Abbatt, Edward James (c.1855-1930), draper and local councillor, mayor of Kendal 1907-08, Kendal borough councillor for West Ward, National School manager (1905), governor (apptd by Westmorland Insurance Committee) of Westmorland Sanatorium, Meathop until his death in 1930, of Albion House, 17 Stricklandgate, Kendal (1885, 1894), Abbatt & Son, drapers, dressmakers and milliners, Albion House, 19 Stricklandgate, and also of Milnthorpe (1905), living at 1 East View, Kendal (1894), later of Cliffside, off Queen’s Road, Kendal (1905, 1912, 1914, but gone by 1921), then of Fairmead, Heversham (1925, 1929, 1930, with Herbert Abbatt having been there in 1921 only), marr Dinah (buried 20 February 1928, aged 70), 1 son, died 28 September 1930, aged 75, and buried with wife in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 1 October; son, Neville Alexander Abbatt was lodger at Cliffside (1912), later of Fairmead in 1934, 1938, and died 15 March 1968, aged 78, and buried at Heversham with his wife, Elizabeth Thompson Abbatt, who died 1 January 1951, aged 63)

Abbatt, William (d.1806), upholsterer, of Kendal, marr Deborah, dau of George Stewardson, draper and clogger (will proved, 7 January 1807), 2 sons (George, of Preston, confectioner, and Robert, of Liverpool, tea dealer), purchased property lately known by sign of the Three Tuns on west side of Stricklandgate, Kendal, from his father-in-law’s trustees, 4 February 1807, died 14 March 1837 (deeds in CRO, WDX 304) – any rel to E J Abbatt? (Abbatt MIs in WCN, ii, 1); Edward Abbatt, innkeeper, marr (183x) Ann, son (Edward, buried at Kendal, 26 June 1840, infant) and dau (Ann, buried 30 June 1840, aged 6), innkeeper of the Black Swan, Allhallows Lane, Kendal (post 1829; 1849)

Abbot, John (1884-1956), civil servant in India, artist, lived Grasmere; Marshall Hall

Abbott, John White (1763-1851), surgeon and apothecary of Exeter, visited the Lakes in 1791 as an artist; Dove Cottage has some work

Abdy, Sir Anthony Thomas, 5th Bt (1720-1775), KC, MP, politician, born 1720, er son of Sir William Abdy, 4th Bt, whom he succ in 1750, marr (13 August 1747) Catherine (d.1792), dau and co-heir of William Hamilton, no issue, accounted with Earl of Thanet for rents and profits of estates in London, Southwark, Hertfordshire, Yorkshire and Middlesex, and lead mines in Derbyshire 1743-1755 (CRO, WD/Hoth/A988/23), MP for Knaresborough 1763-1775, died 7 April 1775

Abel-Smith, John (1802-1871), London banker, m. Anne Jervoise dau of Sir Samuel Clarke Jervoise on 26th December 1827, bought Roa Island, Barrow and built the causeway to the island from the Conkle Inn in 1840 and a 180 foot long deep water pier at Roa, the railway brought slate from Kirkby-in-Furness from the Cavendish quarries to be shipped, steamers to Fleetwood,

Abercrombie, John (1851-1914), MD (Cantab), FRCP, JP, physician, at Charing Cross Hospital and Foundling Hospital, retired from practice in London to settle at Augill Castle, Stainmore by 1906 [castellated mansion (Gradwell Pearson there in 1873 and Brogden family there in 1879) sold by auction on 18 August 1885, restored in 1896, put up for sale by auction on 9 August 1897 (CRO, WD/HH/SPs) and later purchased by Paul Kester (c.1870-1933) (qv), an American playwright, by cable in 1904/5)], known locally as Queen Victoria’s private surgeon, did a lot of voluntary work in Brough despite working in London and poor health, friend of Alexander Pearson (qv), member of CWAAS from 1907 and of Council 1909, transcribed the Parish Registers of Warcop up to 1812, but only first part (1597-1744) published in Parish Register Section (Vol III), issued a few days before his death on 30 April 1914, buried at Brough, 2 May, aged 62; widow was member of CWAAS from 1914, but moved from Augill Castle (selling to Major H O Ingham (qv) in 1921?) to St Anne’s, Abbot’s Bromley, Rugeley by 1921, then to Cleughbrae, Ruthwell, Dumfries by 1924, back to London (19 West Cromwell Road, Kensington by 1927 to 1930/31 and 187 Queen’s Gate 1930/1-1934/5), then to The Hive, Exeter Road, Bournemouth by 1935 and finally to 5 Staunton House, Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth by 1936, and died in 1936/37

Abraham, Ashley Perry (1876-1951), photographer and rock-climber, yr son of G P Abraham (qv) and brother of George Dixon (qv), pioneers of Lakeland rock exploration, first President, Fell and Rock-Climbing Club of the English Lake District 1906-, Director, G P Abraham Ltd (carried on by his sons), of The Screes, Chestnut Hill, Keswick (1910); his wife compiled an anthology Poems of Lakeland (1934); Keswick Characters, vol. 2

Abraham, Bernard W (18xx-19xx), MA, schoolmaster, Headmaster of Windermere Grammar School then with about 90 boys, succ Peter P Platt (qv) in 1928 until 1935, when succ by R E Knowles

Abraham, Daniel (1662-1732), Lord of Manor of Ulverston, Quaker, imprisoned in Lancaster Castle (in common with Roger Haydock, Leonard Fell, Henry Coward and others) for non-attendance at parish church or non-payment of tithes, though not in close confinement as he wrote to his wife from the Castle in March 1684/5 that “ I perceive they never lay at night in the Castle since their first confinement” (Miller MSS, printed in The Fells of Swarthmoor Hall and their Friends compiled by Maria Webb, 1865), gave account in 1707 that Mary Fell (d.1708), of Baycliff had paid £10 to Swarthmoor Meeting “for a foundation towards a schoolmasters wages” (as intended by her late husband), marr (168x) Rachel (1653-1732), dau of Judge Thomas Fell (qv), of Swarthmoor Hall, thereby inheriting Swarthmoor estate, 1 son (John), (HABSF, 521) 

Abraham, Emma Clark (1850-1934), daughter of Alfred Clay Abraham, a Liverpool pharmacist, bought in 1902 and restored Swarthmoor Hall, nephew sold the building to the Society of Friends; Hyde and Pevsner, 630

Abraham, George Dixon (1871-1965; ODNB), photographer and rock-climber, eldest son of G P Abraham (qv), marr, Enid J Wilson contributed a Keswick Country Diary to The Guardian for 36 years (with A Lakeland Diary collection published in a limited edition), of Idwal, Chestnut Hill, Keswick (1910), much influenced the rise of rock climbing;  Keswick Characters, vol.2

Abraham, George Perry (1846-1923) FRPS, photographer, b. Devizes, worked for Elliot and Fry photographer of Baker St, London, then apprenticed 1862 to Alfred Pettitt qv of Keswick, est own business 1866, built house (later inherited by his great grand daughter, Sue Steinberg, from her aunt Mary, dau of A P, in 1997), established photographic business in Lake Road, local councillor for 15 years, marr Mary, nee Dixon, 4 sons (G D and A P, qv), Sidney Keswick bank manager, John acting governor of Tanganikya; (CuL, July 2011)

Abraham, Thomas (1723-17xx), merchant and grocer, born at Swarthmoor, 19 January 1723, son of John Abraham (1687-1771), who was son of Daniel Abraham (qv), of Swarthmoor Hall, and his wife (marr October/November 1722) Sarah Fo(r)ster (1701-1777), of Hawthorne, co Durham, his father John undertook building works at Swarthmoor in 1720s (lintel date stone ‘J A S 1726’), but Thomas had moved to Whitehaven by the time of his marriage in October 1749 at Penketh Quaker Meeting House to Ellen (born 21 January 1729), dau of Henry Clare (died ante 1740), of Martin’s Croft, Poulton, Warrington, and his wife Kathleen (who remarried in November 1740 at St Peter’s church, Chester), being “an agreeable young lady with a Fortune of 5000 l.”, but he was advertising sale of Swarthmoor Hall in December 1749 (London Evening Post, 23-26 December 1749, Issue 3456) and again from March to May 1750, also proposed sale by auction at Lancaster in January 1751, and again at Ulverston on 24 January 1752 (LEP, 7-9 January 1752, Issue 3779, with particulars of estate), but notice of his bankruptcy appeared in March 1753 (LEP, 27-29 March 1753, Issue 3966), his creditors were to meet assignees of his estate on 28 May 1753 at the Indian King, Whitehaven to discuss payment of his debts and recovery of his assets (also for two other bankrupt Whitehaven merchants, John Atkinson and Daniel Stephenson), with reversion of Swarthmoor Hall offered for sale on 18 September 1755 and his eighth share of £700 left by will of Robert Forster, late of Hawthorne, on death of his mother Sarah (supra), aged then about 52, and his share of Robert’s estate vested in trustees (about £80) due to be paid him in March 1758 on 26 September (LG, 9-12 August 1755, Issue 9501), with a third sale on 28 September of his land at Halton, co Chester, and Poulton, near Warrington, and his estate at Rixton in Lancashire (LEP, 14-17 September 1754, Issue 4188), [but why did he go bankrupt at age of 26 – as tobacco dealer in Whitehaven trading with his yr brother Robert (b.1729) in Virginia?], held freehold of Swarthmoor Hall even though his father John was still alive and probably resident there up to time of sale in 1755, but he and wife Sarah were described as paupers in depositions taken at Ulverston on 2 April 1764 in case against son Thomas and others (TNA, Depositions taken by Commission, E 134/ 4GeoIII/ East9), [what became of them afterwards?] (Ian Lewis, The Swarthmoor Hall Historian, Vol.1, No.1, Summer 2012)

Acland, Alice (1849-1935) (nee Cunningham), dau of the Rev Francis Macaulay Cunningham, marr the Rev Sir Arthur Herbert Dyke Acland 9th/13th bt, she was one of the seven founders of the Women’s Cooperative Guild in Westmorland, soon after the 1883 foundation, mother of Sir Francis Acland 10th/13th bt (1874-1839) who married Eleanor Cropper (1878-1933; ODNB), she was thus the grandmother of ‘Cubby’ Acland (qv)

Acland, Arthur Geoffrey Dyke (1908-1964), paper manufacturer, born 17 May 1908, 2nd son of Sir Francis Dyke Acland, 10th Bt, PC, DL, JP (1874-1939), and Eleanor (1878-1934), eldest dau of Charles Cropper (qv), educ Rugby and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1930), Captain, Border Regt and served in Royal Tank Corps, director of James Cropper & Co Ltd 1933-1964, chairman of Liberal Party exec, prospective Parliamentary candidate for Westmorland 1951, marr (1 April 1932) Winifred Julian Dorothy (Cumbria County Councillor, President of Kendal YWCA, Chairman of Age Concern, Chairman of Westmorland Voluntary Service for the Blind, member of Disablement Advisory Committee and of Lake District Planning Board), yr dau of Lt-Col Sydney Roden Fothergill (qv), 4 sons (eldest, Oliver (b.1933), Company Secretary of James Cropper & Co Ltd 1978-1996 and Director 1964-1997, of Sprint Cottages, Strickland Roger; Edward (Cumbria County Councillor); Robin; Martin Hillary (b.1953) marr (23 November 1974, at Staveley) Anne, dau of James Leslie Dixon, and 1 son decd) and 1 dau (Rose, decd), of Hundhow, Burneside, died 14 September 1964

Acland, Cuthbert Henry Dyke (Cubby) (1910-1979), OBE, conservationist, born 18 November 1910, 3rd and yst son of Sir Francis Dyke Acland, 10th Bt, PC, DL, JP (1874-1939), educ [Rugby] and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1932), Major, RE, Agent for North West Region of The National Trust (OBE in 1971 for service to National Trust), High Sheriff of Westmorland 1968, contested Westmorland as Liberal Parliamentary candidate in general elections of 1945, 1950 and 1951 (polling 7,313 votes (third), 9,054 (second) and 7,493 (third) respectively), member of Lake District Planning Board for 20 years, member of CWAAS from 1949, member of Royal Windermere Yacht Club from 1952, as NT agent opened the new clubhouse at the South Windermere Sailing Club at Fell Foot in 1963, contributor to Country Life, formerly of Box Trees, Crook (1950), later of 1 Compston Road, Ambleside, then of Stagshaw, Ambleside (1952), where he created a notable garden from 1957, unmarried, died in 1979

Acland, Eleanor Mary (nee Cropper) (1878-1933; ODNB), politician and suffragist, born Tolson Hall, Strickland Kettle, dau of Charles Cropper and the Hon Edith Emily Holland, m. Francis Dyke Acland, president Womens Liberal Foundation; CW3 x 247

Acland, Sir Henry Wentworth Duke Bt FRS (1815-1900; ODNB), son of Sir Thomas Acland and Lydia Elizabeth Hoare, Oxford friend of Ruskin, Regius Professor of Medicine, marr Sarah Cotton, daughter of William Cotton (1786-1866; ODNB) (inventor, philanthropist and the director of the bank of England), much interested in the development of training in the medical and natural sciences, with Ruskin he established the Oxford Natural History Museum (Acland was the main driver), visited Ruskin at Brantwood, at least once in their old age (a fine photograph exists), Sarah Acland had a hospital named after her in Oxford; royalsociety.org

Acton, Abraham (1893-1915), VC, soldier, born at Whitehaven, killed in action at Festubert, 15 May 1915 (WG, 05.02.2015)

Adam, James (d.1823), associate of John Wilkinson (qv), of Runcorn, Cheshire, purchased Burblethwaite Hall, Cartmel Fell by auction at Kendal in September 1811 for £10,670 (£9,570 for land and £1,100 for wood and timber) with conveyance dated 16 July 1812 (under will of John Robinson of Watermillock), but released property to Thomas Townend and others on 12 November 1816 on account of £5,000 mortgage, borrowed £35,000 in Exchequer Bills from Commissioners apptd by Public Works Loans Acts of 1817 (for repayment of which he gave bond of £70,000, but still over £26,000 in debt at time of his death), Lord of Manor of Burblethwaite and of Lower Meathop, also had property in Cartmel, Beetham and Witherslack, also of Brymbo Hall, Denbighshire, and of Shifnall, Shropshire, when he made will dated 15 July 1823, trustee of estate of John Wilkinson, but his own property to be sold and proceeds divided into 7 equal shares (for wife Mary, 5 children Samuel Smith, Frances, John James, Adam Fitz and Mary, and 2 sisters) (CW2, lxii, 172-174, 184-189)

Adam, Robert (1728-1792), architect, drawings for the Lowthers; CW2 lxii 305

Adams, Herbert Hugo St Ledger Stanley (1884-19xx), aviator, born at Forest Lodge, Hong Kong, 5 January 1884, yst of 7 children of Dr William Stanley Adams, MD, MS, from Ayrshire, who became Government Health Inspector in Hong Kong, etc, but died soon after returning to England in 1887, educ Dulwich College, (SEW, 34)

Adams, John Jackson (Jack), 1st baron Adams, of Ennerdale (1890-1960), OBE, JP, politician and civil servant, born at Arlecdon, 12 October 1890, educ Arlecdon County School, colliery winding man, marr (1914) Agnes, only dau of T Birney, 1 son (decd), first elected to Cumberland County Council in 1919, Alderman from 1931 and retiring in November 1959, became great friend of Lady Mabel Howard (qv), chairman of CCC Health Committee 1942-1948, chairman of Arlecdon and Frizington UDC  1919-1923, chairman Workington Borough Health and Education Committees 1923-1931, Secretary, Cumberland Development Council Ltd from 1935, Director and General Manager, West Cumberland Industrial Development Co Ltd, Whitehaven from 1937 (and vice-chairman 1950), chairman of governors, Whitehaven Grammar School from 1942, Deputy Regional Controller, Board of Trade (C&W Sub-Region) 1944-1948, member, BBC Advisory Panel, North West Area 1944-1949, member, Northern Regional Gas Board from 1949 and   N & C Division, National Coal Board 1950-1954, made Hon Freeman of Borough of Whitehaven on 9 April 1953 (with Lord Nuffield), great drive and energy in developing new industries in West Cumberland, notably the nuclear industry, had seen employment quadruple from 15,000 to 60,000 in his time, OBE 1944, Hon MA Durham 1948, cr Baron Adams, of Ennerdale 1949 (ext), of Greystoke, Loop Road North, Whitehaven (1938), later of Wybrow Terrace, Workington, died 23 August 1960

Adams, W. J. T. P. Phythian-, see Phythian-Adams

Adamson, Adam (1827-1891), foreman at Carlisle railway sheds, marr Isabella (d.1897), son Adam (d.1906), Adam’s son John Benrens Adamson MIMechE (d.1936) was the locomotive supervisor, Carlisle

Adamson, Lawrence (d.1877), HM seneschal of the Isle of Man, born Whitehaven, son of Anthony Adamson solicitor and banker of Millgrove, Moresby, his grandson Lawrence Anthony Adamson was a prominent headmaster at Wesley College, Australia; Hudleston (C); Dictionary of Australian Biography

Adamson, Robert (fl.1672), of Blacket Bottom, Grayrigg, gent, founded school at Tebay 1672; son (?), Robert (fl.1723), also of Blacket Bottom, gave £30 for school in Grayrigg

Adamthwaite, Revd John (17xx-1839), DD, boarding academy, Manor House, Winton, left large sum in will

Addison, James, artist; CW3 xviii 191

Addison, John (fl.1680-92), builder, Westmorland; CW2 xcvi 161

Addison, John Aspinall (1813-1883), clergyman, ‘founder of Windermere village’, born in Liverpool in 1813, from Aspinall and Brancker merchant trading families, educ St John’s College, Cambridge, marr (1840) Mary, yst dau of Leonard Wilkinson, Esq, of Slaidburn, near Clitheroe, 1 son (John Aspinall) and 1 dau (Mary Elizabeth), Vicar of Mytton, near Clitheroe, came to Windermere in 1847, first Incumbent of St Mary’s, Applethwaite 1848-1855, built The Abbey as his residence, founded the College [later a prep school and then the Phoenix Centre, now demolished] in 1848, built St Mary’s church as the chapel, aspired to establish a new public school, failed to attract sufficient interest, enforced sale of church, school, college, home and all his personal effects after his financial resources dried up and were placed in hands of his solicitor, J H Taylor, and assignees, Abraham Pattinson (qv) and John Garnett, for benefit of his creditors, 27 March 1855, left Windermere, having lost everything, around March 1855, moved to Devon as curate at Plympton and Brixton for four years, then Vicar of Hound, Southampton, and Rector of Cowlam, near Beverley, Yorks, never returned to Windermere but kept informed of major reconstruction of St Mary’s in 1882, died at Bridlington Quay, 10 September 1883, aged 69, and buried in the Alcove section of Scarborough cemetery; memorial window in south aisle of St Mary’s (Ian Jones, 12-39)

Addison, John Vernon (1930-2016), OBE, journalist, born 2 May 1930, educ Barnard Castle School, co Durham, started newspaper career in his native north east in 1956, moved to Manchester as a sub-editor on Manchester Evening News, then sport sub-editor in the Manchester office of the Daily Express, but moving back a year later to the Manchester Evening News for next sixteen years, becoming assistant editor, appointed editor of the Cumberland News and the Evening News & Star Carlisle in 1976, retired as editorial director of Cumbrian Newspapers in Carlisle in 1990, receiving several high-level awards, President, National Guild of British Newspaper Editors 1984-1985, member of national council, and chairman of NW Region 1981-82, did public relations consultancy work after retiring, inc for Pioneer Foodservice and the Christopher Harrison Group, founder chairman of Carlisle Jazz Club, dedicated fundraiser for Cumbria Cerebral Palsy, wrote his family history in Black Sheep and Diamonds, marr 1st (19xx) Audrey (d.1988), 3 sons (Denzil, Kevin and Nigel), marr 2nd (diss 2013) Pam Coke, of Farthings, Hawksdale, Dalston, died at Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle, 24 December 2016, aged 86, with funeral at St Michael’s Church, Dalston, 6 January 2017 (CN)

Addison, Lancelot (1632-1703; ODNB), MA, DD, Dean of Lichfield, born at Meaburn Townhead, Maulds Meaburn and bapt at Crosby Ravensworth, 4 March 1632, son of Lancelot Addison of the Hill, educ Appleby Grammar School and Queen’s College, Oxford, friend of Joseph Williamson (qv), dean of Lichfield 1683-1703, archdeacon of Coventry 1684, father of Joseph Addison (1672-1719; ODNB), statesman, essayist and poet ; (WW, ii, 23-36);  David Risk, Lancelot Addison, (2002)

Addison, Margaret (1932-2012), cattle breeder, artist and community worker, born at Hexham, December 1932, dau of Arthur Iveson, auctioneer, of Hexham, and his wife Isabel, a native of Soulby, brought up at Hexham and educ at Southport, Newton Rigg Agricultural College, and Newcastle University, clerked for her father at Hexham auction mart for five years and got to know most farmers in Northumberland, not being able to become auctioneer herself, first met Steele Addison at Newcastle and eventually married at Hexham in 1958, farming at Greystone House, King’s Meaburn, but was director of Hexham auction mart for many years, moved to Keld Farm, King’s Meaburn in 1988, remaining a familiar sight at auction marts until about 2008, her best moment as a cattle breeder coming in October 1991 when her pedigree Simmental, Lyvennet Adam, won supreme championship at Perth bull sales

Addison, Richard (1658-1738) of Torpenhow, ancestor of Dr Thomas Addison qv    

Addison, Robert (1754-1829), priest, b. Heversham

Addison, Robert (1775-1862), kinsman of above, of Crossrigg Hall (left to his great-nephew, Lt-Col Hugh Rigg), part-owner of Jasinga estate in Java

Addison, Robert (1790-1880), of the Friary, Appleby, Barwise Hall, Colby Hall, Appleby, and Littlebeck, Morland, DL, JP, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1858; acquired fortune in Java

Addison, Robert John Steele (1931-2006), farmer and local councillor, educ Appleby Grammar School (1943-49), Cumbria County Councillor, marr (1958, at Hexham) Margaret (qv), dau of Arthur Iveson, of Hexham, living first at Appleby before settling to farm at Greystone House, King’s Meaburn, 3 sons (Chris, Rob and John, born 1962, 1963 and 1965 respectively) and 1 dau (Karen, born 1959), moved to Keld Farm, King’s Meaburn in 1988, died in 2006

Addison, Dr. Thomas (1793-1860; ODNB), physician, descended from Richard Addison (1658-1738) of Torpenhow, b. Longbenton, son of Joseph Addison and Sarah Thew, father born Lanercost, ed Royal Free GS, spoke fluent latin, Edinburgh medical school, to Guy’s in London in 1817, became lecturer, one of ‘the Great Men of Guy’s hospital’, discovered Addison’s disease, the degeneration of the adrenal glands, also Addison’s or pernicious anaemia, married at Lanercost Elizabeth Catherine Barber [1801-1872] the day the roof began to fall, d and bur Lanercost graveyard; bust at Guy’s; Dic of Sci Biog

Adelaide (1792-1849; ODNB), queen of King William IV (1765-1837), stayed at Conishead Priory, dau of George, Duke of Saxe-Meiningen, three years after the death of her husband made a celebrated visit to Lake District on 24-26 July 1840, stayed at Rose and Crown Hotel in Kirkby Lonsdale on 24 July (subsequently renamed Royal Hotel), triumphal arches in Bowness, from where she was conveyed down lake to Storrs Hall for lunch with Mrs Bolton, later dined at Low Wood, while street party for over 400 ‘poor inhabitants’ was held opposite White Lion, attended church on Sunday morning and afternoon, visited Rayrigg Bank (renamed Queen Adelaide’s Hill), invited Revd R P Graves (qv) to dine with her and gave £20 for use of poor; had visited Patterdale on 17 July 1840 with her sister, Ida, Duchess of Weimar, and two princes from Ashantee were presented to her on following morning (The Queen Dowager’s Visit to Kirkby Lonsdale, printed by Arthur Foster, 1840)

Adlington, Thomas (1804-1837), solicitor, of Stramongate, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 1 October 1837, aged 33

A-dong Zhang (1855-19.1.1912), stoker aboard the Chinese ship Hai Chi, recently launched at Barrow, his tombstone in Barrow cemetery in Chinese script is a rare encounter; Barrow News 27th January 1912; Rod White, Furness Stories behind the Stones: a walk around Barrow Cemetery, no. 17, c.2015

Aelric (d.1107), hermit or anchorite, lived in forest near Carlisle, with Saint Godric for 2 years, who was present at his death in 1107 and testified “that he saw the soul of Alricke ascend to heaven, as it were in a spherical form of a burning wind”

Agar, Alan Shelton- (19xx-1985), BA, MB, ChB, doctor and landowner, son of Walter Richmond Shelton-Agar (1879-1952), a descendant of John Shelton and Susan Agar (marr 1835), purchased Melmerby Hall in 1958, Lord of manors of Melmerby and Gale, marr Marion, 2 sons (Charles (qv) and Richard) and 1 dau (Anne Rowley), died in 1985

Agar, Charles Wedderburn Shelton Shelton- (1939-2010), landowner and barrister, er son, born at Closeburn, nr Dumfries, educ Shrewsbury School and Trinity College, Cambridge (classics) after intervening period of national service as officer in Scots Guards in Germany, called to bar and practised as criminal defence barrister in London, then on Northern Circuit based in Manchester, retiring about 1995 to live at Todhills, Melmerby, keen on shooting and fishing, with deep knowledge of Cumbrian countryside, supported rural enterprises, expertise in antiques, won prizes at Dalemain marmalade festival, marr 1st, 2 sons (James and Edward), marr 2nd, and companion (Deanna Selby, of Stockport), died at Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle, aged 71, and funeral at St John’s church, Melmerby, 23 June 2010

Agricola, Gnaeus Julius (40-93 AD), Roman governor, campaign in the north in 79 AD, subjugated the Brigantes and built the fort at Watercrook (Kendal)

Aglionby family; CW2 xxxiii 24; Summerson, An Ancient Squire’s Family, 2007

Aglionby, Anne E., monument in convent grounds, Wigton

Aglionby, Arthur Hugh, Major, MC, killed in Great War (memorial tablet in Ainstable church, 1920)

Aglionby, Christopher (17xx-1785), last male rep of Aglionby family, died unmarried in 1785, when estates were partitioned between his four sisters

Aglionby, Edward (1540-c.1591; ODNB), politician, b. Carlisle

Aglionby, Francis (formerly Yates) (1780-1840; ODNB), of Nunnery, army officer and J.P., marr (1814) Mary (d.1854), dau of John Matthews, of Wigton Hall, dau (3rd, Jane (d.1874) was first wife of Charles Fetherstonhaugh (qv), of Staffield Hall; statue outside courts Carlisle, David A. Cross, Public Sculpture, 2017, p.147-8

Aglionby, Francis John (1932-2002), judge, Circuit Judge 1980- , Chancellor of Carlisle Diocese 1991-, marr (19xx) Susan Victoria Mary (OBE 2017 for services to Young People and the community in Cumbria)

Aglionby, George, son of John Aglionby (1603-1643), clergyman, ed Westminster and Christ church, MA 1626, DD 1635, tutor to William Cavendish later 3rd duke, member of Great Tew intellectual circle, friend of Thomas Hobbes, m. Sibilla Smith, his son perhaps William Aglionby (1641-1705), physician and art historian; master of Westminster school, prebend of Westminster and Chichester and briefly dean of Canterbury

Aglionby, Henry (1684-1759), Mayor of Carlisle 1744-45, MP for Carlisle 1721-1727, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1732

Aglionby, Henry (1715-1770), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1763, marr Anne (d.1780), 4th dau of Sir Christopher Musgrave, 5th Bt (qv), 3 sons and 4 daus, died in 1770

Aglionby, Henry Aglionby (formerly Bateman) (1790-1854; DCB), BA, barrister and politician, born 28 December 1790, son of Revd Samuel Bateman, of Newbiggin Hall, near Carlisle, and his wife Anne, dau and coheir of Henry Aglionby (d.1770) (qv), educ Sedbergh School and St John’s College, Cambridge (entd 1807, BA 1813), assumed surname of Aglionby in 1813 in compliance with will of one of his aunts, called to Bar, Lincoln’s Inn 1816, practised on Northern Circuit, MP for Cockermouth 1832-1854, succ to Nunnery estates on death of his cousin Major Aglionby in 1840, marr (1852) Mrs Sadd, died s.p. 31 July 1854 (SSR, 160; CWMP, 332-333)

Aglionby, Revd John (1566/7-1610; ODNB), MA, divine, one of translators of Authorized Version of the Bible, b. Carlisle, son of Edward and Elizabeth Aglionby, entd Queen’s College, Oxford in December 1583, aged 16, BA 1586, Fellow of Queen’s College and MA 1590, BTh 1597 and DTh 1600, apptd divinity reader at Lincoln’s Inn in 1595, travelled abroad in 1599-1600, chaplain to Elizabeth I and James I, member of Oxford group responsible for revised translation of bulk of the New Testament of the King James bible from 1604, principal of St Edmund Hall, Oxford, Rector of Islip 1607, died 16 February 1610 and buried in chancel of church, leaving widow, 3 sons and 1 daughter, son George qv dean of Canterbury

Aglionby, John Orfeur (1884-1963) MC, bishop of Accra, Ghana, ed Westminster and Queen’s College Oxford, vicar of Monkwearmouth 1917-1924, bishop of Accra 1924; obit Times 17 May 1963; Summerson, An Ancient Squire’s Family, 2007

Aglionby, Richard, of Carlisle, dau Ursula was wife of William Nugent and their dau Mary (born 28 March 1733, d.1802) marr (1761) Barry Yelverton (later Viscount Avonmore) (d.1805)

Aglionby, William (c.1642-1705), physician, natural philosopher and art historian), son of George Aglionby (tutor to 3rd earl of Devonshire), MD Bordeaux and FRS, in his turn tutor to Sir Andrew Henley and later the 1st earl of Yarmouth, published a translation of Pierre Thibault’s The Art of Chymistry: As it is Now Practiced (1668), a translation of Francois Hedelin’s Whole Art of the Stage (1684) and the first original English book of its kind, Painting Illustrated in Three Diallogues (1685), incl eleven biographies of Italian painters, also refers to four Northern European artists, attacked and run through with a spear by men of two families against whom  he had collected information against

Agrippa, Marcus Maenius (fl.122-128), Roman army commander, born at Camerinum, Italy, served first as prefect of a quingenary cohort, the first post on rung of equestrian military appointments, then chosen by Emperor Hadrian and sent on the British expedition (electo a divo Hadriano et misso in expeditionem Britannicam) in 122, before or at same time as his next post as tribune in command of 1,000-strong First Cohort of Spaniards (Cohors 1 Hispanorum) based at Maryport Roman Fort, later was host (hospes) of Hadrian, if he came to Britain in 122, he could have served four years at Maryport and dedicated altars there in 125, 126, 127 and 128 (if they each relate to a separate year) before returning to Italy in time to act as host for Hadrian at Camerinum in 127, but chronology is arguable for Agrippa coming to Britain a later date in 130 or 131 (David Breeze, Brian Dobson and Valerie Maxfield, ‘Maenius Agrippa, A Chronological Conundrum’ in Acta Classica, LV (2012), 17-30; S S Frere, ‘M Maenius Agrippa, the expeditio Britannica and Maryport’ in Britannia, 31 (2000), 23-28)

Ainger, Revd George Henry (1819-1886), clergyman and principal, son of Dr William Ainger (qv), tutor at St Bees Theological College 1849-1857 and Principal 1858-1870, Perpetual Curate of St Bees 1858-1870, Hon Canon of Carlisle 1870-1882, Rector of Rothbury 1871-1886, and Hon Canon of Newcastle 1882-1886

Ainger, Revd William (c.1785-1840), MA, DD, clergyman and principal, ?son of Dent curate, paid for monuments to Sill?, Perpetual Curate of St Bees and first Principal of St Bees Theological College 1816-1840, Hon Canon of Chester 1827, died 20 October 1840, aged 55 (memorial in St Bees Priory)

Ainley, Alfred (1871-1955), MA, clergyman, born in 1871, educ Exeter College, Oxford (BA 1897, MA 1900), ordained dio Carlisle and spent entire ministry in dio, various curacies inc Maryport in 1902 when he took part with J B Bailey in survey of Roman road from Maryport to Cross Canonby vicarage (CW2, iv, 253), Vicar of St Bees 1911-1941, member of CWAAS from 1911, but never contributed to Transactions though regular attender at meetings, retired to Lane Head, Cockermouth, died (CW2, liv, 312)

Ainscough, Margaret, enamellist, Keswick

Ainscow, Albert Edward (c.1888-1976), MD, MB, ChB, physician and surgeon, of The Grange, Temple Sowerby from c.1938 [previous resident was Col Edmund Burton, CB, in 1934], buried at Temple Sowerby, 13 September 1976, aged 88

Ainsley, Gertrude (1888-1975), secretary, with Titus Wilson, printers, Kendal, Hon General and Financial Secretary of CWAAS 1927-1959, succ Edward W Wilson (qv), having joined in 1927, elected an Honorary Member on her retirement after 32 years’ service in 1959, of Creevyargon, 101 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal, died at Royal Lancaster Infirmary, 20 January 1975, aged 86, and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal (CW2, lxxv, 384)

Ainslie, Gilbert (1793-1870), DD, master of Pembroke College, Cambridge, and vice-chancellor of Cambridge university, er dau Emily Valence marr H W Cookson (qv); Hall Garth sold 1870, New Hall sold 1903 by Montague Ernest Henry Ainslie (1856-1920)

Ainslie, Henry (1760-1834; ODNB), MD, Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, son of Dr James Ainslie qv, later physician of Kendal, friend of the Rev John Romney (qv), acquired Ford Lodge, Grizedale by marriage to Agnes (1761-1796), dau and coheir of William Ford (qv), of Coniston Waterhead, involved in Newlands iron works [later Harrison Ainslie], Harrison (qv); CW3 x 17; CW3 v 244; David A Cross, A Striking Likeness, 186, 239 n64

Ainslie, Henry (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1846, MA 1849), d 1847 and p 1848, Curate of Bury, Vicar of Easingwold 1856-1873, Vicar of Applethwaite 1873- , decd by 1914

Ainslie, James Dr (1732-1790), physician of Carlisle and Kendal, father of Dr Henry Ainslie qv,  sat to George Romney, see Hud [W]; David A Cross, A Striking Likeness, 30

Ainslie, Montague (1792-1884), DL, JP, HEICS, civil servant, born in Highgate, Kendal, 28 April 1792, son of Dr Henry Ainslie (qv), in India and on his return purchased the Grizedale estate and built the new hall in 1836, patron of Hawkshead Agricultural Society (1876x1881), also of Ford Lodge, died at Grizedale 1 February 1884, aged 92 (SSR, 161)

Ainslie, Montague Farrer (1759-1830), Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, acquired Hall Garth, Over Kellet, from his stepmother, Mary (1746-1820), dau and coheir of Henry Johnes Wilson (d. 1772)

Ainslie, Montague Mordaunt (c.1824-1896), gentleman, of Crescent Villa, Windermere, buried in St Mary’s cemetery, Applethwaite, 26 March 1896, aged 72

Ainslie, Richard Montague (18xx-19xx), MA, clergyman, educ Pembroke College, Cambridge (BA 1880, MA 1885), d 1884 and p 1886 (Ches), Curate of Witton, Cheshire 1884-1887, Vicar of St Saviour, City and Dio Liverpool 1887-1903, Vicar of Childwall, Liverpool 1903- , Hon Canon of Liverpool 1908- , marr 1st (18xx) Mabel (buried in Windermere St Mary’s cemetery, 16 May 1893, aged 27), when of 160 Upper Parliament Street, Liverpool, marr 2nd (189x) ??? , dau (Helen Forrester, buried in Windermere St Mary’s cemetery, 28 November 1901, aged three years), when of 1 Falkner Square, Liverpool

Ainslie, William George (1832-1893), iron and steel company chairman and politician, born near Calcutta, 9 January 1832, yr brother of Revd Henry Ainslie (qv), of St Mary’s Mount and Brogden House, Ulverston, MP (Conservative) for North Lonsdale, died 10 February 1893 (SSR, 206)

Ainsworth, David (1823-1907), DL, JP, BCL (Cantab), Lieut-Col, of Backbarrow, died at Corolanty Spa Road, Boscombe, Bournemouth, aged 83 and buried at Cartmel, 12 April 1907 (Ainsworth family papers in CRO, Whitehaven)

Ainsworth, David (1842-1906), DL, JP, of The Flosh, Cleator and Wray Castle, Hawkshead, eldest son of Thomas Ainsworth (qv), bought Wray Castle 1898, MP for West Cumberland 1880-1885 and 1892-1895, member of CWAAS from 1879, marr Margaret, no issue, died 21 February 1906; will of 1903 (CROW, Y/Ain 3/1), Wray Castle remained property and seat of widow Margaret, also patron of living of Low Wray, until her death on xx xxx, then sold by her executors in 1920 (sale catalogue of entire contents over 11 days between 19 July and 3 August 1920, by Capes, Dunn & Co, auctioneers, of Manchester, in CRO, WDB 32/13)

Ainsworth, Sir John Stirling, 1st Bt (1844-1923), MA, LLB, VD, DL, JP, ironmaster and politician, born 30 January 1844, 2nd son of Thomas Ainsworth (qv), of the Flosh, marr Margaret Catherine Macreadie, 5 children (all born in London, but one died in infancy), bought the Ardanaiseig estate at Kilchrenan on the shore of Loch Awe, Argyllshire, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1891, DL and JP Cumberland and Argyllshire, MP for Argyllshire 1903-1918, cr. Baronet, of Ardanaiseig, co Argyll, 12 January 1917, member, Royal Commission on Mines 1910, Director, Whitehaven (later Parr’s) Bank, Chairman of Cleator & Whitehaven Junction Railway (until it was absorbed by LMS Railway in 1923), comd 3rd Volunteer Battalion, Border Regt 1898-1902, member of CWAAS from 1878, made his Cumbrian home at Harecroft Hall, Gosforth (built in 1881), died 24 May 1923

Ainsworth, Thomas (1804-1881), flax spinner and iron mining proprietor, born 1804, son of David Ainsworth, of Preston, educ by Revd William Lamport of Lancaster and by Mr Currie of Birmingham, flax spinner, cotton mills at Backbarrow 1860s, put the derelict flax mill at Cleator into working order again in 1837-38, obtaining flax supplies from Ireland and recruiting Irish workers (some 400 Irish population in Whitehaven by 1836), but became an ironworks and iron mining proprietor, following a prospector J H Attwood (qv) at Aldby and Birks in 1840 and became most productive mines operator in Cleator district by 1846, other commercial and manufacturing enterprises in West Cumberland, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1861, JP (not qualif), President of Manchester New College, London 1860-1863, trustee of Unitarian Chapel, Market Place, Kendal 1833-1868, riding or driving over from Summer Hill, his residence in Ulverston, on alternate Sundays for public worship, keen musician and frequently played organ in chapels at Kendal and Preston, marr Mary Laurie, dau of Revd John Stirling, DD, of Craigie, Ayrshire, 3 sons (David (qv), John Stirling (qv) and W McQuhae (Unitarian Minister)) and 1 dau (Mary Alice), died 1881 (CW2, lxxviii, 163-164; CCM, 369; ONK, 528)

Ainsworth, Sir Thomas, 2nd Bt (18xx-19xx), JP, of Ardanaiseig, Kilchrenan, Argyll, JP Cumberland 1930s, divorced in 1925, marr 2nd, son David (b.1926)

Airey family of Storth, near Arnside, swill basket makers for 300 years

Airay, Henry (1559-1616; ODNB), theologian of Oxford, Provost of Queen’s College 1598- and Vice-Chancellor of Oxford University 1606- , born at Kentmere, nephew of Bernard Gilpin, ‘The Apostle of the North’ (qv), made fiery denunciations of Catholicism; (WW, i, 279-292)

Airey, Henry (18xx-19xx), JP, Mayor of Kendal 1936, Borough Councillor for Highgate Ward, Borough magistrate by 1934x36, of 7 Gillinggate, Kendal

Airey, Henry Holme (1797-1867), clergyman and schoolmaster, born 2 February 1797 and bapt 16 March at Selside, Kendal, son of Revd Thomas Airey (qv) and Alice his wife, nominated asst curate at Selside by his father in 1821, apptd an asst master at Sedbergh School by Henry Wilkinson in c.1820, but resigned in 1831 when nominated to curacy of Selside on death of father, 5 January 1831, where he died, 20 July 1867 (SSR, 47; DRC 10/ Selside)

Airy, Hilda (1838-1903), daughter of GB Airy (qv) married Edward John Routh FRS (1831-1907; ODNB), mathematician, son of Sir Randolph Isham Routh who fought at Waterloo, (EJR systematised the mathematical theory of mechanics and created ideas critical to the development of modern control systems theory), their children included George Richard Randolph (1873-1947) was an HM Inspector of Schools, Arthur Lionel (1877-1945) officer Royal Artillery, Harold Victor was a lecturer at Cambridge, Rupert John Airy (1880-1907) was an Indian civil servant and died in Bihar, India, Mary Elizabeth Hilda (1871-1958) marr Sydney William Cole (1877-1951) also a lecturer at Cambridge

Airy, Hubert (1838-1903), physician, son of GB Airy (qv) pioneer in the investigation of migraine, one of the first to describe and draw the common visual aura, the second stage of an attack, which he named Scintillating scotoma

Airey, Thomas MD (d.1790), educ as physician at Rheims, practiced in Whitehaven, died Jamaica, his son Lancelot Airey graduated MD Leiden in 1772

Airey, Thomas (1762-1830?), clergyman, son of Thomas and Ann Airey of Mardale, bapt at Shap, 8 March 1762, nominated to curacy of Selside, April 1794, nom asst curate of Kentmere, June 1790 when master and chaplain to Sandys’s Hospital, Kendal (DRC 10/ Kentmere & Selside)

Airey, Thomas (c.1865-1915), dancing teacher, established Victorian Academy of Dancing in Entry Lane, Kendal by 1905, with Madame Airey, 1 dau (Mrs Betty Shepherd), of Springfield House, 3 Lake Road Terrace, Windermere Road, Kendal (1905, 1914), died at 12 Lake Road, aged 50, and buried at Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 4 May 1915, Mrs Airey on her own at 12 Lake Road Terrace (1921, 1925, gone by 1929)

Airy, Sir George Biddell (1801-1892) FRS, astronomer, b. Alnwick, descended from the Aireys of Kentmere, cousins of Bernard Gilpin qv, as a young man met Thomas Clarkson (qv) who secured his place at Trinity college, 1st wrangler and Smith prizeman, fellow Trinity, Lucasian and then Plumian professor of mathematics, director of the observatory, FRS, astromomer royal 1835, m. Richarda Smith (1804-1875), dau Rev Richard Smith, kt 1872, son Hubert pioneer of migraine studies, dau Hilda m. Edward Routh, mathematician; autobiography ed Wilfred Airy 1896

Airy Wilfred (1836-1925), civil engineer, son of GB Airy (qv) designed and engineered ‘Col’ George Tomline’s observatory at Orwell Park; his notebooks and journals are at Cambridge University Library

Aitchison, George (c.1883-1943), MBE, land agent, native of Hawick, grandson of Professor John Wilson (qv), Agent for Rydal Estate, Westmorland County Councillor and Alderman for 18 years, first chairman of Lakes Urban District Council, trustee and hon treasurer of both general committee and executive committee of Ethel Hedley Hospital for Crippled Children, Calgarth (1930), prominent Freemason, member of CWAAS from 1929 and Hon Auditor from 1933, marr (19xx) Marjorie, dau of C H Hough (qv), of Oliver Close, Ambleside and of White Craggs, Clappersgate, where he died, aged 60, and buried at Brathay, 19 August 1943

Aiton, Mr, of Bardsea, his gardener was John Fleming (ODNB) (qv)

Albert, Prince (1819-1861; ODNB), consort of queen Victoria, contributed to the Wordsworth window in Cockermouth church

Alcock, Samuel (1789-1858), manufacturer and enthusiast for unsectarian education, son of Thomas and Catherine Astley, father ran a oil, tallow and groceries business in Manchester, he began in a fustian warehouse, with his brother John built up a calico and muslin business, m. Susannah Roberts, dau of Rev JG Roberts of Cross St Chapel,  both he and his friend John Owens (1790-1846; ODNB), had worked hard and saved so they were wealthy, he suggested the foundation of a college on entirely unsectarian basis to Owens, later as executor with George Faulkner of Owens’s will, Owens College opened in 1851 (now University of Manchester), general subscriber to Kendal Market Place Chapel restoration appeal in 1845, lived for a while at Stancliffe Hall, Darley Dale [later a prep school], died at Burrow Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale, 28 September 1858, aged 68 and buried at Tunstall (ONK, 417); refs in JAV Chapple, Elizabeth Gaskell, 2007

Aldersley, Jillian Mary (Jill) (1943-2005), artist, born in London in 1943 and grew up at Longridge, near Preston, studied at Harris College School of Art in Preston 1960-1964 (National Diploma of Design in Painting and Lithography), studied in Manchester for Art Teacher’s certificate, taught art at Aspatria before moving first to Kentmere then to Ambleside in 1967, where she worked part-time in Ambleside Pottery, member of Kendal Art Society, keen fell-walker and rock-climber, Lakeland landscape providing her inspiration, studies of changing moods of surrounding hills and lakes, crags, streams and pools, esp interested in all forms of wildlife, majority of work in watercolour, carbon pencil, pen wash or oil studies of landscapes, drawings for Fell and Rock Climbing Club, exhibited at Anvil Gallery, Cartmel, which acted as her agent from mid-1970s (watercolours of Ravenglass, Styhead and Napes Needle in 1975), also painted under name of Marie D’Estelle, formerly of Southridge, Green Lane, Allithwaite, Grange-over-Sands, later of 2 Rothay Holme Cottages, Rothay Road, Ambleside, died in April 2005

Alderson, Revd Christopher (1737-1814), BD (Cantab), clergyman, son of Jonathan Alderson, of High Ewbank, Brough under Stainmore, Rector of Aston, Yorks 1797-1811, of Eckington 1769-1799, of Oddington, Glos 1779-1785 and Langton upon Swale 1768-1777

Aldrich (Aldridge), Right Revd Robert (d.1556; ODNB), MA, DD, Bishop of Carlisle, Prebendary of Lincoln 1528, Archdeacon of Colchester 1531, Canon of Windsor 1534, Provost of Eton 1536, Bishop of Carlisle 1537-1556

Alexander II of Scots (1198-1249), came to the throne in 1214, took Carlisle in 1216 in revenge for King John’s invasion of Berwick, his troops plundered Holme Cultrum despite Alexander’s previous assurances that religious houses would not suffer. In 1237 Henry III of England concluded a treaty with Alexander II of Scotland at York which consolidated the peace until 1296, in 1242 Henry granted Alexander seven royal manors in Cumberland, centred upon Penrith; Keith J Stringer, The King of Scots, The Liberty of Penrith and the Making of Britain (CWAAS Tract Series no 28)

Alexander, Ben, physician in Grasmere went to Pakistan in 1965

Alexander, Bruce (1886-1950), MBE, JP, mineral water manufacturer, yr son of William (qv), Chairman, Jonas Alexander & Sons Ltd 1940-1941, managed mineral water side of business, Army Welfare Officer 1939-, Mayor of Kendal 1936-1937, elected to Borough Council, 1 November 1928, elected Alderman, 7 May 1940, Kendal Borough magistrate (qualif 9 January 1939), founder member of Kendal Town RUFC 1905 (Captain 1913), President, Kendal Amateur Swimming Club for 20 yrs, died at The Beeches, Sedbergh Road, Kendal, 28 May 1950 and buried in Parkside cemetery

Alexander, Revd James (18xx-19xx), clergyman, Vicar of St Bees 1896-1900

Alexander, John (1863-1940), brewer, yst son of Jonas Alexander (qv), of The Mount, Burneside Road, Kendal (built 1900), marr 1888 Kate Redhead, 1 son (John, b.1904, d.1957) and 5 daus, played rugby football for Kendal Town and Hornets, Chairman, Jonas Alexander & Sons Ltd till death in 1940 (NBR, op cit)

Alexander, Jonas (1823-1900), brewer, born in Kendal, 1 April 1823, son (4th of 13 children) of James Alexander (b.1789) and Sarah (nee Clarke) (b.1795), (father variously a miller/fuller/ labourer 1817-41, fishmonger and game dealer from 1851), started work at his uncle William Phillipson’s bobbin mill at Fell Foot, Staveley, apprentice bobbin turner at Hugill 1841, marr. 25 May 1851 Elizabeth, dau of Martin Brown, carpet weaver, of Kendal, 3 sons (William (qv); George Birkett, b.1862; John, qv) and 4 daus (Mary, b.1854; Sarah Ann, b.1856; Dinah, b.1858; and Elizabeth, b.1860, d. 29 October 1934), bobbin turner, Fell Foot Cottages, Over Staveley 1861, brewer in Kendal by 1871 (prob estab Beezon Lane brewery 1863/64), living at Victoria Lodge, later Beezon Lodge, set up Partnership of ‘Jonas Alexander & Sons’ with sons William and John 1896, wife died 22 July 1890, died at Victoria Lodge, 3 January 1900 and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal (N B Redman history)

Alexander, Stanley (1885-1959), er son of William (qv), Chairman, Jonas Alexander & Sons Ltd 1941-1947 (business acquired by Duttons Blackburn Brewery in 1947, but wound up in 1954), managed Beezon Brewery side of business, founder member of Kendal RUFC 1905 (cttee mem and played in first game, Capt for 3 seasons to 1914, Chm 1931-1951, Pres 1946-47), President, Cumberland & Westmorland RUFC 1946-47, comd Home Guard in Old and New Hutton area in WWII, retired to Newby Brow, but left Kendal in 1959 for new home in Rustington, Sussex, but died before moving in (NBR, op cit)

Alexander, William (1851-1914), brewer and businessman, eldest son of Jonas Alexander (qv), of the Homestead, Sedbergh Road, Kendal, expanded Beezon Brewery, built new mineral water factory on Sandes Avenue (Avenue Works 1906; demolished 2007) to replace Lowther Street premises; took over mineral water bottling business of George Cumberland of Wildman Street, Kendal; director, Westmorland Bonded Warehouses, marr Agnes Ann (d. 1906), 2 sons (Stanley and Bruce, qv) and 3 daus (Jeannie, b.1889; Marjorie; Nan), died at his Beezon Road office, February 1914, aged 62 and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 14 February (NBR, op cit)

Alexander, William L. (fl.19thc.), philanthropist, born Liverpool, lived Lorton, supported local schools including Lorton and Wythop, established a crèche in Lorton to help women to get to work, paid all debts of villagers in the year of Victoria’s jubilee, laid roads, built bridges, restored churches; Mick and Jean Jane, One Man’s Life in the Vale of Lorton, c.2000

Alexander, William, Gillhead, Coniston, fisherman, ‘the only man that ever taught me anything’ according to WG Collingwood’s obit CWAAS vol 33, 308

Allan, Adrian (c.1943-2022), archivist, educ Durham university, BA Modern History, Diploma Archive Administration, Liverpool university, early work at Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, then at Suffolk Record Office, returned to Liverpool to work at the university, archivist there until his retirement in 2008, unmarried, lived at The Golden Fleece, Carleton, Carlisle, joined the CWAAS where he was much appreciated for his considerable contribution to their activities, member of the council, honorary membership secretary 2013-2017, honorary archivist 2017-2022, wrote on Newbiggin Hall CW3 xx 151-56, member of the committee of both the Friends of Carlisle Archive Service and the Cumbria Local History Foundation, wrote biographies of William Nanson (1792-1869), solicitor and town clerk and Henry Lamont Simpson (1897-1918), scholar and poet for Cumbrian Lives during the Covid pandemic; biog Cumbrian Lives

Allan, Thomas (1777-1833), geologist, brother of Jessie Harden of Brathay (John Harden (qv)), discovered Allanite; ODNB; Sarah Holmes Griffiths, Life of Elizabeth Smith (qv) p.309-10

Allen, Colin (19xx-1987), artist and art lecturer, head of fine art at Carlisle College of Art, Stanwix (now part of University of Cumbria), later head of extra mural department, marr Sadie (artist and former senior lecturer in art in north-east), dau (Ceri, artist), of Hethersgill (CuL, 164, June 2012)

Allen, Elizabeth (1803-1850), Methodist preacher, born in Kirkoswald, travelling preacher for Primitive Methodists (CWHS, 34, Autumn 1994, 2-6)

Allen, James (1814-1896), draper and philanthropist, born 1814, son of John Allen (qv), ^^^^ of Bank Top, Kendal, died aged 81 and buried in Parkside cemetery, Kendal, 2 March 1896, left bequest of £10,000 for Technical College in Kendal (opened in old Albert buildings in September 1914)

Allen, John (1790-1872), banker, born at Kirkby Lonsdale, 29 December 1790, manager of Lancashire Banking Company in Kirkby Lonsdale, marr 1st (18xx) Jane (born 25 December 1790, died 14 February 1837), dau of James Carr, of Green Close and his wife Elizabeth (1766-1841), 2 sons (James (qv) and Oswald) and 3 daus (Phebe, Elizabeth and Jane), marr 2nd (183x) Margaret (born in Scotland in 1804), 1 son (John, b.1838/9) and 1 dau (Margaret, b.1840), died 8 January 1872 (email of Suzanne Zeedyk, 06.07.2012)

Allen, Sir John Sandeman (1865-1935), JP, politician and businessman, born 1865, son of John Sandeman Allen (1839-1914), of Rock Ferry, Cheshire, formerly of Kirkby Lonsdale, educ Queen Elizabeth School, Kirkby Lonsdale, General Manager of Union Marine Insurance Co, Chairman, Liverpool Salvage Association, Liverpool Undewriters’ Association, Liverpool Chamber of Commerce, and Marine Insurance Advisory Committee, member of numerous committees, MP for Liverpool West Derby 1924-1935

Allen, Kenneth G (1922-2009), DL, CStJ, army officer, born in August 1922, son of Colonel Basil Allen, educ St Bees School (Foundation South 1936-41, escaped fire in 1940, prefect, capt shooting eight, won senior steeplechase 1939, rugby 1st XV), joined LDV aged 17, enlisted in February 1941, 70th Young Soldiers Bn The Sherwood Foresters, commissioned 1942, instructor at OCTU, volunteered for Commandos 1943, instructor at CTC, served with Royal Marines in Italy, rejoined Foresters after WW2 in BAOR, staff college, Camberley 1951, apptd Brigade Major of Parachute Regt, retnd to Bn as company comdr in BAOR after two years, posted to Cyprus on JIS, served with 1 Bn Foresters in Malaya 1959, OC Depot 1960, Chief of Staff at Army HQ Singapore, Rep on staff of CinC Far East, on Land Air Warfare staff in WO, Lieut-Col, served in office of Military Secretary, MoD from 1972 till early retirement in January 1977, moved to Worcester as Asst Regt Secretary, apptd DL for Worcestershire & Herefordshire 1987 serving for 10 years, marr (April 1956) Wendy, 2 daus (Patricia and Diana), died at home in Somerset, 14 February 2009

Allen, Patricia (Pat) (c.1939-2011), MBE, charity worker, founder member of The Oaklea Trust formed in 1990, member of Westmorland Mencap for over 40 years, raising funds to build and support Sandgate Hydrotherapy Pool in Kendal, awarded Paul Harris Award from Kendal Rotary Club in 1997 for her ‘lifetime of services to the community’, member of board for Fairoak Housing Association, awarded MBE in 2009 for voluntary service to disabled, marr, 1 son (Duncan) and 1 dau (Debbie), who had a learning disability, died at Royal Lancaster Infirmary, 18 May 2011, aged 72, and cremated at Morecambe after service at St George’s church, Kendal, on 2 June (WG, 26.03.2011)

Allen, William Elmund Lawrence MB CM (1865-1950), b. Corsham (N) d. Hawkshead, son of Rev John Allen and Mary Ann Bray, lived Ivy House, Hawkshead, marr Annie Beatrice Henshaw of Liverpool, his son Henry described at his probate  as ‘bee instructor’; Ancestry

Alliluyeva, Svetlana Iosifova (1926-2011), writer, daughter of Joseph Stalin (1878-1953) and his second wife Nadezhda Alliluyeva (1901-1932) (shot herself when her daughter was only six), defected to the USA via the American embassy at Delhi in 1967, denounced her father’s legacy and the then regime, published 20 Letters to a Friend the same year, US citizen in 1978, lived Cambridge with her daughter in 1982-3, returned to Russia disillusioned with the USA saying she had encountered the ‘same idiots and incompetent fools’, she stayed at Isel Hall at some point in the 1990s and offered to be Mary Burkett’s cook (qv)

Allington, Edward (1951-2017), sculptor and writer about sculpture, b. Troutbeck Bridge, Cumbria, son of Ralph Allington and his wife Evelyn, ed Lancaster College of Art, Central School of Art, ex Hayward Gallery 1983,  professor at the Slade; work at Tate and V and A;  Sculpture Journal vol.27.1 [2018], 143; Terry Wyke, Public Sculpture of Manchester, 2004

Allison, Dr (d.1878), 1st medical officer of Barrow-in-Furness, appointed 1871, succ byJohn T. Settle (qv)

Allison, Henry Clifford (Cliff) (1932-2005), Formula 1 driver, born at Brough, son of a garage proprietor, his father and uncle were keen motor cycle racers, Colin Chapman gave him a test drive which led to a period with Lotus from 1958, subsequently he drove for the Scuderia Centro Sud, Ferrari and UDT Leystall teams until 1961 when his legs were injured in an accident, later ran the family garage at Brough and sometimes drove the school bus, a rare example of a school bus being driven by a veteran of Formula 1

Allison, Revd Herbert (1876-1934), BA, clergyman, born in 1876, yr son of Sir Robert Andrew Allison (qv), of Scaleby Hall, Carlisle, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (BA 1898), Sarum College 1898, d 1899 and p 1900 (Sarum), Curate of St Peter, Marlborough 1899-1901, and Whittingham 1901-1905, ^^^ licensed preacher at Caldbeck 1924-1928 and at Crosthwaite 1928-1934, of Scaleby Hall, Carlisle

Allison, Sir Robert Andrew (1838-1926), DL, JP, politician, born 3 March 1838, son of Joseph Allison (d.1842), of Eden Mount, Stanwix, Carlisle, who was son of Robert Allison (d.1844), [wholesale and retail grocer and tea dealer, and tobacco and snuff manufacturer, of English Street (1829)], Carlisle, and his wife (marr 1836) Jane Andrew (d.1890), educ Rugby School and Trinity College, Cambridge, director of Midland Railway, Liberal MP for Eskdale Division of North Cumberland 1885-1900, elected on 24 November 1885 until 1 October 1900, speaking on 37 occasions in the House (inc Irish land question in 1887, County Councils and power  to maintain roads in LG bill in 1888, Royal Commission on laws re fisheries in Solway Firth and discontent with Tweed Fishery Acts in 1895, and accommodation issues in Brook Street and Hurst Street Local Board Schools in Carlisle in 1899), High Sheriff of Cumberland 1908, DL and JP Cumberland, knighted in 1910, marr 1st (1867) Laura Alicia (d.1892), dau of J Milner Atkinson, of Thorp Arch, Yorks, 2 sons (Wilfrid Henry Andrew (1874-1921), d.s.p.m. and v.p., and Herbert (qv)) and 2 daus (Ethel Mary Jane and Laura, wife of H G Slater (killed in action 1918)), marr 2nd (1897) Sarah Eudora, dau of Revd Canon Slater, of Goathland, Bournemouth, member of CWAAS from 1874, author of Essays and Addresses (1913), Belgium in History (1914), Cicero in Old Age (1916), and Translations into English Verse: Greek Anthology (1922), subscriber to Test Karl (CWAAS, 1893), of Scaleby Hall, Carlisle, where he died 15 January 1926, aged 87

Allom, Thomas (1804-1872; ODNB), FRIBA, architect, artist and lithographer, trained as an architect, exhibited for many years at Royal Academy, prepared drawings ‘of great vigour and beauty’ of House of Parliament for Sir Charles Barry, first visited Lake District in 1832 and furnished drawings for series of illustrated works on ‘Cumberland and Westmorland’, ‘Scotland’, ‘Constantinople’, etc, his Westmorland, Cumberland, Durham and Northumberland Illustrated published in several parts in 1832-35, inc drawings of Brougham Castle, Brougham Hall, Brough Castle, Burnshead Hall, Lowther Castle and Park, Skelwith Bridge, and Underley Hall, with descriptions by T Rose, later versions of his engravings incorporated additional features (eg view of Kendal from the Castle shows St George’s church built in 1839-40), and Kendal from Green Bank shows workmen fixing cloth onto wooden tenter-frames, 1834, producing about 1,500 drawings in all, many taken from new vantage points considered inaccessible by other artists, for Fisher’s Picturesque Illustrations of Great Britain and Ireland, watercolour drawing of Honister Crag, 1833 gifted to Wordsworth Trust by WW Spooner Charitable Trust in 2017 (engravings in CRO, WDX 522)

Allonby family, lords of Allonby in 12thc

Allsebrook, George Clarence (1877-19xx), JP, MA, judge, born 12 August 1877, 5th son of William Pole Jones Allsebrook, JP, of Wollaton, Notts, chairman of Cumberland Quarter Sessions 1944-1953, county magistrate for Kendal Division (1938), marr, dau (Julia Anne Pole, b.1929, marr (24 October 1952 at Cartmel) Surgeon Lieut Peter John Horsey, RN (b.1924), son of Captain (S) Frank Lankaster Horsey, RN, of Liphook, Hampshire), of The Green, Cark-in-Cartmel

Almond, Henry N (19xx-19xx), artist, President of The Lake Artists’ Society 1971-1977, 1983-1988 and 1989-1990, teacher at Charlotte Mason College?

Alnwick, Revd F O (18xx-19xx), clergyman, Vicar of Longsleddale, son S/Sergt R O Alnwick accidentally killed in Wales (WG, 10.01.1942)

Alston, J W (17xx-18xx), artist, Scottish watercolour painter, who ‘produced genre watercolours of figures in rustic settings’, friend and follower of David Allan, artist and engraver, left Scotland for London in 1805, author of drawing manual Hints to Young Practitioners in the Study of Landscape Paintings (first published in Edinburgh on 16 May 1804), three pen and ink drawings of Views in the Lake District (‘Skelwith Fold’, ‘Brathay Bridge’ and ‘Langdale Pikes’), which were prepared as teaching aids and depict figure studies from daily life, illustrating the Ideal and the Picturesque as expounded by Revd William Gilpin (qv), sold by auction in February 2012 and acquired by Wordsworth Trust by donation of W W Spooner Charitable Trust (The Messenger, Spring 2013; Julian Halsby, Scottish Watercolours 1740-1940)

Altounyan, Barbara, see Stephens

Altounyan, Dorothy Susie (Dora) (nee Collingwood) (1886-1964), artist, born in 1886, eldest dau of W G Collingwood (qv), known as ‘Beatle’ to family, educ at home, Cope’s School of Art, Dept of Fine Art, University of Reading 1902-1904, Art Master’s Certificate 1910, studied painting in Paris 1910-1912, proposed to by Arthur Ransome before she marr (1916) Dr Ernest H L Altounyan (qv), 1 son and 4 daus, living with family in Aleppo, Syria and painting in Syria, Lebanon, etc 1919-1939, visited in Aleppo by Arthur Ransome in 1932 where he wrote much of Peter Duck, worked in censorship in Jerusalem during WW2 1940-1945, and returning to Aleppo after War 1946-1956, member of CWAAS from 1928 to 1945, back at Lanehead, Coniston from 1958 until her death, aged 78, and buried at Coniston, 25 November 1964 (paintings at Abbot Hall Art Gallery, Kendal, and letters in CRO, WD/WGC), Marshall Hall, 17

Altounyan, Ernest Haig Liddle (1889-1962), surgeon, born in 1889, son of Arram Assadour Altouyan and Harriet Riddell (Irish), his father established innovative hospital in Aleppo in 1890s, educ Rugby School and Emmanuel College, Cambridge, became friend of Robin Collingwood at school and spent holidays at Coniston, where he learnt to sail, medical school in London, served WW1 with RAMC (wounded in France 1917), marr (1916) Dorothy Susie (Dora) (qv), eldest dau of W G Collingwood (qv), 1 son (Roger, qv) and 4 daus (Barbara Taqui, (qv) sub Stephens, Susie, Mavis (Titty)  (qv) sub Guzelian and Brigit, (qv) sub Sanders), children being modelled by Arthur Ransome (qv) for Walker family in ‘Swallows and Amazons’ books, qualified as surgeon 1919 and joined his father at Altounyan Hospital in Aleppo Syria until WW2 in 1939, served in Army based in Jerusalem 1940-1945, political adviser to C-in-C Middle East and later with Glub Pasha in Jordan, Head of Altounyan Hospital 1950-1956 (joined by his son, Roger, with German wife), returned to Lanehead, Coniston (which he had bought after death of WGC), where he died aged 72, and buried at Coniston, 17 March 1962 (letters in CRO, WD/WGC); said to have known TE Lawrence

Altounyan, Norah Mavis Araxi, see Guzelian

Altounyan, Roger Ernest Collingwood (1922-1987), MRCP, MB, BCh, medical pioneer and ‘Swallows and Amazons’ model, born in Aleppo, Syria, 1922, only son and 4th child of Ernest and Dora Altounyan (qv), spent summer holidays sailing on Coniston with his sisters, meeting Arthur Ransome (qv) in 1928, asthma sufferer, joined RAF in 1940, trained as fighter pilot in Rhodesia, then instructor back in England, after demob took up place to do medical training at Emmanuel College, Cambridge (MB 1957, BChir 1956), MRCP London (1974), at Middlesex Hospital before marr a German and going out to join father at family hospital in Aleppo, returned to England in 1956 and joined pharmaceutical company, determined to find a cure for asthma, working for next ten years in his own time, testing compounds on himself and inducing asthma attacks two or three times a week with a brew of guinea pig hair, to which he was allergic, with result that compound 670, sodium cromoglycate, is now used widely to prevent attacks of allergic asthma and rhinitis, also invented Spinhaler device to inhale the drug (based on aircraft propellers), of 2 Stanneylands Road, Wilmslow, Cheshire (1976), died in 1987

Alverston [Ulverston? also Ullerston (qv)], Stephen de (fl. early 13th cent), abbot of Furness, Worthies of Westminster ed G. Atkinson 1849 [2 vols]

Ambrose, Revd John (d.1684), BD, rector of Grasmere, senior fellow of St John’s College, Cambridge, of Lowick (in family since marriage of John Ambrose to Isabel, dau of William Towers of Lowick, temp Henry VI)

Anderson, Anne Mary Angus, Mrs Swailes (1926-1999), artist, born in Finchley, north London, in 1926, 2nd of four children, brother Stewart and sister Jean, family with strong Scottish roots, brought up in St Albans, educ Edinburgh College of Art, inspired by tutors there inc John Maxwell and William Gillies, diploma in painting and drawing (1947) and certificate as art teacher (1948), returned to Scotland many times over rest of her life to draw and paint, moved to Kirkby Stephen in 1949 to teach art and needlework at Kirkby Stephen Grammar School for Girls, marr (1955) Alec Swailes (d.1992), history teacher at school, 3 sons (Robert (d.1982), Thomas and James) and 2 daus (Katharine and Janet) all born between 1957 and 1966, shared love for landscape and villages of Upper Eden valley, had passion for wild flowers and developed wonderful garden at their home at 1 North Road, Kirkby Stephen, never without her sketchbook, recording dozens of local scenes with her distinctive line drawings, complementing Alec’s history of the Grammar School, prepared for the celebration of the 400th anniversary of its foundation in 1966, and did many drawings of town in their later book on Kirkby Stephen (1985), exhibited in open, group and solo shows over more than fifty years, inc Abbot Hall, Oddfellows Gallery and Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal, Castlegate Gallery, Cockermouth, Pendragon Gallery, Kirkby Stephen, The Scar Gallery, Ravenstonedale, Theatre in Forest, Grizedale, and Wetheriggs Pottery, Penrith, also exhibited with Cumbrian Artists, Lake Artists, Scottish Society of Artists and Scottish Society of Women Artists, with retrospective of her paintings at Oddfellows Contemporary Art, Kendal (14 May-30 June 1999), died early in 1999

Anderson, Joshua (1791-1846), surgeon of Carlisle and sculptor, probably b. Wigton, involved with the Carlisle Academy; Marshall Hall,1

Anderson, Lionel JP, Westmorland; Gaskell, C and W Leaders, c.1910

Anderson, Robert (1770-1833; ODNB), poet, weaver in Carlisle, author of Ballads in the Cumberland Dialect (1805); his work edited by Thomas Ellwood (qv) as Anderson’s Ballads and Songs (1904); Keith Gregson, ‘The Cumbrian Bard: An Anniversary Reflection’, Folk Music Journal, vol 4 no 4 [1983], 333-65; Sue Allan, The Cumberland Bard, 2020

Anderson, William (1757-1837), painter, watercolours of Patterdale and other lake scenes inserted in 4 volumes of History of Cumberland and Westmorland Illustrated (for Lord Lonsdale?) (copies in CRO, WDY 466)

Anderton, Sir Charles, 2nd Bt (16xx-1xxx), landowner, eldest son of Sir Francis Anderton, 1st Bt, marr dau of - Ireland, of Lidiate, Lancs, 4 sons (Charles, James, Lawrence (d. s.p. 1724) and Francis (d. s.p. 1760), successively 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th Baronets), Kendal Castle estate passing eventually to his 3rd son, Sir Lawrence Anderton, 5th Bt, a monk who sold them to John Huggins in 1723 (RK, iii, 47-48) and died in London, 30 September 1724 compounded with Lord Molyneux and Sir William Gerrard (letter to Sir Daniel Fleming, 24 July 1681, in CRO, WD/Ry/ HMC 2434), one of twelve put into commission of the peace for Lancashire before Lent Assizes in 1686-87 (loc cit, HMC 3080)  

Anderton, Sir Francis, 1st Bt (c.1628-1678), landowner, son of Christopher Anderton (d. c.1650), of Lostock, Lancs, by his 2nd wife, Alathea, dau of Sir Francis Smith, of Wolston Waven, Warwicks, aged 36 at Dugdale’s visitation in 1664, marr (16xx) Elizabeth, dau of Sir Charles Somerset (2nd son of Edward, Earl of Worcester), sons (eldest, Charles, qv), qualified (with annual income of £1,000 in Lancashire) to be made a Knight of the Royal Oak in 1660, created a baronet on 8 October 1677, acquired Kendal Castle and some parklands temp Charles II [passing eventually to his grandson, Sir Lawrence Anderton, 5th Bt, a monk who sold them to John Huggins in 1723 (RK, iii, 47-48) and died in London, 30 September 1724], died at Paris, 9 February 1678, and buried in the English Benedictine church there (MI), and succ by his eldest son, Charles (qv)

Anderton, James of Clayton, Lancs, royalist, lands sequestrated, marr. Dorothy (d. 1627), dau and coheir of Nicholas Bardsey (qv), acquiring manor of Bardsea, but family had sold it by 1705 to Lord Molyneux (qv)

Andover, Lord, see Howard

Andrew, Revd Thomas (18xx-18xx), MA, clergyman, MA Cantab, incumbent of Firbank 1847-1849

Andrews, James, MD, built Brathay Fell at end of 19th century

Angell, Revd Charles (18xx-1913), clergyman, d 1853 (Jam) and p 1856 (Kingston), Missionary at Portland 1853-1856, Curate of Lime, Savannah 1856-1863, and Porus 1863-1868 (all in Jamaica), All Saints and St Martin, Chichester 1869-1871, Addingham (C) 1871-1873, and Silverstone, Northants 1873, PC of Firbank 1873-1913 (succ Richard Hathornthwaite, qv), son (Edgar Bromford died aged 4 months and buried 17 September 1879), died at the Parsonage, aged 82, and buried at Firbank, 10 January 1913

Anstruther, Sir John, 4th and 1st Bt (1753-1811; ODNB), PC, KC, DCL, MP, judge and politician, born at Elie House, Elie, Fife, 27 March 1753, 2nd son of Sir John Anstruther, 2nd Bt, of Anstruther (1718-1799) and his wife Janet (1727-1802), dau of James Fall, MP, merchant, of Dunbar, educ Glasgow University (matric 1772, studied law under Prof John Millar), admitted to Lincoln’s Inn in 1774 and called to bar in 1779, practised in Scottish appeals before House of Lords, marr (14 August 1784, at St Marylebone church, Marylebone, London) Jane Maria Isabella (died 14 June 1833), dau of Edward Brice, of Berners Street, London, 3 sons (John (later Carmichael-Anstruther, 5th and 2nd Bt, d.1818), Windham (later Carmichael-Anstruther, 7th and 4th Bt, d.1869), and Alexander (d.young)) and 1 dau (Marianne (d.1859), who marr (1828) her cousin, James Anstruther, WS), succ his father as MP for Anstruther Easter burghs in 1783 to 1790, 1796-1797, and again 1806-1811, MP for Cockermouth 1790-1796, chief justice of north Wales great sessions 1793-1797, solicitor-general to Prince of Wales 1793-1795, supporter of Fox and leading opposition spokesman on East India affairs from 1784, taking prominent part in impeachment of Warren Hastings, but parted with Fox over policy on French Revolution, apptd Chief Justice of Supreme Court of Judicature in Bengal and knighted in 1797, created baronet in own right, 18 May 1798 (GB), commended by Wellesley, governor-general, for his judicial wisdom, retired from bench and returned to England in 1806, sworn of Privy Council but refused subsequent offers of ministerial office, succ his elder brother, Sir Philip Anstruther-Paterson, 3rd Bt, in Scottish baronetcy in 1808, made doctor of civil law by Oxford University in 1810, died at his house in Albemarle Street, London, 26 January?/June 1811, and buried in undercroft beneath chapel at Lincoln’s Inn

Anthony, Egeon (1575-1637; ODNB), cleric,

Anthony, James, servant to Giules family temp. American revolution, tombstone cathedral yard, was he of African origin ?

Appleby, Edmund (d.1698), of Askerton, bought Kirklinton Hall from Sir Edward Musgrave  (qv) in 1661, marr, son (Joseph, qv), died in 1698

Appleby, Maria (nee Gilpin) (1689-1769), see Captain John Bernard Gilpin in DCB

Appleby, Roger de (d.1404), bishop in Ireland, native of Appleby?, Prior of Nuneaton before being provided to bishopric of Ossory, province of Dublin, 26 September 1400, temp 3 January 1401 and lib 6 April 1401, but resigned in October 1402

Appleby, Thomas (fl.14thc), bishop of Carlisle 1363-1395

Appleby, Joseph Dacre-, (1690-1729), son of Joseph Appleby (d.1705, aged 46) and his wife (marr 1686) Dorothy (d.1698), dau of Henry Dacre (qv), of Lanercost, and half-sister and coheir of James Dacre, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1724, adopted use of additional name of Appleby, marr, son (Joseph (qv) sub Dacre)

Archer, Dr (d.1735) MB, of Aykriggs near Kendal who bequeathed a moiety of the Aykriggs property to charity.

Archer, Francis William (18xx-1950), solicitor, of Oxton, Birkenhead, and Eller Close, Grasmere, marr (1901) Annie, dau of David MacIver (qv), of Wanlass How, Ambleside, 2 daus (er dau June marr Brig Gordon Hutchinson Osmaston, MC, RE, of Lakeings, Grasmere)

Archer, George (16xx-16xx), nonconformist, cordwainer of Kirkland in Kendal, hosted gathering of Independents at his house on 23 January 1669/70, “one very active in the late rebellion and still a stif nonconformist” (DF to Sir JW, letter of 9 February 1670), brought before QS on 15 April 1670 and fined 20s. for “riotose, routose et illicite conciones” (RK III, 85-86)= ?George Archer, poss =George son of late William Archer, apprenticed to Francis Hunter, cordwainer, in 1635?, cordwainer (sworn free 20 April 1648), took on apprentice (Stephen, son of Robert Mitchell, of Kirkland) in 1645, ordered to “provide a gown like the rest of the Aldermen’s gowns against Saturday come sennight if there be materials for the same within the towne” on 23 September 1655, Alderman (sworn 17 September 1655) and Mayor of Kendal in 1658-59 (sworn October 1658), died ? (BoR, 19, 20, 25, 66, 173, 270, 273)

Archer, John (fl 17th c), of Oxenholme, MD, in 1686 his daughter m Bishop William Nicolson of Carlisle (1655-1727) (qv)

Archer, John (d.1682), JP, mercer and mayor, mercer freeman (sworn 7 October 1635), took on apprentices in 1640 (Robert, son of late Samuel Jackson, of Ambleside) and in 1642 (Thomas, son of Edwar Jackson), Alderman (sworn 23 September 1644) and Mayor of Kendal 1648-49 (sworn 2 October 1648), senior Alderman in 1654 and Justice, wrote (with his fellow alderman, Gervase Benson (qv), to the House of Commons in 1650 pointing out that a large section of Kendal corporation had not subscribed to Oath of Engagement, which resulted in directive removing royalist members from office, bought lands for sums totalling £928 10s. between 1644 and 1664 (using his captain’s pay?), disclaimed at 1665 visitation, but still raised family’s prestige socially (see son’s marriage), of Kendal and Oxenholme, buried at Kendal, 22 May 1682 (BoR, 18, 19, 24, 60, 271-72; ECW, ii, 896~961; CBP, ‘Colonel Gervase Benson, Captain John Archer and the corporation of Kendal, c.1644-c.1655’ in Soldiers, Writers and Statesmen of the English Revolution, ed Ian Gentles and others, CUP (1998), 183-201)

Archer, John (16xx-1735), MD, JP, son of John Archer (qv), Mayor of Kendal 1706-07, marr 2nd (28 January 1723 at Muncaster) Elizabeth, eldest dau of Sir William Pennington (qv), of Muncaster (she marr 2nd Thomas Strickland (qv), of Sizergh), died at Oxenholme, 4 December 1735 (memorial marble slab in Parr chapel of Kendal Holy Trinity church) (BoR, 26)

Archibald, Charles Dickson (1802-1868), DL, JP, FRS, FSA, born at Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada, 31 October 1802, eldest son of the Hon Samuel George William Archibald (1777-1846), LLD, of Truro [Archibald family from co Londonderry was one of earliest settlers in Colchester County, Nova Scotia, from 1750, moving to Truro in 1762], and Elizabeth (d. May 1830), dau of Charles Dickson, of Onslow, NS, marr (16 September 1832) Bridget (d.1880), only child and heiress of Myles Walker, of Rusland Hall, thereby acquiring Rusland Hall estate, 4 sons and 4 daus, employed James Nelson as his bailiff and land steward who occupied Rusland Hall itself (1851), died 12 September 1868

Archibald, Charles William (1838-1893), JP, MICE, born at Truro, NS, Canada, 20 July 1838, eldest son of C D Archibald (qv), succ father in 1868 at Rusland Hall, marr (7 April 1864) Isabel, 2nd dau of Robert Falcon, MD, of Whitehaven, 1 son and 1 dau, died 3 March 1893

Arden, Edward, (1847-1910), artist; see Tucker

Argles, Frank Atkinson (1816-1885; DCB), DL, JP, landowner, of Eversley, Milnthorpe, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1872, financed rebuilding of Crosthwaite church in 1877-78 (architect J Bintley), with assistance of his brother, Revd Marsham Argles, Canon of Peterborough, and of parishioners, and also rebuilding of tower and recasting of bells in 1885, and reredos erected in memory of his widow, President of Westmorland and Kendal District Agricultural Society in 1870, marr Susannah (died 11 July 1895, aged 70), died 6 February 1885, aged 68, and buried at Heversham, 9 February (papers in CRO, WDX 1163)

Argles, George (c.1774-1868), Captain, RN, widow Jane (nee Atkinson) died 31 December 1868, aged 95, and buried at Heversham

Argles, George Marsham (1841-1920), MA, clergyman, born 12 July 1841, son of the Revd Marsham Argles, rector of St Clement’s and canon of York, of Howbarrow, Heversham (1914), died 22 February 1920, his widow Mary Ann (born 28 June 1850), continued living at Howbarrow (1921, 1938), died 18 January 1958

Argles, Marsham, (1814-1891), dean of Peterborough, his son lived Heversham

Argles, Martin Somervell (19xx-2011), CVO, marr Sylvia, died 6 March 2011, aged 85 (WG, 16.03.2011)

Argles, Thomas Atkinson (1859-1923; DCB), DL, JP, MA, landowner, born in Kendal, son of F A Argles (qv), of Eversley, Milnthorpe, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1891, DL (apptd in August 1890) and JP Westmorland 1884, County Councillor, Westmorland 1889- and County Alderman from 1917, Diocesan Lay Reader, manager and benefactor of schools and hospitals and many local institutions, President, South Westmorland Conservative Association, Captain of ‘G’ company, Border Regt of Volunteers, retd as Major 1911, Secretary of Milnthorpe and District Art and Industrial Exhibition (1891-92), Treasurer, CWAAS from 1908 and member 1879, educ Christ Church, Oxford, called to Bar, Lincoln’s Inn 1883, succ father at Eversley 1885, marr Agnes (died 9 May 1923, aged 57), sister of Mary Wakefield (who formed a Choral Union comprised of existing societies in Levens, Leasgill, Milnthorpe and Beetham (later Eversley) in 1900, with herself as secretary), died 21 July 1923 (memorial west window in St Peter’s church, Heversham; Crosthwaite MI); (Hubert Davys Argles (1879-1968) and wife Sibell (1892-1968) – Crosthwaite church lych gate dedication stone in their memory)

Arkwright, Sophia (1841-1929), benefactress, born Bodenham 1841, dau of Henry Arkwright (1811-1889) and great great granddaughter of the industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright (1732-1792; ODNB) ‘father of the factory system and developer of the spinning frame’, unmarried, lived at Eggerslack House in 1901, funded the parish hall at Grange-over-Sands and laid the foundation stone during the incumbency of the Rev Ivor Farrar (qv), her sister married XXXX and lived at Merlewood, near Grange, another sister Henrietta was unmarried

Armes, Revd George Benjamin [fl.late 19thc.], Vicar of Cleator 1870-1905 (Vicarage, Church Room and caretaker’s house all built and church restored during his incumbency), Rural Dean of Whitehaven

Armistead, Wilson (also known as Lorenzo Tuvar), [1819-1868] merchant and author,  quaker abolitionist, lived Leeds and est the Leeds Anti Slavery Association, author of  Tales and Legends of the English Lakes (1852), The Flora of Liverpool and Calumny Refuted by Facts from Liberia, also ms vol “Sketches amongst the English Lakes & Mountains; with their Legends & Associations, including the District from Lancaster to the Borders”, with prints of local scenes [1840s-1852] (CRO, WDX 1077)

Armitage, Elijah (1826-1910), JP, landowner, born Salford, son of Sir Alkanah Armitage [1794-1876], mayor of Manchester, and his wife Mary Lomax Bowers, lived High House, Stainton, Kendal from before 1871, he married Hannah Llewellyn Johnson, seven children

Armitage, William (fl.1744-1761), steward of manor of Preston Richard (for Henry, Viscount Lowther, then Sir James Lowther), 1744, 1753, 1767, and of manor of Casterton 1747

Armitstead, Richard (17xx-18xx), clergyman, Whitehaven, marr (1796) Agnes, dau of William Lewthwaite, of Broadgate, Millom, 12 children (Richard (qv), William (bapt 29 May 1799), Mary (bapt 15 November 1800), John (born 29 December 1801 and bapt 22 March 1802), Margaret (born 15 January 1807 and bapt 18 March), Agnes (born 4 April 1809) and Joseph (born  22 August 1810, both bapt 19 October 1810), Margaret (born 12 November 1811 and bapt 19 May), Isabella (bapt 18 December 1814), and Frances (bapt 19 February 1815)), Vicar of St James, Whitehaven 1790-1821, of Queen Street, Whitehaven (CW2, lxv, 374-380; lxxii, 338-339)

Armitstead, Richard (1797-1859), solicitor, bapt at Whitehaven St James, 22 December 1797 (and privately on 11 November), son and eldest of 12 children of Revd Richard Armitstead (qv), educ St Bees School (entd 1811), admitted solicitor 1820, practised in Whitehaven until his death,  also clerk to Whitehaven magistrates, clerk to Governors of St Bees School, secretary of Whitehaven Infirmary, a director and secretary of Whitehaven Joint Stock Bank, lived at Lythmore, near his practice at 42 Queen Street, Whitehaven, later moved to Moresby, kept journal of his visit to Dominica in West Indies in 1826 to complete sale of his mother’s  Lewthwaite client’s plantation called Check Hall, arriving at Roseau on 21 April 1826, concluded sale, set sail to return on 14 July and arrived at Gravesend on 7 August, marr (1829) Caroline, dau of John Morland (qv), of Capplethwaite, no children, died in London, 19 May 1859 and buried in Brompton cemetery (CW2, lxxvii, 157-159)

Armitt, Mary Louisa (Louie) (1851-1911; ODNB), polymath, author and founder of Armitt Library, Ambleside, born at Salford, Aug-Dec 1851, yst dau of William Armitt (1815-1867) an impecunious assistant overseer and his wife Mary (nee Whalley), teacher with her sisters Sophia (qv) and Annie Maria (qv sub Harris) in school at Eccles, became authority on natural history and antiquities of Ambleside district, writing many articles on local history and nature study in Lake District for newspapers and magazines, despite weak state of health, member of CWAAS from 1901, joined with H S Cowper (qv) in recovery of old Bible of John Bell and other curates of Ambleside in 17th century (CW2, vii, 143-148), contributed two important articles to Transactions on ‘Ambleside Town and Chapel’ (CW2, vi, 1-96) and ‘The Fullers and Freeholders of the Parish of Grasmere’ (CW2, viii, 136-205), and shorter paper on ‘The Luking Tongs, their meaning and use’ (CW2, xi, 190-201), painstaking and accurate researcher, keen ornithologist and contributed report on birds of Lake District in opening chapter of W G Collingwood’s The Lake Counties (1902), which was later revised by Arthur Astley (qv) in new edition of 1932, and ‘The Birds of Rydal’ in the The Naturalist, 1 August 1902 (her observations made between 1887 and 1901, which later appeared as an appendix in Rydal, pp.706-722), but her major works published separately after her death, The Church of Grasmere (1912) and Rydal (1916), edited for publication by W F Rawnsley (qv), died at Rydal Cottage, 31 July 1911, aged 59, and buried at Ambleside, 2 August, probate of will, 10 November 1911 (£5821-10-5), by which she left her own and sister Sophia’s books to form students’ library in Ambleside (opened as Armitt Library in November 1912, and joined by existing Ruskin Library in Ambleside for 30 years, with balance of funds from old Ambleside Book Society) (portrait by Fred Yates and all three sisters in Armitt Collection) (CW2, xii, 437-38); unpublished biography by Mrs AM Harris ms at Armitt Museum

Armitt, Sophia (1847-1908), botanist and painter, born at Salford, 30 November 1847, eldest dau of William Armitt, teacher with her sisters Mary Louisa (qv) and Annie Maria (qv sub Harris) in school at Eccles, leased Borwick Lodge above Hawkshead with sister Louie 1886, before moving to Rydal, keen student of natural history and antiquities, painted local scenes, contributed papers to a botanical society, her notes on flowers reprinted in Parents Review (ed. Charlotte Mason) between December 1911 and December 1912, promoter of educational enterprises in neighbourhood, member of CWAAS from 1901, unmarried, died at Rydal Cottage, 12 June 1908, aged 60, and buried at Ambleside, 16 June (CW2, ix, 336)

Armstrong, A M (c.1905-2000), co-author (with A Mawer, F M Stenton, & Bruce Dickins) of The Place-Names of Cumberland (EPNS, 1971), died in London, 11 April 2000, aged 95

Armstrong, Archie (d.1672), court jester to James I and Charles I, probably b. Arthuret, encountered the king prior to his hanging, made him laugh and was reprieved, lived in London, returned and bought land at Arthuret where he died and is buried; A.Armstrong, A Banquet of Jests and Merry Tales, 1630

Armstrong, Frederick (c.1866-1940), hotelier, proprietor of the George Hotel, Penrith, chair UDC when the castle bought and park established, owner of racehorses

Armstrong, George Frederick (1842-1900), MA, FRSE, MInstCE, civil engineer, b. Doncaster, Regius Professor at University of Edinburgh, also of New University Club, St James’s Street, London, and of St Oswalds, Grasmere (county and parochial elector from 1878), died aged 58 and buried in Grasmere cemetery, 16 November 1900

Armstrong, James (1814-1893), artist and photographer, born in Scotland in 1814, marr (September 1847 at Dornock Brow, near Annan) Agnes (born 1827), only dau of Ballantyne Ferguson, of Gretna Green (CJ), 2 sons (John, b.1859, and David, b. c.1863) and 1 dau (Elizabth, b.1852), listed as a portrait painter at Eden Terrace, Stanwix, in 1850 and then at Ruleholme in 1858, also animal painter (presented painting of the Brampton Harriers to John Ramshaw, their master, in 1858), described “as a painter of human subjects his work is characterised by lack of life and stiffness and is altogether amateurish”, though his paintings of animals show “some skill and talent”, and “the only man in England who can paint a greyhound” (1891), moved to Aglionby by 1863 where he lived for the rest of his life, turned to photography in 1864 by advertising in the CJ as a “portrait painter of Aglionby he will attend in person daily at the Mechanics’ Hall, Fisher Street, to take cartes de visite portraits and practise photography in all its branches”, moved his photographic gallery to Brampton in 1866, away as a lodger in Bolton at time of 1871 census (with his family at Aglionby), his picture of the otter hound ‘Corby’ and a dead otter described as “well sketched” (CJ, September 1875), involved in case against Charles Wannop of Langley Hall in 1881 for payment of his painting of a grey mare, turned to lithography by 1882 and so able to produce multiple prints of winning racehorses and coursing greyhounds, died in 1893, leaving only £21 11s., which paid for his burial at Gretna (CN, 09.06.2017)

Armstrong, John (16xx-1698), BD, clergyman, probably from Armstrong family of Lanercost, curate of Cartmel 1665-1698, a King’s Preacher from 1693, neither an iconoclastic puritan nor a secret papist, but best type of Caroline priest, author of Secret and Family Prayers… for the use of…the Inhabitants of Cartmel (1677) and The Soul’s Worth and Danger, or a Discourse…upon St Mat.16, 26 (1677), new vestry built in 1677 in place of old sacristy, where Thomas Preston’s books were housed, buried in Cartmel Priory, 5 September 1698, “A pious Reverend Minister of this parish, above 33 years” (slab on floor of sanctuary) (E Axon, TLCAS (1941/2), lvi, 99-103)

Armstrong, Joseph (1816-1877), engineer, b. Bewcastle, locomotive engineer, brother George also engineer

Armstrong, Rt Rev Mervyn (1906-1984), of Glen Brathay, ed Balliol, chaplain archbishop of Canterbury, provost of Leicester, bishop of Jarrow, marr Barbara Glencairn Newborne (nee Stokes) dau of the Rev Cosby Hudleston Stokes (1881-1932) and widow of Robert Newborne

Armstrong, R S (18xx-19xx), local councillor and politician, railway clerk, member of Cumberland County Council, leader of Labour group on Whitehaven Borough Council (member from 1926), treasurer of Whitehaven Divisional Labour Party and Borough Labour Party, contested Lonsdale Division in 1935 general election (second with 6,946 votes)

Armstrong, Robert Ward, (1862-1956), racehorse trainer, born Penrith, worked for the 5th earl of Lonsdale (qv) for fifty years, his granddaughter Susan married Lester Piggott (qv)

Armstrong, Thomas (Tucker) (1930-2017), farmer, born in 1930, one of five sons and four daus of William Armstrong (d.1966), of Sceugh Dyke, Calthwaite, near Penrith, and his wife Annie, educ Calthwaite village school and Grosvenor College, Carlisle, started work on family farm, a mixed livestock operation with beef cattle and sheep, and then in partnership with his father until his death in 1966, marr (1957) Miriam Sisson, of Catterlen, 4 sons (Stuart, Thomas (decd), Bryan and Ian) and 2 daus (Elizabeth and Lyn), became a regular client at Longtown mart from mid 1960s to 1990s, selling both high quality prime cattle and sheep, inc Scottish blackface and Cheviot, helped to design two sheep shedders and assisted many farmers in sorting their sheep prior to sale, appointed to board of directors of Cumberland & Dumfriesshire Farmers’ Mart in April 1961 and became chairman in June 1990, retiring in 2011 after overseeing the continued expansion of its premises, always an enthusiastic supporter of the mart and the farming community, served on organising committee of Skelton Show for 40 years and former president, president of Cumberland County Show in 1995, awarded Blamire Medal for his services to agriculture in 2004, served on Calthwaite parish council and as governor of village school, sports day committee and children’s treat committee for about 60 years, died at Longtown Mart, 4 October 2017, aged 87, funeral at All Saints Church, Calthwaite, and cremated at Carlisle, 22 November (CN, 24.11.2017)

Armstrong, William (aka Kinmont Willie) (c.1550-c.1610), border reiver and outlaw, lived at the tower of Sark, built by his father near the English-Scots border and named after the adjacent river Sark, following various exploits attended by his 300 men who were known as ‘Kinmont’s bairns’ he was considered one of the three most infamous (or celebrated) border reivers, by the 1590s he was the most wanted man in the region, captured in 1596 at a day of truce by Thomas Salkeld and 200 men (some versions give Sir Thomas Scrope), taken in chains to be imprisoned in Carlisle castle, soon broken out by Walter Scott of Buccleuch (the ‘bold Buccleuch’ who was annoyed by this violation of the customary day of truce), this event nearly kindled war between England and Scotland and threatened the succession of James VI of Scotland (James I), in 1600 he attacked the village of Scotby with 140 raiders and his last foray was said to have been south of Carlisle in 1602, he probably died between 1608-11, his tomb may have been identified at Morton Kirk near his tower of Sark, his sword is said to be the one at Annan Museum; post obit he appeared in Walter Scott’s Minstrelsy of the Scottish Borders, vol 1, 1802, the ballad Kinmont Willie in FJ Child, Ballads, 1882-1898, no 186, and George McDonald Fraser’s Steel Bonnets, 1989

Armstrong, William (1778-1857), b.Wreay, clerk in office of Losh, Lubbrin and Co, became partner in firm which became Armstrong and Co merchants, founder of Newcastle Natural History Society; Boase 1 167

Armstrong, William Barton (18xx-1908), organist and music teacher, organist and choirmaster at Kendal parish church for nearly 30 years, Kendal Choral Society, retired in 1900 with vicar’s appreciation: “His influence in the town was always for good and his numerous acts of sympathy and generosity in gifts given wisely and well will not be forgotten…His advice was always careful and honest and exercised a moderating effect at a critical time of change in some ways from the ‘old order’ to which he may well be supposed to have been warmly attached” (Canon Trench), with one of curates, Revd Arthur Moss, occupying seat at console until appointment of William Granger, of 93 Highgate, Kendal (1885), died 16 December 1908 (probate of will, Carlisle, 19 February 1909) (CRO, WDSo 54/ acc 9297; GPK, 118)

Arnison family of Penrith, Nathan Arnison established (in 1831) and ran a draper’s shop (later Nathan Arnison and Sons) which business flourished for several generations, the family also included several generations of solicitors

Arnison, Thomas (1836-1xxx), hotel proprietor and cattle dealer, born in Bongate, Appleby in 1836 [no bapt in Appleby St M], marr Mary Anne, 2 daus (Caroline and Margaret), first had an inn in Kendal before opening Croglin Castle Hotel in Kirkby Stephen (built c.1875 of brick, prob first such building in town), ran hotel for over ten years with wife and daughters, providing luxury suite accommodation on first floor for new railway tourists visiting Stenkrith waterfalls, Rockery and Pleasure Grounds at Jubilee Park, also specialised in Market Day home cooked meals for Auction Mart customers (opened in 1875), also cattle dealer and farmer (1885, 1894) of Station Road (1897), ‘Madame Arnison’ was celebrated by Poet Close qv

Arnold, Harry (18xx-1907), solicitor, son of Nicholas Arnold, gent, marr (20 April 1864, at Holy Trinity, Kendal) Mary Susan (b.1840), dau and only child of Dr Thomas Gough (qv), surgeon, solicitor with Arnold Greenwood, Kendal, steward of manor of Beetham 1875, 1880, 1887, a director of Hodbarrow Mining Company from 1870 (and a large shareholder), one of Conservators for Westmorland apptd by CC for Kent, Bela, Winster Leven & Duddon Fishery District (1894), of Aikrigg End, Kendal, later of Arnbarrow, Milnthorpe, died 24 August 1907 (papers in CRO, WD/AG/ boxes 94-95)

Arnold, Matthew (1822-88; ODNB), poet, son of Thomas Arnold (qv), educ Rugby and Balliol, many holidays in the Lakes at Fox How, Rydal, built  1832 by his father

Arnold, Patience (1901-1992), artist and illustrator, , established a Dolls Museum at Prospect House, Ambleside; Renouf, born in West Riding, Yorks, lived in St Annes until 1968, when she moved to Ambleside, trained at Harris Art School in Preston on county scholarship, did craft work and worked on children’s page of old Daily Dispatch, engaged by a London art agency and worked mainly on greetings cards, also added textile design to her range, working for a Manchester design studio, elected member of Manchester Academy of Fine Arts in 1930s, won open competition for mural in children’s waiting room at St Mary’s Hospital, Manchester in 1937 (Heywood silver medal), exhibited at RBA prior to 1939, gave up most of her commercial work on coming to Ambleside to paint and collect dolls and dolls’ houses, exhibited at Anvil Gallery, Cartmel (watercolours of Wild Flowers in 1975).

Arnold, Thomas (1795-1842; ODNB), headmaster and historian, Headmaster of Rugby School, built Fox How, Ambleside in 1833, friend of Wordsworth; dau Frances tutored in German and yr dau Susanna (marr John Cropper in 1853) befriended by Ferdinand Eber (qv)

Arthur, James (1791-1877), bookseller and Chartist, sold books in Carlisle, though enfranchised in 1832 he voted once then refused to vote again as the vote was not for all men, agent of the Northern Star and Northern Liberator, printed Chartist handbills, friend of Joseph Broom Hanson (qv), chaired Chartist meetings, arrested in 1842, ‘a pure and honest patriot’; Gildart and Howell eds, Dictionary of Labour Biography, vol xv, see biographies

Arthur, King (supp. fl. in or before 6th cent; ODNB), legendary warrior and supposed king of Britain, obscure origins, said to be the son of Uther Pendragon qv, but well known from 12th century onwards with success of Geoffrey of Monmouth’s History of the Kings of Britain; part of Cumbrian folklore as well as in Cornwall and Wales, with suggestion that his last battle of ‘Camlen’ took place near Camboglana, now Birdoswald, on Hadrian’s Wall and that Pendragon Castle in Mallerstang was legendary seat of his father, Uther; Tennyson’s Morte d’Arthur (1842) thought to have been inspired by visit to Bassenthwaite in 1835 when he stayed with James Spedding (qv) at Mirehouse; King Arthur’s Round Table, a late Neolithic-early Bronze Age earthwork near Eamont Bridge, has no connection with Arthur, though mentioned by Sir Walter Scott in his The Bridal of Triermain (1813)

Asby (de Askeby), Sir Robert (fl.mid 13thc), sheriff of Westmorland c.1243-1246, MP for Westmorland 1258

Asby (de Askeby), Sir Robert (fl.late 13th-early 14thc), son of above, knighted 1297, MP for Westmorland 1302 and 1313, dau Margaret marr Sir Hugh de Moresby (qv)

Ascroft, Sir William (1832-1916), JP, of The Wyke, Grasmere, also of Overleigh House, Preston, supported formation of Lake District Association (letter of 10 April 1878 to F M T Jones, being unable to attend first meeting, but it ‘may be the means of doing great good to the District’, in CRO, WDX 269)

Ascroft, Sir William Fawell (1876-1954), DL, JP, MA, son of Sir William Ascroft (qv), high sheriff of Lancashire 1943, of The Wyke, Grasmere, marr Eve Mary, 2 daus Eve and Isabel; vestry extension in Grasmere Church in their memory, 1985,  mon in church 

Ashburner, William (1809-1881), and Richard (1811-1873), boat builders, Greenodd, probably the sons of  XXX Ashburner who built the Ulverstone ‘the largest vessel built’ in Ulverston in 1811, apprenticed at Petty and Postlethwaite’s yard in Ulverston canal basin, William went to the Isle of Man and returned to establish a yard at Barrow, Richard established a yard at Greenodd making fishing boats and coasters and later the Lady of the Lake (1845) and the Lord of the Isles (1846), the first steamers on Windermere, Richard joined William at Barrow where they launched the Alice Latham (1855) and then sold the yard to the Furness Railway; recordingmorecambebay.org; Thomas Latham, The Ashburner Schooners, Tim Latham, The Ashburner Schooners, 1991

Ashburner, James (17xx-1794), papermaker, purchased moiety of building in north east corner of Market Place in Kendal, formerly called New Theatre or the Playhouse, from William Gurnal (qv), 8 May 1794, and died soon after making his will on 21 April 1794, leaving his said share to his friends, John Burn, of Orton and James Wilson, of Kendal, who agreed to sell same (now called the Old Theatre or Playhouse) to Elizabeth Prickett, of Castlemills, Kendal for £89 by conveyance of 13 February 1795, with consent of Anthony Ashburner, his only brother and heir at law, of Warwick Street, St James, London (deeds in CRO, WSMB/K/ box 39, bdle 105); Thomas Ashburner (qv), his brother ?

Ashburner, John (18xx-19xx), clergyman, trained at St Bees College 1872, d 1874 and p 1875 (Worcs), curate of Oldbury, Worcs 1874-1878, incumbent/perpetual curate of Blawith from 1878, of Meadow Lodge (manse erected in 1849 by previous incumbent but purchased in 1879 by patron of living, Duke of Buccleuch, who presented it to living for a parsonage house) (1882, 1912)

Ashburner, Margaret (fl. early 19thc), diary 1814-1819; CW2 xliii 55

Ashburner, Thomas (fl.1731- before 1794), bookseller, stationer and papermaker, founded Kendal Weekly Mercury in 1735, bought fulling mill at Cowan Head, converted this to paper manufacture (later owned by Cornelius Nicholson (qv)), thus the origin of [part of] the Cropper paper business, Ashburner signed Romney’s apprenticeship deed to Christopher Steele qqv in 1755, later founded and promoted The New Playhouse in Kendal 1760, first purpose-built theatre in the town, in premises he had lately erected in north east corner of Market Place (later Working Men’s Institute), which he purchased from Mayor, aldermen and burgesses of Kendal Borough for £39 12s. on 20 May 1758, then conveying moiety of premises to William Gurnal (qv), who paid half of expenses for erecting room or apartment, 5 June 1758 (deeds in CRO, WSMB/K/ box 39/bdle 105); the corporation under John Shaw, mayor, sold premises at NW corner of market place to Thomas Ashburner (deed of 20 May 1758), James Ashburner (qv) his brother ?;  Mark Cropper, The Leaves We Write On, 2004; David A. Cross, A Striking Likeness: The Life of George Romney, 2000, 9, 16

Ashby, Eric (1918-2003), naturalist and wildlife cameraman, b Cumberland moved to Southsea, Hants, 1st film for the BBC The Unknown Forest (1961) and many films for the BBC Natural History Unit followed

Ashcroft, Peggy (1907-1991; ODNB), actress, performed at Rosehill theatre

Ashe, Henry (c.1845-1893), clergyman, Curate of Staveley-in-Cartmel from (Nov) 1879 and Vicar from (April/August) 1882, had locum in from November 1888 to May 1889, marr (187x) Elizabeth Jane, 2 sons (George Hamilton, bapt 6 January 1880, and Henry Park, bapt 12 June 1884) and 1 dau (Florence Elizabeth, bapt 14 April 1886, by Revd George H Ashe, Vicar of St Mark’s, Witton, Blackburn), last entry in registers on 11 June 1893, died aged 48 and buried at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 28 June 1893 (with R P Ashe, Officiating Minister)

Ashley, Joseph, of Brigham, on inheriting an estate in Northants he caused the bells at Brigham to be rung all day and gave drinks to all the villagers; Hudleston (C)

Ashman, Alan (1923-2002), footballer, born Rotherham, played for Sheffield, Nottingham and Carlisle United 1951-1958, then ran a poultry farm for a Carlisle director, returned to Carlisle as manager, then was manager at West Bromwich until 1968 when they won the FA cup, returned to Carlisle and took them to the 1st division

Ashmore, Brian Gerald (1924-2004), MBE, RD, JP, MA, FSA, Lieut-Comdr, RNR retd, lived Maryport, Liberal parliamentary candidate for Carlisle in 1966, much involved with the Senhouse Museum, patron, CWAAS (CW3, v, 303-304); mss Carlisle CRO)

Ashton, Hugh (1702-1749), of Croston, and Bispham, Lancs, from a branch of Ashton of Ashton, marr 1st (3 July 1726, at Kirkby Lonsdale) Susannah (bapt 16 March 1706/7, died at Kirfitt Hall and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 7 September 1731), dau and coheir of Thomas Godsalve, of Rigmaden, Mansergh, 1 son (James, of Underley Hall, died 16 November 1765, aged 30, and buried 20 November), marr 2nd (1733) Eleanor (died 21 November 1782, aged 79), dau of Joseph Benn, of Whitehaven, bought Near Underley (Underley Hall) in 1730 from Thomas Wilson, of Underley, and conveyed Underley Hall estate and lands at Hestick and Guy Fields (lately purchased from Thomas Wilson) to Joseph Benn, apothecary, Richard Senhouse, doctor, and Joseph Barrow, gent, all of Whitehaven on 11 & 12 April 1733 for his uses as part of marriage settlement with Eleanor Benn, for his life, then with use to her, then to their son(s), then dau(s) (deeds in CRO, WD/U/box 28/1), died 12 January 1749, aged 46, and buried at Kirkby Lonsdale, 15 January (MI in KL church, WCN, ii, 77) (AKL, 47)

Ashworth, John (18xx-1xxx), clergyman, vicar of Staveley-in-Cartmel (to January 1878)- rel? to Charles Gerald Ashworth, clerk in holy orders, of Roose, Barrow-in-Furness, wife Juliet Denezia, and son, John Frederic Charles (bapt at Staveley-in-Cartmel, 3 July 1877)

Ashworth, Mary Howard (1863-1928; ODNB), parliamentary typist, b Holme Cultrum, daughter of Arthur Ashworth (1834-1874) the vicar and his wife Sarah Bewley, she went to London after her father’s death and established a typing agency known for many years as Ashworth’s, her typists were known as Ashworth’s Girls, she became the official typist to the House of Commons, her staff were involved in a wide  range of correspondence and documentation, eventually, via translators, in ten or more languages, after her first 18 months she reported: ‘we are popular with all classes in the house, as you see we are a non-political body and are patronised alike by Whig and Tory’, her business was bought by Gladys Gowdey c.1928 and retained the Ashworth name until well after the 2nd WW, twenty years after her death

In 1900 she married William Paull Jewill-Rogers who worked in her firm, the name did not change, they divorced in 1920,

Ashworth, Thomas Baker (1844-1878), solicitor, b. Rochdale, son of John Ashworth (1808-1878) flannel manufacturer (his uncle Thomas Ashworth (1815-1869) was a key figure in the founding of the borough of Rochdale, fourth mayor of the town 1859-60 and a friend of John Bright), ed Bramham College, Tadcaster, served his articles with Edwin Waugh of Cockermouth (qv)  his aunt and uncle Beswick lived in the town, m. Elizabeth Heys, daughter of Henry Heys (qv), five children: Gertrude (1870-1950), headmistress of the Warren School, Worthing, Beatrice (1871-1951) married Ernest Gunson (qv), John (b.1872) set up John Ashworth and Sons (Timber) at Trafford Park, Henry (b.1874) went to the USA and Richard (b.1877) first set up a business after the 1st WW in Carlisle and later a lace business in Nottingham (he became lord mayor of Nottingham in 1936), Thomas was also a friend and legal colleague of Henry Brierley (qv), (longtime member of the CWAAS), who was closely involved in the aftermath of his sad and sudden death in the Derby Arms, Bury, after a session in Bury magistrates court, masonic funeral led by the Rev McClure (qv), Brierley recalled that Ashworth, who was much involved supporting the licensed trade in Rochdale, was adept at ‘ordering a good dinner’; The Men Who Made Rochdale; Rochdale Times obit

Askew family, Millom; CW2 xcii 91

Askew family of Seaton, CW2 xi 167

Askew, Anthony (16xx-1738), physician, of Market Place, Kendal, and with town house in Old Police Yard off Finkle Street, buried at Kendal, 22 September 1738

Anthony, son of Anthony Askew, Dr of Phisick, of Highgate, bapt at Kendal, 4 July 1699 = Anthony Askew, Esq of Market Place, buried at Kendal, 13 April 1739 [prob son of above]

Elizabeth, dau of Anthony Askew and Margaret, of Stricklandgate, Kendal, bapt 23 September 1711

Askew, Anthony (1722-1774; ODNB), FRS, FRCP, MD, BA, physician and book collector, born in Kendal and bapt 7 May 1722, son of Adam Askew, physician, and Anne Crackanthorp, educ Sedbergh School and Newcastle Free School, died 27 February 1774, aged 52, and buried in Hampstead church (WW, ii, 189-196)

Askew, Edward (1836-19xx), coach driver and gardener, born at Ickenthwaite, Colton, 1836, worked for William Dickenson Heelis and family for 43 years, presented with silver tea service after 21 years’ service (now in Beatrix Potter Gallery in Hawkshead), served with Lancashire Rifle Volunteers; his brother Timmy Askew was baker and confectioner, who delivered bread, cakes and pies around the Sawrey area in his horse-drawn carriage (photo), including to Beatrix Potter and William Heelis at Castle Cottage, Near Sawrey, and appeared in The Tale of Ginger and Pickles as Timmy Baker (Cumbria, December 2016, 61-64, as remembered by Betty Ingham (born August 1926), granddaughter of Edward Askew, and volunteer at Armitt Museum, Ambleside)

Askew, Egeon (1575/6-1637; ODNB), clergyman, b Lancashire of  family from Mulcaster who were later in Kirkby Ireleth where his putative younger brother Thomas was vicar from 1606, ed Queen’s college Oxford, chaplain of the college from 1598

Askew (Ascue), Sir Hugh (d.1562/3; DCB), as Ascue granted manor of Seaton and site of Seaton Priory with some lands after Dissolution in 1542, Knight of the Cellar to Edward VI, knighted on Musselburgh field in 1547, died 2 March 1562/63; memorial brass in south wall of chancel of Bootle church (mss in Wakefield family possession; CW2, x, 338-341; xliv, 134-137)

Askew, Hugh (1648-1673), BA, bapt at Muncaster, 5 January 1647/48, yr son of Hugh Askew, of Standingstones, educ St Bees School and St John’s College, Cambridge (sizar 1667, BA 1671), tutored by his uncle, John Ambrose (qv), and elected Fellow in 1673, but died at Lowick Hall and buried at Ulverston, 5 September 1673 (CW2, lxxix, 62)

Askew, James (19xx-2008), OBE, industrial relations officer, career in coal industry from 1950s, latterly industrial relations officer, with Condura Fabrics, Labour councillor on Workington Borough Council and Allerdale District Council, formerly Mayor, died in 2008 (papers in CROW, YD/JA)

Askew, T or J, artist, trained with Joseph Sutton in Cockermouth  (qv), and later superintendant of Liverpool Docks

Askew, Thomas Gibson (17xx-1834), manufacturer, hosiery manufacturer, of Stricklandgate, Kendal (1829), buried in Kendal churchyard, 2 July 1834, aged 46

Askew, William (1637-1717), last male of Askew line, bapt at Millom, 20 April 1637, er son of Hugh Askew (1613-1698), of Standingstones, marr Dorothy (d.1705), dau and coheir of William Musgrave, of Crookdake, 1 surv dau (wife of John Archer (qv), of Oxenholme), residing with his dau when he died 13 April 1717, aged in 80th year, and buried in Parr chapel of Kendal parish church, 17 April (as “Mr Wm Askew of Oxenholme”) (WCN, ii, 2; CW2, lxxix, 63-65)

Askwith, Edward Harrison (1864-1946), MA, DD, clergyman and author, 7th son of Thomas Askwith, of Ripon, educ Trinity College, Cambridge (scholar, BA (wrangler) 1886, MA 1890, Norrisian Prize 1898, BD 1900, DD 1902), d 1888 (Lond), p 1889 (Cant), asst master, Westminster School 1888-1889, headmaster, S E College, Ramsgate 1889-1891, chaplain of Trinity College 1894-1909, vicar of St Michael and All Angels, Cambridge 1893-1896, select preacher, Cambridge 1893, 1895 and 1906, vicar of Kirkby Lonsdale 1909-1917, rural dean of Kirkby Lonsdale 1913-1917, hon canon of Carlisle 1917, rector of Dickleburgh, Dio Norwich 1917-1924, retired to Cambridge (29 Storey’s Way), author of theological works and mathematical text books, died in 1946 (AKL, 115; CW2, xxix, 191-92)

Aslett, Alfred (c.1847-19xx), JP, railway manager and tourism promoter, company secretary and general manager of Cambrian Railway, appointed Secretary of Furness Railway Company in August 1895 (on retirement of Henry Cook after nearly 30 years) and first General Manager in 1897 (on death of Sir James Ramsden), quickly realised potential of tourism in Furness and soon organised 20 combined rail and coach tours in summer season (previously four), esp the “six lakes tour” taking in Windermere, Ullswater, Derwentwater, Thirlmere, Grasmere and Rydal, all for 13s., which included steamer fares on Windermere and Ullswater, and coach as well as rail travel, also short tour to Cartmel Priory and Holker Hall for 4s. 3d., introduced Sunday service of steamers on Windermere in 1896, also operated system of cheap weekly tickets, number of passenger fares increased by 12% between 1895 and 1898, helping to off-set decline in other revenue (Barrow steel works were closed for six months during 1896, but trade increasing again by 1898), new main line rails laid, cheap day tickets, weekend and tourist tickets introduced from 1898, additional steamer Swift put in service on Windermere in 1900, passenger traffic reached 682,765 and 780,222 tons of goods and minerals carried during first half of 1901, developed steamer route between Barrow and Fleetwood to encourage Blackpool holidaymakers to visit Lake District (photo at launch of paddle steamer Lady Evelyn at Kinghorn, NB, on 10 August 1900, with Lady Margaret put in service in 1903), organised a through service with North Eastern Railway from Newcastle to Barrow in summer from 1905 to connect with steamer to Douglas, Isle of Man, new paddle steamer Gwalia, later renamed Lady Moyra, introduced in 1905, new combined rail, sea, lake and coach tour starting from Blackpool for 7s.6d., advertised by coloured posters, introduced in 1906, special guide book issued annually, but local trade contracting and reducing dividend, new gondola introduced on Coniston and new paddle steamer Philomel with accommodation for 1,000 passengers started on Fleetwood-Barrow service in 1908, displayed attractions of Lake District at Franco-British Exhibition in 1908, passenger numbers reached 3,068,982 and goods totalled 4,288,963 tons in 1910, introduced novel idea for fostering tourism with a Romney museum and tea pavilion at High Cocken, home of George Romney (qv) from 1742 to 1755, further increases in revenue by 1913, also extensive improvements to shipping facilities at Barrow by widening and deepening of Walney Channel, passenger traffic increased by 102% and gross receipts by 65% in first 18 years of his time at Barrow, mineral traffic reached all-time record of 5,410,039 tons during 1917, took over management of Furness Abbey Hotel in 1917, member of Barrow Chamber of Commerce, JP for Barrow Borough 1904, retired in April 1918, at age of 71, being succeeded by his assistant, George Linton, and presented with his portrait in oils by company, of Stanyan Lodge, Ulverston (FR, 56-68)

Asmunderlaw of Furness, family, this name Asmondoelac in Domesday is the present Osmotherley, Northallerton; CW2 xxxix, 59-64

Aspell, Sir John (18xx-19xx), JP, of Kentsford House, Grange-over-Sands, Chairman of Roads and Bridges Committee, Lancashire County Council (photographs in CRO, WDX 1485/1)

Aspland, Theophilus Lindsey (1807-1890), artist, b. London; retired to near Esthwaite Water; Marshall Hall, 2

Astley, Arthur (18xx-19xx), ornithologist, of Freshfield, Ambleside (resident 1916-1925), author of articles on absence of certain common species from Lake District valleys in Country Life (April 1919 and May 1920), corresponded with Canon Rawnsley (qv) about birds from 1916 until just before his death in May 1920, was asked to write new book on Birds of Westmorland, but declined in favour of Revd Savage of Levens and H W Robinson [latter’s collection of birds now in Kendal Museum], revised Mary L Armitt’s chapter on The Birds in W G Collingwood’s revised edition of The Lake Counties (1932) (letters in CRO, Kendal, WD/CAT/acc.2460)

Astley, Francis Dukinfield Palmer (1825-1868), DL, JP, landowner, son of Francis Dukinfield Astley, of Dukinfield Lodge, Cheshire, was living in Fell Foot, Staveley in Cartmel, by 1847, High Sheriff of Cheshire 1854, but sold Fell Foot to Colonel G J M Ridehalgh (qv) in 1859, died in 1868

Astley Cooper, James W. LRCS etc, W and C Leaders 1910, member of the family of the earl of Shaftesbury

Astor, Arthur C., (14 July 1890- 1966), b. Thomas Ferguson, , theatrical impresario, theatre owner, b. Silloth, son of William and Jane Ferguson, nee Farmer, childhood at Norfolk St, Denton Holme, ed Carlisle GS, began training in a pharmacy but fled to become a travelling ventriloquist, changed his performing name to Astor, m. Ivy Edridge a singer, to New York, then Canada, South Africa and Australia, known at the Globetrotting Ventriloquist, command performance at Windsor, owned Her Majesty’s Theatre, Carlisle from 1936-1956, d. Carlisle, 17 March 1966; Laurie Kemp, Tales from Carlisle; also The Globetrotting Ventriloquist [2016]

Athelstan (893/4-939; ODNB),1st king of all England, son of Edward the elder king of the West Saxons and Mercians and his first wife Ecgwynn, crowned in 925 at Kingston-upon-Thames, then, having conquered York, Northumbria also came under his banner, the subsequent meeting of the princes at Eamont Bridge near Penrith on 12 July 927 over Wessex, Mercia and Northumbria in addition, with the submission to him of Celti‘established peace with pledge and oaths’, an event which established Athelstan’s control c rulers: Constantine II of Alba, king Hywell Dda of Dehenbarth, Ealdred of Bamburgh and king Owain of Strathclyde, though there is uncertainty about the precise venue of the meeting, it is probably significant that Eamont Bridge was not only a political boundary but also a major sacred landscape, (could king Arthur’s Table here be a corruption of Athelstan’s Table?; the Dacre church Peace Stone is said to commemorate this event –not in Pevsner), the date 927 is increasingly being accepted as the key moment of the foundation of the English kingdom, in part as there has been ‘a continuous institutional history since 927’, for too long Athelstan has been marginalised by the cult of his grandfather King Alfred (Naismith and Woodman ch 5 note 1), (could the meeting at Eamont Bridge in 927 have been deliberately ignored by the dominant southern historians ? (David Cross, 2022)), further support of the significance of this moment emerges from three other facts: the contemporary Latin poem Carta dirige gressus records that this moment in 927 was ‘perfecta Saxonia’ (or England made whole), earlier charters refer to the king as Anglo Saxon but he is from 927 described as Rex Anglorum and also that the coins minted for Athelstan in 927 bear the text Rex Tot Brit (Rex Totius Britanniae), some of the chiefs reneged upon their oaths and rose up but Athelstan finally defeated them at the battle of Brunanburh in 937, he was buried at Malmesbury in 939; Rory Naismith and David Woodman eds, Writing, Kingship and Power in Anglo Saxon England, 2020, ch 5 notes 1 and 7, locate Ian Bradley, God Save the Queen: the Spiritual Dimension of Monarchy, 2002, several related articles in CWAAS perhaps the most interesting include 1891, 187-219 and 226-9; 1902, 231-41; 1912, 146-56; 1962, 77-94; 1966, 57-92; 1985, 87-94; a monument to this event is being considered for Eamont Bridge

Athelwold, (d.1156; ODNB), Augustinian monk and 1st bishop of Carlisle, probably of English birth and not a Norman, served Henry I as confessor, prior Nostell Priory, nominated to the new see of Carlisle in 1133 in order to extend the rule of the English into the areas of dispute between England and Scotland which had been under the control of the bishop of Glasgow, he installed his Augustinian canons at Carlisle and established the diocese on a firm footing; CW2 xcv 85

Atherton, James (1869-1938), artist and headmaster of the Carlisle School of Art (1868-1926); Marshall Hall, 2; Renouf, 80

Atherton, John (17xx-1837), solicitor, of Stricklandgate, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 7 September 1837, aged 46

Atkins, Robert (1939-1994), arts director and promoter, born in Leeds, 25 November 1939, marr (1966) Sandy Swan, 1 son (Tom, decd 1992) and 1 dau, came from the Roundhouse in London to be first director of Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal 1971-1976 funded by Peter Scott (qv), involved in all the plans to open the building and set out the programme for the organisation, regarded the place first and foremost as a community centre, using a lot of volunteers, lived in house at front (now YHA), proposed in November 1971 that first production should be Oh What a Lovely War in May 1972, involving Westmorland Youth Theatre, Kendal Concert Band and local choral groups, also agreed to appt of a full-time teacher to coordinate schools programme at Brewery, elected artistic director of Brewery Players in December 1972, but left in 1976 to be Arts Director of the Commonwealth Institute, where he pioneered Music Villages with Prakash Daswani, later going on to found the organisation Cultural Co-operation in 1987, which was an attempt to give a structure for artists (dancers, musicians and crafts people) from other cultures in the developing world to present their work in Britain without being viewed as exotic, involving workshops, demonstrations, and exchanges as much as performance, always free events based in the open air, which created problems for funding bodies more used to conventional promotion, never gave up on his mission to foster direct and natural creativity in the arts, in which cause he died when killed by a speeding car ploughing into crowd of Moroccan folk performers on street outside a Bradford restaurant, together with musician, Ahmed El Azouan, on 19 June 1994, aged 54 (Ind, 19.07.1994)

Atkinson, Alfred William (1864-1945), keen amateur photographer, little known until negatives of his photographs were bought from a market junk stall in 1975, president of Photographic Convention of UK in 1923 (LD view of Grasmere 1897 in CRO, WD/MD collection)

Atkinson, Bryan Waller, lord of manor of Burton, of Bowness, Windermere, discharged plot of land in Boon Wall Close being used as site for a school from all copyhold or customary tenure as parcel of manor of Burton, 24 September 1867 (deed in CRO, WPC 27/6)

Atkinson, Conrad (1940-2022), teacher and artist. born in Cleater Moor, educ Carlisle College of Art and Liverpool College of Art, in Cumbria his work includes the cut steel monuments to local miners at Cleater Moor, as an activist his work was banned in Northern Ireland for thirty years, later he was involved in making work for the reconciliation process, marr Margaret Harrison also an artist, two daus, his work is in collections in the UK and USA; Cumbria Crack 17 October 2022

Atkinson, Francis Baring (1805-1864), DL, JP, landowner, born 30 December 1805, 3rd of five sons of George Atkinson (qv), of Morland, marr 1st (26 December 1831) Mary Anne (died in November 1832), dau of Sir John Stoddart, Chief Justice of Malta, no issue, marr 2nd (3 August 1837) Ellen Frances (died at St Leonards-on-Sea/Hastings, 11 May 1870, and buried there), dau of John Home, RN (Home of Wedderburne family), 8 sons and 3 daus, High Sheriff of Cumberland 1853, DL and JP Cumberland and Westmorland, then of Morland Hall Farm, built new Morland Hall with construction starting in 1855 and completed in 1861, also of Rampsbeck, Watermillock, died at Morland, 25 November 1864, aged 58, and buried in church, 30 November (altar tomb moved, memorial brass, WCN, ii, 192-193)

Atkinson, Francis Home (1840-1901), MA, clergyman and landowner, born 2 March 1840, 2nd of eight sons of F B Atkinson (qv), of Morland Hall, educ Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge (BA 1861, MA 1864), d 1864 and p 1865 (Nor), Curate of East Dereham, Norfolk 1864-1865, Freshwater, IoW 1867-1868, and Withycombe Raleigh, Devon 1869-1872, Vicar of Frocester, Gloucs 1872-1873, PC of Minley, Hants 1874-1880, and St Paul’s, Jersey 1880-1882/3, marr (17 April 1869) Edith Mary (of Morland Hall in 1920), dau of Henry Vatcher, of Rosemount, St Helier, Jersey, 3 sons and 2 daus, succ to Morland Hall estate on death of brother George in 1874, but let house (residence of William Busfeild (qv) in 1885), of 2 Douro Terrace, St Helier, Jersey, where he died 23 March 1901; his eldest son, Henry Ernest Atkinson (1871-1926), of St Helier, rented Morland Hall to Col Frederick Cooper Turner, JP, late King’s Own Royal Lancaster Regt (1905), to Joseph Holt (1913) and to Torbock family in 1913 for five years during construction of Crossrigg Hall, was in residence himself with his mother in 1921, then sold it at auction to G M Beck (qv) in 1923

Atkinson, George (1730-1781), landowner, born 16 August 1731, eldest son of Matthew Atkinson (1703-1756), of Temple Sowerby, and Margaret, dau of Richard Sutton, of Firbank, Kirkby Lonsdale, marr (7 January 1758) Bridget, dau and heir of Michael Maughan, of Wolsingham, 3 sons and 3 daus, Receiver-General for Cumberland and Westmorland, died 12 October 1781

Atkinson, George (1764-1814), landowner, of Temple Sowerby and Morland, born 17 September 1764, 2nd son of George Atkinson (qv), (er bro Michael (1763-1821) in HEICS), Island Secretary of Jamaica for some years and ADC to Lord Balcarres, Governor of Island (1795-1801), later Agent-General for colony in England, marr (13 July 1794) Susan Mackenzie, dau of A Dunkley, of Clarendon, Jamaica, 5 sons (inc Francis Baring and William, qv) and 4 daus, died 11 May 1814

Atkinson, George (1838-1874), DL, JP, landowner, born 24 November 1838, eldest son of F B Atkinson (qv), of Morland Hall, Captain, Royal Westmorland Militia, DL and JP Westmorland, died unmarried at San Remo, Italy, 3 March 1874, and buried there

Atkinson, George (1808-18xx), barrister, born at Long Marton and bapt there, 29 December 1808, son of John Atkinson (buried 3 August 1814, aged 53), of Longmarton, and Isabel, his wife (nee Harris), who were married by licence at Longmarton (2 March 1794), had six brothers and one sister (Richard (bapt <15> June 1794, buried 10 July 1798), John (bapt 18 May 1796, buried 21 January 1814, aged 17), William (bapt 16 December 1797, buried 5 September 1824, when of Appleby, aged 26), Richard (bapt 10 February 1800), James (bapt 30 August 1802, buried 5 June 1836, aged 33), Jane (bapt 16 September 1804), Matthew (bapt 8 October 1806), and Joseph (bapt 21 July 1811, buried 22 December 1834, when of Appleby, aged 23)), barrister, author of The Worthies of Westmorland (I, 1849; II, 1850) (dedicated to Lady Musgrave, of Hartley Castle and Eden Hall)

Atkinson, Isaac (1747-1826), schoolmaster and mathematician, of Beathwaite Green, calculated the tides in Morecambe Bay and the phases of the moon, which he published in his almanacs (one surviving copy used by Wordsworth for drafts of poems held at Cornell University, New York State), later fell into alcoholism and poverty, found drowned in river Kent in 1826 (Ian Hodkinson, LLHG report in WG, 08.02.2018), CW3 xviii 223

Atkinson, James (d.1641), MA, clergyman, native of Bampton, but precise details of birth and parentage not known, his family intermarried with Wilkinsons of Moorah Hill, educ?, ordained?, succ Barnabas Scott (qv) as Vicar of Bampton at least by 1637 from when surviving parish register dates, received payment of £5 in composition for arrears of tithes of Thornthwaite from Sir Francis Howard, also master of Bampton Grammar School, dated 20 September 1640 (Howard Household Books, 358), died in 1641 (NB, i, 462; ECW, ii, 1212)

Atkinson, James (c.1754-1833), coroner, marr Mary (died 31 August 1827, aged 72), 1 son (William, died 14 June 1798, aged 15), Coroner and Chamberlain for Borough of Appleby for 25 years (paid £1 expenses as coroner (WQS), 14 April 1817), died 6 April 1833, aged 79 (MI in St Lawrence, Appleby)

Atkinson, James (1809-1892), DL, JP, of Winderwath, son of Richard Atkinson, of Whinfell, Brougham, of family long resident in Milburn, rented Winderwath from Miss Salmond and eventually bought the estate, which was sold after his death to William Longrigg in 1893, also had estate at Blencarn, High Sheriff of Westmorland 1870, JP Westmorland (qualif 7 March 1863), marr, 1 son (Richard (1844-1866) died at Cambridge), died 20 September 1892 (will made 4 November 1885, copy in CRO, WDX 1251/4/7)

Atkinson, John (c.1712-1788), MD, physician, of Highgate, Kendal, account for apprentice’s smallpox 1760 (CRO, WQSR 279/22), recognizance in 1763 (WQSR 299/9), house in Highgate “late Dr Atkinson’s” in 1769 (lamp book), deed of land in Ing and cattlegates in Troutbeck to George Browne in 1778 (WD/TE/ 137), letters to George Browne 1770-1778, with sale of estate 1778 (WD/TE/V, 38-39), acted as a sponsor (with James Wilson) at christening of Tobias Atkinson (now of London, merchant’s clerk), one of sons of Thomas Atkinson, of Kendal, woollen draper, and Jane his wife, at his house in October 1782 (entry omitted from parish as by affidavit of 21 March 1818 later inserted in WPR 38/8), buried at Kendal, 19 March 1788, aged 76  

Atkinson, John (1759-1813), son of James Atkinson, brewer of Carlisle, became Rouge Croix Poursuivant in 1785 and Somerset Herald in 1794

Atkinson, John (17xx-18xx), master of House of Correction at Appleby, and treasurer of prisoners’ money, appt renewed for year at Easter QS 1812

Atkinson, John (1773-1857), yeoman schoolmaster, son of Solomon Atkinson of Lazonby (CW2, lxxxiii, 157-161)

Atkinson, John (d.1943), Australian politician, b. Cumberland, arrived Australia 1878, wrestling champion, teacher and businessman, mayor Toowoomba, Queensland, 1913

Atkinson, Revd John Christopher (18xx-18xx), BA, DCL, clergyman, antiquary and naturalist, educ St John’s College, Cambridge (BA 1838), d 1841 and p 1842 (Heref), Curate of Brockhampton 1841-1842, Vicar of Danby, Grosmont, York 1847-1898, Hon DCL, Durham 1887, pursued antiquarian researches in quiet seclusion of his moorland parish, author of Walks, Talks, Travels and Exploits of Two Schoolboys (1859), British Birds’ Eggs and Nests (1861), Sketches in Natural History (1861), A Glossary of the Cleveland Dialect: Explanatory, Derivative and Critical (1868), History of Cleveland Ancient and Modern, vol i (1874), A Handbook for Ancient Whitby and its Abbey (1882), The Cartulary of Whitby Abbey (editor), Surtees Society, 2 vols (1879, 1881), Quarter Sessions Records (editor), North Riding Record Society, 9 vols (1884-1892), A Glossary of the Dialect of the Hundred of Lonsdale, North and South of the Sands (editor, published for the Philological Society, by Asher & Co, London and Berlin) (1869), The Coucher Book of Furness Abbey (editor), Chetham Society, vol i, 3 parts (1886-1887), The Cartulary of Rievaulx Abbey (editor), Surtees Society (1889), The Last of the Giant Killers (1891), Forty Years in a Moorland Parish: Reminiscences and Researches in Danby in Cleveland (1891) (reprinted 1988), Memorials of Old Whitby (1894), died by ?1898 (photograph of old white-bearded figure at his desk in 1894 on Skelton website)

Atkinson, Jonathan Otley (18xx-18xx), LDS Eng, dentist, of 56 Stramongate, Kendal, kept diary 1856-1884, mainly meteorological, also notes on Atkinson, Otley and Rigg families, with misc loose items…(CRO, WDX 605), still in 1894, but gone by 1897

Atkinson, Miles (18xx-18xx), clergyman and schoolmaster, educ Queen’s College, Oxford, Headmaster of St Bees School 1841-1854

Atkinson, Richard (1738-1785; ODNB), merchant, East India Company director and MP, born 10 March 1738/9 [not 6 March 1738 as in ODNB] and bapt at Temple Sowerby, 5 April 1739, 3rd of four sons of Matthew Atkinson, of Temple Sowerby, and Margaret, dau of Richard Sutton, of Firbank, had brothers (George (born 16 August and bapt 10 September 1730), Matthew (born 22 August, priv bapt 29 August and pub bapt 16 September 1736, and William (bapt 14 November 1741) all at TS) and two elder sisters (Jane (born 8 February and bapt 29 February 1727) and Margaret (born 13 May and bapt 7 June 1733)), educ?, moved to London ‘unsustained by any inheritance, by few family friends of any power, and by no acquisitions which education imparts but common penmanship and arithmetic’ (GM, 570), had become a partner in firm of Mure, Son and Atkinson, West India merchants, of Nicholas Lane, later of Fenchurch Street, London by early 1770s, alderman of city of London, MP for New Romney and the Cinque Ports, having stood unsuccessfully for London with Pitt’s support in general election of 1784, unmarried, ill with consumption, died at Brighton, 6 May 1785, aged 47, buried ?, estimated wealth of £300,000 (HoP, Commons, 1754-1790, 2.32; GM, 1st ser, 55 (1785), 407, 570);  Richard Atkinson, Mr Atkinson’s Rum Contract, 2020

Atkinson, Richard (c.1768-1838), late Sergeant in Westmorland Militia, of French Lane, Kendal, buried at Kendal, 31 October 1838, aged 70

Atkinson, Robert (exec.1664), soldier and plotter, Captain in Parliamentary Army, raised his own troop in 1651, commandeered Appleby Castle for Parliament in 16xx, member of Westmorland committee by February 1656 and an associate of Charles Howard (qv) by 1655, but turned (false) informer to Sir Philip Musgrave (qv) by 1661, who was then intent on revenge for his part as leader of Kaber Rigg Plot of 1663, hatched in Westmorland in February 1663, condemned to be hanged, drawn and quartered by Judges of Assize for Northern Circuit on 20 August 1664 and executed at Appleby, 1 September 1664, professing to die “a moderate Presbiterian” (D/Mus/Corr/6), of Bluegrass, Mallerstang (Atkinson family papers in CRO, WDX 3; CW2, xi, 212-232; CW2, lxxxviii, 161-175; NH, 2010)

Atkinson, Robert (b.1883; ODNB), architect, born Wigton

Atkinson, Thomas (fl.1550s), chapman of Kendal; CW2 lix 72

Atkinson, Thomas (17xx-18xx), High Constable of Kendal Ward (accounts 1801-2, 1805-06, WQS)

Atkinson, Thomas (1810-1852), MRCS, LSA (1830), surgeon, of Highgate, Kendal, son of Thomas Atkinson, Officer of Excise, marr (8 November 1837 at Kendal) Mary, second dau of John Gough (qv) of Middleshaw, Old Hutton, later of Fowl Ing, Kendal, buried 12 March 1852, aged 42; one son, Thomas Gough Atkinson (died at Fowl Ing, 3 April 1858, aged 19) (CW2, xciii, 205-06, 212 n.41)

Atkinson, Thomas (18xx-18xx), of Kendal, Proprietor of the Westmorland Gazette 1844-1880 retired, also of the Kendal Herald 1864-1866

Atkinson, Thomas Leonard (d.1900), soldier in Boer War, Border Regt., d. 18 June 1900, Potchefstrom, S.A., his monument, which bears the names of others, is in Appleby

Atkinson, Tobias (17xx-18xx), benefactor of Crosthwaite parish, of Pool Bank, and of Spout Farm, Crosthwaite, bequests incl 10 gns to six old people, and £300 to Crosthwaite School in 1815; Caen stone dado in Holy Trinity Church, Kendal presented by T A Argles in memory of late Tobias Atkinson and Elizabeth his wife completed in 1867 (KK, 235)

Atkinson, William (1692-1766), pewterer, Wigton CW2 lxxxv 163ff

Atkinson, William (1724-1763), clergyman, bapt at Ulverston, 15 August 1724 [but not in Ulverston PR, while Blawith PR starts in 1728], son of Thomas Atkinson, of Ivy Tree in Blawith, par Ulverston, siblings bapt at Blawith after 1728, deacon (Chester), licensed to Ulpha on 22 December 1746, to Blawith on 10 June 1747 and to Kentmere on 27 February 1748, resigned as curate of Blawith, 27 February 1748, nominated and elected to curacy by landowners in Kentmere (on resignation of James Cookson) on 20 February 1748, ordained priest at Chester on 21 August 1748, nominated and apptd to curacy of Selside (on resignation of John Hodgson), 21 December 1752, started first register of baptisms, marriages and burials to be kept in chapelry of Selside in February 1753, marr (25 May 1751, at Kentmere, with banns read at Kendal) Mary Dixon, 2 sons (John (born 12 May, bapt 3 June, buried 26 August 1753), John (born 16 October 1755 and bapt 9 November) and 7 daus (first child Agnes born at Kentmere, 5 April and bapt 15 April 1752, Mary (born 1 March and bapt 3 April 1757), Jane (born 23 August and bapt 2 September 1758), Anne (born 16 February and bapt 3 March 1760), twins Mary and Jane (bapt and buried 26/27 September 1761), and Elizabeth (born 3 September and bapt 3 October 1762) all at Selside), died at Low Biggersbank, Selside, aged 39 and buried at Selside, 20 November 1763 (clergy papers for Kentmere and Selside in CRO, DRC/10), will dated 12 November 1763 and proved 4 February 1764 (LRO, R497/19); portrait c.1760 by Romney (sent to Christies on 5 February 1879 by Mrs Maund of Boulogne-sur-Mer as portrait by Reynolds, but not offered for sale, later misidentified when sold by Bonhams on 27 October 2010 as ‘Circle of Nathaniel Hone, Portrait of a Gentleman, said to be Sir Richard Atkins’ when bought at auction by Philip Mould Ltd and confirmed as a Romney by Alex Kidson in January 2011)

Atkinson,  William (1809-1880), MA, clergyman, born 13 June 1809, 4th of five sons of George Atkinson (qv), of Morland Hall, marr (2 July 1833) Jane Margaret (died 1878), dau of William Clark (1766-1837), of Belford Hall, Northumberland (BLG), 3 sons and 1 dau, assumed addnl name of Clark, Rector of Gateshead Fell, dio Durham from 1838 until 1870 (prob), Hon Canon of Durham, died 30 December 1880

Atterbury, Francis (1663-1732; ODNB), MA, DD, bishop and Jacobite, yr son of Revd Lewis Atterbury (d.1693; ODNB) and yr brother of Revd Lewis Atterbury (1656-1731) (ODNB), educ Westminster and Christ Church, Oxford, took holy orders in 1687, lecturer at St Bride’s, London 1691, chaplain to William III and Mary and preacher at Bridewell Hospital, prominently opposed to Erastianism in church and state, Archdeacon of Totnes and prebendary of Exeter Cathedral 1701-1704, DD 1701, chaplain in ordinary to Queen Anne, Dean of Carlisle 1704-1711, Dean of Christ Church, Oxford 1711-1713, Dean of Westminster and Bishop of Rochester 1713-1723, took part in coronation of George I, but was in direct communication with Jacobites in 1717, imprisoned in Tower for alleged involvement in attempt to restore Stuarts in 1720 and deprived of all his ecclesiastical preferments and banished in 1723, going to Brussels then to France, entering service of Old Pretender, and died there in 1732, buried privately in Westminster Abbey

Attock, Frederick [1902], engineer and founder of Manchester United, engineer with Newton Heath branch of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway, established with Arthur Balfour qv and Charles Scott (founder of The Manchester Guardian) the Newton Heath LYR FC and became the first president, this club evolved into Manchester United, died Windermere in 1902, buried there

Attwood, James Henry (1785-1865), zinc and iron ore producer, born in 1785, 4th of seven sons and ten surviving children of Matthias Attwood (1746-1836), of Hawne House, near Halesowen, and his wife Ann (1752-1835), dau of Thomas Adams, of Cakemore, near Halesowen, and brother of Charles Attwood (1791-1875; ODNB), ironmaster, and all his other brothers were prominent in banking and industry, esp iron, steel and glass, in Birmingham and Midlands, prospecting for iron at Aldby and Birks at Cleator before Thomas Ainsworth (qv) in 1830s, had lease of land on Naworth estate for purpose of setting up a zinc-smelting works in 1845, also had zinc works at Ripley, Derbyshire, had residence of Moss Hill near Hallbankgate, parish of Farlam, died in 1865; will proved at Carlisle, 21 August 1865 (The Attwood Family with historic notes and pedigrees (1903); CW2, lxviii, 164, 177-179)

Attwood, James (fl.mid 19thc.), zinc producer, ran a spelter works at Tindale, near Brampton, from 1845 producing ingots of about 97% zinc and 3% lead, a small community surrounded the works with a chapel, school and houses, the works later on extracted cadmium; CWAAS outing leaflet 25 June 2022

Auden, Walter Douglas (18xx-19xx), clergyman, formerly curate-in-charge of Rubery, near Birmingham, member of Bush Brotherhood, Australia 1902-1908, instituted as vicar of Howgill on 10 October 1912, serving for 12 years, before union of benefices with Firbank

Auden, Wystan Hugh (1907-1973; ODNB), poet, essayist and teacher, often stayed in a family cottage at Threlkeld in childhood, immensely fond of Alston moor, wrote first poem Blea Tarn [now lost] and subsequently Alston Moor, WHA encouraged visitors to see Appleby, Dufton and Alston; Tribute by Stephen Spender; Grevel Lindop, Literary Guide to the Lakes

Audland, Edward Gordon (1896-1976), CB, CBE, MC, DL, JP, army officer, Brigadier, of Ackenthwaite, Milnthorpe, author of ms history of Audland family (copy in CROK), sorted and listed Dallam Tower archives 1968-69 (now in CRO, WD/D), died 22 October 1976; yr son, Sir Christopher Audland, KCMG, published Jenny

Audland, John (1664-1752?), Quaker activist, son of John Audland (1630-1663/4), of Crosslands, [Old Hutton],  and Anne (1627-1705), later Camm, marr (1689) Agnes (d.1733), dau of James Clark, of Crook, Kendal, issue, was of Camsgill and later of Hegholme Hall, Mansergh, possibly the John Audland who died at Baycliff and buried at Sunbrick in 1752 (ECW, i, 120, 123; SF, 579)

Audland, John, born near Camsgill, Kendal, eminent quaker preacher according to William Penn      www.lancaster.ac.uk/quakers/biographies

Audland, John, writer of doggerel, see Collingwood, Lake Counties, ed Rollinson 6

Audland, Revd William Fisher (c.1804-1861), DD, BA, clergyman, son of John Audland, of Ackenthwaite, educ Sedbergh School and Queen’s College, Oxford (entd 1819, aged 15, BA 1823, BD, 1846, DD 1852, and Fellow), buried at Heversham, 9 May 1861, aged 57 (SSR, 161)

Aufrere, George Anthony (1794/5-1881), JP, landowner and yachtsman, born in Chester, son of Anthony Aufrere, of old Huguenot family, of Foulsham Old Hall, Norfolk, and of Matilda Lockhart, of Edinburgh, served as young officer in Austrian army at Waterloo before retiring to private life, inherited family estate of Foulsham Hall, Norfolk (600 acres), JP for Norfolk, marr (1828) Caroline Wehrtmann, dau of Hamburg merchant, no issue, settled in Bowness-on-Windermere and built Burn Side in c.1840, where he spent most of next 40 years, passion for sailing, acted as Steward of Windermere Regatta in 1849, joint founder of Windermere Sailing Club with his close friend, J R Bridson (qv), chaired inaugural meeting at Burnside on 16 January 1860, served as first Commodore and Treasurer in 1860, Commodore again in 1869, keen racer of his boats the Ripple and Mosquito (crewed by Tom Brown, Morecambe Bay fisherman), cruised in Ripple almost daily on lake in later life with his wife, of aristocratic bearing but noted for his blunt language, died at Burnside in 1881 [not buried in Bowness cemetery], probate estate value (approx £6m today) (RWYC, 173-174)

Austen-Leigh, Margaret (1899-1986), dau of Lt Col Edmund Heathcote Thruston (1863-1948) and his wife Lucy, daughter of Sir Wilfred Lawson 2nd Bt. of Brayton and Isel, bought back the Isel estate in 1959-60 after the death of her cousin Sir Hilton Lawson Bt (1896-1959) (qv) and lived there with her husband Richard Austen-Leigh qv, a relative of Jane Austen and literary scholar, having no immediate family she sold the ten farms of the estate to the sitting tenants, gave generous sums to various relatives and later, as her will makes clear, bequeathed Isel Hall to her friend Mary Burkett (qv) in 1986, she donated the sword of Sir John Moore of Corunna to the BM

Austen-Leigh, Richard (1872-1961; ODNB), printer and historian, son of Cholmeley Austen-Leigh (1829-1899) and Melesina Chevenix-Trench, dau of archbishop Richard  Chevenix- Trench of Dublin (Richard Austen Leigh’s grandmother, also Melesina Trench (1768-1827), was an Irish author and poet whose work was published by her son, the bishop), ed. Eton, married Margaret Thruston (see Margaret Austen-Leigh above), a relative of Jane Austen and literary scholar (his ?grandfather the Rev James Austen-Leigh (1798-1874) the son of Jane Austen’s brother James, wrote memoir of his aunt), with his brother William wrote The Life and Letters of Jane Austen [1913], Jane Austen’s Family History (1940), The Story of a Printing House: Strachans and Spottiswode, edited The Eton College Lists 1678-1790 and The Eton College Register 1753-90, moved to Isel Hall soon after the death of Sir Hilton Lawson (1896-1959) qv and lived there until his death; photograph NPG

Austin, theatre manager, with his partner Heatton (and from 1771 Whitlock) ran theatres in Whitehaven (Assembly Rooms and Roper St), Newcastle and Chester in the late 18thc, they were granted a patent in 1769 for Whitehaven, produced after 8 Nov 1769 The Busy Body and Wit’s Last Stand ‘to a very numerous and genteel audience’, later on 4 Dec 1769 The Tragedy of King Richard, The Corsican Fairy in late Oct 1770, gave the proceeds of a benefit performance to the Whitehaven Dispensary, later Mr Austin of Drury Lane married a wealthy woman of near Whitehaven worth £14,000, she was 90 years old and her family attempted to apply a statute of lunacy, presented Henry IV Pt I  18 Dec 1782 at Theatre Royal, Whitehaven; Newcastle Courant 8 Apr 1769; Westminster Journal 28 Sept 1771; J Roderick Webb, Northern Review vol 2 no 2 Oct 1947; PastPresented.info

Austin, Hubert J. (1841-1915), architect, partner in the major local firm of Paley and Austin, see Paley

Avison, Charles (1709-1770), organist, composer and music teacher, born and died Newcastle, (son of Richard Avison, also a musician), organist of St Nicholas Newcastle (now the cathedral), taught harpsichord, flute and violin, wrote inter alia 12 Concerti Grossi, organised subscription concerts in Newcastle with subscribers from the Literary Society in Carlisle, wrote his Essay on Musical Expression (1752), the first musical criticism in English, marr Catherine Reynolds, nine children of which three survived, a man of great musical understanding with a sense of humour, he travelled to Carlisle quite often to meet his friend Captain JB Gilpin (qv); PM Horsley, Charles Avison, The Man and his Milieu, Music and Letters, vol 55 no 1 (1974), pp.5-23; Pierre Dubois (ed), Charles Avison’s Essay on Musical Expression (with related writings), 2004

Axon, Ernest (18xx-19xx), FSA, member of council of Lancashire Parish Register Society, author (with Francis Nicholson) of The Older Nonconformity in Kendal (1915)

[William Edward Armytage Axon (1846-1913), MA, LLD, FRSL, born in Manchester, 13 January 1846, Deputy Chief Librarian, Manchester Public Libraries, resigned in 1874 to join literary staff of the Manchester Guardian, author and contributor to periodicals, died at Victoria Park, Manchester, 27 December 1913]

Ayre, Revd Leigh Richmond (c.1827-1905), MA, clergyman and author, educ Emmanuel College, Cambridge (BA 1850, MA 1853), d 1850 Worc and p 1851 Heref, Curate of St Mary, Bridgnorth 1850-1853 and of St Michael, Islington 1853-1860, Vicar of Rusland 1860-1873, Vicar of Holy Trinity, Ulverston 1873-1905, Chaplain, Ulverston Union 1874, and Rural Dean 1878, joint editor (with Canon Bardsley) of The Registers of Ulverston Parish Church (printed by James Atkinson, Ulverston, in 19 parts, 1881-86, incl ‘Chronicles of the Church and Town’ as Part 18 in 1885), and author of Holy Trinity Church, Ulverston: a sketch historical and descriptive (1887; 2nd edn rev 1901), Guide to Ulverston, and Places of Interest in the Neighbourhood (1894; …in the Lake District, 2nd edn 1904), The North Lonsdale Magazine & Furness Miscellany, 4 vols, W Holmes, Ulverston (1894-1902), and Notes on Furness Abbey (n.d.), marr Cristilla Martha Victorine (buried 25 March 1917, aged 85, when of Church Walk), died at Holy Trinity vicarage, aged 78, and buried in churchyard, 17 June 1905

Ayrey, Benjamin (d.1750), agent, or company secretary, Backbarrow Company from c.1714, partner in Glengarry venture in 1727, died 28 August 1750 and buried at Height MH (will, 26 August 1750) (EIIF, 303-304)

Ayrey, John (16xx-1713), Quaker, of Shap, his goods repeatedly distrained in 1680s and 1690s for refusing to pay tithes to Sir John Lowther, gave piece of ground (5 May 1703) on which Shap Meeting House was built in 1704 and also piece for burying place, involved in disputes with John Bowstead in 1699 and with Joshua Collinson in 1703-04, marr (7 June 1694) Ruth Yates, eldest dau of Thomas Lawson (qv) and widow of Revd Christopher Yates (qv), 1 son (d.1703) and 3 daus, died 20 January 1713 (CRO, WDFC/F2/1; F1/51D)

Ayton, Richard (bap.1786-1823; ODNB), playwright and actor, b. London, son of William Ayton