D

Dacre family; ODNB; CW3 xiv 291; also see Lennard, Francis

Dacre, Baron, of the South, see Lennard

Dacre, Anne, see Howard, Anne, Countess of Arundel, (c.1557-1630), eldest dau of Thomas, 4th Baron Dacre (qv), marr (1571) Philip Howard, earl of Arundel, son of her stepfather, 4th Duke of Norfolk, thereby bringing half of Dacre C and W estates (based on barony of Greystoke) into the Norfolk Howard family, with the other half going to her sister and co-heiress, Bessie (Elizabeth) (qv), to form basis of Carlisle Howard family inheritance, lived Gilsland, mother of Sir Thomas Howard (1585-1647; ODNB), courtier, diplomat and art collector, his collection of 700 paintings including work by Holbein, Rubens and Durer, also a large collection of sculpture; sale of Dacre lands by the Crown, 19 November 1601 (TNA, C.66/1570)

Dacre, Lady Caroline [nee Carlisle], lived in Abbey St, the racing bells [Tullie House; dated 1599] inscribed ‘for my Lady Dacre’s sake’ and with the initials of the mayor were awarded to winners in the earliest known horse racing events at Kingmoor, Carlisle, they are  the oldest surviving sporting trophy in England

Dacre, Charles (1786-1823), army officer, HEIC, Captain in 12th Bengal Native Infantry, later Major, yr son of William Richard Dacre (qv), of Kirklinton Hall, marr (August 1801 or 08?) Sophia Isabella, sister Charles Chaston Assey, surgeon in Bengal Army, HEIC, 8 children (inc Charles William (d.1842, aged 27), who assumed name and arms of Assey under terms of his uncle’s will in 1836, of Cavendish Place, Carlisle, and George, qv), died in Agra in May 1823; his widow was living in Abbey Street, Carlisle [now No.26] by July 1826, moving to Warwick Road in 1834, received bequest of plate, bed and table linen by will of Dame Mary Dacre [Rosemary, dau of Joseph Dacre-Appleby (qv) and widow of Sir John Clerk, 5th Bt of Penicuik (d.1798)], who died at Princess Street, Edinburgh in November 1834, and died at Warwick Road in January 1840, aged 57, and buried at Christ Church, Botchergate, Carlisle (CN, 22.12,2017)

Dacre, Sir Christopher (c.1470-c.1540), of Croglin and Carlisle, son of Humphrey 1st lord Dacre, fought at Flodden Field in 1513, in the Tower of London 1534 for feuding, repelled the assault of Carlisle castle in 1537 [part of the royal response to the Pilgrimage of Grace] following the dissolution of the monasteries and took 700 prisoners; History of Parliament online; GW Bernard, The King’s Reformation, 2005, 362-5 and 372-396

Dacre, Elizabeth (1564-1639), a.k.a. ‘Bessie of the Braid [Broad] Apron’, daughter of 4th baron Dacre, Dacre heiress who brought rich estates into the Howard family at her marriage to Sir William Howard of Naworth in 1577; the inheritance was shared with her sister Anne (qv)

Dacre, George (c.1561-1569), 5th baron Dacre, summoned to Parliament aged five

Dacre, George, Lord Dacre (1561-1566), son of Thomas Dacre, 4th baron Dacre (c.1527-1566), succeeded his father but died aged five from a fall from a rocking horse at their house near Thetford, his ghost is said to haunt Nuns Bridge at Thetford; officially Thomas Dacre had no children so maybe this is a legend ?

Dacre, Henry (d. c.1623), son of Christopher Dacre (qv), of Lanercost, marr (7 November 1599, at Shap) Mary, dau of George Salkeld (qv), of Rosgill Hall and Thrimby Grange, son Thomas (born 1607, qv), lived at Rosgill Hall

Dacre, Humphrey (c.1424-1485), 1st baron Dacre, warden of the West Marches

Dacre, Joan, dau and heir of Thomas, 6th Baron Dacre (d.1458), inherited original barony of Dacre…..

Dacre, Joseph (1711-1779), JP, son of Joseph Dacre-Appleby (qv), dropped surname of Appleby in c.1742, marr (1736) Catherine (d.1775, aged 58), dau and coheir of Rt Revd Sir George Fleming (qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1738

Dacre, Leonard (d.1573; ODNB), son of 3rd baron Dacre, promoter of northern rebellion

Dacre, Mabel (d. after 1503); CW2 xcix 177

Dacre, Magdalene (later Browne) (1538-1608; ODNB), daughter of 3rd baron Dacre of Gilsland, married viscount Montagu

Dacre, Ralph, Lord Dacre (d.1339/40), acquired castle and manor of Kirkoswald by marriage to Margaret (b.1300), dau and heir of Thomas, Lord Multon of Gilsland (d.1313/14)

Dacre, Thomas, Lord Dacre (d.1525), founder (with Rowland Threlkeld, qv) of the College at Kirkoswald before end of 1523, rebuilt Kirkoswald Castle

Dacre, Thomas (1467-1525; ODNB), 2nd baron Dacre, magnate and soldier, fought at Bosworth Field, commissioned c.1507-15 the remarkable Dacre Beasts (V and A; sold from Naworth castle c.2000); see ‘The Ballad of Bosworth Field’

Dacre, William (1500-1563; ODNB), 3rd baron of Gilsland

Dacre, Revd William (1827-1903), MA, clergyman, yr son of Joseph Dacre (1825-1868) and grandson of Joseph Dacre (1785-1828), marr (18xx) Margaret, dau of Revd Dr George Jeffrey, vicar of Irthington 1852-1898

Dacre, William Richard (1749-1807), JP, 2nd son of Joseph Dacre (b.1711 qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1782, marr, 2 sons (Joseph (1785-1828), Madras Civil Service, died in India, and Charles, qv)

Dalrymple, Sir Adolphus John, 2nd Bt (d.1866), politician, MP for Appleby, m. Ann dau Sir James Graham [1753-1825] 1st Bt., MP Carlisle

Dalston family of Acorn Bank; CW2 lviii 140

Dalston, Sir George (1581-1657) JP, politician, of Dalston Hall, son of Sir John Dalston and his wife Frances Warcop, ed Queens college, Oxford, captain of Carlisle castle 1608-1643, knighted 1607, MP 1621-1643, High Sheriff, in 1644 fled Dalston Hall at the time of the siege of Carlisle when it was requisitioned by Gen Leslie qv, on the solar tower at Dalston Hall is the inscription: ‘John Dalston Elisabet mi wife mad ys byldyng’, died 1657, funeral speech preached on 28 Sept 1657 by Jeremy Taylor (1613-1677; ODNB), bishop of Down and Connor and published 1658; Hyde and Pevsner, 325

Dalston, John (c.1606-1692), politician, MP for Appleby from 5 April 1661 until September 1679, made gift of ceremonial sword engraved with arms of Dalstons of Acorn Bank and borough of Appleby to Appleby corporation, died 13 April 1692, aged 86, and buried in chancel of Kirkby Thore church, 18 April (memorial brass) (N&B, i, 364)

Dalston, William [18thc.], R.C. buried Great Salkeld; CW2 lix 125

Dalton, Alice (1621-1729), possibly the oldest woman to live in Westmorland, bapt at St Andrew’s Auckland church in Bishopric of Durham, 11 March 1621, dau of George Parkin, widow of Richard Dalton [prob Richd Dalton, junior, who was buried 26 September 1684], of Cliburn, buried at Cliburn, 11 October 1729, aged 108

Dalton, Jim (18xx-19xx), huntsman, Blencathra Foxhounds, from 1894-1930

Dalton, John, of Dean (1709-1763; ODNB), clergyman and poet, son of Rev John Dalton, rector of Dean, graduated Queens college, his brother Richard (qv) (c.1715-1791; ODNB), produced a libretto for John Milton’s masque Comus which was set to music as an opera by Thomas Arne (1710-1778;ODNB), (John Milton (1608-1674; ODNB) wrote Comus in response to a major court scandal) Dalton was pleased when a production of ‘his’ opera was performed as a benefit for Milton’s granddaughter Elizabeth Foster; the same John Dalton who was the father of John Dalton of Darlington ?

Dalton, John (1766-1844; ODNB), chemist and natural philosopher, born at Eaglesfield, 6 September 1766, son of Joseph Dalton, weaver, and Deborah, dau of John Greenup, of Greenrigg, Caldbeck, educated by his father and John Fletcher at Parshaw hall qv, influenced by Elihu Robinson, taught in Kendal aged 13 with his brothers Jonathan and Jonah qqv, friendly with John Gough qv, conducted extensive meteorological research and collection of data (mss Kendal museum), aged 27 appointed to teach maths at New College, a college for dissenters  in Manchester, being colour blind did research on ‘Daltonism’, experimented on the composition of gases and wrote Dalton’s Law (1801), Law of Partial Pressures conceived, New College in financial trouble 1801 so he began giving public lectures, provided a method for the calculation of relative atomic weights for the chemical elements, his key achievement the notion of Atomic Theory (1808), his diagrams of atoms and molecules are similar to those used today, inherited with his brother Jonathan estate at Greenrigg, Caldbeck by will of his aunt, Ruth Greenup, 7 March 1814, which he and others sold to Joseph Parkin, 17 March 1819 (CW2, xxi, 236), this gave  him a little financial freedom, annual visits to the Lakes, awarded hon doctorate by Oxford, Humphry Davy qv said he had laid ‘the foundations for future labours’, unmarried, died of a stroke 1844, 40,000 people filed past his coffin in Manchester town hall, buried Ardwick; mural by Ford Madox Brown, Dalton Collecting Marsh Gas (Manchester Town Hall); statue by Chantrey, Royal Manchester Institution, Terry Wyke, Public Sculpture of Manchester, 62, another by William Theed outside Manchester Metropolitan faculty of science, another at Manchester town hall, portrait by James Lonsdale, pupil of Romney; Dalton pedigree from 16thc (W/H CRO YDX 573); John Dalton Way, a walk from Eaglesfield to Calder Hall, home of the first atomic power station inaugurated for his 250th anniversary; famous scientists.org; AB Griffiths and RM Leslie, John Dalton: Founder of Modern Atomic Theory, 2016, Elizabeth Chambers Patterson, Life of John Dalton, 1970, Albert Leslie Smyth, John Dalton Bibliography, 1966

Dalton, Jonah (1766-1844), brother of John Dalton (1766-1844) (qv), the chemist, schoolmaster Kendal

Dalton, Jonathan (1759-1834), older brother of John Dalton (1766-1844) (qv), the chemist, schoolmaster at Kendal, joined by John from 1781-1793, continued his brother’s meteorological records after his departure, letter from Ponsonby Harrison of Eaglesfield (W/H CRO Harris family mss DBH/4/11, other mss university of Manchester)

Dalton, Millican (1867-1947), ‘Professor of Adventure’, the Borrowdale Hermit, pioneering rock climber, camper and mountain guide, born at Foulard, Nenthead, Alston, 20 April 1867, son and one of seven children of William Dalton (1825-1874) mining agent and Quaker b. Appleby, and his wife Frances (nee Tinniswood), m. 1853, dau of Millican Tinniswood qv, family moved after his father’s death to edge of Epping Forset, developed his taste for life outdoors, living in tent in Thornwood in 1901, took climbing holidays in Lakes with his brother Henry, left office job as insurance clerk in London in 1903 and rode north on his bicycle to Lake District, settled first in a tent at High Lodore, then lived in cave on eastern flanks of Castle Crag in Borrowdale, walked down to Grange and Rosthwaite for letters and supplies, lived by mountain, forest, river and lake guiding, teaching rock climbing, and taking paying guests on dangerous adventures, built his own rafts, designed rucksacks and lightweight tents, and made his own clothes, addicted to coffee and Woodbine cigarettes, climbed Napes Needle more than fifty times, visited A W Simpson at Littleholme, Sedbergh Road, Kendal in 1913 (photo in CROK, WDX 515), not reclusive but very hospitable to guests, enjoyed philosophical discussions round the campfire, his motto for life etched in stone in his cave near his bed of leaves: ‘Don’t waste words. Jump to conclusions’, unmarried but had enduring friendships with women, notably Dr Mabel Barker (qv), his winter shack High Heavens Camp, Marlow Bottom, gutted by fire in 1939, retreated to a hut in Epping Forest in harsh winter of 1946/47, living in a tent, contracted pneumonia and died in hospital at Amersham, Bucks, 5 February 1947, aged 79 (M D Entwistle, 2004; play The Professor of Adventure written and performed by Peter MacQueen and produced by Theatre by the Lake, Keswick, 2016; Cumbria, December 2016, 65-68, and December 2017, 55-60; Jorrit Jorritsma, co-founder of Millican: Lessons in Manliness @ www.artofmanliness.com; ‘Millican Dalton, professor of adventure’ at footlesscrow.blogspot.co.uk, 13.08.2010); nephew Nicholas Dalton had stayed with him (Cumbria, February 2017, 86); see M.D. Entwistle biography, 2004; for the inscription in Borrowdale cave, Bill Birkitt, A Year in the Life of Borrowdale, 108; AH Griffin, The High Places, 17-18; A. Hankinson, A Century in the Crags has photographs

Dalton, Patrick (b.1907), rugby league footballer in the 1930s, b. Harrington, played for Salford Red Devils in 291 games between 1930 and 1940, and several times for England, in 1938, Salford beat Barrow, a major rival, 7 to 4, a great fan of the Red Devils Tommy Bannister wrote a poem which was only rediscovered in 2021 includes the lines:

       L stands for loose-limbed lad who gave a wonderful show

       Like long-legged Paddy Dalton in that dashing front row

Dalton, Pearson, shepherd, Caldbeck Characters, Caldbeck Hist Soc, 1995

Dalton, Percy (1884-1957), ARIBA, AMICE, architect, engineer and surveyor, and pioneer of housing development, born in Walton, co Lancaster, 21 January 1884, son of Samuel Dalton, book-keeper, and his wife Margaret, educ xxx, joined Carlisle City Corporation as architectural assistant to H C Marks (qv), City Engineer and Surveyor, in 1909, completed erection of Turkish Baths on James Street in 1910, extended Electricity Works on opposite side of James Street in 1913, appointed deputy City Engineer and Surveyor 1919 and succ Marks on his retirement in September 1926, supervised house building programme begun after end of WW1 with 22 new housing estates (inc Raffles and Longsowerby) built and special designs for old peoples homes (inc Margaret Creighton Gardens), designed and supervised construction of railway sidings and buildings of Electricity Power Station at Willowholme (opened in 1927), also extensions of five bridges (Caldew, Eden, Warwick Road, London Road and St Nicholas), supervised completion of Police and Fire Brigade HQ in Rickergate in 1941, made study of design of Community Centres (Carlisle being one of first authorities to support their establishment), supervised demolition of Gaol (later Woolworths) and island block that stood in front of it, Heysham Park (Raffles), and Italian Gardens at Stanwix end of Eden Bridge, carried out extensive city sewerage scheme, oversaw tarmacadaming of many city roads and streets, also played part in Carlisle Pageant of 1928, retired after 40 years’ service on 20 January 1949, died in 1957, aged 73 (CJ); See Marie Dickens, Changing the Face of Carlisle

Dalton, Richard (c.1715-1791; ODNB), born Dean, younger son of the Rev John Dalton of Darlington (qv), eminent life in London as Keeper of Royal Drawings and Medals to George III; see Grove Dictionary of Art

Dalton, Thomas (fl.1754-1782), clergyman, b. Cumberland, fellow of Queens college, vicar Carisbrook, Isle of Wight, executor of Myles Cooper q.v.

Dalzel, Joseph (d.1852) bonesetter, Workington; son of John Dalzell (1770-1841), yeoman of Stainburn Hall, his grandfather Thomas Dalzel (1739-1818), of Moresby, buried St Bees with his wife Elizabeth; prominent and elegant obelisk to Joseph in churchyard at east end of St Michael’s church, Workington

Danby, Revd Francis (1xxx-18xx), BA, clergyman and schoolmaster, apptd Chaplain to House of Correction, Kendal,  in 1840, elected Master of Kendal Grammar School in succ to Revd John Sampson (qv) in 1843, reopened school in April 1844, following period of repairs and improvements to school house and premises (at same time as removal of roughcast and pointing of exposed stones was carried out on parish church), but resigned office in 1845 after failing to receive any encouragement, well liked and respected, also curate of St Thomas, Kendal, amateur geologist and fossil collector, died [xx] [not in 1858 clergy list] (KK, 171; LC, 114; RM, 26)

Dand, Revd Michael (17xx-1847), Rector of Clifton 1841-1847

Daniell, William (1769-1837), author of A Voyage Round Great Britain, having toured coast in a rowing boat during summers of 1813 to 1816 and made 308 hand-coloured sketches illustrating features of the coast, and during winters worked on these to produce a series of aquatints which were later published in a single volume, an unrivalled record of British coastline at that time

Daniels, Charles (1932-1996), architect; obit. CW2 xcvii 261

Daniels, Harry (fl.mid 20thc.), surgeon, North Lonsdale hospital, Barrow, m. Betty, lived Far East for a few years, 2 daus ‘Kipper’ and Susan, 1 son Peter, upon his appointment at Barrow c.1955 was promised a new hospital but the delayed Furness General Hospital did not open until after he retired, lived Pendlehurst, Ulverston, friend of Philip Waind qv, frequently a prizewinning helmsman at South Windermere Sailing Club

Danson, Revd William (17xx-1803), clergyman, Curate of Crosthwaite, marr (24 February 1789, at Crosthwaite) Elizabeth Sedgfield, of Crosthwaite, buried at Crosthwaite, 15 April 1803

Darbishire, Helen (1881-1961; ODNB), CBE, FBA, literary scholar, of Shepherds How, Grasmere, principal of Somerville College, Oxford 1931-1945, chairman, Wordsworth Trust 1943-1961

Darke, Jo (1939-2010), photographer and founder of the Public Monuments and Sculpture Association, b. Cornwall, dau of Bob Darke a farmer and his actress wife Betty Cowen, her sister Caroline Darke is a designer and her brother Nicholas Darke was a playwright, wrote The Monument Guide to England and Wales [1991], the first overview of British public monuments, founder c.1993 of the Public Monuments and Sculptures Association [PMSA], thus she was the spark that led to the research and publication of the PMSA series with Liverpool University Press, she was related to Musgrave Lewthwaite Watson (qv) and often visited the Lakes, also published a Lakeland volume, m. Richard Pearce, a science teacher 2 daus; Guardian obit 23 June 2010

Darke, Nick Temperley Watson (1948-2005), actor, playwright, lobster fisherman, beachcomber, broadcaster, environmentalist, son of Temperley Oswald Darke (1912-1993), Cornish chicken farmer and ornithologist, his mother Betty Cowen (1914-1977), dau of Arthur Cowen (qv) an actress, brother of Jo Darke (qv), related to the sculptor Musgrave Lewthwaite Watson (qv), educ Truro cathedral school (expelled), Newquay GS and Rose Bruford school of Drama, marr Jane Spurway, performed in 80 plays at the Victoria Theatre Stoke on Trent, wrote 28 plays including 8 produced at the RSC, died aged 56

Darling, Sir William (b.1885), politician, b. 8 May 1885, Hart St Carlisle, son of a draper who moved his business to Princes St. Edinburgh, became MP for South Edinburgh; CN 19 Dec 1953 with photo CN 9 Feb 1962, 11; his autobiography Looks at Me

Darlington, Lord, see Vane

Darlington, Sir Charles (1910-1998) KBE, rear admiral, b. Ontario, son of Charles Darlington and Alice Edwards, after war service held a range of posts of rising seniority, director of Naval Education Service 1960-1965, later superintendant of the St John’s Ambulance Brigade, m. Nora Wright of Maulds Meaburn qv, d. Portsmouth; portrait photograph NPG

Darlington, Lady Nora (nee Wright) b. Maulds Meaburn c.1915, married rear admiral Sir Charles Darlington KBE [b.1910]

Darwent, James Major (18xx-18xx), MA, schoolmaster, from Delph in Saddleworth parish, West Riding, Yorks, headmaster of Free Grammar School, Kirkby Lonsdale 1860-1873, of Springfield House (1873)

Daulby, Daniel (1745-1798), artist and collector, of Liverpool, but lived at Rydal Mount in 1790s, knew artists such as Chubbard, Holland, Burdett, Farington and Wright of Derby

Davenport, Rowland Ashley (1886-195x), BA, clergyman and schoolmaster, er son of John M Davenport, machinist, of Rochdale, and his wife Mary, educ Heversham Grammar School (admitted in September 1896, aged 10, left in December 1902), with yr brother James Lees (aged 12 at Heversham GS, January to May 1902), and University of London (BA 1910, 2nd cl Mod Lang 1921), d 1911 and p 1912 (Carl), curate of Holy Trinity, Carlisle 1911-1914, TCF 1915-1916, assistant master, Carlisle Grammar School and lic to pr, dio Carlisle 1914-1931, Curate of Maryport 1931-1933, asst organiser of religious education, dio Carlisle 1931-1937, vicar of Scotby from 1933, when he gave address at first Foundation Day at Heversham School on 24 January 1939, taking as his text ‘The lot is fallen unto me, in a fair ground, yea and I have a goodly heritage’ until 1948, editor of Carlisle Diocesan Gazette 1939-1949, hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral 1945-1948 (Canon Emeritus 1948), lic to offic, dio Carlisle 1949-1955, retiring to 72 Aglionby Street, Carlisle, decd by 1959

Davey, Peter (19xx-2015), headmaster, died in December 2015, aged 84 (CWH, 26.12.2015)

David I, (1085-1153) king of Scotland, took Carlisle in 1135 and died in Carlisle castle, his grandson withdrew and Henry II seized it back; CW2 xcix 117

David, Joan Everard (1920-2000; DCB), biologist, dau of Robert Storey (1889-1947) the co-founder of the Storey Foundry at Heaton Norris, and Alice Grace Williams, educ Ackworth School and Manchester university, worked on eels at Ferry House during the war, m.Werner David, 1 son, 1 dau, later chairman of family foundry in Lancashire, collector of art, major correspondent of Percy Kelly, her collection was the source of The Painted Letters of Percy Kelly (qv), lived Troutbeck and Kendal, author of The Strands Inn, 1987 (Thomas Smith, innkeeper (qv))

Davidson, I (18xx-18xx), headmaster of Windermere Grammar School 1864-1869

Davidson, John (17xx-18xx), of Hill Top, Kendal, built new property on site of old weaving shops at 134 Highgate, Kendal in c.1798 (architect Francis Webster) [now 2016 owned by K-Town Properties]

Davie, William Richardson (1756-1820), soldier and lawyer, born at Egremont, 22 June 1756, son of Archibald and Mary Davie, emigrated with his parents to American colonies, 10th governor of  South Carolina, one of the 55 delegates to constitutional convention at Congress which drew up Constitution of United States in 1787, thus one of the ‘Founding Fathers’ of the USA and one of the ‘Framers of the Constitution’, laid foundation stone of university of North Carolina, th building now known as ‘Old East’; portrait by Wilson Peale, mural by Dean Cornwell at UNC of the stone laying at ‘Old East’

Davies, Ann Lester, visited the Himalayas in the 1950s and wrote No Purdah in Padam (1960)

Davies, Arthur Llewellyn (1863-1907), briefly a master at Eton, barrister; b. Kirkby Lonsdale, father of the boys who were part of the process of creativity which led Sir James Matthew Barrie, Bt. (1860-1937; ODNB) to write Peter Pan; Barrie claimed this in the dedication to the 1928 edition of Peter Pan; Davies obit. The Times 19th May 1916

Davies, John Llewellyn (1826-1916; ODNB), MA, DD, clergyman, born at Chichester in 1826, educ Repton and Trinity College, Cambridge (Bell (University) Scholar 1845, 5th classic 1848, MA 1851, and Fellow 1851-1859), early alpinist, a founder of the Working Men’s College, Vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale 1889-1908, a Governor of Sedbergh School, his wife Mary [nee Crompton], daughter of Sir Charles Crompton (1797-1865; ODNB) of Derby, banker and barrister, Mary was buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 10 February 1895, aged 60, built the elaborate butter cross at Kirkby Lonsdale in her memory, resigned living, moved to Hampstead with his daughter Margaret (qv), and died (at? 11 Hampstead Square, London), (son Theodore, Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, drowned when bathing in Leck beck in 1905, aged 34) (AKL, 114-115; CW2, xxix, 191); Mary Llewellyn Davies’ brother Charles Crompton m. Florence, dau of the RevWilliam and Elizabeth Gaskell (qqv)

Davies, John Stanley Webb (1894-1978), furniture maker; Hugh Wright volume, Bookcase, 2006

Davies, Joseph (c.1773-1835), Congregational minister, Minister of Congregational chapel, Soutergate, Ulverston for nearly 26 years, died 4 June 1835, aged 62; his eldest son, Revd John L Davies, Minister of Edmonton, London, died at Ulverston, 18 May 1832, aged 26 (MI tablet in chapel)

Davies, John Morgan (c.1910-c.1980), BSc (Wales), principal of Newton Rigg College from 1947, Fatstock Marketing Corporation from 1854, contested Carmarthen as Liberal candidate, returned to farming in native Carmarthenshire, marr Dorothy, sister of John Moffat (qv?), died aged 70

Davies, Lester (1910-c.2000), squadron leader (RAF) and outward bound instructor, worked at Ullswater after the war, inretirement lived at the station master’s house at Eskdale Green, his wife Ann Lester Davies went to the Himalayas and wrote No Purdah in Padam (1960)

Davies, Margaret Llewelyn- (1861-1944; ODNB), dau of the Rev Llewelyn-Davies (qv) of Kirkby Lonsdale, general secretary of the Women’s Cooperative Guild from 1889-1921, member of the general council of the Union of Democratic Control, edited Maternity: Letters from Working Women (1915); Roger Smalley, Political Dissent in Westmorland, 1880-1930, 2013

Davies, Sir Noel (1933-2015), son of a Shropshire farmer, ed. Ellesmere college, at Thurso, Caithness, senior manager Vickers, Barrow and then after posts held in Thurso, Caithness and elsewhere returned as MD Vickers, Barrow, m. Sheila, several children; obit Times 8 March 2015, Les Shore, Leonard Redshaw (qv) has refs.

Davies, Sarah Emily (1830-1921; ODNB), co-founder of Girton College, feminist and suffragist, dau of the Rev John Davies DD (1795-1861), sister of  the Rev John Llewellyn-Davies (qv), aunt of Margaret Llewellyn-Davies (qv)

Davies, Stanley Webb (1894-1978), arts and crafts furniture maker, designed and built Gatesbield, New Road, Windermere in 1926, with much of carving done by Emily, their furniture workshop and showroom in craft cottage by road, designed by Kenneth Cross in 1923 (Hugh Wright)

Davies-Shiel, Michael (1929-2009), historian; many articles and books on the Lake District including Wool is my Bread (1975), The Watermills of Cumbria (1979), The Archaeology of the Lake Counties (xxxx);  CW3 x 1-2

Davison, John (fl.late 18thc), of Hill Top, built 134-136 Highgate, Kendal, 1797/98 (attrib to Francis Webster)

Davison, Monkhouse (1713-1793), tea merchant and grocer, b. Carlisle, son of Isaac and Jane Davison of Cowdall Hall, Newtown, tea chests owned by him were dumped in Boston harbour during the Tea Party, asked for compensation from George III, at his death left £600,000

Davy, Humphry (1778-1829; ODNB), scientist, inventor of the safety lamp (see Carlyle Spedding), visited Wordsworth in 1805, his brother John (1790-1868; ODNB) (qv) lived in Ambleside

Davy, John (1790-1868; ODNB), MD, FRS, physiologist and anatomist, born at Penzance, Cornwall, 24 May 1790, son of Robert Davy and yr brother of Sir Humphry Davy [ODNB]  (present at his death in Geneva in 1829), marr (1830) Margaret (1798-1869), 3rd dau of Archibald Fletcher (qv, of Lancrigg, Grasmere), physician at Ambleside, friend of Wordsworth, loved angling in Lake District, built Lesketh How, Ambleside, where he lived from 1844-68, he died, 24 January 1868

Davy, Peter (d.2015), headmaster Kirkby Kendal school; West Gaz 18 Dec 2015

Dawes, John (1766-1845/6), clergyman, baptised 30 March 1766, son of Joseph Dawes, pupil of Isaac King, started own school and taught Hartley and Derwent Coleridge, John and William Wordsworth, and sons of John Harden (qqv), curate of Ambleside 1811-1845/6 (DRC/10; TOA,11)

Dawes, Lancelot (1579/80-1654/5; ODNB), DD, MA, clergyman, born at Barton Kirk, attended Queen’s College, Oxford as poor serving child, then as taberdar, matric 14 October 1597, aged 17, BA 30 June 1602, MA 6 June 1605, and fellow 1605, becoming an ‘ornament’ of the college, nominated by John Fetherston to vicarage of Barton in 1608, and though George Hudson was presented, LD was instituted, rector of Asby 1618-1654 and prebendary of Carlisle 1619-1654, co-founder of Barton Grammar School, marr, son (Thomas, d.1684) (FiO, i, 340)

Dawes, Richard (1793-1867), clergyman and schoolmaster, born in Hawes, educ Ravenstonedale Grammar School between 1800 and 1815, developed a parish school at King’s Somborne, Hampshire, with a very advanced curriculum

Dawes, Thomas (d.1718), High Sheriff, son of Lancelot Dawes (died v.p. and buried at Barton, 10 August 1675), of Barton Kirk, marr Elizabeth (buried 5 February 1750), large family (inc Lancelot (bapt at Barton, 24 July 1695), Christopher (buried 5 March 1705), Mary (buried 10 June 1707, Thomas (buried 12 September 1707), Amy, (buried 22 January 1719), ^^^ ), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1698-99, buried at Barton, 18 August 1718

Dawson, Christopher (15xx-1605), clergyman, Curate of Torver, brothers John and Bryan, sister Margaret, will made 10 May 1605, with inventory on 5 June 1605 (trans in CRO, WDY 475), buried in Torver church

Dawson, James (c.1779-1875; DCB), FRCS, JP, surgeon, of Liverpool, elected MRCS on 15 February 1805 and one of the 300 foundation fellows on 11 December 1843, marr (18xx) Margaret (from wealthy family of spirits merchants), visited Lake District from 1820s and wanted to build own grand house there, started buying up land in 1830s (estate of some 900 acres at its fullest extent), built Wray Castle in 1845-47 (attrib to his friend, John Jackson Lightfoot, an amateur architect, of Liverpool (design exhibited at Liverpool Academy in 1842), with H P Horner taking over after his early death) ‘absolutely regardless of expense’, a situation with striking views over lake but also of Fairfield, Langdale Pikes and over to Bow Fell and Scafell Pike, moved into castle in late 1840s, but wife hated the building, a gothic fantasy of what he thought a castle should be, also responsible for erection of St Margaret’s church, Low Wray in 1856 (though not consecrated until 1861) and endowed it with a further £100 in 1865, and also built Low Wray vicarage and fine boathouses, remodelled neighbouring farm, planted many trees, friend of Wordsworth, who visited castle and planted a mulberry tree in grounds in 1845, noted for his charitable work (The Lancet, obit 30 January 1875), died aged 96; Wray Castle left to her nephew and heir, E P Rawnsley (qv) (a relative of Hardwicke Drummond Rawnlsey who became vicar of Wray) who sold it to David Ainsworth (qv) in 1898 for £30,118; sold again by auction, 26 June 1928 (CRO, WDX 598; CW3, ii, 231-252; iii, 249; CuL, Sept 2011, 36-41)

Dawson, John (1736-1820), mathematical tutor, lived at Sedbergh, though not attached to Sedbergh School, largely self-taught mathematician and successful tutor, with eleven of his pupils becoming Senior Wranglers, died aged 85 and buried at Sedbergh, 23 September 1820 (TWT, 75)

Dawson, John, manufacturer, of Bank House, Kendal, his widow Elizabeth died at Kent House, Kendal and buried at Kendal, 28 July 1840, aged 84

Dawson, John (c.1755-1843), clergyman, curate of Witherslack, marr (9 December 1783, at Crosthwaite) Elizabeth Robinson, of Heversham parish, died at The Parsonage, aged 88, and buried at Witherslack, 21 June 1843

Dawson, John (1926-2011), MA, teacher and local historian, born at Rochdale, 15 October 1926, educ Rochdale Municipal High School and Jesus College, Cambridge (matric 1944, scholarship to read history, set up table tennis club, played for cricket XI, BA 1947, MA 1951), pursued career as teacher, coming to Lake District in 1960 as first headmaster of John Ruskin School, Coniston, taking early retirement in 1982 to concentrate on historical research and walking the Lakeland hills, hon curator of Ruskin Museum at Coniston and kept it going against the odds, the entrance for many years still being via a penny in the slot turnstile, chairman of Friends of Brantwood, author of Torver: The Story of a Lakeland Community (Phillimore, 1985), Wordsworth’s Duddon Revisited (19xx), A Dream of Eden (19xx), Cumbrian Privies (19xx) as well as contributing numerous articles of local, historical and topographical interest to many periodicals, inc Country Life, Lancashire Life and Cumbria, also broadcast a number of short stories written for Radio Cumbria, served as a Methodist lay preacher for almost half a century, marr (1955) Margaret Isobel Shepherd, 2 sons and 2 daus, left Coniston and moved to Whittington about 2000, where he died, 20 December 2011, aged 85, with funeral at Whittington parish church, 30 December

Dawson, Joseph (d.1857), printer, bookseller and stationer, also slate pencil manufacturer, and musical instrument dealer, assigned premises at 8 Stricklandgate, Kendal from Thomas Richardson (publisher of The Westmorland Journal of Useful Knowledge, first issued on 1 June 1833), obtained further lease of 14 yrs on 12 July 1842, enlarged premises by taking in adjoining shoemaker’s shop and started selling sheet music and musical instruments, succ by nephew, William Fisher, on his death in 1857, and later by his son, Richard Fisher till 1896 (KK, 270)

Dawson, Mrs (c.1675-1700), of Kendal, wife of Jacob Dawson, her death on 19th June 1700 gave rise to a once popular toast in the town: ‘May we all live as Jacob Dawson’s wife died’.  From William Andrews Epitaphs (1883 rpr 1899)

Dawson, N (18xx-19xx), MA, BLitt, educ St Edmund Hall, Oxford, appointed Headmaster of Heversham Grammar School in September 1938, resigned in August 1951

Dawson, Richard (d.c.1605), clergyman, Torver; CW2 lxxxviii 121

Dawson, Richard Jackson (18xx-19xx), OBE, JP, council leader, chairman of Westmorland County Council from March 1940 to April 1952, and Alderman, apptd honorary freeman of Appleby Borough in 1950 for over 25 years’ service as councillor and alderman of Appleby Borough, inc one term as mayor 1930-31, of Ashland House, Appleby (1929), later of Brampton Crofts, Long Marton (1938)

Dawson, Robert (1776-1860; ODNB), surveyor, son of Thomas Dawson of Penrith (1725-1794), royal military surveyor, a key figure in the first ordnance survey, his son Col Robert Kearsley Dawson (ODNB), his grandson General Robert Dawson inherited Brent House, Penrith [ODNB says Robert Dawson senior was born in Plymouth.  But gives his dob as 1771  CHECK]

Dawson, Robert (1589-1643), clergyman, bishop of Clonfert and Kilmacduagh 1627-1643, b. Kendal, died 13 April 1643; memorial brass in Kendal Holy Trinity church (CW2, xc, 205-15 and/or CW2 lxc 205; WW, i, 109-112; SSR, 66)

Dawson, Robert Basil (1877-1940), MA, clergyman, descended from Dawsons of Langcliffe, Yorks, and of Ford, co Durham, vicar of Irthington 1924-1928

Dawson, Thomas (fl.late 19th-early 20thc), landlord and defendant, licensee of the Newfield Inn at Seathwaite in the Duddon valley, on 25 July 1904 dealt with a riot by drunken navvies working on the Seathwaite tarn waterworks which would provide water for Furness, he had refused to serve some of the men who reacted violently smashing windows and doing other damage to the public buildings in the village and he responded by firing his gun, killing one man and wounding others, he and his young barman James Greenhow were prosecuted for the death of Owen Kavanagh of Millom, but were exonerated; Westmorland Gazette 14 Nov 2015

Day, George Edward Foden (18xx-1929), clergyman, vicar of Bampton, also curate of Swindale 1893-1896 (between Stephen and Joseph Whiteside), marr (by 1881) Eleanor F, 1 son (George E F, qv), died 10 October 1929, his executors handing his parish papers over to Revd H A Ransome (qv), acting curate-in-charge of Bampton, who filed them ready for new vicar-designate, Revd W H Cormack (qv) in 1931

Day, George Edward Ferens (1881-19xx), BA, clergyman, son of Revd G E F Day (qv), educ Heversham Grammar School (admitted aged 15 in September 1896, left in August 1900), Queen’s College, Oxford 1901 and Hatfield Hall, Durham (BA 1907), d 1908 and p 1909 (Worc), curate of St George, Kidderminster 1908-1912, and of Nantwich 1912-1917, vicar of Renwick 1917-1921, rector of Cliburn 1921-1956 and PC of Bolton 1947-1956, organising secretary of SPG, Dio Carlisle 1924-1928, retiring in 1956 to Walmhow, Bampton, then to 211 London Road, Twickenham, Middlesex by 1965, still there in 1975

Day, Harold Hill (18xx-19xx), engineer and iron founder, Castle Iron Foundry, Canal Head, Kendal, 1930s, of Hill Crest, Kendal (CRO, WDX 653)

De Grey, Sir Roger (1918-1995), see Grey

De Lara, Adelina (1872-1961), concert pianist and composer, born Lottie Adelina Preston, Carlisle, dau of George Matthew Tilbury (aka Preston) and Anna de Lara the granddaughter of the Dutch limner David Laurent de Lara who specialised in illuminated manuscripts, gave recitals from the age of six using her mother’s name which was viewed as more exotic, studied at the Hoch Conservatory, Frankfurt and had lessons with the elderly Clara Schumann, she also knew Brahms, taught the piano to students including Eileen Joyce (1908-1991), m. Thomas Johnson Shipwright, several children, much admired by the Queen mother who would send her a note before a concert, wrote autobiography Finale (1955), a great grandson is Kit Hain the singer songwriter,

De Selincourt, Ernest (1870-1943; ODNB), of Grasmere, literary scholar, Chairman, Wordsworth Trust to 1943, bequeathed his library to the Armitt, retired to Grasmere 1935, died at Olrig Nursing Home, Kendal

Deakin, George William, wine and spirits merchant, built Blawith House and died four years later

Deakin, James Henry Edward Kenneth (d.c.1899), wine and spirits merchant, son of C and M Deakin, built Netherwood, Grange-over-Sands (memorial window in north of nave in Lindale church, c.1900)

Deakin, Joseph (c.1834-1892), barrister, marr Mary Katharine, children bapt at Lindale in 1870s, when barrister-at-law, of Eller How, Lindale-in-Cartmel (let by Webster family ?), died at Southport, aged 58, and buried at Lindale, Ash Wednesday, 2 March 1892

Dean, Charles Walter (18xx-19xx), clerk, Clerk to Ulverston RDC, clerk to Guardians of Ulverston Union, Council Buildings, Queen Street, Ulverston, of Pendlehurst, Ulverston (1909)

Dean, Susan (nee Sandison-Wood) (1930-2011), farmer, last surviving of 4 daus of Alexander Sandison-Wood, OBE, and great granddau of 9th Earl of Carlisle, educ Girton College, Cambridge (agriculture), marr (1953) Peter Dean, 1 son and 2 daus, farmed first at Burtholme, near Lanercost in 1950s, before moving to Kirkhouse at Farlam, near Brampton in 1970, committee member and secretary of the Simmental Society (milked her Simmental cows every day into her 60s), secretary of Dacre Hall Committee at Lanercost Priory for many years, governor of Hallbankgate School from 1970s and chairman in 1990s, supported Bewcastle Pony Club, esp providing riding for disabled children, member of Brampton Players’ committee for many years (attended official opening of Brampton Playhouse in 1936) and chairman in 1980s, member of Carlisle Diocesan Synod, died in Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle, January 2011 and funeral at Farlam church (CN, 21.01.2011)

Deane, Joseph, tide master, Whitehaven, corresponded with the Washingtons in America

Deans, Charlotte (nee Lowes) (1768-1859), actress, born 1 September 1768, 2nd dau and 3rd child of Henry Lowes, attorney at law, and Alice Howard (died 31 December 1775 and buried 2 January 1776 in Wigton churchyard), of Wigton, marr 1st William Johnston, marr 2nd Thomas Deans, 17 children, itinerant actress performing in barns, stables and makeshift ‘theatres’ throughout Cumbria and southern Scotand (Frances S Marshall, A Travelling Actress, 1984)

Dearden, Revd F Cawood (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, vicar of St Michael’s, Bamford, near Rochdale, before being licensed to Longsleddale at Rose Castle on 14 July 1914

Dearden, nee Kimber [1834-1915], Sophia, daughter of a coal merchant, widow of John Deardon MD [1833-1897] of Church near Accrington whom she had married in Accrington (he was of Oswaldtwistle), aware that the town had hoped to have a Victoria jubilee clock tower, presented a fine one to Grange over Sands in her own name 1912 at a cost of £300, lived Lyndhurst, Fernleigh Rd., with her daughter Leonora, also gave woodland at Yewbarrow Cragg to the town, upon her death Leonora became the third wife of William Kellaway, in her will Sophia gave a second clock tower to Church near Accrington; Cartmel Peninsula Local History website; Hyde and Pevsner

Dearden, Tom (1942-2020), artist, born in Ulverston, educ Dowdales School, keen on country activities, served his time as a butcher and worked in a slaughterhouse, as a student of meat inspection a tutor spotted his artistic skills and advised him to apply for art college, he attended Lancaster and Morecambe college and was encouraged by Bernard Eyre Walker and Claude Harrison, lived in France and London where he familiarised himself with great masters in galleries, returned to live at Witherslack, The Petrel was exhibited at the Paris Salon and won the Gold Medal, solo exhibition Abbot Hall in the 1970s, his work includes Winter, a juxtaposition of Lakeland rock, blasted tree and a human figure, A French Hilltop Village (1990), and  Lilian Fairhurst (Abbot Hall), he exhibited at the RA, a member of the Lake Artists; Jane Renouf, Lake Artists, 226-7; Davy Priestley, Tom Dearden, c.2020; obit West Gaz 3 Sept 2020

Decies, 3rd baron, see Horsley-Berresford

Defoe, Daniel (1660-1731; ODNB), writer, in his travels visited the Lake District and Whitehaven, he described Cumberland in his book A Tour Through the whole Island of great Britain (3vols, 1724)

Denison, William Austen Raymond (1910-2010), owner of Anvil Gallery, Cartmel, former North Lonsdale District councillor (c.1964-1969), formerly of Anvil House, Cartmel, died at the Old Vicarage Residential Home, Allithwaite, 24 October 2010, aged 100, and buried at Grange cemetery after funeral service in Cartmel Priory, 2 November (CRO, WDB 111; WDX 1121; WDX 1485)

Denman, Sir Richard Douglas (1876-1957; ODNB), 1st Bt, JP, BA, politician, yr brother of 3rd baron Denman, educ Oxford, MP for Carlisle 1910-1918 and for Leeds Central 1929-1945, cr baronet 1945, marr 1st (1904) Helen Christian (1881-1965) (see Sutherland), dau of Sir Thomas Sutherland, GCMG, separated 1909 and marr annulled 1913, marr 2nd (19xx) dau of James Spencer, of Murrah Hall, Greystoke, son (Charles Spencer, CBE, MC, TD, who succ father as 2nd Bt in 1957 and succ cousin as 5th baron in 1971), of Staffield Hall, Kirkoswald, died 1957

Denmead, Christine [1942-2017], arts administrator, probably born Barrow, dau of ?John Denmead, senior teacher at Barrow Girls’ GS, after the demolition of Her Majesty’s theatre and the establishment of the Renaissance Theatre Trust, became the Trust’s secretary in Fountain St, Ulverston, see Donald Sartain and Norah Seddon qqv, she latterly worked with Denis McGeary; mss Renaissance Theatre Trust in CRO

Dennison, Thomas (fl.1748), High Constable of Kendal Ward (accounts for 1748 in CRO, WDS 30/6/31)

Dent family (1820-1927; ODNB), bankers (Hong Kong and Shanghai Bank) and involved with opium trade, by 1787 at a rate of 4000 chests of opium pa, and by 1833 30,000 chests, activities which were precursors of the Opium Wars 1839-42 and 1856-60 between the Qing dynasty and the western powers, once lost, China opened Shanghai as a treaty port and gave sovereignty to Hong Kong to the British, rivals in trade of Jardine Matheson and Co., lived Skirsgill, Penrith; Peter Ward Fay, The Opium War, 1997; Frank Dikotter et al, Narcotic Culture, 2004; Julia Lovell, The Opium Wars: Drugs, Dream and the Making of China, 2012; Hyde and Pevsner 575

Dent, Abraham (1729-1803; ODNB), shopkeeper, of Kirkby Stephen, Dent was a grocer, mercer, stationer, brewer, wine merchant and hosier; Thomas S. Willan, An Eighteenth Century Shopkeeper, Abraham Dent of Kirkby Stephen, 1970

Dent, John Charles (1841-1888), journalist and historian, b. Kendal, lived Canada

Dent, Lancelot (1799-1853), opium merchant, b. Crosby Ravensworth, son of William (b.1775) qv and his wife Jane (b.1762), one of the three key Dent brothers of Dent and Co, to Bombay on the Euphrates in 1823, dissolved partnership with Keirs of Madeira in 1825 (his father’s partners?), joined Dents at Canton in 1827, sailed on the Cornwallis to Bombay in 1828, in this year his son John Dent by Mary Colledge (sic) was born in Macao, she later married Captain John Fish and boy became known as John Dent Fish, took over as head of Dents when brother Thomas departed from China in 1831, regular sailings from Whampoa recorded between 1828 and 1832, to buy opium in Calcutta, on the Jane and the Waterwitch, his eldest brother Robert died at Mitcham, Sy, in 1835, following the Opium War their operations moved to Manilla from 1839-1842, in 1840 in Chusan, his mother Jane died that year, he was also appointed paymaster of HM Forces, Dent and Co established in1841 in Hong Kong, on his return in 1842, in 1843 adopts John Dent Fish as his heir, in 1845 brother John died in Calcutta, sister Elizabeth d. 1847, he or his siblings built Flass House in the early 1850s at Maulds Meaburn, the architect was George JJ Mair a pupil of Decimus Burton (Hyde and Pevsner), d. Cheltenham 1853, buried  at Crosby Ravensworth, JD Fish his exor. recd. £10,000, Dents continue to operate and were, in 1864-5, one of the founder partners of the HSBC

Dent, Sir Robert Annesley Wilkinson (1895-1983), CB, landowner and parliamentary clerk, born 27 January 1895, er son of R W Dent, JP, of Flass, Maulds Meaburn, educ Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge, marr (1927) Elspeth Muriel, dau of Sir Alfred Tritton, 2nd Bt, of Upper Gatton Park, Reigate, 1 son and 3 daus, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1960, clerk of public bills, House of Commons 1948-1959, asst clerk 1920, sold Flass House, later of Lyvennet Bank, Maulds Meaburn, died (Dent of Flass papers in CRO, WD/DF)

Dent, Thomas, opium merchant, son of William [b.1775] qv, one of the three key Dent brothers, in Canton 1823, joined Davidson and Co but Davidson left in 1824, firm became Dent and Co

Dent, Wilkinson [b.1800], opium merchant, son of William [b.1775] qv, one of the three key Dent brothers, paid for restorations of Crosby Ravensworth church; Hyde and Pevsner have several refs

Dent, William (b.1775), Canton merchant, father of the three key Dent brothers, Lancelot, Thomas and Wilkinson (qqv), opium merchants

Dent, William (1832-18xx), clergyman, Incumbent of Longsleddale 1862-1871, then without cure of souls at Holme, Huddersfield, Yorks (1881), Asst Curate, East Witton (1861), born at Sedbergh, marr Jane Stevens, 2 sons and 3 daughters (ex inf Mrs Irene Stolk, ggdau)

Denton family; CW2 xvi 40; CW3 xiv 298

Denton, Henry (1535-1584; ODNB), antiquary, father of John (b.1561)

Denton, Henry (c.1640-1681; ODNB), clergyman and translator, b. Warnell Hall, Warnell Denton south of Carlisle

Denton, John, of Cardew; CW3 iv 163

Denton, John de, Lord of Nether Denton, descendant of John de Denton (living 1225), marr Agneta, dau and coheir of Ranulf de Halton, of Halton, Northumberland

Denton, John (c.1561-1617; ODNB), antiquary, son of Henry [b.1535] earliest known historian of Cumberland, of Cardew Hall, ms edited by R S Ferguson as John Denton’s account of Cumberland, CWAAS, Tract Series II, 1887, and more completely by A J L Winchester as John Denton’s ‘History of Cumberland’ (CWAAS, Record Series XX, jointly with Surtees Society, CCXIII, 2010)

Denton, Sir Richard de (d. by 1363), Knight of Shire for Cumberland 1324, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1336-1338 and 1350, descendant of John de Denton (qv), Lord of Nether Denton, marr Agnes (died Sept/Dec 1356, to be buried in parish church of Thursby), dau and coheir of William de Burdon, 1 dau and heir (Margaret, who marr Adam de Copley, of Batley, Yorks), executor with his brother John  and William de Denton (qv), Rector of Ousby, of his wife’s will (made at Ousby on 2 September 1356 and proved at Rose on 2 December 1356), died by 1363 (Test Karl, 12-13)

Denton, Robert (fl. early 13th cent), Abbot of Furness 1203-1237

Denton, Thomas (1637-1698; ODNB), topographer, recorder of Carlisle 1663-1679

Denton, Thomas (d.1643), died of wounds received at Hull in 1643

Denton, Thomas, principal of St Edmund Hall

Denton, Thomas [1723-1777], priest and writer, b. Sebergham, son of Isaac Denton, yeoman of Greenfoot

Denton, William de (d.1359), Rector of Ousby, executor of will of Dame Agnes, wife of Richard de Denton (qv), proved in 1356, died in 1359 (NB, ii, 437; CW2, xxii, 51)

Denwood, John (1845-1896), dialect poet and poacher, born 12 September 1845, imprisoned for poaching on several occasions, local reputation as a writer in dialect verse, died in Kirkgate, Cockermouth, 6 August 1896; probably identical with John Denwood, tailor, actor, poet and song writer, among his work is ‘Boggie Willie’, ‘The Cumbrian Brothers’ and ‘Barney Blarney’s Pretty Kate’

Denwood, Jonathan M (18xx-19xx), author and poet, son of John Denwood (qv), author of John Peel, Red Ike (with S Fowler Wright), Idylls of a North Countrie Fair: Songs and Prose (with John Denwood, junr) (1916), Canny Oald Cummerlan, and The Shepherds’ Meet, and Cumbrian Nights: Red Ike’s Poaching Life (1932), of Kirkgate, Cockermouth

De Salis, Nina (d.1929), family librarian, dau of Leopold Fane de Salis (1816-1898) of Cuppacumbalong Station near Tharwa, Australia, of an ancient Swiss family he was a pastoralist and politician and the son of the 4th Count De Salis-Soglio, she married WJ Farrer the agronomist (qv), sometimes called ‘the father of the Australian wheat industry’, as the family librarian she accumulated with her father 1600 volumes which are now in the National Library of Australia, mostly of the 1850-1920, the oldest is an edition of Cicero of 1606

Derbyshire, Delia (1937-2001), musician and composer of electronic music, born in Coventry, the daughter of Edward Derbyshire (d.1965) a sheet metal worker and his wife Emma Dawson (d.1994), deeply interested in the sound of the world around her from an early age, she recalled the impact of the air raid sirens in Coventry and later the sound of clogs on the cobbles in Preston, she learned the piano and became an LRAM, educated Barr’s Hill Grammar school, Preston and Girton college, Cambridge, reading Maths and Music, developed a style involving electronic sounds, everyday sounds and recorded musical instruments, at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop in the 1960s she produced the music for 200 radio and TV programmes involving many sounds never heard before and in particular realised the musical ideas of Ron Grainer which resulted in the unforgettable theme tune of Dr Who, still in use after more than 50 years, in London she cut a striking figure wearing large hats and a flowing cloak, for years she captured and crafted her own sounds and was not keen on the advent of synthesisers which had limited repertoires of sound and drove a culture of speed rather than quality, she found the BBC administration stifling to her creativity and was repelled by the realisation that the power at the Corporation lay largely with the accountants, eventually, disillusioned by the workload, she resigned and moved to Holland where she worked with Madelon Hooykaas the film maker, returning to the UK she worked as a translator of French weather reports for the Gas Board who were laying the pipeline for North Sea Gas, here she met her husband David Hunter and lived at Gilsland in Cumbria where she took snuff, drank too much Guinness and displayed a remarkable ability as a darts player, from 1974-1978 she also collaborated with the artist Li Yuan-Chia (1929-1994) at his studio at Banks, near Lanercost and assisted with setting up exhibitions, after her marriage failed she lived from 1978 with a new partner Clive Blackburn in Northamptonshire, among her important work is Four Inventions, a collaboration with the poet Barry Bermange, described as a wonderful yet infuriating person, she has now achieved a posthumous cult status of the godmother of techno music. Documentary film Delia Derbyshire: The Myths and Legendary Tapes  (2020); Radio 4 Great Lives 19.1.2021 16.30 pm; her archives are held at Manchester University and the John Rylands Library

Derome, Matthew (18xx-19xx), local councillor, Westmorland County Councillor for Kendal Borough Central division, of 4 Airethwaite, Kendal (1894); Martha, wife of Joseph Derome, of Wildman Street, Kendal, buried at Kendal, Papist, 8 December 1839, aged 62

Derwentwater, earls of, see Radcliffe, Ratcliffe and Ratclyffe

Dessure, Mark Bernard Adolphus (c.1825-1895), itinerant photographer, CWAAS 2017, 177

Devis, Arthur (1712-1787; ODNB), member of a family of artists in Preston, visited Cumberland to paint portraits

Dewberry, Charles G (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman and schoolmaster, educ Corpus Christi College, appointed headmaster of Heversham Grammar School in July 1903, resigned in August 1909

Dewick, Francis Ernest (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ St Edmund Hall, Oxford (BA 1894, MA 1910), d 1894 and p 1895 (Carl), on bishop of Carlisle’s Special Service Staff 1894-1896 and 1898-1900, curate of Ulverston 1896-1898, domestic chaplain to bishop of Carlisle 1900-1904, curate of Raughton Head 1900-1901 and vicar of Raughton Head with Gaitsgill 1901-1909, PC of Lindale-in-Cartmel from 1909

Dewing, Lynn (fl.1817-1847), author, MJ Crossley-Evans: Unknown Lakeland Traveller; CW3 ix 187, CW3 xi 183

De Vere Beauclerk, Lady Moyra, dau of duke of St Albans, marr Lord Richard Cavendish, lived Holker Hall, est local WI

Diana, Princess of Wales (1961-1997), daughter of 8th earl Spencer and Frances Roche, marr Charles Prince of Wales, mother of Prince William (b.1982) and Prince Harry (b.1984), visited Carlisle in 1983 as patron of the Deaf Association and again in 1986 when Charles was given the freedom of the city; Andrew Morton, Diana: Her True Story, 1992; Sarah Badford, Diana, 2006

Dickens, Charles J.H. (1812-1870; ODNB), novelist, invited to open the new reading room in Carlisle in Lancaster St, he was unable to accept but he did write about the project in ?Household Words being impressed that the working men were running it all themselves, Mechanics’ Institutes were usually run on their behalf by philanthropic professionals visited Allonby in 1857 and published The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices the same year

Dickenson, Richard (d.1816), clergyman, rector of Castle Carrock from 1777, probably non-resident, buried at Carlisle in 1816, aged 93 (CW1, xiv, 218)

Dickinson, Sir Alwin Robinson, KCMG (1873-1944), British phosphate commissioner, b. Cartmel

Dickinson, George (1852-1934), partner with brother John (1847-1907) in legal firm of Hill, Dickinson of Liverpool, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1920, marr, 3 sons (2 killed in WWI; 3rd George Fryer Dickinson (1886-1932), JP, MA, LLB (Cantab), Barrister at law, Captain, The King’s Liverpool Regt), member of CWAAS from 1921, died in April 1934 and succ by his grandson

Dickinson, George William (d.1847) in Montevideo a bullet passed through its intended victim and killed him too; Bingham, Memories of South Lakes, 137

Dickinson, James (1659-1741), itinerant quaker minister, born Lowmoor House, Dean, travelled preaching over northern counties, Ireland, Scotland, Holland, the West Indies and America, d. London bur. Eaglesfield, H. Winter, Great Cockermouth Scholars

Dickinson, Revd John Compton (19xx-199x), DLitt, MA, FSA, FRHistS, clergyman and church historian, of Cartmel, senior lecturer in Theology, Birmingham University 1962-1973 and lectr 1960-1962, hon canon of Peterborough 1970-1973, fellow of Emmanuel College, Cambridge 1947-1950, fellow and chaplain of Pembroke College, Cambridge 1950-1960, select preacher, Cambridge University 1950-1958 and Oxford University 1957-1959, Church Unity work in 1960s, president, CWAAS 1971-1974, editor of Transactions 1945-1948, author of The Origins of the Austin Canons and their Introduction into England (1950), The Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham (1956), Monastic Life in Medieval England (1961), The Buildings of the English Austin Canons after the Dissolution of the Monasteries (article in Journal of Archaeological Association, xxxi, 1968), The Land of Cartmel: a history (1980), and The Priory of Cartmel (1991), died after car accident returning to Cartmel from brother’s funeral (collection of various mss in CRO, WDX 214); CWAAS 150th volume, 303ff

Dickinson, John Norman (18xx-19xx), JP, of Hames Hall, Papcastle, Cockermouth (1921)

Dickinson, Joseph (1846-1909), JP, landowner, prob? son of John Dickinson (1810-1890), of Red How, Lamplugh, and Jane (1816-1891), his wife, member, Cumberland County Council after 1889, marr (12 March 1901) Mary Cowperthwaite (died 5 July 1920), er dau of Henry Jefferson (qv), of Springfield, Bigrigg, died s.p. 1909 (memorial west window in tower of Lamplugh church dedicated in 1910 and window in north of nave in 1911), and succ by brother, George (qv)

Dickinson, Percy Charles (fl.late 19thc.), newspaper editor, offices Holborn Hill, Millom, printer, proprietor and editor of the Millom Gazette, this weekly paper was published every Friday at 4.00, succeeded by his son John Love Dickinson, his granddaughter Joyce Dickinson married Ian Johnstone McIntosh, architect (qv); copies via britishnewspaperarchive.co.uk

Dickinson, Ronald Fryer (1916-1985), DL, JP, local councillor and artist, born 25 September 1916, of Redhow, Lamplugh, landowner, arboriculturist and artist, formerly Lt-Cdr, RNR, m. Pam, several children, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1953, member and Alderman, Cumberland County Council 1940-1974, Chairman, Lamplugh Parish Council, President, The Lake Artists Society 1977-1983, died 18 February 1985

Dickinson, Robert (17xx-18xx), clergyman, will probate (CRO, WD/AG/ box 89)

Dickinson, Thomas, industrialist Ellers High Mill, Ulverston; CW3 xv

Dickinson, William, at the battle of Marston Moor in 1644 with the king

Dickinson, William (1799-18xx), FLS, writer on dialect and agriculture, born at Kidburngill in parish of Arlecdon in 1799, esp studied geology and botany, author of Essay on the Agriculture of West Cumberland (1850), Cumbriana or Fragments of Cumbrian Life (1876) (dedicated to Mrs Craig Gibson) [incl ‘Reminiscences of Clerical Life’], and compiler of A Glossary of Cumberland Words and Phrases (1878), The Botany of Cumberland, Lamplugh Club, etc, dedicatee of The Folk-Speech of Cumberland by his friend, Alexander Craig Gibson (qv), presented his collection of geological specimens to Workington Mechanics’ Institute, of North Mosses and Thorncroft, Workington

Dickinson, William Fryer Daniel (1810-1865), FRCS, physician, born at Lamplugh in 1810, educ Sedbergh School (entd August 1823, aged 12), practised as doctor, also cert surgeon of factories for North Lonsdale, at Fountain Street, Ulverston (1849, 1866), died 5 November 1865 (SSR, 177)

Dicky Doodle, (fl. 12thc), at the court of Richard I, he was being a nuisance to the ladies, so the king sent him on a perilous trip north to deliver the new market charter to Kendal, on arrival he celebrated at the Cock and Dolphin, became very drunk and was chased across a ford to the east side of the river Kent (now beside the Nether Bridge), the poorer part of town, here he was welcomed as one of their own and elected mayor of ‘Doodleshire’, this event of electing a rival mayor continued as a local tradition (rather like that of the Lord of Misrule), for many years, Kendal, Lake District Miscellany, 182

Diggle, John William (1847-1920), MA, DD, bishop, born at Canal Bank, Pendleton, Lancashire, 1847, son of William Diggle, warehouseman, and his wife, Nancy Ann, dau of John Chadderton, and er brother of Joseph Robert Diggle (1849-1917; ODNB), educational administrator, educ Merton College, Oxford (BA, 1st cl Law 1870, MA 1873, lecturer in Roman Law and Modern History 1870-1871), d 1871 (Man) and p 1872 (Ches), curate of Whalley Range 1871-1872, All Saints, Liverpool 1872-1874, and Walton-on-the-Hill, Lancs 1874-1875, vicar of St Matthew with St James, Mossley Hill, Liverpool 1875-1896, rural Dean of Childwall 1882-1896, hon canon of Liverpool 1889-1896, examining chaplain to Bishop of Carlisle 1892-1901, canon of Carlisle and archdeacon of Westmorland 1896-1901, select preacher, Oxford 1898, rector of St Martin, Birmingham 1901-1905, archdeacon and rural dean of Birmingham 1903-1905, examining chaplain to Bishop of Worcester 1902-1905, nominated 60th Bishop of Carlisle on 21 December 1904 and consecrated in York Minster on 2 February 1905, lecturer in Pastoral Theology, Cambridge University 1908-1909, author of Godliness and Manliness (1886), editor of Bishop Fraser’s University and Village Sermons (2 vols), True Religion (1887), Bishop Fraser’s Lancashire Life (1889) (dedicated to the working people of all classes in Lancashire), Sermons for Daily Life (1891), Religious Doubt (1895), Short Studies in Holiness (1900), Quiet Hours with the Ordinal (1906), Home Life (1908), and The Ministry of the Word and Sacraments (1911), died 24 March 1920 (memorial window in south choir aisle of Carlisle Cathedral; portrait by John Henry Smith), monument Crosthwaite; Mrs Diggle, of Deepghyll, Plumpton, Penrith was member of CWAAS from 1947 until 1960

Diggle, Percy Robert (1887-1977), barrister and rugby player, son of Bishop John Diggle (qv) and Edith Moss, educ Marlborough and Oxford, Oxford blue, called to the bar at Inner Temple, played rugby for Cumberland, later a company director, marr Margery Stead, lived Penrith

Dinwoodie, (George ?) (fl.19thc.), sculptor, Brough-under-Stainmore, lived opposite the old cross in a house which has a latin inscription and a hammer and chisel cut in stone over his front door; (illus. Margaret Gowling, Brough-under-Stainmore, 88)

Dixon, Anthony Joseph Steele (1862-1909), JP, landowner, yr son of Thomas Dixon, JP, and brother of Thomas Dixon, JP (qv), of Rheda, Frizington, marr, 1 son (Anthony Thomas Steele (1900-1962), who sold Lorton Hall estate in 1947, later of Thika, Kenya) and 1 dau (Ethel Florence Nancy (d.1975), who marr Humphrey Patricius Senhouse (qv), of The Fitz), Captain, Royal Cumberland Militia, JP Cumberland, of Lorton Hall, died in 1909

Dixon, David (1919-19xx/200x), clergyman, of Rheda family?, earlier career?, trained at Lichfield Theological College 1957, d 1958 (Penrith for Carl) and p 1959 (Carl), curate of St Luke with St Perran, Barrow-in-Furness 1958-1961, vicar of St Mary Westfield, Workington 1961-1968, warden of Rydal Hall, Ambleside 1968-1984, priest-in-charge of Rydal 1978-1984, hon canon of Carlisle Cathedral 1984-1985, district commissioner for Ambleside and Windermere, Westmorland Scout Association in late 1960s, retired 1984 to ‘Rheda’, The Green, Millom

Dixon, Dorothy Mary (fl.1949-1960), policewoman, one of the first in Cumbria, though there were some appointed in the 1st World War to supervise garrison towns; West Gaz, 8 Feb 2015; Allen and Rawnsley Hardwicke Rawnsley biography 2022, 336

Dixon, George (d.1860), JP, yr son of Peter Dixon (qv) and brother of John Dixon (qv) and Peter Dixon (qv), Mayor of Carlisle 1843 and 1849, of Tullie House, Carlisle, died s.p. 1860

Dixon, George (1870-1850), organ designer, b. St Bees, lived Whitehaven, worked on organs in Cumbria and then on those at Norwich cathedral and the Albert Hall

Dixon, Henry (fl.early 19thc.), solicitor, writer of An Account of Donations to the parish of St Andrew, Penrith (1821); J. Walker, History of Penrith, (1858) appendix

Dixon, Henry Hall (1822-1870), BA, sporting writer and barrister, born in Carlisle, 16 May 1822, 2nd son of Peter Dixon (qv), educ Rugby (1838-1840) and Trinity College, Cambridge (matric 1841, BA 1846), suffering an attack of ophthalmia, moved to Doncaster in 1847 to be articled to firm of solicitors headed by Robert Baxter, who campaigned for abolition of Doncaster races, but he became a lifelong devotee of sport, had written on sporting subjects for Bell’s Life and Sporting Chronicle while still at school and at Cambridge, so spent more time writing for Doncaster Gazette than on law, becoming editor of paper, offered but refused editorship of Bell’s Life on death of Vincent Dowling in November 1852, also declined a post in government from Sir James Graham (qv), though called to bar by Middle Temple in 1853 and practised on Midland Circuit, wrote regularly for Sporting Magazine from c.1853, later for Illustrated London News, Mark Lane Express and Daily News on sporting matters under pseudonym of “The Druid”, author of The Law of the Farm (1858), Breeding of Shorthorns (1865), Post and Paddock (1856), Silk and Scarlet (1859), and Scott and Sebright (1862); Frederick Chance, Some Notable Cumbrians

Dixon, James Wilson (188x-195x), BA, clergyman, educ St Aidan’s College, Birkenhead 1903 and University of Durham (BA 1912), d 1906 and p 1907 (Dur), Curate of Dunston-on-Tyne 1906-1909, Arthuret 1909-1911, Egremont 1911-1912, St Peter, Bishop Wearmouth 1912-1914, and St George, Millom 1914-1918, Vicar of Tebay 1918-1923, PC of Nicholforest 1923-1932, Rector of Kirkbampton 1932-1954, Vicar of Crosby-on-Eden 1954-1956, retired to 8 St George’s Crescent, Carlisle, died c.1958/59

Dixon, Jeremiah (17xx-18xx) FRS, Leeds merchant, son of Jeremiah Dixon (1726-1782) of Gledhow hall (Y) and his wife Mary Wickham, daughter of the Rev Henry Wickham,  mayor of Leeds 1784, built three-storeyed white stucco house overlooking Windermere at Fell Foot near Newby Bridge in the late 18th century, this house is marked with his name on Crosthwaite’s map of Windermere (1783), married in 1773 Mary (qv), the daughter of John Smeaton (1724-1792; ODNB)  (qv) the engineer; not to be confused with Jeremiah Dixon (1733-1779) of the Mason-Dixon line in the USA. refs to Mrs Dixon in Sarah Holmes Griffiths’ biog of Elizabeth Smith (qv)

Dixon, John (17xx-18xx), clergyman, master of Windermere Free Grammar School from c.1811 until 1828

Dixon, John (1785-1857), JP, manufacturer, eldest son of Peter Dixon (qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1838, mayor of Carlisle 1840-41, MP for Carlisle 1847, but immediately unseated as a government contractor, cleared himself of such contracts and contested city again, unsuccessfully, active member of Anti-Corn Law League, free-trader and liberal, benefactor to many charitable purposes in Carlisle, of Knells, Houghton, Carlisle [sold in 1872], the staircase of the house has a skylight supported by caryatids, died in 1857, leaving large family (CWMP, 348-349); Hyde and Pevsner, 414

Dixon, Joshua MD (1745-1825), physician, born Whitehaven, son of Joshua Dixon a mariner, to Liverpool in 1764 to study with the apothecary Edward Parr, then to Edinburgh, graduated MD 1768, returned to Whitehaven to practice as physician at 7 Lowther St., his income was from paying patients but he was very aware that numbers of local people were sick but unable to pay a fee, in 1775 married Anne Fletcher (d.1815), six children, three died in childhood, the national dispensary movement led to buildings for daily treatment which were not large enough for long term care, (John Heysham qv opened the Carlisle Dispensary in 1782) prompting from Dixon resulted the Whitehaven Dispensary being established in Scotch St in 1783 with a generous donation of £100 from Sir James Lowther Bt (qv) and 114 subscribers in all, including John Christian Curwen, Sir Wilfred Lawson of Brayton (qqv) and others as far off as Rotterdam and Jamaica, patients were required to be impoverished and had to provide a note of recommendation from a clergyman, a magistrate or a subscriber, Dixon also sought to annexe the charity to the London Humane Society, from 1783-4 a total of 1,467 patients are recorded of whom 1089 were described as ‘cured’, Dixon kept careful records and produced statistics of the range of illnesses or afflictions he encountered, in this project he was supported by Dr William Brownrigg (qv) of whom he wrote The Literary Life of William Brownrigg and an obituary in the Gentleman’s Magazine, Dixon became a keen proponent of inoculation  against smallpox and the incidence of that disease was reduced in the town, Whitehaven Dispensary was the first in the UK to offer resuscitation from drowning from 1785 (the first case was five year old Robert Steele), he also held an unofficial public health role before the advent of Medical Officers of Health (a century later), to prevent epidemics running out of control, he encouraged people to change their sheets regularly, to allow fresh air into their homes, to explode gunpowder and burn incense, in 1791 Dixon observed the huge inequalities in health between rich and poor resulting from bad sanitation, damp and overcrowded homes, an early report of this phenomenon which shamefully continues to be a problem in the 21st c., there were no beds in the Dispensary so he opened a house of recovery as an annex at the Ginns in 1819, he was a true medical pioneer, after 50 years of practice he was presented with a silver epergne with a representation of the Good Samaritan upon it made by the Cumberland born London goldsmith Mr Fisher (qv), he announced his retirement in 1823, his portrait by George Sheffield was placed in the Dispensary meeting room, he died 7 January 1825 aged 80, buried at St Nicholas with another representation of the Good Samaritan on his tombstone, the reputation of the Dispensary continued to be high after his death, his will left £100 towards the improvement of medical care by founding an infirmary, in 1829 there were plans voiced for an infirmary, this was opened in former home of Joseph Gunson, apothecary and surgeon, in 1830 in Howgill St.; CW1 iii 365; Michael Sydney, Bleeding, Blisters and Opium: Joshua Dixon and the Whitehaven Dispensary, 2009

Dixon, Mary (1761-1820), daughter of John Smeaton (1724-1792; ODNB) the engineer, lived Fell Foot at Newby Bridge, wife of Jeremiah q.v., est. school Staveley, friendly with the Smiths at Tent Lodge, painted Storrs Hall in oils between 1799 and 1802 (reproduced in R.Woof, ‘The Matter of Fact Paradise’); Sarah Holmes Griffiths, Life of Elizabeth Smith, 2020

Dixon, Peter (1754-1832), cotton manufacturer, grandson of Christopher Dixon (b.c.1690), yeoman, of Edmond Castle, marr (1783) Mary, dau of Richard Ferguson (qv), of Carlisle, 3 sons, formerly in business in Whitehaven but moved to Carlisle in c.1800 to learn cotton trade and assist in management of Fergusons’ cotton mill at Warwick Bridge, esp after death of John Ferguson in 1802, leaving young family, then all Dixon family moved from Whitehaven to Carlisle in c.1812, Warwick mill enlarged by George Ferguson and let to his nephews, built up largest trading firm in Cumberland, Peter Dixon & Sons, of Tullie House and later of Knells, Stanwix; the same Peter Dixon bought land Whitehaven ? CW1 iii 371-5

Dixon, Peter, built in 1836 the last large chimney remaining in Carlisle for his Shaddongate Cotton Mill, the architect was Richard Tattersall of Manchester

Dixon, Peter (1789-1866), JP, cotton manufacturer, yr son of Peter Dixon (qv) and yr brother of John Dixon (qv) and George Dixon (qv), marr Sarah Rebecca, (dau of General Tredway Clarke (1765-1858) of the E India Co, who fought against Tippoo in the 1790s, in 1798 head commissary of ordnance at Fort George and his wife Sarah Sydenham), mayor of Carlisle 1838-39, built Holme Eden in 1841 and also Holme Eden church

Dixon, Peter James (1820-18xx), JP, eldest son of John Dixon (qv), Mayor of Carlisle 1853-54, of Houghton Hall

Dixon, Richard (17xx-18xx), High Constable of East Ward (1805; appt renewed for year at Easter QS 1812)

Dixon, Richard Watson [1833-1900; ODNB], dean of Carlisle; friend of Edward Burne Jones (qv), taught Gerard Manley Hopkins at Highgate; correspondence between Watson and Hopkins ed. Claude Collier Abbott (1935, 1955)

Dixon, Thomas (c.1650-1722), MA, DD, clergyman, son of Thomas Dixon, of Orrest Head, Windermere, aged 15 on entering Queen’s College, Oxford as batler 7 March and matric 10 March 1665, aged 15, ‘serviens juratus’ 14 July 1665, elected taberdar 4 March 1669, BA 19 June 1669, MA 23 January 1673, fellow by Lent term 1673/4, BD 19 June 1682, and DD 26 June 1685, presented to rectory of Weyhill, Hampshire in 1682 and remained until his death in 1722, frequent correspondent of Sir Daniel Fleming from 1677 (esp re his son Henry’s college accounts) to 1680 (FiO, i, 215, 226~333); window in Queen’s College chapel, to which he was a benefactor

Dixon, Thomas (fl.early 18thc.), established Whitehaven Academy in 1708

Dixon, Thomas (1861-1923), JP, MA, barrister and landowner, er son of Thomas Dixon (1808-1882), JP, of Rheda, Frizington, who died 13 October 1882, marr (1889) Maria Florence, only dau and heir of Llewelyn Lewis, of Tan-y-fynwent, near Bangor, 2 daus (Myfanwy Wynn Lewis, who marr (1913) Alwyn Haswell Holman (k. by enemy action 1940, aged 50, with dau, Benita Rosemary Joyce, aged 17), 2 sons, and Vera Mabel Florence, who marr (1917) Capt Thomas Alexander Lacy Thompson (qv), of Farlam), placed memorial tablet to his parents in Frizington church and donated cost of decorating church in 1890, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1903, had gamekeeper (Robert Routledge, of Foumart Hill) in 1906, subscriber to Test Karl (CWAAS, 1893), died in 1923 [Rheda estate sold in 1952 – sale particulars in CRO, WDB 22/ Arlecdon, 20 May 1952]

Dixon, James Addison Woodhead-Keith- (1925-2012), clergyman, trained at St Aidan’s College, Birkenhead 1944, d 1948 and p 1949 (Carl), curate of Upperby 1948-1950 (living at 27 Upperby Road, Carlisle) and of Dalton-in-Furness 1950-1952 (living at Vicarage Cottage), vicar of Blawith with Lowick 1952-1959, vicar of St Cuthbert, Lorton 1959-1980 (instituted on 9 February 1959), living at Lorton Hall, Cockermouth, chaplain at Puerto de la Cruz, Teneriffe 1980-1982, team vicar of Bellingham/Otterburn Group 1982-1983 and team rector 1983-1991, living at the Rectory, Falstone, Hexham, Northumberland, and Team Rector of North Tyne and Redesdale Team 1991-1992, retired in 1992, member of CWAAS from 1945 and of Society of Genealogists from 1949, when of 13 Holborn Hill, Millom, as James A Dixon, becoming Woodhead-Dixon in 1950/51, and Woodhead-Keith-Dixon in 1966/67, of Cree Grange, Cree Bridge, Newton Stewart, Wigtownshire, died 2012 (reported to CWAAS in September 2012)

Dobson, Christopher (17xx-17xx), steward and agent to Sir Philip Musgrave of Edenhall (letters in CRO, WD/CAT/Mus)

Dobson, Henry Wheeler (18xx-19xx), solicitor, clerk to Kendal Borough magistrates, 14-16 Finkle Street, Kendal, solicitor to Kendal and District Trade Protection Society, 25 Finkle Street, but lived in Windermere (1885, 1915)

Dobson, John (17xx-18xx), clergyman and schoolmaster, perpetual curate of Hutton Roof 1799-1842, master of Free Grammar School, Kirkby Lonsdale 1785-1832, at Mill Brow, assisted by John Just in classical and mathematical department, of Fairbank cottage, Kirkby Lonsdale (1829); succ as headmaster by Revd William Stephen Dobson, MA, 1832-1836 [son?]

Dobson, John (fl.20thc.), headmaster Urswick GS, articles in CWAAS transactions

Dobson, Thomas (Tommy) (c.1827-1910), huntsman, born at Staveley, near Kendal, bobbin turner by trade, moved to Eskdale in 1850 and founded Eskdale and Ennerdale Foxhounds in 1857, master for 53 years, friend of Mary Fair qv,  died 2 April 1910, aged 83, and buried at St Catherine’s churchyard, Boot, Eskdale (fine granite monument erected by nearly 300 friends bears a fox’s mask, horn and whip, illus Rollinson) (HAL Rice, WRtM, 70)

Dobson, William [d.1503], gentleman usher to queen of Henry VII, tomb Ulverston parish church

Dobson, William Perceval (1906-197x), local councillor, aged 11 years and 2 months in September 1917, son of William Dobson, comb manufacturer, Church Street, Milnthorpe, and his wife Elizabeth, educ Heversham Grammar School (admitted in September 1917, left in April 1922), had poss half-brother, Harry, aged 12 in 1895 (son of William and Dora Dobson, comb maker, of Milnthorpe), last vice-chairman of Westmorland County Council (to March 1974) (papers and books in CRO, WD/WPD)

Docker of Keld family; CW2 xviii 161

Dockwra, Sir Thomas (?1458-1527), of Pirton, Herts, but descended from the Dockwras of Dockwra Hall, Kendal, grand prior of the order of knights hospitallers of St John of Jerusalem, premier lay baron of England, was on the island of Rhodes during the siege by the Turks, attended the Field of the Cloth of |Gold with Henry VIII in 1520, built St John’s Gate, Clerkenwell (Richard Hogarth held his latin coffee house here, thus this was one of the childhood homes of the painter William Hogarth (qv))

Dodd, Henry (17xx-18xx), clergyman, curate of Burneside, wife Agnes (buried at Kendal, 12 October 1809, aged 44)

Dodd, Rev John (fl.1790s), priest and botanist, vicar of Aspatria, collected plants, his herbarium (on the market 2022) is unusual in that it contains precise details of the locality of each specimen, it provides a unique record of biodiversity in the late 18thc Cumberland; CWAAS newsletter Spring 2022, 99, 15

Dodd, Sir John Samuel (1904-1973), engineer and industrialist, ed Uppingham, Rouen and Christ Church, Cambridge, MP for Oldham 1935-1945, formerly of Ecclerigg, Windermere

Dodd, Ken, comedian, performed many times in the county, including Kendal 1974, Barrow 1987 and Carlisle 2017, unveiled the Laurel and Hardy state at Ulverston (qv); David A Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017

Dodd, William (b.1804), writer on the exploitation of children, b. Kendal, worked in card making and textile factories, taught to read and write, asked by his employer William Wilson in the textile mill to assist with administration, established his own school but the lease expired and he went to London to do various jobs, he had been physically damaged by his work in childhood and an arm had to be amputated, wrote and published A Narrative of the Experience and Sufferings of William Dodd, a Factory Cripple (1841) and The Factory System (1842), went to the USA and his further publications included The Labouring Classes of England (Boston 1847), his date of death is unknown

Dodds, David (18xx-19xx), carpet manufacturer, started management career in carpet industry in Kirkcaldy, moved to become a factory manager for a Kidderminster firm in 1902, resigned his post in 1919 and moved to Kendal to revive carpet manufacture at Highgate mill in early 1920s, purchased Oakdene, 21 Kendal Green, from Joseph Jordan (who had it built in 1884 by Stephen Shaw) in 1922, friend of Malcolm Shaw, keen motorist, marr Mary Ramsey (nee Waldie), 1 son George Waldie (who marr Dorothy, dau of James Charles Blacow, of Laurel Mount, 19 Kendal Green, in 1937), died (KG, 41, 50, 79-80, 108)

Dodsworth, William (d.1648), MA, of St John’s College, Cambridge, buried at St Andrew’s, Penrith, 31 July 1648

Dodgson, Charles Lutwidge (aka Lewis Carroll), writer, nephew of Admiral Skeffington Lutwidge (qv), visited Lord Tennyson (qv) in the Lakes c.1857

Dodgson, Isaac (1xxx-1873), MA, clergyman, perpetual curate of Lanercost and Upper Denton from 1845 (1858), marr (18xx) Mary (died in August 1895), died in February 1873 (memorial window in north aisle of Lanercost Priory designed by Burne-Jones, and William Morris & Co)

Dodgson, John (fl.1726-1740), mayor of Kendal 1726-1727, alderman, of Highgate, Kendal, wife Jane buried at Kendal, 13 January 1740

Dolfin, (fl.1092; ODNB), son of Gospatrick, earl of Northumbria, driven out of Carlisle by advance of William Rufus in 1092

Dolman, William Ledsham (1875-19xx), FRIBA, architect, assistant to Dan Gibson (qv), from 1902, but continued practice at Crescent Road, Windermere, after his death in 1907, agreeing to pay Mrs Gibson a tenth of his income for ten years (memo book and agreement in CRO, WDB 82), added vestries to St Martin’s church, Bowness (1910-11)

Domina, Julia (160-217), wife of the Roman emperor Septimus Severus, born at Emesa (Homs) in Syria, mother of Caracalla, briefly co-empress with Caracalla’s wife Fulvia Plautilla, described as the ‘Mother of the Empire’, altar dedicated to her found at the Roman bath house at Carlisle cricket club (Tullie House, ref RIB 976), it is held that Stanwix was the site of the Roman court for a period, she is known to have been at York, did she come to Stanwix ?; bust Vatican Museum

Donald, Mary Jane (later Longstaff) [1855-1935], paleontologist, b. Stanwix, daughter of Matthew Donald, a cotton manufacturer; Notes on the Land and Freshwater Snails of Cumberland, CWAAS, 1882, 51-60; David Ramshaw, in Village Link, July-August 2019

Donald, Matthewman Sidney (1863-1930), MA, clergyman, son of Matthewman Hodgson Donald (1822-1885), of Blaithwaite and Albert Villa, Stanwix, Carlisle,and his wife (marr 1851) Henrietta Maria (d.1876), eldest dau of hon John Henry Roper-Curzon (qv), and cousin of William Nanson Donald (qv), educ Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge (exhibitioner, BA 1885, MA 1889), d 1887 and p 1889 (Carl), curate of Barton 1887-1891, Lic to Pr 1892-1895, vicar of Grinsdale 1895-1899, of Etterby, Carlisle (1897), later of Quarry Hill, Mealsgate (by 1906), died in 1930

Donald, Thomas (fl.1770-1780s), cartographer, surveyed Cumberland at request of Thomas Jefferys (qv) in 1770-71 (perhaps with assistance of John Ainslie), engraved and published by Joseph Hodkinson 1774; map republished at same scale by Hodskinson (1783), Faden (1802) and Fryer (1818) and at twice half-inch scale by Hodskinson (1783) and Faden (1810), with ‘The Environs of Keswick’ extract produced by Donald and Faden in 1789 (80 copies sold by Peter Crosthwaite’(qv) at his museum at Keswick between 1789 and 1796)

Donald, William Nanson (1859-1936), VD, JP, stockbroker and Mayor of Carlisle, only son of John Donald (1828-1894), cotton manufacturer on the West Walls, Carlisle, of Denton Hill, Carlisle, and cousin of Revd Matthewman Sidney Donald (qv), marr, 2 sons (John Carlisle Nanson, born during his mayoralty year, and William Spooner), Mayor of Carlisle 1907 (presented with a silver epergne in shape of a cradle with crests of his family and arms of City of Carlisle), Councillor for St Cuthbert’s Ward (elected by 1901), also Mayor’s Auditor, stock and sharebroker, of 33 Lowther Street, Carlisle (1901), previously secretary to Donald Irlam & Co Ltd, cotton manufacturers, Milbourne Street, Carlisle (1897), Lieut-Col comdg 4th Battn Border Regiment, of Cavendish Mount, Stanwix (1901) and of Inglesham, The (Etterby) Scaur, Carlisle (by 1910), died in 1936

Donald, William Spooner (b.1910), naval officer and novelist, born Keswick, promoted to Lt Cdr, wrote on sports and naval subjects, Pickled Salts (1951), lived latterly at Troutlets, Church St, Keswick

Doodle, Dicky, see Dicky Doodle

Dormer, Clement Upton-Cottrell- (1827-1880), DL, JP, born 20 September 1827, only son of Charles Cottrell-Dormer, of Rousham Hall, Oxfordshire, marr (22 April 1858) Florence Anne (died 17 January 1907, aged 69; will dated 14 July 1906), yr dau of Thomas Upton (qv), assumed addnl surname of Upton by Royal Licence on succ to Ingmire Hall estate in 1876, 8 sons and 6 daus, died 29 December 1880

Douglas, Clementina Johannes Sobiesky, “The Finsthwaite Princess” (1746-1771), alleged dau of the Young Pretender, Prince Charles Edward Stuart, lodged with a man, James Douglas (Captain Douglas), probably her father, brother or uncle, at Waterside in Finsthwaite, both witnessed will of Edward Taylor (qv), their landlord, on 28 April 1770, buried in Finsthwaite churchyard, 16 May 1771; Janet Martin, The Making of a Myth; (CW3, i, 155-164)

Douglas, George Guy (19xx-2001), clergyman, former vicar of Haverthwaite, retired to Brown Howe Cottage, Coniston, died 28 August 2002, aged 65, and buried at Haverthwaite, 30 August

Douglas, John (1721-1807; ODNB), bishop of Carlisle and Salisbury, edited Capt James Cook’s Journals and Clarendon’s Diary and Letters, his sister kept the British Coffee House in London

Douglas, Lilian [1895-1989], photographer, b. Whitehaven

Douglas, William (1755-1802), judge, East India Co, married Jane, the sister of bishop William van Mildert of Durham (1765-1836) (her father Cornelius van Mildert was a gin distiller)

Douglass, Frederick (c.1818-1895), born into slavery in Maryland, escaped, taught himself to read, published his autobiography in 1845 which was a bestseller, toured giving lectures in the UK including appearances in Carlisle in 1846 and Whitehaven the following year, a letter of 18 March 1847 is included in the John Gibson (qv) collection of autographs (Whitehaven CRO); Chris Donaldson, CWAAS newsletter 2021 p.12

Dowie, Freda (1928-2019) actor, b. Carlisle, daughter of John Dowie and Emily Davidson, Barrow Girls GS, Central School of Speech and Drama, some early amateur work with the Elizabethans during the chairmanship of Malcolm Cross (qv), later with the RSC, TV and film work: Dixon of Dock Green (1960s), Doomwatch (1970-71), Edna the Inebriate Woman (1971), Electra with Derek Jacobi (1971), Queen Victoria in Brunel (1972), I Claudius (1976), The Omen (1976), The Old Curiosity Shop (1979), Oranges are not the only Fruit (1990), Our Friends in the North (1996), Cider with Rosie (1998), marr three times, finally to the producer David Thompson; obit Guardian 23 August 2019, obit The Stage 28 Aug 2019

Dowker, Dorothy (c.1749-1831), dau of James Dowker (qv), died at her house in Stricklandgate on 15 May 1831, aged 82, and buried at Kendal on 19 May, by her will left £100 to Kendal Dispensary, also £3,000 to endow a hospital for six unmarried women (of good character, over 50 and born in township of Kendal), known as Dowker’s Hospital, Highgate (designed by George Webster in 1833, demolished in 1965) (KK, 121-123)

Dowker, James, ‘the Milnthorpe beast’, a glutton; Roger Bingham, Memories of the South Lakes, 35

Dowker, James (c.1720-1786), attorney and coroner, descended from Quakers in Crook, owner of Kendal Castle, which lands he bought (together with Thomas Holme, of Kendal, and Benjamin Hall, of Newton in Cartmel) in 1765, dividing them up (see Kendal Parks Estate deeds in CRO, WDFC/F1/66) and Castle falling to him (later descending to his dau, Mrs Thomasin Richardson (qv)), witnessed Market Place New Theatre deed of Thomas Asburner (qv) and William Gurnal (qv) on 5 June 1758, steward of manor of Beetham 1766, 1773, 1776, 1780 (CRO, WD/TW/acc1990/1; WD/AG/box 114), kept account books for Levens estates of Lord Suffolk 1771-1779 and Lady Andover 1762-1786, Coroner of Kendal Ward (QS 1785), deputy recorder of Kendal, of 71 Stricklandgate, Kendal (inscriptions on kitchen window inc “James Dowker, Trinity College, Cambridge, 1782” and “Thomas and John Wilson”), marr (17xx) Jane, only dau of Thomas Wilson, of Highgate, Kendal and Dorothy (nee Fenwick), and sister of Thomas Fenwick (formerly Wilson) (qv), 2 sons (John and James, qv) and 2 daus (Dorothy and Thomasin, qv), of Heaves Hall when he purchased a dale of about half an acre at Beathwaite Green for £47 in 1763 and was still in possession of it in 1777, but dispute with neighbour William Wilson (CRiBoK, 133-; Levens Hall MSS, box 16/2, 16/5; CRO, WD/D/Le1/5), died aged 66 and buried at Kendal, 24 August 1786 (records of Dowker, Richardson and Fell, solicitors, Kendal in CRO, WD/MM, boxes 9/6, 28, 32 and 34; KK, 347) <<look for Dowker-Wilson marriage in Kendal in late 1740s>>; Revd James Dowker listed in Stricklandgate, Kendal in 1787 census, with Miss Dority Dowker, buried at Kendal, 22 October 1789, aged 28]; CW3 xiv 187; John Dowker, Esq, of Stricklandgate, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 25/7 May 1787, aged 30

Downing, George (1685-1749; ODNB), MP, later 3rd baronet, married daughter of Sir William Howard of Naworth, built and named Downing St, endowed Downing college, Cambridge

Dowson, John (1722-1777), gentleman, of Greystocke, marr Anne, plaque and urn on south side of church beneath two hatchments; mss in CRO

Dowson, William DD (1749-1800), principal of St Edmund’s Hall, Oxon, son of John and Anne of Greystocke (qv); his commonplace book is at the Bodleian

Doyle, Arthur Conan (1859-1930: ODNB), journalist and novelist, as a war correspondent in 1916 visited the ‘Devil’s Porridge’ works near Gretna in 1917 (this site for explosives is huge and is partly in Scotland and partly near Longtown in Cumbria) and wrote an article for the Times describing the site and the dangerous process of mixing cotton waste with nitric acid and nitroglycerine to produce cordite for military shells, it was Doyle in visiting this ‘miracle town’ also coined the term ‘Devil’s Porridge’ and his experience of seeing the 12,000 women (dubbed munitionettes’) working in unpleasant conditions bolstered his view that women deserved the vote; wwwcumbria-industries.org.uk; Gordon L Routledge, Gretna’s Secret War, 1999; Janet Pascal, Arthur Conan Doyle: Beyond Baker Street, 2000

Drake, Sir James (1907-1989), civil engineer and bridge master, b.Blackburn, chief driver of the M6 motorway, surveyor of the route, the first in Britain, monument at jct 31 on M6

Drayton, Michael, poet, wrote Polyolbion which includes elements of the topography of the north, Song 27 includes the Isle of Man and Furness, Song 30 Westmorland and Cumberland, including Skiddaw, Arthur’s Table at Eamont Bridge and Castlerigg circle lost ‘in darke oblivion’; NN anthology, see the Polyolbion Project, university of Exeter

Drew, Hermione (fl.1930s), dau of John Malcolm Drew (qv) created the illustrated diary (1934-5) of the Oxenholme Staghounds, (CRO, WDX 1629, also published 2010)

Drew, John Malcolm (18xx-19xx), JP, of Eversley, Heversham (1925, 1929, after death of T A Argles in 1923; only Mrs Drew in 1934, 1938), JP Lancs, died 1929/34; dau Hermione was author of illustrated diary of the 1934-35 season of the Oxenholme Staghounds(CRO, WDX 1629, also published 2010), and had copy of Hodgson’s map of Westmorland 1828 repaired by CRO (deposited 4 December 1979 and returned 25 March 1982)

Dring, Thomas Robson (d.1989), bookseller, Carlisle; obit Cumberland News 8 Dec 1989 p.28; Isabella (his widow ?) article CN 17 June 1994

Drinkel, Francis (c.1711-1787), senior alderman of Kendal, m.Frances, buried at Kendal, 12 September 1787, aged 76, his dau m. Rowland Stephenson (1728-1807) (qv), Romney wrote to his wife in Kendal in 1762 requesting that she remind her husband that Rowland Stephenson had not paid his account (Rev John Romney biography of GR, 40)

Driver, George Francis (1860-1881), stoker for Furness Railway, killed whilst shunting wagons; Barrow Herald 19 March 1881; tombstone Barrow cemetery, Rod White, Furness Stories Behind the Stones

Duckett, Sir George Floyd (1811-1902), 3rd Bt, FSA, antiquary, born 27 March 1811 at Spring Gardens, London and bapt at St Martin’s-in-the-Fields, only son of Sir George Duckett, 2nd Bt, FRS, FSA (1777-1856) [formerly Jackson until 1797 when his father, Sir George Jackson, 1st Bt, took name of Duckett by Royal Licence] by his first wife, Isabella (1781-1844), yr dau of Stainbank Floyd, of Shrewsbury and of Barnard Castle, co Durham, educ Harrow School, of Bramfield Hall, Halesworth, Suffolk, member of CWAAS from 1875, author of Duchetiana, contributed nine papers to Transactions (ii-v) and edited Fleming’s Description of Westmorland (Tract Series, I, 1882), also author of Penal Laws and Test Act: questions touching their repeal propounded in 1687-88 by James II (1882), and Anecdotal Reminiscences of an Octo-nonogenarian (Kendal, 1895) [incl full bibliography on pp.198-200, dated at Brighton, 15 May 1894], died 13 May 1902, aged 91

Duckett, James (d.19 Apr 1601), martyr; b. Gillfootrigg, Skelsmergh, a layman, born a Protestant, marr a Catholic widow anne hart, printed catholic devotional material and copies of Our Lady’s psalter and some of Fr Southwell’s books were found in his house, executed at Tyburn; beatified by Pope Pius XI in 1929; his son became the prior of the English Carthusians at Nieuwpoort in Flanders,

Duckett, John (d.1644), priest and martyr, died Tyburn

Duckett, Canon Dr Richard (1833-1910), born Kendal, son of Thomas Duckett sculptor (qv), his family included several RC martyrs, from 1876 the priest of St John the Baptist, Norwich, travelled all over the county by train to take mass to private houses including Abbots Hall Farm, Aylsham, bought land in Norwich for the building of a new church, later the RC cathedral, the building was funded by Henry Fitzalan Howard, the 15th duke of Norfolk, designed in the gothic style by Giles Gilbert Scott and built by Scott’s younger brother John Oldrid Scott (now grade 1 listed), earlier generations of catholics had worshipped in the chapel of the ducal palace at Norwich, Duckett died just before the opening of the new church (now cathedral), in 2012 the Duckett library in the cathedral opened in his honour; Catholic archives Norwich

Duckett, Richard, Esq, lord of manor of Grayrigg (deed of Grayrigg Foot to John Duckett on 4 November 22 Eliz [1580] in CRO, WD/SE/ Grayrigg Foot deeds)

Duckett, Thomas (1804-1878), sculptor, born in 1804, son of a farmer, of Preston, first worked as apprentice to a local plasterer, but changed to wood-carver to firm of cabinet-makers, self-taught artist, later went to Liverpool where he was employed by Messrs Franceys and exhibited bust of Revd J Dunn at Liverpool Academy in 1828, moved to Kendal and employed by Webster firm of architects, going on to manage its sculpture department, best known for his figure of St George and the Dragon in limestone for pediment on east front of Roman Catholic church of Holy Trinity and St George, New Road, Kendal, also headstops of the door and prob interior work in church (George Webster, 1835-37), also did eloquent headstops on triple lancet west windows of St George’s church, Kendal (GW, 1839-41), likely that he was responsible for whatever figurative sculpture there is in the firm’s output, also did mourning soldier on monument to Captain Considine in Chester Cathedral (1841), and weeping figure and urn in memory of Francis Webster, formerly in garden of Eller How, then returned to Preston about 1844, where he did a great deal of work until his death in 1878, inc design of statue of John Horrocks (won prize in 1838), statue of Sir Robert Peel in Winckley Square, of Kendal Fell limestone (1851), also carved stone work on front of Literary and Philosophical Institute (1846), marble altar for St Augustine’s church, and group of two children over entrance to infants’ school in Lancaster, also many busts and tablets in and around Preston, inc Richard Gell in Walton-le-Dale (1841), James Thompson (prob) in Clitheroe (1850), T Lowndes in Preston St George (1854), William Pearson (qv) in Crosthwaite (1857), Giles Thornber in Poulton-le-Fylde (1860), Thomas Hart in Preston St John (1861), effigy of Revd Robert Harris in Preston St George (1862), though still did occasional work for Websters firm after he had left Kendal (viz Pearson bust), copy of (prob Roman) bust of Vitellio in Abbot Hall, Kendal, has great vitality, while ‘Ecce Homo’ was very fine head of Christ in marble acc to WG of 3 May 1834, which compared him favourably with ‘those who stand higher in the Hall of Fame’, died in 1878, buried in Preston New Hall Rd cemetery beneath a tombstone which unusually has a head in relief on both elevations,  (WoK, 51-52, 60, 141-42; DBS, 133); David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 200; his son, Canon Richard Duckett (1833-1910) was the prime mover in the building of the R.C. cathedral in Norwich in the 1870s

Dudgeon, John Hepburn (1863-1934), VD, DL, JP, Lieut-Colonel, chairman of Workington magistrates, member of Cumberland County Council, member of CWAAS from 1924, died at Stainburn, Workington, 30 January 1934, aged 70 (CW2, xxxiv (1934), 229)

Dudley of Yanwath; CW1 ix 318

Dudley, Ambrose, earl of Warwick (c.1528-1590), courtier, 4th son of John Dudley, duke of Northumberland, granted part of demesne lands of Kendal Castle by Elizabeth I in 1580-81 (FiO, i, 342-343)

Dudley, Christopher (1607-1660), landowner, last of male line Dudleys of Yanwath, born 17 December 1607, 2nd son of Thomas Dudley (who was 2nd son of Edmund Dudley, qv), his elder brother Edmund (born 5 November 1597) having died v.p., marr 1st Elizabeth, dau of Robert Snowden, Bishop of Carlisle (qv), marr 2nd Agnes (1606-1671), eldest dau of Daniel Fleming, of Skirwith Hall and aunt of Sir Daniel Fleming, 1 dau (Mary, died young), sold Yanwath estate to Sir John Lowther, of Lowther, 12 February 1654, for £2,200 but granted lease back for life, with Agnes being sole legatee of his nuncupative will, made 9 September 1660, on which day he died in London, admin granted, 29 December 1660; Agnes died on 5 October 1671, with her nephew Daniel Fleming as her executor (FiO, i, 341-358; N&B, i, 413; CW2, lxiv, 387)

Dudley, Edmund (c.1543-1616/7), of Yanwath, son of Richard Dudley (qv), aged 50 years and more at his father’s IPM in 1593, marr Catherine, dau and coheir of Cuthbert Hutton, of Hutton John, 4 sons (Richard (a priest), Thomas (qv sub Christopher), John (qv), and Henry) and 6 daus, nominated Thomas Burton (qv) for St Antony exhibition at Oriel College, Oxford in 1595, received letter from John Sutton at Queen’s College, Oxford dated 12 December [1615] following his election to Dudley Exhibition (FiO, i, 335-36; N&B, i, 413)

Dudley, John (c.1573-1622), BA, lawyer, yr son of Edmund Dudley (qv) and yr brother of Thomas, educ Queen’s College, Oxford (matric 17 February 1585/7, aged 14) and Oriel College (admitted Dudley Exhibitioner on presentation of his grandfather Richard, 3 March 1586/7, resigned his Dudley Exhibition by 29 June 1591, elected ‘in pauperem puerum’,30 June and admitted 30 July, BA 3 July 1592, but freely resigned his place, 2 February 1593/4, admitted student of Gray’s Inn, 25 April 1594, called to bar 1601, MP for Carlisle 1601-, wrote letter to Thomas Burton (qv) asking for opinion on marriage with a deceased wife’s cousin german, 13 February 1619/20, marr Frances, illegit dau of Sir Christopher Pickering (qv), who survived him and later married to Cyprian Hilton (qv), of Burton (FiO, i, 339; N&B, i, 413); historyofparliament online

Dudley, Richard (1521-1593), landowner, of Yanwath (then Yanewath), born about Candlemas 1521, ‘8 yrs after Floddenfyld’, son of Thomas Dudley (qv) and his wife Grace, one of Threlkeld coheiresses, of Yanewath, marr Dorothy, dau of Edmund Sandford, of Askham, son (Edmund, qv), Appleby vicarage case: had a direct interest in St Lawrence’s vicarage by 1573 (possibly had a lease in 1562) before he presented (as assignee of Bishop of Durham and others) Christopher Walker (qv) to living of Appleby St Lawrence on death of Lancelot Manfield (qv) in 1582, having claimed vicarage premises, but Richard Barnes, Bishop of Durham and formerly of Carlisle (qv), and others decided that Manfield should enjoy the vicarage so long as he remained in post, but he had then sublet premises to Richard Backhouse in June 1582 shortly before his death, so RD brought bill of complaint against Backhouse in 1583 (CRO, WD/Ry, box 46), but outcome not known, died 1 January 1593, IPM held at Temple Sowerby on 4 May 1593 (will dated 28 January 1591/92, WD/Ry/ 44) (FiO, i, 335; CW2, xciv, 121-134)

Dudley, Thomas (formerly Sutton), son of Sir Edward Sutton (died v.p.1483x87), son of Sir John Sutton, 1st Baron Dudley, KG (1400-1487), and of his wife Maud, dau of Thomas, 8th Baron Clifford (qv) and widow of Sir John Harington (qv), of Hornby, assumed surname Dudley in ??, marr (ante 1512) Grace, eldest dau and coheir of Sir Lancelot Threlkeld (qv), of Yanwath, thereby acquiring manor of Yanwath

Duff, Margaret (1925-1998), photograph collector, dau of Elizabeth Armer, who taught at Dean Gibson Catholic School, Kendal, marr (1946) Percy Duff (qv), 2 sons, served WW2 in Women’s Land Army in Carlisle area, started collecting old photographs of Kendal rather than see them being thrown out, collaborated with Percy on publishing a number of collections of photographs in 1980s and 90s, always willing to share her great knowledge of the town, organised the first exhibition in the Warehouse Gallery at the Brewery Arts Centre when it was opened in April 1987, also organised several exhibitions in Town Hall during Kendal Gathering, also restored old dolls’ houses and dolls’ prams, raising funds for Boys’ Brigade and Save the Children Fund, trustee of the Mayor of Kendal’s Homes for the Aged and Infirm charity for 15 years, member of Westmorland Motor Club with Percy, died at home on Burneside Road, Kendal, 7 September 1998, aged 73, with funeral at Roman Catholic church, Kendal, 15 September (WG, 11.09.1998) (Margaret Duff Collection in CRO, WD/MD)

Duff, Percy Skipworth (1922-2011), MBE, council official, local historian and motorcyclist, born at 10 Kendal Green, Kendal, in 1922, educ Kendal Grammar School, excelling at maths, joined Kendal Borough Council in 1938, served WW2 with East Surrey Regt in North Africa (wounded and narrowly escaping death in 1941) and Italy, rejoined borough treasurer’s dept in 1946, m. Margaret Armer (1925-1998) (qv Duff), in 1946, 2 sons (Paul (b.1947) and Michael (b.1960), succ Alfred  Wainwright (qv) as Borough Treasurer of Kendal in 1967, deputy Treasurer of South Lakeland District Council from 1974 until his retirement in 1982, continued as Kendal Town Treasurer from 1974 until finally retiring in 1998, after 60 years’ service to town, also treasurer of Lakes-Lune Water Board, Mayor of Kendal’s Fund for the Aged and Infirm, Westmorland Arts Trust (to 2004) and of numerous local charities, consolidating many with the Charity Commission, esp committed to social housing, keen preserver of town’s civic pride and traditions, with his especial custody of treasures in mayor’s parlour, encouraged his wife Margaret in establishing her photographic collection from 1970 (arising from preparing a record of Westmorland Motor Club), esp by ensuring that glass plate negatives, old prints and other photographic records were rescued from local offices in Kendal, collection was used widely for illustrating articles in the Westmorland Gazette and local history books, published (with Margaret) four volumes of old photographs Life in Old Kendal (Dalesman, 1983), Kendal and District in Times Past (Countryside Publications, 1988), Kendal in Old Photographs (Sutton, 1992), and Kendal Revisited (Sutton, 1997), in great demand to give talks to local societies and groups, keen photographer himself but principally of railways, travelled widely in Europe in pursuit of this hobby, keen motorcyclist, president of Westmorland Motor Club (founded in 1910), honorary life vice-president of Northern Centre Auto-Cycle Union, with the Barbon Hill Climb, the highlight of the National Motorcycling calendar, bearing his name, also keen supporter of Kendal Rugby Union Football Club (played regularly for 2nd XV and occasionally for 1st, but regularly attending games until near his death), awarded MBE (1986) for his social housing work, Honorary Citizen of Kendal 1998, in which he took greatest pride, great friend of Alfred Wainwright, though having little in common, but acted as his executor and scattered his ashes on Haystacks with Betty, of 218 Burneside Road, Kendal, died at Summerhill Nursing Home, Kendal, 17 December 2011, aged 89, private cremation at Lancaster and memorial service at Stricklandgate Methodist Church, Kendal, 30 December 2011 (WG, 22.12.2011)

Duffield, James (1835-1915), JP, iron and steel industrialist, director of Charles Cammell & Co for many years, oversaw transfer of Dronfield works (opened in 1873) to Moss Bay, Workington in 1880-2, a colossal job, these works were built up by him and later incorporated into Workington Iron and Steel Co, mayor of Workington Borough, of Tallantire Hall, Bridekirk, from 1896, died in 1915 (CRO (W), DH 292); he and his wife Selina, both buried Bridekirk

Duffy, John Albert (1920-2016), managing director of Seymour Plant Hire, Carlisle (est 1940), he died 2016 and the firm was dissolved in 2021

Duffy, Thomas Gavan (1867-1932), trade unionist and politician, born in Dublin, 25 September 1867, educ by Christian Brothers, a district delegate for Shop Assistants’ Union, general secretary of Cumberland Iron Ore Miners’ Association for 23 years, contested Whitehaven as Labour parliamentary candidate in 1918 before being elected as MP in 1922, but defeated by Robert Hudson (qv) for Conservatives in 1924, died 4 August 1932

Dufton, William, surgeon, b. Brigham, later surgeon at Birmingham Hospital; Boase, 925

Duckett, Arthur (fl.mid 16thc.), of Grayrigg (W), in 1568 one of 24 shareholders of Elizabeth I’s Society of Mines Royal

Dunbar, David Jr (fl.1815-1838), sculptor, had infant dau Elizabeth, who died in Abbey Street, Carlisle and was buried in Cathedral burial ground in 1831 (DBS, 133-134); Stephen Matthews, David Dunbar

Dunbar, David Sr (1782-1866), sculptor, born in Dumfries but much involved in the Carlisle Art Academy, work on Lowther Castle, time with Sir Francis Chantrey, exhibited RA, employed by Paul Nixon, encouraged Musgrave Lewthawaite Watson (qv), sculpture also of Katherine Losh and Robert Anderson (qqv), carved bust in Carlisle cathedral to Sir Joseph Gilpin (qv); Marchall Hall, 24-5, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017; Stephen Matthews, David Dunbar

Dunbar, Gavin (1490-1547), bishop of Glasgow, required an anathema against the reivers to be read in all churches; the Cursing Stone in Carlisle bears part of the text

Duncan, Charles (1865-1933; ODNB), JP, trade unionist and politician, born at 93 Stockton Street, Middlesbrough, 8 June 1865, son of Alexander Duncan, ship’s pilot, and his wife, Jane Dobson, marr (1890) Lydia Copeland, ^^^^^^^^ Secretary of Workers’ Union from 1900, sponsored by ASE as MP (Labour) for Barrow-in-Furness 1906-1918, serving for a time as a Labour whip, lost his seat (after his support of British Workers’ League for a time) in 1918, contested two by-elections in 1920 unsuccessfully before being elected for Derbyshire mining seat of Clay Cross 1922-1933, JP Middlesex 1919, of 16 Agincourt Road, Hampstead, London (1909), died after long illness in Manor House Hospital, North End Road, Hampstead, 6 July 1933

Duncan, W David, MP (Liberal) for Barrow-in-Furness, 1885-1886, the first member elected for the new Parliamentary Borough

Duncan, James Archibald (1858-1911), MA, LLB, son of David Duncan (qv), MP (Liberal) for Barrow-in-Furness 1890-1892, elected in by-election

Duncan, Henry William (18xx-19xx), author (as D.K.K.) of Reminiscences of Persons and Places in Kendal, Sixty Years Ago, reprinted from the Kendal and County News, T Wilson, Kendal (1890), of 12 Tithebarn Cottages, Kendal (1886, 1894), but also owned burgage cottages in yard 161, Highgate, Kendal

Dunglison, Daniel, master of Kendal Workhouse, Shaw’s Brow, Kendal (1829)

Dunglison, Robley (1798-1869; ODNB), MD, physician and medical writer, born at Keswick, 4 January 1798, son of William Dunglison (poss engaged in woollen manufacture) and his wife Elizabeth Jackson (d.1854), ed. Green Row Academy, Abbey Holme, intended for a merchant’s career and to join his great uncle Joseph Robley, wealthy planter in West Indies, but latter died and he resolved to study medicine, apprenticed to John Edmundson, a Keswick surgeon, in 1815, joined practice in London as pupil of Charles T Haden, visited Paris medical school, but spent session of 1815-16 at Edinburgh University and Edinburgh Royal Infirmary, London, finally awarded MD at Nuremburg, offered chair at university of Virginia, then Maryland, finally Philadelphia, he was physician to Thomas Jefferson for a period and has been hailed as the father of American physiology, died at his home in Philadelphia, 1 April 1869; published A Dictionary of Modern Science (1874) on 1131 pages

Dunlop, Arthur Brook (18xx-19xx), JP, of The Howe, Troutbeck, Westmorland County Alderman (to 1916), County Councillor for Troutbeck, chairman of Troutbeck Parish Council, and chairman of school managers (1905)

Dunlop, John Macmillan (d.1878), JP, of Holehird, Windermere (moved in 1867), bought The Howe, Troutbeck from Wilson family in 1871 (sold by J S Dunlop in 1937), born at Huddersfield in November 1818, marr. (1850) Ellen Adelaide Brook, dau of Huddersfield woollen mill owner (died 13 June 1867, aged 37), 5 sons and 1 daughter, died 24 August 1878 at Holehird and buried with wife (18 June 1867) in Troutbeck churchyard, xx August; Robert Macmillan Dunlop sold Far Orrest estate and other property in Applethwaite to William Little (qv) in 1895

Dunmail (Duvenald) (fl.10th cent), last celtic king of Strathclyde and Cumbria, son of Owain (qv) who lost the battle of Brunanburh to Athelstan q.v., represented a resurgence of British authority against English, possibly assisted by a Norse-Irish alliance, until his defeat in battle on the pass between Grasmere and Thirlmere by King Edmund of Northumbria in 945, allegedly killed (legendary burial place marked by pile of stones at top of the eponymous Dunmail Raise), but in fact said to have withdrawn with the Cumbri to north Wales or indeed to have continued as king of Strathclyde until he died some 30 years later on a pilgrimage to Rome, his two sons having been ordered to be blinded by Edmund, who ceded Cumbria to Malcolm, King of Scots, on understanding that he would support English king whenever required, and it remained part of Scotland until 1032; cairn visited by Machell in 1692 and drawn as a huge heap of stones with wall over top to mark boundary between ‘Cumbraland’ (Strathclyde) and Westmorland (AoH, 145-146), much reduced by 1860 (M E C Walcott; Hardwicke Rawnsley (qv) lobbied for the preservation of the cairn during the Thirlmere project), but now standing out on the bank between the double carriageways of A595; recent pollen analysis suggests that Thirlmere valley to north was first cleared in 10th century, reinforcing tradition that this boundary dates from that period; A Masque of Dunmail by T E Casson, a romantic treatment of the legend, introducing a Druid and ritual, was presented by members of Keswick School in May 1912;

Dunn, Charles JP, Ecclerigg, Westmorland; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

Dunn, Isobel (d.1993), director of the Eden Countryside Project, inscription on top of High Dun Fell; Dick Capel, 2020, 137

Dunn, John (1735-1817), bookseller Whitehaven; Barry McKay, Three Cumbrian Chapbook Printers

Dunne, Sir John (1825-1906), DL, JP, police officer, born 12 February 1825, 4th son of William Dunne, of Boley, Queen’s County, Ireland, and his wife, Julia, dau of Denis O’Kelly, educ at Montauban and Dublin, joined newly formed Manchester Police in 1840 at age of fifteen but well built at six foot tall, superintendent of police at Bearsted, Kent in 1850, chief officer of Norwich City Police in 1852, then to Newcastle City Police as chief constable, and finally selected in 1857 as Chief Constable of Cumberland and Westmorland Joint County Constabulary, based at Lowther Street, Carlisle, shortly after the introduction of the County and Borough Police Act 1856, seriously considered moving to Gloucestershire in 1865, but remained at Carlisle for rest of his career, increased force from 64 to 107 on taking office, introduced training and sets of regulations, zealous exponent of rigorous policing (esp hard on tramps, vagrants and criminal underclass), believed that main objective was crime prevention rather than detection, retired on 2 January 1902 just six weeks before reaching the age of 77, making him the oldest and longest serving police officer and chief constable in the country, marr (1 October 1868, at All Souls, Langham Place, London) Mary, dau of Dr Thomas Barnes, (qv), of Bunkers Hill, Carlisle, and Tring Park, Hertfordshire, 2 sons (Francis Plunkett, born 1871, and Gerlad, born 1875) and 1 dau (Henrietta, born 1870), his wife making him a wealthy man by bringing property she had inherited from her uncle, William Kay, three years earlier, and then also Brunstrux Manor, Berkhamstead, Herts, after her father’s death in 1872, and enabling him to purchase several properties in subsequent years, inc Moor House Hall, Wetheral, knighted in 1897, also appointed DL for Cumberland and JP for Carlisle in 1897, died at his home, Eden Mount, Wetheral, 5 January 1906, aged 80, and buried in local cemetery; will……  (CFHS Newsletter, No.xx, August 2011)

Dunphie, Maj Gen Sir Charles Anderson Lane (1902-1999) CB DSO CBE, chairman Vickers Barrow from 1962-67 during the early period of nuclear submarines, son of Alfred Edwin Dunphie (1860-1938), barrister and director of Coutts Bank and Katherine Hammond-Smith (1879-1978), in 2nd WW brigadier in 26th armoured brigade, made an heroic stand against Rommel’s Panzer Corps, m. Susan the widow of Col Percy Wright, obit Independent 22 Oct 2011, his widow died 2020, Les Shore, Redshaw biography (qv)

Du Pre, Jacqueline (1945-1987; ODNB), cellist, performed at Rosehill theatre

Durden, James (1878-1964), artist and illustrator, born in Manchester, painted Lake District scenes, inc notable Summer Evening from his house at Millbeck, below Skiddaw, lived Keswick, member of the Lake Artists, Renouf, 94-5

Dwelly, Very Revd Frederick William (1881-1957), MA, DD, clergyman, born at East Street, Chard, Somerset, 9 April 1881, tenth child of Robert Dwelly (1842-1927), carriage builder and local councillor, and his wife, Caroline, nee Cooper (1837/8-1928), of deeply Christian family, educ Chard endowed grammar school, went to London and worked in an Oxford Street store, spent his weekends in social and religious work in East End, then matric at Queen’s College, Cambridge 1903 through influence of Revd F S Webster, Vicar of All Souls, Langham Place, not academically outstanding, BA 1906, MA 1910, dissatisfied with artificiality of college religious services, but  profoundly influenced by series of lectures by Revd William Ralph Inge in Lent term 1906, esp the modernist, and mystical elements of his teaching, ordained at Carlisle d 1906 and p 1907, Curate of St Mary, Windermere 1906-1911, senior curate at St Mary, Cheltenham 1911-1915, Vicar of Emmanuel church, Southport 1915-1916-1925, Residentiary Canon of Liverpool Cathedral 1924-1931 (installed in May 1925), Vice-Dean 1930-1931 and Dean 1931-1955, DD (Lambeth) 1931, Select Preacher, University of Cambridge 1937-38, Lecturer 1939-40 and 1947 (on pastoral theology), Hon LLD Liverpool University 1954, marr (June 1907) Mary Bradshaw (1880-1950), dau of George Henry Darwin, medical practitioner, no children, but marriage broke down, health began to deteriorate, resigned as Dean in 1955, died at his home, 6 Grove Park, Liverpool, 9 May 1957, aged 76, and cremated with ashes placed in sanctuary at Liverpool Cathedral until memorial to him was unveiled in December 1960  (Peter Kennerley, 2004)

Dyer, Jimmy (1841-1903), itinerant fiddler and ballad seller of Carlisle, in youth employed to dive for drowned bodies in the river Eden, lived by fiddle playing, ballad singing and selling postcards, known as the ‘Cumberland Bard’ (a title shared with Robert Anderson (qv)), wrote his own short biography, died aged 62 (bronze statue by Judith Bluck qv in Lanes shopping centre, Carlisle); David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, 153-4

Dykes, Leonard (fl.1637), of Warthole, ancestor of Dykes family of Dovenby Hall, local agent for Earl of Northumberland, deputy steward of Egremont manor court (for Hugh Potter, qv) from 1637 (CW2, xvii, 50)

Dykes, Frecheville Hubert Ballantine- (1881-1949), CB, DSO, OBE, DL, JP, landowner, army officer, born 16 September 1881, only son and child of Lamplugh Frecheville Ballantine-Dykes (qv), of Dovenby Hall, marr (18 July 1911) Winifred Mary, JP (Cumberland 1925) (died 14 July 1945), er dau of W Pitt Miller, of Merlewood, Grange-over-Sands and Thiselton, Lancs, 2 sons (Thomas Lamplugh, born 30 June 1912, Major, Scots Guards, killed in action in Libya, 13 June 1942 and Joseph, MC, born 15 April 1922) and 1 dau (Nancy, born 14 September 1919), served WW1 (despatches, DSO 1917), OBE 1923, drove engine on railway passenger service operating between Whitehaven and Penrith during General Strike of 1926, appointed second in command of British Legion’s abortive police force of 1,200 volunteers formed to police plebiscite areas on proposed new Czech-German border after Munich crisis of 1938, but disbanded after only two days’ aboard two liners in Thames estuary off Southend, after international commission decided not to hold plebiscite, had distinguished military career with commission in Scots Guards, Brevet-Colonel, Border Regt (TA), ADC (additional) to King (to November 1948), president of Cumberland Territorial Army Association (CB 1945), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1923, Lord Lieutenant of Cumberland 1944-1949, vice-chairman of Cumberland County Council, JP Cumberland 1905, lord of manors of Gilcrux, Ireby, Papcastle, Dovenby, Crookdake, Allerby and Dearham Row, sold Dovenby Hall in 19xx, later of Kepplewray, Broughton-in-Furness, where he died, aged 67

Dykes, Frecheville Lawson Ballantine- (1800-1866), JP, landowner and politician

Dykes, Lamplugh Frecheville Ballantine (1854-1893), DL, JP, landowner, born 5 July 1854, 2nd but eldest surviving of five sons of Frecheville Lawson Ballantine Dykes (qv), of Dovenby Hall and Wardhall, educ Harrow and Christ Church, Oxford, marr (19 February 1879) Edith Georgina (died 1 November 1912), yst dau of R Howard-Brooke, of Castle Howard Avoca, co Wicklow (see Brooke, of Colebrooke, Bt), 1 son (Frecheville Hubert, qv), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1885, DL and JP, died 5 February 1893

Dykes, Nancy Ballantine- (1919-xxxx), artist, dau of Frecheville Hubert Ballantine-Dykes (1881-1949) and his wife Winifred Mary Pitt Miller, described as ‘impressionist’ but perhaps post-impressionist, one work in National Trust collection

Dymond, Charles William (1832-1915), FSA, Hon FSA Scot, archaeologist and civil engineer, son of William and Frances Dymond, b. Heavitree, Devon, chief engineer of Bristol and Exeter Railway, devoted his time to antiquarian work after retirement, noted for his exploration of Worlebury, nr Weston-super-Mare, elected FSA in 1879 and Hon FSA Scot in 1890, induced by Chancellor Ferguson in 1890 to resurvey ancient settlement in Hugill (CW1, xii, 6-14 and xiv, 465-467), elected member of CWAAS 1894, but connected with Lake District by his marriage to Mary Esther Wilson (1827-1906), whose father John was born Hawkshead and her mother Margaret Atkinson was from Kendal, elected Honorary Member in 1913, letters re Swinside Circle, April 1901 (CRO, BD/Lew/3/2/4), author of many articles in Transactions from 1879 (early ones reproduced from Journal of British Archaeological Association) and also in other societies (noted for careful and accurate surveys, author of Key to Theory and Methods of Linear Perspective (1910), and also of Memoir, letters and poems of Jonathan Dymond (1907), his kinsman, the Quaker moralist (1796-1828; ODNB), chairman of Claife Parish Council, member of Society of Friends, prepared schedule of deeds of Hawkshead Meeting House (kept at Kendal), of The Castle, High Wray, Ambleside, died 7 February 1915, in Ulverston, aged 82 (CW2, xv, 206-207; HSC, 118)