L

Lacy, Richard (1796-1883), landowner, born in 1796, 2nd son of Lieut-Col Samuel Lacy (qv), inherited Eden Lacy estate, marr (1821) Eliza Barker, 1 son (Augustus Dacre, whose son went to Australia, family papers also sent out) and 2 daus (Gertrude (1834-1904), wife of Lt-Col Thomas Charles Thompson (d.1888), of Milton Hall, Brampton (qv sub C L Thompson) and Georgina (d.unm), died in 1883

Lacy, Samuel (1766-1847), Lieut-Col, Royal Cumberland Militia, son of Richard Lacy (1744-1778), of Tynemouth, and his wife (marr 1765) Dorothy (b.1741), dau of Joseph Dacre (qv), of Kirklinton Hall, left Northumberland in c.1790 and bought Salkeld Lodge or Hall, where he lived until 1836, when he sold the property to Robert Hodgson (qv) and purchased estate at Great Salkeld (including prehistoric monument Long Meg), and built house called Eden Lacy, a long, low Tudorbethan house with projecting bays and mullion and transom windows, 1834 (later the seat of Lord Borwick (qv) and now of W V Gubbins), obtained new grant of arms in 1802 (inc crest of ‘an arm mailed embowed the hand holding a branch of mistletoe’, which he adopted to signify his possession of Long Meg and its druidical association), marr, sons (Richard, qv)

Ladyman, George (18xx-18xx), headmaster of Windermere Grammar School 1839-1848 and 1850-1864

Lafone, Henry Pownall Malins (18xx-19xx), MA, Trinity College, Cambridge, archdeacon of Furness from 1912, vicar of Cartmel, vicar of Holy Trinity, Kendal from 1923 and archdeacon of Westmorland

Laing family, builders and civil engineers (est 1848)

Laing, John (1842-1924), builder and stone mason, left Sebergham for Carlisle in 1874 to start a building business, rows of terrace houses in new developing suburbs, like Lindisfarne Street in late 1890s, becoming John Laing and Son by 1900, Chapel House reservoir 1900, new offices and yard built on Milbourne Street in 1904, with an ‘out office’ on corner of Linton and Oswald Streets, built houses at cost of £150-175, which were let at 5 or 6s. a week, died in 1924

Laing, John William (b.1879), son of John (b.1872) moved head office to London in 1920, but still continued to build in Carlisle (housing schemes in Botcherby in 1928, Margaret Creighton Gardens in 1932, and Vasey Crescent in 1937), John Laing Ltd being responsible for half of houses built in Carlisle by 1950s (7000 out of 14,000), thanked by Percy Dalton (qv) in letter on his retirement in January 1949 (printed in monthly news sheet Team Spirit in February 1949), also built Catterick camp in Yorkshire in 1930, the M1 motorway in 1959 and Coventry cathedral 1962, Carlisle civic centre 1964, Bridgewater Hall 1996, British Library 1997, firm listed on stock exchange in 1953; William Kirkby Laing, John Maurice Laing and Sir Martin Laing continued the business; the John Laing Business Fund est 2010 and the John Laing Environmental Fund in 2014

Lamb, Charles (1775-1834), essayist, visited Southey at Greta Hall

Lamb, Matthew (1688-1735), BA, clergyman, prob son of Thomas Lamb(e), bapt at Warcop, 15 April 1688, vicar of Warcop 1714-1735, after death of Richard Ward (qv), inducted on 15 December 1714, marr 1st (19 October 1715, at Warcop) Agnes Monkhouse (buried at Warcop, 31 October 1716), of Winton, Kirkby Stephen, 1 dau (Elizabeth, bapt 19 October 1716), marr 2nd (27 October 1719, at Warcop) Margaret, dau of Henry Aiskell (buried 27 February 1727/8), of Warcop and his wife Elizabeth (buried 4 February [1726]), 5 sons (Thomas (bapt 26 June 1721), Henry (bapt 4 September 1722), Matthew (bapt 9 April 1724), Ed[ward] (bapt 11 May 1725), Charles (bapt 5 February 1729/30, buried 4 September 1730)) and 2 daus (Margaret (bapt 29 September 1720), Dorothy (bapt 26 October 1726)), buried at Warcop, 14 July 1735

Lamb, R.H. (fl.1930s), Shepherd’s Guide compiler; wrote Herdwick Past and Present (1936)

Lambert, Mary Winifred, unmarried, lived Boar Bank, rebuilt c.1840 Abbot Hall, Kents Bank on an ancient site formerly owned by Furness Abbey and probably used as a resting place for travellers over the sands, later from the 17thc a fine gabled and mullioned building owned by the Barrow family, MI in Cartmel priory, became poor house until 1822, Miss Lambert also built the inn at Kents Bank

Lambert, John (1619-1684; ODNB), Parliamentary general and politician, bapt at Kirkby in Malhamdale, 7 September 1619, son of Josias Lambert (1554-1632), of Calton Hall, Kirkby Malham, near Skipton, and his third wife (marr 1617) Ann Pigott, educ marr (10 September 1639) Frances (d.1676), dau of Sir William Lister, 2 sons (John (d.1701) and Thomas (d.1694), who had a son Josias born c.1664) and 3 daus, buried at St Andrew, Plymouth, 28 March 1684

Lambert, Josias (16xx-17xx), solicitor, (perhaps related to the above), of Wattsfield, Kendal, marr (8 June 1726 at Heysham) Mary (bapt at Tunstall, 30 October 1694), 3rd dau of John Fenwick, of Burrow Hall and of Nunridding, Northumberland, 3 sons and 3 daus (HPT, 57, 59); Josias, son of Mr Josias Lambert and Mary his wife of Watchfield, bapt at Kendal, 1 September 1730

Lambert, Josias (17xx-18xx), clergyman, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (matric 1764), curate of new chapel of St George’s, Kendal 1772-1781, vicar of Cockerham, Lancs 1781-1798 (BGN, 204)

Lambert, Josias, of Wattsfield, Kendal, and lessee of tithes of Trinity College, Cambridge, demolished the large pulpit erected by Revd John Hudson in Holy Trinity Church, Kendal, in June 1823 as it blocked entrance to his pew (CW1, xvi (1900), 191); maybe related to Ann, maiden dau of ……Lambert, of Wattsfield, died in Kirkland, Kendal, aged 72, and buried at Kendal, 26 February 1839

Lambert, Robert (17xx-1836), BA, clergyman, incumbent Curate of Stalling Busk, North Yorkshire, died at Kirkland, Kendal, aged 71, and buried at Kendal, 5 May 1836; his widow Alice, of Garths, Hutton i’ th’ Hay, buried at Kendal, 21 July 1838, aged 58

Lamp, Henry (fl.late 17thc), physician, probably Ulverston, Curriculum Vitae or the Birth Education Travels and Life of Henry Lamp MD (1710-11) edited Joseph Green (1895) from a ms in possn of Legh Ayre

Lamplugh family; CW2 lxiv 256

Lamplugh family of Dovenby; Hudleston

Lamplugh family of Lamplugh settled there from 12thc; Hudleston

Lamplugh family of Ribton; Hudleston

Lamplugh, Jane, dau of Richard Lamplugh of Ribton and widow of Senhouse of Netherhall, married twice and had eight children with each husband, sixteen in all, four boys died, twelve daughters survived, her second husband was Charles Orfeur of High Close, her daughter Anne marr the Rev Francis Yates (qv), for the others see Hudleston ( C ) under Lamplugh

Lamplugh, Col. John, fought at Marston Moor in 1644

Lamplugh, Thomas (1615-1619; ODNB), clergyman, there is some dispute about his origins which may have been in Thwing, Yorkshire, but his name proclaims him a member of the Cumberland family, childhood in Cumberland, educated St Bees, eventually appointed archbishop of York, m. Catherine Davenant who is portrayed in oils (York AG) wearing an extraordinarily large black hat; CW2 lxxxvi 145

Lamplugh, Thomas, attended Queens College with bishop Thomas Smith and established the Thomas Society; David Weston, Bishop Thomas Smith, 18; ? = to the above

Lancaster, Bryan (16xx-1719), Quaker, tanner, of Stramongate, Kendal (trust papers in CRO)

Lancaster, Edward (15xx-1619), landowner, son of Lancelot Lancaster, of Sockbridge, and his first wife Anne, dau of Nicholas Harrington, of Sledall and Ubarrow Hall, marr Margaret, dau of John Midleton, 2 sons (Lancelot and Richard) and 2 daus (Frances and Margaret) (Visitation pedigree 1615), held manor of Sockbridge and various lands in Tirril, manor of Hartsop, moiety of advowson of Barton vicarage, moiety of Barton rectory, and tithes in parish of Barton (except those in Martindale), but he granted all these premises by deed of 28 September 1576 to feoffees to the use expressed in certain indentures of same date for advancement of his son Lancelot and jointure of Jane, one of daughters of William Musgrave, should a marriage take place subsequently between Lancelot and Jane, with residue of premises to his own use for his lifetime and then to Lancelot and his heirs male, died 20 January 1618/19, with son Lancelot as heir, aged 50 (IPM at Brougham on 15 October 1619) (LRNW, 272)

Lancaster, Gilbert de, Constable of Kirkby Kendal in 1246, witness to Peter de Brus’s charter to burgesses of Kendal (CW2, xix, 115)

Lancaster, JY, writer, published jointly with DR Wattleworth, The Iron and Steel Industry of West Cumberland (1977)

Lancaster, Sir John (b.c.1368, fl.1427, d. by 1435), son of ? William de Lancaster (d.1399) and his wife Christiana (d.1406) (F W Ragg pedigree in CW2, x, fac.494), or of ? John Lancaster (Visitation 1665), one of seven commissioners appointed to arrest and commit a large number of Westmorland men who were threatening lives of of abbot and canons of Shap in 1397 (CPR, 1397, p.157), held fourth part of one fee in Rydal as parcel of manor of Kendal, formerly held by Margaret de Ros, in 1402 (Feudal Aids, v, 196), marr 1st (ante 1409) Margaret, dau of William de Threlkeld, 1 son (William, d.v.p. ante 1425) and 4 daus and coheirs (Christiana, wife of Sir Robert de Harington; Isabel, wife of Sir Thomas Fleming (marr 1408/09); Margaret, wife of Sir Matthew de Whitfield; and Elizabeth, wife of Robert de Crakenthorp), marr 2nd Katherine (fl.1424, 1436), died by 1435; held the manors of Rydal and Loughrigg in chief, but these were acquired in 14?? by Thomas Warcop of Lambersate and John Scarlet, chaplain, from him (‘John Lancastre, chivaler, since deceased’) and his wife Katherine, without king’s licence, and then regranted to them and their heirs male with named remainders, Warcop being pardoned and Katherine licensed to have manors again entailed (as set out) in 1435 (CPR, 1435, p.455),  later all his lands in Westmorland (‘que quondam fuerunt Johannis Lancastre militis’) were granted by Richard Cok to John Wodhous and William Barton by deed of 12 July 1440 (CRO, ref: WD/Ry/92/88), division of lands made in family settlement between his four daughters on 12 August 1443 (ibid, 92/90) (RK, ii, 23)

Lancaster, John (d.1704), yeoman, of Ramps Cragg, Over Hartsop in Patterdale, had sisters Jane Browham and Mabel Lancaster, marr Elizabeth, made will dated 10 July 1704, by which his estate was to be sold by his trustees (Thomas Harrison, of Glencoyne, and Robert Lancaster, of Crookabeck) to discharge his debts and legacies and maintain his wife, then after her death to be discharged by his cousin Jane Lancaster (proved at Carlisle, 27 February 1704/5, registry copy in CRO, WDX 124/T1), buried at Patterdale, 28 August 1704; trustee, Robert Lancaster, of Crookabeck, buried on 15 December 1706, and his widow Elizabeth sold estate to Richard Dockeray, of Glencoyne, yeoman, 30 January 1707/8 (WDX 124/T2); widow = ?Elizabeth Lancaster, of Patterdale Parsonage, buried 28 February 1710; or ?Elizabeth Lancaster, widow, buried at Patterdale, 27 April 1730

Lancaster, Thomas (d.1583; ODNB), priest

Lancaster, Thomas (16xx-1672), mass murderer, of Threlkeld and Hawkshead, ‘who for poysonninge his owne family (ten relatives) was adjug’t att the Assizes at Lancaster to bee carried backe to his owne house att Hye-wrey where hee liv’d: and was there hang’d before his owne doore till hee was dead, for that very facte then was brought with a horse and a carr into the Coulthouse meadows and forthwith hunge upp in iron chaynes on a Gibbet which was sett for that very purpose on the south-syde of Sawrey Casey neare unto the Pooll-stang: and there continued until such tymes as hee rotted everye bone from other’ in Hawkshead PR entry of 8 April 1672 (CRO, WPR 83/1; Reg Postlethwaite); Roger Bingham, Memories of the South Lakes, 30

Lancaster, Thomas (1718-1789), MA, clergyman, bapt at Barton, 1 May 1718, yst son of John Lancaster, of Pooley Bridge (a cadet of Lancasters of Sockbridge), had er brothers William (bapt 7 February 1712) and John (bapt 26 August 1714) and sisters Mary (bapt 27 April 1713) and Agnes (2 July 1716), MA (Glasgow), curate of Culgaith 1745, curate of Alston and Garrigill 1754-1756, vicar of Alston 1756-1789, died in 1789 (MI in Alston church)

Lancaster, William de, Lord of Kendal; CW2 lxii 95

Lancaster, William (fl.late 17thc.), late of Sockbridge by 1686/7 when ‘now a fellow of Queen’s College, Oxford’ and sold his freehold messuage at Sockbridge to Reginald Dobson (bargain and sale dated 31 January & 1 February 1686/7, in deeds of Sockbridge House in CRO, WDX 933/26-27)

Lancaster, William (16xx-17xx), clergyman and schoolmaster, master of Free School, Kendal, and curate of Kendal, dau Emme (bapt at Kendal, 13 August 1701), son John (bapt 7 December 1703), dau Elizabeth (bapt 10 March 1708/9)

Langbaine, Gerard, Sr. (1609-1658; ODNB) DD, clergyman and writer, born Barton, educated Blencowe and Queens college Oxford, in Oxford during the seige, college archivist, provost of Queen’s college from 1645, keeper of archives of Oxford university; father of the following, (WW, i, 303-310)

Langbaine, Gerard Jr (1656-1692; ODNB), dramatic biographer and critic, son of Gerard Langbaine senior, An Account of Dramatic Poets (1691), Lives of the Poets

Langhorne, John (1735-1779; ODNB), DD, JP, clergyman, poet and translator, born at Winton, near Kirkby Stephen, March 1735, yr son of Revd Joseph Langhorne, of Winton, and Isabel his wife, prebendary of Wells, rector of Blagdon, Somerset, translator with brother William (qv) of Plutarch’s Lives (6 vols, 1770), died at Blagdon House, 1 April 1779 and buried there, 5 April, but reburied in new church in 1821/22 (WW, ii, 85-118)

Langhorn, William (1721-1772; ODNB), MA, clergyman and poet, native of Winton with his yr brother of John Langhorne (qv), presented to rectory of Hawkinge and perpetual curacy of Folkestone on 23 March 1753, prebendary of Wells, translated with his brother John (qv) Plutarch’s Lives (6 vols, 1770), and author of various poetical works, died 17 February 1772 and buried in chancel of Folkestone church (monument)

Langshaw, John and William (fl.1650s/60s), bell founders, of Carlisle, from 1651 onwards paid for plumber’s work done for Carlisle corporation, described as ‘workmen’ in 1657, cast treble bell at Grasmere c.1660 (recast in 1809) (CG, 138), castcCarlisle cathedral tenor in 1657 and two bells for Kirkby Stephen in 1658 (CW1, viii, 147-149, 520-521)

Langton, Robert (1470-1524; ODNB), ecclesiastic and pilgrim, nephew of Thomas Langton, bishop of Winchester (qv), prebendary of York Minster 1514-1524 and treasurer 1509-1514, archdeacon of Dorset 1486-1509, prebendary of Lincoln 1483-1517, native of Appleby,

Langton, Skinner Zachary (1797-1884), JP, landowner, of Barrow House, Grange in Borrowdale, born 3 January 1797, descended from the Langtons of Broughton Tower, near Preston, marr, 2 sons (Walter and Leyland), who succ him at Barrow House [now Derwent Independent Youth Hostel, 2018], conveyed Little Field to Margarert Heathcote (qv) who sold it for erection of new church, died 14 February 1884 and buried in St John’s churchyard, Keswick

Langton, Thomas (c.1430-1501; ODNB), clergyman, b. Appleby, bishop of Winchester and archbishop elect of Canterbury

Larkham, George (1604-1686), MA, C of E clergyman and Congregational minister, marr Dorothy, dau of Lancelot Fletcher, of Tallentire, and his wife, Mary, dau of Jerome Waterhouse (qv) (Cockermouth Congregational Church Book (1651-c.1675) edited by R B Wordsworth, CWAAS, Record Series XXI, 2012)

Last, Charles (19xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of St Bees 1949-1953

Last, Clifford (1918-1991), sculptor, born in Barrow-in-Furness, in 1918, son of Nella Last (qv), after war service trained as an artist at Chelsea Art College, emigrated to Australia in 1947, becoming a noted sculptor, working in bronze, slate, wood and aluminium, explored shapes that he thought demonstrated the emotions existing in family groups, then explored dualism and the Trinity through manipulation of religious references and symbols, died in 1991 (FOCAS Newsletter 82, 5)

Last, Nella [1889-1968], diarist and writer, housewife of Barrow-in-Furness who kept diary for the Mass-Observation Archive from 1939 until 1965, she lived at the top of Hawcoat Lane; her text became the book Nella Last’s War and later the basis of a film Housewife, 49 starring Victoria Wood (1953-2016) (qv), filmed in Barrow and including shots of familiar buildings such as the town hall

Latrobe (La Trobe), John Antes (1799-1878; ODNB), clergyman and writer on music, hon canon of Carlisle 1858-1878, vicar of St Thomas, Kendal 1840-1865, resigning through ill-health to return to Gloucestershire (pulpit in church as memorial)

Latus family, Millom; CW2 xcii 91

Laughton, Thomas, bishop of St David’s; CW2 xxvi 150

Launoy, Gilbert de (1386-1462), traveller; ms of his Survey of Egypt and Syria (1422; Bodleian), his itinerary published by Oliver North q.v. in CW2 xxi

Laurel, Stan (Arthur Stanley Jefferson) (1890-1965; ODNB), comedian and actor, born at his grandfather’s house, 3 Foundry Cottages (now Argyll Street), Ulverston, 16 June 1890, and bapt at Bishop Auckland, 2nd son of 5 children of Arthur Jefferson, of Bishop Auckland, theatre manger [who was possibly the illegitimate son of Colonel Alexander Gough, solicitor, of Wolverhampton, who left him £500 in his will of 1892], and of Margaret (Madge) Metcalfe, of Ulverston, actress and singer, brought up by his grandmother in Ulverston for his first six years and taken on trips to Lakes, educ at Bishop Auckland, established an inimitable and vastly successful double act with Oliver Hardy with whom he appeared in numerous silent films and ‘talkies’ including Another Fine Mess (1930), Sons of the Desert (1933) and Blockheads (1938), brought Ollie Hardy on visit to Ulverston in 1947, died at Santa Monica, California, USA, 23 February 1965, and buried at Forest Lawn, Los Angeles; (Laurel and Hardy Museum in Ulverston; statue of Laurel and Hardy and their dog Laughing Gravy by Graham Ibbeson in square outside Coronation Hall, Ulverston, unveiled by Ken Dodd in May 2009, David A. Cross, 2017,184-5; Danny Lawrence, The Making of Stan Laurel: Echoes of a British Boyhood, 2011)

Law family; CW2 lxii 329

Law, Annie Elizabeth (1842-1889), conchologist, b Carlisle, daughter of John Law, went to the USA c.1850 settled in Tennessee, later moved to California where she died, she discovered eleven new species, two of which are named after her: Helix lawii and Zonites lawii

Law, Edmund (1703-1787; ODNB), clergyman and theologian, bishop of Carlisle 1769-1787, b. Buck Crag, near Cartmel, son of the schoolmaster, rector of Greystoke 1739-1787, rector of Great Salkeld 1743-1756; portrait by Romney (Melbourne, Australia); monument by Thomas Banks in Carlisle cathedral; his wife Mary Christian (1722-1762) (qv) is buried in Little St Mary’s, Cambridge; had sons Edward (Lord Ellenborough) (qv), John, Thomas and George (all in ODNB); CW1 ii p.264; CW2 vii 108  

Law, Edmund Stuart (fl. early 18thc.), priest of Staveley near Cartmel, lived at Buck Crag, probably the father or relative of the bishop

Law, Edward, 1st Baron Ellenborough (1750-1818; ODNB), Lord Chief Justice, born at Great Salkeld, 16 November 1750, 4th son of Edmund Law (qv), died 11 December 1818; his ex wife lived in Damascus, Colin Thubron, Mirror to Damascus, 163-4

Law, George, son of a lawyer with interests in Backbarrow ironworks, built Brathey Hall at north end of Windermere in the 18thc, later leased to John Harden (qv) and then sold to Giles Redmayne (qv), sold to Francis C Scott (qv) in 1939 and now an outward bound centre

Law, George Henry (1761-1845; ODNB), thirteenth child of bishop Edmund Law of Carlisle (qv), bishop of Chester then of Bath and Wells, founder of St Bees Theological College 1816

Law, John (1745-1810), born Greystoke, son of bishop Edmund Law (qv), bishop of several dioceses in Ireland, finally Elphin; Sarah Griffiths, life of Elizabeth Smith (qv) of Tent Lodge, 163

Law, John Phillipson JP; Gaskell W and C Leaders c.1910

Lawrence, abbot of Furness (fl.1237-1246), poisoned by three monks; David Bishop, Furness Coucher Book translator, Furness Miscellany ed. Alice Leach, 186-8

Lawrence, David H (1885-1930; ODNB), novelist, visited the Lake District with three male friends, including SS Kotelianski, on a walking tour in 1914 thus being incommunicado, his friend Nina Stuart lived in Barrow and on arrival they stayed at the Duke of Edinburgh Hotel in Abbey Road and discovered that Britain was at war; describes the walk in a letter to Lady Cynthia Asquith dated 31 Jan 1915

Lawrence, Stuart (fl.1970-90s), teacher, folk musician and  actor, taught at Dowdales, Dalton-in-Furness, Morris dancer and mummer, member of Furness Morris men, player of early instruments, wrote songs including ‘Long Meg and Her Daughters’, town crier Dalton, member of Cumbria Theatre in Education with Sybil Cross (qv) and Roger Rushden; Susan M. Allan, Folk Song in Cumbria, PhD, Lancaster 2016

Lawrence, William Thomas (18xx-19xx), manager of Cumberland and Westmorland Farm School, first principal of Newton Rigg College 1896-1919, retired to Sunny Bank, Victoria Road, Penrith (1921, 1925), then at Newnham, Wordsworth Street, Penrith (1934), but gone by 1938

Lawson, baronets of Isel, the 10th baronet of the first baronetcy had no heir, thus the baronetcy became extinct, the heir to his estates Thomas Wybergh (qv sub Lawson) changed his name and was about to become the 1st baronet of the second creation but his early death led his brother to the baronetcy; CW2 lix 153

Lawson, Elizabeth, niece of Sir John Maudaunt and maid of honour to the princess of Wales caught the eye of General Wolfe (qv) but the relationship came to nothing

Lawson, Elizabeth (d.1759), dau Sir Wilfred 3rd Bt (1696-1737), of Isel Hall, Cockermouth, was maid of honour to Princess of Wales and was loved by General James Wolfe (1727-1759), but refused him, she died unmarried a few months before Wolfe sailed for Quebec, she was a niece of Wolfe’s old mentor Lt Gen Sir John Mordaunt; Sarah Murden  in  georgianera.wordpress.com/tag/Elizabeth-lawson

Lawson, George (17xx-18xx), clergyman, vicar of Heversham, marr Henrietta, 2nd dau of Andrew Ronaldson, Esq, of Blair Hall, Perthshire, 5 sons (Alves William (born 28 May and bapt 3 July 1801), Gerard George (bapt 29 March 1803) and Ronaldson (bapt 13 January 1803, but both born 12 January), Basil (born 20 June and bapt 18 September 1805, pres died soon afterwards), Basil Ronaldson (born 30 October 1806 and bapt 1 June 1807)) and 3 daus (Tamar Ann (born 10 August and bapt 2 October 1799), Annabella (born 30 March and bapt 17 May 1804) and Henrietta (born 17 May and bapt 7 September 1808), all at Heversham)

Lawson, Sir Gilfrid (1713-1794), 9th Bt, yr son of Sir Alfred Lawson, 7th Bt, succ his brother , Sir Wilfrid, as 8th Bt (qv), in 1762, marr (16 April 1762) Emilia (died 30 May 1769), dau of John Lovett (see LG, Lovett, of Liscombe), 1 son (Wilfrid, qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1768, said to have ‘had a severe bout of the gout which has prevented his having much Hunting’ in late 1785 (letter to Sir Michael le Fleming from his son, Wilfrid, 2 January 1786), died 26 June 1794

Lawson, Sir Hilton (1895-1959) 4th bt., son of Mordaunt Lawson, 3rd son of Sir Wilfred Lawson 2nd bt., ed. Repton and the Royal Military College, major in 1st WW, POW for most of the 2nd WW, succeeded to the baronetcy in 1937 as his brother Sir Wilfred 3rd bt (qv) had no heir, unmarried, High Sheriff 1952, keen huntsman and chairman of the Cumberland Foxhounds, revived the Point to Point, he had no heir to the baronetcy so upon his death the estate of ten farms and the surviving houses at Isel and Hesket Newmarket, (Brayton having been destroyed see Sir Wilfred 3rd bt.), were sold to a relative, Margaret Austen-Leigh (qv) and her husband Richard  (qv), a relative of Jane Austen, by then the contents of the house had been sold and dispersed, the ancient Isel Chair came up at auction again c.1990 and being riddled with woodworm was deemed to be (by Mary Burkett (qv)) beyond repair

Lawson, John James (Jack), 1st Baron Lawson (1881-1965; ODNB), PC, politician and author, born at 5 Dobsons Buildings, Albion Street, Whitehaven, 16 October 1881, son of John Lawson, parents moved to larger house at Kells in spring 1883, where they lived until about 1889, when they moved to Flimby, then to Boldon Colliery, co Durham in 1890, educ at Lord Lonsdale’s School at Monkwray and various board schools, but working in pit by age of 12 from 1893, marr (1906) Isabella, dau of John Scott, of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, 3 daus (Irene, Edna and Alma), attended Ruskin College for two years 1907-09, served WW1 with RFA, elected Labour MP for Chester-le-Street in 1919 until 1949, held govt posts of Financial Secretary to War Office 1924, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Labour 1929-1931, Secretary of State for War 1945-1946, Privy Councillor 1945, member of Imperial War Graves Commission 1930-1947, Deputy Regional Commissioner for Civil Defence, Northern Region 1939-1944, vice-chirman, British Council 1944, vice-chairman of National Parks Commission 1949-1957, Lord Lieutenant of co Durham 1949-1958, created Baron Lawson, of Beamish, co Durham, 17 March 1950, member of Court of Durham University, Hon DCL Durham 1947, KStJ, Brilliant Star (China), published first part of his autobiography A Man’s Life in August 1932, his only novel Under the Wheels (1934), Peter Lee (1936), a mining biography The Man in the Cap - Herbert Smith (1941), and a volume of essays Who goes home? Broadcasts and Sketches (1945), of 7 Woodside, Beamish, co Durham, died 3 August 1965 (barony extinct)

Lawson, RG, footballer, of St Bees, played for Workington and 67 times for Cumberland; The Story of St Bees, c.1940, 73

Lawson, TM, footballer, St Bees, played for Workington and 45 Cumberland; The Story of St Bees, c.1940, 73

Lawson, Thomas (1630-1691; ODNB), Quaker minister, botanist and schoolmaster, born at Lawkland, parish of Clapham, and bapt 10 October 1630, son of Thomas Lawson, of Lawkland (buried at Clapham, September 1649) and Elizabeth (buried March 1636), educ Giggleswick Grammar School and Christ’s College, Cambridge (entd 1650, but left without degree), curate at Rampside within the large parish of Dalton in Furness, welcomed George Fox to preach at Aldingham in 1652, resigned curacy and became a Quaker, settled at Newby, near Great Strickland after journey to south in 1655, opened school in June/July 1659, refused to pay tithes, excommunicated in 1664 and imprisoned at Durham in 1666, briefly imprisoned in 1673 for teaching illegally, undertook wlking tour of England collecting botanical data in 1677, re-opened school about 1686 admitting non-Quakers, first botanist to record detailed data on Cumbrian flora and friend of William Nicolson (qv), marr (24 May 1659) Frances (bapt 19 February 1637, bur 3 February 1693), eldest dau of William Wilkinson (d.1647), of Great Strickland, 1 son and 3 daus (eldest Ruth marr Revd Christopher Yates qv), died at Great Strickland, 12 November 1691 and buried in Newby Head QBG (E J Whittaker, 1986); Alan Nichols, The Golden Age of Kendal Botanists, 2006

Lawson (previously Wybergh), Thomas, was the son of Thomas Wybergh of Clifton Hall and nephew of Anne Hartley the 10th baronet’s wife, after the death of the 10th bt. he inherited the estate, before he became the 1st bart of a new creation, he drowned off Madeira in 1912 and his brother Wilfred became the 1st bt. instead

Lawson, Sir Wilfred 3rd Bt (1696-1737) FRS, of Isel Hall, graduate of Queen’s College, Oxford, member of the Inner Temple, MP for Borough Bridge and then Cockermouth, groom of the bedchamber to George I, a supporter of the Royal Academy of Music and involved in the establishment of an opera company which commissioned works by GF Handel, marr Elizabeth Lucy, dau of Harry Mordaunt MP, his daughter Elizabeth (qv) was loved by General Wolfe; Ferguson (1871) History of C and W MPs, history of parliament

Lawson, Sir Wilfred, 8th bt, took clogs into House of Commons to demonstrate poverty of Cumbrians, dubbed ‘clogs baronet’

Lawson, Sir Wilfrid (c.1764-1806), 10th Bt, MA, son of Sir Gilfrid Lawson, 9th Bt (qv), educ Cambridge University (MA), succ father in 1794, four letters to Sir Michael le Fleming (qv), asking to be recommended to be presented at Court prior to his going to the continent in January [1784], from Brayton, 19 December 1783, intending to take lodgings in Portman Street, London in February 1786 and asking for any advice preparatory to going to Court, from Brayton, 2 January 1786, being presented at Court again, from St John’s College, Cambridge, undated, and failing to call on Sir M when passing through Town, only stopping to repair his carriage in his ‘hurry and anxiety.…to reach Brayton’ and requesting him to ask Lord Egremont to appoint him game keeper for the Manor of Aspatria, and hoping to see Sir M ‘in Town next Winter in your new House, which I admird much when I saw it’, from Brayton, 3 July [no year] (letters in CRO, WD/Ry/106/13), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1801, marr (1787) Anne (died 30 November 1811, aged 47), 2nd dau of John Hartley, of Whitehaven, died s.p., 14 June 1806, baronetcy becoming extinct, leaving his estates to his wife’s nephew, Thomas Wybergh (1788-1812) (qv), 2nd son of her sister Isabel Hartley, wife of Thomas Wybergh, of Clifton Hall, Penrith

Lawson, Sir Wilfred (1795-1867; ODNB) 1st bt., agricultural improver, m. Caroline Graham, daughter of Sir James Graham Bt., experimented with early reaping machinery, breeder of Shorthorn cattle

Lawson, Sir Wilfrid 2nd Bt. [1829-1906; ODNB] JP M.P., politician and temperance campaigner, born at Brayton Hall, 4 September 1829, as a keen teetotaler he advocated strong controls upon the brewers and submitted private members’ bills for over forty years but had little success, published Cartoons in Rhyme and Line and was said to have been ‘the only man ever to make Disraeli laugh’, chairman of the directors of Maryport & Carlisle Railway and had his own private railway station at Brayton, established at Mechi farm a gasworks for the local communities and at Aspatria an agricultural college [see JS Hill], arranged for the Messiah to be sung at Brayton Hall (conversation with local man in Aspatria c.2018), died at 18 Ovington Square, London, 1 July 1906, buried in Aspatria churchyard under a finely carved slate table tomb below the window of the south choir aisle; it was said at Isel that he acquired John Peel’s pack of hounds after this death, perhaps the hounds sold by Frederick Fletcher-Vane in 1852 (qv), the guidebook to Isel Hall, partly written by David Cross, refers to him; a bust and large scrapbooks of newspaper cuttings are at Isel, commemorated by a statue on the London Embankment and the statue of St George [with water fountain] at Aspatria, see David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017

Lawson, Sir Wilfrid (1862-1937), 3rd Bt., liberal politician, sportsman and traveller, of Brayton and Isel Hall, son of 2nd bart and Mary Pocklington-Senhouse, daughter of Joseph Pocklington-Senhouse, ed. Wixenford School, Hants, and Harrow, Trinity College, Oxford, m. Mary Camilla Macan daughter of Turner Macan of Beds., no children, keen on cricket, hunting, steeplechasing and polo, MP for Cockermouth 1901-1916, keen foxhunter, preferred to live at Isel, the big house at Brayton was being refurbished for a relative in 1918 when it burned  down, visited Turkey, Romania, Russia, India and Egypt, his maid May Moore wrote with Mary Burkett (qv) I Was Only a Maid which includes some memories of him, one of his hunting staff was called Batey and on one occasion Sir Wilfred was heard in testy mood shouting: ‘Batey !  Batey!  Damn the man.  There are better men in the churchyard !’

Lawson, William (1836-1916), agricultural cooperative pioneer, brother of the 2nd bart, experimental farm at Mechi, Blennerhasset, near Aspatria was not a great success, he wrote Ten Years of Gentleman Farming, established a village parliament and attempted to give a percentage of the profits to his labourers who were not keen; a sign with his name survives on Blennerhasset Post Office, died at Falmouth in 1916

Laybourne, Revd Robert (16xx-17xx), clergyman, Rector of Long Marton 1726-1730

Layburnes of Cunswick, also see Leyburne; CW1 x 124

Layton, Richard (c.1498-1544; ODNB), dean of York and chief agent in the suppression of the monasteries

Le Tousey, Isaac (17xx-17xx), clergyman, vicar of Thornton-in-Lonsdale, will made 26 February 1762, leaving his customary held estate in Thornton (manor of Sir James Lowther, Bt) to his wife Ann (copy in CRO, WDY 71/21)

Leach, Alice (c.1930-2013), teacher and author, encouraged by Bill Rollinson (qv) wrote about Furness Abbey and other Furness subjects, chairman of Barrow Civic Society, organized inter alia inscribed granite stones at Ramsden Square and Roa Island; edited Our Bill, a festschrift for Rollinson and Our Barrovians

Leach, Frederick Richard (1837-1904), designer, est his firm Artworkmen in Cambridge in 1862, the firm provided everything needed in a church or grand residence, in 1881 he worked with William Morris (qv) at St James’s palace, was commissioned to produce work in churches in Carlisle, Cumdivock, Frizington, Raughton Head, Silloth, Waverton, Wigton, Whitehaven and Wreay, also at Rose castle, much has not survived but his work under CJ Ferguson (qv) at St Mary’s, Wreay is extant; CWAAS newsletter Spring 2022, 99, 12-13

Leake, Dr John (d.1792), surgeon and man midwife, founded the Westminster Lying-in Hospital; Hutchinson p.199

Leake, Richard (1568-16xx), clergyman, born in 1568, son of Christopher Leake, of Dent, educ Sedbergh School and Caius College, Cambridge (admitted sizar 1585), then transferred to Catharine’s Hall (matric 1585, BA 1588/89 and MA 1593),   (SSR, 64; plague sermons by E M Wilson in CW2, lxxv, 150-173)

Lear, Edward (1812-1888; ODNB), landscape painter and writer, toured Lake District in 1836, while based at Knowsley between 1831 and 1837 to make drawings and watercolours of animals and birds in Lord Derby’s menagerie, writer of comic verse, stayed at Conishead Priory, Levens Hall, Eller How, Ingmire Hall, Underley Hall and Storrs Hall; Charles Nugent, Edward Lear, the Landscape Artist, Dove Cottage exhibition catalogue

Leathes family, of Dalehead, family, the last generation sold the estate to Manchester Water Committee, a significant portion of the estate is now submerged under Thirlmere; see Sir John Harwood’s history; CW2 lx 109; CW2 lx 109

Leathes, Joshua (1661-1724), JP, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1721, of Dalehead

Le Bas, Edward (1904-1966), of the RCA, hon advisor to Tullie House after 1948-1951

Le Brun, (fl.1843), itinerant photographer; CWAAS, 2017, 181

Leconfield, the barony created in 1859 for George Wyndham (1787-1869), eldest son of the 3rd earl of Egremont (see Wyndham) by his mistress Elizabeth Iliff (1769-1822), though he did not inherit the earldom he did inherit the estates in Sussex and Cumberland, his mother was married to the earl in 1801; she appears with her children in the Romney group painting The Egremont Family at Petworth

Lecren, David (fl.20thc.), FW biologist, Ferry House

Lecren, Kate (fl.20thc.), FW biologist, Ferry House

Ledgard, Thomas Callinan (1916-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ St John’s College, Cambridge (late Exhibitioner, BA 1938, MA 1950), Westcott House, Cambridge 1938, d 1939 and p 1940 (Durham), curate of St Michael, Bishopwearmouth 1939-1942 and of Ryhope 1942-1944, vicar of St Michael, Norton 1944-1946, rector of Warcop with Musgrave 1946-1950, rector and vicar of Fulbourn, dio Ely 1950-1956, vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale with Mansergh 1956-1969, rural dean of Kirkby Lonsdale 1964-1969, vicar of Cartmel 1969-1979, rural dean of Cartmel 1969-1970, hon canon of Carlisle cathedral 1970-1982, priest-in-charge of Warcop, Musgrave, Soulby and Crosby Garrett 1979-1982, retired 1982, perm to offic, dio Carlisle from 1983, of Greenfield, Station Road, Allendale, Hexham, Northumberland (in July 1986 when he deposited some Kirkby Lonsdale parish records at CRO, WPR 19/ A927), then of Tetley Cottage, Allithwaite Road, Cartmel (1987, 1998)

Lediard, Dr Henry Ambrose (1848-1932), surgeon,  (son of Samuel Lydiard of Cirencester, solicitor), was a surgeon of Carlisle Infirmary for 50 years, of Wood View, Chatsworth Square, Carlisle, drove an old fashioned horse drawn phaeton, his daughter Mary was a local pianist and lecturer; Hudleston ( C )

Lediard, Mary, pianist and lecturer, dau of Dr Henry Ambrose (1848-1932), surgeon (qv), lived Carlisle, she had links with Imogen and Gustav Holst (qqv); letter from Gustav Holst 29 Sep 1931 (HOL/1/5/1/15/1), refs in the catalogue of Imogen Holst’s works

Lee, Francis Nigel (1934-2011), theologian, born in Westmorland, emigrated to South Africa as a child (WG, 22.06.2012)

Lee, George (1805-1862), Unitarian minister and journalist, born at Hull, 10 September 1805, son of Revd George Lee and grandson of John Lee (d.1790), studied at Manchester College, York 1821-26, minister at Boston, then at Lancaster 1829-1835, editor of Kendal Mercury 1837-1841 and 1844-1862 [Henry Hewetson is publisher; John Burton Hewetson was proprietor, but died 3 June 1844 in his 24th year], preached occasionally at Kendal and elsewhere, but had ‘dreepy’ voice, marr (2 May 1842 at Market Place Chapel) Jane Agnes (born 24 Februarty 1812, died 30 August 1866), dau of Joseph Whitaker, 2 sons and 1 dau, died at Kendal, 5 June 1862 and buried in Castle Street cemetery, 9 June (ONK, 393-94)

Lee, John [1948-2020], headhunter, born Brampton, son of Arnold Lee of Millersholme, Lanercost, educated Repton and Durham university, his mother a friend of the countess of Carlisle at Naworth, worked in London, retired early and became closely involved with diocescan business as chairman of the finance committee, attended Lanercost priory and often gave tours and talks about the priory, Naworth castle and related cultural subjects, last chairman of the old Friends of Abbot Hall, supported the research of Matthew Hyde into the buildings of Cumbria and also David Cross in his Lancashire forays to locate public sculpture, always keen on ancient buildings, in his last years bought Nether Denton church and the adjacent piel tower and began to restore them both, invited by Philip Howard to celebrate his 70th birthday at Naworth, died prematurely not long afterwards, funeral at Lanercost and wake at Naworth

Lee, Rawdon Briggs (1845-1908), FZS, newspaper proprietor, son of George Lee (qv), born at Kendal, 9 July 1845, educ Friends’ School, Kendal, trustee of Market Place Chapel 1868-1877, of The Lound, Kendal (1873), keen country sportsman, had kennel of dogs from 1869 and bred numerous Dandy Dinmont terriers, pointers, collies and Clumber spaniels, many prizewinners, joined staff of The Field in 1883 and edited its kennel department until shortly before his death, author of Modern Dogs (4 vols), regularly visited Kendal and fished Levens Hall water until 1907, died in Kendal after paralytic seizure, 29 February 1908, aged 63, meml on father’s gravestone in Castle Street cemetery (ONK, 530)

Leech, John Langton (17xx-18xx), DL, clergyman and magistrate, vicar of Askham, made declaration that he had estate at Askham and also estate at Kirkham, Lancs, to value of £100 pa, qualifying him to act as DL for Westmorland, 1 October 1807 (WQSR/620/4)

Leech, Sir Joseph William (1865-1940) MD MP, surgeon and politician, baptized at Cleator, son of Isaac and Sarah Leech, educ Kings College, Durham (at Newcastle), surgeon at the Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle, major in RAMC, also member of the Middle Temple and MP for Newcastle

Leeming, John, aviator, chairman of Lancashire Aero Club, landed with Bert Hinckler (qv) on the top of Helvellyn on 22nd Dec 1926; J Leeming, Airdays, 1936; Ian Gee, CWAAS newsletter 2021 p.10-11

Leeming, Robert Whinerey (18xx-19xx), BA, MD, MRCS, LSA, surgeon, medical officer and public vaccinator for Kendal district, medical officer to workhouse and to post office, hon surgeon to Memorial Hospital/Westmorland County Hospital, of 71 Highgate, Kendal (1906, 1929)

Lees, Geoffrey William (1920-2012), MA, headmaster and cricketer, born at Chorlton-cum-Hardy, 1 July 1920, educ King’s School, Rochester, and Downing College, Cambridge (serving in WW2 after first year, gaining cricket and squash blues on return), assistant master, Brighton College from 1948, teaching English, housemaster, coaching cricket and squash teams, played two games for Sussex County Team and captained Second XI, headmaster of St Bees School 1963-1979, had formal manner but with imaginative understanding of pupils, had an engaged intelligence and gift for words that made his Speech days memorable, kept up as much teaching as possible while head, also maintained high level of fitness, continuing to play cricket and squash, and taking up Eton Fives, until age of sixty, marr Joan, died 18 August 2012, aged 92 (David Marshall’s tribute in OSB, No.183, January 2013, 39-40)

Lees, Thomas (1829-1893), MA, FSA, clergyman and antiquary, born at Almondbury, near Huddersfield, Yorks West Riding in 1829, educ Almondbury Grammar School and Emmanuel College, Cambridge (BA as 18th senior optime 1852, MA 1855), d 1854 and p 1855 (Carl), curate of Kirkby Thore 1854-1855 and Greystoke 1855-1865, nominated by canon Percy to D&C living of Wreay in 1865, where he remained until his death, elected a member of CWAAS at its second meeting in 1866 with his friend, William Jackson (qv), and both elected to its council together with R S Ferguson in 1873, all of whom infused the society with fresh vitality, prominent figure and regular contributor to Transactions [papers on churches detailed], elected a vice-president in 1892, FSA 1885, also member of Royal Archaeological Institute (contrib to its journal), Surtees Society and English Dialect Society (for which he edited Easther’s Glossary of the Dialect of Almondbury and Huddersfield), had wide knowledge of church ritual and custom, also a voracious reader on all sorts of historical subjects, dialect, folk-lore and genealogy, but reluctant writer himself, of retiring disposition and great sensitivity, a scholar rather than a man of public affairs, marr (wife died more than two years before him), 2 sons (one settled in America and one died on his 17th birthday by falling over rocks at St Bees in c.1882) and 1 dau, died suddenly

Lefebure, Molly (1919-2013) FRSL, journalist and writer, dau of Charles Hector Lefebure OBE and Elizabeth Cox, (Charles descended from prominent arms manufacturers in Paris in 18thc. and a civil servant working with Beveridge on est the NHS), educ London Collegiate School and King’s London, secretary to the pathologist Dr Keith Simpson, thus the first woman to work at Southwark mortuary, m. John Gerrish, lived Low High Snab in the Newlands valley, book on Coleridge Bondage and Opium [1975], The Bondage of Love: The Life of Mrs ST Coleridge [1989], friend of Percy Kelly (qv), Telegraph obit 18 April 2013

Legard, Sir John, 6th Bt (c.1758-1807), of Ganton, eldest son of Sir Digby Legard, 5th Bt, and of Jane, 3rd dau of George Cartwright, of Ossington, co Notts, succ father at Ganton Hall, near Scarborough, co York in 1773, built Storrs Hall (a square classical-style villa) on promontory above Lake Windermere in mid-1790s, with a boathouse and a summerhouse, and farm offices set further inland with stabling and coach-house, carthouse and accomm for cows, pigs and poultry, but no lodges, and also the Admirals’ Temple of the Heroes, a small octagonal tower at end of jetty in lake in commemoration of English naval victories in Napoleonic wars and marked with tablets for Admirals St Vincent, Howe, Duncan and Nelson in 1804 (poss to design of Joseph Michael Gandy (ODNB), who later remodelled the house for John Bolton (qv) in 1806-1811)), not known how he met Gandy, who cannot have designed the original house being on the continent at time of its construction, passionate sailor, took part in and won sailing matches on Windermere, so boathouse likely to have been built early on in his ownership of Storrs (shown in oil painting of Storrs Hall by Mary Dixon, wife of Jeremiah Dixon (qv) of Fell Foot, dated between 1799 and 1802, while Gandy’s design for a boathouse was exhibited at RA in 1804), lived at Storrs until he sold it to David Pike Watts (qv), uncle of John Constable, in 1804, who then sold it to John Bolton in 1806, marr (1782) Jane (living at Ulverston later, died 19 December 1833), dau of Henry Aston, of Aston, Cheshire, no issue, died 16 July 1807, and succ by his brother, Thomas, Cmdr, RN, as 7th Bt (1762-1830) (B L Thompson, ‘A Naval Temple on Windermere’, Country Life, 29 11 1962,1338; Jessy Harden diary entry on 2 May 1805 in JHBH, 28); visited by William Wilberforce (qv)

Legh, John Arthur (18xx-1942), BA, clergyman, born near Shrewsbury, educ St Mary Hall, Oxford 1884, Univ of Durham (L Th 1886, BA 1888), d 1888 (Ches) and p 1892 (Carl), curate of Sale 1888-1892 and Penrith 1893-1898, vicar of Rydal 1898-1942?, marr (14 September 1899) Nellie Maud Madeline (born 12 December 1873, died 28 January 1957), 5th dau of George Fothergill (qv) and his first wife Isabel, 1 son (Harvey, born 16 June 1900, marr Jessie Mallinson), died 11 December 1942

Leigh, Margaret Austen-, see Austen

Leigh, Richard Austen-, see Austen

Leigh (or Lee), Rowland, bishop of Coventry and Lichfield (1487-1543), the ‘Hanging Bishop’, of the family living then at Isel Hall

Leigh (or Legh), Sir Thomas (c.1511-1545; ODNB), jurist and diplomat, involved in the dissolution of the monasteries

Leigh, Sir William (d.1428), son of Sir William Leigh and Margaret, dau and heir of William de Multon, marr Agnes, dau and coheir of Sir Clement Skelton (qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1399, 1412 and 1423, Constable of Cockermouth Castle 1403

Leighton, Darwin (18xx-19xx), collector of Westmorland dialect stories and songs (lectured to Lowther & District Men’s Society on subject on 27 March 1933 and had audience joining in refrains), travelled both on business and pleasure, member of FRCC, of 7 Cliff Terrace, Kendal (1934); memorial stone at exit of Serpentine Woods, Fellside, Kendal: ‘To Darwin Leighton Friend of all living creatures in this wood’

Leighton, Henry, schoolmaster and parish clerk, Hale, Beetham, marr Margaret (son, b.1867, dau, b.1870)

Leighton, James Bracken (1812-1871), musical instrument maker, born at Sedbergh, 25 December 1812, and bapt 24 January 1813, son of Miles Leighton, cordwainer, and Mary, educ Sedbergh School (entd February 1823, aged 10, left April 1826), farmer at Shap, but devoted greater part of his time to giving music lessons and constructing musical instruments, incl new organ for Shap Church, stuffed a falcon hawk killed by John Yarker (qv), schoolmaster of Swindale, on 16 March 1840 [presented to Peel Park Museum, Salford in 1874], and general village mechanic, died 8 October 1871, aged 58, and buried at Shap, 11 October (SSR, 178; SBD, 26, 81)

Leitch, Charlotte Cecilia Pitcairn (Cecil) (1891-1977; ODNB), golfer, born at ‘Monimail’, Silloth, 13 April 1891, 6th of seven children and 4th of five daus of Dr John Leitch (1849-1896), medical practitioner and botanist, also medical officer of Holme District, Wigton Union, of Criffel Street, Silloth, and formerly of Monimail, Fife, and his wife Catherine Edith (1858-1937), 2nd dau of Revd Francis Redford (qv), educ at home and Carlisle Girls’ High School, was entirely self taught as golfer on links of Silloth-on-Solway, she and all her sisters championship golfers (Edith (Guedalla) and May (Millar)) being English internationals), made debut as 17-year-old in British ladies’ championship at St Andrews in 1908, won British championship four times,  retired from competition in 1928, chairman of Ladies’ Golf Union until resignation in 1928, then living in south of England and turned to business, first with antiques then as director of Cinema House group, served nearly 50 years on executive and finance committees of National Playing Fields Association (and apptd a vice-president in 1967), also long involvement with Kent County Playing Fields Association, member of founding committee of Woman Golfers’ Museum in 1938 and chair until her death, being responsible for building up important collection of golfing memorabilia and books, fierce defender of amateurism in golf, revisited Silloth in 1976 as lady president to present British amateur trophy, died at her home, 20 Chatsworth Court, Pembroke Road, London, 16 September 1977, unmarried, aged 86, and cremated at Golders Green, 20 September, with memorial service at St James’s, Piccadilly, 17 March 1978

Lennard, Anne (1684-1755), Baroness Dacre suo jure, formerly Barrett, Roper and Moore by succ marriages, born 17 August 1684, yr dau of Thomas Lennard, Earl of Sussex (qv), became a Roman Catholic in 1698, marr 1st (15 June 1716, at St Martin’s-in-the-Fields) her 2nd cousin, Richard Barrett (born in October 1682, but died of smallpox in London, v.p., six months after his marriage, 24 December 1716 and buried at Aveley), son and heir app of Dacre Barrett (died 1 January 1725), of Belhus, in Aveley, Essex, son of Richard Barrett (died 28 April 1696), himself [who inherited estate of Belhus in 1644 on condition of assuming name of Barrett under will of his 2nd cousin once removed, Edward Barrett, Baron Newburgh] a yr son of Richard Lennard, 13th Baron Dacre, and half-brother of Francis Lennard (qv), 1 son (Thomas, 17th Baron Dacre, born posth, 20 April 1717, died 6 January 1786), marr 2nd (March 1718) Henry Roper, 8th Baron Teynham (five years later he died 16 May 1723 and buried at Linsted, Kent) as his 3rd wife, 1 son (Charles (died v.m., 4 February 1754), father of Trevor Charles, who succ his uncle as 18th Baron Dacre in 1786), marr 3rd (16 October 1725, at St James’s, Westminster) Hon Robert Moore, MP (1688-1762), of West Lodge, Enfield Chase, yr son of Henry, 3rd Earl of Drogheda, 1 son (Henry), a lady of fashion and great gambler, who sold in conjunction with her sister, Barbara Skelton, their Chevening estate in Kent to Lord Stanhope for £28,000 on 15 June 1717, also disposed of Dacre Castle with manors of Dacre and Soulby in Cumberland to Sir Christopher Musgrave (qv) in 1715, died 26 June 1755, aged 70, and buried at St Anne’s, Westminster, 3 July

Lennard, Francis (1619-1662; ODNB), 14th Baron Dacre, Lord Dacre of the South, born at Chevening, Kent, 11 May 1619, and bapt at Paulerspury, Northants, 20 May 1620, eldest son of Richard, 13th Baron Dacre (1596-1630), and his first wife, Elizabeth, dau of Sir Arthur Throckmorton, of Paulerspury, brought up by Sir Francis Barnham, who acted on his behalf in case brought before Court of Exchequer by Sir John Bankes (qv) in 1635, educ Merton College, Oxford (matric 1634), travelled to continent in 1635 and prob spent rest of decade abroad, awarded manor and castle of Kirkoswald by Court of Exchequer in 1652, (CW3, x, 163-175)

Lennard, Francis, Lord Dacre (1619-1662), CW3 x

Lennard, Thomas (1654-1715), 15th Baron Dacre and 1st Earl of Sussex, born 13 May 1654 and bapt 18 May at St Paul’s, Covent Garden, London, son of Francis Lennard (qv), educ Magdalen College, Oxford (matric 23 November 1667, MA 23 January 1669), cr Earl of Sussex on 5 October 1674, marr (16 May 1674, at Hampton Court) Anne Palmer/Fitzroy (died 16 May 1722, aged 60, and buried at Linsted, Kent), dau of Barbara, Duchess of Cleveland, by Charles II (claimed) or by Roger Palmer, Earl of Castlemaine (ackn’d), 2 sons (Charles, Lord Dacre, bapt at Windsor Castle, 3 June 1682, but died 13 March 1684, and Henry, d.inf) and 2 daus (Barbara, wife of Lieut-Gen Charles Skelton, died s.p. at Paris 1741, and Anne, qv), Gentleman of the Bedchamber 1680-1685, strong Protestant, actively promoted Revolution of 1688, wife finally separated from him in December 1688 and joined court of her uncle James II in exile at St Germain, forced to sell Herstmonceaux and his Sussex estates in 1708 (but not those in Cumberland) bec of his reckless extravagance, litigation, and gambling losses, died s.p.m.s. at Chevening, Kent, 30 October 1715, aged 61, and buried there, 11 November (admon 14 November 1715); earldom became extinct and barony of Dacre fell into abeyance between his two daughters

Lennon, John (1940-1980), musician, performed with the other Beatles at Carlisle’s ABC cinema on 8 Feb 1963, in a packed venue  the fans hurled jelly babies (they’d been asked not to throw coins!)

Leonard, Thomas Arthur (1864-1948; ODNB) OBE, pioneer of outdoor holidays for the working classes, founder of Co-operative Holidays Association in 1893 and the Holiday Fellowship in 1913, also involved in the establishment of the YHA [1930] and the Ramblers Association [1935], a friend of Canon Rawnsley q.v. he supported the National Trust and the Friends of the Lake District, memorial on Catbells; CWAAS newsletter 2015; Douglas G. Hope, T.A. Leonard and the Co-operative Holidays Association, 2017

Leresche, Peter (fl.1920s-1950s), owner of Abbey Horn (est.1749), moved the business from Gloucester to Kendal, where horn combs were already made (Joseph Sissons (qv)), merged with James Troughton’s horn business to form the present firm, makers of horn implements, sold business to John Barnes qv c.1960s; A.H.Griffin, The Story of Abbey Horn, c.1990

Lesh, Revd Edward (1830-1887), clergyman, born at Newbarns, Dalton-in-Furness, 1830, yst son and 7th of eight children of Edward Lesh (b.1788), of Newbarns, and his wife (marr at Dalton, 13 April 1816) Jane (b.1794, d.1848), yst dau of John Case (1751-1825), also of Newbarns, and his wife (marr at Whicham, 1773) Jane (nee Simpson) (1750-1831), still living at home in 1851, curate of Myrton-upon-Swale, North Riding, Yorks (by 1858), vicar of Selside 1867-1887 (nominated by J Sharpe, glebe of 160 acres and income of £160), marr (1857, at Dalton-in-Furness) Sarah (moved to Broughton-in-Furness after his death, living to age of 81), dau of John Sharpe, of Ireleth, no issue, died 18 February 1887, aged 56, after being thrown from his horse (spot marked by memorial stone), and buried in Selside churchyard, 22 February, after funeral service taken by Archdeacon John Cooper; also memorial east window by Shrigley & Hunt in St Thomas’s church, Selside) (Elizabeth Ann Hewat, The Lesh of Furness, 2012); Lesh Lane, Newbarns named after this family and the name was also given to Lesh Lane Infants’ School

Leslie, Lt Gen Sir Alexander, led the covenanters’ army of 4000 men, requisitioned Dalston Hall and laid siege to Carlisle for 8 months in 1664-5, castle surrendered on 25 June 1645

Leverson-Gower, Anne, wife of bishop Harcourt of Carlisle and archbishop York (qv); daughter of Earl Gower, brother of the first duke of Sutherland and the tambourine player in Romney’s Gower Children (Abbot Hall),  several of her children were born at Rose Castle, dau Georgiana a translator; Alex Kidson, catalogue raisonne of Romney

Levington of Kirklinton, family; CW2 xii 59

Levington, Richard de (d.1250), of Skelton (TNA, IPM C132/10/15)

Levy, Rev Thomas Bayley (1812-1872), b. Kirkby Thore, son of Capt Abraham Levy of Hutton Hall, Penrith and Mostyn Hall, Flintshire (leased from the Mostyn family ?) MA Oxon, chaplain 1843 Queen’s College, Oxford, fellow  1846-1872, bursar 1849-50

Leyburne, Roger (will dated 1507; ODNB), of Cunswick (W), MA Cantab 1486, archdeacon of Durham 1490, fellow and then master of Pembroke, prebend of York and bishop of Carlisle 1504-1508; Brit Hist online bishops of Carlisle

Lewes, Charles Lee (1740-1803; ODNB), author and actor, attended Kelsick Grammar School, Ambleside 1747-1754, when he returned to London, died 23 July 1803 (mother corrected in CW2, lxxiv, 225-226)

Lewis, David (1813-18xx), fiddler and vagrant, bapt at Crosthwaite, 22 August 1813, son of James Lewis, labourer, and his wife Isabella of Rawe in Lythe (at same time as presumed twin brother Daniel), lodging at No 5, Yard 62 Stricklandgate, Kendal (1881 census), persistent offender as rogue, vagabond, and drunk, sleeping out at Heversham when sentenced in October 1883, aged 70 (TNA, Cal Pris, HO140/56)

Lewis, Jack, baron Lewis of Newnham (1928-2014) FRS Hon FRSC, academic and inorganic chemist, ed. Barrow GS, BSc London, PhD Nottingham, m. Elfreida Mabel Lamb, dau of Frank Alfred Lamb, 1 s, 1 d, lecturer Sheffield and Imperial College, research on metal carbonyl clusters, professor Manchester, University College London and Cambridge, first warden of Robinson college 1977-2004, president Royal Soc Chemistry, kt 1982, baron 1989, hon degrees Central Lancashire and Bath; oldbarrovians.org/alumni; Biog Memoirs of fellows of Royal Society

Lewis, John (1836-1928; ODNB), b. Shepton Mallet, son of cabinet maker, founder of the eponymous department stores, his first love was ‘Nelly’ (Eleanor) Breeks (1838-1903) (qv), her family ended the relationship and she never married, he gave a donation to Warcop church in Nelly’s memory; CW3 vii 235

Lewis, John Saunders (1893-1985; ODNB), writer and founder of the Welsh National Party, born at Poulton-cum-Seacombe, Wallasey, 15 October 1893, marr (31 July 1924) Margaret Gilchrist (1891-1984) at Roman Catholic church of Our Lady and St Michael, Workington, 1 dau (Mair, b.1926), died at Cardiff, 1 September 1985, and buried in Penarth cemetery

Lewis, Ronald Howard (Ron) (1909-1990), politician, born 16 July 1909, educ Cliff Methodist College, Methodist local preacher, Labour MP for Carlisle 1964-1987, made Freeman of City of Carlisle in 1988, strong teetotaller, retired to Shirebrook, Derbyshire, died 18 June 1990

Lewis, Wilfred Bennett (1908-1987) CC CBE FRS FRSC, Canadian nuclear scientist, b. Castle Carrock, PhD Cambridge, to Canada in 1946, prof Queen’s College, involved with the development of the CANDU reactor, later United Nations Scientific Adviser; Ruth Fawcett, Nuclear Pursuits, 1994

Lewthwaite of Broadgate; CW2 xcii 93

Lewthwaite, Revd George (1868-1941), BA, clergyman, born 12 December 1868, 3rd of five sons and 3 daus of George Lewthwaite (1839-1912), JP Cumberland, of Littlebank, Settle (2nd son of John Lewthwaite (qv)), and his wife (marr 1864) Margaret (d.1924), dau of Christopher Atkinson, of Ivy Tree, Blawith, nr Ulverston, [son of John Atkinson, slate merchant], and grandfather of Timothy Cockerill, educ Keble College, Oxford (BA 1890), and Chancellor’s School, Lincoln, d 1893 and p 1894 (Linc), Curate of Barton-on-Humber 1893-1896 and Gainsborough 1896-1898, marr (25 October 1898) Robena Mary, widow of Henry Marshall Gainsborough, issue, Vicar of Elsham 1899-1911 and Worlaby 1911-1916, Rector of Honiley 1921-1923, Chaplain of Wroxall Abbey 1922-1923, Vicar of Milverton 1923-1937, retired to Church Farm, Honiley, Kenilworth, died 10 July 1941; (CW2, lxxvii, 157-159)

Lewthwaite, James (Jimmy) (c.1920-2006), rugby league player and athlete, born at Cleator Moor, took part in Cumberland Boys Footracing Association’s championships from age of nine, represented Cumberland at rugby union and association football, won medal in All-England Schools Athletics competition at age of 13, moved to Woodley near Reading to work in aircraft factory at 15, but later returned north to take up apprenticeship at Barrow shipyard, had trials with Blackburn Rovers and Preston North End before switching from football to rugby league with Barrow in 1943, making his first-team debut against St Helens in April 1943, played 500 times for Barrow as winger, scoring 351 tries and kicking 20 goals for a total of 1,093 points, played in three Wembley finals for Barrow in 1950s (inc 21-12 win against Workington in 1955), played for Cumberland, England and Great Britain (inc Great Britain tour to Australia in 1946 with Willie Horne (qv) on Indomitable, which he had helped to fit out in Barrow shipyard), natural athlete and all-round sportsman, died in 2006, aged 86 (WN, 21.09.2017)

Lewthwaite, John (1792-1863), DL, JP, landowner, of Broadgate, Millom, born 24 March 1792, son of William Lewthwaite (1766-1845), JP, of Broadgate, and Eleanor, dau of Thomas Cragg, of Lowscales, Millom, marr (18 May 1820) Anne (Nancy) (died 10 August 1857, aged 59), dau of William Kirkbank, DL, JP, of Beckside, Whicham, 3 sons and 5 daus, died at Broadgate, 11 April 1863 and buried at Thwaites (CW2, xcix, 251-56)

Lewthwaite, John (1806-1866), artist, Burkett, Cockermouth School

Lewthwaite, John William (1880-after1927), coach driver, poet and novelist, b. Whitehaven, fought Boer War and Great War, settled Toronto, Ballads of a Coach Driver (1927), Remittance Man in Khaki, novel; H. Winter, Great Cockermouth Scholars

Lewthwaite, Margaret MBE (1907-1990), artist, dau of Harry Elias Edmonds (1883-1879) of Clifton Springs, Ontario, New York and his first wife Florence JB Qua (sic),  occupational therapist and diplomatic hostess, born New York, attended the Ecole de Beaux Arts, Paris, m. Rainald Lewthwaite q.v. 1935, worked with wounded allied troops in Cairo, later in Paris influenced by Augustus John she resumed her painting, lived latterly at Broadgate, Millom; obit The Times, 5 July 1990

Lewthwaite, Brig. Sir Rainald, Bt. (1913-2003; DCB), 4th Bt., soldier and military attache, educated Rugby and Trinity College, Cambridge, awarded MC for ‘facing down a counter attack by Rommel’s Panzer divisions’, m Margaret (qv), military attaché in Paris and director of protocol in Hong Kong, lived latterly at Broadgate, Millom; obit. Telegraph, 17 June 2003

Lewthwaite, William (c.1792-1837), schoolmaster, master of Blue Coat School, Kendal, of Sandys Hospital, Kendal (1829), buried at Kendal, 16 February 1837, aged 45

Lewthwaite, William (1826-1867), DL, JP, landowner, born 5 March 1826, eldest son of John Lewthwaite (qv), marr (11 December 1851) Mary (died 6 October 1904) dau of William Challinor, of Leek, co Stafford, 1 son (William, qv) and 2 daus (Anne, wife of Hamlet Riley (qv), and Mary, wife of Hon W H Cross (qv), DL and JP Cumberland, died 23 April 1867

Lewthwaite, Sir William (1853-1927; DCB), 1st Bt, of Broadgate, DL, JP, landowner and Conservative party agent, born 29 October 1853, only son of William Lewthwaite (qv), marr (16 August 1881) Helena Jane (died 8 February 1934), dau of Charles Challinor, of Basford Hall, Stoke-on-Trent, Staffs, 2 sons (Sir William, 2nd Bt (1882-1933), and Charles Gilfrid (1884-1917), MC, BA, Lt, RFA, killed in action near Lens) and 1 dau (Violet Mary, wife of Robert Edward Morris-Eyton, JP), chairman of Millom Rural parish council (elected at meeting on 17 April 1896, in succ to Thomas Barlow-Massicks (qv), who had favoured him from start in 1894, and re-elected every year until at least 1923 (poss till death?), but missed the meeting on 28 January 1920, having sprained his ankle), chairman of Whitehaven Conservative Association (and formerly treasurer), cr Baronet, of Broadgate, 26 January 1927, died 13 December 1927; his descendant Tim Cockerill writes: ‘he was just a country squire, who did a great deal of public work in the county, [an] ultra Tory and lucky enough to get a baronetcy via the ‘Yellow Earl’ [5th of Lonsdale] and the P.M. Baldwin.’

Lewthwaite, Sir William Anthony (19xx-1993), 3rd Bt, BA (Cantab), solicitor, succ father in 1933, died in 1993 and succ by his brother, Brigadier Rainald Gilfrid, CVO, MC, OBE, BA (Cantab), Defence and Military Attache in Paris 1964-1968 as 4th Bt and at Broadgate, who died 15 April 2003

Ley, Sir Gerald Gordon, 3rd Bt (1902-1990), TD, BA, landowner, born 5 November 1902, er son of Major Sir Henry Gordon Ley, 2nd Bt, JP (1874-1944), by his first wife, Rhoda (d.1935), yr dau of Herbert Prodgers, JP, of Kington St Michael, Chippenham, Wilts, educ Eton and New College, Oxford, marr (19 February 1936) Rosemary Catherine, yr dau of Captain Duncan Macpherson, RN, of Westlake, West Coker, Yeovil, Somerset (see BLG, Macpherson of Cluny), and formerly wife of Harwood Lawrence Maurice Cotter, 3 daus (inc Caroline, Countess of Lonsdale, 4th wife of 7th Earl of Lonsdale, qv), served with Duke of Lancaster’s Own Yeo 1927-1939 and WW2 as Capt, 1st Derbyshire Yeo, RAC (TA) 1939-1945, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1937, Lord of Manors of Lazonby, Staffield, Glassonby and Kirkoswald, estates manager in Cumberland, of Lazonby Hall, died xx March 1990

Leyburne family, also Layburne

Leyburne, John (1615-1702), RC, b.Kendal

Leyburne, John (c.1668-1737), last of Leyburnes of Cunswick, eldest son of George Leyburne (d.1704), of Nateby (which he purchased from Robert Strickland, of Sizergh) and Cunswick, by first wife, Anne, dau of John Stanley, of Dalegarth, joined Jacobite rebels at Preston and attainted in 1715, escaped with his life but forfeited Cunswick and Heysham estates, had 3 brothers George (godson of Thomas Tyldesley), Nicholas and James (Jemmy), also d.s.p, and 4 sisters, one marr Thomas Walton, of Winder, Cartmel), marr Lucy, dau of John Dalston, of Hornby, 2 sons (d.inf), d.s.p.s. 9 December 1737, aged 69 (memorial in Kendal Parish Church; Tyldesley Diary; CW1, x, 124-157)

Leyburne, Thomas (16xx-1672), 2nd son of John Leyburne (buried at Beetham, 25 January/ February 1663/4), became head of family after death of er brother William, marr Dorothy, sole heir of William Lascelles, of Brackenbury, co York, Knight of the Royal Oak 1660 (with estate valued at £600 pa), died 16 August 1672, aged 58, and buried at Beetham, 17 August (FiO, i, 420, 464, 519)

Leyck, Harry, chapman of Kendal; CW2 lix 73

Lhuyd, Humphrey, cartographer; CW3 xv 138

Lickbarrow family (especially John, Richard and Robert (qv) fl.17th and 18thc.), ‘wise men of Murthwaite’ and foll., their Book of Remedies is in the Osler Library at McGill University (was this one of the volumes bought by Osler from the Warrington Dispensary Library); CW3 xviii 223

Lickbarrow, Isabella (1784-1847; ODNB), poet, b. Kendal, Poetical Effusions (1814), died at Underbarrow, 10 February 1847 and buried in Castle Street cemetery, Kendal, 15 February

Lickbarrow, John (d.1680), clergyman, curate of Underbarrow, buried at Kendal, 21 May 1680

Lickbarrow, Robert, of Murthwaite, Longsleddale, occurs in Elizabeth Browne’s commonplace book of recipes of 1690 (Browne of Townend MSS) with potions for ointment for scalds and cures for ague, pleurisy and shortness of breath (Ian Hodkinson, LLHG report in WG, 08.01.2018); CW3 xviii 223

Lickbarrow, William (15xx-16xx), MA, Headmaster of St Bees School 1612-1630

Liddell, Peter John (1921-1979), landowner, of Moorhouse, Warwick, of the family of Warwick Hall, during the war c/o of two MTBs, chairman of North West Water 1973-78, member International Salmon Federation, vice-president of the River Eden and District Fisheries, chair Northern Sports Council, published The Salmon Rivers of Eire (1971), caused a furore in May 1975 by buying the expensive number plate RWA 1 for his official car; Hudleston ( C )

Liddle, Dr, senior, physician [father of Dr JP Liddle], both practiced at 4 Duke St, Barrow-in-Furness, known affectionately as ‘Pill Hall’, lived in Abbey Road opposite Chetwynde, active chairman of local operatic society

Liddle, Col. George, lead mine leaseholder; CW2 xl 141

Lightfoot, GA ‘Lionel’ (fl.1910-1951), solicitor of Saul and Lightfoot (now Atkinson Ritson, Carlisle), appointed by Nat Union of Railway at the time of the Quentinshill train crash enquiry in 1914 and was pageant master in the 1951 Carlisle pageant, with 5000 in the cast

Lightfoot, J.J., architect Wray Castle; Hyde 706

Lightfoot, Robert (fl.mid 17thc.), doctor of physic, quitclaim to Sir John Lowther of 1682; Hudleston ( C )

Lind, Edna M. (fl.early 20thc.), FW biologist, Ferry House, A Study in Periodicity of Algae at Beauchief Ponds, Sheffield (1938) and with Alan Brook published A Guide to the Common Desmids in the English Lake District [reprinted 1980]

Lind, Frances (b.1753), son of Capt Francis Lind of Carlisle, and his wife Elizabeth Farrer (1725-1781), nephew of Dr James Ainslie (qv) whose wife was Margaret Farrer (Dr Ainslie’s son Henry (qv) married Agnes Ford), Francis sat to George Romney holding his flute, his brother Edward married Elizabeth Ainslie whose joint portrait by Stewardson is at Abbot Hall (Edward’s portrait also by Romney)

Lind, Capt Montagu (1788-1815), 1st life guards, died at Waterloo, grandson of Capt Francis Lind of Carlisle, 14th foot; Hudleston ( C )

Lindow, John (1804-1878), iron master and haematite pioneer, brother of Samuel (qv), son of Jonas Lindow (qv), lived Ehen Hall; Hudleston ( C )

Lindow, Jonas, (1770-1846), bacon factor, father of Samuel and John (qqv), also owner of the spade forge at Cleator; Hudleston ( C )

Lindow, Jonas (1847-1904), DL, JP, MA, ironmaster, born at Croft End, 12 May 1847, only son of John Lindow (qv), educ St Bees School and Oxford (MA), of Ehen Hall, Cleator, later of Ingwell, Hensingham, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1883, died s.p. 8 January 1904

Lindow, Samuel (1799-1871), iron master and haematite pioneer, son of Jonas Lindow (qv), brother of John Lindow (qv), lived Ingwell; Hudleston ( C )

Lindow, Samuel (18xx-19xx), clergyman, rector of Bowness-on-Solway 1889-1908, restoration of church in 1891 (three stained glass windows on south side of chancel in his memory)

Lindsay, Alexander Dunlop, 1st Baron Lindsay of Birker (1879-1952; ODNB), CBE, educationist, philosopher and college head, born at Westbourne Gardens, Glasgow, 14 May 1879, eldest son and 3rd child of Revd Thomas Martin Lindsay (1843-1914) and his wife Anna Dunlop (1845-1903), studied and worked at several universities, as VC of Oxford established with Lord Nuffield new research facilities and also Nuffield College, marr (December 1907) Erica Violet (1877/8-1962), 3rd dau of Francis Storr, 2 sons and 1 dau, cr Baron Lindsay of Birker in November 1945, after Birker Moor where he had bought house Low Ground in 1926, first principal of Keele university, died suddenly at Keele, 18 March 1952 and buried in Cumberland

Lindsay, Alexander William Crawford, 25th earl of Crawford and 8th earl of Balcarres (1812-1880; ODNB), book collector and writer on art, born at Muncaster Castle, 16 October 1812, eldest son of James Lindsay, 24th earl of Crawford and 7th earl of Balcarres (1783-1869) and his wife, Maria Frances Margaret (1783-1850), dau of John Pennington, 1st baron Muncaster (qv), educ Eton College and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1833), author of Sketches of the History of Christian Art, created library at Haigh Hall, Wigan, for his Bibliotheca Lindesiana of over 30,000 volumes, marr (23 July 1846) his 2nd cousin Margaret (1824-1909), eldest dau of Lieut-General James Lindsay (1793-1855), of Balcarres, Fife, 1 son and 5 daus, died at the Villa Palmieri, Florence, 13 December 1880, aged 68, and buried first at Dunecht chapel and re-interred at Haigh Hall in 1882

Lindsay, Victor Frederick (18xx-19xx), BA, clergyman, educ Trinity College Dublin (BA 1901, Div Test 1902), d 1901 (Dub for Clogh) and p 1903 (Clogh), curate of Inishmacsaint, co Fermanagh 1901-1903, Clongish, co Longford 1903-1905, Drung, co Cavan 1905-1906, Carrigallen, co Leitrim 1906-1908, Cahir, co Kerry 1908-1911, Ballinrobe, co Galway 1911-1913 and 1915-1916, and Killaraght, co Mayo 1913-1915 and 1916, all in Church of Ireland, [then gap of six years], curate of Dunston, Gateshead, co Durham 1922-1924, acting curate-in-charge of Leyburn 1924-1926, Eglingham 1926-1929, vicar of Ninebanks, Hexham and perpetual curate of Carshield (or West Allen) 1929-1932, rector of Dufton 1932-1945 (instituted and inducted on 9 October 1932, left parish on 1 October 1945, after 44 years’ ministry in church, retired to 57 New Village, Ingleton (by 1957), pres decd by 1959

Ling, Christopher (1873-1953), Mayor of Carlisle, corn merchant and oatmeal miller, 6 Devonshire Street, and Caledonian Mill, Backhouse’s Walk, Carlisle (1894); son, William Norman, educ Winchester, entd father’s business and ran it until 1940s, main interest was mountaineering, climbed most major peaks in Europe, still climbing at 75, member of Alpine Club, regular attender at Wetheral church, member of CWAAS from 1907 and occasional attender at meetings, of Wetheral, unmarried, died in December 1953, aged 80 (CW2, liii, 255-56)

Lingard, John Rowson [1813-1876], attorney and landowner, aged 17 he was a clerk to the attorney John Vaughan, m. Elizabeth Dewhurst, freeman of London as member of Bakers’ Company, built a villa at Holehird 1845, donated font to mark consecration of St Mary’s Church, Applethwaite in 1856; RNLI lifeboat named for him or his relative Lt JR Lingard [d. Gallipoli 21 August 1915] to whom there is a window at Bowness church

Lingard, Thomas Dewhurst (1847-1925), JP, solicitor, son of JR Lingard, from Manchester, marr (1883) Regina Caroline, dau of Reginald Robert Walpole, of Hanslope, Bucks, 1 son (John Reginald, Lieut, Manchester Regt, killed in action at Suvla Bay, 1915), of Burnside, Bowness-on-Windermere (1894/97), later of Fellside, Kendal Road, Bowness, which he had built in 1901 by Dan Gibson, architect, and Pattinsons contractors, with gardens designed by T H Mawson (long flight of steps bordered by clipped golden yews leading from drive up steep hillside to front door, but no plans)

Linton, Elizabeth [Eliza] Lynn (1822-1898; ODNB), writer and moralist, first female salaried journalist, born at Crosthwaite Vicarage, Keswick, 10 February 1822, 12th and yst child of Revd James Lynn (qv) and his first wife, Charlotte Alicia (1782/3-1822), dau of Right Revd Samuel Goodenough (qv), Bishop of Carlisle, novelist, journalist, author of The Lake Country (1864) and many other books (Joshua Davidson), marr (24 March 1858) William James Linton (1812-1897) (ODNB) qv, engraver and radical, no issue (7 step-children), separated in 1867, moved to Malvern in 1895, but died in London, 14 July 1898, cremated and ashes buried in Crosthwaite churchyard, 30 September 1898; Elizabeth Kissack, Keswick Characters, vol.2; portrait John Collier, Keswick; H. Van Thal, Eliza Lynn Linton, 1979; Armitt newsletter Summer 2001

Linton, John, writer of rail guide[s], Handbook of Whitehaven and Furness Railway [1852]

Linton, William J (1812-1897; ODNB), radical wood engraver and poet, b. Mile End, London, ed Chigwell GS, apprenticed to George Wilmore Banner (1796-1836), wood engraver, edited The Cause of the People, wrote The English Republic (1851), designed cover of Cornhill Magazine, 2nd wife Eliza Lynn Linton qv, lived Brantwood from 1864, GOD AND THE PEOPLE slogan on the wall of his workshop, enclosure act entitled him to 6 acres more as he had a few sheep [what was his reaction to this?], see his collaboration with JM Barnes (qv), sold Brantwood to Ruskin 1867, separated from his second wife and went to the USA, publications include Wood-Engraving, a Manual [1884], The Masters of Wood Engraving [1890]; Francis Barrymore Smith, Radical Artisan, 1973; photograph in Cameron and Brown, The Story of Coniston, 60; James Dearden, Linton’s Brantwood, 4p folded sheet 20 Jan 1975

Linton, William (fl.early 20thc), tweed manufacturer, born in Scotland, began as a textile designer, moved to England and set up Linton Tweed mill in Caldewgate, Carlisle in 1912 with a partner Cranston Waddell (d.1917), flourished even in the 1st WW, soon much success in the USA, in Cumberland the two salesmen travelled by pony and trap collecting wool and selling suit lengths, Linton’s friend Capt Molyneux introduced him to Coco Chanel, who became a major customer, other customers included Yves St Laurent, Courreges and Dior, William’s daughter Agnes sailed on a liner annually to show samples in the USA, Chanel is now the oldest and largest customer; Linton Tweed website; Patricia Hitchen, Chanel and the Tweedmaker: Weavers of Dreams, 2012

Lishman, James (fl.1829-1849), drawing and dancing master, at Troutbeck Bridge in 1829 (James Lishman & Co, bobbin manufacturers, of Thickholme, Troutbeck Bridge) wife Jane, dau Ann Amelia (buried as infant at Kendal, 12 January 1835), when artist, of Castle Street, Kendal, later drawing master, of Gandy Street, Kendal (1849), but only Miss Margaret Lishman, of Gandy Street listed in 1858 (Lishman letters and will in CRO, WD/AG/ box 56, inc Valentine verse addressed to Mr Lishman, artist, c/o Mrs Dobson, innkeeper, Keswick, 14 February 1818

Lister, Alfred (1858-1927), schoolmaster, born at Wentworth, Rotherham, Yorshire, 20 November 1858, trained at St John’s College, York, leaving in 1879 to take up post as certificated master at Parish Church Boys’ School at Dalton-in-Furness, stayed two years and raised a Sunday School class of over 70 youths, apptd headmaster of National, later Central, School, Kendal in 1882, holding post for nearly 42 years, made improvements in existing unsuitable buildings by partitioning off large boys’ room within a few years of his arrival, acquired reputation of an educational expert, esp in area of intellectual improvement, held in high regard by Old Boys who raised over £50, together with gold watch and chain, on his retirement in December 1923, staff and children contributed to gift of writing bureau and pair of candlesticks, also by other teachers in town who gave a grandfather clock and illuminated address, memorial library intended to be kept in school, noted for pastoral care by making three personal visits every year to home of every boy in school and sending out letter of goodwill to all pupils each Christmas, also closely identified with Sunday School work as Superintendent of Central Sunday School until March 1918, and organised Whitsuntide outings to Arnside (noted for march through streets, headed by Archdeacon Cooper (qv) and Borough Band, also involved in temperance work as Secretary of Kendal Temperance Association (later joint-secretary), trained National School choir which took part in contests at Kendal, Morecambe and Preston music festivals, served 21 years as teachers’ representative on Kendal Borough Education Authority, member of Juvenile Unemployment Committee in Kendal, marr (1884) Alma Hartley, of Whitehaven, 1 son (A Norris), of 11 Greenside, Kendal, where he died 4 March 1927, aged 68, and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, after service in parish church led by Archdeacon Lafone (qv) and cortege headed by 50 old boys of Central School, 8 March (WG, 12.03.1927; CRO, WDS 67)

Lister (later Calder), Fanny Dove Hamel [b.1864], artist, founder of The Bluecoat Chambers, Liverpool, W.S. McCunn, Bluecoat Chambers: Origin and Development of an Art Centre,  1956; member Lake Artists, Renouf, 38-40

Lister, Joseph [1827-1912], physician who popularised the importance of hospital cleanliness, his mother Isabella Harris (qv) born Maryport daughter of Anthony Harris, master mariner, lived High Street, she assisted her widowed mother who was a superintendant at Ackworth school

Litt, William (1785-1847), wrestler and author, born at Bowthorn, Cleator Moor, 8 November 1785, yst of four sons of John Litt (d.1819), who was Commissioner of Inclosure of Waste Lands, and his wife Isabella (? Rome), later of Netherend, Hensingham, he has been described as ‘one of the greatest kings of the green’ and was undefeated as a wrestler, winning 200 prize belts, he wrote eighteen songs and poems, a novel Henry and Mary and William’s Lake Walk (C. Pacquet, 1824), which describes the Windermere Regatta of 1824, his chief work is Wrestliana: A Historical Account of Ancient and Modern Wrestling (1823),  emigrated to Canada in 1832 where he died in 1847 (DH, 137-138) (Cumbrian Family History Society no 109); his descendant Toby Litt has an updated version of Wrestliana available online

Little and Ballantyne, seedsmen Carlisle; see Ballantyne

Little, Captain James, chief of the voluntary fire brigade Carlisle; Emmett and Templeton, A Century of Carlisle, photograph, 30

Little, Hugh (19xx-19xx), OBE, local government politician, Cumbria County Councillor, Mayor of Carlisle 1973-74 (papers in CRO Carlisle)

Little, Jim (fl.1950s), policeman, member of Cumbrian Motor Patrol, displayed leadership at the serious bus crash at Hucks Brow, Shap in 1953, he had an early radio system but little other kit, the bus had fallen into very rocky terrain at Crookdale Beck; Memories of a Lakeland Constable, 1992; Cumbrian Motor Patrol, 1993; A Country Policeman in Cumbria, 1994; West Gaz 29 August 2003

Little, William (18xx-1926), JP, of Chapel Ridding, Windermere, purchased Far Orrest and Orrest and Tarn estates and other property in Applethwaite from R M Dunlop (qv) for £5,600 by deed of 18 November 1895, devised Chapel Ridding and all his estates to wife Janet by will of 10 December 1925 (proved at Liverpool, 22 July 1926), died 25 April 1926; his widow sold Far Orrest farm and other property in Windermere to H L Groves (qv) on 12 March 1930 (CRO, WC/C, Holehird deeds, acc 1634); is he the William Little, steward, agent to Lord Lonsdale, Barony of Kendal 1920s ?

Little, William, (1911-2004), rugby league footballer, b. Great Clifton

Littledale, John (17xx-18xx), Collector of HM Customs at Port of Whitehaven, also Receiver of Greenwich Hospital and Light Dues, of 14 Howgill Street, Whitehaven (1829), only Mrs L listed there in 1847, pres rel to Littledale family of Ennerdale and Whitehaven

Littledale, Sir Joseph (1767-1842; ODNB), born Whitehaven, son of Henry Littledale of Eton Hall, Lancaster, his mother was the dau of Isaac Wilkinson of Whitehaven, educ St John’s Cambridge, Smith prizeman, Lincolns Inn, Gray’s Inn, called to bar 1798, bencher 1821, active on the northern circuit, marr Hannah Timberlake, judge of the king’s bench 1824, sworn a PC but died soon afterwards, lived Bedford Sq., edited John Skelton’s Magnyfycence (1821) for the Roxburgh Club (Skelton (1460-1529) was an eccentric poet laureate)

Littler, Sir Ralph Daniel Makinson (1835-1908), CB, KC, DL, JP, BA, barrister, educ London University (BA), barrister-at-law, Chairman of Middlesex County Council and of Middlesex Quarter Sessions, one of HM Lieutenants for City of London, owner of Petteril Bank House, Upperby, Carlisle, and enlarged it in 1890s – in family until 1923?

Livesay, Joseph (1794-1884), temperance campaigner, lived Holme Slack, near Preston, moved to Bowness in 1847 and built Green Bank, also erected a temperance hall and an ornate drinking fountain in Bowness bay, his neighbour was Gen Brownrigg Bellasis (qv), built other houses locally with his wife Jane (nee Williams), returned to Preston and lived at Bank Parade, died in Preston and is buried in New Road cemetery under a fine granite monument; CWAAS newsletter Spring 2022, 99, 11

Livesey, Francis J (d.1934), BA, organist and choirmaster, for 46 years at St Bees Priory church until his death in 1934, of Flat House, St Bees; choir stalls in his memory

Livingston, Annie (d.1944), Presbyterian missionary, POW Sumatra, in charge of rice rations and much appreciated for her fairness, self-denial and kind support of her fellows, died in the camp; memorial Scotby; Scotby church newsletter 2021

Llewellyn-Davies, Margaret, see -Davies

Lloyd, Anna, see Braithwaite

Lloyd, Charles Jr (1775-1839; ODNB), poet, born Birmingham, son of Charles Lloyd a quaker banker and his wife Mary Farmer, lived Low Brathay, first poetry published 1795, friendly with the Lake poets, marr Sophia Pemberton, one sister Priscilla marr Christopher Wordsworth (qv), another sister Anna (qv) married Isaac Braithwaite and was an active preacher, several works including Nugae Canorae (1819) and Desultory Thoughts (1821)

Lloyd, Owen (1803-1841), MA (Cantab), clergyman, son of Charles Lloyd (qv), curate of Ambleside and perpetual curate of Langdale 1829-1841, wrote rushbearing hymn for service at Ambleside in 1835, died aged 39 and buried at Langdale, 23 April 1841

Lloyd, Ralph (c.1926-2011), businessman, brought up at Gatebeck, near Kendal, apprentice engineer aged 14, set up his own business dealing in bicycles, then motorbikes by time he was twenty, then set up as agricultural contractor, selling second-hand tractors, cars and pickups, moved to Carlisle in 1964 to take over a Ford tractor franchise at Hardwick Circus, as R Lloyd Tractors, with company’s head office on Kingstown Industrial Estate as first business to locate on site, firm grew strongly through 1970s, adding branches in Penrith and Dumfries, before expanding into Kelso and Barnard Castle in 1980s, established motors side of company, Lloyd Motors Ltd, after acquiring former Fleetwith BMW dealership in Derwent Street, Cockermouth, in 1976, joined later by BMW and Mini dealerships in Carlisle, Colne, Newcastle and Blackpool, also adding Alfa Romeo, Fiat, Honda, Honda Motorcycles, Jaguar, Land Rover, and Volvo dealerships in Carlisle, with a Land Rover dealership in Kelso, creating one of Britain’s most successful family firms, with 800 employees and sales of £237m in 2010, acted as chairman of Lloyd Group in later years with his sons taking over day-to-day running of company, making a point of visiting all firm’s sites and employees until his final illness, ran an 80-acre farm near his home in Houghton, awarded Blamire Medal for services to Cumbrian agriculture in 2007, keen racegoer (with Lloyd Group a main sponsor of Carlisle Racecourse), marr Beryl, 2 sons (Barry and Bryan) and 1 dau (Tracy), died after stroke at Harker Grange Nursing Home, 18 October 2011, aged 85, and buried at St John’s, Houghton, Carlisle, 25 October

Lloyd, Walter (1925-2018), farmer, emergency planner and charcoal burner, born in St Ives, son of a musician and writer, his mother Constance founded Wayside Folk Museum at  Zennor, educ at the English school at Chateaux D’Oex, Switzerland, Gordonstoun and Cambridge university where he studied agriculture, this was interrupted by the 2nd WW and he served in the Arctic Convoys (for which he was much later awarded a medal by Vladimir Putin), on the Normandy beaches on D Day and in Malaysia, began farming at Duckworth Farm in Rossendale, Lancashire in 1949, a derelict family property formerly owned by Lord Byron, and established the Hades Hill herd of fell ponies after 1958, was a member of the Fell Pony Society and drove a traditional bow-top wagon to Appleby Horse Fair, when the fair was under threat of closure he was a key figure in its survival, in the 1960s trained civil defence instructors, became emergency planner for Greater Manchester, in 1968 he founded Civil Aid which took him to Belfast during the Troubles and to Trinidad to study hurricane relief, he was also involved in salvaging the chaos of rained out free pop festivals and lobbied for their survival when Lord Melchett was trying to make them illegal, this was done on the basis that these events bred self-reliance in deprived urban young people, he was also the secretary of the East Lancashire Commons Association which maintained rough grazing amidst declining moorland threatened with encroachment from golf courses, in retirement he became involved in the revival of woodland skills in the Lake District, being a rope maker with Herdwick wool, a builder of yurts, a maker of pack saddles, planter of trees, coppicer and charcoal burner, a friend of Bill Hogarth (qv) member of Lakeland Fiddlers, he married twice, first to Vivienne Nugent with whom he had four children and then to Gill Baron, died aged 93; Guardian obit, 12 March 2018, ‘A Many Hatted Man’, The Land 23, 2018, 31-33

Llywarch, Hen (c.534-c.646; ODNB), chieftain and bard, (the name Hen means Old), Prince of the Cumbrian Britons, son of Elidurus chief of Argoed and later Cumberland, he may be the original Old King Cole as another name he is given is Coel Hen, first cousin of King Urien Rheged;  The Cambro Briton vol. no 8 April 1820, p.287 ff.

Loch, James, (b.c.1750), of Keswick, joint king’s Remembrancer (a judicial officer - of ancient origin - who collected debts owing to the monarch), father of JD Loch (qv)

Loch, John Dickson (b.1805), born Portinscale, architect to the king of Oudh in North India, then lived in Australia at Yarra, Victoria; Hudleston ( C ); Ancestry.com

Locke, Joseph (1805-1860), railway engineer, designed the Lancaster-Carlisle and Kendal-Windermere railway among many others, a friend of George Stephenson, he was driving Stephenson’s Rocket when it killed William Huskisson MP

Lockhart, David (d.1845), botanist and gardener at Kew, survived an expedition to the river Zaire, the genus Lockhartia of braided orchids is named after him

Lockhart, John Gibson (1794-1854), biographer of Walter Scott; NN anthology

Lockwood, Philip H (18xx-19xx), author, of Sedbergh (1897), author of Camping in Cumberland, In a Tent on Helvellyn, Two Adventures in Yorkshire, An Episode of 1745, A Day’s Holiday in a Southern County, Storm and Sunshine in the Dales 1898

Lodge, Edmund (16xx-1696), clergyman and schoolmaster, marr (by 1673) Margaret (prob= Mrs Margaret Lodge died at Bolton Ch: and buried at Bolton-le-Sands, 15 May 1722), as curate of Over Kellet he signed sacrament certificate of Martin Briggs as minister of parish church of Bolton by the Sands, 29 June 1673 (LRO, QSJ 8/5/34), master of Old Hutton school, letter of 16 September 1676 re Old Hutton school (Machell MSS, ii, 89; AoH, 14; CW2, lxvii, 181), vicar of Clapham, inventory and bond 1696 (in Kendal Deanery wills), buried at Dalton

Lodge, John (16xx-17xx), MA, clergyman, curate of Walney, parish of Dalton in Furness 1716 (Visitation), received chapel wage in 1712 (CW2, xx, 98), marr (1711) Rachel Atkinson (buried as widow at Hawkshead, 28 February 1740/41), 2 sons Edmund (?) and Rowland (born 1717) (see BT K App note app to Giles Redman, qv) and 1 dau (Margaret (born 1712), who marr by licence at Hawkshead (16 October 1732) George Taylor), died between 1717 and 1733 – did he move from Walney to Hawkshead? [no burial date found]

Lodge, John (b. 1824?, fl.1849, 1858), MA, clergyman, of Keene Ground, Hawkshead (with Richard Lodge, gent) in 1849, listed in Clergy List without benefice in 1858 = prob son of Richard Lodge, of Hawkshead, surgeon (1829, 1849), and his wife Charlotte, bapt 24 August 1824 at Hawkshead, with elder brothers, Edmund (bapt 4 March 1819) and Richard James (bapt 3 December 1820) and sister Ann Elizabeth (bapt 4 October 1817), latter when apothecary, of Skinner-how, Hawkshead

Lodge, Sheona (1901-1997), poet, born 28 January 1901, daughter of Dr William Baigent, fly fisherman, marr (19xx) Oliver Lodge (d.1987), 1 son (William Oliver) and 2 daus (Anne and Fiona Jane (1935-1980), moved to Wraysholme, Millans Park, Ambleside, a large house facing Loughrigg Fell, after Oliver retired as a consultant surgeon in 1959, friend of Dorothy Dickson, great grandau of Wordsworth at ‘Stepping Stones’ and of Josefina de Vasconcellos (qv), blossomed as a poet in last decade of her life following her involvement in a WEA poetry group at Coniston in the late 1980s (with Mavis and Brigid Altounyan and Brenda Hart Jackson (qqv))and encouragement by David Lindley of Cockermouth, this resulted in the publication of her autobiography Swan Feather: Recollections in Poetry and Prose (1993), followed by a collection of poems Voice of the River (1996), after this a writers’ workshop met regularly at Wraysholme as she extended her range as a poet, with a final collection of 50 new poems in Then and Now (1998), died on the eve of her 96th birthday, 27 January 1997, funeral at Holy Trinity Church, Brathay

Lodge, William (1673-1756), clergyman, prob born at Bolton-le-Sands, and bapt at Over Kellet, 2 August 1673, son of Revd Edmond Lodge (qv), [said to be educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 1674), but prob not same William Lodge], parish clerk of Dalton at time of marriage, later schoolmaster until instituted as vicar of Dalton-in-Furness (4 September 1707), vicar celebrated Lord’s Supper every month in 1717, prob also curate of Walney in 1712 (CW2, xx, 98), name occurs on parchment insert in second parish register (1651-1680) as ‘Willm. Lodge vicar of Dalton Scriptum Anno domini 1725’, died in 1756 (Gastrell, p.86); memorial brass plate put up by yr dau Jane in old church and preserved in chancel of new church (CW1 (1884), viii, 134; VCH Lancs (1914), viii, 315, 317); Rowland, son of Mr Lodge, clerk, parish of Dalton, deceased, apprenticed to Giles Redman, formerly of Kendal, now of Kirkby Lonsdale, apothecary, by indenture of 18 October 1733 – but is he son of William Lodge or John Lodge of Walney?; Rowland Lodge batchlor buried at Hawkshead, 13 February 1741/42; Rachell Lodge, widow, buried at Hawkshead, 28 February 1740/41

Lofthouse, Jessica (1906-1988), writer, artist and lecturer, born in Clitheroe, daughter of John, a grocer, lived and worked in Blackburn and Ribble Valley all her life, writer and lecturer on northern countryside, village life and rural pursuits, and history, folklore and traditions of Lancashire, Yorkshire and Cumberland and Westmorland, WEA tutor in local history and topography for 25 yrs, did ‘Northern Scene’ broadcasts on BBC Radio Blackburn, local parish councillor, etc. and author of 20 books (with her own sketches), incl Off to the Lakes: A Lakeland Walking Year (1949), Lancashire Westmorland Highway (1953), The Curious Traveller through Lakeland (1954, 2nd edn 1973), The Curious Traveller Lancaster to Lakeland (1956), Countrygoers’ North (1965, 2nd edn 1968), Lancashire’s Old Families (1972), North-Country Folklore in Lancashire, Cumbria and the Pennine Dales (1976), Borders of the North-West (1980), died in 1988; mss in Blackburn Library

Loftie, Arthur Gershom (1843-1922), clergyman and antiquary, born at Nice, son of John Henry Loftie (1808-1860), of Tanderagee, co Armagh, educ Trinity College Dublin, curate of Arthuret and chaplain to Longtown Union 1867-1871, vicar of St Bridget’s, Calderbridge 1871-1894, rector of Great Salkeld 1894-1904 and of Wetheral 1904-1916, hon canon of Carlisle from 1908, chaplain to High Sheriff of Cumberland 1912, elected member, CWAAS 1875, author of Calder Abbey, Its Ruins and History , 2nd ed (1892), The Rural Deanery of Gosforth, Cumberland, 2nd ed (1889), Great Salkeld, its Rectors and History (1900), and Wetheral parish history (in press at time of death), and The Family of Loftie (1918), died at Undermount, Rydal in October 1922, aged 78 (CW2, xxiii, 300); John Henry Loftie, Captain RN (retd), of Beulah, died 17 January 1940 (death certificate of 23 May 1940 in CRO, WD/MM/183/4) and buried at Barton, 21 January, aged 65; William Henry Paul Loftie, of Bowerbank House, Pooley Bridge, died 16 May 1976, aged 57, and buried at Barton, 20 May; Arthur Robert Loftie died at Balla Wray Nursing Home, Ambleside, 13 July 1987, aged 66, and buried at Barton, 16 July may be of this family

Loftie, Rowley C., government resident Albany, Australia, brother of Rev Arthur Gershom Loftie rector of Great Salkeld, Rowley Loftie’s son, Capt John Loftie RN lived Portinscale; Hudleston ( C )

Logan family, Low Wood Inn, 1845-1941; CW3 xiv 262ff

Logan, Bruce (19xx-2004), huntsman, yr son of Robin Logan (master of Coniston Foxhounds 1942-1954, died 3 May 1954; his yr bro John, Hon Secretary 1908-1940, died 8 May 1954), master of Coniston Foxhounds 1954-1976, wife Elizabeth Mary, of Nook End Farm, Ambleside (1974), died 7 June 2004

Logan, John T (18xx-1909), huntsman and hotel proprietor, eldest surv son of Robert Logan (qv), of Low Wood, and brother of Bruce Logan, marr eldest dau of Richard Rigg, of Windermere, 2 sons (Robin and John) and dau (Molly), taken ill with peritonitis on 8 September and despite medical skill of Dr Hough (qv), died 20 September 1909, aged 61, and buried at Ambleside, 22 September (LDP, 23.09.1909; WG, 25.09.1909)

Logan, Robert (d.1891), hotel proprietor, of Low Wood Hotel and posting house (1858, 1873), marr Miss Gelderd

Logan, William Bruce (18xx-19xx), huntsman, master of Coniston Foxhounds (1914), also master and secretary of Windermere Harriers (1914), chairman of Windermere UDC (1905)

Lomas, George (d.1800), active Chartist, teetotaller from Manchester, lectured at the Tabernacle, Appleby, on total abstinence in 1844 (Carlisle Journal 23 March 1844) and at Staveley in 1856, he gave 5000 lectures on abstinence, (Prof John Edgar in England and John Dunlop in Glasgow campaigned from 1829, Joseph Livesay of Preston (1794-1884) began his campaign, opening a temperance hotel in 1833 and publishing the Preston Temperance Advocate from 1834, the Cumbrian teetotal activist Sir Wilfred Lawson (qv) began his involvement with the first bill to reduce the consumption of beer by having Sunday closing in 1863 

Lomas, William (c.1771-1822), MD, physician, native of Aspatria, practised as a doctor in Allonby for nearly 30 years, marr, 1 dau (Jane Agnes, wife of William Thompson (qv), of Park End, Workington, died 1839, aged 19), died in 1822, aged 51 (window in Aspatria church and long inscription on monument: ‘he attended as promptly......in the hut of poverty as in the house of affluence’)

Long, E P E (Bill) (1914-2018), teacher and clergyman, born at Sydenham, Kent, grew up in Liverpool, educ Rock Ferry High School, Liverpool University (MA 1938) and University of Paris for doctorate, tried to escape with his fiancée Helen Prenter on outbreak of WW2 in 1939, but arrested and spent two months in Fresnes Prison, transferred to camp at St Denis then to Besancon, where he marr (February 1941) Helen (died in January 1972), 1 son (Robin Hugh, died day after fourth birthday in July 1947), awarded doctorate in March 1944, liberated on 10 July 1944 and eventually returned to Liverpool, appointed to join staff of Sedbergh School teaching French, German, English Literature and religious studies, master at Sedbergh School 1944-1973, apart from a year as lecturer at Newcastle University, teaching part-time from 1969,  entered Lincoln Theological College and ordained at St Andrew’s parish church in 1973, served as priest in Sedbergh parish, giving his final sermon at age of 97 at Sedbergh Music Festival service, died 18 February 2018, aged 103, and buried in Sedbergh cemetery, 2 March (WG, 01.03.2018)

Long, Martin (1933-2020), businessman, born Buxton, son of John and Emily Long, his father city engineer, to Carlisle after his father’s premature death, educ Carlisle GS, Carlisle city engineer, later to Kings Coll Durham and NW University Chicago, early 1960s joined Eden Construction, chair and MD of Eden Construction, good at hiring the ‘right people’, with Thomas Whipp he built up the firm to a major concern with 1000 employees, urged his senior staff to travel separately to minimise the fall-out from an accident, built Carlisle pools, M6 service stations, major contracts with BNFL, keen fisherman; see Thomas Whipp (qv); News and Star obit 14 April 2020

Long, Robert (Bob) (1916/7-1999), local councillor, of Ambleside, died 2 March 1999, aged 82

Long, William (18xx-19xx), tannery owner, near Warrington, later of Belfield, Bowness-on-Windermere (1897), and of High Cleabarrow (by 1905, 1914; Mrs Long only by 1921), commissioned T H Mawson to design gardens at Cleabarrow (no plans, but private photos)

Longcake family; Solway Plain website

Longmire, Derek William (1928-2010), local historian, born at Gainsborough, Lincs, 24 May 1928, family of drapers, marr 1st Jean (decd), 1 son (Timothy) and 3 daus (Rachael, Lucie and Tertia), marr 2nd (1973) Judith (compiler of Longmire family pedigrees), studied at Campion House, Osterley, but decided against priesthood, worked for a time as tax officer, moved to Norfolk to farm a smallholding in 1980s, active in campaign for world peace, moved to Kendal on retirement in 1992, stood in local elections for Labour Party, carpentry and handyman skills, interest in his family history led him to a deeper study of local history, obtained Lancaster University certificate in local history in 1998 (thesis on Bolton in Westmorland 1700-1850 which examined wealth, social status and lives of inhabitants of a small Eden valley community), Secretary of CWAAS Kendal Regional Group to 2008, then vice-president, particular interest in local Catholic history, author of The Seven Martyrs of Kendal (2008), died in Lancaster Royal Infirmary, 12 August 2010, aged 82, and buried at St John’s church, Skelsmergh, after Requiem Mass at Holy Trinity & St George’s Catholic Church, Kendal, 20 August

Longmire, Margaret (1764-1868), born 15 April 1764, buried at Troutbeck, 27 May 1868, aged 104 (photographed in her 102nd year, 1865, CRO, WDX 1590)

Longmire, Thomas (1823-1899), wrestler and publican, the ‘Quiet Giant’ and ‘Hero of a Hundred Rings’, born at Stybarrow Cottage on Ambleside Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, 3 October 1823, first wrestled as an apprentice at bobbin mill, won first man’s belt at Threlkeld at age of sixteen in 1840, competed at famous C & W wrestling venues at Ferry Sports on site of old Ferry Hotel and at the Flan in Ulverston, contested Championship of England at Ulverston on 18-19 September 1857 against Richard Wright of Longtown, but contest abandoned after no result reached, but won rematch on 16 October, had over 200 wins [174 belts ?], in career of 20 years, with last victory at Liverpool in 1860, landlord of the New Hall Inn, or Hole int’ Wall, in Bowness, where he was visited in 1857 by Charles Dickens, who admired his many trophies and named him the ‘Quiet Giant’ (FA, 35); memorial plaque and likeness at the entrance of the Hole int’ Wall, Bowness-on-Windermere; Boase vi 75

Longrigg, William (c.1832-19xx), MA, DL, JP, magistrate, born at Mains, near Kirkoswald, educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1842, aged 10, left October 1850) and Queen’s College, Oxford (taberdar, BA 1854, MA), chairman of Penrith board of guardians (pre-1906), JP Cumberland, of Eusemere, Penrith (1894), later of Winderwath, Cliburn/Temple Sowerby (which he bought from James Atkinson (qv) in 1893) (1897, 1906, 1914), but decd by 1921 (when Mrs Annie Longrigg was resident) (SSR, 207)

Longstaff, James (188x-1919), timber merchant and joiner, native of Warcop, brother of Captain J T Longstaff and had three sisters (Annie, Ellen or Nellie and Lizzie, Mrs J H Dent), strong Wesleyan Methodist member, choirmaster and superintendent of Sunday School of Warcop Wesleyan church, marr, 2 sons (Tom and Dick), died in Newcastle, 22 May 1919, aged 48, body returned by train to Warcop station on 24 May and buried in Warcop cemetery, 26 May 1919 [cem reg (WPC 14) gives 25 May and age of 43, but press report (WDY 645) gives Monday, viz 26 May and age of  48]

Lonsdale, earl and viscount, see Lowther

Lonsdale, Henry (1816-1876; ODNB) MD, physician and biographer, secretary of Carlisle Exhibition at the Atheneum in 1846, buiographer of the sculptor M.L. Watson, Dr J. Heysham and compiler of Worthies of Cumberland [x vols], knew Garibaldi,; Jenny Uglow, The Pine Cone

Lonsdale, Horace Blamire (18xx-19xx), solicitor and coroner, Carlisle city coroner, clerk to Carlisle rural district council and to Carlisle poor law union, and to school attendance committee, deputy superintendent registrar, office at 25 Lowther Street, Carlisle (1897, 1901), then at 7 Victoria Place, Carlisle (1906), of 18 Portland Square, Carlisle (1901, 1906)

Lonsdale, James (1777-1839) b. Lancaster, pupil of Romney (qv), painted a portrait of John Dalton (qv); d. London, David A. Cross, A Striking Likeness, 2000

Lonsdale, Revd John (c.1736-1802), clergyman (RC?), of Dodding Green, buried in Kendal churchyard, 12 October 1802, aged 66

Lonsdale, John James (18xx-18xx), poet, author of The Ship Boy’s Letter, Robin’s Return, Ruby, and Songs and Ballads (1867), which included a fairy tale ballad Minna, died at age of 34

Looney, Ron (fl.late 20thc.), champion gurner, Egremont; he was the model for the Gurning Head at Egremont, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 162

Lord, Samuel Scholfield (18xx-1921), JP, newspaper proprietor and publisher, printer, lithographer, and bookbinder, born at Glossop, Derbyshire, <son born Barrow-in-Furness in summer of 1875, yr son of Samuel S Lord (d.1921)>, of 28 Paxton Terrace, Barrow (1882), launched The Barrow News and Dalton Chronicle in 1881, published on Tuesdays and Saturdays for 1d, printed Barrow-in-Furness Almanack & Tide Tables in 1882 for the Barrow News, printed working timetable for Furness Railway in 1891, when of Hindpool Road (1890), author of promotional articles in The Railway Magazine, viz: ‘The Furness Railway and its Tours through Lakeland’ (June 1898) and ‘The Furness Coast as a Winter Resort’ (November 1898), printed and published Barrow Guardian for Barrow and North Lonsdale Press at 91 & 93 Cavendish Street (by 1912), also edited Delegates’ Guide to Barrow-in-Furness and to the Lake & Sea Trips in the District for the Independent Order of Oddfellows conference in the town, printed by W Reynolds (1906), JP for Barrow Borough (by 1909), of 72 Ramsden Street, Barrow (1882), 133 Abbey Road (1891), later of Ganesley, 189 Abbey Road (1909), and of 53 Settle Street, Barrow (1912) (CRA Journal, No.143, August 2012, 358-361, and No.144, October 2012, 390)

Lorenzo, Will (1848-1880) aka William Connor, music hall artiste, singer, ‘low comedian’ and chair balancer, native of Wednesbury, collapsed onstage in mid performance in Barrow; Rod White, Stories Behind the Stones website, Barrow Herald 19 October 1880

Losh, James (1763-1833), lawyer, philanthropist, political reformer, diarist and friend of Wordsworth, of Woodside, Wreay, (TWT, 75; The Diaries and Correspondence of James Losh, vol.i, 1811-1823, SS 171 (1962) and vol.ii, 1824-1833, SS, 174 (1963) in Carlisle Library); also re his diaries in Surtees Society CLXXII, 1957

Losh, James (1802-1858), MA, county court judge

Losh, James, later Arlosh (1834-1904), MA, JP, C of E clergyman and Unitarian, born in 1834, only son of William Septimus Losh, of Woodside, and his wife and first cousin, Cecilia, dau of George Losh by his wife Frances, dau of Joseph Wilkinson (qv), of Carlisle, educ Durham University (MA), marr (1859) Isabella, yst dau of Captain Thomas Benn, RN (qv), 1 son (Godfrey, d.v.p.), resumed name of Arlosh in 1870, incumbent of Ponsonby 1861-1871, diocesan inspector of schools in Carlisle diocese, later became a Unitarian and occasionally officiated in Unitarian Chapel, Carlisle, generous benefactor to Manchester College, Oxford

Losh, John (17xx-1814), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1811, succ to Woodside estate

Losh, Sarah (Sara) (1785-1863), architect and antiquary, dau of John Losh (qv), interest in architecture sparked by her Grand Tour with her sister Katharine (d.1835) in 1815, designed and built school, gifted land for new church at Wreay ‘on condition that I should be left unrestricted as to the mode of building it’ (CuL, September 2012, 31; Jenny Uglow, The Pinecone: The Story of Sarah Losh, forgotten Romantic heroine, antiquarian, architect and visionary (2012));  Hyde and Pevsner, Buildings of England

Loudon, Laetitia (fl.early 19thc.), poet, wrote Furness Abbey in the Vale of Nightshade (1832)

Lough, John Graham (1798-1876; ODNB), sculptor, based in Newcastle, carved Robert Southey effigy, Crosthwaite church, Keswick; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 173-4 and 202-3

Lough, Richard (c.1791-1831), journalist, Editor of the Westmorland Advertiser and Kendal Chronicle 1818-1822 and proprietor 1820-1831, marr Sophia, dau (Mariah, born 2 May and bapt at Kendal, 26 May 1805), of Kentside, Kendal, died 2 February 1831, aged 40; Mrs Lough was proprietor 1831-1834, with daughter as editor (closed 17 May 1834)

Louise, Princess (1848-1939), sculptor and art enthusiast, dau of Queen Victoria, friendly with Hardwicke Rawnsley (qv) and opened Brandlehow Wood, an early NT property, in 1902, raised money to purchase Grange Fell in memory of her brother Edward VIII, opened charity fair at St George’s Barrow in 1891, marr Marquis of Lorne, later the duke of Argyll, supported the feminist movement and corresponded with Josephine Butler; Robert M. Stamp, Angel Rebels, 1988

Loutherburg, Jacques Phillipe de (1740-1812; ODNB), artist, visited the Lakes and was commissioned by John Christian Curwen (qv) to paint two large oil paintings of the Round House at Bowness: Windermere in a Calm and Windermere in a Storm (both Abbot Hall)

Lovell, Francis, Viscount Lovell (c.1457-1488; ODNB) the son of John Lord Lovell, a major figure at the court of Richard III as his chancellor, he was described in the anti-Ricardian squib: The catte, the ratte and Lovell our dogge,                         Rulyth all Englande under a hogge. He fought at Bosworth Field with Richard.  Considering Henry VII to be a usurper, two years after Bosworth he was involved in the rebellion of Lambert Simnel (qv), in Ireland for the coronation of the pretender, landed at Piel castle, Rampside (Barrow) and marched south with the mercenaries, leaving the young Lambert behind fled from the carnage of the battle ground at Stoke Field, his later years are uncertain; Nathen Amin, Henry VII and the Tudor Pretenders: Simnel, Warbeck and Warwick, 2020

Lowe, Francis Hugh (1887-1975), accountant, businessman and engineer, during the 1st WW his bicycle was requisitioned and he felt they should have returned it, worked as an accountant to a shipbuilding firm in Liverpool, married Mary Ella Wood, had three daughters, during 2nd WW the family was evacuated from Liverpool and Francis commuted to the shipyard, then he bought Borwick’s boat yard in Bowness-on-Windermere, designed a self-righting lifeboat (one of the first) which could be launched at any angle and with one winch, this he refused to patent, believing that it was immoral to profit from a life-saving invention, his daughter Eleanor Joyce (1939-2022) married Michael Strong the artist (qv)

Lowe, Joseph (1866-1934), photographer and painter, born in Rusholme, Manchester, 1866, son of Thomas Lowe, farmer, settled in Patterdale in 1891, at The Hagg, marr (22 March 1905, at Patterdale) Jessie (then 28, died 6 December 1970, aged 94, and buried 18 December), dau of Robert Grisdale, farm bailiff, of Home Farm, Patterdale, 1 son (Geoffrey, bapt 7 November 1909), produced over 4000 images used on postcards and in books of area, travelling on foot or bicycle as well as working in his studio, “a portrayer of Lakeland Beauty”, of Yew Tree Cottage, Deepdale (1929), died at Bridge End Cottage, Deepdale, 2 February 1934, aged 68 and buried in Patterdale churchyard, 5 February (Liz Hodgson research)

Lowes, James (b.c.1774), engraver, Carlisle, father of Robert Jacques Lowes, ancestor of Ian McKellen

Lowes, Robert Jacques (1816-1874), founder of the Saturday half-holiday committee and dubbed ‘the grandfather of the modern weekend’ (September 1843)

Lowis, John George (18xx-1953), parish official and joiner, assessor and collector of taxes for parishes of Shap Rural and Shap Urban Districts, bellringer at Shap parish church for 53 years, churchwarden and treasurer for 50 years, died aged 75, and buried at Shap, 8 April 195; [NB Both other long standing church officials in Shap died within this five-month period: Joseph Elliot, church caretaker and sexton, of 1 Foster Street, Shap, buried at Shap, 1 December 1952, aged 77; and John Jackson Hall, joiner, sidesman and vicar’s warden for 50 years, of Woodlands, Shap, buried at Shap, 14 February 1953, aged 84]

Lowry, John Stamper (1814-1881), son of Rev Thomas Lowry (qv), lived in Okawa, New Zealand where Lowry Peaks in the Canterbury region and Lowry Bay near Wellington are named after him; Hudleston ( C )

Lowry, Lawrence Stephen (1887-1976; ODNB) RA, artist; b. Manchester, visited the Lakes to visit his friend the vicar of Cleator Moor and then of St Aidan’s, Carlisle, also went walking and sketching with Sheila Fell (qv), called on Percy Kelly (qv) who disliked his perceived ‘ego’

Lowry, Malcolm (1909-1957), poet and novelist, best known for Under the Volcano (1947), visited Grasmere in April-May 1957; Gordon Bowker, Pursued by Furies: The Life of Malcolm Lowry, 2015; see Lindop

Lowry, Richard (fl.1658), mayor of Carlisle, certificate that he, Aldermen and citizens had demised profits of toll taken between Dunmail Raise and west coast on all goods coming into and out of Cumberland to John Brathwaite and others, dated 24 March 1657/8 (CRO, WD/Ry/HMC 334)

Lowry, Richard (16xx-1710), MA, clergyman, vicar of Wetheral and Warwick 1665-1667, being granted licences to preach and for cure of rectory on 28 July 1665, vicar of Crosthwaite 1667-1710, collated on 4 June 1667, caused imprisonment of some Quakers in 1682, wife Margaret ‘of Vickaridge’ buried 17 April 1707, buried with her in quire of Crosthwaite church, 6 January 1709/10 (ECW, i, 213, 657-658)

Lowry, Rev Thomas (1802-1872), five times mayor of Carlisle, vicar of Crosby on Eden and then Ousby, father of JS Lowry (qv)

Lowry, William (1796-1870), civil engineer, b. Cargo, Carlisle, son of William Lowry and Jane Barnes, d.Islington buried Stanwix graveyard, large monument

Lowther family of Colby Leathes; CW2 xliii 117

Lowther of Great Orton; CW2 xl 60

Lowther of Swillington, family; CW2 xlii 67

Lowther family of Whitehaven and Lowther, JV Beckett, Coal and Tobacco: the Lowthers and the Economic Development of West Cumbria 1660-1760, 1981; CW2 ii 1; CW2 xvi 108; CW2 xlviii 125; CW2 lxiii 285

Lowther, Ann (1803-1888), hostess, born in 1803, yst dau and 10th child of Col James Lowther, MP (qv), of Colby Leathes line, described by Viscount Ullswater (qv) in his memoirs (1925) as ‘a very remarkable old lady’ with ‘keen eyes, deep black hair (so kept by artificial means), a springy walk, a good figure and a sharp tongue’, acted as hostess to bachelor Lord Lonsdale at Lowther Castle until his death in 1872, though her efforts were resented by other ladies, but was left £5,000 in his will, died in 1888 (portrait aged 40 by Charles Jenour, Whitehaven) (LF, 148-150)

Lowther, Anthony (‘Nanty’) (1696-1741), politician, bapt at Lowther, 27 December 1696, yst son and 14th child of Sir John Lowther, 1st Viscount Lonsdale, reputed to be one of handsomest men of his time, won notoriety for his affair with Sophia Howe, a maid of honour to Princess of Wales, obtained post as commissioner of revenue in Ireland in 1726 at £1,000 a year, resigning in 1734, MP for Cockermouth 1721-1722 (elected at by-election in 1721) and returned unopposed as MP for Westmorland 1722-1741, but not an active member of House, died unmarried, aged 45, and buried at Lowther, 6 December 1741 (LF, 231)

Lowther, Anthony Edward, Viscount Lowther (1896-1949), DL, JP, born 24 September 1896, only son of 6th earl of Lonsdale (qv) by his first wife, godson of King Edward VII, page of honour to King 1908-1913, served WW1 as Lieutenant, 10th Hussars (wounded in action, June 1917), ADC on staff of FM Lord Allenby in Egypt 1919, marr (1922) Muriel Frances Farrar (1896-1968), 2 sons (7th earl (qv) and A G (qv)) and 1 dau, styled viscount Lowther after death of 5th Earl (qv), Lord Lieutenant of Westmorland 1939-1945, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1930, when of Clifton Hill, Clifton, later of Askham Hall, Penrith, died 6 October 1949, and buried at Lowther, 10 October (LF, 406)

Lowther, Anthony George (1925-1981), MBE, DL, army officer and local councillor, born 23 September 1925, yr son of viscount Lowther (qv) and brother of 7th earl of Lonsdale (qv), educ Eton and RMC Sandhurst, served WW2, Captain 12th Royal Lancers, Palestine 1946-1947, and Malaya 1951-1954 (MBE 1954), granted rank of an earl’s yr son 1 July 1954, marr (22 July 1958 at Caxton Hall, London) Lavinia (born 1931, died at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London, 6 Janury 2003, funeral at St Michael’s, Lowther, 11 January), dau of Colonel Thomas Joyce, USAF, and his wife Mary, of Pasadena, California, 1 son (Thomas) and 3 daus (Camilla, Arbell and Sarah), Westmorland county councillor for Clifton (1960-1974) and Cumbria county councillor 1974-1981, chairman of Police committee, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1964, DL 1964, master of Ullswater Foxhounds from 1957 and Deputy MFH 1956, of Whitbysteads, Askham, Penrith, died in March 1981 (CWH, 11.01.2003)

Lowther, Charles Edwin (1859-1888), born in 1859, 3rd son of 3rd earl of Lonsdale (qv), and yr brother of 4th and 5th earls, marr (1878) Kate Benjamin (nee Fink), no issue, died at 6 Abbey Road, St John’s Wood, London NW, aged 28, and buried at Lowther, 7 April 1888

Lowther, Christopher William (1887-1935), businessman and politician, born 18 January 1887, er son of 1st viscount Ullswater (qv) and Mary Frances Beresford Hope, educ Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge, hon attache, diplomatic service, Morocco 1907 and Mexico 1907-1909, in business with Pearsons & Sons Ltd and Griffiths & Co Ltd, served WW1 with Westmorland and  Cumberland Yeomanry (wounded in France, Sept 1915), APM London District 1917, Kent 1917-1918,  and Edinburgh Sept 1918, MP (Con) for North Cumberland 1918-1922, director, Cumberland News, and Lowther Estates Ltd, marr 1st (1910) Ina (div 1920), dau of Revd R P Pelly, 1 son, marr 2nd (1921) Dorothy, dau of Arthur Bromley-Davenport, 2 daus, of Forest Cottage, Pound Hill, Sussex, died 7 January 1935 (WWW, III, 831)

Lowther, Claude William Henry (1872-1929), JP, politician, born 1872, son of Captain Francis Lowther, RN, educ Rugby, entered diplomatic service, served with Imperial Yeomanry in South Africa 1900, ADC to Sir Charles Warren, who recommended him for VC for gallantry at battle of Faber’s Point, Captain in Cumberland Yeomanry, raised a battalion of Sussex men known as ‘Lowther’s Lambs’, which he comd as Lieut-Colonel, raised three more battalions in 1915, MP (Con) for Eskdale or Northern Division of Cumberland 1900-1906 (defeated by Geoffrey Howard for Liberals) and 1910-1918 and for Lonsdale Division of Lancashire 1918-1922, retiring from ill health, of Scaleby Castle (1910), purchased Herstmonceux Castle in Sussex in 1913 and restored it at considerable cost, and also of 43 Catherine Street, Westminster, London, died unmarried 17 June 1929 (WWW, III, 831)

Lowther, Gerard (1537-1597), “Old Beelzebub”, lawyer, born 21 March 1537, yr son of Hugh Lowther IX and Dorothy Clifford, educ Sedbergh School and St John’s College, Cambridge (entd 1552), admitted student at Lincoln’s Inn in November 1556, and called to Bar in 1565, letters to his er brother Richard at Lowther, elected MP for Westmorland from 1563 to 1567, expelled from Lincoln’s Inn for refusing to conform to established church, pardoned and readmitted in 1574, acted as legal adviser to Howards in long-running controversy over possession of Dacre lands in counties, but later switching his allegiance to Leicester and Queen, who was awarded Dacre baronies of Burgh and Gilsland at court case in Carlisle in 1589, later advised Queen that crown was also entitled to Dacre’s Greystoke lands and Carlisle court found in her favour in 1595, earned enmity of Lord William Howard (qv), who had to buy lands back from crown for £20,000 in 1601-02, Sheriff of Cumberland 1593, marr (post 1573) Lucy (buried 30 December 1596), widow of Albany Fetherstonhaugh (qv), dau of Thomas Dudley (qv), of Yanwath, and second cousin of Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester, no issue, died painfully and buried ‘in the South Church door’ at Penrith, with his wife, 14 July 1597 (LF, 93-97)

Lowther, Sir Henry, 3rd viscount Lonsdale (1694-1751), 4th Bt, PC, FRS, politician, born at Lowther, 30 July 1694 and bapt 13 August, 4th son of Sir John Lowther, 1st viscount (qv), constable of Tower of London 1726-1731, Lord Privy Seal 1733-1735, Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland and Westmorland 1738-1751, lived with  his widowed sister Elizabeth, Lady Ramsden, after 1736, at Byram in Yorkshire, where he died, unmarried, 7 March 1751, aged 56, and buried at Lowther, 18 March (LF, 222-231)

Lowther, Henry (1701-1781), MA, clergyman, bapt at Bowness (C), 18 March 1701, yr son of Revd Gerard Lowther (qv), marr (27 October 1743, at Askham) Dorothy Tatham (c.1715-1782), of Askham Hall, 2 sons and 3 daus, rector of Bowness (C) 1732-1753, rector of Aikton 1753-1781, rector of Lowther 1763-1769, died at Aikton, aged 80, and buried there, 11 May 1781 (LF, 145-146)

Lowther, Henry (1787-1874), MA, JP, clergyman, 3rd son of Col James Lowther, MP (qv), marr (1813) Eleanor Younger (1791-1818), 2 sons (William (1815-1844), Lieut, Bengal Army, and Henry Peter (1816-1832), midshipman, RN, drowned) and 1 dau (Ellen (b.1817), wife of Revd John Robinson (qv), rector of Bowness (C)), educ, ordained, rector of Distington 1813-1874, rector of Bolton 1822-1874, inherited land at Colby Leathes (held by family since 1657) but sold it at a later date, involved in case of Hannah Rushforth in 1859 when a black bag (containing some money, Miss Lowther’s work-box and his will) was stolen from his luggage at Kendal railway station, after stopping at Commercial Hotel for two hours, on way to Windermere with his sister [Margaret, Barbara or Ann?] on 1 February 1859, bag returned to him at Windermere the following day by J J Wilson (qv) but he still reported theft to railway company, which decided to prosecute Hannah, case heard before Kendal Justices on 14 February and referred to Assizes, left £2,000 by will of 2nd earl of Lonsdale (qv) in 1872, died at Cannes in 1874 (LF, 148, 392; CW2, lxxi, 237-247)

Lowther, Henry, 3rd earl of Lonsdale (1818-1876), born 27 March 1818, eldest son of Col H C Lowther (qv), educ Westminster and Trinity College, Cambridge, joined 1st Life Guards as cornet in 1841 and served in regiment for some years, MP for West Cumberland 1847-1872, Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland and Westmorland 1868-1876, succ uncle as 3rd earl in 1872, marr (1852) Emily Susan (d.1917), dau of St George Francis Caulfield, of Donamon, Roscommon, and a very distant cousin, 4 sons and 3 daus, main interests of hunting and horse racing, owner and Master of Cottesmore Hounds from 1870, spent most of his time at Asfordby, near Melton Mowbray, died at Whitehaven Castle, 15 August 1876, aged 58, and buried at Lowther, 19 August (memorials in Lowther church; LF, 400-401)

Lowther, Henry (fl.1847-1874), clergyman, is said to have established a Sunday school at Distington before Robert Raikes (1736-1811; ODNB), urged the establishment of ‘his’ Sunday schools; these dates do not seem to support the claim

Lowther, Henry Cecil (1790-1867), MP, politician, MP for Westmorland 1812-1867, becoming Father of the House 1862-1867, of Barley Thorpe, near Oakham, died, aged 77, and buried at Lowther, 13 December 1867 (portrait as Colonel of 10th Hussars by Sir Thomas Lawrence) (LF, 393-396)

Lowther, Sir Henry Cecil (1869-1940), KCMG, CB, CVO, DSO, army officer and politician, born 27 January 1869, 4th son of Hon William Lowther (qv) and yr brother of 1st viscount Ullswater (qv), entered Scots Guards 1888, Captain 1899, served South African War 1899-1902 (despatches twice, Queen’s Medal with 6 clasps, King’s Medal with 2 clasps, DSO 1900), Major 1904, accompanied Diplomatic Mission to Fez 1905, Military Attache, Paris, Madrid and Lisbon 1905-1909, CMG 1911, Military Secretary to Duke of Connaught, Governor-General of Canada 1911-1913, CVO 1913, Lieut-Col 1913, served WW1 (wounded, despatches thrice) as Brigade Major, comdg 1st Scots Guards, then 1st Guards Brigade, Expeditionary Force 1914, 1st Div 1914-1915, Brevet Col 1915, Military Secretary to C-in-C 1915, CB 1915, Brig-Gen, Gen Staff Home Forces 1916, Major-Gen Staff HQ Forces 1917-1918, KCMG 1918, Hon Maj-Gen 1919, Comdr Legion of Honour, Swedish Order of the Sword, Spanish Order of Military Merit, MP (Unionist) for Appleby or Northern Division of Westmorland 1915-1918 and for Penrith and Cockermouth Division of Cumberland 1921-1922, marr (28 June 1920) Dorothy Maude (died 3 October 1967), yst dau of John Selwyn Harvey and formerly wife of Gordon Bois, no issue, author of From Pillar to Post, of 3 Hill Street, London W1, died 1 November 1940 (WWW, III, 831)

Lowther, Sir Hugh (fl.1270); four Lowthers called Sir Hugh (ODNB)

Lowther, Sir Hugh (1461-1510; ODNB), marr Ann, dau of Sir Lancelot Threlkeld (qv)

Lowther, Hugh Cecil, 5th earl of Lonsdale (1857-1944; ODNB), KG, GCVO, DL, ‘The Yellow Earl’, sportsman and polar explorer, born 25 January 1857, 2nd son of 3rd earl (qv), he inherited as his predecessor, his elder brother St George (qv) had no male heir (Juliet Lowther (qv)), marr (1878) Lady Grace Cecilie Gordon, CBE (born 1854, died 12 May 1941 and buried in Lowther churchyard, 16 May), dau of Charles Gordon 10th Marquess of Huntly, no issue, succ brother St George, 4th Earl (qv), in 1882, had to leave England in February 1888 to escape consequences of scandalous affair with an actress, travelled to central Canada with his butler in mid-winter, northwards along Mackenzie River, assisted by various trading companies in area, and reached shores of Arctic Ocean by late summer, then travelled through Yukon Territory in winter of 1888-89 towards Alaskan coast and boarded steamship to San Francisco, brought back range of sporting trophies and Native American artefacts (much of collection presented to British Museum, some used to decorate Lowther Castle, which was sold in auction of contents in 19xx, with two animals given to Kendal Museum), Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland 1917-1944, DL Westmorland (apptd in March 1882), Chairman of Westmorland Quarter Sessions 1909, first Mayor of Whitehaven 1894-1896, entertained Prince of Wales (later Edward VII, qv) at Lowther in 1896, Kaiser Wilhelm II (qv) in 1895 and 1902, also King of Portugal and Crown Prince of Italy, travelled to Berlin at end of August 1895 to take up honorary position of ADC to Kaiser, close friendship caused consternation on all sides, but never varied despite tensions between England and Germany, despite this he raised money for private battalions in Boer and Great wars, won the St Leger with his horse Royal Lancer, won the Waterloo cup, the hare coursing event at Altcar near Southport in 1923 with the dog Latto, Master of the Quorn 1893-1898, president of Westmorland & Kendal District Agricultural Society in 1883 and 1884, president of Crosby Ravensworth Floral, Horticultural, and Dog & Poultry Show (1890x1904), keen on wrestling and founder of the Lonsdale Belt, loved the colour yellow and even his wheelbarrows were painted that colour, Whitehaven Castle sold in 1921, Barleythorpe Hall in 1926 and house in Carlton House Terrace, London (owned by Lowther family since 1837) in 193x, and Lowther Castle closed down in 1936, leaving him with Stud House on Barleythorpe estate for his final years, having no immediate heir considered himself the last of the line, died 13 April 1944, aged 87, and buried in Lowther churchyard, 18 April (portrait as Colonel of W & C Yeomanry by J H F Bacon, 1910) (LF, 401-405; YE, passim); Douglas Sutherland, The Yellow Earl: Almost an Emperor; Tinniswood, The Long Weekend, 2016, 281; CW3 iii 185

Lowther, Sir James, 4th Bt of Whitehaven (16xx-1755), ‘Farthing Jimmy’, landowner, of Middle Temple, London, and Queen Square off Great Ormond Street, acquired Laleham Estate, near Staines, Middlesex in 1745, ‘the richest commoner in England’ (1731), died in London, 2 January 1755, aged 81; marble memorial at Holy Trinity Church, Whitehaven erected by his successor, Sir William Lowther, 3rd Bt of Marske, in 1803; reinterred in Holy Trinity on 3 February 1949, but Lowther gates transferred to St Nicholas’s Gardens in 1950 (WN, 16.11.2017)

Lowther, Sir James, 1st Earl of Lonsdale (first creation) (1736-1802; ODNB), ‘Wicked Jimmy’, born at Maulds Meaburn, bapt privately at Crosby Ravensworth, 5 August 1736, and bapt publicly at St George’s, Bloomsbury, London, in following month, eldest surv son and 4th child of Robert Lowther (qv), refused to pay his lawyer John Wordsworth qv causing great hardship to his family, the debt was paid some years after his death,  cr Baron of Kendal in May 1784, died at Lowther Hall, 24 May 1802, aged 65, and buried in family vault in Lowther church, 9 June (LF, 280-305);  another tradition [a legend?] has it that he fell off his horse and was buried at Hugh’s Laithes Pike, Naddle Low Forest, where there is a cairn, Readihough, 212; CW2 lxxxvii 171

Lowther, James (1753-1837), politician, Colonel, yr son of Revd Henry Lowther (qv), born at Bowness (C), 23 February 1753 and bapt there, 12 April, educ?, marr (1782) Mary Forsyth Codrington (died at Brighton, 1830), 5 sons and 5 daus, followed parliamentary career under patronage of Sir James Lowther (qv) and acted as his chief of staff, MP for Westmorland 1775-1812 and for Appleby 1812-1818, Equerry to Duke of Gloucester 1782-1789, comd Cumberland Militia for many years until 1798 when he transferred to Westmorland Militia as Colonel, left Parliament after 43 years in financial difficulty, but rejected all appointents offered, of Kensington Gravel Pits, London, but driven abroad by financial problems and died at Caen, Normandy, in 1837, aged 84 (portraits by George Romney) (LF, 146-148, HoP, 3, 60 and 4, 460-461)

Lowther, James Harrington (1827-1868), sculptor, born in India, in 1827, 3rd and yst son of Judge William Lowther (1782-1833) by his 2nd wife, Caroline Frances Becher, and brother of Major-General W H and Revd J M Lowther (qv), exhibited at Royal Academy in 1857 and 1866, inc statue of Emperor Napoleon III, died unmarried 1868 (LF, 150)

Lowther, James Hugh William, 7th earl of Lonsdale (1922-2006), landowner and businessman, born 3 November 1922, er son of viscount Lowther (qv), educ Eton, dropped out of Cambridge but awarded an Oxford degree, 2nd WW Royal Armoured Corps, active in the fight to preserve Ullswater from plans to create another reservoir, president of Cumbria Naturalists’ Trust (1964), director Border TV, chair Northern Sports Council, part owner of Motivator, a race horse, marr four times, eight children, died in Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle, 23 May 2006, and buried at Lowther; (dau, Jane Helen marr (19 December 1968, at Lowther) Gary Hunter Wooten, Lieut, US Air Force, Texas) (LF, 406)

Lowther, James William, 1st Viscount Ullswater (1855-1949), PC, GCB, JP, LLM, Speaker of House of Commons, born 1 April 1855, eldest son of William Lowther (qv),  MP for Rutland 1883-1885 and for Mid-Cumberland 1886-1921, Speaker 1905-1921, Master of Blencathra Foxhounds 1903-1919 (succ John Crozier, qv), member of CWAAS from 1889, cr Viscount Ullswater on retirement as Speaker in 1921, author of A Speaker’s Commentaries (1925), died at Campsea Ashe, near Wickham Market, Suffolk, 27 March 1949 (portrait as Speaker by Philip Laszlo, 1907)

Lowther, Sir John (d.1382; ODNB)

Lowther, John (1582-1624), episopal bailiff, bapt 27 May 1582, eldest son of Robert Lowther (qv), marr (4 February 1604) Elizabeth (will dated 5 December 1658, proved 28 June 1659), niece of bishop Robinson (in dio 1598-1616), 6 sons and 3 daus, apptd constable in 1613 and bailiff of Rose in 1620, but dismissed by bishop Snoden (in dio 1616-1624) on advice of his chaplain, Robert Wright (qv), later Archdeacon of Carlisle, legal action in Dalston church before Sir Thomas Lamplugh, of Dovenby (qv), on 3 October 1620, but later restored by bishop Milbourne to office of bailiff and keeper (but not constable, this office not revived) by letters patent of 24 September 1623, died in August 1624 and buried at Dalston, 19 August (will dated 4 August 1624, proved at Carlisle, January 1625) (CW2, xxxix, 121-23, 132; RC, 168-169, 219-224)

Lowther, Sir John, 2nd Bt. (1642-1706; ODNB), supervised the considerable growth of Whitehaven; CW1 ix 333; J.V. Beckett, Coal and Tobacco: The Lowthers and the Economic Development of West Cumberland 1660-1700, Cambridge, 1981; improvements on his Ravenstonedale estate in 1669 indicating investment in farming after Restoration (Long Vellum Book in CRO, D/Lons/L3/1/5)

Lowther, Sir John, 1st viscount Lonsdale (1655-1700), regarded by Queen Mary II as ‘a very honest but weak man, yet chief of the Treasury’ (LF, 205)

Lowther, John Mordaunt (1824-1888), clergyman, born in India, in 1824, 2nd son of Judge William Lowther (1782-1833) [of Colby Leathes branch] by his 2nd wife, Caroline Frances Becher, and yr brother of Major-General W H Lowther (qv), PC of Hensingham 1858, Rector of Whicham 1855-1874, when he succ his uncle Henry (qv) as Rector of Bolton until his death in 1888, both livings in gift of Lord Lonsdale, unmarried, eccentric bachelor, well known at local shows as frequent exhibitor of horses (LF, 150)

Lowther, (Gladys Mary) Juliet (1881-1965), later Lady Duff, only daughter of St George Lowther, the 4th earl of Lonsdale (qv) and Lady Gwladys Herbert [sister of earl of Pembroke], (as the earl had no male heir the title passed to his younger brother Hugh the 5th and ‘Yellow earl’ (qv)), married 1st Sir Robert George Vivian  Duff 2nd Bt. (1876-1914) an explorer and big game hunter, m. 2nd Major Keith Trevor in 1919, divorced 1926 (in 1927 he married Mlle Jane Marnac (1892-1976), a film star described as the ‘Pola Negri of France’), very interested in ballet, promoted Diaghilev, commonplace book 1916 of poetry includes work by Hilaire Belloc, GK Chesterton and WB Yeats (JJ Burns Library, Boston), also knew Somerset Maugham, Cecil Beaton, Olivier and Vivien Leigh, friendly with queen Mary and Winston Churchill,  raised funding for Charing Cross hospital, letters from Maurice Baring, one beginning ‘Dear Animated Bust’ is the title of a book of 1981; Juliet Nicholson, The Perfect Summer; England in 1911; also Hugo Vickers, Quest for Queen Mary, ch.12, 137ff; mss see National Archives in various collections

Lowther, Katharine, Duchess of Bolton (1735-1809), born in January 1735, 2nd dau of Robert Lowther (qv), of Maulds Meaburn and Catherine Pennington, and sister of James Lowther, 1st earl (qv), but lived in Bath with her mother, Katharine, where she met Colonel James Wolfe (qv), who was visiting his parents, at Christmas 1757 and again at end of 1758 when he proposed and was accepted, but left for Canada on 15 February 1759 and died during battle for Quebec on 13 September 1759, giving miniature of his fiancée on eve of battle to his old friend, John Jervis, having directed in his will that it ‘be set in jewels to the amount of 500 guineas and returned to her’, marr (8 April 1765, at St George’s, Hanover Square) Harry Powlett, later 6th and last Duke of Bolton (1720-1794), Admiral of the White, as his 2nd wife, 2 daus, died in Grosvenor Square, London, 21 March 1809, aged 73, and buried with her husband at St Mary’s Church, Basing, 29 March (GM 1735; LF, 276-277)

Lowther, Lancelot Edward, 6th Earl of Lonsdale (1867-1953), OBE, soldier, born at Wilton Crescent, London, 25 June 1867, yst son of 3rd Earl (qv), educ Cheltenham and Malvern Colleges and Magdalene College, Cambridge, marr 1st (1889) Sophia Gwendoline Alice Sheffield (1868-1921), 1 son (Anthony Edward, qv) and 2 daus, marr 2nd (1923) Sybil Beatrix Feetham (1901-1966), 1 son (Timothy Lancelot Edward (1925-1984), Lieut, RN), joined army in 1886 as 2nd Lieut, Liverpool Regt, transferring to Border Regt as Captain in 1890, served in Burma Expedition of 1891-92 and in Somaliland in 1903, retiring as Major in 1908, rejoined on outbreak of WW1 and served as a King’s Messenger (OBE, 1919), friend of Prince of Wales (later, Edward VII), who sponsored his son in 1896, Field Master to Quorn and Cottesmore Hunts, succ brother in 1944 aged 76, died 11 March 1953, aged 85, and buried in Lowther churchyard, 16 March (memorial in church) (LF, 405-406)

Lowther, Leonard (fl.1600-1662), preacher at Greystoke, one of the ejected of 1662; CW2 xl 56

Lowther, Lady Mary (nee Stuart), countess of Lonsdale (1739-1824), watercolour painter, eldest dau of earl of Bute, marr (7 September 1761, at St George’s, Hanover Square, London) Sir James Lowther (1736-1802), earl of Lonsdale (qv), no issue, separated in 17xx, painted many works including several at Dove Cottage including Windermere from the top of Orrest (1766), died 8 April 1824, aged 85, and buried in Fulham parish church (memorial in north transept of Lowther church erected by Viscount Lowther); Stephen Hebron, In the Line of Beauty, ex cat Dove Cottage, 2008, 21-32

Lowther, Col Richard, governor of Pontefract castle, his brother Robert (qv) was his adjutant 

Lowther, Robert (1611-1670), BCL, lawyer, clergyman and chancellor, born at Ingleton, 29 January 1610/11 and bapt there, 30 January, 7th son of William Lowther (1574-1641), of Ingleton (LF, 103-104), educ Jesus College, Oxford (BCL, 11 October 1631), marr (1634, at Ingleton) Rebecca Stockdale (1619-1665, buried at St Mary’s Abbeygate, Carlisle, 5 December 1665), 6 sons and 4 daus, prob practised as lawyer until ordained by bishop of Carlisle on 10 March 1639, adjutant to his eldest brother, Col Richard Lowther (qv), at sieges of Pontefract in 1644-45, rector of Bentham and of Ingleton 1653, ejected in 1655 but refused to leave benefice, restored in 1660, apptd chancellor of Carlisle 1660-1666 and vicar general and official principal to bishop Sterne (21 April 1661), resigned in 1666, but retaining his livings, rector of Bewcastle (instituted to 29 May 1663 on presentation by D&C, but also had dispensation to hold Bentham with Bewcastle rectory, dated 17 February 1661/62 in SPD Entry Book), died aged 59 and buried at Abbeygate, Carlisle, 8 November 1670 (seal as chancellor) (ECW, i, 293; LF 126-127, 423)

Lowther, Robert (1681-1745), of Maulds Meaburn, eldest son of Richard Lowther, governor of Barbados from 1711-1714 and 1715-1720, marr Katherine Pennington dau of Sir Joseph of Muncaster

Lowther, St George Henry, 4th earl of Lonsdale (1855-1882), DL, born 4 October 1855, eldest son of 3rd earl (qv), marr (1878) Lady Constance Gwladys Herbert (1859-1917), 1 dau (Gladys Mary Juliet (1881-1965) (qv), wife of (1) Sir Robert George Vivian Duff, Bt (d.1914) and (2) Keith Trevor, MC), his racehorse Pilgrimage won the 1000 and 2000 guineas in 1878, he had a scandalous relationship with the young actress Connie Gilchrist (qv), never in good health, died at Carlton House Terrace, London, 8 February 1882, aged 26, and buried at Lowther, 14 February (LF, 401); in the absence of a male heir his brother Hugh, the 5th earl, inherited the title in 1882

Lowther, Sir Thomas (1699-1745), 2nd Bt of Holker, er son of Sir William Lowther, 1st Bt (qv), put under guardianship of his maternal grandmother, Elizabeth Preston (nee Bradshaigh), who redeemed debts on Holker estate and improved property, returned from tour of Switzerland, France and Low Countries in 1719, marr (July 1723) Lady Elizabeth Cavendish (d.1747), dau of 2nd Duke of Devonshire, 1 son (Sir William, 3rd Bt, (qv) and 1 dau (Elizabeth (b. & d. 1728), with dowry of £12,000, MP for Lancaster 1722-1745, whig but noted for his political independence, active member of Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge, governor of Foundling Hospital, obtained charter for market at Cartmel in 1730-31 (TNA, Patent Roll, 4 Geo II, pt iii, no 8), wife’s insanity (put into care of physicians in 1737 and remained so till she died in Chelsea in 1747) possibly drove him to drink, ill for two years before he died at Bath, 23 March 1745, and buried in Cartmel Priory, leaving estate in even greater debt  (LF, 264-265; JVB in THSLC, 127 (1978))

Lowther, William (fl.1414-1469), bishop’s constable, apptd Constable of Rose Castle by his grandfather, Bishop William Strickland, by letters patent, 4 June 1414 (CW2, xxxix, 111-114; LF, 37)

Lowther, William (1744-1813), DD, clergyman, born at Bowness (C), 21 September 1744, er son of Revd Henry Lowther (qv), educ Carlisle Grammar School and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1767, DD 1770), ^^^^ declined offer of bishopric of Carlisle in 1787, died unmarried at Lowther, 29 December 1813, after taking Christmas services, and buried there, 3 January 1814 (LF, 146)

Lowther, William (1757-1844; ODNB), 1st Earl of Lonsdale (cr.1807), KG, born in Little Preston Hall, 29 December 1757 and bapt at Swillington, 2 February 1758, er son of Revd Sir William Lowther, 1st Bt of Swillington (1797-1788) and of Anne Zouch (1723-1759), educ Felsted School, Essex (1769-70), Westminster School (1771-73), private tutelage of uncle, Revd Thomas Zouch, and Trinity College, Cambridge (1776-78), marr (12 July 1781 at St James’s, Piccadilly) Lady Augusta Fane, dau of 9th Earl of Westmorland, 2 sons and 5 daus, MP for Carlisle 1780-1784 and for Rutland 1796-1802, Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland and Westmorland 1802-1844, granted Lordship and Barony of Kendal by Commissioners of HM Woods, Forests and Land Revenues, 17 December 1810, President of Whitehaven Dispensary, died 19 March 1844 (portrait as Viscount Lowther by John Opie, 1806; portrait aged about 82 by Jacob Thompson) (LF, 379-388); owner of coal mines, commissioned Robert Smirke Jr. to build Lowther Castle and the Citadel, Carlisle; see Hugh Owen, The Lowther Family, 1990; statue by the citadel in Carlisle, David A. Cross, 2017, pp.147

Lowther, William (1782-1833), judge, eldest son of Colonel James Lowther (qv), marr 1st Elleanor Louisa Grief, 1 son and 2 daus (all died young), marr 2nd (1818, in India) Caroline Frances, sister of Captain Martin Becher (who gave his name to Becher’s Brook at Aintree), 3 sons and 1 dau, entd East India Company service in 1803, apptd judge in 1816, and Judge of Provincial Court of appeal at Benares in Bengal Presidency, India, died at Benares, 3 March 1833 (LF, 148)

Lowther, William (1787-1872; ODNB), 2nd Earl of Lonsdale, PC, FRS, FSA, born at Uffington, 30 July 1787, known as Viscount Lowther from 1807, MP for Cockermouth 1808-1813, Westmorland 1813-1831 and 1832-1841, and Dunwich (February-August) 1832, persuaded to retire from his Westmorland seat in favour of Alexander Nowell in May 1831 (LC, 83), but regained it in 1832, summoned to House of Lords in father’s barony as Baron Lowther in September 1841, characterised as ‘Lord Eskdale’ in Disraeli’s novel Coningsby, held number of posts in govt, Lord President of Council in Derby’s administration of February-December 1852, Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland and Westmorland 1844-1868, laid foundation stone of Westmorland Society School at Norwood Road, Herne Hill, South East London on 4 May 1852, first President of CWAAS 1866-1872, unmarried, with Ann Lowther (qv) acting as his hostess at Lowther Castle, died at 14 Carlton House Terrace, London, 4 March 1872, aged 84, and buried in family mausoleum at Lowther (which he had caused to be built in 1857 and which contains his seated statue), 12 March (portrait by James Ward) (LF, 390-392); postmaster general; CWAAS 150th volume p.303ff

Lowther, William (1821-1912), diplomat, 3rd and yst son of Henry Cecil Lowther (qv), marr (1853) Charlotte Alice Parke (1829-1908), dau of 1st and last Baron Wensleydale, 4 sons and 3 daus, MP for Westmorland 1868-1885 and for Appleby/North Westmorland 1885-1892 (LF, 396-397)

Lowther, William Henry (1821-1898), army officer, born in India, in 1821, eldest son of Judge William Lowther (17820-1833), by his 2nd wife Caroline Frances Becher, and brother of Revd J M Lowther (qv) and J H Lowther (qv), commissioned as an ensign in 52nd Native Infantry Regt in Bengal Army of East India Company in 1840, (details of army career in India, esp during Mutiny in 1857 and expedition against Abors in 1858 in unpublished letter to The Times of 15 March 1894, copy in CRO, DX 475), retired from Army in 1879 and promoted to honorary rank of major-general, returned home to Cumberland (at Eden Lacy in 1894) to pursue interests in botany and horticulture, marr (1861) Amelia Jessie (1845-1919), dau of Hon R C Painter (MLA, Cape Colony), 3 sons and 1 dau, died at Eden Lacy, Great Salkeld, in July 1898 (memorial window of coat-of-arms and crest (Magistratus Virum Indicat) by Powell, of Whitefriars, in north nave of St Cuthbert’s church, Great Salkeld) (LF, 150-151, 425)

Lowthian family, Hudleston ( C )

Lowthian, George, R.C. Kirkoswald; CW2 lix 125

Lowthian, Jabez (b.1823), painter, native of Renwick, Penrith, watercolours, Mardale Church in Snow, The Old Mill at Dockwray and The Cross Keys, in mid-19th century; Durham cathedral library, special collections, holds a letter from him

Lowthian, T. (fl.early 19thc.), poet, born Cockermouth, Fiorine and Other Poems, 1827

Lowthian, Revd William (c.1849-1906), MA, clergyman, Vicar of Troutbeck, buried at Troutbeck, 17 February 1906, aged 57

Lucas sisters, Anne and Matilda (fl. early 20thc), potters and suffragists, daughters of the artist Samuel Lucas (qv), spent time in Rome, tenants of Stanegarth, above Bampton; Hyde and Pevsner, 126n

Lucas, John (16xx-17xx), schoolmaster and antiquary, son of farmer, of Carnforth, educ Warton Grammar School, author of A History of Warton Parish (17xx) (new illustrated edition by Andy Denwood, 2017) (WG, 25.01.2018)

Lucas, Margaret Bright (nee Bright), suffragist and temperance campaigner, born Rochdale, dau of Jacob Bright (1775-1851), cotton mill owner, sister of John Bright the statesman (1811-1889; ODNB), marr a cousin Samuel Lucas a corn exchange merchant, lived Alderley Edge, she was friendly with Rosalind Howard (qv) and they were members of the British Women’s Temperance League (est 1876), Margaret was also chair of the Bloomsbury branch of the Women’s Liberal Association, also involved in the repeal of the Contagious Diseases Act, her dau Katherine marr John Pennington Thomasson MP (1841-1904), she knew Canon Hardwicke Rawnsley (qv); HDR biography

Lucas, Samuel (1805-1870; ODNB), watercolour painter, friend and distant relative of Jacob Thompson (qv), who introduced him to Haweswater, staying at Measand Beck Hall, marr, 1 son (Samuel, junior, also an artist) and 2 daus (Anne and Matilda (qqv), artists and ceramic painters, who returned from Rome at turn of century to live at Stanegarth above Bampton (1905, 1910, 1914, 1921, but only one Miss Lucas in 1929), friends of H D Rawnsley and Hugh Walpole qqv)

Luccini family, arrived from Italy in Keswick, makers of ice cream; Brucciani and Pieri family (qqv)

Luckley, Harold Ogle (19xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Wadham College, Oxford (MA), Hon C F, Rector of Aikton from 1928, also treasurer of Aikton Reading Room

Lucy family of Cockermouth and Egremont; CW1 xi 399

Lucy, Anthony de (d.1343), baron, son of Thomas de Lucy (d.1305), aged 50 or more in 1331, summoned to Parliament by writ in 1321,

Lucy, Anthony de (d.1368), lord of Cockermouth and Egremont, ‘St Bees Man’ (see below), son of Anthony de Lucy, marr (1366) Joan FitzHenry (who later marr Greystoke and died at Clerkenwell, London in 1403), 1 dau (Joan died 30 September 1369, aged 3), died ‘in terra sancta’ in 1368, while on crusade aiding Teutonic knights in Lithuania, with (prob) Lord Beaumont and Walter FitzWalter, and buried in chancel chapel of St Bees Priory church; tomb excavated in 1981 and autopsy on remarkably preserved body, aged about 40, interred within a lead wrapping, indicated a violent death due to haemothorax (bleeding in right lung) from puncture caused by a rib fracture and also fractured mandible and hyoid caused by heavy blow to side of head, his body reburied, but skeleton of lady by his side (‘SK 100’) retained for analysis and now thought to be identified as his sister, Maud (qv sub Henry Percy, Earl of Northumberland); (John Macnair Todd, The St Bees Man and the Medieval Way of Death, lecture text 1985, following a collaborative project involving physicians, the body is thought to be Lucy but may also be that of Robert de Harrington (www.stbees.org.uk))

Lumb, James (1826-1901), DL, JP, son of William Lumb (qv), marr (1858) Juliana Georgina (1838-1869), dau and coheir of Joseph Harrison (qv), of Linethwaite, son (Edward James Machell, Capt, JP, of Northcroft House, Englefield Green, Surrey), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1880, of Homewood, Hensingham (formerly Chapel House) and Cunsey, Windermere 

Lumb, Robert (d.1819), agent to Earl of Lonsdale, died aged 54 in 1819; George Lumb, agent at Lowther in 1862

Lumb, William (17xx-18xx), DL, JP, son of Robert Lumb (qv), of Brigham Hall and Meadow House, near Whitehaven

Lumley, Marmaduke (fl.early 15thc), bishop of Carlisle 1430-50; CW2 lv 112

Lund, Hilda (nee Canter) (1922-2007), DSc, PhD, BSc, Dip Ed, FRPS, biologist and photographer, born in Highbury, London, in 1922, only dau of a gas fitter and his wife,   in local council office, both keen Arsenal football supporters and devout churchgoers at Highbury, educ Drayton Park school, Camden High School for Girls (captain of hockey team), and Bedford College, University of London (evacuated to Cambridge because of bombing), gaining BSC in botany, zoology and physics, and where she first became interested in lower fungi, esp chytrids (mainly parasites of other organisms, esp algae), took diploma in education 1945, but got post-graduate studentship for doctorate at Queen Mary College before taking up a teaching post to work under Professor C T Ingold, a mycologist and new professor of botany at Birkbeck College, rather than with Professor F E Fritch, who was chairman of council of Freshwater Biological Association, so had second studentship as an external student of University of London working on scientific study of microscopic algae in the Lake District, based first at Wray Castle, then at Ferry House, Windermere for FBA, with her husband-to-be, Dr John Lund (1912-2014) (qv), esp on development of parasitism, writing several papers on the subject, completing her doctorate, then appointed to new post of mycologist at FBA in 1948, then did work on protozoans, finding only second recorded example of a protozoan which ingested algae in their garden pond, awarded DSc from Queen Mary College in 1955, obtained grant from Royal Society for purchase of photo microscope and took pictures of algae that were used as illustrations in publications around the world (inc one used for advertising David Attenborough’s BBC tv series, Life on Earth), rejoined staff of FBA once her children (son Richard and dau) were older, also won prizes for her flower arrangements at Hawkshead Show and selected to do flower arrangement for opening of new Youth Hostel at Buttermere, purchased house Ellerbeck in Ellerigg after their marriage in 1949, with large garden, also expert photographer, Fellow of Royal Photographic Society 1965, won (with husband) Prescott award from American Phycological Society in 1997 for best book about algae, awarded Benefactor’s medal by British Mycological Society in 1991 and elected a centennial fellow of the society in 1996, Canter-Lund Prize for photography established in her honour by British Phycological Society (60th anniversary exhibition of her photographs on display at Ambleside Library in January-February 2013, with copy of their book, Freshwater Algae: Their Microscopic World Explored), author of 74 papers, 25 in collaboration with other colleagues, developed Alzheimers disease in her later years, died in 2007 (WG, 24.01.2013; Ambleside Oral History interview; personal and scientific papers and correspondence, field notebooks, drawings of algae and fungi, photographs, etc in FBA Collection)

Lund, John Walter Guerrier (1912-2015), microbial limnologist, educ Sedbergh School, Manchester university and London university (PhD), worked on microalgae and the ecology of the planktonic diatom Asterionella which dominates the algal ‘bloom’ each spring on Windermere, joined the Freshwater Biological Association at Wray Castle in 1944 and moved later to Ferry House where he worked full time until 1978 and part time until 2005, his colleagues here included Hilda Canter (later his wife) and Jack Talling (qqv); limnology.org/notablelimnologists

Lunn, Sir Arnold Henry Moore (1888-1974), MD of Lunn Poly travel and co-founder with bishop Pearson (qv) of the Achille Ratti climbing club (qv)

Lupton, Roger (1456-1540; ODNB), founder of Sedbergh School, Provost of Eton College, Canon of Windsor, ordained acolyte at York, 23 September 1475, acting a conduct at King’s College Chapel, Cambridge in 1479 (R Cann)

Lutwidge, Charles (1722-1784), DL, JP, born 29 January 1722/3 and bapt at St Bees, 24 February, eldest son of Thomas Lutwidge (qv) by his 2nd wife Lucy, Surveyor and Comptroller-General of coasts of Cumberland and Westmorland, and Port of Lancaster, Receiver and Surveyor-General of Isle of Man, purchased Holmrook Hall, and manor of Seascale, and manor of Bolton in 1750, died unmarried in October 1784, succ by brother, Henry (qv)

Lutwidge, Charles (1768-1848), soldier, born 15 June 1768 and bapt at Walton-le-Dale, 29 June, eldest son of Henry Lutwidge (qv), marr (15 January 1798) Elizabeth Anne (died 17 April 1836), dau of Right Revd Charles Dodgson, Bishop of Elphin, 2 sons (Charles Henry (qv) and Robert Wilfred Skeffington (born 17 January 1802, died unm 25 May 1872), barrister) and 6 daus (of whom 2nd Frances was mother of Lewis Carroll), commissioned as Lieutenant in Royal Lancashire Militia on 18 February 1795, promoted to captain on 9 December 1797, served in Ireland and promoted to major on 26 July 1803, but resigned his commission on 3 May 1805, apptd Collector of Customs at port of Hull on 26 December 1805 thanks to influence of his wealthy merchant cousin, Samuel Thornton, of Albury Park, Surrey, and MP for Hull 1784-1806, held post until 3 May 1841, had little interest in his Cumberland estates, which he sold to his uncle, Admiral Skeffington (qv) in 1798 x 1814, in hope that his grandson (C R F) would not return to his inheritance at Holmrook, dictated two memoranda re family affairs to his yr son RWS on 26 June 1847, died 7 September 1848; portrait by John Hoppner in 1805 (CW2, lxv, 421-23, with portrait facing 424)

Lutwidge, Charles Henry (1800-1843), MA, clergyman, born 21 March 1800, er son of Charles Lutwidge (qv), educ Cambridge University (MA), marr (3 November 1831) Anne Louisa (died 15 February 1877, aged 80), only dau of Robert Raikes, of Welton House, co York, 1 son (CRF, qv) and 1 dau (Caroline Louisa (born 10 April 1837 and died unm 8 April 1877, with memorial window in north of nave of Irton church), Vicar of East Farleigh, Kent, died v.p. 15 January 1843

Lutwidge, Charles Robert Fletcher (1835-1907), DL, JP, MA, barrister, born 2 August 1835, only son of Revd C H Lutwidge (qv), educ Cambridge University (MA), called to bar, Lincoln’s Inn, JP by 1873 and DL by 1894 for Cumberland, also DL and JP for Kent, Knight of Grace of Order of St John of Jerusalem, of Shandon, Kent, and Holmrook Hall, to which he succ in 1854 (or 1861?), died in 1907 and succ by his cousin, Lieut-Col Ernest Frederick Lowthorpe (qv sub Lowthorpe-Lutwidge)

Lutwidge, Emily, possibly another daughter of Thomas [1770-1845], who marr John Cookson and whose dau Sarah Jane marr Henry Francis Cockayne-Cust, father of Henry John (Harry) Cockayne-Cust (1861-1917), of Belton House, Lincs, whose illegitimate dau Beatrice Stephenson marr Alfred Roberts, grocer, of Grantham, father of Margaret Thatcher (WN, 06.02.2019)

Lutwidge, Henry (1724-1798), landowner, born 17 June 1724 and bapt at St Bees, 7 July, 2nd son of Thomas Lutwidge (qv) by his first wife Lucy, marr (8 September 1767) Jane (d.1791), dau and coheir of Rigby Molyneux, of Preston, by his wife Mary, dau of Oliver Marton, of Lancaster, 3 sons (Charles qv, Skeffington qv, and Henry Thomas qv) and 5 daus, acting as steward to Hoghton estate by 1769, but moved from Walton-le-Dale to Holmrook on succ to his brother’s estates in 1784, died 1 August 1798

Lutwidge, Henry Thomas (1780-1861), Commander, RN, born 14 October 1780, 3rd and yst son of Henry Lutwidge (qv), of Holmrook Hall, in 1854, marr Mary (born 17 January 1779, died 12 October 1859), dau of John Taylor, of Townhead, Lancs, of Iveing Cottage, Ambleside (1849), died s.p. at The Cottage, Ambleside, 30 January 1861, aged 80, and buried at Ambleside, 5 February (brass memorial in St Mary’s Church, Ambleside)

Lutwidge, Skeffington (1737-1814; DCB), Admiral, RN, arctic explorer, born at Whitehaven, 13 March 1737 and bapt at St Bees, 6 April, 7th and yst son of Thomas Lutwidge (qv) by his 2nd wife Lucy, second in command (to Constantine Phipps) of Admiralty expedition sailing towards the North Pole from north of Spitsbergen in 1773 (record for sailing furthest north for many years), comdg HMS Carcass (with Nelson as midshipman), making considerable scientific observations and spending two weeks trying to find leads through pack ice, which broke up just in time to allow their esape south, marr Catherine, dau of Richard Bateson, of Londonderry, and sister of Sir Robert Bateson Harvey, Bt, of Killoquin, co Antrim, no issue, purchased Cumberland estates from his nephew, Major Charles Lutwidge (qv), which he then left to his next nephew, Major Skeffington Lutwidge (qv), died s.p. 15 August 1814, aged 77, and buried at Irton (MI in Irton church); Rob David, In Search of Arctic Wonders

Lutwidge, Skeffington (1779-1854), DL, JP, soldier, born 23 May 1779, 2nd son of Henry Lutwidge (qv), marr (19 March 1811) Mary Margaret (died 10 January 1873), dau of Gen Lockhart, of Lanarkshire, inherited Holmrook Hall estate from his uncle, Admiral Skeffington Lutwidge (qv) in 1814, formerly Major in 11th Regt of Native Infantry, Madras Army, HEICS, DL and JP for Cumberland, died s.p. 3 February 1854 and succ by his brother, Henry Thomas (qv), and by his great nephew, C RF (qv)

Lutwidge, Thomas (1670-1745), JP, tobacco merchant, born in Ireland in 1670, son of Thomas Lutwidge (or Lutwiche), officer in army of William III in Ireland, later came to Whitehaven, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1726, marr (by 1702) 1st Hannah Rumbold (died pre-1721), 1 son (Palmer, born 19 January 1702/3, died 10 April 1704), marr 2nd (6 February 1721/2, at Brindle, Lancs) Lucy (died 7 September 1780), 6th and yst dau of Sir Charles/Henry Hoghton, 4th Bt, of Hoghton Tower, Lancs, 7 sons (Charles (born 29 January 1722/3) qv), Henry (born 17 June 1724) qv), Thomas (born 5 October 1725, of Whitehaven), John (born 23 July 1728, died unm 1749), Samuel (born 15 November 1730, Lieut, RN, died unm 1757), Walter (born 17 December 1733, died young), and Skeffington (born 13 March 1736/7) (qv)) and 3 daus (Margaret (born 6 February 1726/7, wife of Hill Watson, who died in July 1773), Cordelia (born 5 March 1731/2) and Lucy (born 30 April 1735, bapt 30 May, but died infant)), all bapt at St Bees, when of Whitehaven), built St Bees lighthouse, trustee of the chapel James St Whitehaven, died in debt in Dublin 28 August 1745, aged 85, will dated 29 August 1732 and proved 12 December 1747; CW1 iii 371; Neil Curry, Cumberland Coast, 117

Lutwidge, Walter (fl.mid 18thc), tobacco merchant and slaver, born in Ireland, yr son of Thomas Lutwidge (or Lutwiche) and brother of Thomas Lutwidge (qv), voyages to Angola in 1733 and 1737, lived Lowther St, Whitehaven, High Sheriff Cumberland 1748; Skeffington Lutwidge sold house 1801,  CW1 iii 371; London University slavery website

Lutwidge, Ernest Frederick Lowthorpe- (1865-19xx), DL, JP, Lt-Col, born 1865, grandson of Thomas Raikes, of Welton, and Elizabeth Frances (born 1799, died 19 March 1883), eldest dau of Major Charles Lutwidge (qv), succ his cousin, C R F Lutwidge at Holmrook Hall in 1907, assumed addnl surname and arms of Lutwidge in 1909, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1922, but Holmrook sold? by 1925, marr, son (Ernest Cecil Fletcher (1896-1971), of xxx)

Lyall, Edna, author of Hope the Hermit: A Novel (1917), set in 17th century Cumberland, which she dedicated to Canon and Mrs Rawnsley ‘In memory of pleasant hours at Crosthwaite’

Lyde, William (c.1830-1914), MA, JP, clergyman, teacher, and councillor, educ Queen’s College, Cambridge (scholar, BA (24th Wrangler) 1851, MA 1855), mathematics master at King Edward Grammar School, Bath 1851-1855, d 1855 (Ches) and p 1856 (Carl), curate of Holy Trinity, Whitehaven 1855-1856, curate of Wigton and chaplain of Wigton Workhouse 1856-1857 and vicar of Wigton 1857-1870, vicar of Brough-under-Stainmore 1870-1913, surrogate, dio Carlisle 1857-1913, hon canon of Carlisle cathedral 1906-1913, chairman of Brough Council school managers, teacher of classics, running a ‘crammer’ for university and army entrants (had five boarders from London, Lancashire and Cumberland, when also a widower with 3 daus in 1881; his wife Elizabeth Emily Hart Lyde had died at the vicarage, aged 32, and was buried 13 June 1874), also had 2 sons (xxxx and Henry Herbert, of 62 Front Road, Tunbridge Wells, who died at Ticehurst House, Ticehurst, Sussex, aged 93, and cremated remains buried at Brough, 11 September 1958), gave much time to public service as chairman of guardians of East Ward Poor Law Union, Brough Parish Council, and Westmorland County Council as member for Brough until 1893 when he lost to J B Walton (qv) by 133 votes to 59 (local newspaper, 16.03.1893), not a personal vote against him so much as a general protest against clerics dominating lay offices, JP for Westmorland 1881, noted also for falling under a train at Tebay station in December 1905 (between platform and rail while train moved over him; letter to local newspaper, 04.01.1906), retired in 1913 but too old to leave vicarage and so helped by curate until he died in 1914, aged 84 [but not buried at Brough]

Lynn, Elizabeth Eliza Lynn, see Linton

Lynn, James (1776-1855), clergyman, vicar of Crosthwaite, Keswick, father of Eliza Lynn Linton, novelist (qv)

Lysons, Daniel (1762-1834; ODNB), MA, antiquarian and topographer, son of the Rev Samuel Lysons of Gloucestershire, brother of Samuel (qv), author of The Environs of London 1792-6 (4 vols) and Magna Britannia (1806-1822) which includes Cumberland and not Westmorland

Lysons, Samuel (1763-1819; ODNB), FRS, FSA, antiquary, son of the Rev Samuel Lysons of Gloucestershire, took an early interest in Roman sites especially mosaics, yr brother of Daniel (qv), whom he assisted on Magna Britannia (1806-1822) which includes Cumberland and not Westmorland

Lyttelton, Lord (probably 5th Bart and 1st baron), recipient of the remarkable letter from Dr John Browne (qv) about the Lakes in 1753

Lyttelton, Charles (1714-1768; ODNB), DCL, FRS, FSA, clergyman, bishop of Carlisle and antiquary, born 1714, 3rd son of Sir Thomas Lyttelton, 4th Bt, and his wife, Christiana, dau of Sir Richard Temple, of Stowe, educ Eton and University College, Oxford, admitted barrister at Middle Temple in 1738, but after four years decided on career in church, ordained deacon and priest in 1742, rector of Alvechurch, Worcs, dean of Exeter, chaplain to George III, nominated bishop of Carlisle on 20 February 1762, succ Richard Osbaldeston (qv), and consecrated by archbishop of York in Whitehall Chapel on 21 March 1762, president of Society of Antiquaries, prone to illness in later years, with reduced circle of friends, unmarried, died 22 December 1768, aged 54 (finances in CW2, xcvi, 187-193); sat to Francis Cotes; ms letter to him and others An Account of the Plague at Aleppo by Thomas Dawes [1763] Royal Society coll.

Lyulph, the 1st lord of Greystoke to build a manor house, he was the son of Forne and of Viking descent, the barony was given to Forne by Henry I, his name was used in the 19thc for Lyulph’s tower, built adjacent to Aira Force by Charles Howard 11th duke of Norfolk (qv) as a hunting lodge above Ullswater