G

Gaddum, Henry E. (1856-1940), descendant of silk traders in China, philanthropist, chairman of the Together Trust; the Gaddum family built Brockhole, on Windermere; The Gaddum Family limited edition Manchester 1934; Peter W.G., Henry Theodore Gaddum, Manchester, 1973

Gaddum, Walter Frederick (Jim) (1888-1956), DL, army officer, Captain, born in 1888, son of Walter H A Gaddum (qv), of Brockhole, Windermere, educ Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge, marr (19xx) Benita Violet, dau of C E Fisher, of Distington, no children, joined Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry 1914, served WW1 in France with Border Regt, served WW2 with Home Guard 1942, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1943, formerly member of Cumberland and Westmorland T A Assoc, DL Westmorland, Master of Windermere Harriers from 1923, also owned Side House, Burneside, which he let to David and Peggy Cole in 1953-56 (Our Lakeland Odyssey, 2012), of Braban House, Burneside, died 9 October 1956 (WG obit)

Gaddum, Walter Henry Augustus (18xx-1945), Manchester merchant, marr Edith, dau of Walter Potter and cousin of Beatrix Potter (qv), 1 son (qv), built Brockhole, Windermere in 1899 and commissioned T H Mawson (qv) to design garden (arrangement of ‘terraces, gardens, entrance drives and plantation’) (CRO, WDB 86/ roll 150, photos) (now Lake District National Park Centre), chairman of trustees and executive committee, Ethel Hedley Hospital for Crippled Children, Calgarth (1930); The Gaddum Family limited edition Manchester 1934; Peter W.G., Henry Theodore Gaddum, Manchester, 1973

Gaff, Thomas, of Whitefield, and of Uldale Hall, lord of manor of Uldale, sold advowson of Uldale rectory to Revd Joseph Cape (qv) in 1798

Gaitskell, Isaac (1797-1877), clergyman, b. Irton, ed. Trinity College, Cambridge, curate Whitworth, near Rochdale, schoolmaster and vicar from 1841, first wife a granddaughter of the Rev Robert Walker of Seathwaite q.v., second wife a Miss Casson of Wabberthwaite, he died aged 80 described as having ‘great natural energy and zeal’, raised funds for the rebuilding of St Bartholomew’s  church, Whitworth, where there is a window to him; Fishwick, History of Rochdale, 169

Gaius Cossutius Saturninus (fl. 3rd c AD), Roman soldier, from Hippo Regius (now Annaba in Algeria), a member of the African 6th legion, his tombstone was excavated at Birdoswald in 1961, the inscription includes the words ‘Sacred to the spirits of the departed Gaius Cossutius Saturnius’ and Victrix Pia Fidelis; the last three words meaning ‘pious faithful conqueror’ are closely associated with the 6th legion, stone is in the Tullie House collection

Gale, Elisha (1645-1740), Whitehaven merchant, led the restoration of St Nicholas, Whitehaven in 1708 and commissioned Matthias Read’s Last Supper

Gale, George (1671-1712), Whitehaven merchant, visited Virginia where he met and married Mildred Warner Washington (qv), widowed grandmother of George Washington

Gale, Henry Richmond (fl.late 18thc.), major in British army, sat to Gilbert Stuart (portrait sold Cheffins c.2015)

Gale, Henry Richmond (1760-1814), Lieut-General, yr son, was of Bardsea

Gale, Henry Richmond (1866-1930), CMG, Brig-Gen. RE, of Bardsea Hall, sold estate in 1918 and emigrated to Vancouver (Bardsea Hall demolished in 1927), 3 daus and coheirs; his brother, Arthur Stephen Gale (1875-1963) was last of family in Furness

Gale, John (d.1716), colliery agent to the Lowthers, dismissed for embezzlement in 1707, son of John Gale (d.1680), of Tralee, Ireland, Newcastle upon Tyne, and Whitehaven (from c.1665), marr Mary, dau and coheir of Lancelot Carlisle, of Cairns (her sister Mary marr Edward Spedding, qv), 7 sons (CW2, lxxxii, 156)

Gale, John (1730-1814), of Highhead Castle and Cleator Hall, only son of William (c.1693-1773), of Whitehaven, and Margaret (d.1759), sister and coheir of Henry Richmond, acquired Bardsea Hall by marr to Sarah Braddyll (d.1774), dau and coheir of Christopher Wilson, of Bardsea Hall, 2 sons; his sister Isabella marr his father-in-law (AHC, 181)

Gale, Thomas, of Whitehaven, marr (9 September 1722, at Greystoke, by licence) Dorothy Sanderson, of Penrith (GPR, 365)

Gale, Wilson (d.1818), er son of John Gale (b.1730), assumed name and arms of Braddyll on inheriting Furness estates of kinsman, Thomas Braddyll in 1776 (qv)

Gall, Yves Mario le (1868-1945), hairdresser, b. France, son of Roland Le Gall, m. Louise Philomene Copie (b. St Etienne, Pont de Briques) at Westminster in 1887, her father Auguste Copie also a French born hairdresser, three daughters, moved to Carlisle c.1890 and built a distinctive building Maison Le Gall in Devonshire St with his name prominently displayed, he had an eccentric and grandiose manner and kept a box at the cinema, divorced Louise who then married a Mr Dias but he left his estate to her and her daughters, probate sworn at £18,900, lived latterly with a housekeeper at Villa St Roche, Etterby Scaur, Stanwix; ancestry.com

Gallagher, Bernard [1929-2016], actor, b Bradford, Yorks, son of Harry Gallagher and Ellen, ed Sheffield GS and university, RAF, at Lyme Regis with Donald Sartain qv, with Sartain in Barrow at Her Majesty’s theatre, played in Macbeth there in the 400th anniversary year, played in Waiting for Godot at the Royal Court, work at National Theatre and RSC, in TV was a founding member of the casts of both Holby City and East Enders

Gallagher, Harry (1949-2010), Mayor of Carlisle, disabled by spondylitis since age of 21, represented Yewdale and Belle Vue wards for Labour on Carlisle City Council for many years, Mayor of Carlisle 1986-87, died in December 2010, aged 61, with funeral at St James church, Carlisle, 22 December (CN, 24.12.2010)

Gandy, Anthony (1700-1779), papist, of French Lane, Kendal, buried in Kendal parish churchyard, 11 November 1779, aged 79

Gandy, Frederick William, formerly Brandreth (1812-1883), DL, JP, Lieut-Col, Scots Fusilier Guards, 2nd son of Joseph Pilkington Brandreth (1781-1858), MD, of Broad Green Hall, Liverpool, marr 2nd (1846) Jane (d.1883), er dau and coheir of James Gandy (qv), of Heaves, thereby acquiring Heaves estate and assumed name of Gandy in lieu of Brandreth in 1859, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1862, director of Kendal & Windermere Railway 1857-1859, moved from Hyning to Heaves Lodge in 1859, died aged 70 and buried at Heversham, 29 May 1883, succ by only son of his second marriage, James Milnes Gandy Gandy (qv)

Gandy, Henry (1834-1888), DL, JP, Captain, 83rd Foot, son of John Gandy, of Oakland, Windermere, marr (1859) Frances, yr dau and coheir of Revd Edward Hartley Orme and Mary, dau of Jeremiah Garnett, of Clitheroe, 1 son, bought Skirsgill Park, Penrith in 1879, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1880, and DL, died 1888

Gandy, Henry Garnett (1860-1939), CBE, DL, MA, solicitor, son of Captain Henry Gandy (qv), county director VAD for Cumberland and Westmorland (1920), DL but not JP for Cumberland, sold Skirsgill Park in 1925, died in 1939

Gandy, James (17xx-1837), the elder, woollen manufacturer and shearman, also girth webb manufacturer, of Stricklandgate, Kendal, with wife [Jane] and 3 sons (Thomas, John and James), apprentice and servant in 1787 (dau Elizabeth born 30 March and bapt 22 April 1784 at Kendal, but died?), known as ‘the punctual’, resided at 97 Stricklandgate and had his business premises next door (formerly residence of Duckett family of Grayrigg), buried at Kendal, 14 February 1837, aged 77 (KK, 351)

Gandy, James (1787-1859), the younger, woollen manufacturer, son of James Gandy (qv), of Stramongate, Kendal (1829), later of Heaves Lodge, nr Kendal, director of Kendal & Windermere Railway 1848-1856, trustee of Ambleside Turnpike Road from first meeting on 13 April 1824 until 1850s (minute book in CRO, WST/1), built several cottages on close called Longpool (formerly called Hubbersty Close) near Wildman Street, forming part of row of dwellings called Union Row, before 1820 (deeds in CRO, WD/RG/acc.303), made donation to Kendal Dispensary in 1844 invested in railway stock, using interest for work on preventing spread of infectious disorders,  marr Anna(i)s Hoggarth (buried at Heversham, 17 April 1858, aged 65), 1 son (James, died 26 December 1842, aged 21, and buried at Heverham, 31 December, with memorial in west window of Kendal Holy Trinity church by William Warrington, 1853) and 1 dau (Jane, wife of Lt-Col F W Brandreth (qv)), who succ to Heaves estate on his death in 1859, buried at Heversham, 27 August 1859, aged 69 (Heaves estate deeds and papers in CRO, WDX 1153)

Gandy, James Milnes Gandy, formerly Brandreth (1850-1917), DL, JP, BA, 2nd son of Frederick William Brandreth, later Gandy (qv), of Heaves, Levens, educ Christ Church, Oxford (BA), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1892, JP 1878, Westmorland County Councillor and County Alderman 1889, chairman of Standing Joint Committee 1908, governor of Heversham Grammar School for more than 30 years, held high office in Primrose League and Freemasons, original trustee of Levens Institute from 1903, original member of CWAAS from its foundation in 1866 (last but one surviving by time of his death), served as one of auditors 1888-1907, and elected a vice-president from 1907, ‘spent a life of benevolence and usefulness as a country gentleman in Westmorland’, died 7 July 1917, aged 67 (CW2, xvii, 262)

Gandy, John (c.1786-1859), woollen manufacturer, drysalter and mill owner, son of James Gandy (qv), of Dockray Hall Mill, tried to diversify into gunpowder manufacture in 1830, but his application to QS for a licence for site on river Sprint near Kendal rejected twice (finally on 24 April 1830) for being too near town and risk of fire, Chairman, Kendal & Windermere Railway 1848-1854 and director 1845-1856, trustee of Ambleside Turnpike Road from 1830s until his death, attending meeting on 14 September 1859, and regularly acted as chairman in 1850s (minute book 1824-1875 in CRO, WST 1), benefactor of St Mary’s church, Birthwaite, and chairman of landowners and ratepayers who raised money to buy church and land from John Addison (qv) for township of Applethwaite, church treasurer 1856, purchased (with J R Lingard, qv) Annesdale from John Ducker Beckitt on 8 January 1859 for use as St Mary’s Vicarage, formerly of Stricklandgate, Kendal (1829), Birthwaite (1851), Elleray (1853-55) and Oakland, Windermere (1856), marr (18xx) Magdalene Agnes, 8 sons (Gerrard (left Kendal to pursue banking career at Preston and iron industry in North Wales and Midlands, died in Caen in 1861), John (1823-1849) (qv), Henry (buried at Kendal, 15 February 1833, aged 6), Henry (1834-1888) (qv), Charles (purchased army commission and promotion to captain, of Barndale, Alnwick, Northumberland), George (of Old Court, Waterford, agent to Marquess of Waterford), William (born 14 September 1830 and priv bapt 19 September, Lieut, died on Isle of Wight, 24 June 1855, aged 23, in service of Crown) and James (C of E clergyman) and dau (wife of Benjamin Irving, qv), died 26 September 1859, aged 73, leaving some £40,000 and estates at Hallgarth, Sparrowmire, and Lee Yeates in Strickland Ketel and Nethergraveship; Michael Winstanley, CWAAS Newsletter autumn 2017

Gandy, John (1823-1849), ensign St Helena Regiment, born 6 June 1823, son of John Gandy (qv), of Oakland, Windermere (chairman of Kendal and Windermere railway), joined St Helena Regiment (the island’s military garrison from 1842), on 21 March 1845, died at St Helena, 24 February 1849, aged 24, and buried there (memorial in St James Church, Jamestown, St Helena, and three-light stained glass window in Holy Trinity Church, Kendal, erected by his elder brother Gerrard) (CWAAS Newsletter No.86, Autumn 2017, p.13); Michael Winstanley, CWAAS newsletter c.2010

Gandy, Thomas, shearman, of Stricklandgate, Kendal, with wife [Elizabeth], 3 sons (Thomas, Jackson and William) and 2 daus (Eliza and Mary), apprentice and 2 servants in 1787 (son Joseph bapt 23 May 1784 at Kendal, but died?), poss gent of Far Cross bank, Kendal (1829)?; Mary, dau of Thomas and Jane Gandy, of Stricklandgate, Kendal, bapt at Kendal, 16 October 1757; James, son of same, born 22 April and bapt 20 May 1759; Elizabeth Gandy marr (15 December 1794, at Kendal) Mr Henry Gaitskell, of Bermondsey, Surrey, with Thomas Gandy (father?) as witness

Gandy, William Donald Paul Watson- (18xx-19xx), MC, JP, Major, of Heaves, Levens (1921, 25, 29); son ? James Donald Watson Gandy, of Heaves, apptd a trustee of Levens Institute in 1942 (deed of 8 May 1942 in CRO, WDSo 88)

Gara, Tomi de (1914-1976), fled Budapest in 1937, cousin and business partner of Miki [Nicholas] Seckers qv at Seckers Silk Mills, Hensingham (est 1938), Rosehill, m. Bobbie, mother of Carole and Michael

Garbutt, John (d.2022), educ Ulverston GS and ? Manchester university, worked at Glaxo in Ulverston, in retirement in Allithwaite (although a scientist) was much involved with local history, had a considerable collection of books on Furness, this knowledge resulted in The Books of Furness and Cartmel, he published other books mostly with John Marsh (qv), Lancashire North of the Sands; Cumbrian Memories; Lake Counties of 100 Years Ago; Images of Cumbrian Railways; Barrow Past and Present; Around Barrow in Furness: Britain in Old Photographs; Barrow and Low Furness: The Changing Face of the Area, an active member of the Romney Society, painted a copy of the Romney self-portrait (the original at the National Portrait Gallery), involved with the Romney 200th anniversary service at Dalton, married to Barbara, one son Ian and one dau Louise, gave much encouragement to David Cross in his Romney studies and also with Cumbrian Lives, moved to Llandaff latterly to live nearer his family, Barbara pre-deceased him, he died in Cardiff in late December 2022, funeral on 20th January 2023 at Cardiff

Garden, James (c.1824-1896), mason and builder, born Cullen, Aberdeen, worked with Ald Gradwell (qv) of Barrow, member of the burial board, surveyor of highways Dalton, an overseer of the poor, churchwarden, member of the gas committee, master builder 1861, son William to Australia and Charles to San Francisco, builder of Holker Hall, Stone Cross (Ulverston), Bellfield, Leighton Hall …….Abbotswood and Millwood, involved with the conversion of Conishead Priory to a hydropathic hotel, leased Stainton quarry from the duke of Devonshire, a favourite builder of Paley and Austen, lived Hamilton Cottage, Dalton; Barrow News 9 May 1896; Pevsner and Hyde, Rod White, Stories behind the Stones

Gardiner, William (1860-1940), schoolmaster, Headmaster of Kendal Green School for 41 years, also general superintendent of Stricklandgate Sunday School (T P Bryer, WHS Cumbrian Branch Journal No.38, Autumn 1996)

Gardner, Daniel (c.1750-1805; ODNB), portrait painter, pupil of George Romney, born Kendal, of Beak Street, Golden Square, St James, Westminster, London, when he died, 9 July 1805 (Daniel Gardner by G C Williamson, 1921; Kenwood exhibition catalogue by Helen Kapp, 1972; Marshall Hall)

Gardner, Ellen (later Mrs Henry Ware), archaeologist, papers for the CWAAS

Gardner, George (1778-18xx), barrister, son and only child of Daniel Gardner qv, marr Harriet Anne (will made 15 May 1850, as widow of Norwich), leased premises of 8 Stricklandgate to John Jackson of the King’s Arms Inn, 3 May 1828 for 14 yrs (KK, 270)

Gardner, George Harrison (1814-1859), solicitor, of Ellerthwaite, Windermere, bapt St Pancras,  London, 29 April 1815, son of George Gardner qv, marr Jane, dau Fanny (wife of Robert Baker) (Gardner papers in CRO, WDX 398)

Gardner, Thomas (d.1821), drill sergeant, of the Furness Cuirassiers, he may have fought at Waterloo, he fell from his horse in 1821 and died, the Cuirassiers were a yeomanry regiment founded by Thomas Braddyll (qv) in 1819; Rod White, Furness Stories through the Stones (more details); monument on wall of Urswick church

Garland, the Revd Deryck B (1916-1985) The son of Alfred Garland, he was born in Birkenhead. A scholar of Worcester College, Oxford, Deryk trained for the priesthood at Wycliffe Hall, Oxford, being ordained in 1941. Following Curacies at Ravenhead, Great Crosby, and Blundellsands, from 1941-51, he served successively as Vicar of St Mary, Bootle and Chaplain of Bootle General Hospital and as Vicar of All Saints, Southport, 1951-65, before moving to the diocese of Carlisle, as Rector of Kirkandrews-on-Esk, 1965-72 and then as Vicar of Wreay from 1972 until his retirement in 1983. He additionally served as Chaplain at the Cumberland Infirmary, 1971-82.  He married Dr Joan Potts on the Wirral in 1948, who survived him (she had graduated in Medicine at the University of Liverpool in 1941 and was awarded the University’s Diploma in Public Health in 1947, subsequently working in public health medicine, dying in January 2015, aged 97 years); they had a daughter and a son. He is buried at Wreay cemetery.

Garner, Robert Clarkson (18xx-19xx), librarian, Librarian to Kendal Public Free Library (1897)

Garnett, Antony, NB there are three men of this name who lived during the same period and have sometimes been confused

Garnett, Anthony (c.1525-1590), master of Balliol College Oxford, fellow Balliol 1551, master 1560-63, ejected, then steward to Viscount Montagu (1), witnessed several mss 1567-1590, encouraged William Hammond a clothier and mayor of Guildford to donate funds to Balliol (2), he may have mismanaged the funds which led to litigation (perhaps exacerbated by his recusancy) and his imprisonment in the Marchelsea, freed by order of the Privy Council (3); there appears to be no link between him and Kendal; (1) W Sx Rec Off; Surrey Hist Centre BL ms 33508 (2) John Jones ed, Balliol College History 2nd edn, 70 (3) Lambeth Palace Lib ms3470 letter from Privy Council to archbishop Whitgift from the court at Greenwich 24 Dec 1594, f.150

Garnett, Anthony (d.1582), rector of Lowther 1554-1582, related to the Garnetts of Crosthwaite, owned property there, this he willed to Anthonie Garnett of Underbarrow ‘bastard son of William Garnett’, made a bequest to Queen’s Oxford for the support of poor scholars; there appears to be no link with Anthony Garnett (qv) of the Castle Dairy

Garnett, Anthony (fl.1557-1575), in 1557 he was of St Leonard’s Spital (Kendal parish records), he had inherited a lease of St Leonard’s from Robert Garnett, from 1558 he owned the medieval Castle Dairy in Kendal which he re-modelled with inscriptions, stained glass and furniture, named in an indenture of 1559, died Stramongate, Kendal 1575; CW3 xviii gives a useful analysis of the building

Garnett, Annie (1864-1942), founder of ‘The Spinnery’, Bowness-on-Windermere, embroiderer and water colourist, born at Fairfield, dower house to Crown Hotel at Bowness on Windermere, 18 March 1864, and bapt at St Martin’s, Bowness, 16 April, eldest dau and 2nd of six children of William Garnett (1832-1888), land agent (himself the 2nd son of Edward Garnett (1796-1858), who built Crown Hotel at Bowness in 1800) and Frances Townson, whose family owned the Royal Oak Hotel and Hill Top, Ambleside, and who continued to own Crown Hotel until her death in 1909 (buried at Old Bowness cemetery, 5 March 1909), when sold to John Rigg, near workshops of ‘The Spinnery’ (while ‘New Spinnery’ was at foot of hill), had little education and no formal art training, staying at home with her sisters Wilhelmina (1869-19xx) and Frances (1877-1962), while her three brothers, Edward (1862-1932), James (1866-1951) and Frank (qv) went to university, spent childhood holidays at St Bees, but otherwise rarely left central Lakes area, little known of her artistic influences, but arts and crafts and architecture books and journals obviously present at home, built second centre (The New Spinnery) specifically designed to house local traditional crafts in 1913 (after KSIA) at peak of her career, with outlets at Liberty’s and Waring & Gillow, but restrictions with outbreak of War, hon secretary of Windermere War Hospital Supply Depot (with Gordon Somervell, qv), awarded Queen Mary’s Needlework Guild badge for voluntary work in 1916, member of Westmorland Red Cross Demobilisation Committee, but health began to deteriorate after 1919 and Spinnery went into slow decline, with no one to take over her work (despite many women taught and employed there), Bowness workshop closed by 1930s, examples of her work shown in Decorative Arts Exhibition at V&A Museum in 1952, main collection (sample books, embroideries, sketch books, writings, correspondence, awards, scrap book of cuttings, photograph albums and postcards) passed from F C Scott, of Matson Ground, after death of her sister Frances in 1962, to Abbot Hall, Kendal, but no record of her business accounts survive, so extent of business, source of raw materials, etc not known, member of Silk Association, a Liberal in politics (asked to be vice-president of Westmorland Women’s Liberal Association in 1924) but moved more in wealthier Conservative social circles, giving rise to family observations of snobbery, strong-willed and domineering character, died in Carlisle nursing home, May 1942 (Gill Medland thesis 1979; Jennie Brunton 2001; Sara E Haslam 2004; Sydney Chapman, Armitt Journal no.1 1998, 44; CW3 xviii; Garnett archive at Abbot Hall)

Garnett, Emmeline (Marie) (1924-2022), historian, educ Oxford, taught New Zealand and Leicestershire where she created educational materials, appointed head of Creake Valley Community College, published children’s history books and Florence Nightingale’s Nuns (1961; repr 2009), ran an informal history group from her home at Wray, Lancashire, publications include Dated Buildings of South Lonsdale (1994; rev 2009),  volunteered to research and write the entry for Kirkby Lonsdale for the Victoria County History (VCH), her contributions to the VCH Lonsdale Ward were well received, she was also a founder member of the Friends of Lancashire Archives; CWAAS Newsletter Autumn 2022

Garnett, Frank Walls (1867-1922), CBE, MRCVS, JP, veterinary surgeon, bapt at St Martin’s, Bowness, 1 August 1867, yst son of William Garnett, of Fairfield, Bowness on Windermere, and brother of Annie Garnett (qv), veterinary inspector for Lancashire and Westmorland, President of Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons, author of Westmorland Agriculture, 1800-1900 (1912) and chapter on Agriculture in unpublished VCH of Westmorland, marr, 1 son (Dr David), of Dalegarth, Lake Road, Windermere, died in 1922

Garnett, Frederick Brooksbank (18xx-19xx), CB, member of CWAAS from 1887, contributed article on Queen Katherine Parr and Sudeley Castle to Transactions in 1893 (CW1, xiii, 9-19), of 4 Argyll Road, Camden Hill, London (1888), but gone by 1897

Garnett, John (1825-1896), printer, publisher, stationer and bookseller, c.1850-1880, also postmaster and chemist, of Church Street, Windermere (1873, 1885, 1894, but gone by 1897), formerly a superintendent for Kendal-Windermere Railway c.1854-57, but best known as purveyor of Lake District tourist publications, esp Harriet Martineau’s Guide, churchwarden of St Mary’s, Windermere, built Castle Mount, later Hammerbank, and now Windermere Manor [no sign of burial in Windermere St Mary’s cemetery 1894-1900] (Chris Donaldson email of 06.03.2013)

Garnett, Joseph (c.1750-1827), parish clerk, Parish Clerk of Kendal for 45 years, of Kirkland, Kendal, died aged 78 and buried in Kendal churchyard, 18 January 1827

Garnett, Stephen (c.1768-1840), grocer and parish official, [no bapt in KL], grocer and seedsman, of Main Street, Kirkby Lonsdale, also auctioneer, but continuously involved with township’s relief of its poor from 1809 to 1836 as overseer, keeping a huge collection of some 1300 letters, bills and petitions, though he disliked writing letters and paying out money (most letters would not have been written had he remitted funds promptly), also compiler of parish vagrants books, man of some energy and resolution, marr (29 July 1786) Betty Smithys, 2 sons (John and Thomas) and 2 daus (Jane and Ann, both grocers), will made 2 May 1839 (proved Richmond, 2 September 1840), died 17 July 1840, aged 72, and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 21 July

Garnett, Thomas (1766-1802; ODNB), MD, chemist and physician, born at Casterton, 21 April 1766 and bapt at Kirkby Lonsdale, 18 May, er son of John [Joseph falso in ODNB] Garnett (yeoman, died 21 February 1812, aged 76, and buried at KL, 24 February) and Elizabeth (nee Skyring, b.1733), parents moved within couple of years to High Bank House, Barbon (where yr bro Robert Skyring was born, bapt at Kirkby Lonsdale, 26 December 1768), educ Barbon village school and Sedbergh School, apprenticed to John Dawson, of Sedbergh, in 1781 for mathematics and science preparatory to entry to Edinburgh University (matric 1785), submitted thesis on vision (De Visu) for MD in 1788, brief period of practical experience in London before returning to Barbon to write articles on optics for EB, set up as physician in Bradford in 1790, lectured on natural philosophy and chemistry, moved to Knaresborough in 1791, then to Harrogate, published on medicinal properties of mineral waters, secured patronage of Alexander Wedderburn, Lord Loughborough, by 1794, with house in High Harrogate, marr (17 March 1795) Catherine Grace Cleveland (died 25 December 1798, giving birth to yr dau, Catherine Grace (ODNB); er dau Louisa Cleveland, born 24 February 1796), died at Great Marlborough Street, London, 3 July 1802, aged 35, and buried in ground behind St James’s chapel, Hampstead Road, London (WW, ii, 205-216; GM; LM, I, 478-482; SSR, 155; SGE Lythe, 1984)

Garnett, William James, of Bleasdale Tower, Garstang, Lancs, author of Prize Report on the Farming of Lancashire, reprinted from Journal of RASE for Royal North Lancashire Agricultural Society, Preston, 1849 (copy in CRO, WDX 313)

Garnett, William Wilson (1935-2017), farmer and race horse owner, born in Gloucestershire, 14 July 1935, son of William Garnett, farm manager, and his wife Doris, and sister of Mary Wills, moving aged two to Ackenthwaite Farm on Dallam Tower estate, which his grandfather had taken on in 1915, introducing first tractor to area in 1917, pioneered new farming methods, replaced traditional shippons for small herds with progressively improved accommodation for hundreds of cows served by computerised milking systems (09.02.2017)

Garrick, Peter (1710-1779), son of Capt Peter Garrick (1685-1737) and his wife Arabella Clough, brother of David the actor manager (1717-1779; ODNB), collector of Customs at Whitehaven via influence of the duke of Devonshire, duties performed by a deputy; Ian McIntyre, Garrick, 2000, 258

Garth, Richard (d.1673), MA, clergyman, vicar of Dalston 1661-1663 and of Bromfield 1663-1673, petitioned unsuccessfully for living of Workington (ECW)

Garthwaite, Alan (18xx-19xx), DSO, MC, JP, FLAS, Major, land agent, Underley Estate offices, Fairbank, Kirkby Lonsdale, of The Gables, Kirkby Lonsdale (1938)

Garwood, Edmund Johnson FRS (1864-1949), geologist, educ Eton and Trinity coll Cambridge, initiated into Lakeland geomorphology and stratigraphy by JEMarr, worked on the Ravenstone-Shap succession of fossils, also at Kendal, Arnside and Grange-o-Sands, prof at UCL, president of Geological Society; Cumberland Geological Society Proceedings vol 6 1998-9 pt 3, p.385

Gascoigne, George (1896-1971), artist and pacifist, lived Carlisle, in 1st WW a conscientious objector who was imprisoned, drew the interior of Wandsworth prison The Men who said No, worked for the Peace Pledge Union (PPU) and the Fellowship of Reconciliation, designed box decorations for Hudson Scott (qv), painted Eden Bridge from Rickerby Park (Tullie House), in the 2nd WW he and his wife Winifred (d.1966) kept open house for conscientious objectors and prisoners of war, his pacifism brought him into contact with the quakers, he joined them in 1955, became clerk, overseer and elder of Carlisle quaker meeting, trustee of the North Lodge almshouses (Allonby?), he was a great source of inspiration and support.

Gascoigne, Thomas, clergyman, second Curate of Holy Trinity, Grange in Borrowdale 1862-1864

Gaskain, F J H (19xx-19xx), police officer, Chief Constable of Cumbria 1952-1959

Gasgarth, Isaac (1810-1877), curate of Lowick, son of John Gasgarth manufacturer (qv), lived Lowick Hall

Gaskarth, Isaac (c.1826-1889), also of Park Lea, Dunham Massey, Cheshire, died at Southsea, 29 December 1889, aged 63, and also buried at St Mary’s, Ulverston

Gaskarth, John (c.1770-1838), manufacturer, of Stramongate, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 25 May 1838, aged 68

Gaskarth, Joseph (c.1828-1894), JP, of Park Lea, Dunham Massey, Cheshire, JP Cheshire, died 24 November 1894, aged 66, and buried in St Mary’s churchyard, Ulverston, perhaps as his [?brother Thomas] had a house in Windermere [and another relative lived Ulverston ?]

Gaskarth, Thomas (c.1828-1869), of Altrincham, late of Matson House, Windermere, died at Torquay, 28 February 1869, aged 41, and buried at St Mary’s, Ulverston

Gaskell, Christopher (1912-1981) scholar, aesthete, dilettante, Aldingham churchyard, Lindop Lit Guide, 275

Gaskell, Elizabeth Cleghorn (1810-1865; ODNB), novelist, married the Rev William Gaskell qv of Cross St chapel Manchester, often stayed in the Lake District and at Silverdale where The Sheiling, was built by her daughters (later the home of Gordon Bottomley qv), the Gaskell Hall is named after her, stayed with the Shuttleworths at Briery Close and met Charlotte Bronte (qqv); her home at 84, Plymouth Grove, Manchester is now open to the public

Gaskell, William (1805-1884; ODNB), minister Cross St chapel, Manchester, married Elizabeth Gaskell the novelist (qv), after the premature death of Elizabeth he used to go on holiday to Scotland (and the Lakes?) with Rupert Potter qv and family, Beatrix Potter (qv) knitted him a scarf, he lived at 84, Plymouth Grove in Manchester (the house has now been restored and is open to the public as Mrs Gaskell’s House), one of his satellite churches built in Manchester by William Telford Gunson (qv), the Gunsons were neighbours at Plymouth Grove House during the occupancy of the Gaskell daughters

Gaskin, Thomas (c.1809-1887), MA, FRS, FRAS, mathematician, born at Penrith, son of John Gaskin, originally a weaver and later a shoemaker apprenticed in Penrith, said to have worked sums with an awl on leather, attracted attention of Lord Brougham, who had him educated and sent to university, predicting he would be senior wrangler, educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1822, aged 13, left June 1827) and St John’s College, Cambridge (BA, second wrangler and second Smith’s Prizeman 1831), fellow and tutor of Jesus College, Cambridge until his marriage in 1842, became proficient in mathematics and astronomy, making a powerful reflecting telescope for Sir James South for his observatory at Kensington, resident in Cambridge for 20 years and almost entirely engaged in private tuition and writing on mathematical subjects, also very good classical scholar, with prodigious memory, said to have left Sedbergh able to recite twenty Greek plays by heart, elected FRAS 1836 and FRS 1839, removed to Cheltenham in 1855 and took private pupils until his health failed, author of Solutions of Trigonometrical and Geometrical Problems (1847) and several other papers, also ordained but never held a living, died in Cheltenham, 17 February 1887 (SSR, 175)

Gastrell, Francis (1662-1725; ODNB), clergyman, bishop of Chester, travelled in the north from 1714-1725 studying parishes and recording their history, wrote Bishop Gastrell’s Notitia Cestriensis, published 1850, Chetham’s Society); LAS Butler (ed), The Cumbrian Parishes of Bishop Gastrell’s Notitia, 1998

Gate, Daniel (18xx-18xx), compiler of shepherds’ guides, formerly schoolmaster in Buttermere, giving it up to move to Keswick as an agent for several insurance companies and agricultural supplies merchants, compiled Gate’s New Shepherds’ Guide for Cumberland, Westmorland and Lancashire, printed by Brash Bros, Cockermouth, in 1879

Gate, Robert (1780-18xx), saddler, founder of Penrith Methodist Chapel (CWHS, 76, Autumn 2016)

Gates, Albert George (18xx-1951), newsagent and travel agent, born in London, moved to Kendal, marr Margaret Thompson, widow of Ashton Thompson, 2 sons (Bryan and Terence) and stepson (Ashton (1907-199x), who changed his name to Gates and father of Michael)

Gatey, George (18xx-18xx), solicitor, clerk to Bowness Local Board, member of provisional committee for formation of Lake District Association in 1878, contacted various local notables for their support, ceased to be a member when it merged with the Advertising Association in 1879, and thanked the association for the gift of iron seat placed on Biskey Howe in 1881 (letters in CRO, WDX 269)

Gaudie, Eric (c.1900-1955)), entertainer, son of John Gaudie (1851-1909), of Renfrewshire, clerk in steel works and his wife Lydia of Alfreton, Derbys, in early life lived in Ulverston, ran concert parties at the Royalty Theatre, Cavendish St, Barrow, keen member of Barrow Amateur Operatic Society, involved with Ken Hardy in The Rustic Concert Party (and probably Phyllis Bell’s Entertainment), latterly lived in 111 Abbey Rd, Barrow; ancestry, probate 14 May 1955

Gaunt, Elizabeth Margaret (nee Fothergill) (?1621-1685), conspirator and traitor/martyr, poss identified as ‘Marye’ bapt at Ravenstonedale, 17 August 1621, 3rd dau of Anthony Fothergill (1583-1655), of Brownber, Ravenstonedale, and his 2nd wife, Ann Dent, marr William Gaunt, of St Mary Whitechapel, yeoman, living in Wapping as an Anabaptist, kept a tallow chandler’s shop for a time, well known for her piety and charity, visiting gaols, helping Protestants escape from Catholic purges, inc James Burton, involved in Rye House plot against Charles II, whom she assisted to escape from Gravesend to Amsterdam, and who returned to support Monmouth’s rebellion and fight at Sedgemoor, fled to London and sheltered with John Fernley in Whitechapel, but informed on him and Gaunt to obtain pardon, tried for high treason at Old Bailey on 19 October, condemned for harbouring a rebel, and burnt at Tyburn, [4] 23 October 1685, last woman to be executed for high treason; memorial east window in St Oswald’s church, Ravenstonedale (Shrigley & Hunt, c.1889) (F1, 62-63, 283-289)

Gaunt, John of (1340-1399), duke of Aquitaine and duke of Lancaster, born in Ghent (hence his name), governor of Carlisle, he spent little time in Lancaster and probably little in Carlisle (ask Denis)

Gavin, John Henry Alfred (fl.late 20thc) OBE PhD, his thesis Some Notes on Papermaking in Cumberland (1600-1900), closely involved as a trustee of the Armitt Trust and administered the collection when it was at Ambleside library, before the building of the Armitt Museum, OBE for services to this trust

Gawith, Samuel (c.1817-1865), tobacco and snuff manufacturer, son of ?Samuel Gawith, painter and glazier of Kendal (yard on east side of Highgate), marr (15 January 1838 at Gretna Green) Jane (died 3 October 1864), dau of Thomas Harrison (qv), nine children (Samuel (qv), Jane (marr John Bibby), Mary Margaret (born 8 December 1846 and bapt at Presbyterian Church, Kendal, 7 February 1847), John Edward (born 25 October 1848 and bapt 31 December 1848), Elisabeth (born 11 February 1849 and bapt 22 April 1849), James Jackson (born 13 October 1850 and bapt 26 January 1851), Arabella (born 26 August 1852 and bapt 28 November 1852), Antony Harrison (born 4 September 1854 and bapt 12 November 1854), William Henry (born 5 September 1856 and bapt 7 December 1856), and Francis Simpson (born 21 July 1858 and bapt 12 August 1858)), moved to Lowther Street in 1841, taken into partnership with Mr Brocklebank (d.c.1850) on Harrison’s death and took over father-in-law’s snuff factory after death of his mother-in-law, Ann Harrison, in 1851, ran firm as Samuel Gawith and Company, business prospered and bought premises next door from owners of closed Kendal Dispensary for £300 in 1862, Greek letters for “SG” (Samuel Gawith) carved onto archway near 27 Lowther Street at some date, Kendal Fell trustee 1861-1865, Kendal Borough Councillor for East Ward 1861, Mayor of Kendal 1864-65, dying in office, Ensign in 3rd Westmorland Rifle Volunteers (apptd 10 November 1863), will dated 12 November 1864 (proved at Carlisle, 10 November 1865; petition of his executors and trustees, Samuel Gawith, Henry Hoggarth and John Thomas Illingworth, in respect of John Edward’s minority for carrying on business heard in Chancery on 21 November 1865), died 9 October 1865 and buried in Castle Street cemetery, 13 October 1865 (CRO, WDB 14; KG, 90, 104; J Atack, ‘The History of the house of Samuel Gawith’, Tobacco, 1 August 1935)

Gawith, Samuel (1842-1886), tobacco and snuff manufacturer, born in Kendal, November 1842, eldest son of Samuel Gawith (qv), took over business on his father’s death in 1865, in partnership with yr brother, John Edward, then aged 17 (who had been educ at Friends’ School, Kendal), but fell out necessitating petition to Chancery, partnership dissolved by agreement of 5 July 1877 effective from 31 March 1878 (J T Illingworth (qv) had left firm in 1867 to set up own factory at 43 and 47 Highgate), company being split with him taking over snuff mill at Meal Bank and John the factory in Lowther Street and Low Mills, but bought goodwill of firm after John went bankrupt, though not premises and equipment, and so moved to Canal Head, Great Aynam, but living at Greenbank in 1885 (no burial entry in Castle Street or Parkside cemeteries in 1886); Mrs Gawith at Greenbank in 1894

Gawith, Samuel Henry (c.1892-1966), son of William Henry Gawith (the fifth son of Samuel Gawith, d.1865, qv), of 22 Summer Hill, Kendal, and son-in-law of Alfred Nelson, from whom he bought Holmfield on Kendal Green in 1924, where he hosted notable Christmas parties, joined family firm of Gawith Hoggarth, which his father had founded in partnership with Henry Hoggarth at 27 Lowther Street in 1887, taking over redundant equipment as a youth using mill at Helsington to grind snuff, was chairman at time of his death in 1966, aged 74 (KG, 104)

Gawthrop, Thomas Holden (1768-1836), BD, clergyman, born at Sedbergh, 5 June 1768, and bapt 19 July, son of Revd William Gawthrop (qv), educ Sedbergh School, Hawkshead Grammar School (for autumn half 1786 only), and St John’s College, Cambridge (admitted in November 1786, but did not go up till following October, Lupton scholarship 1790, BA 1791, BD), Lupton fellow 1793, senior fellow 1810-1817, and steward 1812-1815, then presented by College to rectory of Marston Morteyne, Bedfordshire, 11 April 1815, marr twice, three children by 2nd, died 2 November 1836 (TWT, 74-76; SSR, 158)

Gawthrop, William (1734-1798), clergyman, fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, vicar of Sedbergh 1766-1798, father of the above, Ann his wife, buried at Sedbergh, 6 January 1798, aged 63

Gaythorpe, Harper (1850-1909), FSA (Scot), engraver and illuminator, born at Tarporley, Cheshire in 1850, moved to Barrow-in-Furness in 1871, living at 12 Harrison Street (1882), then at Claverton, Prospect Road, gained interest in local history through his work (engraved plates of facsimiles and colour illustrated coats of arms) on Joseph Richardson’s Furness: Past and Present (1880), elected member of CWAAS in 1895, member of Council 1905-1909 and contributed papers to Transactions on variety of Furness characters and antiquities, eg The Crankes of Urswick 1906, CW2 6 128-42 (qv), also energetic founder member and supporter of Barrow Naturalists’ Field Club, editor of its Transactions and President 1902-1904, compiled and edited Furness Lore (BNFC Transactions for 1879-1882, published in 1900) interested in natural history (esp protection of wild birds), promoted foundation of Barrow Museum, co-opted member of Municipal Library and Museum Cttee, member of Viking Club, died unm, 27 December 1909, obit CWAAS 1910 (CW2, x, 513-14; CRO(B)); other articles CWAAS, notebooks and Barrow CRO; J. Sullivan (qv)

Gaythorpe, Sidney Bertram (1880-1964), engraver, astronomer and ‘independent scholar of wide interests’, born Barrow, the son of Harper Gaythorpe FSA (Scot) (qv) and his wife Ann, his father was an engraver and antiquary (qv), educ Higher Grade School (later the GS), contemporary of R.O. Gross the sculptor and Lord Birkett (qqv), marr Edith Postlethwaite in 1914, stretcher bearer in 1st WW, made numerous visits to Oxford, Cambridge and London libraries, papers appeared in the Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomy Society, he wrote on ‘Astronomy in Virgil’ in Nature 1931, his main interest was the precocious Jeremiah Horrocks (1619-1641; ODNB) who observed the 1639 transit of Venus (J of Brit Astron Assoc 1936 and 1954), also worked on Crabtree and Gascoigne, all three northern astronomers, his house in Barrow at 3, Prospect Rd was blitzed in 1941 and he lost much of his library; his letters and papers are at Barrow CRO and the university of Illinois

Geddes, Jacquelyne (nee Kirkup) (1952-2019), city councillor and Mayor of Carlisle, born in August 1952, dau (one of five children) of Jack and Sally Kirkup, of Longtown, educ Lochinvar School, Longtown, Caldew School, Dalston, Carlisle Technical College (studying business) and Carlisle College of Art and Design, moved to London to work for THM Design Holborn, marr (1972) William Geddes, 2 sons (Jonathan and Richard), ran small guest house in Stanwix, elected to Carlisle City Council for Stanwix in 1993 serving for 22 years as Conservative, member of executive from 2001 with portfolios of Corporate Resources, then Learning and Development, Mayor (13th woman) of Carlisle 2008-09, raising more than £33,000 for her nominated charities (esp Carlisle branch of Mencap), member of East Cumbria Community Health Council, member of Stanwix Primary School governing body for 10 years, etc, died 6 January 2019, aged 66 (CN, 11.01.2019)

Geddes, Philip (1959-1983), journalist, b. Barrow, parents, ed Barrow GS and St Edmund Hall, Oxford, killed in 1983 by the IRA bomb at Harrods during research for an assignment, monument and memorial lecture Oxford; cousin of Barry McKay, one of the founders of this project

Geddes, Richard (1880-1914), ship’s steward on Titanic, son of Charles Geddes (1848-94), labourer, and Ann Thomlinson (1846-1924), lived Corporation Rd, Rickergate, Carlisle, trained as a solicitor’s clerk, marr Sarah Ann Armstrong (1879-1951), in 1911 he became a steward and lived Southampton, signed on to the Titanic in 1912 (at £3..15s a month) and died in the sinking in 1914, his widow received relief until her death in1951; family grave in Carlisle refers to him

Geddes, R Stanley (d.1992), manager Burlington Slate Quarries, publ. Burlington Blue Grey: A History of the Slate Quarries, Kirkby in Furness, 1991

Gell, Sir William (1777-1836; ODNB), MA, FRS, FSA, classical archaeologist, traveller and early tourist, born at Hopton, Derbyshire, 1 April 1777, yr son of Philip Gell (d.1795) and his wife, Dorothy, dau of William Milnes, of Aldercar Park, who later married Thomas Blore (1764-1818; ODNB), topographer, educ Derby School and Emmanuel College, Cambridge (matric 1793, BA, elected to fellowship 1798, and MA 1804), visited Lakes with (Sir) Busick Harwood (1745-1814; ODNB) (1750-1814), MB, MD, FRS, FSA, later Professor of Anatomy and of Medicine) as a Cambridge undergraduate in 1797 (A Tour in the Lakes made in 1797, ms orig in Barrow Public Library, now in CRO & LSL, ref Z 293, edited by William Rollinson, 1968), on diplomatic mission to Ionian Islands in 1803, travelled in Greece with Edward Dodwell (1767-1832; ODNB), knighted for his services in eastern Mediterranean on 11 May 1814, accompanied Princess (later Queen) Caroline to Italy later in 1814 as one of her chamberlains, leaving in 1815 with pension of £22 a year for life (terminated after her death in 1821), gave evidence in her favour at her trial before House of Lords in 1820, established himself in Italy after 1820, living in Rome and Naples, active host (visitors inc Sir Walter Scott), unmarried, died in Naples, 4 February 1836 and buried in English cemetery there in tomb of his great friend Keppel Craven’s colourful mother, Elizabeth, the Margravine of Ansbach (1750-1828; ODNB) 

Gem, Revd Charles Henry (18xx-1908), clergyman, educ New Inn Hall, Oxford (BA 1862), d 1862 (Ox), p 1864 (Worc), Curate of Thatcham, Berkshire 1862, Chaplain, Queen’s Hospital and Professor of Classics in Queen’s College, Birmingham 1862-1864, Curate of Dudley 1864-1865, Tachbrook, nr Leamington 1865-1868 and St Andrew, Penrith 1868-1874 (living at 74 Wordsworth Street), Vicar of Torpenhow 1874-1906/7, died in 1908 (memorial window in south chancel of church)

Gennys, William Edward Henn- (c.1814-1858), Commander, RN, Captain of Coast Guard in Cumberland, died in Whitehaven in 1858, aged 44; dau and heir, Florence Cordelia (d.1940), marr (1875) Admiral Sir Robert Penruddock Hastings Harris, KCB, KCMG, RN, 3 sons 2 dau, he was later C-in-C at the Cape of Good Hope

George IV (1762-1820) succeeded his father George III in 1810 and reigned for ten years, as Prince of Wales, before 1810 he stayed at Conishead Priory

George V (1865-1936), stayed at Brougham Hall; the clock at Brough-under-Stainmore is a monument to him

George, Prince of Denmark and Duke of Cumberland (1653-1708; ODNB), KG, PC, FRS, consort of Queen Anne, Duke of Schleswig-Holstein and Count of Oldenburg, born 2 April 1653, yst son of Frederik III, King of Denmark, marr (28 July 1683, at Chapel Royal, St James’s) Princess Anne, 2nd dau of James, Duke of York, later King James II, naturalised, 20 September 1683, created Duke of Cumberland, Earl of Kendal, and Baron Ockingham [Wokingham], 6 April 1689, died s.p.s., at Kensington Palace, 28 October 1708, aged 55, and buried in Westminster Abbey, 13 November

Ghika, HSH Alexandrine H, princess of Greece, Moldavia and Wallachia, built Brackenhill Kendal; Hudleston (W) 394; the Ghika or Ghica family was prominent from the 17th to 19thc and gave two prime ministers to Romania

Gibbon, Thomas (d.1716), JP, MA, DD, clergyman, son of Matthew Gibbon, draper, of London, and great-uncle to Edward Gibbon (1737-1794; ODNB), educ St John’s College, Cambridge (BA 1688, MA 1692, and STP 1714), rector of Greystoke, instituted in April 1693 (on presentation by Cambridge University), inducted on 1 May and assented to 39 Articles on 7 May 1693, marr (1 May 1697, at Greystoke) Mary (1671-1722), 3rd dau and coheir of William Williams (qv), of Johnby Hall, 1 son (Williams, qv) and 4 daus (Hester/Esther, born 29 January 1698 at about 4 pm and bapt 6 February, died 1 March 1722 and buried at Cockermouth church, 4 March ; Barbara, born 14 September 1700 at 6 am and bapt, 22 Sept; Dorothy, born 21 August 1702 at about 6 pm and bapt, 27 August; and Elizabeth, 3 April 1708 and bapt 8 April, and buried 17 February 1712, all at Greystoke), built byre and workhouse at Greystoke parsonage in 1699/1700 and rebuilt rectory in 1702, presented silver chalice and paten to church, and erected sun-dial on alms-table in churchyard, resigned in 1711 but reinstated on presentation of Gilbert Lawson by grant from Charles Howard, inducted on 25 April 1712 and publicly assented to 39 Articles on 11 May 1712, dean of Carlisle 1713-1716, personal friend of bishop Nicolson, died at his house in Carlisle, between 6 and 7 pm, 22 October 1716, aged 47, and buried in St Mary’s church, Carlisle, 24 October 1716 (ECW, 478;GPR, 318, 325, 327, 331, 334, 347, 356; NB, 366, 369)

Gibbon, Williams (1699-1758), MA, clergyman, born at Greystoke, 22 January 1699 at about 4 am and bapt 26 January, son of Very Revd Thomas Gibbon (qv), rector of Dufton 1729-1736, described by Edward Gibbon as ‘a drunken Jacobite parson who obtained by part-interest the Rectory of Bridewell’ (CFH, 127; GPR, 328)

Gibbons, Revd Daniel (1755-1785), Congregational minister, Minister of Congregational chapel, Soutergate, Ulverston for about 8 years, died 11 December 1785, aged 30; wife Mary died 13 April 1806, aged 65 (MI in chapel)

Gibbs, Cecil Armstrong (1889-1960; ODNB), Mus D, composer and conductor, born at The Vineyards, Great Baddow, near Chelmsford, 10 August 1889, studied with Edward J Dent at Trinity College, Cambridge, and with Charles Wood and RVW, also conducting with Adrian Boult, at RCM, taught composition and music theory at Royal College of Music 1921-1939, conductor of Danbury Choral Society 1921-1960, champion of amateur performers at music festivals, as a frequent conductor and adjudicator, vice-president of British Federation of Music Festivals 1937-1952, conductor of children’s concert and judge of choral classes at Mary Wakefield Festival (1935) in Kendal (qv), his house ‘Crossings’ being requisitioned as a hospital during WW2, he moved to Windermere, continuing to compose and conduct, inc Lakeland Pictures, eight preludes for piano in 1940 and Symphony No.3 Westmorland in 1944 (following death of his son David, killed in action in Italy in 1943), returned to Essex in 1945 but commission from Westmorland Orchestra produced Dale and Fell suite in early 1950s, composed 160 songs, author of Lakeland Limericks, illustrated by William H Waddington (Titus Wilson, Kendal, 1st edn, May 1941, 2nd edn, April 1942), also an unpublished autobiography Common Time, died in Chelmsford and Essex Hospital, 12 May 1960 and buried in Danbury churchyard, 16 May (MusicWeb)

Gibson, Alexander Craig (1813-1874; ODNB), FSA, doctor, dialect writer and antiquary, born at Harrington, 17 March 1813, eldest son of Joseph Gibson, of Harrington, and his wife, Mary Stuart Craig, of Moffat, Dumfriesshire, a contributor to newspapers from an early age, started practice in medicine in Whitehaven and after studying in Edinburgh  (MRCS Eng 1846, LSA 1855 and LM Edin) began a practice in Branthwaite and Ullock for about two years, moving to Yewdale Bridge, Coniston in 1843, where he wrote The Old Man; or ravings and ramblings round Conistone (Kendal, 1849; with several further editions), which had formerly appeared in parts in The Kendal Mercury and was written in response to suggestion by ‘Christopher North’ (qv) that each locality of Lake District should be subject of separate description, moved to Hawkshead in 1849, but found work too heavy and settled at Bebington in Cheshire, where he remained in practice until failing health compelled him to retire in 1872, contributed to Tait’s Magazine a ballad in Annandale dialect ‘The Lockerbie Lycke’, which was reprinted in later volume, also author of Ancient Customs and Superstitions in Cumberland (THSLC, OS, 10, 1857-58) and The Folk-Speech of Cumberland and some Districts Adjacent; being short Stories and Rhymes in the Dialects of the West Border Counties (Carlisle, 1869, 2nd edn, 1873), which was dedicated to his friend William Dickinson (qv), a result of his intimate acquaintance with the dialect of the district and his keen sense of humour of dales folk, contributed ‘The Geology of the Lake Country’ to Harriet Martineau’s Guide, and other articles to medical and antiquarian journals, marr (May 1844) Sarah, dau of John Bowman, of Hoadyood, Lamplugh, issue?, of Bebington, Cheshire, where he died 12 June 1874, aged 61 (WN, 18.06.1874; Medical Dictionary 1871)

Gibson, Ann (1798-1900), centenarian, dau of yeoman John Wilson and his wife Ann Robinson of Shap, lived at Cut Side, Levens, when young her sister was accidentally shot, 4 other siblings, carted peats to Kendal, marr Gibson who found an ancient spear head (Kendal Museum) while cutting peats ; West Gaz Jan 1900, Levens History Society website

Gibson, Arthur (1784-1878), MA, clergyman, born in Appleby 1784, and bapt at Crosby Ravensworth, 10 January 1785, 2nd son of John Gibson (qv), of Oddendale, educ Appleby Grammar School (pupil of John Waller, qv) and Queen’s College, Oxford (MA and Fellow), Vicar of Chedworth, Glos for 50 years, where he died unmarried in August 1878, aged 93 (AGS, 58; Times obit)

Gibson, Dan (1866-1907), architect, b Bassingthorpe, Lincs, ed Oakham GS, trained with Smith and Broderick in Hull, in 1888 assistant to Richard Knill Freeman of Bolton who sent him to work at Greythwaite for Col Sandys qv, in partnership with Thomas Mawson (qv) 1898-1900, new South Lodge, Holehird (1897), Brockhole (1899), Pullwoods, Brathay (with G F Armitage) (1902-03), Heathwaite Manor (formerly Dawstone Hall), Bowness (1903-04), Birket Houses, Winster (1907), of Marley Lodge, Windermere (letter to Brydson, 1898 in CRO, BDX 38/11/2), widow made agreement with W L Dolman (qv) to receive tenth of his net income from his architectural practice in Windermere for period of ten years (to 31 July 1907) and her eldest son Guy to be apprenticed to Dolman free of charge, died Windermere in 1907, aged 41, bur Bowness (CRO, WDB 82/1); Hyde and Pevsner

Gibson, Edmund (1669-1748; ODNB), clergyman, born High Knipe, Bampton and bapt there, 19 December 1667, son of Edmond Gibson, bishop of Lincoln then bishop of London 1723-1748, (WW, i, 141-174); Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 674

Gibson, Edward (fl.1678-1687), builder, lived  Whitehaven; CW2 xcvi 161

Gibson, George (17xx-1835), architect, responsible for cloisters at Kirkby Stephen, upper part of building resting on eight stone pillars, pursuant to will of John Waller (qv), dated 1810, also supervised reconstruction of Crosby Ravensworth church in 1811-1818, thought to have taken advice from Smirke, with only Gothic SW porch and chancel s doorway now remaining and interior having been whitewashed and decorated with scrollwork and texts mainly by himself, buried at Crosby Ravensworth, 14 October 1835, aged 82

Gibson, George (1789-1878), woollen manufacturer, bapt 31 October 1789 at Crosby Ravensworth, 4th son of John Gibson (qv), of Oddendale, ran successful woollen business in Kendal for many years with his youngest brother Michael (1797/8-1835, bapt at CR, 4 February 1798), then retired to (No 8 Thorny Hills), Kent Terrace, Kendal (built for him by George Webster in 1838), where he lived until he died unmarried in December 1878, aged 89 (CRO, WD/MG; WoK, 67)

Gibson, Henry, hon secretary of Windermere Sailing Club (1868), owned the ‘Surprise’ built by Fife, churchwarden of St Martin’s, Bowness, ran an Archery Club on the island

Gibson, James (fl.1836/7), of Ambleside, initiated a passenger boat service on Windermere, with Mr White of Newby Bridge, in 1836 or 1837, operating from Waterhead to the Ferry, and White’s boat between the Ferry and Newby Bridge, only regular service up and down lake until first steamship, The Lady of the Lake, started in 1845 (LLLD, 175)

Gibson, Revd James (18xx-19xx), Roman Catholic priest, of 10 New Road, Kendal (1894)

Gibson, John, brother of Edmond Gibson (qv), Provost of Queen’s College, Oxford

Gibson, John (1748-1824), DL, JP, landowner, bapt at Crosby Ravensworth, 9 June 1748, son of Thomas Gibson, JP (1720-1796) (bapt 28 April 1720, son of John Gibson), of Oddendale, Crosby Ravensworth, and his wife Frances, marr Ruth (1751-1828, buried 25 December 1828, aged 77), dau of Arthur Bousfield, of Back Lane [now Manor House], Ravenstonedale, 6 sons (Thomas, Arthur, John, George, Richard and Michael, all bar eldest being bachelors) and 2 daus (Margaret, bapt 28 May 1780, and Frances, bapt 19 May 1782), died in December 1824, aged 76, with no grandchildren, and buried at Crosby Ravensworth, 23 December

Gibson, John (1787-1867), MA, clergyman, bapt 3 June 1787 at Crosby Ravensworth, 3rd son of John Gibson (qv), of Oddendale, educ Queens’ College, Oxford (MA and Fellow), vicar of Newbold Pacey, Warwickshire, died unmarried in June 1867, aged 80

Gibson, John (b.1788-1850), army sergeant, born Kendal, trained as an engineer, joined the army, fought at Bergen op Zoom in 1814 and at Quatre Bras on 16 June 1815 (prior to Waterloo two days later) where he was wounded, later in Jamaica, left the army in 1832 with a pension of 1/8 per diem, became the warden of the Kendal House of Correction for 18 years; Maj Gen Sir Evelyn Webb-Carter, chairman Waterloo 200, online biographies, West Gaz 3 Jan 2013

Gibson, John (1788-1878), soldier and Waterloo veteran, born in Kendal, 25 May 1788, trained as an engineer, but joined militia at age of 21 in 1809,, marr (13 July 1826, at Boyle, co Roscommon) Ann Cochrane, of Glasgow, warder at Kendal House of Correction for 18 years, died 13 July 1878, aged 90, and buried in Castle Street cemetery, Kendal, 21 July (Major-Gen Sir Evelyn Webb-Carter, WG, 03.01.2013)

Gibson, John (c.1796-1860), collector of autographs and postmaster, for twenty years postmaster of Whitehaven, amassed a huge collection of autographs (Whitehaven CRO); Chris Donaldson CWAAS newsletter 2021

Gibson, John George BD LLD, clergyman

Gibson, Joseph (18xx-19xx), JP, landowner, of Burnside and of Whelprigg, Barbon (which was occupied by George Banks in 1906, where Lord Gillford (qv) died in 1905, and by Charles Robert Tryon in 19), sold in 1924 by Major Joseph Gibson (1877-1953), DSO, JP (formerly Hollins) – [is he the same?]

Gibson, Richard (1615-1690; ODNB), miniaturist; often stated to have been born in Cumberland, he had achondroplasia or dwarfism; Marshall Hall

Gibson, Richard (1792-1880), corn merchant, bapt 13 May 1792 at Crosby Ravensworth, 5th son of John Gibson (qv), of Oddendale, went to Liverpool at age of sixteen and entd corn merchant’s office, remaining in Liverpool or 45 years and amassing a large fortune, retired to live on his Coldbeck property in Ravenstonedale until his death, inheriting fortune accumulated after deaths of each of his elder brothers, generous benefactor of poor, etc, died unmarried at Coldbeck, Ravenstonedale, in August 1880, aged 88, and buried in churchyard, 28 August; will (proved at Carlisle) left bulk of his large estate to his nearest male relative, Anthony Metcalfe (qv), of Park House, Ravenstonedale, with legacies of £5,000 to various Ravenstonedale people

Gibson, Susan Penelope (later Rosse) (1652-1700), miniaturist, dau of Richard Gibson (qv), grew up in London near the studio of Samuel Cooper and made copies of his work, marr the jeweller Michael Rosse, lived Henrietta St, praised by George Vertue, her work includes Queen Mary of Modena (Sotheby’s 27 May 1968) and Louise de Kerouaille, duchess of Portsmouth and Aubigny (Christie’s 20 Nov 2007); Hall, Artists of Cumbria; Daphne Foskett, Collecting Miniatures

Gibson, Thomas (1647-1722; ODNB), MD, physician and antomist, Physician-General to Army, born at High Knipe, Bampton, 1647, marr 2nd Anna (born 27 March 1659, died in London, 7 December 1727, aged 69), 6th dau of Richard Cromwell (which one?), died in London, 16 July 1722, aged 75, and both buried in ground adjoining Foundling Hospital (MI in St George’s Gardens, London) (WW, ii, 185-188)

Gibson, Thomas, clergyman, vicar of Barton, kept a boarding academy at Tirril (1829)

Gibson, Thomas (1778-1869), landowner, bapt 21 October 1778 at Crosby Ravensworth, eldest son of John Gibson (qv), of Oddendale, inherited family estate in 1824, on which he resided all his life, placed on Commission of the Peace, but always declined to qualify, died unmarried, “after passing a long life in the home of many generations of his family”, in June 1869, aged 90, and buried at Crosby Ravensworth, 1 July; north transept of Crosby Ravensworth church rebuilt in his memory

Gibson, Thomas, MD, JP, author of Legends and Historical Notes on Places in the East and West Wards, Westmorland (1877), and ditto of North Westmorland (1887), of Town Head House, Orton (1885)

Gibson, Thomas Horatio (c.1864-1945), JP, MD, CM Edin, medical practitioner, surgeon and medical officer for Kirkby Stephen district of East Ward, also of the Poor Law Institution, North Westmorland Guardians Committee Area, and surgeon for Kirkby Stephen district of London & North East Railway, JP for East Ward PS Division of Westmorland (by 1897), first of Eden Place (1894), 56 South Road (1905), of Redenol House, South Road (1897, 1910, 1929), later (by 1934) of Redmayne House, Silver Street, Kirkby Stephen, buried in Kirkby Stephen cemetery, 15 February 1945, aged 81

Gibson, William (1720-1791), mathematician, known as ‘Willy o’ th’ Hollins’, in Cartmel Fell, born at Bolton, near Appleby, in 1720, lost his parents early, employed as a farm lad, became superintendent of a farm by his late teens, rented and managed Hollins farm in Winster valley prob in 1740s, conscious of his lack of learning he taught himself to read and write, but also rapidly acquired understanding of mathematics, geometry, algebra, trigonometry, land surveying, navigation and astronomy, found he had exceptional capacity for mental arithmetic, followed later by astronomy, optics, navigation……ran small school for eight to ten gentlemen on his farm (pupils incl Sir John Barrow, (qv)) (GM, 1791, p.1062; WW, ii, 323-330; WG, 10.05.2012)

Gibson, William (17xx-18xx), tanner, of Beck Head, Kirkby Lonsdale, marr (24 April 1786) Margaret (“endured severe and protracted bodily afflictions” and died 10 August 1808, aged 44), yr dau of Wilson John Robinson (qv), issue inc son Joseph (born 1805, died 6 October 1868, aged 63), of Whelprigg, Barbon, which was bought by his predecessor Joseph Gibson (d.1718) in 1687, and 2 daus (Margaret, died 22 February 1850, aged 57, and Mary, died 29 November 1809, aged 20) (MI in KL church, WCN, ii, 94)

Gibson, William, clockmaker, Appleby; [Barry McKay has information]

Gibson, William (18xx-19xx), gardener, started at Levens as foreman gardener in 1891 and succ as head gardener in 1895, author of The Book of Topiary (1904), giving practical advice for aspiring topiarists as well as technical tips, recollections of Levens Garden by his son Charles (born in January 1903) (quoted in The Garden at Levens by Chris Crowder (2005), 60-63), marr Margaret Roose (2nd dau, Joan, born in gardener’s cottage, 12 November 1913 and bapt at Levens, 28 December, marr Reg Maudsley, son (Colin), died in Stettler Hospital, Canada, 23 January 2011), of Beaumont Hall, Levens, left in 1919 after WW1 to try market gardening on own account, later jobbing gardener, Lancaster (WG, 13.09.2018, p.76)

Gibson, Anthony Metcalfe- (1817-1885), landowner, heir to his mother’s cousin, Richard Gibson (qv), bapt 22 November 1817 at Ravenstonedale, son of Anthony Metcalfe (1765-1845), yeoman and gamekeeper to Earl of Lonsdale, of Brownber (son of Anthony Metcalfe and Mary, dau of Anthony Fothergill) and of Frances (1785-1827), dau of Robert Wilson by his wife, Frances (1757-1788), dau of Thomas Gibson (d.1796), of Oddendale, assumed addnl name of Gibson in 1881, marr, son (Anthony, qv), died at Park House, Ravenstonedale, aged 67, and buried at Ravenstonedale, 13 May 1885

Gibson, Anthony Metcalfe- (1849-1902), JP, landowner, of Coldbeck, Ravenstonedale, son of Anthony Metcalfe, later Metcalfe-Gibson (qv), succ by son, Anthony, JP, BA, of Greenside, Ravenstonedale, owned freehold house at 8 Thorny Hills, Kendal (1886)

Gibson, J A Metcalfe-, of Elm Lodge, Eavenstonedale, apptd a governor of Crosby Ravensworth School by Lord Lonsdale (succ Hon William Lowther, who had resigned) in 1886

Gielgud, Sir John (1904-2000; ODNB), actor, performed at Rosehill theatre in 1961

Gilbert fitz Reinfred (fl. 1 Ric I – 4 Hen III), baron of Kendal, son of Roger fitz Reinfred, marr Helewise, dau and heir of William de Lancastre II (qv), 1 son (William de Lancastre III) and 3 daus, grant of quittance from noutgeld by Richard I in 1189, died in 4 Hen III (1219-20) (N&B, I, 31-32; RK, I)

Gilbert, Thomas Farrell (18xx-1928), clergyman, vicar of Heversham 1866-1921, time of the Paley & Austin restoration, aristocratic low churchman, died 1928

Gilchrist, Constance (Connie) Macdonald (1865-1946), actress, child performer, adept as a actress, singer and dancer, aged 6 was an artist’s model for Frederick Leighton’s The Music Lesson (1877; Hunterian)  and later for James McNeill Whistler in the rather outrageous Harmony in Yellow and Gold: The Gold Girl (1876-7; Metropolitan NY) in which she is shown skipping with a rope as she had in her performance on stage at the Gaiety Theatre, dubbed ‘the original Gaiety girl’, Lewis Carroll (aka Charles Lutwidge Dodgson; qv) photographed her, became the teen-aged mistress of St George, the 4th earl of Lonsdale (1855-1882), who bought her a house in London, great scandal ensued when the earl died in that property, young Connie was only seventeen, eventually in 1892 she married the 7th earl of Orkney and brought up a family

Giles, Revd Francis S (18xx-1894), Roman Catholic priest, died 29 June 1894 and buried at Catholic Church of Our Lady and St Wilfred, Warwick Bridge

Gilkes, Gilbert (1845-1924), MICE, JP, manufacturer and engineer, son of Bedford Gilkes, schoolmaster, old Gloucestershire family of Quakers, was resident at 35 Duchess Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham at time of marriage in 1874, engineering pupil with Messrs Gilkes, Wilson & Co, of Middlesbrough, purchased Canal Iron Works of Messrs Williamson Bros in 1881 and then formed a limited company, branched out into manufacture of other types of reaction and impulse turbines, with governors and pumps (company acquired water power business of Messrs James Gordon & Co Ltd, London in 1928), royal warrant holders,

Westmorland County Councillor for Kendal Borough Allhallows division 1889, County Alderman 1893, Chairman, Technical Instruction Committee 1890, three times mayor of Kendal 1898-99, 1899-1900, 1900-1901, chairman of Vigilance Committee (1907), Hon Secretary of Kendal Educational Committee, Trustee of Gillinggate Mission Hall (left it £500 in will), marr (20 October 1874, at FMH, Kendal) Rachel Esther (buried at Parkside cemetery, 17 April 1920, aged 71), dau of John Jowitt Wilson (qv), of Underfell, later of Lynnside, Kendal, died 13 August 1924; portrait by W G Collingwood in Kendal Town Hall (WL)

Gill, Christopher, carrier, tenant of Low Wood, Windermere (took over early in 1726, still there in 1754)

Gill, Edward (18xx-18xx), bookseller, stationer and printer, and newspaper proprietor, of Kendal Mercury 1866/67- (business on site of former “Lord Nelson Inn” (closed 1855), and 11 Finkle Street from 1868), publisher (and ? editor) of The Westmorland Note-Book, Vol. I 1888-1889 (originally published in columns of the Kendal Mercury and Times) and The Westmorland Natural History Record, Vol. I (March 1888-December 1889) (for the Kendal Natural History Society), but publication carried on at a loss and discontinued

Gill, Eric Rowton (1882-1940), sculptor, visited a Coniston slate quarry c.1920s, there are at least two Gill tombstones in the county, that of Isabella Huxtable (qv) at Lorton and also of Priscilla Johnston (qv) at Stanwix

Gill, Florence May (Jill Heap) (18xx-1947), BA, headmistress, born in Yorkshire, educ Northallerton Grammar School and Somerville College, Oxford, history teacher at Bingley Girls’ Grammar School 1927-1931, senior history mistress of Ealing County School for Girls 1931-1941, spent 12 months as an exchange teacher in America on staff of Cranston High School, Providence, RI, apptd Headmistress of Kendal High School in January 1941, from 162 applications, taking up her appointment on 1 May, not always discreet in liking company of men, which began to affect reputation of school, persuaded to resign ‘on grounds of ill health’ in 1944 (letter of resignation, 1 September 1944), though in fact for having affair with a married minister of religion, Revd Harry Heap (who had given talk to seniors at school on Hebrew in Autumn 1942), joined BBC staff to write scripts under name of Nancy Hashforth and apptd Northern Region talks director, later went out to Ceylon and changed her name to Jill Heap, as if married to Captain H Heap, Radio SEAC, Colombo, killed in motoring accident sixty miles from Colombo, 12 May 1947; Harry Heap later reconciled with his wife (d.1999) and died in 2003 (portrait drawing by J S Rosenthal, 1938)  (WG; KHS; inf ex Robert Heap, 2004)

Gillbanks, Jackson (1819-1878), MA, LLB, JP, clergyman and barrister, son of Joseph Gillbanks (qv), ordained 1844, curate of Aikton and later of Gilsland, bur relinquished Holy Orders and called to Bar in 1848, died in 1878 and succ by his sisters (Mary, wife of R M Lawrance, and Maria Josephine, wife of Revd Henry Gough)

Gillbanks, Joseph (1780-1853), DL, JP, merchant, son of Joseph Gillbanks, of Scothwaite Close, Ireby, went to Jamaica in 1800 and amassed fortune as merchant, returned to England in 1814 and bought Whitefield House, Orthwaite Hall (purchased from George Browne in April 1837 for £10,000, which incl cost of mortgage, property having been mortgaged for £5,000 in December 1820), Haltcliffe Hall, and other estates, marr (1819) Mary (died in January 1878), eldest dau of Ralph Jackson, of Normanby, Yorks, and cousin and heir of W Thomas Jackson, 1 son (Jackson) and 2 daus (Mary and Maria Josephine), died at Whitefield House, Ireby, in February 1853 [1850 in CFH] (memorial east window in Uldale St James)

Gilles (fl.mid 11thc), son of Bueth, lord of Bewcastle (qv), established community at Gilsland (Gillesland), dispossessed at the Conquest

Gillford, Lady Mary Elizabeth Margaret (nee Douglas Home), (1871-1951) daughter of Charles Alexander Douglas Home (1834-1918), 12th earl Home and aunt of the prime minister Alec Douglas Home (1903-1995; ODNB), her mother was Maria Grey, daughter of Capt Charles Conrad Grey (1849-1919), m. Capt. Richard Meade RN, Lord Gillford (1868-1905) in 1895 at Douglas Castle, Meade was the son of Admiral Richard Meade, 4th earl of Clanwilliam, and they lived at Snittlegarth near Binsey, one daughter Theodosia, on Meade’s premature death in 1905 (buried Torpenhow) moved to Carlisle and leased Petterill Bank House from 1909, here she devoted herself to charitable activities, organized sports days, challenged the women of the city to knit 150,000 socks for soldiers in the 1st WW, Petterill Bank House, later known affectionately as ‘Lady Gillford’s House’, Carlisle is now home of Cumbria Archives and officially named after her; her sister Mary Jane married the 5th baron Ormathwaite (qv)

Gillford, Lord, see Meade, Richard Charles (1868-1905)

Gillham, John James (fl.1892-mid 20thc), grocer, Ulverston, business passed through two more generations and closed in 1994,  twelve years later the family established the popular tea rooms

Gillies, Margaret (1803-1887; ODNB), painter, born 7 August 1803 at Throgmorton Street, City of London, and bapt at St Benet Fink, Threadneedle Street, 6 February 1804, dau of William Gillies (1761-1845), corn merchant, and Charlotte Hester Bonnor (d.1811), pupil of Frederick Cruikshank, Scottish miniature painter, in 1820s, made large miniature portraits and some subject compositions, exhibited widely at RA, RBA and RSA but known especially for portraits of leading writers, intellectuals and social reformers of the day, before specialising in larger subject pictures, often featuring suffering heroines from Bible, literature and history, studied in Paris with Henri and Ary Scheffer after which her works became more religious in tone and allegorical in subject, spent two months at Rydal Mount in 1839 painting portraits of William and Mary Wordsworth (now hanging in Dove Cottage, Grasmere), family and friends, inc Dorothy Benson Harrison (Dora Wordsworth’s cousin), mezzotint of WW published 6 August 1841 and engraving appeared in A New Spirit of the Age in 1844 (along with Charles Dickens, Harriet Martineau and Thomas Southwood Smith, the latter of whom she lived with), died at The Warren, Crockham Hill, nr Edenbridge, Kent, 20 July 1887 and buried at Crockham Hill, 23 July

Gillman, Percy (18xx-19xx), schoolmaster, headmaster of Arnside School (erected 1880) when marr (23 July 1914) to Gertrude Hawley Adcock in Manchester Cathedral, having succ Joseph Scholfield after 1910 and succ by James Lindsay before 1921

Gilpin family of Kentmere and later Scaleby, one of the most remarkable Cumbrian families, Sir Francis Galton (1822-1911) in Inherited Genius (1892, 286) refers to three members of the Gilpin family; also see Gilpyn

Gilpin, Bernard (1516-1584; ODNB), MA, clergyman and preacher, ‘The Apostle of the North’, yr son of Edwin Gilpin, of Kentmere, and his wife, Margaret, dau of William Layton, of Dalemain, and niece of Cuthbert Tunstall, bishop of Durham, and yr brother of George Gilpin (qv), educ Queen’s College, Oxford (entd 1533, BA 24 February 1540, MA 21 March 1542 and later Fellow), moved to Christ Church in 1547 and made supplication for BTh degree in 1549, rector of Houghton-le-Spring (presented by bishop Tunstall in 1557), resigned archdeaconry of Durham and rectory of Easington in 1560, turned down bishopric of Carlisle when offered to him through earl of Bedford’s influence in 1560 and provostship of Queen’s College, Oxford in 1561, refused to be persuaded to accept see of Carlisle by his kinsman Edwin Sandys (qv), bishop of Worcester, carried out preaching tours during winter months in 1560s and 1570s in Tynedale and Redesdale made necessary by the shortage of clergy in Northumberland, spoke out against the despoiling of church fabric, sculpture and paintings, died unmarried, probably at Houghton-le-Spring, 4 March 1584, aged 66, and buried there 5 March, his chest tomb in the church has the Gilpin heraldic boar (see Richard de Gilpyn), co-founder Houghton-le-Spring Kepier School and bequeathed his books to the foundation, (G Carleton, Vita Bernardi Gilpin (1628); W Gilpin, Life of Bernard Gilpin (1753); M Lewins, Life of Bernard Gilpin, Apostle of the North (1850); C S Collingwood, Memoirs of Bernard Gilpin (1884); G Battiscombe, Bernard Gilpin (1947); D Marcombe, Northern History, 16 (1980); WW, i, 231-278); Edgar Hinchcliffe, Bainbrigg Library of Appleby Grammar school, 5; portrait of him in old age, an imagined subject shows him preaching, the church at Houghton-le-Spring celebrates his memory in numerous elements in carved stone and stained glass and has an annual Gilpin festival, plaque Kentmere church, corona in Kendal parish church in his memory (see Michael Bottomley)

Gilpin, Bernard (16xx-1681), BA, Queen’s College, Oxford, appointed Master of St Bees School (on instrument of Provost Timothy Halton), 29 June 1679 (Register Book), buried at St Bees, 19 May 1681 (FiO, I, 285)

Gilpin, Bernard (18xx-18xx), FRCS, surgeon, of Belle Vue House, Ulverston, friend of William Fell, FRCS, of Ambleside, from whom he received a copy of The Worthies of Westmorland in August 1859, inscribed ‘a nice gift from one well-known Westmorland surgeon to another’, of Cavendish Street, Ulverston (1851), but not listed in 1866

Gilpin, Catherine (1738-1811), dialect poet, daughter of Captain John Bernard Gilpin, sister of the Rev. William Gilpin, a friend of Susannah Blamire (qqv) with whom she shared lodgings for a time, her wit was apprecoiated by archdeacon Paley (qv); she appears in Norman Nicholson’s anthology of Lakeland material, 375 (p.b. edn.)

Gilpin, George (1514-1602; ODNB), diplomat and translator, 2nd son of Edwin Gilpin, of Kentmere, and his wife, Margaret, dau of William Layton, of Dalemain, and er brother of Bernard Gilpin (qv), studied civil law at Malines in early 1550s, possibly the same George Gilpin acting as JP for Westmorland in 1585 and 1587, though he spent little time in England during Elizabeth’s reign, appointed English secretary on Dutch council of state in March 1586, replaced Sir Thomas Bodley as accredited English councillor from June 1593 and remained in post until his death in late September 1602

Gilpin, John (1670-1732), merchant, yst son of Richard Gilpin (qv), merchant in Virginia trade at Whitehaven

Gilpin, John Bernard (1701-1776; DCB), soldier, landscape painter and drawing master, marr Matilda Langstaffe (1703-1773), more than 7 children (inc William, Sawrey and Joseph (qv)), Galton referred to the inherited genius of the Gilpins, the captain was involved in the military roadbuilding in Scotland in the 1730s, was senior officer of Carlisle garrison in 1745 and then ran a drawing school in the deanery; buried with his wife at NW corner of the ruined nave of cathedral; Barbier;

Gilpin, Sir Joseph Dacre Appleby, (1745-1834; DCB) military surgeon, yst son of Captain John Bernard Gilpin qv, saw action in North America, the West Indies and in Gibraltar, quelled an outbreak of pestilence, mayor of Carlisle, m. dau of Gen Irving (qv), buried in Bath; bust in cathedral, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 142; Jenny Uglow, The Pine Cone, 24; his will at Kew U/1837/164

Gilpin, Matilda, daughter of George Langstaffe and wife of Capt. John Bernard Gilpin (qv) and the mother of three sons and one daughter included in this project, for this she must take half the credit

Gilpin, Richard (1625-1700; ODNB), MA, nonconformist minister and physician, born in Strickland Ketel township and bapt at Kendal, 23 October 1625, 2nd son of Isaac Gilpin (died in or after 1649), of Strickland, and his wife Ann (died in or after 1664), dau of Ralph Tunstall, of Coatham Mundeville, co Durham, and great nephew of George and Bernard Gilpin (qv), possibly a chorister at Durham Cathedral before studying medicine then divinity at Edinburgh University (MA 30 July 1646), family disruption in Civil War led to the loss of the Kentmere estate, possibly taught at Durham Cathedral Grammar School c.1649 before being ordained (details not known), administering sacrament in Durham Catherdral by 1 May 1649 and described as minister of Durham by 2 October 1650, became Rector of Greystoke by late 1652 or early 1653, organised the parish on congregational model though would probably have preferred a presbyterian system, but this not adopted in Cumberland, was instrumental in organising local clergy and their congregations  into an association (its terms published as The agreement of the associated ministers & churches of the counties of Cumberland and Westmorland in 1656), appointed assistant to commission for the four northern counties in 1654, preached sermon at Keswick on 19 May 1658 in celebration of the association (The Temple Rebuilt), local implementation of his conception of parish reformation threatened by missionary efforts of Quakers and subsequent friction, his own kinsman, John Gilpin of Kendal, reconverted (published as The Quakers Shaken or, A Firebrand Snatch’d out of the Fire, dated 4 July 1653), marr (16 September 1656) at Thursby to Susanna Brisco (1625-1715), of Crofton, 13 children (born between 1657 and 1677, inc William (1657-1724) (qv); Isaac (1658-1719); Dorothy (1668-1708), wife first of Jabez Cay, physician of Newcastle, and later of Eli Fenton; and John (1670-1732) (qv)), purchased Scaleby Castle in 1650s (formerly royalist Musgrave property), appointed visitor to college at Durham (patent dated 15 May 1657), preached an assize sermon at Carlisle on 10 September 1660 and offered see of Carlisle but declined (like Bernard Gilpin in 1560), resigned his living of Greystoke for Morland, the most significant protestant dissenting minister in northern counties in latter half of 17th century, died of pneumonia, 13 February 1700 and buried in All Saints Church, Newcastle, 16 February; his wife retired to Scaleby and died on 18 January 1715 on visit to her married daughter Anne Sawrey (1660-1745) at Broughton Tower and buried at Broughton-in-Furness, 21 January; Memoirs; also Daemonologia Sacra, portrait frontispiece; Barbier

Gilpin, Richard (fl.18thc.), brother of Captain JB Gilpin (qv) inherited Scaleby castle from his father as the oldest son, not adept at estate management so his debts grew, eventually (as the result of a suit in Chancery) lost the possession of Scaleby c.1748 to Edward Stephenson (qv), as he owed him £7,000

Gilpin, Sawrey (1733-1807; ODNB), RA, animal painter, born at Scaleby, 30 October 1733, son and 7th child of Captain John Bernard Gilpin (qv) and yr brother of William (qv), probably sang in th cathedral choir (S.G. graffito carved on chest door in north choir of cathedral); trained at the deanery with his father then with Samuel Scott in London, marr (6 June 1759) Elizabeth Broom (died prob in 1802), six children (inc William Sawrey, qv), designed a boar bookplate for his brother William (illus on DCB site re Captain JB Gilpin), enjoyed patronage of the duke of Cumberland (four of his works are still at Windsor Castle) and Col Thomas Thornton (1751/2-1823) of Thornton Royal (Y) (Newmarket Racing Museum), he lived in Knightsbridge from 1786, was invited by his friend and patron, Samuel Whitbread, to stay at Southill, Bedfordshire after death of his wife, but retired to London in 1805 to live with daus at 16 Brompton Crescent, where he died, 8 March 1807; Grove Dictionary of Art; David A. Cross, Armitt Journal vol.1, 1998; Marshall Hall; Barbier

Gilpin, Sidney, pseudonym of George Coward (qv)

Gilpin, Susanna (1689-1769), antiquarian, sister of Captain JB Gilpin (qv), m. Joseph Dacre Appleby (d.c.1741) of Kirklinton Hall with whom she had eight children, John ‘Warwick’ Smith (qv) was the son of her gardener, after the death of her husband she excavated in 1741 a Roman bath house with its hypocaust at Camboglanna, this was described by Roger Gale and cited in William Hutchinson’s history (1794), she moved a Roman altar to her own home, this dig was important as the Camboglanna site was seriously damaged by the later building of Castlesteads House, she is acknowledged by Eric Birley (qv) as the earliest woman to have excavated at Hadrian’s wall (Eric Birley, Research on Hadrian’s Wall, 1961, 204

Gilpin, William (fl.1485), on Bosworth Field Roll as ‘of Kentmire’

Gilpin, William (1657-1724), JP, barrister, eldest son of Richard Gilpin (qv), Justice of Peace, Recorder of Carlisle 1718, noted for his artistic and antiquarian tastes

Gilpin, William, agent to the Lowthers, amateur artist taught by Matthias Read q.v.; lived Tangier House, Whitehaven 1725-1745; CW1 iii 367

Gilpin, William (1724-1804; ODNB), MA, clergyman, headmaster and writer on the picturesque, born at Scaleby, 4 June 1724, eldest son of Captain John Bernard Gilpin (qv), educ Carlisle and St Bees School and Queen’s College, Oxford (BA 1744, MA 1748), Prebendary of Salisbury, Assistant Master then Headmaster of Cheam School for 25 years from 1752, with 15 boys at start and 80 when he left, a man of originality, probable inspiration of Smollett’s good schoolmaster in Peregrine Pickle, left an account of his methods showing him well in advance of his time, both as a teacher and manager of boys, whom he ruled by appealing to their reason and good sense rather than by corporal punishment, great encourager of games, particularly cricket, also instituted a system of school gardens, (letter to Midred Fleming, 30 November 1760 (CW2, lxx, 191)), vicar of Boldre, where he died, 5 April 1804, and buried in churchyard there, 13 April (album containing some of his family papers, with pen and ink and water-colour sketches, were sold at Sothebys on 24 March 1970 to Messrs Sanders Ltd, of Oxford for £550, with Tullie House unsuccessful, CW2, lxx, 291-292); satirized by William Coombe as Dr Syntax; Barbier; David A. Cross in Grove Dictionary of Art; appears in numerous Dove Cottage catalogues; his son the Rev William Gilpin (1754-1851) was British Consul in Rhode Island USA; Gilpin mss at Dalhousie university ex coll Betty Campbell

Gilpin, William Sawrey (1762-1843; ODNB), landscape painter and landscape gardener, born c.1762, son and 2nd of six children of Sawrey Gilpin (qv), probably spent his youth in London and Windsor, prob educ at his uncle’s school at Cheam, he advised the Vane family at Hutton-in-the-Forest upon a new garden design which was realised, died at Sedbury Hall, North Riding, Yorkshire, 4 April 1843, aged 81, and buried at St Agatha’s church, Gilling West, 8 April; Marshall Hall

Gilpyn, Richard de (temp. King John), of Kentmere Hall, killed a wild boar, hence the Gilpyn and Gilpin heraldry; Sawrey Gilpin also designed a boar on a bookplate for William; Barbier

Gilroy, Dorothy (1943-2007), expert on dyslexia; The Guardian, Other Lives 23rd January 2007

Gilson, Hugh Cary CBE CBiol FIBiol (1910-2000), director of the FBA at Ferry House, born Birmingham, son of headmaster of King Edward’s School, Birmingham, educ Trinity Coll Cambridge (1st class degree), expedition to Indian Ocean and then Lake Titicaca increased his interest in limnology, lectured at Cambridge, during the war ran a freeze drying unit for blood plasma for the RN, 1946-1973 director of FBA initially at Wray Castle, the organization grew hugely during his tenure. became the major centre for freshwater scientific research in the world with an association membership of 2000, he maintained the tradition of greater freedom for his staff which led to greater results, provided facilities to enable many freshwater biologists to work successfully, good at securing funding, edited J of Animal Ecology 1952-1963, passion for instrument design and construction, marr Betty Brown (1909-1965) (qv), three daughters, 2nd wife Eleanor Wood (d.1999); Obit West Gaz 14 Jan 2000 and Independent 10 Feb 2000

Gipps, Revd Henry (c.1797-1877), MA, clergyman, educ Oxford (MA), Vicar of Corbridge, Northumberland 1829-1853, Vicar of Crosthwaite (C) 1855-1877, Canon Residentiary of Carlisle 1845-1877, died aged 80 (memorial brass in Carlisle Cathedral)

Girtin, Thomas (1775-1802; ODNB), artist, friend of JMW Turner (qv), visited the Lakes

Gisborne, Thomas (1758-1846; ODNB), clergyman and landowner, founding canon of Durham university, anti-slavery campaigner, lived Yoxhall Lodge, Staffordshire; a friend at Oxford of William Wilberforce (qv), also the Rev. William Gilpin and Joseph Wright of Derby (qqv) with whom he sketched in the Lakes in 1794; portrait in Durham Castle, David A. Cross, The Paintings in Durham Castle, unpublished catalogue, 2000, 8 n5 (copy Durham University library)

Gladstone, William Ewart (1809-1898; ODNB), politician, his diary has several Cumbrian references including an early visit in June 1828 where he records staying on the 7th at the Bush in Carlisle [an excellent inn] and the 8th at the George in Penrith [a good inn], in 1881 he refers to persuading the ‘aged’ dean Oakley [1834-1890] to ‘retire’ to the deanery in Manchester (this is odd as Oakley was only 46 and in any event did not move to Manchester as dean until 1884 and then lived another six years), another reference to Carlisle in his diaries is to the imprisonment in Carlisle castle and then the hanging of Fergus McIvor and the appearance of his ghost: ‘McIvor’s spectral Vision’ or Fergus seeing ‘the Bodach Glas’, a reference to a character in Scott’s Waverley; stayed at Strands Inn, Nether Wasdale in 1883 (J.E. David, Strands Inn, 9), Orton Liberal Club has his likeness in granite above its doorway; Scot Hist Rev vol.lxxxvi, 1, no 222, April 2007, 69-95

Glaister family; CW2 xx 188

Glaister, Jacob (1886-1950), DCM, MM, builder, built Whitehaven Bus Station on Bransty Row (opened in 1931, only the second covered purpose-built bus station in England after Workington), died in 1950, aged 64 (WN, 19.09.2018)

Glasson, Lancelot T (18xx-1935), brewer, chairman of Glasson’s Penrith Breweries Ltd (Union Court brewery and wine & spirit merchants, Corn Market and 5 Little Dockray, Penrith), formerly chairman of Messrs M B Foster and Sons, bottlers, London, marr dau (at The Grotto, Yanwath in 1938) of Myles Birket Foster (qv) (ODNB), son (Captain Glasson, exhibitor at RA), member of CWAAS from 1931, of The Grotto, Yanwath (1929), where he died in August 1935, aged 81 (CW2, xxxvi, 239)

Glenamara, Baron, see Short, E W

Glenday, Sir Vincent Goncalves (1891-1970), KCMG, OBE, MA, FGS, colonial administrator, born 11 February 1891, son of Alexander Glenday, educ St Bees School (School House 1904-1909) and Wadham College, Oxford (BA 2nd class Natural Science (geology), MA), diploma in forestry, entered Colonial Administrative Service 1913, author of geological papers (with Dr John Parkinson), resigned 1961, marr (1939) Elizabeth Mary Bader, er dau of Sir Jacob Barth, CBE, 3 sons, of Natal, South Africa, died 30 April 1970

Glessall, James (c.1840-1920), formerly Master of Shap Workhouse, died at Newby, Morland, aged 80, and buried at Shap, 13 February 1920

Glover, John [1767-1849], artist, visited the Lakes

Glyn, George Carr, 1st Baron Wolverton (1797-1873; ODNB), banker, railway promoter and politician, MP for Kendal 1847-1868, chairman of London & North-Western Railway, used his influence to secure situations for Kendal boys in railway offices (CW2, lx, 167), his son G G Glyn was chairman of Railway Clearing House (CW2, lxxxiv, 245)

Glynn, Joseph (1799-1863; ODNB), FRS, MICE, mechanical and civil engineer, born in Newcastle upon Tyne, 6 February 1799, son of James Glynn, erected steam engine for Earl of Carlisle to drain Talkin colliery at Brampton, designed and erected gasworks at Berwick upon Tweed in 1821, chief engineer to Butterley Company, Ripley, Derbyshire from 1821 for at least 25 years, author of A Report on the Drainage of Levens, Underbarrow, and Helsington, printed by Hudson & Nicholson, Kendal, 1839 (dated at Butterley, 26 December 1838, and addressed to Messrs Wilson & Harrison, Solicitors, Kendal), and Report on the Proposed Embankment or Viaduct of the Ulverstone & Lancaster Railway, as affecting the drainage of the low & marsh lands in the Townships of Levens & Helsington, printed by John Hudson, Kendal (dated 24 March 1851, to Messrs T & E Harrison, Solicitors) (copies in CRO, WDX 313), died at his home, 28 Westbourne Park Villas, London, 6 February 1863

Glynn Jones, Owen (1867-1899), rock climber and writer, died on the Dent Blanche in Switzerland in 1899, author of Rock Climbing in the English Lakes (1897)

Glynne, Sir Stephen (d.1872), PhD, brother in law of Gladstone, visited numerous churches and took notes, 106 vols, Cumbrian material appears in Lawrence Butler (ed), The Church Notes of Sir Srtephen Glynne for Cumbria (1833-1872), 2011

Gnosspelius, Barbara Crystal (nee Collingwood) (1887-1961), sculptor, born 27 May 1878, 2nd dau of W G Collingwood (qv), known as ‘Mole’ to family, educ at home, Cope’s School of Art 1902-1904, Dept of Fine Art, University of Reading (Art Master’s Certificate 1910), studied sculpture in Paris 1910-1912, practising sculptor in London 1912-1915, served with Intelligence Division, Admiralty 1916-1918, sculptor in London and Coniston 1919-1925, with her work appearing regularly at annual Coniston exhibition, plaster bust of Ruskin, carved War Memorials at Coniston, Hawkshead and Otley, rejected earlier proposal from Arthur Ransome (as with her sister Dora), who still dedicated his Old Peter’s Russian Tales (1916) to her, marr (1925) Oscar Theodor Gnosspelius (qv), 1 dau (Janet, qv), living at High Hollin Bank, Coniston from 1928 until her death, succ her father as President of The Lake Artists Society 1932-1946, died 27 January 1961, aged 73, and buried at Coniston, 30 January

Gnosspelius, Janet B (1926-2010), BArch, ARIBA, architect and conservationist, born at Kendal, 29 July 1926, dau and only child of Oscar Gnosspelius (qv) and Barbara (qv), dau of W G Collingwood, of High Hollin Bank, Coniston, known as ‘Ratty’ to her family, which was close to Arthur Ransome, modelled for drawing of Nancy in Pigeon Post, her grandfather’s book Dutch Agnes, Her Valentine was reissued in 1930 when WGC dedicated ‘the old tale of Agnes and Janet Puchberger to my grandchild Janet Gnosspelius, who was not thought of when it was written (1910), for she is still only four years old’, her father being involved in the reopening of the Coniston copper mine in 1928 (photograph in CC, 277), school?, studied architecture at Liverpool University in 1940s, later working with the noted Liverpool architect, Herbert Rowse (1887-1963; ODNB), set up practice as architect in Church Street, Ambleside and carried out inspection reports for local churches (eg Holy Trinity, Brathay in 1959), moved to Woolton in south Liverpool after her parents died, where after retirement she became heavily involved in the local history and conservation of the old villages of Woolton and Gateacre, esp as founder member of the Woolton Society, author of The History of Much Woolton (1975), formidable opponent of inappropriate planning applications, researcher of meticulous rigour, consulted as source and authority on local history, Lake District artists, church architecture and Icelandic saga-sites, with a large range of correspondence, fiercely guarded the Collingwood reputation, edited WGC’s ‘Letters from Iceland’ in 1996 (Collingwood Studies, 3, 1-75) but her planned biography of WTG (which she weaponised in production) did not appear, life member of CWAAS from 1956, eccentric in dress, of 14 Hightor Road, Woolton, Liverpool, died in Royal Liverpool Hospital, 18 July 2010, aged 84, and cremated at Springwood, Woolton, Liverpool, 29 July; her mss Liverpool university [and Reading?], Abbot Hall and Dove Cottage

Gnosspelius, Oscar Theodor (1878-1953), FRAeS, civil engineer and pioneer of marine aviation, born 10 March 1878, at Brookfield House, Maghull, Liverpool, son of Adolf Jonathan Gnosspelius (1807-1883), a Swedish-born cotton merchant and stockbroker, by his 2nd wife, Amelia, dau of George Townsend, civil engineer and surveyor, moved south after his father’s death, educ Bedford Grammar School (marksman rep at Bisley), and City and Guilds Central Technical College, South Kensington, London 1895, engaged in survey work rel to mines, ports and railways in Sweden, South America and Africa from 1901 to 1909, moved to ‘Silverholme’, his mother’s house at Graythwaite on west side of Windermere in 1906, attended first aviation meeting at Blackpool in October 1909, started work designing own aircraft or hydrofoil and persuaded Arthur Borwick (qv), local boat builder, to construct it while he enrolled in flying school at Brooklands, first flight from Bowness Bay on Lake Windermere on 25 November 1911, but lost control and machine flipped over onto its back and so could not qualify as first flight from water, repaired his damaged machine and successfully flew it from Windermere on 14 February 1912 (Gertrude Bacon (qv) his first lady passenger), served WW1 as Lieut RNVR, superintending sea plane building for RNAS, which he left later to join Short Brothers experimental dept 1919-1925, returned to live at Coniston in 1925, building High Hollin Bank, re-opened copper mine at Coniston in 1928, but on failure of this venture turned to slate quarrying at Tilberthwaite (Horse Crag), took Arthur Ransome on expedition to region below Swallow Scar on Wetherlam on 17 June 1935 to study ‘ancient tunnels in the hill’ as part of his research for his book Pigeon Post (1936), which was dedicated to Oscar (as Timothy or ‘Squashy Hat’), assisted Shorts with local negotiations for their factory at White Cross Bay during WW2, tried hard to restart his hydrofoil experiments after war, but defeated by rheumatism and failing health, marr (1925) Barbara Crystal (qv), 2nd dau of W G Collingwood, 1 dau (Janet, qv), known as ‘Badger’ to family, contributed short chapter on ‘Motor-Boating’ to his father-in-law’s revised edition of The Lake Counties (1932), died at High Hollin Bank, 17 February 1953, aged 74, and buried at Coniston, 20 February (SEW, 19-22, 128; WoW, 9-13; CC, 272-280, inc photo on p.277); Grace’s Guide

Goad, T Wilson (1923-2010), solicitor and author,  grandson of a police sergeant, grew up on Kirkby Lonsdale farm, articled clerk with Ernest Temple’s practice in Kendal, admitted solicitor 1949 and set up own practice in Kirkby Lonsdale, taking on clients over wide area as far as Settle, suffered from bad stammer, making court appearances impossible, but learnt to use his tongue and lips to overcome it, retired after more than 45 years to write about his experiences as a rural solicitor in Cumbria and North Yorkshire after the manner of James Herriot, author of Just a Country Solicitor (1989), which inspired Granada Television’s Capstick’s Law, My Valley: The Life and Times of Jonty Wilson, Kirkby Lonsdale Blacksmith (1993) and Golf is a Dangerous Game (1998), marr Joan, 1 son (Andrew) and 2 daus (Sarah and Debbie), died in hospital, 2 December 2010, aged 87, and cremated 14 December with service of remembrance at St Mary’s church, Kirkby Lonsdale (WG, 23.12.2010)

Goad, Robert (d.1824), surveyor, Stainton; CW2 xcii 285

Godsalve, Thomas (c.1622-1694), merchant, aged 42 in 1664, eldest son of William Godsalve (aged 72 in 1664), of Borwick, and Margaret, dau of William Sander, of Borwick, marr Susanna (bur at Kirkby Lonsdale, 4 July 1718), dau of Thomas Cartmell, of Farleton, 2 sons and 3 daus, merchant in Amsterdam, purchased manor of Rigmaden from Henry Ward in 1661 and later bought up land held by Brabyn family and other freeholders in Mansergh, uniting all rights connected with Mansergh and Rigmaden to form new manor of Mansergh, held first court baron in 1664, of Rigmaden Hall, buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 7 or 11 January 1693/94 (CW1, xiv, 450-459; portrait at Whelprigg; deeds in CRO, WD/Whelp)

Godsalve, William (1671-1712), landowner, bapt 1671, yr son of Thomas Godsalve (qv), his er bro Thomas (1669-1750) inheriting Mansergh and Rigmaden, owned Hebblethwaite Hall, near Sedbergh, and land in parishes of Kirkby Lonsdale and Gressingham, but resided at Kirfitt Hall, Casterton, will dated 1704/5, unmarr?, buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 20 March 1711/12

Golding, L, lived Grasmere, old boy of Manchester GS, wrote ‘Farewell to the Camp Fire’; Manchester GS magazine Ulula 1914, 171

Goldwell, Thomas (d.1585; ODNB), bishop of St Asaph’s, b. Westmorland, last RC bishop

Golightly, Frank and Tom, wrestlers, Melmerby

Gondibour, Thomas (d.1502), prior of Carlisle, his initials appear on the stables and he may have built the tithe barn; English Heritage entry

Goodchild, John George (1844-1906), FGS, FZS, geologist, born in east London in 1844, apprenticed as an engineer, but attracted to geology by being present at discovery of Quaternary mammals in Kent brickyards, after private study apptd to HM Geological Survey in 1867, first post as assistant to Prof McKenny Hughes (qv) in mapping work in Westmorland, elected member of CWAAS in 1881 (till 1891/2?) when of the Art and Science Museum, Edinburgh, editor of Transactions of Cumberland and Westmorland Association for Advancement of Literature and Science from 1879 (succ J Clifton Ward, qv), author of A Sketch of the Geological History of Kirkby Stephen (published in J W Braithwaite’s Guide, 1884), of 2 Dalhousie Terrace, Morningside, Edinburgh, died aged 61 and buried in Milburn churchyard (with simple Shap Granite boulder as headstone), 24 February 1906 (RM, 81-85); Penrith Museum information

Goodenough, Edmund (1785-1845; ODNB), DD, MA, FRS, clergyman and headmaster, yst son of bishop Goodenough (qv), educ Westminster School and Christ Church, Oxford (MA 1807, DD 1820), vicar of Warkworth 1818, headmaster of Westminster School 1819-1828, prebendary of Carlisle 1826-1845, York and Westminster, prolocutor of lower house, dean of Wells 1831-1845, member of council of Royal Society 1828, published sermons (monument in Wells Cathedral)

Goodenough, James Graham (1830-1875; ODNB), naval officer

Goodenough, Robert Philip (d.1826), MA, clergyman, yr son of bishop Goodenough (qv), prebendary of Carlisle 1811-1826

Goodenough, Samuel (1743-1827; ODNB), MA, DCL, FRS, bishop of Carlisle and botanist, b. Kimpton, Hants, 3rd son of Revd William Goodenough, rector of Broughton Pogis, Oxon, educ Westminster School and Christ Church, Oxford (MA 1767, DCL 1772), usher (under master) at Westminster School 1766-1770, conducted high class school at Little Ealing for ten sons of the nobility at 100 guineas p.a., m. Elizabeth dau. of Dr James Ford, physician of Queen Charlotte, prebend of Brecon, canon of Windsor 1798, dean of Rochester 1802-1808, bishop of Carlisle 1808-1827 (nom 20 January 1808 and cons 13 March), died 12 August 1827 (monument in Carlisle Cathedral), as a botanist, the first man in England to cultivate sea kale (Hudleston armorial n) (four generations including the bishop are recorded in the ODNB), his son Edmund (1785-1845; ODNB) was dean of Wells, his grandson James Graham RN (1830-1875; ODNB) and great grandson Sir William Edward RN (ODNB); Brit Art J. Vol xii no 1, 24

Goodenough, Samuel James (c.1774-1858), MA, clergyman, eldest son of bishop Goodenough (qv), educ Oxford (MA), prebendary of Carlisle 1810-1858, rector of Aikton 1844-1858, died in 1858, aged 84

Goodenough, William (c.1772-1854), MA, clergyman, nephew of Bishop Goodenough (qv), educ Westminster School ? and Oxford (MA), rector of Great Salkeld 1827-1854, but not resident ? (Revd Isaac Hall was resident curate in 1847), archdeacon of Carlisle, died in 1854, aged 82

Goodenough, Sir William Edward (ODNB)

Goodwin, Charles Wycliffe (1817-1878; ODNB), polymath, Egyptologist and judge, the brother of bishop Harvey Goodwin (qv), judge in the Far East, published the first article re papyrus translation

Goodwin, Ellen King, see Ware

Goodwin, George Gonville (Granville?) (1851-1878), BA, clergyman, born at Cambridge, 18 September 1851, 2nd son of Rt Revd Harvey Goodwin (qv), educ Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge, curate of Leeds 1874-1878, marr (3 October 1876) Jessie Louise, dau of W R Clarke, of Wattlefield Hall, Wymondham Norfolk, curate of Crosthwaite, Keswick, died young s.p. (of scarlet fever) 4 March 1878 died in 1878; memorial plaque Crosthwaite parish room (was his premature death at Crosthwaite the reason for the bihop’s interment here too ?)

Goodwin, Harvey (1818-1891; ODNB), DD, DCL, MA, bishop of Carlisle, born at King’s Lynn, 9 October 1818, 2nd of six children of Charles Goodwin, solicitor, and Frances Catherine Sawyer (d.1825), of Leeds, (she seems to have claimed descent from John Wycliffe (1475-1550)), educ private school at High Wycombe, Bucks, Harvey visited Keswick for a reading party before going up to university in the company of William Hepworth Thompson (1810-1886), fellow and later master of Kings, he went up to Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge (admitted pensioner in 1835, scholar 1837-1839, BA (2nd in maths tripos) and apptd to mathematical lectureship at Caius in 1840, fellow 1841-1845, MA 1843), ordained deacon 1842 and priest 1844, gave up fellowship in 1845 to be licensed asst curate at St Giles, Cambridge, marr (13 August 1845, at Woodchurch, Cheshire) Ellen (died 1896), er dau of George and Katherine King, of Bebington House, Cheshire, 3 sons (inc Harvey, qv) and 4 daus (inc Ellen King, qv), (all born in Cambridge), incumbent of St Edward’s, Cambridge 1848-1858, Hulsean Lecturer at Cambridge 1855-1857, dean of Ely 1858-1869, member of Royal Commissions on clerical subscription 1863, ritual 1867 and cathedrals 1879-1885 (chm from 1882), bishop of Carlisle 1869-1891 (nominated in October, consecrated at York on 30 November, and enthroned at Carlisle on 15 December), introduced a diocesan conference, established a new archdeaconry and a suffragan bishopric in 1889, consecrated or dedicated 150 churches and burial grounds in diocese, inc St George’s, Millom on 28 May 1877 (as result of increased population with development of iron-mining and smelting industries), first bishop to try and bridge gap with underpaid and isolated rural clergy in diocese, the building of Church House, Westminster, was largely due to his efforts, laid foundation stone of St Mark’s Home for Waifs and Strays at Natland on 1 April 1884, author of Parish Sermons, etc, died of heart failure while visiting archbishop of York at Bishopthorpe, 25 November 1891, and buried at Crosthwaite, Keswick (large celtic cross with inscription by Rawnsley); (also monument with bronze effigy in Carlisle cathedral by Hamo Thorneycroft); Ely cathedral choir has a fine relief tondo by Conrad Dussler, Pevsner, 2014, 515; Goodwin Memorial School in Blackwell Road, Carlisle, built in his memory in 1892); his daughters Catherine and Frances married the two Spooner brothers (qqv); obit Times 26 November 1891; 25 lines in Venn Alumni; HD Rawnsley, Harvey Goodwin, Bishop of Carlisle: A Biographical Memoir, 1896; David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 145-6

Goodwin, Harvey (1850-1917), DL, JP, landowner, born at Cambridge, 3 February 1850, eldest son of Rt Revd Harvey Goodwin (qv), educ Uppingham, purchased Orton Hall estate in 1898, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1904, DL and JP Westmorland, also JP Manchester, marr (23 April 1879) Ruth (died 16 December 1935), 2nd dau of William Henry Wakefield (qv), of Sedgwick House, 2 sons (Harvey (infra) and George Wycliffe (born August 1891), of Burlington Place, Carlisle) and 1 dau (Ruth (born 9 February 1880)), planted ‘Sweetheart Wood’ near Tebay in Lune Gorge in celebration of the marriage, died 25/26 October 1917, aged 67, and buried at Orton, 29 October, W A Spooner taking the service (CRO, WDX 776/1); his er son, Harvey Goodwin (1883-1942), sold Orton Hall in 1936 and southern portion of estate in 1937 (SPs in CRO, WDB 35/ SP166, with sale figures), and went to Stratheden, Langwathby, marr (1915) Margaret, 4th dau of Robert Burgess, of Dumfries, 4 sons (John Wycliffe (b.1915), George Archibald Wycliffe (b.1917) and Harvey Carlisle Maxwell (b.1920), both killed in WW2, and William Henry Wakefield) and 1 dau (Frances Catherine Sawyer, b.1922), died at Stratheden, aged 60, and buried at Orton, 13 November 1942

Goodwin, Leslie Ellis (1853-1931), MA, clergyman, born at Cambridge, 25 March 1853, 3rd and yst son of Right Revd Harvey Goodwin (qv), educ Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge (BA 1877, MA 1881) and Cuddesdon College, ordained at Carlisle d 1877 and p 1879, curate of Christ Church, Albany Street 1877-1878, Boughton-under-Blean 1878-1881, and Faversham 1881-1882, chaplain to his father as bishop of Carlisle 1882-1891, rector of St Martin with St Paul, Canterbury 1882-1894, rural dean 1891-1894, rector of Aldington, Kent 1894-1898 and of Wrotham 1898-1902, marr (24 June 1884) Mary Georgiana (died 10 March 1908), eldest dau of 5th Baron and 1st Earl Sondes, 1 son (George Gonville Wycliffe (b.1890, settled in Canada)) and 2 daus, died in 1931

Goodwin, William Henry Wakefield (Bill) (1918-2011), army officer and conservationist, born at Orton Hall, 12 March 1918, 3rd of 4 sons of Harvey and Margaret Goodwin, of Orton Hall, great grandson of Bishop Harvey Goodwin (qv), and nephew and godson of Revd W A Spooner (qv), educ at home with tutor, Lime House School, Wetheral, and HMS Conway naval training ship on river Dee, then joined Merchant Navy in 1936 and sailed around world, went to Hollywood to try acting and made several films but returned in 1938, served WW2 with King’s Own African Rifles and Border Regt in Sierra Leone and Nigeria (invalided back to England with broken back), later based on river Clyde scrutinising arrival of prisoners for Nazi sympathisers, but invalided out of service bec of this serious injury (spending many years in and out of hospital), returned to Cumberland to run country club at Stratheden, Langwathby, marr (1952) Jane Seymour Mead (d. 2008), 1 son (Max) and 2 daus (Lyndi and Sue), moved to Penrith in 1955, passion for wildlife and its conservation, esp red squirrels, became authority on countryside pursuits in Penrith and Eden district, crack shot, given shooting rights for Beacon area of Penrith for many years by Lord Lonsdale, also ran Knaresdale Moor shoot and assisted on other moors in Cumbria, shooting well into his 80s, trained gun dogs for himself and others, kept garden at Barco Lodge, Penrith with pride, died in March 2011, aged 92, with service of thanksgiving at St Cuthbert’s church, Edenhall, 19 May 2011 (CWH, 19.03.2011)

Gorton, Assheton (1930-2014), production designer, son of Neville Gorton, bishop of Coventry, educ Sedbergh, attributed his ability with design to the inspiration of his boyhood in the Lake District, involved with many films including Blow Up (1966), Get Carter (1971), The French Lieutenant’s Woman (1981) and 101 Dalmatians (1996), shortlisted for Bafta awards

Gordon, Mr (1xxx-18xx), of Kendal and formerly of Berwick-on-Tweed, succ Tyras Redhead as editor of Westmorland Gazette, April 1837 and succ by Mr Brown in October 1840

Gordon, Assheton (1930-2014), production designer, b Sedbergh, involved with many films including Blow Up (1966), Get Carter (1971), The French Lieutenant’s Woman (1981), Rob Roy (1995), several shortlisted for Academy Awards

hollywood.com

Gordon, Charles Frederick (c.1889-1940), Major, Westmorland County Councillor for Grasmere Division from 1937 until his death in 1940, member of education committee, of Michael’s Nook, Grasmere, buried in Grasmere cemetery, 3 August 1940, aged 51

Gordon, Charles James, MA, clergyman, vicar of Crosby Ravensworth and chairman of governors of CR United Schools Foundation (1901), rector of Great Salkeld, with summer residence at Crossgates, Bampton (1905, 1914)

Gordon, M A, author of Early History of North-West England, Vol.1, published by Henry Marshall, Kentmere (1963)

Gordon, Lord William (1744-1823), 2nd son of 3rd Duke of Gordon (and brother of Lord George Gordon), notorious for the anti-catholic Gordon riots of 1780, eloped with Lady Sarah Bunbury and ruined his career, marr (1 March 1781) Frances, dau of 9th Viscount Irvine, 1 dau (Frances, d. unm. 1831), deputy ranger of St James’s Park, settled in new house at Water End near Keswick in 1794 and bought up all land on western shore of Derwentwater, planted trees, acquired the Finkle Street house in Portinscale previously owned by Pocklington (qv) in 1819 and renamed it Derwent Bank, died 1 May 1823; CW3 xiv 207

Gorst, Gilpin (c.1726-1803), clergyman, rector of Long Marton 1782-1803, marr (17xx) Margaret (buried at LM, 24 July 1785), buried at Long Marton, 6 May 1803, aged 77

Gorton, Neville Vincent (1888-1955; ODNB), MA, DD, bishop and headmaster, born 11 March 1888, son of Revd Canon Charles Vincent Gorton (friend of Elgar), educ Marlborough and Balliol College, Oxford (Exhibitioner, Aubrey Moore Student, BA 1911, MA 1925), marr (1926) Ethel Ingledew Doggett, 2 sons (Stephen (b.1927) and Assheton St George (b.1930)) and 1 dau (Quenilda (b.1934)), d 1914 and p 1916 (Ripon), asst chaplain, Sedbergh School 1914-1934, headmaster of Blundell’s School, Tiverton 1934-1943, DD Lambeth 1943, bishop of Coventry 1943-1955 (nominated 26 November 1942 and consec 2 February 1943), happiest in Lakeland dales and mountains, with cottage Mireside at Hartsop in Patterdale, now the residence of his son, Stephen, died 30 November 1955 (portrait drawing by Delmar Banner (1955) in Neville Gorton: Reminiscences by some of his Friends, edited by Frank W Moyle, SPCK, 1957)

Gosforth Master, The (11thc.), stonecarver of the Gosforth Cross, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 163-4, cites references from Prof. Rosemary Cramp et al

Gough, Charles (17xx-1805), artist, son of Esther Gough, who lived in house on east side of Stricklandgate, Kendal (built in 1734, but demolished to make way for entrance to Sandes Avenue), where she died in 1837 [not buried in churchyard or in FBG], her son fell to his death from Striding Edge, Helvellyn and his faithful terrier Foxey stayed with his body for three months after his death (see Scott’s Helvellyn), when discovered Charles was buried in Quaker graveyard at Tirril, 1805; (Foxey was later cared for by Thomas Brunskill, of Crosby Garrett); memorial erected on Helvellyn in 1890 by Canon H.D. Rawnsley (KK, 352); Gough became the subject of poetry (Scott) and painting (Landseer); H.D.Rawnsley, The Story of Gough and his Dog, 1892 draws all this together; CW2 lxxxvii 179

Gough, John (1720-1791), religious writer and schoolmaster

Gough, John (1757-1825; ODNB), the “Blind Philosopher”, naturalist, born 1757, cousin of John Gough (qv), of Fowl Ing, Kendal (built c.1812 prob by Francis Webster), blinded by smallpox in early childhood, teacher of mathematics, botany, geology, physics and zoology, one of his pupils was John Dalton (qv), admired by Coleridge and lionised by Wordsworth in The Excursion, marr (6 November 1800) Mary (died 31 July 1858, aged 81), dau of Thomas Harrison, of Church Town, Crosthwaite, and sister of Dr Thomas Harrison (qv), four sons and five daughters (inc Elizabeth, buried at Kendal, 10 March 1836, aged 22), author of The Manners and Customs of Westmorland and Adjoining parts of Cumberland, Lancashire and Yorkshire (1812) (reprinted 1827), died at Fowl Ing, 28 July 1825 aged 68 and buried in Kendal parish churchyard, with funeral sermon preached in Unitarian chapel by Revd John Harrison (MI); bust in Kendal museum; (WW, ii, 339-352; AK 355-368; ONK, 523-24; WA, 13.08.1825; CW2, xciii, 212, n.41)

Gough, Thomas (1804-1880), MRCS, LSA, surgeon and naturalist, born at Middleshaw, Old Hutton, 30 November 1804, and baptised 29 December, third child of John Gough (b.1757 qv), educ Old Hutton parish school and Appleby Grammar School, apprenticed to his uncle Dr Thomas Harrison (qv) and marr (22 February 1838) his eldest dau [ie his own cousin] Agnes (bapt 21 June 1801, died 18xx), widow of John Fell Swainson (qv), 1 dau (Mary Susan, bapt 5 August 1840, wife of Harry Arnold, qv), further studies at Borough Medical School, London (qualified for general practice, 3 October 1833), Surgeon at Kendal Dispensary from 1835, genial and sympathetic doctor, founded (with Cornelius Nicholson) the Kendal Natural History and Scientific Society 1835, hon curator of its museum, and elected president on death of Adam Sedgwick (qv) in 1873, member and local secretary of the Palaeontological Society, dedicated volume of his father’s autobiography, with his own continuations, to his mother (‘To the Memory of the late Mrs Gough of Fowl Ing House, Kendal, whose love & care contributed tso much to the domestic happiness and peaceful pursuits of her husband’), living at Aynam Lodge (1851), retired by failing health from active work in 1854, living at Grange-over-Sands for short time, then at Reston Hall, Staveley, until health restored and resumed practice at 73 Stricklandgate, Kendal in 1860 until final retiring in spring of 1872, sold his house in Kendal after his wife died and spent final years with dau (Mrs Arnold) and son-in-law at Arnbarrow, Milnthorpe, where he died on 17 July 1880, and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 21 July (bound volume and WG obit cutting in CRO, WDX 935; WNB; CW2, xciii, 205-06)

Gould, Derrick (1936-2009), engineer, ed Barrow GS, employed Royal Aerospace Est., head of British National Space Centre; oldbarrovians.org/alumni

Gould, William (Bill) (1890-1974), shoe company director and mayor of Kendal, started work at K Shoes, Netherfield, Kendal, as office messenger boy one day after 12th birthday, became senior K Rep selling shoes in North of England, introduced K shoes to agents in Canada after War, conducted K Shoes Male Voice Choir at big staff dinner at Hydro Hotel, Windermere in April 1955, apptd director of Somervell Brothers Ltd in March 1956 responsible for all sales (jointly with Spencer Crookenden), marr Elsie, elected to Kendal Borough Council for Nether Ward in 1949,  mayor of Kendal May 1956-57, receiving Queen on Royal Visit on 11 August 1956, retired from K Shoes on 31 March 1959 after 58 years service, of 11 Thorny Hills, Kendal, died in March 1964, aged 74

Gradwell, William (1829-1885), timber merchant, builder, brick manufacturer and general contractor, b. Lowick, began as a carpenter and wheelwright, first established in business at Roose in 1844, erected Barrow’s first pier (John Abel-Smith qv), then on Hindpool industrial estate in 1855, supplied materials to Hodbarrow iron mines from 1855, business, including a sawmill, expanded as Barrow grew in size, employing 750 men by 1872, also operating brickworks in Oxenholme Lane, Conishead near Ulverston by 1876, (brick works continuing until c.1900), built Ramsden Square, Duke of Edinburgh Hotel and many houses in the town, town councillor, mayor of Barrow 1881-2, took ill at Shap Wells, died 1885 (CW3, x 71), Barrow News 9 September 1885 and 12 September 1885; as one of the first eight mayors of the town his initials are carved upon one of the eight shields held by rams at the top of the octagonal tower of Barrow town hall, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture of Lancashire and Cumbria, 2017

Graham clan, John Graham of Grasmere (qv)

Graham, Charles (fl.18thc.), mechanic and dialect poet, lived Penrith, author of Gwordie and Will and his Miscellaneous Pieces in Prose and Verse, 1778 included ‘On Mr Shenstone Remembered’, ‘A Poet’s Remonstrance to Apollo’ and ‘A Soliloquy on the Late Dr Dodd’ (Dr William Dodd (1729-1777) the ‘macaroni parson’ had been hanged at Tyburn the previous year for forgery); Walker, History of  Penrith

Graham, Sir Charles Spencer Richard (1919-1997), 6th Bt, DL, of Crofthead, Longtown, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1955, Lord Lieutenant of Cumbria 1983-1994, born 16 July 1919, son of Sir Fergus Graham (qv), died 11 July 1997

Graham, Sir (Frederick) Fergus (1893-1978), 5th Bt, KBE, TD, DL, JP, MA (Oxon), landowner and politician, of Netherby Hall, Longtown, born 10 March 1893, marr (1918) Mary Spencer Revell, CBE, JP, dau of Major-General Raymond Northland Revell Reade (1861-1943), CB, CMG, of Stutton Manor, Ipswich, MP for North Cumberland 1926-1935 and for Darlington 1951-1959, Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland 1958-1968, Patron of CWAAS from 1960, vice-president of Voluntary Action Cumbria, died 1 August 1978

Graham, George (1673-1751) FRS, clock and watch maker, son of George Graham, husbandman, born Kirklinton, apprentice and later partner of Thomas Tompion (1639-1713; ODNB), married Tompion’s niece Eliza, made instrument for Halley (of the comet), buried Westminster Abbey; portrait by Thomas Hudson; CW2 lix 139

Graham, George (1801-1888; ODNB), civil servant, born Arthuret 1801, 4th and yst son of Sir James Graham [1761-1824], 1st Bt of Netherby (qv), Registrar-General of Births, Deaths and Marriages, London, marr, yst dau Florence (marr (1873) Graham Hutchison (b.1848), eldest son of the late Graham Hutchison, merchant, of Glasgow and of Craigton, Lanarkshire, who purchased the Balmaghie house and estate in 1868 (P H McKerlie, History of the Lands and their Owners in Galloway (1877), Vol. III, 113)

Graham, James (1747-1820), banker, son (3rd child bapt) of John Graham, of Thorneyflatts in Kirklinton, partner in banking house of Graham & Co, of Carlisle, to India in 1780 with the East India Co., returned 1790, purchased Barrock and Ellerton in 1791 and built Barrock Lodge, marr (26 January 1791, at Stanwix, after bond of 25 January, when of Carlisle St Mary) Harriet (d.1830), yst dau of James Simpson and Anne (yst child of John Hanson, of Osmondthorpe, co York), and co-heir of William Richardson (qv), of Rickerby, 6 sons and 5 daus, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1796, returned to India but back in England by 1804, inherited Rickerby House in 1807 (his wife’s inheritance) and moved from Barrock Lodge to Rickerby by January 1810, sold Barrock Lodge (later Barrock Park) and estate to William James (qv) in 1813  (CW2, xcii, 235-246); his portly figure, seated and smoking a hookah, was caught in his portrait by Zoffany (1786; Tullie House)

Graham, James (1753-1825), 1st bt., MP, son of Thomas Graham of Edmond Castle, Carlisle and his wife Mary Coulthard dau of Thomas Coulthard of Scotby, ed Lincolns Inn and Jesus coll Cambridge, lived at Kirkstall and m. Anne dau of vicar Rev Thomas Moore, several children incl. George qv and Ann m. Sir Adolphus John Dalrymple (qv)

Graham, James (1830-1875; ODNB), RN, grandson of bishop Samuel Goodenough (qv)

Graham, Sir James Robert George, 2nd Bt (1792-1861; ODNB), politician, born Naworth, son of 1st baronet and Lady Catherine, dau of 7th earl of Galloway, ed Westminster and Christ Church, m. Fanny Callender, MP for Hull 1818-20, Carlisle 1826-29, Dorchester 1841-47, then Ripon and finally Carlisle, 1st Lord of the Admiralty 1830-34,   Home Secretary 1841-1846, again 1st Lord Admiralty 1852-55, chancellor Duchy Lancaster; Boase, 1196

Graham, James Reginald Torin (1798-1865), Major, Scots Greys, veteran of Waterloo, owner of Rickerby House and Park by 1827, son of James Graham (d.1820 (qv)) (CW2, xcii, 239-246)

Graham, John, of Grasmere (fl.1907), wrote of the exile of the Graham clan to Ireland in early 17thc., as border reivers, they were rounded up in the Debatable Lands and expelled; Condition of the Border at the Union: The Destruction of the Graham Clan, 1907

Graham, Kenneth (1922-2005), trades unionist, b. Cleator

Graham, Sir Richard, 3rd bart of Esk, 1st viscount Preston (1648-1695; ODNB), MA, born at Netherby 24 September 1648, eldest of five sons of Sir George Graham, 2nd bart of Esk and dau of 1st earl Hartfell, ed Westminster and Christ Church college, Oxford, MP Cockermouth 1677-81, viscount 1681, envoy to France 1682, MP Carlisle 1685, PC, Lord Lieutenant C and W, imprisoned in the Tower of London in 1689 as a supporter of James II, condemned and estates forfeit but pardoned via the support of the queen, m. Lady Anne Howard dau 1st earl of Carlisle, latterly lived a scholarly life at Norrington, died 22 December 1695

Graham, Revd Dr Robert (fl. 1750s-70s), MA, clergyman, inherited the Netherby estate in the 1750s, built Netherby hall, built a stone bridge over the river Esk, drained 1000 acres and designed and built Longtown with a broad main street and grid pattern, three miles from the Scottish border, in what had been part of the Debateable Lands, the Graham hotel named after him is a suitable reminder of his remarkable achievement, also built the attractive Coop House in 1772 to watch the salmon spate and fishery (now Landmark Trust)

Graham, Robert ‘Bob’ (1889-1966), fell runner, effectively the founder of the Bob Graham Round in 1932, a route where competitors run 40 peaks in 24 hours, the event was established in his name by Frederick Rogerson (1921-2010) (qv); Brian Wilkinson, Keswick Characters vol 2; Rev JM Elliot (qv)

Graham, Thomas Henry Boileau (18xx-1937), MA, FSA, antiquary, of Edmond Castle, member of CWAAS from 1899, elected to council 1912, vice-president 1923, Editor of Transactions 1925-1934, resigning because of failing health, when apptd Hon Member, died in London, 10 March 1937

Graham, William (16xx-1713), DD, dean of Carlisle, 4th of five sons of Sir George Graham, 2nd Bt of Esk, dean of Wells, clerk of the closet and chaplain to Queen Anne, marr 2nd Alicia, 2 sons (Revd Charles (d.1734) and Revd Robert, DD, who succ to Preston estates on death of Lady Widdrington (qv)), died 9 February 1713

Graham, William (1855-1934), DL, JP, BA (Cantab), of Eden Grove, Bolton, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1900 (but only till November), DL (apptd in April 1888), leading Conservative in north Westmorland, Eden Grove estate sold (sale partics, 29 September 1926, in CRO, WDB 22; bankruptcy papers in CRO, WDX  807)

Grahme, James (1650-1730; ODNB), Colonel in Army, courtier and politician, bapt 3 April 1650, 2nd of five sons of Sir George Graham, 2nd Bt of Esk, and yr brother of Sir Richard Graham, 3rd Bt, later 1st Viscount Preston (qv), and er brother of William Graham, later Dean of Carlisle (qv), purchased Levens Hall from Alan Bellingham (qv) in 1688, Privy Purse to King James II, MP for Carlisle 1685-1687, Appleby 1702-1708, and Westmorland 1708-1727, Mayor of Appleby 1705 and 1717, resigning office of alderman on 16 June 1724, made gift of silver loving cup to corporation, 4 October 1703, laid out gardens at Levens Hall under supervision of Monsieur Beaumont, marr 1st (23 November 1675) Dorothy (died), eldest dau of William Howard, son of Thomas, 1st Earl of Berkshire (d.1669), son (Henry, qv) and dau Catherine (who marr (5 March 1709) Henry Bowes Howard, later 11th Earl of Suffolk and 4th Earl of Berkshire (qv), 3 sons, and died 14 February/13 March 1762), marr 2nd (1702) Elizabeth (d.1709), dau of Isaac Barton and widow of George Bromley, died 26 January 1730; CW2 lxxxv 131; CW2 lxxxvi 274, CW2 xcviii 183

Grainger, Francis (18xx-1925), JP, county councillor and antiquary, from long-established local family, Cumberland County Councillor 1889-1925, County Alderman 1912-1925, and chairman of General Purposes Committee, clerk to Seadyke Charity 1896- 19xx, JP Wigton and Silloth benches from 1894, Chairman, Wigton Board of Guardians (and member for Holme Abbey from 1898), Chairman of committee, Holm Cultram Agricultural Show 1891-1923, member of CWAAS from 1900 and elected member of council from 1923, took initiative in explorations at Holm Cultram abbey in 1906 and assisted with meetings held there through to 1924, author of articles in Transactions and The Register and Records of Holm Cultram, edited by W G Collingwood, CWAAS, Record Series VII (1929), of Southerfield, Holm Cultram, died 20/1 January 1925, aged 69, and buried at St Mary’s Abbey Church, Holm Cultram (CW, ibid, preface)

Grainger, Horace (c.1934-2018), clergyman, born at Wath-upon-Dearne, South Yorkshire, 3rd of four children, educ locally, national service, worked in grocery department of Barnsley Coop, then for Barnsley Council, marr (1960) Jean, 3 sons (Martin, Paul and Ian), moved to Barrow-in-Furness in early 1970s to work for Barrow Borough Council, ordained in C of E and left Council for full-time ministry in 1989, curate of St Herbert’s, Carlisle, team vicar of St Andrew and Christ Church, Penrith, then to Abbeytown until retirement, returning to Barrow, keen follower of Barrow Rugby League club, died aged 84, funeral service at St James’s Church, Barrow, 4 or 11 January 2019 (CWH, 12.01.2019)

Grainger, John (17xx-18xx), diarist, yeoman, of Southerfield, Holm Cultram, kept diaries 1826-1828 (CRO, DX/74/5) (CW2, lxxii, 269)

Grandorge, Christopher (16xx-17xx), clergyman, rector of Long Marton 1712-1726

Grant, Anne, daughter of a soldier in the 55th (Westmorland) regiment; CWAAS newsletter Spring 2022, 99, 10

Grant, Bill (1919 -2002) MBE, OBE, forester and arts administrator, worked from 1937  for the Forestry Commision in the Lake Counties, established the Grizedale Society in 1969 which led to the Theatre in the Forest and the Grizedale Sculpture Trail, the largest collection of sculpture in the landscape in Europe at the time; obit Westmorland Gazette 16 August 2002, Bill Grant and Paul Harris, The Grizedale Experience, 1991, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture in Lancashire and Cumbria, 2017, 167-8

Grant, Cary (1904-1986), actor, (born Archibald Leach), stayed Duke of Edinburgh Hotel Barrow; hotel website

Grant, Charles James Grant Mounsey (1866-19xx), JP, army officer, born 1866, only son of Lieut-General Charles James Mounsey (1835-1893), JP, 71st HLI, 5th son of George Gill Mounsey (qv), and his wife (marr 1862) Mary Tirzah (d.1910), er dau and co-heir of James Robert Grant (1807-1844), of The Hill, Rockcliffe and Houghton Hall [they assumed surname of  Mounsey grant in 1882 and she assumed surname of Mounsey in 1896], and great grandson of Sir James Robert Grant (qv), Major, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1912, JP, of The Hill and Chatsworth Square, Carlisle

Grant, Effingham (17xx-18xx), gent, marr Jane, dau of Thomas Harrison, Esq (qv), late of Highgate, Kendal, son (Thomas, born 26 June and bapt 12 July 1810) and dau (Jane Lydia, born 12 January and bapt 23 February 1812), at Heversham

Grant, Sir James Augustus (1867-1932), 1st Bt, DL, JP, politician, born at Poplar, London, 3 March 1867, er son of Lieut-Colonel James Augustus Grant, CB, CSI, FRS, DL, JP (1827-1892; ODNB), of Househill, Nairn, and his wife Margaret Thompson, dau of Andrew Laurie, educ Edinburgh and Christ Church, Oxford, Conservative Parliamentary candidate for Elgin Burghs 1892, Banffshire byelection 1893, 1895 and 1906, County Councillor for Nairnshire 1907, before winning Egremont in January 1910 until constituency abolished in 1918 and then MP for Whitehaven 1918-1922, losing to Labour, did not contest seat in 1923 but returned for Derbyshire South 1924-1929, then retired, JP Cumberland, involved with his brother in African schemes, cr Baronet of Househill, Nairn, in July 1926, marr (18xx) Nina Frances, dau of A C Kennard, 2 daus, of 32 Eaton Place, London SW1 and Househill, Nairn, died in Gloucester, 29 July 1932, aged 65, when baronetcy became extinct (WWW)

Grant, Sir James Robert (1771-1864), KH, CB, DL, MD, army medical officer, born at Forres, Morayshire, son of Duncan Grant, of Lingeston, present at Waterloo as head of Army Medical Department, Inspector General of Hospitals, marr (by 1807), son (James Robert), of The Hill, Rockcliffe, near Carlisle

Grave, Edward, steward, Musgrave Manors of Great and Little Musgrave 1800, 1815, 1820, 1824 (CRO, WDX 1572) = ? solicitor in Penrith for 50 years, who got bull baiting stopped in 1802-03 (with William Varty) (HP, 109)

Grave, John (d.1717), pewterer, Penrith; CW2  lxxxv 163ff

Grave(s), John (1762-18xx), clergyman, born at Threlkeld in 1762, Curate and schoolmaster of Yarm, defended William Hutchinson’s History of Cumberland in letter of 22 March 1796 in Gentleman’s Magazine, signed as “J.G. Cumbriensis” (GM, lxvi, 305)

Grave, John (d.1870), papermaker, b. Cockermouth, son of a saddler, went to Manchester and established a papermaking business, city councillor, three times mayor of Manchester 1868-1869, 1869-1870 and 1870-71, member of city water committee, concerned at shortage of water supply, as the Thirlmere estate owner Thomas Stanger Leathes at Dale Head Hall was opposed to the idea was involved in the clandestine survey of the Thirlmere valley with John Harwood (qv), fortunately for Manchester, Leathes died in 1870 and the council were aboe to buy the estate; Sir John Harwood, The History of Thirlmere Water Project CHECK

Grave, Thomas [c.1680-1763], pewterer, Penrith; CW2 lxxxv 163ff

Graves, John Woodcock (1795-1886), ballad writer and painter, born in house next to Market Hall in High Street, Wigton, 9 February 1795, and bapt at Wigton, 6 March, son of Joseph Graves, glazier, ironmonger and plumber, and Ann (late Matthews), worked for uncle at Cockermouth till age of 20, where he met Joseph Faulder (qv), who inspired him to write and paint, marr 1st (1816) Jane Atkinson, of Rosley (died within year), marr 2nd (8 May 1821) Abigail Porthouse (d.1858), 8 children, hunting friend of John Peel (qv), with whom he was planning a hunting expedition in parlour of Midtown House, Caldbeck during winter of 1828-29 when he was prompted to write ‘D’ye ken John Peel’ in celebration of his hunting prowess, first singing five verses to old Cumberland rant or tune of ‘Bonnie Annie’ at the ‘Rising Sun’ Inn (set to music by William Metcalfe (qv) in 1869), published Sidney Gilpin’s Songs and Ballads of Cumberland (1866) and a Monody on John Peel (1854), painted portrait of Peel with horse and hounds when in Australia, but not considered a good representation, other paintings after emigrating to Van Diemen’s Land [Tasmania] in 1833, travelled in New Zealand and Australia, but settled in Hobart Town, where he died on 17 August 1886, aged 92

Graves, Lorna (1947-2006), artist and sculptor, born in Kendal 1947, but grew up in Brampton, dau of John Postlethwaite Airey Percival Graves (son of a vicar), ‘a gentleman of independent means’, and Kathleen Hardisty, daughter of a farm labourer, ancestors inc two vicars of Underbarrow, educ Carlisle College of Art and Bedford College, London, lived for a time in Paris, London and Cambridge before returning to the North Pennines, of 3 Oval Terrace, Brampton, her work included paintings and small sculptures with mythic resonance, Mary Burkett (qv) had a large collection, died from cancer of kidneys, 23 July 2006 (papers in CRO, WDX 1558; artwork in Tullie House, Carlisle) (Winter Flowers: The Life and Work of Lorna Graves: A Memoir by Clare Crossman, Carlisle, 2018) (CN, 11.08.2006; 09.03.2018); obit. Independent 24th August 2006

Graves, Rev Robert Perceval (1810-1893), curate of Windermere, later sub dean of chapel royal, Dublin, uncle of Robert Graves the poet, marr Helen, dau of George Hutchins Bellasis of Windermere (qv)

Gravett, Theresa (Risa) (1908-2018), oldest resident in Cumbria, born in rural Austria in 1908, 2nd dau of 13 children of a silversmith and engraver and later a station master, worked in domestic service in Weybridge at outbreak of WW2, returning to Austria to nurse her mother, returned to England after war to work for Dr and Mrs Jensen in Wimbledon, marr (early 1950s) Ron Gravett (d.1993), gardener, 1 dau (Renate, wife of Bill Turner, who died in 2014), moving to Carlisle in 1981, died 1 April 2018, aged 109, and cremated at Carlisle Crematorium, 13 April (CN, 20.04.2018)

Gray, Horace (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman and schoolmaster, educ Jesus College, Cambridge (MA), headmaster of Kendal Grammar School (1906)

Gray, Marshall N G (18xx-19xx), MA, Presbyterian minister, of Fairfield, Kendal (1906)

Gray, Thomas (1716-1771; ODNB), poet, famous for the familiar Gray’s Elegy (1751), visitor to the Lakes in first fortnight of October 1769, his journal was published in 1775 as one of the first descriptions of the region, his descriptions of the ‘Jaws of Borrowdale’ and also Grasmere as a ‘little unexpected paradise’ are ubiquitous in the literature, he visited Sizergh Castle on 9 October; some lines from the Elegy were chosen to be carved on the memorial to Musgrave Lewthwaite Watson (qv) in Carlisle cathedral; Peter Bicknell, The Picturesque Scenery  of the Lake District, 1990, 31-2 gives the itinerary and bibliographical details

Gray, Thomas (c.1883-1961), FLA, librarian and archivist, born in Carlisle, elementary education, started working at Tullie House at age of 14, deputy librarian at 19, apptd director, librarian and curator in 1929 till retirement in 1949, apptd part-time archivist to Cumberland County Council in 1949 and first Archivist to Joint Archives Committee for Cumberland, Westmorland and City of Carlisle in 1960, Vice-President, CWAAS 1948, Hon Librarian 1924 and Hon Curator 1930-1949, Hon Secretary of Cumberland Excavation Committee 1931, and elected member 1924, Hon MA, Durham University 1960, of Lakerigg, Dalston, died at his desk in The Courts, Carlisle, 27 December 1961, aged 78 (CW2, lxii, 357-58)

Gray, William, poet, of Sullart St., Cockermouth, published one book of verse; H. Winter, Great Cockermouth Scholars

Greatorex, Thomas [1758-1831; ODNB], organist, astronomer and mathematician, organist Carlisle 1815-1819, then at Westminster Abbey, friendly in Italy with Bonnie Prince Charlie

Green, Amos (1735-1807; ODNB), still life and landscape painter, visited Lake District, purchased Hill Top property in Ambleside in 1806 with Harriet Green (nee Lister) (1751-1821), where he opened an exhibition visited by Joseph Farington, remarked that 1s. entrance fee made £400 per annum

Green, Charles (1785-1870; ODNB), balloonist, most famous in UK in the 19thc., b. London son of Thomas Green a hat maker, used coal gas as that was cheaper than hydrogen, 1st ascent for the coronation of George IV, by his retirement he had flown 500 times, once in 1836 from London to Weilburg in Germany, flew in 1825 from Kendal gasworks to Murton Pike, 25 miles distant, accompanied by a Miss Dawson, m Martha Morell, buried Highgate; Roger Bingham, Memories of South Lakes, 25

Green, Isaac (1804-1875), MA, clergyman and schoolmaster, son of William Green?, educ St Bees School and Queen’s College, Cambridge (BA 1830, MA), apptd Second Master of Sedbergh School by Henry Wilkinson in 1831 (though his place taken by Hartley Coleridge (qv) temp in 1837-38), to teach Latin and Greek, at far end of room that was to become the library at first, later moving upstairs, had own boarding house (where his daughter later had a school),  appointed Curate of Howgill in 1836, succ Revd John Sedgwick (qv), where he was responsible for rebuilding an enlarged chapel on a new site, organised building fund for donations which raised total of £568 (inc contribution of £50 from himself and £50 from Incorporated Society), new chapel had 45 free sittings additional to 85 formerly provided and was consecrated on 29 October 1838, previous place of worship being a small chapel by Chapel Beck [now Bantygill cottage] with tiny schoolroom adjoining, noting in register that the late Stephen Sedgwick had donated the ground for new chapel and burial ground, and that inhabitants gave their labour freely in conveying most of materials, resigned in 1869, man of great drive and organising ability, over six-foot tall, marr (18xx) Caroline, dau of Julius Caesar Ibbetson (qv), living with wife and family in Sedbergh, his dau Mrs Vigour was author of Recollections of Sedbergh School and Town in Early-Victorian Days, remarking that ‘one fine young navvy made the twenty-eighth member of my father’s choir in Howgill Church, and he had one of the finest voices in it’, died at Sedbergh, 25 September 1875, aged 71, and buried in Grasmere churchyard, 28 September (SSR, 47, 206)

Green, James (18xx-19xx), Methodist minister (Weslyan), of Bloomfield House, Station Road, Wigton (1910)

Green, John Frederick Norman (1875-1949), colonial officer and geologist, educ Bradfield and Emmanuel College Cambridge, mapped St David’s, nine papers on the Lake District 1912-1921 including The Older Palaeozoics of the Duddon Estuary (1912), this work challenged J Marr, and The Vulcanicity of the Lake District (1918); Cumberland Geological Society Proceedings vol 6 1998-9 pt 3, 395

Green, Joseph J (fl.early 18thc), writer, probably lived Ulverston, edited Curriculum Vitae or the Birth Education Travels and Life of Henry Lamp MD (1710-11)

Green, Maud (1895-1955), b. Ulverston, went to USA aged fifteen, married William Albert Haley, mother of the rock musician Bill Haley [and the Comets]

Green, Reginald Southwell Graham (18xx-19xx), clergyman, vicar of Holy Trinity, Millom 1907-1916, succ William Kewley (qv) and succ by R D Ellwood (qv), when he moved to Wetheral in 1916

Green, William (1760-1823; ODNB), landscape painter and etcher, born in Manchester, 25 August 1760, his family living at Windmill Street, Deansgate, Manchester, started work as surveyor and draughtsman until 1796, originally assistant to surveyor William Yates in mapping north Lancashire, met Father Thomas West (qv) who encouraged him to become an artist, published 48 views of Lake District in aquatint in 1795, spent four years in London 1796-1800  and exhibited works at Royal Academy, but frustrated in his search for fulfilment as an artist, then settled in Ambleside after marriage (29 April 1800) to Anne Bamford (1784-1833), living in small cottage in Market Square, with 2 daus (Elizabeth, Sarah (bapt 26 October 1801), and Jane) [Mary, dau of Agnes Braithwaite, born 12 December 1802 and bapt 5 February 1803, was a declared daughter too], and son Joshua (bapt at Grasmere, 1 November 1803), devoted himself to drawing scenery of Lake District (striving ‘to adhere as faithfully as possible to nature’) and preparing guidebooks, developed a successful business selling local views to visiting tourists from his home and through an annual exhibition in Keswick, had six meetings with artist Julius Caesar Ibbetson (qv) between 1801 and 1806 and studied together in Borrowdale, being influenced in his depiction of foreground figures to emphasise the majesty of scenery beyond, recorded in his diary of 6 December 1817 ‘colouring four drawings James Newton and Dolly Wordsworth’, valued greatly by Wordsworth as a friend, being the only artist for whom he wrote an epitaph, and was protective of his interests, and by Hartley Coleridge (‘what he saw he painted as exactly as could be painted but he certainly knew when to catch each view in its most romantic moment’), leaving legacy of closely observed images of buildings and scenery of Lake District between 1791 and 1823, his daughters Elizabeth, Sarah and Jane also left watercolours and sketches, Jane being his constant companion, died at Ambleside below Stock, 29 April 1823, aged 63, and buried in Grasmere churchyard, 3 May [drawings and sketches in Wordsworth Trust collection]; Marshall Hall; M.E. Burkett and D. Sloss, William Green of Ambleside

Greenbank, Tony (1934-2020), journalist and author, b. Settle, Outward Bound Eskdale, Librarian Kendal and Whitehaven, lived Keswick, followed Harry Griffin q.v. in writing Guardian Country Diary for 53 years; obit Guardian 17 October 2020, Craven Herald 11 August 2020

Greene, Thomas (1737-1820), lawyer, son of Thomas Greene (1681-1762) and Elizabeth Barker (TG senior was son of Cornelius Greene of Slyne whose initials appear above the doorway of Slyne Hall), educ Dendron school (then held in the nave of the parish church), where he met the Romey brothers and became a lifetime friend of the artist who made him a violin, practiced law in London and became Romney’s financial adviser, marr an heiress Martha Dawson of Warton (her sister married Dr Long, another friend of the artist), funded the building of a small school at Dendron to improve the facilities in the village (plaque inside Dendron church); David A. Cross, A Striking Likeness, 2000 see index; mss at Bow Lane CRO, Preston

Greenhow, John (1764-1818), woollen manufacturer, born 2 March 1764, 3rd son of Thomas Greenhow, of Stainton, marr Ann (died at Low House, Bowness-on-Windermere, 27 May 1847, aged 74, MI), dau of George Relph, of Penrith (a kinsman of Joseph Relph, poet, qv), sons (inc John, qv), died 22 February 1818, aged 53, and buried at Heversham (MI) (ONK, 526)

Greenhow, John (1799-1873), woollen manufacturer, born at High House, Stainton, 1 July 1799, 2nd son of John Greenhow (qv), woollen manufacturer at Bury, Lancs, for some years, then returned to Kendal to live at Anchorite House, trustee of Unitarian Market Place chapel, Kendal from 1868, marr (at Bury?) Ann (died at Anchorite House, 22 January 1874, aged 75, and buried with him at Heversham, 27 January), dau of John Openshaw, of Pimhole, Bury, 2 sons (John Openshaw, chartered engineer (died in Kendal, 25 September 1877), and Robert Gawthorpe, mechanical engineer and three times mayor of Llanidloes, near Montgomery, born in Bury, educ Kendal Grammar School) and 2 daus (Mary, wife of Richard Eadson, and Anne Kay, who helped with erection of Sunday School, living in South Devon in 1911), died at Anchorite House, Kendal, 22 March 1873, aged 73, and buried in Heversham churchyard, 26 March (ONK, 529)

Greenhow, Robert (17xx-18xx), manufacturer, of Kendal (1793), later of New Bridge, Denbigh, iron master, 1826, but decd by 1848 (as trustee of Woodhouse estate charity, Heversham) (CRO, WPR 8/12/1/3/5, 8, 10)

Greenhow, Thomas (17xx-18xx), owner of Common Garden, Kendal (Corn Rent 1834), leased to Thomas Meldrum (qv), son Richard

Greenhow, Thomas William (1889-1971), blacksmith, organist and poet, born at Bomby, Bampton in 1889, only son and yst child of John Greenhow, one of last of the country tailors, came to Crosby Garrett in 1907 to work as blacksmith for William Birkbeck (his future father-in-law), whose business he took over in 1913, installed grinding plant in 1939, ran electricity generator for village behind smithy for 9 yrs before arrival of grid, owned motor cycle (French Antoine, c.1910), later operated taxi service until 1953, chairman of Crosby Garrett parish meeting, chairman and correspondent to CG School governors, organist at Crosby Garrett Methodist Chapel from 1917 (started at Bampton Chapel aged 12), of The Smithy, Crosby Garrett, died aged 82 and buried at Crosby Garrett, 13 April 1971 (CRO, WDX 1467)

Greenop, Anthony (Greenup/Grenup) (d.1673), Penrith lawyer, apptd steward of Cumberland manors of Francis Lennard, Lord Dacre (qv), in 1646, still in 1651 for Dacre, also Kirkoswald (from 1653 at least), Staffield (1649), Barton and Lazonby, advised Thomas Lennard’s guardians in 1663 to mount serious challenge to low levels of entry fine owed by tenants of Dacre and Barton, after demanding eight years’ rent from Dacre tenants after death of Francis Lord Dacre in 1662, with tenants claiming it should only be four in draft petition to Chancery, similar conflict in Barton reached courts in 1666 and tenants won (judgement by Sir Matthew Hale), buried at St Andrew’s, Penrith, 6 May 1673 (CRO, D/Mus; Dalemain archives; CW3, x, 171-173)

Greenop, John (1854-1924), fell runner, born at Walthwaite, Chapel Stile, in 1854, won Grasmere Guides’ Race six times in succession 1876-1881, third in 1884 and eighth in 1889, died at Red Bank, Langdale, aged 70, and buried in churchyard at Chapel Stile, 8 December 1924; his elder brother William was second in 1869, third in 1875, and won in 1870, when he also won the one-mile race (LiL, 67)

Greenwell, Canon William (1820-1918; ODNB), of Durham, clergyman and archaeologist, minor canon of Durham Cathedral 1854-1908, Librarian of Durham Cathedral 1863-1908, research in the Lake counties, author of Tumuli of Cumberland and Westmorland (1866)

Greenwood, Charles (18xx-19xx), ironmonger, of Keswick, converted at Convention of 1887, bought the pencil mill in 1912 and ran it with his sons (one named Daniel Crawford Greenwood after one of the preachers)

Greenwood, Charles Newton (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ University College, Durham (BA 1871, MA 1875), d 1871 and p 1872 (Ripon), Curate of St Thomas, Leeds 1871-1874, St George, Barnsley 1874-1875, and St Paul, Kingston-upon-Hull 1875-1876, Chaplain of Knottingley and New Swinton Railway Labourers 1876-1878, Curate of All Saints, Haggerston, Middlesex 1880-1883, Perpetual Curate of Mardale from 1885, moved by 1891 and decd by 1914

Greenwood, Christopher (1786-1855; ODNB), land surveyor and map maker, published new surveys of Cumberland in 1823 and of Westmorland in1824

Greenwood, Harry Bordley (1879-1952), OBE, MA, LLB, solicitor, born in Kendal, son of R H Greenwood (qv), educ Trinity College, Cambridge, admitted solicitor 1903, served WW1, Lieut, Border Regt, Clerk of Peace and of Westmorland County Council 1919-1950, Clerk of South Westmorland RDC 19xx-1919, Under Sheriff of Westmorland 1917-1952, also Clerk to Lieutenancy, Clerk to Governors of Kendal Grammar School and of Kendal High School, acted as solicitor to Hodbarrow Mining Company (1927), Hon Secretary of Kendal Museum and Literary & Scientific Institution, presented with a fine leather-bound volume of A Picturesque Tour of the English Lakes by R Ackermann (London, 1821) by Justices of the Peace of Westmorland in appreciation of his 25 years’ service as Clerk of Peace in 1943, of Hawes Mead (1929) and of Lynn Garth, Kendal; son, Richard Bordley Greenwood, died aged 6 and buried at Parkside cemetery, 31 August 1921

Greenwood, Richard Hargraves (c.1851-19xx), solicitor and steward, born in Settle, Yorkshire, aged 50 in 1901, of Arnold Greenwood, solicitors, Highgate, Kendal, clerk to county and borough magistrates, steward of manors of Beetham, Heversham and Silverdale, and trustee for Maurice Bromley, lord of manor, 1892, also clerk to Kendal Grammar School, acted as secretary of Westmorland County Conservative Association (regarded as ‘a very efficient chief secretary’ by Richard Burn, of Orton Hall (letter of 2 March 1885 in CRO, WD/MG, box 4), elected chairman of Hodbarrow Mining Company Ltd in April 1924 (being regarded by other directors as ‘the proper  person to succeed Mr Barratt’), reported in 1925 that over 20,000,000 tons of ore had been raised and sold since mine was first worked in about 1870, that ‘Hodbarrow is the Rolls-Royce of the Haematite world’, but ‘it is not everybody who can afford to buy our ore; and frequently before it is used it has to be mixed with a common ore’ amid period of difficult trading (annual shareholders’meeting on 21 May 1925), received postcard from friend in Leamington Spa in January 1927 ‘with the hope that your health may be better this year’ (CRO, WD/AG/ box 40/ 1915-25, 1927 folders), marr Lily (53 in 1901, unwell in spring of 1923), 3 sons (H B (qv), Basil P and Ranolf N) and 1 dau (May), of 2 Bankfield (1886, 1901), Kendal

Greenwood, Robert (fl.1730), high constable, with Benjamin Browne, of Kendal Ward (order to contract for rebuilding of Milnthorpe Bridge, 16 January 1729/30, in CRO, WQ/O/5; WD/TE/vol.VI, 183 and XV, 192)

Greenwood, Robert (17xx-18xx), sea captain, one of few captains based in Milnthorpe (most seafaring families like Sauls and Bushes lived in Arnside), had ship the Isabella, which sailed between Milnthorpe and Liverpool and was driven ashore in New Year’s day storm of 1834 (WG, 04.01.1834), mentioned in Walter Berry’s day books in 1830s and 1840s, and still seen riding at anchor at mouth of Bela in c.1845 (CM, 40, 49)

Greenwood, Walter (19xx-2010), bookshop proprietor, Henry Roberts Bookshop in Kendal (top of Finkle Street, then top of Stramongate) 1975-1989, active member of Kendal Civic Society, marr Kathleen (decd), 1 son (Andrew, d.2004), died 15 March 2010, aged 94, with funeral at Levens Methodist chapel, 24 March

Greg, John Kennedy (1924-2008), MA, clergyman, born at Caton, Lancs, 14 February 1924, son and yst of 4 children (sisters, Mary and ?, aged 90 and 88) of Hugh Stuart Greg (1869-1942), JP, of Woodcroft, Haverthwaite, (Canon Sam Taylor, his uncle), educ Seascale Prep School, Uppingham School and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1946, MA 1961), Chichester Theological College 1946, d 1949, p 1950 (Manch), Curate of Christ Church, Walmsley, Bolton 1949-1951 and of Holy Trinity, Carlisle 1951-1955, Vicar of Lanercost with Kirkcambeck 1955-1962, Vicar of Cumwhitton 1962-1975, Team Vicar of St Barnabas, Carlisle 1976-1980 and of Carlisle Holy Trinity and St Barnabas 1980-1985, Chaplain of Strathclyde House Hospital, Carlisle 1980-1985, retired 1985 and worshipped in Cathedral, attended both last service in old Holy Trinity Church and consecration of new building, poor eyesight prevented service in WW2, cycled round his parishes, member CWAAS from 1945, died unmarried, Feb/March 2008 and cremated at Carlisle (CN, 03.08)

Greg, William Rathbone (1809-1881; ODNB), son of Samuel Greg of Quarry Bank Mill, the Manchester mill-owning family, educated Edinburgh university, 1864 comptroller HM Stationary Office, later lived Wansfell, Ambleside, a member of the Wordsworth circle, contributed to many periodicals, married twice

Gregg, William Romaine, solicitor, Kirkby Lonsdale, (with Humphrey Archer Gregg) clerk to Gas Co and to Trustees of Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale Turnpike Roads (1858), firm of Gregg & Proctor, Land Tax Commissioner, bailiff for manor of Lupton, of Cressbrook, Kirkby Lonsdale (1885)

Gregg, Humphrey Procter- (1895-1980), CBE, MusB, MA, FRCM, Hon ARCM, composer, opera producer and music teacher, born in Kirkby Lonsdale, educ King William’s college, Isle of Man, Cambridge University (organ scholar Peterhouse) and Royal College of Music (with CV Stanford), supervised college opera productions, worked at La Scala, stage manager and designer, BNOC, Carl Rosa and CG touring companies 1922-1933, responsible for BBC studio opera 1941-1945, Director, Carl Rosa Opera 1957-1958, founder and head of music dept, Manchester University 1936 and first Professor of Music 1954-1962, Director, London Opera Centre 1962-1964, edited book of memoirs about Sir Thomas Beecham, a friend, translated libretti, wrote songs and sonatas, regarded as ‘old school’, hiswork demonstrates an affinity with Delius, his ‘Shower in Spring’ was inspired by the Lake District, of Oakland, Windermere, retired Windermere 1964, CBE 1972, died at Grange-over-Sands

Gregson, John, clergyman, brought up as a hand-loom weaver in Wigton, curate of Lamplugh

Gregson, John, jnr, clergyman, educ St Bees School, succ father as curate of Lamplugh, retired to Wigton to marry (WDC, 129-133)

Grencapo, J. (1762-1789), a (? former) slave brought from the West Indies by the vicar of St Cuthbert’s, Carlisle, he died of pneumonia, a stone framed in porch of the church

Grey, Roger de (1918-1995), landscape painter, educ Chelsea Polytechnic, 2nd WW Royal Armoured Corps, exhib Tate and RA, lecturer in art Newcastle and RCA, trustee NPG, president RA, assisted Tullie House in selecting work for the collection; see Maud Nicholson

Greystoke, barons descending from Forne, given the barony by Henry I, the line failed in 1305/6 and continued in the family of Ralph Fitzwilliam, who assumed the title; see Hudleston [C]

Greystoke, Elizabeth (1471-1516), daughter of Sir Robert Greystoke and Lady Elizabeth Grey (dau of Edmund 1st earl of Kent), eloped with Thomas Dacre (1467-1525; ODNB) (qv) from Brougham Castle at night c.1488 while in the care of Henry 10th baron Clifford, she was the ward of the king, as heiress of her grandfather the 5th baron Greystoke she brought considerable estates to the Dacres

Greystoke, Lord (aka Tarzan), despite attempts to establish this legend as fact, there is no evidence of a link between this aristocratic title and Tarzan of the Apes (1912) by Edgar Rice Burroughs (1875-1950), other than his friendship in China with Cecil Spring Rice (qv), who lived for some years at Watermillock, the tale of the baby nurtured by apes may have originated in the shipwreck of the boy William Milden off Africa, though he was of Northumberland, Burroughs would have been familiar with the myths describing how Jupiter was succoured by the goat Amalthea (Hesiod, Theogony) and the tradition that Romulus and Remus were suckled by a she-wolf (Ovid, Fasti)

Greystoke, Annabel de (12thc.), mistress of Henry II; CW2 lxiv 124

Greystoke, John (c.1390-1436), 4th baron Greystoke; constable Roxburgh Castle, an ambassador to Scotland

Grice, Gerald (fl.20thc.), lived Bootle, member of committees including Rosehill Theatre and the Friends of the Lake District

Grice, Richard (1813-1882), born Bootle, perhaps the son of the Rev John Grice (1767-1845) of Bootle, Cumberland, pastoralist, businessman and philanthropist, went to Adelaide in 1839, developed an estate, director of the Union Bank, left £320,000; Australian Dictionary of Biography

Grierson, William (d.1813), highway robber, from county of Dumfries in Scotland, tried at Appleby Assizes for beating and robbing James Bruce, executed for highway robbery at Gallows Hill, near Appleby, and buried at Appleby St Lawrence, 21 September 1813 (by James Metcalf, Chaplain to County Gaol) (LC, 5)

Grieve, Alf (19xx-19xx), golfer, from Silloth, working stock, small slight man of about 5ft 7in, sacrificed length for accuracy and great wind specialist, dominated county golf in 1930s, 1940s and 1950s with Fred Todd (qv), won first championship in 1935 with a half set of hickory-shafted clubs borrowed from his brothers

Grieve, M D (189x/190x-19xx), clergyman, educ St Bees School (Foundation 1913-1917), vicar of Urswick temp 1957

Griffin, Arthur Harold (Harry) (1911-2004), OBE, journalist and mountaineer, born at Barrow-in-Furness, 15 January 1911, educ Barrow Municipal Secondary School, joined Barrow Guardian in 1928, later joined Lancashire Evening Post, recorded rock-climbing in Lake District in inter-war years, esp group called ‘The Coniston Tigers’ (who established the second mountain hut in the Lake District in 1931, after the Robertson Lamb hut in Langdale in 1930 and before the K Fellfarers hut at High House, Borrowdale in 1934), ‘Country Diary’ column in The Guardian for 53 yrs, and inspired the Bob Graham Round of 42 peaks (Bob Graham (qv)), served WW2 in Far East with Intelligence Corps (Lt-Col, staff officer to Mountbatten and Slim), marr 1st (1937) Mollie (d. 1987), 1 son (decd) and 1 dau (Sandra), living at Cunswick End, had planning app for garage at Beech Hill Terrace, Kendal in 1947, marr 2nd (1990) Violet (d. Feb 1991), moved to flat at 19 High Fellside Court, Beast Banks, Kendal, OBE (1996), met his last companion, Josie Clegg (d. May 2003) aged 66 in 1991 and rediscovered his youthful vigour for climbing, recording about 500 walks together, author of Inside the Real Lakeland (1961), In Mountain Lakeland (1963), Pageant of Lakeland (1966), The Roof of England (1968), Still the Real Lakeland (1970), Long Days in the Hills (1974), A Lakeland Notebook (1975), A Year in the Fells (1976), Freeman of the Hills (1978), Discovering Lakeland (1980), Adventuring in Lakeland (1980), A Lakeland Mountain Diary (1990), The Coniston Tigers (1999) and Heritage of Lakeland: A Centenary Collection (2010), died in Kendal, 9 July 2004, aged 93 (Gdn, LEP, WG; CRO, WDX 1425)

Griffith, Gabriel (d.1750), master gunner, Carlisle castle, marr Grace Eaglesfield dau of Richard Eaglesfield of Allerby, his third son Gabriel Griffith married Ann Cookson dau of Thomas Cookson, mercer of Penrith; Hud (C)

Griffith family, CW2 lxiii 199

Grindal, Edmund (1516x1520-1583; ODNB), Archbishop of Canterbury 1576-1583 and of York 1570-1576, founder of St Bees School 1583, friend of the poet Edmund Spenser (1499-1552; ODNB), who celebrated him as the wise Algrind in The Shepherd’s Calendar, while Lord Bacon called him ‘the gravest and greatest prelate of the land’ (portrait in oils by unkown artist after portrait attrib to Holbein at Lambeth Palace) (CC (AH) 3); CW2 xcix 185; see quotation Hyde and Pevsner, 599; engraving of his portrait in Hay, History of Whitehaven, 151

Grindall, William (d.1548; ODNB), St John’s Cambridge, tutor to Princess Elizabeth from 1544 probably related to Archbishop Grindal (qv), he was astonished how much she had achieved; ‘Would God my wit wist what words would express the thanks you have deserved of all true English hearts for that noble imp [Elizabeth] by your labor and wisdom now flourishing in all godly godliness, the fruit whereof doth even now redound to her Grace’s high honour and profit,’  (letter to Kat Champerknowne her previous tutor) ; Cerovski, J.S. ed, Sir Robert Naunton, Fragmentia Regalia or Observations on Queen Elizabeth, her Times and Favourites, London, 1985, 40

Grisdale, Elizabeth Minnie, ballet dancer at Drury Lane, dau of Gideon Grisdale and niece of William Grisdale (qqv), performed in The Rossignol, Die Frieshutz and several Shakespeare plays, married the artist John Gear (work at Harvard, Houghton Library), they moved to Boston where his father lived; grisdalefamily.wordpress.com

Grisdale, Gideon, pawn broker and jeweller in London, born Dockwray, son of Wilfred Grisdale and brother of William, shop at Ship Alley, Well Close, Tower Hamlets, employed John Dunn Garnsay as a clockmaker, his daughter Elizabeth Minnie (qv) a ballet dancer; grisdalefamily.wordpress.com

Grisdale, Levi (1780-1855), soldier, ‘Hero of Benevente’, b. Greystoke, enlisted 10th Hussars 1803, served at Corunna under Sir John Moore in 1808-9, also at Waterloo, captured General Lefebvre of the Imperial Guard at Benevente in 1808, Sergeant Major, Kings Royal Hussars; portrait by RA Hillingford, Museum of the King’s Royal Hussars, biography Penrith Museum, Walker History of Penrith [1858] has details of the capture of the general

Grisdale, William (1785-1866), dancing master of Penrith, son of Wilfred Grisdale (1711-1795) of  Dockwray , blacksmith and his second wife Ruth Slee (1759-1838) marr Mary Charters in 1815, taught young people for twenty miles around, his classes followed by a ball to demonstrate the skills learned, in Wreay in 1851 ‘rosy cheeked lasses and lish, hardy, light hearted youths’ danced hornpipes, jigs, strathspeys and reels (Carl J 13 June 1851) and in 1853 he held a ball at the home of Thomas Furness of Langwathby, he often had taught three generations in one family (CJ 16 Dec 1853), his daughter Elizabeth Minnie was a ballet dancer (qv); grisdalefamily.wordpress.com; appears in censuses 1841-61

Gross, Herbert Spencer (fl. early 20thc) and Gross, William Henry Bright (fl. early 20thc), b. Barrow ?, both mentioned on Great Gable war memorial, Craig, Great Gable, 181

Gross, Richard Oliver (b.1882), sculptor, b. Barrow, son of George Gross engine driver, ed Barrow GS and Camberwell College of Arts and Crafts, to New Zealand 1914, became NZ’s leading sculptor, much public work including the Harry Holland monument, Wellington, the Maori Chief and The Athlete and the Swan, Auckland; oldbarrovians.org/alumni

Groves, Henry Leigh (1880-1968; DCB), OBE, JP, BA, benefactor and councillor, son of W G Groves (qv), educ, elected member Westmorland County Council from 1921, alderman 1938, vice-chairman of roads and bridges cttee 1937-1951, member, Windermere Urban District Council from 1913 and chairman of Water Cttee 1928-1936, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1938-39, celebrating his year in office and 25 years’ membership of Windermere UDC by donating £6,000 to enable them to buy the bed of the lake from Lord Lonsdale, ‘a truly munificent gift’ (Tom Watson, Town Clerk), stone and plaque commemorating his gift erected on Bowness Promenade, 5 April 1939, gifted Holehird Estate to Westmorland County Council in 1945 to be held in trust for better development of health, education and special welfare services of the county (mansion leased to Leonard Cheshire Foundation as a nursing home in 1961 and part of gardens to Lakeland Horticultural Society after its foundation in 1969), chairman of governors (and of exec cttee) of Westmorland Sanatorium from 1922 (to at least 1947), WCC representative  governor of Old College, Windermere (to 1965), generous benefactor of Carlisle Diocese, was present at laying of foundation stone of St Peter’s Church, Kells on 2 July 1938 and sent cheque for £1,000 towards cost of its new vicarage in recognition of hard times endured by people of Kells, Westmorland Shrievalty book presented to him by G N Higgin (qv) in year of his shrievalty in 1938 [Kendal CRO], formerly of Holehird, but moved out of mansion in 1958 to Boot Gate, a smaller property which they had built on the estate, resigned from County Council in March 1968 because of ill health after career of 47 years, having received OBE in 1967, marr (19xx) Muriel Brittain (died in Grange-over-Sands NH, October 1971), no issue, but Shirley Williams (nee Brittain) is his great niece, died 15 May 1968, aged 87, and buried with wife in Troutbeck churchyard; memorial Bowness on Windermere

Groves, William Grimble (1847-1927; DCB), JP, marr Eliza Ann (d. 1918), 1 son (H L, qv) and 1 dau, of Holehird, Windermere (house rebuilt between 1858 and 1899), commissioned T H Mawson to design garden in 1902 (now run by the Lakeland Horticultural Society), offered £5,000 to Windermere UDC in February 1926 ‘towards the purchase and development’ of Ellerthwaite house and gardens in Windermere as a site for a central library and meeting rooms (inc Toc H), which was effected by conveyance in April 1926, with library becoming known as the ‘Groves Library’, died at Holehird, aged 80, 24 June 1927, just a week before visit by Prince of Wales, on tour of the Lakes, to Ellerthwaite as Patron of Toc H, on 1 July; probate of will granted 5 September 1927, leaving his estate (£514,746) to his executors (H L Groves, Frederic Haworth and Frank Augustus Padmore) and Holehird to son ‘provided he keeps the Estate in good order’

Grove-Hills, Edmond FRS FRAstS (1864-1922), soldier and astronomer, son of Herbert Augustus Hills of High Head castle and Anna Hills, educ Winchester and Royal Military Academy, Lt in Royal Engineers, Major 1901, he became an instructor at the Royal School of Engineering at Chatham, involved in the tribunal to establish the boundary between Chile and Argentina, papers include Irregular Movements of Earth’s Axis of Rotation ( 1906), President Roy Astr Soc 1913-15, marr Juliet, dau of James Spnecer-Bell (qv), buried Kensal Green; The Observatory 45, 352-3, 1922

Grundy, Sir Cuthbert Cartwright (1846-1945), philanthropist, biologist, chemist, artist, musician, son of a wealthy solicitor in Bury, educated Stand grammar school and Owen’s College, brother of JRG Grundy qv, published on chemistry and botany, gifted artist in several genres, exhibited Bristol, the RA and the Walker Art gallery, inherited a fortune which led to his philanthropy, knighted 1919, member Lake Artists, president of the Cambrian Art Society, fellow Linnean Society, campaigned for world peace, had a house at Grange-over-Sands, bequest of land at Waterhead to National Trust (papers in LRO, DDX/207), Blackpool Art Gallery named after him; Renouf, 44, 66-7; his Moorlands Above Penmain Maur (Royal Collection)

Grundy, James (c.1724-1804), carpet manufacturer, of Keastwick, Kirkby Lonsdale

Grundy, John Relph Greenhouse, artist, brother of Cuthbert qv, Renouf, 66-7

Gudradarson, Rognvaldr [reigned 1187-1226], king of the Isles, great warrior, he had selected his burial place at Furness Abbey and was finally buried there

Guirdham, Arthur (1905-1992), physician, psychiatrist and novelist, b.Workington, wrote about the Cathars and ESP

Gully, William Court (1835-1909), later Lord Selby, son of James Gully MD of Malvern, MP for Carlisle from 1886, speaker of House of Commons 1895-1905, marr Elizabeth Selby

Gunson, Ernest (1869-1940), surveyor and architect, son of William Telford Gunson (qv), m. Beatrice Ashworth, daughter of Thomas Baker Ashworth (1844-1878) (qv), solicitor of Rochdale and granddaughter of Henry Heys (1796-1876) (qv), two daughters Beatrice Gladys (1897-1951) (qv), pharmacist, who marr Col Frank Cross (qv) and Phyllis (1899-1958) (who in the 1920s and 1930s acted as her father’s chauffeur) (Phillis was a keen ornithologist and bought two paintings from Peter Scott), one of the surveyors of the route of the siphon, from Thirlmere to Manchester, senior partner of W.T.Gunson and Son from c.1905-1939, for many years the rating surveyor for Cumberland, regularly stayed at Armathwaite Hall hotel and Conishead Priory hydro, friend of WJ Andrew with whom he wrote articles on country houses (including Ford Hall at Chapel en le Frith) for the Derbyshire Archaeological and Antiquarian Society Journal, keen golfer, retired to Southport where his last home was adjacent to the Royal Birkdale golf club

Gunson, Joseph (d.1838), company commander in Peninsular War, lived Ingwell near Whitehaven, marr Ann Frances Irton; Hud ( C )

Gunson, Joseph (late 18thc-early 19thc), apothecary and surgeon, military surgeon, Malta 1800, deputy purveyor Gen Hospital Zejtin by Brig Gen Thomas Graham, purveyor Egypt, deputy purveyor Peninsula campaign 1812-1822, dismissed for fraud 1822, served at Whitehaven Dispensary with Dr Joshua Dixon (qv) first as apothecary (at £3 per annum) and later as surgeon, the Dispensary paid £2 per month for medical wines; is this all the same man ?

Gunson, William Mandell (1822-1881), academic, b. at Bolton, Cumberland, son of John Gunson of The Knowe, Baggrow, Aspatria, Sedbergh School, Christ’s College, BA 1847, MA 1850, fellow 1847-1881, tutor 1851-1870, senior dean 1868, ‘his tutorship was memorable in the history of the college’, he was tutor to WE Darwin, retired to Cumberland to a remote property left him by his father, lobbied for a school at Fletchertown (letters of bishop Mandel Creighton (qv)), built the school sharing the cost with George Moore (qv), drowned himself 1881 near The Knowe, Baggrow; memorial window Christ’s Hall; Venn Alumni; Sedbergh School Register

Gunson, William Telford (1839-1924; DCB), schoolmaster, surveyor and civil engineer; born Durham, taught at Great Broughton c.1860-62 (his day book is in Carlisle CRO) trained as a surveyor in London, worked ten years in the city architect’s office in Manchester, his firm W.T. Gunson and Son is now (2021) the oldest surveyor’s firm in Manchester, a city councillor for Manchester and a member of the waterworks committee during the planning and execution of the Thirlmere Scheme, this was initially supported by the bishop of Manchester but attacked by the bishop of Carlisle and Canon Rawnsley, later, having realised the importance of the scheme, Rawnsley gave a toast to the Waterworks committee at the 1892 lunch at the opening, from this point Manchester Corporation was ‘absorbed and admitted into the bosom of Cumbrian Society’, Gunson’s name appears on the plaque on the Thirlmere Dam, in 1894 he was a whistleblower on the overspend upon the Manchester ship canal and was reported by the Times saying that the city council had been ‘hoodwinked’ by the contractors, this manifestation of probity resulted in him being forced to resign from the council, he was fortunate that his business was not irretrievably damaged, marr Phyllis Caldcleugh (1840-1900), dau of William Caldcleugh postmaster of Durham, 5 sons (incl Ernest (qv)) and 3 daus, retired to Blackpool where he lived with his second wife Mary, here he is buried; see Sir John Harwood (qv)

Gurnall, William (17xx-1794), ironmonger, mayor of Kendal 1752-53 and 1765-66, (son William buried at Kendal, 9 June 1782, aged 31), buried (as senior alderman of Borough) at Kendal, 28 September 1794, aged 80

Gurney, Dorothy (nee Blomfield) (1858-1932), poet and hymn writer, daughter of the Rev Frederick Blomfield (1823-1879) vicar of St Andrew Undershaft, London and his wife Anne Brooke (1824-1881), she was granddaughter of bishop Charles Blomfield of London, wrote the hymn ‘O Perfect Love’ in 1883 for the wedding of her sister Katherine (1860-1950) that year to Dr Hugh Redmayne (qv) of Brathay Hall, at Ambleside church (set to the Bacchus Dykes tune ‘Strength and Stay’ much liked by Katherine), Hugh Redmayne was the son of Giles Redmayne (qv), Dorothy married the Rev Gerald Gurney (1862-1939) and periodically stayed at Pull Wyke, Ambleside, her mother’s home until 1881, she published verse (1913 and 1917) and The Childhood of Queen Victoria (1901); John Richard Watson, Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology

Gutch, John Wheeley Gough (1808/9-1862; ODNB), MRCS, FLS, surgeon, editor, botanist and photographer, born at Bristol, son and only child of John Mathew Gutch (ODNB; 1776-1861), JP, FSA, journalist and author, of Bristol and Worcester, by his first wife, Mary Wheeley (d. ante 1823), trained as surgeon at Bristol Infirmary, practised in Florence for a time, later apptd a Queen’s Messenger, retiring on a pension shortly before his death, edited Literary and Scientific Register (an annual encyclopedia) 1842-1856 and also Quarterly Journal of Meteorological Society in 1843, contributed to father’s paper Felix Farley’s Bristol Journal, botanist and Fellow of Linnaean Society from 1848, compiled two albums from his photographic tour of Lake District, arriving in early July 1857 and staying until well into September, visiting Bowness, Windermere, Wray Castle, Backbarrow Mill, Furness Abbey and Grasmere, reaching Keswick by mid-August, inc Borrowdale slate quarry, Keswick pencil factory and Brackenrigg toll bar, Bassenthwaite (with horse skeleton on wall of John Dodd’s, the toll-keeper’s house), leaving shortly before Lewis Carroll’s visit in late September 1857 (when he photographed Tennyson at Ambleside, and family and friends at Crosthwaite), went on to North Wales …. , marr Elizabeth Frances, no issue, died after stroke at 38 Bloomsbury Square, London, 30 April 1862 (Ian Charles Sumner, 2010)

Guthrie, John (18xx-18xx), AM, Presbyterian Minister, accepted call from Scotch Secession congregation in December 1839 and ordained minister of United Presbyterian Church in Woolpack Yard, Kendal, on 25 February 1840, but removed by the Synod in 1843 for ‘Morrisonian views’ and sentiments declared to be contrary to tenets of church, and took 130 members of congregation with him to set up Zion Chapel, built in New Inn Yard, Highgate, Kendal (at cost of about £1250), with ‘Statement of Doctrine, Church Order, etc’ to be inserted in trust deed of chapel under his pastoral care, 24 January 1844, and opened on 16 October 1844, till he left on 21 November 1848 with gift of £44 and a watch (KK, 323; AK, 166, 304.37; CRO, WDFC/C1)

Guy (fl.1230s-1240s), Prior of St Bees for ten years c.1232-c.1243, resigned to become a Cistercian monk at Furness Abbey (Chron St Mary’s York)

Guy, Henry (c.1647-1708), MA, clergyman, son of William Guy (qv), of Watercrook, Kendal, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 1664, aged 17, BA 1667, MA 1670), incorp at Christ’s College, Cambridge 1671, one of clergy at induction of Michael Stanford to Kendal on 1 April 1674, instituted to rectory of Uldale in August 1677, resigned living in 1684, buried at Corbridge, 31 August 1708 (CW2, lviii, 94-105; ECW, i, 556-; AoH, 13)

Guy, William (1598/99-1683), Mayor of Kendal, bapt at Kendal, 29 January 1598/9, son of Henry Guy, of Highgate, Kendal, and Margaret Warriner (marr at Kendal, 29 January 1597/8), mayor of Kendal three times 1643-44, 1662-63 and 1677-78, alderman, ‘Most Religious, and Orthodox Christian, the most Loyall Subject’, religious opponent of Gervase Benson (qv), marr ?? (26 April 1623, at Kendal) Hellen Gilpin, of Helsington, 1 son (Henry, qv), died 25 December 1683, aged 85, and buried in Kendal churchyard, 27 December (memorial brass plate on floor of Bellingham chapel in Kendal parish church, AK, 67; KK, 249-250, 312); CW2 lviii 94

Guzelian, Norah Mavis Araxi (nee Altounyan) (1920-1998), dau of Ernest Altounyan (1889-1962) and Dora Collingwood (1886-1964) (qqv), thus the granddaughter of WG Collingwood, ‘Swallows and Amazons’ model, for Titty m Melchon Guzelian, lived 2 Alum Court, Heaton, Bradford, later of Hawes Bank, Coniston, member of WEA writing group at Coniston in the late 1980s with her sister Brigit Sanders (qv), who lived at Nibthwaite, Sheona Lodge of Ambleside, qv, Muriel Cuppage, (and a godson of the Severns of Brantwood, living near Sunny Bank), David Cross and others, translating from the Kurdish original her husband’s memoir of life in Syria during a period of persecution (unpublished?), died aged 78 and buried at Coniston, 10 July 1998

Gynes, Christiana de (d.1333), widow of Ingelram de Gynes, granted an annual fair at her manor of Kendal on 17-19 October, at special request of count of Hainault, in 1333 (Cal Chart Rolls, iv, 298), but died on Friday after St Lucy Virgin, 7 Edw III [17 December 1333], holding various burgage tenants in vill of Kendal, stallage, court of burgesses, free tenants in Kendal and Westmorland, and fishery in river Kent, with moiety of barony of Kendal held of king in chief by service of 11/4 fee, her son, William de Coucy (qv), aged 55, her next heir (IPM in RK, I, 19)

Gyngell, Rex Farrow (1926-1999) DL, county councillor, b. South Shields, son of Harry Gingell (b.1894, Yorkshire) and his wife Mabel Sophia Farrow (b.1897), ed. Queen Elizabeth GS Penrith, 2nd WW Border Regt. 1944-48, trained in accountancy, worked for Rolls Royce, elected to county council 1981, leader of Conservative group, provided training for new businesses at enterprise agencies, marr (1948) Jean Pamela Allison (1926-2018), 3 sons (Torquil, Mark and Bruce) and 1 dau (Vanessa), he died 1999, (she died 19 May 2018, aged 91, and buried at St Peter’s churchyard, Heversham, 29 May), died (WG, 24.05.2018)