P

Page, Arnold Henry (1851-1943), dean of Peterborough, born Carlisle, educ Repton and Balliol, called to the bar 1878, rdained 1883, rector of Tendring, dean of Peterbrough 1908-1928, d.1943; obit Times 12 Nov 1943, 7; Who Was Who

Page, David (18xx-18xx), MD (Edin), FCS, medical officer, medical officer of health for Borough of Kendal and Combined Districts of Westmorland, president of Royal Medical Society of Edinburgh, member of Scottish Meteorological Society, author of Report on the Sanitary Condition of Kendal 1875 (reprinted 2006), of New Road, Kirkby Lonsdale (1873)

Page, Herbert (1845-1926), surgeon and lecturer, born Carlisle, son of William Bousfield Page, educ Edinburgh and Cambridge, to London Hospital, commissioned into the German army for the Franco-Prussian War as assistant surgeon at Darmstad, returned to Carlisle and was later consulting surgeon Carlisle Infirmary, then to St Mary’s, London; Plarrs Lives of the Fellows

Page, Jim Taylor- (d.1993), teacher and deer expert, taught biology, founding member of the British deer society (est 1963), Jim Taylor-Page trophy awarded annually to a BDS member; Independent 16 April 1993 (30th anniversary of BDS)

Page, William Bousfield (1817-1886), surgeon, born Kent, consulting surgeon Carlisle Infirmary, his son was Herbert Page (qv); obit BMJ 30 Jan 1886

Page, William (1842-1877), surgeon, b. Carlisle, Carlisle Infirmary, wrote pioneering articles. d. Stanwix, brother of Arnold and Herbert (qqv)

Paitson, John (18xx-1877), clergyman, curate of Bamburgh, Northumberland, perpetual curate of Nether Wasdale to his death in 1877

Palairet, Henry Hamilton (1844-1923), archery champion, of Huguenot descent, son of Septimus Palairet a rubber manufacturer of Woolley House, Bradford on Avon, his mother was Mary Ann Hamilton, an American heiress, graduate of Exeter college, Oxford, lived Grange-over-Sands, his son Lionel (qv)

Palairet, Lionel (1870-1933), cricketer, b. Grange-over-Sands, son of Henry Hamilton Palairet [1844-1923] qv, educated Repton and Oriel college Oxford, right handed batsman, played for Somerset and twice in Test cricket in 1902 vs Australia, m. Caroline Mabel Laverton 1894, two children Evelyn and Henry, 15000 runs scored, retired 1909, described as ‘the most beautiful batsman in England’, likeness by Spy

Paley, Edward Paley (1823-1895), architect, born Easingwold, son of Rev Edward Paley, educ Christ’s Hospital, pupil Edmund Sharp and later his partner, 1868 joined by Hubert Austin (qv), they became dominant in W and L/C; Dictionary of British Architects; many refs in Pevsner and Hyde

Paley, Edward Graham (1823-1895), architect, of Paley and Austin, architects; see Geoff Brandwood, 2012

Paley, William (1743-1805; ODNB), theologian and moralist, archdeacon Carlisle, author of The Principles of Moral and Political philosophy (1785), The Truth of the Scriptural History of St Paul (1790) and Natural Theology or Evidences of the Existence and Attributes of the Deity (1802), buried with his wife in north choir aisle Carlisle cathedral, sat to Romney

Palm, Dr Theobald Adrian (1848-1928), missionary doctor in Japan and physician Wigton, born Colombo, Ceylon the son of missionaries, educ Edinburgh Med Sch, discoverer of the importance of sunshine to increase the availability of vitamin D to avoid rickets, knew the  Japanese language, a friend of Hannah Sutton Hall (qv); Beniams edn diaries of Hall p.20 and ff; The Chemistry of Light: The Life and Work of TA Palm, J of Medical Biography, 17 (3), 155-60; also Russell W Chesney in the journal Nutrients, 2012, 4 (1), 42-51

Palmer, Harry Sutton (1854-1933), artist

Palmer, Herbert Richmond (1877-1958), barrister and colonial governor, b. Kirkby Lonsdale

Palmer, Herbert Richard KCMG CBE, colonial governor, born Lancaster son of Rev Robert Palmer of Bank House, Kirkby Lonsdale and his wife Mary Chippendall, educ Oundle and Trinity Hall, Lt Gov of Nigeria, Gov the Gambia, C-in-C in Cyprus

Palmer, James Henry (Harry) (19xx-19xx), local historian, of Burneside, and local correspondent for Westmorland Gazette, worked for James Cropper & Co Ltd for about 40 years, working before WW2 on paper making machine and retiring as Sales Manager, also clerk to Strickland Ketel Parish Council, chairman of Burneside and Cowan Head Burial Society, hon secretary to Gala/Sports Committee, etc., author of Historic Farmhouses in and around Westmorland (WG, 1944)

Palmer, William Thomas (1877-1954), FRGS, FSA (Scot), author and journalist, born at Bowston, near Burneside, bapt 2 September 1877, son of James and Jane Palmer and grandson of shepherds, educ local school, left at 14 to work on farm, followed fellpacks on foot and friend of the huntsman Tommy Dobson (qv), wrestler at Grasmere sports, joined printing works of Westmorland Gazette and became freelance journalist working for Northern Syndicate in Kendal, served as recruiting officer in WW1, moved away to Liverpool and discovered Wales, returned to Lake District in 1930s and rented High Wray, later living in Kendal, writing more books on area and on Yorkshire Dales before moving to London after WW2 in poor health (of 5 Earlsfield Road, then of 2 Spencer Road, SW18 from 1950), founder member of Fell and Rock Climbing Club and editor of its Fell and Rock Journal for many years, founder member of Cyclists’ Touring Union, great walker (said once to have covered 85 miles in 24 hours at age of 17), author of more than 40 books, incl Lake Country Rambles (1901), In Lakeland Dells and Fells (1903), The English Lakes, illus by A Heaton Cooper (1905), Odd Corners in English Lakeland (1937), Wanderings in Lakeland (1946), More Odd Corners of English Lakeland (1948), and Byways in Lakeland (1952), but his work largely eclipsed by Wainwright (qv), life member of CWAAS from 1943, marr (at Zion Chapel, Kendal) Annie Ion (d.1953), daus, died in London, 27 December 1954, aged 78 (CW2, liv, 313; CWH, 7.11.09)

Paludan, Ann (1928-2014), art historian and expert on China, granddaughter of Gilbert Murray [1866-1957; ODNB] and Lady Mary Howard, daughter of the 9th earl of Carlisle (qv), educated St Hugh’s college Oxford, m. first John E. Powell-Jones and secondly Janus Paludan, Danish diplomat, lectured widely including for NADFAS, lived Nether Denton farmhouse adjacent to Nether Denton church and piel tower, her son is Sir Mark Jones, her numerous publications include The Imperial Ming Tombs [1981] and Chinese Sculpture [2006]; see Stephen Hubert Murray

Pankhurst, Donald A (19xx-2017), clergyman, curate of St John’s, Pemberton, Wigan, vicar of Aspull, rector of New Church, Culcheth, rector of St Oswald’s, Winwick, dio Liverpool, retired assistant priest at St Mary’s, Windermere, served for 30 years as hospital chaplain in Dinard, France, dio Europe, marr Heather, died 28 July 2017, service at St Mary’s church, Windermere, 9 August (WG, 03.08.2017)

Pankhurst, Emmeline (nee Goulden) (1858-1928; ODNB), political activist and suffragette leader, born Hulme, Lancashire, dau of Robert Goulden a cashier and later owner of a calico printing works, spoke at Kendal, September 1911, in support of the Conciliation Bill

Pape, Frederick J., (1863-1932), chairman Library Authority, born London died Cockermouth, achieved the funding for the Carnegie library, Cockermouth, published Song and Silence; H Winter, Great Cockermouth Scholars

Park family, Story of a Lakeland Family; copy Ulverston library

Park, George (c.1779-1829), clergyman, incumbent of Hawkshead for 17 years from 1812, of Parsonage, Walker Ground, Hawkshead, buried at Hawkshead, 17 July 1829, aged 50

Park, George (1803-1866), clergyman, born at Hawkshead, 19 October 1803 and bapt there, 13 November, son of John Park, town saddler, and brother of Elizabeth (Myers) (b.1805), Mary (b.1807), Sarah (b.1808) and John (b.1810), marr (18xx) Mary Ann (who died at home of his brother-in-law, J P Myers (qv) in Broughton-in-Furness, 23 November 1850, aged 46, and buried at Hawkshead, 27 November), vicar of Hawkshead, retired by December 1865, living at Walker Ground, Hawkshead by 1851 (with two servants), where he died aged 62, and buried at Hawkshead, 25 September 1866

Park, Wesley, folk singer and accordion player; Folk Song in Cumbria, Susan M. Allan PhD, Lancaster, 2016

Parker family of Old Town Penrith, drovers and cotton merchants; Peter Roebuck, Cattle Droving, Cotton and Landownership, 2014; CW1 xvi 104

Parker, itinerant photographer (fl.1843); CWAAS 2017, 181

Parker, Arthur Henry Nevill (1862-1922), MA, descendant of Parker family of Browsholme, Lancs, educ University College Durham (BA 1884, MA 1908), d 1885 and p 1886 (York), curate of Goole 1885, Warmfield, Yorks 1885-1889, Battyeford, Yorks 1889-1891, and Burnley St Matthew 1892-1893, vicar of Esholt, near Otley 1893-1902, vicar of St George, City and dio Bristol 1902-1914, rector of Greystoke 1914-1922, died in 1922

Parker, Charles Arundel (1851-1918), MD, FRCSE, FSA (Scot), JP, doctor and antiquary, b. Gosforth, son of Charles Allan Parker, painter and glazier, and his wife Elizabeth Simpson, climbed Pillar Rock aged 18 in 1869, following his training was in practice in Gosforth from 1877 for over 40 yrs, chairman, Gosforth Parish Council from 1894, succ to Parknook estate 1891, discovered Stone of Shame beneath floor of Gosforth church in 1896 and Vikar’s cross used as flagstone but then built into church wall, author of The Gosforth District: Its Antiquities and Places of Interest, first edition (1904), new edition revised by W G Collingwood, CWAAS Extra Series XV (1926), also inspired by W G Collingwood’s Norse novels to present history of Scandinavian community in Gosforth from 890 to 1020 in literary form in The Story of Shelagh, Olaf Cuaran’s Daughter (1909), beginning with its settlement from Man and ending with death of Shelagh’s son, this tale was re-cycled by Nicholas Size (qv), three children Cdr George Hoskins Irton Parker (1881-1929) RN, Charles Ronald and Annie Beatrice, died at Parknook, 22 June 1918 and buried in Gosforth churchyard below west window (CW, ibid, note, 3-4); David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017; Hyde and Pevsner

Parker, Christopher (1775-1838), DL, JP, son of Revd John Parker (1737-1779), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1830, of Petteril Green; (CW1, xvi, 116)

Parker, Christopher (1816-1865), JP, MA, 2nd son of Christopher Parker (qv), of Petteril Green, educ Cambridge University (MA), succ to Skirwith Abbey, marr, succ by son, Edward Wilson Parker, JP (1853-1932), who was succ by his son, Major Frederick Cyril Francis Parker (1888-1970), at Skirwith Abbey, Newbiggin Hall and Beaumont, Penrith, last male descendant, but with 2 daus (Pamela Mary Elizabeth (1922-1967), wife of Victor Dunn, and Bridget Mariota, wife of Gerald Archer)

Parker, Cyril, Capt and wife Phyllis, owned and occupied Petteril Bank House from 1923 to 1937 (family history notebook in CRO) prob = Major Frederick Cyril Francis Parker (1888-1970), last male descendant of Parkers of Skirwith Abbey, etc.

Parker, Francis Henry Mervyn (1874-1911), MA (Oxon), antiquary, son of Francis Parker, JP, of Fremington, yst son of above, elected member of CWAAS 1898 and Council, edited the Pipe Rolls of Cumberland and Westmorland (Extra Series XII, 1905), died at Shepperton-on-Thames, 25 November 1911, aged 37; (CW2, xii, 438)

Parker, George (d.1736), clergyman, of Lazonby, buried at Longmarton, 20 December 1736

Parker, George (17xx-1806), clergyman, born at Johnby and bapt at Greystoke, (Thomas, son of John Parker, of Johnby, bapt 12 August 1739), vicar of Oddingley, Worcestershire (patron, Lord Foley) from 1793, shot on Midsummer’s Day, 24 June 1806 by Richard Herring, an odd job man, at the behest of Captain Evans a retired army officer and JP and others, a strange crime which was not explained until twenty four years later in 1830, after the deaths of the perpetrators who were thus not brought to justice (Peter Moore, Damn His Blood, 2012)

Parker, John (17xx-1779), BA, clergyman, educ Trinity College, Dublin (BA), curate for past three years to Dr Richard Burn (qv), Vicar of Orton, when nominated to curacy of Selside by majority of landowners on death of Revd Jacob Chambre (qv), 9 May 1771, letters testimonial of R Burn, Wm Langhorn and Geo Williamson (clergy endorsed as ‘worthy of credit’ by Bishop of Carlisle), 1 June 1771, licensed as curate in June 1771, revamped first Selside register of baptisms and burials from 1771, 40 houses in chapelry with no papists and 1 Quaker in 1779 (Bishop Porteus Visitation, Gastrell, 213), marr Mary, 1 son (Christopher, bapt 10 September 1775) and 3 daus (Elizabeth, bapt 13 December 1772, Isabel, bapt 2 November 1777, and Eleanor, bapt 19 December 1779), latterly of Watchgate, died by November 1779 [but no burial found in Kendal or Selside] (papers in CRO, DRC/10/Selside)

Parker, Joseph (1784-1827), innkeeper, landlord of the Low Hill Coffee House, West Derby (aka the Coach and Horses), Liverpool, the first ‘baiting place’ for changing horses on the Manchester road, marr Margaret Sawrey of Hawkshead, dau of Isaac Sawrey (qv), their son Thomas (b.1820) briefly manager of the Royal Hotel, Southport, daughter Elizabeth (1818-1855) marr Henry Heys of Whittle-le-Woods (qv) at St Andrew’s church, Penrith in 1842; the Low Hill Coffee House was demolished in the late 19thc but the cellars are still in use below the much smaller Victorian pub the Coach and Horses built on part of the site; William Herdman, the Liverpool artist drew the old coffee house building c.1850 (Walker Art Gallery)

Parker, Robert, founder of the Parker business in Manchester and Stockport, b. High Hesket; uncle of Thomas (qv)

Parkinson, Harold Kt (1892-1977), vice chair national savings committee, bought Hornby Castle 1929; what activity W ?

Parker, Samuel Albert (1839-1922), soldier, émigré grocer and police sergeant, in India with the 18th brigade Royal Regt of Artillery where he served as a ‘grocer’, marr Charlotte Mills in Manhattan, set up grocery business in Chicago, business destroyed by fire (a common occurance in that city), returned to Carlisle, joined police force, in retirement ran a grocery in Rockcliffe; CWAAS newsletter autumn 2022

Parker, Stan (1926-2004), puppeteer, lived Carlisle, son of a Punch and Judy man, as a woodcarver in his youth he became interested in marionettes, was influenced by Waldo Lanchester (1897-1978) founder of the Lanchester Puppet Co, worked as a technician at Carlisle College, developed puppet performances in Cumberland, carved many heads, torsos and limbs and made numerous tiny costumes, worked in cabaret and at the circus, gradually performed all over the world and was awarded ‘best performer’ at the Mistlebach Festival, Vienna, great knowledge of the traditions of puppetry, ballet, theatre and the circus, toured countries including France, Poland, Israel, Pakistan, Japan, Korea and the USSR, marr Dorothy, member of the British Puppet and Model Theatre Guild, edited the Puppet Master magazine 1981-1987, member of the Union Internationale de la Marionettes (UNIMA), he died in 2004, John and Elaine Parkinson bought the collection with Lottery funding and have used them in their productions at Up Front, near Penrith since 2004, his puppets include a ballet dancer, a clown, a unicyclist, a stilt walker, a skeleton, a horse, a bear, a seal and a monkey; Stanparkerpuppets.com

Parker, Thomas of Warwick Hall, bought the estate from Robert Warwick Bonner (sp?) in 1822 for £45,000, Parker built a new house and later two days schools; 4000 mss in CRO 1828 (date of his will)

Parker, Thomas (d.1828), cotton merchant, rebuilt Warwick hall

Parker, Thomas Dickinson (fl.1880s), stone mason and huntsman of the Carlisle Otter Hounds in the 1880s, his sons John and Tom continued in the role until 1940; Emmett and Templeton, A Century of Carlisle, photograph, 61

Parker, Thomas Holme (1842-1901), DL, JP, son of Robert Holme Parker, JP (1812-1847), of Petteril Green, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1873, succ his kinsman at Old Town, Hesket-in-the-Forest, but sold it in 1889, and also at Warwick Hall, which his trustees sold, marr, 1 son (Major Cuthbert James Vere Holme Parker (1880-1966) was last of family and died unmarried)

Parker, Walter (19xx-2010), artist, hon life member of Lake Artists’ Society

Parker, William Ruston (1853-1943), FRGS, FZS, surgeon and benefactor of Kendal Museum, born 1853, 2nd son of a Liverpool physician, educ Royal Medical Benevolent School, Epsom [now Epsom College] from age of eight, with good grounding in natural history, and Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge, house surgeon with Hospital for Infectious Diseases in Liverpool for short period, then moved to Kendal as surgeon at Memorial Hospital and built up a large general practice at Maude Street, Kendal [now James Cochrane Practice], living at 116 Stricklandgate, instigator with Dr W S Paget-Tomlinson (qv) of Westmorland Sanatorium at Meathop in 1899-1900, elected to Kendal Borough Council in 1894 and alderman 1907, taking particularly active interest in public health, education and extension of public library, retired in 1919, went to London and spent next 20 years travelling extensively in Europe, Near and Far East, and in equatorial Africa, provided Kendal Museum with specimens of birds and animals collected on his travels, mounted and cased by Henry Murray & Son (qv), of Carnforth, returned to Kendal in 1940, died at 100 Highgate in November 1943, aged 90, and buried in Parkside cemetery, 24 November (WG, 27.11.1943)

Parkhouse, Hannah, later Hannah Cowley, playwright (qv)

Parkin, Anthony, bapt at Appleby St Lawrence, poss son of ?James Parkin (qv), protégé of John Robinson (qv), represented by Charlotte Smith as ‘Anthony Cancer of Petrify & Co’ (CW3, x, 218), died at Harlow

Parkin, Charles (1799-1884), MA, clergyman, 2nd son of Hugh Parkin (qv), educ Oxford University (MA), marr, son (Paxton William, qv), vicar of Lenham, near Maidstone, Kent from 1827 (1858)

Parkin, Hugh (1753-1838), 5th son of James Parkin (qv), of Appleby, sent out to India by his kinsman, John Robinson, MP (qv), and acquired Skirsgill, Penrith, on his return, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1797, marr (1795) [no marr in Whitehaven HT, St.J or St.N] Sarah Margaret (1770-1858), dau of William McDowell and Sarah (who later marr Charles Deane), of Keekle Grove, Whitehaven, 4 sons (James (1797-1860), of Laithes, Skelton, Charles (qv), William Hugh (qv), and Anthony (1803-1890), of Sharrow Bay) and 1 dau, of Skirsgill House (memorials in Dacre church)

Parkin, James (c.1717-1794), attorney, son of Anthony Parkin (d.1730, aged 45), of Appleby, formerly of Wickerslack, Crosby Ravensworth, mayor of Appleby 14 times between 1746 and 1793

Parkin, John (17xx-18xx), coroner, coroner of Appleby Borough (1795)

Parkin, John (1861-19xx), JP, Methodist lay preacher, county councillor, and grocer, born prob at Knock in parish of Long Marton, listed as scholar in Knock aged ten in 1871 census and grocer’s assistant in 1881, later a grocer in Appleby, made first attempt at preaching (on Acts 4:31) at Appleby on 4 October 1879, probably at Appleby’s Rock Chapel (Primitive Methodist), but preached in Wesleyan or United Methodist Free Church chapels as well as Primitive, with occasional visits to Baptist chapels at Asby, Crosby Garrett and Winton, spoke at camp meetings at Long Marton, Dufton, Griseburn and North Stainmore, gave first lecture at a public meeting on William Clowes, co-founder of Primitive Methodists, at Dufton on Easter Monday 1885, addressed a Missionary meeting at Bolton and a Band of Hope meeting at Crosby Garrett in 1886, detailed his visit to North Stainmore in August 1887 walking from Appleby and returning home at 11.50 pm covering about 24 miles, delivered his ‘maiden speech on politics’ at Appleby in October 1887 (details from his notebook recording his preaching appointments from October 1879 to January 1895, later elected to Appleby Corporation, serving as mayor of Appleby in 1920s, and also to Westmorland County Council (CMHS, 78, Autumn 2016)

Parkin, Paxton William (1839-1912), JP, son of Revd Charles Parkin (qv), marr, 2 daus (Dorothy Gladys, wife of William Hingeston Whitehead and mother of William Hugh (qv), and Hilda Margaret (d.1957), wife of Brigadier-General Francis Henry Guy Stanton, RA (1873-1928), of Lattendales, Greystoke), of Sharrow Bay, Pooley Bridge (succ his uncle Anthony in 1890?)

Parkin, William Hugh (1801-1881), DL, JP, landowner, of Ravencragg, Ullswater, born 1801, 3rd son of Hugh Parkin (qv), marr (1841) Catherine Corney (d.1848), dau of William Hebson (qv), DL, JP, of Penrith, 1 son (W H, qv), defrayed (with Anthony Parkin, of Sharrow Bay) the entire cost of about £2,000 for erecting new church at Martindale in 1879-81 (consecrated on 6 January 1882), died in 1881

Parkin, William Hugh (1842-1910), DL, JP, soldier and landowner, son of W H Parkin (qv), of Ravencragg, Ullswater, marr Mathilda (d.1932), of Elsick Row, Newcastle, 1 son (W H, qv), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1881, Westmorland County Councillor for Patterdale, joined Westmorland & Cumberland Yeomanry as Lieut, later Major, President of Association governing Cumberland and Westmorland style of Wrestling from its formation in 1906, contributed cost (with Anthony Parkin, of Sharrow Bay) of erecting new church of St Peter at Martindale on acre of land at top of The Hause (consecrated by Bishop of Carlisle on 6 January 1882), died in 1910 (memorial brass in Martindale church, 1911/12)

Parkin, William Hugh (1869-1911), DL, JP, soldier and landowner, born 13 July 1869 and bapt at St Paul’s, High Elswick, Newcastle, 26 December, only son of William Hugh Parkin (qv), educ Sedbergh School 1882-88 (captain of rugby and cricket teams) and Brasenose College, Oxford, Resident Agent to Lowther Estates from 1895 (living at Whale), comd Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry in South African War 1900-01 (wounded, Hon Captain, July 1901, medal and four clasps), Lieut-Col comdg W & C Yeomanry (on retirement of Lord Lonsdale, 15 November 1908), DL, JP (1899) and Westmorland County Councillor, member of West Ward RDC and Board of Guardians, succ father as President of Association governing Cumberland & Westmorland style Wrestling, of Ravencragg, active supporter of Eamont Harriers, unmarried, died in 1911 (memorial brass in Martindale church, 1913)

Parkin, William Hugh, formerly Whitehead (1906-1940), Lieut-Cdr, RN, yr son of William Hingeston Whitehead and his wife, Dorothy Gladys, dau of Paxton William Parkin, JP, of Sharrow Bay, assumed name of Parkin in 1927 (LG, 13 December 1927) in accordance with will of his cousin, William Hugh Parkin (qv) (d.1911), and succ to Ravencragg, marr, son (William Hugh, currently of Swarthbeck, Howtown, Ullswater), awarded Royal Life Saving Society certificate in October 1921, served as naval cadet 1920s, lost as one of 1,200 lives in sinking of HMS Glorious (after evacuation of British aircraft from Norway) by German battleships Scharnhorst and Gneisenau in North Sea on 8 June 1940 (memorial tablet in Martindale church, 1941)

Parkinson, Sir Harold (d.1974), vice-president of National Savings Committee, High Sheriff of Lancashire 1950, formerly of Hornby Castle, later of The Old Rectory, Hornby

Parkinson, Richard (1792-1858), clergyman and college head, b near Lancaster, educ Hawkshead GS, Sedbergh and St John’s Cambridge, edited two newspapers in Preston, ordained 1823, curate of St Michael on Wyre, vicar of St Bees and Principal of St Bees Theological College 1846-1858,canon of Manchester, a founder member of the Chetham Society

Parning (or Parving), Robert (fl.1315-1343; ODNB), lawyer and later lord chancellor, born Cumberland, in 1315 at law on behalf of Walter of Kirkbride, five times knight of the shire in parliament 1325-1332, kings serjeant 1333-39, chief justice 1340-41, chancellor 1341-3, marr Isabel, some sources give a son John, others say d.s.p.; Coke describes him as having profound and excellent knowledge of the law

Parr family, held land in Kendal from 1381 

Parr, Catherine (1512-1548; ODNB), 6th queen of Henry VIII, though the daughter of Sir Thomas Parr, who owned Kendal Castle in 1512, she was not born in Kendal (despite a tradition to that effect) and there is no record of her visiting the Lake counties, the legend appears in CW1 ii 189; CW2 lxxxviii 107; CW2 xcii 99; (engraving by S Harding and P Brown from miniature by Holbein, 1799) (CC (AH) 2); it is now thought that the castle was a ruin even in her lifetime 

Parr, Sir John (1437-1475) of Kendal, landowner; CW2 xcvi 71; CW2 xciv 105

Parr, Sir Thomas, landowner and courtier, father of Katherine Parr (qv), his mother and grandmother were ladies in waiting, held lands in Westmorland and owned Kendal Castle which was in his lifetime a ruin, master of the guards to Henry VIII, later comptroller, his wife Maud Green was a lady in waiting to Katherine of Aragon, attended Henry VIII at the Field of the Cloth of Gold, related by marriage to Thomas More and was a cousin of Bishop Cuthbert Tunstall of Durham (qv), lived mostly in London and was buried at Blackfriars

Parr, Sir Thomas (fl.early 16thc), perhaps son of the above and brother of queen Catherine, represented Westmorland at the Field of the Cloth of Gold with Henry VIII in 1520; also bishop Kite (qv)

Parrott, Frank William (189x-198x), OBE, JP, schoolmaster, councillor, magistrate, journalist and local historian, born at Wellingborough, Northants, apptd headmaster of Kirkby Stephen Primary School in 1924, always to widen horizons of his pupils, had over 200 children on school roll in 1939 with staff of eight, plus two infant teachers and three part-time specialist teachers, greater pressure with arrival of evacuee children on outbreak of WW2 (337 on school roll in August 1940, but down to 221 by October 1945), extra accommodation found in Methodist Centenary Chapel, with evacuees from Barrow being assigned to the Temperance Hall, Westmorland county councillor for Kirkby Stephen and county alderman (to March 1974), JP (qualified on 2 July 1937), when of Mountain View, Nateby Road, Kirkby Stephen, elected chairman of Cumberland and Westmorland Federation of Branches of Workers’ Educational Association at Carlisle on xx [1956] (with 28 courses of a university standard organised in conjunction with Extra Mural Board of Durham University), apptd (by LEA) Governor of Charlotte Mason College, Ambleside in 1960, OBE 1965, of Brougham House, Kirkby Stephen (papers in CRO, WDX 786; WG, 25.04.1975)

Parry, Charles de Courcy (1869-1948), police officer, chief constable of Cumberland and Westmorland County Constabulary (HQ Penrith) 1902-1920, then HM inspector of constabulary Wales, father of Norman de Courcey Parry qv

Parry, C Norman de Courcy (1889-1988), huntsman, ‘Dalesman’, and ‘the man who shot Percy Toplis’ (qv), born at Risca, Monmouthshire, in 1889, son of Charles de Courcy Parry (qv), educ Repton, had early passion for hunting, as a civilian in the company of two policemen located and shot Toplis near Penrith after he had fired upon them

Parry, Sir William Edward (1790-1855; ODNB), arctic explorer, Rear-Admiral, RN, mother was dau of John Rigby, of Lancaster, retired as captain-superintendent of Royal Naval Hospital, Haslar, Hampshire in 1852, when he then came to Keswick for a holiday, portrait prob by Richard Cartmell (qv), local artist, discovered at Tower Hill, Crosthwaite in 1954 (CW3, ix, 175-185); Rob David, In Search of Arctic Wonders, Kendal, 2013;CW3 x 253; CW3 ix 175

Parsable, William (18thc.), tomb inscription cutter, monument lhs porch door of Dearham church, cut in slate, this material specially chosen as from his experience in observing the deterioration of thousands of tombstones he knew it would last

Parsons, George (18xx-19xx), medical practitioner, of Beckside, Colthouse, Hawkshead (leased from Satterthwaite family), surgery and dispensary at Beckside, John Ruskin’s doctor, friend and golf partner of William Heelis, characterised as Johnny Town-Mouse by Beatrix Potter, his medical papers passed to Dr G A Johnston of Ambleside (qqv)

Partridge, E H (1901-1962), MA, JP, teacher, born 24 October 1901, son of Edwin Partridge, of Derby, educ Rossall School (scholar) and Corpus Christi College, Oxford (scholar), classical sixth form master, Wellington College 1924-1931, headmaster of Giggleswick School 1931-1956, author of Freedom in Education (1943) and Journey Home (1946), marr (1927) Brenda de Mestre, dau of Admiral J de M Hutchison, CMG, CVO, no children, retired in 1956 to Shaws Farmhouse, Storth, Milnthorpe, member of Kendal Art Society from 1956, painted in pastel and oils, died in 1962  

Pascoe, Frank (18xx-19xx), clergyman, inducted as vicar of St George’s, Millom, 8 April 1909

Pass family, businesses in Barrow (late 19thc to 1960s) including a department store, their slogan ‘From a Pin to a Piano’ was writ large upon the end wall of the building at the top of Dalton Rd

Pass, William Shakespeare (1864-1939), music dealer, b Manchester son of William Pass [1823-1871] a corn dealer and his wife Betsy Mayall [1825-1897], d. Buxton

Pass, Charles Halle (1860-1925), businessman, lived Barrow, his daughter Katherine married John Trevelyan (qv)

Patrick, Saint, according to legend he was shipwrecked on the Duddon sands and made his way to Patterdale, here he baptised local inhabitants, a well dedicated to him is by the roadside at Glenridding; St Patrick is the dedication of Patterdale church

Patrick, St. (c.385-c.461; ODNB), missionary bishop, a Romano-Briton, said to have been born in present day Cumberland, or the old kingdom of Strathclyde, (possibly born at Birdoswald, in his own Confessio [autobiography] he says he was born in Bannaven Taburniae in Roman Britain, Charles Thomas, early British Christian scholar, proposed Birdoswald as there is a vicus or adjacent civilian community and Patrick refers to a vicus in describing Bannaven, more convincingly Birdoswald was known as Banna and there is a stone to that effect, earlier suggestions have been his birth at Ravenglass), enslaved in Ireland; St Patrick’s Well at Ullswater; Diarmid McCulloch, London Review of Books, 1 August 2019 review of Roy Fleckner, St Patrick Retold, 2019

Patrickson, George (18xx-1915/16), alderman, member of CWAAS from 1895, of Scales, near Ulverston, died in 1915/16 (CW2, xvi (1916), 308)

Patrickson, Hugh (1781-1858), DL, JP, only son of Hugh Patrickson (1759-1821), Captain 4th Light Dragoons (grandson of John Patrickson (1681-1771), of Houghton Town Head), built Kirklinton Park in 1822 (see Angus Taylor article in Country Life), DL and JP Cumberland, marr (June 1837) Margaret, dau of Thomas Tallentire, and sister and co-heir of Thomas Calvert Tallentire, of St Mary’s Holme, Lanercost, where he died without issue in 1858, leaving Kirklinton Park estate to Hugh (qv infra), son of his first cousin, Hugh Patrickson (Kirklinton Park estate of 70 acres let by trustees to James Moffat until his death in 1893) (CFH, 255; CN, 24.11.2017)

Patrickson, Hugh (1843-1897), JP, son of Hugh Patrickson (died 1867, aged 58), saddler, of Scotch Street, Carlisle, and his wife Mary (died in Union Court, Scotch Street, in July 1883, aged 78, and buried in Stanwix churchyard), compositor in early life on Penrith Observer and Carlisle Express, later a reporter on Carlisle Patriot, succ to his uncle’s Kirklinton Park estate about 1880, when he gave up his newspaper connections, twice married, died in May 1897 = ? Hugh Patrickson, of Kirklinton Park, marr (April 1883) Catherine Mary Carruthers, of Seat Hill, Irthington, at Irthington church (CJ, April 1883). Kirklinton Park owned by Hugh Patrickson, of Poplar House, Hayton, in 1901

Patrickson, Isabella (d.1854), of Houghton, philanthropist, will proved York in 1854, left funds for supporting the poor and indigent of Crosby on Eden; CW2 xciv 299

Patrickson, John (1611-1652), son of Thomas Patrickson, of Howe in Ennerdale and brother of Bridget, wife of Sir Timothy Fetherstonhaugh (qv), marr Bridget, dau of Sir Richard Fletcher (qv), of Hutton, and aunt of Barbara, wife of Sir Daniel Fleming (qv), son Richard (qv), owned Calder Abbey

Patrickson, Margaret (c.1786-1862), only surviving dau of Dr Nicholas Patrickson, of London, died at the house of her kinsman Hugh Patrickson (qv), 22 Scotch Street, Carlisle (property sold later by decree of High Court of Chancery), in 1862, aged 76 (CJ, March 1862)

Patrickson, Richard (1647-1706), JP, High Sheriff, son of John Patrickson (qv), of Howe and Calder Abbey, which his son also Richard later sold, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1672 

Pattenson, John (1774-1817), Bengal Civil Service, son of Thomas Pattenson (qv), marr (1801) Mary Anna Frances Antoinetta (d.1837), eldest dau of Stephen Harris, indigo planter, of Comilla, Bengal, while his yr brother Charles (1776-1831), also Bengal C S, marr (1802) Eliza (d.1838, aged 54), 2 sons (John Edward (1811-1864), who sold Melmerby estate in 1846, and Robert Cane, (qv)), died in 1817

Pattenson, Lancelot (1706-1759), BA, clergyman, son of Thomas Pattenson (1673-1742), of Breaks Hall, Ormside, by his 1st wife Elizabeth (d.1710), dau and coheir of Revd William Thirkeld (qv), of Melmerby Hall, thereby acquiring that estate, educ BA Cantab, marr (1736) Margaret (d.1777), 5th dau of Charles Orfeur (qv), son (Thomas, qv), rector of Ousby 1735-1759 and of Melmerby 1739-1759, died in 1759

Pattenson, Robert Cane (1816-1904), clergyman, yr son of John Pattenson (qv), rector of Melmerby 1843-1881

Pattenson, Thomas (1747-1811), of Melmerby Hall, son of Revd Lancelot Pattenson (qv), marr (1768) Barbara (d.1781), dau of John Grainger, of Bromfield, 2 sons (John (qv) and Charles), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1793, plan of Melmerby Hall estate (CRO, DB74/P54), directed in his will that “dinner at my funeral to be in the barn, cold roast beef, hot potatoes, cheese and plenty of racked ale, but no smoking for fear of fire”

Patterson, Kit (86 years old in 2002), race course manager, began as a jockey in Point to Point events, manager Carlisle racecourse in succession to Sir Loftus Bates (qv) in 1946, with Bill McHarg covered the administration of most of the racecourses in Scotland the North of England, particularly active at Carlisle, Sedgfield, Rothbury (now defunct) and Hexham, he loved being at Carlisle in the 1970s when the great racehorse Red Rum (1965-1995) was at his peak (Red Rum performed superbly over the jumps at Carlisle prior to each of his Grand National wins), the Patterson Suite at Carlisle racecourse is named after him

Pattinson family of Wigton, cotton manufacturers, had Brookside Works, Water Street; Isaac (qv)

Pattinson family of Windermere; Abraham (qv)

Pattinson, Abraham, huntsman, first Huntsman of Ullswater Foxhounds, marr Rebecca (died aged 91)

Pattinson, Abraham (1817-1871), builder, of The Grove, Windermere, built churches, Windermere hotel and railway station, bridges, marr Agnes Barrow 26 May 1849, presented with a china tea service by Wordsworth as they had served together on a local government board

Pattinson, Abraham (1858-1933), timber merchant, 3rd son of Thomas Pattinson (1829-1908), of Elim Grove, Windermere, head of firm AP (Kendal) Ltd, Beezon Road, Kendal, mayor of Kendal 1907-1908, member for North ward of Kendal Borough Council (to 1915), of 5 Greenside (1906), later of Hylands, Kendal (1914), a member of the Union Lodge of freemasons no 129 in Kendal

Pattinson, Cooper (1890-1971), Captain, of Windermere shot down a Zeppelin at Heligoland Bight

Pattinson, Sir Derek William (1930-2006; ODNB), secretary general of the General Synod of the Church of England, b. Barrow-in-Furness, son of Thomas William Pattinson civil servant and Elizabeth Burgen primary school teacher, educ Whitehaven GS and Queen’s College, Oxford, civil servant Inland Revenue 1952-62, then HM Treasury, appointed to the General Synod 1972, retired 1990, better relations with archbishops Ramsay and Runcie than Coggan, keen to encourage ethnic minorities, Kt 1990, his partner was the gay activist Barnaby Miln (b.1947), first layman in the church to come out

Pattinson, Derek Armstrong (1918-19xx), FRICS, JP, land agent, born 8 August 1918, son of John William Pattinson, marr (1952) Eileen Veronica, dau of John Harrison, of Inglewood Bank, Penrith, educ Cockermouth Grammar School and Cumberland & Westmorland Agricultural College, joined land agency to Lord Lonsdale’s Estates 1936-1939, served WW2 1939-1946, Major RA, rejoined in 1946 and apptd Chief Agent in 1951, Partner, Lowther Scott-Harden, chartered surveyors, Lowther, JP Cumbria, of Tallentire Hall, Cockermouth, died

Pattinson, George, founder of the Lakeland Steamboat Museum, Bowness

Pattinson, George Henry (1856-1941), OBE, JP, businessman and local councillor, er son of Thomas Pattinson (1829-1908), of Elim Grove, Windermere, and elder brother of Abraham (qv), est the Pattinson estates, chairman of Westmorland County Council from June 1928 to March 1940, laid foundation stone of new County Hall in 1937 and chaired the opening, chairman of Windermere Urban District Council, chairman of governors, Newton Rigg College 1914-1933, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1921, of Gossel Ridding, Bowness-on-Windermere, died in 1941

Pattinson, George Henry (1918-1997) OBE, businessman, chairman, Pattinson Group of Companies, joined Pattinson Ltd 1936 (bldg and estate management), served WWII as Lieut, RNVR (1939-1946), founder of Windermere Nautical Trust 1971 a charity set up to build Windermere Steamboat Museum (opened 19 May 1977), author of The Great Age of Steam on Windermere (1981), son of T C Pattinson, DFC, and gr son of G H Pattinson above, born 3 August 1918, marr (1944) Ruth, dau of W B Barber, 3 daughters (inc Diana Matthews), of Raaes Wyke, Windermere, died 16 September 1997

Pattinson, George Norman (1887-1966), JP, solicitor, eldest son of G H Pattinson (qv), High Sheriff of Windermere 1941, of The Knoll and Gossel Ridding, marr Ethel Muriel Smith JP (who declined offer of LEA appt as governor of Charlotte Mason College, Ambleside in 1960), son (J Patrick Pattinson, also of Gossel Ridding)

Pattinson, Hugh Lee (1796-1858; ODNB), industrial chemist, entrepreneur and early photographer, b. Alston, son of Thomas Pattinson a shopkeeper, devised economic way to extract silver from lead ore, laid the foundation stone of the town hall in 1857, his daguerrotypes in USA included the earliest of Niagara Falls.

Pattinson, Isaac (17xx-18xx), linen and check manufacturer, marr Ann Ritson/Richardson, 3 sons (John (b.26 June 1790 and bapt 25 July), Joseph (b.12 February 1793 and bapt 9 June) and Isaac (b.20 April 1797 and bapt 19 May)) and 1 dau (Margaret, b. 15 August 1787 and bapt 25 November); also William Pattinson, linen manufacturer, marr Hannah Blair, with children bapt at Wigton in 1790-1797; John and Joseph Pattinson, cotton manufacturers, of New Street, with Miss Margaret, of Wiza Bridge, and Mr Isaac, of High Street, Wigton (1829)

Pattinson, Joseph (16xx-17xx), clergyman, rector of Castle Carrock 1722-1739 (CW1, xiv, 218)

Pattinson, Lancelot (aka ‘Lanty Patty’) (1772-1865), agricultural labourer, born Swineside, Matterdale, son of John and Ann Pattinson, had long hair and a long beard, marr Anne Greenhow, after her death moved with the children and lived in a cabin called Lanty’s castle near Goldrill Bridge, Patterdale (some accounts state this was a cave), there are many Pattinsons in the Patterdale records, Lanty was the most famous (the Rev WP Morris, Records of Patterdale)

Pattinson, Thomas, deputy mayor of Carlisle during Jacobite Rebellion of 1745

Pattinson, Revd William (17xx-18xx), clergyman, rector of Caldbeck, marr (17 February 1821, at Christ Church, Liverpool) Elizabeth Yeoward, of Liverpool

Peacock, Robert Backhouse, dialect writer, author of A Glossary of the Dialect of the Hundred of Lonsdale North and South of the Sands (ed. J C Atkinson, 1869)

Peake, Revd James (17xx-1xxx), MA, clergyman and schoolmaster, master of Hawkshead grammar school, entd Crosthwaite curacy on 6 June 1768, succ Lester Metcalfe (qv), then nominated to curacy of Finsthwaite chapel and school in 1778 (bond in £200 to Jane Penny and others, 22 July 1778 in CRO, WT/Ch/acc.11085), but succ by John Birkett (qv) in 1781 (TWT, PR 227

Pearce, Benjamin E. (b.c.1831), itinerant photographer; CWAAS 2017, 181

Pears, Anthony Benson (1853-1929), writer and poet, born at Whitehaven in 1853, lived Cockermouth, apprenticed to a draper, later at a tannery, travelled to Continent, wrote verse A Prayer for Christmas [1914] and Swallow Flights of Song, died at Cockermouth, 31 October 1929, aged 76 (DH, 141)

Pears, John H. (b.1861), b. Whitehaven, Methodist preacher, later a Quaker, wrote verse; H.Winter, Great Cockermouth Scholars

Pears, Peter (1910-1986; ODNB), singer, partner of Benjamin Britten (qv), sang at Rosehill theatre

Pears, John H (1861-19xx), JP, born in Whitehaven in 1861, yr brother of A B Pears, chairman of Cockermouth Urban District Council (DH, 142)

Pearsall, Alan William Halliday (1925-2006), MA, naval historian, born in Leeds, 14 November 1925, er son of Professor W H Pearsall (qv) (papers in CRO, WD/WHP), worked at National Maritime Museum, Greenwich as custodian of manuscripts, member of CWAAS from 1967, lived in Blackheath, London, but also of Morecambe, died in London, 31 March 2006, aged 80 (Independent, 06.06.2006)

Pearsall, William Harold (1891-1964; ODNB), FRS, FLS, FInstBiol, DSc, ecologist and botanist, born at Stourbridge, Worcestershire, 23 July 1891, only son and 2nd of three children of William Harrison Pearsall (qv), moved with family to Dalton-in-Furness on his father’s appointment as headmaster of Broughton Road School, educ at father’s school (until 1905), Ulverston Grammar School, and University of Manchester (entd 1909, reading chemistry, but changed to botany after first year, BSc 1st class honours 1913), graduate scholarship enabled him to make a systematic study of distribution of aquatic plants in Lake District (awarded MSc 1915), joined RGA 1916 and served in France, returning with some hearing loss in 1919, marr (1917) Marjory Stewart (fellow botany student and biology teacher at Morecambe Grammar School, d.1984), dau of Robert Peter George Williamson, director of education, of Stoke-on-Trent, 2 sons (Alan W H (qv) and Ian Stewart (1928-1982), engineer), apptd assistant Lecturer under Professor J H Priestley at Leeds University in 1919, promoted to full lectureship and awarded DSc for his research on English lakes by Manchester University in 1920, apptd reader in botany at Leeds in 1922, professor of botany at Sheffield University in 1938, elected FRS 1940, succ E J Salisbury as Quain Professor of Botany at University College, London in 1944 until retirement in 1957, one of three biologists involved in trying to establish a British centre for lake research, leading to foundation of Freshwater Biological Association in 1929, played very active role as Director in guiding and inspiring research at FBA until end of his life, of 6 Pemberton Drive, Bare, Morecambe, died of brain tumour at Victoria Hospital, Morecambe and Heysham, 14 October 1964, aged 73 (papers in CRO, WHP, and FBA Library, inc pencil drawing by Delmar Banner)

Pearsall, William Harrison (18xx-c.1934), FRAS, schoolmaster, marr Mary Elizabeth Green, of Earl Shilton, Leicester, 1 son (William Harold, qv) and 2 daus (Gladys (former headmistress, d.c.1972) and Phyllis (d.c.1981)), moved with family from Stourbridge, Worcs, to Dalton-in-Furness on his appointment as headmaster of Broughton Road Senior Mixed Council School (for 450 children) in 189x, also organist and Methodist lay preacher, of Ivy Dene, Dalton (1912), died c.1934

Pearson, Alexander (17xx-1821), physician and surgeon, 2nd son of Francis Pearson below, assistant to Sir Astley Cooper (1768-1841) in London, but returned to practise in Kirkby Lonsdale from 1775, performed first trepanning operation in north of England successfully, marr dau of Major Dennis Quin (said to be ADC to Wellington at Waterloo but no evidence located), 1 dau (who marr Revd Adolphus Augustus Turnour, several daus, and succ to family property adjoining Augill Castle)

Pearson, Alexander (1870-1954), solicitor and author, born in house near Lune Cottage, Kirkby Lonsdale, 29 May 1870, son of ?Gradwell Pearson (who sold Augill Castle in 1870s but retained small farm adjoining, leaving it to AP’s mother, who sold it to Dr Abercrombie (qv) after he had bought Castle; AP’s father died in 1905), became great friend of Dr Abercrombie in course of conveyancing of farm and trustee of his will on his death in 1914, lived at Lune Cottage (renamed Abbots Brow) from 1872 to 1940 when he was obliged to sell it (after 127 yrs as Pearson home) and moved to 6 Main Street, solicitor in family firm of Pearson & Pearson for 57 yrs, author of Annals of Kirkby Lonsdale and Lunesdale in Bygone Days (1930) and The Doings of a Country Solicitor (1947), died in 1954

Pearson, Anthony (1626-1666), quaker; CW2 lxxxiv 99

Pearson, Francis (1752-1838), surgeon, grandson of Thomas Pearson (1689-1770), of Close House, Long Marton, purchased a medical practice in 1780 and left Appleby district to settle in Kirkby Lonsdale as a doctor, enfranchised tenant of Parkhouses, East Stainmore in manor of Brough, 1 May 1827 (CRO, WD/Hoth/xx), purchased Lune Cottage in 1813, which he left to his eldest son John (who left it to AP’s father in 1869), marr (17xx) Ann Bagot, of Gressingham, 3 sons (John Bagot, Alexander and Francis)

Pearson, Francis (17xx-1859), solicitor, known as ‘Old Frank’, ‘The Kirkby Devil’, and the poor man’s lawyer, 3rd son of Francis above, purchased Lune Cottage (now Abbot’s Brow) in 1813, commissioned building of Church Brow Cottage in its grounds in 1830, founded Kirkby Lonsdale firm of Pearson & Pearson, solicitors, in 1820, bought Gressingham Hall in 1844 and Storrs Hall, Arkholme in 1848, kept greyhounds and a stable of fast horses (DCS, 13-15)

Pearson, Sir Francis Fenwick (Frank), 1st Bt (1911-1991), politician, educ Uppingham and Trinity Hall, Cambridge, aide de camp to Lord Linlithgow, Viceroy of India 1936-7, MP Clitheroe, PPS to Sir Alex Douglas Home (1903-1995), chairman of governors of Casterton School from 1973 during change of headmasters (succ by Spencer Crookenden, qv)

Pearson, Hall J. [d.1861], engineer, b. Warwick-on-Eden, son of Andrew and Eleanor Pearson, engineer to the Scinde Railway Company, d. Kurrachee [Karachi?]; tombstone by the apse of St Leonard’s churchyard, Warwick-on-Eden

Pearson, Henry (c.1807), son of Henry Pearson of Carlisle, educ Shrewsbury, author of A Syllabus of Plane and Spherical Trigonometry; Boase, vi 372

Pearson, Revd John (c.1693-1777), clergyman, rector of Castle Carrock for 38 years from 1738, died in 1777, aged 84

Pearson, John (d.1774), attorney, town clerk of Carlisle 1740-1773, proclaiming James III and Prince Charles Stuart on 15 November 1745 on surrender of city to Jacobite army, arrested with the mayor, Joseph Backhouse (qv), by Duke of Cumberland on its recapture and sent in custody to London, but eventually released, alderman of Carlisle 1761-1773, marr (1738) Elizabeth (d.1777), sister and coheir of William Fothergill (1701-1767), of London (qv), son Thomas below

Pearson, John (c.1767-1838), ironmonger, alderman of Kendal Corporation, wife Margaret (buried 16 February 1837, aged 70), of Stricklandgate, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 17 May 1838, aged 71

Pearson, John, tailor, King St Penrith c.1900-1908, advertised as tailor to the W and C Yeomanry; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Pearson, John Henry (d.1887), son of a hotel keeper, Carlisle, apprenticed to a circus for three years and made a great name for himself as a bareback rider in Hengler’s Circus, died Southport; Boase ii 1423

Pearson, Gradwell (fl.late 19thc.), related to John Bagot Pearson of Augill Castle qv, listed at Augill Castle in 1873 and landowner in 1885 [the castle was ‘unoccupied for many years’ till restored in 1896 by owner, J H Jackson, of Moorside, Culgaith (Kelly, 1897), later property and residence of Paul Kester, American playwright (qv), who is said to have purchased estate by cable (Bulmer, 1905), then in occupation of Dr John Abercrombie (qv) by 1906]

Pearson, John Bagot (17xx-18xx), landowner, eldest son of Francis Pearson above, built Augill Castle on part of his Park House estate, near Brough (extensive Gothic castellated mansion) in 1841-42 at cost of over £10,000, resident in 1849-51 and 1858, also owned several small properties in KL district (Biggins Lodge & Lune’s Cottage), eccentric bachelor (DCS, 11-12)

Pearson, John Barrington (1883-1955), OBE, industrialist, born in 1883, son of Richard Pearson, managing director of Messrs Cowans Sheldon, Carlisle, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1942, of Cardew Lodge, Dalston, marr, 1 dau (Joan Leeper Pearson who marr (1951) David Cameron Smail, of Troon)

Pearson, Lawrence and Peter, of The Hope, Brackenthwaite; Lorton History Society, The Wanderer Nov 2022, 27

Pearson, Sir Richard (1731-1806; ODNB), naval officer, born at Langton Hall, near Appleby, in March 1731 and bapt at St Michael’s, Appleby, 8 April, eldest son of large family of Richard and Hannah Pearson, educ Appleby Grammar School (c.1740), entd RN in 1745 on the Dover and joined the Seaford, commanded by his kinsman, Captain Wilson, in the Mediterranean for next three years, then joined the Amazon in 1749, but with little prospect of promotion, took service under East India Company in 1750, was first lieutenant of the Lennox at the capture of Manila in 1762, later returning to England in the Seahorse, recognizance (with John Waller, of Kirkby Stephen and George Newton, of Howgatefoot, Bongate) while Lieutenant in Navy for his appearance at Appleby QS as alleged father of bastard child of Mary Dent, of Appleby, 23 October 1767 (CRO, WQSR/342/22), marr while a lieutenant (28 January 1769, at Appleby St Lawrence, by licence) Margaret (bapt 1744, died at Bath c.1817), dau of Francis Harrison, of Appleby and Bolton, 4 sons and 2 daus [eldest son, Richard Harrison, born at Appleby in September 1769, Rear Admiral, RN, marr Miss Holmes, of Greenwich, 1 dau, and died at Plymouth in 1838; 2nd son served in India and was Governor of Prince of Wales’ Island, marr Caroline, sister of Sir Edmund Lyons, 1 son (Richard Lyons Otway) and 5 daus; and other sons who died young, inc one imprisoned in Verdun for ten years; eldest dau, Mary, marr 1st Mr Higginson (decd) and 2nd Mr Mason, of Dent; his 2nd dau, Hannah Frances, marr Captain Crozier, of West Hill, Isle of Wight, with large family], went out to Jamaica later in 1769 as first lieutenant of the Dunkirk with Commodore Arthur Forrest, who had promised him the first vacancy, but died before one occurred, received an acting order to command the Phoenix in August 1770, but appointment was disallowed by Captain Robert Carkett, though Admiralty took favourable view of Pearson’s claims and promoted him to command the sloop Druid on 29 October 1770, appointed to the Speedwell in January 1773, and later specially advanced to post rank when king reviewed fleet at Spithead on 25 June, appointed to the Garland in 1776, and went out to Quebec in charge of convoy, being detained for service in the St Lawrence for next two years, appointed to command the Serapis in March 1778 and later sent to Baltic with convoy, involved as Commodore in action against John Paul Jones (qv) in September 1779, preserving the Baltic fleet and rewarded with a knighthood, appointed to the Alarm in April 1780 and later commanded the Arethusa, but saw little active service thereafter, retired to Royal Naval Hospital, Greenwich in 1790, where he succ Captain William Locker as Lieutenant-Governor in 1800, and where he died, and buried in churchyard behind Hospital, 5 January 1806 (portrait in possession of his daughter, Mrs Crozier, of West Hill, Isle of Wight, in 1850) (WW, ii, 253-270); specialcollctions.le.ac.uk/digital/collection/p16445coll4/id

Pearson, Thomas, town clerk of Carlisle from 1773, succ father, John Pearson (qv)

Pearson, Thomas Bernard (1907-1987), PhD, Roman Catholic Bishop, born in Preston, 18 January 1907, educ Upholland College, Wigan, and Venerable English College, Rome (PhD at Gregorian University), ordained priest by Cardinal Vicar of Rome, 1 November 1933, returned to England and apptd curate at St Cuthbert’s, Blackpool 1934, then parish priest 1944, founded Catholic Boys’ Association of Blackpool and Achille Ratti Climbing Club in 1942, keen mountaineer in Lake District, consecr Bishop of Sinda and auxiliary bishop of Lancaster, 25 July 1949, moved to Windermere as parish priest of Our Lady & St Herbert in 1967, with pastoral care of Cumbria area of Diocese until his death, also chairman of Hierarchy Commission for Religious Life, with special responsibility for Carmelite Sisters of England, Scotland and Wales (Honorary Carmelite), died 17 November 1987 (LDD 1989, 56)

Pearson, Thomas Wulstan (18xx-1938), OSB, Roman Catholic bishop, first bishop of Lancaster, died 1 December 1938

Pearson, William (1767-1847; ODNB), FRS, JP, astronomer and clergyman, born at Whitbeck, 23 April 1767, 2nd son of William Pearson (1733-1795), yeoman, and Hannah Ponsonby (b.1739), educ Hawkshead Grammar School 1785 (schoolfellow of Wordsworth) and second Assistant in School 1790 (donated book to new library) until moved to Lincoln, admitted sizar at Clare College, Cambridge, 20 June 1793, but doubtful if resident, perpetual curate of Killington 1799-1801, rector of Perivale, Middlesex 1810-1812, rector of South Kilworth, Leics 1817-1847, owner of large private school at Temple Grove, East Sheen, Surrey 1811-1821, where he established an observatory, one of original proprietors of Royal Institution and founders of Astronomical Society of London in 1820, etc. died at South Kilworth, 6 September 1847 and buried in churchyard, 13 September, memorial tablet in church, owned land in Leicestershire, Oxfordshire, Northamptonshire, Warwickshire and Westmorland (had purchased Townend estate, Grasmere, from Birkett for £700, with meadows of the late Mr Briggs for £300, also had land in Loughrigg by side of Rydal Lake, before 1812) which he left to nephew, William Pearson, eldest surv son of his er bro John (TWT, 358-360); his letters and journals edited by his widow; his mss at Dove Cottage and Kendal Museum

Pearson, William (1780-1856), yeoman farmer, naturalist and author, born at Low Yews, Crosthwaite, 9 October 1780 and bapt 5 November, eldest of six sons and three daughters of John Pearson, of Yews, yeoman, and Anne (died 1842, aged 88), his wife, dau of Thomas Little, of Branton [sic], Cumberland, educ Crosthwaite and Underbarrow schools, encouraged early on by his father’s interest in scientific matters and by books at home or borrowed from Kendal book club, had varied career as teacher, private tutor, grocer’s assistant, bank clerk and farmer, saved enough money from his 17 years spent working at offices of Messrs Jones, Fox & Co, King Street, Manchester, to purchase the Borderside estate, returned to Crosthwaite in 1820 to write essays and articles about country life, folklore, philosophy and poetry, campaigned on issues such as repeal of Corn Laws, game laws and the Married Women’s Property Act, planted over 300 new fruit trees (apples, pears and plums) at Borderside, interest in farming and horticulture led him to write articles for Kendal Natural History Society and to meet William and Dorothy Wordsworth, with whom he formed a lasting friendship, through Ann Relph, dau of Tobias and Dorothy Atkinson, of Spout House, and a friend of Dorothy Wordsworth, helped Wordsworths with farming matters, exchanging letters on natural history and poetry, also went fell walking with them around Rydal, built new house at Borderside for his wife in 1840s in style favoured by Wordsworth (with ‘a goodly row of chimneys with pretty round tops on square pedestals, the only specimens yet in Crosthwaite of the revived good old fashion’), marr (5 May 1842, at St Martin’s, Bowness-on-Windermere, by licence) Anne (died 5 March 1877, aged 80), dau of John Greenhow (qv), manufacturer, of Low House, at age of 61, making him brother-in-law of Mrs Edward Hawkes (qv), wife of Unitarian Minister in Kendal, followed Wordsworths’ honeymoon itinerary of Italy and Switzerland, before moving into new house in 1848 (old farmhouse at Borderside continued to be tenanted until it was demolished in 1990s), listed as a congregational member pledging £20 in dispute with Scotch Seceders (31 December 1838) and also as a congregational subscriber to Kendal Market Place Chapel restoration appeal in 1845, author of Papers, Letters and Journals (edited by his widow (1863), reprinted 199?), died at Borderside, Crosthwaite, 15 December 1856, aged 76, and buried in Crosthwaite churchyard, 19 December (bust by Thomas Duckett (qv) in St Mary’s church, Crosthwaite, erected in 1857; brass plaque), succ at Borderside by his nephew Thomas, with descendants still in occupation (CCL, 110-111; WoK, 168; ONK, 417, 526)

Pearson, William (1780-1856), banker, writer and farmer; b. Crosthwaite; Letters, Papers and Journals ed. Anne Pearson 1863 and repr. c.2005

Pearson, William (1826-1909), soldier and skinner, b. Penrith, veteran of Crimea, trooper in ‘the Charge of the Light Brigade’, nursed by Florence Nightingale and survived, died Kendal, buried Parkside cemetery; Andrew G. Stables, Secret Kendal, 2017; blue plaque on house in Penrith, medals in Penrith Museum; letters survive, see elegy written William Hetherington q.v.

Peart, Thomas Frederick (1914-1988), Baron Peart of Workington, politician, MP for Workington 1945-1976, son of Emerson Featherstone Peart, headmaster and Durham county councillor, qualified as a teacher at Durham university, Royal Artillery in 2nd WW, elected member for Workington 1945, later shadow leader of the House of Lords, created life peer 1976

Peascod, Bill (1920-1985), artist, b. Maryport, worked in Australia, married a Japanese wife, studio in Cumberland; Chris Wadsworth, Hercules and the Farmer’s Wife, 7-32

Pease, Gurney (1839-1872), merchant, born at Darlington, 28 February 1839, 5th son of 12 children of Joseph Pease, MP (1799-1872), of Southend, Darlington, and his wife Emma (1800-1860), dau of Joseph Gurney, of Norwich, marr (23 April 1863, at FMH Kendal) Katherine (born 7 October 1840 at Kendal, died 15 April 1915 in London), dau of John Jowitt Wilson (qv), of Kent Terrace, Kendal, both had portrait photographs taken by J Henry Hogg (qv) at Woodside (in Scalthwaiterigg) in 1863, 3 sons and 2 daus (inc Katherine Maria (1866-1935), wife of William Scoresby Routledge, and a noted anthropolgist), all of whom were born in Darlington, teacher in Friends first-day School in Darlington, started Bible class for ironworkers in town in 1866, often spoke at Mission meetings, active in local auxiliary of Bible Society and in work of Mechanics’ Institute, moved to Walworth Castle north-west of Darlington in 1872 for health reasons, died at Malvern, 10 June 1872, aged 33

Pease, Philip Ivan (1900-1964), landowner, born 27 July 1900, elder son of Reginald Pease, of Sledwich Hall, Barnard Castle, co Durham [see BLG, Pease, of Middleton Tyas], educ Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge, Major, Northumberland Hussars Yeo, marr (11 December 1925) Doris Madeline (born 30 May 1904, died 1993), er dau of Major Hubert Francis Crichton (qv), 2 sons (Nigel Crichton (born 8 September 1934, marr (1963) Ailsa Smith-Maxwell, 1 dau, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1967, now of Sledwich) and Simon Philip (born 27 January 1945, marr (1979) Mrs S Clementine Hebeler (Patron of Lunesdale Agricultural Society since xx and president in 1982), 1 son, now of Underley Grange, formerly Lowfields, Barbon, president of Lunesdale Agricultural Society in 2000 and host of its annual show in Underley Park) and 3 daus, succ to Underley Hall Estates, Kirkby Lonsdale, on death of Lady Henry Cavendish-Bentinck in 1939 (Underley Hall sold), died 7 November 1964

Peat, Dr Anthony (d.1881), surgeon, son of John Peat and Mary Flecther of Salmon Hall, Seaton, active in Workington he was especially concerned for the health of the poor, his surgery was at 11 Portland Square, Workington, genial and witty, a great supporter of the Mechanics’ Institute, great work during the cholera epidemics of 1847 and 1866, his memorial obelisk in Portland Square, Workington, records ‘his life, an incessant toil for the relief of human suffering’, crowds turned out for the unveiling with bands and speeches,

Pedder, Brian (19xx-2017), clergyman, marr (19xx) Margaret (decd), died at Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle, 25 December 2017, aged 79, and buried in Kilmun cemetery, Argyll, with memorial service at St Mary’s Church, Wigton, 13 January 2018 (CN, 5.1.2018)

Peel, John (1776-1854; ODNB), huntsman, born at Park End, near Caldbeck, 13 November 1776, and bapt 24 September 1777, son of William Peel (d.1828, aged 76), farmer and horse dealer, and Lettice Scott (d.1840, aged 89), (as he farmed chickens and pigs he was known sometimes as ‘Cock and Bacon Peel’), in 1797 eloped to Gretna with Mary White (died 9 August 1859, aged 82), of Uldale, here they were married without her parents’ consent, but subsequently the union was solemnized at Caldbeck church on 18 December 1797 with their approval, 7 sons and 6 daus (only one, Jonathan, dying young, 21 January 1806, aged 2), maintained pack of hounds at his own expense at Caldbeck for 55 years, became famous through song ‘D’ye ken John Peel’, written impromptu by his friend, John Woodcock Graves (qv), presented with sum of money by his friends and neighbours in acknowledgement of his long services, died at Ruthwaite, probably from an injury while hunting, 13 November 1854, aged 78, and buried in Caldbeck churchyard (headstone ornamented with his hunting horn), [son, John, died 22 November 1887, aged 90; son, Peter, died 15 November 1840, aged 27; and dau, Mary Davidson, died 30 November 1863, aged 48]; Thurnham’s calendars feature him; Melvyn Bragg, John Peel, Man, Myth and Song, 1976

Peel, Roger (fl.early to mid 16thc.), the last abbot of Furness Abbey, he seems to have played his cards well and was later the vicar of Dalton-in-Furness

Peel, William George (1854-1916), DD, clergyman, educ Kirkby Lonsdale Grammar School, first Bishop of Mombasa 1899

Peile, John (1776-1855), JP, colliery manager, chief colliery agent to Lord Lonsdale for 37 yrs, trustee of Whitehaven town and harbour for 45 yrs, began career at Whitehaven as boy of 15 in 1791, viewer at Whingill Colliery till apptd general manager of Whitehaven Collieries after dismissal of John Bateman (qv) in 1811, retiring in 1847, died in 1855; monument in St James’s church, Whitehaven (WCC,116-119, 129-153)

Peile, Joseph (1685-1790), mariner, of Woodside, Bridekirk, where he died, 18 November 1790, aged 106 (CW2, lxxix, 148-149)

Peile, Thomas Williamson (1806-1882; ODNB), clergyman, b Whitehaven

Pelham, Herbert Sidney (1881-1944), MA, suffragan bishop, born 25 June 1881, yr son of Henry Francis Pelham (1846-1907), FBA, FSA, president of Trinity College, Oxford, and Camden Professor of Ancient History (eldest son of Right Revd John Thomas Pelham, Bishop of Norwich, and grandson of 2nd Earl of Chichester) and Laura Priscilla, 3rd dau of Sir Edward Buxton, 2nd Bt, his wife, educ Harrow and University College, Oxford (MA), head of Oxford Mission in Bermondsey 1905-1907, head of Birmingham Street Children Union 1907-1912, domestic chaplain to bishop of Birmingham, Dr Russell Wakefield 1912-1914, head of Harrow Mission and vicar of Holy Trinity, Latimer Road 1914-1916, vicar of Barking 1916-1926, rector of Aldingham, Ulverston 1926-1944, bishop Suffragan of Barrow-in-Furness 1926-1944, hon canon of Carlisle 1937-1944, author of The Training of a Working Boy, unmarried, died 11 March 1944; CWAAS xv 1899, R.Watson, Mitred Men of Cumbria

Pellin, Andrew (fl.1688-1707), surveyor, Whitehaven; CW2 lxxxvi 163

Pemberton, Nick (d.2019), teacher and writer, taught creative writing at the University of Cumbria, wrote poetry, comic strips, TV annuals, paperback novels, plays for stage and radio, lived at Stanwix, Carlisle, his posthumous collection Eat the Peach (2021) was edited by his partner Francesca
Halfacree

Pemberton-Pigott, Alan Desmond Frederick [1917-1972] civil servant and landowner, b. Fawe Park, Keswick, son of Maj-Gen Alan John Keefe Pemberton-Pigott, worked at the Foreign Office, m. Miranda Caroline Tallents dau of Sir Stephen George Tallents (1884-1958), civil servant

Pendragon, Uther, see Uther

Penn, Arthur William (1922-2008), clergyman and antiquary, educ University of Manchester (BA 1949) and Wycliffe Hall, Oxford, d 1951 and p 1952 (Chester), curate of Bowdon 1951-1953 and of Alston with Garrigill 1953-1956, vicar of Kirkdale with Nawton 1956-1967, vicar of Brampton 1967-1983, priest-in-charge of Gilsland with Over and Nether Denton 1975-1981, rural dean of Brampton 1974-83, inc of Rockcliffe and Blackford 1983-1988, hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral 1978-1988, authority on stained glass of Carlisle Cathedral and St Martin’s, Brampton (Burne-Jones), retired in 1988 to 1 Well Lane, Warton, near Carnforth, member of CWAAS, author of Brampton Church and its Windows (1983) and  St Martin’s: The Making of a Masterpiece (2008), died 26 February 2008

Penn, Stephen (fl. early 18thc.), artist, little work survives but it is of great interest, Thurston Water (Whitworth, Manchester),  Piel Island (Huntington Museum, Los Angeles)

Penn, William (1644-1718; ODNB), Quaker leader, visited Swarthmoor Hall, went to America in 1676 and was the founder of Pennsylvania

Pennant, Thomas (1726-1798; ODNB), antiquary and travel writer, visited Furness Abbey, Coniston, Rydal, Keswick and Cockermouth; author of A Tour in Scotland 1769 (1771; fourth edition 1776); Bicknell, 27-8, Christopher Mitchell, In the Footsteps of Thomas Pennant

Pennington of Seaton; CW2 xi 167-184

Pennington, Bridget, master apothecary, signed up an apprentice; CW3 xv 172

Pennington, David Jackson (18xx-19xx), JP, mayor of Kendal, educ Friends’ School, Stramongate, Kendal, mayor of Kendal 19xx, Deputy Mayor 1924-25, and alderman, office at Aynam Lodge, Kendal, of 2 Fair Bank, Kendal (1886), abode at Holly Bank, Levens (1912, 1925), dead by 1929

Pennington, Gamel de (temp. Henry II), est Conishead Priory in 1160 for a community of Augustinian black canons to support ‘the poor and decrepit and leprous of the Ulverston area’, also gave land to Cartmel Priory

Pennington, Sir Gamel Augustus, 4th baron Muncaster, 8th baronet (1831-1862), BA, born at Warter Priory, 3 December 1831 and bapt at Muncaster, 31 July 1832, eldest of four sons of 3rd Baron (qv), whom he succ as 4th Baron in 1838, educ Eton 1845-1849 and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1853), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1859, marr (2 August 1855, at St George’s, Hanover Square, London) Jane Louisa Octavia Grosvenor (born 29 August 1834 marr 2nd (3 October 1863) Hugh Barlow Lindsay (died 13 April 1913) and died 13 July 1921), 8th dau of 2nd Marquess of Westminster, 1 dau (Margaret Susan Elizabeth, died 8 July 1871, aged 11), died s.p.m. of gastric fever at Castellamare, near Naples, 13 June 1862, aged 30, and buried at Muncaster, 29 July

Pennington, Sir Isaac (1745-1817; ODNB), physician and chemist, baptized Colton, educ Sedbergh and St John’s Cambridge, physician at Addenbrooks hospital Cambridge, then regius professor of physic

Pennington, James (1777-1862; ODNB), writer on currency and banking

Pennington, Job (‘Joby’) (1824-1897), lay preacher, born on High Fellside, Kendal in 1824, lost his mother to cholera at age of ten, then removed to workhouse, his only education, went as a farm servant to High House, Crook, then to Martindales at Holmescales, and later as a labourer on Lancaster Carlisle Railway, lodging with widow Troughton and marr (1852) her dau, Hannah, dau of Robert and sister of Bobby Troughton (qv), 1 son (Robert Troughton, qv), then followed occupation as quarryman, keeping his Sundays free for foulmart and polecat hunting and long rambles on the fells, spending Saturday nights in a shepherd’s bield for an early start with his otter hounds, underwent a spiritual conversion after a vision when out hunting one Sunday morning and converted in chapel at Frosterley, co Durham, in 1863, worshipping there with his wife until he returned to Kendal, made his base in upper room of old cottage at top of Sepulchre Lane, known as the ‘Old Mission’, illiterate, but tireless preacher with his own inimitable style, unstinting in his charity, died in May 1897; Memorial Mission Chapel on Low Fellside, built by his son and opened December 1899 (‘Fellside in Bygone Days’ article in The Kendal News, 7 December 1939, in CRO, WDFC/M2/118-121)

Pennington, Sir John (d.1470), senior, knight, died 6 July 1470, IPM at Givendale, near Pocklington, co York, 20 February 1504; see Sir John below

Pennington, Sir John (d.1512), junior, knight, er son of John Pennington, who predeceased his father, Sir John Pennington, senior (qv), of Muncaster, and of his wife Elizabeth (fl.1482), dau of Sir Nicholas Radcliffe (qv), of Derwentwater, said by jury at his grandfather’s IPM in 1504 to have intruded and received all issues and profits of lands from time of his grandfather’s death in 1470 without livery from king, for which he was pardoned by letters patent of 2 July 1505, marr (15 October 1472, at Beverley) Joane (twice related in third degree; died at Muncaster, 13 October 1507), dau of Sir William Eure, of Witton Castle, and widow of Sir Robert Ogle, 3 sons and 4 daus, served in vanguard of English army led by Richard Duke of Gloucester on invasion of Scotland in 1482 and made knight banneret by earl of Northumberland on 24 July 1482, made agreement with James Leyburn (qv) of Cunswick for marriage between his dau Margaret, widow of John Lamplugh, and Thomas, son and heir app of said James, 8 February 2 Hen VII [1487] (RK, I, 362), apptd to Commission of Peace for Cumberland, 30 November 1509 and 12 May 1510, apptd Sheriff of Cumberland, 9 November 1510, ^^^^ made will dated at Muncaster, 4 May 1505 (ackd 1 June 1510), died at Muncaster, 3 May 1512, IPM at Penrith, 26 August 1518 [details]  (Penn, 31-40)

Pennington, Sir John (c.1568-1646), admiral, related to Penningtons of Muncaster Castle, served with Sir Walter Raleigh (1552-1618; ODNB),; portrait there by Jonson [Cornelius Jansen ?]

Pennington, Sir John, 3rd Bt (d.1768), MP, Lord Lieutenant of Westmorland 1750-1768, MP for Cumberland 1745-1768, died unmarried

Pennington, Sir John, 1st baron Muncaster, 5th baronet (1737/41-1813; ODNB), politician, born 1737, eldest son of Sir Joseph Pennington, 4th Bt (qv), educ Winchester School (adm 1754), entd Army 1756, Major 1766, retiring as Colonel, had ‘misunderstanding’ with Governor of Isle of Man in 1766 (Cal HO Papers, 1766-69, nos 76, 96), marr (26 September 1778, at St James’s, Westminster) Penelope (died as result of a fall, 15 November 1806, aged 62, and buried at Copgrove, Yorks), dau and heir of James Compton, 1 son (Gamel, born 1 July 1780, died 9 February 1788) and 1 dau (Maria Margaret Frances (1783-1850), wife of James, 24th Earl of Crawford and 7th Earl of Balcarres, qv), cr Baron Muncaster in peerage of Ireland [king refusing to make additions to British peerage], 21 October 1783, v.p., with special remainder to his brother, General Lowther Pennington (qv), enabling him to continue sitting in Commons, succ his father as 5th Bt in 1793, MP for Milborne Port 1781-1796 (sitting as a Whig until 1783, thereafter supporting Pitt), for Colchester 1796-1802 and for Westmorland 1806-1813, corresponded extensively with William Wilberforce, author of Historical Sketches of the Slave Trade and its Effects in Africa (1792), largely rebuilt Muncaster Castle, improved park by planting thousands of trees and stocked it with best breeds of cattle, died s.p.m.s. at Muncaster, 8 October 1813, aged 76, and buried there, 15 October, will dated 11 April 1812 and proved January 1814 (MI)

Pennington, John (b.1828), ferryman, licensee and pilot, born Sunderland, married Ann (b.1837), lived at the Ship Inn Piel (would probably have been crowned ‘the King of Piel’on being granted the license), son John marr Mary Jones of Holyhead (1862-1935) but   drowned at Piel on 13 Dec 1895, he lived at the hotel on Roa Island; Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones website

Pennington, Sir Joseph, killed in a duel; CW2 lxiv 388

Pennington, Sir Joseph, 4th Bt (1718-1793), yr brother of Sir John Pennington, 3rd Bt (qv), whom he succ in 1768, marr (1739) Sarah (d.1783), dau and heir of John Moore, apothecary, of Bath, sons, died 3 February 1793

Pennington, Sir Josslyn Francis, 1st baron Muncaster (UK) and 5th baron Muncaster, 9th baronet (1834-1917), FSA, DL, JP, landowner and politician, born in Hamilton Place, Piccadilly, London, 25 December 1834 and bapt at Muncaster, 17 June 1835, 3rd of four sons of 3rd baron (qv), educ Eton 1848-1850,  entd Army and served in Crimea with 90th L I 1854-1855, in both assaults and storming party on Redan on 8 September 1855 (medal and clasp, and Turkish medal), Capt of 90th Foot 1856 and Capt Rifle Brigade 1857, hon Colonel of 5th Bn Border Regt (Territorials), succ brother as 5th baron in 1862, captured with his wife and others by Greek brigands in 1870 and four of party killed before ransom arrived, Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland 1876-1917, MP (Conservative) for West Cumberland 1872-1880 and for Egremont 1885-1892, director of Furness Railway Company from 1890 and succ Duke of Devonshire as chairman in 1916, but resigned in following year, cr baron Muncaster of Muncaster in peerage of UK, 11 June 1898, estates of 5,811 acres worth £2,629 a year (1883), member of CWAAS from 1874, vice-president by 1875 and Patron 1882 (first under new rule), invited Society to visit Muncaster Castle in 1881, actively promoted excavation of Hardknott Roman Fort in 1889-1892 by granting free permission and defraying expenses of workmen employed, elected FSA 23 March 1893, opened new Nelson School for boys at Wigton on 11 October 1898, marr (9 April 1863, at Maltby, co York) Constance Ann (born in October 1839, died 13 July 1917, aged 77, and buried, 17 July), yr dau of Edmund L’Estrange, of Tynte Lodge, co Leitrim, no issue, last of male Penningtons of Muncaster, died at Muncaster Castle, 30 March 1917, and buried in churchyard adjoining Castle, 3 April, will proved July 1917

Pennington, Sir Lowther, 2nd baron Muncaster, 6th baronet (1745-1818), General, born 1745, yr son of Sir Joseph Pennington, 4th Bt (qv), entd Army, fought duel with Capt Hon John Tollemache, commander of HMS Zebra after disembarking at New York in September 1777 in a quarrel over a sonnet written by him reflecting on wit of Tollemache’s wife, receiving seven wounds but killing Tollemache (Morning Post, 14.11.1777), Major-General 1793, Lieut-General 1799, General 1808, Colonel of 4th Royal Veteran Bn from 1806 until his death, succ his elder brother as 2nd baron Muncaster by special remainder and as 6th baronet in 1813, marr (13 January 1802) Esther (died at Curzon Street, Mayfair, 7 October 1827; admon June 1838), widow of James Morrison, Capt, 58th Foot, and 2nd dau of Thomas Barry, of Clapham, Surrey, 1 son (Lowther Augustus John, qv), died in Grosvenor Place, London, 29 July 1818, aged 73, and buried in St George’s, Hanover Square, London, will proved 1818 (PCC)

Pennington, Sir Lowther Augustus John, 3rd baron Muncaster, 7th baronet (1802-1838), born 14 December 1802, only son of 2nd baron (qv), educ Eton c.1811-1814, succ father as 3rd baron in 1818, marr (15 December 1828, at Brotherton, Yorks) Frances Catherine (born 3 June 1806, died 30 January 1853 and buried at Warter, 1 February), 4th and yst dau of Sir John Ramsden, 4th baronet, of Byrom, co York, 4 sons (1 d.inf) and 3 daus (1 d.inf), died at Green Park Hotel, Piccadilly, London, 30 April 1838, aged 35, and buried at Warter, co York, 15 May (MI), will proved June 1838

Pennington, Mona Louise (fl.1946-1974), MBE, JP, local councillor, Westmorland County Councillor for Strickland (Southern) Division of Kendal (to March 1974), Kendal Borough councillor for Highgate Ward from 1946, JP for Kendal Borough

Pennington, Richard (18xx-19xx), admitted honorary freeman of borough of Kendal on 28 October 1901

Pennington, Robert, gentleman, his son David Fawcett died at Hollins, Hutton i’th’ Hay, and buried at Kendal, 2 September 1840, aged 27

Pennington, Robert Troughton (1858-1916), builder, born 11 March 1858, marr (18xx) Harriet (died at 4 Town View, Windermere Road, Kendal, 29 January 1944, aged 84, and buried at Parkside cemetery, 1 February), died at Stonedene, 28 Windermere Road, Kendal, 29 November 1916, aged 58, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 2 December, after service at Job Pennington Memorial Mission Hall (copy photo and papers in CRO, WDFC/M2/118-121)

Pennington, Thomas Frederick (1853-1917), ARIBA, architect, born in Kendal 1853, eldest son of James Pennington, grocer and Italian warehouseman, of Highgate, and his wife Margaret, committed student of Kendal Science and Art School, trained in office of Stephen Shaw from October 1867, awarded Queen’s silver medal for work submitted to South Kensington Science and Art Department c.1870, moved to London in August 1875 and joined staff of Alfred Waterhouse, of London, ARIBA 1884, retiring from practice in 1904, plans included a Town Hall design 1903, McNeil Street municipal building 1904, clock tower design 1905, Kendal Library 1907-08 (opened 1909), marr (1882) Anna Maria, 3 children, in failing health before died in Hounslow, Middlesex, 15 April 1917, aged 64 (CRO, WDX 1473; WSMB/K; WG)

Pennington, William (fl.mid 18thc.), of Kendal, inventor of machine for wire carding, which superseded hand teasing of wool by teasels, in 1751, holes were made in pieces of leather and wires threaded through; RL Hills, Power in the Industrial Revolution, 1970

Pennington, William (17xx-1815), printer and bookseller, Alderman of Kendal, removed shop from beneath ‘Rose and Crown’ in 1800 to 8 Stricklandgate, Kendal, where he died in 1815 (KK, 270)

Pennington, William, bookseller, appointed librarian to Kendal Library, vacant by death of Mrs Mayne, 8 August 1829 (LC, 78)

Pennington, William Fulton (18xx-19xx), JP, quarry owner and local councillor, mayor of Kendal 1943-1944 and 1944-1945 and 1951, elected borough councillor (Highgate ward) 25 May 1938, honorary freeman of borough of Kendal (confirmed 20 May 1963), had strong Sabbatarian views, of ‘Foxdale’, Underbarrow Road, Kendal

Pennington, William Fulton Richard (fl. mid to late 20thc.), local councillor, Westmorland county councillor for Fell (Western) Division of Kendal (to March 1974)

Pennington, Winifred Anne (1915-2007; ODNB), botanist and paleolimnologist, born Barrow, dau of Albert Roger Pennington (1882-1967) and Margaret Elliot (1882-1965) of Park Avenue (1939) and later Coniston, post office supervisor, worked Ferry House, b. Barrow, m. Professor Thomas Gaskell Tutin (1908-1987), Leicester University, author of The History of British Vegetation (1969) and The Lake District: A Landscape History (1974) (with William Pearsal),  d. Basingstoke

Pennington-Ramsden, see Ramsden

Penny family of Penny Bridge House

Penny, John (d.1520; ODNB), bishop of Bangor and Carlisle; CW1 xiii 59

Penny, John (d.1799), merchant, of Arrad Foot and Liverpool, slave ship owner and vocal anti-abolitionist, Penny Lane in Liverpool may have been named after him, marr Ann Cooper, in 1788 a government enquiry into the slave trade was set in train and he was a prominent Liverpool representative, he argued that abolition would destroy the trade of Liverpool, dau Jane (perhaps b Ulverston) marr John Wilson (‘Christopher North’) (qv)

Pennyfeather , John (b.c.1757-after 1838), gardener, found as a baby on the doorstep of Whitehaven castle holding a penny in one hand and a feather in the other, named by the Lonsdales, trained by the family as a gardener, in time head gardener at the castle , said to be skilled with camelias, his portrait by George Sheffield (The Beacon, Whitehaven) includes this flower

Penrice, Thomas (19xx-19xx), schoolmaster, bought Harecroft Hall Preparatory School, Gosforth fromWilliam Dunlop, and headmaster of Harecroft Hall 1965-1992, closed in 2008 (e-book by Ruth Mansergh, 2017))

(Penrith St Andrew’s churchyard) epitaph i (to whom): The spider’s most attenuated Thread, Is Cord, is Cable, to Man’s, Tender tie on Earthly Bliss –It breaks at every Breeze From William Andrews Epitaphs (1883 rpr 1899)

(Penrith St Andrew’s churchyard) epitaph ii (to which soldier): HALT, Billeted here by Death, And here We must remain, Till the trumpet sounds, Then (We’ll) Rise and March again. From William Andrews Epitaphs (1883 rpr 1899)

Penruddock family of Arkleby until the 17thc, daughters married into the Musgrave and Braithwaite families, some settled in Wiltshire, others migrated to Ireland and to the USA

Penruddock family, named after the village, Thomas Penruddock (c.1578-1637) MP for Downton and later Cumberland, lived Compton Chamberlayne, Wiltshire

Penruddock, Col John (1619-1655) of Compton Chamberlayne, Wilts, cavalier in the civil war, member of the Sealed Knot, determined to replace Charles II on the throne (Charles I having been been executed in 1649) and leader of the Penruddock uprising, defeated by Capt Unton Crook and captured, beheaded at Exeter; it appears that one member of the Sealed Knot was a double agent reporting to John Thurloe (1616-1668) spymaster to Cromwell

Penruddock, Robert (c.1510-1579), of Hale, Hants, left by will of 1579 his Cumberland and Westmorland estates to his nephew, John Penruddock (1540-1601), son of Anthony Penruddock

Penruddock, Sir Thomas (c.1577-1628), son of John Penruddock above, of Arkleby

Pepi, Mary, countess of Rossetti (1849-1915), wife of Rino Pepe (qv) (her second husband)

Pepi, Rino (1872-1927), quick change artist and theatre entrepreneur; ran theatres in Barrow, Blackpool, Carlisle, Birmingham, Middlesborough, Bishop Auckland and Darlington, given a diamond scarf pin by Queen Victoria; buried in Barrow; Rod White, Furness Stories behind the Stones, n.7, 2015; Chris Lloyd, Of Fish and Actors, 2007

Peploe, Samuel, bishop of Chester (1667-1752; ODNB), bap Dawley Parva, Salop, son of Podmore Peploe, educ Jesus College, Cambridge, rector Kedleston, Derbyshire, vicar Preston

Pepper, Elizabeth, nee Heskett (18xx-19xx), spinster, wife of Alfred Pepper

Pepperell, Albert James (1922-1986), rugby league player, b. Seaton, Workington, brother of George and Stanley (qqv)

Pepperell, George Russell (1918-2003), rugby league player, b. Seaton, Workington, brother of above

Pepperell, Stanley Vincent (1914-1985), rugby league player, b. Seaton, Workington, brother of Albert, above

Pepys, Samuel (1633-1703; ODNB), diarist, dined with bishop William Nicholson of Carlisle (qv), probably in London; is there a ref in the diaries ?

Percival, Bishop John (1834-1918; ODNB), headmaster and cleric, son of a statesman William Percival, born Burgh Sowerby, Kirkby Stephen, an orphan, he lived on his uncle’s farm, educ Appleby GS and Queen’s, headmaster Clifton College, assisted in the foundation of Clifton school for girls in 1877, university college Bristol 1876 (later Bristol university) and Somerville college Oxford, required the boys at Clifton to wear shorts with elastication at the knees, hence he was dubbed ‘Percival of the knees’

Percy, Edward (1841-1865), a diplomat, sister of Jane Percy (qv), died after being mauled by a black Deccan bear; his letters published 1865

Percy, Henry (1564-1632; ODNB), 9th earl Northumberland,  son of 8th earl (c.1532-1585), ‘the wizard earl’ so called as he was an enthusiastic natural philosopher and alchemist, had a large library, built Percy House, Cockermouth with fine heraldic plasterwork, miniature portrait by Hilliard

Percy, Hugh (1784-1856; ODNB), MA, DD, bishop of Carlisle 1827-1856 and of Rochester 1827, dean of Canterbury 1825-1827, first president of Cumberland Infirmary, died at Rose Castle, 5 February 1856 and buried in Dalston parish churchyard

Percy, Jane Hermione (1832-1909), married Frederick Ulric Graham 5th Bt. of Netherby, her brother Edward Percy (1841-1865) (qv), died after being mauled by a black Deccan bear

Percy, Thomas, 1st earl of Egremont (1422-1460; ODNB), born at the Percy manor of Leconfield (Y), son of Henry Percy 2nd earl of Northumberland and his wife Eleanor Neville, dau of Ralph Neville, 1st earl of Westmorland, a leading figure in the internecine Percy-Neville feud, Egremont fought for the king and died at the battle of Northampton

Percy, Thomas (1560-1605; ODNB), conspirator, yr son of Edward Percy (c.1524-1590), of Beverley, and grandson of Josceline Percy (d.1532), 4th son of Henry Percy, 4th Earl of Northumberland, educ Peterhouse, Cambridge (matric 1579), made career in service of his cousin, Henry Percy, 9th Earl of Northumberland, who apptd him constable of Alnwick Castle, pugnacious and ruthless despite conversion to Catholicism, apptd receiver of earl’s rents in Cumberland and Northumberland in 1603, involved in Gunpowder plot in 1605 and was killed with Robert Catesby in a last stand at Holbeach House, Staffs, on 8 November 1605

Percy, Thomas (1729-1811; ODNB), MA, DD, church of Ireland bishop and writer, born at Bridgnorth, Shropshire, 13 April 1729, son of Arthur Lowe Percy (d.1764), grocer and tobacconist, marr (24 April 1758) Anne Gutteridge (died 1806), of Desborough, Northants, 1 son and 5 daus, chaplain to George III, dean of Carlisle 1778-1782, bishop of Dromore 1782-1811, editor of The Reliques of Ancient English Poetry (1765), which promoted revival of interest in older English poetry, died at bishop’s residence at Dromore, 30 September 1811; influential source of ideas for artists in the 18thc., including George Romney (qv)

Perfect, Cyril Percy Absell, said to be the son of an organist Westminster Abbey (is this correct?), marr Beatrice Edith Maud Reecem (qv), medium and psychic, lived Bouth near Ulverston in the 1940s, moved to Birmingham to lecture in music at St Peter’s Coll of Educ, Saltley, Birmingham, father of Christine McVie (qv) of Fleetwood Mac

Perring, Charles A (18xx-1xxx), clergyman, vicar of St James, Whitehaven, intent on building improved facilities for reading and recreation of labouring men, also set up Ragged Schools to offer educational classes to young and poor, involved in Whitehaven Industrial Exhibition of 1866 (WN, 08.08.2016)

Perring, Robert (17xx-18xx), newspaper proprietor, editor of the Carlisle Patriot, Lowther Street, Carlisle (1828/29) and proprietor of the Cumberland Pacquet (editor of latter in 1828 was Robert Gibson), it was said that he faithfully served the Lord, ‘not above, but of Lowther Castle’ (KC, 12 January 1828), involved in libel case v. Lough at Westmorland Assizes in March 1828 (KC had published report in Pacquet that Whitehaven Mechanics’ Institution was defunct, with rhyming couplet:

            ‘Here LIES honest Patriot – Pacquet – Perring,

             As mute, if not as dead, as any herring’ (LC, 73)

Perry, Jeffrey Harold (1948-2012), actor, b. Barrow-in-Furness, educ Guildhall School of Music and Drama, worked Royal Exchange, Manchester, best known as Mr Tumnus in The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe (1988), director of  Not the National Theatre with whom he played Sigmund Freud in Hysteria (2000)

Pether, William Sr (fl.1763-1781), organ builder, born Carlisle, son of Samuel Pether, a seaman (originally of St Olave’s parish, Southwark) and his wife Margaret, apprenticed to John Thresher, organ builder (in Oxford?), established his own business in St Giles in the Fields by 1763 (Mortimer’s Directory), father of William Jr, died Brownlow St, London, his will dated 6 April 1781 is at Kew

Pether, William Jr (c.1738-1821; ODNB), artist and engraver, born Carlisle, father William (d.1781) an organ builder (qv), pupil of Thomas Fayre in London, he was a cousin of the artist Abraham Pether (ODNB)

Petillius Cerialis (30-83 AD), crushed the Brigantes after 71 AD and the legions entered Cumbria; W. Rollinson, History of C and W, 19; DCA Shotter, Petillius Cerealis in North Britain, 2013, online

Pettigrew, William Frank (18xx-19xx), MICE, MIME, locomotive engineer, formerly with London & South-Western and Great Eastern Railways, apptd locomotive, wagon and carriage superintendent of Furness Railway in 1896 (succ Mr Mason, who had retired after nearly 50 years’ service with Company), faced with task of designing bigger locomotives and improving coaching stock, increasingly heavy traffic on joint lines of Cleator district required engines specially designed for heavy gradients and sharp curves (first three powerful 0-6-2 tanks appeared in 1898), evolved series of new 0-6-0 tender engines to cope with Lindal Bank gradients and curves of main FR line (put into traffic in 1899), also gave old ‘Sharpies’ a new lease of life by fitting new and larger steel boilers so they could work secondary goods trains all over system, his later versions of 0-6-0 mineral class worked all heavier trains to and from Barrow and Carnforth, and also did Furness share of Tebay coke traffic, bulk of goods and mineral traffic being handled by 15 large-boilered 0-6-0s by end of 1920, with passenger duties shared by new 4-4-0s, resp for introducing letters ‘F.R.’ on tender sides of engines, (succ by D L Rutherford in 1920), of Risedale, Abbey Road, Barrow (FR, 68, 76, 85) (Risedale became the local maternity hospital and is now a care home)

Pettitt, Alfred George (18xx-18xx), photographer and artist, one of earliest Lakeland photographers, established his Fine Art Gallery of the Lake District and the Derwentwater Portrait & Landscape Photographic Establishment in St John Street, Keswick, in 1854, where he exhibited paintings in oils and water colours for sale as well as photographs (4 series of Lake District were largest and most complete published, as of 1879), GP Abraham qv trained with him, retired or died between 1883 and 1894, when son? H Collis Pettitt was photographer in St John Street

Pettitt, Charles (or Joseph), artist, stayed in a wooden hut beside Yew Tree Tarn, a body of water stocked with trout created by John Marshall by damming Yew Tree beck in 1930s

Pettitt, George H. (1905-1930), artist

Petty family, bankers Ulverston

Petty, George Shaw (1890-1872), banker and shipbuilder, in partnership with William Postlethwaite (1799-1853), built Westmorland, a snow of 112 tons (1816) Captain J Neale, Peruvian, a brig of 218 tons (1822), Fame, a trader (1825), Arrow (1828), Neptune (1839), Red Diamond (1840) and many others; Jennifer Snell, Ulverston Canal, 33ff

Pharoah, Thermoutis (b.1897), dau of John Pharoah, boot & shoe maker, of Main Street, Ravenglass, the first lady clerk employed by Furness Railway Company at Drigg, in c.1914; (qv) John Henry Smith

Phelps, William Whitmarsh (179x-1867), vicar of St Lawrence, Appleby from January 1865 (‘WWP 1866’ initials and date on shield over front door of former vicarage), archdeacon and canon of Carlisle, died 22 June 1867, aged 69

Philip, Prince, duke of Edinburgh (1921-2021), consort of Queen Elizabeth II, a prince of Greece and Denmark, educated Gordonstoun, attained rank of commander in the RN, married the Queen in 1947, became the royal consort in 1952, closely involved with the World Wildlife Fund and the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme, patron of two outward bound centres, visited Cumbria many times, laid the keel of HMS Dreadnought in Barrow in 1959, with the Queen launched HMS Sheffield I at Barrow in 1971, drove four in hand across Morecambe Bay in 1985

Philipson family, also see Phillipson

Philipson, Christopher (d.1566), of Calgarth, receiver to Edward VI in North, died 21 August 1566

Philipson, Christopher (1598-1630), bapt at Millom, 22 January 1597/8, son of Robert Philipson (qv), marr his 2nd cousin, Mary (buried at Millom, 16 December 1670), dau of William Hudleston, of Millom Castle, 3 sons and 1 dau  (CW2, lxiii, 234-237)

Philipson, Sir Christopher (1646-1709), DL, JP, politician and landowner, bapt at Windermere, 27 September 1646, eldest son of Hudleston Philipson (qv), of Crook, owner of Windermere Island (later Belle Isle), marr 1st (5 July 1670, by licence from faculty office of Canterbury) Clara (died at St Giles-in-the-Fields, London, 20 January 1695, with admin of goods granted to her husband, 28 January), dau of Lionel Robinson, of Cowton Grange, Yorks, and of Middle Temple, barrister-at-law, and widow of Francis Topham (d.1669), of Agglethorpe, near Middleham, Yorks, 3 daus (Frances, Elizabeth and Clara), marr 2nd (10 August 1699, at St Mary Magdalen, Bermondsey, by licence) Mary, dau of Sir Thomas Duppa, Usher of the Black Rod, and widow of John Stab(p)les (by whom she had 2 sons (Thomas and William) and 1 dau (Martha (d.1721), wife of Allan Ayscough, great nephew of Elizabeth, wife of Hudleston Philipson), no further issue, but led a loose life by his own admission (letter of 22 September 1699), prob leaving illegitimate son (Christopher, poss Master Gunner of Portland Castle, decd by 1753), developed a degree of shiftiness that eventually alienated his creditors and lawyers, excellent letter writer and regular correspondent with Sir Daniel Fleming (letters in CRO, WD/Ry) esp informing him of political affairs at Westminster, a Justice for Westmorland in 1674, active in breaking up meeting of Quakers near church in Windermere on 15 September 1678 (eight preachers and more than fifty other quakers convicted) and described by Sir Daniel Fleming as ‘my lieutenant in the Trained Bands’ in his report of affair to Sir Joseph Williamson (letter of 1 October 1678), Lieutenant of DF’s Foot Company, elected MP for Westmorland (with Alan Bellingham, qv), defeating Sir John Lowther of Lowther, in 1679 (Parliament assembled in October 1680 and dissolved on 20 January 1681), but lost to Sir JL in March 1681, knighted at Windsor Castle on 30 May 1681, bought Burblethwaite Hall, Cartmel Fell from Thomas Knipe for £900 on 27 July 1682, asked DF to support his candidature for Westmorland on 7 February 1685, but defeated again by Sir JL and AB in election of May 1685, a DL for Westmorland in February 1685, was at his new house ‘in the Isle’ on Windermere on 3 June 1687 when DF and family visited (FiO,  ii, 379-80), in financial trouble in 1690s, spent most of his time in London, made will on 1 January 1708/09, appointing his wife Mary as sole executrix, before dying in London, leaving no legitimate male descendants, buried at St Martin-in-the Fields, 25 January 1709 (CW2, lxxiii, 241-267) (Mary died in debt, of Kirkland, nr Kendal, and late of the island, and buried at Windermere, 13 June 1718),

Philipson, Hudleston (1621-1657), royalist officer, bapt at Kendal, 5 March 1620/21, 2nd but eldest surv son of Christopher Philipson (qv), of Crook, Colonel in Royalist Army, described as ‘a valiant captain for the kinge in the late warres’ in Chancery suit brought by Thomizin Tully of Underbarrow in 1644 (C.5/402/119), captain in besieged garrison of Carlisle in 1644-45 (refs in Isaac Tullie), apptd leader of those formerly in arms against Parliament after riotous mob in Kendal had imprisoned local Committee for Sequestrations, 10 August 1647, one of those to be arrested by Justices of county on order of Lords on 29 February 1647/8 and committed to gaol for next assizes, rewarded with grant of Troutbeck Park in barony of Kendal, ‘lately wasted and disparked’ (recorded 21 September 12 Chas II [1660], f.2), marr (ante 1646) Elizabeth (admon granted 23 October 1665), dau of Alan Ayscough, of Skewsby, Yorks, and Anne, yst dau of Thomas Braithwaite (qv), of Burneside (her sister was Agnes Lamplugh, of Dovenby), and sister of Dorothy, wife of Lancelot Salkeld (qv), of Whitehall, 4 sons and 1 dau, borrowed a total of £432 from Thomas Wharton, of Gray’s Inn, in 1655, 1656 and 1657, with recog of £870 but never repaid it, made will, as of Crook Hall, 21 September 1657, died in October 1657 and (pres) buried in family quire in Kendal parish church (KPR gap), will proved by Thomas Wharton, of London, Esq, one of executors, 26 February 1657/8 (PCC) (CW2, lxxiii, 238-239)

Philipson, John, of Calgarth, Windermere, wife Dorothy and son Robert apptd joint executors of his will made 19 January 1664/65 (CRO, WD/Ry/Box 61)

Philipson, Miles (15xx-15xx), JP, steward, marr Barbara, sister and co-heir of Francis Sands, of Conishead, 3 sons and 1 dau, steward and receiver of crown rents in barony of Kendal

Philipson, Robert (15xx-1xxx), steward, eldest son of Miles Philipson (qv), of Thwatterden Hall, Crook, marr Ann Latus, 1 son, steward and receiver of crown rents in barony of Kendal

Philipson, Robert (d.c.1644), schoolmaster and alderman, not rel to Philipsons of Crook or Calgarth, marr Margaret, 2 daus (Ann, wife of Revd Thomas Whitehead, rector of Halton, Lancs, and Frances, wife of Thomas Garnet, of Bank House, Barbon), referred to as master of Kendal Grammar School in January 1626 (DTC, xiii, 1), one of the Twenty-Four Assistants, 20 July 1630, Chamberlain in 1633, an Alderman of Kendal when ordered by mayor to be a leader of military company ‘For Artillery’ on 8 May 1643 (BoR, 171), of the Fox and Goose Inn, Kendal, when he made will dated 29 February 1643/44 (CW2, lxxiii, 237)

Philipson, Robert (1623-16xx), ‘Robin the Devil’, royalist officer, bapt at Kendal, 11 September 1623, yst son of Christopher Philipson (qv), of Crook, Major in Royalist Army, besieged on Long Holm (Belle Isle), Windermere, for 8-10 days during Civil War by Colonel Briggs (qv), till relieved by his brother, Hudleston Philipson (qv), from Crook, prompting revenge in 1645 by riding into Kendal parish church in pursuit, a sacrilegious incursion recorded by Machell, his sword and helm still hang from the roof of the parish church, marr Anne, dau of Thomas Knipe, of Burblethwaite Hall, 2 sons and 1 dau, ‘killed at last in the Irish wars at Washford fight, as is reported’ (AoH, 88; CW2, lxiii, 237-238)

Philipson, Sir Robert James (Robin) (1916-1992; ODNB), RA, RSA, RSW, FRSA, FRSE, artist and arts administrator, born at Broughton-in-Furness, 17 December 1916, twin sister, son of James Philipson, LMS stationmaster, and his wife, Agnes Postlethwaite, who had three other children from a first marriage, educ Whitehaven Secondary School, then Dumfries Academy after family moved to Gretna when in his teens, left school in 1936 determined to become a painter, enrolling at Edinburgh College of Art 1936-1940, served WW2 with King’s Own Scottish Borderers in India and Burma 1942-1946, attached to Royal Indian Army Service Corps, joined teaching staff of The College of Art, Edinburgh in 1947 and Head of School of Drawing and Painting 1960-1982, President of Royal Scottish Academy 1973-1983 and Secretary 1969-1973, member of Royal Fine Art Commission for Scotland 1965-1980, marr three times, died in Edinburgh, 26 May 1992, aged 75, and cremated at Grange, Edinburgh, after memorial service at Christ Church, Morningside, 28 May; Elizabeth Cumming, Robin Philipson, 2018

Phillip, Colin Bent, artist, member Lake Artists, Renouf , 47-8

Phillips, Thompson (1832-1909), ed. Manchester GS and St Johns Cambridge, m 1st Elizabeth Catherine dau of Gen Sir James Sleigh (1775-1865) who had fought at Waterloo and led the charge of cavalry at Bhutpore and 2nd in 1903 Cecily widow of GHH Oliphant Ferguson, priest in Cumberland at Holme Eden, Ivegill and later archdeacon of Furness, Barrow, his son James (qv) was killed in Benin (for twelve years he employed Elizabeth Everest (qv) as the nanny of his daughter Ella; she was later nanny of Winston Churchill); obit Times 20 April 1909

Phillips, James Robert (1864-1897), son of the Rev Thompson Phillips, b. Cumberland ed Uppingham and Trinity coll Cambridge, solicitor’s articles Carlisle, appointed to Gold Coast as consul general, set out to depose the king of Benin in 1897, said to have intended allowing looting to cover costs, killed by the king’s soldiers on the approach to Benin city, his death with others was a precursor of the British reprisals and looting of the Benin bronzes; A. Brisragon, The Benin Massacre 1897

Phillipson family, of Calgarth; CW2 lxiv 150 (see Philipson above)

Phillipson, Robert (fl.1664-1690), of Calgarth; his prayer book; CW2 lix 105

Phizacklea, T C (19xx-1976), farmer, chairman of Newland Moss internal drainage board from 1 November 1951 until his death in April 1976, and founder member from its formation in June 1950, died in April 1976

Phythian-Adams, William John Telia Phythian (1888-1967) DSO MC DD MA, soldier, archaeologist, writer and clergyman, b 27 May 1888 Bexhill, son of Edward Charles Phythian-Adams (1827-1919) former fellow of Worcester college, Oxford, later vicar of Southborough, Kent, and Jane Elizabeth Vevers (1854-1930), a scholar at Marlborough and Corpus Christi college Oxford, 1st in Mods and Greats, excavated at Ham Hill Roman villa in 1913, first book Mithraicism (1915), combatant officer in 22nd Fusiliers promoted Lt Col by the end of WW1, decorated and despatches, assistant director of the British School of Archaeology in Jerusalem working under prof John Garland (1876-1956), later of Liverpool, contributing to his book on the Hittites (?1953), excavated at Sakje-Genzi, Syria in 1908-11 [publ.1948], and at Meroe, Sudan 1914 (publ 1914), in Askelon and Gaza, published: Guidebook to the Palestine Museum of Antiquities (1924) of which he was keeper, Cuddesdon 1924, d 1925, p 1926, curate Wellingborough 1927, vicar of Millom 1929-31 where he renovated the church, bishop’s messenger, canon of Carlisle 1932-58,  m. Adela Noel, dau of Thomas Houghton and Josephine Constance Robinson, three sons Charles, Mark and Henry, powerful preacher and orator often drawing upon Palestine experience, forthright and direct, DD Oxford, royal chaplain to four monarchs from George V, on one occasion that monarch went to sleep during the P-A sermon, member of the Diocesan Advisory committee caring for church fabric, edited Church Quarterly Review from 1941-46, his earlier columns resulting in The Way of Atonement (1942), other publications include: The Call of Israel (1934), Fullness of Israel (1938) drew on his Warburton lectures, The People and the Presence (1942) his most important publication, With Unveiled Face (1952), examining chaplain to the bishop of Carlisle from 1947, papers in archaeological and theological journals, liaison officer for the top secret H Group whose voice would have been broadcast locally in the case of invasion, led Home Guard drumhead services in Bitts park during WW2 and always attended Border regiment services, took a great interest in the welfare of ex servicemen, invited to process in the coronation service of 1953 but was unwell, gave pastoral support to many people, early promoter of the Friends of the Cathedral, chairman of the hospital management committee, national vice president USPG, presented prizes at Red Gables school in the 1950s, his lyric ‘On Christmas Night’ set to music by F.W. Wadeley, his Old Testament studies reveal ‘an author of original understanding and deep spiritual insight’ and though viewed as radical when published they were later used widely in theological colleges in the UK and USA, he had no fear of expressing his opinion, his brusque manner and military bearing were sometimes viewed as intimidating but were softened by his humanity and sense of humour, he had a wide understanding of people and was good company, once someone explained Mithraicism to him, he listened patiently and replied: ‘Yes, my boy, you should read my book on this subject’, lived The Abbey, Carlisle, retired to 10, Manor Way, Onslow village, Guilford, d.1967, requiem mass St Nicholas, Guilford; Times obit 3 March 1967, Church Times 2 March 1967, C News 24 Feb 1967, Liv Annals of Archaeology VII, 15-24, mss at Kew

Pickard, Miss, French teacher Barrow GGS, ‘always looked as if she was in the French resistance’ (Hazel Edwards)

Pickard, John Richard JP, lived Westmorland; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

Pickering, Derwent (1901-1984), farmworker, newsagent, shaft pumpsman William Pit, wrote verse from 1918 until his death; H.Winter, Great Cockermouth Scholars; Ray Dobie, Daisied Bliss (2010)

Pickering, Sir James de (d.c.1398), speaker of the House of Commons 1378, 1382-3, descended from the Pickerings of Westmorland, his father was Thomas Pickering [1310-1375] and his mother Elizabeth Greystoke [1300-1370], he married Alice Ellerson and had land at Killington, knight of the shire for both W and C, noted for his remarks about the freedom of speech; CW2 lx 79 pt. 1; CW2 lxii 113 pt. 2

Pickering, Revd Jeffrey Norman (1926-2011), BD, Methodist minister, brought up in Nottinghamshire, worked as a Bevin Boy during WW2, candidate for Methodist ministry soon after war and attended Handsworth College, Birmingham, before serving in several circuits in south of England and Midlands, appointed chairman of Cumbria District in 1980, maintained meticulous attention to detail, outstanding level of pastoral care, retired to Kendal in 1990, continued to preach all over Cumbria in retirement, took keen interest in the Cumbria Branch of the Wesley Historical Society serving as president 1981-1991, editor 1991-2003 and vice-president 2003-2011, esp as editor, printer and producer of twice-yearly Journal for over twelve years, retiring with increasingly severe Parkinson’s Disease, but attended Stricklandgate services to his very last years, marr Jean (died in 1999), died after long illness at Lancaster Royal Infirmary, 31 December 2011, aged 85, and cremated at Lancaster followed by service of thanksgiving at Stricklandgate Methodist church, Kendal, 13 January 2012 (WG, 09.03.2012; CWHS, No.69, 20)

Pickering, Thomas (d.1679), martyr, lay Benedictine brother, died Tyburn

Pierce, Harry (fl.1930-1965), landscape designer worked for Mawsons (qv), bought Cylinders estate Langdale, allowed Kurt Schwitters (qv) to use the barn at Langdale for his final Merzbau (Newcastle university gallery) and the artist painted his portrait (Armitt)

Pieri family, Carlisle, arrived from Italy, established a tobacconist’s and later a pet shop; Brucciani and Luccini families (qqv)

Pierpoint, Charles Edward (1863-1915), descendant of an ancient Lancashire family, which had been settled near Warrington since the early 14th century, moved to Warwick-on-Eden in 1908, man of varied interests, particularly archaeology and photography (his ‘productions in this line reached a high standard of excellence’), member of CWAAS from 1914, churchwarden of St Leonard’s Church, member of committee of the Carlisle Scientific and Literary Society, hon secretary and treasurer of weekly subscription fund collected for housing Belgian refugees in village, marr (18xx) Hylda (died 1949, aged 84), dau of Johnathan Christmas Thompson (qv), no issue, of Brow Top, Warwick-on-Eden, died at Warrington, 9 December 1915, aged 52 (CW2, xvi (1916), 308; CN, 18.11.2016)

Pierrepont, Gervase, 1st baron Pierrepont of Ardglass and Pierrepont of Hanslape (c.1656-1715), politician, 5th and yst son of hon William Pierrepont (2nd son of Robert, 1st earl of Kingston and uncle of 3rd and 4th earls of Kingston), marr (lic 10 March 1679/80, at East Hoathly, Sussex) Lucy (aged 17, died 8 July 1721 and buried at Laughton, Sussex, 16 July), dau of Sir John Pelham, baronet, of Laughton, Sussex, and sister of Thomas, 1st baron Pelham of Laughton, no issue, MP (Whig) for Appleby 1698-1705 (in Parliaments of 1698-1700, 1700-1701, 1701-1702 and 1702-1705), DL for cos Buckingham and Stafford (Cal SPD, 1700-02, p.250; 1703-04, p.277), cr baron Pierrepont, of Ardglass in Irish peerage, 29 March 1703 and later baron Pierrepont of Hanslape, co Bucks, 19 October 1714 (GB), one of 14 coronation peerages of George I, was also in special remainder to his nephew Evelyn Pierrepont, marquess of Dorchester (cr 23 December 1706), later duke of Kingston (cr 1715), but died s.p. 22 May 1715; will proved June 1715 (CWMP, 429)

Piggott, Lester Keith (1935-2022), jockey, son of Keith Piggott, a National Hunt jockey and his wife Iris Rickaby, of the Rickaby racing dynasty, won 4493 races and rode nine Derby winners, lived at  Newmarket, raced at Carlisle, on 23 June 2010 the Lester Piggott Race Centre was opened by him at Carlisle racecourse, marr Susan Armstrong whose father Frederick Lakin Armstrong (known as Sam) was a Newmarket trainer himself, (her grandfather Robert Ward Armstrong (1862-1956) was born in Penrith and was trainer to the 5th earl of Lonsdale for fifty years); BBC News 20 June 2010, obit Guardian 29 May 2022

Pike-Watts, David (1754-1816), see Watts

Piketah, Roger, pseudonym for Roper Robinson (1836-1908) (qv), dialect writer, published Forness Folk, the’r Sayins an’ Dewins: Sketches of Life and Character in Lonsdale North of the Sands (1870) and Breks and Hakes and Sic Lyk (1901), Dr Henry Barber (qv)

Pilkington, Harry, teacher and photographer, lived Dalton-in-Furness, marr Olive, 2 daus, longtime keyholder of Dalton Castle for the National Trust and organized stewarding of visitors, involved for many years with Olive on the committee of the Friends of Dalton Castle, arranging lectures and visits, funded the photographic exhibition in the castle of the works of George Romney

Pilling, Christopher [1936-2019], poet and translator, b. Birmingham, ed KES Birmingham, BA Leeds university, Institute of French Studies at La Rochelle, France (Dip. D’Etudes Francaises) and PGCE Loughborough, m. Sylvia 1960, 1 son 2 dau, taught Moulins, France, 1957-8, Wirral GS 1959-61, KES 1961-2, Ackworth, Yorkshire 1962-73, head mod languages Knottingley High School [Y] 1973-78, reviewer TLS 1973-4, tutor in English Newcastle univ extra mural department 1978-80, with Bill Scammell qv ran Keswick poetry workshop, read The Meeting Place at the King’s college Cambridge carol service in 2017, among his publications are Cross Your Legs and Wish [1994],  The Lobster can Wait [1998], In the Pink: Poems on Paintings by Matisse [1999] and The Ghosts of Greta Hall [2001], lived Keswick, his magnum opus was his translation of Tristan Corbieres Les Amours Jaunes to which Noel Malcolm in the Telegraph wrote that ‘Pilling brings a genius of his own’, bur Crosthwaite

Pinder, John of Maryland, b. Ravenstonedale; CW2 xci 298

Piper, Matthew (1730-1820), miser and philanthropist, of Whitehaven, of a merchant family, set up a soup kitchen for the poor, a marine school and an educational charity, he left money for the founding of schools in Kendal and Lancaster, he was buried under the floor of the National School, Kendal, Piper’s Court in Whitehaven was built on the site of the marine school; Cumb Paquet obit 29 Pct 1820; www.whitehaven.org

Pitt, William (1759-1806; ODNB), politician, MP for Appleby 1781-1784 (CWMP, 429-430)

Pitt-Miller, William, (d.1893), bought Merlewood, Grange-over-Sands from his aunt Eliza Horrocks (qv), his dau Winifred marr Frecheville Ballentine-Dykes

Place, Marwood (c.1723-1790), MA, BD, clergyman, fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, vicar of Sedbergh 1764-1766 (letter to bishop of Chester of his presentation to Sedbergh from Trinity College, Cambridge, 19 November 1764, in CRO, WPR 19/18/3/9), Vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale 1766-1790, rebuilt vicarage, marr (11 November 1771 at Kirkby Lonsdale) Ann, eldest dau of Roger Wilson (qv), of Casterton Hall, no issue, died May 1790?, aged 67 – buried 12 October 1791 (CRO, WDY 375; CW2, xxix, 189)

Platt, John Wakefield (1925-1991), paediatrician, Whitehaven, son of Percy Platt, nephew of the Manchester orthopaedic surgeon Sir Harry Platt (1886-1986; ODNB), who treated patients at Calgarth Park and  developed the artificial hip at Wrightington; BMJ obit

Platt, Peter P (18xx-19xx), MA, BSc, schoolmaster, late scholar of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, of Abbot Hall, Kendal (1894), succ Edward Mears (qv) as headmaster of Windermere Grammar School in 1900 until 1928, when succ by B W Abraham (qv)

Plaw, John (c.1745-1820), architect, designed circular house on Belle Isle in Lake Windermere for Thomas English (qv) in 1774-75, emigrated to Canada in 1810, settling in Charlottestown, Prince Edward Island, where he died, 24 May 1820, aged 75 (BDBA, 642)

Plimsoll, Samuel (1824-1898; ODNB), inventor of the Plimsoll line to avoid overloading of cargo vessels, spent part of his childhood in Penrith

Plues, William Matthew (18xx-19xx), clergyman, secretary to Carlisle Diocesan Episcopal C of E Temperance Society, when of Park Villa, Kendal (1885) and 7 Park Villas (1894), vicar of Wasdale Head, Eskdale from 1903 to at least 1910, but gone by 1914 (curate of Nether Wasdale then acted as curate in charge of Wasdale Head)

Plumtre, James, his journals of  his visit edited Ian Ousby (1992), also wrote The Lakers, a play about the early tourists, performed at the Theatre by the Lake c.2000

Pocklington, Joseph (1736-1817), of Barrow House, Keswick, born at Newark-upon-Trent, built himself grand mansion near Newark before moving to Keswick, instigator and organiser, with Peter Crosthwaite (qv), of Derwentwater Regatta (incl mock sea battles and a swimming horses sweepstake in which horses were placed on a large raft which was deliberately sunk forcing the horses to swim to shore, bets being placed upon the winning horse) in 1781, purchased Derwent Isle or Vicar’s Island (later known as Pocklington’s Island) in 1778, where he built large house, with boat house in style of a nonconformist chapel, a mock church, a paste-board battery with cannon, and a ‘Druid’s Temple’ of standing stones (modelled on Castlerigg), which were ridiculed by Wordsworth, also bought lordship of Ashness, built villa at Portinscale as well as big house on Ashness shore with its own hermitage and artificial cascade to rival Lodore, wealthy and self-indulgent, publicly ostentatious, but led solitary life, died unmarried aged 81 in 1817 and succ by great-nephew (qv); portrait by Joseph Wright of Derby; (A Man of No Taste Whatsoever by M E Brown, 2010); painting of Keswick regatta in 1780s by Smirke; Alan Hankinson, The Regatta Men, also ‘The Regatta Man’; Keswick Characters vol.2

Pocklington, Joseph (1804-1874), DL, JP, marr (1835) Elizabeth (1805-1890), er dau and coheir of Humphrey Senhouse (qv), and assumed addnl surname of Senhouse in 1842

Poitou, Roger de (b.c.1060s-d. before1140), Anglo-Norman landowner, among his vast estates were Furness and Cartmel

Pole, John de la, earl of Lincoln, (1444-1487; ODNB), magnate and rebel, son of John de la Pole 2nd duke of Suffolk and his wife Elizabeth the sister of Edward IV, closely involved with rebellion of Lambert Simnel (qv), attended the coronation of the pretender at Dublin, sailed to England and landed at Piel castle, Rampside (Barrow) and marched south with the mercenaries, died at the battle of Stoke Field, the last battle of the Wars of the Roses; Nathen Amin, Henry VII and the Tudor Pretenders: Simnel, Warbeck and Warwick, 2020

Poliakovs, Nicholai, aka Coco the Clown (?1900-1974; ODNB) OBE, clown and promotor of road safety, born near Riga, Latvia, son of Peter Poliakovs, a cobbler and property master at the local theatre and his wife the wardrobe mistress, he was apprenticed to Rudolfo Truzzi (1860-1936) and mastered a range of circus disciplines, eventually settling on the role of an auguste, employed by Bertram Mills circus from 1930 and again after the war, during the war he was involved with ENSA, following an accident he devoted much of his time to the promotion of road safety, travelling to schools all over the UK including Victoria School, Barrow, he adopted a walking stick which had a Belisha beacon finial, marr Valentina Novikova (1901-1983), six children including Michael who became a clown in the USA and Tamara who established a circus without performing animals

Pollitt, Charles (18xx-18xx), printer, stationer and newspaper proprietor, partner with Thomas Atkinson as publisher of Westmorland Gazette 1867-1880 and sole manager 1880-189?, 22 Stricklandgate, Kendal, purchased property on west side of Stricklandgate for Westmorland Gazette offices after death of Michael Thompson, linen draper, on 18 May 1868 (deeds in CRO, WDX 304), of 7 Thorny Hills, Kendal (1894)

Pollitt, Charles Jordan Bellingham (d.1975), OBE, MC, army officer, commissioned into Border Regiment, volunteered for special duties and later joined No 1 Commando, taking part in Operation Torch, North Africa, and Operation Bizerte in December 1942 (MC), later on operations in Far East, took command of No 5 Commando on 12 September 1944, temp Lieut-Colonel, wounded during battle for Hill 170 on 31 January 1945, mentioned in despatches (January 1946) and OBE (June 1946), member of CWAAS from 1935, of Larch How, Kendal, died in 1975 (letter from Nick Collins in WG, 13.09.2018)

Pollock, Hugh Wykeham David (1900-1972), JP, born 1900, son of Hugh Pollock (d.1944) and great-grandson of Field Marshal Sir George Pollock, 1st Bt, educ Cambridge (BA), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1957, of Winderwath, Temple Sowerby, died in 1972

Ponder, Joseph J., itinerant photographer; CWAAS 2017, 181

Ponson, Edward A (18xx-19xx), clergyman, curate of Holy Trinity, Grange in Borrowdale 1901-1907

Ponsonby family of Haile, descended from Punzun, temp 1066, the Ponsonbys gave their name to the estate and village, were given the post of hereditary barber to the king, descended from this family is Viscount Duncannon

Ponsonby, Henry Frederick (1825-1895; ODNB) Major General, Kt., soldier, courtier and secretary to Queen Victoria, b. Corfu, son of Maj Gen Sir Frederick Cavendish Ponsonby, fought in the Crimea, m. Mary Elizabeth Bulteel, maid of honour to queen, father of Sir John Ponsonby (qv)

Ponsonby, John (1866-1952), Major General, Kt., son of Sir Henry Ponsonby qv, c.o. of 5th Division 1st WW, retired to Haile Hall, Beckermet in 1928, m. Mary Robley (c.1902-2003) of Ingeberg, Beckermet (qv), no children, friend of Jan Smuts (qv) who visited Haile

Ponsonby (nee Robley), Lady Mary (1901-2003) b Beckermet, dau of Thomas Robley (1835-1902) and his wife Elizabeth Smith (1861-1934), of Ingleberg, Beckermet, m. Maj Gen Sir John Ponsonby 1935, no children, in the Red Cross during WW2, widowed in 1952 but lived on at Haile Hall, supporter of Whitehaven Hospital, established Lakeland Horticultural Society, president Whitehaven RNLI

Ponting, Herbert George (1870-1935; ODNB), photographer and film-maker, born in Market Place, Salisbury, Wiltshire, 21 March 1870, son of Francis William Ponting, bank manager, and his wife Mary Sydenham, later of Portland Square, Carlisle (by 1881), educ Carlisle Grammar School, restless youth, emigrated to California, USA, where he learned photography and married, but left wife and young children in 1901 to travel and made several trips to Far East, regarded as best outdoor cameraman in world when invited in 1909 by Captain Robert Scott to join his Antarctic expedition in 1911-12, died of heart attack at 44 Oxford Mansions, Oxford Circus, London, 7 February 1935 (photographs in Bonhams auction sale on 7 February 2018, CN, 12.01.2018)

Poole family, dynasty of solicitors and coroners in Furness; Poole and Son now merged with Townsend Livingstone to become Poole Townsend

Poole, Frederick W (18xx-19xx), solicitor and coroner, clerk to Ulverston UDC, and to Lancashire education committee area No.1 (from 1903) and to Old Age pensions sub-committee, coroner for Liberty of Furness, solicitor’s firm of Poole, Son & Barnes, Council Buildings, Queen Street, Ulverston, and 36 Cornwallis Street, Barrow, of Craiglea, Kilner Park, Ulverston (1909)

Poole, John (c1915-c1995), Barrow coroner 1960s, probably son or grandson of the above, lived Dane Avenue, Barrow

Pooley, John (d.1727), schoolmaster, of Kirkby Lonsdale, buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 16 February 1726/27

Pooley, Geoffrey (19xx-19xx), artist, worked as commercial artist in London, but moved to Lake District after WW2, first living near Kendal (as commercial artist at 11 Finkle Street, 1953), joined Kendal Art Society, then member of Lake Artists Society, later moved to Biggins, near Kirkby Lonsdale in about 1970, founder member of Kirkby Lonsdale Art Society, concentrating on painting Lakes in oil and watercolours; dau, Vivienne, also landscape artist

Popham, Maud Isobel Leybourne- (nee Howard), lived Johnby Hall 1897-1927, dau of Henry Howard of Greystoke, marr in 1890 Francis William Leybourne-Popham (1862-1907), (son of Francis Leybourne-Popham and his wife Elizabeth Block), lived Littlecote, Wiltshire, here he had an important collection of mss, in her widowhood she returned to Cumberland and bought Johnby Hall, the grand carved wooden fireplace on first floor added by her, also the George and Dragon in terracotta on a door lintel, perhaps following her reading of Ruskin (qv) and being aware of his Guild of St George (Ruskin famously said that he wished he could carve in stone a George and dragon over every poor man’s door); CWAAS newsletter Spring 2022, 99, 5; Littlecote collection of mss HMSO report 1899; not to be confused with Hugh Francis Leybourne-Popham (?a cousin of her husband) the Arctic yachtsman and ‘walrus-hunting buccaneer’ (Helen Peel)

Popkin, Revd John Llewellyn Traherne (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, of Jesus College, Oxford, Vicar of Christ Church, Carlisle from 1918

Porritt, Austin (18xx-19xx), army officer and archer, Lieut-Colonel, bought Yewbarrow estate at Grange-over-Sands in 1919, engaged Thomas Mawson to lay out formal gardens at Yewbarrow Lodge (restored by Grange Parks Group volunteers in 2018), used long strip of grass at bottom of garden for his archery practice, Lodge housed evacuees from Salford on outbreak of WW2, but badly damaged by incendiary bombs in 1941 (now sheltered housing), then lived out his last years in Grange Hotel (WG, 19.04.2018)

Porter, George of Bolton (d.c.1587), his will of 1586; CW2 xiii 83

Porter, George (d. c.1630), doctor and professor of civil law at Queen’s College, Cambridge, born at Weary Hall, Bolton, died about 1630

Porter, Ivor Forsyth [1913-2012], CMG OBE, diplomat, ed Barrow GS, began in British Council, during the war in Romania, closely involved with the king of Romania, later to Foreign Office, posted to Washington, Cyprus, India, ambassador in Senegal, wrote Michael of Romania (2005), oldbarrovians.com/alumni

Porter, Lancelot Salkeld (1912-1943), established the Lake District Dialect Society, a signalman in the 2nd WW, died 1943 in Iraq, buried Eskdale, his tomb has her own verse?: ‘If I should pass beyond men’s thought, grieve not…….’; warmemorialsonline

Porter, Moses (1787-1864), shoemaker, tanner and iron mine owner; CW2 xiii 113

Porter, Richard Ewhurst (1887-1961), MC, JP, FSA, FRICS, FLAS, land agent, Major, son of Joseph Porter (1846-1906), of Shermanbury, Sussex, and grandson of Joseph Porter, of Hesket Newmarket, descent from Porters of Caldbeck, moved from Sussex in 1921, agent for Rydal Hall estate from 1921, member: Westmorland county council (elected for Grasmere Division on 15 November 1940), South Westmorland RDC, Lakes UDC, and Lake District (South) joint planning committee, JP Westmorland 1937, Hon Treasurer, CWAAS 1932- , hon secretary for excursions 1926-1945, vice-president 1937, member from 1926 and hon member 1958, revised chapter by Revd E M Reynolds (qv) on ‘Fox-Hunting on the Fells’ in W G Collingwood’s new edition of The Lake Counties (1932), marr, 3 daus (incl Helen Margaret, JP, marr James Robinson Fuller, with dau Hilary McGregor), of Kenna Close, Rydal (1930) and later of Undermount, Rydal, died in Lancaster, 12 November 1961, aged 74 (CW2, lxii, 358-59)

Porteous, Mary (1783-1861), Methodist preacher, from Newcastle, stationed in Carlisle from 1830 to 1833, rode to Wigton to preach at Market Cross (Life; CWHS, 35, Spring 1995, 14-18, and 68, Autumn 2011, 6-12)

Porteus, Bishop Beilby (1731-1809; ODNB), bishop of Chester and London, a reformer and an early anti-slavery lobbyist; why Cumbria ?  disambiguate

Porteus, Beilby Porteus (1816-1854), son of Thomas Porteus, educ Charterhouse and Christchurch, vicar of Edenhall and Langwathby, marr Mary Aglionby in Penrith, canon of Carlisle; is he related to the bishop ?

‘Postie Mary’, postmistress at Mawbray who delivered on foot, even though she had a limp; Solway Plain website

Postlethwaite family of Furness, also see Postlethwayte

Postlethwaite, George (d.1680), parish clerk and schoolmaster, parish clerk of Dalton for 52 years, also master of Free School of Dalton, apptd registrar during Commonwealth  (“<1653 <G P> REGTR >” tooled on front cover of second parish register of Dalton, 1651-1680), marr Mabell (buried at Dalton, 28 July 1661), buried at Dalton, 26 March 1680

Postlethwaite, George (17xx-17xx), steward, of Lancaster, marr (29 July 1759, at Brougham) Elizabeth (d. at Warcop Hall in 1795), dau of Revd William Preston (qv), steward of manor of Warcop from 1763 (manor court book, CW3, i, 205)

Postlethwaite, John (1697-1713), headmaster, born Millom, son of Matthew Postlethwaite, fellow of Merton College Oxford, master at Archbishop Tennison’s School in parish of St Martin in the Fields, high master of St Paul’s School 1697, his library sale post obit had 1582 volumes

Postlethwaite, John (1789/90-18xx), clergyman, bapt at Urswick, 29 April 1790, son of Thomas Postlethwaite, of Great Urswick, ordained by bishop of Carlisle on letters dimissory from Bishop of Chester, 4 July 1813, nominated to curacy of Moresby by Revd Richard Armitstead, Whitehaven, 14 December 1813, but no parsonage house in parish and so resided in Whitehaven, also taught a private seminary with 23 pupils (letter in CRO, DRC/10; CW2, lxxii, 338)

Postlethwaite, John (17xx-1845), wine and spirit merchant, of Milnthorpe (1829), leased moiety of Sillfield estate in Preston Patrick from William Turner, paper manufacturer, of Liverpool, for eight years at annual rent of £70, dated 2 April 1832, and later agreed to partition of estate with Turner (23 May 1838), sold Belvedere Cottage at east end of Milnthorpe to Revd William Carus Wilson (qv) for £970 in October 1839, sold close of land on Haystead Moss to Tobias Atkinson, of Kendal, 19 December 1839, agreed with son John and William Turner to sell Sillfield estate, 22 December 1843, which was completed in March 1844, marr (settlement, 22 May 1841, previous to marriage) Mary Davies, son (Revd John, qv), died 21 December 1845 (papers rel to sale of Sillfield estate in 1844 and of his property in Milnthorpe in 1846 in CRO, WD/MM/183/2-3)

Postlethwaite, John (18xx-18xx), clergyman, son of John Postlethwaite (qv), of Milnthorpe, of Littledale, Lancs (1838) - later is he rector of Tasley, Salop (from 1848) or pc of Coatham, Kirk Leatham, near Redcar, Yorks (from 1854) (in 1858 Clergy List?)

Postlethwaite, John (1840-1925), FGS, AMIME, geologist, born at Birkbeck in Vale of Newlands in 1840, son of mining engineer, of Brandlehowe Mines, author of Mines and Mining in the English Lake District, first published in 1877, 2nd enlarged edition in 1889, and 3rd revised and enlarged edition in 1913 (reprinted with biographical sketch of author by E H Shackleton by Michael Moon in 1975), and Geology of the Lake District (1897), contributed many papers to local Natural History Societies on fossils, rocks and minerals of district, elected Fellow of Geological Society in November 1872, died aged 85 and buried in St John’s churchyard, Keswick, 1925

Postlethwaite, Thomas (1730/31-1798; ODNB), MA, DD, college head, son of Richard Postlethwaite, of Crooklands, Dalton-in-Furness, Lancs, and his wife, Ellen, sister and coheir of Henry Marshall, of Aynsome, educ St Bees School (under Mr Fisher) and Trinity College, Cambridge (subsizar on 19 June 1749, aged 18, and elected scholar on 24 April 1752), BA 1753 (third in mathematical tripos – with lasting reputation as one of best mathematicians in university), MA 1756, (BD 1768 and DD (by royal mandate) 1789), ordained deacon at Lincoln on 13 June 1756 and presented in 1774 to rectory of Hamerton, Huntingdonshire, which he retained until his death, elected fellow in 1755, held various college lectureships and offices, inc tutor 1763-1776, senior fellow 1782, recommended by Richard Farmer, Master of Emmanuel College (‘If you wish to oblige the society, appoint Postlethwaite’ to Pitt) to succeed John Hinchcliffe as master of Trinity College, Cambridge in 1789, took relaxed attitude towards his duties, but some reforms such as establishment of public examinations for fellowships and undergraduates were prob not at his initiative, broke a promise in 1792 to appoint outstanding classicist of the day, Richard Porson, to a lay fellowship at Trinity, but nominated him for regius chair of Greek, served as master until his death, also vice-chancellor of Cambridge University in 1791, published only one sermon, on subject of prophecy, preached before the university on Christmas eve 1780, unmarried, with one of his nieces keeping house for him, died at Bath, 4 May 1798 and buried in abbey church (memorial in north aisle)

Postlethwaite, Thomas Marshall (c.1810-1888), BA, clergyman, born at Wharton, Lancs, descended from Richard Postlethwaite, of Crooklands, Dalton-in-Furness, perpetual curate of Witherslack 1845-1888, marr (184x) Anne (born in Glasgow, buried at Witherslack, 14 August 1874, aged 63), 3 sons (Thomas Henry Marshall, of The Parsonage, bapt 26 January 1849, buried at Witherslack, 3 March 1866, aged 17; Francis Edward, bapt 22 September 1852; and Frederick George, bapt 30 May 1855, of Elmswood, West Croydon, Surrey, buried at Witherslack, 7 December 1882, aged 27) and 5 daus (Melicent Anne, of The Parsonage, buried at Witherslack, 16 March 1847, aged 4 years and 1 month; Elinor, born at Dalton, aged 5 in 1851; Mary Marshall, of The Parsonage, bapt 12 August 1846, buried at Witherslack, 27 March 1875, aged 28; Frances Agnes, of The Parsonage, buried at Witherslack, 10 February 1848, aged 3 months (inquest); and Frances Margaret, bapt 14 January 1851), witnessed (with yst dau) marriage of Revd James Christopher Garnett, of High View, Bolton-le-Moors, Lancs, to Frances Maria Postlethwaite, widow, of Witherslack, on 22 February 1887, died after 42 years’ incumbency at the Parsonage, Witherslack, aged 78, and buried there, 17 April 1888

Postlethwaite, Thomas Norton (18xx-19xx), BA, clergyman, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1878), d 1894 and p 1895 (Carl), curate of St John Evang., Barrow-in-Furness 1894-1897 and Ulverston 1897-1902, vicar of Urswick from 1902, wrote The Legend of Urswick Tarn, Barrow NW Evening Mail, 6 February 1970, 23, subscriber to Alfred Fell’s The Early Iron Industry of Furness (1908)

Postlethwaite, William Cuthbert (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1896, MA 1905), d 1898 and p 1900 (Carl), curate of Workington 1898-1905 and St George, Barrow 1905-1906, vicar of St Matthew, Barrow-in-Furness from 1906

Postlethwayte of Millom; CW1 x 244

Potter, Barnaby (1577-1642; ODNB), bishop of Carlisle, born Kendal son of Thomas Potter mercer and alderman, educ Queens College, then fellow and provost, Charles I appointed him chief almoner in 1628, bishop from 1628 to his death; portrait at Queens

Potter, (Helen) Beatrix, Mrs W W Heelis (1866-1943; ODNB), children’s author, artist, scientist and sheep breeder, born in London, 1866, dau of Rupert Potter (qv) and grand dau of Edmund Potter (qv), niece of Professor Sir Henry Enfield Roscoe (1833-1915; ODNB) FRS, chemist and vice chancellor, who encouraged her science, in childhood had a menagerie at home; her microscopy led to controversial discussion of processes of mycological germination, her paper On the Germination of the Spores of the Agaricinae was read on her behalf at the Linnaean Society in 1997, encouraged by Canon Hardwicke Rawnsley, bought Hill Top farm from proceeds of her Peter Rabbit book (1905), botanical and mycological illustrator, breeder and judge of Herdwick sheep, member of CWAAS from 1933, fading eyesight and demands of estate management and sheep rearing left no time for writing and drawing, but typescript of The Tale of Kitty in Boots published in her 150th anniversary year in 2016 and illustrated by Quentin Blake (is this really good enough for BP ?), marr (1913) William Heelis (qv), solicitor, of Ambleside, died at Castle Cottage, 22 December 1943, cremated at Blackpool, 31 December and ashes scattered by her shepherd, Tom Storey, on Claife Heights; bequeathed more than 4,000 acres including several farms to National Trust,  (CW2, xliv, 170; her diaries in code were decoded and published; numerous biographies published, set of ten Royal Mail stamps featuring characters from her Tales issued on 28 July 2016; Peter Rabbit appeared on a 50 pence piece; portrait by Delmar Banner, 1938; Cumbria, September 2016, 24-26)

Potter, Christopher (1590-1645), dean of Durham, and of Worcester 1635-1645, vice-chancellor of Oxford University 1640, nephew of above (WW, i, 293-302)

Potter, Christopher, clergyman and college head, born W., nephew of Barnaby Potter, bishop of Carlisle 1628-1642 (qv), educ Queens Coll, later provost, dean of Worcester by the influence of Laud, chaplain Charles I, precentor of Chichester, supporter of Archbishop Laud, pro vice chancellor and vice chancellor, marr Elizabeth dau of Dr Sonnebanke of Windsor

Potter, Edmund (1802-1883; ODNB), manufacturer and politician, largest calico printing business in the world at Dinting Vale near Glossop and Manchester, President of Manchester Chamber of Commerce, singled out by Marx in his Das Capital, Liberal MP for Carlisle from death of Sir James Graham (qv) in 1861 until 1874, author of Essays on Calico Printing, Trades Unions, &c, Unitarian, had house in Queens Gate, Kensington, later bought Camfield Place estate in Hertfordshire, marr (18xx) Jessie Crompton, 4 sons and 3 daus (Rupert Potter (qv) his son, Beatrix Potter (qv) his granddaughter)

Potter, Hugh (d.1669), steward to Earl of Northumberland, residing mainly in London, Steward of Lordship of Egremont from 1637, died in 1669, leaving £52 for poor of Cockermouth

Potter, Revd Philip Henry (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, of Emmanuel College, Cambridge, vicar of St John the Evangelist, Upperby, Carlisle (parish formed in 1867) from 1920

Potter, Rupert (1832-1914), lawyer and amateur photographer, son of wealthy manufacturer Edmund Potter (qv) and Jessie Crompton, educ Manchester College and University of London (BA 1853), preferred law to business, admitted to Lincoln’s Inn 1854 and called to bar 1857, equity draftsman and conveyancer in Chancery Court, published volume on current legislation in 1862, maintained his chambers until his retirement in 1892, friend of Sir John Millais for whom he acted as photographer, knew John Bright and W E Gladstone, marr (18xx) Helen Leech (1839-1932), of wealthy Lancashire cotton family, 1 son (Walter Bertram (1872-1918) and 1 dau (Beatrix, qv), friend of H D Rawnsley (qv), family rented Wray Castle in summer of 1882 instead of usual holiday in Scotland, with significant consequences for Beatrix, whom Rawnsley encouraged, took ‘before’ and ‘after’ photographs of Hill Top, of 2 Bolton Gardens, South Kensington, London; friend of the Rev. William Gaskell who holidayed with them in Scotland; later made regular holidays in the Lake District which reinforced his daughter’s affection for these counties.

Potts, Mick (19xx-1993), jazz musician, learnt piano from age of seven, educ Carlisle Grammar School, where he took up trumpet and joined a band, Mick and Gateway Jazz Band appeared on BBC TV in the Six Five Special in 1958, did series of six programmes of ‘Take the Mick’ for Border Television in late 1970s, which were seen all over country, resulting in request to play at Windsor Castle for Duke of Edinburgh, recorded an album with George Chisholm at Rosehill Theatre in 1978, played with band until he died in 1993; memorial event Sands Centre, Carlisle; call for a bronze statue to him News and Star 28th December 2007;  W/H News 19 February, 2007

Poucher, Walter Arthur (1891-1988), mountain photographer, guide book writer, and research chemist, born at Horncastle, Licolnshire, pioneer mountain photographer from 1930s, devised guidebooks that used photos to help hillwalkers and climbers, also worked for perfumers Yardley and invented the perfume ‘Bond Street’, published three-volume handbook on perfumes and cosmetics in 1923 (still in print), field-tested his fragrances and make-up on hills and fells of Britain (new pub 2009; ‘The Perfumed Mountaineer’ with Hayden Lorimer feature on BBC Radio 4, 2012)

Powell, Anthony (1905-2000), novelist, a descendant of the Jeffersons of Bulman Hill, Sebergham, his maternal grandmother Laura Jefferson married Edmund L. Wells-Dymoke; Hudleston (C)

Powell, Edward (c.1819-1891), clergyman, incumbent of Howgill for 15 years from 1875, succ Isaac Green (qv), died 25 July 1891, aged 72, and buried in churchyard

Powell, Francis Sharp, baronet., (1827-1911), MP and philanthropist, ed. Uppingham and Sedbergh and St John’s Cambridge, chairman of governors Sedbergh who prevented its collapse, supported in this by William Wakefield (qv), statue to him at Wigan by Ernest Gilbert has a well rubbed toe, manifesting a local superstitious belief in good luck

Powell, Grandage Edwards (1882-1948), MA, suffragan bishop, born 20 November 1882, son of Revd Astell Drayner Powell, hon canon of Manchester, and his wife Annie Edwards, educ Rugby and University College, Oxford (MA), marr (1913) Madeline Mary Allen, 2 sons, curate of Fallowfield 1906-1912 and Blackburn Parish Church 1912-1915, vicar of West Kensington 1915-1924, vicar of St Peter’s, Leicester 1924-1934, canon of St Martin’s Collegiate Church 1924-1926, hon canon of Leicester Cathedral 1927-1934, rural dean of Leicester 1931-1934, archdeacon of Carlisle and canon of Carlisle cathedral 1934-1944, first bishop suffragan of Penrith 1939-1944, assistant bishop, dio Carlisle from 1944, retired to The Plains, Wetheral, died 5 March 1948

Powell, Leslie G (fl.mid 20thc.), solicitor and coroner, HM Coroner for South Westmorland (1953), clerk to Milnthorpe magistrates (1934), solicitor in firm of Talbot, Rheam & Webster, of Springfield, Heversham (1934)

Powell, Rosemary Evelyn (nee James) (1915-2018), MBE, nurse and poppy seller, born in London, 1 January 1915, dau of Lt-Col Charles Ashton James (qv), of Barrock Park, near Carlisle, lost four uncles in WW1, first met her father at age of four in 1919, lost her brother, MC, to cerebral malaria during WW2, educ Downe House School, Newbury, Berkshire, accompanied her mother Evelyn to Richmond Bridge to sell poppies at age of six on 11 November 1921, the first year of the Poppy Appeal, and sold poppies for Royal British Legion every year for next 97 years, awarded MBE in Birthday Honours 2018, presented at court at Buckingham Palace in 1933, later trained as a dressmaker at the Paris Academy in London and made her own clothes thereafter, trained as a Nightingale Nurse at St Thomas’ Hospital, having worked as a VAD nurse with the Red Cross, contracted tuberculosis in 1943, assigned as special nurse to Ethel Florey in development of penicillin injections, matron of the Countess of Devon’s finishing school at Powderham Castle after war, spent year of missionary work in Tumelong, South Africa, later joined home staff of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, marr (1952) Edmund Selwyn Powell, editor of Geographical Magazine, 3 sons, inherited Barrock Park in 1962, but obliged to sell estate in 1970s, retired to southwest of France for 20 years, guest at 90th anniversary celebration for Royal British Legion in 2011, died nine days after being invested with MBE, 15 August 2018, aged 103; memorial service at St Paul’s, Knightsbridge, 24 November (Times, 10.11.2018)

Powicke, Sir Frederic  Maurice (1879-1963; ODNB), Regius prof Oxford, born Alnwick, son of Frederick James Powicke, Congregational minister, author of The Medieval Books of Merton College (1931), The Collected Papers of Thomas Frederick Tout (1932), lived Holmrook in 2nd WW

Powley, Mary (1811-1882), poet and dialect author, bapt 4 July 1811 at Langwathby, dau and eldest of eight children of John Powley and his wife Ann, nee Hobson (who were married at Langwathby on 13 October 1810), farming family, self-taught linguist, fluent reader of Danish and possibly some knowledge of Old Norse, translated some Danish poems from Danish into English, celebrated ‘our peculiar northern antiquity of speech’ in her poems, author of Echoes of Old Cumberland: Poems and Translations (1875), lady member of CWAAS by 1876, author (first woman contributor) of papers in Transactions ‘Past and Present among the Northern Fells’ (CW1, ii (1875), 171-186 and 354-374), ‘The Curfew Bell in Cumberland and Westmorland’ (CW1, iii (1877), 127-133), and ‘A plea for the Old Names’, especially of fields (Three Parts in CW1, iv (1878), 19-22, 280-284 and vi (1882), 272-279), also articles on ‘The Heaf’ (Notes and Queries, 4th Series, 10 (1872), 201-203, and 11 (1872), 38-40, 57-58), praised by Joseph Whiteside (qv) as a repository of local information ‘who fully enters into the spirit of the thing and chatters freely and intelligently’ with reference to his history of Shap, energetic, persistent and precise, lover of all things local to Langwathby, devoted to her family, died Langwathby 23 Dec 1882; possible photograph found in autograph album of William Jackson (qv) in Carlisle LSL (VVL, 53, 189, 205; CWN 40, Summer 2002; CWN, 67, Summer 2011; CWH, 09.07.2011); Boase ii 1615

Poynton, Charles Henry (1885-1935), clergyman, d 1912 and p 1913 (Birm), curate of Holy Trinity, Bordesley, Birmingham, from 1912 , vicar of Temple Sowerby until he died, aged 50, and buried at Temple Sowerby, 30 November 1935

Pratt, Bell (1910-2012), Methodist lay preacher, born in October 2010, native of Grisedale, Wainwright dedicated his Walks on the Howgill Fells to him and Margaret, published his autobiography in 2010, died at Westerley, Grange-over-Sands, 28 August 2012, aged 101, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, after service at Stricklandgate Methodist church, 6 September

Pratt, Hartley Blythe, maker of airships, in 1912 joined Barnes Wallis (qv), designed a rigid airship of 800,000 cubic feet capacity and work began at Cavendish dock Barrow in 1914, in RNVR; correspondence at the Science Museum

Pratt, Minnie (1880-1980), art teacher, dau of Alex Pratt head of Barrow school of art, she also lived Barrow, died aged 100, Minnie’s Scrapbook exhibited at the Dock Museum in 2022

Prescott, John Eustace (1832-1920), DD, chancellor of Carlisle diocese from 1900, archdeacon of Carlisle from 1883, canon of Carlisle 1870, vice-president, CWAAS 1875- , edited The Register of Wetheral Priory (1897), article on The Officers of the Diocese of Carlisle (CW2, xi, 90-117), died at The Abbey, Carlisle, 17 February 1920 (CW2, xx, 258-9)

Preston family of Furness, owned Furness Abbey after the dissolution, the last member of this family left a bequest to provide a Jesuit priest to serve Furness; West, Antiquities of Furness

Preston, Viscount, see Graham

Preston, George (fl.1610s-poss d.1639), of Holker, funded repairs to Cartmel Priory in 1617-1622 (PoC, 37) =? A GP held a manor court at Kirkby Lonsdale on 24 April 1639, died 5 April 1640 (IPM, RK, ii, 321-323; CW2, xxvi, 302)

Preston, Gordon Bamford (1925-2015), mathematician, born Cockermouth, son of Thomas Bamford Tyrer Preston (1890-1953) a commercial traveller and Constance Muriel Morton, educated Carlisle grammar school and Magdalen College, Oxford, married Esme Daniel, worked at Bletchley Park during the war with Alan Turing, his most significant work was the laying of the foundations of semi-group theory, he taught for a while at Westminster School and later was professor of mathematics at Monash University, Australia, wrote several books, died Oxford

Preston, Henry (d.1865), captain died in the Crimea, lytch gate memorial, Warcop

Preston, Henry (c.1827-1855), army officer, son of the Rev William Pratt of Warcop Hall, died in the Crimea leading his company of the 90th Light Infantry (Perthshire volunteers) against the Russian forces at the storming of the Redan as part of the Seige of Sevastapol; cumbrianwarmemorials.blogspot

Preston, John de (fl.1328-29), proctor, agent of Wigton church accounting to rector for farming (accounts for April-November 1328 and November 1328-January 1329 are transcribed in CW2, lxxxiii, 63-72 and translated in CW3, vii, 85-94)

Preston, John (1511-1577), landowner, son of (RK, II, 136, 303)

Preston, Richard (b.c.1495), the last prior of Cartmel, not involved in the Pilgrimage of Grace of 1536, soon after this the monks were expelled and the assets seized, four monks were hanged, the church was spared as the parish church, prior Preston secured the parochial living of Cartmel and a pension after the dissolution, at which point he was 41; Martin Heale, The Abbots and Priors of Late Reformation England, 2016

Preston, Thomas (d.1523), landowner, IPM held at Kirkby Lonsdale on 25 November 1523, died seised of manors of Nether Levens, Preston Patrick, and Holme, died 6 November 15 Hen VIII [1523], his son John (qv) was heir, aged 12 (RK, II, 131-32, 303)

Preston, Thomas (16xx-1697), gr son of George Preston (qv), left library of about 300 books (dating between 1525 and 1660) to Cartmel Priory, housed in new vestry (built in 1677 in place of old sacristy), recorded in his will in 1697, buried at Cartmel, 13 [17] February 1697

Preston, Sir Thomas, 3rd Bt (16xx-16xx), landowner, marr Mary, 1st dau of Caryll, 3rd Viscount Molyneux of Maryborough, his estates settled between his daus and coheirs, with first surv dau Mary, wife of William, 2nd Marquess of Powis (marr c.1695) succ to Holme, which was later sold to Francis Charteris (qv) in 1717

Preston, William (c.1693-1770), clergyman, marr Elizabeth Stephenson (c.1683-1767, buried at Ninekirks, 26 April, aged 84, sister of John Stephenson, gent), who had inherited Warcop Hall and Manor in 1757 on death of her nephew, George Stephenson (qv), but gave use of property to her eldest son (qv), 3 sons (William; Thomas, bapt 9 April 1724, Anthony, bapt 8 December 1726 both at Brougham), rector of Brougham 1722-1770, lord of manor of Warcop jointly with wife, died aged 77, and buried at Ninekirks, 1 April 1770

Preston, William (1719/22-1778), clergyman, eldest son of Revd William (qv), marr Mary (buried at Warcop, 29 December 1789), 1 son (William Stephenson, born 1761) and 1 dau (Priscilla, who marr (1770) William Wilkin), matric Queen’s College, Oxford, 11 February 1738, aged 16, rector of Ormside 1762-17xx, patron of Warcop living, where he lived at Warcop Hall from at least 1762, fragment of his diary for November 1765 surviving, buried at Warcop, aged 59, 9 March 1778 (CW3, i, 203-205)

Preston, William (c.1720-1778), clergyman and diarist of Warcop; CW3 i 202

Preston, William FRS (1729-1789), bishop, son of John Preston of Hincaster (W), educ Heversham GS and Trinity Coll Cambridge, fellow of Trinity, rector of Ockham (1764-1784), chaplain to Philip Yonge the bishop of Norwich, secretary to the duke of Rutland, bishop of Killala and Achonry and later bishop of Ferns and Leighlin, died Dublin; TR Smith, Worthies of Westmorland, 1851

Prestwich, Margaret (b.c.1345), nun and litigant of Seton, near Millom; CW3 vi

Prevost, Edward William (1851-1920), chemist and philologist, born Carlisle the son of Col Thomas William Prevost, educ Trinity College Glenalmond, Rugby and the university of Heidelburg, published The Dialect of Cumberland (1905)

Price, Barry David Keith (1934-2013), CBE, QPM, FBIM, police officer, moved to suburban London as a boy, met his future wife at school (together from age of fifteen), did national service as physical training instructor with RAF, keen sportsman and played football for Brentford FC and Wycombe Wanderers, began police career as a bobby on a bike in Metropolitan Police in 1954, serving in London for 21 years until appointed Assistant Chief Constable of Northumbria for crime and operations in 1975, Deputy CC of Essex Constabulary to 1980, moved to Cumbria in March 1980 as Chief Constable of Cumbria 1980-1987, QPM 1983, attended study course organised by FBI in Washington in 1983, living at Maulds Meaburn, Cumbria until he left in December 1987 to become head of national drugs intelligence unit at Home Office, CBE 1991, retired in 1996 to Lot region of southern France, but returned to Leeds in 2012 to live near his daughter Alison, marr (1953) Evelyne, 3 daus (Gaynor, Alison and Kathryn), former member of Appleby Rotary Club, keen golfer, enjoyed cooking, of Roundhay, Leeds, where he died 10 February 2013, aged 79

Price, Morgan Philips (1885-1973), MA, JP, FRGS, landowner, farmer, politician, journalist and author, born at Hillfield, Gloucester, 29 January 1885, son of Major William Edwin Price (d.1886), landowner of Tibberton, Glos, former MP for Tewkesbury (1868-1880), and Margaret, 2nd dau of Robert Needham Philips, merchant, of The Park, Prestwich, educ Harrow and Trinity College, Cambridge, travelled in Central Asia, Siberia, Persia and Turkey 1908-1914, Liberal parliamentary candidate for Gloucester City 1911-1914, joined anti-war Union of Democratic Control in 1914 and recruited by C P Scott as correspondent of Manchester Guardian on Eastern Front in Russia 1914-1918, Russian speaker and reported on Russian Revolution (My Reminiscences of the Russian Revolution published in 1921), joined Labour party 1919, correspondent of Daily Herald in Berlin 1919-1923, contested Gloucester City as Labour candidate again in 1922, 1923 and 1924 before gaining Whitehaven for Labour in 1929 general election from Conservatives with majority of 1,652, but lost it by 2,031 to William Nunn (qv) in 1931 general election, Parliamentary Private Secretary to Sir Charles Trevelyan, President of Board of Trade 1929-1931, Labour MP for Forest of Dean, Glos 1935-1950 and for West Gloucestershire 1950-1959, Forestry Commissioner 1942-1945, parliamentary charity commissioner 1945-1950, author of several volumes on Russia, Germany and Turkey and My Three Revolutions (1969), farmed 2,000 acre estate, of The Grove, Taynton, near Gloucester, marr (1919) Elisa, dau of Friedrich Balster, of Halberstadt, Germany, 1 son and 1 dau, died 23 September 1973, aged 88 (WWW, VII, 639)

Price, Samuel M. (c.1902 – c.1980), headmaster, Barrow-in-Furness Grammar School 1943-1967, lived Hawcoat Lane, retd. c.1970; involved with choosing candidates for Churchill scholarships, m. two children Helen and John; oldbarrovians.org

Price, Thomas (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Queen’s College, Oxford, headmaster of Heversham Grammar School from September 1897 to July 1903, vicar of Cartmel Fell 1909-1916 and Staveley-in-Cartmel 1916-1932 (diaries and letters in CRO, WDX 819)

Prickett, Thomas Cyril (1926-2009), coroner, born 31 December 1926, marr, twin sons, educ Kendal Grammar School, solicitor with C G Thomson & Wilson, Kendal, HM coroner for Southern Division of Cumbria, died xx May 2009

Prince, Hugh (1912-200x), MA, clergyman, educ St Cath S Oxford (BA 1934, MA 1938) and Wycliffe Hall, Oxford 1934, d 1936 and p 1937 (Carl), curate of St Mark’s, Barrow-in-Furness 1936-1940, acting curate of Holy Trinity, Millom 1940-1942 and curate 1942-1944, rector of Asby with Ormside 1944-1947, curate of All Saints, Bingley 1947-1949, vicar of St Saviour, Harden, Bingley 1949-1953, vicar of Windhill 1953-1958, rector of Kirkby Thore with Temple Sowerby 1958-1967 (instituted at St James’s church, TS by bishop of Penrith and inducted by canon W R M Chaplin at St Michael’s church, K T on 26 October 1958, succ Revd A P Haythornthwaite, (qv), Vicar of Isel with Setmurthy 1967-1972, rector of Bowness-on-Solway 1972-1976, retd to Hillside, Temple Sowerby 1977, died; dau Mrs Mary Huxtable, also of Hillside, Temple Sowerby, deposited papers at CRO (DX 1962)

Pringle, Andrew (17xx-18xx), author of General View of the Agriculture of the County of Westmoreland, with observations on the means of its improvement, drawn up for consideration of the Board of Agriculture (published at Edinburgh in 1794), following survey of state of stock and husbandry made in October and November 1793, with Preliminary Observations by the Bishop of Llandaff (pp 5-15)

Pritt, archdeacon, left 2/6 per annum to be spent on a bible for a poor person from Dunnerdale, Seathwaite, Althurside or Broughton; a Seathwaite Chapel charity; JC Cooper, Duddon Valley [is he the ancestor of Archdeacon Lonsdale Pritt of New Zealand?]

Proby, Katherine, formerly de Robeck, nee Simpson (1912-2012), widow of Brigadier Baron J H E (Jack) de Robeck, 2 sons (Martin decd, and Richard), and (2nd wife) of Jocelyn Campbell Patrick Proby (born 3 March 1900), 4th and yst son of Colonel Douglas James Proby, DL, JP, of Elton, uncle of Mary Lady Inglewood (qv), barrister, historian and osteopath, died at Stobars Hall, Kirkby Stephen, 3 September 2012, aged 99, and cremated at Carlisle crematorium, 14 September, with thanksgiving service to be held at Elton, near Peterborough

Proby, Mary (Lady Inglewood), (1913-1982), see Fletcher-Vane

Proud, Edward L (1xxx-19xx), huntsman, master of Bewcastle Foxhounds 1948-1961 (committee formed in 1934 or 1943?, succ Victor Hall (‘Hoppy Hall’) in 1948), sons Robert and Edward Proud continued as huntsmen and kennelled hounds (1979/80)

Proud, Joseph (1828-1893), carriage builder, m. Elizabeth and son Joseph James (d.1944), mon. Carlisle cemetery

Proudfoot, Thomas (c.1791-1859), MD (Edin), JP (1857), of Kendal, born in Scotland, aged 59 in 1851, wife Elizabeth (born in Kendal, aged 53 in 1851), author of Topographical Pathology of Kendal and its Neighbourhood (1822), physician to Kendal Dispensary from 1820, etc (Papers read to Kendal Literary and Scientific Society c.1841-1849 (17 vols) in CRO, WD/K/202; CW2, xciii, 206-210)

Publius Aelius Bassus, officer of the 20th legion at Watercrook, Kendal, son of Publius of the Sergian tribe, two freed men were his heirs, tombstone in the BM; A Guide to Antiquities of Roman Britain, 1922

Puckle, George Hale (18xx-19xx), MA, DL, JP, schoolmaster and local councillor, joint-headmaster of Windermere College with B J Irving (qv), chairman of Windermere Local Board (1894) and successor Urban District Council (1897) and elected member for Windermere ward, JP Westmorland (qualify 8 April 1869) and DL, of Nine Oaks, Windermere (1905)

Pugh, William Edward Augustus (1909-1986), MA, suffragan bishop, born 22 July 1909, son of William Arthur Augustus Pugh and his wife Margaret Caroline, educ Leeds University and College of the Resurrection, Mirfield, asst curate, Staveley, Derbyshire 1934-1937 and Edwinstowe, Notts 1937-1938, rector of Bestwood Park, Notts 1938-1944, vicar of Sutton-in-Ashfield, Notts 1944-1955, hon canon of Southwell Minster 1954, vicar of East Retford, Notts 1955-1959, rector of Harrington 1959-1962, vicar of All Saints, Cockermouth 1962-1970, archdeacon of West Cumberland 1959-1970, bishop Suffragan of Penrith 1970-1979, marr (1937) Freda Mary (died 1985), er dau of Charles Frederick and Susannah Merishaw, no children, keen musician (LRAM singing), of 25 Brigham Road, Cockermouth, died 4 January 1986 (photographic collection from Cockermouth Heritage Group in CRO, DSO 417); R.Watson, Mitred Men in Cumbria

Pullinger (later Martin), Dorothea (1894-1986; ODNB), marine engineer, ran a munitions factory in Barrow making high explosive shells for Vickers in the 1st World War

Punchard, Frederick (1840-1906), agent, born 20 June 1840, son of Charles Punchard, of Blunt’s Hall, Little Wratting, Suffolk, educ Merchant Taylor’s School, entd Underley Estate office, Kirkby Lonsdale on 17 April 1865, much valued as an arbitrator throughout district, chairman of Kirkby Lonsdale local board/UDC 1876-1903, senior vice-chairman of board of guardians of Kendal Union, author (as ‘An Erstwhile Chairman’) of a History of the Kirkby Lonsdale Local Board from its institution in January 1869 to its conversion into an Urban District Council, 31st December 1894 (E & J L Milner, Lancaster) and of Poor Law Administration in the 19th Century (paper read at meeting of Kendal board of guardians on 12 January 1901), died 14 July 1906, aged 66, and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale

Punchard, Frederick Burt (c.1868-1946), JP, agent, son of Frederick Punchard (qv), agent to Lord Bective, Underley Estate until he retired in 1936, first chairman of governors, Newton Rigg College 1896-1906, secretary, Lunesdale Agricultural Society (1930), of Fairbank, Kirkby Lonsdale, marr (1916) Edith Constance Holme (qv), then went to live at The Gables, Kirkby Lonsdale, but moved to Owlet Ash, Milnthorpe (Holme family home) after his retirement, no issue, died 25 April 1946, aged 78

Purdom, William (Will) (1880-1921), plant collector, eldest son of William Purdom, of High Brathay Lodge, Ambleside, apprenticed as a gardener at Brathay Hall, friend of Reginald Farrer (ODNB) and of C H Hough (qv), post at Kew Gardens, plant-collecting expeditions sponsored by WG Groves qv  to North-West China and Tibetan border 1909-1912 and 1914-1915, introd to Reginald Farrer 1913, Forestry expert in Chinese Ministry of Agriculture from1915 till his death from pneumonia in Peking in 1921 (WRG); plants named after him such as Purdomia auria, a type of primula

Purser, Josiah (1848-1928), alderman, Workington borough council, active with James Duffield (qv) in moving Dronfield Steelworks to Workington in 1882

Purves, William, itinerant photographer; CWAAS, 2017, 183-5

‘Putty Joe’ (b.1810), hawker, Whitehaven, biography Carlisle library; Hodgson J, (qv)

Pye, Alice (1990-2013) BEM, cancer fundraiser, of Ulverston; obit Guardian 14 January 2013

Pyne, James Baker (1800-1870; ODNB), landscape painter, b. Bristol, Windermere, Seen from Orrest Head (1849), Windermere Regatta and many other works were reproduced as prints in Lake Scenery of England, 1859; Marshall Hall

Pyper (Piper), Matthew (1730-1821), philanthropist, born at Whitehaven, member of Society of Friends, founded Marine School in Whitehaven in 1817, endowing it with £2,000 navy 5% annuities vested in 15 trustees for ‘the education of 60 poor boys resident in the town of Whitehaven or the neighbourhood, in reading, writing, arithmetic, gauging, navigation, and book-keeping’ [school-room erected by Lord Lonsdale in 1818 and opened in 1822], also endowed National Schools at Kendal (by deed of 21 November 1817, foundation stone laid by vicar on 16 December 1817) and at Lancaster with £2,000 each, also left interest on a further sum to supply poor of Whitehaven with soup in winter, died in November 1821 and buried under main school building; reinterred in Parkside cemetery, Kendal in 19xx (CCR, 43; P&W, 252; ARN)