate, Kendal, 1898 in rough-cast neo-Tudor style, but demolished in December 2011-January 2012), living at Sunny cote, Kendal (1905)

Stalker, Thomas (16xx-16xx), MA, clergyman, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (BA 1657, MA 1660), ordained priest, 25 September 1670, curate at St Cuthbert’s, Carlisle 1673, curate of Rockcliffe 1679-1680, vicar of Thursby 1680-1681 (instituted 6 April 1680 and induction on 23 April), minor canon of Carlisle Cathedral, marr, 2 daus (Mary (bapt 16th? 1673 at Botchergate within and buried 24 [December] 1673) and Jane (first wife of Revd Richard Shepherd, qv)), [not known after 1681] (ECW, i, 186, 315, 544-45)

Stampa, George Dominic (b.c.1845), architect, born Constantinople (said to have worked for Sultan Abdul Hamid (1842-1918) who was effectively the last ruler of the Ottoman empire), left Turkey following the uprising of 1878 ( as the sultan only reigned from 1876, perhaps this was at an earlier period in Abdul Hamid’s life ?), married Miss Heelis, father of George Loraine Stampa (1875-1951; DCB), lived latterly in Appleby, wore a fez and smoked a hookah

Stampa, George Lorraine (1875-1951), caricaturist, b. Constantinople, his father the architect to Sultan Abdul Hamid, cousin of William Heelis, husband of Beatrix Potter (qv), educated at Appleby Grammar School, Bedford Modern School, Heatherley’s art college and the RA schools, worked for Punch, designed posters for London Transport, drawings of street urchins and dogs, d. Appleby; Hyde and Pevsner, 500; obit Times 28 March 1951

Standen, Michael (1937-2011), poet, educ Cambridge, WEA organizer and latterly the northern District Secretary, published novel Start Somewhere (1965), three volumes of verse including Times Fly Past (1991), Gifts of Egypt (2002) friend of Norman Nicholson, retired to Durham City; obit 23 October 2011

Standish, Charles, formerly Strickland (1790-1863), DL, landowner, born 14 March 1790, at Brough Hall, Catterick, er son of Thomas Strickland Standish (qv), succ to Standish estate near Wigan on death of father in 1813 and under the settlement relinquished name and arms of Strickland for that of Standish, marr (February 1822) Emma Conradine (died 24 June 1831, at Beausejours, Passy, near Paris after long illness, aged 28, and buried at Carlpont church, Oise, 28 June), dau of M de Mathiessen, banker, of Hamburg, and half-sister of Gasparine de Fingerlen, wife of her brother-in-law, Thomas (qv), 3 sons (Charles Henry Lionel Widdrington (1823-1883), Charles Frederick (1824-1855), RA, unm, and Charles Edward (1829-1853), RN, unm), contested borough seat of Wigan in 1835, but elected in 1837 and again in 1842 (after successful petition to unseat winner of poll), High Sheriff of Lancashire 1836, DL Lancs, described by Maria Edgeworth as ‘an exquisite or tip-top dandy’ and as ‘clever entertaining and agreeable’ (Memoirs, ii, 27), died 10 June 1863 and buried at Standish (SoS, 174-175); eldest male line of Strickland family died out in 1920 with death of Henry Noailles Widdrington Standish (1847-1920), son of Charles HLW Standish (supra), and his widow, Helene (de Perusse), sold Standish estate in parcels in 1922 and presented family muniments to Wigan Public Library (SoS, 176-177)

Standish, Ralph (d.1752), Jacobite, son of William Standish, of Standish, and Cecilia, dau and heir of Sir Robert Bindloss, Bt (qv), of Borwick Hall, joined Rebellion of 1715, but estate saved from forfeiture on proof that it belonged to his mother Cecilia, marr Lady Philippa Howard (died 5 April 1731), dau of Henry, duke of Norfolk, 4 sons (inc Ralph Howard, died at Kilkenny, April 1735, v.p.) and 5 daus (inc Cecilia, who succ him and marr William Towneley (died 2 February 1741), of Towneley, died in 1752

Standish, Rowland, formerly Stephenson (c.1788-1843), landowner, son of Edward Stephenson (qv) and Maria Cecilia Strickland, assumed name and arms of Standish by Royal Licence, 6 June 1834, marr Lady Lucy Pery, dau of 1st earl of Limerick, 3 sons and 2 daus, of Scaleby Castle and also of Holm Cultram, died in 1843

Standish, Rowland Edmond Walter Pery (1820-1893), DL, JP, landowner, born in 1820, son of Rowland Stephenson, later Standish (qv), of Scaleby Castle and also of Marwell Hall, Hants, marr (22 October 1850) Caroline Macnamara, dau of Samuel Clogstoun, died in 1893 s.p.

Standish, Thomas Strickland, formerly Strickland (1763-1813), landowner, born at Sizergh, 31 July 1763, eldest son of Charles Strickland (qv) and Cecilia (Towneley) (qv), educ English Academy at Liege, succ to Sizergh estate on father’s death in 1770 when only seven, which was then administered by his mother, had lease for 20 years of Kirkby Lonsdale rectory, tithe barns at Natland, Whincell and Sizergh with all tithe corn and barns of Crosscrake and Larkrigg from Trinity College, Cambridge (deeds of 7 December 1789 in Sizergh Castle MSS), [mortgage of manors of Sizergh and Natland and Sedbergh to Garnett Braithwaite to pay legacies, 13 August 1794 (WQ/SR/533/9)], later inherited Standish and Borwick estates on death of his maternal uncle, Edward Towneley Standish (qv) in 1807, taking addnl name and arms of Standish by Royal Licence, 6 May 1807, but his issue to take name of Standish only, marr 1st (24 February 1789, at Catterick, Yorks) Anastasia Maria (born 25 May 1769, died 2 June 1807, aged 38, at Brough Hall and buried at Catterick (MI)), er dau of Sir John Lawson, 5th Bt, of Brough Hall, Catterick, 2 sons (Charles and Thomas) and 4 daus (Anastasia, Elizabeth, Monica and Catherine), all born at Brough, where the family lived much of time, marr 2nd (1807x13) Catherine (died 24 September 1862 and buried at St Mary Magdalen’s, Mortlake, Surrey), yst dau of Sir Robert Cansfield Gerard, 9th Bt, of Bryn, co Lancaster, died at York, 4 December 1813 and buried at Standish church, near Wigan; incl on MI to his parents in Kendal parish church, portrait and funeral hatchment at Sizergh (SoS, 172-174)

Standish, William Pery (1860-1922), OBE, JP, landowner, born 3 August 1860, son of William Cecil Standish, of Ne Park, Brockenhurst, Hants, succ his uncle, Rowland E W P Standish (qv) in 1893 at Scaleby Castle, also of Brackenhill Tower, Longtown, and Marwell Hall, Owlesbury, Winchester, lord of manor of Low Holme (Silloth), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1902, marr (10 August 1901) Evelyn Cecilia (d. 9 January 1954), eldest dau of Charles Nicholas Paul Phipps, DL, JP, of Chalcot, Wilts, 2 sons and 4 daus, died 11 November 1922. Eldest son, Edward William Standish (1903-1933) succ to Scaleby, but his widow, Sheila Margaret, dau of Col Richard Byron, sold it in 1946

Stanford, Michael (16xx-1683), clergyman, vicar of Kendal 1672-1683, buried at Kendal, 4 March 1682/83

Stanger, James, of Lairthwaite, Keswick (1847), friend and neighbour of Robert Southey (qv)

Staniforth, Thomas (1807-1887), graduated Christ Church Oxford, as stroke captained the Oxford boat in the first boat race in 1829, of Storrs Hall, Bowness-on-Windermere from 1859, godson of John Bolton of Storrs, trustee of Ambleside Turnpike Road from 15 October 1856 and often acted as chairman (minute book 1824-1875 in CRO, WST/1), chairman of Windermere Agricultural Society in 1863, president of Westmorland & Kendal District Agricultural Society in 1881, wife Caroline (died aged 52 and buried in Bowness cemetery, 27 December 1881), died July 1887 [in same month as Schneider, but they were never good friends]

Stanley, Charles James Fox (18xx-1884), of Halecat, buried at Witherslack, 18 October 1884, aged 76; Frances Augusta Stanley, of Halecat, buried at Witherslack, 4 June 1878

Stanley, Edward (c.1690-1751), JP, landowner, of Dalegarth, son of John Stanley (who moved from Dalegarth to Ponsonby), educ St Bees Grammar School, marr (17xx) Mildred, dau of Sir George Fleming, Bt, bishop of Carlisle, 1 son (George Edward, qv) and 5 daus, listed as a Cumberland justice in 1751 with note ‘disordered since dead’ (BL, Add MSS 35603), died in Chelsea (?mad-house), 23 July 1751, aged 61, intestate, and buried at Chelsea Old Church, 27 July (memorial tablet in church destroyed by enemy action in 1940) (CW2, xlii, 236; lxi, 302)

Stanley, Edward (1790-18xx), DL, JP, landowner and politician, son of George Edward Stanley, of Dalegarth and Ponsonby, educ Sedbergh School, MP for West Cumberland 1832-1852, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1823, DL and JP Cumberland, marr Mary, dau of William Douglas, of Isle of Man, sons (CW MP, 437; SSR, 168)

Stanley, Frederick (18xx-18xx), MP, chairman of Hawkshead Agricultural Society in 1877 = Sir Frederick Stanley, president of Westmorland & Kendal District Agricultural Society in 1886

Stanley, George Edward (1748-1806), landowner, born 21 March 1748, son of Edward Stanley (qv), of Dalegarth and Ponsonby, lost his father when only three, his and sister Dorothy’s tuition being granted to his mother Mildred on 18 April 1752, entd Carlisle Grammar School on 7 April 1755, but showed no great academic ability (a ‘good natured boy’ with ‘no turn for school learning’) and left Carlisle on 23 June 1757 to start at a new school at Cheam in Surrey, whose headmaster was William Gilpin (qv), but moved to Eton by his mother in January 1761 in face of Gilpin’s contrary advice (letter of 30 November 1760), spent five and a half years at Eton before going up to Christ’s College, Cambridge for five years as a fellow-commoner, leaving in 1771 without taking a degree, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1774, died in 1806 (CW2, lxx, 181-191)

Stanley, George Edward (1831-19xx), born at Ponsonby Hall, 21 November 1831, 3rd son of Edward Stanley (qv), educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1844, aged 12, and left December 1849), joined consular service, apptd vice-consul at Jeddah, 13 January 1859, Consul 6 July 1860, transfd to Alexandria in April 1864, acting Consul-General in Egypt in 1869 (15 May to 16 September), consul-general for Russian ports on Black Sea and Sea of Azov, based at Odessa from 9 November 1874, consul for States of California and Oregon, and for Washington Territory from 11 April 1883, retired 1 November 1886 to Highfield, Brimpton, Reading,  (SSR, 215)

Stanley, Sir Julian (1899-1971; ODNB), banker, related to the Crossley carpet manufacturing family (qv)

Stanley, Michael Charles (1921-1990), MBE, DL, CEng, MIEE, engineer, born 11 August 1921, only son of Oliver Stanley (qv), educ Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA), served WW2, Captain, Royal Signals (TA), MBE 1945, marr (16 January 1951) (Aileen) Fortune Constance Hugh (life member of CWAAS from 1963, died late 2010), er dau of Owen Hugh Smith, JP, of Old Hall, Langham, Oakham, Rutland, and brother of 1st baron Bicester, 2 sons (Oliver Hugh and Nicholas Charles), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1959, Westmorland County Councillor for Crosthwaite from April 1961 to March 1974, vice-lieutenant of Westmorland to March 1974, High Sheriff of Cumbria 1975-76, involved in Winster Valley Preservation Society, of Halecat, Witherslack, died 3 June 1990; Halecat House and estate taken on by Nick Stanley after his mother’s death in 2010 and developed as a base for pioneering artisan enterprises

Stanley, Nicholas Austhwaite (1xxx-19xx), DSO, OBE, Lieut-Col, Indian Army (retd), son of Philip Stanley (1870-1940), bought back Dalegarth in 1947, which had been sold by his uncle Edward to Lord Muncaster in 1888, but sold Ponsonby Hall to Home Office in 1951, last High Sheriff of Cumberland 1973-74

Stanley, Oliver Frederick George (1896-1950; ODNB), PC, MC, politician, born in London, 4 May 1896, yr son of Edward George Villiers Stanley, later 17th earl of Derby (1865-1948) and Lady Alice Maude Olivia Montagu (d.1957), educ Eton College, but prevented by outbreak of war from going up to Oxford, served WW1 with RFA (MC, Croix de Guerre), called to bar by Gray’s Inn in 1919, marr (4 November 1920) Lady Maureen Helen (1900-1942, died 20 June and funeral at Witherslack, 28 June 1942), eldest dau of Charles Stewart Henry Vane-Tempest-Stewart, 7th marquess of Londonderry, 1 son and 1 dau, took up residence at Halecat on Witherslack estate made over to him by his father in 1922, wife a gifted speaker and keen socialite, took up active part in county affairs as member of Westmorland County Council ??, county magistrate for Kendal division, unsuccessfully contested Edge Hill division of Liverpool in 1923, but elected MP for Westmorland 1924-1945, <national political career>, officially opened new road bridge (Stanley Bridge) at Kirkby Lonsdale on 3 December 1932 (Devil’s Bridge then closed to traffic), MP for Bristol West from 1945, died at Folly Farm, Sulhamstead, Reading, 11 December 1950

Stanley, Thomas, 2nd baron Monteagle (1507-1560), KB, marr 2nd Helen, widow of Sir James Leyburne and dau of Thomas Preston, of Levens, died at Hornby Castle, 25 August 1560, and buried at Melling, 16 September, will dated 28 July to 29 December 1558, and proved at Richmond, 29 August 1564

Stansfield, Samuel (1788-1850), of Field Head, near Hawkshead, member of Society of Friends, died at the Lound, Kendal, 16 November 1850, aged 62

Stanwix, John (1693-1766; ODNB), formerly Roos, army officer and politician, bapt 19 March 1693, son of Revd John Roos (d.1704), rector of Widmerpool, Nottinghamshire, and his wife Matilda (d.1740), sister of general Thomas Stanwix (qv), by whose will he changed his name to Stanwix as his heir, inheriting Stanwix House in Fisher Street, entered army in 1706, rising to rank of major-general, governor of Carlisle 1752, MP for Carlisle 1746-1760 and for Appleby 1761-1766, marr 1st (17xx) Ada (d.1754), dau of Henry Holmes, 1 son (killed in America in 1756) and 1 dau (Susannah, bapt at St Mary’s, Carlisle, 6 October 1740, drowned 1766 (see below)), not at home during the 1745 when ‘the Duke of Perth and 100 soldiers were quartered … in Colonel Stanwix’s house’ (Mary Scott, his servant quoted in CJ), but back in 1752 when work on the house and garden was completed, Mayor of Carlisle 1763 and also appointed Governor of Isle of Wight, marr 2nd (21 April 1763, at St James’s, Piccadilly) Mary (also drowned 1766), dau of Marmaduke Sowle, of Dublin, no issue, visited Ireland in summer 1766 with wife and daughter to inspect forces, but returned in The Eagle from Dublin to Parkgate, Cheshire probably on 29 October 1766 when ship foundered in a storm and all were lost, succ after chancery lawsuit on 2 December 1767 by his ‘only next of kin’ and nephew, Thomas Connor (d.1780), of Vauxhall, who let property to governor George Johnstone in 1773, later sold to Sir James Lowther in 1784, Mushroom Hall later being purchased by City Corporation in 1879 for extension of market and demolished in August 1887 (CWMP, 438-439; CN, 04.01.2013)

Stanwix, Thomas (c.1670-1725; ODNB), LLD, army officer and politician, son of Thomas Stanwix, of Carlisle, and his wife, Grace Fairfax, of Parkhead, joined army and first noted as a captain-lieutenant in Hastings’s foot regiment in January 1692, brigadier-general, fought in Marlborough’s campaigns, MP for Carlisle 1702-1721, mayor of Carlisle1715, governor of Gibraltar 1710, had house and garden on east side of Fisher Street, acquired by Sir James Lowther in 1784 and later called Mushroom Hall (a nod to the Lowther ‘mushrooms’), but freehold of which he had bought from his uncle John How and his wife Mary for £537 on 4 January 1715, marr Susannah, no issue, died in 1725, succ by his nephew, John Roos, later Stanwix (qv) (CWMP, 437-438; CN, 04.01.2013)

Stavert, William (1832-1905), JP, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1898, of Prizet

Stead, Edmund Wright (1862-1934), JP, son of John Stead (d.1892), of Cummersdale and of Eden Lodge, b at the latter home, educ, marr, 2 sons, worked with Stead McAlpin, his father’s calico printers firm, used at least one of Voysey’s designs, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1909, of Dalston Hall from 1897, died in 1934 (CN, 29.10.2010); Tony Peart, The Mystery of the Dalston Hall Hanging, Cumbria university website

Stead, Reginald (1908-1989), MBE, violinist, played under Frank Gomez at Whitby, led a municipal ensemble of ten players at Colwyn Bay in 1950s, member of Halle Orchestra in 1930s and 1945-1971, very able leader of BBC Northern Orchestra until 1978 when he retired to become leader of Westmorland Orchestra from 1978 until 1988, also president 1975-1989, cremated remains buried at Winster

Steadman, George (1846-1904), champion wrestler, born at Whitehaven, later of Asby [W], nr Appleby, Grasmere Sports heavyweight champion on 17 occasions, retired in 1900, had ‘appearance of an avuncular bishop’ (LTLD)

Steel, James (1792-1859), CB, soldier, born at Cockermouth, 1792, 3rd son of Joseph Steel, of Cockermouth, and yr brother of John Steel (qv), colonel, 67th Bengal Native Infantry, served 52 years in Indian Army, marr, son (colonel J P Steel, RE, who published A Memoir of his father in 1909/10 and edited Cumberland Lay Subsidy 1332, and Feet of Fines, Cumberland, Henry VIII to Elizabeth)

Steel, James (1797-1851), newspaper editor, son of Archibald Steel, apprenticed to the Carlisle Chronicle, worked at the Whitehaven Gazette and Kendal Chronicle, editor of the Carlisle Journal, mayor of Carlisle 1844-46; (memoir CJ 26 December 1851; Ian Ashbridge, James Steel: Champion of the People, 2011); statue in Carlisle market place; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 148-9

Steel, John (fl.1810), farmer, achieved local fame by firing the shot that killed ‘T’ Girt Dog of Ennerdale’, which had become the most notorious sheep-killer of all, having destroyed nearly 350 sheep in the Ennerdale district from May until shot on 12 September 1810 (newspaper report by Andrew Phillips, 1932)

Steel, John (1788-1868), JP, solicitor and MP, eldest son of Joseph Steel, of Cockermouth, and Dorothy (d.1799, aged 37), dau of John Ponsonby (qv), of Haile Hall, and eldest brother of Colonel James Steel (qv), solicitor in practice with Edward Bowe at 9 Main Street, clerk to Cockermouth Petty Sessions, MP for Cockermouth 1854-1868, of Derwent Bank, Papcastle, died (unmarr?) 1868

Steele, Christopher (1733-1767; ODNB), portrait painter, b at Acre Walls, Arlecdon, 9 July 1733, 2nd of six children of John Steele (c.1700-c.1770), tallow chandler, and Katherine, dau of Christopher Denton, rector, this family seems to be closely related to that of Joseph Steele (qv), after a period in Paris (where he claimed to have learned much from Charles van Loo) often called ‘the Count’ in token of his elaborate deportment and manners, came to Kendal about 1750 after failing to set up studio in York and took room in Redmayne’s yard, taking both George Romney (qv) and Daniel Gardner (qv) as pupils, eloped with another pupil, Amy Grundy (died 30 December 1761), dau Catherine (bapt at Kendal, 14 August 1757), when of Stricklandgate, Kendal, moved to York for nine months, then to Lancaster in July 1757, then to Dublin,….returned from West Indies to Egremont, where he died, 1 September 1767, and buried; Mary Burkett article in Walpole Society Journal c.1980s

Steele, Joseph (1745-1835), surgeon, of Acre Walls, Arlecdon, and Trinity Square, London, (he seems to be related closely to Christopher Steele qv), godfather of Catherine Augusta Harrison (qv), baroness de Sternberg, to whom he left most of his wealth (from iron ore royalties), including Acre Walls, died in London, buried All Hallows, Barking by the Tower, 30 September 1835 (memorial marble tablet in St Michael’s church, Arlecdon)

Steele, Lancelot (1847-19xx), coach agent, with Riggs of Windermere (qv), author (ghosted) of Windermere: Its Growth and History, published by Atkinson & Pollitt, Kendal, in 1928

Steen, Marguerite FRSL (1894-1975), writer, b. Liverpool, dau of Capt George Connolly Benson (killed Ashanti), the lover of Sir William Nicholson (qv), her works include: Hugh Walpole: A Study (1933), The Biography of Mary ‘Perdita’ Robinson (1947), The Sun is My Undoing (1941) (her best seller), William Nicholson (1943), Racing Without Tears (1952), A Guide to Cumberland and Westmorland (1964), Looking Glass: Autobiography (1966), More Autobiography (1968), Paintings and Drawing of the Gypsies of Grenada (1969)

Steer, Marguerite (fl.1920s-30s), novelist, Kendal High School

Stein, Alex (1894-1971), textile manufacturer and sculptor, lived West Cumbria

Stell, John, monk of Furness, worked in the scriptorium there on The Furness Coucher Book (c.1412), in this work he puns on his name: Stell, Stella [Star.......], there is a small likeness of Stell in this work (perhaps a self portrait); familiar with the Coucher Book, Father Thomas West (qv) quoted him, writing, ‘Stell says......’ (Antiquities, 38-9)

Stenhouse, Joseph Russell RN (1887-1941) DSO OBE DSC RD RNR, explorer, b. Dumbarton in a shipbuilding family, Birrell and Shackleton, ed Barrow GS, Commander RN, with Sir Ernest Shackleton (1868-1936; ODNB) on his expedition from 1914-1917

Stennett, John Archibald [?], itinerant photographer c.1830s; CW3, xvii, 183

Stephen, (1092 or 1096-1154; ODNB), king of England, count of Blois, Boulogne and Mortain, his mother was Adela the sister of the Conqueror, founder of Furness Abbey in 1123, initially at Tulketh near Preston

Stephen, W., printer of Penrith

Stephens, Barbara Harriet Taqui (nee Altounyan) (1917-2001), writer, born in London, 16 May 1917, eldest dau of Ernest and Dora Altounyan (qv), ‘Swallows and Amazons’ model, marr (1944) Robert Stephens, a diplomat, (d.1992), 3 sons and 1 dau, author of In Aleppo Once, Through the Years in the Middle East, and Chimes from a Wooden Bell, maintained a cottage at Nibthwaite and maintained a collection of Collingwood family paintings, but lived at Sandy Cross, Ridgeway Road, Dorking, Surrey, where she died, 14 July 2001, aged 84, and buried at Coniston, 23 July

Stephens, Thomas (fl.19thc.; Dic Austr Biog), son of the Revd William Stephens, brother of William (qqv), b Levens, educ Marlborough and Queen’s College, to Australia in 1855, became inspector of schools in Tasmania, established a scheme of classification of teachers, became director of education

Stephens, William (c.1786-1864), clergyman, father of William and Thomas (qqv), died at Levens parsonage, aged 78, and buried at Heversham, 27 June 1864

Stephens, William (1829-1890; Dic Austr Biog), b Levens, son of the Rev William Stephens (qv), ed Marlborough and Queen’s College, headmaster Sydney GS, professor Sydney university, museum administrator, his name given to the poisonous snake Heplocephalus stephensii

Stephenson, Edward (1691-1768), governor of Bengal, bapt at Crosthwaite, Keswick, 8 October 1691, son of Edward Stephenson, of Keswick (descended from Stephensons of Bannisdale), and Rebecca, dau of John Winder, of Lorton, elected as a writer in service of East India Co on 24 November 1708, arrived in Calcutta in early February 1710, advanced to factor in February 1714, went as no.3 on embassy to Moghul emperor at Delhi to obtain concessions for the company from April 1715 until return to Calcutta in November 1717, apptd chief of factory at Balasore on Bay of Bengal, then transferred to the council at Patna in July 1718, later chief at Patna then at Kasimbazar, becoming no.2 in council of Bengal in 1724, succ to governorship on death of Henry Frankland on 23 August 1728, arrived from Kasimbazar on 17 September to take up post as president and governor of Fort William, but superseded the following day by John Deane, who arrived with commission from company to take over its affairs in Bengal on 18 September 1728, returned to Kasimbazar as chief for a year, resigned at end of 1729 and returned to England in 1730, little known of his long retirement, lived at Bardfield Lodge in Essex, had house in London, and built himself house in Keswick (named ‘Governor’s House’, later (1966) Derwent Club), purchased manor of Holm Cultram for £11,000 in 1732, obtained possession of Scaleby Castle in c.1748 (as result of suit in Chancery) from Richard Gilpin (qv), who owed him £7,000,and other estates in Cumberland and Westmorland (inc Stonegarthside Hall from Matthew Robson in 1741 but sold it to Thomas Holme in 1761 (CW2, lxi, 187), and Strickland Ketel), marr ?? (wife’s death recorded in G M for 1744, p.108), no known issue, visited at Bardfield in January 1765 by Orme seeking information on the embassy to Delhi of 1715-17, died s.p. at his home in Queen’s Square, London, 7 September 1768, aged 77, worth over £500,000, but left no will, and buried at Crosthwaite, 29 September 1768 (slab below chancel steps); succ by brother John (bapt 2 May 1700, d.1771), of Tottenham High Cross, who was granted admin of his estate (inc £20 to his steward, William Graham, of Sikeside, Cumberland), and whose son, Edward, died in 1782, aged 44, then succ by his nephew Edward (qv) (CW2, lxvi, 339-346)

Stephenson, Edward (1759-1833), banker, son of Rowland Stephenson, MP (qv) and nephew of Edward Stephenson (qv), marr (27 February 1786, at Kendal) Maria Cecilia (born 13 August 1766, died in Paris, 1817), dau of Charles Strickland, of Sizergh, and sister of Thomas Strickland, later Standish (qv), 1 son (Rowland, later Standish, qv) and 1 dau ( Mary Eliza (1787-1821), who marr her kinsman, Rowland Stephenson, MP (1782-1856)), banker, partner in Batson, Stephenson and Co, of Lombard Street, home in Queen’s Square, London, also of Farley Hill, Berkshire, and of Scaleby Castle, died in 1833 (SoS, 172)

Stephenson, George (17xx-17xx), son of John Stephenson, marr (1743) Dorothy, yr dau of Thomas Carleton (qv), of Appleby, who gave manor of Warcop with demesne lands, tithes and advowson as marriage portion, died without issue, with lands going to his aunts (father’s coheir sisters), incl manor of Warcop to Elizabeth, mother of Revd William Preston (qv)

Stephenson, John (c.1709-1794), b Alston, director of the East India Co and MP

Stephenson, Richard Stephenson (17xx-1838), county clerk, attorney and coroner, clerk of the peace for Westmorland 1812-1838, town clerk of Borough of Appleby for six terms between 1807 and 1836, common councillor from 1812, alderman 1836 and mayor in 1837-38, also Coroner (paid £4 8s 6d for taking inquests out of county rates, by order of court, 14 April 1817), of Boroughgate, Appleby, died in December 1838, aged 65 (papers in CRO, WDX 1462)

Stephenson, Robert (17xx-1803), clergyman, marr Bridget (buried at Cliburn, 14 August 1773, aged 41), 2 daus (Bridget (marr (29 November 1787 at Cliburn) John Perkins, gent, aged 30, of Penrith, and buried at Cliburn, 24 February 1789, aged 27) and Jane (bapt 12 May 1763)), rector of Cliburn 1760-1803, died in 1803 [but not bur at Cliburn]

Stephenson, Rowland (1728-1807), banker, nephew of Edward Stephenson (qv) and cousin of Edward Stephenson (d.1782), marr Elizabeth Anne (1738-1782), dau of Francis Drinkel (qv), of Kendal, and his wife Frances, dau of Richard Wilson, of Black Hall, Kendal, 1 son (Edward, qv), MP for Carlisle 1787-1790, elected at second ‘mushroom’ election after death of Edward Norton (qv) in 1786, banker in London, died in 1807; portrait by Romney (Francis Drinkell qv)

Stephenson, Thomas, barber surgeon, practiced in Whitehaven in 1715, his apprentice was John Cook also later a barber surgeon, the barbers split from the surgeons in 1745 who set up the Company of Surgeons in 1800 the Royal College of Surgeons

Stephenson, William (b.c.1685), hop merchant and distiller, b. Alston, son of Henry Stephenson (b.1660) of yeoman stock, liveryman of the Grocers’ company, lord mayor of London 1764,  daughter Ann m. John Sawbridge (1732-95) MP, also lord mayor, nephew John Stephenson (1710-1794) a brewer and MP, grandson Samuel Elias Stephenson also an MP

Stephenson, William (18xx-19xx), JP, alderman, Whitehaven corporation, Whitehaven harbour commissioner (apptd by town council), made first hon freeman of borough of Whitehaven (with alderman Frank Harvey) on 19 March 1952 in recognition of their work on behalf of local community

Sternberg, Baroness de, Catherine Augusta Harrison (1791-1859; DCB), dau of Dr John Hamilton (qv), of Whitehaven, acted as housekeeper to her father’s old friend, her godfather Dr Joseph Steele (qv), of Trinity Square, London, who left most of his wealth (from iron ore royalties) to her, including property called Acre Walls at Frizington, became a substantial benefactor to the Whitehaven Infirmary (which replaced Dispensary from c.1830), built Belsfield, Bowness-on-Windermere; Ian Jones, Baroness of Belsfield, 2008

Sterne, Richard (1595-1683; ODNB), MA, DD, archbishop of York, bishop of Carlisle and master of Jesus College Cambridge 1634, grandfather of Laurence Sterne (1713-1768; ODNB), author of Tristram Shandy

Stevens, Peter (1932-2016), son of Joseph Stevens a publican and his wife Gwen, ed Barrow GS and Nottingham university, RAF during Suez, m. 1st Dolly Price and 2nd Rochelle Levine, Grenada TV, Shakespeare Festival Stratford Ontario, general administrator of the National Theatre working closely with Peter Hall, had ‘formidable negotiating and organisational skills’; obit Guardian 16 June 2016

Stevenson (or Stephenson), John, (fl.mid 18thc.), master gunner at Carlisle in 1745, of Penrith, three quarter gunners under him [the total artillery force], also held property at Cumwhinton, dau and heir, Margaret, marr (1752) George Mounsey (qv); Mounsey and Waugh, Carlisle in 1745

Stevenson, Martin (c.1666-1782), centenarian miser, no evidence of birth/bapt [Kentmere PRs start in 1701], began life with capital of 16 shillings, bachelor with only housekeeper and dog, died at Kentmere, 17 October 1782, in his 117th year, leaving £18,000 by will, ‘accumulated by parsimony’, to a man who was no relation [no burial at Kentmere; no will in LRO, Kendal Deanery] (GM, 1782)

Stevenson, William (fl.1920s-30s), Roman Catholic priest, Kendal, opened new Dean Gibson School in Gillinggate, Kendal

Steward, Anthony Benn (1805-1881), JP, son of John Steward (d.1848, aged 81), of Chapel House, Hensingham, and of Margaret Cecilia, dau of Anthony Benn (qv), of Hensingham House, built Newton Manor, Gosforth in 1835, bought manor of Seascale after death of Sir Humphrey le Fleming Senhouse (qv) in 1841, first chairman of newly formed Whitehaven, Cleator and Egremont Railway Company from 1855 until c.1873, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1858, died in 1881 and succ by his nephew, Revd Robert Steward Falcon (qv)

Steward, James (d.1670), clergyman, minister of Torpenhow 1646, removed to Westward as vicar before 1655, gave considerable assistance to Wigton church during Commonwealth period, officiating at baptisms and marriages in 1656 and 1657, buried 24 January 1670 (ECW, I, 528-29, 579)

Stewardson, Thomas (1781-1859; ODNB), portrait painter, born at Kendal in August 1781, son of a shoe amd clog maker, apprenticed briefly to John Fothergill and also briefly to George Romney in Kendal, went to London and exhibited at RA before 1803 and British Institution by 1807, appt court painter to Princess of Wales, portraits of George III, George Canning and the nobility, also produced non portrait works incuding the Indian Serpent Charmer (ex RA,1818), buried Kensal Green, plaque Kendal parish church; The Ainslie Sisters (Abbot Hall), also BM, NPG and Kendal museum; Marshall Hall

Stewart, Prince Charles, ‘Bonnie Prince Charlie’ (1720-1788; ODNB), captured Carlisle castle on 14-15 November 1745 and installed a new garrison, the duke of Cumberland (qv) took it back in December 30th the same year, in Carlisle slept at the inn which was in the market place (plaque on M and S), slept at Thomas Shepherd’s house in Kendal on way south and on his return north in 1745 (plaque on Bonnie Prince Charlie’s house)

Stewart, Ian (19xx-2018), local councillor, deputy leader of Cumbria county council, Lib Dem member for Kent estuary division, Cumbria county council, member for Arnside and Milnthorpe ward, South Lakeland district council, died at his home in Rose Hill Grove, Sandside, 21 October 2018 (WG, 25.10.2018)

Stewart, John Foster (18xx-19xx), clergyman, rector of Threlkeld from 1916, later in Canada,

Stirling, John (c1815-after 1903), iron master, several pits at Montreal, Cleator Moor, brought him both coal and iron, opened an infirmary at Jacktrees Rd, built an enormous baronial residence at Fairburn in Scotland, fountain monument to him and his wife near the library erected by his workers for his golden wedding; portrait in Caesar Caine’s Cleator Moor; an ancestor of Sir Angus Stirling, chairman of the National Trust

Stirzaker, Richard (1797-1833), draughtsman and artist, born in Lancaster in 1797, moved to Kendal in 1820s to work as a draughtsman for Francis Webster (qv), whose will he witnessed in March 1827, provided views of houses for Lonsdale Magazine, fine watercolour artist, adept at showing architectural proposals in beautiful landscape settings, opened his own drawing school and also worked as a drawing master at the Friends’ School before moving to Manchester, where he died at age of 36, his work at Kendal included Lake District views, a tinted lithograph of Abbot Hall, the burning down of Dockwray Mill (now lost), ‘Lowther’s entry into Kendal’ (1820) for the 1818 parliamentary election, and ‘The King’s Arms’ (1823) showing departure of the Telegraph coach from Kendal’s principal coaching inn to Manchester (in the Kendal Town Hall collection, with another version in Abbot Hall Art Gallery), listed as artist in Kirkland (MH, 83-84; Pigot, 1828-9)

Stobart, Edward (Eddie) (1954-2011), haulage company owner, born at Hesket Newmarket, 21 November 1954, son of Eddie and Nora Stobart, religious family background, became involved with his father’s agricultural contracting company based in Hesket Newmarket in 1960s, moved into Carlisle in 1976, leaving his father with the agricultural business while he tried lorries, had first premises in Greystone Road, near Brunton Park, moved to new premises at Kingstown, near M6, in 1980, to take full advantage of location and turned his small business into a huge road transport and warehousing company, Eddie Stobart Ltd, at heart of UK transport system, had 1,000 vehicles, 2,200 staff and 27 depots all over country by 2001, sold out to his brother William and his partner Andrew Tinkler in 2004 (now Stobart Group), then took over a Midland based company building lorry trailers but this failed in 2009, sponsor of Carlisle United Football Club from 1995 (longest-running sponsor in all football), which was not for the publicity (‘I did it for Carlisle’), had stammer, disliked talking, appearing in public, meeting new people, avoided social engagements, yet created one of most charismatic and widely recognised brands, Eddie Stobert Fan Club had 25,000 members at its height, marr Mandy, six children, died in University Hospital, Coventry, 31 March 2011, aged 56 (CL, May 2011); Hunter Davies, The Eddie Stobart Story, 2001

Stockdale, James (1724-1806), with sons James (1755-1823) and Fletcher (1760-1787), cotton manufacturers, of Cark, Cartmel, Cark Cotton Spinning Company brother in law of John Wilkinson (qv), in correspondence with James Watt (1736-1819; ODNB) in 1785 and thus had steam power in his mill much earlier than his rivals, probably the James Stockdale who won Society of Arts medal for reclaiming 600 acres from the sea; q.v. Towers; (CW2, lxiv, 356-372)

Stockdale, James (1792-1874), grandson of the above, author of Annales Caermoelenses: or Annals of Cartmel (1872) (CW2, lxiv, 356-372; lxxiv, 199-210)

Stockdale, John (c.1749-1814; ODNB), publisher and bookseller, born in Cumberland, son of Priscilla Stockdale (1723?-1789), father unknown

Stoddart, Charles (c.1705-1790), MA, clergyman, educ Cambridge University (MA), vicar of Chollerton, Northumberland 1733-1790, vicar of Brampton 1773-1790, died in 1790, aged 85

Stokes, George Vernon (1873-1954) RBA, artist, b in London, self taught, painter of dogs, exhib RA from 1907, lived Irthington from 1914-31, exhibited Lake Artists, member from 1917, went to Kent, continued to exhibit, author of How to Draw and Paint Dogs, large unframed collection, Tullie House; C. Life 18 Sept 1969, Renouf,79-80, Marshall Hall

Stokes, John Osborne (1836-1861), 2nd Cumberland Artillery Volunteers, formerly of Chelsea, d. Carlisle, monument Carlisle cemetery bears a cannon in profile and was paid for by ‘members of the above corps and some intimate friends’

Stoneham, Garth Rivers (fl.1960s-70s), physician, gynaecologist North Lonsdale Hospital, Barrow, m. Nancy Leslie, son Prof Marshall Stoneham (qv), a much revered figure among the women of Furness; Our Barrovians, ed. A. Leach, 1-9; ancestry.com

Stoneham, Marshall (1940-2011), physicist, born Barrow, son of Garth Stoneham (qv) and Nancy Leslie, educ Barrow GS and Bristol university, worked in research at Harwell for UKAEA for 30 years, then Massey professor at UCL and director of the Centre for Materials Science, president of the Institute of Physics, involved in the establishment fo the London Centre for Nanontechnology, marr Doreen Montgomery, 2 daus, a keen French horn player; Guardian obit 13 March 2011

Stones, Frank Deighton (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Hertford College, Oxford (BA 1898, MA 1902), d 1903 (Carl), p 1904 (Barrow-in-F), curate of St James, Barrow-in-Furness 1903-1905, St Cuthbert, Carlisle 1905-1909, and Kendal 1909-1910, vicar of Raughton Head with Gaitsgill 1910-1915, domestic chaplain to bishop of Carlisle 1911-1915 and hon chaplain from 1920, vicar of St Cuthbert, Carlisle 1915-1927, vicar of Hawkshead 1927-1940?

Stoney, Percy Butler (18xx-19xx), LRCP, MRCS, medical officer, descendant of family of Portland Park, co Tipperary, qualified LRCP (Lond) 1871 and MRCS 1870, practised for over 40 years in Millom as medical officer to Millom UDC, Millom District of Bootle Union and to Hodbarrow Mining Company, coroner for lordship of Millom, of Holborn Hill, Millom, marr, 2 sons (Elkin Percy (1880-1898), died on his way to India, and Malcolm Percy (b.1883))

Stordy, Thomas (1839-1903), proprietor of Charles Thurnam & Sons, publishers, bookbinders, stationers and printers, English Street, Carlisle, member of CWAAS from 1887, published first six volumes in the extra series, residence at 12 Spencer Street, Carlisle, died on his 64th birthday, 13 February 1903

Story, Edward (d.1503; ODNB), bishop of Carlisle from 1468-78 and Chichester 1478-1502

Story, George Warter (1664-1721; ODNB), DD, clergyman and historian, born probably in Burgh by Sands in c.1660/1664, eldest son of Thomas Story (1630-1721), of Justicetown, Kirklinton (qv sub Thomas Story), instituted on presentation of archbishop of York to rectory of Kirklinton on 30 May 1681, very active against both Conventiclers and Quakers (see letter of Sir George Fletcher to Sir Daniel Fleming, 1 December 1684, relating his (Story’s) requiring constables and churchwardens (of Kirklinton?) to go and suppress a conventicle, but they had refused, and he had tried to obtain a warrant against them for neglect (unsuccessfully) in CRO, WD/Ry/ HMC 2810), chaplain to dowager countess of Carlisle at Castle Howard in 1688, was in London when army for Ireland was being raised in March and April 1689, and accompanied duke of Schomberg in August as chaplain to Sir Thomas Gower’s (later earl of Drogheda’s after Gower’s death early in 1690) regiment of foot, present at battle of the Boyne on 1 July 1690 and served with Drogheda for duration of war, his yr brother (Christopher?), who was an ensign in the same regiment, killed near Birr in June 1691, went with regiment to Ulster after surrender of Limerick in November 1691, wrote of his experiences in The History of the Williamite War in Ireland, resigned his living of Kirklinton on being nominated as dean of Connor in December 1694 (1694-1705), also as rector of Carrickfergus 1694, and advanced to dean of Limerick in 1704 (1705-1720), published in 1691, but regularly absent because of his estate in Cumberland, inheriting Justicetown estate just weeks before he died on 19 November 1721 not long after his father, his widow selling it to his yr brother Thomas (qv) in 1722/3 (ECW, i, 312)

Story, John (d.1681; ODNB), Quaker schismatic, born to a Preston Patrick family

Story, Thomas (1670-1742; ODNB), Quaker minister, lawyer and journal writer, born at Justicetown, Kirklinton, near Carlisle, in 1670, yst son of Thomas Story (1630-1721), of Justicetown, and his wife (marr 12 January 1658/9) Thomasin (died 1 February 1674/5 and buried at Arthuret), dau of Revd George Constable (qv), and yst brother of Very Revd George Story (qv), marr (10 July 1706) Anne (died 19 August 1710), dau of Edward Shippen, merchant and politician of Philadelphia, no issue, correspondence of 30 letters between them detail his ministerial travels and her home life up to her death, travelled to Caribbean again in 1714, then returned to England,  his brother’s widow sold Justicetown estate to him in 1722, attended to business on his estate, brought trees from America including a rare tulip tree, planted them at Justicetown, building an experimental nursery to replenish the dwindling forests in England (see also his advice to 3rd earl of Carlisle (qv) at Castle Howard), but also continued to travel widely throughout England and Scotland, several of his sermons were recorded and published (contrary to Quaker practice) as Discourses delivered in the publick assemblies of the people called Quakers by Thomas Story (1738), died s.p., poss 23 June 1742 and buried in Quaker burial ground on Fisher Street, Carlisle, his sister Anne (buried at Arthuret, 27 October 1747, as of Carlisle, late of Justicetown), being his heir and wife of (1) Arthur Forster, of Kingfield (d.1693), with issue, and (2) Robert Elliot, of Dinlabyre, Roxburghshire (d.1732) (A Journal of the Life of Thomas Story, ed J Wilson and J Wilson (1747); CW2, lxviii, 81; ECW, i, 305; MI in Arthuret church); maybe the same Thomas Story depicted with Penn in the Benjamin West painting of Penn making a treaty with the Indians; life recorded by John Wilson, mss held in London; Gordon L. Routledge volume

Story (sometimes Storey), Tom, shepherd and farm bailiff, born Barrow-in-Furness, worked as a shepherd, when Beatrix Potter bought her first farm Troutbeck Park, she asked around to discover who was an excellent hand with sheep, Tom was recommended, she doubled his wages and he worked for her for eighteen years, he stood up to her over her initial inexperience in the selection of sheep for showing, assisted by Joseph Moscrop, he scattered her ashes above Hill Top; many references in the Beatrix Potter literature qv

Stott, William (1857-1900), artist, lived Oldham, bought house at Ravenglass, paintings include The Ferryman

Stowell, Thomas (fl.1755), a Manx smuggler, chased by customs officers in their cutter from Skinburness, shots were fired and he died of his wounds at Bowness on Solway, stone in Bowness graveyard; Solway Plain website

Strand, Sarah (d.1939), born and died in a showman’s caravan, d. Whitehaven, December 1939

Stratford, Dr William (1679-1753), lawyer, commissary of the archdeaconry of Richmond and benefactor; gave significant bequests for the building of St George’s Kendal and to twenty Cumbrian villages; CW2 xxvi; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 72

Stretton, Eric Hugh Alexander (1916-19xx), CB, MA, civil servant, born 22 June 1916, yr son of major S G Stretton, Wigston, Leicester, educ Wyggeston School and Pembroke College, Oxford (BA 1939, MA 1942), served WW2 with Leics Regt and 2/4 PWO Gurkha Rifles (major) 1939-46, marr (1946) Sheila Woodroffe, MB, BS, dau of Dr A W Anderson, Cardiff, 1 son and 1 dau, asst sec, Birmingham University Appointments Board 1946, entd Ministry of Works 1947, principal private secretary to Minister of Works 1952-1954, asst Secretary 1954, Under-Secretary, Ministry of Public Building and Works 1962-1970, then Dept of Environment 1970-1972, Deputy secretary 1972, deputy chief executive in Property Services Agency, DoE 1972-1976 and deputy chairman 1973-1976, CB 1972, retired 1976 and moved from The Hop House, Churt, Surrey to Dacre Castle, chairman of structure plan examinations in public for Shropshire 1979, Lincolnshire 1980, Central and North Lancs 1981, author of Dacre Castle (1994)

Strickland (also Stirkeland) of Sizergh; CW1 x 75; CW2 lxiii 170; CW2 lx 71; Dan Scott, The Stricklands of Sizergh, 1908; also knights de la Catena of Malta

Strickland (Sterkland), Adam de, given as a hostage to King John to ensure peace from Gilbert the son of Roger Fitz Renfried

Strickland, Angela Mary Horneyold-  OBE (1928-2017) (nee Engleheart), dau of Francis Henry Arnold Engleheart of The Priory, Stoke Nayland, Suffolk and his wife Filumena Mary Mayne, dau of Captain Jasper Graham Mayne CBE of Gidleigh Park, Devon, marr Thomas Henry Horneyold-Strickland (qv) in 1951, four sons Henry, Robert, John and Edward, two daus Clare and Alice, lived at Sizergh Castle from 1961 and organised the opening of the house to the public until the National Trust took over the administration in the 1970s, very proud of the catholic heritage of the family, active in the Red Cross, vice president of the Romney Society and hosted several evening events at the castle, welcomed George Romney researchers Alex Kidson and David Cross and generously shared her time and knowledge, supervised the planting of a cedar in memory of the artist for his bi-centenary in 2002, OBE 1994, DL 1998, portrait by Ron Dickinson (qv) in the castle, died 2017, buried in Kendal cemetery

Strickland, Charles (1790-1863), see Standish

Strickland, Sir Gerald, 1st Baron Strickland (1861-1940; ODNB), GCMG, BA, LLB, 6th Count della Catena, Prime Minister of Malta and colonial governor, born Valletta 24 May 1861, eldest son of Comdr Walter Strickland, RN (1824-1867), of Villa Bologna, Malta, who died at Stonyhurst, Lancs, and Louisa, dau of Cavaliere Peter Paul Bonici, LLD, of Malta, and niece and heiress of Sir Nicholas Sceberras Bologna, KCMG, 5th Count della Catena, whom he succ as 6th Count in 1882, educ Oscott College, Birmingham, and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA, LLB 1887, president of Union Society and of University Carlton Club, lieut in University Rifles, Vol Bn Suffolk Regt, 1886), called to bar of Inner Temple 1887 and practised before Privy Council, elected member of council of govt of Malta 1887, asst secretary to govt of Malta 1888 and chief secretary 1889-1902, organised cholera committee on island (CMG 1889), handled negotiations on Papal veto on appointments to see of Malta in 1888, established new system of education, planned huge breakwater to double the size of Valetta harbour, and tried to abolish use of Italian in courts, KCMG 1897, commended by Governor Sir Francis Grenfell for his services on leaving Malta (esp with regard to police force, Militia, railway, and water and drainage works) in 1902 to be governor and C-in-C of Leeward Islands 1902-1904, where he established central cotton and sugar factories, governor of Tasmania 1904-1909, Western Australia 1909-1913, New South Wales 1913-1917, and Norfolk Island 1913, MLA Malta and leader of opposition (Constitutional Party) 1921-1927, MP for Lancaster 1924-1927, prime minister of Malta and minister for Police and Justice 1927-1932, member of Senate and leader of opposition 1933, founded Allied Malta Newspapers Ltd, marr 1st (26 August 1890, in London) Lady Edeline Sackville (died 15 December 1918), dau of 7th earl De La Warr, 2 sons (d. inf) and 5 daus (inc Mabel), marr 2nd (31 August 1926) Margaret, DBE, DGStJ (died 28 September 1950), 4th dau of Edward Hulton, of Oakfield House, Ashton-on-Mersey, Cheshire, and sister of Sir Edward Hulton, Bt, acquired Sizergh Castle by special entail from W C Strickland (qv) in 1896 and bought back majority of contents offered for sale, settled Sizergh estate on his eldest dau Mary and her husband, Henry Hornyold (qv), in 1931, taking responsibility for estate only until his death in 1940, his second wife remaining at Sizergh as tenant until 22 August 1945, member of CWAAS from 1899, died at Villa Bologna, Malta, 22 August 1940; statue of him at the battery, Valetta

Strickland, Jarrard (Gerard) (1704-1791), ancestor of surviving line of Stricklands of Sizergh, bapt at Kendal, 29 July 1704 (though Sizergh mss say born on 30 July), yr son of Walter Strickland (qv), married twice, 1 son and 2 daus, little known of his life, died at his house in the Minster Yard, York, 1 September 1791, aged 87, and buried in church of St Martin’s-cum-Gregory in Micklegate, York (MI) (SoS, 180-184)

Strickland, Jarrard (1741-1795), born at York, 4 October 1741, only son of Jarrard Strickland (qv) and Mary Bagenal, marr (15 April 1779) Cecilia (born 30 July 1741, died at Sizergh, 28 June 1814; portrait by Romney??), dau of William Towneley, of Towneley, by Cecilia, dau and heir of Ralph Standish (qv), of Standish and Borwick, and widow of his cousin, Charles Strickland (qv), of Sizergh, and sole heir of her brother, Edward Towneley Standish (d.1807), 3 sons (Charles (born at Sizergh, 16 September 1779, died 8 November and buried at Kendal, 16 November 1779, aged 3 months), George (born at Sizergh, 23 October 1780 and died unmarried near London in 1843), and Jarrard Edward, qv), lived at Sizergh from time of his marriage until his stepson Thomas (qv) came of age in 1784 when he removed to a house on Stricklandgate, Kendal (demolished in 1927 for new General Post Office) [though not in 1787 Stricklandgate census <Elizabeth, Mary and Agnes Strickland are listed>, but listed in gentry section of UBD, 1790 (473)], where he died, 23 March 1795, aged 53, and buried in Strickland chapel of Kendal parish church, 27 March (MI), will made on 7 June 1793 with codicils on 13 April 1794, proved at York, April 1795 (SoS, 185-187)

Strickland, Jarrard Edward (1782-1844), born at Sizergh, 24 February 1782, and bapt there, 27 February, 3rd and yst son of Jarrard Strickland (qv) and Cecilia Towneley, died at Orotava, Teneriffe, where he had gone for his health in 1843, 7 August 1844 (SoS, 188-190)

Strickland, John (c.1601-1670; ODNB), clergyman, b. Kendal,  ejected minister

Strickland, John (17xx-18xx), master of Heversham Grammar School, marr Jane, dau of John Atkinson, of Heversham Hall, 1 son (John, born 8 September and bapt 27 December 1805) and 3 daus (Agnes (born 7 October and bapt 3 November 1803), Jane (born 1 April and bapt 12 July 1809) and Elizabeth (born 11 November 1810 and bapt 8 January 1811), all at Heversham)

Strickland, Mabel Adeline (1899-1988) journalist, editor of newspaper in Malta, daughter of Gerald the 1st baron Strickland (qv) who had founded Allied Malta Newspapers

Strickland, Miles (17xx-1837), papermaker, of House of Correction Hill, Kendal, died aged 66 and buried at Kendal, 2 April 1837

Strickland, Peter (17xx-18xx), clergyman, master of Windermere Free Grammar School ?1798-?1807, curate of Staveley, Kendal 1807-1837, of Reston Hall, Hugill, wife Dorothy, son Thomas, will made 12 September 1835, bequeathing his estates of Browfoot and Height in Hugill and Barley Bridge (incl mill) in Over Staveley to his friends Thomas Fell, of Fell Plain in Crook, and John Collinson, of Brantfell in Undermillbeck, also his executors, to be sold on trust and also his estate of Low Fairbank in Nether Staveley to be held on special trust until son Thomas reached 21 yrs and in case of his death without heirs then to his sister Agnes Rowley and her heirs, and £50 annuity to wife Dorothy (copy will in CRO, WDB 106; clergy papers, DRC/10)

Strickland (Stirkeland), Sir Robert (d.1278), knight of the shire and coroner, son of Robert de Stirkeland (who was 2nd son of Sir Walter fitz Adam/de Stirkeland (qv) by Christian de Leteham) and ? Beatrice de Cotesford,  marr Alice (1220-1278) sister of Master William de Genellestane (both Alice and William were imprisoned in Appleby castle and later freed), sons, knighted by 1239 when he settled manor of Great Strickland on his eldest son William (qv), called to warrant his uncle Adam de Stirkeland in suit brought by Eve, dau of Dolfin, in 1246, moiety of manor of Great Strickland settled on him by his uncle Adam on 12 November 1246 in return for eight bovates for life and annual allowance of oatmeal (FF, 31 Hen III), witnessed grant to Wetheral Priory in c.1250 (RPW, 332), died during his tenure of office as coroner of Westmorland in 1278 (EWMP, 75-76)

Strickland, Sir Robert (1600-1671), of Sizergh and Thornton Bridge, eldest son of Sir Thomas Strickland and his 2nd wife, Margaret, dau of Sir Nicholas Curwen (qv), of Workington Hall, marr (10 January 1618/19 at Kilnwick) Margaret, eldest dau and co-heiress of Sir William Alford, of Meaux and Bilton, Yorkshire East Riding, bringing manors of Kilnwick and Waxham as her dowry

Strickland, Sir Roger (1640-1717; ODNB), naval officer, bap. Kendal, Jacobite sympathizer

Strickland, Sir Thomas (c.1300-c.1376), enfeoffed Thomas de Seynesbury and others of his lands in Whinfell, Grayrigg and Lambrigg as feoffees, who granted same to him for life with remainder to his sons Peter and Thomas for their lives, remainder to John, their brother, for life, remainder to Sir Thomas in tail (by deed dated at Whinfell, 9 April 1366, Sizergh MSS)

Strickland, Thomas, of Sizergh, fought at Agincourt in 1415 where he carried the flag of St George

Strickland, Sir Thomas (d.1677), MP, death at Stony Stratford reported by Richard Duckett to Sir Daniel Fleming in letter of 5 March 1676/7 (CRO, WD/Ry, HMC 1832)

Strickland, Thomas (16xx-1690), son of Thomas Strickland, of Garnett House, Strickland Ketel, educ Sedbergh School and St John’s College, Cambridge (entd 1621), apptd receiver of rents to Lady Anne Clifford, countess of Pembroke, received £1 10s on 30 April 1669 for ‘drawing over a coppy of an antient pedigree of the Cliffords & others of my Ancestors for mee’ (LAC, 179), mentioned in her ‘diary’ and will, resided in Stricklandgate, Kendal, marr, 4 sons and 3 daus, buried at Kendal, 15 January 1689/90 (SSR, 420)

Strickland, Thomas (17xx-17xx), of Sizergh, lord of manor of Sedbergh, marr 1st (deed of settlement, 5 February 1727) Mary Scrope (decd), marr 2nd (licence, 30 April 1739) Elizabeth, widow of John Archer (qv), of Oxenholme, doctor in physick, and dau of Sir William Pennington, Bt (qv), of Muncaster (papers in Sizergh Castle MSS)

Strickland, Thomas (1763-1813), see Standish

Strickland, Thomas (1792-1835), landowner, born at Brough Hall, Catterick, 7 September 1792, yr son of Thomas Strickland Standish (qv), of Sizergh and Borwick, marr (1824) Gasparine Ursule Ida (1805-1846), yst dau of Baron de Fingerlen de Bischinsen, died on xx Sept 1835, aged 42, and buried at Kendal parish church, 17 September, and succ by his son, Walter Charles (qv)

Strickland, Thomas John Francis (c.1679/82-1740; ODNB) DD, Abbe Strickland, 5th but 4th surv son of Sir Thomas Strickland (qv), of Sizergh, brought up and educ in France, studied divinity at Douay for four years, admitted to St Gregory’s Seminary in Paris in 1703, awarded DD at Sorbonne 1712 and ordained priest, stayed with brother at Sizergh in 1713, wrote Memoir on the state of the English Mission in 1714, proposed as co-adjutor to bishop Giffard of London in 1716, but unsuccessful, abbe of St Pierre de Preaux in Normandy from 1718, bishop of Namur (nominated by Emperor in 1725, but not consecrated at Malines until 28 February 1728), died at Louvain, 14 January 1740 and buried in vaults of cathedral at Namur, 16 January (CW2, xc, 217-234; SoS, 151-159); CW2 xc 217; CW2 lxxxix 207

Strickland, Thomas Peter (1701-1754), landowner, of Sizergh, born 29 June 1701 and bapt at Croxdale, co Durham, elder son of Walter Strickland (qv), married twice, lived in seclusion at Sizergh, the estates passing eventually by a family settlement from his descendants to those of his brother Jarrard (qv), died 23 March 1754 and buried in Strickland Chapel of Kendal parish church, 26 March (MI) (SoS, 163-167)

Strickland, Ughtred de; CW2 lx 49

Strickland (Stirkeland), Sir Walter de (c.1151-1236x39), yr son of Adam de Castlecarrock, marr Christina de Leteham [poss Leitholme in parish of Eccles, Berwickshire], thereby acquiring lands and manor of Strickland, 2 sons at least (Adam, d. c.1250, and Robert, d.v.p.), joined his brother-in-law in barons’ rebellion against King John and had to give his son as hostage to king in 1215, granted licence to maintain a domestic chapel in his manor of Great Strickland in 1230, a Justice of Assize at Appleby in 1228 and 1236, a collector of aid to marry king’s sister in Westmorland in 1235, died before 1239

Strickland (Sterkland), Sir Walter (fl.early 14thc), fought at the siege of Caerlaverock in 1300

Strickland (Stirkeland), Sir Walter (c.1323-1407/08), landowner and county official, no mention of him in Sizergh record until 1377/78, appointed with three others to inquire into lands of chapel of St Mary Holme which had been alienated (CPR, 14 February 1381, 629), commanded (with Thomas de Ros and others) to be in readiness for defence of the north, 8 September 1383, and had commission to array men of Westmorland in 1384 (Rot Scot), appointed guardian of estates of John de Wyndesore in Westmorland and Lancashire (by letter of attorney, dated London, 20 December 8 Ric II [1385]),  (SoS, 41-44)

Strickland, Walter (1516-1569), of Sizergh; CW2 lx 104

Strickland, Walter (1675-1715), landowner, born at Sizergh, 12/22 May 1675, eldest son of Sir Thomas Strickland (qv) and his 2nd wife, Winifred Trentham (SoS, 142-149), allowed to leave England to join his parents at St Germains in February 1689, accompanied by Mrs Salvin, of Croxdale, apptd groom of the bedchamber to James II, by warrant of 2 June 1695 (with further warrants of 12 February 1702 and 5 March 1708), remaining at St Germains until 1699, when he had licence to return to Sizergh, which he found in state of neglect and decay, had reversion of tithes of Natland from his mother (by release of 9 December 1699), marr (marr sett, 22 April 1700) Anne (d. 1731 and buried at Croxdale), yst dau of Jarrard (Gerrard) Salvin, of Croxdale, co Durham, and Mary (dau of Ralph Clavering, of Callaby Castle, Northumberland), 2 sons (Thomas Peter (qv) and Jarrard (qv)) and 1 dau (Mary Winifred, bapt at Kendal, 8 September 1702, died at convent of the Poor Clares, Rouen, 8 May 1717, aged 14), lived quietly at Sizergh, but made several journeys back to France, bringing his dau to Rouen in April 1713 and visiting her in the convent there from midsummer 1714, in poor health, which confined him to his room for six months before he died 8 October 1715, and buried in his father’s grave in St John’s Chapel in the convent church (SoS, 160-162)

Strickland, Cdr Walter (1824-1867)     add marr Louisa (Aloysia) Bonici, dau of Cavaliere Peter Paul Bonici, their son Gerald, later the 1st baron Strickland (qv), inherited the Maltese title of Count della Catena from his mother’s uncle, in 1867 he was called as a witness in the Tichborne Case (involving the impersonation of Roger Tickbourne) a cause celebre in 1867-8, but died suddenly at Stoneyhurst where there is a statue to him, his widow believed he had been poisoned but he was ill with an ‘ague’ (malaria) before arriving in England; Peter Hone, The Trafalgar Chronicle: Naval History in the Nelson Era, 2021 Thain, William (1797-1841), son of James Thain, educated at Wreay, joined the 33rd Foot, fought at Waterloo aged 18 and was shot through the arm, aide de camp to major general WGK Elphinstone in Bengal, sent pine cone seeds to Sarah Losh (qv) who used the cone as another motif at Wreay church, died in Kabul in 1841, the Wreay church arrow motifs relate to his death, most other members of the regiment were massacred in January 1842, Elphinstone was captured and died soon afterwards; Jenny Uglow, The Pine Cone, the biography of Sarah Losh has references

Strickland, Walter Charles (1825-1903), DL, JP, landowner, born in Paris, son of Thomas Strickland (qv), spent early years in France and inherited Sizergh estates at age of ten, his mother remarried in 1837 to Roger de Montesquiou, comte de Fezensac, of Chateau de Marson, Gers, France, Sizergh being leased out to W D Crewdson II (qv), in 1835 for five years and still in residence in 1848, inventory taken of household goods and effects in Sizergh Hall by Henry Horne of Kendal, on 16 August 1852, sold Borwick estate in 1854 (to George Marton, of Capernwray) and inserted overmantel (dated 1629) from Borwick Hall into Bindloss Room of the Hall, which he renamed ‘Sizergh Castle’, marr (1 May 1867, in London) Rosetta Emmeline Medex (d.1884), 1 son and 4 daus (only yst was born at Sizergh in 1876), DL and JP for Westmorland, created the banqueting hall in the solar tower by 1888, but lack of finance prevented major alterations, sold entire panelling of the exquisite and rare inlaid chamber to South Kensington (later V & A) museum in 1891 (restored to Sizergh by NT in 1999) and offered much of contents of Castle, incl tapestry and pictures, for sale in 1896, created entail by which estates came into possession of his fourth cousin, Gerald Strickland (qv), in 1896, died 17 March 1903; son, Roger Walter (1872-1938), of Blawith Grange, died s.p.m.

Strickland (Stirkeland), Sir William (c.1230-1305), knight of the shire and coroner, eldest son of Sir Robert Strickland (qv), who settled manor of Great Strickland on him in 1239 when contracted in marriage at age of nine to Elizabeth, dau of Sir Ralph I Deincourt (sometimes D’Eynecourt or de Aincourt; 1180-before 1234) and heir to her brother, Ralph II Deincourt (b.1231), thereby bringing manor of Sizergh to Strickland family (together with other lands granted to Gervase Deincourt in 1170), represented Westmorland in first separate meeting of Commons at Westminster in 1290, several sons and 1 dau (Joan, wife of Robert de Wessington, of Milburn), died in 1305 (EWMP, 80-82)

Strickland, William (d.1419; ODNB), bishop of Carlisle 1400-1419, died 30 August 1419

Strickland, Henry Hornyold- (1890-1975), LL, FSA, JP, antiquary born 4 November 1890, only son of Alfred Joseph Hornyold (1850-1922), of Eaton Place, London, and his wife Alice (d.1943), dau of Julien Francois de La Chere, educ Beaumont and Magdalen College, Oxford, marr (7 July 1920) Hon Mary Constance Elizabeth Christina Strickland (qv), eldest dau of Sir Gerald Strickland (qv), later Lord Strickland, of Sizergh Castle, 1 son (Thomas, qv) and 1 dau (Edeline Winifred (d.1981), wife of Norman Coppock (d.1982)), assumed by Royal Licence addnl surname and arms of Strickland, 4 July 1932, following conveyance of Sizergh estate jointly to himself and his wife in 1931, made gift of estate, house and contents (excl muniments) to National Trust in March 1950, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1937, lord lieutenant of Westmorland 1957-1965, JP 1924, KCSG, patron of CWAAS, edited Index to Nicolson and Burn’s History and Antiquities of the Counties of Westmorland and Cumberland (abridged and revised from MS of Daniel Scott (qv)), CWAAS Extra Series Vol. XVII (1934), author of detailed family history Genealogical Memoirs of the Family of Strickland of Sizergh (1928) and Stricklandia (copy in CRO, K), died in September 1975

Strickland, Hon Mary Constance Elizabeth Christina Hornyold- (1896-1970), CBE, JP, WVS organiser, born 4 June 1896, eldest dau of Sir Gerald Strickland (qv), of Sizergh Castle, marr (7 July 1920) Henry Hornyold (qv), 1 son (Thomas) and 1 dau, served in WRNS (MBE 1919), county organiser, Women’s Voluntary Service, Westmorland 1940-1945 and 1951-1959 (CBE 1952), filed monthly narrative reports from Kendal WVS Centre during WW2 (went to military camps with mobile libraries and tried to arrange drama performance at one of most isolated, but not sanctioned by the army welfare officer as the distance was deemed to be too far to comply with transport regulations, May 1945), chairman of national union of Conservative and Unionist Associations 1947-1948, JP Westmorland 1942, died 18 January 1970

Strickland, Thomas Henry Hornyold- (1921-1983), 7th Count della Catena (Maltese nobility), DSC, DL, JP, Lt-Cdr, RN (retd), born 26 April 1921, only son of Henry Hornyold-Strickland (qv), educ Ampleforth, served WW2 as Lt-Cdr, RN (DSC 1946), marr (20 January 1951) Angela Mary, OBE, DL, eldest dau of Francis Henry Arnold Engleheart, of The Priory, Stoke Nayland, Suffolk, by his wife, Filumena Mary, yst dau of Captain Jasper Graham Mayne, CBE, of Gidleigh Park, Chagford, Devon, 4 sons incl. (Henry Charles (b.1951), 8th Count della Catena, John (maintained his mother’s interest in the Romney Society,) and 2 daus (Clare Edeline, wife of Anthony Tennant Prince, banker, son of Major-General Hugh Anthony Prince (marr 11 July 1981 at Sizergh Castle), and Alice Mary, wife of Charles Loftie, of Bowerbank, Pooley Bridge), last High Sheriff of Westmorland 1973-74, died 7 April 1983

Strike, Fred (1920-2008), photographer, chief photographer North Western Evening Mail, used a 1930s Rolleiflex with a flash gun using a new bulb for each shot; Furness Photo Press

Stronach, John, businessman, b. Rafford, Moray, to Silloth in 1860s, est slate and timber business, m. Jane Johnstone 1866, ship broker via his experience of shipping his own goods, also agent of guano company and Westminster insurance company, est branch of Cumberland Union Bank, his son James [1869-1927] continued the business and his grandsons Arthur and Stuart, then it became a subsidiary of Carrs Flour Mill; Solway Plain website

Strong, Michael (1932-2020), lawyer and artist, son of Thomas Strong, coroner of Carlisle (qv) and his wife Angela Scott-Nicholson, daughter of Edwin and Maud Scott-Nicholson of Stanwix (qqv), brother of Peter Strong the stained glass artist (qv), worked in his father’s law firm but ‘left under a cloud’, marr Eleanor Joyce Lowe (1939-2022), dau of Francis Hugh Lowe (1887-1975; qv), had three daughters, briefly was a social worker, for many years drew good quality pencil portraits at Paignton, where he also drew fine nudes, dogs and horses, here he lived on a boat Taramai, divorced early 1970s, he was in part supported by shares given by his uncle Robert Strong, late in life he returned to Cumbria where he died

Strong, Peter (d.2018?), stained glass artist, lived Carlisle, marr. Lorna, windows at Caldbeck, Dalston, and the ‘heroic fisherman’ at Haverigg, St Luke (illus 117, Pevsner and Hyde, 526)

Strong, Robert, fisherman and maker of artificial flies for fishing, ran a shop selling rods and other tackle, Carlisle, also made fishing nets; Emmett and Templeton, A Century of Carlisle, photograph of shop, 52

Strong, Thomas (1900-19xx), TD, MA, solicitor and coroner, born 19 October 1900, son of Thomas Slack Strong, marr, 2 sons, educ Rugby School and Cambridge, qualified solicitor 1926, deputy coroner for North Eastern Division of Cumberland 1932-1947 and coroner from 1947, of Carlisle

Strutt, J H (1935-2010), philanthropist, of Eden Place, Kirkby Stephen, a lifetime naturalist, in 1994 established a trust so that his fars at Hartley Fold and West View became a wildlife reserve, the land holding was later extended at Cote Garth, Bouth, South Lakes; JH Strutt, A Memoir, online

Stuart, Charles, duke of Kendal (1666-1667), prince, born at St James’s Palace, 4 July 1666, 3rd but 2nd surviving son of James, duke of York, later King James II, by his 1st wife, Anne Hyde, dau of earl of Clarendon, designated as duke of Kendal, earl of Wigmore and baron of Holdenby, but no evidence of a formal creation or enrolment of any patent, yet gave his name to one of the intermediate sized forts defending English outpost of Tangier (brought to crown in 1661 as part of marriage dowry of Catherine of Braganza), but forts were under constant threat from Moors and were dismantled in late 1683 before the colony was abandoned, died at St James’s Palace, 22 May 1667, aged 10 months, and buried at Westminster Abbey, 30 March (coffin plate inscription Depositum illustrissimi Principis, Caroli, Ducis Condaliae, &c), but referred to as ‘The Duke of York’s younger son, called Earl of Kendal, died on Wednesday last’ in letter from William Dugdale to Sir Daniel Fleming, dated 28 May 1667 (HMC, Rydal Hall MSS, p.49; CP, VII, 111; CWN, 67, p.10)

Stuart, Rev Wilson, clergyman and teetotaller, author of Drink Nationalisation in England and its Results: The Carlisle Experiment, 1927

Stubbs, Sir William (1938-2002), director of education for Cumbria, successor to Gordon Bessey in 1975 (qv); Guardian 27 September 2002, 5

Studdert, John, of Little Braithwaite, a benefactor of Sandes Library, Kendal, 1675, giving four volumes (Chemnity’s Harmonia Evang, Fuller’s Worthyes, & appeal, Ainsworth on the Pentateuch, and Ursinus’s Catechism) (copy catalogue in CRO, WDY 11)

Studholm, John (1829-19xx), JP, landowner, sheep farmer and politician in New Zealand, born at Kingmoor, Carlisle, 28 May 1829, educ Sedbergh School (entd February 1844, aged 14, and left June 1848) and Queen’s College, Oxford (exhibitioner, college first boat), emigrated to Canterbury, New Zealand in 1851, where he became an extensive landowner and sheep farmer, member of Provincial Council of Canterbury for many years, member of NZ House of Representatives for Kaiapri 1867-1874 and for Gladstone 1878-1882, JP, of Merevale, Christchurch and Coldstream, Hinds, NZ (1895) (SSR, 215)

Stukeley, William FRS FSA (1687-1765; ODNB), antiquary, cleric and physician, born Lincs, son of John Stukeley attorney and his wife Frances Bullen, pioneer in the investigation of Stonehenge and Avebury, had a huge influence on the development of archaeology, keen on measuring and recording, recognised the principle of stratigraphy, from 1710-1725 made an annual tour looking at ancient sites, visited Cumbria in 1725 and saw Long Meg, Castlerigg circle, Mayburgh Henge and Hadrian’s Wall; Stuart Piggott, William Stukeley, an 18thc Antiquary, 1985

Sturgeon, William (1783-1850; ODNB), electrician and scientific lecturer, born at Whittington, near Kirkby Lonsdale, 22 May 1783, only son of John Sturgeon, shoemaker, and his wife, Betsy Adcock (d.1793), three years after whose death was apprenticed to shoemaker at Old Hutton, not treated well, being made to help with his master’s cock-fighting activities, decided against becoming a journeyman shoemaker and enlisted in Westmorland Militia in 1802, served two years before joining 2nd Bn Royal Artillery in Woolwich as a gunner, marr (c.1804) Mary Hutton (died in 1820s), a widow, of Woolwich, 3 children (all died inf), being posted to Newfoundland for a period, where he was inspired by observing a powerful thunderstorm to develop his interest in electrical phenomena, spending all his available time in reading and self-improvement, left army in 1820 and returned to shoemaking in north-west, but soon returned to Woolwich with wife and started constructing scientific instruments, esp electromagnets, discoverer of soft iron electromagnet, amalgamated zinc battery, electromagnet coil machine and reciprocating magnetic electrical machine, also started lecturing on science from 1824 apptd superintendent of Royal Victoria Gallery of Practical Science in Manchester in 1840, but it closed in 1842, leaving him in financial difficulties and relying on proceeds of his lectures, bronchial attack forced him to move to Kirkby Lonsdale in 1847 for clearer air, then returning to live at Barnfield Terrace, Prestwich, where he died, 8 December 1850, aged 67, and buried in Prestwich churchyard; marble memorial tablet in Kirkby Lonsdale church with copy at Whittington church  

Sturkey, T Owen (18xx-1897), MA, clergyman, rector of Beaumont 1886-1897 (memorial window in south of chancel, unsigned, erected in 1902)

Stutton, John de (fl.1405), prior of Wetheral (LRNW, 341)

Suart, John (17xx-1819), mayor of Kendal, alderman, mayor for two terms in 1793-94 and 1807-08, died in October 1819

Sugden, Edward Haigh (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ St Bees 1879, University College, Durham (BA 1885, MA 1894), d 1881 and p 1882 (Carl), curate of Asby 1881-1883, Haughton-le-Skerne, Darlington 1884-1886, and Holy Trinity, Carlisle 1887-1891, rector of Arlecdon with Frizington 1891-1899, vicar of Dearham with Netherton 1899-1914,  vicar of Brough-under-Stainmore 1914-1927/8, built St Michael’s church hall, author of History of Arlecdon with Frizington (1897), Forster Square, a Bradford Story (1898), A Twentieth Century Parson (1900), Pleasant Half Hours (1901), marr, dau (who marr son of J B Walton (qv) in 1929), died ? [not buried at Brough]

Sullivan, Joseph? Jeremiah, author of Cumberland and Westmorland, Ancient and Modern, the people, dialect, superstitions and customs (1857), which was judged ‘useless’ by W G Collingwood (letter to Harper Gaythorpe, 26 October 1895, in CROB, Z/2770)

Sumner, Helen (186x-1926), dau of Revd JHR Sumner and granddaughter of archbishop Sumner (qqv), sister of Margaret (qv), lived Kellbarrow, Grasmere and transcribed the first part of Grasmere parish records 1570-1687, exhibited the results to the parishioners, Grasmere parish magazine September 1911

Sumner, John Henry Robertson (1821-1910), MA, clergyman, er son of Most Revd John Bird Sumner (1780-1882; ODNB), canon of Durham, co-founder of Durham university, bishop of Chester, archbishop of Canterbury, and his wife Marianne Robertson (1779-1829) dau of Captain George Robertson (1742-1791) RN of Edinburgh, who lived at Kelbarrow, Grasmere, marr (1853) Elizabeth Anne (buried at Windermere St Mary’s cemetery, 17 June 1907, aged 76), yst dau of Charles Gibson, of Quernmore Park, 3 daus (Margaret Lilias(1859-1919), Elizabeth (1860-1930), and Helen (186x-1926)), died in 1910 (papers in CRO, WDX 393)

Sumner, Margaret Lilias (1859-1919), dau of Revd JHR Sumner and granddaughter of archbishop Sumner (qqv), sister of Helen (qv), illustrated the History of Grasmere for M Louisa Armitt (qv)

Sunderland, John (1769-1837), MA, clergyman, er son of Thomas Sunderland (qv), educ Cambridge (MA), marr (18xx) Anne (died 11 February 1816, aged 31), dau of Edward King, vice-chancellor of duchy of Lancaster, 4 sons (Thomas (born 1808, star of Cambridge Union, died 24 May 1867), George Henry Carleton (born 1814, died 1 December 1876, aged 62; Comdr, RN, his wife Margaret died and buried at Brussels in August 1860, aged 42, eldest dau Mary Eleanora, member of the Gosling Society known as Iceberg 1867-69, died 26 July 1877, aged 32, and infant dau Margaret died 1 July 1856, aged 23 days), William (emigrated to Poverty Bay, New Zealand) and John (died an infant 11 February 1813)) and 1 dau (Anne died 16 May 1820, aged 8), vicar of Ulverston 1807-1834, vicar of Pennington 1806-1837, died 23 December 1837, aged 68, and buried at St Mary’s, Ulverston

Sunderland, Thomas (1717-17xx), 6th son of Samuel Sunderland (1682-1742), of Bradley and Badsworth, Yorks, marr Mary, dau of John Fox and widow of George Bigland, of Bigland Hall; his brother John (1711-17xx) was 3rd son of Samuel

Sunderland, Thomas (1744-1823), JP, land owner and fine amateur artist, son of John Sunderland (bapt 1711), JP, b. Kirkby Lonsdale, moved to Ulverston, and his wife (marr 1740) Mary, dau and heir of Thomas Rawlinson (1689-1739) (qv), of Whittington Hall, marr (17xx) Anne (died 11 April 1801, aged 65), 2 sons (John, qv) and 2 daus (Eleanora (died 8 June 1823, aged 52, and Mary (died 19 July 1807, aged 34, who marr (3 October 1804) Brigadier-General Hon Sir William Lumley, KCB, 7th and yst son of 4th Earl of Scarborough), raised a troop of volunteers and was thus Lieut-Colonel comdg Ulverston Light Infantry, of Little Croft, Ulverston, died 4 July 1823, aged 78, buried at St Mary’s, Ulverston; unpub. article by Timothy Cockerill, Thomas Sunderland, 2003; Marshall Hall

Sussex, Earl of, see Lennard

Sutcliffe, Ian Sharp (19xx-2010), solicitor, born in Hexham, Carlisle diocesan registrar, died in September 2010, aged 79 and cremated (CN, 15.10.10)

Sutcliffe, Richard Chorley (Dick) (1915-1996), DL, JP, land agent, born at Bunkers Hill, Dacre, educ Durham School, articled as land agent in Carlisle, joined TA and served WW2 with Cumberland and Westmorland Yeo, 51st Field Regt, RA, in Norway, North Africa and in Burma (with Orde Wingate’s Chindits, Lieut-Col), returned to land agency as owner of Jos M Richardson company in Carlisle, which he sold to Smiths Gore in 1971, moved from Brampton to take up farming at Sandysike, Walton, Cumbria county councillor, DL and JP Cumbria (former chairman of Carlisle bench), chairman of governors of Edmond Castle approved school, marr Betty (d.1994), 1 son and 2 daus (inc Susan, died c.1966), died aged 81 and buried at St Mary’s, Walton, 10 December 1996 (CN, 06.12.1996)

Sutherland, Douglas Chalmers Hutchinson (1919-1995), MC, author and journalist, born at Bongate Hall, Appleby, 18 November 1919, 2nd of three sons, but moved to family home at Stronsay, Orkney Islands, in his first year, author of about 35 books, including The Yellow Earl: Almost an Emperor, Not Quite a Gentleman, (1965, 2nd edn 2015), The Fourth Man: The Story of Blunt, Philby et al (1980), Born Yesterday: Memories of a Scottish Childhood (1992), Against the Wind: an Orkney Idyll (1995); obit Independent 28 August 1995

Sutherland, Helen Christian (1881-1965; ODNB), collector and patron of the arts, ‘the Peggy Guggenheim of the Lake District’, her father Sir Thomas Sutherland (1834-1922) was a founder of the HSBC, the first bank in China, and chairman of the P and O, her mother Alice (d.1920) dau of Revd John Macnaught, of Holy Trinity, Conduit St, London, married to Richard Denman from 1904-1913, began to collect the art of friends, developed a love for contemporary art encouraged by her friend Jim Ede (1895-1990; ODNB) at the Tate and supported Piet Mondrian (1872-1944), lived Rock Hall in Northumberland where she supported the pitman painters and from 1939 at Cockley Moor, near Dockray, overlooking Ullswater which had been designed by Sir Leslie Martin (1908-2000) (qv), her remarkable collection included a Picasso which she kept in a cupboard, friendly with and entertained TS Eliot (qv), Kathleen Raine (qv), Ben and Winifred Nicholson (qqv), Norman Nicholson (qv), Percy Kelly (qv) and others, died in 1965, aged 83, leaving her art collection to Nicolete Gray (nee Binyon), A Rhythm, A Rite and a Ceremony, exhibition catalogue, Penrith Museum (c.1998); Mary Burkett, Norman Nicholson Society Journal, Comet, vol.4 issue 1, 3-5, David A. Cross, Dear Mary Love Percy: Letters of Percy Kelly to Mary Burkett; Nicolete Gray list of her collection

Suttie, John Trail (18xx-19xx), clergyman, lodged in two furnished rooms on first floor of Glebe House, Kirkland, Kendal in 1886 (Archdeacon Cooper), vicar of Christ Church, Botchergate, Carlisle, of 63 West Walls (Vicarage), Carlisle (1894)

Sutton, Alfred (1851-1938), CBE, JP, MA, clergyman, son of James Sutton, of Shardlow Hall, Derbyshire, educ Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge (BA 1874, MA 1878), helped General Gordon to suppress slave dealing in Darfur in 1877-79, d 1879, p 1880, curate of St James, Whitehaven 1879-1881, vicar of Bridekirk 1881-1938, rural dean of Maryport 1893, hon canon of Carlisle cathedral 1899, chairman of Cumberland county council 1914-1938, chairman of Cockermouth RDC (to 1938), marr, 1 son (Graham), died in 1938

Sutton, Sir Bertine Entwistle KBE CB DSO MC (1886-1946), RAF officer, born Kensington, son of the Rev Alfred Sutton (qv), childhood in Cumberland, educ Eton and Univ Coll Oxford, pioneer airman in RFC in 1st WW, rose to Air Chief Marshall i/c RAF staff college

Sutton, Graham (1892-1959), author, born at Scotby in 1892, son of Canon Alfred Sutton (qv), managing director of William Sutton Ltd, tanners and curriers, Scotby Works, of Orchard House, Scotby, near Carlisle, educ St Bees School and Queen’s College, Oxford, acted with a repertory company for a time, taught English at Edinburgh Academy, then in Hammersmith, started writing while a teacher under his own name but also detective fiction as Anthony Marsden, esp four Cumberland novels about Fleming family spanning period from 1745 to 1878, also broadcasted on country matters, wrote many plays for BBC, returned to Cumberland after War and bought old school at Underskiddaw, converting it into house (Dancing Beck), keen fellwalker and climber, member of Fell and Rock Climbing Club, authority on Lakeland customs and dialect, author of Damnation of Mr Zinkler (1935), Shepherds’ Warning (1946), Smoke across the Fell (1947), North Star (1949), Fleming of Honister (1953), The Rowan Tree (1955) and Fell Days (1948), gave his views on fiction v. descriptive writing on Lake District to Harry Griffin (letter of 27 November 1953), finding novels more lucrative than either non-fiction or broadcasting, formerly of 14 Bigwood Court, London, later of Dancing Beck, Underskiddaw, Keswick, where he died in 1959 and buried at Scotby; son, Shaun Alfred Graham Sutton, OBE, television writer, producer and director, Head of Drama, BBC, born in London, 14 October 1919, died in Norfolk, 14 May 2004; granddau, Lucy Baker (nee Sutton)

Sutton, John de, built pele tower at Yanwath, c.1322

Sutton, Joseph (1762-1843), artist, Mary Burkett, The Cockermouth School

Swailes, Alec (19xx-1992), teacher, history master at Kirkby Stephen Grammar School, marr (1955) Anne Mary Angus Anderson (qv), 3 sons and 2 daus, compiled 400th anniversary history of Grammar School 1566-1966, with line drawings by his wife, also collaborated on volume on Kirkby Stephen town (1985), which also reproduced drawings from Thomas Fawcett’s sketchbook, died in 1992

Swainson, Bernard (d.1689), drinker, apprenticed to Edward Braithwaite, joined William Stamper in William Braithwaite’s shop in Hawkshead one night, ‘all very sober and in good health’, but made bet about midnight that if he ‘coulde drinke of nyne noggins of brandy’, the other two youths would pay for them, but if he failed, he was to pay for what he drunk himself, drank all nine noggins quickly and shortly after fell down on floor, carried to his bed and laid there for 22 hours, unable to speak or recognise any who came to see him before he died, buried at Hawkshead, 16 December 1689 (CRO, WPR 83/1; Hawkshead PR 1568-1704 (1897), 351))

Swainson, Ephraim (1745-1805), shipbuilder, built 50-90 ton coasters at Ulverston, marr Jane (d.1822), 5 children, his yard was at Saltcoats adjacent to Carter Pool, built Unity (1770), Liberty (1778), Newland (1778; still afloat in 1815), Endeavour (1896), Hero (1803), Glory (1804) and others; Jennifer Snell, Ulverston Canal, 2020, 13-16

Swainson, John Fell (1794-1826), of Market Place, Kendal, lieutenant in Kendal Troop of Yeomanry Cavalry, marr 1823 Agnes, dau of Dr Thomas Harrison (CW2, xciii, 205)

Swainson, Joseph (fl.early 19thc.), alderman of Kendal and wine merchant, purchased Middle Fairbank estate at Nether Staveley from devisees of Isaac Knipe for £2105 (deed of 18 February 1803, WD/HW/8764)

Swainson, Taylor (1761-1839), colliery engineer, claimed to have built the first steam locomotive builder in 1812, several years before George Stephenson (1781-1848; ODNB) whose Rocket gained great plaudits at the Rainhill Trials in 1829, the local printer Noble Steel and the agent of the earl of Lonsdale both supported Swainson’s claim with contemporary documents; C.F. Marshall, A History of Railway Locomotives up to 1930; Whitehaven News has two letters on this subject on 22nd August 1929

Swan, John Cameron (1827-1916), mineral merchant, from Newcastle upon Tyne, leading member of Tindale Spelter Company, which took control of zinc-smelting operations at Tindale Fell in 1868 (CW2, lxviii, 177-185)

Swann, Sidney Bellingham (1862-1942; DCB), clergyman and sportsman, born 1862, educ Derby, Marlborough, and Trinity Hall, Cambridge (BA 1884, MA 1888), Ridley Hall, Cambridge 1885, d 1885, p 1886 Exon, curate of St Andrew, Plymouth 1885-1888 and St Stephen, Sulby, Isle of Man 1889-1890, missionary at Fukuyama, Japan 1890-1895, chaplain to English Congr at Kobe, Japan 1895-1896, vicar of Blackford 1897-1900, St Aidan’s, Carlisle 1901-1905, Crosby Ravensworth 1905-1912 (leaving on 4 June 1912), Levens 1912-1914, PC of Holbrooke, Derby 1914-1918, vicar of Morland 1918-1921, rector of Kingston-by-the-Sea 1921-1929 and vicar of Lindfield, Sussex 1929-1937, oarsman in first Oxbridge boat race, cycled to London from Carlisle in 24 hours, first and only aeroplane flight in 1909, marr 1st (1869) Josephine Anderson, of Liverpool, 2 sons and 1 dau, marr 2nd (3 June 1920) Theodosia, Lady Bagot (qv), hospitalised after he attempted to murder Theodosia, died after fall from his bicycle 1942; David Risk, The Clergy of Crosby Ravensworth, 2005; also Hyde and Pevsner, 562

Swarbrick, William Alfred (Bill) (c.1940-2011), DL, MBA, BSc, civil engineer and local government executive, born in Littleborough, but brought up at Bamber Bridge, near Preston, educ Manchester Grammar School and University of Manchester (civil engineering), having spent gap year working on road construction, joined Cumberland County Council as assistant engineer, worked on many projects, inc bridge at Penton, closely involved with construction of M6 through Cumbria and with Threlkeld bypass (living in an on-site caravan for two years), considered abandoning civil engineering for medicine (accepted as mature student at Newcastle University), but diverted into managerial work as county council representative with Tarmac company (then upgrading A74 trunk road), apptd general manager of County Contracting in 1987, then director of Cumbria Contract Services to 1997, chief executive of Cumbria county council 1997-2000, first with no legal background, having achieved business degree at Lancaster University, had no-nonsense down to earth approach, retiring to be involved with many outside organisations and charities in Cumbria (inc Victim Support Cumbria), founder trustee of Cumbria Charitable Foundation, chairman of Practical Alternatives to Custody company, school governor of both Trinity and St Aidan’s, president of City of Carlisle Youth Orchestra, sang with Dalston Male Voice Choir, also played violin, keen mountaineer and gardener, but had sporting passion for rugby union, playing for club and later serving as secretary, treasurer and chairman of Carlisle RUFC, also catering manager, involved closely in many projects (inc extension of club house, improving lighting system, and installing new showers), retiring as chairman in July 2010, apptd DL for Cumbria in 2005, marr, 1 son and 1 dau, died after long illness with cancer, 7 October 2011, aged 71, funeral at St Cuthbert’s, Carlisle on 14 October, followed by woodland burial

Sweetapple, Edward (18xx-19xx), papermaker, took over Allenwood Mill, near Carlisle in 1881 (established as a steam-powered mill in 1853) and extended it, but after setting up United Paper Mills Ltd in 1893 (prospectus issued 4 August), went bankrupt, then ran mill for receiver but left finally in 1896 (mill closed in 1901, machinery and building materials sold off in 1905); his brother Thomas managed mill and was living in mill house with wife Mary and dau Marion in 1891; his Branthwaite Mill near Cockermouth was making fine quality parchment paper in 1892, but no evidence of this at Allenwood Mill (later, by 1899, it was operated by Vegetable Parchment and Chemical Company of Liverpool), died ?? (BAPH Quarterly, 64 (October 2007), 1-10)

Swidenbank, Isaac (d.1757), forger, from Dent, convicted of forgery and executed at Appleby in c.1757 (LC, 5)

Swift, F B (19xx-19xx), clergyman, of Thursby, local church historian

Swift, George Norman Cyrus (1906-1981), clerk of Cumberland county council 1946-1971, admitted solicitor 1930, deputy clerk of peace and of county council, Hertfordshire 1940-1946, clerk of peace and of county council, cumberland, clerk to lieutenacy and of magistrates’ court committee, died 1981

Swift, Jonathan (1667-1745; ODNB), author and satirist, dean early association with Whitehaven when brought over from Dublin by his nurse, who was a native of the town, and received the rudiments of his education there, of St Patrick’s, Dublin (DH, 132-133); plaque on a house placed by Whitehaven Heritage Group

Swinburn, Alernon, poet, viited the Lakes and met Wordsworth aged 12; Elizabeth Sewell (qv)

Swinburne, Sir Adam, of East Swinburn (N), bought the manor of Bewcastle but was dispossessed by the king following his attachment to John Balliol, king of Scots

Swinburne, Admiral Charles Henry and his wife Lady Jane Henrietta (dau of 3rd Lord Ashburnham) visited Wordsworth with their son Algernon (1837-1909), the poet

Swinburne, Sir John de, of East Swinburne (N) was sheriff of Cumberland in 1277

Swinburn, John, saved a surveyor Robert Watley from hanging in 1537 at Cockermouth, Watley was surveying with Dr Thomas Leigh the monasteries for the king; Hudleston (C)

Swinburne, John (d.1618), set up the fine inscription at Huthwaite Hall (now Hewthwaite) near Cockermouth, he was descended from the Swinburnes of Capheaton (N), one of whom had married a Huthwaite heiress

Swinglehurst, Henry (1820-1895), DL, JP, of Hincaster House, Milnthorpe, magistrate for Kendal division, presented with silver trowel on occasion of laying memorial stones of Wesleyan Methodist chapel, Kendal on 13 April 1882, opened Kendal Public Library on 8 December 1892, subscriber to all three parts of The Ravenstonedale Parish Registers edited by Revd R W Metcalfe (qv) (1893-94), died in 1895 (deeds and papers in CRO, WD/MM/A318)

Swingler, James (d.1712), builder, Penrith; CW2 xcvi 161

Sykes, W S, clergyman, member CWAAS, wrote on the descendants of Ulf (1941) and the Boyvilles, research on children’s games; mss CRO

Sykes family of Sledmere, originated at Sykes Dyke near Carlisle, William Sykes (1500-1577) youngest son iof Richard Sykes of Sykes Dyke migrated to the West Riding of Yorkshire; Hobson, Sledmere and the Sykes Family

Symonds, Ena (1910-2013), schoolteacher, first head of Longlands Girls’ School, Kendal (succ Miss M W Hall as headmistress of Kendal Girls’ Modern School), overseeing relocation of senior girls’ secondary school to new school at Longlands, later the senior school building at Queen Katherine School, from mid-1950s to mid-1960s, then retired to her home town of Weymouth, Dorset, where she died, unmarried, aged 102 (WG, 24.01.2013)

Symonds, H H (18xx-1958), conservationist, FLD, member of CWAAS from 1945, of the Flags, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, died 28 December 1958 (CW2, lviii, 205); dau Mrs Susan Johnson, of Ravenglass

Symonds, Thomas (1711-1789), DD, clergyman, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (matric 1729, Fellow 1735, DD 1773), vicar of Kendal 1745-1789, died aged 79 and buried at Kendal, 20 February 1789; portrait painted by Romney in 1758 (BGN, 203)

Sympson, Joseph (1714/15-1807), clergyman, minister of Wythburn for more than 50 years, marr (175x) Mary (died 24 January 1806, aged 81, and buried at Grasmere, 27 January), daus (yst Elizabeth Jane, wife of Julius Caesar Ibbetson (qv), of Ambleside, who died 14 September 1804, aged 37, and buried at Grasmere, 17 September), of Broadrain, Grasmere, died 27 June 1807, aged 92, and buried in east side of Grasmere church, 2 July (MI in WCN, i, 234)

Symson, Joseph (16xx-1731), senior alderman of Kendal, died 7 September 1731 (letter book)

Swynburn, John and Elizabeth, built Hewthwaite Hall in 1581 with a very elaborate dated stone over the doorway (described in Pevsner and photographed by Bill Rollinson); CW2 xi 163

Sympson, Joseph (1650-1731), his letter book 1711-20; CW3 iii 157

Synge, Alexander Millington, formerly Sing (1855-1923), JP, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1920, JP for Windermere Petty Sessional Division, director of Windermere and District Electricity Supply Co Ltd, marr Mary, of Dawstone (architect Dan Gibson, now Heathwaite Manor), Windermere, died in July 1923 (papers and letters of condolence to Mrs Synge in CRO, WDX 543, and photographs in WDX 1431)

Synge, Mary Florentia (1883/4-1968), weaver, prob dau of A M Synge (qv), graduate of Girton College, Cambridge, of Summer Hill, Hawkshead Hill, died in Kentdale Nursing Home, Kendal, aged 85, and buried at Hawkshead, 6 February 1968