M

MacAdam, John Loudon (1756-1836), surveyor and civil engineer, built roads from Penrith to Carlisle, Cockermouth and Alston, rented houses in Penrith, Keswick and Whitehaven; L.A. Williams, Road Transport in Cumbria, 1975

Macan, Thomas Towneley (known as Kit),  (1910-1985), freshwater biologist, Freshwater Biological Association, Ferry House, Bowness, (now based at Lancaster university), son of Thomas Towneley Macan (1860-1934) and Gladys Walker (1885-1967), m. at Hawkshead in 1938 Zaida Bindloss Boddington (1908-2001) dau of Lt Col Hugh West Boddington (qv) and his wife Alice Maud Bindloss, d. Outgate, son Tom a diplomat

Macaulay, Rev John (1805-1874), rector of Aldingham, b. Clapham, son of Zacchary Macaulay and his wife Selina Anne Mills, (brother of Thomas Babbington Macaulay, Lord Macaulay (1800-1859; ODNB), politician and historian; their sister was Lady Hannah More Trevelyan wife of Sir Charles Trevelyan of Wallington), marr Jane Emma Large, hon canon Carlisle, dau Selina Jane marr Fell of Daltongate, Ulverston

Macbeth, Ann (1875-1948; ODNB), embroidress, potter, designer and colourist, born in Bolton, 25 September 1875, daughter of Norman Macbeth a mechanical engineer, granddaughter of the portraitist Norman Macbeth RA, one of the Glasgow Girls,  resigned from Glasgow School of Art to settle in Patterdale in 1928, lectured and held classes in embroidery and handicrafts, instrumental in starting Herdwick Rug Wool industry at Cumberland Tweed Mills at Wetheral, designed stained glass windows, altar frontals, banners, pottery, etc., The Nativity Panel (in Glasgow Art Gallery) and The Good Shepherd (in Patterdale Church, 1935-36), of Wordsworth Cottage, Patterdale, died unmarried in a nursing home on Eden Mount, Stanwix, Carlisle, 23 March 1948; Pevsner and Hyde, 563

MacLaren, James Scott (1921-2004), footballer, b. Crieff, Perthshire, son of Hamish MacLaren who was a groundsman at Gleneagles Golf Course and Mary Scott, goalkeeper Carlisle United where he played 261 matches, at one point making a record of more than 200 consecutive League and cup appearances for the club, his three brothers, David, Peter and Monty were also all goalies on the books of Scottish/Football League clubs, father of Maggie Economopoulos, d. Blairgowrie, funeral on 27 July 2004.

McCall, Rev Henry John Grice, born Glasgow, lived Kendal 1880s; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

McCallum, Alexander John (18xx-19xx), FRCSE, MB, CM Edin, surgeon, physician to Starnthwaite Epileptic Colony, of Highgate View, Highgate, Kendal (1906)

McClean-Eltham, Barry, (see Eltham)

M’Connell, John, surveyor, of Penrith, general surveyor to trustees of Milnthorpe Turnpike Trust (1844-45) (CRO, WDX 214/Box 5)

McConnell, Revd John (18xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of Underbarrow 1893-1919, wife Elizabeth (memorial left East apse window in All Saints, Underbarrow)

McConnell, Pam Margaret (1946-2017), politician, b. Carlisle, went to Canada aged 9, Toronto city council 1998-2017

McCosh, Bryce, marr Sylvia Mary Hasell

McCosh, Sylvia Mary (nee Hasell) (1922-1991), er dau of Major Edward William Hasell (qv), of Dalemain, and er sister of Margaret Washington (qv), marr Bryce McCosh (qv), author of Between Two Gardens (1982) and North Country Tapestry (1991, posth), died 17 August 1991

McVie, Christine (nee Perfect) (1943-2022), rock musician, born in Bouth near Ulverston, dau of Cyril PA Perfect, concert violinist (qv) and Beatrice EM Reece, medium and psychic, grew up in Smethwick, Birmingham, studied sculpture at Moseley School of Art, became singer-songwriter and keyboard player with Fleetwood Mac, marr John McVie (b.1945), bass player, major successes include the albums Rumours (1977), Tusk (1979), Tango in  the Night (1987) and Behind the Mask (1990), numerous awards including two Grammys

MacDonald, Major Donald ‘Kinlochmoidart’, jacobite prisoner; CW2 lxiv 319

MacDonald, Major Donald ‘Tirnadris’, jacobite prisoner; CW2 lxiv 319

MacDonald, Ida (fl.1920s-1960s), dancing teacher Barrow, usually known as ‘Ida Mac’, taught ballroom dancing in the ballroom [now lost, the space having been divided into bedrooms], on the first floor of the Victoria Park Hotel, known fondly as ‘the VPH’, arranged the dancing at the Barrow Pageant of 1967 for the borough centenary, pageant master John Towler (qv), and mayor Cedric Ward (qv), she lived on Abbey Rd at the junction with Ilkley Rd, wore flamboyant dress notably a flowing cloak and large hat and would sweep out of her house in high heels even in her 80s and walk down to town

Macdonald, James (1845-1909), Unitarian minister, born in Oldham in 1845, student of Unitarian Home Missionary Board, Minister at Nantwich 1869-1873 and Sunderland 1873-1877, apptd Minister at Market Place Chapel, Kendal on 1 April 1878, chapel renovated 1881-82, with new organ by Messrs Wilkinson & Sons, chapel reopened on 16 March 1882, new Unitarian Sunday School built (foundation stone laid by Miss A K Greenhow on 10 March 1882), costs not all met till 1893, ceased to be Minister on 31 December 1886, living at 2 Beech bank, Kendal (1885), later at Gloucester and Sunderland before retiring from ministry, and for a time printer in Manchester, where he died, 7 February 1909 (ONK, 432-37)

MacDonald, Thomas Logie (1901-1973), BSc FRAS, astronomer and polymath, mayor Carlisle 1961-2

Macdonnell, Oliver (fl. early 20thc), novelist, marr a Miss Harris of Cockermouth, his Thorston Hall: A Tale of Cumberland Farms in the Old Days, 1936, lived Lorton

Macgregor, John (d.1898), works manager Vickers Engineering, Barrow, tomb Barrow; Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones, Barrow Herald 24 September 1898

McHaffie, Ray (1936-2005), rock climber and footpath builder; Tony Greenbank, Keswick Characters, vol.1

Machell of Aynsome; CW2 lxxxix 263

Machell of Crackenthorpe; CW1 vi 416; CW2 xxxiii 113

Machell, Lieut-Col (d.1828), (of Crackenthorpe Hall family), fought at battle of Bunker Hill (17 June 1775), where he lost an arm, died 24 September 1828, aged 80 (LC, 72)

Machell, Hugh Lancelot (1851-1920), BA, solicitor, born 14 August 1851 and bapt at Barrow-on-Humber, eldest son of Revd Richard Beverley Machell (qv), educ St John’s College, Cambridge (BA, 1873), solicitor, of Woodford, Essex, steward of manor court of Great Asby or Asby Winderwath (1893), marr (12 July 1876, at Wanstead) Helena Margaret, dau of Abel Chapman, of Woodford, Essex, 3 sons,  (solicitor’s papers in CRO, WDX 301)

Machell, Hugh W (18xx-19xx), writer and sportsman, of ‘north country pedigree’, served WWI as officer in RNVR 1916-1918 (papers in TNA, ADM 337/123/100), Hon Secretary of Grasmere Wrestling Academy, compiler of Some Records of the Annual Grasmere Sports (dedicated to Richard Assheton, Viscount Cross, with foreword by Canon H D Rawnsley, Carlisle, 1911), special contributor to British Sports and Sportsmen, follower of nearly every pack of hounds in North West of England, and author of John Peel: Famous in Sport and Song (1926) and (with Sir Iain Colquhoun) Highland Gatherings, Being accounts of the Braemar, Northern and Luss Meetings (1927), of Pavement End, Grasmere (1910)

Machell, John (1678-1750), of Backbarrow

Machell, Percy Wilfrid (1862-1916), CMG, DSO, JP, army officer, born 5 December 1862 and bapt at Barrow-on-Humber, 18 January 1863, 5th son of Revd Richard Beverley Machell (qv), and nephew of Captain James Octavius Machell (1837-1902), who had bought back the Crackenthorpe Hall estate in 1877, whom he succ in 1902, and yr brother of Hugh Lancelot Machell (qv), marr (1905) Countess Victoria Alice Leopoldine Ada Laura (Valda) Gleichen (1868-1951), 2nd dau of Admiral HSH Prince Victor of Hohenlohe-Langenburg, GCB, RN, 1 son (Major Roger Victor Machell), Lieut, Essex Regt, served with Nile Expeditionary Force 1884-85, Major, Egyptian Army 1886, served WW1 comdg Lonsdale Bn at Somme, killed in action, 1 July 1916; widow, Countess Valda, born in London, 28 November 1868, singer, performed Handel and Schubert at concert conducted by Mary Wakefield in St George’s Hall, Kendal on 25 April 1895 (CRO, WDSo 344), sold Crackenthorpe estate to Lionel Cresswell (qv) in 1928, and died in London, 10 September 1951 (WG, 30.06.2016)

Machell, Richard Beverley (1823-1898), MA, JP, clergyman, born 8 January 1823 and bapt at Scarborough, educ St John’s and Magdalene Colleges, Cambridge (MA 1843), rector of Roos, canon of York, lord of manor of Great Asby or Asby Winderwath, marr hon Emma Willoughby (died 10 June 1915), sister of 8th baron Middleton, died 18 August 1898 (Machell Trust papers, inc correspondence re Emma Machell’s marriage settlement money, 1890, inc Alex Bosville [later Sir Alexander Wentworth Macdonald Bosville Macdonald of the Isles, 14th Bt, DL, JP, of Thorpe Hall, Driffield], whose mother, hon Harriet Cassandra, was Emma’s yr sister, in CRO, WDX 301)

Machell, Thomas (1647-1698; ODNB), clergyman and antiquary, rector of Kirkby Thore; Jane M. Ewbank: Antiquary on Horseback; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, pp.152 and 203; CW2 lv 132; CW2 lxxxix 297

Machell, Thomas (1823-1862-3), explorer, indigo planter and diarist, b. Beverley, Yorkshire, Jenny Balfour Paul, Darker than Indigo, 2015; Guardian 4 June, 2015

MacInnes, Elizabeth Janet (Betty) (1915-2008), teacher, eldest dau of Captain John Henry Loftie, RN (1874-1940), of Beulah, Pooley Bridge, nephew of Canon A G Loftie (qv), and of Madeleine Elizabeth (1883-1960), 3rd dau of Robert Thompson, of Inglewood Bank, Penrith, educ Casterton School, Kirkby Lonsdale, and Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford, marr (1940) Gurney MacInnes, 1 son (Miles) and 1 dau (Gay), moved after WW2 to Beauthorn on Ullswater and developed innovative residential courses for foreign students, later ran small school coaching boys for entrance to public school, retired to Beulah in Pooley Bridge in 1967, then to Tirril in 1981, active WI member and officer in Watermillock and Pooley Bridge, PCC secretary, acted with Mell Fell Players, etc, died at Winters Park, Penrith, 25 September, aged 93, and buried at Barton, 1 October 2008 (CWH); her brother was Lt-Cdr William Henry Paule Loftie, RN, of Bowerbank, Pooley Bridge, who died there, 16 May 1976, aged 57 (copy death certificate of Captain J H Loftie, who died on 17 January 1940, dated 23 May 1940 in CRO, WD/MM/183/4)

MacInnes, Miles (1830-1909), DL, JP, banker, railway director and politician, born 21 February 1830, son of General John MacInnes (who left Scotland to be an officer of East India Company and retired to Fern Lodge, Hampstead) and his wife Ann Sophia (nee Reynolds), educ Rugby School and Balliol College, Oxford, came to Carlisle to work at Head’s Bank in December 1853, aged 23, remained in Carlisle until moving to London in 1864, left £160,000 and Rickerby House and Park by G H Head (qv) in 1876, returning to live there, director of London & North Western Railway, Liberal MP for Hexham 1885-1892 and 1893-1895, supported Cumberland Benevolent Institution (CP, 17.06.1898), Alderman of Cumberland County Council and vice-chairman (1906), JP for Cumberland and Middlesex, member of CWAAS from 1876, marr (1859) Euphemia Johnston, of Holton Hall, Suffolk, 5 sons (inc 2 d.v.p.), of Rickerby House, Carlisle, died in September 1909, aged 79, and buried in Stanwix cemetery, after notable funeral cortege from Rickerby (Rawnsley description) (CN, 07.05.2010); food vessel found in field north of Rickerby House in 1863 (prob) was in possession of MacInnes family for many years and given to Eden School, Rickerby House, by Miss J E MacInnes in 1950 (CW2, lxvii, 20); Miss Jean MacInnes was chairman of Carlisle Diocesan Association for the Deaf (1973); Perriam CN 7 May 2010

MacInnes, Rennie (1870-1931), DD, MA, bishop, born c.1870, yst son of Miles MacInnes (qv), of Rickerby, Carlisle, educ Harrow and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1892, MA 1896), d 1896 and p 1897, bishop of Jerusalem, buried under a white marble celtic cross at Burgh by Sands; (CW2, xxxii, 192)

McIntire, Walter Travers (1870-1944), BA, FSA, schoolmaster and antiquary, second master at Kendal Grammar School (1905), but of Tullie House (1905), secretary of Carlisle School of Science and Art, Tullie House, Castle Street (founded in 1854 and previously located in Fisher Street until 1894) and director of Technical Education for 19 years, retired to Heversham, member of CWAAS from 1904, secretary for Antiquarian Correspondence from 1932, member of Parish Register Committee from 1934, president 1938-1944, editor of Transactions 1926-1944, author of Lakeland and the Borders of Long Ago (19xx), and many articles (inc ‘The Port of Milnthorpe’, CW2, xxxvi, 1936) chairman of governors, Heversham Grammar School for 20 years, and friend of school, of St Anthony’s, Milnthorpe, where he died, 25 August 1944 (papers in CRO, WDX 214); CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff

McIntosh, Ian Johnstone (1917-1976) ARIBA, architect, (not related to J.Y. McIntosh (qv)), educ Heriot Watt university, WW2 commando unit, chief architect for the borough of Barrow-in-Furness, built several schools and libraries including Thorncliffe School, Newbarns Infant School in Lesh Lane and the Round House at Biggar Bank, marr Joyce Dickinson (1925-2018), dau of John Love Dickinson, editor of Millom Gazette and qualified dispensing chemist

McIntosh, J.Y. (fl.1880s and 90s), architect, Barrow-in-Furness, (not related to I J McIntosh (qv)), in partnership with H Fowler and G Whitfield (1871-1959), built inter alia the Majestic Hotel, the huge Barrow Workhouse at Roose, the Conservative Club and the town hall at Dalton; Pevsner and Hyde

McIver, Charles (1866-1935), Olympic sailing team, silver medallist early 20thc., son of David McIver (qv)

MacIver, David (1840-1907; ODNB), ship owner, of Wanlass How, Ambleside, eldst son of Charles MacIver, of Liverpool, one of founders of Cunard Line, senior partner in David MacIver & Co, Liverpool, steam-ship owners, director, Great Western Railway, etc., MP for Liverpool Kirkdale 1898-1907 and for Birkenhead 1874-1886; Edward Squarey, ? his grandson, built Borrans, Ambleside

Mackareth, John (d.1971), Fresh Water Biologist, Ferry House, ‘died tragically’

McKay, itinerant photographer; CW3 xvii 181

Mackay, Charles (1812-1889; ODNB), LLD, poet, writer and journalist, born at Perth, 26 March 1812 (but gave 27 March 1814 as his birth date himself), editor of the Glasgow Argus 1844-1847, author of Scenery and Poetry of the English Lakes (London, 1846), died at home in Brompton, London, 24 December 1889, and buried at Kensal Green cemetery, 2 January 1890 (poems, essays, novel, and autobiographical writings in Perth Museum and Art Gallery archives)

McKay, George John (1846-1909), JP, woollen and horse clothing manufacturer, mayor of Kendal, born in Caithness, Scotland, in 1846, built Kendal’s first purpose-built steam powered factory and dwelling house at Great Aynam Mills (following its sale by Kendal Corporation in 1877), with a 350 horse-power steam boiler, highest brick chimney in town (105 feet), perforated iron floor for drying wool after dyeing, a tenter house with four tenters dried by steam, and a weaving shed (100 feet by 50 feet), occupying the whole of the Aynam space [details in Bulmer, 475], enlargement alone costing between £5,000 and £6,000, and electric light to be used for illuminating mill and his residence, employing 3 men, 7 women and 3 boys in 1881, new engine started by Mrs McKay and works named the ‘Ann Jane Mills’ (WG), described as ‘an enterprising manufacturer in the horse clothing trade’ and listed as a woollen horse rug, brace and belt manufacturer (1885), but little future for horse clothing by end of 19th century [Aynam mills run by John W McKay, of Castle Street, in 1905], elected to Kendal Corporation, for East Ward in 18xx, Mayor of Kendal 1890-91, county magistrate for Kendal Ward (by 1894), had 2 brothers (Murdoch and Angus Robert, who emigrated to New Zealand in 1873) and 2 sisters (Janet and Mary Ann), marr (186x) Ann Jane (aged 36 in 1881, died at Millom, aged 64, and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 16 February 1909), of Whitehaven, 1 son (George Mills (qv)), of 3 Castle Crescent, Kendal (1871) and of Olrig Bank, Kendal (1881, 1894), died at Haydock Lodge, Newton-le-Willows, 29 November 1909, aged 64, and buried with wife in Parkside (unconsec section) cemetery, Kendal, 1 December; will with codicil made 24 November 1908, proved at Carlisle, 30 December 1909; portrait in Kendal Town Hall (Bulmer (1885), pp.475-76, 559; WG)

McKay, Sir George Mills (1868-1937), born in Kendal, 20 July 1868, son and only child of George John McKay (qv), educ Heversham Grammar School (entered September 1881 and left July 1886), ran his manufacturing business, G Mills McKay and Company Ltd at Britannia Mills, Stockport, co-founder of English Speaking Union, Sheriff of City of London 1921-1922, knighted in 1922, mason, marr (1903) Vera Augusta, dau of Augustus Singer, barrister-at-law, no issue, of Rothay Manor, Ambleside, which he left to his wife in his will, also of 2 Deanery Street, London, died at Kentdale Nursing Home, Kendal, 19 July 1937, aged 67 and buried at Parkside cemetery, 21 July; left legacy of £1,000 to WCH (for endowment of a ‘George Mills McKay Bed’) from his mill interests subject to life interest of his wife, Lady McKay, who was prepared to make a will dividing her estate equally between Metropolitan Hospital in London and Westmorland County Hospital so long as WCH withdrew claims against her late husband’s estate; oil paintings of himself and wife by Mario Graconi left to Kendal Corporation, and oil painting of himself and dogs by same artist left to ESU at Dartmouth House, 37 Charles Street, Mayfair, London (CRO, WDX 934; will dated 28 November 1934 and proved at Carlisle, 11 November 1937, PROB/1937/1114; WCH GP Cttee minutes, 20 October 1937 and 19 January 1938, WT/HOS/1A/14-15)

McKay, James (18xx-19xx), founder of Cumberland and Westmorland Union of Golf Clubs in 1910 (nine leading clubs led by Maryport), which organised annual three-day championship meetings for individuals and club teams, and matches against Lancashire (Cumbria Union: One Hundred years of Golf in the Twin Counties by John Pearson, 2011)

Mackenzie, Peter (1824-1895), Methodist minister, served mainly in north of England, supernumerary minister in his last years preaching and lecturing in various parts of country, preached (on the Good Samaritan) at celebrations following opening of new Stricklandgate Methodist Chapel on 29 March 1883, also preached at opening service of new Skegness Wesleyan Chapel on 13 July 1882 (CWHS Journal, 64 and 66, Autumn 2009 and 2010)

McKie, Hugh Unsworth (18xx-18xx), city engineer in Carlisle, laid out first sewage farm in England, with his junior partner, James Mansergh (qv), in c.1860-61

Mackreth, Thomas (1726-1787), Master of Charity School, Highgate, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 12 January 1787, aged 60

Maclean, Allan Mackintosh (18xx-19xx), BA, clergyman, educ St David’s College, Lampeter (BA 1894), d 1896 (Worcs) and p 1897 (Cov), curate of St James, Dudley 1896-1898, and St Margaret, Abelour 1898-1899, rector of Arpafeelie 1899-1901, curate of St Saviour, Preston, Sussex 1901-1903, vicar of Prestwood, Bucks 1903-1904, vicar of Thornthwaite with St Herbert, Braithwaite 1904-1905, rector of Greystoke with All Saints Penruddock 1905-1914, transcribed and edited The Registers of the Parish of Greystoke: Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1559-1757 (Titus Wilson, Kendal, 1911), perm to offic, dio Gloucester 1914-1925, vicar of Highnam 1925- (and rector of Lassington 1928-), died [1938-1948]

Maclean, Hector Sykes- (18xx-19xx), BA, clergyman, educ St David’s College, Lampeter (BA 1893), d 1897 and p 1898 (Roch), curate of St Paul, Brixton 1897-1899, Bradford 1899-1900, Acting CF, South Africa (medal and clasp) 1900-1901, St Paul, Bermondsey 1901-1902, Preston, Sussex 1902-1904, Holy Trinity, Cuckfield 1905-1906, rector of Watermillock 1906-1914, transcribed and edited The Registers of the Parish of Watermillock: Baptisms, Burials and Marriages, 1579-1812 (Titus Wilson, Kendal, 1908), member of CWAAS from 1908 to 1914, vicar of Newbold Pacey, Warwicks  1914-1917, with Church Army in Egypt and Palestine 1917-1918, rector of Shermanbury, Henfield, Sussex 1917-1920, curate of Windlesham (in ch of St Alban, Sunningdale) 1920-1922, lic to pr in dio Chichester 1922-1924, vicar of Kirford, Sussex 1924-1928, rector of Woodmancote, Henfield, Sussex 1928-1953, edited The Woodmancote Parish Register (1932), had assumed addnl name of Sykes sometime between 1914 and 1938, retired to 70 New Church Road, Hove, Sussex, died [1957-1959]

Macleod, George Francis (c.1786-1851), CB, soldier, Lieut-Colonel, Royal Engineers, son of Colonel John Macleod, RA, and Lady Wilhelmina Emilia Kerr (dau of 4th marquess of Lothian; ODNB), served in India and Sicily, moved to Penrith on retiring from army, of Netherend in 1829, but later built house, Barco Hill, by 1841, churchwarden at St Andrew’s, Penrith in 1832, died unm 26 July and buried at Christ Church, Penrith, 31 July 1851 (CW3, vii, 186-87)

MacMillan, Archibald (17xx-18xx), gardener, worked in Levens Hall garden for about 70 years, and head gardener for Mary, Lady Andover, for 52 years (1758-1810), eventually letting things go to seed, succ by Alexander Forbes (qv)

Macpherson, Hugh Alex (1858-1901), MA, clergyman and ornithologist, came to Cumberland in 1882, author of The Birds of Cumberland (with William Duckworth) dedicated to memory of the naturalists John Heysham (qv) and Thomas Coulthard Heysham (Carlisle, 1886), and of Fauna of Lakeland (1892), member of British Ornithologists’ Union; plaque and bust Tullie House

MacPherson, Sheila Jesse (1936-2007), BA, archivist, born at Hexham, Northumberland, in February 1927, dau of Alexander and Ruth MacPherson, had brother Ian and sister Marjorie (wife of Graham Brightman (d.2010), of St Bees), educ Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Hexham (house captain and Girl Guide group leader) and Royal Holloway, University of London (BA 1957), initially with idea of career in teaching, but changed mind to attend University College London to obtain Diploma in Archive Administration (1958), submitted catalogue of the Marwood Elton Deeds and other documents in the Devon Record Office in May 1960, first job as Asst Archivist, Devon Record Office, Exeter to 1962, Archivist-in-Charge, Westmorland Record Office, Kendal 1962-1974, Deputy County Archivist of Cumbria 1974-1985, Acting County Archivist 1985-1986 (on retirement of Bruce Jones and during period of CCC’s Hay-MSL Review), County Archivist of Cumbria 1986-1992, President, Cumbria Family History Society 19xx-2007, but never followed up on her plans in 1972 to do research on the Kendal Quakers (‘The Influence of the Society of Friends on Kendal and District 1750-1850’), former Hon Secretary of Westmorland Women’s Hockey Association, when of 10 Castle Crescent, Kendal, later of Haygarth, Docker, where she lived with Barbara Middleton (died xxxx), died at Summerhill, Kendal, 6 June 2007, aged 71, after long illness following a severe stroke in 200x, with service at Grayrigg church after private cremation on 19 June

McQuhae, James (fl.1760s-80s), Presbyterian/Independent Minister, ordained by presbytery of Edinburgh to Scotch United Presbyterian Chapel (seceding from Market Place Chapel) on Beast Banks, Kendal in 1764, preached successfully for eight years but refused to confine his ministry exclusively to own sect, resigned on principles of church government in 1772 and became an Independent, taking several of congregation with him to worship in ‘The Fold’, Stricklandgate, for a time before Lowther Street Chapel opened on 12 September 1781; his housekeeper, Mrs Adam Ewart, was buried in Scotch Burial Ground on Beast Banks in 1773 (AK, 165; KK, 83, 321-22, 382) = ? son of Revd William McQuhae (former Moderator of Church of Scotland and tutor to James Boswell’s brothers) and of Backbarrow (his will of 1818 in CRO (W), Y/Ain), leaving his estate to his mother Mary Laurie and sister Elizabeth (for Ainsworth connection, see FOCAS Newsletter 82, p.9)

Mackreth, Vincent (c.1896-1972), clergyman, studied at Lichfield Theological College 1926, d 1928 and p 1929 (St Asaph), curate of Colwyn Bay 1928-1930, PC of Pitstone, Leighton Buzzard 1930-1936, vicar of Kemsing, Sevenoaks 1936-1939, vicar of Crosscrake 1939-1945, vicar of Yealand Conyers 1945-1948, marr Mary Sylvia (buried at Crosscrake, 4 April 1972, aged 75), of St Sunday Cottage, Stainton, buried at Crosscrake, 1 November 1968, aged 72

Madge, Frank Tyrer (19xx-19xx), MD, ChB, MRCS, LRCP, DPH, Medical Officer of Health for Kendal Borough, South Westmorland Rural District Council, and for Combined County Districts of Westmorland (apptd in 1946), sold his London house in 1985/6, of Longmire, Troutbeck

Madgin, Sarah (‘Sal Madge’) (1831-1899), last Whitehaven female coalminer, or ‘pit lassie’, working with colliery horses, carter in Croft Pit Yard, wore masculine dress, also footballer and wrestler with men, smoked pipe, had huge well attended funeral; photograph Cumbrian Images

Magrath, John Richard (1839-1930; ODNB), DD, JP, college head, son in law of Dr William Jackson (qv), whom he was to succ as Provost of Queen’s College in 1878, pro-povost 1877, bursar 1874-1878, chaplain 1867-1878, dean 1864-1877, tutor 1864, and fellow 1860, vice-chancellor of Oxford University 1894-1898, member of hebdomadal council 1878-1899, curator of University Chest 1885-1908, delegate of University Press 1894-1920, alderman of Oxford City Council 1889-1895, supported higher education for women, greatly interested in northern schools linked with Queen’s College, particularly St Bees, chairman of governors, St Bees School (CW2, xxxi, 216); author of A History of Queen’s College, 1921 (new edn 2019 )

Main, John Mackeller, wrote on Cumberland iron trade (VCH ii 385); Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Mair, G.J.J. (fl.18thc.), involved in the establishment of the Hong Kong and Shanghai Bank in Hong Kong; see monument Dent church re the opium trade

Majendie, Rt Revd Henry William (1754-1830; ODNB), DD, MA, bishop, born in London, 7 October 1754, er son of John James Majendie (1709-1782), canon of Windsor and domestic chaplain to Queen Charlotte, and his wife Elizabeth Prevost (c.1738-1818), educ Charterhouse School and Christ’s College, Cambridge, ordained priest at Worcester 1783, vicar of Bromsgrove 1783-1785, appointed canon of Windsor 1785, marr (11 April 1785) Anne Routledge (d.1836), of Stapleton, 13 children, vicar of Nether Stowey, Somerset 1790-1793, vicar of Hungerford 1793-1798, when he resigned his canonry of Windsor for a residential prebend at St Paul’s and exchanged Hungerford for New Windsor, retaining both on his election as bishop of Chester in 1800, but resigned both on his translation to Bangor in 1809, where he remained until his death on 9 July 1830 at the house of his son, Revd Stuart Majendie, at Longdon, near Lichfield (A charge delivered to the clergy of the diocese of Chester at the primary visitation, 1804)

Malcolm I (fl. 943-954), son of Donald II, given Cumbria in 945 by king Edmund of Northumbria, nicknamed ‘Canmore’ or great chief

Malcolm III (1058-1093), seized land north of the Derwent by 1068

Malcolm IV of Scotland, ceded Carlisle to the English crown in 1157

Malcolmson, James (18xx-18xx), clergyman and schoolmaster, at Burton-in-Kendal in 1852, trained at St Bees 1857, d 1859 and p 1860 (Chester), curate of St Thomas, Hyde, Cheshire 1859-1860 and St John’s, Dukinfield 1860-1863, London Diocesan Home Missionary and Sunday Evening Lecturer at St Peter, Walworth 1863-1866, vicar of St Luke’s, Deptford from 1866, living at Kent Cottage, Amersham road, New Cross, London SE in 1890, marr (1852) Mary (b.1818), eldest dau of Edward Lesh, of Newbarns, Dalton-in-Furness, and his wife Jane, dau of John Case, of Newbarns, and sister of Revd Edward Lesh, qv), 1 son (James Case Lesh (b.1858), MA, clergyman, rector of Norton Malreward, Somerset from 1898), died 1890x 1914

Malecot, George (fl.1770s), fiddler, Whitehaven; his ms copybook 1776-79 (Diamond Library, UNH Durham, USA)

Malin, Reginald (18xx-19xx), clergyman, rector of Sebergham (mosaic-tiled memorial in church to his granddaughter Ruth Ann Paisley Pain, who died 2 February 1931, aged 5)

Malkinson, William (18xx-1886), Methodist local preacher, from Cleator Moor, collapsed and died walking from Santon Bridge to his appointment at Eskdale on 21 February 1886; memorial stone erected at spot on roadside (CWHS, Journal No 19, September 1986)

Mallaby, Sir Howard George Charles (1902-1978; ODNB), CMG, OBE, MA, civil servant and headmaster, born 17 February 1902, son of William Calthorpe Mallaby and his wife, Katharine Mary Frances Miller, educ Radley College and Merton College, Oxford (BA 1923, MA 1935), asst master, Clifton College 1923-1924, asst master and housemaster, St Edward’s School, Oxford 1924-1926 and 1927-1935, Diocesan College, Rondebosch, South Africa 1926, headmaster of St Bees School 1935-1938, district commissioner for Special Area of West Cumberland 1938-1939, deputy regional Transport Commissioner for North Western Region 1939-1940, served WW2 as Captain, General List 1940, Major 1941, Lieut-Col 1943, Col 1945, secretary of National Trust 1945-1946, secretary-general of Western Union Defence Organisation 1948-1950, under-secretary, Cabinet Office from 1950, First Civil Service Commissioner 1959-1964, chairman of council, Radley College from 1952, author of Wordsworth: A Tribute (1950), died 1978

Malleson, Frederick Amadeus (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, vicar of Broughton-in-Furness (1882)

Mallinson, David (1927-2022), artist and art lecturer, born Carlisle, son of William Mallinson the Midland Bank manager and his wife Mary, the family lived at Great Salkeld, educ Queen Elizabeth GS, Penrith and the Slade Art School, war interrupted his studies, commissioned into the Black Watch he served in Burma, Kashmir, Greece, Egypt and Palestine, marr Tina Tusgioglu in Paris in 1950 (she then worked in the Foreign Office information dept), taught in London schools and later at Isleworth Polytechnic (now West Thames College) where he built up design courses, successful in exhibitions at the Quadrant Gallery and the Piccadilly Gallery, having exhibited at the RA, the RSBA and RSPP; Guardian obit 20 April 2022

Mallinson, James Gill (c.1820-1903), clergyman, St Bees Theol Coll 1847, d 1847 and p 1848 (Manch), curate of Smallbridge, near Rochdale, Lancs 1847-1850, Deane, near Bolton, Lancs 1850-1854, St Jude, Manchester 1854-1860, Bredon-on-the-Hill, Leicestershire 1863-1872, and Bromfield, Cumb 1872-1877, and pc of Martindale 1877-1891, retired to Southport, where he died 20 November 1903, aged 83

Mallory, George Herbert Leigh (1886-1924; ODNB), climber, b. Mobberley, Cheshire, son of the Rev Herbert Leigh Mallory, ed. Winchester and Magdalene College Cambridge, taught Charterhouse, Lt in Royal Garrison Artillery in WWI, climbed in the Lakes with Geoffrey Keynes (qv), brother of Maynard, ascended Pillar Rock in 1913, member of the Everest expeditions of 1921, 1922 and 1924, died on Mt. Everest during the last of these, body not discovered until 1999

Malton, Henry de, held land in Kirklinton in 1296, defended Carlisle in 1324 when besieged by Robert the Bruce, sheriff of Cumberland in 1323-5; Hudleston ( C )

Mander, R H (18xx-19xx), MA, headmaster of Kelsick Grammar School, Ambleside

Manduell, Sir John (1928-2017), CBE, founding principal of the Royal Northern College of Music, chairman Lake District Summer Music, died 25 October 2017, obit Telegraph, 26 Oct 2017

Manley, Gordon (1902-1980; ODNB), FRGS, FRMetS, DSc, geographer and meteorologist, born at Douglas, Isle of Man, 3 January 1902, professor, committee member of Brathay Field Study Centre (1969), Curwen Archives lecturer in 1976/7, author of article on ‘Sir Daniel Fleming’s meteorological observations at Rydal, 1689-1693’ (CW2, lxxvii (1977), 121-126) and over 180 papers from 1927, died 29 January 1980, aged 78, and buried in Colton churchyard

Manning, Rev George, Westmorland; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

Mann, John (18xx-18xx), registrar, resigned as registrar of births, marriages and deaths for Kendal Union in December 1869 (succ by C G Thomson, qv)

Manners, William (1862-19xx), landscape artist, born at Burley-in-Wharfedale, Yorks WR, in 1862, moved from Yorkshire to Lake District about 1904, centred on Kendal, died c.1930? (Chris Stephens email, 24.11.09)

Manning, P (18xx-1931), surgeon, on medical staff of Westmorland County Hospital 1898-1930, of Yard xx Highgate, Kendal (since restored and memorialised as Dr Manning’s Yard), died in 1931

Mansergh, James (1834-1905; ODNB), FRS, MICE, MIME, JP, civil engineer, born at Lancaster, 29 April 1834, 2nd son of John Birkett Mansergh, draper, local politician and philanthropist, educ locally in Lancaster and at Preston, sent to Queenwood College, Hampshire in 1847, apprenticed to Hugh Unsworth McKie (qv) and John Lawson, engineers, of Lancaster in 1849, worked in Brazil as engineer to E Price on short line of railway from Rio de Janeiro in 1855-59, marr 1st (7 July 1859) Mary (d.1897), dau of Robert Lawson, of Skerton, 2 sons and 2 daus, became a partner of McKie, then city engineer of Carlisle, where they laid out first sewage farm in England, also contractors for sewage scheme for West Ham, which was financially disastrous and partnership dissolved, engaged as contractor’s agent for John Watson & Co on construction of Mid-Wales and Llandeilo and Carmarthen railways from 1862 to 1865, entd partnership with his brother-in-law, John Lawson (d.1873), then practised alone until he took his two sons (Ernest and Walter Leahy) into partnership in 1897, specialised mainly in waterworks, sewerage and sewage-disposal plants, esp Birmingham water supply scheme gained international reputation, marr 2nd (September 1898) widow of Nelson Elvey Irons, of Tunbridge Wells, died at his residence, 51 Fitzjohn’s Avenue, Hampstead, 15 June 1905 and buried in Hampstead cemetery

Marat, Jean-Paul (1743-1793), French revolutionary leader, spent time in Edinburgh and Carlisle c.1790, hon. member Carlisle Patriotic Society; Jenny Uglow, The Pine Cone, 28; Sarah Losh Journal, no. I or no. II

Marcus, Gaius Julius (early 3rd c), Roman governor with numerous inscribed stones; CW2 lxxxvi 53

Margaret of France (c.1279-1318), dau of Phillip III of France (1245-1285) and his 2nd wife Maria of Brabant, in 1299 she became the second queen of Edward I, lived in Carlisle castle while Edward I was attempting to deal with the Scots, here she had a chapel built and a very rare early bath, a humane queen she negotiated several significant pardons for those who had angered her husband, Edward considered her ‘a pearl of great price’; Jennifer Ward, Women in Medieval Europe, 2016

Margaret, Princess (1930-2002), countess of Snowdon, daughter of George VI and Elizabeth Bowes-Lyon, sister of Queen Elizabeth, married Anthony Armstrong-Jones, earl of Snowdon, to Carlisle c.1952 and visited an industrial exhibition in the covered market at Carlisle; Tim Heald, A Life Unravelled, 2007

Mark (or Marke) J and A, quakers; see the Vernacular History group’s research

Mark, Jeffrey (1898-1965), composer, folk song collector and economist, born Carlisle, father a cabinet maker, educ Exeter university, Royal College of Music under Stanford, Vaughan-Williams and Holst, wrote Scottish Suite (1927), a piano concerto, Mossgiel a ballad opera named after Robert Burns’ farm (here the poet wrote his famous ‘To a Mouse’ poem), orchestral versions of strathspeys and the folk songs Sally Gray, L’al Dinah and Barley Broth (also 1927), music for the bagpipes, latterly taught composition at the RSM, Michael Tippett (1905-1998) was influenced by him, he included a portrait of Mark in his Fantasia on a Theme of Handel (1941) but Mark did not like it, wrote also on economics publishing his Analysis of Usury (1935) which advocated the abolition of rents

Markham, Francis (1837-1921), DL, JP, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1889, chairman of Westmorland County Council December 1900-March 1906, Colonel, formerly of the Rifle Brigade, of Morland House, JP Westmorland (qual 24 February 1872), buried at Morland, 31 October 1921, aged 83

Markham, Frederick (1805-1855), CB, Lieut-General, commanded 2nd division of Army of Crimea, died 21 November 1855

Markham, Frederick Rice (1869-1948), JP, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1929

Markham, Gervase William (1910-2007), MBE, MA, clergyman and squarson, descended from archbishop William   Markham of York (1719-1807; ODNB) who sat to Romney, born 7 November 1910, son of Right Revd Algernon Markham, bishop of Grantham, marr (1945) Barbara Banks, 1 son [Frederick Charles Theodore, born 6 July 1949, High Sheriff of Cumbria 2004, marr Suzie Balfour, 3 sons (Gervase (born at Carlisle, 21 June 1978, marr (2010) Ruth Rotter, of Loughborough, 3 sons (William, John and Samuel), died at Morland House, 27 July 2018, aged 40, and buried in Morland new churchyard, 6 August); Arthur; and Francis) and 1 dau (Diana)] and 2 daus, educ Bramcote School, Scarborough, Winchester College and Trinity College, Cambridge (MA), curate of Bishopwearmouth, Sunderland 1936, chaplain to bishop of Durham 1939, served WWII as chaplain with 8th Army in North Africa, Sicily and Normandy, vicar of St Stephen, Burnley 1945-, and Grimsby from 1952, hon canon of Lincoln Cathedral from 1955, vicar of Morland with Thrimby and Great Strickland 1965-198x, hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral from 1972, apptd to new position of bishop’s officer for Christian stewardship in 1973 (with campaigns held in Gilsland parish in 1973, in Scotby and Ulverston in 1974, and also directed campaigns in Scotland), founded Morland Choir Camp in 197, conceived and planned the millennium stone, Eamont Bridge, author of Something Good to Say: the Memoirs of Canon Gervase Markham (privately published, 2009) in aid of Morland Choir Camp, of the Garden Flat, Morland House, died in 2007 (CWH, 01.09.2018);; obit. Cumberland News, 11th January, 2008

Markham, William Rice (1803-1877), BA, JP, clergyman, born 3 Feb 1803, married Jane Clayton, of Chesters, Northumberland (died 2 July 1871, aged 73 yrs), vicar of Morland for 48 years 1828-1877, qual as JP Westmorland 11 January 1830, died 27 March 1877

Marks, H C (18xx-19xx), Carlisle city engineer and surveyor, retired in September 1926

Marlowe, Julia, nee Frost (1866-1950; Dic American Biog), actress and suffragist, b. Caldbeck, daughter of a clogger who migrated to the USA when she was a child, remarkable career playing Shakespeare and much else; Charles Edward Russell, Julia Marlowe, (1926); Caldbeck Characters, Caldbeck History Society 1995

Marriner, Alfred Atkinson JP, 33 Brunswick Sq, Penrith; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Marrison, Geoffrey [1923-2017] DD, clergyman and academic, son of John and Rose Marrison, m. Margaret Marian Milburn 1958, 1 s, 3 d, Keeper of Oriental books, British library, catalogued SE Asia mss British Library, retired to Ulverston c.1988 and became a keen student of art history at Grange-over-sands with Liverpool Univ dept Extra Mural Studies, aged 77 in 2000 appointed as senior fellow East Asian Studies university of Hull 2000-2003

Marr, John Edward (1857-1923; ODNB), geologist, born Bolton-le-Sands, Lancashire, son of a silk merchant, moved to Wales, an Arenig fossil he discovered in Caernarfon aged 19 was named Caryocaris marrii by Henry Hicks, educ Lancaster GS and St John’s Cambridge, later a fellow St John’s, professor at Cambridge from 1917-1930, Fellow Geol Soc 1879, president 1904-6, his Geology of the Lake District (1916) was for long the standard text, published on the Skiddaw slates, also thrust faulting, ^^^^^^^^^^^; Cumberland Geological Society Proceedings vol 6 1998-9 pt 3; p.361

Marrs, Amy A. (18xx-19xx), Christian evangelist, prominent speaker in Carlisle, superintendent of Broadguards Mission 1908-1916 and of St James’s Mission 1916-1928, worked for Cumberland News, later had fruit and flower shop at 2 The Crescent, Carlisle, one of Misses Marrs ? of 17 Spencer Street, Carlisle in 1938, dau of Henry Marrs of same in 1921 ? (scrapbook 1914-1946 in CRO, DX 416/1/2)

Marsh, Christopher (15xx-?1656), steward, favourite officer and friend of Lady Anne Clifford, granted power of attorney re full claim concerning estates held by her, 11 August 1628, made statement of claim on behalf of Lady Anne in 1632 (CRO, WD/Hoth/Box 46), letters to him from Lady Anne rel to Great Books, 28 February 1649/50, and unhappy about her resort to litigation to restore tenures on her Westmorland lordships in his letter from the south, which prompted her to anger in her reply of 15 July 1650 (Box 44; RTS, 141), copy letter of 19 May 1656, and letter from George Sedgwick rel to Lady Anne’s acceptance of executorship for ‘her late steward and friend Marsh’ (Box 44)

Marsh, John (fl. late 20thc.), policeman and local historian, involved with Kendal Civic Society and the CWAAS, gave numerous walking tours of Kendal, collaborated with John Garbutt in several publications, Cumbrian Railways (1999), Images of Westmorland (2002), Kendal Past and Present (2003), worked with John Satchell (qv) whom he described as an ‘inspirational genius’ who conceived of the Museum of Lakeland Life and Industry

Marshal, William, earl of Pembroke (c.1146-1219; ODNB), founder of Cartmel Priory in c.1190

Marshall, Alexander (c.1800-1828), Presbyterian Minister, called to newly formed congregation of Scotch Secession Presbyterians in newly converted chapel in Woolpack Yard, Kendal in January 1825 and ordained Minister on 13 July 1825, but died 22 January 1828, aged 27, ‘greatly lamented among all classes. His funeral was almost a public one’, buried in ground in front of Monument House, formerly Presbyterian chapel; elegy (‘He is gone as a flower by the stream swept away’) dedicated to his memory by Thomas Millars, a schoolmaster of New Inn Yard, who later died a drunkard in Kendal Workhouse) (KK, 322; LC, 73)

Marshall, Catherine Elizabeth (1880-1961; ODNB), suffragist and internationalist, elder child of Francis E Marshall (1847-1922), mathematics master at Harrow School, and Caroline (nee Colbeck) (d.1927), b. Harrow but later lived Hawes End, Portinscale, Keswick, (brother, Harold), built up a local suffrage society in Keswick as a branch of National Union of Women’s Suffrage Societies (NUWSS), of which she was hon parliamentary secretary 1911-1914, etc. , friend of Helena Swanwick, on one occasion walked as a pilgrimage from Carlisle to London; (CRO (C), Marshall papers); CW3 x 239; Rob David, A County of Refuge, 2020, 39-52

Marshall, F H (19xx-xxxx), MA, clergyman, vicar of Crosthwaite and patron of Borrowdale in 1961

Marshall, Hannah (18xx-18xx), nurse, born in Kendal, yst of 4 daus of Samuel Marshall (qv), member of Kendal Sick Poor Society committee, becoming supervisor in 1868, paid Nurse Parker’s salary out of funds from Bryan Lancaster Trust until May 1873, marr (4 May 1871) Joseph Pattinson Drewett, corn merchant, of Luton

Marshall, Henry (16xx-1666/7), MA, clergyman, chancellor of Carlisle 1666, vicar of Crosthwaite 1661-1666, instituted 14 April 1661 on presentation by king and collated by Bishop Richard Sterne on 21 September 1661, also collated to Stanwix by Bishop Rainbow on 31 March 1666 (without relinquishing Crosthwaite), also apptd chancellor (on resignation of Robert Lowther (qv)) in 1666 as well as prebendary of fourth stall of Carlisle (23 June 1666), strongly opposed to Quakers, died day after falling downstairs on 15 December 1666 (letter from Dr Thomas Smith to Sir Daniel Fleming, 21 December 1666, in FiO, i, 163) or said by Jefferson (Hist of Carl, 259; N&B, ii, 307) to have been murdered by a beggar at his own door at Stanwix a year after his collation and buried in cathedral (ECW, i, 194-195, 657); monument Stanwix churchyard

Marshall, Henry (fl.1950-70), ALA, librarian and publisher, Kendal Borough Librarian 1950s/60s, head of Kendal and Westmorland Library Service, friend of A Wainwright and took charge of publicity and administration of first four fell guides, also published MA Gordon’s books (qv)

Marshall, Henry Cooper (1808-1884), DL, JP, manufacturer and landowner, born at Leeds, 8 March 1808, educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1820, left December 1822) and Shrewsbury School, linen manufacturer, mayor of Leeds 1843, DL and JP West Riding Yorkshire, of Weetwood Hall, Leeds and Derwent Island, Keswick, died 14 October 1884 (SSR, 171); Margaret Armstrong, Keswick Characters, vol.1; W.G. Rimmer, The Marshalls of Leeds, Cambridge, 1960

Marshall, Herbert Menzies (b.1841), artist, member Lake Artists, Renouf , 55-6

Marshall, James Garth (1802-1873), DL, JP, MP, of Monk Coniston, son of John Marshall (qv) and brother of William (qv), Liberal MP for Leeds, progressive and utilitarian thinker, made extensive purchases of land in Lake District, inc land around Tarn Hows in 1839, planning a programme of intensive landscape development and creating both a beautiful and functional place, flooding the existing pools to fuel his sawmill, with tree-planting, creating a beauty spot for tourists by end of 19th century (estate remained in family until 1928 when purchased by Beatrix Potter, then left to National Trust) (CuL, April 2018, 50-53)

Marshall, John (fl.1440-60) of Appleby, skilled in curing human and equine ailments, ms The Boke of Marshalsi  (Wellcome Library, London) q.v. volume (or ms) of the same title sold by exors of Duke of Gloucester, his sale, 26-27 Jan 2006 lot 501, p.392-3

Marshall, John (1765-1845), linen manufacturer and flax-spinner, MP for Yorkshire, of Headingley, Leeds, purchased old Patterdale Hall from Mounsey family in 1825 and built new Hall (mostly by Salvin in 1845-50), and other extensive estates in iconic locations between 1810 and 1845, marr Jane Pollard, a close friend of Dorothy Wordsworth, while WW was closely involved in the choice and principles of planting woods

Marshall, John Duncan (1919-2008), BSc (Econ), PhD, FRHistS, historian, born at Ilkeston, Derbyshire, 2 April 1919, educ Nottingham High School and University College, Nottingham, attending adult classes in 1936, which provided him with a far more liberal education than that offered by his school, and where he met Prof Jonathan David Chambers (1898-1970), the economic historian, who taught him value of local analytical historical studies, junior reporter on Derby Evening Telegraph, worked for Forestry Commission, began WWII as conscientious objector, after which he returned to UC Nottingham, but took University of London economics degree (BSc Econ 1949), taught history of science and technology at Bolton Training College and elsewhere, studied regional social history in East Midlands, but completed study of Furness and the Industrial Revolution for PhD (London Univ 1956), which was published for Barrow-in-Furness Library and Museum Committee in 1958, appointed lecturer at University of Lancaster in 1966, founding director of Centre for North West Regional Studies 1973, reader in North-West Regional History till early retirement in 1980, emeritus reader, member of CWAAS from 1965, member of council 1967-1970, 1971-1974, 1980-1983, vice-president 1983-1999, fellow 2000, chairman of committee for industrial archaeology, instigated formation of Cumbria Industrial History Society in 198x and president to his death, research on the Newland Furnace project, involved latterly with Barrow Civic Society, many publications in numerous journals, author of The Old Poor Law, 1795-1834 (EHS, 1968), Old Lakeland: Some Cumbrian Social History (1971), (with J K Walton) The Lake Counties from 1830 to the mid-twentieth century: A Study in Regional Change (1981), also edited The Autobiography of William Stout of Lancaster (1967), marr (19xx) Frances S (born in Carlisle, taught English at Lancaster and Morecambe College of Further Education 1960-1977, joint editor of Envoi poetry magazine 1956-1969, published collections of verse, and author of A Travelling Actress: Charlotte Deans (1984) qv, died in 19xx), of 16 Westgate, Morecambe (1968), of 4 Dalton Road, Lancaster (1977), later of Brynthwaite, Charney Road, Grange-over-Sands, where he died on 20 May 2008, aged 89, and cremated at Lancaster, 30 May (CW3, viii, 299-300; CW2, lxix, 352; CIHS, 71 (inc bibliography); CNWRS, 7, 95-98; LH, 38, 4, 299); obituary Guardian 22.7.2008, also in Centre Words, Centre NW Studies, 2008 by Oliver Westall

Marshall, Reginald Dykes (d.1913), landowner, lived Castlerigg House, Keswick, marr Mary Louisa dau of Sir John FW Herschel, 1st bart, (1792-1871; ODNB) astronomer and son of William Herschel (1738-1822; ODNB), musician and astronomer, window to Marshall in St John’s Keswick

Marshall, Samuel (1791-1869), schoolmaster, master of Friends’ School, Stramongate, Kendal 1815-1855, Registering Officer for Kendal Monthly Meeting, Society of Friends 1837-1867, marr (18xx) Hannah (died 15th of 5mo 1868, aged 79), twin sons and 4 daus (Jane Pearson, wife of William Satterthwaite, grocer, of Lancaster (marr 6 July 1847); Frances, wife of Richard Reynolds, chemist, of Leeds (marr 15 July 1858); Mary, wife of William Sutton, tanner and leather merchant, of Scotby (marr 18 July 1867); Hannah (qv), wife of Joseph Pattinson Drewett, corn merchant, of Luton (marr 4 May 1871), all at Kendal FMH), letter about setting up school in Kendal in 1815 (CRO, WD/Cr/4/177), apptd president of Kendal Mechanics’ and Apprentices’ Library and Institute at its formal establishment on 19 April 1824, secretary of Kendal Dispensary (1837), kept meteorological journals 1822-1867, thus maintaining John Dalton’s rain records after JD went to Manchester, covering 45 years between them, (journal 1822-1825 at Kendal Museum, journals 1826-1867 in CRO, WDX 1198), hon curator Kendal Museum for part of the period 1844-69, moved to 9 Kent Terrace, Kendal in 1855, where he died 3rd of 11mo 1869, aged 78, and buried with his wife in Friends’ Burial Ground (obit in misc papers in CRO, WDFC/F1/97)

Marshall, Walter James (1837-1899), DL, JP, landowner, born 11 June 1837, yst son of William Marshall (qv), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1890, first master of Ullswater Hounds from amalgamation of Patterdale or Hartsop Hounds and Matterdale Hounds in 1873, died 6 February 1899, aged 61, and buried in Patterdale churchyard, 9 February

Marshall, William (fl.late 16thc.), of Lambeth, founded Urswick grammar school 1589, for many years in recent memory this was used as a primary school, the original building survives

Marshall, William (1796-1872), DL, JP, MP, linen manufacturer, born 26 August 1796, gr ?son of John Marshall ?, marr (18xx) Georgiana Christiana (born 11 March 1801, died 24 May 1866, aged 65, and buried at Patterdale, 31 May), 3 sons (John William (1829-1881), George Herbert (1832-1887) and Walter James (qv)), owner of Marshall Mills in Leeds, of Patterdale Hall, died in London, 16 May 1872, aged 75, and buried with wife in Patterdale churchyard, 23 May

Marshall, William Hibbert (1866-1929), DL, JP, landowner, lord of manors of Glenridding and Deepdale, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1902, DL Westmorland (apptd in November 1899), master of Ullswater Foxhounds 1910-1927 (with kennels at Patterdale Hall), marr Lenore Fairfax (born 1870, buried at Patterdale, 16 December 1933, aged 63), 3 sons (William Martin Walter (1902-1985), bapt 25 December 1902, sold Patterdale Hall to F C Scott in 1937, Godfrey Hibbert (1905-1984), and John (bapt 10 August 1912), and dau? Joanna (1899-1972), buried at Patterdale, 30 March 1929, aged 63

Martin, Bryan Russell (1935-2009), broadcaster, born Ulverston, worked BBC radio 4, announced the death of Elvis 1977 and news of the Iranian Embassy siege 1980

Martin, Geoffrey Howard (1928-2007), CBE, MA, DPhil, FSA, FRHistS, historian, born at Colchester, 27 September 1928, son of Ernest Leslie Martin and Mary Hilda (nee Haward), m. Janet (qv), Keeper of Public Records 1982-1988, president, CWAAS 1999-2002, retired to Church View Cottage, Finsthwaite, died in Summerhill Nursing Home, Kendal, 20 December 2007, aged 79, and buried at Finsthwaite, x January 2008 (CW3, viii, 295-298); CWAAS 150th volume 303ff; obit. CW3 viii 195. Martin, Janet D., historian, marr Geoffrey Martin (qv), author of The Account Book of Clement Taylor of Finsthwaite, 1712-1753, 1997, The Websters of Kendal: A North-Western Architectural Dynasty (with the late Angus Taylor (qv)) (CWAAS, Record Series Vol XVII, 2004), Janet Martin, The Making of a Myth (that of the ‘Finsthwaite Princess’, Clementina Douglas (qv)) (CW3 i 155-164)

Martin, Henry Albert (18xx-19xx), Yorkshire manufacturer, commissioned T H Mawson to design garden at Cringlemire, Holbeck Lane, Troutbeck in 1900, with Robert Mawson acting as contractor, planting and extending terraced hillside garden (CRO, WDB 86/ photos), of Cringlemire (1894, 1897, 1905, gone by 1910) [Joseph Nicholson is of Cringlemire in 1885]

Martin, JN, murdered at Cawnpore during the Indian Mutiny in 1857 (this notorious event involved the deaths of 1000 men women and children in an ill-equipped garrison town), JNM was the grandson of John Nickleson Martin (b.1758) of Itonfield; Hudleston ( C )

Martin, Sir Leslie (1908-2000; ODNB), architect, among his designs was the extension to Kettle’s Yard in Cambridge for Jim Ede; as a friend of Helen Sutherland (qv) Ede recommended Martin who built  her house at Cockley Beck, later the home of Fred Hoyle (qv), Martin and his wife Sadie Speight also built Brackenfell at Brampton for Alistair Morton (qv), Martin is better known for his Royal Festival Hall

Martin, Madge (1899-1990), diarist, visited Cumbria, P and R Malcolmson, A Vicar’s Wife in Oxford 1938-1943: The Diary of Madge Martin, 2018; CW3 2022, 229

Martin, Robert Edmund (1874-1961), CMG TD JP DL, b. Whitehaven, son of Robert Frewen Martin and Henrietta Susan Larkin, 2i/c 5th bn. Leicesters in 1st WW, chairman Leicester CC, m. Ethel Peel, active in the establishment of  Leicester university

Martin, Selina (1882-1977), suffragette, Ulverston, dau of bookseller, arrested several times, imprisoned, on hunger strike, force fed, inspired Lady Bulwer Lytton (1869-1923), awarded  medal for her hunger striking

Martin, Samuel (17xx-1799/1800), merchant, of Lowther Street, Whitehaven, man of great wealth, owned estates in Virginia valued at over £30,000 and 110 slaves worth £6,600, also had estates in West Indies and Ireland, on High Sheriff’s roll for Cumberland in 1775, but was ruined by American War of Independence as his Virginian estates were confiscated by the General Assembly, declared a bankrupt and never served as Sheriff, will proved in 1800

Martin, Stanley (b.1846) aka ‘Gwordie Greenup’, banker and dialect writer, ‘Yance a Year’ and his play Watching and Catching, serialisation in W. Cumberland Times 1882; H. Winter, Great Cockermouth Scholars

Martindale, Anthony (1837-1914), botanist; collection Kendal Museum

Martindale, Christopher Bernard (1914-2012), FRIBA, architect, born in 1914, son of Christopher James Fawcett Martindale (qv), served as squadron leader 218 (Gold Coast) Squadron 3 Group Lancasters, cathedral and historic buildings architect, of Cathedral Chambers, Castle Street, Carlisle, surveyor of Carlisle cathedral and diocesan surveyor 1946-1962, member of CWAAS from 1948 (member of council 1948-1962), of Moor Yeat, Wetheral, Carlisle, later (after 1969) of Bradwell House, Wolverton, Bucks, where he died xx February 2012, aged 97, and funeral service at Holy Trinity, Wetheral, 1 March 

Martindale, Christopher James Fawcett (1888-1966), FRIBA, architect, son of J H Martindale (qv), surveyor of Carlisle cathedral and diocesan surveyor

Martindale, Henry (1811-1888), treasurer, born at Crosthwaite, 14 June 1811, and bapt there, 28 July, son of Robert Martindale, of Doctor Bell’s, Bellmount, tailor, and his wife, Betty, dau of Henry Dodd, of Grigg Hall, Underbarrow, had er sister Agnes (born 31 July 1809 and bapt 27 August), living in Chester in 1856 when his son John Henry was born, county treasurer of Westmorland 1860-1888, of Fairfield, Albert Road West, Kendal (1873), also of Town Yeat, Crosthwaite, died in 1888

Martindale, James Henry (1856-1931), FSA, FRIBA, architect, born at North Gate House, Chester, in 1856, son of Henry Martindale (qv), articled to Daniel Brack, FRIBA, of Leeds, assistant to George Corson, of Leeds for a few years, before coming to Carlisle as assistant to C J Ferguson (qv), later started up practice on his own account, won first prize of Architectural Association of Ireland for a town church when only twenty in 1876, specialised in church work, surveyor of Carlisle cathedral and diocesan surveyor from 1905, also enlarged Crossrigg Hall, Cliburn for Joseph Torbock in 1915-1918 (plans in CRO, WDX 1105), member of CWAAS from 1893, member of council 1909 and elected a vice-president in 1924, died at Moor Yeat, Wetheral, 17 March 1931, aged 76 (CW2, xxxi, 216-217)

Martindale, John Walter (18xx-1874), MRCS, doctor, of Place Fell House, Patterdale, died in 1874 and buried in Mardale churchyard, memorial window on south side of nave in Patterdale church inserted by voluntary contributions of his patients (RP, 61)

Martindale, Joseph Anthony (1837-1914), schoolmaster and botanist, born in Stanhope, Co Durham, son of John Martindale, schoolmaster and later first maths master at St Bede college, Durham, his father died young (d.1850), became a pupil teacher at Bede College, Durham, taught at Diamond Hall, studied at Battersea Training College, fully qualified as schoolteacher in 1857, taught at Stanwix, came to Staveley in 1859 as headmaster of Staveley School at age of 22, took leading part in social and intellectual life of district for over fifty years, author of The Study of Lichens, with special reference to the Lake District (printed by George Middleton, Ambleside, 1889), marr Mary Anne Seed in 1861, eight children, she died 1890, m. Emily Jane Ruthven in 1894, daughter of John Ruthven, shoemaker and friend of Adam Sedgwick q.v., discovered new spp, published numerous papers on lichens, (died 6 August 1946, aged 94, and buried at Staveley, 9 August), of 12 Danes Road, Staveley, buried at Staveley, 6 April 1914, aged 76, memorial cross in Staveley churchyard (LVTT, 81-83); Ian D. Hodkinson, Three Legged Society, 2012

Martindale, Sam (b.1905), rugby union player, Kendal RUFC captain in 1927-28, also had three England Trials and a reserve forward for International matches that season, awarded his international cap against France in Paris on Easter Monday 1929, also toured Australasia in 1930, and played for Cumberland

Martindale, Thomas (Tom) (18xx-1940), mayor of Kendal 19xx; son, George Richard (Dick), man dir, G F Martindale & Sons Ltd to retd in1989 (joined 1945), born in Kendal, 25 April 1924, educ St Bees School (left 1940) and Kendal GS, marr (1953) Mollie (d.1983), 1 son (Jonty) and 1 dau (Anna), died Sept 2008 (WG, 19.9.08)

Martindale, Thomas (1898-19xx), boy from Penrith, aged 9, lost on the Bampton fells for four days and four nights in July 1907, when searching for a lost pony with another boy called Vickers, before being taken to place of safety with couple from Staveley, given hero’s welcome on return home to Penrith

Martindale, William (1840-1902; ODNB), pharmacist, b. Hesket, Carlisle

Martineau, Harriet (1802-1876; ODNB), writer and journalist, born in Norwich, 12 June 1802, 6th of eight children of Thomas Martineau (1764-1826), cloth manufacturer, and his wife Elizabeth (1770/71-1848), eldest dau of Robert Rankin, sugar refiner, of Newcastle upon Tyne, published A Complete Guide to the Lake District (1835), settled in Lake District in 1845, moving into The Knoll, Ambleside (designed herself 1846), supervised a two-acre farm, engaged in extensive charitable work, an intimate in household of Mary Arnold (mother of Matthew), corresponded with literary and political figures locally and nationally, author of Household Education (1848), portrait Richard Evans [NPG], died at The Knoll, 27 June 1876 and buried in family plot in Key Hill cemetery, Birmingham, 1 July (letters in CRO Carlisle and Kendal; B Todd); The Martineau Society organizes events;

Martineau, James (1805-1900; ODNB), theologian and teacher, son of Thomas Martineau (1764-1826), cloth manufacturer, and his wife Elizabeth (1770/71-1848), eldest dau of Robert Rankin, sugar refiner, of Newcastle upon Tyne, brother of Harriet Martineau (qv), climbed Scafell aged 80; J. Estlin Carpenter, James Martineau: theologian and teacher, 1905

Martyrs of Cumbria, include John Boste, Christopher Robinson and Elizabeth Gaunt (qqv), Derek Longmire, Seven Martyrs of Kendal, 2008; also Derek Longmire (qv)

Mary, Queen of Scots, Mary Stewart (1542-1587; ODNB), born in Linlithgow Palace, 8 December 1542, only surviving child of James V, King of Scots (1512-1542) and Mary of Guise (1516-1560),  following a very turbulent period embarked near Dundrennan on 16 May 1568 and crossed Solway Firth in a fishing boat to land at Workington, stayed at Workington Hall for three days, then was entertained by Fletcher at Cockermouth, taken to Carlisle and guarded closely in Warden’s tower (now demolished, though drawn by JMW Turner)  but is known to have been hunting on one occasion only and to have watched a game of football from the ramparts of Carlisle Castle, then in July 1568 to Bolton castle (Y) to begin her long period of imprisonment of almost twenty years, prior to her execution

Marzillier, Fred (1906-1979), industrialist, b. Germany, co-founder with Frank Schon (qv) of Marschon chemical industry, began small industrial enterprise in Whitehaven with five men in 1940, growing to large manufacturing chemical firm, manufacturing detergent, later part of Albright & Wilson Group, employing over 2,000 people by 1971 with annual sales over £25,000,000, made hon freeman of borough of Whitehaven on 23 March 1961 in recognition of way in which detergent industry had revitalised local community, died in London in 1979; his son John is a psychotherapist

Mason, Allan, poacher, lived Coniston, Sheila Richardson, Tales of a Lakeland Poacher, 1993

Mason, Charlotte Maria Shaw (1842-1923; ODNB), educationalist, founder of a college for governesses in Ambleside, co-founder of PNEU, died in 1923 and buried in St Mary’s churchyard, Ambleside; Charlotte Mason College, Ambleside named after her; J.P. Inman, Charlotte Mason College, 1985; a portrait by Frederick Yates is at the Armitt, her archive on permanent loan to the Armitt Trust

Mason, Daniel Johnston (18xx-1947/8), DSO, TD, DL, solicitor and coroner, served WW1 with distinction, rising to brigadier-general, HM coroner for Western district of Cumberland, honour of Cockermouth and lordship of Millom, solicitor with firm of Howson, Dickinson and Mason, of 18 Washington Street, Workington (1938), chief agent of Lowther Estates Ltd from 1936, Mayor of Workington for three successive years 1927-1929, member of CWAAS from 1922, marr, 1 son and 2 daus, of Allanfield, Workington, died [by 30 Sept 1948]

Mason, Harold Oscar (18xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of Heversham (instituted in July 1929)

Mason, Henry Paul (1855-1924), DL, JP, Lieut-Colonel, son of Thomas Mason (qv), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1913, DL Westmorland (apptd in October 1900), chairman of Kirkby Stephen Parish Council (1905), of Eden Place, Kirkby Stephen, died aged 69, and buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery, 13 September 1924; his grandson, Anthony Feilden Mason-Hornby (qv sub Penrhyn-Hornby)

Mason, HT, printer and publisher, Grange over Sands; see Ann Mercier

Mason, Miles (1752-1823), ironstone china manufacturer, born poss at West Houses in Dentdale in 1752 and bapt at Dent, 3 January 1753, son of William Mason, of Dent, and his wife Ann Bayley (poss Anne, dau of Bryan Baylie, bapt 21 June 1729 at Middleton), of Sowermire, Middleton (marr at Dent, 9 April 1746), sent to London as a young man to work for his uncle Bailey, who had a stationery business at Frog Hall in Chigwell Row, marr (17xx) Ruth (when aged 16), dau of Richard Farrar, who sold China porcelain in business next door, but died when she was only nine, she inheriting his estate, 3 sons (William, George and Charles) and 1 dau (Ruth), took over the business and was in frequent contact with potters, which led him to conclude that it would be more profitable to manufacture his own pots rather than sell other people’s, esp following decision of East India Company in 1791 to stop holding regular auctions in London, leaving way open for local potters to start producing their own China porcelain, entered into partnerships with Thomas and George Wolfe of Liverpool in 1796 and began to learn production side of business, ended partnerships in 1800 but retained Victoria Works and kept business going, having moved from London to Liverpool, business flourished and transferred to much larger Minerva Works in 1807, joined by his three sons who were keen to try new products, resulting in Ironstone China, retired in June 1813 but remained in Liverpool until his death in 1823; eldest son William soon gave up pottery business, but George ran business and Charles dealt with porcelain production, also registered patent (No.3724) for Patent Ironstone China on 31 July 1813 for 14 years, though not renewed (Denis Sanderson ‘The Ironstone Man’, SDHS Newsletter, September 2012)

Mason, Percy (fl.1905-1931), artist and musician, member Lake Artists 1905-1931, Renouf , 41

Mason, Percy and Lovell, Cumberland wrestlers; information Armitt collection

Mason, Thomas (1818-1891), DL, JP, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1873, of Redman House, Kirkby Stephen, died 24 September 1891, aged 73, and buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery, 28 September

Massey, Gerald (1828-1907; ODNB), poet, son of a bargee, author of Ancient Egypt: The Light of the World (c.1906), , editor of journal The Spirit of Freedom, leased Brantwood from WJ Linton from 1859-1864, the original of George Eliot’s eponymous Felix Holt

Massicks, Thomas Barlow-, formerly Massicks (1832-1908), JP, mine manager, born Thomas Massicks, assumed addnl surname of Barlow in 1883, Inspector of Cargoes at Whitehaven in 1857, acquired interest in haematite mines in West Cumberland, a founder of Cumberland Iron Mining & Smelting Co Ltd in 1865, becoming in turn secretary, general manager and managing director, advised building its works at Millom, expressed interest in a contract with Borwick Rails (the harbour at mouth of Duddon) to secure for his firm the entire output of Hodbarrow, but too late as his furnaces were not yet complete and Nathaniel Caine (qv) was already pursuing policy of ‘encouraging all markets’, and he was told by Thomas Woodburne (qv) in August 1865 that ‘we think our mutual interests will be quite sufficient to guide our future relations without being committed to any formal contract in anticipation’, but advantage lay with Hodbarrow since any alternative source of ore would have cost him additional freight charges, so Cumberland company had to be content with buying Hodbarrow ore on same terms as other customers and did so regularly after 1866, but relations deteriorated over a scheme to construct an adequate pier at Borwick Rails to ship its pig iron to Barrow, esp building of embankment of slag to north of Crab Marsh Point in 1868, which alarmed Hodbarrow partners for interfering with their coaling station, lawsuit followed and dispute settled by 1872 when smelting company was able to construct a shipping pier (though not awarded costs), company remained a good customer throughout life of the mine, but relations with Hodbarrow were based on expediency rather than mutual esteem thereafter, both companies dominated life of Millom, was of opinion ‘that no part of the vast deposits at Hodbarrow were touched till about fifty years ago [viz 1830], when a small quantity was worked near the shore’ (quoted by H A Fletcher in CW1 (1880), v, 21), but found a pig of iron (branded ‘D.1783’) from Duddon Bridge blast furnace serving as a lintel in a cottage at Hodbarrow, MD Millom and Askham Haematite Iron Co. from 1880, chairman of Millom Local Board of Health, first chairman of Millom Rural parish Council (being elected at meeting on 31 December 1894, by 6 votes to 4 for J W Brockbank (qv), but believed that William Lewthwaite (qv) should have been chosen, stepping down in his favour in April 1896), of Duddon Villa, Millom and later of The Oaks, Thwaites, Millom, died in 1908 (CI, 51)

Massicks, Thomas Barlow- [1862-1899], son of Thomas Barlow-Massicks [1832-1908], worked for John E Swan metal broker Middlesborough from 1883, then Vulcan Steel and Forge Co. from 1886, then Cumberland Iron mining and Smelting Co. from 1889, then in Arizona c.1892 where he worked for Lynx Creek Gold and Land Co., built a house known in Prescott, Arizona as ‘The Castle’, in 1898 he accidentally shot himself and there was hope held out for the removal of the bullet but this proved impossible and he died the following year, he had considerable inventive faculty and registered several patents; obit Minutes of Proc. of the Inst of Civil Engineers vol.136, 1ssue 1899, 357-8, Grace’s Guide,.

Masy, Revd Henry (16xx-16xx), MA, clergyman, vicar of Kendal 1644-1653 (letters in ECW, ii, 877-939)

Mather, Harold (1862-1941), JP, mill owner, of Staveley, from family of Bolton cotton mill owners, bought bobbin mills locally, built Sidegarth in Nether Staveley and lived there from 1922, purchased Middle Fairbank, Ings in 1919, chairman, Staveley Institute, gave land for Staveley Village Hall (opened on 3 October 1936, with ceremonial key presented to him), etc, marr Margaret Ada (1868-1930, buried at Ings, 15 August 1930 (memorial window in north nave of St James, Staveley), 4 daus (yst, Margaret (Peggy) was mother of Gerald Leighton), will 16 August 1941 (probate, 21 April 1942), died 7 November 1941, aged 79, and buried at Ings, 10 November;  (CRO, WD/HW/8764)

Mather, William (18xx-19xx), clergyman, rector of Bewcastle

Matthew, (Henry) Colin (Gray) (1941-2010; ODNB), historian and editor, b. Inverness, son of Henry Johnston Scott Matthew (1914-1997), educated Sedbergh and Christ’s Church, Oxford, ed. Diaries of WE Gladstone, founding editor of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, gave early encouragement to the DCB

Mathieson, Walter (fl.1850), independent minister, formed a reconstituted independent church at Kirkby Stephen at meeting on 5 May 1850, following resolution to accept his proposition at earlier meeting on 27 February, after Home Missionary Society had withdrawn its agent, church being formed of 12 members [with Thomas Bewley, an accountant and grocer, being approved as a deacon, later appointed secretary of committee for erection of a new chapel on site offered by Robert Hewetson, on 31 August 1863, with removal of congregation to new church taking place in October 1865, treasurer, but died on 11 December 1871 and buried in KS cemetery by Revd Peter Reid (qv), 15 December], but no further mention of him thereafter (gap from 1852 to 1861 in minute book of Independent Chapel in CRO, WDFC/C3/1)

Matson family of Tytup (Titeup) Hall were a yeoman family of Dalton-in-Furness; Hud ( C )

Matson, Agnes (1711-1788), of Tytup (Titeup) Hall, Dalton, marr Jonas Lindow (1704-1793) of Irton Hall, they were the grandparents of Jonas Lindow (1770-1846) (qv); Hud ( C )

Matson, William (16xx-17xx), JP, son of William Matson (d.1723), of Scalebank, who marr (1677) Isabel (d.1724), dau of Thomas Sanderson, of Titeup Hall, Dalton-in-Furness, who granted Titeup to William on occasion of this marriage (docs confirm his ownership in 1681, 1688, 1690 and 1693), agreement in 1713 for conveyance of house from William father to son, with father in possession of half until death in 1723, with widowed mother Isabel having use of new house at Titeup, son later moved to Kendal, of Highgate, apptd JP by 1740s, marr ??, succ by his son William, below

Matson, William (d.1764, aged 45), who marr (1739) Anne (died at 71 Highgate, Kendal in 1791, aged 83), 2nd dau of Jacob Morland (qv), of Capplethwaite, 3 daus (Anne (d.1808), wife of Thomas Morland (qv), of Court Lodge, Kent, Margaret, and Dorothy, who left £100 to Blue Coat School in Kendal in 1827), by his will of 1766 Titeup and other properties conveyed to trustees for use of dau Ann (infra) until 21 or married; their niece was Mrs Joseph Maude (qv), who went to live at 71 Highgate in 1803 (deeds in CRO, WD/Rad; CW2, lxxv, 258-261)

Matthews, David Bingham (1943-2016), architect, son of a Conservative MP, educ Repton, marr Diana Ruth Pattinson, 1 son and 1 dau, lived Rayrigg Hall, designed the Windermere Steamboat Museum building, the Christian Science church Bowness, Hunter House, Windermere, eco houses Windermere, a bank barn conversion at Rayrigg, chairman Cumbria Gardens Trust, died in February 2016, service at St Martin’s church, Bowness-on-Windermere, 2 April 2016 (WG, 25.02.2016)

Matthews, Richard (1771-1846), JP, MA, clergyman, botanist, and meteorologist, born in 1771, son of John Matthews, Lieutenant, RN (son of Joseph Matthews, of Burgh-by-Sands and later of Wigton Hall), and his wife Jane (d.1796), er dau of Revd Francis Yates (qv), educ Cambridge (MA), of Wigton Hall, which estate he inherited in 1799 and had Hall faced from 1801 with a regular stone Gothic façade and castellations, adding a central porch [now company offices], also improved and enlarged the estate, planted many trees and made a carriage drive from western gate through to George Street, keen botanist, early meteorologist, student of anatomy and medicine, died unmarried and succ by his sisters, Jane (died unmarried 1854) and Mary (died 1854), who marr (1814) her cousin, Francis Yates, later Aglionby (qv), and their dau Elizabeth Anne (died 1878) inherited Wigton Hall in 1854 and helped found the Convent in Wigton

Matthews, William Arnold (1839-1924), MA, clergyman

Mattinson, John (1692-1723), schoolmaster, born in Longsleddale and bapt there, 19 July 1692, son of James Mattison, master of East Bergholt School, Suffolk, shot in St May’s Church, East Bergholt, 1723 (MI trans in CRO, WDY 415)

Mattison, John (c.1728-1787), schoolmaster at Lowther, buried at Lowther, 10 July 1787, aged 59

Maude, John Barnabas (1781-1851), fellow of Queen’s College, Oxford, 7th son of Joseph Maude (qv), became a victim of Napoleonic Wars in some unknown way in 1803, returned to Kendal from France in May 1814 after absence of 12 years, nearly eleven of which he spent as a prisoner of war on parole at Verdun, but revisited place in 1816 and sent inscription found there on tombstone of Dr Jackson, of Kirkby Stephen, ‘in the ground allotted for my countrymen during our long captivity’, 23 November 1816  (LC, 7, 13), apptd a collector in Highgate for raising subscription towards relief of distress among poor in Kendal in January 1830 (providing cheap supply of soup), gave detailed advice on hotels, luggage allowances, diligences, etc, to George Webster for his trip to Italy in March 1836, with suggested route from Geneva to Rome, and where to find alabasters, vases, etc, met GW in Baden-Baden later in 1836 and toured town together, then went on to Mannheim by way of Carlsruhe and Heidelberg [GW returned to London on 21 July] (KK, 103; WK, 77, 79, 87n)  <is he in list of prisoners relieved in 1808 (WPR 89/2712/4)?>

Mauclerk, Walter (d.1248; ODNB), clergyman and diplomat, prebend of Exeter, envoy to the Pope in Rome in 1214 on behalf of king John, fourth bishop of Carlisle appointed in 1223 and granted the manor of Dalston in 1230 by Henry III, it is unclear what buildings were on the property at that date but it appears that he built a motte and bailey, the first Rose castle, soon afterwards, resigned the see in 1246 and spent his last two years as a Dominican monk in Oxford; rosecastle.com

Maude, Joseph (1739-1803), banker, son of William Maude, of Sunderland, and descended from Maudes of West Riddlesden, Yorks (Visitation of 1585), entd coal fitting business of his uncle Barnabas at Sunnyside, Sunderland in 1761, but decided to leave coal trade in 1770, dispose of his ships, call in his loans, sell his property in co Durham and moved to Kendal in 1773, one of founders of Kendal Bank (originally Maude, Wilson and Crewdson Bank), which moved from Stramongate to No.69 Highgate in 1792, of Stricklandgate House, Kendal, purchased Castle Green estate in Kendal Parks (plans of c.1775 and c.1800) and estate at Prizet End, Helsington (plan of 1802), marr (16 February 1768, at Kendal) Sarah Holme (infra), 9 sons (Thomas Holme (qv), Frederick (born 19 July 1771), William (born 28 August 1772), Joseph, Warren, Edwin, John, Charles, and John Barnabas, first three born in Sunderland, but all of whom attended Hawkshead GS) and 3 daus (Miss, Annamaria and Charlotta) (1787 census), Lowther House deed 1787, died at Stricklandgate House in 1803 (CRO, WDX 273; letter books 1761-1803 and cash books in WDK/181-184); Mrs Maude, his widow, was niece of William Matson (qv, his widow Anne having died in 1791), went to live at the Matsons’ large house at No.71 Highgate (east side) after death of her husband Joseph in 1803, reputed to be kind hearted and generous in her benevolence and charity to many public institutions in town, put inscription in her window “I rejoice for my country and the liberation of my son” [John Barnabas, qv] on the occasion of town’s illumination on 17 May 1814, buried at Kendal, 14 March 1831, aged 88 (KK, 103; TWT, 73-74)

Maude, Thomas Holme (1770-1849), DL, JP, banker, born in Sunderland, 4 May 1770, eldest son of Joseph Maude (qv), educ Kendal Grammar School, Hawkshead Grammar School (contemporary of Wordsworth lodging with Ann Tyson in 1787), and St John’s College, Cambridge (entd 1788), of Kendal and Blawith Cottage, Grange-over-Sands [designed by Francis Webster in c.1810, later rebuilt by Willink and Thicknesse in 1893, now Netherwood Hotel], close friend of the Websters, Mayor of Kendal 1799-1800 and 1813-1814, retired from banking in 1812 (partnership of T H Maude, C Wilson, W D Crewdson and D Huddlestone dissolved, 8 February 1812), Lieut-Col comdg Kendal Volunteers 1803 during invasion crisis and also Kendal and Lonsdale local militia, purchased Bracken Hall estate, Preston Patrick, from Robert Gawthrop and others in 1819, but leased it to William and Benjamin Martindale for seven years on 1 January 1825 (CRO, WD/MM/ Box 17), marriage settlement 1801 (WD/W/Box 4), committee member for new church in Kendal (St Thomas) in 1834 (CRO, WPR 94/17/3); portrait with musical instrument (purchased by Pat Hovey in 2011) (LM, iii, 323; WK, 77, 107; TWT, 74, 249)

Maude, William (1772-18xx), born in Sunderland, 28 August 1772, 3rd son of Joseph Maude (qv), marr Jane, dau (Sarah Elizabeth, born 17 June 1804 and bapt at Kendal, 18 October), of Blackburn, co Lancaster

Mawdesley, Thomas (d.1735), clergyman, of Mawdesley Hall, Croston, Lancashire, marr (24 October 1732) Margaret (bapt 27 February 1708/9 and buried 27 February 1781 at Kirkby Lonsdale, aged 73), yst dau of Thomas Godsalve (qv), of Rigmaden Hall, who inherited manors of Mansergh and Rigmaden on her father’s death in 1750, 1 son (Robert Godsalve, bapt 25 July 1734 and bur 7 January 1735, at Kirkby Lonsdale) and 2 daus (Ann, wife of John Wilkinson (qv), and Margaret, wife of Wilson John Robinson (qv)), of Kirfitt Hall (from Godsalve family), died at Heskin Hall, near Chorley, 17 October 1735

Mawman, Joseph (1759-1827), bookseller and writer, published An Excursion to the Highlands of Scotland and The English Lakes (1805); his will at Kew

Mawson, Edward Prentice (1885-1954; ODNB), FILA, landscape architect, born in Ambleside, 16 July 1885, eldest son of T H Mawson (qv)

Mawson, John (d.1591), martyr

Mawson, Thomas Hayton (1861-1933; ODNB), FLS, FILA, landscape architect and author, born at Scorton, near Garstang, 5 May 1861, eldest son of John William Mawson (1835-1877), cotton warper, of Halton, near Lancaster, and Jane Hayton, marr (1 August 1884, at Trunch, Norfolk) Anna Prentice, doctor’s dau and nurse, of North Walsham, Norfolk, 4 sons and 5 daus, honeymooned in Lake District and stayed, moving into Wenderholme in Ellerthwaite Road, with workplace in College Road and land for a nursery, by February 1885, of The Corbels, Bowness-on-Windermere (1901), among his Cumbrian garden designs are those at Graythwaite Hall, Holker Hall, Rydal Hall, Langdale Chase, Eskdale Green for Lord Rea and the public park at Barrow-in-Furness; T.H. Mawson, The Art and Craft of Gardening; Elizabeth Kissack, The Life of Thomas Hayton Mawson; also Thomas Mawson’s Designs are never Nostalgic, Apollo, February 2019, 26-7

Maxwell, William Bell (d.1943), fertilizer manufacturer, son of William Maxwell who est the firm in 1840, at Glasson Creek near Drumburgh, then Solway Chemical Manure Works erected in 1878 for J and W Maxwell and Son, offices in English St, Carlisle, makers of specialised manures for turnips, potatoes, beans and top dressing for grain and grass, raw materials from Canada, Florida, Aruba, Belgium and Spain, the firm acquired William Crabb’s related business in 1899 at the Border Counties Works, merged with Fisons in 1940s ( James Fison began in Thetford, merged with Edward Packard of Ipswich to become Packard Fison, now Rhone-Poulenc), Carlisle works closed 1962; Denis Perriam CN 4 Sept 2009; Grace’s Guide

May, Charmian (1937-2002), actress, in Barrow at Her Majesty’s theatre with Donald Sartain (qv), later in ‘The Good Life’, ‘Bridget Jones’ Diary’ and played Lady Bracknell in ‘The Importance of Being Earnest’, Sartain spoke at her funeral

May, John (d.1598), academic and bishop, Queens college, Oxford, master Catherine college Cambridge, rector North Creake, m. Amy daughter of William Vowel of Creake abbey, rector St Dunstan in the East, vice chancellor Cambridge for a year, appointed bishop of Carlisle, daughter Elizabeth married Richard Bird DD and daughter Anne m Richard Pilkington DD, possibly died of the plague, bur Carlisle, wrote plays (lost), an ms sermon is at the Bodleian

Mayall, Revd Reginald (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Corpus Christi college, Cambridge, vicar of Wigton 1905-19xx, vicar of St Mary’s, Applethwaite, Windermere from 1910, hon chaplain to bishop of Carlisle, chaplain to Ethel Hedley Hospital for Crippled Children, Calgarth (1930)

Mayho, Christopher Andrew (Chris) (1950-2018), college principal and local councillor, born in Paksey, East Pakistan [Bangladesh], educ Albany, Western Australia, lecturer at Kendal College, principal of Arden College, Southport, and Langdon College, Manchester, esp for young people with learning difficulties, Kendal Town and South Lakeland district councillor (Liberal Democrat) for 24 years, contested Carlisle for Lib Dems in 20xx, marr (1972/3) Lynne, 2 daus (Natalie and Melanie), of Burneside Road, Kendal, died in Perth, Western Australia, 14 May 2018, aged 67, while visiting his daughters (WG, 24.05.2018)

Maynard, George Fowke (18xx-19xx), clergyman, Lieut RN retd list 1874, King’s College, Windsor, Nova Scotia (LTh 1876), d 1876 and p 1877 (NS), curate of Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia 1876-1877, rector of Wilmot, NS 1877-1880, rector of Falkland, NS 188-1888, rector of Hampton, New Brunswick 1888-1892, curate of Chadlington, Oxon 1893-1896, rector of Uldale 1896-1907, rector of Torpenhow 1907-19xx (vicarage restored in 1909, church restored in 1913), died by 1932

Mayo, earl of, see Bourke

Mayson, Benjamin (1801-1841), b. Thursby of ‘an old Cumberland family’, son of the Revd John Mayson (qv), marr Elizabeth Jerrom in London, their daughter Isabella Mary married Samuel Orchart Beeton (1830-1877) and as ‘Mrs Beeton’ became a household name (ODNB) (qv); ancestry.com

Mayson, Henry (18xx-19xx), photographer, of 31 & 22 Lake Road, Keswick (1906)

Mayson, John (c.1762-1845), clergyman, rector of Great Orton [last bapt entry in Feb 1843] and curate of Thursby (from 1786), marr (17 January 1793 at Thursby) Isabella (b.1759), dau of George Trimble (1728-1785, buried at Thursby, 5 August 1785, aged 58), of Moor End, Thursby, 2 sons (John (bapt at Thursby, 11 January 1796) and Benjamin (bapt at Thursby, 24 July 1801, died 1840), linen factor, of Milk Street, London, marr Elizabeth Jerrom, 1 son and 3 daus, inc Isabella Mary (1836-1865), later Mrs Beeton) and 1 dau (Esther, bapt 30 November 1793 at Thursby), died aged 83 and buried at Thursby, 4 April 1845

McLean, Ronald Gordon (1881-1941), gymnast at summer Olympics in 1912 and 1920, born in London attended Carlisle grammar school

Meade, Richard Charles (1868-1905), Lord Gillford, born 10 June 1868, eldest son of 4th earl of Clanwilliam, GCB, KCMG, Admiral of the Fleet, marr (5 September 1895, in Douglas Castle chapel, co Lanark) Lady Mary Elizabeth Margaret Douglas-Home (born 12 November 1871, of Arkleby Hall, Plumbland in 1906, eldest dau of 12th earl of Home, KT, 1 dau (Theodosia Beatrix Catherine Mary, born 1 February 1898, marr (11 November 1961) Angus Julian Drummond), entd Royal Navy in 1881 (Lieut), Captain 3rd Volunteer Battn (Cumberland), the Border Regt, died v.p. of consumption, at Whelprigg, Kirkby Lonsdale, 14 October 1905, aged 37, and buried at Torpenhow, 19 October (memorial window in south aisle of church given by wife and dau in 1906 and also one in north transept by Lord Clanwilliam and his family in 1908), his widow, Lady Gillford (qv), leased Petteril Bank House, Carlisle [now site of new Cumbria Archive Centre] from 1907 to 1923, she died 21 April 1951

Meageen, Henry (18xx-1941), transport pioneer, started from small beginning what became Cumberland Motor Services Company with its fleet of 178 vehicles, 510 employees and between 14 and 15 million passengers a year, died 1941 (WN, 04.12.1941; Harry Postlethwaite, Cumberland Motor Services 1912-2012 (2012))

Mears, Edward (18xx-1xxx), MA, schoolmaster, late scholar of Queen’s College, Oxford, succ W V Yates as headmaster of Windermere Grammar School from 1891 to 1900, succ by P P Platt (qv)

Medlicott, Samuel (d.1889), MA, clergyman, 3rd son of Revd Samuel Medlicott (1796-1858), rector of Loughrea, co Galway, of Medlicott family of Dunmurray, co Kildare, Rector of Bowness-on-Solway 1877-1889, unmarried, died in 1889 and buried in churchyard (large headstone with carving of a pig)

Meikle, Carola Ivena (nee Dickinson) (1910-1970), algologist, author of British Seaweeds (1963), worked Kew Gardens

Meldrum, James, nursery and seedsman, Market Place, Kendal (1849, 1858), and florist (1873), then later appears in business in Hornsey, London (1881), having sold out to David Hartley, who later sold to William Barrack

Meldrum, John (c.1782-1847), gardener, nursery and seedsman, place of origin not known [not from Scotland, poss Penrith], listed at Finkle Street, Kendal (1829), occupied garden in Peat Lane, which was to be converted into a public cemetery on expiration of his tenancy [Miss Wakefield was first burial there in May 1843 before conversion], marr Nancy, 4 sons (John (d.1837), Reuben, James and Joseph), will dated 18 February 1847 and proved in Archdeaconry of Richmond, 3 September 1847: (1) Reuben left all his properties on Fellside purchased from Alexander Dinsdale, together with his three properties at Low Bentham, but subject to payment of annuity of £10 to his wife if surviving, thereafter to be divided equally between Reuben’s children, then equally to children of his two other sons James and Joseph as joint tenants, also mortgage of £240 on Sandy Hill from Richard Marshall of Bentham (trust details), (2) James left all his properties in Market Place, Kendal and thereafter divided equally between his children, etc, and (3) Joseph left his property and lands at Skewbarrow, formerly John Halliday’s, also his cottages on Beast Banks in Kendal, formerly – Theobald’s, also parcel of moss ground at Brigsteer, formerly Matthew Case, and two cottages at Far Cross Bank, formerly Thomas Lowis, all subject (ut supra) to payment of annuity of £10 to any surviving widow(s), and (4) his wife left his property on House of Correction Hill in Kendal, formerly Box’s, with all household goods, etc, and with his express wish that his three sons ‘should continue and harmoniously carry on together in co-partnership the business in which I am now engaged’, witnessed by Robert Moser, solicitor, and Thomas Gough, surgeon (copy in CRO, WD/AG/ box 112), died aged 65 and buried at Kendal, 25 February 1847

Meldrum, John, gardener, of Finkle Street, Kendal, buried 4 October 1837, aged 24 [pres son of the above]

Meldrum, Joseph, nurseryman and seedsman, Finkle Street, Kendal (1849), and on Skewbarrow (Kendal Fell plan surveyed by John Watson, jnr, 1847) (BT; Jim Muil), marr Elizabeth, yst dau of Robert Sinkinson and his wife Mary (only child of Mr Harrison, of Sadgill, Longsleddale, coach and horse driver between there and Penrith, who was killed by falling off coach and breaking his neck), 2 children, died; his widow married again to John Bateman, of the Dog and Duck, Finkle Street, Kendal, 1 son, but died aged 28 (family history by Mary Cape, granddau of Mary Harrison, in CRO, WDY 90)

Meldrum, Thomas, gardener, Aynam, Kendal 1830s, leased Common Garden from Thomas Greenhow (qv) (BT common garden research)

Melkinthorpe, Geoffrey de (fl.1284-1308), under-sheriff of Westmorland, demitted office in 1284 owing crown debts of £293, not paid off until 1308 (NESS, 127)

Mellish, John (19xx-2017), clergyman, marr Gwen, 3 sons (John, David and Ian), died at Wyndham, Longtown, 6 March 2017, aged 90, and cremated at Carlisle Crematorium, 14 March (CN, 10.03.2017)

Mellon, Harriet (1777-1837; ODNB as Beauclerk), actress, possibly the illegitimate daughter of Lt Matthew Mellon, her mother married a violinist called Thomas Entwistle in Brampton c.1780, following success on stage she married the immensely wealthy Thomas Coutts (1735-1822), banker, after his death she inherited his estate and remarried to become the wife of the 9th duke of St Albans, on her death her estate was bequeathed to her step granddaughter Angela Burdett Coutts (1814-1906; ODNB) who became a great philanthropist; portraits by Lawrence, Beechey and Cosway

Menuhin, Yehudi (1916-1999; ODNB), violinist, performed at Rosehill theatre

Mellor, ? (18xx-19xx), librarian, retired as Librarian to Kendal Public Library on 14 April 1905

Mellor, Tom (1914-1980), architect and artist, born at Blackburn in 1914, trained as architect at Liverpool University, practised until 1967, designed Lancaster University Library, his own house Stonethwaite at Crook, from 1967 full-time painter, exhibited at Royal Academy 1972, one-man show at Abbot Hall Art Gallery, Kendal and Lancaster University 1973, and Mid-Pennine Gallery, Blackburn 1974, themes concerned with irrational images and with growing dominance of machine and struggle to preserve individuality; father-in-law of Professor Michael Tooley, painted a cubist version of Romney’s Gower Children; obit Independent 24 Dec 1994

Melly, George (1926-2007), jazz and blues musician, b.Liverpool, related to Rawdon-Smith family (qv), performed at Barrow Rink in 1980s; Ray Hewson, The Rink, 2017; George Melly, Scouse Mouse, 1984

Melrose, (Agnes) ‘Kitty’ (nee Butterfield), actress, b.Whitehaven, dau of Stephen and Jane Butterfield, popular in New York in ‘Dollar Princess’ (1909) and ‘The Quaker Girl’ (1910)

Melville, David (1839-1904), manager of Barrow Jute works, supported Barrow School of Art and Trinity Presbyterian church; Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones, Evening Mail 30 January1904

Melville, James (1898-1983), OBE, naval architect and local historian, born in Dalton Road, Barrow-in-Furness in 1898, above fish and chip shop owned by his father, mother a weaver in jute mill, educ Dalton Road School, Duke Street Secondary School, and Barrow Grammar School, apprenticed in ship drawing office of Vickers Ltd in 1914, out of work in early 1920s, but returned as draughtsman in 1923, retiring as Technical Manager in 1963, awarded OBE in 1961, local historian and lecturer, member of Barrow Naturalists’ Field Club, member of CWAAS from 1945 (Council 1948), author (with J L Hobbs) of Early Railway History in Furness (CWAAS, Tract Series, xiii, 1951), of 46 Thorncliffe Road (1966) and 18 Park Avenue, Barrow (1977), published weekly articles on local history in the NW Evening Mail for many years (son-in-law Arthur Evans, journalist on NW Evening Mail and on Westmorland Gazette from 1981 continued the series), died in October 1983, aged 84

Menneer, Revd Frank Blackmore (18xx-19xx), MA (Oxon), schoolmaster, appointed Headmaster of Heversham Grammar School in July 1909, resigned in December 1920

Mercatus, earl of Carlisle, a legendary figure to whom arms are ascribed on John Speed’s map of 1610; Hudleston ( C )

Mercier, Anne, nee Northwood (1842-1917), aka ‘Mrs Jerome Mercier’, writer, keen on the education of girls, daughter of George Northwood (1817-1857) solicitor’s clerk and his wife Susan MacDonald (b.1820), born at Tring, married in 1868 in Marylebone, the Rev Jerome John Mercier (1836-1901), rector of Kennerton, (who was the son of the royal servant Joseph Alexander Mercier, a night porter at Windsor Castle), three sons Jerome Alexander Bass Mercier  [1875], Philip [1879] and Christopher [1880] and one daughter Anne [1877], wrote Work and How to Do It: A Practical Guide to Girls in the Choice of Employment, appears briefly to have lived in Grange over Sands where HT Mason published her most famous Cumbrian book The Last Wolf [1885] which retells the 14thc tale of  Lord Harrington of Wraysholme Tower and the wolf, based on Edward Postlethwaite’s Last Wolf and possibly a version Edwin Waugh’s Rambles in the Lake Counties (qqv), also wrote The Red House by the Rockies, Father Pat: Hero of the Far West, Betsy’s Bonnet, Wreath of Mallow and other Stories, Women Reading Shakespeare: an Anthology of criticism, Only a Girl’s Life and many columns for the ‘Girls Own Paper’, died Tewkesbury

Merkes, Thomas (d.1409), a Benedictine monk of Westminster, appointed bishop of Carlisle by Pope Boniface IX in 1397 at the request of Richard II (1367-1400), commended for his learning and having ‘no small prudence’, in 1399 he was with the king in Ireland, on their return he supported Richard after his deposition by Duke Henry Bolingbroke, this is recorded in a long document that includes the words ‘we have neither power nor policy either to depose King Richard or to elect Duke Henry in (his) place’, for this temerity he was deprived of the bishopric and imprisoned in the Tower of London, (the bishop of St Asaph, John Trevor was in contrast happy to read the 33 articles of deposition), the king is believed to have been starved to death in Pontefract castle, Merkes was later released and pardoned but not restored to his see, he became then an auxiliary to the bishop of Winchester, still prominent in the English church in 1408 he sided against Pope Gregory XII at Lucca in the Great Schism of the West; Hudleston ( C ); Sir John Hayward, 1st Pt of Life and Reign of King Henry IV p.101; he appears briefly in Shakespeare’s Richard II (III ii 1435) showing his support for  the king but this play is often said to be a distortion of history

Merriman, Revd William Henry Robert (1822-1886), clergyman, buried in Bowness cemetery

Meschines, Ranulf le (aka Ranulph de Briquessart) (1070-1129), 3rd earl of Chester, Norman baron, given land at Carlisle and in the Eden valley, established a Benedictine priory at Wetheral and built Appleby Castle; another Ranulph de Meschines established Calder Abbey

Meschines, Alicia des (fl.early 12thc), forbear of the barons of Egremont, referred to the hematite mined at Clints Brow, Egremont in 1134; Mervyn Dodd. The Story of Iron Mining in West Cumbria (2010)

Messel, Oliver (1904-1978; ODNB), theatre designer, designed the new interior of Rosehill theatre which re-cycled elements from a Whitehaven theatre interior bought by Miki Sekers (qv)

Messenger, Mally (1763-1856), Keswick character, born in Watendlath, ran a dame school in Keswick, described as an ‘ancient sybil’, but athletic in her youth, winning foot races organised by Joseph Pocklington (qv) as part of his Keswick Regattas in 1780s, walked to London and back on several occasions (once carrying back a small table on her shoulders)

Metcalf, James Julius (18xx-19xx), JP, wholesale provision merchant and local councillor, born at Killington, educ by Revd Robert Wilkinson (qv) at Killington, went to Liverpool in 1868 and entered office of Thomas Ismay, during which time White Star Line of Australian sailing ships was taken over and first steamers built for Atlantic trade, later resigned to set up in wholesale provision business on his own account, building it up into one of largest in north of England, lived in Bootle from 1887, elected for Mersey ward on division of borough in 1899, re-elected in 1901, and elected mayor of borough on 9 November 1903, during which year he officiated at opening of new fire station, opening of Stanley Garden by earl of Derby, and unveiling of statue of King Edward VII by Countess of Derby (presented album of views of statue to king at Buckingham Palace), active member of Reform Club and Liverpool Junior Reform Club, appointed JP 1907 (KMT, 3 May 1907); portrait in oils presented to Bootle Corporation in 1904 (George Stewart papers in CRO)

Metcalf, J W (17xx-18xx), headmaster of Windermere Grammar School 1828-1839

Metcalf(e), Thomas Kendal (1851-1915), journalist and local councillor, began career as a journalist with The Whitehaven News, with interest in history of West Cumberland, also active in the welfare of the town, esp in religious and educational movements, later elected a member of Whitehaven corporation and Cumberland county council, member of CWAAS from 1889, of 9 Oak Bank, Whitehaven, died 11 November 1915, aged 64 (CW2, xvi (1916), 308)

Metcalf, William (1829-1909), fifty years associated with Carlisle cathedral choir as lay clerk, organist and choirmaster, set ‘D’ye Ken John Peel’ to music in 1865, also set dialect verse; Keswick Characters, 54

Metcalfe, Anthony, see sub Gibson, Metcalfe-

Metcalfe, Edward Parr (1842-1916), MA, college principal, born at Ravenstonedale, 3rd son of Edward Metcalfe, educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1854, left October 1861) and Christ’s college, Cambridge (scholar, BA, 30th Wrangler, 1865 and MA 1868), assistant master at Malvern College 1868-1872, joined Madras Educational Department as head of Rajahmundry School and acting inspector of Schools 1872-1877, principal of Rajahmundry College 1877-1897, fellow of Madras University 1880, retiring in March 1897 and returning to England, died at Upper Norwood, 31 January 1916 (SSR, 243)

Metcalfe, James (17xx-18xx), clergyman, chaplain to Appleby gaol (1802-03, 1807-08, paid salary of £20 for one year 1811, Christmas QS 1812), performed burial service for William Grierson (qv), executed for highway robbery, 21 September 1813

Metcalfe, later Carleton, John (1753-1829; ODNB), cotton manufacturer, son of John Metcalfe, of Bellerby, Yorks, and Elizabeth, yr dau of Thomas Carleton (qv), of Helbeck, assumed by royal licence surname of Carleton in 1791, inherited Helbeck Hall from his mother and rebuilt it, and nearby built cotton mill, which he worked for some years at a loss  

Metcalfe, Lester, clergyman, succ Thomas Fell (qv) as curate of Crosthwaite from 1764, resigning on 21 January 1767, succ by James Peake (qv)

Metcalfe, Robert Weston (1848-1908), MA, clergyman and schoolmaster, born 23 November 1848 and bapt at Ravenstonedale, 25 December, 4th and yst son of Edward Metcalfe, of Ashfield, Ravenstonedale, yr brother of E P Metcalfe (qv), educ Sedbergh School (entd April 1859, left December 1868) and St John’s college, Cambridge (BA 1873, MA 1877), d 1873 Cant, p 1877 Chich, second master and chaplain, Clergy Orphan School, Canterbury 1873-1874, headmaster, Worthing Proprietary College 1874-1879, curate of St George’s, Worthing 1877-1878, senior assistant master, Richmond School 1879-1880, principal of Collegiate School, Ootacamund, India 1880-1884, inc of St Thomas, Ootacamund 1881-1883, HM chaplain of Hyderabad assigned districts, Berar 1885-1888, vicar of Ravenstonedale 1888-1908, transcribed and edited The Ravenstonedale Parish Registers (Kendal, 3 vols, 1893-94), which incl registers of Presbyterian Chapel and Society of Friends, member of CWAAS from 1890 and entertained Society on its visit on 29 August 1901 as guide to parish antiquities, died at Ravenstonedale vicarage (after liver operation), 7 September 1908 and buried in new churchyard extension (first) (family papers in CRO, WDX 1599; SSR, 252; CW2, ix, 337)

Metcalfe, William (1830-1909), composer and lay clerk, born in 1830, first a chorister at Norwich, then a lay clerk for fifty years at Carlisle Cathedral until 1901, retiring on pension, and residing at 33 Chiswick Street, Carlisle, conducted local choral societies in Carlisle, Langholm and around district, but famed for his setting of ‘D’ye ken John Peel’ to music, song sent out to J W Graves (qv) in Tasmania in 1866 by George Coward (qv), improved on adopted melody in 1868, “set the words to music in its present form in 1869” (JP, 146), sang song at Benevolent Society’s dinner in London in 1869 (and also before Prince of Wales in 1874), his ms version of song signed and dated 26 February 1907 (later in possession of R H Holme, of Newcastle, then of his son, Hugh Holme) also set John Crozier’s Tally-Ho! to the words of John Richardson (qv) and The Fox Hunt, died in 1909, aged 79 (JP, 143-164)

Methuen, Paul Ayshford (1886-1974) RA PRWA, artist and 4th baron Methuen, son of Field Marshall Paul Methuen 3rd baron, lived latterly at Corsham Court, his sister Ethel Christian married Geoffrey WA Howard (qqv) who lived at Castle Howard so he probably visited, his work includes architectural subjects, portraits, landscapes, much of his work is at the Royal West of England Academy, during the war was a member of the Procurement and Fine Art branch tasked with protecting fine art, published Normandy Diary: A Record of Survival and Losses (1952), portrait of his father 3rd Baron Methuen (NPG) and Freya Stark (Royal Asiatic Soc)

Meynell, Francis William (1851-1932), MA, clergyman, 3rd son of Godfrey Meynell, DL, JP, of Meynell Langley Park, Derbyshire, educ Cambridge, rector of Watermillock 1880-1885

Middleton, Sir George (d.1674), 1st Bt (cr.1642), grantor of market charter to Burton-in-Kendal

Middleton, George (18xx-19xx), printer and stationer, of Ambleside, also publisher of guides (1885), secretary to Mechanics’ Institute and to Ambleside & District Conservative Club (1894), published Some Lake Country Figures (T Arnold, S T Coleridge, H Coleridge, T de Quincey, H Martineau, J Ruskin, R Southey, R Walker, J Wilson, W and D Wordsworth) in 1xxx (6th edition 1922), of North Road, Ambleside; Mrs Mabel Middleton was of Ashton Cottage, Fairview Road, Ambleside (papers in CRO, WDX 783; Ambleside & District Conservative Club minute books in CRO, WDSo 112)

Middleton, George (1930-2015), local councillor, born at Ambleside, 24 December 1930, Lakes parish councillor, died in August 2015, aged 84 (WG, 05.11.2015)

Middleton, John (1xxx-17xx), clergyman, rector of Long Marton 1730

Middleton (Myddelton), Richard (15xx-1583), of Langthwaite, Casterton, marr, 2 sons (William and Thomas), died 10 July 1583 (IPM taken at Kirkby Lonsdale, 19 February 1590 (copy in CRO, WD/Whelp/6/1), valuing Langthwaite estate at 30s a year, held of Queen in free socage as part of her manor of Casterton, with his er son, William, aged 50, as heir); William later sold Nether Rigg land to Robert Tolnson, clothier, of Casterton, on 12 March 1592/3, then with his brother Thomas, gent, of Leck, sold Langthwaite Hall and estate to Robert Tolnson (Townson), chapman, for £310 on 15 February 1601/2 (deeds in CRO, WD/Whelp/6/T2-4) [Langthwaite estate purchased by Joseph Gibson (qv) in 1790]

Middleton, William de (fl.1246-1276), Abbot of Furness 1246-1276

Midgeley, James Herbert (b.1854), artist; member of the Lake Artists; Renouf , 35

Milbourne, Jane (fl.late 18thc.), litigant imprisoned in Carlisle in 1792 as she would not hand over property to her husband and sued him after he took her money; life written by Betty Brown in 2007

Milbourne, William (1717-1769), steward and antiquary, born in 1717, son of Thomas Milbourne, feltmaker and hatter, of Newcastle upon Tyne, succ to Armathwaite Castle on death of his great-uncle Robert Sanderson (qv) in 1741, recorder of Carlisle, steward to earl of Carlisle, had great interest in local history, died unmarried in 1769, and succ at Armathwaite by his sister Margaret (1715-1775), then by his cousin, Robert Milbourne (1729-1782), and then his son, William Henry (qv)

Milbourne, William Henry (1756-1808), son of Robert Milbourne (1729-1782), Newcastle merchant, who succ to Armathwaite Castle, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1794, marr, son (Robert Sanderson (1796-1822), died in 1808; CW1 iv 436 and anecdote 444n

Milburn, Richard [d.1624; ODNB], bishop of St David’s and Carlisle, b. Ullerbank, Talkin; chaplain to Henry, Prince of Wales and after his death to prince Charles, sons of James I from 1610-15, Prince Henry ‘affected and respected him above all the rest of his chaplains for his learning, good carriage and profitable preaching’, [Woods Athenae], he appears in Lady Anne Clifford’s diaries; CW1 iv 441

Milburn, Roger (c.1932-2011), police officer, born at Hurthwaite-on-Tees, near Darlington, father employed in railway workshops, mother was village postmistress, both churchwardens, educ at village school, Stockton Grammar School and Durham University (reading art), did National Service with Army Education Corps in variety of locations, inc Hadrian’s Camp at Carlisle, where he met Marjorie Dixon, of Warwick Bridge, marr (1952), 1 son and 1 dau, then joined Carlisle City Constabulary (at 6ft 5in tall), starting as a ‘bobby on the beat’ and retired 30 years later (bec of operation on spine) after many years as detective sergeant with Regional Crime Squad based in Carlisle, though his HQ was in Manchester and his duties took him all over Britain from Aberdeen to Torquay, received long service medal from Willie Whitelaw in 1974, never sought promotion if it meant leaving Carlisle, also served in police royal protection squad guarding Queen at launch of HMS Invincible at Barrow-in-Furness in 1977, worked as a security guard after recovering from operation until retirement in 1986, crack shot on Warcop range and took up shooting on Duke of Buccleuch’s estate at Hayton and at Thornhill, also fished on river Eden, motor racing enthusiast, secretary of Freemasons Lodge at Dalston, died aged 79, June 2011, with funeral at St Cuthbert’s, Carlisle, and cremation (CN, 08.07.2011)

Miles, Arthur John (d.1945), brewer, came to Kendal in 1910 to work as an accountant at Whitwell, Mark & Co Ltd, brewers and wine and spirit merchants, 118 Highgate, Kendal, but within a few years had acquired the business, and ran it as managing director and secretary until his death in 1945, regarded as best days of the firm, having about 30 pubs in Westmorland area and very strong trade with many independent hotels in district, first living at 122 Highgate, later  (by 1925) moved to Laburnam House, Milnthorpe, marr, 1 son (Richard, born 1918, marr in Notts, son (Hugh), but lost in plane crash while serving with RAF in WW2), never recovered from his only son’s death, died in 1945; business sold to Vaux Breweries, of Sunderland in 1946; Hugh Miles has been a trustee of Brewery since 2001

Miles, Harvey Thomas (18xx-1909/12), sculptor and monumental mason, born Norfolk, carver in wood and stone, of Cark (1876), later moved to Ulverston to join Thomas Affleck, stonemason, in firm of Miles & Affleck (1882), of Church Walk, Ulverston (1909, but exors by 1912) and of Dragley Beck Road (1890), worked under Ruskin, carved crosses designed by W G Collingwood, inc Ruskin Cross in Coniston churchyard set up in May 1901, having chosen stone (shaft and head cut from a single stone) personally with WGC from Mossrigg quarry in Tilberthwaite, with base coming from Elterwater, also carved W S Calverley’s monument in Aspatria churchyard in 1898 and R S Ferguson’s hogback gravestone in Stanwix churchyard set up in August 1901, probably carved Boer War Memorial at Millom in 1905 (to design by WGC), described as “a stone-carver of artistic tendencies, who might carve a copy of Dearham Cross in red sandstone without trying to smooth it all into wooden-ness” in respect of Calverley’s monument (WGC letter to A W Simpson, 21 July 1899), of Cark (1882), died in 1909/12  (VVL, 148-152); also carved the rams on Barrow town hall; David A. Cross, 2017, pp.129-30, 160-62, 203

Mill, John (1645-1707; ODNB), DD, MA, clergyman, born at Hardendale, Shap [bapt reg wanting], son of Thomas Mill, a weaver of High Knipe, Bampton, Queen’s college, Oxford, chaplain to Charles II, prebendary of Exeter 1676, rector of Bletchington, principal of St Edmund Hall, Oxford 1685, canon of Canterbury 1704, his edition of New Testament in Greek published just 14 days before his death in 1707 (WW, ii, 37-50)

Mill, John Stuart (1806-1873), refers in his journal to meeting Wordworth in 1831

Miller, Edward John (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Univ of Cambridge (BA 1898, MA 1909), d 1898 and p 1899 (Ely), curate of Littleport 1898-1901 and Kendal 1902-1907, instituted as vicar of Natland in June 1907, chaired committee for rebuilding of church 1908-1910, chairman of management committee of St Mark’s Home for Waifs and Strays, retired on 31 December 1949

Miller, John Fletcher (1816-1856), FRS, FRAS, a Quaker, early meteorologist and astronomer, born Whitehaven 29 June 1816, son of William Miller a tanner and his wife May, educated  Kendal school under Samuel Marshall, science was taught, of  7 High St, Whitehaven, kept detailed record of daily rainfall and local weather throughout his life, enlisted shepherds to measure rainfall on top of Sca Fell, 26 gauges [some sources say 35 gauges] around the Lake District, established Sty Head as the wettest place in England, published his records annually in Edinburgh Philosophical journal, papers read at Royal Society from 1848, elected FRS 1850, travelled to Australia and Chile, corresponded with 250 others, observatory at Wellington Row, near High St. survived until the 20thc., obit. Cumb Paquet soon after death on 14 July 1856, quakers in the world website, Terry Marsh, Towns and Villages of Cumbria, 1999; Boase ii 880

Miller, Joseph (b.1874- after1939), Congregational minister who later converted to be an Anglican

Miller, William Adam (1854-1926), gardener, born at Eardiston, parish of Lindridge, Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire, 30 October 1854 and bapt at Angel Street Congregational church, 20 December, eldest son of John Mille(a)r (b.1822/3), gardener, native of Argyllshire, of Eardiston, Worcs (by 1853), of Chelford, Cheshire (by 1861) and then of Clumber Gardens, Worksop, Notts (by 1865), and Anne Dickson (b.1828), of Lesmahagow, Lanarkshire, marr (7 July 1880, at Kirkby Lonsdale) Anne (Annie) (born at Underley, 24 February 1857, and bapt at Kirkby Lonsdale, 6 December 1861, died in Ontario, Canada, 30 December 1945, and buried with husband), dau of John Robinson (1817-1883), Underley farm bailiff, and Ruth Metcalfe (1816-1909), of Grassrigg, Killington, 3 sons (John (b.1881), William (b.1882) and Henry Claud (b.1885)), Head gardener at Underley Hall 1878-1924, emigrated to Canada, died at St Catherine’s, Ontario, Canada, 6 December 1926

Millers, Frances Esther (1813-1847), landowner, only child of Revd William Millers (qv), inherited Duddon Grove estate from her uncle, Richard Towers (qv) in 1831, and lived there with her father, subscribed to local charities and helped poor, gave £2000 in 1845 to build and endow Buckman’s Brow School at Thwaites to educate girls between five and sixteen, esp in religious instruction [remained open till 1920s], but died unmarried of measles in 1847, aged 34, will made 30 September 1846, leaving personal estate of £60,000 and Duddon Grove to her “dear uncle the Revd George Millers of Ely” (CW3, ii, 257)

Millers, George (1775-1852; DCB), MA, JP, clergyman, born in Kendal, yr son of Thomas Millers (1729-1794), hatter, of Kendal (will made 12 November 1793, copy of 1796 in CRO, WDX 112/6) and Esther, dau of John Abbot, of Underbarrow, sister of Mary Abbot (wife of George Romney, (qv)), and widow of Robert Cragg (d.1753), of Kendal, educ Hawkshead Grammar School (with WW and bro) and St John’s College, Cambridge (sizar, 2 November 1793, matric Mich 1794, BA 1798, MA 1801), d 1798 and p 8 June 1800 (Ely), marr (9 July 1801) Mary (d.1845), sister of Revd Robert  Forby, of Fincham, Norfolk, no issue, usher and assistant master at King’s School, Ely and/or kept private boarding school, minor canon of Ely Cathedral 1800-1852 and precentor from 1833, held several local benefices in plurality (Winston, Suffolk 1803-1806, Stanford, Norfolk 1808-1845, Runham, Norfolk 1811-1852, and Hardwick, Cambs 1925-1852), author of A description of the Cathedral Church of Ely, with some account of the conventual buildings (1807; 3rd edn 1834), his executors paid for boarding and painting nave roof of cathedral, magistrate for Isle of Ely, kind and sociable person, inherited Duddon Grove estate late in life in 1847 from his niece, Frances Esther Millers (qv), but only made summer visits and arranged for his cousin, Revd John Romney (qv) to occupy house, while choosing to remain living in Ely, made will 22 April 1848 (proved at Canterbury, 24 January 1852 and at Richmond, 12 May 1852), leaving estate of some £100,000, besides landed property, died 3 January 1852, aged 76, and buried in Ely Cathedral, succ by William Sawrey Rawlinson (qv) (CW3, ii, 257-259; TWT, 357-358)

Millers, William (1767-1843; DCB), BD, clergyman, er son of Thomas Millers (qv sub George Millers), educ Sedbergh School and St John’s College, Cambridge (entd 1784, BA, senior wrangler 1789, elected fellow 1791, first Smith’s prizeman, BD 1800), sold father’s property at 1 & 2 New Road, Kendal to Richard Simpson, 12 September 1796 (WDX 112/7),  vicar of Madingley, 23 October 1805, rector of Hardwick, Cambs, 12 May 1807, of Aberdaron, Caernarfon, 2 October 1807, of All Saints’, Cambridge at time of marriage (11 October 1808, at Ulverston) to Margaret (1770-1828, died 21 December), dau of Thomas Towers, shoemaker, of Ulverston, 1 dau (Frances Esther, (qv)), had moved to Springfield, Ulverston by late 1820s, school contemporary of James Losh (qv) at ?Sedbergh as fellow pupil of John Dawson? and described him 45 years later, died at Duddon Grove, 24 February 1843 (SSR, 160; CW3, ii, 257; SS, clxxiv, ii, 71)

Millican, John Harold (1922-2013), cricketer, born in Penrith 1922, of Greystoke family, educ Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Penrith, served WW2 in RAF, worked for National Farmers Union, but cricket was his life and passion, left-hand batsman and right-arm medium pace bowler, captain of Penrith Cricket Club, made debut for Cumberland County Cricket Club in 1951, Captain 1958-1968, Chairman 1973-1992 and President 1993-2003, ^^^^career details^^^, marr Marion, 2 daus, died in Penrith, 2 September 2013, aged 91 (obit by Michael Latham at www.cricketarchive.com)

Milligan, Walter, businessman, in 1894 est Lakeland Laundries in Barrow (from 1974 Lakeland Pennine) with his wife Agnes, gradually bought laundries in Whitehaven, Ingleton, Kendal and Grange-over Sands, son Alan educ Oundle and Oxford, chair from 1968, by then 11 laundries and 1000 staff, director Furness Building Society, member Rugby Union committee, his racehorse Pavey Ark was running at Perth on the day of his death; Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones

Millray, John William (18xx-19xx), local council leader, chairman of North Westmorland Rural District Council 1946-19xx, of Mere Syke, Shap (1938)

Milroy, John Ignatius ‘Sean’ (1877-1946), journalist and politician, born Maryport, to Co Cork as a young man, joined Sinn Fein and was on the executive, imprisoned 1915, took part in the Easter Rising, director of elections, arrested 1918 but escaped with Eamon de Valera having sent a drawing of a crucial key in a Christmas card, senator Irish Free State; Dictionary of Irish Biography online; he wrote Memories of Mountjoy (1917)

Mills, Herbert Vincent (1856-1928), Unitarian minister and Labour activist, born at Haslingden/Accrington, Lancs, December 1856, marr (September qr. 1880, at Salford) Emma Jane (born at Salford in 1851, died at Cleckheaton, West Riding Yorks, aged 83, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 9 February 1934), dau of Richard Poole, 1 dau (Katharine Ethel, born at Colne in 1885, marr (x April 1911, at Unitarian chapel, Kendal) Fred Higginson), moved from Colne when elected Minister of Unitarian Chapel, Market Place, Kendal from 1 July 1887 until 1916, gave evidence to Select Committee on Poor Law Relief (HoL Report 1888), author of Poverty and the State (London, 1886), founded (with Lawrence Scott, Russell Scott, W P Byles, MP, and Rowland Estcourt) a branch of Home Colonization Society at Starnthwaite for the unemployed, took possession of Starnthwaite Mill (former paper and bobbin mill) and Browhead Farm, near Crosthwaite in July 1892, Colony also known as ‘The Westmorland Commune’, hoping it would ‘become a small Utopia of great beauty’, but trouble arose with appointment of Thomas Wilson as farm bailiff at Browhead (WG, 15.4.1893), land in Crosthwaite and Crook (Kelly 1894), succeeded in bringing a number of people back to the land, inc some ‘unemployed socialists from Kentish Town’, but his autocratic style conflicted with ideas of democratic communal living, three colonists evicted from Community farm, followed by his own departure in 1901, with admin of colony placed under Christian Union for Social Service, evolving into a reform institution (later a home for epileptic boys by 1903), County Councillor for Kendal Borough Sandes division (1894), established a Labour Club in Kendal in 1892 (to which he got Keir Hardie to address), later formed a branch of Independent Labour Party in Westmorland, author of Lake Country Romances (1892) (preface dated Kendal, 10 April 1892), a republication by Elliot Stock, of London, of his ‘Romances of the Lake Country’ first printed in the Westmorland Gazette, with 8 illustrations by Cuthbert Rigby (qv), of Anchorite House, Kendal (1891-1899), moved to 22 Greenside, Kendal (1899-1914), then of 2 Victoria Terrace, but left Kendal in 1916 for Glasgow as Minister at St Vincent Street Unitarian Church, Glasgow, where he died in 1928 (Roger Smalley, MA thesis, Lancaster University, 2009; LH, 41, 3 (August 2011), 178-191)

Mills, John (fl.late 17thc-1707), chaplain to Charles I, b.Shap, Queen’s college, Oxford, fellow, chaplain to bishop of Oxford, rector Bletchington, principal St Edmund Hall, prebend Canterbury, wrote a Greek New Testament

Milne, Alan Alexander (1882-1956; ODNB), writer, son of John Vine Milne, headmaster of Henley House School, educ Henley House, where he was taught by HG Wells, Westminster and Trinity College, Cambridge, where he read mathematics, in 1902 he had a ‘mountaineering jaunt’ in the Lakes with his brother Ken and bought his first pipe in Ambleside, contributor to Punch, creator of Winnie the Pooh, wrote 18 plays and three novels, screenwriter in the 1920s

Milne, Alexander (18xx-1xxx), solicitor, Steward of Levens (of Laurence House, Levens, 1855, 1868, 1885), Clerk to Westmorland County Council 1916-1918, Clerk to Guardians of Kendal Union and Assessment Committee of Kendal Union, clerk to South Westmorland RDC, solicitor with Harrison & Milne, 12 Lowther Street, Kendal, of 2 Bankfield, Kendal (1905), marr Margaret Bernard, 4 sons (Alexander (qv), David Anderton (bapt 5 August 1860), Arthur (bapt 12 March 1865) and Robert Duff (bapt 23 February 1868, all at Levens) and 3 daus (Eliza Alice (bapt 9 August 1857), Margaret (bapt 31 October 1858) and Agnes (bapt 8 March 1863))

Milne, Alexander (1855-1919), solicitor, son of the above, bapt 4 November 1855 at Levens, of 2 Bankfield, Kendal (1901), died at 14 Vicarage Terrace, Kendal, aged 64, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 3 November 1919

Milne, Frederick John (1875-19xx), son of J D Milne, of Cheadle, served WW1 with French Red Cross (Croix de Guerre 1915), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1935, of Broad Leys, Bowness-on- Windermere

Milne, William (18xx-189x), gardener, apptd new head gardener at Levens Hall on succ of Josceline Bagot in 1883, marr Lydia, 2 sons (William Hart, bapt 25 May 1884, and Cuthbert, posthumous child, bapt 2 October 1897) and 2 daus (Edith May, bapt 26 February 1888, and Lydia Annie, bapt 6 July 1890, all at Levens), when of Levens Garden, but succ by William Gibson (qv) in 1895, died before birth of yr son (Cuthbert) in 1897, when of Arnside (apartments)

Milner, Isaac (1750-1820; ODNB), cleric, natural philosopher, mathematician, inventor college head and dean, professor of Natural Philosophy, Cambridge University 1783, president of Queens’ College, Cambridge 1788, vice-chancellor of Cambridge University, dean of Carlisle 1791-1820, completed final two volumes of his brother Joseph’s The History of the Church of Christ and re-edited the work in 1810, died in 1820

Milner, James (1840-1905), est printing firm in Barrow in 1867, marr Mary Fisher (b.1842), lived 229 Abbey Rd., sons John, Philip and Percy continued the business which was incorporated in 1945

Milner, Joseph (1793-1864), DL, JP, MA, clergyman, vicar of Appleby St Lawrence 1818-1864, mayor of Appleby 1864, born in 1793, son of Revd Joseph Milner, vicar of North Ferriby, Yorks, = ? (and nephew of Joseph Milner (1744-1797), author of The History of the Church of Christ, who completed the first three volumes, leaving his brother Isaac Milner (qv) to add two more volumes), presided over a meeting of the British and Foreign Bible Society in Appleby attended by Revd Benjamin Allen, rector of St Paul’s Church, Philadelphia, USA, who recorded his tour of Westmorland for the BFBS in 1828 (CW2, lxii (1962), 304)

Milner (nee Compton), Mary [1797-1863; ODNB], writer and editor, Appleby; exhibition at Appleby TIC in 2019 by Barry McKay

Milner, Robert (17xx-18xx), clergyman, vicar of Orton 1802-1849

Milner, Revd William Holme (17xx-18xx), MA, clergyman, curate of Cliburn (1829), preached sermon at Orton on 26 November 1837 on occasion of recent murder and robbery of a respectable inhabitant of parish of Orton on night of 18 November, which proved popular enough for printing and private distribution (copy in CRO, WDY 636), collated to Penrith by bishop Percy in 1845, chiefly responsible for building of Christ Church, Penrith, promoted to Horncastle, Lincs in 1853

Milnes, Richard Monckton, Richard (Lord Houghton) (1809-1885), poet and politician, edited Life and Letters Keats (qv) (1848); NN anthology

Milroy, Sean (1877-1946), Irish revolutionary, b. Maryport, involved in the Easter Rising, later senator of the Irish Free State

Milward, Joseph (17xx-1782), clergyman, rector of Long Marton 1775-1782, marr (17xx) Mary, 2 sons (Thomas, bapt at LM, 1 August 1777, and Henry, bapt 9 February 1779), buried at Long Marton, 11 April 1782, followed quickly by his daughter Dorothy on 24 April 1782

Milward, Thomas (1706-1775), clergyman, rector of Long Marton 1730-1775, wife Dorothy (buried at LM, 24 March 1757), daus (Anne, buried 8 April 1757; poss Esther, of Appleby, buried at LM, 29 September 1823), died aged 69, and buried at Long Marton, 12 June 1775

Minto, Joan (d.2019), town and district councillor, lived Workington, member of the Labour Party from school age, marr Bill Minto (qv), an active councillor she regularly held surgeries where townspeople found her very approachable, Sir Tony Cunningham MP stated that he would not have been an MP without her support, chair of the Westfield Housing Association, arranged for the naming of the Bill Minto Centre after her husband, here she opened the Footsteps Nursery; Times and Star 2 October 2019

Minto, William ‘Bill’ CBE DL (b.1931), trades unionist and local councillor, lived Workington, worked in the Steel Works, shop steward, councillor from 1966, founder member of Cumbria CC in 1974, marr Joan (qv), drove ahead the Moor Close Spirts Centre, known for his sense of humour even in difficult meetings, dressed as Father Christmas for twenty years, the Bill Minto Centre named for him, described by Dale Campbell-Savours MP as ‘a man of charisma and first class judgement’; West Gazette 22 January 2001

Mitchell, Charles Henry (1821-1882), ‘artist and architect’, son of Thomas Mitchell a surgeon of Birstall (Y), friend of Sam Bough (qv); Levens History Society website

Mitchell, Ena, (d.1979), singer, lived Howard Place, Carlisle, taught singing locally, president of Carlisle Music Society, son Ivor James (qv)  a professional horn player

Mitchell, George Hoole FRS (1902-1976), geologist, born Liverpool, summers spent in Langdale, educ Liverpool university, MSc thesis on Coniston limestone, PhD on volcanic rocks of the eastern Lake District, worked for the British Geological Survey on the Borrowdale Volcanic Group, exemplary record of publications, awarded several medals; Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the Royal Society, Cumberland Geological Society Proceedings vol 6 1998-9 pt 3, p.415

Mitchell, Robinson (1821-1888), auctioneer, Cockermouth (bust on plinth outside Sainsbury’s)

Mitchell, William (c.1806-1900), maritime artist b. Maryport; Marshall Hall

Mitchell, William Blanchard (Bill) (1926-2011), clergyman, born in Durham, but moved with parents to Carlisle when father became director of transport with Carr’s, educ Carlisle Cathedral School, Carlisle Grammar School and St Bees School (School House/Grindal 1940-43), enlisted in Border Regt at age of 17 and trained at Abbotabad military academy on NW Frontier, India, commissioned and served with 13th Frontier Force Rifles (‘the piffers’) at time of partition in 1947, also served in Iraq, returned to Carlisle and articled to Jos M Richardson, land agent, in Cecil Street, but did not take to this work, so studied for ministry at St Aidan’s Theological College, Birkenhead 1953 and University of London (Dip Theol 1954), d 1955 and p 1956 (Carl), curate of Holy Trinity, Kendal 1955-1959 and Dalton-in-Furness 1959-1960, vicar of Nicholforest 1960-1961, approached by Royal Army Chaplains’ Department to be a Chaplain to Forces 1961-1977, serving at home and abroad in Berlin, Penang and Singapore, returned by popular demand to be incumbent of Nicholforest and Kirkandrews-on-Esk 1977-1984, rector of Kirkby Thore with Temple Sowerby and Newbiggin 1984-1989 (accepted offer of living in April 1984 and instituted on 10 August), retired to ‘Koi Hai’, 23 Longlands Road, Carlisle, from 1989, but apptd chaplain to Central Ammunition Depot at Longtown and chaplain to Carlisle branch of Normandy Veterans’ Association, enjoyed country sports and wrote traditional rhyming poetry, marr, 1 son and 2 daus, died 21 May 2011, aged 84, with funeral at St Cuthbert’s, Carlisle, and cremation, 31 May

Mitchell, William Reginald (Bill) (1928-2015), journalist, author and editor, b. Skipton, m. Freda Bancroft, son David, daughter Janet, journalist Craven Herald, joined The Dalesman, editor of Cumbria magazine, lived Giggleswick, author of over 200 books including Hollow Mountains: Man’s Conquest of Caves and Potholes (1961), Men of Lakeland (1966),  Across Morecambe Bay by the Oversands Route (1973) and the last of which, Lake District Folk, went to the publishers two days before he died in Airedale Gen Hosp on 7 October 2015; numerous taped interviews by him archived Leeds university, his life in a TV programme narrated by Alan Bennett (1986), (obit. Independent, 09.01.2016)

Mitchell, William (d.2021) MD, rheumatologist, m. Maureen, 2 sons David and William and 2 daus Caroline and Val, educ Glasgow medical school (grad 1977), consultant at Furness General Hospital from 1990, the first to realize the significance of the Legionnaire’s disease outbreak in 2002, seven people died in the 2nd largest outbreak in the UK, the source was an ill maintained air conditioning unit in a busy alleyway next to Forum 28, associate dean at Manchester medical department

Mitton, Launcelot Edgar Drury (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, canon of Carlisle cathedral, rector of Bowness-on-Solway 1908-1953, built new rectory, retired in 1953, keen fisherman and gardener (prayer desk given in his memory by parishioners and made by Thompson, the ‘Mouse Man’, of Kilburn, Yorks)

Moffat, John (Jack) (1918-2008), businessman, born 6 December 1918, son of George William and Margaret Moffat, farmer, of Howgate House, Cliburn, bapt at Cliburn, 29 December 1918, educ Appleby Grammar School and St Bees School (Foundation 1932-1935), started work at Carlisle branch of Midland Bank in 1936, but joined 4th Bn, Border Regt in 1939 and served WW2 (Croix de Guerre), demob as Major in 1946, joined Thomas Edmondson Ltd, chemist and farm supplies company, in Penrith in 1947 and later director specialising in seeds side of business, firm joined Nickersons Penrith Seeds Co in 1963 and became managing director until retirement in June 1982, making the business dominant force in supply of agricultural seeds and cereals in area, President of Penrith Agricultural Society in 1979, Chairman of Sockbridge and Tirril Parish Council for 16 yrs, served as magistrate on Shap Bench for 12 yrs, also farmed himself at Wordsworth House, Sockbridge, marr Margaret (Peta) (decd), 1 son (Miles), sister (Margaret (Peggy), born 24 January 1917, widow of Tom Nicholson, chemist, of Appleby, now living in New Zealand), retired to Milburn to follow country pursuits (esp rough shooting and keeping dogs), died at Craig Cottage, Milburn, 27 March 2008, aged 89 (OSB No.174)

Moffitt, John Edward (1929-2008), CBE, FRASE, cattle breeder, born 11 September 1929, son of Edward and Alice Moffitt, of Hunday Farm, Workington, one of 3 children, educ St Bees School (SH 1941-1946), studied agriculture at Armstrong College, Newcastle upon Tyne, family moved to Peepy Farm, Stocksfield, Northumberland, and retained the Hunday cattle-breeding prefix registered in 1937 with British Friesian Cattle Society (now Holstein UK), purchased third highest priced animal, a yearling bull calf (Adema 88), at a Society sale held at Peterborough on 20 November 1950, which was to transform fortunes of British black and white cattle breeders, its progeny winning hundreds of championship prizes (incl eight First prizes at Royal Show between 1955 and 1965), success of Hunday bloodlines leading to formation of Cattle Breeders Services in 1961, of which he was secretary and general manager 1961-1979, Chairman of Premier Breeders Ltd from 1979, acquired leading competitor, Select Friesian Services, in 1982 and established largest national cattle embryo-transfer business at Valium Farm, Northumberland in 1988, served on numerous advisory committees at Institute of Genetics, Roslin, Edinburgh, and Universities of Newcastle and Edinburgh, Chairman of Milk Development Council and also of National Animal Data Centre, President of Royal Association of British Dairy Farmers and also of British Cattle Breeders Club, Fellow of RASE 1973, CBE 1979, Hon DCL, Newcastle 1985, and many other awards (incl Lifetime Achievement Award from Holstien UK in January 2008), marr Madge, 1 son (Peter) and 1 dau (Sue), died 6 May 2008, aged 79 (OSB No.174)

Molloy, Georgiana (nee Kennedy) (1805-1843), pioneer settler and plantswoman, born 1805, 2nd dau of David Kennedy (qv), of Crosby Lodge and his wife Elizabeth, assumed more religious attitude than rest of her family, marr (1829) Captain James Molloy, emigrated to Augusta in the Swan River Settlement, later Western Australia, 7 children in 13 years, built house at Augusta and then at Busselton, Captain Molly resident magistrate, cleared land and planted two gardens, collaborated with the Aboriginal people, collected native plants and sent seed back to her friend James Mangles in London, who passed them on to Joseph Paxton and to Joseph Lindley (secretary of Horticultural Society, who took the credit), died in 1843, aged 37 (CL, January 2011; Portrait with Background  by Alexandra Hasluck (1955), An All Consuming Passion: Origins, Modernity and the Australian Life of Georgiana Molloy  by William J Lines (1994); try Australian DNB

Monkhouse, Francis J (1915-1975), geographer, educ Workington GS and Cambridge university, naval intelligence in 2nd WW, lecturer Liverpool university, professor at Southampton, published Maps and Diagrams (1952) and the popular Principles of Physical Geography (1954), retired to Ennerdale, wrote Climber and Fell Walker in Lakeland (1972), published in the CWAAS; Cumberland Geological Society Proceedings vol 6 1998-9 pt 3, p.421

Monkhouse, John (1xxx), clergyman, curate of Newlands, rebuilt chapel with major repairs to roof, windows and walls in 1843, gallery added (memorial east window of Christ the Vine installed by Abbott & Co, of Lancaster in 1929)

Monkhouse, John (18xx-19xx), alderman of Kendal Borough, lectured on ‘Associations of Old Kendal’ at Library on 24 November 1915, paying tribute to researches of aldermen John Fisher and John Whitwell, Thomas Jennings, and J F Curwen (WG, 27.11.1915)

Monkhouse, Matthew, clergyman, of Ubarrow Hall, Longsleddale (account book 1761-1790 in CRO, WD/CAT/A716)

Monkhouse, Robert Henry (18xx-19xx), Alderman of Kendal Borough, elected Councillor (16 April 1919), of Ferndene, Kendal (photograph album in CRO)

Monkhouse, William, clergyman, vacated living of Ormside, 4 July 1811 (CRO, WPR 2/2)

Monnington, Thomas Pateshall (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, collated vicar of Penrith by Bishop Goodwin in 1888, hon canon of Carlisle 1894, resigned in 1905 and collated to Broughton-in-Furness, retired through failing health, but moved to rectory of Newton Reigny in 1918 until June 1922, when he retired to Penrith

Monsarrat, Emily Mabel (1875-1936), dau of the Revd Henry (qv), born Kendal, marr bishop West Watson (qv), died New Zealand

Monsarrat, Henry John (18xx-18xx), clergyman, vicar of St Thomas, Kendal from 1865, curate, Cheltenham parish church 1861-1865, MA 1860, deacon and priest 1865, BA 1855, lived correction Hill, Kendal in 1881

Monsarrat, Keith Waldegrave (b.1872), physician, surgeon, philosopher and writer, of French descent, b. Kendal, father of Nicholas (qv)

Monsarrat, Nicholas John Turney (1910-1979; ODNB), novelist, b. Liverpool, son of Keith above and his wife Marguerita, author of The Cruel Sea, his aunt was Emily Mabel Monsarrat (1875-1936), dau of the Revd Henry (qv)

Monslow, Walter (1895-1966), MP (Labour) for Barrow-in-Furness 1945-19xx, b.Wrexham, son of James Monslow (1871-1949), iron moulder, and Rose Emily Davies, marr May (Molly) Rogers dau of Thomas Rogers (1857-1931) waterworks foreman, worked in industry, member of Associated Society of Locomotive Engineers, member Wrexham UDC, of Oak Leigh, 60 Alexandra Road, Wrexham, North Wales (1950), cr baron Monslow in June 1966 died October 1966

Monteagle, Baron, see Stanley

Moor, Christopher (18xx-19xx), BA, clergyman and antiquary, born at Irton, asst master at Rugby School, author of Erminois and The Fletcher Case; eldest son, Christopher (1892-1915), BA (Cantab), Lieut, Hampshire Regt, killed in action at Gallipoli (The Family Forest, 103)

Moor, Samuel Albert (c.1863-1943), MA, schoolmaster and local councillor, educ Manchester Grammar School and Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge, headmaster of Kendal Grammar School 1908-1925, took active part in public affairs as member of Westmorland County Council, Kendal Borough Council, member of CWAAS from 1917 and one of its honorary auditors 1927-1932, of Vicarage Terrace, Kendal, died aged 80 (CW2, xliv, 179; photo in CRO, WD/K/261)

Moore, George (1806-1876; ODNB), JP, philanthropist and businessman, born at Mealsgate, 9 April 1806, became textile millionaire, marr 1st (12 August 1840) Eliza Flint Ray (born 25 April 1815, died at Kensington Palace Gardens, London, 4 December 1858, and buried at Allhallows church), marr 2nd (28 November 1861) Agnes Jane (born 30 April and bapt at Warcop, 5 May 1833, died at Whitehall, 30 November 1888), 2nd dau of Richard Breeks (1799-1849), of Warcop, no issue, purchased Whitehall estate for £40,000 in 1858 and moved there (reputedly the ‘Whiteladies’ of Scott’s Redgauntlet), employed Salvin (qv) to extend house in ‘Tudorbethan’ style in 1862 but incorporating remains of pele tower (these additions largely demolished in 1951, though stable of 1861 remains as a restaurant), with gardens by Nesfield, had Allhallows church enlarged and restored at his sole expense (faculty of 28 June 1860; account in Wigton Advertiser of 6 September 1862), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1871/73?, JP Cumberland (Wigton) and Middlesex, died at the Grey Goat inn, Carlisle after accident in street, 21 November 1876 and buried at Allhallows Church, near Whitehall, 25 November, beside his first wife (George Moore Education Trust established by public subscription; marble memorial tablet in Carlisle Cathedral; memorial epitaph in Allhallows church, with white marble medallion in memory of his second wife, and full-length figure in white marble of his first wife on north wall; memorial window of ‘The Good Samaritan’ by R B Edmundson & Son (1878) in south aisle of St Mary’s church, Wigton; large pyramidal fountain in Market Place, Wigton, by J T Knowles senr of London, 1872-73, with reliefs in aluminium bronze by Thomas Woolner showing acts of charity by his first wife (d.1858), in whose memory it was commissioned) (CW2, lxxv, 122-131); David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 191-2

Moore, Sir Henry Vallette (1829-1915), KCB, CIE, Lieut-General, born at Valletta, Malta, 23 January 1829, eldest son of Niven Moore (qv), of Birksey Brow, Crook, employed T H Mawson to extend lawns and walks around new additions to house in 1887, where he lived with his sister Eliza, died 17 October 1915, aged 86, and buried at Crook, 20 October (Birksey Brow deeds 1713-1889 in CRO, WD/PS/18)

Moore, Henry (1898-1986; ODNB), sculptor, born Yorkshire, used Cumberland alabaster, work in Tate; (qv) Skeaping

Moore, May, maid at Isel Hall, her memoirs I Was only a Maid written and published by Mary Burkett (qv)

Moore, Moore Kitchen (19thc.), miner and taxidermist, brought up at the reading room, Allonby, worked at Birkby pit, keen amateur taxidermist, especially of seabirds, his collection was displayed at the reading room; solwaypastandpresentblogspot

Moore, Niven (18xx-1889), CB, HM Consular Service, chancellor to HM Embassy at Constantinople, then residing in Valetta, Malta (1828-29), British consul at Beyrout in 1839 when he rode over mountains (with William McClure Thompson, an American missionary) to see Lady Hester Stanhope (ODNB), but arrived after she had died on 23 June 1839, consul at Aleppo in May 1841, marr Mary (left annuity of £200 for life, died 4 May 1898, aged 88, and buried at Crook, 7 May), 3 sons (Henry Vallette (qv), Lionel (secretary in HM Diplomatic Service) and Noel Temple (HBM consul at Jerusalem)) and 1 dau (Eliza, born 29 January 1828 in Malta), retired to Birksey Brow, Crook, where he died 15 February 1889 (copy will dated 6 October 1886 and proved at Carlisle, 13 March 1889, in CRO, WD/AG/box 113; British Residents in Malta 1800-1900 website)

Moore, Richard (c.1583-1632), stationer, publisher and bookseller; an orphan of Appleby who was apprenticed in London where he made good, printer of Foxe’s Book of Martyrs, left a generous bequest to the poor of his birthplace; Barry McKay, J. Society of Bookbinders, vol.18, 2004; new edition for Quadrat 2009

Moore, William Middleton (d.1909) JP DL, Grimeshill, Kirkby Lonsdale; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

Moorhouse, (d.1791; DCB), Colonel, native of Great Salkeld, expert in artillery, fell at siege of Bangalore, stormed by Lord Cornwallis, 21 March 1791; large oil painting of the event of his death commissioned from R. Home by his fellow officers, engr E. Stalker 1811 (Wellcome collection)

Moorhouse, George Mortram (1882-1960), artist, lived Kendal, member and later president of the Lake Artists’ Society 1946-9, Renouf , 64

Moorhouse, Jonathan (17xx-18xx), DL, clergyman, rector of Clifton, made declaration that he had estate at Clifton of value of £150 pa, qualifying him to act as DL for Westmorland, 1 October 1807 (WQSR/620/5)

Moorman, John Richard Humpidge (1905-1989; ODNB), MA, FSA, DD, LittD, born 4 June 1905, educ Gresham’s School, Holt, and Emmanuel College, Cambridge, rector of Fallowfield, Manchester 1935-1942, exam chaplain to bishop of Manchester 1935-1942, vicar of Lanercost with Kirkcambeck 1945-1946, exam chaplain to bishop of Carlisle 1945-1959, principal of Chichester Theological College and chancellor of Chichester cathedral 1946-1959, Birkbeck Lecturer, Trinity College, Cambridge 1948-1949, bishop of Ripon 1959-1975, patron of CWAAS 1968, vice-president 1951 and member 1945, author of The Grey Friars in Cambridge 1225-1538 (1952), The History of the Church in England (1954), Church Life in the 13thc (new edn 2010),  (marr (1930) Mary Caroline Macaulay, only dau of G M Trevelyan (qv), no issue

Moorman, Mary Caroline Macaulay (1905-1994), Wordsworth scholar, Armitt member, only dau of G M Trevelyan (qv) and marr 1930 to above, no issue, author of Ann Tyson’s Ledger: An Eighteenth-Century Account-book (CW2, l (1950), 152-163)

Mordaunt, Elizabeth Lucy, dau of Henry Mordaunt and a niece of Charles 3rd earl of Peterborough, marr Sir Wilfred Lawson 3rd Bt (1697-1737), their dau Elizabeth was loved by general Wolfe; history of parliament

Mordaunt, Lt Gen Sir John (1697-1780; ODNB), son of Lt Gen Harry Mordaunt (1663-1720) (brother of Charles, 3rd earl of Peterborough (c.1658-1735)) and his wife Margaret Spencer, brother in law of Sir Wilfred Lawson 3rd Bt (1696-1737) (qv), mentor of General James Wolfe (qv), served at Culloden, was court martialled and exonerated after the siege of Rochefort, MP at various times for Pontefract, Whitchurch and Cockermouth, supporter of Walpole, founding governor of the Foundling Hospital

Moresby family, (sometimes Morisceby, Mawriceby or Moricebi – perhaps derived from St Maurice), original builders of  Moresby Hall in the 12thc.

Moresby, Sir Christopher (c.1357-1391), MP, lived Distington and Culgaith

Moresby, Christopher de (fl.early 15thc.), fought at Agincourt in 1415 and was knighted by Henry V

Moresby, Sir Christopher (c.1441-1499), steward of Penrith and sheriff and escheator of Cumberland, born at Scaleby c.1441, son of Sir Christopher Moresby (c.1380-c.1460) and his wife Margaret Threlkeld (c.1408-c.1458), and baptised at Cockermouth, entered service of Neville family at age of eleven, died 26 July 1499, aged 58 (NH, LIII, No.2, Sept 2016, 173-188)

Moresby, Christopher, of Windermere, supported Richard III at Bosworth Field (1485), mentioned in The Ballad of Bosworth Field

Morewood, Robert (c.1808-1866), clergyman, vicar of Burton-in-Kendal, buried at Burton, 12 April 1866, aged 58

Morgan, (James Morrison) ‘Paddy’ (1819-1898), vicar of Dalton-in-Furness for 49 years, local character, b. Tivoli, Co. Cork, trained St Bees 1844, rural dean of Dalton 1874, parish numbers increased from a few hundred to 9000 during his time as Furness industry grew, rebuilt parish church with Paley and Austin, involved in the founding of St George’s, Barrow, Barrow originally being part of his Dalton parish, procured removal of old stone font exposed to the elements and vandalism in churchyard to inside Dalton church; obit Barrow News 15 January 1898; mss correspondence in HW Schneider statue box, Barrow CRO, Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones; references in Edward Wadham’s Diaries ?

Morland, Revd (16xx-1748), clergyman, vicar of Penrith and rector of Skelton, died 15 May 1748 and buried at Penrith, 17 May

Morland, Jacob (1740-1780), son of John Morland (1705-1748) of Capplethwaite Hall, Killington and his wife Mary Fish, marr Dorothy Brisco, 8 children, sat to Romney (Tate)

Morland, John (d.1819), of Capplethwaite, Killington, and Natland, marr Mary (died at Moresby Hall in 1830), dau of John Upton, of Ingmire Hall, dau Caroline, wife of Richard Armitstead (qv), of Moresby Hall

Morland, Thomas (d.1774), of Court Lodge, Kent, marr Ann, eldest dau of William Matson (qv), will of 1774 left properties in Westmorland and Lancashire (inc Titeup Hall [at time of Father West’s occupation]) and £200 to wife in trust, his trustees sold Titeup to Myles Sandys (qv) in c.1794

Morris, Charles (1745-1838; ODNB), son of Capt Thomas Morris (d.c.1732) 17th foot, who sold Bellbridge, Sebergham, (Thomas was the author of the song ‘Kitty Crowder’), commissioned as an ensign, promoted captain in America, became ‘the punchmaker and bard’ for the Sublime Society of Beefsteaks (est.1735), friend of the Prince Regent (1762-1784) and the duke of Norfolk (probably Charles Howard the 11th duke (1746-1815)), wrote songs mocking William Pitt, appeared with Fox and Sheridan in a Gillray caricature ‘Homer Singing his Verses to the Greeks of 1787’,  Songs Political and Convival (1802), posthumous publication of his collection of songs as Lyrica Urbana (1840); Hudleston ( C ), A Complete Collection of the Songs of Capt Charles Morris (2018)

Morris, Charles, baron Morris of Grasmere [1898-1990], academic philosopher, son of Sir Philip R. Morris, a school inspector, ed Tonbridge School and Trinity coll Cambridge, m. Mary nee Selincourt, tutor at Balliol college, Oxford, head of KES Birmingham, vice chancellor Leeds university, in retirement much involved with cultural life in the south lakes, opened new County Library and Armitt Library, Ambleside on 1 August 1973

Morris, Lady Mary (nee Selincourt) (19xx-19xx), OBE, wife of the above, vice-president of Voluntary Action Cumbria (1977)

Morris, James Pennington, FASL, writer and antiquary, author of A Glossary of the Words and Phrases of Furness (North Lancashire), with illustrative quotations, principally from the Old Northern Writers (1869)

Morris, John (18xx-19xx), schoolmaster, of School House, Coniston (<1894-1901>), marr Mary Jane, 3 daus (Ella Catharine (born 30 September 1894 and bapt 11 November), Dorothy May (born 11 August 1896 and bapt 6 September), Marjory (born 17 December 1900 and bapt 31 December)

Morris, Thomas Jr (1732-1718; ODNB), son of Capt Thomas Morris Sr (d.c.1732) 17th foot, who sold Bellbridge, Sebergham, (Thomas Sr was the author of the song ‘Kitty Crowder’), brother of Charles Morris (qv), Thomas Jr also wrote songs

Morris, Thomas Mitchell (1821-1908), ‘old Tom Morris’ (his son was ‘young Tom Morris’), b. St Andrews, designed or remodelled 75 golf courses mainly in Scotland, part designer of Kendal golf course, portrait at the club

Morris, William (1834-1896; ODNB), artist, designer and promoter of the Arts and Crafts, friendly with 9th earl of Carlisle (qv), stayed often in Naworth castle in the company of Edward Burne-Jones (qv)

Morris, William Prosser (18xx-19xx), LTh, clergyman, educ Bishop Hatfield Hall, Durham (LTh 1981), d 1892 and p 1893 (Carl), curate of Greystoke 1892-1899, rector of Patterdale 1899-19xx, compiled notes from the tales and ‘cracks’ of oldest inhabitants collected on his visits around parish, resulting in publication of his The Records of Patterdale: Historical and Descriptive, with illustrations (Kendal, 1903), with hope that parishioners would take interest in welfare of church and parish

Morris, William Robinson (18xx-19xx), clergyman, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (no degree?), d 1867 and p 1868 (Worcs), curate of Dodderhill, dio Worcester 1867-1869, vicar of Low Wray 1869-1877, vicar of Lindale-in-Cartmel 1877-1879, marr Emily Catherine, dau (Hilda, bapt 13 January 1878 at Lindale)

Morton, Alastair (fl. early 20thc.), of Sundour Fabrics and Edinburgh Weavers, tenant of Stanegarth, Bampton, built Brackenfell, Brampton; Hyde,126n and 181, 263 re artists’ visit; JWF Morton, Three Generations in a Family Textile Firm (1971) designs by Winifred Nicholson (under the name Winifred Dacre), Ben Nicholson, Barbara Hepworth, Arthur Jackson and Eileen Holding

Morton, Anne Katharine Sibella, nee Scott (1912-2008), ARIBA, Girl Guide leader, born in 1912, yr dau of Sir Samuel H Scott, 2nd Bt (qv), and his first wife, Carmen Estelle (d.1919), trained as architect in London before she marr (20 September 1944) Jocelyn Wiseman Fagan Morton (qv), 4 daus (incl Frances, wife of B C Ruck Keene, of Brandsby, North Yorkshire) and lived in Carlisle (Eden Hey, Stanwix) until moving to London (39 Buckland Crescent, NW3) in early 1970s [by 1976], started Girl Guide company in Bowness (5th Windermere) in 1931, much involved in Brownies and Girl Guides in Carlisle and Cumberland, family friend of Annie Garnett (qv), life member of CWAAS from 1948 (with husband from 1966), funded Peter Ryder’s expenses for fieldwork in his survey of medieval cross slab grave covers in diocese of Carlisle in 1996 season [published in CWAAS Extra Series, Vol XXXII, 2005], died in London, 3 November 2008, aged 96; JWF Morton, Three Generations in a Family Textile Firm (1971)

Morton, Ian (1938-2010), coroner, grandson of solicitor with Carlisle firm of Mounsey, Bowman and Morton, brought up in London, educ Cranleigh School, Surrey, did National Service on Cyprus for a year (having supplemented his classical Greek with modern Athenian and as well as Cypriot Greek), studied at College of Law, London, but moved to Carlisle to join firm of Wright, Brown and Strong, Castle Street, in 1965, assistant deputy coroner from 1973 for 10 years, HM coroner for 22 years, retiring in 2005, having held about 2,500 inquests, keen trumpet player and lover of traditional jazz, member of Carlisle Choral Society, chairman of Carliol Choir, vintage car enthusiast, owning a 1926 Singer and a 1950 Singer Roadster, died in December 2010, aged 72, with funeral in Carlisle Cathedral, followed by cremation, 23 December  (CN, 24.12.2010)

Morton, Sir James (1867-1943), LLD, FRSE, JP, chemist and dyer, born 24 March 1867, son of Alexander Morton, JP, of Darvel, Ayrshire, marr (21 March 1901) Beatrice Emily (b.1871, living at 4 Cromwell Crescent, Carlisle as widow), eldest dau of Major-General William Turton Fagan (1831-1890), Bengal Staff Corps, 2 sons (incl Jocelyn, qv) and 4 daus, chairman of Morton Sundour Fabrics Ltd, of Carlisle, Standfast Dyers and Printers Ltd, of Lancaster, founder of Scottish Dyes Ltd, awarded Faraday Centennial Medal for services to Chemical Science and Industry, and silver medal of Royal Society of Arts for lecture on history of fast dyes in 1929, knighted in 1936, of Dalston Hall, nr Carlisle, where he died 22 August 1943; Who’s Who in C and W, 1937; JWF Morton, Three Generations in a Family Textile Firm (1971)

Morton, Jocelyn Wiseman Fagan (1912-19xx), textile manufacturer, born 14 June 1912, son of Sir James Morton (qv), educ St George’s School, Harpenden and Queen’s College, Oxford, marr (20 September 1944) Anne Katharine Sibella (qv), yr dau of Sir Samuel Scott, Bt (qv), 4 daus, joined Morton Sundour Fabrics, Director 1938 and Chairman 1944-1963, formerly secretary, then Chairman of Carlisle Civic & District Trust 1965-1976, nominated governor of Charlotte Mason College, Ambleside from 1960, author of Three Generations in a Family Textile Firm (1971), of Eden Hay, Stanwix, Carlisle, of Jenny Hill, Dockray, nr Penrith, and of 39 Buckland Crescent, London, died

Morton, John Peter Sargeson (1912-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Keble College, Oxford (3rd class, Cl Mods 1933 and Theol, BA 1935, MA 1939), Lichfield Theological College 1935, d 1936 and p 1937 (Carl), curate of St John the Evangelist, Barrow-in-Furness 1936-1938, and St Aidan with Christ Church, Carlisle 1938-1943, vicar of St James, Barrow-in-Furness 1943-1954, vicar of Holy Trinity, Carlisle 1954-1967, vicar of Ambleside with Rydal and Brathay 1967-1978, hon canon of Carlisle from 1962, retired in 1978 to 35 Gretton Road, Winchcombe, Cheltenham, Glos (1987)

Morville, Hugh de (d.1202; ODNB), major landowner and assassin, one of the murderers of Thomas a Becket, he is thought to have owned Pendragon Castle, Kirkby Stephen c.1160, his putative sword and a wooden statue were at Brayton before the fire, the sword had previously been kept as ‘a precious relic’ at Kirkoswald, E.L. Linton, The Lake Counties, 1864, xxxv n.44; CW2 xxxii 1

Morville, Richard de (d.1189), constable of Scotland

Moser, Edward Branthwaite (1850-1936) b. Kendal, Shrewsbury school, St John’s, Camb., 2 Bruce medals for classics, taught Shrewsbury, founded and built a house himself which he gave to the school on retirement in 1911, also a gift of 80 watercolours to a named gallery, member Alpine Club

Moser, George Edward (18xx-19xx), solicitor, son of Roger Moser (qv), succ (with his brother Herbert) to father’s business of Moser & Sons, 59 Highgate, Kendal, steward of manors of Witherslack, Harescough, Skirwith and Kirkland, and Beckermet, sole funder of cost of St George’s Hall in Stramongate, Kendal, erected in 1880 and later converted into theatre, of The Haigh, Windermere (1905)

Moser, Roger (18xx-1xxx), solicitor, had elder brother John [who marr Hannah at Kendal and had dau Mary (born at Manchester, 23 March 1816), wife of Leonard Whaley Willan (born at Skerton, Lancaster, 11 March 1814), see ‘The Willan Family of USA’ in Sedbergh Historian, Vol.VI, No.3, 2012] and yr brothers Robert, solicitor, and Jacob, cabinet maker, of Kendal, marr, issue inc 2 sons (George Edward (qv) and Herbert), steward of manor of Beetham 1833, 1839, 1853, secretary of Kendal Dispensary (1833), clerk to trustees of Heronsyke and Eamont Bridge Turnpike Road (1861), letters to Thomas Jackson, Rydal agent, of Ambleside in 1844- (CRO, WD/Ry/22/14)

Moss, Arthur Miles (1873-1948), clergyman, lepidopterist, organist and artist, vicar of the ‘largest parish in the world’, born Waterloo near Liverpool, son of the Rev John Miles Moss, then a solicitor and soon to be the first vicar of Windermere, and Ellen Huson (her brother Thomas (1844-1920) was an artist), lived at Ellerthwaite (now Windermere library), educ Rossall and Trinity, Cambridge, first article on industrial melanism in the peppered moth published aged 16, curate Holy Trinity Birkenhead, curate Kendal parish church, used his bass voice as precentor Norwich cathedral, travelled in Europe, vicar of vast parish based in Belem, Brazil, built his own wooden church and a 40 foot tower with moth trap and carbon lamps for his collecting, made great personal sacrifices for the diocese at a time a severe economic depression, said to have been more fond of his butterflies than his parishioners, travelled by canoe and had free passage on Amazon steamers, kidnapped by brigands, very fond of swallowtail butterflies and worked on them for seven years, sent fine specimens to Lord Walter Rothschild (1868-1937; ODNB), observed mimicry in insects, worked on hatching eggs and metamorphosis and the identification of food plants, realised that there was already a severe decline in species, fascinated by epiphytes notably bromeliads, facilitated the visit of Mary Fountaine a fellow lepidopterist in 1929, observed the deforestation by rubber companies, and later how an infestation of caterpillars drove them out, several species named after him, played the organ at the cathedral in Rio de Janeiro in 1921 at the service celebrating the abolition of slavery, some of his musical compositions published by Novello’s, brief retirement in Kendal (the museum holds the Moss collection), horrified how much of Windermere parish was now under concrete, then to Tring, sold his watercolours to Nat Hist Mus, died at Southsea, buried at Windermere, described by Dame Miriam Rothschild in her biography of Lord Walter Rothschild as ‘the famed butterfly hunter’; 250,000 of his specimens are in the National History Museum; Philip E Howse, Vicar of the Amazon, 2022; appears in the novel Gerontius by James Hamilton-Paterson

Moss, Harold, artist, member Lake Artists, Renouf , 45-6

Moss, Thomas (17xx-18xx), schoolmaster, master of Orton Grammar School (1829)

Mostyn, Thomas Edward (1844-1930) ROI  RWA, artist, son of Edwin Mostyn artist, father of Marjorie Mostyn artist, exhibited at the Lake Artists, Renouf, 62

Mott, Greg (1925-2019), engineer, MD Vickers Barrow; see Les Shore, Redshaw biography

Mould, George (1813-1874), railway engineer, manager and agent for the contractors of the Lancaster and Carlisle railway, lived Coledale Hall c.1843-50, later closely involved in the Santander railway in Spain; Perriam CN  6 February, 2009

Mould, George Stephenson (1841-1921), railway engineer, ? son of the above?, active in Cumberland; Perriam, Cumberland News 6 February 2009

Mounsey, Augustus Henry (1834-1882), diplomat and author; published The Satsuma Rebellion, 1879

Mounsey, George (1726-1803), attorney and political agent, son of Revd Robert (qv)

Mounsey, George Gill, (1797-1860), lawyer, mayor of Carlisle, wrote An Authentic Account of the Occupation of Carlisle in 1745 (1846) and Gillesland (c.1860)

Mounsey, George (1819-1904), JP, solicitor and registrar, Superintendent Registrar of Births, Marriages and Deaths for Carlisle District from 1850 (still in 1897), also clerk to Income Tax Commissioners for Cumberland Ward, of 9 Friars Court, Carlisle, marr (1867) Julia (d. 1905), er dau of Sir James Boswell, 2nd Bt (1806-1857), of Auchinleck, no issue, of Kingfield, Nichol Forest, and 3 Devonshire Street, Carlisle, but died s.p. at Auchinleck 1904, estate passing on death of his widow at Carlisle in 1905 to her nephew, Lord Talbot de Malahide, with her residuary estate left to Cumberland Infirmary

Mounsey, George Stephenson (1759-1838), Captain, Bengal Army, retd 1807, of Carlisle and Gilsland

Mounsey, John (1702-1793), ‘king of Patterdale’, lived Patterdale Hall, m. Dorothy, fought against the Scots at Stybarrow Crag and was consequently dubbed ‘king’, rebuilt old hall 1677

Mounsey, Robert (1695/6?-1780), clergyman, vicar of Ravenstonedale 1729-1780

Mounsey, Robert (1762-1842), attorney, of Rockcliffe, 2nd son of George (qv)

Mounsey, William (1765-1830), Captain, RN, retd 1815, 5th son of George (qv)

Mounsey, William Henry (fl.1850-1871), traveller and eccentric, of Carlisle, did military service in Middle East and developed lasting affection for Jewish faith and culture, made pilgrimage on foot in 1850 from mouth of river Eden on Solway to its source at Hellgill in Mallerstang, where he built a commemorative obelisk with Star of David, inscription from Homer in Greek and a reversed latinised form of his name (YESNUOM SUMLEILUG) on 15 March 1850 (broken up by company of navvies working on Settle-Carlisle Railway in 1870, but pieces stored in barn in Mallerstang until funds were raised for facsimile to be erected on Outhgill village green, unveiled on 21 September 1989); creator of rock carvings in sandstone cliffs on the river Eden; CWAAS newsletter Autumn 2016 p.4

Mounsey-Heysham, George Gill (b. Mounsey) (1797-1874), attorney, mayor of Carlisle, secretary to bishop of Carlisle, marr Isabella Heysham, dau of Dr John Heysham (qv) at St Cuthbert’s Carlisle 1827 and author of The Occupation of Carlisle in 1745, by Prince Charles Edward Stuart (1846), of Castleton House

Mountbatten, Louis (1900-1979), 1st earl Mountbatten of Burma, naval officer, uncle of Prince Philip, viceroy of India, attended the launch of Dreadnought in Barrow in 1960

Mowbray, William de (c.1173-1224), Norman lord and English noble, one of 25 executors of Magna Carta, described as ‘small as a dwarf, but valiant’, buried Furness Abbey

Muir, Helen (1946-2010), FRAeS, PhD, airline safety authority, born in Kendal, 13 May 1946, educ Kendal High School, professor of Aerospace Psychology, Cranfield University, died 20 March 2010 (WG, 29.04.2010)

Muirhead, John Henry, philosopher; climbed Scafell with James Martineau q.v.; J.W. Harvey (ed,), John Henry Muirhead, Reflections by a Journeyman in Philosophy, 1942

Mulcaster, de, family; CW2 xviii 110

Mullen, Tom (c.1929-2016), Methodist minister, marr Avril, died 28 November 2016, aged 87, funeral at Hensingham Methodist Church, 6 December 2016, followed by interment at Hensingham cemetery (WN, 01.12.2016)

Multon, de, of Gilsland family; CW2 xxviii 157

Multon, Lady Eleanor de, litigant; CW2 lxiv, 132

Multon, Lady Margaret de, litigant; CW2 lxiv, 130

Muncaster, Lord, see Pennington

Muncaster, John, local agent of duke of Somerset, steward of Egremont manor court from 1719; (CW2, xvii, 50)

Munn, Paul Sandby (1773-1845; ODNB), landscape artist and drawing master, born at Thornton Row, Greenwich, Kent, 8 February 1773, one of three sons of James Munn, coach and carriage decorator and landscape artist, and his wife Charlotte Mills, named after artist Paul Sandby, RA (ODNB) (qv), his godfather and also his first drawing teacher, was an early visitor to Dr Thomas Monro’s ‘academy’ in London and joined sketching society founded by Thomas Girtin by 1799, becoming secretary of Girtin’s Sketching Club in 1803, produced a series of carefully wrought images of Lake District, its landscape and vernacular buildings, first visiting area in 1798 and exhibiting six LD drawings at Royal Academy in 1799 (inc three views of cottages and farmhouses), exhibited landscapes in watercolour at Royal Academy up to 1805, then at Old Watercolour Society 1806-1815, travelled to Wales in 1802 and to Yorkshire in 1803 with John Sell Cotman (ODNB), staying at Brandsby Hall, near York, with Cholmeleys (to whom Cotman later became a friend and drawing teacher), with Teresa Cholmeley describing Munn as ‘between 30 and 40 and a well established artist… a rough peculiar mannerd man, but very shrewd and clever and of course very entertaining’ in contast to the more ‘gentlemanlike’ and ‘very young’ Cotman, lodged at and worked with his two brothers, William and James, who traded as stationers and print sellers at 107 New Bond Street, London between 1802 and 1804, prepared drawings with Cotman for stock and resale in their shop, his involvement in printselling may have prompted interest in new process of lithography, contributed illustrations to John Britton’s Beauties of England and Wales (1801-1818), elected an Associate of Old Society of Painters in Watercolours in 1806 and continued to exhibit until 1815, with Lake District featuring regularly in his exhibits, with Coniston providing some of his favourite subjects, subscribed to fifteen copies of Cotman’s Miscellaneous Etchings (1810-11) for the Bond Street shop, settled in Hastings as a drawing master in 1811, but made a last tour down river Meuse in Belgium in 1835, marr Cecilia, dau of Captain Timothy Essex, no issue, died at Margate, Kent, 11 February 1845 (work held in collections at British Museum, Victoria & Albert and Ashmolean Museums; ‘Boon Crag, Coniston’, signed and dated 1813, acquired for Wordsworth Trust collection by W W Spooner Charitable Trust)

Murfitt, Matthew (17xx-18xx), MA, clergyman, vicar of Kendal, secretary of Kendal Dispensary (1814), died 7 November 1814 (LC, 7)

Murgatroyd, Thomas, clergyman, vicar of Kendal, buried at Kendal, 17 April 1699; dau, Sarah, buried 22 February 1689, dau Alice bapt, 2 February 1696/7, son Robert bapt, 15 January 1697/8

Murphy, Col. Norman (1933-2016), founder and chairman of the British branch of the P.G. Wodehouse Society; several publications including the Wodehouse Handbook  (2006); obit. CWAAS newsletter 2006

Murphy, Richard Hovenden (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Christ’s College, Cambridge, vicar of St Paul, Warwick Bridge, Holme Eden parish from 1894

Murray, Charles (c.1814-1874), Lieut-Colonel, adjutant of Westmorland Rifle Volunteers, of 152 Highgate, Kendal, died aged 60 and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 27 May 1874

Murray, Henry (18xx-19xx), naturalist and taxidermist, of Bank Buildings, Carnforth, business founded in 1872, with son, Albert James, who retired in 1961 and died in March 1962, aged 83; finest collection of their work in Kendal Museum

Murray, J.N. (J.Norman), pharmacist and chemist, est. firm J.N. Murray c.1930 in Settle St, Barrow, his wife Florence ran the Bowness Rd post office, his son Donald built up a county wide chain of pharmacies, succeeded by his granddaughter Helen Hartley, who continued to expand the business, eventually employing 150 staff, they sold it to Cohens of Bolton c.2020

Murray, Robin (1940-2017), influential economist, b. Westmorland, son of Stephen Murray and Margaret Gillett, parents lived in Cumberland hill farm, educated Bedales school and Balliol, Oxford where he read history, worked at Instit of Devel Studies and then the LSE, chief economic adviser to the GLC, co-founder Third World Information Network, promoter of fair trade and co-founder of the London Climate Change Agency, London in 2005 and taught at Schumacher College; obit Guardian 23 June 2017

Murray, Stephen Hubert (1908-19xx), barrister, farmer and councillor, born 19 February 1908, son of Dr Gilbert Murray, OM (1866-1957; ODNB), and Lady Mary (nee Howard), dau of 9th Earl of Carlisle, educ Shrewsbury School and Balliol College, Oxford, marr 1st (1931) Margaret Gillet, 4 sons, marr 2nd (1979) Dorothy Kathleen Stirling, practised at bar on London and Oxford Circuit 1935-1951, farmer from 1951, member of Hampstead Borough Council 1932-1945, Border RDC 1953-1964 and chairman 1964-1966, Cumberland County Council 1964-1974 and Cumbria County Council 1974-19xx (chairman 19xx), member of Lake District Planning Board/LDSPB 1972-19xx and chairman 1977-1981, author of Everyman his own Shipwright (1949), of Greenside, Hallbankgate, Brampton; see Ann Paludan

Murthwaite, Peter (16xx-1675), clergyman and schoolmaster, vicar of Gilcrux 1664-1675, schoolmaster of Cockermouth, marr 1st ??, 2nd before October 1647 to Joyce, widow of Thomas Webster (d.1646), and 3rd to Ellin (d.1665) (CW3, viii, 258)

Musgrave family, lived at Edenhall near Penrith for many generations, the ‘Luck’ of Edenhall is now in the V and A, see The Ballad of the Luck of Eden Hall

Musgrave, Sir Christopher (1634-1704; ODNB), 4th Bt of Edenhall, politician, born 1632, 2nd son of Sir Philip Musgrave, 2nd Bt (qv) and Juliana, dau of Sir Richard Hutton, of Lupton, bought manor of Lupton in 1681 from his grandfather’s trustees, educ Queen’s College, Oxford, later at Gray’s Inn, MP for Carlisle 1661-1690, Westmorland 1690-1695 and 1702-1704, Appleby 1695-1698, Oxford University, and Totnes, becoming Father of the House in 1704, one of leaders of Tory party in Parliament, marr twice, 1st Mary Cogan, dau of Sir Andrew Cogan 1st Bt, 2nd Elizabeth Franklin, dau of Sir John Franklin, died in London, 29 July 1704, aged 72, and buried near his elder son in chapel of the Trinity in the Minories (memorial in Edenhall church) (CWMP, 420-422)

Musgrave, Christopher (1661-1718), politician, yr son of Sir Christopher Musgrave, 4th Bt (qv), by his first wife Mary, trained in the law, one of principal officers of the Ordnance for 25 years, succ brother Philip (qv) as clerk in ordinary to Privy Council, having long been clerk extraordinary, then resigned it after a few months in 1710 in favour of his nephew, Sir Christopher (qv), elected MP for Carlisle in 1690, but deprived of his freedom of the city in 1692 and unsuccessful candidate in 1694, but elected again for Carlisle from 1702 to 1705, unmarried, died 10 September 1718 and buried in north cross of Westminster Abbey, 16 September (memorials in Westminster Abbey and in Edenhall church) (CWMP, 422)

Musgrave, Sir Christopher (1688-1736), 5th Bt of Edenhall, politician, born in London, 25 December 1688, son of Philip Musgrave (qv), educ Eton and Christ Church, Oxford, succ his uncle Christopher (d.1718) (qv) as clerk of the council in 1710, MP for Carlisle 1713-1715 and for Cumberland 1722-1727, purchased Dacre Castle with manors of Dacre and Soulby from Barbara and Anne (Lennard), daus and co-heirs of Thomas, Earl of Sussex (qv), in 1715, but then conveyed them to Edward Hasell, of Dalemain, in the same year, marr (ante 1712) Julia (d.1763), dau of Sir John Chardin (died 26 April 1755), of Kempton Park, Middlesex, 4 sons and 7 daus, died at house of his friend and kinsman, Henry Fleetwood, of Penwortham, near Preston, Lancs, 3 (or 20?) January 1736, and buried in chancel of St Mary’s church, Penwortham (memorials in both Penwortham and Edenhall churches) (CWMP, 423)

Musgrave, Revd Sir Christopher John (1797-1834), 9th Bt of Edenhall, landowner, born 6 August 1797, 2nd son of Sir John Chardin Musgrave, 7th Bt (qv), educ Oriel College, Oxford, succ brother, Sir Philip, 8th Bt (qv) in 1827, marr (September 1825) Mary Anne, dau of Edward Hasell, of Dalemain, 5 daus, built lodge at Edenhall and repaired Edenhall Church, died 11 May 1834

Musgrave, Eleanor (c.1547-1623), charity founder, dau of Sir Richard Musgrave of Hartley Castle, heir of her father and uncle but entails prevented this as she was a woman, she was also the granddaughter of Lord Wharton, governor of Berwick, marr Robert Bowes of Aske (Y) as his second wife, Bowes was a loyal agent of Elizabeth I and ambassador to Scotland from 1577, Eleanor ran the estate during his frequent absences until he died in 1597, she died in 1623 and is buried in the south aisle of Easby church, she established the Bowes hospital for Richmond (Y) in 1607 in the former medieval chapel of St Edmund the king, to house three widows for whom she provided food, furniture and bedding (still in operation for only one widow), she also established the ‘Widows’ Mite’, a fund to be distributed between 6-8 honest indigent local tradesmen, this charity was largely lost in the 18thc but the fund has provided since 1987 the ‘Richmond Shilling’, a commemorative token given at Christmas to 60 of the local elderly, she also donated a portrait of Elizabeth I to the town (the council chamber); Jane Hatchard, Richmondians, 2021, 35

Musgrave, Sir George (1799-1872), 10th Bt of Edenhall, landowner, born 14 June 1799, 3rd son of Sir John Chardin Musgrave, 7th Bt (qv), educ University College, Oxford, succ brother, Revd Sir Christopher (qv), in 1834, marr (26 June 1828) Charlotte (died 26 June 1873), dau of Sir James Graham (qv), 1st Bt, of Netherby, 2 sons (Philip (born 1833, died 16 April 1859) and Richard Courtenay, qv) and 3 daus (Caroline, Agnes and Sophia), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1840, conveyed plot of waste ground in village of Soulby for additional land adjoining chapel yard to perpetual curate, 31 May 1849 (CRO, WPR 49/I 14), died 29 December 1872; Musgrave monument erected in Penrith town centre in 1861 in memory of his elder son Philip (d.1891) who died in Spain

Musgrave, Hans (17xx-17xx), soldier, 3rd of four sons and eleven children of Sir Christopher Musgrave, 5th Bt (qv), marr Jane Hussey, Captain in army, promoted to Powlett’s Regiment from Blakeny’s Regiment, 5 June 1750, promoted to Lieut-Colonel of the 66th Regiment (foot) in 1759, based in Antigua in 1764, promoted to command army in Madras in 1782/3, not thought by Jane Salmond (nee Hasell), sister-in-law of his sister Julia Hasell (nee Musgrave) to ‘trouble himself to provide for my son’ (James Hanson Salmond, qv) (HoD, 185)

Musgrave, Henrietta (1755-1812), daughter of Sir Philip Musgrave 6th Bt, married John Morris of Claremont, Glamorgan in 1774, John succ as 2nd bart in 1812 the year of her death, sat to George Romney holding her baby son John on her knee; Alex Kidson Romney catalogue raisonne (illus.)

Musgrave, James (1862-1955), anatomist, b. Kendal, worked Scotland, professor St Andrews

Musgrave, John (fl.1598-1600), appointed land-serjeant of Gilsland in 1598 and obtained grant of Askerton Castle, though it was still forcibly retained by Thomas Carleton, of Carleton, previous land-serjeant [15 manors in barony of Gilsland], at feud with Grahams of Esk, who tried to murder him and company at Brampton in 1600 (Bain, BP, ii, 686)

Musgrave, John (18xx-19xx), registrar, clerk to Cockermouth board of guardians, to rural sanitary authority, to Cockermouth and Workington joint water committee, and to Broughton school board, superintendent registrar of births, deaths and marriages, office at Court House buildings, Main Street, Cockermouth, of Kirkgate House (1883) – with his brother Edward Musgrave, solicitor (with E E & L Waugh & Musgrave), deputy superintendent registrar, also of Kirkgate House (1883)

Musgrave, Joseph (16xx-1757), 3rd son of Sir Christopher Musgrave, 4th Bt by his 2nd wife Elizabeth, MP for Cockermouth 1713-1714, prob of Great Russell Street, Bloomsbury, London, unmarried, died 14 February 1757 (CWMP, 422-23)

Musgrave, Percy (d.1934), industrialist, owner of the Atlas Works, Bolton, director of the Cotton Spinners Association, lived Bolton and Ghyll Head, Windermere, wrote Collectanea Musgraviana, Notes on the Ancient Family of Musgrave of Musgrave (privately printed 1919), buried Winster (his tomb bears his arms), his granddaughter is Thea Musgrave (b.1928) the composer; CWAAS newsletter Spring 2022, 19, 10

Musgrave, Sir Philip (1607-1678; ODNB), 2nd Bt, of Edenhall, de jure Baron Musgrave, Royalist army officer and politician, wrote letter from Edenhall to governor of Carlisle advising relief of four companies then at Carlisle and sending of 300 men in their places, and appointing Sir William Dalston and Sir Edward Musgrave to send a hundred each out of their own regiments, with a third hundred to be raised and sent in unarmed and to be put under command of captain as appointed, the other 300 men having been there more than a month to be dismissed on their arrival, 14 November 1643 (Lot 73 in <Christies> sale on 14 June 2012)

Musgrave, Philip (1661-1689), born 21 March 1661, er son of Sir Christopher Musgrave, 4th Bt (qv), by his first wife Mary, marr Mary Legge, dau of George, 1st Lord Dartmouth, 1 son (Sir Christopher, qv) and 1 dau (Barbara, wife of Thomas Howard (qv), of Corby Castle), clerk in ordinary to privy council of James II, MP for Appleby 1688-1689 (new writ), died 2 July 1689, aged 28, and buried in chapel of Trinity Minories (memorial in Edenhall church) (CWMP, 422; CM, 162)

Musgrave, Sir Philip (1712-1795), 6th Bt of Edenhall, born 23 April 1712, eldest son of Sir Christopher Musgrave, 5th Bt (qv), educ Eton, Oxford and abroad, succ father in 1736, marr (24 June 1742) Jane, dau of John Turton, of Orgreave, Staffs, 2 sons and 8 daus, heir to his mother’s brother, Sir John Chardin, Bt, who died without issue on 26 April 1755, aged 67, leaving him Kempton Park and large fortune, MP for Westmorland 1741-1747, died 5 July 1795 (memorial in Edenhall church)

Musgrave, Philip (d.1861), eldest son of Sir George Musgrave 10th Bt of Eden Hall (qv), died in Spain; the clock tower in Penrith is his memorial

Musgrave, Sir Philip Christopher (1794-1827), 8th Bt of Edenhall, landowner, born 12 July 1794, eldest son of Sir John Chardin Musgrave, 7th Bt (qv), educ Eton and Christ Church, Oxford, marr (October 1824) Elizabeth (died 21 August 1861), 3rd dau of George Fludyer, of Ayston, 1 dau, at the hustings on 6 June 1826 a riot broke out in protest at his support of the corn laws and he had to flee and take refuge, MP for Carlisle 1825-1827, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1817, entirely rebuilt Edenhall, died in 1827; Guardian 10 June 1826

Musgrave, Sir Richard (d.1409), by tradition slew the last wild boar on Wild Boar Fell, buried in Kirkby Stephen church (tusk of wild boar found in his tomb in 19th century)

Musgrave, Sir Richard Courtenay (1838-1881), 11th Bt of Edenhall, JP, landowner, born 21 August 1838, yr surv son of Sir George Musgrave, 10th Bt (1799-1879) and Charlotte (1828-1873), dau of Sir James Graham, of Netherby (qv), marr (17 January 1867) Adora Frances Olga (Zoe), only dau of Peter Wells, of Forest Farm, Windsor (by Adora Julia, dau of Sir John Lethbridge, Bt.), 3 sons and 3 daus (incl 1 died inf), served 71st Highland Light Infantry, MP for East Cumberland, Lord Lieutenant of Westmorland 1876-1881, had notable collection of stuffed birds at Edenhall (inc Greenland falcon shot near Crosby Ravensworth in about 1864), died 13 February 1881, aged 42; his widow marr 2ndly (18 April 1882) 3rd Baron Brougham and Vaux (qv) and died 17 December 1925

Musgrave, Sir Richard George (1872-1926), 12th Bt of Edenhall, DL, landowner, born 11 October 1872, eldest son of Sir R C Musgrave, 11th Bt (qv), succ father at age of 8, marr Hon Eleanor Harbord, 6th dau of Baron Suffield, 2 sons, Lieut, Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders, sold family estates in Cumberland and Westmorland, Sir Christopher, the present and 15th baronet, lives in Norfolk

Musgrave, Thomas, Lord Musgrave (before 1307-c.1385; ODNB), soldier

Musgrave, Sir Thomas, 6th Bt MP (c.1712-1795; ODNB), his mother was Julia Chardin (the daughter of Sir John Chardin (1643-1713) the traveller whose Voyage du Chevalier Chardin en Perse (1739) is highly regarded, he was knighted by Charles II and appointed court jeweller), marr Jane Turton of Orgreave, dau of John Turton

Musgrave, Sir Thomas (1737-1812; ODNB), 7th Bt of Hayton, soldier, born at Hayton, near Aspatria, Captain in 64th Regt 1769, Major by brevet 1772, Lieut-Col of 40th Regt, Colonel and ADC to King 1782, brigadier-general in America 1782, last British commandant of New York, colonel of 76th Regt 1787, major-general 1790, general 1802, died without issue, 31 December 1812, and buried at St George’s church, Hanover Square; memorial in Aspatria church, left £10 a year for keeping chapel in repair and cleaning of his family monuments, with surplus to be given in food to poor (NAFM, 45-46)

Musgrave, William, of Penrith, fought for Richard III at Bosworth Field in 1485

Musgrave, Sir William (before 1506-1544; ODNB), landowner

Musgrave, Sir William (fl.17thc.), royalist, lord of Crookdake, son of Cuthbert Musgrave, of Crookdake, marr 1st Anne, dau of William Musgrave, of Hayton Castle, sons (inc Thomas, father of Katherine, wife of Thomas Fetherstonhaugh, qv), marr 2nd dau of – Beckwith, (poss dau Dorothy, wife of William Askew (qv), of Standingstones, Millom), supporter of Charles I (NAFM, 130, 289)

Musgrave, Sir William 6th Bt. (1735-1800; ODNB), antiquary

Musgrave, William (early 18thc.), of Workington, R.C.; CW2 lix 118

Musgrove, William Henry (18xx-1921), JP, draper, W Musgrove & Son, general drapers, 47 Finkle Street, Kendal, of 9 Thorny Hills (1905) and later of Wynford, Kendal, died aged 64 and buried at Parkside cemetery, 30 May 1921

Myers, Arthur Thomas (1851-1894; ODNB), physician and tennis player, b. Keswick, son of the Rev Frederick of St John’s (1811-1851) (qv), played twice at Wimbledon, once in quarter finals, committed suicide, brother of Ernest and Frederic (qqv)

Myers, Charles John (18xx-19xx), DL, JP, Major, of Dunningwell, The Green, Millom, overlooking Duddon estuary, with extensive grounds and well laid out gardens (1897, 1906)

Myers, Ernest James (1844-1921), poet, b. Keswick, son of the Rev John Myers of St John’s, Keswick, brother of Arthur and Frederic W. H. Myers (qqv)

Myers, Eveleen (nee Tennant) (1856-1937), photographer, youngest dau of Charles Tennant, of Cadoxton Lodge, Neath, Glamorgan, marr (13 March 1880) Frederic William Henry Myers (qv), 2 sons and 1 dau, died at 12 Cleveland Row, St James’s, London, 12 March 1937, and buried at Keswick

Myers, Frederic (1811-1851; ODNB), clergyman and author, born at Blackheath, Kent, 20 September 1811, son of Thomas Myers (1774-1834; ODNB), mathematician and geographer, and his wife Anna Maria (nee Hale), educ at home and Clare College, Cambridge (scholar 1829, vicar of St John’s Keswick, father of Arthur, Ernest and Frederick (qqv)

Myers, Frederic William Henry (1843-1901; ODNB), psychical researcher, poet and essayist, born 6 February 1843 at Keswick, son of Revd Frederic Myers (qv), educ Cheltenham College and Trinity College, Cambridge, became an inspector of schools, author of several volumes of poetry, inc St Paul (1867), Essays Classical and Modern (1883), lives of Wordsworth and Shelley, became interested in spiritualism and helped found the Society for Psychical Research, joint author of Phantasms of the Living and Human Personlity and its Survival of Bodily Death (1903), marr (13 March 1880) Eveleen (qv), dau of Charles Tennant, 2 sons (including Leopold (qv)) and 1 dau, died of pneumonia in Rome, 17 January 1901, and buried in St John’s churchyard, Keswick; Margaret Armstrong, Keswick Characters vol.2; his son Leopold Hamilton Myers (1881-1946) also b.Keswick

Myers, John (c.1910-c1970), bank clerk and fine amateur actor, member of The Elizabethans drama group, Barrow, played Mephistopheles in the first Mystery Plays cycle at Furness Abbey early 1960s, moved to Preston

Myers, John (1959-2019), broadcast executive, b. Carlisle, leading figure in commercial radio, involved Border TV, Radio Cumbria and Lancaster Radio, died Gleneagles golf course; obit Guardian 24 August

Myers, John Postlethwaite (c.1808-18xx), solicitor, aged 43 in 1851, from Deal in Kent, deputy coroner for Liberty of Furness, agent to Royal Farmers’ Insurance Co, London, of Old Street, Broughton-in-Furness (by 1833, 1849, 1851), marr (6 August 1833, at Hawkshead) Elizabeth Park (aged 43 in 1851 from Hawkshead, prob dau of John Park, town saddler, born 16 January 1805 and bapt at Hawkshead, 10 February), 3 daus (Mary Ann (bapt 6 July 1834), Julia (bapt 28 April 1836), Elizabeth Sarah (bapt 1 November 1837), all at Hawkshead, ? and Emily, aged 3 in 1851), with niece Elizabeth M Park, aged 17 in 1851

Myers, Leopold Hamilton (1881-1944), son of Frederick (above), novelist, The Root and the Flowers (1929-1936) in four volumes, married Elsie Palmer who sat to Sergent,  committed suicide by taking veronal

Myers, Lt Gen Sir William Bt (1751-1805), son of Christopher Myers of Whitehaven and Dublin, governor of Tobago and C-in-C of the Leeward Islands, created baronet in 1804 and died at Barbados the following year (14 out of 18 members of his family died in the West Indies, his wife remained in England), his only son was killed at the battle of Albuera, the baronetcy became extinct; Hudleston ( C )

Mylechreest, Walter Harry (18xx-1966), MA, MB, BCh, MRCS, LRCP, doctor, practice at Freshfield, Wansfell Road, Ambleside 1939-1966 and previously with Buckley, Mylechreest & Buckley practice at Loughrigg House, Smithy Brow, Ambleside 1934-1939, died 24 October 1966 (CRO, WDB 141)

Myles, Jonathan (17xx-17xx), clergyman, master of Kelsick Grammar School, Ambleside 1738-1753